About Quartino

626 N. State Street
Chicago, IL 60654
View Larger Map

Quartino, an urban Italian restaurant and wine bar, is the creation of Hugo Ralli, Steve Lombardo (owners of Gibsons Bar & Steakhouse, Hugo’s Frog Bar & Fish House, LUXBAR) and Exec Chef / Partner John Coletta. Quartino combines the best of Italy’s osteria and enoteca to offer an authentic everyday Italian food and wine experience. “Where wine is cheaper than water” Throughout Europe, in bistro after osteria after enoteca, fresh local wines of high quality and unique characteristics are priced as a less expensive alternative to bottled water. Reservation requests for patio seating are not accepted. Patio seating is first come, first serve.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Tapas / Small Plates

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 1:00am, Sunday: 5:00pm - 12:00am; Bar Daily: 3:00pm - 2:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(312) 698-5000

Website:
http://www.quartinochicago.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available $14.

Executive Chef:
John Coletta

Private Party Facilities:
Quartino embraces the true essence and environment of an authentic Italian urban ristorante, pizzeria and wine bar in quintessential Gibsons Restaurant Group style. Quartino can accommodate private parties of 10-100 guests for luncheons, cocktail & antipasti parties, and dinner.

Private Party Contact:
Julie Jensen: 8886413569

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Nutella Panino
Veal Meatball Sliders
Organic Tomato Salad
zeppole
Fontina Val D'aosta
White Wine San
Tiramisu
Panino al Gelato Limone
Profiteroles
Sausage Rissoto

Quartino Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Chicago / Illinois
Most Booked
Chicago
Best Restaurants in River North (Chicago) ›

good for groups (385)
fit for foodies (292)
neighborhood gem (213)
See All
special occasion (200)
hot spot (192)
notable wine list (155)
great for outdoor dining (152)
great for lunch (141)
vibrant bar scene (109)
romantic (92)
kid-friendly (90)
late-night find (84)
great for brunch (28)
scenic view (17)
Sort By:
Newest
5130 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I am celiac, so felt itwas safebut kindo ...

Dined 3 days ago

I am celiac, so felt itwas safebut kindof bland, not a ton of choices. Waitstaff wasvery knowledgeable.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quartino's was great. Service, food, and ...

Dined 4 days ago

Quartino's was great. Service, food, and atmosphere were all spot on!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I come to Chicago once a year and I alwa ...

Dined 4 days ago

I come to Chicago once a year and I always visit Quartino each time I'm here. The food was wonderful and I also love father ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it and the management knows what i ...

Dined 4 days ago

Loved it and the management knows what it is doing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I love the outside seating in the summer ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

I love the outside seating in the summer! You get a great view of the city!

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We we're looking for something different ...

Dined 6 days ago

We we're looking for something different and we found It. It was a perfect place to celebrate my Mom's Birthday and Our Anniversary. The food was good, the service was great, the only thing I didn't like was how close you were to the next tables, but I would differently go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had phoned in ahead of time to plan ou ...

Dined 6 days ago

I had phoned in ahead of time to plan out a bachelorette party here. The event coordinator was prompt in her response and covered all the bases needed to make the party the success that it was. The party was pleasantly surprised at the quality of food and their favorite was definitely the veal skirt steak and tiramisu. They claim the tiramisu was the best they've ever eaten! Liz was our server that night and she was so welcoming. Food came out in a timely manner, especially for those who arrived late for the party.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We held a bachelorhood dinner party rece ...

Dined 6 days ago

We held a bachelorhood dinner party recently at Quartino. The staff accommodated my request to sit near the windows so we had the feeling of being outside, but comforts of inside. The service was excellent and well paced; the food was delicious; and the total bill was quite reasonable for the number of people we had. I will definitely recommend this restaurant to others and look forward to another visit there myself.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food is wonderful and the menu has p ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

the food is wonderful and the menu has plenty to select from....you will not leave hungry! they have never let us down!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quartino never disappoints! We had a del ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Quartino never disappoints! We had a delicious dinner, and everyone really enjoyed the food, wine, and cocktails. As it often is, it was really loud in the restaurant, but we were celebrating too, so it didn't bother us.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Never fails to impress. A must every tim ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Never fails to impress. A must every time we visit Chicago. And gluten free options for our daughter.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to go with family and friend ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Great place to go with family and friends. Food is great. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Great location. I will miss it when I move to California!

food4
ambience4
service5

Our server, Nick was really great!!

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Our server, Nick was really great!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good to go everyday for lunch or dinning ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Good to go everyday for lunch or dinning, very friendly staff, good food, good wine and convenient price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

I have eaten here several times which is ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

I have eaten here several times which is why I selected Quartino's. The pizza ovens were broke and that was the reason for the slow service. 2 plus hours!!! We were 8 people and they brought one plate out and the other 7 were about 1/2 hour later. One person never got their meal. The management tried to compensate and brought two appetizer trays out but at that point it should have been dessert!!! I had the president of a company with me and was totally embarrassed!!! I will never eat here again. Bill was over $300 and that was still after they took some items off the bill. So sad.

food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I enjoy visiting this restaurant for dri ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I enjoy visiting this restaurant for drinks and small plates during happy hour. On a busy weekend night, the noise level in the main dining room makes it difficult to have a conversation without yelling across the table. Otherwise, great food, selection of wines, and ambiance.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Fantastic as always! The servers were fr ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic as always! The servers were friendly, knowledgeable and always kept checking in on how we're doing. Although it's right in the center of River North, it feels like it's a small-town Italian restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at this restauran ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant and our server Paul helped us out ordering, there were five of us, the food and service was outstanding we had a wonderful dining experience and cannot wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing fresh food and lively restuarant

Dined on June 11, 2016

We came in on a friend's recommendation while visiting Chicago from out of town. The food was fantastic, homemade pastas, fresh dishes, you could taste the difference. The plates are meant for sharing which was fun and allowed us to try quite a few different items. Our waitress was knowledgeable and we followed many of her tips for food choices and were not disappointed! We had a great time and would go again if we return to Chicago!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great place to eat near the hotel.

