Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.31mi
  3. Distance: 0.36mi
  4. Distance: 0.36mi

About 800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar

Located in the 1898 renovated Union Station, just minutes from The Pearl and downtown Portland. Cozy red wing back chairs provide guests with an intimate escape from the world, 'Mad Men' atmosphere best describes the lounge and it's modern menu of classic cocktails, while listening to the best jazz, performed up-close and personal. Chef Deb Serkoian and expert staff prepare local and regional dishes with a modern twist. Tableside preparation of our award winning Caesar salad, Steak Diane or fresh local seafood and our 'incredible' burger or Reuben sets us apart for lunch. Catering and event planning for 2 to 2000, includes simple sack lunch, private corporate dining, rehearsal dinners, bridal showers to wedding receptions and more.

800 NW 6th Ave at Union Station
Portland, OR 97209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steak, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 3:00PM

Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00PM - Closing

Casual Bar Menu 3:00PM - closing

Cross Street:
NW Irving

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(503) 223-0070

Website:
http://www.wilfsrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Jazz notes from the piano drift through the dining room as the gracious waitstaff care for our guests. Wilfs has the proud reputation as one the best spots to hear Portland's jazz artists perform, and if you are lucky, national artists may "sit-in" or be relaxing to the music, just like you! Entertainment is Wednesday through Saturday. Check our website for our current entertainment calendar. www.wilfsrestaurant.com

Catering:
Parties for 2 to 2,000! Gatherings mark some of life's most important and intimate moments. Wilfs starts with the basics. We ask our clients to provide several key words to describe the atmosphere they want to create and then Wilfs works toward expressing their vision.

Wilfs uses only the freshest ingredients from our Northwest area, organic and hormone-free whenever possible, and can provide vegan and vegetarian options as well. Wilfs is proud to be a "sustainable" company of the Northwest.

Parking Details:
Wilfs has a limited number of RESERVED stalls in the lot across the street from Union Station, marked "Wilfs Reserved." All other stalls are 'pay to park'. Additional street parking available, free after 7pm.

Public Transit:
Wilfs is located on the Max light rail line, our stop is designated "Union Station" on NW 5th & 6th Avenues. For Rose Quarter events: dine with us before the event, pick up the light rail on NW 6th, you're just 3 minutes from the Rose Quarter, the first stop. Quick and easy.(Yellow & Green line)

Executive Chef:
Deb Serkoian

Private Party Facilities:
Wilfs is the perfect venue for all your dining events from 5-150. Our expert staff can create the most exquiste event from start to finish; a simple lunch, cocktail reception to a sit-down dinner. Classic American cuisine, with a Northwest twist, 'Mad Men' cocktails, jazz entertainment...at Wilfs.

Private Party Contact:
Candace: (877) 879-4450

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The entire restaurant or Union Station Lobby...it's yours for the asking! Weddings, rehearsal dinners, retirement or holiday party, let us create your dream. Food, libations, music, flowers, photo booth, whatever you may want.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

800 Wilfs Restaurant & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Quiet

83% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (25)
Good for a Date (21)
Local Ingredients (13)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Special Occasion (12)
Romantic (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Cozy (11)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Business Meals (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Organic (6)
Authentic (5)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Seasonal (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Casual (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
552 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toledo)·Dined 2 days ago

Delightful table side entree prep -stories embellish the presentation . Great music- nice trio- Aidli's voice is fabulous. Evening was enjoyed by all!

Tags: Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Had a wonderful time and the staff was entertaining and very professional. The food was great.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Amazing on all fronts - atmosphere, service, food, drink, dessert, personal attention, great experience. Live music was a pleasant surprise. Thoroughly enjoyed the band and singers.
Will definitely go back and highly recommend that everyone should experience this 'old Portland' feel.

Tags: Authentic, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Outstanding, all around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

We found a gem! 800 Wilf's is located adjacent to historic Union Station and has a feeling like you have stepped into another time period with velvet chairs, drapery and tablecloths. The maître d John and waiter Douglas were outstanding. Both were friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The food was outstanding, too, and the wine our waiter suggested was the best I have tasted. This was the perfect place to celebrate our wedding anniversary and we will definitely be back. Fresh, local and often organic foods are made into decadently delicious meals. My husband had the sautéed prawns and started with French onion soup. I had the Steak Diane and started with the local green salad. Portions were plenty (not like many gourmet restaurants who provide more décor on your plate than food) and the food was memorable. They have some nights with live music. If you prefer quiet conversation, go on a night without the music or go before it starts. If you enjoy live music, you can check it out from the dining room or get closer in the bar, but there is a cover charge is you just go to the bar ($7, I believe).

