About Acme Food & Beverage Co.

110 E Main St
Carrboro, NC 27510
View Larger Map

The ovens are turned on early. Six o'clock most days. Earlier on Sunday. Within an hour, bread is rising, apples are being sliced. Pecan pies are pulled hot from the oven and left to cool. Ice cream churns in the machine. Cups of coffee steam on the prep table, the baker's cup marked with chocolaty fingerprints. By midmorning, pork shoulder, rubbed with spices the day before, is slowly smoked. And white buckets are filled with sliced onions. Corn is shucked. The stock that cooked all night is taken off the stove and strained. Bags of fresh shrimp are delivered in old grocery store bags. The waiters arrive in groups, shirts and ties on hangers. By then, every burner in the kitchen is being used. Herbs are chopped. Scallops cleaned. Ovens at 500 degrees. All sauces are checked. Bartenders polish their shakers. Silverware is rolled and every surface is wiped down. Music. Lights. Doors are opened. Dinnertime. At Acme. Seven nights a week. Local never tasted so damn good.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm; Brunch: Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(919) 929-2263

Website:
http://www.acmecarrboro.com/

Catering:
Acme offers personalized catered events from 40 to 400. The catering staff has extensive experience in taking care of all aspects of the event. All alcohol permits. Specializing in southern food and hospitality.

Parking Details:
Parking is available behind the restaurant off of Roberson Street. There is an entrance to the restaurant from the parking lot.

Executive Chef:
Kevin Callaghan

Private Party Facilities:
Acme has a semi-private room that seats 20 people that is perfect for business meetings and private parties. On a limited basis, Acme can be rented for the entire evening for wedding parties and other special events.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Murtaugh: (877) 791-9642

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Acme Food & Beverage Co. Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Local Ingredients (31)
Good for a Date (28)
Casual (27)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Cozy (15)
Comfort Food (15)
Seasonal (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Authentic (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Fun (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Great Beer (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (5)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
People Watching (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Business Meals (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent. Fish was cooked to ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was excellent. Fish was cooked to perfection with an amazing sauce that didn't overpower the natural flavor. Crab cakes were equally amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very friendly waitstaff. unique cocktail ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Very friendly waitstaff. unique cocktails. It took along time to get our food which was OK but it would have been nice for the waitress to acknowledge the wait time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Again it was very good and we will be ba ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 2 days ago

Again it was very good and we will be back for all the usual good reasons, food and service and menu. Hopefully the owners would not have let us stand outside in a freezing cold or rain while they watch the clock to open the door at 5:30. You NEED rsvp. We use open table. The people in the front of the line at the door did not have rsvp so had to settle for sitting outside and it was pretty cool!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Acme is a wonderful place but, as it may ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Acme is a wonderful place but, as it may happen occasionally, despite requesting a quiet corner, my lady and I were placed in a room where a table of twelve absolutely dulled our senses with explosive laughs and shouted conversations. We had to shout our orders to a most understanding and apologetic waitperson and, eventually, gave up trying to make conversation due to the excessive noise. Sadly, it nearly ruined the evening. That being said, the food, table service and layout of the restaurant make Acme one of the finest. On this occasion, however, a classic case of "right place but wrong time...a very wrong time."

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

This place has been a favorite of ours f ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

This place has been a favorite of ours for three decades.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, , Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The Lobster special was one of the best ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 7 days ago

The Lobster special was one of the best I have ever had. Presentation beautiful and not too much. Good place to go

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good for what you get (small po ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was good for what you get (small portions), service was very slow on patio. Not sure if I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We were in Chapel Hill for the weekend, ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We were in Chapel Hill for the weekend, and had a great dinner at Acme. Especially liked the pecan crusted fried chicken and the cornbread.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food at Acme is always great. The s ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food at Acme is always great. The service was really good too. Tables are super close together and we could hear everything said at the next table. We were trying to have a private conversation and caught them looking at us several times, so had to whisper. I wish the restaurant was more flexible about switching side dishes. The fried chicken my friend wanted came with butter beans and mashed potatoes. She didn't want the butter beans, but they wouldn't sub another side, so just got the potatoes and paid extra for some soup. The waitress said the reason is because it drives up costs, but I fail to see how substituting spinach for butter beans is more expensive? Oh well... overall it was fabulous. The cappuccino at the end was delicious, too!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Always delicious!

