About Affäre

1911 Main
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Here at Affäre, we are proud to offer our guests a modern German dining experience.
We believe in cooking farm to table food and source our products and produce from local farms and suppliers in the Kansas City area. Our seasonal menu is always fresh, with a contemporary german influence.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
German, European, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:30 pm Endless Mimosas!

Happy Hour: every day from 4:30 pm - 7:00 pm

Wednesday night: Free Tasting and No Corkage, so feel free to bring your own bottle!

Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-6182

Website:
http://affarekc.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu available. Please call us to discuss your needs with us.

Parking Details:
Lot at 1801 Walnut, and plenty of free street parking on Walnut between 19th and 20th Street.
Parking Garage at the corner of 19th & Walnut; available after 5pm; small fee
Valet service can be offered to private parties.
Please call if you feel unsure of where to park. We will be happy to assist you!

Public Transit:
Kansas City Street Car Stop right across the street

Executive Chef:
Martin Heuser

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Parties, Weekend Brunch, Four Course Thursday
Please consult our website affarekc.com, or join our family at facebook/affarekc.com!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Affäre is a modern German restaurant located in the heart of the Crossroads Arts District. We are a family restaurant that focuses on fresh and local products. Affäre offers an intimate private dining room, adjacent to an enclosed Courtyard, perfect for any event. Contact us for more information.

Affäre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (40)
Creative Cuisine (37)
See All
Fit for Foodies (33)
Romantic (32)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Modern Decor (27)
Notable Wine List (25)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Authentic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great Beer (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Great for Brunch (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Cozy (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Business Meals (11)
Casual (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Seasonal (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Private Room (5)
Vegan (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Historic (4)
People Watching (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1125 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful dining experience and food! Would go back in a heart beat!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

After 5 years affaire is moving from strength to strength. Contemporary German food with culinary twists makes this place special.

Best Sunday brunch, great wine list .

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Great German inspired dishes and more. Excellent presentation and pairings. Delicious fresh hand made pretzels and appetizers. Good variety of german beer options on tap and in bottles.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We went in for Sunday brunch and it was excellent. Expect a delicious and fresh European take on all the typical offerings and great brunch cocktails (some endless).

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Open Kitchen, Vegan, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Some of the most original, best tasting, well-presented, and reasonably priced dishes I have had in a long while. All seven in our party were raving. We are coming back next week before we leave town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The ideas were appealing but the execution was lacking. The peas were old, the ravioli was tough and so forth. We were quite disappointed. The pretzels were nice but the pretzel dumpling was a tasteless lump. The herb cream sauce drenched the vegetables and suited only the spinach and the mushrooms. And so forth. All felt like a heavy hand when a lighter touch would have served. Our waitress, Lydia, was terrific--helpful and pleasant.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had a nice dinner and drinks. Service was slow but at our pace.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our first visit to Affare. The service was attentive and knowledgeable and the food, wine and cocktails were great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Exceptional food, presentation, service, atmosphere, artwork, and beer and wine list. And very friendly owner!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Started with a Belgian ale at the bar and watched a bit of Fritz Lang's Metropolis on the TV, then went to our table and shared a charcuterie board for our appetizer. I had jaegersnitzel for my main course and my wife had the trout. Everything was outstanding, including the service. Affare is one of our favorite restaurants in KC.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The trout was wonderful. The waiter was friendly and helpful. Good atmosphere. We always enjoy dining at Affare.

Tags: Family Style, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 4, 2017

My mates and I were there prior to our first friday run. We definitely weren't in the normal demographic but every aspect of the meal was perfect. Everything was friendly, we were kind of fish-outta-water but every server/waiter was chill, happy to explain anything or take pictures or whatever. It's pricier than our usual but not so much that it felt like an investment.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Endless mimosa's for sunday brunch are good quality and always tasty. Possibly the best eggs benedict I have had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We went here for brunch and it was absolutely delicious - hit the spot. Take the streetcar - the restaurant is in a perfect location!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was blown away by the fact that I had never heard of this place before. The food was amazing. My guess is people may not be so excited when they see it is German food but it is so much more. I am a foodie and I would put this restaurant as one of the best in KC.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 29, 2017

