About 5A5 Steak Lounge

5A5 Steak Lounge is San Francisco's first 'Steak Lounge' - a stylish and contemporary take on the traditional steakhouse with the upbeat ambiance of a cocktail lounge. Executive Chef Allen Chen (Alexander's Steakhouse) has developed an outstanding menu which both complements and explores the boundaries of the traditional 'steak & potatoes' fare. Steaks: we serve 100% Japanese Wagyu, US Certified Angus Beef, American and Australian 'Kobe'. A5 is the highest grade of beef in the world. 5A5- 5 senses/the A5 experience. 5A5 Steak Lounge is conveniently located in the northern FiDi . Please view our website for specials and other events.

244 Jackson Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lounge Open for Drinks at 5:00pm
Happy Hour: 5:00p - 6:30p

Dinner:
Sun-Mon: 5:30pm - 9pm
Tue-Thu: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Fri-Sat: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Battery Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-2539

Website:
http://www.5a5stk.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking on site (Mon - Sat)
Street Parking

Executive Chef:
Allen Chen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining
sales@5a5stk.com

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Show Dad some love with the best steak in the world!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

5A5 Steak Lounge is proud to offer 2 private rooms and 3 semi-private event spaces accommodating groups of any size, up to 300 guests. With our diverse menu featuring everything from luscious steaks to unique vegetarian options, 5A5 is the ultimate venue for any variety of special events.

5A5 Steak Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

74% would recommend it to a friend

Modern Decor (18)
Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (16)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Business Meals (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Romantic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Private Room (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Casual (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Historic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
1936 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Amaizng Steaks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Extremely prompt service I flew in from Chicago and took my girlfriend and it was nothing less then perfect, fast, prompt, and polite service. Food was next level good and the chef sent us complimentary tastes of desert and bite size sausages coming back very soon

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Took a little while to get the menus from a server but once we got them everything was amazing. ( my guess was he had a lot of other table so I ybderstand) Server was attentive. Checked in on every dish. Chef created absolutely amazing dishes and they were presented beautiful. I would recommend this lounge/restaurants to all of my friends

Tags: Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Great dinner, our regular filet and A5 japanese wagyu ribeye were cooked perfectly. The A5 was the best steak we've ever had (better than other places that serve wagyu). The lobster tempura was to die for, hamachi shooters were a fun starter.

Service was friendly and on point, fun, modern atmosphere - not stuff at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Chose this restaurant for my boyfriend's birthday dinner. We were excited to try it out.
They were out of the steak we wanted as well as mashed potatoes and the sides were served room temperature.
We complained to our waiter but he just apologized and that was it.
Our prime rib was ok. I expected better ambiance and food quality for the price.
I was told to try Epic in SF and now I wish we would have.
We were also disappointed there was no valet. Parking was difficult to find as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Phenomenal service!

Tags: Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We consider ourselves steak connoisseurs. We have eaten in NYC's Peter Luger, Sparks, etc. this place blows them away. Knowledgeable and friendly waitstaff. Absolutely melt-in-your mouth 11-12 grade wagyu ribeye and cap. And we mean if you let a piece sit on your tongue, it melts like "butta". Generous shareable sides, Creative desserts, special Table-side Scotch and Whiskey service. Just outstanding. A bit pricey, but its once in a lifetime steak. We were there for our anniversary. Recommend highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 8, 2017

We came here to celebrate our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. The service is superb and the food is incredibly made. The 2 pound rib eye is a sight to be hold. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 4, 2017

I ordered a bone in Ribeyes 32 oz
It is a little bit well done for a medium rare
And I was expecting it will be done perfectly, crispy on the outside and tender in the inside. But I'm disappointed.

On the other hand, the lobster tempura is well deserved a try. I will definitely recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Insanely expensive for ok service and ok food. Also, they don't know how to cook steak! I ordered a $60 steak medium-rare and it came out well done! And my girlfriend ordered a $50 steak medium that they messed up TWICE. First time it came out blue. Sent it back and it was only medium rare.

For such an expensive place, it's absolutely unacceptable that they can't get an order right. I left feeling hungry and ripped off.

