About Quartino

626 N. State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Quartino, an urban Italian restaurant and wine bar, is the creation of Hugo Ralli, Steve Lombardo (owners of Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, Hugo’s Frog Bar & Fish House, LUXBAR) and Exec Chef / Partner John Coletta. Quartino combines the best of Italy’s osteria and enoteca to offer an authentic everyday Italian food and wine experience. “Where wine is cheaper than water” Throughout Europe, in bistro after osteria after enoteca, fresh local wines of high quality and unique characteristics are priced as a less expensive alternative to bottled water. Reservation requests for patio seating are not accepted. Patio seating is first come, first serve.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Bar Daily: 3:00pm - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 698-5000

Website:
http://www.quartinochicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available $14.

Executive Chef:
John Coletta

Private Party Facilities:
Quartino embraces the true essence and environment of an authentic Italian urban ristorante, pizzeria and wine bar in quintessential Gibsons Restaurant Group style. Quartino can accommodate private parties of 10-100 guests for luncheons, cocktail & antipasti parties, and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Jensen: (888) 641-3569

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Nutella Panino - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Veal Meatball Sliders - Quartino, Chicago, IL
zeppole - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Tiramisu - Quartino, Chicago, IL
White Wine San - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Panino al Gelato Limone - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Organic Tomato Salad - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Fontina Val D'aosta - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Profiteroles - Quartino, Chicago, IL
Sausage Rissoto - Quartino, Chicago, IL

Quartino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (138)
Fun (122)
Casual (109)
See All
Family Style (104)
Authentic (104)
Good for a Date (95)
Tapas (94)
Comfort Food (88)
Special Occasion (85)
Good for Birthdays (81)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Hot Spot (68)
Tasting Menu (67)
Notable Wine List (61)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Outstanding Value (56)
Cozy (52)
Pre/post Theatre (49)
Creative Cuisine (49)
People Watching (49)
Romantic (41)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Happy Hour (37)
Good Vegetarian Options (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Late-night Find (30)
Kid-friendly (28)
Business Meals (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Wood Oven (24)
Open Kitchen (20)
Quick Bite (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Healthy (14)
Historic (12)
Private Room (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Seasonal (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Great Beer (6)
Scenic View (6)
Live Sports (5)
Vegan (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Fireplace (4)
Spicy (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Organic (2)
Live Music (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Waterfront (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
6010 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food is decent, fun to share small plate ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is decent, fun to share small plates and try a variety of menu options - you can order dishes periodically throughout your time there. The food is brought to your table incredibly fast which brings up the point that much of it is sitting in a warming pot/ dish ready to scoop. The house white wine is a great deal by the liter. My favorite is the atmosphere, lively yet calm, fun yet romantic. For the winter time, a great escape from the Chicago chills.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Been there twice and had great meals bot ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 3 days ago

Been there twice and had great meals both times. Great place to share good Italian dishes with friends. Fun atmosphere and great staff. My new go to spot when in Chicago.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dining at Quartino's, is steadily beccom ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Dining at Quartino's, is steadily beccoming one of my favorite things to do. There is such a fun, energetic vibe there. its infectious! I had dinner with my sister and best friend, and we had a ball. The food was amazing. The linguine with white clams sauce was the best ever, as were the polenta fries, and the chicken, and the pancetta wrapped dates were scrumptious. The dessrrts were excellent. The tiramisu was supernatual! Being a pastry chef myself, im usually picky about dessert, but the lady fingers were so tender, and moist, and the mascarpone smooth and creamy.

Thank you for giving us such a wonderful experience. Our waiter was very helpful, and attentive.

Roberta Wilson

Tags: Spicy, Bar Seating, Fun, Live Sports, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with the family while visit ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Great dinner with the family while visiting Chicago. Home made pasta was delicious. Perfect place to take kids and great value.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, People Watching, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Really great food and the small plates a ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 4 days ago

Really great food and the small plates allow you to share appetizers with friends

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went with our family and two small child ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 4 days ago

Went with our family and two small children. It was a great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food. Had the porcini risotto as ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Had the porcini risotto as well as pasta pasta with gluten free pasta. The arugula salad was great as was the ricotta goat cheese appetizer. The wait staff and management were friendly and responsive. All-in a great find.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Cozy, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was a wonderful evening. We visited for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Was a wonderful evening. We visited for a birthday celebration and the food was wonderful, as was the service. We loved that they encouraged sharing, so we were able to order multiple dishes and not feel uncomfortable passing them around for all to eat.

This was my second time there and I can't wait to go back. If you're looking for wonderful, affordable Italian, this is absolutely the place to go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Business Meals, , Family Style, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing, as always!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a nice experience. The only drawb ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

Always a nice experience. The only drawback is it's super loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too loud- need better noise control

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Too loud- need better noise control

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the few places able taking reserv ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

One of the few places able taking reservations at normal dinner hours. Very convenient for taking limited mobility diners.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Family Style, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time I tried Quartino's was with w ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

First time I tried Quartino's was with work and I had no choice in menu. I did not like the choices that were picked for our group so I though I'd give another try and maybe if I got to choose I'd see why it gets good reviews. I still was not impressed with the food and will not go back. Service and ambiance were very good though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a good meal and small plates allo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Always a good meal and small plates allow for a variety of choices. The food comes out as ready and our selections were just the right portion size. We love brussel sprouts and the brussel sprout salad was a bit too "raw." Not what we expected. Bacon wrapped dates are the best.

