Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Red Fish - BlufftonRed Fish - Bluffton
(291)
Seafood | Bluffton, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
The PearlThe Pearl
(64)
Seafood | Bluffton, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
The Bluffton RoomThe Bluffton Room
(224)
American | Bluffton, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
The Oyster BarThe Oyster Bar
(10)
Seafood | Bluffton, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
River House - Palmetto BluffRiver House - Palmetto Bluff
(83)
American | Bluffton, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
Old Fort PubOld Fort Pub
(1251)
American | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
Chart House Restaurant - Hilton HeadChart House Restaurant - Hilton Head
(1106)
Seafood | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
Lagerhead TavernLagerhead Tavern
(3)
American | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
WiseGuys Steak & LoungeWiseGuys Steak & Lounge
(1027)
Steakhouse | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
Red Fish - Hilton HeadRed Fish - Hilton Head
(1817)
Seafood | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
Quarterdeck Waterfront DiningQuarterdeck Waterfront Dining
(449)
Seafood | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
CQ'sCQ's
(728)
Contemporary American | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Reserve Now
LinksLinks
(129)
American | Hilton Head, Hilton Head
Reserve Now

About R & D Wine Boutique

1011 Fording Island Rd
Suite C105
Bluffton, SC 29910
View Larger Map

R & D Wine Boutique has taken the concept of the traditional wine bar and elevated it to the next level with innovative twists. For example, a unique self-serve wine dispensing machine makes sampling new wines fun and easy, though of course you can still order wine the old-fashioned way if you prefer.

Besides its carefully curated selection of French, Italian and California wines, R & D Wine Boutique also specializes in tapas and small plates. Order a cheese platter and try up to eight different cheeses at once, from smoked gouda to manchego. Options like venison sausage or lamb "lollipops" are great if you want a meatier snack. Hearty entrees like eggplant parmigiana or seared scallops with a root vegetable hash are available at R & D Wine Boutique for those that arrive extra hungry.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Tapas / Small Plates, Italian, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Tuesday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:45pm; Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm Open for Wine and Beer after 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Best Buy Plaza

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(843) 837-3747

Website:
http://www.rdwine.net/

Private Party Facilities:
The Wine Room's rustic décor creates a refined atmosphere. Celebrate your gatherings in The Wine Room. This private room accommodates up to 8 guests.

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

R & D Wine Boutique Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.9

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

notable wine list (16)
neighborhood gem (11)
special occasion (10)
See All
fit for foodies (9)
romantic (7)
good for groups (5)
late-night find (3)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
138 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

FOOD FOOD FOOD

vip
·Dined on May 31, 2016

The chef at R&D is a "hidden gem". He takes small plates to another level. Each time we go, we order the mushroom truffle flatbread which is out of this world. We start with that and usually have either the special of the night or I have the salmon and my husband has another selection. We brought our friends with us this time to introduce them to this and they couldn't believe such a great place was located in a tiny hide-a-way strip mall. To top it all off, the wines are fabulous and the ability to taste them right there - a little at a time - makes it even better. Our waitress, Christie, added to the excellent experience. Dawn has done a terrific job putting this whole operation together. She gives it her "ALL". Thanks to everyone, We will keep going back... and back... and back. AWESOME!!!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Where to even start, the food overall wa ...

 
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Where to even start, the food overall was excellent. The service was quite hospitable. I loved the gnudi and the fettuccine special was delicious. Definitely worth every penny. By far the best food I have experienced in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is delicious! We love the wine card ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Food is delicious! We love the wine card! We can taste many different wines and decided which one we will drink with dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our "Go To" place

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We LOVE R & D!! The food is always great and if we do not have an big appetite we can put together some of the small plates, makes it fun for small groups. Dawn (the owner) is terrific and very knowledgeable about the large wine selection she has. You are able to taste 32 selections in varying sizes so you can see what you like. Do not miss R & D, check out the many educational wine tastings that they have on a regular basis, chance to learn from the vintners.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible food does R&D Wine Boutique justice

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a quiet Saturday evening dinner at R&D. To say that the food was fantastic was an understatement. I was unclear on the initial concept, since the write ups talk about Tapas. Tapas was few and far between on the menu. What was on the menu was fabulous. We had Short Ribs and an order of Scallops and both were done to perfection.

