Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About 3rd Cousin

Chef/Owner Greg Lutes has created a stylish, elevated neighborhood gathering spot serving up California Cuisine that is ingredient and seasonaly focused. Relaxed and polished the service is warm welcoming. Beverage program has new and old world gems that pair well with Lutes' cuisine.
We reserve a good portion of the restaurant for walk-in parties. We also have a small bar serving beer and wine.

919 Cortland Ave
San Francisco, CA 94110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday- Saturday- 5:30-10pm

Cross Street:
Gates

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 814-3709

Website:
http://3rdcousinsf.com/

Catering:
Private in home dinners.

Public Transit:
#24
#65

Executive Chef:
Greg Lutes

Private Party Facilities:
Hold your company dinner or private event at 3rd Cousin!
From 10-40 guests we can customize your event just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lutes: (888) 982-0150

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners
Guest Chefs

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

3rd Cousin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Cozy (15)
Romantic (15)
Tasting Menu (15)
Local Ingredients (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Authentic (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Organic (4)
Casual (3)
Fun (3)
Seasonal (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tapas (3)
Good for Groups (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Vegan (1)
Business Meals (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

It was our first time at 3rd Cousin and took a chance for a special occasion. It was a great experience. The waitress was totally into the food's construction and what the chef was going for with the dish. It was a wonderful experience for our out of town family. Look forward to going back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Food is exceptional. Service was compromised with not enough staff that evening, but otherwise excellent. Portions are not large, so you are unlikely to overeat which is unfortunate because of the exceptional cuisine but good for your weight, cholesterol, etc. You can always order more since the prices are great value.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This is a favorite of ours. It is consistently delicious. Everything is cooked just right so you taste every morsel. We like to order several small plates because everything is good, each with it's own burst of flavor. Staff is always warm and engaging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food for an early Mother's Day dinner! Great selection of smaller and larger dishes. Very hearty comfort food type stuff with a touch of fancy. Wines a little pricey but the reds we had by the glass were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Really good food, albeit quite small and expensive, but worth it. Some waitresses weren't as cordial as expected so the service was good, not great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Overall rude service, mediocre food, and an extremely disappointing meal. They don't have Diet Coke or iced tea - ok, maybe that's not too weird not to have these things (though I think it is) but the waitress acted extremely rude and snobby without offering any alternative. she forgot to bring bread after we asked for it. Then she forgot the knife. After that she cleared wine glasses that still had wine in them and when the bottle wasn't even empty yet!

But worst of all was the end of the meal. We had a reservation at 7:45, seated at 7:50, bill came at 8:55, paid at 9:00, we were asked to leave at 9:05. I get you don't want people sitting around, but come on we weren't even there for 90 minutes and you're asking us to leave? Really unprofessional but a somewhat unsurprising end to what turned out to be a very disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 3, 2017

After reading several reviews about the food being overly salted, I asked that our food to be lightly salted. We ordered the hamachi, uni cream brulee, lobster ramen and the parpadelle. They were all delicious. Our server tend to us well but it would be better if she'd service with a smile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

the food was amazing! love the ambiance - the services was fabulous too! also, the owner/head chef came out and thanked us for coming! he was very friendly and fun to talk to!

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Organic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Took my wife here for her birthday. They had brought a birthday card to the table. The meal was excellent and service fantastic. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Eating out in SF is expensive these days, and you're always looking for places with the wow factor. There are many restaurants that make me go "meh" at the end of the meal, but 3rd cousin is happily in the other side of the spectrum. There was a wow at the end of every dish they served. Flavor, presentation and service were impeccable. Although it's on the pricier side, I would come back in a heartbeat. We ordered the burrata (unique and delicious pairing of burrata that I've had), pork belly and scallop (succulent and flavorful), uni creme brulee (very popular dish - good but probably my least favorite of the night), pappardelle (great bite and texture of homemade pasta) and wagyu Bavette steak (just fantastically prepared meat with perfect side accompaniments), and lastly the banana pudding (couldn't get enough). The meal ended with two perfect complimentary salted chocolate ganache truffles. I'm always excited to find a restaurant in this city that feels worth the price charged. Do yourself a favor and try 3rd Cousin ASAP!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Was completely wow'ed by their tasting menu with wine pairing. Treated to so many courses of decadent and perfectly prepared food, with wine pairings that truly extended and enhanced the flavor party. Will definitely be back, this is one of the best restaurants in San Francisco right now, a true gem.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

