Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.08mi
  3. Distance: 0.08mi
  4. Distance: 0.09mi

About 21 Club

Attentive service, fine American cuisine, a Grand Award-winning wine list and unique, historical surroundings set ‘21’ apart. Once a glamorous speakeasy, today '21' is one of the most celebrated restaurants in New York City. In addition to our two restaurants, the Bar Room and 'Upstairs', this four-story townhouse features ten private party rooms ideal for celebrations, meetings and banquets, including the legendary Prohibition-era Wine Cellar.

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen. Kindly note that shorts and flip-flops are not permitted.

NOTE: Kindly note that our prix fixe menus are not available November 13th - December 31st.

21 West 52nd Street
New York, NY 10019
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: 12:00-2:30pm Monday-Friday

Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Monday-Friday, 5:30pm-11:00pm Saturday

Upstairs at '21': Dinner: 5:30-10:00pm Friday and Saturday

DRESS CODE: No jeans or sneakers. Jackets are necessary for gentlemen. Kindly note that shorts and flip-flops are not permitted.

Cross Street:
Between 5th and 6th Avenues

Dress Code:
Jacket Required

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 582-7200

Website:
http://www.21club.com/

Catering:
'21' offers 10 beautifully appointed private event rooms, including the legendary Prohibition-era wine cellar, ideal for family celebrations and corporate events. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy the Grand Award-winning wine list, splendid American cuisine, and unsurpassed service. In-house professional planning services ensure every detail of your event.

Parking Details:
Self-Park Garage next door (31 W. 52nd St.) Reduced parking available through www.21club.com

Public Transit:
1/9 to 50th Street/Broadway
E/V to 53rd Street/Fifth Avenue
B/D/R to Rockefeller Center

Executive Chef:
Sylvain Delpique

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 8:00PM - 9:30PM

Fri 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:30PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Sat 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Private Dining

Conveniently located in midtown, '21' offers 10 private rooms in an elegant townhouse setting. Parties of 10 to 200 for lunch or dinner and up to 450 for a reception will enjoy our Grand Award-winning wine list, superb American cuisine, and discreetly attentive service.

21 Club Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Business Meals (46)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
People Watching (34)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Great for Lunch (30)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Romantic (28)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Fun (22)
Cozy (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Authentic (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (6)
Casual (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Seasonal (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
3105 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and pricey-- you get what you pay for!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

The ladies restroom was absolutely a disgrace. I was so shocked for such a historic restaurant.
May I suggest a restroom attendant!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic with still great food and old time ambiance. The 21 burger is the best burger in the world along with fries and special kepsuch. The atmosphere had not changed and I feel like I'm in old New York. The service is beyond fabulous.
Kathe abbott

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Atmosphere was perfect for conducting a business meeting. Plenty of room and the acoustics meant we could share a conversation without having to raise our voices. Great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

This was one of our worst dining experiences we have EVER had in NYC. The service was horrible! We never knew who our server was and finally some strange person came for our order. We asked him to please take our picture and he refused ! Could not believe this! Never, never will go back to this tourist spot. I will say when we finally got our food it was good.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Yorkshire)·Dined on September 8, 2017

we were in NYC for a couple of nights so baked a table well in advance,beautiful place and the food was gorgeous,it looked like it could be very stuffy service,but was far from it,it was very lively ,I would certainly visit again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

The historic significance of the speak easy scene drew us to the restaurant, the food, service and ambiance was amazing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

21 Cub never disappoints. Old school ambience and service, the food is impeccable...when you want to treat yourself come here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We just came from a Broadway Show, Hello Dolly, and I thought the evening could not get any better. Well I was wrong, The 21 Club just never disappoints. The food is amazing, the service its among the best in the city, and they clearly make the best Martini. My wife and I have been here before and we will keep coming back. It's just a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Average dinner, slightly unwarranted pretentious service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Perfect venue for a birthday lunch before seeing a bway show. Very kind people working there who bent over backwards to acknowledge my husbands birthday.

