About 5A5 Steak Lounge

244 Jackson Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

5A5 Steak Lounge is San Francisco's first 'Steak Lounge' - a stylish and contemporary take on the traditional steakhouse with the upbeat ambiance of a cocktail lounge. Executive Chef Allen Chen (Alexander's Steakhouse) has developed an outstanding menu which both complements and explores the boundaries of the traditional 'steak & potatoes' fare. Steaks: we serve 100% Japanese Wagyu, US Certified Angus Beef, American and Australian 'Kobe'. A5 is the highest grade of beef in the world. 5A5- 5 senses/the A5 experience. 5A5 Steak Lounge is conveniently located in the northern FiDi . Please view our website for specials and other events.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lounge Open for Drinks at 5:00pm
Happy Hour: 5:00p - 6:30p

Dinner:
Mon-Thu: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Fri-Sat: 5:30pm - 10:30pm
Sun: 5:30pm - 9pm

Cross Street:
Battery Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-2539

Website:
http://www.5a5stk.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking on site (Mon - Sat)
Street Parking

Executive Chef:
Allen Chen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining
sales@5a5stk.com

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:15PM - 9:30PM

Fri - Sat 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

5A5 Steak Lounge is proud to offer 2 private rooms and 3 semi-private event spaces accommodating groups of any size, up to 300 guests. With our diverse menu featuring everything from luscious steaks to unique vegetarian options, 5A5 is the ultimate venue for any variety of special events.

5A5 Steak Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Modern Decor (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Private Room (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Casual (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1903 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was amazing. Our server Kelsey was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

great find! delicious apps, dinner and amazing dessert! bartender and waitress was super fun! great suggestions! would definitely go back when in town again

Tags: Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined 6 days ago

Just not good at all. The decor was dreadful, the noise too much to have a conversation. The wine menu was almost unable to be read because of poor printing. The beverage manager didn't know his wines and couldn't explain their value. The food was pretty good but the service ruined that. Would not recommend!

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

DISAPPOINTED!!!! I am not sure whether most of the reviewers ate at the same 5A5 that I did. The food was on the lower side of average and the service was lackluster. Our server was very pompous about the quality of food but unfortunately the chef did not deliver. This restaurant certainly does not deserve to be mentioned in the same discussion with other top quality steak houses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

After trying to find a restaurant in SF that would fit everyone in our groups tastes I came across 5A5 on Open Table and looked at the menu and found something for everyone. The décor was beautiful and loved the way the tables were placed in a circle. First, the service is outstanding. The food was delicious and the presentation was beautiful. For those of us who are more adventuresome we had the Wagu beef tartar and lobster along with many other plates and the person who was just a steak eater had a perfectly cooked filet. I must say I'm not a desert person but we ordered two for the table were not only delicious but the presentation was out of this world. It was the perfect evening.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Food and Service was great, good ambiance

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic, Late-night Find, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great service! Ben was excellent! We went for our anniversary and we got a very cute complimentary anniversary dessert. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Excellent experience, but rather loud. If you have a larger party, it will be difficult to converse with those not directly around you. The food is delicious, though, and the staff is attentive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place and we were coming from far away and ran into traffic, they politely held our table 30 mins after our reservation! Thanks for making our date memorable! ---A.Huizar

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Went for Valentine's Day, pre fixed menu was 120 each. Food was not worth it at all. We were very disappointed and it ruined such a special occasion for us :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The absolute most incredible steak culinary experience ever

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First date

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I was quite disappointed with this restaurant. I had read reviews and thought it would be a good place to celebrate my brother's birthday. However, I wasn't too pleased with the service since our server was not very attentive. The food was quite average considering the price. Also, the hostess at the start wasn't very friendly when she greeted us. It was okay, not sure if I will be back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wow.... best tasting steaks ever! They service is top notch...can't wait to return

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Paleo Friendly, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 7, 2017

The service and ambiance were great. The food was good and probably worth the price. The one complaint I have is that almost all the sides (including the vegetable options!) come with some sort of pork in them. I made a comment about this to our server, but I'm not sure if the feedback got to the chef or not. But seriously, why do creamed spinach, asparagus, mashed potatoes and cauliflower ALL come with meat in them?? I understand it's a steak house, and I'm not opposed to meat - I like it a lot! But having pork in almost every side dish you offer is insensitive to people who don't eat pork. Let's keep the veggie options (at least SOME of them) free of meat!

