About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: 2507694451x236

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Restaurant Photos

2010 Chenin Blanc - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Roasted Beets & Almonds - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Halibut Special Order - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Selection Of Glasses - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Duck Confit Tagliatelle - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Wine And Glaases - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Selection Of Wine - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Chenin Blanc Wine Flight - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Truffle Pomme Frites - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Trout With Israeli Couscous & Mint Yoghurt Dressing - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Lamb Panini - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Grilled Ceasar Salad - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Mussels and Clams - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Beef Carpaccio - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Trio Of Creme Brulee - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Roasted golden beet and blood orange salad - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Pan Seared Ahi Tuna On Top Of Southwestern Quinoa And Wasabi Aioli - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Mussels - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Duck Liver - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Oysters - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
10 More
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Outdoor Dining
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

Scenic View (134)
Special Occasion (111)
Great for Outdoor Dining (87)
See All
Notable Wine List (85)
Romantic (78)
Good for a Date (72)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Fit for Foodies (64)
Great for Lunch (59)
Creative Cuisine (55)
Local Ingredients (54)
Worth the Drive (50)
Good for Birthdays (44)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Seasonal (29)
Cozy (27)
Waterfront (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Good for Groups (20)
Business Meals (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Tasting Menu (17)
Healthy (15)
Casual (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Organic (12)
Authentic (12)
Fun (11)
Tapas (10)
Fireplace (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
People Watching (8)
Open Kitchen (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Historic (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Family Style (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1943 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service, they never d ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service, they never disappoint!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server Alysia was great! She was very pa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Server Alysia was great! She was very patient with one of our party, who was a "character."

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was unfortunate the food was just so ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

It was unfortunate the food was just so so... it is usually better. Could be a one off...hopefully anyway!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

fantastic food and excellent service by ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

fantastic food and excellent service by our server Alycia. Food is always on point and wine list great! We always come here when we visit from Vancouver -- absolute must!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere . Our table was gre ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Very nice atmosphere . Our table was great with a view of the lake and mountains.

Food was excellent. My son arrived from Montreal to visit and I suggested Quail's Restaurant,

as being from Montreal ,he is also used to very good food. He enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

What a great spot for a quiet get-togeth ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 28, 2016

What a great spot for a quiet get-together with friends. The view is fantastic and the service is impeccable. The food is delicious, fresh and really sets the bar for dining at lunch. I would return again and again just to see what was new on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food has always been excellent but servi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food has always been excellent but service has been slow. However, the server was on the ball for our most recent diner. Restaurant only serves Quail's Gate wines. The reds are mediocre single variety. Whites are better.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCEPTIONAL 'business lunch menu' this p ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 23, 2016

EXCEPTIONAL 'business lunch menu' this past Wednesday. Superb food and excellent value for 3 courses, add in discounted wine and our wonderful server Monique, and we had the PERFECT lunch. Thank you Old Vines.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent service, our favorite restaurant. Would like a change to menu more frequently.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful lunch. Great view to enjoy ... ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Beautiful lunch. Great view to enjoy ...so relaxing.Had a fantastic bison carpaccio. Loved the Rosè. Non intrusive service.

Will definatly go back. The wine shop service was absolutely amazing. Wanted to take home so many wines. Took only 6...but joined the wine club. Looking forward to my first shipment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely meal and excellent service in p ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

A lovely meal and excellent service in pleasant surroundings with a very acceptable noise level.

This was our first visit - I was paying up a 'Donald Trump' bet - but it certainly won't be our last.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The wine list very limited Pork not cook ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The wine list very limited

Pork not cooked enough

Oyster so small no spécial presentation

Cornish hen good

It was a Sunday night maybe not the real chef...

Had been there 3 years ago and it was good but not this time

Especially when you pay that kind of price...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We cannot say more about this Rezt

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We cannot say more about this Rezt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service, excellent menu. First tim ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great service, excellent menu. First time for brunch and will definitely do it again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time here - same time as last yea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Second time here - same time as last year and it was everything we remembered. Was a quiet date night for us and the food was amazing. Server was super friendly and the whole experience was a very comfortable blend of semi casual and elegant.

