About Quartino

626 N. State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Quartino, an urban Italian restaurant and wine bar, is the creation of Hugo Ralli, Steve Lombardo (owners of Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, Hugo’s Frog Bar & Fish House, LUXBAR) and Exec Chef / Partner John Coletta. Quartino combines the best of Italy’s osteria and enoteca to offer an authentic everyday Italian food and wine experience. “Where wine is cheaper than water” Throughout Europe, in bistro after osteria after enoteca, fresh local wines of high quality and unique characteristics are priced as a less expensive alternative to bottled water. Reservation requests for patio seating are not accepted. Patio seating is first come, first serve.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Bar Daily: 3:00pm - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 698-5000

Website:
http://www.quartinochicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available $14.

Executive Chef:
John Coletta

Private Party Facilities:
Quartino embraces the true essence and environment of an authentic Italian urban ristorante, pizzeria and wine bar in quintessential Gibsons Restaurant Group style. Quartino can accommodate private parties of 10-100 guests for luncheons, cocktail & antipasti parties, and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Jensen: 8886413569

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Nutella Panino
Veal Meatball Sliders
Organic Tomato Salad
zeppole
Fontina Val D'aosta
White Wine San
Tiramisu
Panino al Gelato Limone
Profiteroles
Sausage Rissoto

Quartino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

good for groups (383)
fit for foodies (300)
special occasion (216)
See All
neighborhood gem (212)
great for outdoor dining (199)
hot spot (197)
notable wine list (149)
great for lunch (137)
romantic (102)
vibrant bar scene (101)
kid-friendly (93)
late-night find (88)
great for brunch (27)
scenic view (25)
business meals (1)
outstanding value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Awesome as always :)

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined a day ago

Awesome as always :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is extremely loud and difficult to he ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined 3 days ago

It is extremely loud and difficult to hear your friends if they aren't sitting right next to you. But lots of fun and the food was wonderful and portions were larger than expected.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved being able to sit outside. Hostes ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved being able to sit outside. Hostess was very pleasant and attentive. Server - less so. Food was good, and of good value.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

My wife and I went while we were in town ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I went while we were in town for our anniversary weekend on a recommendation from a friend. We loved it! The pasta is amazing and everything was sharable and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. It's just ve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food and service. It's just very noisy when it's crowded. Great value.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

A fabulous restaurant with a picturesque ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined 4 days ago

A fabulous restaurant with a picturesque setting. The food was fabulous, however on this particular evening our waitress was disappointing. When we asked about dishes she seemed bothered to explain. She made the beautiful meal feel rushed and as if we were inconveniencing her.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Excellent food, service and consistency! ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, service and consistency! Good job!!!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Decided to give Quartino a try when I di ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 5 days ago

Decided to give Quartino a try when I discovered they were part of the same restaurant management group as Gibson's & Hugo's and I'm glad I did. Very nice atmosphere, excellent food, great service.......a most pleasant experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went there for lunch. How do I say this, ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Went there for lunch. How do I say this, it was just very, very whatever. In Chicago, that doesnt work. They should consider if they should even bother being open for lunch. It seemed, from wait staff to the food, that nothing mattered for the diner. You can do worse in Chicago - but why think like that? There are too many better options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Italian small plates, food is really tas ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

Italian small plates, food is really tasty, great for groups but it is intense inside, too loud, your shouting over your meal. The only part I did not like.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good service, both general manager and a ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Good service, both general manager and assistant gm came to our table to see if everything was good. It was special, especially since I was catching up with a friend I hadn't seen in 2 years. We ordered the two for $25 shareable lunch. It was delicious.

Thank you Mark Freidman, General Manager

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and friendly service. Glad we ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Good food and friendly service. Glad we made a reservation. Very crowded and noisy on a Sunday night -- almost too loud for a conversation at times.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Always great food. Great place to take ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always great food. Great place to take the family or just dinner for two. This has been one of our favorite places to eat when visiting Chicago for several years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Our server was very attentive and inform ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our server was very attentive and informative. We were not sure about sizes of the dishes ordered. Food was very good but we should have ordered more.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great ambiance, location, food, and serv ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great ambiance, location, food, and service. The old style wine glasses that are stemless took away from the experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is outstanding, the outdoor bal ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food is outstanding, the outdoor balcony is fantastic. Four stars.

