Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.19mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.40mi

About Acme Food & Beverage Co.

The ovens are turned on early. Six o'clock most days. Earlier on Sunday. Within an hour, bread is rising, apples are being sliced. Pecan pies are pulled hot from the oven and left to cool. Ice cream churns in the machine. Cups of coffee steam on the prep table, the baker's cup marked with chocolaty fingerprints. By midmorning, pork shoulder, rubbed with spices the day before, is slowly smoked. And white buckets are filled with sliced onions. Corn is shucked. The stock that cooked all night is taken off the stove and strained. Bags of fresh shrimp are delivered in old grocery store bags. The waiters arrive in groups, shirts and ties on hangers. By then, every burner in the kitchen is being used. Herbs are chopped. Scallops cleaned. Ovens at 500 degrees. All sauces are checked. Bartenders polish their shakers. Silverware is rolled and every surface is wiped down. Music. Lights. Doors are opened. Dinnertime. At Acme. Seven nights a week. Local never tasted so damn good.

110 E Main St
Carrboro, NC 27510
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-2263

Website:
http://www.acmecarrboro.com/

Catering:
Acme offers personalized catered events from 40 to 400. The catering staff has extensive experience in taking care of all aspects of the event. All alcohol permits. Specializing in southern food and hospitality.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant off of Roberson Street. There is an entrance to the restaurant from the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Callaghan

Private Party Facilities:
Acme has a semi-private room that seats 20 people that is perfect for business meetings and private parties. On a limited basis, Acme can be rented for the entire evening for wedding parties and other special events.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Murtaugh: (877) 791-9642

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Acme Food & Beverage Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (48)
Good for a Date (48)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Creative Cuisine (35)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Comfort Food (29)
Local Ingredients (29)
Great for Outdoor Dining (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Casual (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Great for Brunch (22)
Cozy (20)
Authentic (19)
Seasonal (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fun (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Healthy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
People Watching (7)
Great Beer (6)
Organic (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Tapas (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Family Style (3)
Historic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1438 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful meal and service! Deviled eggs are always great. Trout entree was amazing! -perfectly cooked and seasoned, sides of ginger sweet potatoes and brussel sprouts were so delicious. My husband enjoyed the blackened salmon. Strawberry shortcake for dessert had us wishing we'd ordered two-it was so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

We returned to ACME because we thoroughly enjoyed our meals there a couple of months back. Once again, ACME delighted.

Both the trout and the blackened salmon main courses wete cooked to each diner's preference and were delicious and served with tasty sides. The green salad was great with an unexpected scattering of black eyed peas and dressing with oomph--it might have had a small amount of horseradish?

For wine, the Capitaini (?) Pinot Noir was fantastic.

Finally, we were glad we tried the butterscotch pudding!

The only negative was the crowded and somewhat noisy dining area. We expected that, however, because we were there on Tuesday (their reduced-price entree night).

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

The trout dish is one of my favorite dishes EVER. The service is outstanding as well. Excellent experience all around!

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Loved the food and the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

While the food was, and always seems to be, superb, my lower ratings focus more on service. There seemed to be some confusion in the kitchen as our entrees took longer than normal to appear at our table. It also seemed the process was quite random with some two person tables getting served almost immediately (with similar entrees I might add) while other two person tables were in the wait mode like we were.
However, our server was the consummate professional and comped us with free desert, so all was not lost.
Despite this blip, I still highly recommend ACME. However dinner is preferred as this being our first time for brunch, the menu was somewhat limited and highly egg-oriented.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food was ok, but not wonderful and the service was truly awful. I waited tables for 10 years, and our server was obviously more interested in his other tables. We had to flag people down for refills, he checked on us exactly once and then dropped our check without asking, causing us to leave without ordering more drinks or dessert. We came to celebrate a friend's birthday, something that was in our reservation, and it wasn't acknowledged in anyway. Why ask if you aren't at least going to say "happy birthday"? It is definitely not a space I would choose to celebrate another occasion, or even a place I would go if I wanted good service or a refill.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 21, 2017

In the past I have had some problems, although the staff is wonderful trying to help me. I am gluten intolerant and because the vegetables with each meal are set many, like mac and cheese, I cannot eat. Acme used to be strict about substitutions, so I got me meal and ordered a gluten free veg. on the side. Because gluten intolerance affects a lot of people, I think switching a gluten side from a plate should be easier. My friends have told me that they do not order certain meals because of the vegetables they have to get. I know you don't want everyone to pick and switch sides, but it does make eating at ACME, my favorite place to go, more challenging. My waitress last night was so nice about switching mac and cheese for grits. so I hope this will be the case. I love your food, drinks, atmosphere and staff. What a great place to go!