We have some Gluten concerns and staff was extremely helpful and made every effort to help us and offered a lot of variety

Definitely going back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal. The food was e ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. The food was excellent and the service as well. No disappointments this time around. We will be back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant. Romantic ambiance, ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. Romantic ambiance, great service great food. Steak was fantastic but the pork was too much belly and not enough loin. All in all great place and I would return absolutely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great meal and service! This is a restar ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great meal and service! This is a restaraunt where we can take guests and know that we will all enjoy the experience.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall our dining experience was very g ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Overall our dining experience was very good with only one disappointment as service was slow and not terribly attentive in terms of having our water glasses refilled and our wine topped up as per our requests.

The food (when it was finally served) was delicious and the presentation, as always with this restaurant, was very attractive.

Considering the wait for our meal, it would have been a nice touch to offer us a complimentary basket of bread to nibble on.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Wonderful atmosphere,wonderful service a ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere,wonderful service and wonderful food.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

It was a great evening! All plates were ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 29, 2016

It was a great evening! All plates were very appetizing and beautifully presented. Thank you for a memorable meal!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Healthy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

One of my favourite dining spots.... can ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 28, 2016

One of my favourite dining spots.... can't beat the menus and the view.....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was very slow. We were left wait ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Service was very slow. We were left waiting for about 45 min between appetizer and main course. Duck was undercooked, skin was soft and there was a thick fatty layer. Cornish game hen was overcooked and very dry. They tried to make up for the poor service by offering complimentary dessert wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Great food and great setting. Service w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great food and great setting. Service was not very engaging or friendly.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

as always the food was well executed, vi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

as always the food was well executed, visually appealing and very tasty!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Old Vines is a consistently excellent di ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Old Vines is a consistently excellent dining experience. The restaurant is lovely, the service impeccable and the food is perfectly prepared. We appreciate all the local seasonal ingredients and the menu that changes appropriately with the seasons. Though we live in Kamloops almost 2.5 hours drive away we always try to take our out of town guests here as part of a wine tour experience. It is without doubt the best vineyard restaurant.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding restaurant, great service, g ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Outstanding restaurant, great service, great food, have been coming here for years!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent value and fantastic food with ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Excellent value and fantastic food with a great view!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and wine were fantastic. Great ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food and wine were fantastic. Great atmosphere and view. Outstanding service. They were happy to accommodate dairy and gluten free dining. Will definitely visit again!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place for a Thanksgiving meal with ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great place for a Thanksgiving meal with family. Good service and interesting menu. Lovely view. Nice ambiance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing food, nice wines in the red and ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Amazing food, nice wines in the red and white flights. Mussels and clams were great, seasonal squash soup excellent. Truffle oil and parm fries are very popular. Nice Reserve Chardonnay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An excellent afternoon spent dining and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

An excellent afternoon spent dining and sampling while able to converse very romantic and airy

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was satisfactory, but service w ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was satisfactory, but service was not that good. Our waitress was treating our table badly but she holds a big smell for another table next to us. When we order, we were trying to order some different wines for testing, and she said, we don't do testing in the restaurant, but she served the next table exactly what we wanted to order. When we ask her, she said in a bad attitude, "That is a wine flight." We are all working professionals in Canada, therefore, English communication is not the problem here.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Family visiting

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Family visiting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food as always. Booked with open t ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food as always. Booked with open table, at 930pm, reservation was accepted at the restaurant. Little did we know the kitchen closed at 10 pm. Wanting more than an hour to dine we felt rushed to leave. Would be helpful if they closed the reservation earlier. Food was wonderful. Timing not the best. It was a special occasion. Would have gladly accepted and earlier reservation or been declined.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value3

A wonderful dining experience in a spect ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 8, 2016

A wonderful dining experience in a spectacular setting! Great wines!!!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at quails gate. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 8, 2016

This was our first time at quails gate. We had previously heard wonderful things from colleagues and friends and it did not disappoint!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Tasty meal but our request on Open Table ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Tasty meal but our request on Open Table for a table that could accommodate 4 adults and one infant was not fulfilled. We were wedged between to tables so car seat and baby sat on the floor much to the servers' annoyance. I guess we should have booked a table for 5.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

We checked out quails' gate winery as pe ...

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We checked out quails' gate winery as per excellent web reviews. So we decided to have lunch here as well. The meal choices were very nice. Excellent view of the Okanagan lake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a wonderful lunch! Great servic ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 6, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch! Great service and delicious food. And the view was awesome!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.