Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 1 time today

Queen's Cuisine

4.6
54 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary British
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Special Occasion
  • Afternoon Tea
In addition to our regular Afternoon tea and lunch time service we are thrilled to be serving dinner this Valentines Day.

Traditional English Afternoon Tea's are served by the Queen's Cuisine on Friday Saturday afternoons and on the second Sunday of every month.

Our menu of freshly prepared finger sandwiches, homemade scones and clotted cream followed by a selection of three delicious dessert items are accompanied by quality loose leaf tea, served in teapots and brewed to perfection.

We are thrilled to provide you with the opportunity to experience this relaxing British customer right here in Edwardsville Illinois.

At our tea room we offering lunches, beverages, cakes and pastries Tuesday through Saturday from 11am till last orders at 3 pm. The menu comprises of regular tea room fare with a sprinkling of British favorites.

For reservations, please book through our website.

Please state any dietary requirements you may have when placing your reservation (Gluten free, vegan etc).
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary British, Afternoon Tea
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch
Wed–Sat 10:00 am–3:00 pm
Afternoon Tea
Fri, Sat 1:00 pm–3:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(618) 205-6188
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jane Muscroft
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
E. Park
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a small parking lot, as well as street parking and a public parking lot near the library.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Main St and Park
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Our tea room is open for private showers and parties on Sundays and after 4pm on Saturdays.
Additional
Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Wheelchair Access
What 54 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on all time ratings
4.7
food
4.5
service
4.5
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Quiet
99% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Lovely! We were well taken care of but also experienced a leisurely tea.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Queen's Cuisine is an excellent Tearoom dining that is quiet and elegant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Very enjoyable! Good food and a very nice atmosphere. Plan to return soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 31, 2018

So good that I’m coming again with friends. Perfect afternoon and really a short drive from
St. Louis. Just a pleasant afternoon. We took home Scones which were delicious. Also had fun exploring some cute shops.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 20, 2017

The reservation I made was for afternoon tea. When I arrived the owner said that was not possible. Big bummer. The salad was wonderful. But, the pastry of the Cornish pasty was burnt. I wanted to like it but, the crust was a disappointment. Then, my Holiday scone (apparently, the last one), was given to another customer. They gave me a golden raisin scone- good, but no holiday scone. I will go again, because the potential is there and I want to try afternoon tea.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

My mom and I had afternoon tea for her birthday. We spent 2 hrs happily munching delicious treats and talking. It was a wonderful afternoon. The staff was friendly and we loved the space.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 8, 2017

A very nice place for quiet conversation. You’re never rushed and the service is impeccable. Small menu but with several options that make for a nice lunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 15, 2017

Visited for lunch during the week. Food and tea were really good! However, definitely not for anyone looking for a quick lunch. My group of 4 ordered soup, salad, sandwiches and it took 50 minutes to get our order. It also took 30 minutes for us to just get our tea. Would recommend if you are looking for a leisurely meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2017

My sister and I had a wonderful lunch here. The tea and food was very good and very quaint cozy place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2017

My friend and I had a lovely, rush-free lunch with luscious tea, quiche, and salad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 14, 2017

My friends and I had a wonderful time at Afternoon Tea! The food was awesome and the restaurant was very authentic. Would love to come back with my girlfriends again. Was very impressed that they were able to accommodate one of my friends' gluten intolerance when I gave them advance notice of the issue. Would recommend!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 5, 2017

We recently tried Queen's Cuisine for the first time, based upon a newspaper article I had read, supplemented by online reviews. It is in a small building in downtown Edwardsville; they have a very small parking lot, but allow a few extra minutes to find parking if that is full.

There were several interesting choices on the menu, with food items not commonly seen elsewhere. I had the Cornish pasty, which was very good: a tasty filling with a mild but distinct flavor, surrounded by a crispy crust. The House Side Salad was also good, with a mild balsamic vinegar dressing. I had English Breakfast tea, which was steeped in a nice large-one-serving tea pot.

My wife had the "Bit of Everything" (the contents of which can be found in the Queen's website's online menu), and found it to be quite good. She had a seasonal tea, which she also liked.

Service was quite good on this not-too-busy day; we arrived for our 12:30 reservations, with few other diners present. A few other groups came in by 1 PM. An oddity, is ordering up at the counter, but having the food brought to the table when ready. I would have preferred full table service, but perhaps this setup is common in England.

The decor was simple but tasteful, with British photos and items on display.

Prices were moderate, in line with other "nice" lunch places.

There is also an afternoon tea offered on certain days; we plan to try that at some time.

