About Adobe Grill

Waldorf Astoria Laquinta Resort & Spa
49-499 Eisenhower Dr.
La Quinta, CA 92253
View Larger Map

Famed for its house made tortillas and selection of artisan tequila; Adobe Grill is an authentic regional Mexican dining experience located at La Quinta Resort & Club in the Palm Springs area. Adobe Grill is decorated in a traditional Oaxacan motif, a double sided fireplace with a mosaic finish. Sliding patio doors allow the dining room and outdoor patio to become one. Let our master tequilero create a signature margarita from one of more than 100 tequilas. On weekends, we feature live music on the open air plaza in the heart of La Quinta Resort; come relax and take pleasure in the one of a kind surroundings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Comfort Food, Mexican / Southwestern

Hours of Operation:
Brunch Saturday's and Sunday's 11am - 3pm
Dinner: Nightly 5:00pm to 10pm
Bar: Nightly: 5pm - 10pm
Top of the Plaza: Nightly, 4pm - 10pm Friday & Saturday
5pm - 10pm Sunday - Thursday

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(760) 564-4111 ext. 5725

Website:
http://www.laquintaresort.com/

Entertainment:
Inka Kings Wednesday- Sunday 6pm - 9pm

Parking Details:
Self Parking or Valet

Executive Chef:
Marco Aguilar

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact Robert Macneil
Direct: 760.654.5725
Email: Robert.macneil@waldorfastoria.com

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Adobe Grill offers the ideal setting for hosting your private parties and dinner events. We’ll coordinate with you to create a customized experience perfect for your group, in an authentic regional Mexican atmosphere. For more information, simply click the link below.

Adobe Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

4.1

value

3.4

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Casual (13)
Authentic (10)
See All
Special Occasion (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (7)
Scenic View (7)
Live Music (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Fireplace (5)
Historic (5)
Spicy (4)
Family Style (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Cozy (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
754 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been here several times. They just changed the menu and the options are great. It was super loud and the service hit and miss. Probably won't return to this restaurant. Very sad because it used to be one of our favorite spots.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined 2 days ago

Always our go to place because of the great food, service and atmosphere

Tags: Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

This is a good hotel restaurant and can be very busy so make a reservation if you think you'll be going at a popular time. they have wonderful live music and the cocktails are fantastic. I love the passionfruit sangria. The service is very friendly and they are super helpful. I went with a small group and we all had a great time. There is a good energy to the place and it attracts a great crowd. they have lots of outdoor seating but there are heaters for when it is cold so we ate outside and were perfectly comfortable even on a cold night. Ask for a table with a heater and you'll be set!

Tags: Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

The service was very rushed that evening and they forgot to give us a salad we ordered. However, they made it up with a free desert.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2017

My favorite venue in La Quinta. The view is magic and the servers are very friendly.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Adobe Grille is one of my favorite restaurants in the desert whether dining with friends, family, spouse or solo. The new menu threw me at first, I miss my choice of tamales as did my son who is a vegetarian- so teaming the vegetarian tamale with the pork tamale was problematic. After much resistance, the table side guacamole is on the menu once again - thankfully. The food is excellent quality, the blue corn vegetarian tamale was a delicious, fish tacos were good but not the best. Desert choices such as churros or flan are no longer available but the homemade ice cream is delicious. Of course the service (Vicktor) was excellent.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was great. The best guacamole we have ever had made table-side by our wonderful waitress Jeanette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We love the Adobe Grill -setting is great - often live music in the background - good margheritas and guacamole. Always a hit with teens & grown ups - ambience of the La Quinta resort is second to none in the desert.

Tags: Historic, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Family Style, Fireplace, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Menu changed significantly removing items that are common in most establishments. The quality of meat being used also changed along with the quality of wait staff. Would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great time overlooking from the balcony, with the fountain flowing. Really great steak rub that is an original Mexican style. Guac is awesome. Prickly pear margarita is perfect.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was excellent A wide choice for tequilas or margaritas but the wine selection was disappointing - 3 whites and 5 reds.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We had been to this restaurant on many occasions for dinner but this time we went for lunch on Sunday> We were disappointed to find out that the regular menu was not available and only a brunch menu was available. We had driven 45 minutes to the restaurant so we decided to stay. Let me say this was a good choice. I had the chicken quesadilla and it happened to be one of the best I had ever eaten. We sat outside and having this meal coupled with a marguerita and daytime temperatures in the low 70s it was the perfect brunch event

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Fantastic margaritas, specialty plates and wait staff. We will be back when we return to the area next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I know the place since 10 years and I always liked it - I don't like the new menu too much and specially the on the table guacamole is missing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (México)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Adobe grill has always been on our list of dining when visiting La Quinta. It has always been very good, however that changed on our last visit. I hope our experience was just an off night, which can happen.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great service! Food was great. Tequila selection is extensive. Good value!

Tags: Casual, Fireplace, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Menu has changed. There is no more table side gucamole.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

They have good guacamole and chips and good margaritas!

Tags: Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The guacamole and chips were wonderful as an appetizer. The menu was not overwhelming in size but offered lots of options. Drinks and food were delivered in a timely fashion although the restaurant was very busy that night. We will likely dine here again when we return to La Quinta.

