Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Affäre

At Affäre, we are proud to offer our guests a dining experience with focus on locally sourced products, honest preparation methods and delicious flavors.
Our menu changes seasonally, offering a new dining experience at each visit.

1911 Main
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, European, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday - Thursday: 4:30 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:30 pm - 11:00 pm

Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:30 pm Endless Mimosas!

Happy Hour: every day from 4:30 pm - 7:00 pm

Wednesday night: Free Tasting and No Corkage, so feel free to bring your own bottle!

Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-6182

Website:
http://affarekc.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu available. Please call us to discuss your needs with us.

Parking Details:
Lot at 1801 Walnut, and plenty of free street parking on Walnut between 19th and 20th Street.
Parking Garage at the corner of 19th & Walnut; available after 5pm; small fee
Valet service can be offered to private parties.
Please call if you feel unsure of where to park. We will be happy to assist you!

Public Transit:
Kansas City Street Car Stop right across the street

Executive Chef:
Martin Heuser

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Parties, Weekend Brunch, Four Course Thursday
Please consult our website affarekc.com, or join our family at facebook/affarekc.com!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Affäre is a modern German restaurant located in the heart of the Crossroads Arts District. We are a family restaurant that focuses on fresh and local products. Affäre offers an intimate private dining room, adjacent to an enclosed Courtyard, perfect for any event. Contact us for more information.

Affäre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (52)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Good for Anniversaries (46)
See All
Special Occasion (46)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Authentic (35)
Romantic (34)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Modern Decor (31)
Worth the Drive (28)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Great for Brunch (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Great Beer (22)
Local Ingredients (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Business Meals (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Cozy (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Seasonal (13)
Casual (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Private Room (9)
Fun (9)
Healthy (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Historic (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Live Music (1)
Quick Bite (1)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
1185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary this weekend at Affare and truly enjoyed a great meal. It was totally delicious. I've put off going for a few years, thinking it was "German food" and, therefore, (in my uneducated opinion) heavy food, sausages, etc. Not so! We started with the white asparagus with small bites of potato. A beautiful appetizer. For our main we had the seafood sharing plate and a small plate of morel mushrooms with brandy cream sauce. The morels were divine. The seafood sharing plate had seared scallops that were perfect with octopus "bacon" on top plus tempura fried shrimp that were light and delicious. It also had smoked salmon spread which my husband loved but I'm not a huge fan. More for him to enjoy! I loved sharing a plate because it makes us more interactive. It's especially nice for an anniversary, but I would love it just for date night. Our apfelstrudel (shared) was a great dessert because it wasn't too sweet. Just a lovely mix of apple and raisins with a dusting of confectioner's sugar, some creme anglaise (I would love more on mine) and a small ball of vanilla ice cream. As a plus, the table had some seriously comfortable chairs. We were very happy to finally try Affare! We'll be going back again, I hope very soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

Brunch was spectacular.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Went for Mother's Day with the family. While priced a little high, the value is great! Everything we had was really good, and authentic German. Kid's menu was good and pleased our younger one (Schnitzel cut into chicken fingers sizes and served with french fries). The Jagerschnitzel is wonderful and the bratwurst selection was great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Tradition combined with brilliant innovation! We wanted to stick with the traditional options, but took a chance on the surprising options. It turned out to be the best meal we've had in Kansas City in decades.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Discovered the restaurant for Mothers Day brunch, different menu than typical buffet. Service was great,food very good. Ready to go back for dinner and drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing Dinner; went with a group of 10 and staff was really accommodating. Great beer and wine list. Some of the best German Food I have had outside of Germany.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 12, 2017

This restaurant is consistently good, with great food and service.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I had heard of this place, but had never thought about trying it until now. We were downtown for a concert at Sprint Center and was looking for a place off the beaten path, but within walking distance. This place kept coming back up so we booked it. We were not disappointed. The food was very well prepared and the service was great. We made our reservation for just when they opened for dinner service, so the place was quiet and service could be focused on us.
This isn't a place that we could go on a consistent basis, but for special occasions we will most definitely be coming back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Very hip and cool place. Varied menu with modern variations of German food.
It is a must be, visiting Kansas City.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Cuisine was excellent overall, highlighted by the quark cheesecake dessert and a morel mushroom dish. Affare excells at taking top-notch ingredients and bringing out their flavor through simple preparations (with the occasional application of modern techniques.) While still very enjoyable, the half-trout seemed to lack the almond crust that it typically features--and which is noted on the menu.

Service on this meal was not at the usual standard, with (very) long waits, particularly at the start of the meal, and generally inattentive service. We will happily return, however, given the quality of the cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fantastic place! The food was delicious - very creative twists. The Bavarian pretzel sticks in place of bread were fantastic; especially with the special mustard served with them. The staff was attentive and provided outstanding service with a smile and a great sense of humor. They've done a beautiful jog turning an old building into a posh restaurant. An excellent wine list and great selection of German beers. We went after a matinee performance at the Kauffman Center so were there early. We took advantage of the happy hour - a liter of Hofbrau beer for the half liter price and double pours on house wines which were excellent wines.

