About Quartino

626 N. State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Quartino, an urban Italian restaurant and wine bar, is the creation of Hugo Ralli, Steve Lombardo (owners of Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, Hugo’s Frog Bar & Fish House, LUXBAR) and Exec Chef / Partner John Coletta. Quartino combines the best of Italy’s osteria and enoteca to offer an authentic everyday Italian food and wine experience. “Where wine is cheaper than water” Throughout Europe, in bistro after osteria after enoteca, fresh local wines of high quality and unique characteristics are priced as a less expensive alternative to bottled water. Reservation requests for patio seating are not accepted. Patio seating is first come, first serve.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Bar Daily: 3:00pm - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 698-5000

Website:
http://www.quartinochicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available $14.

Executive Chef:
John Coletta

Private Party Facilities:
Quartino embraces the true essence and environment of an authentic Italian urban ristorante, pizzeria and wine bar in quintessential Gibsons Restaurant Group style. Quartino can accommodate private parties of 10-100 guests for luncheons, cocktail & antipasti parties, and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Jensen: 8886413569

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Nutella Panino - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Veal Meatball Sliders - Quartino, Chicago, IL
zeppole - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Tiramisu - Quartino, Chicago, IL
White Wine San - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Panino al Gelato Limone - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Organic Tomato Salad - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Fontina Val D'aosta - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Profiteroles - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Sausage Rissoto - Quartino, Chicago, IL

Quartino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Energetic

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

Good for Groups (145)
Casual (115)
Fun (112)
See All
Authentic (107)
Special Occasion (97)
Good for a Date (96)
Family Style (91)
Tapas (88)
Comfort Food (85)
Fit for Foodies (82)
Neighborhood Gem (79)
Good for Birthdays (75)
Hot Spot (69)
Notable Wine List (69)
Outstanding Value (57)
Tasting Menu (56)
Great for Outdoor Dining (54)
People Watching (53)
Romantic (47)
Great for Lunch (45)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Cozy (42)
Happy Hour (40)
Kid-friendly (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (38)
Good Vegetarian Options (37)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Late-night Find (35)
Bar Seating (33)
Worth the Drive (27)
Business Meals (27)
Wood Oven (25)
Open Kitchen (19)
Quick Bite (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Historic (15)
Healthy (14)
Sunday Lunch (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Private Room (11)
Scenic View (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Seasonal (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Great Beer (6)
Fireplace (4)
Live Sports (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Organic (3)
Spicy (3)
Vegan (3)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
5594 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was great - made a reservation a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great - made a reservation and we were seated right away. Waiter was at our table within seconds of us sitting down with bread and water. Food was served family style and came out relatively fast. We enjoyed everything we ordered!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place is great and the prices seem f ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

The place is great and the prices seem fine...until you get your food and realize the portions are TINY. That was very disappointing.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

This is a great spot for casual dinning, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a great spot for casual dinning, for sharing food with excellent staff. Food is served hot, staff are helpful ordering and wine prices are reasonable. Just a nice friendly place !

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Wood Oven, Family Style, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very friendly staff. Great food and coxk ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Very friendly staff. Great food and coxktails. Eric and Rob were fabulous staff eating at the bar.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always choose to eat at Quartino when ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We always choose to eat at Quartino when we are in Chicago for great Italian food.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to try smaller portioned Ita ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to try smaller portioned Italian dishes. The two of us ordered eggplant Parmesan and a pizza and we ended up having leftover pizza to take home. Would definitely like to try other dishes too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Amazing food and service!

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Amazing food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an overall wonderful dining exper ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

It was an overall wonderful dining experience. Perfect portion sizes of a large variety of Italian dishes. I will definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quartino is one of my favorite "go to" ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Quartino is one of my favorite "go to" restaurants when getting together with friends or treating guests from out of town. Love the small plate philosophy and never disappointed! Our server this time was particularly fun, helpful and patient .

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here before a few times but th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

I've been here before a few times but this was the first time I got the fondue and it is absolutely amazing. I will definitely have to get this any time I come back. The spinach salad we got was just okay, but the other dishes made up for it. I recommend the risotto as well.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food. Even with reservations we wa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food. Even with reservations we waited almost 15 minutes past our scheduled time. Hot spot and very popular but good

Tags: Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating my daughters birthda ...

 
 (London)·Dined 7 days ago

We were celebrating my daughters birthday. We were given the small private room (which was not requested). It was amazing! The food was fantastic and our servers were so wonderful-- super patient with 9 teenage girls. Thank you for making it a super special evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While it doesn't make the top lists, thi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

While it doesn't make the top lists, this place is always packed when we visit. The menu is creative, the food prepared fresh , and we just had a fantastic time- as was true in our previous visits. Table location may be important, as it can feel cramped at times. Server attention flagged a few times, but when the food arrived All was forgotten. None of the dishes seem routine or pre-made. We could have spent 3-4 times more at high end Italian, but we'll come here.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

For having a party of 7, I would say eve ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

For having a party of 7, I would say everything went very well including our waitress who was able to handle all of our questions even though we were all talking at once or so it seemed. We had 2 pastas, 2 pizzas & calamari and it was plenty for us. Everything was very good. Have been there before but not with such a large group.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

What a fun place! Super busy but we did ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

What a fun place! Super busy but we did not feel rushed at our table at all. The food was amazing! Highly recommend.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Tapas, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun atmosphere, good food. Try the char ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fun atmosphere, good food. Try the charcuterie! Perfect spot for a friends' get together. Close to the Red Line. Good for after-Michigan -Avenue shopping!