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Fabulous! The food was excellent! I especially enjoyed the outdoor dining. I had the crab cakes and the calamari salad. I wish there was a larger selection of red wines by the glass though.

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Have typically had good food and service. Last night the food was good, the service started out great and went downhill to the end of the meal.
We actually told our server we were forgoing starters to save room for desert. We ordered deserts with coffee and cappuccino.
My coffee arrived promptly, cappuccino was a wait (could have properly served both at the same time).
Our server kept looking at us as we finished our coffees and I was finally able to get her attention and asked for the check and forget the deserts. We had been waiting a good 20 minutes for the dishes and finished our coffee. She said she would check (finally) came back and said there was a new desert person and he or she lost our ticket, but she would be happy to pack the deserts to go, we declined and again asked for the check. She gave it to us comped the coffee ( we did not ask for it) and she then split, I paid cash and we left, without seeing her again, she never came to pick up the money.
On the whole it probably shouldn't be a big deal but it really left a bad taste in my mouth if you forgive the pun. It was a shame to end on that experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 8, 2017

Acme always delivered. Succulent soft shell crabs were so delicious and prepared perfectly with great taste and not heavy breading. Loved our meal there - again!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food, I love the chicken, mashed potatoes and limas! Service was good, drinks refreshing and dessert excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We go to Acme quite often, so this is a review of one meal. The fact that we go quite often with so many choices available speaks for itself. Acme is always good, sometimes memorable. This time the tuna ceviche was delicious - memorable level. The oysters with mignonette were also delicious, but that's mostly a matter of finding good oysters. These were Hog Island. The soft shell crabs were very good but not as memorable as the ceviche. And the pecan pie was delicious to the last crumb. We highly recommend the Acme. It remains one of our top local favorites.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Service was excellent. Ribs were overdone and dry. The rest was good.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Really great customer service, the food was amazing and I feel like the staff went above and beyond to make sure we had a good time and were well taken care of. Would absolutely recommend.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

We have always liked the food at the Acme but we came for the advertised special barbecue ribs and the food was mediocre, at the best. The ribs were roasted beef ribs (not the usual pork) with very little meat left on them, sauce served on the side, french fries that were soggy and limp and tasteless and coleslaw which seemed like cabbage with lightly seasoned mayo on it. The baked beans were ok. Very disappointing and unlike usual fare at Acme.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Met up for Tuesday night dinner with old friends and had a blast. Always a delicious meal at Acme - it's like being home during a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Tired. That's how I'd describe Acme. We've been going to Acme about once a year for the past 8 years or so and the menu is stagnant and not that interesting anymore. The service was fine but the wine list is limited and expensive. The food was okay but nothing was noteworthy except for the fresh oysters. I don't think we'll go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We were very disappointed in our experience for dinner on April 30, 2017. We have been dining at Acme for about 17 years, and until now it has been our benchmark for fine dining in this area. Until now it has been our go-to restaurant for special occasions. We were very disappointed on Sunday in our portion sizes (the salads were about 1/3 of their former sizes) and in the quality of the food. My seafood gumbo was mediocre and didn't contain much seafood. The service was abysmal--we needed to ask for bread and for silverware between courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Acme never disappoints. The food and surroundings were terrific

