Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego

For over 40 years, one of San Diego's landmark dining destinations and one of the most unique and memorable restaurants you will ever find. Located inside a replica of a World War I French farmhouse decorated with fascinating military memorabilia, antiques, and aviation relics, the restaurant overlooks Montgomery Field Airport, and has a cozy and romantic ambiance, with large stone fireplaces intimate booths, and beautiful views. The extensive menu features mid-western aged beef and the freshest seafood. Here you will find USDA Choice & Prime Beef steaks, slow-roasted Angus prime rib, succulent lobster tail, fresh fish, rack of lamb, salad entrees,seafood chicken, pasta dishes, and fabulous desserts. Their famous Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet is not to be missed. Beautiful outdoor patios, a very popular Happy Hour, and excellent banquet facilities help make the 94th Aero Squadron one of the great dining experiences in all of San Diego.

8885 Balboa Ave
San Diego, CA 92123
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - FRiday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Ponderosa

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 560-6771

Website:
http://www.94thaerosquadron.signonsandiego.com/

Entertainment:
D.J. & Dancing on Fridays from 6:00 pm until 1:30 am.
Singles Night with D.J. & Dancing on Tuesdays from 7:00 pm until 11:00 pm. Live Band July through October, every Thursday on the patios, 6:00 pm until 9:00 pm.

Parking Details:
Large lot with ample free parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Beautiful, unique banquet facilities for parties of 25 to 200. Wedding receptions, ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, cocktail parties, birthday & anniversary dinners, retirement celebrations, private luncheons, etc. Superb food, attentive service, and affordable prices.

94th Aero Squadron - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Good for a Date (34)
Great for Brunch (32)
See All
Cozy (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Scenic View (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Historic (25)
Good for Groups (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Casual (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Sunday Lunch (24)
Romantic (23)
Comfort Food (19)
Fun (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Fireplace (13)
Business Meals (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (11)
Happy Hour (9)
Family Style (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
People Watching (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Dancing (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1974 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall the experience was good but the AC was not working where we were seated so it was extremely hot. We had to ask to be moved outside half way through our meal.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

This is one of those classic Americana restaurants. Great service, not rushed to eat and get out. Very enjoyable time. We will be back many more times.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Needed a place to take family visiting from Canada. They had a little one that was tuckered out from Legoland, so we needed a dining venue that was not frenetic. Aero Squadron delivered. The adults had a delicious prime rib dinner with dessert. Their child continued to snooze in comfort in his stroller.

The visitors commented on the ambiance of the venue as it was an WW1 farmhouse that was right by Montgomery Field airport. There are actual planes onsite and lots of memorabilia. Headphones hang conveniently by your table where you can listen in on the transmissions from the control tower.

My daughter told me that Sunday brunch was excellent here, too, as a variety of food choices are offered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The atmosphere feels almost like you are in a museum, with all the memorabilia from the World War I era. The food was great. I like how everyone gets a side dish of creamed corn, regardless of which entree you ordered. All in all, a fine dining spot, excellent food and a quiet calm atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Historic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I have been here many times and have always come away with a satisfied feeling. This visit was different in that it seems there has been a change in the kitchen staff and the usual degree of attention to detail in the food is now lacking. My wife's Scampi dish came to the table barely lukewarm and instead of remaking the dish the correct way the kitchen staff simply threw it into the microwave, nuked it, replated it in a new dish and served gummy pasta and rubbery shrimp.

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent experience. Seated right away and ordered wine when we were ready. Charlotte, our server, was cheerful, fast, and attentive. Food and wine were excellent as usual.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 10, 2017