Tags: Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Love! Love! Love! Great ambiance. I lo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Love! Love! Love! Great ambiance. I love to go around Christmas time. It is a very lively place and the food is excellent!

Tags: Family Style, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very tight and very crowded but this was ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Very tight and very crowded but this was off set by good service and food. If the restaurant was a little more cozy or quiet it would be perfect.

Tags: Historic, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server was great! The salmon was ov ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our server was great! The salmon was overcooked was my only complaint about the food. We ordered 3 salmons and all three were overcooked.

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Everytime I go to Chicago I go to Quarti ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Everytime I go to Chicago I go to Quartino. It's really a good place, with good food and an excellent value. The only problem is that it's very noisy.

Tags: Authentic, Quick Bite, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service and even better food

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent service and even better food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is an extensive menu and the porti ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 1, 2016

There is an extensive menu and the portions are generous. While good food there was nothing special about the quality. Good wine by the glass. Helpful and knowledgeable waitress. Environment upstairs leaves a lot to be desired. Very crowded table layout. Table for four was to small for four with all of the food and plates. Noisy, with table next to us with five kids. Not a very good experience all in all.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

The food was not good but our server was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The food was not good but our server was nice. One thing after another went wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Quartinos never fails to impress. They h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Quartinos never fails to impress. They have great Italian style tapas and you can never go wrong no matter what you get. The food always taste's fresh and homemade. The service is outstanding and everyone from the hostess to the server to the bus boys to the managers is extremely friendly and welcoming. Their wine in carafes is a great deal and their pizza is the perfect size for sharing [or eating all by yourself]. Would highly recommend this place for a good cozy italian dinner. Also the desserts are incredible make sure you save room for the chocolate cake and caramel banana sundae.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Business Meals, People Watching, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Quartino! Anytime friends visit fro ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Love Quartino! Anytime friends visit from out of state, this is my go to place. Delicious food and a great experience!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sangria was delicious! Food was ok, noth ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Sangria was delicious! Food was ok, nothing amazing but not bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

4 families, 10 kids , brilliant service

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

4 families, 10 kids , brilliant service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quartino's never fails to disappoint. G ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Quartino's never fails to disappoint. Good fresh ingredients and friendly staff, as well as pepperoni pizzas that are to die for!

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could only get a table by Opentable at n ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Could only get a table by Opentable at nine on a Saturday.

Restaurant was still full and overflowing with customers the atmosphere was great.

Notwithstanding the crowds we were seating promptly and service was excellent.

Food was spot on, perfectly sized servings, excellent flavors and well presented.

I will always try and return whenever I am in Chicago.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nick rocked our night. He was awesome fr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Nick rocked our night. He was awesome from beginning to end, and paid enough attention to us without being overbearing. Love the meatballs napoli, tortellini and bacon wrapped dates, among the many dishes we ordered. Love coming here with groups since we can order a ton of dishes without overdoing it. We celebrated a special occasion, but we go for no reason at all, too! Love it here.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was my second visit and I will defini ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

It was my second visit and I will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We found the service to be unorganized. ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We found the service to be unorganized. Although we had the option of two servers they did not seem coordinated. Some items were forgotten or wrong. Had higher expectations.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

My friend and ate here on a busy Chicago ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My friend and ate here on a busy Chicago weekend. We arrived early for our reservation and were immediately seated. The place is extremely busy, yet efficient. I order the tomato soup- good/average. Could have had more flavor. My friend ordered the chicken soup and loved it. I ordered the gnocchi as an entree and was disappointed with the lack of flavor. My friend ordered the beef pasta and said it was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Great food and atmosphere. Location is v ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Location is very good as well.

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great service - as always. We love this ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great service - as always. We love this place! Great food at reasonable prices.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again Quartino never disappoints. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Once again Quartino never disappoints. Amazing food. Just so clean and perfect. Love this place....over and over!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Authentic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Chicago staple! Low key, but always gr ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

A Chicago staple! Low key, but always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Food, great variety, not your typi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great Food, great variety, not your typical Chicago Pizza place. Great for small groups or large parties. Menu had great choices, will go back next time I am in Chicago!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Family Style, Private Room, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great pizza - sat at the bar on a busy b ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great pizza - sat at the bar on a busy black Friday night - great food and atmosphere

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, great big city bustling atmo ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, great big city bustling atmosphere, great service, good value. We have been there many times and it has never disappointed. If you like authentic Italian food in a lively setting, then I would highly recommend Quartino. Definitely not the place for a quiet romantic meal, it's a place to enjoy great food in a unique atmosphere that cannot be duplicated in a suburban location. You need to go as you will love it!!!

Tags: Wood Oven, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.