The food was fabulous, our server had impeccable taste and service and we were so very pleased to have eaten at R&D. We will be back again. This may have been our best meal yet in the 120 days of living in Bluffton. It will be hard to top this food.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great find

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Don't let the fact that this is in the Best Buy shopping center keep you from coming here. The wine selection is fantastic and although we didn't do the wine tasting with the Enomatic machines we will definitely try them next time. The Herbed Goat Cheese Gnudi and the daily pasta special of fettuccine with scallops was really good. Desserts were yummy too!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

A hidden gem. The wine selections are su ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

A hidden gem. The wine selections are superb, the food is awesome, and the service is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorites

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

R&D is fast replacing other venues for my family and I. I especially appreciate Dawn Armstrong's knowledge and expertise on wines. The quiet allows for great conversation. Never rushed, a totally peaceful and memorable experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The crusted salmon is excellent and I ha ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

The crusted salmon is excellent and I had one of their excellent salads and a small plate with 2 lamb lollipops which was the best dinner I've had there. We had a table of four and everyone liked their dinners Our friends had the scallop dinner and the grouper special. We all walked away happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT DISCOVERY

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We are long time residents of Bluffton and have passed by this spot many times. We were looking for someplace new to entertain a business associate and happened to find R & D on this website. We were very pleasantly surprised. The service, food and ambiance were fantastic. We have found a new favorite place for entertaining clients and for just fine dining!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Owner Not so friendly

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I have visited this wine boutique a number of times and over the years I have spent a lot of money. The wine selection is extremely good, however when you buy a bottle of wine in a restaurant the corkage fee should not be an additional charge it should be included. I also feel that the owner could have been a little more friendly especially since I spent over $280.00 for dinner and wine. I was made to feel that I was not worthy of the establishment. I will not be returning to purchase wine or dinner.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Fantastic wine selection and phenomenall ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Fantastic wine selection and phenomenally prepared tapas. Ideal choice for anyone who loves fine wine and artfully prepared food. Very warm and personable staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love wine but the secret is the Chef!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

R&D Wine Boutique is a great place to learn about wine with their unique Italian dispensing systems. Plus you can purchase bottles at retail and not suffer the mark-up of normal restaurants. The incredible bonus sometimes not appreciated is the menu and the chef. The scallops, the salmon and the short ribs are as good as you will find at the high spots of Hilton Head Island or the Bluffton better restaurants. And the cheese and meat plates for just a nice time sampling wines are fresh, varied and nicely presented with jams, bread and crackers, even gluten free ones, if you wish. DON'T LET THE FACT THIS IS IN THE BEST BUY SHOPPING MALL STOP YOU FROM GOING!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always great!!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

We always have a great time when we go to R & D! Dawn is very knowledgable about all the wine that they have available for you to take (over 32) that you can get three sizes to taste. Great way to learn about different wines. The menu is very good with a lot of small tastes and very goo entree selections too. There are daily specials that change weekly so you always get a chance to try something new. Perfect for both eh novice and expert wine lover, a not miss place for sure!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Now on our go-to list.

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

What a great find! The striped-sea bass was wonderful. A definite add to our go-to list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BEST of everything wrapped up into a ...

vip
·Dined on February 17, 2016

The BEST of everything wrapped up into a small package. We LOVE LOVE LOVE this place. It has a HUGE wine selection, a very lovely atmosphere and phenomenal service. I don't really want to say how wonderful it is because then everyone will go there and I won't be able to get a reservation! Seriously though, Dawn has put together the perfect combination of terrific service, awesome food and personal attention to detail. It's hard to stay away. Thanks!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We LOVE R & D !!

