Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: (250) 769-4451 ext. 236

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

Noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (116)
Romantic (101)
Special Occasion (100)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Notable Wine List (91)
Good for a Date (86)
Great for Outdoor Dining (84)
Worth the Drive (73)
Quiet Conversation (69)
Local Ingredients (68)
Creative Cuisine (63)
Fit for Foodies (56)
Great for Lunch (55)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Cozy (44)
Seasonal (33)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Business Meals (30)
Healthy (30)
Authentic (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Waterfront (27)
Casual (25)
Tasting Menu (22)
Great for Brunch (21)
Fun (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Organic (12)
Gluten Free Options (12)
People Watching (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Disabled Access (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tapas (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vegan (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort by
S
2412 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined 3 days ago

lways love the setting of Quails Gate. Th Menu is always a little limiting but the quality of the food makes up for it. Service was a bit slower than normal but we were not in a rush and our server was very pleasant and knowledgable. Overall a loverrly evening out!🥂🍷

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

By far the best dining experience we have had in a very long time. Our service was truly amazing, with extra special care taken by all servers and the chef for someone in our party who suffers a severe celiac allergy. We can’t wait to go to Old Vines Restaurant at Quails Gate Winery again! Thank-you for a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food, interesting menu with seasonal local ingredients

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My meal was excellent. It was very, very tasty. The atmosphere was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It was our first time at Old Vines Restaurant and we weren't disappointed. They have a flexible 3-course Farm-to-table menu for dinner and we chose to have 3 starters, 2 main courses and 1 shared dessert.
We shared the oysters which were very fresh, the seared scallop with pork belly was fantastic as was the Albacore tuna tartine. Portion sizes were good and presentation was precise and pleasing to the eye.
My wife had the Cornish game hen which was amazing, not dry and very rich. The herb gnocchi was the best she has ever had. The Rib eye was more than enough (10 oz) and presentation was artful. We order our organic pasture raised beef/lamb from a local farmer and the taste is better than the restaurant beef, however, it is still good quality. It was cooked to a perfect med-rare with good caramelization and well rested. The capers added a briny punch to the dish.
Dessert was the Cherry verrine which was light and not too sweet. Plating was playful in a mason jar.... the pistachio sponge had just enough pistachio, cherries were fab and the glace had a creamy smooth texture.
Service was a good pace allowing time between courses without feeling rushed. Our waiter was knowledgeable but didn't proactively offer wine or coffee during the meal so we had to ask throughout. Given it is a winery restaurant, I would have thought this would be top of mind.
Overall, it was a great first impression and we wouldn't hesitate to return - maybe for happy hour?

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife & I had an absolutely wonderful lunch. It was our 49th anniversary & we wanted to treat ourselves to a moment to remember lunch. Well we were not disappointed we we greeted with a glass of sparkling wine & an appetizer that was wonderful. Our lunch was better than anticipated. The waitress was very courteous & knowledgeable about the various wines at Quails Gate.
Overall experience was a lunch date to remember.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

Albeit one of the most expensive meals I've had in a while, the exceptional service and food was worth the expense. Wonderful date night with my hubby.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

We had brunch and it was amazing. I will bring all my friends here when they come to visit. The view is beautiful. I will definitely try the restaurant for dinner

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great food, Great service. Nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Lovely afternoon lunch, food was terrific, wine was perfect! Beautiful view from our table but a little chilly.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 11, 2017

We came here to celebrate our anniversary all the way from Downtown Vancouver. Me and my lady always love the wine from Quail's Gate, so we decided to come to the winery to grab some bottles of wine and dine in at the restaurant.
There was nothing to complain, everything went smoothly. Got a table w/ a view, the entrees we ordered were delightful (Game Hen & Bison, highly recommended), wines (dry riesling & pinot noir) were up to our expectation, & desert (pumpkin crème brûlée) was delicious.
Def would go back when we pay Kelowna a visit again!!! Wish we had one in dwntn Vancouver :(

Tags: Healthy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

Quite perfect. Exceptional wine pairing. Thank you for a lovely luncheon.

