Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.73mi
  2. Distance: 0.84mi
  3. Distance: 0.84mi
  4. Distance: 1.17mi

About 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego

For over 40 years, one of San Diego's landmark dining destinations and one of the most unique and memorable restaurants you will ever find. Located inside a replica of a World War I French farmhouse decorated with fascinating military memorabilia, antiques, and aviation relics, the restaurant overlooks Montgomery Field Airport, and has a cozy and romantic ambiance, with large stone fireplaces intimate booths, and beautiful views. The extensive menu features mid-western aged beef and the freshest seafood. Here you will find USDA Choice & Prime Beef steaks, slow-roasted Angus prime rib, succulent lobster tail, fresh fish, rack of lamb, salad entrees,seafood chicken, pasta dishes, and fabulous desserts. Their famous Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet is not to be missed. Beautiful outdoor patios, a very popular Happy Hour, and excellent banquet facilities help make the 94th Aero Squadron one of the great dining experiences in all of San Diego.

8885 Balboa Ave
San Diego, CA 92123
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - FRiday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Ponderosa

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 560-6771

Website:
http://www.94thaerosquadron.signonsandiego.com/

Entertainment:
D.J. & Dancing on Fridays from 6:00 pm until 1:30 am.
Singles Night with D.J. & Dancing on Tuesdays from 7:00 pm until 11:00 pm. Live Band July through October, every Thursday on the patios, 6:00 pm until 9:00 pm.

Parking Details:
Large lot with ample free parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Free Corkage

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Free Corkage

Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Free Corkage. Bring in your own favorite bottle of wine and pay NO Corkage Fee !. Special valid Aug 16, 2017 - Nov 30, 2017 on Tuesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

50% Off Select Wines

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

50% Off Select Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Order almost any bottle of Wine from our Wine list at half price !. Special valid Aug 16, 2017 - Nov 30, 2017 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 9:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Beautiful, unique banquet facilities for parties of 25 to 200. Wedding receptions, ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, cocktail parties, birthday & anniversary dinners, retirement celebrations, private luncheons, etc. Superb food, attentive service, and affordable prices.

94th Aero Squadron - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for a Date (25)
See All
Good for Birthdays (25)
Casual (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Scenic View (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (18)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Great for Lunch (17)
Cozy (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Romantic (13)
Business Meals (12)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Fun (8)
Authentic (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Music (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2051 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 5 days ago

A group of friends meet once a month and try a different restaurant every time. 94th Aero Squadron was our choice this month and we were not disappointed! There were 8 of us and everyone was happy with their food choices. Three got the buffet and were very happy. Two got the cheese sliders and the only complaint was that there could have been more cheese, but they were still good. I got the shrimp and crab Louie salad and I thought it was fantastic. We were able to have a nice conversation and hear from one end of the table to another. Our waitress (wish I could remember her name) was excellent. Serving 8 women who sometimes have special requests must be trying - but she was amazing! Great experience, we will definitely come back. As a side note, I have also been to 94th for Sunday brunch - and I highly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

My wife both had a good meal. She had Chicken and I had the New York steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Birthday Brunch.. everything was wonderful, we all love this place. Xavier our server is awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on September 12, 2017

This place was amazing! The food was so delicious and our waiter was excellent. I highly recommend going when it's dark out because the ambiance is so wonderful! Also if you don't try the creamed corn then you're freaking crazy cause it's the best!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Delicious champagne brunch with so many food options, sure to please everyone in a large group.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

The atmosphere is great and the food was excellent

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We brought family from out of town here because of the historical/WW era themed atmosphere. For the most part we had a great time but we felt the service was a little rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 9, 2017

We enjoy doing family gatherings at 94th because they handle a group easily and the food selection fits everyone's taste. The early flight menu is a treat because it is delicious, a good portion and great selection.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

We find the choices good, the service excellent , and overall a comfortable place to ear\t.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Excellent dinner great service overall wonderful experience. Had prime rib dinner which was excellent and the French onion soup which was prepared perfectly my wife have the film and your kebab which enjoyed and the cheese soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The food was very good, lots of it, plenty of parking (they have their own lot), and it's almost local to me.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

It was a very warm day and the restaurant was so hot that we almost decided to leave. It's obvious that the air conditioner isn't working properly or needs to be replaced. It's very uncomfortable to enjoy your meal when everyone is sweating from the heat. Customers were fanning themselves because there was inadequate air movement. The food was great, would have enjoyed it if the heat didn't ruin the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

I love brunch at 94th! My only complaint is that it is SO hot in the waiting area. When my family and I went this past Sunday, we had to wait approximately 15 minutes for our reservation. That wasn't a huge deal except we couldn't go outside because it was raining, and it was so hot in the entryway I thought I was going to pass out. It was slightly cooler at our table because we were directly under a fan. I still love this place, but I wish they would update their cooking system.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

The restaurant did not have a table for us despite the reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This restaurant was recommended by my boy friend James brodfuehrer who frequents this restaurant ion special occasions. He recommended the Sunday brunch and we truly enjoyed it.
My family enjoyed everything about it and will definitely come back fir brunch 👍

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

We have gone to the restaurant many times and have been comfortable UNTIL this visit. It was stifling and hot in the restaurant and, through our waitress, we requested that the air conditioning be adjusted. She reported telling the manager twice. We then asked to see the manager but he could not be bothered to even come by. We will not visit again except when the weather is cool.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The food was exceptional and great variety. One of the best places we have been for Sunday Champagne Brunch. Our server kept our glasses full and paid a good deal of attention to us even though he was very busy. We had a reservation and were seated by our reservation time...very appreciated.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 27, 2017

We were a party of six, but one couple was late. They sat us, but wouldn't come by to take a drink order until the other couple arrived 15 min. later. My husband said the blackened tilapia wasn't very good...tilapia is too delicate a fish to do it blackened, I think. Last time we were here, the tilapia was grilled-much better. Three of us had the Parmesan chicken and everyone's was good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 24, 2017

As we'll be leaving the state we wanted to ensure we enjoyed a wonderful dinner once more. We all had something different on the menu and it was all delicious. We've always found the food to be very tasty and the service to be good.

