Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar

Located in the 1898 renovated Union Station, just minutes from The Pearl and downtown Portland. Cozy red wing back chairs provide guests with an intimate escape from the world, 'Mad Men' atmosphere best describes the lounge and it's modern menu of classic cocktails, while listening to the best jazz, performed up-close and personal. Chef Deb Serkoian and expert staff prepare local and regional dishes with a modern twist. Tableside preparation of our award winning Caesar salad, Steak Diane or fresh local seafood and our 'incredible' burger or Reuben sets us apart for lunch. Catering and event planning for 2 to 2000, includes simple sack lunch, private corporate dining, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers to wedding receptions and more.

800 NW 6th Ave at Union Station
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 3:00PM

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00PM - Closing

Casual Bar Menu 3:00PM - closing

Cross Street:
NW Irving

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-0070

Website:
http://www.wilfsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz notes from the piano drift through the dining room as the gracious waitstaff care for our guests. Wilfs has the proud reputation as one the best spots to hear Portland's jazz artists perform, and if you are lucky, national artists may "sit-in" or be relaxing to the music, just like you! Entertainment is Wednesday through Saturday. Check our website for our current entertainment calendar. www.wilfsrestaurant.com

Catering:
Parties for 2 to 2,000! Gatherings mark some of life's most important and intimate moments. Wilfs starts with the basics. We ask our clients to provide several key words to describe the atmosphere they want to create and then Wilfs works toward expressing their vision.

Wilfs uses only the freshest ingredients from our Northwest area, organic and hormone-free whenever possible, and can provide vegan and vegetarian options as well. Wilfs is proud to be a "sustainable" company of the Northwest.

Parking Details:
Wilfs has a limited number of RESERVED stalls in the lot across the street from Union Station, marked "Wilfs Reserved." All other stalls are 'pay to park'. Additional street parking available, free after 7pm.

Public Transit:
Wilfs is located on the Max light rail line, our stop is designated "Union Station" on NW 5th & 6th Avenues. For Rose Quarter events: dine with us before the event, pick up the light rail on NW 6th, you're just 3 minutes from the Rose Quarter, the first stop. Quick and easy.(Yellow & Green line)

Executive Chef:
Deb Serkoian

Private Party Facilities:
Wilfs is the perfect venue for all your dining events from 5-150. Our expert staff can create the most exquiste event from start to finish; a simple lunch, cocktail reception to a sit-down dinner. Classic American cuisine, with a Northwest twist, 'Mad Men' cocktails, jazz entertainment...at Wilfs.

Private Party Contact:
Candace: (877) 879-4450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant or Union Station Lobby...it's yours for the asking! Weddings, rehearsal dinners, retirement or holiday party, let us create your dream. Food, libations, music, flowers, photo booth, whatever you may want.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Live Music (20)
See All
Romantic (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Historic (13)
Notable Wine List (9)
Cozy (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Organic (6)
Fun (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Happy Hour (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Waterfront (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Casual (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food was prepared properly, service was good, live Jazz in the background. But , for what we had the price was over the top. I have had same type meals in other resturants in Portland and other parts of the country to include Califorina and Washington state that were just a good if not better at half the price. Would I go there again if in Portland...probably not.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Wilfs is a Portland fixture. The jazz is very much part of the charm. The bartender is a true mixologist.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Really enjoyed our visit to Wilfs. The jazz evening was recommended by a local. He was spot on! Great jazz. Wait staff were attentive and friendly. We ate simply and enjoyed the food and drinks. We will certainly recommend to family and friends visiting Portland.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food is /very/ salty. Everything else was amazing.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I have been to Wilf's many times and I have had nothing but wonderful service and food to die for but this particular time was not so. It was the service this time that fell well below the norm. The food was WONDERFUL but the experience was dismal. I contacted the owner to let her know about this out of the ordinary experience and she responded quickly with a response that made me feel that this wouldn't happen to anyone else. I would still send anyone that asked to Wilf's because I really LOVE this establishment HANDS DOWN!!!!

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The service is impeccable. You can't beat the French Onion soup and the delicious entrees. We always enjoy coming back to Wilf's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Organic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

First time guests visiting Portland. John greeted us in a friendly and professional manner.

He truly is an excellent manager in all sense of the word. We we fortunate to have our stake cooked right in front of our table. One word, Amazing!...

Our waiter James was also very attentive and friendly. My wife opted for salmon with French onion soup. Both the best.

Overall award wining service and food. We could tell everything was cooked with fresh ingredients from scratch.

The ambience is very upscale, elegant classy with music that soothes you.

We highly recommend you stop by Wiffs. You won't regret it.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Really good experience. John was a fantastic host and server and told great stories. Food was really good!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good food, mediocre service, outdated decor and a really bad location.

Tags: Organic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 6, 2017

It was my Dad's 91st birthday and my parents' 64th anniversary, and John and Douglas made it all so special. My parents and I had a wonderful time and everything was delicious.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 1, 2017

We went on the very last day of Portland dining month. We got the special three course meal.
Both of our entrees were problematic. The beef ribs were very chewy. The vegetarian chicken was not tasty. Other parts of the meal were fine - salad, sides, dessert. The live jazz was great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

great place for jazz. I would not have cared that the prices were high except that the food was terrible! I will go back for the jazz, but I'll be sure to eat some place else prior to going and then I'll just sit at the bar and have cocktails while I listen to the live jazz.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

So food and wait staff here are great. My ONLY problem was the shock I received when seated in one of the many red wingback chairs.....the seat turned concave as though there was no cushion and I felt for a brief moment I was going to fall through the frame but didn't. I don't like making a scene so managed to hide my surprise and thank the host for seating me. The chair remained slightly uncomfortable throughout dinner. I was curious to know if it was just my chair so checked the red wingback at the next empty table which also had no cushioning. My guess is these are just OLD chairs and I'm not going back until they are replaced. Too bad....food is delish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Really like this place - the service is consistently top notch and the chef is amazing. The live music is wonderful.

