Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About 21 Club

Attentive service, fine American cuisine, a Grand Award-winning wine list and unique, historical surroundings set ‘21’ apart. Once a glamorous speakeasy, today '21' is one of the most celebrated restaurants in New York City. In addition to our two restaurants, the Bar Room and 'Upstairs', this four-story townhouse features ten private party rooms ideal for celebrations, meetings and banquets, including the legendary Prohibition-era Wine Cellar.

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen.

NOTE: Kindly note that our prix fixe menus are not available November 30th - December 31st.

21 West 52nd Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12:00-2:30pm Monday-Friday

Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Monday-Friday, 5:30pm-11:00pm Saturday

Upstairs at '21': Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Friday and Saturday

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen.

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 582-7200

Website:
http://www.21club.com/

Catering:
'21' offers 10 beautifully appointed private event rooms, including the legendary Prohibition-era wine cellar, ideal for family celebrations and corporate events. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy the Grand Award-winning wine list, splendid American cuisine, and unsurpassed service. In-house professional planning services ensure every detail of your event.

Parking Details:
Self-Park Garage next door (31 W. 52nd St.) Reduced parking available through www.21club.com

Public Transit:
1/9 to 50th Street/Broadway
E/V to 53rd Street/Fifth Avenue
B/D/R to Rockefeller Center

Executive Chef:
Sylvain Delpique

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in midtown, '21' offers 10 private rooms in an elegant townhouse setting. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy our Grand Award-winning wine list, superb American cuisine, and discreetly attentive service.

21 Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (83)
Historic (79)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
See All
Business Meals (56)
Good for a Date (55)
Notable Wine List (52)
Pre/post Theatre (50)
People Watching (43)
Authentic (43)
Romantic (42)
Good for Birthdays (41)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Cozy (33)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Vibrant Bar Scene (29)
Great for Lunch (26)
Fun (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Good for Groups (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Private Room (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Tasting Menu (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Family Style (5)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great Beer (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fireplace (3)
Seasonal (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2967 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

'21' is all that you expect and more. Delicious food and impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

You can't come to NY without having either lunch or dinner here! A great adult special occasion or everyday restaurant if you always want to make yourself feel good! The staff is incredibly nice and very professional and make you feel at home. And no telling who you will see!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

What service! A group of friends attended the theater. We had after-the-theater reservations at "21". Due to "run-time" misinformation, we were VERY LATE arriving at the restaurant. We called and "21" held the table for us. We were literally the last party to leave the restaurant. THANK YOU, THANK YOU, "21"! HOW VERY ACCOMMODATING! A special note: the bartender has a very heavy hand! Highly recommend.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

My sister and I went after we saw a Broadway show. We really enjoyed the ambiance. Our drinks at the bar were amazing. We had a great time. The crab cake appetizer was one of the best things we had in NYC.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed the restaurant but we only glanced at the menu. The prices were within reason and expected. We asked the waiter for recommendation. Some how there was only one item on the menu not reasonably priced, Dover Sole. Way way over priced and not worth it at all.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I went on a quick trip to NYC. Going to 21 Club was the highlight. The bacon wrapped squab was incredible and my
husband enjoyed his filet. Then, for desserts I had the creme brûlée trio and he had the pineapple foster. Both were excellent. Flavio made my night, too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our favorite spot to dine in Manhattan!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful experience. From Service to friendliness to food.
The history of this place only adds to it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The food was amazing and the service was friendly, attentive and excellent. The wine was wonderful. The Monkfish was so good. The blueberry custard pie was amazing!!

Service was fast but not rushed at all and got us in and out in time for our theater time even though one of us didn't order off the prixe fixe menu. A lovely experience all around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Excellent, attentive service and extremely high quality dishes in an unmatched atmosphere makes this place truly one-of-a-kind. Chauncey and the wait staff knew what we needed before we ever did and Phil might be one of the best somms around. Will be back soon!

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Authentic, Business Meals, Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great and generous martinis and the old fashioned duck was okay but not special.

