Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

The ManshipThe Manship
(491)
$$$$
Mediterranean | Jackson, Jackson
Booked 19 times today
Char - JacksonChar - Jackson
(794)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Jackson, Jackson
Booked 12 times today
Parlor MarketParlor Market
(667)
$$$$
Southern | Jackson, Jackson
Booked 4 times today
Drago's Seafood - Hilton JacksonDrago's Seafood - Hilton Jackson
(3)
$$$$
Seafood | Jackson, Jackson
Booked 1 time today
Table 100Table 100
(730)
$$$$
American | Jackson, Jackson
Booked 8 times today
Seafood R'evolutionSeafood R'evolution
(363)
$$$$
Seafood | Jackson, Jackson
Booked 7 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - RidgelandRuth's Chris Steak House - Ridgeland
(218)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Ridgeland, Jackson
Booked 4 times today
The GatheringThe Gathering
(55)
$$$$
Southern | Jackson, Jackson
Booked 3 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi
  1. Distance: 0.01mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.49mi
  4. Distance: 0.58mi

About 1908 Provisions

At 1908 Provisions in Jackson, located in the historic Fairview Inn, you�ll find a California inspired restaurant providing a casual and exciting dining experience. Taking inspiration from California flavors and combining them with Southern roots, 1908 Provisions serves up food with delightful textures and flavors.

Chefs at 1908 Provisions prepare dishes using the freshest ingredients. Main courses include low country shrimp and grits, the 1908 filet, a grilled pork tenderloin and much more. For dessert, try the house made bread pudding, apple tarte tatin or peanut butter and caramel tart. A drink menu is also available, with refreshing cocktails such as the signature mimosa and bloody Mary.

734 Fairview Street
Jackson, MS 39202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Californian, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday- Friday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
North State Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 948-3429 ext. 305

Website:
http://www.fairviewinn.com/1908provisions.htm

Entertainment:
Piano Jazz featuring Knight Bruce for Sunday Buffet Brunch.

Catering:
We do not offer off site catering, but we do have ample amounts of space to host banquets and private events.

Parking Details:
Complimentary on-site parking in adjacent Baptist 1600 Medical Building Lot.

Executive Chef:
Gary Hawkins

Private Party Facilities:
1908 Provisions has several private dining options for groups from eight to two hundred for a sit down meal and up to six hundred for a reception. Our catering events coordinator will be happy to customize a menu based upon your tastes and budget.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Grace Warren: (888) 713-3690

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
The Mississippi meeting facilities at the Fairview Inn offer a variety of event venue options for groups of 8 to 800.

From the intimate settings of the Rose's Room or the Carriage Room to the grand setting of the Garden Room & Patio; or utilizing the entire house and gardens, our professional staff is ready to make your event a memorable occasion.

Allow our Catering Events Coordinator to help you through every step of the planning process to make your event a success. Whether you are planning a corporate retreat, a family anniversary celebration or a social fundraiser, the Fairview Inn staff will strive to exceed your expectations.

The Fairview Inn offers complete business facilities and wireless Internet in all areas of the Inn.

Sort By:
S
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on November 1, 2014

My wife and I started with cocktails in the Library Bar in this beautiful old mansion. Great drinks and service. The dining room was quiet and open. The antelope and redfish were excellently prepared and presented. We would definitely go there again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 28, 2014

Was there recently for lunch with friends. Brand new menu. The veal meatloaf was wonderful. Always have excellent service and I feel the atmosphere is perfect for any occasion. Life slows down here and let's you enjoy the full dining experience. From appetizers to dessert the food is divine!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 8, 2014

We had 15 for a special occasion dinner. It was the perfect venue for a special night. Cozy, beautifully decorated. Was like having a dinner party at home. Nice folks too. Definitely recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 25, 2014

Took our daughter and her husband there for lunch and again after her swearing in ceremony for the MS Bar. Was very nice and had a special feel. Food was good and wait staff excellent. The grounds offered great surroundings for the many pictures we snapped of her special day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 7, 2014

Took my wife there for a birthday brunch, and it was awesome. Really good food and a great price. Great service, too. I would love to take her again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 6, 2014

Nice modern décor without being ultramodern. First visit. Fabulous food, attractively presented. Good service. Moderate prices.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 27, 2014

Many restaurants these days in Jackson have a lot of hard surfaces, over-blown back ground music trying to create a vibrant atmosphere. 1908 Provisions is nicely designed with soft surfaces and a quiet atmosphere that allows you to hear your dining guest and enjoy one another's company.