As usual the experience at Affäre was outstanding. The food was superb, the service fantastic, and the atmosphere was warm and inviting. Katrin, the proprietor, was her normal engaging self constantly roaming the restaurant ensuring everyone was enjoying their evening. This is our favorite restaurant in the Kansas City area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I enjoyed everything about the evening. We ordered the "Sea" appetizer, it was beautiful and excellent. I had the pork loin dinner which I loved, my companions didn't care for theirs at all, I loved the apple strudel, again, they didn't. We all liked the fun, as you put it "energetic" atmosphere, I would return, my friends, nope.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always a good place for dinner. There were 3 of us and we all enjoyed our meal. The portions are perfect and the drinks good. I would recommend Affare to everyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was delicious. Neither of us had a single thing we did not like and the clam chowder was the best I've ever tasted. The service was spectacular - our waiter Tony was knowledgeable and friendly; he recommended excellent before and after dinner hand-crafted cocktails that went perfectly with the meal. Definitely will be back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food at this restaurant is extremely good. I went there for my birthday after waiting a year to eat there and the wait was worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The service was excellent from beginning to end. The ambience was lovely; restaurant was very nicely decorated and quiet. The pork and cod entrees and desserts we selected were beautifully presented and delicious. The pretzel sticks were nothing special, though the house made spread and pickled squash were very good. I was disappointed by my salad. It was a small portion. The honey mustard vinaigrette didn't have much flavor. However a great experience overall. Our waiter was very friendly and engaged us in some fun conversation. I would return again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were thrilled to finally try Affare- the restaurant got dealt a tough hand as the construction of the KC lightrail really hampered the traffic in to dine. The restaurant survived this tough period and seems to be thriving today!

Affare features traditional German fare with a modern flair-we are not fans of German food and we LOVED everything we were served. Great Bar area- very cozy and relaxing place to have a drink. Restaurant was very open with lots of square footage- it was busy for restaurant week but we never felt cramped.

Wine pairings with menu were flawless. Deserts were well conceived- not too overly sweet. Service was a tad spotty. One diner was not offered offered a wine selection and waiter was snippy when she requested a glass with her main course. Coffee was not offered with dessert. Small quibbles- we loved Affare, we would highly recommend it and we will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I go here often. It's always great but this latest visit was the closest to a perfect meal I've had in some time. Everything i had was perfectly prepared, tasted amazing and was perfectly presented. Chef outdid himself even though the restaurant was crowed for Friday of restaurant week. For me, a home run. Soon it will be time for asparagus again. Watch the web site and don't miss this treat. Awesome.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Groups, Private Room, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

No creativity or unique flavor to the food. Very obviously mass produced and a seemingly very lazy chef. Our server also took forever and rarely checked in on us, keeping us waiting numerous times. Ambiance is beautiful and location is perfect. They just really need to up the food quality to match the price.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Quite possibly be the best meal I've ever had in Kansas City.. course by course, each bite of food was (for the lack of a better word) delicious. Being a NYC transplant living & dining in KC, I've learned a while ago to dine in this city and to really enjoy the food one must lower his/her expectations.. not so here. To quote the great restauranteur Danny Meyer: "People come for the food.. they return for the service." The service at Affäre was impeccable. An unpretentious menu.. a few minor flaws here and there but in the end a great meal.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Food was outstanding. Server was reserved and not into answering questions / offering insights or the like which made for an uncomfortable atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The trout is divine!!! Be sure to try the seafood shareable platter as well. Delicious!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Enjoyed a Restaurant Week special here. The German beer recommended by our waiter was just so good. The 3-course dinner was delicious and beautifully presented.

We sat in a quiet corner looking out to the street. Someday the city and/or the restaurant should add a little color and interest to the streetscape - it was drab and a bit depressing looking out the window....and almost no one walked by. We did enjoy seeing the new street cars glide by.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 18, 2017

The flavor of my dish was wonderful, but the cut of the meat was not good. Overall experience and staff was above average, and I would visit again based on that!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 16, 2017

It was a nice Sunday dinner to celebrate in family. The food met our expectations fully ! Thanks to the Open Table reservation I made, we were accepted to dine later than usual.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Business Meals, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food consistently blows me away every time!!! I absolutely love to share the "Sea" with a friend, the salmon dip, the big crunchy crackers, the shrimp and scallops are all to die for!! And the trout is served to perfection! Oh and they finally got some new wines on their wine list!