Tags: Historic, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 10, 2017

What a great NY restaurant! Everyone makes you feel so welcome. Chauncey our waiter couldn't have been nicer or more efficient. The food was GREAT! Great pre-fixe menu and value. Thanks to them all for such a great time.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Loved everything about this restaurant!

Tags: Historic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Business lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Love this spot. Have been many times. Menu always great and service is super. Good size portions. Dress code applies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Bar service prior to dinner really nice. As usual, food outstanding. Had lamb which was cooked just the way I like it. Love the ambiance. Staff very accommodating both at bar and restaurant.

Definitely enjoying having dinner there.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Classic bar room makes this a must-see for people who love old New York.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Place is great but food too salty and over cooked. But great ambiance. Stick to basic food and might be ok

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Celebrating my 71st with my wife quietly at 21 was a perfect choice. It is easy to fall in love with an old school restaurant that does everything right. Commencing with perfect martinis and followed by the best steak tartare in New York ... This is a very special place and one that keeps its standards high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 1, 2017

The welcome at this most traditional of old NY haunts is special.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Gave a low rating for service because I was astonished by the rudeness of the maitre d'
When I arrived and walked up to the podium to check in, he was very busily dealing with his paperwork and didn't acknowledge me at all, didn't even look up- perhaps a "good evening, I'll be with you in just a minute" would have been nice. Nothing, zilch--I was completely invisible to him. I stood there for about 2 or 3 minutes. Not what I would expect at an expensive, let alone inexpensive, restaurant. The rest of the staff was very nice, but the extraordinary arrogance and rudeness of the first staff person I came in contact with really soured me on the rest of the evening. Truly appalling.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Celebrated my husband and son's birthdays. It is a wonderful spot for a special occasion and one of our favorite restaurants in New York. The food is always delicious. What sets this restaurant apart is the staff! You can not ask for a more attentive, courteous and professional staff! They make you feel special - they are the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 28, 2017

A historic restaurant, still an excellent place with delicious menu. Service at its best!!!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 27, 2017

We had a gift certificate without an expiration date and it couldn't be honored. I was asked to call the accounting office. I think the staff should have called the accounting office. I left with a "to do" and I didn't think that was right. Otherwise it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Very rude reception area staff

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Classic and eternal. Never fails to please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Two best things about this place - the food and drink and the staff!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

VERY expensive historic place. That's where the positive comments end. The food and service were lousy. Totally not worth it. I won't be back!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Overpriced and not that great. Service was good but the portions were small and the prices were very big!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Chauncey is excellent! Ask for him, he is superb

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

one of the true classics! best spot for a power lunch!

Tags: Historic, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great Experience. At times the service was a little too intense...wine glasses cleared away numerous times because wine was not topped up frequently. Overall a lovely restaurant.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Vine was served after appetizer.
Sоupe was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent experience. Very knowledgeable sommelier

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We had an amazing time. Loved it . It lived up to its history and reputation. Drink menu is different and so worth the trip. Thank you for a great start to a great evening

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Wonderful classic standby for a perfect business dinner or special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Consider this scene to be every dinner scene in the most Iconic movies staged in NYC.
Absolutely a unique experience, for those wishing to taste a little of the historic NYC.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was fantastic but general ambience was too stuffy. Four of us attended for a meal after marrying at City Hall yet there was not one congratulation to be heard! If you are after fantastic food but in a stuffy unwelcoming environment then this is the place to go.

Do not however attend here if you are looking for a fun energy filled environment as despite the toys and souvenirs hanging from the ceiling there is nothing fun about the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 10, 2017

We always book the 21 club on our visit to NY. The food is expensive but fabulous and worth every penny. The staff are wonderful,delightful, friendly , and they make you feel welcome .
There's so much history at the 21 club and I love bringing my daughters to experience it. 10/10

Tags: Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Family Style, Historic, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Quintessential New York dinning! Great upscale comfort food in an eclectic atmosphere with great service. A must-see NYC landmark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.