The food was superb and sharing a cocktail and wine list with The Library bar next door gives 1908 a step up from other restaurants.

The service is second to none.

We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 13, 2014

Our food was excellent - different from the normal. We sat out and enjoyed cocktails under the oak tree- was delightful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 10, 2014

We really enjoyed the variety of food on the Sunday brunch, especially the wide array of vegetable and other healthy options. Our only concern was how closely spaced the tables were, especially along the bench/booth area.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on August 7, 2014

A perfect mix of menu, service and ambiance. The best place in Jackson to show visitors how "classy" the South can be.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 6, 2014

I created my own vegetarian platter selecting from a wonderful and unique selection of side dishes. It was great! Looked like an inviting list of entrees too.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 28, 2014

What a wonderful meal. The menu is inventive. The items are ones you could only find there, and their blending of flavors was amazing. The Fairview Inn is such a gem and this restaurant is the crown jewel. My "French Laundry" salad rocked, and I'm not a big fan of many fish dishes but I was envious of the Red Fish dish my companions. got.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 26, 2014

We bring friends from out of town here for the fine dining. They were kind enough to hold our reservation as our friends were stuck in traffic. The food is fabulous. We had redfish and it just shined with flavor and texture - cooked perfectly! The cocktails and Meiomi was delicious also. Shannon our server was excellent and handled all our requests extremely well.
I definitely will recommend to others and will return with more friends. Glad we have 1908 in Jackson.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on July 24, 2014

We were seated at a very small wobble table with no table cloth. There was a big fan of AC blows cold air directly over our heads, makes the warm dishes turn cold very quickly. The food was not bad. We wanted to have a very chic lunch in a very classic southern plantation-style of house. The tasteless deco of this restaurant kind of throw us off. The young waitresses were very pleasant, but were obvious lack of experiences.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Austin)·Dined on July 19, 2014

Have been to the old restaurant at the Fairview (Sophia's) and it was old and outdated. Provisions was great!! A much needed change and addition to the Fairview. Our waiter, the food and the ambiance were all fantastic! Highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 29, 2014

4th visit for brunch. Everyone enjoyed it but the selection Sunday was very limited on meat. The overall feeling of the group is that we will return but the food selection needs to excpand. Great Atmosphere!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 22, 2014

Great spot for any occasion. One of our favorites. Cannot go wrong

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 18, 2014

A wonderful and nostalgic place in the heart of Jackson's best neighborhood.
We are regulars at the Library bar and decided to have a birthday dinner for my fiancé.
The food and atmosphere was amazing!
The only negative thing about the night was that they turned up the dining room lights while we were still eating our meals at 9:15...
But overall the food, service and atmosphere could not have been better.
We love this place and will continue to frequent it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 17, 2014

1908 Provisions remains one the best restaurants in central Mississippi, or the entire state for that matter. Food is always exquisite and pertfectly prepared, and is just plain good. Great place for a business lunch (folks are always impressed), and the brunch is the best--always fresh, great presentation--what else can I say? Prices are reasonable, but you know, you get what you pay for! A taste of Southern elegance like nothing else.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 16, 2014

I was visiting Jackson from Oregon and found this to be a great venue for our group of seven. The lovely atmosphere combined with delicious cuisine made for a perfect Southern luncheon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 15, 2014

If you really want to make that special someone happy, or just to impress a client, 1908 Provisions is definitely the place to be. With its warm and inviting atmosphere, you feel as if you are in your own private dining, with made to order cuisine. The food was second to none. The service was impeccable. When I want to be impressive, this is where I will be ...every time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on June 11, 2014

1908 has transformed it self into a fantastic dining experience. The newly remodeled restaurant shimmers with relaxed sophistication, down to the tiniest detail. The menu invites and entices with mouthwatering selections.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 10, 2014

Wonderful dining experience in all respects---food, service, beverages atmosphere. Highly recommnd.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on May 18, 2014

Restaurant is lovely and service staff well trained and attentive. The food was disappointing in its overall blandness and options. A wonderful setting for a family brunch, but not for culinary experiences, recognizing its buffet style.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 17, 2014

We left after 40 minutes. We had reservations for 6 for very special occasion. We wqere promptly seated. Waitress filled water glasses.Took drink orders, explained a few things on menu. We ordered 5 cocktails and ordered two appetizers to be shared. Literally our waitress went behind a black curtain that was covering French doors. We noticed bartender disappeared too. Then next time we saw our waitress, she was serving wine to table in front of us who were seated after us after young man complained. We didn't receive an ice cube. No one explained there was a problem. We probably would have had a 400$ Dinner. It was obvious owner was not there. Now it's 8 pm and we end up in pub. Suspect waitresses had to serve an event at Inn also. Shame