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The gumbo was extremely salty and the bone marrow appetizer didn't have a lot of Marrow, and only two small bones. I guess my dog would've liked it. Very disappointing over all especially since for years this was our favorite restaurant in Chapel Hill.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Dinner was excellent and our waiter was very knowledgeable. The only complaint I have is that he did take quite a while to take our drink orders when we were first seated. And it was a little warm in the restaurant that night. But all in all a nice evening out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and service. Quite consistent. Super bar.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Specifically selected this with the hope of having an(other) great meal here AND sitting outside in their charming backyard. The food was great; we didn't get a table outside but were able to sit at the group table/bar outside so got some good ambiance. However, cigarette smoke from the neighboring establishment wafted over the entire time, putting a real damper on the outside experience...Not sure how to rectify but it did contribute to a less than 5-stellar experience as I've had before.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent as always! My favorite neighborhood restaurant. As a wine lover, I'm impressed with the selection, which changes often, allowing the opportunity to sample new varietals. Not the usual suspects. Server's suggestions have been spot on and have added some new vintages to my must have handy list. Now if only I can find them locally....

The only drawback is the noise level during peak dining hours. Tuesday night special pricing just makes a good thing even better.

Love this place!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Went for Sunday Brunch and was glad to have made a reservation as the wait time for those without was over an hour and a half.
The menu was nicely varied for brunch and the food really tasty.
The staff was exceptional...my water glass was never empty and at the same time we weren't bothered by staff continually asking "is every thing alright?".
I have had the true pleasure of dining at Acme over the years and always recommend it to anyone asking for a good local restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Every time we dine at Acme, we go in with high expectations and never leave disappointed. From appetizers through dessert, all of our choices were exceptional. The diners at our table said many times, this is the best ... (whatever they ordered) I have ever had.

Would highly recommend Acme Food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

gotta say we were disappointed. crab cakes were seared and bitter, salmon was good but not great. and on our anniversary, sadly dinner didn't live up to past experience, reviews, and expectations. will note, pecan pie was delicious and service was good. as we are limited in carrboro, undoubtedlywe wil have another go and hope for better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Excellent crab cakes and corn bread.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Fantastic food, delicious. Always love eating there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always a pleasure to dine at Acme. The food is really good and the menu is varied. I particularly enjoy Sunday brunch there with weekend guests. It can be a bit loud and the tables are close together so I wouldn't go expecting a quiet dinner! But it is friendly and the service is consistently excellent. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Acme is our go-to restaurant for birthdays and family celebrations. It's comfortable and the food is consistently good. Dinner portions are large (enough for lunch the next day!) They do wonderful fried oysters, skillet cornbread...any kind of fish is delicious here. Brunch on Sundays is equally good.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Dinner, drinks, and service were all superb, as usual.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was outstanding. We got the blackened salmon, the ribeye special, the opa special, and the creole gumbo. All the food on our plates was delicious. Creole gumbo had just the right amount of heat for me, but does have heat, which is indicated in menu. Service was very slow despite not being busy when we first got there, but server was nice. Never asked about special occasion despite having gifts at the table, would have been a nice touch. A long wait to get our appetizer, another long wait for food. But totally worth it for the food! Looking forward to going back next time in the area.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great service, awesome food, & a lovey Easter brunch. 😊

Tags: Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I took my kids to Easter Brunch at ACME and had a great experience. The French toast that they got was extremely good. The eggs Benedict that I had was also very good. The addition of fried green tomatoes gave the dish s nice texture. I also liked the pork used in it as it was a Lille thicker and easier to eat than the standard Canadian bacon usually used.

The service was quick and efficient as we like it.

Overall this was an excellent meal. I will go back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Acme is one of my most favorite places to eat in Chapel Hill! The Easter Brunch food was amazing, like always! The service was not so great! Hopefully our waiter got in a better mood later in the day!! We usually get Tom and he is the best! Acme has amazing food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Acme never disappoints!! First time for Sunday brunch and Easter made it special. The patio was perfect, loved the selection of specials, my latte was one of the best I've ever had and the Acme Benedict was delicious! Great service from Shannon and Grayson.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

What a great time we had celebrating here at Acme. The menu selection was wonderful and our meals were superb. The cornbread is a must try.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 15, 2017

ACME always exceeds expectations, simply wonderful all around.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Amazing food selection, we ordered about 6 small plates to split and it was all so delicious!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.