Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: (250) 769-4451 ext. 236

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (43)
Scenic View (43)
Romantic (43)
See All
Special Occasion (43)
Notable Wine List (39)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Good for a Date (33)
Local Ingredients (32)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Great for Lunch (25)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Cozy (14)
Business Meals (13)
Organic (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Authentic (10)
Healthy (9)
Waterfront (9)
Seasonal (9)
Casual (9)
Fireplace (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (6)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Tapas (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Historic (3)
Vegan (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Live Music (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2126 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Great cocktail selection. I really enjoyed my "dark and stormy"

Food was all around excellent. To full for desert!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Friendly service. Great food. Amazing view. Very peaceful. Will be back again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for a weekday lunch while in the area wine touring. Fantastic lobster risotto. The maple mousse dessert was also spot on. Great wines & great food on the patio with a fantastic view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was very slow. 1 hour 40 minutes from arrival. Service was excellent. I left starving.
For 315$ for 4 people. .. not impressed.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service. The halibut was fantastic! The lamb was tasty but sinewy and should be removed from the menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Had booked a brunch on the Sunday morning with my inlaws. Arrived just before 10:30am and sampled a sip or 5 of wine at the boutique. Never too early for a sip of wine!

The day was gorgeous, a sunny 26deg Celsius, clear blue skies, seated on thw terrace, and perched above a vineyard overlooking the lake below. Absolutely nothing to complain about.

The service was fantastic, and prompt delivery of all ordered items. 3 of 4 ordered the traditional eggs benedict, which was smooth and rich. Very nice flavours. The other person ordered the french toast and was very pleased with that too.

Overall an excellent experience, and will repeat without hesitation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We usually love Quails Gate. We arrived early for our reservation and when we asked to sit in the sun they said the tables were reserved. Some of those tables remained empty the entire time. We were cold in the shade. The menu is usually outstanding but this year we found it quite boring. We really love this restaurant and winery and will try again. Could have been an off day. The server was very professional and saved the day.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on May 18, 2017

We were a party of four. We celebrated my husbands birthday and had a superb meal. Before our meal we did some wine tasting, which was excellent, gave us the opportunity to try out some wines before dinner. Our waitress was outstanding.
Totally recommend this place. Oh! Btw they have a really cool gift shop we picked up a lovely story book and soft cuddly toy for our grand daughter.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food was fabulous
Came as a recommendation while we visited for the weekend very relaxing for evening out

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Have been big fans of this restaurant for some time. This time the service was slow and the 'new' spring menu isn't hitting the mark and is certainly overpriced for what was served is preteniously over-priced. The menu items we tried just didn't have interesting balance and the execution dodgy - we like our vegetables crisp - but barely cooked doesn't fit the bill

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We had the four course menu. All the dishes were delicious and beautifully presented. We chose duck for our main dish and it was so good. Each dish was prepared with great combinations of fresh herbs and spices. All excellent flavours. The wine paring was perfect and of good value.

The service was timely and friendly.

The restaurant is beautiful including the view. The only complaint we had is that it was drafty and we were both a bit chilled.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Birthday lunch . Perfect corner table on the patio overlooking the vineyard. Great service and the food was excellent. Good wine paring with our lunch .
Perfect

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had a wonderful Sunday brunch with excellent service and food. Because it was our anniversary, we were given one of the best tables inside which included the restaurant's fabulous view of the lake and vinyards, but there is no "bad" table as this place is situated in one of the most beautiful locations possible. There was lovely live music that was just loud enough for a romantic background to the meal. Highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We celebrated our anniversary at Quals gate and I think we couldn't have found a better and more romantic place. Dinner at sunset with great views over the lake. Great wines and food and we had our almost private table.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Absolutely a wonderful dining experience. Only complaint would be the Brussels sprouts ordered as a side were very hard, could have been cooked a bit more. I love crunchy veggies but they were very hard. My halibut was fantastic and cooked perfectly as was the lamb my sister had. Not crazy about the bok choy served with it. Perhaps something else would have been better? The Parmesan truffle fries were incredibly delicious!! I've never tasted better. The service was fantastic and overall a wonderful expereience. Highly recommend.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Although the dining experience wasn't too bad, the food was. The most over salted ling cod and risotto we have ever experienced. Both meals were sent back and the ling cod came back even salter but the risotto second time around was quite good. For the amount of money spent, the food was actually kind of disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

