Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.61mi
  4. Distance: 0.63mi

About Affäre

At Affäre, we are proud to offer our guests a dining experience with focus on locally sourced products, honest preparation methods and delicious flavors.
Our menu changes seasonally, offering a new dining experience at each visit.

1911 Main
Kansas City, MO 64108
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary German, European, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:


Sunday - Thursday: 4:00 pm - 9:00 pm
Friday & Saturday: 4:0 pm - 11:00 pm

Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 10:00 am - 2:30 pm Live Jazz Music!

Happy Hour: every day from 4:00 pm - 6:00 pm

Wednesday: no corkage fee, bottle discounts
Thursday: Four Course Tasting Menu $44 including wine pairings

Cross Street:
19th Avenue

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(816) 298-6182

Website:
http://affarekc.com/

Catering:
Catering Menu available. Please call us to discuss your needs with us.

Parking Details:
Lot at 1801 Walnut, and plenty of free street parking on Walnut between 19th and 20th Street.
Parking Garage at the corner of 19th & Walnut; available after 5pm; small fee
Valet service can be offered to private parties.
Please call if you feel unsure of where to park. We will be happy to assist you!

Public Transit:
Kansas City Street Car Stop right across the street

Executive Chef:
Martin Heuser

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Beer Garden, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Parties, Weekend Brunch, Four Course Thursday
Please consult our website affarekc.com, or join our family at facebook/affarekc.com!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Affäre is a family owned and operated, farm to table restaurant in the heart of the Crossroads Arts District. We are conveniently located along the KC Streetcar line. Our food is focused on fresh, seasonal products, incorporating honest preparation methods and beautiful, flavorful presentation.

Affäre Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Authentic (21)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Romantic (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Business Meals (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Fun (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Casual (10)
Seasonal (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Great for Brunch (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Great Beer (7)
Cozy (6)
Healthy (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Live Music (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
1231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

My second time there this year, and I wasn't disappointed. This is German cooking like you'll find in a serious restaurant in the Heimat (the homeland), though apparently they do a good job with beer and sausages as well. Their three-way duck is not to be missed, but smaller appetites will appreciate the half portion of breaded trout. Exceptional wine list and knowledgeable wait staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

My wife had the trout and I had the snitzel. Great, as always. I had the smoked Thuringer sausage as an appetizer. Delicious.

Tags: Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

The Sunday live jazz by Ebony was the reason we came but then we got our food and it was amazing. Jazz and great food made for a wonderful Sunday morning!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We loved it! Unique cocktails, wide ranging wine list, and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Love everything about this resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Affare is one of our favorite KC restaurants. Katrin and Martin make every visit a special occasion. The menu is very creative and delicious, the service is efficient and the welcome is always hospitable. We especially enjoy that frequently game meats are a choice. This time the venison was perfect!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 1, 2017

As always our food was great. However, our server was above and beyond. From the moment we sat down, he addressed us by name. Because of him I would recommend this restaurant to all my friends. We sent a business group there a few nights ago and they were also very impressed. They thanked us for the recommendation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

My husband and I absolutely love this place over all others we've visited in the 11 years we've lived here. I don't think the Chef has the ability to make a bad dish! I recommend the duck!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Organic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great Beer, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 25, 2017

Went for daughters birthday. Good wait staff. Good food. We had a good time

Tags: Fun, Casual, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Fabulous in every way. Each course was thoughtfully prepared. Loved the chef's dessert preparation at the table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Wasn't sure what to expect as out-of-towners but this place was great. The charcuterie board offered larger proportion than standard boards - great for a group. The ambiance was awesome, with great music and film noir (instead of sports) playing at the bar. It was vibrant yet we could hear each other talk. Scallops were fantastic as were the signature sausages. Highly recommend.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Affäre offers a unique dining experience great for intimate occasions. The one page menu offers a handsome selection of sausages, seafood, and turf. Though the menu isn't as extensive or "German" enough as some like, you are guaranteed a good meal. I visited Affäre last week and ordered the lamb. The meal arrived promptly and was impressively presented. Small slices of perfectly cooked lamb fanned across a small black plate covered in hollandaise sauce and steamed vegetables. Although the lamb was very well prepared the serving size was far too small and the hollandaise added little flavor. Given the amount of lamb served I found the $28 price quite high. Affäre's drink menu is extensive and features many drinks Americans will be unfamiliar with but sure to enjoy when paired properly. Prices range from as little as $6 to over $24 for a glass. I was impressed to see aperitifs on the menu and then confused not to find any digestifs.
I was happy to be immediately seated upon arrival. It's hard to find a restaurant today that not only takes reservations, but honors them. However my 7:45PM reservation may have been too late for the waitress who was slightly impatient and tried to move us along much faster than we did. Thankfully, we prevailed and had a very, very memorable evening.
I would not recommend Affäre to someone looking for an authentic German dining experience. It's menu and environment are first and foremost "modern" - whatever that means - and occasionally German. That being said, their food and drinks are a welcome surprise.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We dined during first Friday's. They were giving away free samples of Brats on the sidewalk. Much to our surprise it was cold. The fire was out and they didn't know. We sat at the bar, drinks and service was great. The food was so-so. We were disappointed again. We probably don't go back even though we love Bavarian food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Quite possibly the best venison I have ever had at a restaurant. Our server was attentive and helpful. The menu boasted authentic German cuisine along with other offerings. Drinks were great and the menu featured some inventive cocktails and quality German beer. The crowd was a little sparse for a Saturday night but a huge event was going on in the Crossroads. Affare did not disappoint. We will return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 22, 2017

