About Quartino

626 N. State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Quartino, an urban Italian restaurant and wine bar, is the creation of Hugo Ralli, Steve Lombardo (owners of Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, Hugo’s Frog Bar & Fish House, LUXBAR) and Exec Chef / Partner John Coletta. Quartino combines the best of Italy’s osteria and enoteca to offer an authentic everyday Italian food and wine experience. “Where wine is cheaper than water” Throughout Europe, in bistro after osteria after enoteca, fresh local wines of high quality and unique characteristics are priced as a less expensive alternative to bottled water. Reservation requests for patio seating are not accepted. Patio seating is first come, first serve.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Bar Daily: 3:00pm - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 698-5000

Website:
http://www.quartinochicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available $14.

Executive Chef:
John Coletta

Private Party Facilities:
Quartino embraces the true essence and environment of an authentic Italian urban ristorante, pizzeria and wine bar in quintessential Gibsons Restaurant Group style. Quartino can accommodate private parties of 10-100 guests for luncheons, cocktail & antipasti parties, and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Jensen: 8886413569

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Nutella Panino
Veal Meatball Sliders
zeppole
Tiramisu
White Wine San
Panino al Gelato Limone
Organic Tomato Salad
Fontina Val D'aosta
Profiteroles
Sausage Rissoto

Quartino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

Good for Groups (345)
Fit for Foodies (265)
Great for Outdoor Dining (221)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (205)
Special Occasion (204)
Hot Spot (196)
Notable Wine List (147)
Great for Lunch (120)
Romantic (104)
Vibrant Bar Scene (93)
Kid-friendly (90)
Late-night Find (83)
Scenic View (31)
Great for Brunch (28)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Historic (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5320 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I love the concept but the food was only ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined a day ago

I love the concept but the food was only fair. The kale salad was not good. I make a better one at home! We ordered the gnocchi and it was a little strange. The only dish that was good was the eggplant parmigiana!

At least the Pinot noir was good!

We will not be going back so fast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

A little too crowded and noisy for my ta ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

A little too crowded and noisy for my taste. Tables are jammed into the space, to the point that we felt intruded upon by our neighbor and regularly bumped by the wait staff (who did an excellent job trying to work around the situation). Food was reasonable but nothing to write home about. Favorite dish was the generous portions of prosciutto and ham. Least favorite was the gnocchi. Left with ringing in my ears, which isn't properly captured by 'energetic' atmosphere!

Tags: Casual, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Excellent service and amazing food!

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Have been here a few times now and love ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Have been here a few times now and love it every time! I planned a going-away dinner for myself and Quartinos was super accommodating. Even thought we were a bit late for our reservation, they were understanding and reserved our table. The food was excellent as always, and we all had a great time. The wine list is great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Cozy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Romantic, Fireplace, Gluten Free Options, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience. Great food an ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great experience. Great food and ambiance with reasonable prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a terrific meal sitting outside o ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a terrific meal sitting outside on a beautiful evening. We loved the tasting menu and service was very attentive and friendly.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We had the most wonderful dinner at Quar ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had the most wonderful dinner at Quartino. Derek really stepped it up for our large group and was able to accommodate our requests. We have a large group coming back for a week long meeting in October and you can bet I'll be sending them your way in droves. Thank you for a wonderful evening Quartino staff! You were all absolutely delightful and the food was TO DIE FOR.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salads at Quartino ALWAYS are flat, almo ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Salads at Quartino ALWAYS are flat, almost tasteless.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Food does not come at same time, resulti ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food does not come at same time, resulting in people at table eating at different times. Food lacked flavor-very bland. Temperature of food was warm at best

I would not recommend this restaurant, especially if you enjoy authentic Italian food

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Wait staff was excellent and helpful wit ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wait staff was excellent and helpful with navigating and positioning our stroller with sleeping child in your crowded restaurant. However our experience was spoiled by a host who without a "please" or "sorry" told us we had to move our stroller so another table could be seated and made no attempt to either help with repositioning or suggesting a different configuration. Nor was I impressed when another hostess felt it more important to squeeze by me and cut off my path when I was trying to exit the dining room with said stroller. In both cases, the other restaurant patrons were much more accommodating and suggested to sit at another open table, and allowed me to pass first.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great place to get some authentic Italia ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great place to get some authentic Italian. Very good prices for the amount of food and quality of food. Good to go with a group of people and share a variety of items. Would visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tapas, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

I had high expectations and was admitted ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I had high expectations and was admittedly underwhelmed. The bread and oil they brought to the table was okay. Food was nothing unique and slightly bland. however, nice ambiance and cheerful staff.

