Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.32mi
  2. Distance: 0.33mi
  3. Distance: 0.33mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Adobe Grill

Famed for its house made tortillas and selection of artisan tequila; Adobe Grill is an authentic regional Mexican dining experience located at La Quinta Resort & Club in the Palm Springs area. Adobe Grill is decorated in a traditional Oaxacan motif, a double sided fireplace with a mosaic finish. Sliding patio doors allow the dining room and outdoor patio to become one. Let our master tequilero create a signature margarita from one of more than 100 tequilas. On weekends, we feature live music on the open air plaza in the heart of La Quinta Resort; come relax and take pleasure in the one of a kind surroundings.

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Dr.
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Comfort Food, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday's and Sunday's 11am - 3pm
Dinner: Nightly 5:00pm to 10pm
Bar: Nightly: 5pm - 10pm
Top of the Plaza: Nightly, 4pm - 10pm Friday & Saturday
5pm - 10pm Sunday - Thursday

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-4111 ext. 5725

Website:
http://www.laquintaresort.com/

Entertainment:
Inka Kings Wednesday- Sunday 6pm - 9pm

Parking Details:
Self Parking or Valet

Executive Chef:
Marco Aguilar

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Robert Macneil
Direct: 760.654.5725
Email: Robert.macneil@waldorfastoria.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Adobe Grill offers the ideal setting for hosting your private parties and dinner events. We’ll coordinate with you to create a customized experience perfect for your group, in an authentic regional Mexican atmosphere. For more information, simply click the link below.

Adobe Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (33)
Casual (22)
Live Music (16)
See All
Fun (16)
Authentic (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Scenic View (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Historic (9)
Special Occasion (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
People Watching (8)
Spicy (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Fireplace (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Romantic (4)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Cozy (3)
Tapas (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dancing (1)
Sort By:
S
802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

I would like to take this opportunity to express my displeasure in the drastic menu change and considerable price hike. I've been an avid customer for the last 10 years and my recommendation was staunch and steadfast as Adobe was a premium Mexican restaurant and was second to none. With the recent changes with pricing any Mexican restaurant can be visited for a portion of the price. Goodbye Abobe. Breaks my heart.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined 4 days ago

Just a few friends getting together after 10 years

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was great as usual. It was very disappointing that the carne asada plate is no longer on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We just adore the, Adobe Grill. Killer margaritas. Good is always on point. Authentic and crazy good.
Highly recommend the pork sopas and sea bass.
And their tamales are AHmazing!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Great service! Flank steak was superb.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Adobe Grill consistently comes through for fresh, great tasting Mexican food. No commercial microwaves here, everything made fresh from scratch. The grounds of the La Quinta Resort are spectacular and the view from the restaurant is one of the best. Our compliments to Victor, who always make dining here a pleasure. As a full-time resident of La Quinta, I highly recommend Adobe Grill as the place to go for quality Mexican food in a one-of-a-kind setting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A festive cinco de mayo- lively environment, great food and exemplary service. Looking forward to next time !

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

This restaurant could be a gem (and at La Quinta Resort, it should be) but we found the food unremarkable and a bit bland, and being a hotel restaurant, overpriced. Really a shame because the outdoor area is quite lovely. Recommend going for a cocktail, chips, and salsa and leaving it at that.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our server,Victor, was attentive and answered any questions about the minuets. Food and service were excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 29, 2017

One of my favorite spots for ambiance and location in the Desert. Been disappointed with the food the last two times I went. Margaritas were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We 'be been coming to Adobe Grill for more than 20 years and have been fortunate to have Osvaldo as our server several times. His timing and personable presentation are always a delight. Great food and drinks and staff will keep us coming back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The ambiance is so beautiful, in my opinion the most beautiful resort in the Coachella Valley. The food is very good and service is excellent.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Scenic View, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our waiter did not split our check as told and pocketed over $130 in cash on a $210 bill. The managers did not even help after we explained the situation. Poor service and will not be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food, good service; sat outside on the patio overlooking the beautiful La Quinta resort. Live music. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Casual, Spicy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Adobe Grill is all about location for me!!! The views from dining area are INCREDIBLE & the lower patio like seating is FAB and when the musicians are playing a TRUELY FUN experience. The only catch is to get a shady table & chairs as the ☀️sun can be a terrible addition ~
Their huge M' Rita selection & sizes are wonderful also and the bartenders aren't stingy with the the tequila either.
I will alert you that while this is Mexican food it's no quite the traditional Mexican you could be used to ~ I would advise you check the menu online. Never a disappointment for me/us, but everyone's different~

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Spicy, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Good food and good service!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 15, 2017

service and food was good, but a little overpriced

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great service from Viktor, as always. Fresh, flavorful food. We are locals, and Adobe is the best Mexican restaurant in La Quinta!

Tags: Romantic, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Restaurant was closed despite us having made a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Good food. Outside seating is best. We were inside and it's busy and a bit loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Normally we love Adobe Grill. The other night we did not get a great table, and it was so crowded that the noise level was much higher normal. Part of that is just the fact that it was Spring Break and the resort is extremely popular with families. Our server was very nice and let us take our time, but when we did finally order the food, it was very slow and not nearly as good as usual. Our table was outside, as I requested, but there was no view, just a stucco wall and rooftops to look at.