I would highly recommend!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was very good (went for brunch). It seemed, however, that they used fake maple syrup.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 4, 2017

absolutely one of the best dining experience I've had in a long time!
Out with friends and we all just a had one of the best times and best meal!
A mix of plates and drinks, couldn't have been better.
Keep up the Great Work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Be sure to indulge in the white asparagus they ship in from Holland before the season is over. The white asparagus soup was creamy and absolutely delicious!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Wonderful dining experience. Always creative dishes. White asparagus season makes it even better. White asparagus and morel mushrooms were fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sheep plate, venison,trout and shrimp were all delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We ordered from the white asparagus menu, and it was outstanding! The "spargel" is imported from Limburger in the Netherlands and is prepared in a typical European fashion. The only problem is that the menu is available for only a month or so. The

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 26, 2017

It was just a memorable experience the food is more like are and very fresh and different. We had a smoked salad with the smoke escaping as the lid to the jar it was in was removed. It had a very lovely unique flavor. My friend was having trouble with ordering because she wanted a small portion. The waiter made a great suggestion of the morel mushroom dish which she found very satisfying. This is a place for those who are looking for something and creative not your mothers cooking.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Amazing food - worth the expense for a special occasion. (We spent $250 for one small plate, one sharing plate, four entrees, six drinks, and two desserts, plus 20% tip.) Would recommend to anyone and everyone who likes German food and wants a special treat.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I thought the food was quite good value and portion size was more than generous. We go here all the time- one of my favorite restaurants in the city. There was a large and VERY loud group in the bar area, loud enough to make conversation difficult

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

The quality of the food continues to be amazing. And the service is always superb .

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Very poorly staffed, only one waiter during brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 23, 2017

First time there, amazing food, love the decor, love our waiter

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Unser Kellner war mir persönlich etwas zu 'salopp', da bin ich vielleicht etwas zu empfindlich. Der empfohlene Wein hat mir sehr gut zum Essen geschmeckt, als Laie bin ich dafür sehr dankbar! Gerne hätte ich noch einen Espresso genossen....

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Great Beer, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

One of our all-time favorite restaurants, anywhere. The food is beautifully crafted and created, and the flavors are out of this world. The service and hospitality is always first-rate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Bread was "still in the oven" half way through the meal, but food was good, just not served timely.

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 21, 2017

As always, I am pleased with my experience at Affare. Our wait staff person was friendly and knowledgeable about the food and our wine selection. I will always recommend Affare.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Have wanted to try Affa

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch. The White Asparagus soup was amazing! I had the Salmon Eggs Benedict, which was great, minus the salad. My husband had the waffle with berry topping. It was good, but typical brunch food. The waitress forgot about us and we waited for 15 minutes (after we were ready) for her to take our food order. She apologized but she could tell we weren't too happy. She did push our food order to come out sooner, which was nice. Didn't try any desserts but they looked delicious.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food took a very long time and was very under seasoned, restaurant temp was cold to hot,
decor and location were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great good and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Unique menu. Upscale prepared game meats. I have been several times, so I highly recommend the duck, and the venison loin. The "Sea" is great for sharing a meal. On Thursdays they serve a wonderful four course dinner with wine pairings. The staff is very attentive. Can't say enough great things about this place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I love love love Affaire, the food is amazingly consistent every time! Worth every penny! The double pour happy hour house wine is an amazing deal!! They also recently switched up their wine list, love the new selection!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I've never been disappointment, the food is always delicious, prepared well and quick service. The employees are kind and helpful. Nice place to get German fare but also fusion dishes with a nice range of flavors your sometimes don't find with classic German cuisine. The trout is my favorite light but filling dinner, brunch you can't go wrong, and my husband loved the lobster poutine as a fun comfort food meal. Love it for special occasions!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 3, 2017

This was supposed to be a fun evening out with friends. Our service was HORRIBLE!! We were seated right away. It took 20 minutes to get drinks. The server disappeared for 20+ minutes then finally took an appetizer order. It was another 30 minutes before he returned to take our dinner order. After our dinner plates were cleared the server gave us dessert menus. It is 9:30pm at this point. We were seated at 7:00pm. After waiting another 15 minutes, we had to ask someone to get our server to get our check. We skipped dessert. It will be a long time before we visit this restaurant again!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Had Sunday brunch with good friends from our days in Germany. As always the food was fantastic, the service outstanding, and the atmosphere relaxing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food base was excellent and well cooked, but there was too many toppings - too much sauce, too much dressing. It gilded the lily.

The lights were set on full strength even during our 8pm meal so the atmosphere felt more school cafeteria because you could see everyone so clearly. We skipped the after dinner menu and headed elsewhere for dessert and drinks.

Our server was very helpful in picking an entree, and when I was torn on a wine selection, brought me a sample of two to help me make a choice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The setting was intimate and classy. The waiter was very helpful without hovering. Prices felt fair and the food was delicious (try the jagerschnitzel and the duck!). A little too pricy to become a regular, but definitely on the list for special occasions!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I have been to this restaurant several times and the food this time was the best I've had. The gluten free trout was fine and the convenience to the Kauffman Center made it a comfortable choice.

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Beautiful and interesting, quality fine dining. My primary critique would be that the menu was lacking direction and a few of the dishes we had were lacking contrasts. But a lovely meal overall.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.