Tags: Vegan, Romantic, Cozy, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Wilf's has been around for many years, but still provides a delicious meal with time to have a cozy meal and the chance to hear local jazz music. There are several menu items that are served flaming and they are prepared right at your table.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Good overall experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 24, 2017

some things should not change and after 41 years they have it down. Great services, great food, not rushed just old school...THANK YOU!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 23, 2017

We were at the restaurant for Portland Dining Month. We picked the restaurant because the food was from local, organic, and sustainable farming.

I love the wine list! French onion soup was amazing! Salad was refreshing. The vegan adobo was slightly salty but very flavorful!

Our server was nice, friendly, and knowledgeable. I love his description of the French Pinot that we got. Overall, it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I LOVE this restaurant! All the staff are wonderful and food is amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was exceptional. We go a couple of times a year and each time we say.....lets just do this more often!!!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Sadly not good. Food was disappointing, how can you make a bland Reuben? Soft sweet un-sauerkrat sauerkraut, couldn't taste Swiss cheese or Russian dressing. The three fruit crisp was over cooked so thoroughly the fruits were all dark brown and indistinguishable one from the other by color or taste. Though we were the only people in the dining room we could not sit by the window because " it was set for dinner". It was extremely quiet, but again we were the only people there. Sad.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Wonderful experience, it is not just eating dinner. They make it an experience! We will be back!

Tags: Seasonal, Private Room, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 11, 2017

March 10, 2017

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Maiter D was a hoot. Very, very entertaining! Table side food preparation was a bit unique and entertaining. The salad and main courses were very good. The desserts were OK, but certainly not as good as the meal.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Thank you for always giving a warm, welcoming greeting. John and Jo are exceptional!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Perfect if you like live jazz. Intimate setting, really good musicians. Even if you're not a jazz fan but like to be in a place where live music is playing Wilf's is a good choice on the nights when they have music. Also a good dining choice if you're traveling by train, better than you'd expect in a railroad station. It feels kind of retro, including the train part and overhearing people talking about where they're coming in from or are heading off to.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent food and a good venue to listen to music and song!

Tags: Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Wilf's is an old-line establishment restaurant that takes itself too seriously. The ambience is pleasant but borders on the stuffy. The greeter was not especially friendly or welcoming. The waiter was experienced, but rushed, and therefore not very accessible. The food was acceptable but the menu was not inventive--rather mundane--like something you might have seen 30 years ago. The live jazz provided a pleasant background. All this is probably the reason we have seen no serious reviews of the restaurant apart from its live jazz offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 16, 2017

I was unable to use my Open Table points because the printer only printed the receipt and not the coupon.

Wilfs had wonderful music which we enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had reservations, seated upon arrival. Wonderful food and atmosphere. Love the live jazz.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 15, 2017

SERVICE WAS PERFECT...
Meal was very good. Pricing was fair.
We had a perfect evening. Thank you!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentines Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have been to Wilfs several times. Each time is a great experience both with the service and the food, and the live jazz entertainment. We always look forward to coming to this restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 22, 2017

great food and service! live jazz music plus food cooked right at our table. we had a wonderful evening. lighting was dim and romantic. 5 stars!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Private Room, Fun, Bar Seating, Live Music, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

The average food was not worth the over-average pricing, sadly. Exactly five green beans came with the short ribs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This was our first time at Wilf's and we were celebrating my husband's birthday. John, the manager/maitre d', was exceptional and we enjoyed his conversation while he prepared our tableside dishes. I would've given Wilf's five stars except for the following reasons. We never received a bread basket, even though we had bread plates and knives. My husband's specialty prime rib was very cold and he sent it back to be warmed. The waiter informed us that the au jus should have warmed it enough but it didn't. I noticed the table next to our also sent their prime rib back to be heated. At the end of the meal, our waiter, Daniel, took our coat check claim and then forgot about us while we waited at the door, watching him serve other tables. He seemed distracted during our service, and it was not busy because we were there early. And even though we had a Groupon we tipped on the full amount. All that aside, I would recommend Wilf's for a special occasion. It was a bit spendy for us to consider coming back on a regular basis but all our courses were delicious and fresh and it was a fun evening.

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My husband took me here for my birthday, it was a nice place. I enjoyed myself. The service was great, John was very inviting, the server we had (can't remember his name) was okay. Overall I had a great time and enjoyed my meal and quiet conversation. We had an early dinner and left just before we were able to hear the live band, we will be back just for the experience of the band.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Historic, Cozy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We had a lovely, delayed anniversary dinner here. I ordered the Steak Diane, which was out of this world. My husband ordered the pork loin and it was equally as good. The steak is prepared tableside, which is very dramatic. The service was outstanding, the maitre d was delightful, and the music very enjoyable...the singer has a great voice (and I know a good voice when I hear one). We ended the meal with Cafe Diablo for 2 (also prepared tableside with a very dramatic technique) which my husband enjoyed, but I found it a little rich for my taste. We love this place and we'll be back soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food and service were excellent. Located near me so I just walked over. I will not go back, the prices are too high - $18 for a bowl of soup????

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Fabulous location in historic Portland train station. Service is outstanding and super friendly. Can't say enough about this wonderful spot!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.