Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.93mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.93mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.93mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.30mi
  2. Distance: 0.93mi
  3. Distance: 1.05mi
  4. Distance: 1.14mi

About 4th Base Restaurant

The 4th Base Restaurant is one of Milwaukee's oldest sports restaurants & is walking distance from Miller Park. 4th Base is famous for our horseshoe bar featured in the 1989 movie, "Major League." We offer an a la carte menu style that allows our customers to customize each dish & entree from the method it's prepared, seasoned, & what sides it comes with. We offer a large deli case for our customers to view & see the food available each day for order. Our food selection is showcased in our famous deli case, customers can view.

Our seafood selection consists of jumbo U-10 Shrimp, U-10 Scallops, Atlantic Salmon, Ahi Tuna, Sea Bass, large Alaskan King Crab Legs, Oysters, Perch, & Walleye.

Our steak selection allows you to choose from 32 oz Porterhouse, 24oz Ribeye, 20oz New York Strip, & Tenderloin Filets that can be cut in a 6-8-10 or 16oz portion cut. We also offer other meat including pork loin, & chicken breast.

We also have fresh vegetables, pasta, homemade rice & homemade soups.

5117 W National Ave
Milwaukee, WI 53214
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Sunday: 10:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
52nd & National Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(414) 647-8509

Website:
http://www.the4thbase.com/

Catering:
Please contact us at the4thbase@yahoo.com for catering menu. Options include:

Homemade Quinoa
Homemade Rice Pilaf
Grilled Chicken and Primavera
3 Meat Meatballs

Parking Details:
Our parking lot is located in the rear of the building and has 20+ spots available. There is street parking available on National Ave and is monitored until 6pm

Public Transit:
We are located off the 18 and 19 routes which stop near the restaurant by the Veterans Hospital.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Please contact us about renting out our dining room for your party, or special event. We offer a quiet room off the bar area that has excellent sports ambiance throughout.

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Treat Dad like a King with great steak options like our Bone In Ribeye and Filet or Go Surf and Turf! Other 4th Base creations include our Steak To Die For, Black n Bleu Ribeye, and seared Lamb Chops.
Come early for brunch and let Dad enjoy our Crab Eggs Benedict and more. See you soon!

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 4:00PM - 9:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Whether celebrating a special occasion with family and friends or hosting a corporate outing, 4th Base Restaurant can accommodate all your special event needs. Contact us with your ideas for course numbers, meal requests, and budget (if there is one) and let us accommodate your group.

4th Base Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Bar Seating (7)
Casual (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
See All
Sunday Lunch (4)
Historic (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Cozy (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Business Meals (1)
Live Sports (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Sort By:
S
51 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food, fun waitress and excellent customer service. Had lunch before a Brewers game and will definitely be back.

Tags: Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Had a really nice Mother's Day brunch. Food was delicious (especially the crab benedict). However, it took a long time (1 hour) to get food but they have a tiny kitchen and it was a busy day. Service was great...server kept giving us updates on our order. My only complaint is no menu or prices and the bill was much higher than I anticipated.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was great except for the "kiddie cocktail" my 7 year old had that was loaded with tequila. Didn't really get an apology for it which was upsetting.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Extremely overpriced. Ask for pricing prior to ordering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Wonderful service, the bartender and waitress were extremely welcoming and helpful. The food was second to none! Fantastic fresh selections of just about anything! Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 7, 2017

It seems a bit of a strange fit. A casual neighborhood sports bar that offers fine dining selections at fine dining prices. The staff were very upfront, helpful and friendly. Wonderful choices of quality meat cuts and a fresh seafood selection My sister was very pleased with the Chilean Sea Bass while I savored the tender braised sea scallops. If you'd prefer to skip the dress and sport coat and watch a game or two on the big screens while treating yourself to a fine meal, then this is the spot.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We met for a college reunion and it was the perfect spot to gather. The waitress was very friendly and accommodating. The food was very good and they were very attentive to everyone's needs. We had been to the original location in the early '80's in Piggsville and this location was just as good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Live Sports, Private Room, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Think of combing a Morton's Steakhouse with your favorite neighborhood sports bar (in fact Major League was filmed here). They have a deli case where they display the finest steaks, scallops, shrimp, and veggies. You can pick your preparation (i.e., grilled, fried, broiled), which I love, because I am a healthy eater. I had the shrimp and scallops grilled and green beans and the meal was fantastic. Jennifer, the hostess and our server, was amazing. Super friendly, personable, helpful and provide great service. Brian, the cook, was also awesome, and cooked our meal to perfection! They have multiple t.v.s so you can watch sports, and the ambience is cozy and warm. Everything was wonderful and we would definitely go back. Just be prepared to bring your wallet. 2 shrimp and scallop dinners with veggie and 3 beers was $114.00. Fine dining in a sports bar atmosphere. It doesn't get any better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Way over-priced for what you get, quinoa was too garlicky/salty, one steak was way over-done and had to be sent back, 1 crableg as an appetizer was $60.00! The red wine was really warm and pretty bad. Will not go back. Perhaps the reataurant is resting on an old reputation that doesn't exist any more. Our waiter was very accomodating but had too many tables/people to take care of.