Since we were treating some long time friends, I was disappointed with the overall experience we had.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We were seated on the patio with a beautiful view. The waitress was pleasant and fairly attentive but we never got water refills. They only had one Chardonnay at $14 a glass! My beet salad was wonderful but when my scallops came they were barely warm. The food is very pricey for what you get. The scallops sat on a slice of plantain and had a creamy sauce under it. My husbands short ribs were nice but also cool. I told the waitress who offered to take my scallops back to warm them up but I didn't want them overcooked.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The chips and salsa are the best in the valley. But, the noise level is so high inside it's difficult to carry a conversation. The menu choices are very limited too and somewhat pricey for what you get.
This place is great for drinks, salsa and chips all while sitting outside only.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Adobe Grill changed its menu for the worst. We have been going here for the past 15 years and were so disappointed. Our bill totaled $100 for 2 bad margaritas and 2 entrees which were not good at all. Like I said, we have been going here for the past 15 years and the changes the Adobe Grill/Hilton had made is simply not good. Won't be back and would not recommend it. If you are craving Mexican, check out Fresh Aguava in Palm Desert (10 miles away)...100% better than Adobe Grill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Always enjoy Adobe Grill. It is a highlight of visiting Palm Springs area. Staff are very attentive. Food is excellent. Surprised by menu changes but still good. Kid and family friendly too.

Tags: People Watching, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Very energetic and noisy for a Tuesday night - food is always reliably good. We have enjoyed the sunsets in this picturesque spot for over 20 years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 5, 2017

very good and authentic Mexican food. Service is real snap snap with table cleared and water glasses continuously filled. Chip baskets are replenished continuously and very tasty. They will do whatever it takes to be sure you are satisfied. Highly recommend

Tableside prepared guacamole is also recommended

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great food and ambiance! One of the best Mexican restaurants in La Quinta. Very efficiently run!

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Dancing, Cozy, Hot Spot, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Live Music, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent margaritas and the food is fabulous! Outdoor patio with music which serves drinks and appetizers only.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Usually love this place but this time it's was poor all the way around. I will try it one more time and go back to the usual dishes. The Tuna was actually awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We have been many tines for the setting. Beautiful walk up to the restaurant with the flowers and outside music. Outside seating us worth the wait. Do not sit inside. Have a few drinks at one of the few sitting spots coming into the restaurant. Food is below average even though they brag about their bread pudding which is not good. Order off the appetizer list.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Very unique take on Mexican food with some traditional plates. Was not expecting Tuna al pastor tacos or crab and chorizo gorditas, the flautas and queso fundido were delicious!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Soup & entree came at same time. Very poor pacing of meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Love this place... food quality and taste seems to have slipped as of late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Food excellent - really enjoyed the table side-made guacamole- it was excellent ! Drinks yummy - and our server could not have been nicer - all in all - a lovely evening !

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 20, 2017

First I want to say that I was so looking forward to dinner at this restaurant. I had been to La Quinta Resort 4 years ago and had fond memories of meals at this restaurant. The fresh made table side guacamole was to die for as were the tacos and enchiladas. Unfortunately, it seems this restaurant has declined. It was not a good experience for me right from the start. My water glass was dirty as were all of the appetizer plates. I was with some coworkers so I didn't want to say anything so I just didn't drink the water or use the plate. I ordered the enchiladas which were simply okay. The meal came out lukewarm not hot which is a pet peeve of mine - I want my food to come out hot. The taste was okay, but the unclean dishes and glasses just made it difficult to enjoy this meal. On the plus side the guacamole was very good. Didn't visit this restaurant a second or third time as I did on my prior trip and likely would not eat here on a follow up trip as there were other restaurants at the resort that were much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Very good food but terrible service. Dinner took forever - yes, restaurant was crowded but it took forever for waiter to take our order. Bread and water were slow to arrive.

Food and ambience were good but with poor service I would recommend friends come here with reservations due to service issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent Mexican cuisine in a beautiful setting.The food preparation is authentic and the menu varied. A great location for a casual meal.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We enjoyed a very satisfying well prepared meal. I had the fish tacos which were very flavorful and made with grilled fish (which I prefer over fried). My girlfriend ordered the ceviche which was equally tasty. Service was outstanding and they give you a basket of complimentary chips and salsa. The prices were a bit high for simple Mexican food and I thought the beer prices where quite outrageous ($8 for a Dos Equis) but the food atmosphere and service all made up for it. Plus you are in the beautiful atmosphere of the La Quinta resort so I expect the price to be a little inflated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Called ahead to ask to be seated outside. They told me it wouldn't be a problem. When we showed up we were told it's not possible. The server was frantic and confused. Constantly brought the wrong things and it seemed confused. She would go through the script of what she had to say, but never listened to the answers. The best was at the end when she SAID, "So everyone is done and it was delicious, right?". We responded to let her know it was good, but I think a few people are still working. Her response was "great. Someone will be right over to clear." Then someone came by and started clearing plates even while two of our party were actively eating. Took away the plate while they had their fork in the mouth still. Expected better. You'd be better off ordering takeout at any Mexican restaurant and just eating by the pool.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.