Fantastic Sunday Brunch too!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Seasonal, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Service and food was phenomenal

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food and service.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great seat for two at the front window. I loved the pretzel bread and "egg salad" to dip it in and the German pickles and the squash. The beet salad was good, the greens a little limp. But I did eat every morsel. But OMG - the almond encrusted trout on spinach was AMAZING - and I don't normally like fish. I licked that plate clean too. : ) The glasses of wine for each course were great. I plan to take my two sisters for dinner, when they are in town for our reunion. I am so happy this restaurant appears to be doing well, thank goodness for the streetcar and downtown revival.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We were going to Affare to make good on a Christmas present we'd given the children to have the Painted Table deserts. I admit, I was nervous going with three kids (all over the age of 12) and what our service would be like. I didn't have to worry, we were treated like royalty. We have two vegetarians and chef Martin, as well as the waiter, made sure we knew of every delicious vegetarian (and vegan too) option. Our meat eaters as well as picky vegetarians were satiated and happy when we left. The use of local food markets and in season products is a real draw for us. Chef Martin completed our experience by making the painted table something to remember for the kids. He shared stories about the food, Germany, and the restaurant. Everything we ate, from appetizer to desert will remain in our memory for years to come.

Tags: Great Beer, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Vegan, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Christmas night dinner at Affare may well become a new tradition for us. While the website indicated one could order from the menu, the special holiday night menu was very pleasing. We both had the crab salad, mushroom soup, roast beef with Yorkshire pudding and cookie/stolen assortment for dessert, along with the wine pairing. The crab salad was the hit of the evening -tucked away in a thin wrap, it was excellent. The mushroom soup with basil foam was an interesting blend of flavors with the mushrooms still firm and enjoyable. Our beef was over cooked, but the Yorkshire pudding and green beans were excellent. Wine pairings were generous pours. We may be back again next year!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is our 4th year in a row to enjoy Affare on Christmas Day. Call it one of our very favorite personal Christmas traditions and one of our top 5 places to eat in the city. Always a hit with out of town guests for any occasion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 23, 2016

A great find in KC when home for the Holidays. The best deal ever is the $44 Thursday four course prix fixe menu with wine pairings. The food and service were excellent. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This a great place. Easy to access - right at the streetcar stop. They don't take strides to have extra stuff on the menu that is not authentic and well-prepared. Knowledgeable staff, many beer and wine options. There was even a wine tasting the night we were there. Filling portions. The gorgeous décor was only outdone by the food presentation. Great for a date, a family gathering or a small group party. For a little extra fun, try the beer in a boot.

Tags: Romantic, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Even though the restaurant was fairly empty, we were seated in the bar at a cocktail table in a corner banquet. Pretty uncomfortable for brunch. The food was good, but hardly great. That would probably describe the service as well. Too many other great dining choices in KC to cause us to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food was very good. Atmosphere was great. Good beer selection. Sat at bar and bartender seemed preoccupied and not very attentive. I wouldn't chalk this up to normal service and would expect it would be better upon return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We were 30 mins. late for our reservation due to traffic. They were able to get us right in. The food was wonderful!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Cancel your scheduled trip to Germany. Enjoy the wonderful menu of German food at Kansas City's finest restaurant: Affare. The walleye was delicious. However, I plan to try the sous vide venison on my next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 10, 2016

As always our dining experience at Affäire was outstanding. You are welcomed into the restaurant as family and the food and service are fantastic. Katrina, one of the owners, is constantly working the dining room to ensure everything is perfect.

This definitely is our favorite restaurant in Kansas City. It is a must visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Went on a Monday night for my my wife's an I anniversary. We've never been and seemed fancy lol. Which it was. Place was beautiful and clean. Ambiance was awesome. My tequila drink was so smooth. My wife loved the wine. We were served fresh pretzels and pickles and pickled butternut squash. Let me tell you something. I've never had the stuff and I hate pickles but the squash was so good! The appetizers were amazing. We ordered the shrimp and truffle fries which were amazing. We shared a beautiful made quail and was really moist. What really made the difference was our water. Fantastic service. Thank you guys for a wonderful night

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

I really like this restaurant. It features German food, with some modern twists, served in elegant style. Brunch offers dishes ranging from Kaiserschmarrn - decadent pancakes with almonds, rum raisins, and caramelized apples - to Bavarian sausage burgers, trout, and Jagerschnitzel. I loved the Eggs Benedict which are served on rosti potatoes instead of English muffins, which is such an improvement it is hard to believe it isn't done that way everywhere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Affare was very good. The service was precise. The food was exceptional. We went for Sunday brunch and I had the Sausage Burger which was flavorful but not overly so. The German roots show through at Affare-don't expect local German fare here, though. This is higher end taste and presentation.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was our first time there and the venison and smoked spinach salad were excellent. Only wish when our server was asked his opinion on what was better between menu items he would've told us rather than saying everything is good. Come on everyone has a favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

This was our second there. We love the food, and the environment, very classy and mellow.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had the beet salad (starter) and scallops (main) which were both fantastic! Server was attentive but not hovering. This was a truly enjoyable dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.