About Quartino

626 N. State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Quartino, an urban Italian restaurant and wine bar, is the creation of Hugo Ralli, Steve Lombardo (owners of Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, Hugo’s Frog Bar & Fish House, LUXBAR) and Exec Chef / Partner John Coletta. Quartino combines the best of Italy’s osteria and enoteca to offer an authentic everyday Italian food and wine experience. “Where wine is cheaper than water” Throughout Europe, in bistro after osteria after enoteca, fresh local wines of high quality and unique characteristics are priced as a less expensive alternative to bottled water. Reservation requests for patio seating are not accepted. Patio seating is first come, first serve.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Bar Daily: 3:00pm - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 698-5000

Website:
http://www.quartinochicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available $14.

Executive Chef:
John Coletta

Private Party Facilities:
Quartino embraces the true essence and environment of an authentic Italian urban ristorante, pizzeria and wine bar in quintessential Gibsons Restaurant Group style. Quartino can accommodate private parties of 10-100 guests for luncheons, cocktail & antipasti parties, and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Jensen: 8886413569

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Nutella Panino - Quartino
Veal Meatball Sliders - Quartino
zeppole - Quartino
Tiramisu - Quartino
White Wine San - Quartino
Panino al Gelato Limone - Quartino
Organic Tomato Salad - Quartino
Fontina Val D'aosta - Quartino
Profiteroles - Quartino
Sausage Rissoto - Quartino

Quartino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Energetic

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

Good for Groups (283)
Fit for Foodies (209)
Great for Outdoor Dining (193)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (175)
Special Occasion (174)
Hot Spot (151)
Notable Wine List (125)
Great for Lunch (102)
Romantic (94)
Kid-friendly (80)
Late-night Find (75)
Vibrant Bar Scene (72)
Authentic (44)
Fun (40)
Good for a Date (38)
Casual (37)
Tapas (36)
Scenic View (30)
Comfort Food (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Family Style (24)
Outstanding Value (23)
People Watching (20)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Tasting Menu (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Business Meals (13)
Cozy (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Historic (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Healthy (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was bad, not what expected.

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was bad, not what expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

The pasta was disgusting. The house wine ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

The pasta was disgusting. The house wine was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4

I really enjoyed dining at this restaura ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

I really enjoyed dining at this restaurant, my first visit to Chicago and it was suggested as a good Italian restaurant and it truly was, the pomodora sauce was excellent, Andrew was a great server and very helpful explaining the menu

Tags: Open Kitchen, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Tables close together and pretty noisy, ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Tables close together and pretty noisy, so not great for a romantic dinner out, but a lively, enjoyable dining experience both times we've visited. We like to come when we're visiting Chicago and stay close by. There's something for everyone, and they're fresh pastas are excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The appetizers was good but the main cou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

The appetizers was good but the main course food was clearly pre-prepared and not cooked to order. It tasted like microwave food and it was a huge mistake coming here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

I got a message from OpenTable saying I ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 6 days ago

I got a message from OpenTable saying I missed my reservation but I did not. They honored our table for 7 and sat us upstairs. Receipt and pictures to prove it. Food was amazing but upstairs was a bit loud due to the sound being amplified by the tiny space. We usually sit downstairs and never have a problem. But food made up for it all. Loved it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Quartino's is one of our favorite restau ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Quartino's is one of our favorite restaurants. Definitely recommend reservations for the weekends since this place can get extremely packed! The food is definitely worth dealing with the weekend crowds or opt to go during the week for a more casual dining experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been fans of Quartino for the last ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

We've been fans of Quartino for the last 4 years. The small plates/half portion/shared plates format is one main reason, but the extreme quality of the flavors and overall wonderful service seals the deal.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food! Service was less on par. Noi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food! Service was less on par. Noise level was LOUD. Hard to have conversations. Probably would ask to sit outside if we go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Great food, great service, the bartender ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food, great service, the bartenders were friendly and helpful and fun! Matt Graham was super friendly, came to the table and made sure everything was going well and tasting wonderful! Waitress was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had lunch on the portico which was de ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had lunch on the portico which was delightful. It was a beautiful day and the service was excellent. We both just had salads and they were both delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Crowded, lively place. Loved the atmosph ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Crowded, lively place. Loved the atmosphere and food.