First time at this restaurant. Excellent food in terms of quality and presentation. Pricing, considering this is in the Bernard Heights area, is on the high side. Haven't yet tried their tasting menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Intimate, rich, and special. The somewhat sleepy street of Cortland comes alive inside this hidden gem. Greg (the celebrity chef) and his two cooks work literally feet from your table. There's no assembly line. The kitchen is the dining room. The dining room is the kitchen. As small as the space is is as big as the flavors are. The select wines are bold to cut the richness of the dishes - they pair perfectly. It's a "top 10" restaurant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

A gem in Bernal! The entire menu is a must. Somewhat limited but very well selected wines. Friendly service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Just superb, wonderfully creative food. Every time. Highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent food with a wide variety of flavors. Great service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

I am 60 years old.
I have been a foodie in SF for 40 years.
Literally, this might have been the best meal I have EVER had.
Seriously exceptional food. The bread..ridiculously good.
the pasta exceptional.
the salad exceptional.
Wow….
Your number one fan.
Page

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Outstanding dinner with friends. Would recommend this venue to any and all. Service and menu among he best in SF.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Really nice meal with a friendly and helpful staff. It's not exactly "late night" dining, but it is open later than many of the area restaurants, which was very helpful! Nice addition to the community, and I will certainly be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Had the tasting menu which was excellent. I also note they have added acoustic baffles to the ceiling which is a good thing. My first few visits last year were quite loud. The baffling has made a big difference. Also bought in one of our own bottles of wine, for a $25 corkage, which I appreciate.

I think Greg is a talented chef and deserves support for what he is trying to do all the way down at the end of Cortland Street. The tasting menu certainly showcases his talent.

I took one star off for value, since I still remember his $70 tasting menu next door at Kinfolk which really was outstanding value. At the current $89, I'm not sure you will find a better quality/value proposition in the city but that's clearly not within everyone's reach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Both a couple brand new to the city and a seasoned couple had an amazing dinner, tried 7 items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I am a new fan of 3rd Cousin. Discovered them for Thanksgiving and vowed to return soon. Finally got myself back there over the weekend. My food was delicious. An imaginative menu with excellent preparation. Look forward to my next time.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food, service and ambiance. The name Am says it all. They make you feel like family. Great addition to Bernal Heights.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This place was amazing! I would go back in a heartbeat. My only complaint was that I couldn't eat most of the menu because it was very cheese heavy and I'm allergic. For a menu that notes gluten free choices I'm surprised at how difficult it was to find options without dairy. I still had a fantastic meal and can't wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Greg has done it again. From the Groveland Hotel to 3rd Cousin! Absolutely wonderful menu choices, great atmosphere... and every dish was perfect! And Greg actually likes his customers, chatting with them and greeting them. Great food, great chef/owner, great dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious food and amazing service! Would definitely go for the uni crème brûlé if you're a first timer! Great for any occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Casual, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Three course meal for Valentine's day with my girlfriend. Very nice setting, food was pretty good, and the service was also pretty good, until they left us sitting there for about 45 minutes waiting for dessert. Honest mistake. I would still recommend it for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Came here for anniversary. Cute shops in the neighborhood to kill time before the meal.
We considered the tasting menu but decided to go with a la carte because there were lots of tasty sounding options already.
Uni crab creme brûlée was the right amount of decadence to kick off the meal.
Scallop & pork belly: Good
Duck confit Bucatini: it was ok, the least memorable of the dishes.
Quail with foie gras sausage: tasty! But foie gras sausage wasn't quite what I imagined. Not as smooth, more like a minced meat texture.
Banana bread pudding: Rich but fortunately a reasonably sized portion
Apple cake with candies ginger: really liked this! Ginger gave just the right amount of heat & kick which balanced out the sweetness of the cake and coolness of the ice cream nicely.