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Average at best. I've had much better steaks at better prices. The mac-n-cheese was good. We did not receive any bread at our table. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (México)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great menu, awesome presentation, impecable service and a unique ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Their house cocktails are really good. The service is good but not the best. Their steaks are over priced and not that great. Looking for a good steak to eat, this is not the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Dining here was an AMAZING experience! Worth the money!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing service, great atmosphere and an outstanding menu with unique Wagyu cuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Brothers 43rd birthday

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Was ok but I expected more. We were seated for more than 15 mins before server came to take drinks order

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Pretty much what we ordered was under seasoned. The ribeye was probably the best dish of the night. The pork belly that was on the house tasted like it came out from cha siu bao. I used to think that this place serves pretty good food but last night's dinner was such a big disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My wife and I wanted steaks and all the trimmings and 5A5 didn't disappoint. Service was top-notch and the food was outstanding. The chef came out to greet us during our meal. We ordered the wagyu rib cap, wagyu/holstein filet mignon, prime rib and bone-in rib eye...we had a lot of meat.

Also tried the hamachi app, and the mac n cheese(with lobster) and creamed spinach sides. Couldn't ask for a better meal or experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 20, 2017

First time eating at this restaurant, service was great, food was amazing and the layout was very modern. Definitely enjoyed this place for my first time. Would definitely recommend it to anyone wanting to try a Steakhouse that's worthwhile.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This is my go to steak place in the City. Absolutely love the service, the food is delicious and the drinks are amazing. One of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The taste of the food and most definitely the service did not match the $600 dinner for four. You shouldn't have to ask three times for butter. You should't get an eye roll when you ask for the drinks that got forgotten about at a restaurant of that price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was amazinggg, the cleanliness and service was not. I booked a reservation wayyyy in advance and the table we were given was next to a pole and not desirable for an advance booking. Last minute reservation or walk-in sure, the table would be fine for that. My bread plate and the table were dirty, they ran out of spoons, so they never gave us any. So we couldn't eat part of our meal. Good thing I didn't get the soup. They ignored us because we were placed at a bad table. When they took our plates to box the food, they placed dirty dishes directly on my food!!! Carry what you can and come back, don't put dirty dishes on my food. Overall very disappointing. Food amazing, I doubt I would go back.

Tags: People Watching, Modern Decor, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Service was top notch. To be clear I did not have the Waygu steak which is what they are known for. My girlfriend and I chose a t-bone and a ribeye along with the mushroom side.

Both those steaks were average middle of the road in terms of texture and flavor, and came heavily coated in their respective sauces (I knew this going in). I'm from New York, and this is the context I'm using for this review - I eat steak on the regular and unfortunately I wouldn't return for either of the two steaks listed above. The restaurant staff was incredibly friendly and exceptional in their quality of service. I will return to try the Waygu.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to new years and the food was horrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve price fixe dinner was horrible. Steak was barely warm, sides were nothing special. Apps were a joke. 3 raviolis!! 3! Salad was wilted. We will never be back! Best part was the drinks at the bar. Very good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Left in the middle of NEW YEARS EVE dinner as service was horrendous. Had to wait over 45 minutes between courses. Soup came out cold, etc.

Terrible experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Poor service, unfriendly service, very very small portions for price paid as well as not top quality food for the price charged. Would not reccomend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We both got sick after eating there for New Years and couldn't enjoy midnight hitting!

Service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New year's eve pre fix menu was not outstanding that we thought. Amuse bouche great, first course great when it come to my entree which is the fish. Fish is frozen in the middle area so as my friend's fish too so we sent it back and got a so called cooked fish now but other than that nothing special so bland dessert not very good. I am sorry but I am just being honest there is no love in that cooking and we paid $600 for nothing. Just love the job if you are asking for $150 ++ a person then make the most outstanding of it. New Year's is once in a year only so better cook with passion. That's all

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was okay, everything was okay. People around us were sending food back because it was to cold. You pay for excellence and recieve okay food and service. Wouldn't recommend when it's busy, possibly better when it's slower and they can handle it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were completely disappointed with our NYE prix fixe meal. For being a self claimed high standard steakhouse we had good expectations going in but our steaks were tasteless and overcooked. Probably the worst steak we've ever had!