Thank you!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Fine service, a delicious meal and an excellent setting for a business lunch.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 28, 2017

Spectacular every time in every way. The hospitality of the entire team is second to none. Thank you.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

This experience was Worth every penny, the food and staff were amazing . Mixed drinks were perfect. Hamburger was fantastic, the rib eye was great and the soup of the day was the best soup I have ever eaten ( lentil with pancetta). The desert was great to. The pineapple/coconut with rum raisin ice cream is a real stand out dish. The wait staff was very attentive. I cannot say enough about this eatery!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 26, 2017

enjoyed the bar, dinner was good but not great. Had a nice bottle of Bordeaux!.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Fantastic!! From the moment you walk into the restaurant to the end of your meal, you know you are someplace special. As a child I always heard about the 21 Club and always wanted to try it. We were seeing a show in the area so I made the reservation - the food and staff at the 21 Club did not disappoint - it was worth the wait!! We ordered the price fixe dinner and the portions were large and very tasty!! The doorman, waiters and staff were all courteous and friendly!! The ceiling with all the memorabilia was an added plus!! Everyone in my party was pleased and eager to go back again!! We mentioned that we were seeing a show and our waiter made sure we were served and out the door in time to get to the show!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Excellent food and service.
Attentive and caring from doorman to waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Wonderful meal that lived up to the hype. The service couldn't have been better and the people couldn't have been nicer! Will be back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2017

21 is iconic, traditional New York elegance. Upscale dining, (dress code), classic cocktails , Sinatra playing softly in the bar lounge, amazing steak tartare, great menu, suited wait staff, world/class wine list. Worth the price!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Iconic loved it, I dined here 30 years ago. Was great than and was great now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Professional and attentive service with creative meal prep

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on August 18, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was impeccable. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to any one that asks! They had a great selection for restaurant week and the quality did not disappoint.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 16, 2017

I had wanted to dine here for years. Finally tried it this week and am so glad I did. Felt a bit formal when I entered, but I was pleasantly surprised at the friendliness of the wait staff. I loved the clubby atmosphere and the food varied from good to excellent. I thoroughly enjoyed my experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

An NYC classic, a must. We had the restaurant week menu, which was, in a word, weak. I had the iceberg wedge, which was fine. But the Icelandic cod was a lovely and tiny piece of cod served over mashed potatoes and brown gravy. Edible but sub-par. The truffled mac & cheese was fine. Dessert was also sub-par. The chocolate cake was dry and the strawberry tart was dull. I did have a spectacular 21 Club Manhattan. Servers are terrific. Go for the history and ambiance. I have to think their regular menu is better but I wouldn't go back to try. If you're going to do restaurant week, do it right. RW patrons should feel like second-class citizens.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The menu, unique. The server, attentive. We definitely enjoyed the experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We had a Restaurant Week dinner. The service was impeccable. The menu offered many choices. The food was tasty and the portions were not reduced in size for the Restaurant Week deal. Great place to learn the history of New York and "Who is Who".

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The place is romantic because of its history and it's fun because of the items hanging from the ceiling. Normally it's expensive but the Restaurant Week menu was excellent value. The service was very friendly as well as efficient.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I really enjoyed my experience at the 21 Club. The ambiance was outstanding. Very fascinating history of the building. The staff was exceptional. We were not there for pre-theater dining and they provided us with a relaxed meal. The collection of toys on the ceiling made it a very unique atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

This place is great!! The food was impeccable, we had he caviar to start and it was superb. I had the steak and my partner had the sole, both Dishes were perfect!

For dessert we had the strawberry cake although they said it was for two it was larger and we could'nt finish it but it was light and fluffy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was fantastic, the service was exceptional, the food was perfect, the wine list was imposing, but the lovely and knoladgeable sommelier madesign it easy. Was my first time cannot wait for the next time.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Bar Seating, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Excellent food. Fantastic service. Professional, friendly staff both in the lounge and dining room.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

What a wonderful and classic place! It still delivers after all these years!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Magical experience am watching written on the wind now to relive the glamour & romance

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Delicious food . Attentive staff that surprised us with anniversary desert. In a word: sublime.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was good, not gourmet. Very atmospheric and excellent service

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Always a delightful lunch with friends. Excellent food and outstanding service. Choose the bar room so you can gaze at the hanging donations of helmets, cars,etc.

Tags: People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Kept a guest of mine waiting as they mixed up my reservation with another. Made for a rather rushed and stressful start to lunch as my other guests had a curtain to catch. But, they were able to still speed up the service to accommodate the lateness in starting. Otherwise, a wonderful meal/service all around.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wanted to always try it ... a little too stuffy for me .. a one time thing for me ...great experience thou

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

The service and the food was amazing! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Great place to celebrate our daughter's birthday and moving away to college.
We all tried the Tasting menu and everyone enjoyed their choices and sampled each other's. My daughter did want a steak option, but will have next time. Desserts were all tasty, I had the chocolate cake which was too rich after the meal, but everyone gladly cleaned up the plate. Will be back again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.