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Organic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Drove from Vancouver (BC) for the Heather Keizur/Steve Christopherson CD event and was delighted by the venue. The performance was top notch and the wait staff extra friendly. The server was even concerned that I had not completed my meal (I was full) which I thought was a nice touch. I didn't notice the signs asking not to use my electronic device in the dining area until a few minutes after arriving, but nobody gave me any grief while I sent off a few texts before I noticed it, and put my phone away.

Would go again, and would happily recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 27, 2017

The service was top notch and the music was spectacular. The food was okay, but I feel there's room for improvement. I would go back to sit at the bar section and enjoy the musicians with a nice drink. Overall I had a great time celebrating my birthday with friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Love this place! The experience is great, and the service is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We love dining at Wilf's! The service is above and beyond any in Portland, very attentive staff. The storytelling about the dishes as they are prepared table side are very interesting. The maitre d, John, has such an engaging and animated personality. Everyone should experience dining here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The only thing better here than the food is the service! The Maitre d' himself waited on us, but wow! Fork-tender steak, delicious sauce and even a quick culinary history lesson. So fun! Can't wait to go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Oh my word...hands down the very best service ever! I don't believe there was a bad seat in the house for hearing or viewing the live music. The ambiance was fabulous! Jazz musicians began "practicing" around 6:45. What a treat! We started with the bread pudding appetizer that was to die for! Our Caesar salad was both delicious and educational as our waiter handcrafted it tableside with bits of humor. The entree's fared just as well as they melted in our mouths. Steak Dianne and the rack of Lamb were both mouthwatering and decadent. The bar hosted handcrafted cocktails that enhanced our meal as well. The most unappetizing encounter would be the location of the building itself. Very high class restaurant in a not so high class area. However, despite it's location, we will be returning...it's just that great!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Once again, Wilf's provided us a wonderful evening, of amazing ambiance, service, food and music. It was one of our best date nights ever, would highly recommend this restaurant for a special evening. This is a solid, quality, step back from the hurry of the world place.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Cannot say enough about the amazing food, attentive staff and pleasant ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This place has a friendly, but upscale, atmosphere and incredible jazz! It really dresses up the old train station, which could use a facelift itself. Go there, you won't be disappointed.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Lovely ambience with excellent service. Beautiful old school decor and live soft jazz brought me back to the lounge singers of old. A wonderful experience overall.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Always an excellent dining experience in a lovely, classic setting with attentive service and high quality, upscale cuisine prepared impeccably and plated beautifully. The Coho salmon was mouthwatering and the rib eye melt in the mouth delectable. We've had every offering at least once over the years and have never been disappointed, from cocktails to appetizers, soup, salad, through main course with wines and divine desserts. Wilf's is simply a consistently fine choice for dining.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was disappointing. The salad was made with limp beets & artichokes that tasted like they came from a jar and sweet pecans. The vegetable paella was rice with bland tomato sauce and some carrots. The crepes were bland. The music was great, the servers were great & the ambiance fun.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We had a wonderful evening at WIlf's. The food, music and service were excellent!! The staff is very focused on helping the customers have a nice evening. Loved the food and the jazz trio made the evening perfect!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 21, 2017

We've dined at Wilf's many, many times. Consistently great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Organic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

As someone who has worked in the food service industry, I can knowledgeably say that Wilf's is the crème de la crème. While the food is incredible, the atmosphere divine, and the overall experience one to remember — it's the service that always stands out to me. I've been to Wilf's three times now and each time I leave thinking, "How is this place not packed every time I come?" The maitre d' deserves an award and the serving staff dot their I's and cross their T's. Nothing is every shortcut — plates are served on the correct side, wine service is flawless, food is coursed with punctuality, and each table is made to feel truly special. Wilf's is a fine dining experience from a bygone era that understands modern cuisine, all while maintaining a friendly pricepoint and staff who are truly talented.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We enjoyed the jazz music very much which is why we requested to be seated in the bar - the music did not disappoint!