My wife and I had a great meal as usual. She beef and I had coconut shrimp.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I am heading out of town and would be away from home for Mother's Day. I wanted to do a early Mother's Day brunch for my wife before leaving. The 94th was recommended by a friend. I went on line to make reservation and the slots were filling up quickly. We caught the 12:30 pm brunch slot. Check in was shortly after my reservation due to the crowd but my wife didn't like the location of our table. I informed the check in person at the front desk. She indicated we would need to wait a few minutes for another table. A table was available shortly after. The waiter was very friendly and attentive. The food was very good. We had to make sure we didn't overeat from all the great choices. Our glass was never empty from champagne. There were few other groups that were there for early mother's day meal also. Overall it was had a great atmosphere, delicious food and excellent customer service. I would recommend 94th to friends.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The selection and food at 94th Aero Squadron was very good, especially for the price. I only wish the layout were a little more convenient, as you have to walk through the crowd waiting to be seated to access the front of the buffet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 7, 2017

had a hip replacement a few months ago and requested a table on the same level but it was given away so I'm not happy about that. New hostess didn't know what she was doing, keep getting the wrong name on the tickets

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 6, 2017

A delightful environment, very friendly and welcominging staff, with food selection and quality superb!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

As always great Sunday brunch! So many types of foods to choose from, no one will be disappointed.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

a bit expensive but good food and service. will be returning.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant by far. However the last 2 visits have been sub-par, albeit perhaps more due to bad luck than anything else. On this visit, we were seated in a window seat on the east end of the restaurant. The club music from the disco was so loud, I could not even hear the "house" WWI-style Jazz music that I love so much. We asked to move to the opposite end (west end) of the restaurant, which they complied. The music was much better, but now we were seated next to a table with a lady whose voice was so loud and carried so far, we couldn't hardly hear ourselves throughout our entire meal, and instead got treated to a rundown of this woman's life. I did request they turn the music up, which evidently they did, although I did not hear much of a difference. The food was not as good as usual, however, I'm sure that was more due to my ordering the gluten-free pasta rather than the regular. The rest of the meal was amazing as usual. I was treated to a dessert for my birthday, which was nice. Our server was quite nice as well. I think my biggest complaint is that stupid nightclub. It's loud, obnoxious, aggressive and could not be more opposite of the intended décor and ambiance for which the restaurant is famous. And I was highly unimpressed with the security guards/bouncers outside the door. I waited in the lobby for a few moments for my husband to get the car, and the bouncers were chatting with each other, but every other word was a curse word. F-this, and Sh-that.. I'm certainly no prude but this is an upscale, refined restaurant and this behavior is unprofessional and unacceptable. I will continue to return because I love the restaurant, I just have to be very specific about where we sit. And I wish the nightclub had a separate entry where the two venues did not have to mix.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 21, 2017

94th was enjoyable as always. Only "down" on service this time-had to ask 3 times before we got requested water glasses.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Scenic View, Casual, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We enjoyed the food and the ambiance. We enjoyed looking at all the World War I memorabilia. The atmosphere was quiet and pleasant. We really enjoyed it and will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The food was excellent and the service was superb. We hadn't been for many years and everything turned out better than we expected.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family and I dined at 94th Aero Squadron for Easter dinner. We had 4:30 reservations but we waited nearly 50 minutes before we were seated! The waitress apologized and explained that it was because the Easter Brunch crowd took a longer time to leave which caused them to run behind schedule in getting set up for dinner. Our waitress was pleasant enough. Once we ordered, the food came out at a reasonable amount of time but there were some issues. My Mom ordered her steak dinner medium but they brought her a medium well steak so we had to send that back. My son ordered shrimp fettuccine but ended up not eating it because the noodles were not quite right and they stuck together plus there was very little sauce and very little flavor in his dish. My daughter had the shrimp and scallops pasta dish. She ate the shrimp but only took a bite of the scallop. I tasted her scallops and could immediately tell that they weren't exactly fresh! And once again the dish was bland and lacked flavor. I had the parmigiano crusted chicken with garlic mashed potatoes and a side of vegetables. The chicken was a little overcooked and a little dry, the vegetables were a little too aldente and the mashed potatoes weren't very garlicky. Honestly the highlight of the meal was the cheese beer soup which is amazing, the bread and butter and our drinks! The bartender did a great job on our drinks. I had raved about the food to my family only to be thoroughly disappointed! Maybe the quality of the food was not up to participate due to the longer than usual Easter Brunch diners. I certainly hope so. I'll give 94th the benefit of the doubt and another chance. I really hope they were just having an off day!

