About 21 Club

21 West 52nd Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Attentive service, fine American cuisine, a Grand Award-winning wine list and unique, historical surroundings set ‘21’ apart. Once a glamorous speakeasy, today '21' is one of the most celebrated restaurants in New York City. In addition to our two restaurants, the Bar Room and 'Upstairs', this four-story townhouse features ten private party rooms ideal for celebrations, meetings and banquets, including the legendary Prohibition-era Wine Cellar.

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen.

NOTE: Kindly note that our prix fixe menus are not available November 30th - December 31st.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12:00-2:30pm Monday-Friday

Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Monday-Friday, 5:30pm-11:00pm Saturday

Upstairs at '21': Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Friday and Saturday

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 582-7200

Website:
http://www.21club.com/

Catering:
'21' offers 10 beautifully appointed private event rooms, including the legendary Prohibition-era wine cellar, ideal for family celebrations and corporate events. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy the Grand Award-winning wine list, splendid American cuisine, and unsurpassed service. In-house professional planning services ensure every detail of your event.

Parking Details:
Self-Park Garage next door (31 W. 52nd St.) Reduced parking available through www.21club.com

Public Transit:
1/9 to 50th Street/Broadway
E/V to 53rd Street/Fifth Avenue
B/D/R to Rockefeller Center

Executive Chef:
Sylvain Delpique

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 9:30PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Sat 7:30PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in midtown, '21' offers 10 private rooms in an elegant townhouse setting. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy our Grand Award-winning wine list, superb American cuisine, and discreetly attentive service.

21 Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (111)
Historic (89)
Pre/post Theatre (73)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (64)
Good for a Date (64)
Business Meals (62)
People Watching (58)
Notable Wine List (52)
Good for Birthdays (49)
Romantic (46)
Cozy (43)
Authentic (41)
Fun (40)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Great for Lunch (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Bar Seating (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Happy Hour (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Comfort Food (14)
Fireplace (13)
Private Room (13)
Worth the Drive (9)
Seasonal (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Casual (8)
Family Style (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Scenic View (3)
Healthy (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (2)
Organic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2891 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined a day ago

The recommend oysters or escargots for an appetizer and the rack of lamb for the main entree.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

From accommodation to quality of food just excellent

We will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a wonderful time and a once in a lifetime experience. It is a little out of our price range but we knew that. What a great history and we felt very fortunate to be there.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Food and the worst service ever. Unfriendly and downright rude. Eat there if you don't mind being treated badly. Not worth an almost $500 dinner bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was lackluster and we were rushed. Rice pudding like gruel. Glad we did the e course pretheatre deal. Cant imagine paying the menu prices for the poor wusliry. Service was good. Decor interesting. Go for a drink in the place to be seen. Skip the meal.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

From the moment we walked in the front door of 21, we felt very welcomed. Since we were a bit on the early side for our reservation, we started at the bar and had excellent cocktails. If we didn't have tickets to the theater, we might have stayed for a second, they were that good. Dinner was excellent and the service was outstanding. Although we are by no means regulars at 21 Club, we were treated as if we were. The filet mignon and rib eye steak, our two entrees, were cooked perfectly and delicious. 21 Club has become our go-to restaurant when we are in the City and it never seems to disappoint. If you are driving in to the City, the deal with parking at the adjacent lot is hard to beat. We cannot wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Waiter was outstanding. My wife loved the chicken paiyard. My burger was disappointing. Needed a knife to get through it. I am sure we'll be back though.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 14, 2017

DELICIOUS! I'm still thinking about all of the flavors. Went with vegetarian friend and they were very accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

This historic spot is in no way pretentious. Although it is formal (jacket and tie required) and pricey, it is far more casual and friendly compared to comparable fine dining. It rings all the bells for a "big night out" with a varied menu, epic wine list and a super-professional, happy waitstaff. I had the steak this time, and wonder why I waited! Birthday, anniversary or an expense account--go!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Greatest dining experience we have ever had...and while I am not a 1%'er, I have been to a few memorable places in my life. The staff and service, the food, the history, the ambience....The"21" is a tough act to follow. We were blessed. Thank you.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 11, 2017

'21' is always top-performing. The food is delicious and the service is unmatched. The wonderful history is there. The new cuisine options are interesting and a balance for the great tradition of '21'. My favorite is the salmon and the vegetables are always perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always awesome and they really make long term patrons feel at home

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Authentic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 10, 2017