Service was friendly and

Manager made a visit to table to explain a cheese (and brought us some too!)

which was very nice!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

My husband and I were visiting Chicago ( ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

My husband and I were visiting Chicago (I for the first time) My sister,who lives in Wisconsin, recommended the restaurant. The menu was creative which made our selections difficult. Our server was ready to make suggestions and gave us the impression that he loved the food, the restaurant and genuinely wanted us to have the best overall experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Cozy, People Watching, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with a guest that had food allergy ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Went with a guest that had food allergy and the staff was extremely attentive and helpful. Very much appreciated. The restaurant was crazy busy, so the service was a bit on the slow side. Vibrant atmosphere and very loud, so don't go if you want to have a private conversation. Great food, with awesome selection.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Quartino has become one of my go-to spot ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Quartino has become one of my go-to spots when I need to have a good meal with an important business contact. The food is amazing. I enjoy the flexibility of being able to order an assortment of small plates, yet they also offer substantive main dishes. The service from start to finish is consistently excellent. I especially enjoy eating lunch in the bar. Quartino is truly a River North treasure.

Tags: Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always Sat outside. I ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Food was great as always

Sat outside. It's a red light so constant vehicles and of course Chicago fire with sirens on for 2 hours as they continually pass by

Support your local pd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Terrific Italian food reasonably priced. ...

 
 (Omaha)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Terrific Italian food reasonably priced.

Loved outdoor dining, tapas.

Great downtown location near our hotel.

Nice bar, popular place with great vibe.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, fabulous service! If you hav ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Great food, fabulous service! If you have large party, suggest requesting a big room upstairs, as the noise level is high in main dining room.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Our service was excellent. It was nice ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Our service was excellent. It was nice to sit outside but the tables do not have umbrellas to block the sun. I wish they would add a few tables that provide shade.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

What a great place... the food was fanta ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

What a great place... the food was fantastic and plentiful. You will not walk away hungry. I would recommend reservations because it is a busy place. Noise level is high... but the food and the service make you forget the noise. Our server was fantastic, Paul picked out our wine and recommended some great meals. Also, this is a place where the manager, Alysia, walks around and actually talks to the guests and seems like she genuinely loves her job and the team that works with her. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Historic, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, People Watching, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic grapefruit martini, aperol spr ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Fantastic grapefruit martini, aperol spritz and yummy food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was very loud, not a place to meet cr ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was very loud, not a place to meet cross country friends and have a conversation. I requested to sit outside but could not because I made a reservation... We were told the plates were family style, enough to share. The ravioli's were not big enough to share!! The food is of quality! I would go back, but not on a loud Sat night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value5

Our waiter was awesome! He gave us great ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our waiter was awesome! He gave us great service, kept everything upbeat and entertaining which can sometimes be hard with a large party (we had 11). Otherwise he gave great suggestions and was not annoying or came on too strong like some. The food was pretty good and could be shared, cocktails were great as well! Limoncellos were a hit with our table that night

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Historic, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Our reservation was at 9pm and we were s ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our reservation was at 9pm and we were seated at 9:35 (group of 3). Took a while to the server to come over. Before even ordering drinks, we order calamari that came out at least 45 minutes later. The food was okay.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Quartino was so good that we went back t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Quartino was so good that we went back the next night (after eating at Purple Pig)! Excellent! And you cannot beat the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

First timer. Good food in a nice, old fa ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

First timer. Good food in a nice, old fashioned atmosphere. Reasonable prices, excellent service. Every request was answered with "no problem". Definitely go back

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! Great small plates to share ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Delicious! Great small plates to share around the table. Large selection of dishes and a very good wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just average,and the noise ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The food was just average,and the noise level prevented any pleasant conversation.

