Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi
  1. Distance: 0.24mi
  2. Distance: 0.42mi
  3. Distance: 0.66mi
  4. Distance: 0.73mi

About 3rd Cousin

Chef/Owner Greg Lutes has created a stylish, elevated neighborhood gathering spot serving up California Cuisine that is ingredient and seasonaly focused. Relaxed and polished the service is warm welcoming. Beverage program has new and old world gems that pair well with Lutes' cuisine.
We reserve a good portion of the restaurant for walk-in parties. We also have a small bar serving beer and wine.

919 Cortland Ave
San Francisco, CA 94110
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Contemporary French / American

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Saturday- 5:30-10pm
Sunday 5:30-9pm

Cross Street:
Gates

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(415) 814-3709

Website:
http://3rdcousinsf.com/

Catering:
Private in home dinners.

Public Transit:
#24
#65

Executive Chef:
Greg Lutes

Private Party Facilities:
Hold your company dinner or private event at 3rd Cousin!
From 10-40 guests we can customize your event just for you.

Private Party Contact:
Greg Lutes: (888) 982-0150

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Wine Dinners
Guest Chefs

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

3rd Cousin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Casual (6)
Cozy (5)
Healthy (5)
Seasonal (4)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
263 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Colleague and I in town for business, this was a good respite from our week. Went here based on the reviews. Nice spot. The flavor combinations are intriguing. We got the octopus, scallop and pork belly and we both got the duck entree. Beautiful meal and priced well. Can't comment on the wine selection, we stuck with beer. I would go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2017

3rd Cousin was simply amazing. The ambience is great as you walk in. They took the time to outfit the place acoustically by installing noise buffers. Food was wonderful and everything tasted great, service was polite yet not overbearing.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2017

we had a lovely meal and there was a nice card from wait/kitchen staff for our anniversary, which was a very nice touch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 30, 2017

I really wanted to hit this spot up and I wanted to like it, but honestly was left feeling pretty "meh". We had the Uni & Crème Brûlée, Pappardelle, and Maine Lobster & Crab Ramen. And for desert shared a White Chocolate Banana Bread Pudding. It was all sub-par at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We have been going to 3rd Cousin for about a year now, perhaps 7 times and each meal and experience has been outstanding.
The chef and owner Greg puts his heart and soul into the food selection and preparation.
The service is stealth and the staff is knowledgeable about the food and wine.
Trust the tasting menu and wine pairings for a great dining experience that magically arrives at your table .

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2017

We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary at 3rd Cousin. It was our 1st time, even though we live a block away! It was fantastic. The food was delicious, the service was wonderful and a lovely ambiance. We'll be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Food was lovely! Staff were very welcoming! Chef Greg came to greet all the diners and it was very nice talking to him! Highly recommend the uni creme brulee! It was fantastic! And the foie gras french toast was so delicous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Super impressed with the food and staff. We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Delicious meal with fresh ingredients. Had the hamachi, avocado salad, fried green beans and halibut. Wasn't heavy but very filling. Ended with the chocolate molten cake and banana bread pudding which were amazing!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Nice evening catching up with good friends. Attentive service, calm ambiance, and friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Great food, innovative preparations, lovely service and good ambiance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very disappointing. Pricey 'creative' cuisine that completely misses the mark... Expected better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Just discovered this place in our neighborhood and been there twice in two weeks. Uni brulee is favorite. Crispy green beans. Pasta with mushrooms be sure to get with pancetta. Staff very nice. Only suggestion is to slow down the delivery of courses at small table.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 30, 2017

I recommend sharing plates - the portions are good for sharing. The food was yummy, the service was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2017

My in-laws took us there to celebrate my husband and my birthday. All of us had their tasting menu except my 6 yr old son. Everything was amazing and we had a great time. Thank you to the chefs and our waiter.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Our reservation was for 8:15 and we arrived early. They had no seating available yet, which is expected. However they also have no waiting area and each staff member would tell us to go somewhere else. It felt really off-putting, like we were such a nuisance. First they told us we could go to the bar and sit. I had my elderly parents with me and In Particular my mother needed to sit. So she did, at the bar. But then after we ordered drinks, someone came in off the street and wanted to sit so they came and told us we had to leave the bar. There is not enough space by the door for 4 people and nowhere to sit. What they should do is if they offer the bar area to waiting guests, especially if those guests were by this time waiting past their reservation time due to the group eating before them, and if someone comes without a reservation they can tell them the estimated time for the guests to get their proper seats. At the point the couple came to kick us out of the bar, we were 5 mins past our reservation time and had another 10 or so minutes to go. I'm sure the couple without the reservation would've waited that long for a table. Either this or don't tell your patrons to go sit at the bar, which isn't really a bar!

