About 5A5 Steak Lounge

5A5 Steak Lounge is San Francisco's first 'Steak Lounge' - a stylish and contemporary take on the traditional steakhouse with the upbeat ambiance of a cocktail lounge. Executive Chef Allen Chen (Alexander's Steakhouse) has developed an outstanding menu which both complements and explores the boundaries of the traditional 'steak & potatoes' fare. Steaks: we serve 100% Japanese Wagyu, US Certified Angus Beef, American and Australian 'Kobe'. A5 is the highest grade of beef in the world. 5A5- 5 senses/the A5 experience. 5A5 Steak Lounge is conveniently located in the northern FiDi . Please view our website for specials and other events.

244 Jackson Street
San Francisco, CA 94111
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steak, Steakhouse, Japanese

Hours of Operation:
Lounge Open for Drinks at 5:00pm
Happy Hour: 5:00p - 6:30p

Dinner:
Sun-Mon: 5:30pm - 9pm
Tue-Thu: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
Fri-Sat: 5:30pm - 10:30pm

Cross Street:
Battery Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 989-2539

Website:
http://www.5a5stk.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking

Executive Chef:
Allen Chen

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Private Dining
sales@5a5stk.com

Specials

Complimentary glass of sparkling wine!
Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Complimentary glass of sparkling wine!
Details

Enjoy your sparkling wine with our top quality steaks from around the world.

Terms and Conditions: Maximum of 6 diners. At least 1 entree must be ordered per 2 people. Includes Tax, excludes service. Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Valid For: 1 - 6 People

Starts: August 23, 2017

Ends: November 30, 2017

Availability: Sun-Mon 8:00PM-9:00PM
Tue-Thu 8:30PM-10:00PM
Fri-Sat 9:00PM-10:30PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Mon 5:30PM - 5:45PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Tue - Thu 5:30PM - 5:45PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

5A5 Steak Lounge is proud to offer 2 private rooms and 3 semi-private event spaces accommodating groups of any size, up to 300 guests. With our diverse menu featuring everything from luscious steaks to unique vegetarian options, 5A5 is the ultimate venue for any variety of special events.

5A5 Steak Lounge Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
See All
Business Meals (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Romantic (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Casual (5)
Authentic (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Fun (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
People Watching (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Cozy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Organic (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1998 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

Terrific meal with an impressive selection of Wagyu beef. I enjoyed the garlic crusted prime rib with mashed potatoes. Atmosphere was trendy and the waiter Scott was superb. Would go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Outstanding food. Service was lacking. Had a difficult

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

While we had a pleasant evening and the service was good, my wife and I just really felt that almost all of the food had some issues with flavors not working well together. Since it left a lot to be desired for the price, we felt it was an overpriced dinner and most likely will not go back. I had the lobster bisque, but it was not a great flavor and since the lobster meat was added to it in the center (it was nice presentation) it didn't seem to go well with the bisque for some reason or do anything for the flavor. My wife had the grilled romaine salad and we agreed it was interesting, and maybe the best of what was ordered -- which shouldn't be the case at a restaurant showcasing steak. My filet was cooked perfectly and was very tender; however, the demi glace and green garlic flavors conflicted and didn't make the overall taste something I would recommend to anyone or order again. She ordered the t-bone because the ingredients peaked her interest, but it was a very strong flavor warranting a few bites only. The truffle mac & cheese was ok, but not anything great or special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

As the demanding foodie that I am, Oh boy! It was delicious! From the Japanese Oysters to the gorgeous delicious Rib cup 4 oz, creamy spinach and delicate and tasty scallops! Simply the best! Well done cheffs!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

This was a great restaurant and the filet was excellent! I think some of the sides were just OK but what they are know for meat wise was amazing!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent food all around. NY strip was beat I've had. Tender like a filet with the flavor of a strip. Great service and good wine selection make for winning combo.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on September 13, 2017

I had specifically asked for a quiet table but was placed between the bar and dining room. It was so loud! Not a good location for a business dinner where we wanted to have a meaningful conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great service and food. Prime rib was 86'd but the ribeye was excellent. Best creamed spinach I have ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We had a large party and we usually pay our own bills. We were told that they could only charge even number charges on four charge cards. My wife broke down each persons bill and what each owed as she has done for our family for the past 28 years. They have a app now so it's much easier to take a picture of bill and separate it. She puts amount on paper and the amount to be charged .to each card He charged the different amounts but I have never heard of this before. The person who delivered the bill to the table , sat the bill on table no communication no eye contact and left not sure what that was about. This was not the waiter or our server he was great. Overall good food great service but these other two incidents threw me for a loop.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Visiting San Francisco for Labor Day weekend and this was our last night here. We found 5A5 on open table and based off all the awesome reviews we decided to give it a try. So glad we did! First of all, the hostess was very sweet and professional. We arrived 30 minutes early and she told us she would have a table for us soon and we could go to the bar/lounge while we wait. The bartender, Michael, was outstanding. By far, the best service we've ever received. He was very knowledgeable and friendly. The restaurant was very clean and had a nice intimate setting. Perfect for date night! We started off with the tempura lobster and the shishito peppers. I ordered the filet mignon and my boyfriend ordered the tbone. Both were cooked to perfection and seasoned well. By far the best restaurant we visited in SF and one of the best I have ever dined at. Job well done. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 4, 2017

If you're a steak lover, then this is the ideal restaurant for you. We started off with the Lobster tempura and U10 scallops, then had the A5 Wagyu Ribeye that was amazing. Including the truffle mushroom butter that was on top of it.
If you can get pass the $$$ price per ounce, then I recommend this restaurant...