The singles would like the numbers and "energy"but it did not live up to expectations

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

We had been here before for a weekend lu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had been here before for a weekend lunch and loved it. However, given its location we made a mistake of going here for dinner on a weekend night. It was mobbed and so noisy it was difficult to hear a person across the table. I also don't like having someone in the bathroom who is really not helping us and expecting a tip. That, in itself is a major turn-off for me in terms of coming again. I won't return on a weekend because of the noise and this bathroom thing but I would probably enjoy coming again for a weekend lunch. I think the crowd played a role in diminishing the quality of the food we had this time.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Dining outside is always great. Inside ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Dining outside is always great. Inside can get very loud. Great authenic food, sharing is recommended to get multiple tastes. Highly recommend the linguini with clams in white sauce...lots of garlic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quartino's is our favorite Italian resta ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Quartino's is our favorite Italian restaurant in the City. We love the Tapas and the authentic Euopean atmosphere. Every dish is great and fun to share.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Horrible. Server was inarticulate. He di ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Horrible. Server was inarticulate. He didn't place order according to what was requested. Forgot to order my salad. Partner's Clam Pasta dish was swimming in liquid. My Osso Buco was "inedible". Shoe Leather. Had one bite. Restaurant was recommended by my hotel. I told them to never recommend again. I would never go back unless by "gun point".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

We very much enjoyed our dinner. The p ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We very much enjoyed our dinner. The pizza favor, ingredients were quite good, however, the crust was so hard in the center, you could not cut it with a knife. You had to saw through it if your wanted to eat it that way. it was easier as a finger food, but still that should be corrected. The service was excellent. Servers were very friendly and helpful. We had 3 people over 90 years old with us and the staff was very helpful and thoughtful to find us a good table for the group. We will return.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, excellent food. Asked ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Excellent service, excellent food. Asked for semi private space and got an awesome spot. THank you!! Normally the restaurant is very loud but our space was perfect for us!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress provided excellent service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our waitress provided excellent service in a timely matter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend had been to Quartino's 3 times ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My friend had been to Quartino's 3 times previously so she was dying to take all of us there. We were able to make reservations for 11 people easily through OpenTable, and they were able to seat us within 15 minutes of us arriving. Our waitress was wonderful and the food was very good!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Casual, Historic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Tapas, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The restaurant was crazy loud. It becam ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The restaurant was crazy loud. It became louder as the night went on. You shouldn't have to shout to be heard over dinner. My ears literally hurt when I left the restaurant from the noise level. Our waiter was very good but after we had been at our table for about 2 hours ordering drinks, numerous tapas dishes, dessert and coffee, a female manager came to our table of 6 asking us if we were finished and if there was anything else she could get us in a strange way that made it clear to all of us that she wanted us to leave so she could have the table. Very rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

The server and food were excellent! Por ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The server and food were excellent! Portions are very generous.

Saturday night we sat upstairs and it was horribly loud. A large party next to us made it impossible to talk. The server moved us to the displeasure of the buser (he made it obvious) but it was still noisy.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful food, great service, and helpf ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful food, great service, and helpful staff!

Our choices were delicious and arrived fast and hot!

The waitstaff was helpful in answering questions and giving their own opinions of the best food choices.

We loved seeing "Big Night" on t he screen. It made us all want to go home and watch it again!

My only complaints would be the restrooms being upstairs and the hard seating. The seating is so hard when sitting for hours. Though nice and rustic, very hard on the posterior.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've eaten at Quartino's every annivers ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We've eaten at Quartino's every anniversary for the past 5 or 6 years. Although the excellent food keeps us coming back, this years anniversary was probably our last. The noise level was INCREDIBLY high, causing both of us to get headaches. Our table, located right outside the kitchen door, was right in everyone's path. My dinner came our promptly but my husbands came out a full 30 minutes later, after I'd fed him half of my dinner because he was so hungry. The management was very kind and took my husbands dinner off the bill. Very much appreciated. But all the reasons combined...we'll probably find a different "favorite" restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.