Tags: Fun,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience. very special and the ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Great Experience. very special and the food was out of this world. My Girlfriend it's the pizza she's ever had.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Perfect for casual business. Get some dr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Perfect for casual business. Get some drinks, share some food, talk some biz. Try the veal meatball sliders. Servers know the wine list very well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great experience - the hostess very grac ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great experience - the hostess very graciously accommodated a fluctuating number of diners. We felt embarrassed for causing so much inconvenience since we were a large group of (eventually) 12 but the servers rose up to the occasion magnificently.

We didn't want to make menu choices so asked our waitress to design a feast and she did! Plate after plate of gorgeous food came streaming to the table, all demolished.

A perfect evening for what could easily have turned out to be a disaster. A big thank you to the Quartino staff!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Quartino! G ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our first visit to Quartino! Great place for our family ~ we love good food, good wine and excellent service and we got it all here!!! We will definitely be back on our next trip to Chicago. FUN, FUN, FUN!

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined on a busy Saturday evening. We ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We dined on a busy Saturday evening. We were seated on time per our reservation which we really appreciated as the place was packed! Great service, not rushed at all. Excellent menu, designed for sharing. Our table of six ordered soups/appetizers, then we ordered the Salumeria Tasting board and it was bountiful, easily enough nibbles of everything for the six of us. We also ordered three entree dishes that we shared family style. One dessert per couple and we were well satisfied. Try the Profiteroles! They are freshly prepared to order. Ask your server to serve with both chocolate and honey on the side for dipping - probably the best I've tried anywhere!

Note: On a Saturday night the place is hopping; translation: loud! Would we come back? Absolutely, but on a future visit we may just want to saunter in late afternoon for some prosecco, cicchieti, and quiet conversation in the bar.

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I've been to Quartino's many times and a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

I've been to Quartino's many times and always loved the food, atmosphere and service. Tonite however was a big miss. One of our parties food didn't come until well after the rest of us had finished our meals despite us waiting and inquiring several times. Also the food was not up to its usual standards. This won't entirely stop me from going again given my past experiences but it will give me pause as there are plenty of other excellent restaurants around in the same category.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value5

First time there. Walked by it several t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

First time there. Walked by it several times on prior visits but didn't think of stopping in until we saw it reviewed on the Food Network. Very good. Great service. Very vibrant environment. Great value! And the food was outstanding! Love the family style because it allows you to try several menu items. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Authentic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Quartino is one of my favorite restauran ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Quartino is one of my favorite restaurants in Chicago. The food is delicious and very reasonably priced. Likewise, you can find great value on wine. I think people occasionally look passed Quartino because it is in a touristy area, but it would be a mistake to do so. I can't recommend Quartino enough. I have probably been here 20 times and could eat here every day.

Tags: , Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time when we eat at Quart ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a great time when we eat at Quartino! The managers really know how to take care of their customers.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure being at Quartino. The ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Always a pleasure being at Quartino. The food is impeccable and service is awesome. They are so accommodating to families with kids.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is always great!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This place is always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food were excellent.

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The service and food were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as usual

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Wonderful as usual

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here on New Year's Day in the eve ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We ate here on New Year's Day in the evening. Restaurant was packed and loud. Took forever to get our food, seems like the kitchen can't handle the number of people they seat. Food was OK but not worth the wait and the noise. Also, they play random Italian movies on the TVs in the restaurant with no sound or subtitles. Weird.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The small plates were perfect for our fa ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The small plates were perfect for our family. We loved the various soccer jerseys worn by the waitstaff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently one of our favorite restaur ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Consistently one of our favorite restaurants in Chicago. The food is always excellent and great for sharing, and the wine list is both extensive and accessible. Service is fast and friendly.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent as always, do yourself a favor ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent as always, do yourself a favor and order the Fondue

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very crowded New Year's Eve, but the ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Was very crowded New Year's Eve, but the waiter was attentive with very good suggestions. Every meal was outstanding and was a great place to go to overall!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went to Quartino for ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My boyfriend and I went to Quartino for New Years Eve dinner and I regret making this decision. I would not recommend it for a special occasion or a romantic evening. There were many children who's parents were poorly behaved and didnt care that there were adults trying to have a relaxed and romantic time. Our service was sub par, the food was also sub par and overall, I regretted the decision to go there for NYE the moment we sat down. I was very excited to take my boyfriend there as he had never been, but he does not plan on going back and did not enjoy his experience. I will say, on less busy nights, sitting at the bar for charcuterie and wine is pleasant, but that is where I would draw the line. Totally bummed about it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

The waiter was attractive his name was P ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The waiter was attractive his name was Paul and he was so nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's small plate tapas Italian. I'd say ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

It's small plate tapas Italian. I'd say every dish is for two people to share. We were able to try so many different dishes between the two of us and with drinks it's was only about $75 a couple. So reasonable for the amount of food and drink. Everything was so good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Horrendous service. Mediocre food. Pasta ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Horrendous service. Mediocre food. Pasta noodles were cold but the sauce was hot. Good pizza but greasy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Good food and service but seated way bac ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food and service but seated way back in a corner upstairs which lacked ambiance and charm. Disappointing since we made reservations a month out

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My absolute favorite restaurant in Chica ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My absolute favorite restaurant in Chicago!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always our go to food in the city!! Bes ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always our go to food in the city!! Best service, food, portions, fresh everything! Thx!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Servings were smaller than expected. "F ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Servings were smaller than expected. "Family style" did not accurately represent what the servings would be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.