I am pretty sure that I'll never come here again. If I drop $300 on a dinner for two, it has be flawless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Although this place can be loud the food is amazing! Great service and cool decor

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was just "ok". Staff was nice. Drinks good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were very disappointed with this restaurant. While the food was good (not great), the portions were too small given the prices. Highly overrated and expensive considering the portions provided. Wine list limited as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Usually have a great experience, this last time the service and food was sup par for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Service was slow and waiter made mistake and overcharged on bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 28, 2017

The food was great and the service was even better! Loved it and i will definitely be returning soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

This place was fun and the service was fantastic!!! Was pleasantly surprised especially with our last minute reservation.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Best meal I have ever had. Definitely try the Wagyu filet. Expensive but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was average & overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The waiter was very attentive. We don't usually splurge on an expensive meal but enjoyed our dinner and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Great food but server was not great. Apparently they often sell out of the prime rib early in the evening, we were there at 7:30 and it was already gone. Our server was not very kind in explaining this. He was even rude at times. I explained to him that I had a bad shellfish allergy and he kept questioning me, saying things like, "well how allergic are you anyway?". I also had a bug in my wine and my friend had one crawling on his wine glass. We still tipped very well but this was NOT the service I would expect for a $511 meal. Overall delicious meal though. I think it was just a server issue.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Think everyone in our party would agree, the beef was the best we've ever had!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was fabulous. The waiter staff worked as a team, and were very efficient; however, I felt like our waiter forgot about us at times. The music was very loud. It sounded like I was in a night club. It was by far the worse part of my dining experience. My husband and I shouted at each of from across the table the entire time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Loved it so much going back April 14th to celebrate my better half birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Lobster tempura was the highlight of the meal for me but to be honest the prime rib, creamed spinach, truffle Mac n cheese were very good as well. The service was impeccable. Our server Scott was very knowledgeable and his wine pairings were on point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Nice environment, and nice steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was great. I had the 32oz t bone steak. Great flavor.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Everything food wise was delicious. The atmosphere was warm and inviting and it seemed like everyone was having a great time. We started with the tempura lobster appetizer. Fresh and delicious. Now on to dinner. My wife got the 10oz prime rib and I got the bone-in ribeye. Both were flavorful and tender. We also got the Truffled mac n cheese and the white cheddar mash. Both were phenomenal. Our server was super friendly and gave us a lot of great suggestions. We will back back sooner than later.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Came to A5a for my wife's birthday. Easy valet parking in SF was a plus. Good food and great ambiance, however I ordered the potatoe gnocchi as a side dish and someone forgot the order. The server brought our steaks and cream of spinach (which was Delish) but the gnocchi was either forgotten by the waiter or the Chef; either way, the server advised that the gnocchi would take a long time to prepare so I elected the Mac and cheese by default...........and with disappointment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This place was booked for a business meal. Nice atmosphere. Pricey, good for client and team meetings.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Food was amazing. Our server Kelsey was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

great find! delicious apps, dinner and amazing dessert! bartender and waitress was super fun! great suggestions! would definitely go back when in town again

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Just not good at all. The decor was dreadful, the noise too much to have a conversation. The wine menu was almost unable to be read because of poor printing. The beverage manager didn't know his wines and couldn't explain their value. The food was pretty good but the service ruined that. Would not recommend!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

DISAPPOINTED!!!! I am not sure whether most of the reviewers ate at the same 5A5 that I did. The food was on the lower side of average and the service was lackluster. Our server was very pompous about the quality of food but unfortunately the chef did not deliver. This restaurant certainly does not deserve to be mentioned in the same discussion with other top quality steak houses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 19, 2017

After trying to find a restaurant in SF that would fit everyone in our groups tastes I came across 5A5 on Open Table and looked at the menu and found something for everyone. The décor was beautiful and loved the way the tables were placed in a circle. First, the service is outstanding. The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. For those of us who are more adventuresome we had the Wagu beef tartar and lobster along with many other plates and the person who was just a steak eater had a perfectly cooked filet. I must say I'm not a desert person but we ordered two for the table were not only delicious but the presentation was out of this world. It was the perfect evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food and Service was great, good ambiance

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great service! Ben was excellent! We went for our anniversary and we got a very cute complimentary anniversary dessert. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent experience, but rather loud. If you have a larger party, it will be difficult to converse with those not directly around you. The food is delicious, though, and the staff is attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place and we were coming from far away and ran into traffic, they politely held our table 30 mins after our reservation! Thanks for making our date memorable! ---A.Huizar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day, pre fixed menu was 120 each. Food was not worth it at all. We were very disappointed and it ruined such a special occasion for us :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.