About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: 2507694451x236

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Restaurant Photos

Selection Of Glasses
Duck Confit Tagliatelle
Wine And Glaases
Selection Of Wine
Chenin Blanc Wine Flight
Lamb Panini
Truffle Pomme Frites
Trout With Israeli Couscous & Mint Yoghurt Dressing
Grilled Ceasar Salad
Mussels and Clams
Pan Seared Ahi Tuna On Top Of Southwestern Quinoa And Wasabi Aioli
Roasted golden beet and blood orange salad
Mussels
Beef Carpaccio
Trio Of Creme Brulee
Duck Liver
Oysters

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
12 More
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Great for Lunch
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

scenic view (230)
special occasion (196)
great for outdoor dining (170)
See All
romantic (162)
fit for foodies (154)
notable wine list (152)
great for lunch (130)
good for groups (72)
neighborhood gem (71)
great for brunch (48)
hot spot (26)
late-night find (11)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1690 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Food but a bit pricey. We arrived a ...

Dined 3 days ago

Good Food but a bit pricey. We arrived at 5:30 without a reservation in the middle of a very sunny and hot evening. We were told by the hostess that there weren't any other places lefts than on the couches outside in the sun (although the restaurant was practically empty) which we declined. We left and made the reservation online and found out online that there were plenty of places available. I don't know why she didn't want us to eat at the restaurant. The hostess isn't supposed to have preferences over the guests at then restaurant. Anyhow with the reservation she didn't have the choice but to give us a table. Needless to say that during the whole meal, the restaurant had several empty tables. We had a very nice meal and our waitress was way nicer than the hostess. The stunning view from the terrace made up for the hostess's rudeness.

food5
ambience4
service1
value2

I cannot remember ever eating in a resta ...

Dined 4 days ago

I cannot remember ever eating in a restaurant with such a difference between front of house and back of house. First the good- the food was spectacularly well prepared using excellent ingredients. You certainly will be treated to quality at this end. Now the problem: We arrived to a few guests waiting at the check in desk. Incredibly, it took almost 10 minutes for a hostess to appear. We were initially seated right next to the kitchen, in spite of the fact that there were several clearly superior tables available along the windows. Granted, we were moved to a window table on request, but why devalue your guests by making them ask for a better table? From that point on the service was atrocious. We waited far longer than reasonable for our orders to be taken, food was served that had clearly been sitting under heat lamps, and empty plates sat in front of us long after the course was done. The waiter seemed surprised when he picked up our wine bottle late in the meal to pour, and discovered it empty... we had been pouring it ourselves out of desperation. The final blow was when I overheard the waiter telling the table behind me that "bread would be served only after food had been ordered". I mean really?? This is a high end restaurant, not a cafe plagued by dine and dash guests.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Enjoyed everything with one small except ...

Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed everything with one small exception. The rhubarb in the Rhubarb Creme Fraiche Tart was undercooked and hard. Other than that we enjoyed our meal. Love the truffle parmesan fries. Service was very good, attentive but not in-your-face. Great selection of cheeses for a cheese plate after dinner. Will definitely go to Old Vines again.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Quails' Gate is one of the highlights in ...

Dined 4 days ago

Quails' Gate is one of the highlights in the Okanagan. The Old Vines Restaurant provides a spectacular view with tables next to the vineyard where you can sample their wines brilliantly paired with tasty dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently good ...view to die for.... ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

Consistently good ...view to die for....wait staff are attentive and think outside of the box. My server had someone go to the garden for mint....outstanding!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in town for a wedding and Quails ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were in town for a wedding and Quails Gate came highly recommended from a majority of the local guests we asked. We made a reservation easily for 4 and went with our 2.5yr old son and a few friends. The dinner was delicious and well plated. The service was great (especially with a toddler), and the view was spectacular. We will definitely go back whenever we return to Kelowna.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

We made reservations for lunch prior to ...

Dined 5 days ago

We made reservations for lunch prior to and we got their 30 mins early and requested spot on the patio. We were seated right away at our reservation time. Although everything was great (wine, food, view and company), the service was very slow. From start to end took 2 hours. After finishing our appies, our entree took approximately 45-60 minutes. And we wanted dessert but that desire faded after 2 hours.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Beautiful summers Sunday lunch - large p ...

