About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: 2507694451x236

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Restaurant Photos

Selection Of Glasses
Duck Confit Tagliatelle
Wine And Glaases
Selection Of Wine
Chenin Blanc Wine Flight
Lamb Panini
Truffle Pomme Frites
Trout With Israeli Couscous & Mint Yoghurt Dressing
Grilled Ceasar Salad
Mussels and Clams
Pan Seared Ahi Tuna On Top Of Southwestern Quinoa And Wasabi Aioli
Roasted golden beet and blood orange salad
Mussels
Beef Carpaccio
Trio Of Creme Brulee
Duck Liver
Oysters

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
12 More
Most Booked
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Great for Lunch
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

scenic view (295)
special occasion (252)
great for outdoor dining (235)
See All
romantic (207)
fit for foodies (192)
notable wine list (190)
great for lunch (156)
neighborhood gem (87)
good for groups (87)
great for brunch (55)
hot spot (35)
late-night find (18)
kid-friendly (11)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1748 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food, location, service and, no surp ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

The food, location, service and, no surprise, wine was excellent. I had the best soup (veloute) I've had anywhere. Everyone was thrilled. I wouldn't change a thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best dinner in a long time! Beautiful am ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

Best dinner in a long time!

Beautiful ambience, fantastic food made this a very unique and memorable experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our third time there and once a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our third time there and once again it was a most special evening. The ambiance and view over the vineyard and Lake Okanagan are outstanding. The meals are a work of art and first class. The knowledge of the wait staff about wine and wine pairings makes it a most interesting experience as well. It has become a destination all on its own for us and our family. Joanne

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was a great place to celebrate our ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was a great place to celebrate our 5th we originally were engaged at this restaurant. Great food (as always) and great new cocktail menu with local breweries on menu

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very nice Restaurant

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 3 days ago

very nice Restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We really appreciated our diner at Quail ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined 4 days ago

We really appreciated our diner at Quail's Gate. Ever thing Was very good and it Was Nice to have a young Waiter who Spoke french as my husband does not speak english. We hard a very good Time in that restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had the best dessert! white chocolate mo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Had the best dessert! white chocolate mousse with peaches. it was the different ways of presenting the fresh peaches that made the dish!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A glorious experience. A wonderful sceni ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

A glorious experience. A wonderful scenic extravagance. The food was so fresh and so beautifully presented. Our server Joel was so amazing. We ordered 6 bottles of wine since the store had already closed, he made all the arrangements.

We stayed after our dinner by the fire in the garden, we did not want to leave.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food... great venue. Definitely ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food... great venue. Definitely will return next time we are in the Okanagan.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had lunch here overlooking the vineyard. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

Had lunch here overlooking the vineyard. It was amazing! Loved the food, views, wine and service!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of the best views in the are ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

This is one of the best views in the area and is a beautiful building with great ambiance. The service was outstanding and we enjoyed the flights of wines (the whites and rose are great value). The food was unfortunately disappointing for the price and the caliber of the restaurant. with both dishes being way too salty and underwhelming in flavour.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Took half an hour to be seated outside w ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 6 days ago

Took half an hour to be seated outside which was fine. But after our meal was served, one polite how is it. And that was it say for more than half an hour with dirty plates in front of us. Server had disappeared inside I guess to work in more lucrative bigger tables. Finally flagged another one for the bill. Upon whence our server magically appeared after not checks on us for over an hour. Very disappointed

Also menu could be more clear about what was accompanying entree. Didn't know potatoes were included with ribeye so ordered a $9 side which went totally to waste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Excellent food and atmosphere for our va ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and atmosphere for our vacation dinner. Dinner was delicious and plated beautifully. The wines, as usual, were fantastic. The only, and minor at that, issue was the length of time we were left without service. This became an issue towards the end of the evening when we were ready to leave but unable to find the waitress when we wanted to settle up.