Tags: Live Sports, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 5, 2016

should be rated $$$$$$$$$$ for price of food - no menus

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was very good, and I don't mind paying a high price for a good meal. I do think the drinks were way over priced for the type of place this is. A sports bar. Small
cocktails were $8 and $10 dollars. You should be able to taste the alcohol for that price.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 3, 2016

My husband and I took our kids here and we loved it! Even though there isn't a menu, what a cool way to order; pick your protein and explain how you want it prepared to the chef. Our kids ate all their food which were plenty large portions.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 17, 2016

Food and atmosphere were very good. Service was friendly and helpful. Was nota fan of having no menu or prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Outstanding food. Great service by owner who served as our waiter. Chef came over and greeted us personally. Great experience all around. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 20, 2016

The owners, chef , atmosphere, laid back pub feel is an awesome mix. And the food kicks anything in Milwaukee. This coming from a Chicago foody. Not snobby just perfect place

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had out of town guests here for Easter and some of them are big baseball fans. We had a group of ten With "Major League" being partially filmed there it was a great choice with all the additional memorabilia in the restaurant. We also had our own area in the back and with a four year old in attendance it was great.

The food was outstanding. The only thing I would suggest is they will make you anything you want. Any type of food. Seafood, Red Meat, and chicken. Cooked any way you want. They don't have a menu so make sure you ask prices so you don't get any surprises. But overall a very good restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2016

I was really disappointed about the Valentine's date me and my girlfriend attended last year it was a very awesome experience CJ was the best server I ever had I guess we sat at the bar this year's steak was not the same as last year service was not the same as last year and the price was extremely high than last year I felt like I lost something after last year experience I've been telling everyone about how great it was but coming back this year for valentines day I will not do it again I rather go to McDonalds Drive thru

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2016

The whole experience could best be described as "customized". The food options, the flexibility, the staff. I really felt like staff simply wanted us to have a great time and great food. A lot of other places with great food make it seem like they are doing you a favor. Not the case here. I'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2015

My husband and I went here before a Brewers game based on the recommendations that were posted as well as the location of the bar/restaurant. We love neighborhood gems but this place was unique due to the prices they charged. We had a rib eye steak that was not cooked very well - fried instead of grilled and same with the Walleye. The Portobello mushroom with crab and Provolone cheese was very good but not worth the $28.00 price!
Loved the active ambiance which was perfect for before or after a game so we plan to go again but to try the burgers rather than the pricier items.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 10, 2015

The food was excellent. Everyone working at the resturant was kind,helpful and excited to be at work. Our waitress was alittle over whelmed bit she handled it like a champ. I would definitely go back but I would save a little more room for the m&m cheesecake.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 26, 2015

This place was not at all what I was expecting, but something you just may need to experience for yourself. We stopped here for dinner and a game, looking for something other than typical bar food and this place delivered! Let's be clear, it has the look of a neighborhood dive bar...dim lighting, noisy and most of the decor dating back to before I was born. There's no menu...you just walk up to this refrigerated display, look at the extensive variety of fresh seafood, meats and vegetables that are offered and have a conference with Chef Marco about what he can do with whatever you choose. Then he does it, and the food is fresh, creative, plentiful and delicious. It's a total study in contrasts but something to experience. I would recommend it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 12, 2015

An unexpected way of doing things for what appears to be a sports bar. For a quieter experience, eat in the dining room. You choose your food from the chef's case. Tell your server how you enjoy things and it will happen. Request a cocktail created for you based on your taste and it will happen. This all comes with a price but it is SO worth it! Buon Appetito!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2015

The lack of a hard menu was unique. You order at the meat counter from a wide variety of seafood & meat. I wouldn't recommend getting the perch or walleye pan-fried.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 3, 2015