Dined 5 days ago

Beautiful summers Sunday lunch - large patio with fabulous views of Okanagan Lake, vineyards, blue skies - perfect! Servers were pleasant and knowledgable - not too pretentious as at some winery restaurants. Food well cooked and interesting. Portions modest but adequate and delicious. Would go again in a heartbeat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Food was good. Service was mediocre. Not ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was good. Service was mediocre. Not sure I will ever return.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2

Overall, we left disappointed given our ...

Dined 6 days ago

Overall, we left disappointed given our high expectations going into the meal, especially after we had such a wonderful experience in the wine shop with Lark (who was an absolutely wonderful and a delight) having spoken so highly of the restaurant.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The setting is spectacular. The service ...

Dined 6 days ago

The setting is spectacular. The service was excellent. Our only negative was the entrée selection. Not enough options for our taste and sometimes you just want to have a regular dish prepared beautifully.. Other than that it was a lovely evening.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We could not get the table from this res ...

Dined 6 days ago

We could not get the table from this restaurant last year. We came back and reserved table on that morning. I had 2 appetizers - quil and beet salad, my friends have chicken and duck. All of them are delicious. The dessert is so so good!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was amazing and the view from o ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing and the view from our table on the outdoor terrace was breathtaking! The service was very good, from the moment our cocktail arrived until the coffee was served with dessert. I was impressed when I saw two diners sitting outside with lovely Quail's Gate throws draped over their shoulders to keep them warm. It's little details like that that make the service exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Quail's Gate / Old Vines offers an incre ...

Dined 6 days ago

Quail's Gate / Old Vines offers an incredible scenic view and is a must-see point when one is visiting the area. However my friends and I are truly disappointed at the staff and service at Old Vines. I made a reservation for 6 people two months prior to arriving. The day before I received a confirmation phone call. The only problem is as we approached the host right on time, we were told that the only available seating is a 4 seater L-shaped couch in the outdoors... there was no other option. My husband had to scout out a spot around a restaurant to see that there is an actual 6-seat table opened but the host and the server neglected to offer! Service was also slow in general and not particularly genuine compared to other restaurants around the same area. At one point I wanted to borrow a pen to make a comment on the survey card but I had to run through three servers before I could get one. Food was alright but the terrible service will definitely stop us returning.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy dining at the Old Vines ...

Dined 6 days ago

We always enjoy dining at the Old Vines Restaurant. The service is excellent, the food is great and the wine...well it's Quails' Gate!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very, very, good! Everything about our v ...

Dined 7 days ago

Very, very, good! Everything about our visit was exceptional.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We had made reservations a couple of day ...

Dined 7 days ago

We had made reservations a couple of days before our lunch booking and expected a table with a view. What we got was less than spectacular. It was a cool, rainy day with no outdoor seating so this may have accounted for that. Disappointing nonetheless. The food was also not spectacular considering the cost. We ordered the Agassiz trout and the pork dish. The lentils with the trout were underdone and very dry. The pork was alright but not what I would consider fine dining.

food5
ambience5
service5

Superb scenery and excellent service. Ou ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Superb scenery and excellent service. Our party ordered five of their main course to share. Every dish was memorable and delicious. We have gone to 6 winery so far and have no doubt that Quails' Gate serves the best food.

food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Food quality on two of the "Mains" was d ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Food quality on two of the "Mains" was disappointing again: Halibut was over cooked "dry" seems to be a pattern recently on this dish coming out a tad overdone and the $46 Ribeye ( for that money I expect perfection on the cooking time) was under by a full degree. Sent back what was delivered as rare/medium rare for medium. Appies & desert were both great, location is second to none, but until I hear the kitchen is performing to standard I will stay with the competition on this side of the bridge where disappointment is but an extremely rare occurrence. Our bill was not large but did come out at $600.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, everything was spectacular. ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

As always, everything was spectacular. From beginning to end, service and food. But remember if it is your first time, dining at a winery is on the pricy side.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful as alway s - staff ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Absolutely wonderful as alway s - staff are superb , food amazing and every meal is a special occaision

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience the food w ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Outstanding dining experience the food was and whole experience was delightful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally fantastic restaurant and such su ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