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is always a treat to go out in Carrbo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

It is always a treat to go out in Carrboro for dinner. Sitting outside is our favorite and couldn't believe how nice it was in early February. Our server was friendly, professional and responsive to our requests. My husband and I both loved the steak, the salmon and the sides. We will go again soon.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We generally eat at the bar at ACME's. ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We generally eat at the bar at ACME's. It's a comfortable scene, congenial bartender, great food and drink!

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very comfortable atmosphere and excellen ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Very comfortable atmosphere and excellent food. The baked French toast was scrumptious , as was the omelet. Our waitress was friendly and relaxed and gave us helpful suggestions on our menu choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant was recommended to us by ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 3, 2017

This restaurant was recommended to us by local residents. I'm not sure I can give it a fair review because parking is iMPOSSIBLE. The food and drinks were yummy but it seemed the staff were a bit self absorbed. It's the hip place I guess but I prefer a more welcoming vibe. I'm the customer...you're not doing me a favor by allowing me to dine there.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Excellent food

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great Food, Fantastic Service....try the ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great Food, Fantastic Service....try the ACME Benedict...amazing

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

There was some trouble getting seated du ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 29, 2017

There was some trouble getting seated due to a party before us but the wait staff was amazing and the food was absolutely wonderful, one of the best meals I've had in a while. Two thumbs up !!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, the food was good. In particula ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Overall, the food was good. In particular, the fresh oysters were superb. However, the seafood gumbo, which advertised shrimp and halibut, was disappointing. The gumbo was mainly rice and roux, which was tasty, but I could only find 2 shrimp and virtually no fish. Skimping on the seafood in a seafood gumbo is not cool.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Saturday night at the ACME was upbeat an ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Saturday night at the ACME was upbeat and very high energy. Atmosphere is fun, while hostess, barkeep and servers greet you and help you feel engaged. The server actually noticed the table of 10 next to us had become very boisterous in the first 5 mins of our seating. He and the hostess arranged for my friend and I to change tables so we could have a comfortable conversation. Many thanks !! The food is consistently well prepared, with some innovation & a high price tag. If you can go on a Tuesday, the menu is a specially priced that makes it affordable to try a variety of courses.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Acme is a very consistent restaurant. Yo ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Acme is a very consistent restaurant. You can always find something delicious to eat. Waiter service is excellent.f

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We requested a table for four by the win ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We requested a table for four by the window so that it would be more quiet and our request was met. We always enjoy the Southern cuisine at Acme and the service is always very friendly. The only complaint I have is that you cannot ask for substitutions and if you do, you have to pay for the item you are requesting.

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Always above and beyond service and food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Always above and beyond service and food. We love Acme!

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Acme never disappoints. Service is alway ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Acme never disappoints. Service is always warm, attentive, and thoughtful. Food is always perfectly cooked, well-seasoned, and leaving you wanting more. The mac & cheese, steak frites, and pecan crusted chicken are my go-to's! My best experience was I used OpenTable to book a birthday dinner reservation online for my fiance cause Acme is one of his favorites, and I left a note in the notes section of the reservation. I had never done that so I wasn't sure if they were going to get it or not, but they did, and they surprised the fiance with a birthday dessert. I was anxiously waiting to see if they would come out or if I needed to sneak away to the rest room to order but without fail, they pulled through!! I really appreciated their attentiveness to even an online reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very pleased with the food and service. ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Very pleased with the food and service. Our only disappointment was being seated in the banquet room, separate from the warm and lively ambiance of the main section. We've always enjoyed dining at the bar, and in hindsight, we would have preferred that.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