Service was good despite a little bill hiccup at the end.

Cute place, not very large. Intimate setting makes it a good date spot or just grabbing bite with friends

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Went with a group of 6 so got to try most of the menu. Food was just ok; the full pasta portions are pretty small. The uni was really good though. Service was slow. We often had to wave someone down to order drinks. Wouldn't make a special trip back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Delicious. Creative. Exceptionally friendly staff. Great vegetarian options. I plan to come again :)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Always great. Food is always fabulous. Table too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 18, 2017

My friend and I stopped in for a pre-birthday celebration. The chef and staff were attentive and provided us with a series of creative bites. Every mouthful was delicious, and was paired so well w/ the interesting selection of wine. We laughed, we talked, we had such a fun time in a quaint and sweet spot. 3rd Cousin perfectly complements Bernal. We so enjoyed our meal. Was just a fantastic time all around.

Tags: Organic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Just incredible. The tasting menu is an amazing value, the wines are solid, and the food extraordinary. Everything is so savory , thoughtful and well balanced. Our favorite discovery in the bay area last year. Greg cooks up some of the best dishes around town and while I enjoy that it's never too difficult to score a reservation, I also want them to thrive as I want to keep returning for a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food is fantastic, super creative menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Extremely disappointing meal on a Wednesday evening. Every single dish was off. The pork chop was rubbery and dry; the short rib was over cooked and dry; the creme brulee tasted like it had been sitting out for hours; the ramen noodles were overcooked; the hamachi was poorly butchered; the burrata was over-spiced and seasoned; every single dish was over salted. On top of all this, the bill was nearly $300 for 3 people including just one (of the least expensive) bottles of wine. After we received our final dishes, the chef went outside and remained there lounging for the next 40 minutes or so--not a good sign of a well-run or highly functioning kitchen. I hope this place fixes up its act and tries a little harder. If not, let something more high quality open in its place. Outrageously poor value with over-ambitious and poorly executed food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 12, 2017

What a hidden gem!!! The service was excellent and everyone was so friendly. The food was absolutely on par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Found this restaurant through Open Table. What a find. We will return in a heartbeat. Young, vital crowd. Food delicious. Staff, the best. Wonderful value.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Fun, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Bummer bummer bummer. We had been eager to try this new neighborhood spot and were sorely disappointed. We went for New Year's Eve and they did not have their game on at all. The service was ... peculiar. The food was very good, but nothing but the pasta stood out as exceptional. This was a four course prix fix menu and they brought out my first two courses at the same time thinking one was for me and one for my husband. So I waited (at least 5 mins) for them to bring out his TWO courses at the same time (which just made us feel rushed and like it was not a special occasion) before I started eating which didn't matter with a Hamachi dish but then my scallop was cold (and kind of gross). Then came course three. I had lobster. As if the portions on the first two portions weren't laughable enough, I got about a 2 1/2 inch of lobster tail and one piece of claw meat. Really? Dessert was fine, again nothing special. We knew how much the bill was going to be as it was price fixed (total splurge at $400) and the bill only listed what appeared to be only our wine, no food charged. We said something and the waitress thanked us for our honesty, but that was it. You'd think with the mistakes that were made with our meal and the fact that we called out a $250+ shortage on the bill, they might have made some kind of nice gesture. I had heard from a neighbor that other holiday dinners came with an amuse bouche, but not this night. Anyway, wah wah waaaahhhh... Simply not worth it at all. Sorry....maybe they aren't like this on a regular night but we won't be finding out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great dining experience. Food overall was good in quality with the exception of the pork which was fantastic. Perfectly cooked and tender.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Delicious food, slow but kind waitresses, noise level could be improved (esp. music volume) but overall wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.