 
·Dined on January 27, 2016

We frequent R & D quite often....it is our Bluffton "go to" place.....not only for the fine wine and food selection, but we are always greeted with a genuine smile and welcome! The proprietor, Dawn, is full of wine knowledge and enjoys sharing her personal favorites! We love the ability to use a pre-paid R & D "credit card" allowing us to opt for a tasting "pour" or a full glass of a favorite choice of wine. Also, the food selections have grown and improved over time....we like the smaller portions so we don't tend to overeat. BUT, SHHHHHHHHH! This is a hidden gem and we don't want it to lose its' small neighborhood feel !!! :-)

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great evening

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Absolutely one of my favorites in the Bluffton-Hilton Head area. Service warm and friendly. Food exceptional. Great wine selection and knowledgeable assistance in choosing. Took friends on two separate occasions in past month. They raved. Nuf said.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food great, service slow, but noisy

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on November 18, 2015

We always enjoy ourselves even eventhough service is slow from the kitchen food is always outstanding and wine is self selective and great selections. Love the place keep going R&D

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great, as always

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

If you love wine, you must check out R & D. Dawn is an amazing and knowledgeable host, always making us feel welcome. The food was excellent and the wine list will compliment any meal. Also a great lunch spot. Wish it was closer, but we will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not bad but Im not inspired

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

Went to this restaurant with good friends based on the new chef who recently joined with a background at the Scottsdale Culinary Institute. All of us found the food taste to be very good keeping in mind the wine is main attraction. Portions were small for the money. But the taste was really there. My main issue was that the food arrived only warm. If I order baked Brie i expect it to come out very hot. The entree I had (short ribs with risotto) have fabulous flavor, but again was just warm. The serves were also very slow which was surprising as there were so few people in the restaurant. Service was top notch. We may go back again but no rush.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Laurie was very helpful. The wine was g ...

vip
·Dined on October 16, 2015

Laurie was very helpful. The wine was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine tasting at it finest!

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on October 15, 2015

Whether your looking for a place to do some serious wine tasting, or looking for that relaxing afternoon of wine and wonderful food, this is the place to be. Excellent selections of wine, and a perfect menu offering something for everyone. Our party of six was truly pampered and we will definitely be going back for more.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Little gem

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

We discovered this restaurant by accident and love it! The food is outstanding and the wine is the best we've seen. Sarah our server has excellent knowledge of the wine. It is quiet and very relaxing and some of the best food in Bluffton!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service

vip
·Dined on September 19, 2015

All of the employees of R & D are so customer-oriented. We love going there.

The wines are superb and the food is very excellent also.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pleasantly surprised

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 8, 2015

Nice cozy, quaint place. Went with another couple and first time for all four. We ordered two shared appetizers, two had tapas entrees and two had full dinners. Everything we had was prepared to perfection. Desserts were awesome. Atmosphere and service terrific. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fun evening

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

This is a fun place, however not much wine for the money. The cheese platter was wonderful and my flatbread was delicious. My friend had the eggplant and was very good.

My concern is that we were able to try about 8 wines for our 25.00 card and then purchased another smaller amount and we never got a full glass of wine. Each amount tasted was very small for the money. We thought it was too expensive to try the wine tasting. Next time we will just buy a bottle.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Love2cook

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on September 4, 2015

We went to the restaurant to celebrate our 50th wedding anniversary. We were greeted at the door and warmly welcomed to the restaurant by Sarah. She told us that they had received our notice of a seafood and fish allergy and the chef was ready to accommodate the allergy. The restaurant has a unique way of tasting wines where you can have a one, two or six ounce pour to decide what you want. Sarah was very helpful in walking us through the program and suggesting wines we might want to taste. The wine selection is very good. We started our dinner with an appetizer of prosciutto, homemade tomato jam and arugula served on crostini. They have a great selection of starters and small plates. My husband had the duck which he said was wonderful and I had a wonderful eggplant Parmesan that was not heavy on the sauce, excellent. They gave us a dessert on the house to help celebrate our anniversary which was a peanut butter and chocolate tart. Wonderful. We will go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Saturday evening entertainment

vip
·Dined on August 22, 2015

Excellent!Excellent! Excellent! Great use of an intimate space. The staff is so welcoming and the wines are delicious. The food was great also. We will go back there many times. It is so fun to do your own "tastings" of all the different wines before you choose one to drink with food. All employees couldn't have been more helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

We always have a great time at R&D's. Great wine selection and excellent food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Find!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2015

My husband booked the restaurant because it would accommodate 6 people. We had 2 young girls, our adult daughter and my husband's 86 year old (but very hip) aunt in our party. Needless to say, I was worried about the menu. We were pleasantly surprised with the service and food. The owner gave us personal attention by seating us in the back room. Our server was excellent. Although there was not a children's menu, she recommended items that were kid friendly and the young girls were very happy with their pasta and flatbread meals. Our daughter and aunt, were equally as happy with their meals and the of course the Rombauer chardonnay. My husband and I plan to make a return visit to the restaurant the next time we visit Hilton Head. Great dining experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a "G Back To"

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 23, 2015

All we can say is that we have returned three times in the past year. Each dining experience was a wonderful time. The kiosk wine dispenser is a novelty and fun as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun and delicious!