Since being introduced to 94 Aero for brunch a few years ago through a friend, we've celebrated birthday's, had a wedding reception and celebrated a couple of anniversaries here. We've always had a wonderful experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

The Squardon has been my go to for brunch for over 10 years, Always treated like family.
Great then and now.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 19, 2017

First time trying this place for dinner. The lunch food is much better. It was clear that the steaks had been previously frozen. They also didn't have much flavor. The vegetables were total mush from over cooking. Our server lacked knowledge of the menu and had the personality of a rock. The atmosphere is cute and the prices wouldn't be bad if the food quality were only better, but the dinner entrees and service leave much to be desired. I think we'll stick to just happy hour drinks or lunch in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Great spot to bring a client

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

This is a pretty good restaurant. The food is great. The ambience is comfortable. The service is classy. And it the people enjoy themselves. But it is somewhat expensive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 16, 2017

First time at this restaurant Took a customer out for dinner. The service was great, the food was great and you could have a conversation without yelling across the table.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

I has been years since I dined at the 94th Aero Squadron. I am happy to say that I have dined there two times in the last two weeks. Once with friends and once for business purposes. It suits both needs equally as well. The outside of building is very pleasantly quaint as is the inside. I highly recommend the reuben sandwich. Very generous in size and delicious. Their cheese soup is also delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food was good. Service was great. The ambience was amazing. The back patio area had a fire pit, gazebo and trees strung with lights. Not to mention the WW1 decor. The atmosphere was amazing. I would return for that without a doubt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Food was excellent, served hot. Charlotte, our server was attentive to our needs. Our guests really enjoyed their first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

My wife both had great meals. She had filet mignon and I had new york strip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Sunday brunch very good, could use a couple more sides (mashed potatoes)to go with all the carvings/gravy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I drive from Lakewood Ca. 2 hour drive for this brunch. I have introduced several friends, and they love it and will come back, and bring their friends and family. My favorite brunch place of all times.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The entrees were tasteless, selections poor. Liked the dessert choices, although the ice cream was really ice milk. Would recommend vegetables,,other than salads: mash potatoes, green beans, yams, corn, asparagus, etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great outdoor dining for the late afternoon or early evening . Peaceful, and Quiet

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Tapas, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Arrived early for the $23 meals, but decided to order from the full menu. The ambiance is "previous World Wars" outdoors are a biplane & WWI ambulance. Tables provide privacy if wanted and the view of the airfield is nice. Oh yes, the food & service were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Nice everything was very well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Celebrated our 54th Anniversary at 94th Aero Squadron. Good food, nice surroundings, good value.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

I try to eat here at least once every time I visit San Diego. It never disappoints.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 7, 2017

We are not usually in that neighborhood so taking the opportunity to eat there was a commitment to driving. Fortunately by eating lunch there we were able to avoid most of the traffic. While not buffet enthusiasts, their selection of fresh food was delightful and lured us in. The spinach zucchini soup was fabulous and the various salads were crisp and fresh. Our server, Penny, was friendly and efficient. We enjoyed the ambience and were delighted to hear that on some days they have live music and dancing. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We have been to the 94th Aero Squadron in San Diego many times and have always been very pleased with our experience. The food, service and atmosphere are always top notch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I asked water with lemon as my drink. I got a onion lemon water. Onion?!? In iced water? Not a subtle onion taste but a STRONG onion taste with the hint of lemon.
Next, we did an appetizer, its combination platter, a mix of crab stuffed mushroom, calamari, zucchini and potato skins. Everything was good. Piping hot. So we ordered the early flight dinner. Its choice of soup or salad, choice of prime rib, top sirloin, parmesan crusted chicken and selected fish, choice of mashed potato, vegetables, rice pilaf. Plus dessert and coffee or tea. So, we thought it was a very good deal and we ordered the early flight dinner. We both got prime rib, he got veggies, I got mashed potato. We both got iced tea and for our dessert, its rainbow sherbet. Main course was ok. Its not bad its not amazingly good. Ate sherbet. At my last. Spoonful of sherbet, I felt inside my mouth something weird, feels grainy, so I spit it out. There is like peanuts on my sherbet. My Fiance, who was,looking at me was asking what's going on. I told him I thought I broke my tooth because I felt something chunky in my mouth. And its peanuts. Mind you that both of us ordered the same dessert. If its part of the sherbet, then he would've gotten it as well. Then... The cherry on top... I saw a gnat/bug/ant on my spoon on my last bite of the dessert. Really... This is nightmare hellick restaurant... Now.. The check comes... They billed us for the iced tea. Server stated, its coffee and hot tea only that comes with the dinner. We didn't argue but when we got home we checked their menu. It doesn't say it has to be hot tea... It says coffee or tea. With this appalling situation, I think 1 star is more than enough rating. If I can give out zeroooooes I would!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 4, 2017

It was lovely to sit outside and enjoy dinner until all these people started standing around our table drinking. So much for a peaceful dining experience. They should make the right side of the outside for dining only and those that are coming for happy hour and not eating should strictly be on the left. It was very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.