Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Acme Food & Beverage Co.

The ovens are turned on early. Six o'clock most days. Earlier on Sunday. Within an hour, bread is rising, apples are being sliced. Pecan pies are pulled hot from the oven and left to cool. Ice cream churns in the machine. Cups of coffee steam on the prep table, the baker's cup marked with chocolaty fingerprints. By midmorning, pork shoulder, rubbed with spices the day before, is slowly smoked. And white buckets are filled with sliced onions. Corn is shucked. The stock that cooked all night is taken off the stove and strained. Bags of fresh shrimp are delivered in old grocery store bags. The waiters arrive in groups, shirts and ties on hangers. By then, every burner in the kitchen is being used. Herbs are chopped. Scallops cleaned. Ovens at 500 degrees. All sauces are checked. Bartenders polish their shakers. Silverware is rolled and every surface is wiped down. Music. Lights. Doors are opened. Dinnertime. At Acme. Seven nights a week. Local never tasted so damn good.

110 E Main St
Carrboro, NC 27510
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-2263

Website:
http://www.acmecarrboro.com/

Catering:
Acme offers personalized catered events from 40 to 400. The catering staff has extensive experience in taking care of all aspects of the event. All alcohol permits. Specializing in southern food and hospitality.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant off of Roberson Street. There is an entrance to the restaurant from the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Callaghan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Acme Food & Beverage Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (52)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Comfort Food (35)
Casual (34)
Good for a Date (31)
Great for Brunch (30)
Seasonal (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Authentic (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Cozy (19)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Fun (13)
Great Beer (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Organic (8)
Romantic (8)
Healthy (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (3)
Vegan (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, good service, and reasonable value. And the pecan pie dessert was a nice finish.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 12, 2017

The oysters were spectacular especially on Thursdays when they are half price and delicious!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 12, 2017

We enjoyed a wonderful evening and dinner en plein air on Acme's patio. The service was friendly; the food delicious. Good wine and beer list too! Would recommend for a night out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 12, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. Consistently great food, good service, and nice ambience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Waiter was inattentive ...... Justin made us wait on everything including the check. Ordered 2nd glass of wine at beginning of meal. Got it after I was finished. Service ruined otherwise good meal.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 12, 2017

When the weather permits, dining outside by the fountain is lovely and so much quieter.
The Thurs oysters special is a welcome addition to the menu.

Tags: Seasonal, Casual, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

It was very warm in the restaurant... maybe the air conditioner was out... we stayed and were very glad we did. The food was AMAZING!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

The area we were seated in was very warm, with very little air flow. It was not comfortable, and took away from my enjoyment of the meal and the conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Fabulous food! LOVED the crabcakes and the stuffed peppers.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 5, 2017

I always choose Acme when I'm looking for delicious, local comfort food with style. It's a terrific neighborhood place that everyone will love.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Comfort Food, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We are never disappointed by the creative chef and the charming wait staff. This particular meal concluded with the surprise of scuppernong pie -- delicious and delicate. We are still talking about it. Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a lovely brunch out on the patio, with attentive and friendly service. The food was exceptional, and the setting outside is beautiful. We eat at Acme about once a month and it never fails to deliver. The dining room is always hopping, but there are several corners in which you can be a bit tucked away, which is better for conversation. My hubby and I love to grab a drink and a few apps at the bar.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2017

The only negative was the temperature inside. We dined at Acme on September 28, 2017 and it was hot! Uncomfortable. The shoul d be more aware of the temperature so that diners can have a more enjoyable experience eating amazing food.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We went for the oyster blowout ands brought btwo neighbors, recently moved in, who had never been. the oysters were spectacular and the rest of the meal was great. Good cornbread as well as draft beer. Acme continues to be one of our go to places and I think our new neighbors will add it to their list.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 28, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in the area. We have never had a bad meal and always bring visiting friends and family here when they come to town. Food is always fresh, creative and local. Highly recommend it

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The service was great, and Acme always delicious and creative specials. It's a great location for brunch and making a reservation is the way to go for sure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 24, 2017

So good as always. You can always count on a great meal here.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Came to Acme after seeing their instagram page. I ordered the snapper dish that came with roasted brussel sprouts and ginger sweet potato mash in ponzu sauce. I had taste of everyone's dishes as well and everything was great except for the gumbo which was not particularly spectacular.

