Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.10mi
  3. Distance: 0.12mi
  4. Distance: 0.16mi

About Abigail's

Abigail's is a full service neighborhood restaurant, serving ingredient inspired cuisine, craft beer and cocktails. Located in Kendall Sq , Abigail's is the realization of a long held dream, a labor of love named for our first love, Abigail.

291 3rd Street
Cambridge, MA 02142
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:00am
Saturday: 4:00pm - 1:00am
Sunday: 11:00am - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Athenaeum St & Third St

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 945-9086

Website:
http://www.abigailskendall.com/

Entertainment:
Abigail's offers Karaoke on Friday nights from 10pm until last call.
Come join us at the bar and have a great time!

Catering:
Abigail's also offers full service catering. Everything from breakfast meetings, weddings, pig roasts, BBQ and much more. No matter the party size or occasion we have the services and friendly staff to make your event most memorable.

Parking Details:
Discounted Parking, with Validation
**Kendall Square South Garage
350 Kendall Street (Located underneath the Watermark Apartment Building)

A large amount of metered street parking is also available around the restaurant.

Public Transit:
Train:
Redline- Kendall/MIT station
Green Line- Lechmere station

Bus:
MIT/Kendall Station
Bus 68, 85, CT2

Lechmere Station
Bus 69, 80, 87, 88

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Abigail's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.8

ambience

3.8

value

3.6

noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Casual (3)
See All
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Authentic (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Romantic (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

Food and drinks were great and the service was even better!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Food was bland and not well-prepared - not enough to rise to the level of sending it back, but just not very good. Waiter didn't know basic things about the menu, like whether an item was served hot or cold. I would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Slow service despite place being almost empty. Bad 80s playlist didn't match restaurant ambiance, tables wobbly. Okay for lunch but not worth a weekend meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Went on a rainy day. The dining room is pretty basic but lots of after work folks. I am sure the outside patio is great on nice days.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Worst service I can recall.
Ordered beverage were never brought.
No water refill.
None asked if the food was ok.
We had to ask for the check.
Look for other way better options in Kendall Sq

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Good services, kind courteous waiter. Timely delivery and great food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our first trip to Abigail's was a total success. Excellent waitstaff that answered all questions with obvious knowledge of the menu and drinks. The food is good and the options will satisfy all people in your party. It was a quiet evening when we dined, and the design of the space suggests that conversation would still be easy even when crowded. The casual atmosphere is great, and we'll return to order different, great-sounding menu items.

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The burger was delicious, but it was rather small. Doesn't need to be huge, but I felt like I needed two of them. My colleague's salad was also on the small side. Portioning is not nearly as bad as the now-defunct Ames Deli (where you had to get lunch after lunch) but a slight adjustment would improve the value proposition. The place was also a little dark, but on the balance lunch was very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Was disappointed by the gluten free offerings. I called ahead to make sure that they had options. When I mentioned this to the waiter - I was hit with a funny look & a "well salad?? " how severe is your allergy??

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 19, 2017

A great restaurant with patio seating in addition to booths and tables indoors. Been here lunch and dinner. Enjoyed both. Good cocktails.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Seasonal, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quick Bite, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Been here for lunch a couple of times. The food is very good. Unfortunately the service is sorely lacking and boarderline rude and unprofessional. I don't care how good the food is, I'm not going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food was good nothing particularly special. The service not so much. We felt rushed the whole time. We were expected to order as soon as we sat down, and given the check as soon as we finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Rushing people through a meal when the restaurant is half-full is not a good service practice. Management response was not reassuring nor effective.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 11, 2017

We had a reservation for 8 and brought an extra person who was graciously accommodated. Great food with excellent presentation! Will definitely be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Pros: food was very good, wine list was extensive, reservations accepted, special diet restriction options available and notated in menu, most waitstaff was very nice

Cons: waitress was pushy--pulled menu right out of our dining guest's hands stating "just order the ____, you'll love it" and he wasn't decided on what he wanted yet. Also she kept trying to remove plates of food that we all hadn't finished the food from yet. Mashed potatoes tasted like "instant".

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Drinks and food were good but the whole experience was overpriced for the value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Good drinks, limited menu. Good spot for business lunch or after work in Kendall Square area.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great neighborhood place...friendly atmosphere. ..attentive service...Abigail Fish sandwich and chicken wings were so delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We had an enjoyable brunch at Abigail's. Good variety of food, hearty servings and friendly wait staff. The coffee is delicious and brunch cocktails are large, but some of them were on the very sweet side. Nothing particularly fancy, but a solid meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We had a wonderful time at Abigail's. The food and drinks were excellent. My salmon was cooked just right and the green beans were nice and crisp; just the way I like them. The server was prompt and friendly. We will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 22, 2017

The steak I ordered was the worst piece of meat I've ever had. The whole piece had bristle/white cartilage in it and I could not chew it, never mind even cut it with my knife. My friend ordered the steak as well and hers came out the same. I can't speak about the drinks because we didn't order any but I definitely would not come back to Abigail's again for food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 13, 2017

