About 94th Aero Squadron - San Diego

8885 Balboa Ave
San Diego, CA 92123
View Larger Map

For over 40 years, one of San Diego's landmark dining destinations and one of the most unique and memorable restaurants you will ever find. Located inside a replica of a World War I French farmhouse decorated with fascinating military memorabilia, antiques, and aviation relics, the restaurant overlooks Montgomery Field Airport, and has a cozy and romantic ambiance, with large stone fireplaces intimate booths, and beautiful views. The extensive menu features mid-western aged beef and the freshest seafood. Here you will find USDA Choice & Prime Beef steaks, slow-roasted Angus prime rib, succulent lobster tail, fresh fish, rack of lamb, salad entrees,seafood chicken, pasta dishes, and fabulous desserts. Their famous Sunday Champagne Brunch Buffet is not to be missed. Beautiful outdoor patios, a very popular Happy Hour, and excellent banquet facilities help make the 94th Aero Squadron one of the great dining experiences in all of San Diego.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - FRiday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm -11:00pm, Saturday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 9:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
Ponderosa

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(858) 560-6771

Website:
http://www.94thaerosquadron.signonsandiego.com/

Entertainment:
D.J. & Dancing on Fridays from 6:00 pm until 1:30 am.
Singles Night with D.J. & Dancing on Tuesdays from 7:00 pm until 11:00 pm. Live Band July through October, every Thursday on the patios, 6:00 pm until 9:00 pm.

Parking Details:
Large lot with ample free parking.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 7:00PM - 9:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Beautiful, unique banquet facilities for parties of 25 to 200. Wedding receptions, ceremonies, rehearsal dinners, corporate functions, cocktail parties, birthday & anniversary dinners, retirement celebrations, private luncheons, etc. Superb food, attentive service, and affordable prices.

94th Aero Squadron - San Diego Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
See All
Romantic (33)
Cozy (33)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Historic (28)
Great for Brunch (28)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Scenic View (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Comfort Food (21)
Casual (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Fireplace (19)
Fun (19)
Business Meals (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Authentic (15)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Family Style (12)
Seasonal (12)
Happy Hour (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Healthy (4)
Live Music (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Private Room (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Dancing (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1917 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Perfect place for a Tuesday night dinner , great food , bring your own bottle of wine and Tuesday's no corkage fee makes for a great night out.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Wood Oven, Outstanding Value, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great food; great service-simply one outstanding restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My friend and I had lunch and really enjoyed the food and ambiance. They have a fun interior with WW2 decor, a Gazebo in the back, an old fashion war plane and next to a private airport and just a nice place to have lunch and dinner. The menu was generous in variety and the prices are reasonable. I will go back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

My girlfriend and I had dinner for Valentines Day. Reservations were at 8pm - we were seated exactly at 8 pm! Food was prepared as we desired and served in a timely manner. Our waitress was friendly and cordial.

In short, perfect!

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Food was good however the waitress did not bring my wife's rice pilaf instead brought her veggies. She seemed confused but admitted her error. Still service was good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Took My girlfriend for Valentines Day and it was Great All Across The Board! From the Service to the Delicious Food! 10 Out Of 10 Would Highly Reccomend!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

It was Valentine's Day so I could understand how busy they were. We waited a long time at our table to be waited on. The waiter took our drink orders then we waited again to order. I have severe food allergies and started to tell him to make sure about food ingredients and prep but

he seemed like he was in a hurry and would talk to the chef before I explained everything. He seemed like he was not interested or in a hurry and rushed us through ordering. Then it took a awhile to get our food. Waiter had a disinterested attitude. Food was okay but there was quite a cool draft where we were sitting and our food got cold very fast. We did ask them to turn down the air conditioning The manager said he would check but did nothing. Waiter never came back for a long time to ask if we needed anything or if all was ok. We paid and left. Food was ok but not that great.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Another miss for this store. Server was very good. Food was very good but shrimp wrapped in bacon was undercooked and tepid in temperature. The rest of the food was tepid at best. Twice baked potatoes were originally ordered but kitchen failed to provide with meal until they were reminded. Again this was Valentines Day so they were busier than normal but tepid food temperature has been a problem in the past and it occurred during this visit.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

charming, great service and excellent Valentine menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It had been a long time since we dined at a 94th Aero Squadron, and that was outside of Chicago. We were pleasantly surprised to see one in San Diego.