The service was great and our server had quite the personality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Appetizers very good. Entrees were just ok for the price. Have eaten here before. Will eat here again assuming this was a one-off experience as past meals have been very good to great.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The farmer's omelet was excellent. The burger (bite I stole from my fellow diner) was juicy and delicious. This is a great little gem of Carrboro.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I've eaten here many times and hvenever been dappointed!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great Southern cuisine. My son, who now lives in Philadelphia, was back for a visit and craved Southern cuisine. Acme did not disappoint. Service was great and the food was too, especially the cornbread, tomato tart, and scuppernong pie.

Tags: Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Ambiance is that of a neighborhood tavern. We had calamari that was served in an outstanding slaw and fried green tomatoes with pimento cheese, also tasty. For entrees, the "roasted pig" is pulled pork in a sweet slightly smokey tomato based BBQ sauce - very good but not exceptional. The flash fried flounder with collards was excellent. Server was attentive, helpful, informal. First visit for us and not the last.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Creative delicious food with the freshest beer on tap. I might come back tomorrow.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 13, 2017

The waiter seemed to be stoned. The crab cakes special was really bad. The crab cakes were mushy and not meaty. I will hesitate before coming back again!

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 12, 2017

I have eaten here many times..the food is always excellent although this time I did not think it was outstanding. My major concern is that it is very difficult to have a conversation in the dining room due to noise level.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Terrific take on southern comfort food, beautiful outdoors patio dining. We went for a get-together with our grown children for a birthday. They are foodies and really enjoyed it! we have always had lovely, down-to-earth wait people-the service was excellent. The wait staff even overheard that it was a birthday, and brought out candles on the dessert, which was really delightful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Healthy, Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Acme remains one of our fave restaurants in the Carrboro/Chapel Hill area. The staff are friendly; the food great! Thanks!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

One of my favorite places to dine as it's southern food with a twist & always great. Their Moscow Mule is the best because of the ginger ale that's in it (made just over the border in South Carolina). It can get a little loud, so they may want to consider the carpet on the underside of each table to help.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 27, 2017

As always, everything was great; food and service!

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was my second visit, and it held up extremely well the second time around. It's not too expensive (though not cheap eats, either), but it was precisely what we had hoped for.

The Southern twist to gourmet food is appealing and very well-executed.

I will go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 25, 2017

The food at Acme is very good but the service is very, very slow. We waited over an hour to get entries! Service inside is somewhat better than service outside on the patio.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 25, 2017

What a neighborhood gem! I would never have gone in based on the facade. Go through to the outside oasis in the back and you will be very surprised. Thoroughly enjoyed the food! The tomato pie I could eat every day. Will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Delicious food, interesting menu and great use of homegrown garden vegetables. Chef Callaghan is fantastic at what he does! I never knew that pickles could be so creative and delicious. The hush puppies were incredible. We make a point of dining at Acme every time we are in Chapel Hill.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Acme is no longer the place we love to go to when in Carboro/Chapel Hill. The last two visits have been very disappointing. The food was overcooked and sloppily presented. The service was deplorable ., two out of three orders were incorrect and my husbands meal came out 10 minutes after everyone else at the table.
We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

The food is simply awesome. It doesn't matter whether it is a special dinner (Game of Thrones) or just lunch after church, Acme is my favorite restaurant. I spend a great deal of time in locations that boast great dining, however, I come home for the best dining.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The food was not disappointing but not something to rave about. Noise level extremely high and seating was tight. No real ambiance. Service was good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Went for the Calabash Night menu - it was quite good. The cornbread is always good and the service as well. Enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Fun, Seasonal, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Another fine evening at Acme! Consistently very good food, congenial atmosphere, friendly service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We took out-of-town friends to Sunday Brunch at Acme.Some of us had breakfast; some had lunch. It was all very good. One of our friends said it was the best eggs benedict he had every had. The staff were very nice and let us stay after the restaurant had closed. We will definitely return.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.