First visit - loved it. Although the menu is concise, quality and creativity of the entrees was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Impromptu business dinner scheduled and we were all extremely pleased with our meals.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Solid eatery but nothing out of the ordinary. Atmosphere of a bistro pub. Slightly disappointed by cocktails which looked really good on menu but lacked a bit of finesse in the execution.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was good. I got the Brunch Skillet, which was more watery than I expected. I ordered a cup of tea but received a tea pot and was charged the tea pot price, which was confusing. The waitress was nice to correct it but the menu only says tea pot and not tea cup, which is confusing. Service was alright - I feel we waited about 20 minutes for someone to just pick up the check when we were ready to pay. Otherwise it was a nice ambiance and spacious environment.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Made a same day reservation on open table. When we arrived there were a few small tables filled but overall the place was pretty empty. I informed the host/waiter that we were here for our scheduled reservation. We then stood around for 10-15 minutes without any clear direction or notification of when we would be seated. This was pretty bizarre since the restaurant was nearly empty and we were a large group and the entry way isn't that big. When I finally asked if we could sit down...the host brought us to the table which had been ready from the beginning. The service was slow and disjointed (instead of everyone getting their drinks and food at the same time...things seemed to come out at random times).

All that said, when the food and drinks did eventually appear it was very good. The gouda fries were my personal favorite. The restaurant was sorely understaffed (1 host/waiter and 1 bartender for the entire place) and made dining with a large group less than relaxing. I suspect this place is better for a workday lunch rather than weekend dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 9, 2017

First time dining at Abigail's and I would definitely dine here again. Great location and they were happy to accommodate our group of 8 which then grew to 16. Wings were awesome and brisket sandwich was killer. Fun beer selection and service was stellar. Definitely look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We enjoyed our last-minute brunch at Abigail's. We were able to be seated without any problems, and really enjoyed the comfort food and cocktails we tried.

Tags: Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great job on plates to drinks. We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

On the way to/from the Kendall Cinema, Abigail's is a fine spot for a plate of raw oysters (Island Creek or Spearpoint). They paired well with a bottle of Tohu sauvignon blanc. A green salad with steak was tasty and left me completely satisfied.

The noise level with the place only half full was moderate, so we could easily converse without raising our voices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The brunch here is consistently good! Some of the best home fries in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

First time here, recommended by a friend. Waitress was a little pushy at first (but attentive & friendly!), but in hindsight I think she wanted to get our orders in ahead of a surge. The entrees tasted great when they arrived, but were slow in coming out. We had to send one plate back as the fish on the plate was almost raw. Neighboring table also had a kitchen/plate problem, so something was up with the kitchen that evening. Will definitely try Ester again, as they may have had an off night. But can see that it is a great local place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great drinks, great atmosphere and the steak salad was perfect. Service was 'meh' - kind of pushy (to move us out though plenty of tables were empty around us) and forgetful but polite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The hostess greeted and seated us promptly and she was very friendly. Our server also greeted us promptly and was helpful with explanations for some menu items. Food was delivered quickly and we were not rushed by the server. The food (3 types of salads and one flatbread) were all delicious and presented in an appealing manner. I would highly recommend Abigails.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We were very well cared for at this bright spot in the rapidly changing neighborhood near Kendall Square. Excellent cocktails followed by solid appetizers and a very good entrees. Didn't have room for dessert but we will definitely be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 22, 2016

If you want to grab a sandwich and a beer in as part of a causal dining experience then this is a good place to eat. The portions are normal -- not over-sized, and the wait staff are friendly, making this is a good place to meet with a friend for lunch. Bu not a place to take a client or a hot date. American fare, just fine, sums it all up.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I had asked for a round table and location where a party of five could converse. We were seated in a rounded both in the far back corner of the restaurant. Perfect!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I dined here with a group of 11 people for Sunday brunch. The service was fine up until we put in our orders. Our waitress was always quick to refill our waters and our coffees but we waited a very long time for our orders to come in. The restaurant was not busy so I am not sure what the hold up was about. The food was over salted and not as good as I'd hope. My friends who ordered their steaks enjoyed their meals so I guess it just depends on what you order. I would give the restaurant another try maybe for dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This is my second time here - last time was quite a while ago (as I'm not in Boston very much). Terrific dinner - this place is a gem. Got there at 6 on a Saturday night, thought it was very quiet, but by 7:30 it was full and hopping. Had a great linguini w/ clams - though my friends both ordered scallops&risotto which was the winner.

Great desserts. But no espresso!? Never even heard of that before!

Tags: Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Lunch was delicious but probably enough calories for two days. I wish more places would indicate calories or offer half portions with soup/salad. Would be good for a large man but too much for an average woman.....yet that didn't stop me from eating the entire thing and then being unable to move for the rest of the day from my 'food coma.' So really it's my own lack of self control!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.