I was in NYC to see Hamilton with my daughter so I thought we would have a pre theater dinner at the famed 21 Club. The waiter suggested one of the "21 Classics". We chose the Chicken Hash. When it arrived, the food was luck warm. We sent it back. It came back warmer but was really awful. I have had better frozen foods. I strongly suspect this dish had been prepared earlier for reheating. I sent the chicken back and had the branzini. Unfortunately, this was dry and flavorless. This was one of the worse meals I have ever had. This restaurant would not survive in my home town. I have really had better food at Chili's. TALK ABOUT OVER RATED!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 10, 2017

After all these years this is still one of the quintessential New York experiences. Killer food and perfect service. It is still 21

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We've been coming here since the early -eighties. Never been the slightest bit disappointed. Love the Bar Room.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Historic, Hot Spot, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Fun, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Service was great...it was everything I had hoped it would be!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

the best of restaurant week menus. food and service are impeccable as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

My girlfriend and I went here our six month anniversary. While it was a nice meal, there were a handful of things that are fine dining "givens" that the 21 Club did not deliver on (hence my low Value rating) which I'll be emailing the management about. Overall, we thought the restaurant fell short of it's iconic standard.

Tags: Historic, Hot Spot, Authentic, People Watching, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

From the reservations dept to the Impecable service and outstanding food Will gladly return

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Went for our per-valentine's Day dinner and to try the restaurant week menu. Lovely bar with great history and great decor. Food was delicious (especially the lamb) and the service was excellent. I would definitely go again and recommend this place to others.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Appreciate a place that still requires a dress code. Food was fantastic as was the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Our bartender and server Paul were outstanding. The burger is amazing and the lamb was delicious. Highly recommend and we'll definitely make this a regular spot for future dinners

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The Braised Lentils w/poached egg was outstanding. The Lamb Osso-Buco w/Polenta also great. Very nice Martini, great bread{ though I did not like the herb butter} and very nice service. A fun room, full of stuff to look at. Portions very good for the restaurant week lunch.

Tags: Historic, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was excellent, but service was lacking and much too fast. The moment our plate was picked up, the next course arrived, completing lunch within half an hour. We were seated about 1:45pm and restaurant was emptying out. The waiter never came to check on us and did not refill coffee without us asking. Water glasses were continually refilled.

The check was placed on the table while we were still eating dessert. When I commented on speed and lack of service, I was coldly told it was because of Restaurant Week.

Luckily, we did enjoy the food and we were able to sit around longer than the lunch lasted.

I've been to many restaurants during RW and always received excellent service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Food was excellent. The dining room can be loud and sitting at the tables along the wall can be a bit cramped.

The Shellfish tower is grand, but isn't worth $125 - you get a ton of clams, a good amount of shrimp and oysters; One king crab leg and one lobster tail.

Dealing with the Sommelier was a pain. Constant intimidation and attempts to up-sell. I ordered a bottle of wine, he suddenly felt it wasn't suitable and asked me for my wine budget in front of my friends (tacky). I figured I'd see where this went and gave him an amount, he immediately suggested a bottle that was $50 higher than my "budget." I ended up going with my original selection. Don't let them intimidate you into spending more money. make you selection and stand by it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Went for restaurant week, the food was decent but not stellar. The service was fantastic & the atmosphere was fun.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Great food, exceptional service and classic New York institution - what more could you ask for?

Tags: Authentic, Historic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My wife and I went for Restaurant Week and were expecting a great experience based on the history and reputation of 21 Club. Sadly, we were disappointed in a big way from a service point of view.

First, let me state that the food, cocktails and wine were first rate. The service, however, was another matter. My wife arrived 15 minutes or so before me and went to the bar for a cocktail. She told me that she was ignored by the bartenders and then treated rudely after she got their attention. That was not my experience so this sounds to me like a male chauvanism scenario. That is completely unacceptable for any restaurant, let alone a very high-end place with a long history.

After we were seated for dinner, we were given menus, but had to ask for the wine list. We ordered a bottle of wine and then waited what seemed like a very long time before it arrived at the table. Subsequently, we had to wait an inordinately long time for the extremely busy Somm to refill our glasses - every time. We could not understand why the server could not refill our glasses - very strange.

Unfortunately, we were so unhappy with the service, especially my wife, we will not be returning.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 7, 2017

My girlfriend and I visited for our anniversary and we loved our experience here. Robert was great to us and helped us with our selections when asked. Valter was very attentive and made sure our drinks were constantly refreshed. Because of our anniversary I had requested that they do something special and on this they came through successfully. There are some other items we want to try on the menu and we are already planning our next visit.

