About Queen's Cuisine

120 S. Main St
Edwardsville, IL 62025
View Larger Map

Traditional English Afternoon Tea's are served by the Queen's Cuisine on Friday Saturday afternoons and on the second Sunday of every month.

Our menu of freshly prepared finger sandwiches, homemade scones and clotted cream followed by a selection of three delicious dessert items are accompanied by quality loose leaf tea, served in teapots and brewed to perfection.

We are thrilled to provide you with the opportunity to experience this relaxing British customer right here in Edwardsville Illinois.

At our new location we are now offering lunches, beverages, cakes and pastries every Friday and Saturday from 10am till 4 pm. The menu comprises of regular tea room fare with a sprinkling of British favorites.

Please state any dietary requirements you may have when placing your reservation (Gluten free, vegan etc).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary British, Afternoon Tea

Hours of Operation:
LUNCH Wednesday, Thursday, Friday and Saturday 10 am - 4 pm.

AFTERNOON TEA Friday & Saturday 1.00 pm - 3.00 pm and the second Sunday of each month 12.00 - 3.00 pm

Cross Street:
E. Park

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(618) 205-6188

Website:
http://www.qconline.us/

Parking Details:
There is a small parking lot, as well as street parking and a public parking lot near the library.

Public Transit:
Main St and Park

Executive Chef:
Jane Muscroft

Private Party Contact:
Jane Muscroft: 6182056188x

Additional:
Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Our tea room is open for private showers and parties on Sundays and after 4pm on Saturdays.

Restaurant Photos

  • Queen's Cuisine, Edwardsville, IL
Queen's Cuisine, Edwardsville, IL

Queen's Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Midtown
Special Occasion
Midtown
Best Restaurants in Edwardsville, IL ›

Great for Lunch (12)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Business Meals (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Romantic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
30 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second time here. Very enjoyable, leisur ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Second time here. Very enjoyable, leisurely experience (again) . Very good food, but the scones are to die for!

Tags: Authentic, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed lunch a lot and plan to go back ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Enjoyed lunch a lot and plan to go back soon for High Tea. I do wish the room was larger and had more help that would allow the English owner to perhaps visit briefly with the tables. Of greater concern is the parking. Edwardsville downtown has a big parking deficiency - esp. for the winter time. Would-be diners may not be inclined to walk very far.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Lovely authentic afternoon tea. Generous ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Lovely authentic afternoon tea. Generous servings and leftovers sent home with us. Scones were impressive - large and delicious. Nice that each diner selects their own flavor of tea. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the place. After living a year ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We loved the place. After living a year (2001) in England --- we were really ready for a tea room + in Edwardsville. It was my Great Niece's 13 birthday; she and I have enjoyed teas together at my home for a very long time; we would use our Royal Albert's Old Country Roses china (to my husband's and my sister's dismay). This was a perfect way for her to enter her teens. She means so much to us. Thank you.

However, I would recommend that service take the order at the table instead of needing to go to the counter to place your order. This would add to the ambiance.

Tags: Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful British experience. Everyon ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

A delightful British experience. Everyone was very friendly. Fun for special occasions.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I have had afternoon tea many places,iin ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 11, 2016

I have had afternoon tea many places,iincluding famous locations in London and elsewhere in England and Hong Kong.QKong.Queen's Cuisine is as good as any,better than many.The scones are better than Brown's in London.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the atmosphere ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was amazing and the atmosphere was nice. The price for afternoon tea was outrageous for the amount of food we received. We went for my daughters birthday but unfortunately won't be back for afternoon tea unless it is a very special occasion.

Tags: Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value1

I took my mother on the 28th because I h ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I took my mother on the 28th because I had read about it and I love going to tea houses. This one did not disappoint. The food was excellent, the tea was wonderful and the servers were amazing! One of our servers explained to my mother the way to drink citrus iced tea so the flavor will explode in your mouth. We will definitely be coming back not only for lunch but for afternoon tea also!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch place to meet up with girl f ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Great lunch place to meet up with girl friends. Very good service with the owner/chef personally visiting your table to serve a very tasty meal. Excellent varieties of English teas. Warm and friendly without a bar setting.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall experience was great. Service w ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Overall experience was great. Service was good and you didn't feel rushed to leave. Price was a little on the high end, but is perfect for a special occasion. My mom and I loved it and will be coming back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

They have been open only a few weeks and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 13, 2016

