About Quartino

626 N. State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Quartino, an urban Italian restaurant and wine bar, is the creation of Hugo Ralli, Steve Lombardo (owners of Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, Hugo’s Frog Bar & Fish House, LUXBAR) and Exec Chef / Partner John Coletta. Quartino combines the best of Italy’s osteria and enoteca to offer an authentic everyday Italian food and wine experience. “Where wine is cheaper than water” Throughout Europe, in bistro after osteria after enoteca, fresh local wines of high quality and unique characteristics are priced as a less expensive alternative to bottled water. Reservation requests for patio seating are not accepted. Patio seating is first come, first serve.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Bar Daily: 3:00pm - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 698-5000

Website:
http://www.quartinochicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available $14.

Executive Chef:
John Coletta

Private Party Facilities:
Quartino embraces the true essence and environment of an authentic Italian urban ristorante, pizzeria and wine bar in quintessential Gibsons Restaurant Group style. Quartino can accommodate private parties of 10-100 guests for luncheons, cocktail & antipasti parties, and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Jensen: 8886413569

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Quartino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

good for groups (426)
fit for foodies (321)
special occasion (212)
See All
neighborhood gem (212)
hot spot (202)
notable wine list (169)
great for lunch (143)
vibrant bar scene (117)
romantic (109)
great for outdoor dining (102)
late-night find (95)
kid-friendly (95)
great for brunch (34)
scenic view (15)
Sort By:
Newest
5072 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and surprisingly reasonab ...

Dined 17 hours ago

Excellent food and surprisingly reasonably priced. Fun, energetic atmosphere. We will be back.

food2
ambience2
service1
value2

I m italian ,not worth the money for foo ...

Dined 4 days ago

I m italian ,not worth the money for food and service. This place they must make too much money that they don't care if they do something wrong. I spent $120 dollars we were 2 ,really disappointing for overall quality of everything . Poor.

food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was very good but our server wasn't ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food was very good but our server wasn't very attentive and forgot several items that were ordered.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent location and great atmosphere. ...

Dined 4 days ago

Excellent location and great atmosphere.....also reasonable priced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined 5 days ago

Place always packed ! Must mean something ! Great service at the bar ! Meal was outstanding and reasonable !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience1
service4
value4

Despite booking a reservation far in adv ...

Dined 5 days ago

Despite booking a reservation far in advance, our two top was in an overflow room that was so loud and crowded we literally could not speak to each other. My chair was kicked as every person passed by. I will never return, nor would I recommend others attempt a meal there either.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and our server was amazing!

Dined 5 days ago

This was the perfect spot to begin our bachelorette party festivities. Our server was attentive and personable and the food was so good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfection!

Dined 5 days ago

I couldn't have asked for a better experience here at Quartino. My husband and I came here for my pre- half marathon carb loading meal..AMAZING CHOICE!The restaurant was authentic and all of the food we ordered came out piping hot and absolutely fresh and delicious! I would HIGHLY recommend this place for all occasions!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Great cheese and wine selection!

Dined 6 days ago

Great cheese and wine selection!

food5
ambience5
service5

Asparagus risotto is my favorite! Also l ...

Dined 7 days ago

Asparagus risotto is my favorite! Also live sitting on the upstairs terrace.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always love coming here - top notch food ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Always love coming here - top notch food and service. Go early!!

food4
ambience4
service4

Went here with a group of 12 and everyon ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Went here with a group of 12 and everyone had a fantastic time. Food was great as was the service. It was a bit of a tight squeeze as the tables are quite close together but over all had a great night and would definitely recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant was recommended by a fri ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by a friend. We were visiting Chicago from Canada and ate dinner here this past Monday. It was awesome. We arrived early, but they seated us with no problem. Our waiter was great. There were 6 of us and we shared quite a few of the plates. Beer was good, some we had never heard of. The restaurant was very busy but we were never ignored and the food came out hot every time. If in Chicago again, we would definitely return for another meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

Very, very noisy. Food was average. Pric ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Very, very noisy. Food was average. Prices were good. We had a reservation and were seated almost immediately. It was so loud the four people dining together had to scream at each other the entire dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. The small p ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Excellent food and service. The small plates and sharing make this a memorable evening. Take your waiter's suggestions because you will not go wrong.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Regulars here.

Dined on May 14, 2016

Love the staff and most especially the food. Amazing pasta.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was delish!