The decor was fun and is interesting for young and old alike. There's an early bird menu until 6pm. We ordered prime rib with mashers and vegetables for approximately $20pp. This came with a starter and our waiter recommended the Bibb lettuce with blue cheese crumbles and a vinaigrette. Dessert and coffee were included and we upgraded to cheesecake for $1 more.

The food was tasty and the only critique was to steam the vegetables lightly to avoid overcooking.

Our waiter was outstanding and enjoyed his job and taking care of us. I made sure to compliment his service to the manager when he asked for feedback on our experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had brunch. Lots of food to pick from, but not all good. Ok, but nothing was outstanding. Maybe if I had the champagne, it would have enhanced the experience. Was very crowded and loud. Ther are not many buffet brunches to pick from in San Diego, so we tried it. Beautiful dessert table, but the items tasted like thawed frozen pastries. Pricey and probably won't be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love coming here for brunch. This time my friends and I went as a small group. Most had never been. We all enjoyed celebrating my birthday there.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We love the place, always a good time and great food. Great spot to get to know each other.

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Historic, Cozy, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Fireplace, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great atmosphere, lots of neat décor and pictures all Aero Squadron themed. Back patio is amazing with ducks and a view of the air strip. Can watch helicopters land and take off, and the food is amazing. Went for Sunday brunch and we were not disappointed. If you get there before 10am for Sunday brunch you save about 6 dollars per person. Really friendly staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had a very nice waitress, great ambience, good food and drinks.

Had a nice birthday celebration.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The staff is of 5 Star quality, very professional, personable and courteous. The kitchen is obviously well staffed, just try the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Overpriced for the lack of food for the brunch buffet. Not a good variety of food. Half of the food that was served was cold.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The Aero Squadron is a pleasant place for weekday lunch and dinner. However, the Sunday brunch, which also used to be peasant, has degraded very significantly over the last year or so. It's overcrowded, hence very noisy. The staff is overworked so service is not very attentive and food preparation seems to be rushed so some dishes appear to be significantly under-cooked.

We'd been developing reservations about the brunch, but decided to try it once more: we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Cute atmosphere with incredible food and service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great Service from front door to waiter & buss staff. helpful tips on menu options, and drinks. very pleasant and well worth the value.

intimate setting and great food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Enjoyed the food and the atmosphere very much. I live very close, I do not know why I do not go here more often.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This is a nice, calm restaurant with great views of airplanes taking off and landing (helicopters, too!) and ducks in the yard. Love the history of flight/WWII decor. The server was very respectful of our need to sit and talk for a while and did not rush us or intrude.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 23, 2017

The food was great and the service was great too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great food and ambience! Would highly recommend to everyone.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great early bird. Dinner Menu! Fun place n great parking area.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fun, Seasonal, Historic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 22, 2017

We went during Restaurant week. Service and food were excellent. The only thing my boyfriend wasn't crazy about was the creme brulee.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 19, 2017

The short ribs were only fair but the prime rib was very tender albeit lacking in flavor. The creme Brulee was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

It was okay. Very reminiscent of wedding banquet food. I had the scallops--they were cold. Had obviously been prepared in advance. The sea bass was Luke warm--also seemed to have been prepared in advance. The vegetable side was cold--those were replaced. My husbands sizzling sirloin, however, did not disappoint. The creme brûlée was good, but nothing outstanding.

There were some etiquette issues with the service. For a nice restaurant you should not remove a dirty knife from a plate and place it back on the table. Rather a replacement should be brought. Also, the extra place settings should be removed when seating diners.

I wouldn't avoid the restaurant, but based on my experience it is not a place that I will go out of my way to dine at.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I had not eaten at this restaurant in over 10 years but it was restaurant week and I convinced some friends to try it. I can't say we were disappointed but I don't think I would go back soon. I realize it was restaurant week but I sincerely think they were terribly understaffed. Although our waiter was proficient the service was slow.