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 11, 2014

This was a perfect place for a Mother's Day lunch. The buffet was very good as usual and service was good. We were seated at our reservation time.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on May 11, 2014

It was a very pleasant Mother's Day Brunch. I appreciate the fact of not having to wait in line somewhere to eat out on a day I don't want to cook! The food, service and atmosphere was great, and look forward to returning sometime soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 10, 2014

1908 Provisions was a great experience. The Fairview Inn itself is amazing. The food was incredible - unique twists on southern staples. The restaurant itself is not very bug, which I think is a plus. It's not overcrowded and bustling with people. You get devoted servers who aren't running all over the place. We had a large group, so we were probably noisy but it did't feel uncomfortable being a little loud. The restaurant is quiet, but not a deafening silence.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on May 1, 2014

This was our first time at 1908 Provisions and we were very pleased. The doctor is well done, the service excellent and the food puts it at the top of Jackson restaurants. This fits well with the Fairview Inn and is a place we'll definitely come back to. I had the amberjack special which was cooked properly and an excellent dish. My son had the sweet potato crusted redfish which he raved about. This is a nice addition to Jackson's dining scene.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 25, 2014

Wonderful atmosphere! Delicious food-love the beet salad and the ice cream was delicious! Fish is excellent. French press coffee was a nice ending to a special evening.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 23, 2014

I ordered the sweet potato crusted redfish
And it was delicious. Our server was delightful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 17, 2014

Our first, but not last time. All four of us commented on how much we enjoyed the experience. Very good meal; presentation was well done and service was good. Nice room. lots of windows and light. A perfect pre-theater experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 11, 2014

Our service was good when we arrived, but as the restaurant filled up, the service suffered.
Our food was very good, but the end of the meal was disappointing.
We ordered dessert and never received.
I ordered an expresso with baileys and the coffee was cold. I asked for a refill of coffee just to finish my baileys and that was perfect.
No apologies for the dessert not being served and then our ticket did not even include our after dinner drinks. We mentioned it to the waiter and it was then added.
Waiter could have been more knowledgeable about the menu.
This is too nice of a location not to perfect the service segment of the dining experience.
We will go back one more time and if we have the same experience, we won't go back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 11, 2014

This location just north of downtown in a historic neighborhood is highly desire able. The atmosphere, quality of food and service make an addition to our regular unique restaurant your in Jackson. Job well done

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 7, 2014

My First Monday lunch group loved Sophia's and we enjoyed our lunch at 1908. The service and the food were wonderful. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 6, 2014

Recently had a birthday brunch at 1908 Provisions for my mother. All guests were pleased with their meals, especially desserts. The corn casserole, fresh fruit, meat loaf, and gumbo were also hits. We had been concerned about the transition from Sophia's, which we had enjoyed on many occasions. Food and service were just as good, if not better.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 4, 2014

Our 2nd time to go to 1908; were excited b/c 1st visit was incredible! 5 stars across! this time husband got dozen oysters, which he LOVED; duck confit, (he gave 5 stars) and the creme brulee (5 stars from BOTH of us). i got (AGAIN) arugula salad, which was good, but not quite as good as 1st time--a little mashed together & slightly overdressed, but would STILL give it 3 1/2 stars. Was feeling less than adventurous & ordered vegetarian dish. 1st problem for me was that i am NOT a vegetarian, but a total carnivore, rarer the better. 2nd problem was there are not ANY "spring vegetables" out yet, so was given TWO quinoa cakes, great wilted spinach&great heirloom cherry tomatoes. unless you cannot tolerate meat, bland choice.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on April 3, 2014

Loved the creative mixture of flavors in the dishes from
Entrees to appetizers down to the butter served with the bread.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 26, 2014

Each of us had the Red Fish, which was prepared to perfection. The salads were fresh. For desserts, we had the house made sorbet trio and the apple fritters, both of which were also outstanding. The restaurant has undergone renovation and redesign into a contemporary design that is pleasing and comfortable. I highly recommend 1908 Provisions for casual dining, groups and special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2014

We walked out because no one helped us and the restaurant had changed so much--it was awful. Rap/techno type music and ultra mod decor in what was once a classy place. Very sad they ruined a good thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.