Dined on May 14, 2016

The menu had a lot to choose from. We picked about 6 items to share between the 4 of us. It was enough food for us without having a lot left over. Great service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

We live in the neighborhood, this is our ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

We live in the neighborhood, this is our "go to" Italian Restaurant whether we are looking for a full on meal, a quick beer and pizza, or authentic appetizers and a glass of wine on the patio with friends.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was amazing! It was jam packed on Friday night with little wiggle room in bar. We had to leave to drink elsewhere and come back for our reservation. Super loud but fun environment. Definitely a fit for a large group since all the plates are family style. Not huge portions but everything comes out at different times so you have time to share with the table.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Great waitress- Chelsea! Food was delici ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great waitress- Chelsea! Food was delicious and came out pretty fast. Reservation was on time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought a group of girls in from out of ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Brought a group of girls in from out of town. Quartino is the best spot for a lively dinner with friends. The restaurant is always packed and bustling, so you can feel free to laugh and chat without disturbing anyone around you. The small plates ensure that the food never stops coming, and it's always delicious. Make sure you save room for their lava cake! Management and staff go above and beyond to accommodate. I absolutely love this spot!

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It was fun choosing different things to ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

It was fun choosing different things to split and try. It was very loud but good food and fun atmosphere. Definitely worth a try.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, menu and ambiance. ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Outstanding service, menu and ambiance. We loved it and everything was delicious. Like being in Italy having a relaxed evening meal - we loved it. All the food was served to temperature and shareable. We would definitely go back - with reservations...

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Quartino's is consistently amazing - my ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Quartino's is consistently amazing - my favorite restaurant in Chicago! Delicious food and upbeat environment. We were late for our reservation but still seated quickly, despite a packed restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

Disappointing Place

Dined on May 8, 2016

The atmosphere and location should have made this a great place to be, but the slow and mixed up service along with just plain bad food ruined whatever potential it had. The Risotto was mushy, watery and tasteless. The Ravioli was dry and tasteless. The Eggplant Parmesan had way too much cheese and a metallic taste from the metal skillet in which it was served. The Tomato Soup was more like diced tomatoes than like a soup. The server, though pleasant, took a long time to wait on us and we actually received 2 of some of our items because the kitchen was confused. I hope they can fix these things soon.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day afternoon meal was perfect, ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day afternoon meal was perfect, everything. This will be a regular family meeting spot for sure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service5

Food and service very good. Films on la ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and service very good. Films on large screens were poor and inappropriate. Servers slicing the bread handled it with bare hands without gloves. Loved the Borax soap in ladies room but needed a trash can near the door.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day success

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

After several years failing to have a great Mother's Day lunch (finding the buffet was the only option when we just wanted the normal menu) we were delighted to eat off the regular menu despite it being Mother's Day. We shared risotto, pizza and cheese salumi plates. Everybody got something they loved. Wine, beer, yummy kids drinks. It was a wonderful atmosphere and great service too.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

OUTSTANDING!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Quartino was recommended by a grad student (my niece). In one word, it was OUTSTANDING! Timing for the visit happened to fall on Mother's Day and we had 3 generations (5 ladies total) dining. The food was phenomenal (gnocchi, tortellini, minestrone, herbed chicken), but our waiter (Michael) was the icing on the cake! He was clearly enjoying his job, hwas genuinely impressed that we were dining as mothers/aunts/grandmothers and even gave us a lesson in opening a wine bottle without having to place it on the table! He was the most gracious and outgoing young man we met in Chicago. We were SO impressed with the food AND service that a repeat reservation (with Michael!) was made within 24 hours! You will NOT be disappointed!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was great. Food was good, great ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Service was great. Food was good, great for family get together, relaxed atmosphere

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service and delicious food! You ca ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great service and delicious food! You can't go wrong.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent group dining and gluten free options

Dined on May 8, 2016

Quartino is a gem of a restaurant. It never disappoints. The food, service, and atmosphere are always great. Excellent location for groups and it even has a great gluten free menu. Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great value, food, loved sharing the small plates

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very loud when it's busy. That was the only negative. Great food and great price. So yummy! Loved sharing small plates. Made for a great evening to share food with family.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Never again.

Dined on May 8, 2016

Once a good restaurant, we will never go again. Too noisy to talk, and impossible to enjoy a meal in which food arrives over an hour and a half period--so some people are eating and some people are waiting. The waiter was totally oblivious of our issues and disappeared for long periods of time. I was so embarrassed to bring friends here.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cant wait to go back to Quartino!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was our first time dining at Quartino. Great experience! Wonderful food and great service. If you don't mind it a little loud and being close to your neighbor while dining, you will love it. I'm Italian and it reminded me of family get togethers. A little loud, but cozy- just the way I remember. I love the idea of "shared" plates. You get to try so many of the wonderful dishes. We will definitely be back- Ciao!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great customer services and manager will ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great customer services and manager will ask if everything is okay or not!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Patient waiter.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great food. Patient waiter.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great vibe and service!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Great vibe and service!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all around! Great food, great ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Excellent all around! Great food, great prices, and super fast service.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Top notch

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

A terrific experience all around. Our Server, Chelsey is a delight and we also enjoyed the courtesy visit by Manager Michael Friedman at our table. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.