Tags: Family Style, Disabled Access, Historic, Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Nice place but few people. Why???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great meal and service. They appreciate their guests.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Service was excellent and the food we ordered was cooked as ordered perfect.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen, Comfort Food, Historic, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Enjoyed our get-together and the staff's patience while we visited for quite a while. F or that reason, always a good place to meet friends and chat.

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My wife and I celebrated her birthday at 94th Aero squadron and we had a really great meal.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We came for the Sunday brunch. Good food, great service. Can't go wrong with a Champagne brunch :)

Tags: Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Historic, People Watching, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were very disappointed in our service by our server, it was a female with dark hair our reservation was under Renee Wells. And we were there at 9:00 so she didn't seem to be too busy at first and there was only 3 of us. Two of us were drinking champagne and one coffee at first and the other beer when she would actually come around! You would think she would check to see if he wanted more beers to raise her check, but I guess not! ( I used to wait tables) I normally ask for Kevin he is AMAZING always on top of it, friendly and courteous and helpful but he was not there. I come there a lot, for brunch only, I didn't even use my birthday email discount you sent me I probably should have, I absolutely love your brunch spread and normally receive pretty good service. I worked for Nordstrom for 8 years in management so I know all about customer service, hence why I am writing this email. Thank you for your time. I picked your restaurant for a reason to celebrate my birthday!
Renee Wells

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Filet was a top sirloin, rice wasn't good, tilapia was very good. The service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Good place to eat. Asked for more butter on baked potato and waiter put more sour cream instead! Waiter could have been friendlier. All in all a good experience in a relaxed setting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was disappointing , while it is botttomless mimosas , I still expected more for $31 /person . Everything was just "ok," there was nothing I really enjoyed. There was a large selection but it didn't make up for the quality.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Have been a fan of 94th Aerosquadron's Sunday brunch for many years. Sitting outside is such a pleasure in good weather, with the small planes taking off, and the pond with the ducks. The buffet is always the same, but always good, lots of choices. Service is usually very good, Cheryl is our favorite waitress.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Went for Sunday Brunch. There were 4 of us and had a great time. We had a waiter named Steve. He was the best. Great service. The food was great as were the food choices. The Desserts were very tasty.
Would recommend everyone try the Brunch out. Priced very reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Mediocre food in s tacky environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

We both had the early flight dinners, great value. I had the tilapia with lemon caper sauce and my husband had the Parmesan crusted chicken. Our food came promptly and it was nicely prepared. However, the dessert choices included with dinner was pathetic - neon- colored sherbet, or vanilla cream with a freezer taste! I would have expected more from this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Started out pretty good service but seemed like we were forgotten after the appetizer was served. There were only 5 of us, celebrating a birthday, and we were there for almost 2 1/2 hours for a 3 course meal! The food were pretty good but it was overpriced for the kind of service they offered!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was delicious, especially the omelette station and dessert table. Service was wonderful. We were seated minutes before our 1 pm reservation. Getting the food can be awkward, it's a strange layout. The decor is dark but interesting. We will be going back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We've been coming to the 94th Aero Squadron for over 15 yrs. We love the ambiance, the delicious food, which is consistently excellent, perfectly prepared. The service is always excellent, and we always bring our friends & recommend them to this restaurant.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Per our request on Open Table, the restaurant set us at a table in a back area so the baby would not disturb other guests. It was great food and wonderful ambiance to celebrate a birthday and keep the baby entertained while we enjoyed dinner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Excellent as always. Rack of lamb juicy, tasty, tender, and large chop size. Service very good albeit a little slow. Great Berringer Cab.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great theme with good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Unique experience - outside patio next to small airport watching helicopter landings, touch-and-goes and a stunt plane. Great service with an attentive manager. Had the filet - well prepared.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

There was a very large choice of food at brunch. The quality of the food was very good, and very tasty. We would highly recommend the 94th Aero Squadron for a very good brunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.