Overall, we enjoyed Queen's Cuisine, and plan to return when we want a rather unique food experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2017

Everything we had was absolutely wonderful! I loved the autumn soup special, crustless quiche, scone with yummy clotted cream, and of course the tea! The service was friendly, too. I'll definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought my mom and daughters for Tea on Mothers Day and everyone thoroughly enjoyed it! Have also been for Tea at Christmas and had the same quality experience. She serves lunch as well, and serves the best scones you'll ever have! I highly recommend this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for high tea for Mother's Day. Excellent food and fabulous tea. We had requested gluten free for 2 of our diners and it was overlooked when we made the reservation however they were so accommodating and made sure our gluten free family members had scrumptious food as well. We definitely will be going back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2017

The Queen's Cuisine was a lovely place to celebrate a friend's birthday. We had the "afternoon tea" which was a three-tiered tray of all kinds of freshly made delectable goodies. I can't wait to go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2017

Awesome experience! Loved the tea and all the treats! Will definitely come back for more!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was amazing! We really enjoyed our first afternoon tea time.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 4, 2017

So cute and delicious food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2017

This is a great find. My daughter-in-law traveled to England and she said the high tea experience and scones could not be more authentic. The teas are marvelous. Can't wait to return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 19, 2017

Disappointed that we had to order and pay at the counter, and even get our own ice! Also had to show ID for credit cards -- as if 3 65-yr old ladies are going to try not to pay!! You didn't make us feel very 'queenly'.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2016

It is very good authentic british tea. their scones are amazing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 23, 2016

My wife is British; this restaurant made her feel like being in a Tea House in England. I, as American, find this restaurant very pleasing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 10, 2016

Simply superb. We went for the specific "afternoon tea" and it exceeded expectations.

A massive selection of tea from basic English Breakfast and up from there. Perfect traditional no crush sandwich fingers and to die for sausage rolls. You get 2 wonderful scones with jam and clotted cream and then a selection of small desserts - 3 each and for the season we had mince pie, Sherry Trifle and a cupcake.

This place is fantastic and worth the drive for great English/British food. If you want the perfect afternoon tea experience go here, because about the only thing you won't have is someone named Carson (Downton Abbey) serving it - everything else - perfectly pukka and proper!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 13, 2016

Second time here. Very enjoyable, leisurely experience (again) . Very good food, but the scones are to die for!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 21, 2016

Enjoyed lunch a lot and plan to go back soon for High Tea. I do wish the room was larger and had more help that would allow the English owner to perhaps visit briefly with the tables. Of greater concern is the parking. Edwardsville downtown has a big parking deficiency - esp. for the winter time. Would-be diners may not be inclined to walk very far.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 9, 2016

Lovely authentic afternoon tea. Generous servings and leftovers sent home with us. Scones were impressive - large and delicious. Nice that each diner selects their own flavor of tea. We will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2016

We loved the place. After living a year (2001) in England --- we were really ready for a tea room + in Edwardsville. It was my Great Niece's 13 birthday; she and I have enjoyed teas together at my home for a very long time; we would use our Royal Albert's Old Country Roses china (to my husband's and my sister's dismay). This was a perfect way for her to enter her teens. She means so much to us. Thank you.

However, I would recommend that service take the order at the table instead of needing to go to the counter to place your order. This would add to the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 11, 2016

A delightful British experience. Everyone was very friendly. Fun for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 11, 2016

I have had afternoon tea many places,iincluding famous locations in London and elsewhere in England and Hong Kong.QKong.Queen's Cuisine is as good as any,better than many.The scones are better than Brown's in London.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was amazing and the atmosphere was nice. The price for afternoon tea was outrageous for the amount of food we received. We went for my daughters birthday but unfortunately won't be back for afternoon tea unless it is a very special occasion.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2016

I took my mother on the 28th because I had read about it and I love going to tea houses. This one did not disappoint. The food was excellent, the tea was wonderful and the servers were amazing! One of our servers explained to my mother the way to drink citrus iced tea so the flavor will explode in your mouth. We will definitely be coming back not only for lunch but for afternoon tea also!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2016

Great lunch place to meet up with girl friends. Very good service with the owner/chef personally visiting your table to serve a very tasty meal. Excellent varieties of English teas. Warm and friendly without a bar setting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall experience was great. Service was good and you didn't feel rushed to leave. Price was a little on the high end, but is perfect for a special occasion. My mom and I loved it and will be coming back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 13, 2016

They have been open only a few weeks and they are still working out a few logistical bugs. They take your order on an iPad and you pay in advance of receiving your meal. It's hard to know about what to tip when you order in advance and you have to pay again if you decide on a dessert after your meal. The food is very good which is why I would return. The waitress was very nice but they were undermanned on Saturday because some employees were at a couple of open markets selling their pastries.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2016

Jane, the owner, is from England so I think she knows her stuff about afternoon tea! Instead of tea though (which I've had twice before) my friend and I chose quiche/salad for lunch. It was great! In addition, the Victoria sponge was yummy!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was pretty good. Room was small and noisy. Prefer to have a waitress take the order. Ordering station was very congested with large table behind it. Need a sign that refers you to more parking. Waitresses were very attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2016

The afternoon tea was absolutely wonderful. Delightful food, including scones with clotted cream and jam, and a wonderful selection of teas to choose from. We will definitely go back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved it. Would prefer to order at table. Need a dessert tray and small English gift shop.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Such a cute little tea room. The chief is from England, so it is authentic. Loved the music that was played while eating. The waitress was friendly, and so was the rest of the staff. We have made it one of our favorite places to have lunch in Edwardsville.

Report
Helpful
1
2