Dined on June 11, 2016

This place is right next door to the Embassy Suites on State Street. They had a great selection of food that was very good. The only thing that we did not like was the shrimp risotto. Everything else was very good. We had a lot of plates to share and loved it. The restaurant is loud. Upstairs seemed quieter.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We try to have least one meal at Quartin ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We try to have least one meal at Quartinos every time we visit Chicago. The food is amazing, very attentive servers, and the prices are spot on. Noisy? Yes, but it is an endearing buzz from people who are happy to see each other and share great food.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food,wine..exceptional service..Love it!

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was my second trip to Chicago,and had eaten here before, brought my son this time. I just let him choose whatever he wanted from the menu,knowing it would be different,and good! He made some great choices,and everything was delicious! The best Risotto ever!! The waiter suggested the wine,and it was perfect!! Love it all, just as good as last time!! Look forward to our next trip to Chicago,and returning for another great meal!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on June 8, 2016

The food and drinks at Quartino are consistently excellent. I had a 5:30 reservation for four on a Wednesday evening. The hostesses were the weak spot on the evening as far as being friendly and welcoming, but we were immediately seated and handed off to Sam, our stellar server. He offered wine and food recommendations and was very attentive even as the restaurant filled, which it did very quickly. We ordered a variety of plates with penne vodka and mushroom risotto being the standouts. That said, everything we ordered was delicious. The staff ensured that our glasses were never empty and that plates were cleared quickly. If I was going to pick holes, it would only be with the noise level. Quartino is loud when it's crowded and there's no denying that. The bread slicer in the middle of the restaurant only makes it worse...and I'm not sure why it's positioned where it can distract as many people as possible. Other than that, Quartino offers great food and service in an awesome location at entirely reasonable prices. Eat outside if the weather permits...it's great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was great, noise level was much too ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Food was great, noise level was much too loud for conversation. We could not hear each other. Sitting outside would be a good choice if you want to talk.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a business lunch with 15 people. ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

We had a business lunch with 15 people. Ate off the menu, passed plates, shared and had a wonderful time. The staff was helpful, accommodating, and fun. It was noisy in the small room but that was us being rambunctious. Overall, loved it. Loved the menu choices...everything was great. The braised pork shank was amazing. I didn't want to share!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Itaian Food

Dined on June 6, 2016

The food was excellent, but the way the food is served -- sort of family style with a stack of dishes on the table for sharing -- was unique. Great for a mix of big eaters, children -- ervyone.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Still my favorite restaurant in the city ...

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Still my favorite restaurant in the city!! ❤️

food5
ambience5
service5

It's my 2nd time going to Quartino. I lo ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

It's my 2nd time going to Quartino. I love everything about it. The food was so good and affordable. We did the lunch special: 3 courses for 25/2 person. The plates were actually full size and not tiny "special" sizes. The service were superb. The manager actually came and greeted us at the table. I would return to Chicago just to eat at here.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Quartino is wonderful, especially in the ...

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

Quartino is wonderful, especially in the summer as they offer outdoor seating in the beautiful area of River North. The food is delicious and the portions are definitely large while keeping the costs really reasonable. They accommodate large groups and the service is quick. Definitely recommend this place for some great Italian dining and a fun night out!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5

Family style food, salads are delicious ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Family style food, salads are delicious but probably only big enough for 2 to share. Lots of choice on the menu, something for everyone

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Quartino delivers

Dined on June 3, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by ambience and food at this vibrant restaurant. Had six o'clock reservation. We went early to try and get patio seating and instantly where given great seating. Food and drink menu was varied and reasonably priced. Loved being able to order and share with fellow diners. Fun downtown Chicago dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a fun time with great food and af ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Always a fun time with great food and affordable drinks

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on June 3, 2016

Went to Chicago for a short vacation with my husband.Walking back to our hotel after an amazing dinner at a steakhouse, we noticed how busy Quartino was at 11 pm on a weekday.So, we decided to give it a try .Great decision! The food was amazing.Their concept of tapas is great.You get to try a lot of great food without feeling you are going to die when you are done.The Limoncello Martini... OMG! Service was fast and attentive even though the place was packed.We liked it so much that decided to go back for lunch 48 hrs later. Highly recommended!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Great food

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food is amazing and I love the tapa style. I went there for my birthday the past two years. This year we had a big group and they put us in our own room. Even though we were in a room it was still pretty loud. Because this is tapa style we spent over 2 hours here eating and socializing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

The food was good as always. This time, ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

The food was good as always. This time, we chose all of the server's favorites and he did not steer us wrong!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

I continue to go to Quartino, because it always delivers the very best. The food , wine, and staff are great, which is why I continue to visit and recommend Quartino.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

We were in a hurry to catch a show. They served us immediately!! The food was great! Can't wait to go back!!!

food4
ambience3
service3

Great food ! Generous portions for the ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Great food ! Generous portions for the sharing plates.

food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Tourist Trap

Dined on May 30, 2016

Very plain tasting food, out of 10 dishes we ordered, maybe one tasted right. Disappointing. Service was good.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun place for large groups.

Dined on May 30, 2016

We had a group of 14 people here for a weekend dinner. The restaurant was packed -- noisy and crowded -- but it was a fun, family-style atmosphere for us.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.