The spareribs were very yummy, but the ribeye (special) was a bit tough and not worth the additional expense.

We will definitely be back but will probably just stick with the bar menu.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 8, 2017

French onion soup so salty not edible for most at the table. Mashed potatoes served cold, asked to be reheated and barely eaten due to taste. We we unprepared for the cost of non alcoholic beverages to not be included in the food bill and as they came to over $20 were surprised that we still had an $8.75 service charge added to our bill. Our bill for four people was over $100 which we mistakenly assumed covered the required $20 per person, not so. Seems we should have ordered a desert as long as we paid for one. Certainly will not be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We have been going to Wilf's for at least 10 years: the food is perfect everytime , fresh, and innovative. The service is personal, professional and a place where everyone , staff, owners, bartenders remember your name and treat you like you are a cherished friend.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Went to Wilf's for dinner and live jazz with girlfriend.

Had seen Tony Pacini Trio at two other (now closed) local venues, tried Wilf's and
it was a gastronomic delight!

Eat in the bar if you want best seating to hear live music.

Great food, superb music, nice crowd of knowledgable jazz aficionados
who made this special occasion a great success

Pricy food but well worth the superb musical entertainment

Tags: Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Friendly staff accommodated a delicious meal, and live music made for a wonderful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Wilf's never disappoints. Their staff is amazing and cares that you have a phenomenal dining experience. The food is some of the best I've ever eaten in Portland. The food is always locally sourced and cooked to perfection. This is our favorite place for a special occasion. The live jazz is phenomenal too.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Organic, Scenic View, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Good musicians, terrible experience. I feel like I got robbed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

John is both entertaining as well as a great server and host! Food is par excellant!

Tags: Cozy, Live Music, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Everything was good except when I told the waitress that we prefer to have the wine bottle on the table because we like to gauge how much we have drank, she put it behind the bar and refilled our wineglasses before we ever finished one. We actually ended up ordering a second bottle which we never do. This was the start of our overindulging. By then....well you know..she cut us of and it was really embarrassing as it was seem by the neighboring table patrons.
We weren't at all angry just disappointed in us and your waitress.
I highly recommend that it be a policy to never serve wine that way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Excellent ambience, the manager John was amazing and kind.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Food was AMAZING ! Service was AMAZING ! Not a huge fan of the live music that night (French bistro music), but really enjoyed the jazz music on our previous visit. The steak Dianne and Bananas Foster were out of this world !!
Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I surprised my boyfriend while we were in town staying at the gorgeous White House. Wilf's was much, much more than I had expected!! Cozy chairs, romantic setting with cool jazz in the open bar. Could talk quietly and sip our creative cocktails. I have never had this great and personal service in a restaurant. Wilf's is not cheap but the extra expense was felt in the service and food. Using local ingedients and having a smaller menu, what they serve is excellent!! Would highly recommend Wilf's for romance and special occasions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Dinner was outstanding, Service was outstanding, we had a wonderful time, and I have recommended it to all our friends already. Cannot wait to go there again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was prepared properly, service was good, live Jazz in the background. But , for what we had the price was over the top. I have had same type meals in other resturants in Portland and other parts of the country to include Califorina and Washington state that were just a good if not better at half the price. Would I go there again if in Portland...probably not.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wilfs is a Portland fixture. The jazz is very much part of the charm. The bartender is a true mixologist.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Really enjoyed our visit to Wilfs. The jazz evening was recommended by a local. He was spot on! Great jazz. Wait staff were attentive and friendly. We ate simply and enjoyed the food and drinks. We will certainly recommend to family and friends visiting Portland.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food is /very/ salty. Everything else was amazing.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I have been to Wilf's many times and I have had nothing but wonderful service and food to die for but this particular time was not so. It was the service this time that fell well below the norm. The food was WONDERFUL but the experience was dismal. I contacted the owner to let her know about this out of the ordinary experience and she responded quickly with a response that made me feel that this wouldn't happen to anyone else. I would still send anyone that asked to Wilf's because I really LOVE this establishment HANDS DOWN!!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The service is impeccable. You can't beat the French Onion soup and the delicious entrees. We always enjoy coming back to Wilf's.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Organic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.