The beets in the beet salad were overly salted and tasted like they had been soaked in a brine too long. We overheard a person at a table next to us complaining about the same thing. She sent hers back while we only ate a small portion of ours. There was no question that like we overpaid for a poor quality meal and we were extremely dissatisfied. We were tempted to dispute the charges but we let it go. The wait staff was good enough and we tipped very generously despite the bad experience. We were a party of two and spent $500 for a terrible meal! Money down the drain!! We will never go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Came here with my fiance after reading great reviews and we're not disappointed! Had the tuna and the lettuce cups to start with then I had the fillet mignon which was honestly the best steak I have ever eaten! Great ambience and interiors, Perfect for a date night!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

High-end, well aged, top grade beef. Great space. Heavy food but very tasty. Impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great steak restaurant within the financial district , but our steaks were over done. The cost they charge, you would think they could gets this right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food and service were both great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Great service me and my wife loved it we would go back great food service and atmosphere

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Good food, but not a typical steak house. This menu had an asian flair. It's also pricey, but that's typical for a steak house. Just be prepared for $30 for the cheapest option which you won't end up getting since it's too small. Sides are also additional (not included).

That being said, the food was delicious! They know what they are doing in the kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 6, 2016

This place has a great rib eye --- it was tremendous although slightly greasy. Wish they seared their steaks. And how can you NOT have a baked potato?? Should have sides not drenched in oil/butter. Even the edamine was dripping in sauce. Why would you put cauliflower in a cream sauce. Hey chef, young people want to eat healthier.

Tags: Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

2nd time here. Food are great as usual. Would appreciate if we have more size options. 32oz is just too big for me.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 4, 2016

From the moment we walked in we should have known this would be a terrible dining experience. Our waiter didn't explain the cuts of the meat properly. My husbands boss ended up with a rare steak when he ordered medium well. My husband ended up with a massive cut of rare meat. We didn't have a chance to tell our waiter to change things as he never came back to check on us. Very embarrassing to us as we picked the restaurant for this dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our evening began with a nice plate of bread and delicately seasoned shrimp, courtesy of the chef.

We placed our drink orders in and they arrived in a timely manner. The Oaxacan Cocktail is the best on the menu. Would have drank those the entire night but wanted to try every drink on the menu.

Our soups were the first to arrive, Lobster Corn Soup and Zoup du Jour (Saffron Mussel Soup). They were both very tasty, the first had a strong curry base while the second tasted more creamy, buttery.

Next came the shishito peppers. By far the best variation I've ever had. Peppers were not to spicy and had a sweet reduction on top of the Truffle shavings. This was a must have for sure.

Our steaks finally came, the T-Bone with egg. The best steak paired with their special sauce I've ever had. Definitely next time, I'd love to try their wagyu steak.

Unfortunately, the service was a bit weird. Our empty waters sat there for half an hour before being filled. Our final order of cocktails came out way late too. It seems that once they give the final dish, they stop coming to check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was hands down the best steak I have ever eaten. This place blew away STK in Las Vegas that had held that place in my heart. Recommend ten fold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This was horrible. We chose this place given the good reviews for steak. They gave the high-priced sales pitch with the marbled (aka fatty raw meat) upon our arrival, which simply turned my stomach. We ordered, and low and behold, they were completely out of our choice. Apparently you need to be there in the first 30 minutes of opening to consume the prime rib (per our waiter). We left. And we went to the kitschy but reliably good House of Prime Rib for prime rib (which was worth the 2 hour wait - which tells you how unimpressed we were with every aspect of 5A5).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

To charge these types of prices you have to be dialed on all levels of service....booth was not comfortable, felt worn like I was sitting on wood under the seat...flickering fake candles didn't stay lit...fruit flies near the booth...no serving utensils with appetizers...steaks and sides where delicious but the lack of attention to detail on other things wouldn't bring me back due to the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.