We had a very attentive and nice dining experience tonight. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I had the apple pancake. It is new on the menu and I highly recommend it!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 18, 2017

We were the first guests of the evening, & 4:30pm for a late lunch. Male server welcomed us an then took us to a table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great Sunday night dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 13, 2017

My star rating reflects just one visit out of several, all but one of which have been great - both regarding food and service. On this particular occasion, though, the service was remarkably slow, as they only had one server working the floor and who seemed more focused on doing side work than paying attention to customers. My friend had to go directly to the bar to order a drink refill. The food in my case was disappointing this time. When I ordered the salmon, the server initially told me they were out of that item - then corrected, "Oh no, wait, we have one more." I should have taken that as a red flag and just ordered something else. What I got was a small, elliptical dish with about 3 pieces of grilled salmon, a few potato chunks and bits of pineapple, and a few limp spears of grilled asparagus, all of which was bobbing in a sea of soy sauce. It was like eating pure salt. Happily, they comped the item. But it seems like all of the shortcomings on that particular visit could have been easily avoided with a little more attention to detail. On a better note, two young jazz musicians provided some great live music.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This place is a hidden gem with great service and the best German food in KC.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This was our first visit to Affare. It was Wine Wednesday so they were sampling a flight of 3 different wines. All were very good.
My wife had the seafood risotto and I had a trio of bratwurst. All of it was very good. Outstanding fresh sauerkraut and red cabbage.
They serve a pretzel-type bread with homemade mustard which was excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Been a few times and it was still amazing. I hadn't had the duck sampler (breast, croquette, sausage, and fois gras) before and highly recommend it. Fish is still some of the best in the city. Salads are interesting and refreshing. Cocktails are top notch and the wine pairings are impeccable. AND, the kids' dishes are awesome (Kasespatzel is like the best mac and cheese you've ever had).

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Business Meals, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We've been coming to enjoy the music of Molly Hammer for Sunday brunch. Beautiful jazz and exquisite food! What's not to love? I'm a big fan of their homemade wurst, especially the currywurst, and the Eggs Benedict served on a potato Rösti rather than the usual English muffin is wonderful!

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very disappointing. The food was not very flavorful and service was horrible. Had to ask multiple times for our drink order.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We loved this restaurant and it's menu choices. They were fresh and original. We were staying in the neighborhood and decided to give it a try. Truly glad we did. Our waitress was outstanding and very knowledgeable. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Excellent all around. Food service and value. Seasonal menus. Lobster Jager schnitzel great German beer
Never had a bad meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Went to location for my reservation I had made for my anniversary and they were closed for a power outage that had happened. I never received a call or anything telling me they were closed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The bar really needs a couple of quality blended scotches. I love a single malt, but I won't dilute it with club soda. When most scotch drinkers order scotch and soda, they prefer a less expensive blend. Jonnie Walker Black Label or Dewars would be perfect. Single malt is for sipping straight up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Affare was wonderful! The cocktails and food were delicious and beautifully presented. The service was great, as well. I'll definitely be going back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We are frequent visitors to Affare. We eat out often in Kansas City and during national / international travel, and Affare is one of our very favorites anywhere. The food is deliciously sophisticated, the wine choices outstanding, and the atmosphere welcoming. We enjoy Affare for a wide range of occasions, ranging from informal, low-key suppers of brats (or anything else on the menu) and good wine at the bar to fine dinners with friends or business guests.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants in KC. Great food and drinks and the service has always been impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Wonderful wine list, food prepared to perfection, with delightful and attentive service. There are so many good reasons to return to this casual dining destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Creative menu with excellent preparation and presentation.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Omg it was Lobster Fest! Sooo good. Go with the Lobster risotto carbonara. Luscious lobster, an entire lobster!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Have been to Affare four times and have never left disappointed! Great food, service, ambiance. We will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was the first time at Affare. My husband is German so we have had quite a bit of German food. The brats were very good and very inexpensive. We will be adding this to our list to go back to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Thank you to Martin and Katrin Heuser, the owner operators of Affäre. Another flawless meal. We each had the chicken cordon bleu...you want it at least in part for the poached tomato with cheese and peas!

The schwarzwalder kirschtorte was fantastic, as is also the chocolate trio tower!

Finally, our young friend had the bison burger, mmmmmmm...

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Lobsters were fantastic! And great vino as well. Always creative and a perfect meal. So enjoyable to dine there.

Tags: Organic, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food and amazing service. We love coming for brunch. It is always top notch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Loved the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.