One complaint. Tables too close together ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 10, 2017

One complaint. Tables too close together,claustrophobic..take out a few tables felt stuffed in there.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was very enjoyable, although ju ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was very enjoyable, although just a bit pricey. They had a good selection of local beer, and their wine list should have most bases covered. We were not notified that the gumbo (a main menu item) was unavailable, which was one of a couple instances when our server was less than exceptional. In general he was sort of grumpy; I understand the weather was supposed to take a turn later that night, but it was not a good impression. The food was more than satisfactory and the ambiance was nice. I'm sure I'll be back at some point.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

The food was amazing! Best Salmon I've e ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 3, 2017

The food was amazing! Best Salmon I've ever had. The staff was so friendly and attentive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Acme never disappoints. Fresh, seasonal, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Acme never disappoints. Fresh, seasonal, and always taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We usually love ACME, but during NYE din ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We usually love ACME, but during NYE dinner the service was rough. The salmon and dessert were delicious, but we got a steak that was supposed to be medium rare and it came out raw. Unfortunately, the server didn't do anything about it. Usually this place is great, but I recommend going on a less busy night (not a holiday) where the servers have a little more time to focus.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

This is one of the best restaurants in R ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Raleigh Durham area. Very creative chef, great service. Love it

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The special appetizer of corn pudding, p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The special appetizer of corn pudding, poached egg and sauteed spinach with bacon was a taste delight! We would love to have that again.

Even though our server(when asked) did not recommend the seafood chowder, we had our minds and taste buds set on it. So we ordered the seafood chowder and were disappointed with the lack of recognizable fish, scallops, and oysters. We had expected perhaps a piece of halibut and a couple of whole oysters and scallops visible when presented. Instead, it was more "soup" . Disappointing, even though the flavor was good. We ended the meal with the chocolate dessert - EXCELLENT!

We like Acme and go often. They usually never disappoint! So we will be back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, ACME's food is marvelous. Ser ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

As always, ACME's food is marvelous. Service this time around was OK

and prices seem to have risen.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Very noisy in restaurant, not the best p ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Very noisy in restaurant, not the best pick for a romantic anniversary meal, my meal was amazing (fried chicken), my husbands not so great, seafood chowder. Not all that it was made out to be unfortunately.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great experience! One of our favorite pl ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Great experience! One of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent as always, but we ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The food was excellent as always, but we did not receive our bread until we finished our entree. The "busgirl" seemed distracted. Our waiter was attentive and stepped. In to bring the bread. Great desserts!

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Amazing all around. Cocktails were great ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Amazing all around. Cocktails were great. Apps had the food starting off on a good note. Both were amazing. Entrees were on point. All three of us thoroughly enjoyed each. Dessert was fabulous as well. If I had more that two thumbs, I would point them all upward. Great experience!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed dinner at Acme. Visited with a ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Enjoyed dinner at Acme. Visited with a friend that we hadn't seen in several months. Great for catching up.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still the best buy around for Sunday bru ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Still the best buy around for Sunday brunch as you can tell by the enthusiastic crowd.

Tags: , People Watching, Hot Spot, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went for Sunday brunch to celebrate a fr ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Went for Sunday brunch to celebrate a friend's birthday and thanks to the unusually warm weather were able to eat outside on the patio. Had outstanding service with a very patient and attentive waitress who took the time to answer my friend's many questions (since she had never eaten there before). The Bloody Mary's are great, and the eggs Benedict, specials and potatoes were all delicious as was the chocolate dessert (with candle). I had not eaten there for a while but hope to return again soon.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Almost always good and interesting food, ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Almost always good and interesting food, pleasant ambiance. The soft white bread used to be the one drawback for me, something from the '50s (probably intentional "southern") but it's been replaced by a bread with a decent crust and a little more character, which makes me much more likely to go.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.