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 23, 2015

we had a grand time, tasting wines, eating wonderful dishes (my favorite was the pâté.). The owner had great recommendations and stories. We met other oenophiles there, who were so friendly!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great find. Highly recommend

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 12, 2015

Stopped here because of trip advisor reviews....what a great scope. Sarah was our server and she was excellent. Foods was very good especially for a place that would seem more wine related. Unique wine dispensers allow you to try several different pours.

We will go back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

R & D continues to be a great restaurant ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 10, 2015

R & D continues to be a great restaurant. Now they have added an excellent chef and the menu choices are better than ever. We love this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very quaint and full ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on May 27, 2015

The restaurant was very quaint and full of character. (I would never have guessed it to be so nice) having been in that shopping center before. The food (we ordered 4 Tapas, the Smoked Salmon, Lamb Lollipops, tuna tartare, and pate) were all delicious and fresh with good presentation. Our server, Sarah was sweet, knowledgeable and very helpful. The owner Dawn was equally nice and personable. We will definitely be back to try more of the menu and the numerous wines available to taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Change in Pace

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 14, 2015

We loved the small boutique style wine store/tapas bar in a very unassuming location of a shopping plaza. Being able to try a large variety of vines from the dispensing units was a great idea. We (2) enjoyed the scallop ceviche and the flatbread with prosciutto. These dishes were followed by one of the specials of the evening - the pork belly which was extremely meaty (very little fat) and tender and also their spinach and strawberry salad which was served with a 25 year old Balsamic vinegar. Talking with the owner we found out that they obtain all their oils and vinegars from the Oilery at HH. Decided to visit them to get a couple of bottles (Balsamic) to take home with us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Delightful evening despite some glitches

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 12, 2015

The chef was new in the kitchen and things were delayed. BUT...

The hostesses (Dawn and Sara) were so perfect that nothing else mattered. The food did come eventually and we enjoyed every bit of it. The bruschetta with salmon was the BEST bruschetta we've ever had. The wine machines were a novelty and we enjoyed trying out a few samples before we settled on a bottle. We shared the salmon entree; it was a little overcooked but was very flavorful. The cheese course is not to be missed -- we had a 2-item sampler and it came with crackers, bread, and a wonderful sweet jam.

The kitchen was slow but the flow of the evening didn't suffer at all. We will definitely be back. It felt like being at home with friends. The R&D Boutique has a quirky vibe that we really enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Wine & Tapas

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 12, 2015

My wife and I got to chatting with the owner who was very nice and hospitable. I believe our server's name was Sara who was also very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable. The restaurant is quite small, but cozy. They have automatic wine dispensing machines which work off a prepaid card. You can select a tasting (1 oz), small glass, or full glass. You can also purchase by the bottle for most. My wife and I started with the cheese plate in which we had the smoked Gouda, Jarlsberg, Manchego and St. Andre. Served with a side of balsamic strawberry jam, craisins, pistachios, granny smith apples and bread. My wife ordered the Magherita flatbread while I had the eggplant parm. Unfortunately this was the chef's first day and it took us nearly an hour to get our food. By that time, we almost ran out the bottle of Malbec. Our server was nice enough to offer us a complimentary glass of wine to make up for the delay. The flatbread looked very good. The eggplant was thick, heavily breaded and unfortunately a bit overcooked (slight burn on outside). It was still tasty and at this point we were really hungry. I would go back once the chef settles in.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Really delightful. Going around to all t ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on April 18, 2015

Really delightful. Going around to all the wine machines is a really fun and unique experience. It's a really beautiful little place and the perfect spot to meet up for a drink with friends, try several different wines, and enjoy some snacks of a meal. I especially love the beautiful display of wine bottles on one of the walls.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.