They have been open only a few weeks and they are still working out a few logistical bugs. They take your order on an iPad and you pay in advance of receiving your meal. It's hard to know about what to tip when you order in advance and you have to pay again if you decide on a dessert after your meal. The food is very good which is why I would return. The waitress was very nice but they were undermanned on Saturday because some employees were at a couple of open markets selling their pastries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Jane, the owner, is from England so I th ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Jane, the owner, is from England so I think she knows her stuff about afternoon tea! Instead of tea though (which I've had twice before) my friend and I chose quiche/salad for lunch. It was great! In addition, the Victoria sponge was yummy!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was pretty good. Room was small and ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was pretty good. Room was small and noisy. Prefer to have a waitress take the order. Ordering station was very congested with large table behind it. Need a sign that refers you to more parking. Waitresses were very attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The afternoon tea was absolutely wonderf ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The afternoon tea was absolutely wonderful. Delightful food, including scones with clotted cream and jam, and a wonderful selection of teas to choose from. We will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it. Would prefer to order at table ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Loved it. Would prefer to order at table. Need a dessert tray and small English gift shop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Such a cute little tea room. The chief ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Such a cute little tea room. The chief is from England, so it is authentic. Loved the music that was played while eating. The waitress was friendly, and so was the rest of the staff. We have made it one of our favorite places to have lunch in Edwardsville.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the food and experience. Cant wai ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Loved the food and experience. Cant wait to attend the Sunday afternoon tea.

The only thing i didnt care for was ordering at the register. Had to wait in line several times.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Novel dining experience. Good food. We h ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Novel dining experience. Good food. We had lunch in late afternoon...most others were having 'High Tea'. Looked like fun...will go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was $30 per person for high tea (incl ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 22, 2016

It was $30 per person for high tea (including our six year old who was also charged the full adult price). I have had high tea many times before on many locations and this just was incredibly disappointing. It was also uncomfortably hot, the thermostat read 80 degrees. The waitress was not very attentive despite low crowd volumes. We were not asked if we wanted refills on our tea which is usually the standard procedure in tea rooms. The sweets were not to our liking: semi sweet chocolate tart pie, meringue shells that were overly sugared, and a raisin pastry cookie. We also had scones with clotted cream and strawberry jam, as well as sandwiches (cucumber, chicken salad, and sausage). It seemed like there was much more sweet than savory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

The food was good. I ordered the Beef Pa ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 1, 2016

The food was good. I ordered the Beef Pasty which was ok. The tea was delicious and definitely the best part of the visit there. It's still very new and has a few kinks to work out as far as customer service goes. The scones were a little dry for my taste but the Scottish Shortbread cookies were very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The tea, meal and desserts were wonderfu ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The tea, meal and desserts were wonderful. I will definitely be back.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent choice for a typical English t ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Excellent choice for a typical English tea. Small but that only makes it more authentic.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a special occasion. The food ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 20, 2015

Great for a special occasion. The food was made fresh and delicious. We couldn't even finish it, so we took two scones home. The home is beautiful and the owner was very welcoming.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jane's teas are always wonderful!

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 8, 2015

I enjoy each and every one of Jane's teas! I want to take all my friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Love Love High Tea with Queen's Cuisine

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 15, 2015

This was my third time having tea with Queen's Cuisine, the second time with this small group of friends. We giggle with delight that it's time to go to tea! The quality of food, service and ambiance are incredible. We upgraded and got the champagne this time and it really kicked it up a notch. Would be great for a small bridal/baby shower, celebration, time out with a mom or other loved one. Very intimate setting (only 5 tables available). Menu has been different every time, but always includes the classics. They offer special diet (gluten-free, vegetarian, etc.) options. If we didn't have families/other commitments I think we'd go every month.

I know similar experiences go for much more and aren't as personal! What a great excuse to enjoy a nice (very) hot cup of tea, visit with friends and eat the most amazingly delicious treats. Oh, an they give you real silver, too! :)

Tags: Great for Brunch
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fit for a Queen

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 14, 2014

The service was amazing! We got lost trying to find the location, and ended up downtown. The absolutely brilliant lady who runs the tea service made sure we got there any ways. The food was sublime and the tea was very good. I would highly recommend going at least once for the experience, but I can see myself making this a regular event for myself.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

'Authentic' English afternoon tea

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 9, 2014

Queen's Cuisine owner takes care of you personally. Wonderful Fall afternoon "tea break." Must make reservations...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Charming Afternoon Tea

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 10, 2014

This was everything afternoon tea should be! We were each able to choose the type of tea (courtesy of Traveling Teas) we wanted, which was then served in an individual pot. The cucumber sandwiches were my personal favorite of the sandwich choices. The scones (two kinds!) tasted delicious with the strawberry jam and clotted cream, and the peaches and cream dessert were a real stand-out. And the Fleur-de-Lys Mansion provides a beautiful and historic setting for tea that is a treat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Good for a celebration

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2014

A group of 7 ladies enjoyed this traditional English tea as a joint birthday celebration. Scones & sandwiches were authentic, as was the tea. Clotted cream & jam added the final touches. Great atmosphere! We would do this again and definitely recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Sunday afternoon

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 9, 2014

My daughter & I enjoyed a quiet, delicious afternoon tea in a beautiful setting. Made the wintery day much more bearable! Great food, interesting surroundings. We have recommended the tea to several friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.