Totally fantastic restaurant and such superb views, service and high quality food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we are locals and have dined here severa ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

we are locals and have dined here several times. Always an amazing experience. thx u!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding food!!! Unparalleled ambian ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding food!!! Unparalleled ambiance. Staff was efficient, friendly and competent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wine is overpriced per glass, and only 5 ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wine is overpriced per glass, and only 5 ounces!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We had great expectations from this plac ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had great expectations from this place and the food certainly did not disappoint. That being said, our overall experience was subpar. Despite our reservations, we waited 40 mins for a table. While waiting for the table, we decided to have drinks at the bar. The service by the bartender was terrible. Despite being one of two couples there, she barely paid any attention to us. I literally had to flag her down to get served. She was busy pouring drinks for all the servers, while we sat there with empty glasses for at least 10 mins. On top of all this, the host told us our table was ready soon and the hostess would come get us. Instead, she arrived and proceeded to seat a couple that arrived after us. Again, the food was amazing...it's too bad that the service was so disappointing. We would not go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A highlight of our weekend everything wa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

A highlight of our weekend everything was outstanding would highly recommend for a special occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We live in the neighbourhood and it was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We live in the neighbourhood and it was our second visit. We will be watching for specials as we would like to frequent more often. Other than my mother's leeks which one of them was quite woody, the meal was quite delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in the Valley. Hands down. Superb i ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Best in the Valley. Hands down. Superb in every respect: service, food, view, ambience. And a lovely gift shop to extend the joy to others back home. If you're anywhere near Kelowna, make a date here--and come early to get one of the better seats.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Outstanding local food options ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing! Outstanding local food options to compliment very nice wines (and view).

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy coming to Quails Gate whe ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I always enjoy coming to Quails Gate when I'm in Kelowna for great wine and food. A neighborhood gem for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect setting and lunch. Haven't been ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Perfect setting and lunch. Haven't been to Old Vines for 10 years. Very pleased with the new wine shop and gardens. Ate here for a special birthday lunch. Great service. Everyone enjoyed their meal choices . And of course the Quail's Gate wines , two people had their wine flights. It's a good relaxed way to experience the different reds or whites. Would like to see more menu selections . Fabulous lake views in great patio area. One of the top Wineries in the Okanagan .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular all around. My husband and I ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Spectacular all around. My husband and I sat on the comfortable couches, overlooking the lake, sipping Quail's Gates own delicious wines and eating their delicious food. Service was prompt and friendly. We enjoyed several items from the sharing menu - all were excellent. This restaurant is a real gem overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have dined here a few times after com ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We have dined here a few times after coming in to the winery in search of their award winning 2011 chard. This is a great place in Kelowna to have dinner. The food is great, the service superb and the view! You feel transported to Tuscany as you dine looking out over the vineyards to the lake. We were last at the restaurant in June and thought we remembered the menu as being broader but perhaps it's slimmed down in the slower season. We understand that it is usually fully booked so reservations in advance are advised.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Old Vines restaurant. A must do eve ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Love Old Vines restaurant. A must do everytime I'm in Westbank, amazing food, great view and fabulous wine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

On behalf of my fellow diners I have to ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

On behalf of my fellow diners I have to say that we were extremely disappointed with our meal. We ordered the halibut and it was extremely over cooked to the point that it tasted gritty and was not edible. The beet dish and desert was very good, as was the wine. What was disappointing is that the cost of the halibut entree should have been discounted off of the bill but rather they gave us ice wine and cookies as compensation, which although very nice, was not the way to compensate us for the poor meal. I have eaten at Quails Gate a few times over the past few years and have a property just down the hill so it is a very convenient location, but unfortunately, I doubt I will ever return for a meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal, excellent wine and amazin ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fabulous meal, excellent wine and amazing environment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quail's Gate Old Vines Restaurant is a b ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Quail's Gate Old Vines Restaurant is a beautiful, upscale restaurant that has fantastic food and great service. I keep going back each time I visit the Okanagan.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always take my out-of-town visitors to ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I always take my out-of-town visitors to the Quailsgate restaurant. The view and the food are fantastic! The service is very attentive and my guests always love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.