From the outside you would not be able to guess for one moment what a wonderful dining experience you would have inside. It is a small bar and on the evening we dined it was on the quiet side so we were able to converse easily. I can see where if it were a busy time it would be hard to move around and hard to hear conversation. The food selection in the food case was plentiful and looked fresh and delicious. The chef asked us if we had any questions at all and went over some of the items available for our meal. Our server was polite, attentive and very helpful when trying to choose what we would like and the different preparations available. Our food was amazing from start to finish. We had bacon wrapped shrimp, bacon wrapped scallops, crab legs, mozzarella sticks, and the tuna filet. It was all cooked perfectly and was very flavorful and well presented. Be prepared to spend a good amount of money, but in our opinion it was well worth it. There is no menu with prices so if you are thrifty and looking for a deal or need to see everything in black and white this is not the place for you. If however, you enjoy good food, a fun atmosphere, good service and a unique dining experience I would suggest you go as soon as you can.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 27, 2015

Good food, it was definitely a different experience without menus. But nice to have food made to order.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 21, 2015

My first time there and won't be my last! Our server was exceptional. Very attentive and friendly. Very good recommendations. Food was exceptional!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 1, 2015

We had a very nice experience at the 4th Base. We have not been there in many years and were very glad we went back. Food was awesome and our bartender/ waitress ( Kirsten) was very nice and fun. We will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 1, 2015

4Th Base is one of those places that you want to tell everyone about and yet just keep it to yourself. It's a guilty pleasure what with the pick your meal menu from a glass case in front of the chef (Prime Rib, Lobster, Jumbo Shrimp, Veal/Chicken, Scallops you name it prepared in any style you choose! The wait staff are friendly, remember your name and the bar keep pours your favorite drink almost before you finish settling at your table. This is like Cheers on steroids! Love it and highly recommend this wonderful throwback to the way service was back in the day! Great Juke Box music and décor filled with every type of sports memorabilia you could think of from every game!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 1, 2015

4th base is a unique, low-key & relax dining experience that any foodie should enjoy. You're the chef - design your own dinner with the ingredients available. Steak, seafood, fish - up to the imagination. Fun place for a group experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 21, 2015

Haven't been to the 4th Base for awhile, glad we came back. We had a great fish fry and service to match. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2015

I had a Ribeye Steak and wife had a Crab Stuffed Mushroom. Steak was extremely tough and the mushroom entre was cold by the time we were served. For a $45 steak, I expected better. Maybe a one time fluke but it was my only experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2015

Went here based upon a recommendation and was blown away by the selection of delicious food choices. A la carte style with a great bar feel. Highly recommended for a special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2015

We went there for the first time on Valentines Day. The service and food were exceptional. When a larger table became available in the back room, our waitress suggested we move to it. She helped us with our beverages.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 14, 2015

This ended up being a last minute Valentines find. Looks like a bar, but the food was some of the best I've ever had. There is also a quiet dining area in the back. Fresh meat that you get to pick yourself. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2015

Very unique place and well worth finding. Our meal was outstanding and the service was awesome. The chef made our order to what ever we wanted and everything came out excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 7, 2015

4th Base is not your typical Resturant, you will realize this as soon as you walk in the door and they are very upfront about that as soon as the waitress comes to the table. They have no menus! You order by going up to a case and picking items that range from shrimp, scallops, filet, ribeye, crab legs, ribs, and all sorts of fresh veggies to go along. Once you pick what you want you let the chef know how you want the items prepared.

What I love about this set up is that the food is so fresh and the quality is one of the best I have found in the Milwaukee area. Plus you can sample a little of everything! Some diners are intimidated by the no menu as you are ordering blind as far as price, but the price comes out to be very similar to a fine steak and seafood place anywhere else. The quality far out weighs the other places so spending a tad more is competely worth it!

Our last time there the owner came out and talked to us about the history of the place among other thjngs. Everyone is always very friendly.

Definitely give this place a try at least once and I can bet the majority of you will go back again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2015

Had dinner here during off season. Dinner was excellent. Knew going in it was a bar with upscale food. Interesting concept. Would be fun to eat there again with other baseball fans before or after a game. Definitely would not have chosen by driving by so go in and give it a chance.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 11, 2015

you can have almost anything you are hungry for with great people serving you

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 20, 2014

Food was delicious. Don't miss the sirloin steak or carmelized brussel sprouts. Team service from Jamie and Paige was attentive, friendly and helpful!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 3, 2014

A friend recommended we try 4th Base for great food. Website said blue collar fine dining and they meant it. Picked out what we wanted to eat (no menu) and they made a feast! Crab stuffed shrimp wrapped in bacon, excellent filet, salad, veggies, bread, they had it all. Service was amazing - met the owner, the cook, the bartender, and the server was a great guy who really took care of us. He even recommended a place to go after for a drink. Definitely headed back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.