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We had a really wonderful experience her ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We had a really wonderful experience here. The food was delicious, as were the house wine and sangria. Our server did a superb job; he gave great menu recommendations and made all of the dishes that came out vegetarian for us. One of the better meals and service experiences we've had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place!! I enjoy sitting outdo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love this place!! I enjoy sitting outdoors when the weather permits! Upstairs bar area is always fun too. Great place to share everything!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always consistent at quartino. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food is always consistent at quartino. The biggest issue was noise...it was unbelievably loud even for a 9p reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Amazing Calamari and delicious house win ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Amazing Calamari and delicious house wine. We enjoyed the outdoor seating and love ordering lots of small plates. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Amazing food, waiter disappeared at time ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Amazing food, waiter disappeared at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Friends met me after work and we went to ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Friends met me after work and we went to Quartinos. The food and service was very good.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the shrimp risotto we ordered, ling ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Love the shrimp risotto we ordered, linguine, beef and pizza. Will come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu is versatile enough for everyon ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The menu is versatile enough for everyone. You can order a few small plates or share a Neapolitano pizza (loved the Margherita). They make their own orangecello--it's potent and tasty. The service is attentive without being intrusive, and even the manager stops by. Yes, it's a little noisy, but it's the kind of noise that's high energy and fun. Whether you came with your kids, a date, or a group of people, you'll feel as though you're at a big party with lots of new Chicago friends.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quartino's is among our Chicago favorite ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Quartino's is among our Chicago favorites. The food and European atmosphere make us want to return again and again.

Tags: Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in Chicago for a meeting, and 9 ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We were in Chicago for a meeting, and 9 of us came here for dinner. The food was really good and the waiter was fun, informative and quick. We had a ton of food for a reasonable price. Would definitely come back here when visiting Chicago!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really loved being here with my friends. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Really loved being here with my friends. We decided to have our bachelorette party dinner at Quartino's and I was not disappointed.

Loved the Shrimp Risotto and the bacon wrapped dates. I can't wait to go back and try some other small plates.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time! The food was good. Waiter ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great time! The food was good. Waiter very nice. The place has a lot of character. We will be back. Thanks!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dined with out of town coworkers on 08/1 ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Dined with out of town coworkers on 08/13/2016 . Shared many items including the calamari. Bacon wrapped dates, several pizzas, and of course the zeppole donuts for desert, which were piping hot as they should be. Great experience as usual. Can be loud when restaurant is full, which is often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Food was outstanding. House made pasta ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was outstanding. House made pasta and risotto were especially good. Teenagers broadened their food horizons by the shared plate nature of Quartino service.

We were in town for vacation and went to Quartino twice. First because it was open late. Second time at the insistence of the family.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing service. Great pasta, homemade ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Amazing service. Great pasta, homemade salami, and donuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very noisy, crowded space, be prepared. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very noisy, crowded space, be prepared. Food honestly tasted like bland canned kid's food pasta. The server was nice in that he comped our clearly under cooked pasta with another dish of choice, but still the three pastas we had were just very sub-par. Will not return, sorry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

I get the sense this place survives on t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I get the sense this place survives on tourists and large groups of people who are looking for a good price point and decent food. The service was awful, except for the busboys , one of which gave us a pasta recommendation when our server couldn't be bothered. The baby spinach salad was okay, the pizza and pasta were good and the dessert was phenomenal. If you are here with a large group and do not care about service the prices are great and this is the place for you otherwise avoid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

The staff and Manager were amazing. It ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The staff and Manager were amazing. It was warm so the manager brought us a fan! (They were in the process of fixing the AC)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Location of table was great because we c ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Location of table was great because we could have a nice conversation even when the restaurant was packed but the service left much to be desired. Service was slow and our server wasn't friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

Outstanding service Food not great

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Outstanding service

Food not great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Awesome eats! Polenta fries are a must ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Awesome eats! Polenta fries are a must have....but everything was great!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've been here a couple times previous t ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

I've been here a couple times previous to this and it's just been much better--food and service-wise. Don't think I'm giving up on it--hopefully it was just an off-night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Love this restaurant! Always phenomenal!

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Love this restaurant! Always phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quartino was perfect! The food and staf ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Quartino was perfect! The food and staff was amazing. I highly recommend the Penne Ala Vodka and the Tortellini. Finish your visit off with a Lemincello Martini. You won't regret it!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here every time we go to Chicago, ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We eat here every time we go to Chicago, always on the patio. Great staff, and the food is simply wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasions, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighbourhood Gem, Outdoor Eating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food. Amazing Service. Would rec ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Amazing food. Amazing Service. Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Midnight, you are with a couple of frien ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Midnight, you are with a couple of friends, hungry, what cna you do? Quartino is the best! Open late and great pizza!

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time and we loved it! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was our first time and we loved it! The food was amazing and you can't beat the price. Portion sizes were perfect too. The waitress we had was very helpful on suggestions. It was a very happening place where you could do a date night or just a regular night out. Defiantly will be back when we are in the area!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.