Sadly, the service does not measure up to the standard set by the food or atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Incredible food and atmosphere. Best Ita ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Incredible food and atmosphere. Best Italian in Chicago by far.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I made this reservation months in advanc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I made this reservation months in advance for a bachelorette party. Unfortunately, we were seated over an hour after our reservation time. While the host stand was very accommodating and apologetic (bringing wine and a small appetizer plate over to tie us over), I would have appreciated a phone call to let us know our table was running significantly late. We were rushing and cut the gifts and pre-dinner cocktails short in order to make the reservation, only to stand in the lobby for over an hour. Food was, as usual, delicious and so reasonably priced. The group had a great time once seated!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Excellent evening. The management is ver ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent evening. The management is very attentive which added to the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our dining experience ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our dining experience but for a date it was really loud. The food was delicious but every once in a while we would go without our server which was a bit annoying when we wanted to order another item. Overall we really enjoyed our experience and would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great atmosphere, great pricing, and a e ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, great pricing, and a excellent wine list. The place was packed the whole night, but we never felt like we were crowded or that our server was too busy. Had an awesome time.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and took amazing care of us. ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great food and took amazing care of us. Really appreciate how helpful our waiter was.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food. The seafood plate with bread ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good food. The seafood plate with bread was so delicious. The mushroom pizza was a little better than average. Not a ton of flavor and the crust was really soggy. The white blend wine - pinot grigio and something else was very good, and 1/2 bottle was a great value. Service was very good. The manager even came around to check on us and other tables as well. So thumbs up to customer service. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I thought the food was very good. Fun to ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I thought the food was very good. Fun to share plates and sample several dishes. Service was attentive. But the restaurant was very loud and cramped. There was a patron trying to push an elderly man in a wheelchair through the restaurant and everyone had to stand up and push in their chairs in order for him to get through.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

This was our second visit to Quartinos a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

This was our second visit to Quartinos and it was a completely different experience to our first visit. The restaurant was extremely noisy, it took 20 minutes to bring a diet coke for my mother, the first dish was served within 10 minutes of arriving and then nothing else came for around half an hour.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Consistently good food and service. I've ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Consistently good food and service. I've been here several times and each time the food is good and the server goes above what you would expect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love those place

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Love those place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Restaurant did not have a kids menu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The Restaurant did not have a kids menu and the pizza sauce was pretty bitter.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Very loud....almost too loud for a non b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very loud....almost too loud for a non big group or occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We always enjoy Quartinos. Family favori ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We always enjoy Quartinos. Family favorite with delicious food👍 Oder tapas style and share lots of different delicious food in rounds . Especially love the pizzas white bean dip and asparagus risotto- we order at least two every time we go& we will be back! Yummy wine and nice cocktails also. Highly recommend!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place! Great service. Good foo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Love this place! Great service. Good food. Very authentic.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had very good service, nice wine reco ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We had very good service, nice wine recommendations and the food is competent. It would be a great place for big groups like ours (8) except the noise level is so high it's almost impossible to talk

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Great restaurant but not best environmen ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great restaurant but not best environment for business dinner.... Very loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

My husband and I made reservations, we w ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

My husband and I made reservations, we were seated right away. Our server seemed very 'busy' but she had help with taking away dishes and someone else brought our food. All she had to do was take our order and bring our drinks and she was not very tentative or personable- almost rude. The noise level is very loud and everyone seems to be yelling to each other to speak over the next table. Food & desserts were good and priced reasonably.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Noise level would keep me from returning ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Noise level would keep me from returning to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

What a great restaurant. Delicious food ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

What a great restaurant. Delicious food, friendly and helpful wait staff, good atmosphere. The fish stew, argula pizza, limoncello and pomelocello, salads and everything were terrific. Can't say enough gold things. Samuel was a super waiter, we thank you so much!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love Quartino. The food is amazing and ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Love Quartino. The food is amazing and we enjoy the small plate idea. We sat in the room off the dining room. The AC dripped on me a couple of times. I asked our sever if it happened again, could we move. The restaurant was not full at the time. Instead, a staff member came over and apologized and they "mopped" the AC vent in the ceiling. They said the condensation caused the dripping. It dripped again, we got 2 free deserts. A good HVAC company could fix this

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very very very noisy. The street was qui ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Very very very noisy. The street was quieter than the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

our favorite place! The best restaurant ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

our favorite place! The best restaurant in river north

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We chose to have our meal on the upstair ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We chose to have our meal on the upstairs balcony. We were greeted by our waiter within a few minutes of our seating. He was helpful in explaining the menu and what was available and how their small plates work. He also suggested getting half servings of items on the menu which was great for sharing. However, as the dinner went on, his attention seemed to be pulled elsewhere. The food was delicious, however I would make sure you know what you are ordering. I ordered the shrimp and that's what I got, tiny shrimp on a plate with lemon. They were delicious, but I thought it would come with some kind of pasta. I still would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.