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Great food, a bit pricey. Service was good, not spectacular but good none the less.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

It was great. We were warmly greeted upon our arrival and seated right away by the hostess. Our waiter Scott was awesome, checking in on us throughout our meal. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Definitely going back. The best experience i've had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Overall the experience was good. My steak came out medium when I ordered medium rare and my colleague's steak came out medium rare when he ordered medium. I'm pretty sure the kitchen switched our orders and we ordered different cuts of meats so it wasn't something we could switch... for the costs, this mistake should not occur.

The service was great. Very friendly. The appetizers and sides were great too. Just wish my steak was cooked correctly as the seasoning was very good on mine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were celebrating a new job offer and tell you the truth they way we were welcomed to the lounge was exceptionally classy !The food was more than amazing; the presentation of the menu items was outstanding. The waitress was smiley and helpful she explained the types of meat and the wines and the champagne. We enjoyed Prime Ribs, truffle fries and asparagus, and cauliflower .. all was served hot and super tasty! Will definitely go back again !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2017

As usual 5 star service, favorite steak spot

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Scott was a fantastic server to start.. the A5 filet was spectacular, the bone in rib eye was huge and the mashed potatoes were incredible.. we will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Service: ultra professional and detailed
Food: we didn't have a dish that wasn't absolutely amazing! Beautiful presentation, incredible flavors, high quality.
Price/value: people often think of price and value as the same thing... They are not! Is it expensive to dine here? Yes, if you choose the certified Japanese Wagyu steaks. Value - you may only find a handful of restaurants in the US that actually serves REAL Wagyu steak. So for what you get, the value is amazing! I would highly recommend this steakhouse! Thanks for the incredible dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

I love this place and the lobster tempura is screaming!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Went here with my wife and adult daughter while visiting our daughter in SF. Excellent food, with a combination of Japanese and "foodie" influences. Didn't go all out and order the Waghu beef; the NY strip was excellent on its own.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2017

This place was amazing. We are celebrating an anniversary and 5A5 was recommended. The service was great and the food even better. The modern ambiance was exactly what we were looking for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Fun, creative take on a traditional steak house. Great food, great wine, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I arrived about 5 minutes early and checked in. Let them know my date was running a little late and I will wait at the bar. When she arrived, I was told that they canceled my reservations because I didn't check in. Which I clearly did. Was then told it would be about 5 minutes. 30 minutes later after going to the hostess twice, we finally got a table.

After 10 minutes wait they decided menus might be a help.

The waiter then proceeded to splash my date drink all over her. Luckily it only hit her face, into the eye and down the arm. Upon her cleaning up some, we decided to leave. Not wanting to make a bigger display, we just asked for the bill for the drinks and proceeded to leave. At this time the manager decided to try to make it up. He tried so hard that he followed us next door to Kokkari.

I will never step into this place again, but highly recommend Kokkari next door. It was amazing service, and they went out their way to make night great for us anyway. We go out at least one night a week. This week it is The Boulevard and next to La Mars. This is the first time I ever felt the need to write a review. DO NOT GO TO 5A5 Steak Lounge.

PS: the system made me put something in for value and quality of food. I must be honest, we never tried the food. So the values are just place setters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

From beginning to end the service was awesome!!!! The food was amazing especially the tempura lobster!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I thought the food was only ok. I always wanted to try it. I did and wasn't too impressed. Taste of the food was only ok. For the prices they charge, I can go some place else for a more reasonable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Impeccable service. The food was great but a little on the heavy side on the sauces and glazes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2017

The food was fine and the service adequate. But my friend and I ordered a few different small plates and the server said that the items were served family style and would be sent separately (as in sent out in courses), but we received all the food at once: salad, soup, fries and lobster tempura - so we were forced to eat some of the hot foods after they had cooled considerably.

Tags: Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 29, 2017

It was awesome... loved the atmosphere, food & service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Nice food, good services. A place where I always come back whenever I'm in SF. Everything looks fine except the wine list. The lists have changed with less quality wines than before. But I still love to have dinners with my friends there anyway!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

An unserem Abend war sehr laut. Man konnte sich fast nicht unterhalten. Trotz vieler Kellner ca fünf haben immer Details gefehlt. Mein Steak für 65$ war nicht Medium. Schönes Lokal nur laut mitbedingt guten Service und somit im Preis-Leistungs-Verhältnis eher nichts empfehlen

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 23, 2017

My wife and myself were celebrating our 12 year wedding Anniversary and your team made our moment even more special than what it already was. From the moment we were greeted, till our ending coffee, our server made it a night truly to remember. She was very out going, understood our needs. Excellent service. Thank you so much!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

3rd time coming back. Food are tasty as usual. Will surly come back again.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2017

It was my boyfriend's birthday and we were there to celebrate it. Everything was so amazing. The service was incredible great. The food...omg words can't explain it. The best I've ever tasted in SF so far. Definitely an awesome place to go to. Don't miss it out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I've eaten here a few times for bother personal and business meals. Food, drinks and services is always great. The bar was quiet for a Saturday though.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Chef drenches Wagyu and other steaks in heavy sauces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Steaks are ok, but not would expect more from this place/ They aded sevral toppoing on top of the steaks. You do not taste the great flavour of the steaks because of this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Everything about 5A5 steak Lounge was perfection❤
The service, perfection.
The ambience, perfection.
The food and drinks, perfection.
I would give 10 stars if I could.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Place for beef lover

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Our waiter was excellent. The food was great and a bit unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.