It took a long time for our appetizers to arrive. Then the entrée came before we were finished with the appetizers. Worse yet there is no excuse for three of the four meals to be severely undercooked. We sent them back and again had to wait an extended time for them to come back. Then the desserts took forever. What's so hard about putting cheesecake on a plate?

Then to end the evening the runner didn't bring back the leftovers. We had to ask where they were. To the waiter's credit he replaced them with a full meal on the house.

As I said the food was good, our waiter seemed proficient but was stretched thin, and the food coming from the kitchen took way too long and when it did arrive was undercooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Enjoyed our time with you. Will come again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The service was good the ambience was out dated the food quality was terrible I... my stomach was upset was a waste of $178.00. Would not recommend this place to anyone! I should have known the minute I walked in!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 17, 2017

My friend and I went to the 94th Aero Squadron for Restaurant Week. We try to go to new places all the time, and this was one of the best. The food was excellent, great choices. The service, our waiter, David, and Manager, Chris, were wonderful! I'm anxious to return in the daytime to see more of the beautiful restaurant and view. Thanks, Chris and Dave.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Went for Restaurant Week -- Really cozy, good ambiance, food was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Restaurant week I lucky to have the 94th on it's list....

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was extremely crowded. Next time we'll come earlier. Even with reservations we still had to wait an additional 20 minutes to get seated. Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Nice evening out,51 anniversary.We always enjoy going to this restaurant.We also enjoy the brunch,thanks

Tags: Quick Bite, Romantic, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Ubiquitous ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our calamari appetizer was overlooked and rubbery. Also not very seasoned. Rest of dinner (early dining prime rib) was just fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Good for brunch, champs were flowing and the waiter was very attentive. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Traditional dining in a clever atmosphere with great wait staff and consistently good food. Fun to watch the air traffic at Montgomery field when there's some action. Love the historical photos and arifcacts.

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Unexpected find along Balboa Ave. in business district.

Charming atmosphere, intimate yet family-friendly.

Old feel with carpet throughout yet delicious food, thoughtful and warm service, WWI decor.

Brought in-laws from The Netherlands along with our family of two adults and two young boys ages 5 and 3 for Monday night dinner. Great place for everyone, noise level just right to allow our kids to blend in yet quiet enough to feel intimate and cozy. In-laws loved the food from French onion soup to seafood entree to medium steak, and kids loved their hot dog and fries.

Would like to head back during day as Montgomery Field behind restaurant, to see planes taking off and landing. Told that helicopter training takes place there as well.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

It took a decent time to get our drinks, and it seems like the server was taking multiple orders at the same time and always disappeared for about 5-10 minutes everytime we asked for something or needed to order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The beer cheese soup and prime rib were excellent as usual but the chicken roulade's sauce was much richer than last time so not as good. The desserts were disappointing. Using cool whip instead of real whipped cream is tacky and spoils the flavor. The apple dessert was not cooked fully particularly the pastry part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

This is the best restaurant for brunch. The variety is awesome and the quality is the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our group went on New Years Eve. The receptionist was very friendly and got us to our table very quickly. The waitress was very friendly and helpful. The food was delicious and plentiful. We all had a wonderful time and will be back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve at 7:30 and we were able to get a booth. We did hear that there had been a few cancellations probably due to the rain. Our waiter Kevin was very good but the servers brought our food while we were still eating our soup & salad. They did take them away and brought them back a few minutes later once we were ready. Only problem was my medium rare prime rib was now pretty much medium. Didn't let it spoil the evening since everything else was enjoyable. We've been coming here for years and we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

94th Aerosquadron is our go-to restaurant for Special Occasions. Great food, great atmosphere, excellent service. It never disappoints!

Tags: Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Nice ambiance. The service was very good. The food was OK. The pistachio crusted fish was dry and the filet mignon was ok.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a wonderful time for New Years Eve dinner with great friends. From early drinks in the lounge, in front of the fire place to dinner to dessert; it was a wonderful experience! One of my favorite places to go for special occasions!

Tags: Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was delicious. Great variety of entree's. Excellent ambiance. Service was outstanding. Would highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.