The food was fun and very good. This made up for all the dancing around before being seated.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The atmosphere and service was wonderful but the food was unfortunately disappointing. I expected so much more with the execution of food. The soup was lukewarm in one bite and then hot in another. Lacked attention to detail in most of the dishes we ordered. Halibut entree was dry, one note and overall lackluster. I wanted this place to be so much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Really nice food and a good menu. I do think the food is overpriced though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Third time to Third Cousin and my first impression remains as accurate as ever: this place is great! The tasting menu included uni, pasta, pork belly, scallop, and duck (and we included the extra fois gras which was well worth it!). Everything done to perfection with creative and balanced taste profiles. Just all around yum.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food! Will come again. Ramen and Uni creme brulee were excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We on time for our reservation for 2 and waited several minutes to be acknowledged by the hostess who informed us unapologetically that our table wouldn't be ready for 15 or 20 minutes then walked away. About 15 minutes later I managed to flag her down through the curtain to inquire about the status of our table and was told that the party ahead of us was paying the check currently.

-- cut to --

Almost 40 minutes after our reservation time—and still with no acknowledgement that this delay was considered irregular in any way—our first interaction with our server consisted of her introducing herself to us, going over the specials and walking away without taking a drink order.

The experience did improve somewhat from there out, but fell far short of redeeming itself. Will not be returning, would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was excellent with very service friendly staff. Quite a find in Bernal Heights.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We had a fantastic time! Everything was delicious. I can't remember the last meal we had that was so consistently good. Loved the ambiance as well. A real find...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our experience was and has always been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great find in Bernal. Loved the food, atmosphere and service. The server recommended starters (green beans, uni and hamachi), which we devoured. Entrees are on the smaller side, but tasty and sufficient for a lighter meal. Enjoyed exploring the wine list and the server had good recommendations with our dishes.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

One of the best restaurants I've eaten at in a long time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Sophisticated spot. Excellent service - attentive but not overbearing. Leisurely dinner - no rush. Corn fritters amazing. Large portions. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Outstanding food and service! Love the Foie gras, Uni, and pastas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Arrived 15min early for 8:45 rez. Sat around 9:20.

Food arrived quickly.

Server seemed overwhelmed.

Food was great, very small portions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 28, 2017

Food was amazing and so was the service. In my personal top 10 list now and would recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This was our second time, and the food and experience were just as special as the first. The owner introduced himself and chatted with us, which added to the enjoyable evening. We'll definitely be repeat guests!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This restaurant seems to be a neighborhood spot that is trying to expand to the next level. They have a really good marketing campaign, complete with exquisite photos of some of their signature dishes. However, aside from one or two of their signature dishes, the rest of the menu has not kept up with the marketing. We tried about 10 or so dishes. Most of the dishes sounded great in theory, but fell a bit flat in the execution. Flavors didn't stand out from each other across the dish and they felt like a uniform mass of mildly flavorful stuff. They also tended to spike the flavors by overusing salt. The wagyu beef was overcooked (nearly well done).

The service was great, informed and helpful. The suggested wines were also spot on.

But, overall, they will need to focus more on the actual food in order to catch up to their marketing and their service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A bit pricy for the menu , decor and atmosphere of Cortland. However, I enjoyed the dinner and dessert.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

We had wonderful food in 3rd Cousin and it was a quiet evening in the restaurant that I liked. I had an Open Table voucher that I was given as a gift and the staff made it very easy to use this and went out of their way to see that it was accepted. Our waiter answered our questions on the food and was very nice to speak with. The menu was wonderful, our dishes had lovely ingredients and were beautifully presented. Overall it was a very enjoyable experience to dine at 3rd Cousin in Bernal Heights - away from the crowds in more touristy parts of San Francisco.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Absolutely fantastic from the amazing food to the perfect service and personal attention of Chef Greg. Perfect for foodies and as the menu changes frequently worth getting to at least a couple of times a month! Outstanding menu with creative and fresh takes on everything. Chef Greg is still rocking it!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We had a wonderful experience dining here for our Anniversary. The staff was so generous and celebratory since it was a special occasion. We loved the many small plates we had, cleaned our plates and enjoyed the sweet, salty and herb combinations chosen as a part of each dish. The chef does very complex combinations with his food. Our mains were cooked beautifully. Loved both desserts. Terrific server, somalier trained, and in the past we've done the wine and food pairing, which we really enjoyed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2017

It was our second time there and it was just as good the second time. The food is creative and delicious, service attentive and ambiance cozy.

Great for a nice evening out. I would be happy to go back and heartily recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

From the moment the Hostess greeted us at the door with a warm smile and a sincere welcome we were off to a fantastic evening. The service was outstanding, the waiter was polite, professional, knowledgeable and efficient. The wine was great, the appetizers, were unique and tasty. Our main entrees were done to perfection, seasoned just right and served warm and delicious. Our desserts: lemon pot de creme, and the bread pudding made us swoon in culinary delight. Every member of the staff was professional and kind.
I highly recommend 3rdCousin!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Romantic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I wish I could give Chef Greg 10 stars! Everything was phenomenal...the menu, the execution, the ambiance, the quality, creativity. Great little gem with fine Californian cuisine prepared to perfection with passion.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Organic, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.