The prices may be a little on the higher end, but with the ambiance and the service we felt like they were warranted.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Was visiting a friend in NYC. I've been wanting to go. It was everything I imagined. A wonderful night in every way. Can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

My meal was outstanding; everything was cooked perfectly! Service was also excellent. It is the best place for any occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Dining for lunch at 21 club was an amazing experience. Went during restaurant week but went al a carte, server and management took great care of us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Went for restaurant week lunch. The place is very fancy and requires a jacket (no jeans) to enter the dining room.

The service was excellent (we had Nick as our waiter) and the food was fantastic. I was surprised by how large the portion size was, especially because we were doing the price fix lunch menu.

Would definitely recommend for any fancy occasion. Not a first date kind of place.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Restaurant Week at the 21 Club was a wonderful experience, The menu, the food and wine were fabulous.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

WE chose 21 Club because it was a Restaurant Week offering for a very New York experience. We were treated as if we were 'regulars' and the menu was creative and delicious. A very fine afternoon treat.

Tags: Fun, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Service was perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Late dinner. Very good food and great wine.

Was a bit expensive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The past glory of this restaurant has long since faded. The person who seated us near the bar to wait for our table forgot about us. Another person asked me to remove my hat long before it was necessary. The table was cramped, the room crowded and astonishingly gauche. The menu was dull and uninteresting however what we did order was sumptuous. I had to battle my way to the restroom and essentially could not avoid a dodge and parry session with no fewer than three servers. Will not be seeing a repeat.

Tags: Private Room, People Watching, Historic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The restaurant was 1/3 full

They gave us first a terrible table

We asked to move and was a much better table

We ordered our dinner and 5 minutes later atrtive our dinner????? Was it ready????? Looks like

It wasn't a fresh meal

What a desapontamento!!!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

A must do for special occasions in the city! The ambiance is stellar (toys and autographed memorabilia dangle from the walls of the old school bar room) and the service was warm and refined (even for those who aren't "regulars" at this New York institution). Moreover, our food was not fussy yet still creative and perfectly executed! On top of that, the pre-theater menu was only $50 a person for an unforgettable three course meal! This was the ideal restaurant for a pre-Broadway evening we won't soon forget!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The wife and I both had the steak, she had the filet and I had the Ribeye. It was a bit overcooked (we both asked for medium rare, it came out more on the medium side). You get that old school, speak easy atmosphere as all men have to wear a suit jacket. The cocktails were great, they packed their punch without being too overly alcoholic tasting. I would had liked if the service was a bit better. When we wanted someone's attention, they were a bit hard to flag down.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I would not recommend this place. They clearly get by on reputation alone. The hosts were rude and dismissive! They told us they were completed booked and waited till the exact moment of our reservation to seat us... Yet there were at least 5 empty tables just in the area we were seated. The food was nothing special and we left most of it on the plate. We had to wave someone down in fact just to get the menus. The most disappointing part had to be that it was such a let down....because my boyfriend was looking so forward to going there! I would recommend skipping this place to be honest! They were also supposed to get back to us about our disappointing experience...we are still waiting for that call!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Sergio did a great job. Very professional. Thank you!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Had lunch with two friends during NYC Winter Restaurant Week. Food was great value for $29.00 with good-sized portions and excellent service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It is everything that you have heard. Food was amazing, atmosphere wonderful. Would have been 5 starts overall except for a snarky waiter.

Totally unnecessary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

My brother and I try to meet up just to catch up, 21 Club has become our "go-to spot." We usually go for lunch during the summer, this was our first time for dinner. Conveniently located near his law firm, we never have to wait long to be seated. Sergio, the bartender, was warm, welcoming and attentive (he makes a great Cosmo too!). Teresa, the hostess, was very friendly and welcoming as well. Wictor, our waiter, was very timely, patient and friendly as well. My brother and I had a wonderful dining experience, can't wait for the next time. Thank you.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Great service!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We love 21 Club and my family has been going there for 50 years. My husband loved his meal but my 21 burger was dry and tasteless. The "21 sauce" tasted more like ketchup than what I remember as more of a worcestershire flavor in the past. Disappointing to say the least. We will go back but not order the famous "21 Burger" So sad another tradition lost

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Historic, Bar Seating, Great Beer, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The 21 Club is my go to restaurant. The food and service is always top notch. Just the history of this restaurant alone is a conversation piece. Each course was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.