Tags: Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 10, 2017

We went out for our 15th wedding anniversary. Quails Gate never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 5, 2017

Wonderful experience. I'd done there anytime. The wine was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Scenic View, Seasonal
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 3, 2017

Had a wonderful lunch on a cold early winter day by the fireplace. For lunch they had a wonderful business lunch special with a set price for one or two courses. Foid ambiance service was fantastic!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 31, 2017

Everything was great! We found the room temperature just a little on the cool side.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

Izabella was our server, she was knowledgeable and friendly. She was kind enough to bring us tasters when we didn't know what we wanted. Enjoyed the wine and the food was incredible. Loved the soup of the day.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 30, 2017

Nice Spot for a Business Meal.
Good Quality food, Excellent service.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2017

Food and Service was very good. The noise level was terrible....entertainer trying to sing over already noisy crowd. Our guests wanted to leave the restaurant. Perhaps rethink this scenario.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 28, 2017

We first went and did the wine tasting, which was an excellent lead into the restaurant for dinner. The tables are placed well for all to have a great view of the vineyards and the lake. Our server was awesome. Food was excellent. Ambience was excellent. Met and exceeded our expectations for date night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 27, 2017

Quality of food was great, as was the service. Not cheap, but fairly priced ... 4 apples, 4 dinners, 2 deserts, bottle of wine = $272 approx. Will go back again ... and again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 26, 2017

Me and my husband tried the new business lunch menu. Soup and salad were good, two main courses were average, desserts were delicious. I had running stomach not long after the meal. It’s not up to our expectations.

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Your serving staff is exceptional. Well informed about wine, and local history .

Tags: Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 25, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch. The restaurant is so comfortable . It was much quieter than other fine restaurants in the Kelowna area so we could enjoy our conversation together. As always, the decor is lovely and the view spectacular. We liked the new menu also...lots of items looked good. The service was perfect as usual for Quails Gate.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

The food at Quail's gate was fantastic! 4 of us dined and ordered 3 different entrees that were each delicious! We enjoyed the recommended wine with our meals and thoroughly enjoyed our conversation in the warm atmosphere with stunning views. Our server was informative, friendly and efficient. Oh yes, the deserts were divine. Lovely evening.

Tags: People Watching, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2017

We really enjoyed our recent anniversary dinner at the Old Vines Restaurant. The service could have been better; the server did not seem very knowledgeable about the menu, and there was very little acknowledgement around our special occasion (30th anniversary). However, the food was absolutely delicious! We especially loved the duck - it was the best duck we have every tasted! This restaurant is rather pricey, but it is worth it! I would highly recommend this restaurant for a special occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 25, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary at quails gate and was very impressed with the food and service! Location and scenery are fabulous. Highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

GREAT food and service!! Wine was superb 👌🏻 - this was our first date out after having our daughter and we couldn’t have imagined a better spot for supper.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

We went for dinner with friends during a convention in Kelowna in October. It was late to appreciate the views of the vineyard and the lake, but the restaurant was still special, beautiful, cozy and great for chatting. The service was excellent and so was the food! Highly recommend!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

I remember the restaurant having very good food. The meal on Saturday was very disappointing. The appy was good the main had very little taste.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Pork chop was 'tough' and stringy. Did not meet previous experiences I experienced here

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on October 21, 2017

Had a wonderful delicious lunch with my family. The service is warm and attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 21, 2017

From the wine tasting through to dessert, an outstanding evening. Delicious food and wine, excellent service and hospitality. It was my first, and won’t be my last, visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Steak bang on. Salmon perfect.. beet salad great start.. oysters nice.. desert chocolate esquist.. capacino gran marnier .. nice birthday diner! Will go back when in town

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 20, 2017

One of our favorite spots in the valley for dinner, chef does an excellent job of pairing the wines to the food, and the wines are excellent. Great for an intimate dinner or dinner with friends.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 18, 2017

From the warm greeting at the door , amazing dishes and ambiance to the exceptional service it truly made my husband birthday celebration even more memorable .
Thanks so much !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 15, 2017

This place is amazing. Go there. As for vineyard dining in Kelowna I don't think it can be beat. Yum!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Organic, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Delicious food and amazing wine! Our server was knowledgeable and very friendly. Perfect venue to celebrate my husband's birthday

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Went out with our daughter and boyfriend who loves wine and has never been to Quails Gate. Always an enjoyable evening at the restaurant. New menu was great and the wine selections are outstanding. Some very prized Pinot noir's are available. Highly recommended to others. Book early however to get your times on the weekend. Boyfriend was impressed but now probably spoiled!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary in-style! Even though it was raining, the views of the vineyard were outstanding, and the food was fabulous. The Ling Cod fettuccine was done to perfection and the Cache Creek Beef Tartine was an awesome sandwich. Our server, Kerri, was great...there when we needed her but not being a nuisance. We will return!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.