Tags: Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 23, 2017

We have eaten at Adobe Grill many times over a number of years and food and drinks continue to get worse with time. We love the atmosphere of la Quinta resort but feel food options have become much less tasty overtime. On recent trip we we're disappointed that they no longer served tableside guacamole, one of our favorites. Replacement was nowhere near as good. Margaritas also always seem somewhat watered down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Adobe Grill used to be our favorite go to spot when visiting the desert. However, this last time was very different and disappointing. When we first arrived, we were told that there was no longer table side guacamole (made at the table for you and customizable) and were brought a small helping of average guacamole. We could overhear another table being told that their favorite shrimp dish was no longer on the menu either. The tamale options were much more limited to a vegetarian option (cheese and peppers) and a meat (pork) tamale. Unfortunately, the tamales didn't hold up to the original tamale's flavors.

Overall, this is still a good Mexican restaurant but has lost the special touch that made it more unique. The staff was beyond friendly and helpful and deserve a good review.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

It was my birthday celebration and they did not disappoint! In spite of an unexpected 45 person group that arrived an hour prior to our reserved time, we received excellent service. My dining companion selected the chicken mole and she said it was outstanding - the best mole she'd ever had. What made her meal even better was that they used boneless chicken. I chose the green salsa enchiladas made with Oaxacan cheese. This meal is served with rice and beans. My enchiladas were absolutely delicious. As an appetizer, we requested guacamole. It was tasty accompanied by roasted chili salsa that was flavorful and not overly spicy - very, very good. Since it was my birthday, the staff brought me Mexican bread pudding (capirutada) with dried cranberries and tangerines which had a delicate sweet and tangy taste. The bread pudding was served with a mole flavored ice cream that was unique and truly out of this world!

Tags: Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I got the fajitas and they weren't the best. Had a good skinny margarita. Loved the outdoor seating view and live music. My date got the ahi and it was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Mediocre Mexican and sky high prices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Went two days in a row. Expensive for Mexican. This is better Mexican food. Great Margaritas. I will be back. Nice to dine at the La Quinta resort.

Chicken Mole was very good and spicy, (how I like it). The salsa tasted as if it was roasted tomato, and very good. Margs are 16 dollars, and they had ample Tequila

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Over priced for the amount of food you receive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Service was terrible. Food was good but very over priced for what it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I have been here several times, usually every Christmas as well, and I must say that now to charge $5 for chips and salsa is kinda nickel and diming us. I only eat fish and the seabass tacos were delicious! But everything is a la carte now...I think that's pretty lousy, no beans with the tacos?! Prices seem to have gone up without you getting more. I love the staff, always friendly. My bf lives in La Qunita and we enjoy the atmosphere at the Resort, but I'm not sure if I'll go back soon as the prices are becoming prohibitive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 26, 2016

This a resort. So this would not be my choice again for a dinner out. The place was noisy, service slow and portions of food small for the price and the menu was limited. I will give you that this was Christmas and my experience may have been better if not a holiday.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Favorite resturant......menu changed to more gourmet style. Love it

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A bit concerned by the change in the menu just before Christmas. Crossing fingers it was just a temporary thing...because we really love this place.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Since last here they got rid of the tortilla soup and good table side guacamole. Both very good dishes. Pour on the tequila flights were light. Took over an hour to get food from order. Chips at first were cold but next batch was warm and good. Seemed to have had to request items too much such as water and chips

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great atmosphere and prompt service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. The menu has changed and we enjoy it even more. Great ambiance, service and food.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Love adobe. They have a new menu and the fish tacos were fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Table was somewhat small for 8 people. Food was good but a bit spicy. Waiter was not that attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Very disappointing, for the price you pay, you should expect. Better quality of food. Our tortillas , that came with our fajitas, were hard , one was very thick , one was broken up. Tortilla soup was ok , you use to be able to order a cup or bowl but now only one size $10. We have been visiting this restaurant every year and it getting worse, they are real cutting back on the quality. I think this will be our last visit .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Service was fine and our waitress was friendly. Overall, the food was fairly standard Mexican fare with nothing especially exciting. My tamales were average and the masa poorly spiced, although the fish tacos were tasty and well prepared. Beans and rice are lukewarm and uninspiring. What's the deal with the tasteless beans and the dried-out 'spanish' rice? Wine is wildly overpriced ... enjoy a beer or one of their Margaritas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food with friends after an event there. We will definitely return! Thanks.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had a great dinner with our family here the night before Thanksgiving. Great band playing and excellent margaritas and food.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Fireplace, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I have eaten here several times. Unfortunately this restaurant never meets my expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 23, 2016

The corn was wonderful. Also loved the tableside guacamole preparation. Salads were flavorless. Chips and salsa good. Quesadilla a must. Fajitas disappointing. Enchiladas not great.

Also, there were extended periods of time where we never saw our waitress or waitstaff. The food delivery was very slow and they had to be reminded about several food items they forgot.

The atmosphere outside on the patio by the fireplace was very nice.

The prices were Astronomical for what you got. Not a good value.

Go for appetizers. Sit outside. Have a drink. Then you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Viktor is simply "The Best!" Great service, thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Great outside dining. Food and service were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 15, 2016

15 - 20 years ago, this was an excellent Mexican restaurant that we often visited. We moved away and had not returned until this past week. Unfortunately, we found that it was no longer nearly as fine as we remembered. Service was indifferent as was the food. Our main courses arrived just a few minutes after we started to eat our first courses. The drinks lacked much flavor and the food also was mediocre. The restaurant looked the same. And cost the same. But the pleasure was gone.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 15, 2016

For Mexican-American, the prices are really steep. The food is above average quality, but "nothing to write home about." Décor is typical for a Mexican restaurant. There is outdoor seating, which in the fall is great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Slow, slow service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Margaritas are expensive and weak. Guacamole is amazingly good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Standard Mexican fare served up in a nice setting at a beautiful hotel.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.