We come here every time we go to Kelowna
The food is always excellent, and great wines
Never had a bad experience in 13 years.
Get a reservation and go a little earlier so you can sample some ones in the wine shop then you can order your favorite wine for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Organic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Quail's Gate was spectacular. As someone who visits restaurants all over the world and travels regularly, I was very impressed with this venue. The wine was wonderful with, obviously, a great selection of offerings. The food was simply excellent and the service and ambience were quite outstanding. The weather was cool and unseasonably overcast, but the views would be amazing on a clear day or evening. I will really return - this is now on my 'A' list. Highest recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good food, selection of wine, nice ambience, beautiful place with nice lake view and winery, great location and good staff

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Excellent, as always. One thing that was unusually disappointing was that there was a band playing during Sunday brunch time. Old Vines is known as a place for visiting and while the music was of good quality, it was distracting and we were unable to hear each other talk nor were we able to hear our (EXCELLENT!) server who agreed to leave us until the band had finished their set. I would not go back for Sunday Brunch if there was a band and will call prior to reserving a table. A band didn't seem a good "fit" for Old Vines. Perhaps on the patio in the summer??

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Casual, Seasonal, Healthy, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Coffee, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Historic, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Tapas, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My wife and I each enjoyed a delicious meal overlooking the vineyard and lake setting. The blend of flavours and presentation of the dishes were outstanding, the portions were generous and the overall meal well timed. We'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 17, 2017

An overall wonderful dining experience as always and well worth the drive.

Tags: Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Healthy, Cozy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I had the seasonal pork chop and it was remarkable. It's one of the best tasting pork chop I've ever had. Our waitress, Mable was great and fun. She had a great sense of humor. I left the restaurant extremely satisfied and happy. Great food with local ingredients, great wine and great service. The atmosphere was very comfortable and cozy too.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Started with a 20 minuted wait for reservation which was forgiven following wonderful service by waitress. Food was fantastic. Seating for three was acceptable and could have been better. All in all would attend again and not hesitate to recommend to others.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was delicious! Beautiful presentation. Lake view is stunning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Have loved Quail's Gate for years and continue loving it! Great food, wine, atmosphere, view, and great staff!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Celebrated my husband's 65th birthday and enjoyed a wonderful meal with impeccable service from our server Amy. Food was delicious and some great combinations of flavours. This is our 'go to' restaurant for special occasions and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Never disappointed. Great food with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We've been to this restaurant in the past, so it was a natural choice for us to come back and celebrate husband's 75th birthday. Thinking we are going to have a quiet dinner for two turned out to be a total surprise our daughter from Toronto has arranged with the restaurant staff.
Great service, great meal and all together another wonderful experience. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We were there for Sunday Family Dining. The chicken was really good, as were the vegetables. The salad was fresh but the dressing tasteless, bland like olive oil was splashed on it. The desert was unimpressive. All in all a pleasant evening for the family but we were disappointed in the food, not enough flavour in any of the sauces

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our food was amazing and the setting was equally jaw dropping. We scored with the brunch since there was live jazz to enjoy.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was a perfect brunch, great food, great location, great service and great entertainment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 26, 2017

I was visiting from out of town and my two friend's (who just bought a place across the street from the vineyard) took me to Quail's Gate for Sunday brunch. I was thoroughly impressed with the food and ambiance including the live jazz music! Our server was delightful recommending local trails for hiking and dishes to eat. Overall a great experience and I can not wait to come back the next time I visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Magnifica vista
Excelente servicio
Comida Gourmet
Excelentes vinos

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 24, 2017

One of kelowna's best. Great food with a great view. Limited menu but always delicious. (Of course the wine is too)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I had the sweet onion soup, paired with their Chasselas-Pinot Blanc blend, which arrived as a bowl with pickled and roasted onions, over which was poured the creamy sweet onion soup. The Chasselas worked extremely well with it.

This was followed by the pan-seared ling cod on a ragout of red peppers and chickpea. A wee hint of cumin throughout with exquisitely textured, seared ling. The Pinot Gris was a little overwhelmed, but the effect was still wonderful.

Dessert was a couple of pungent cheeses from the Farmhouse in Agassiz, paired with Quail's Gate's own botrytis-afflicted late-harvest wine.

Overall, one of the best meals I've had this year.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

What an incredible opportunity to participate in a long table dinner at the Old Vines Restaurant...The company at the table were friendly, cheerful and a joy to be with. The menu this night was seafood and it was spectacular......The wine was perfect..especially enjoyed the Chenin blanc and Rose....Can't say enough about the friendly staff and the ambiance well....i think you...

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent view and ambiance. Service was great. Food was average and definitely not worth the cost. Portions were small.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.