Great overall.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We enjoy the Vines year after year howev ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

We enjoy the Vines year after year however this year was different. Normally the choices on the menu fit our palate but this year not so much. The food we had was prepared well however the size of the entrée was very small and backfilled with more vegetables than normal meals. Just not up to the standard we had put this restaurant oin the past and they met. This year disappointing.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

My husband and I took my sister to Quail ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

My husband and I took my sister to Quail's Gate so she could experience the ambiance and she was suitable impressed. The view was wonderful...service wonderful, food very good. In all it was a lovely evening.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The setting is absolutely stunning and t ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

The setting is absolutely stunning and the food was excellent. The service did not measure up to the ambiance or delicious courses but we did let it not dampen our spirits. Saying this though, our waiter was distracted, slow and did not seem at all interested in enhancing our dining experience by making suggestions or giving feedback on wine or dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Everything was amazing. All I can say is ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was amazing. All I can say is keep it up.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Quails' Gate Estate Winery was stunningl ...

vip
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Quails' Gate Estate Winery was stunningly beautiful. Old Vines Restaurant had amazing food, service and views. I can't wait to come back here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So refreshing to have a dining experienc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

So refreshing to have a dining experience where the restaurant lives up to its reputation!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lemon Posset - the dessert by which all ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Lemon Posset - the dessert by which all other desserts shall now be judged.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Started off a bit bumpy: it was a hot da ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Started off a bit bumpy: it was a hot day & we wanted to sit inside instead of roasting on the outdoor terrace, but they were really reluctant to accommodate us although indoors was nearly empty . But once seated (inside) all was great. Lovely fresh salad, summer squash side, & risotto, but truly outstanding desserts — especially the touch of anise sorbet on the lemon posset!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was a perfect experience. The menu ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was a perfect experience. The menu was inspiring and the view spectacular. We thoroughly enjoyed the evening .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful lunch and as return d ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a wonderful lunch and as return diners we really enjoyed everything. The food quality was better than before...something we did not think possible. Our server was great. Attentive but not rushed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning location, the staff was extreme ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Stunning location, the staff was extremely knowledgeable about the menu and helpful. We requested the patio and had the most gorgeous view! It felt like we were dining in Italy. Wine was incredible, service was incredible and food was perfect.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a spectacular experience. The f ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was a spectacular experience. The food and the wine was amazing. We will go back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was excellent, the scene was amazin ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food was excellent, the scene was amazing if seated by patio area. The weather wasn't too great the day we went; however, they offered heater and blankets to keep us warm! Excellent venue.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal I had in the Okanagan the last ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Best meal I had in the Okanagan the last time I was there. The food was beyond superb; Ted's trout was cooked perfectly and the best trout I have put into my mouth. The duck confit salad was delicious and perfect for seniors who just a small portions. Emily, the server, was sweet and gracious and everything she recommended was delicious! She was very sweet to my octogenarian parents and very clear in her speech. Thanks for a fabulous experience!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, delicious food my fa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food my favorite winery in the okanagan! Best location with lake views, feels a little bit of heaven

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was incredible, and so were the ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The food was incredible, and so were the views and the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The reception greeter wanted us to sit d ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The reception greeter wanted us to sit down and wait. I made this reservation 2 months prior for a special occasion. I arrived on time. Exactly 615. She told me someone was ahead of me. What? I have come here before with my husband. 2 Anniversaries, and one birthday. I wanted to return because we had a pleasant experience. This time I am sorry to say it was not. I have a problem dropping almost $300.00 for a dinner and service that was terrible. The food wasn't that great as it was prior. Why do I have to ask for more water and bread from a fine dining restaurant. This isn't Earls. The dinner took forever to arrive, while others as I said sat down after us and we already on their last course!! The server Kayla, finally took away our dinner plates after sitting there what seemed forever. Also, the change on the bar menu from Motts Clamato to some local place wasn't a good move on your part, and tell your bartender to mix the Worcester sauce well , not just leave a pool of it for your customer to gag on! I truly think the older servers were much better on the ball and would have gotten a better review from me.

Your Cornish hen was rubbery, and whats with the tiny portions? There were 3 baby potatoes and my husbands dinner plate with his $ 40 steak , 2 pieces what is there a shortage of ribeye?

We didn't even order dessert, after 2 hours and 20 minutes after getting the dessert menu we said no thanks. I will not be back..what a waste of almost $300. Five star prices but not five star to me..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

While it was expensive, the food, servic ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

While it was expensive, the food, service and view were worth it. Not an everyday meal at that price but for a special occasion, then absolutely.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaraunt in the Okanagan. Incredi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Best restaraunt in the Okanagan. Incredible food and wine pairings.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated at a nice, quiet corner t ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We were seated at a nice, quiet corner table and had a pleasant view of the patio and surrounding landscape. Our wine order was a little slow in coming as was our food - almost half an hour for the arrival of the food.

I would go again, however and be a little more vocal if the service was slow.

Good but not excellent restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

One of our favourite restaurants with an ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

One of our favourite restaurants with an outstanding view of the Okanagan. Menu could have more standard lunch options.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food every time. Beautiful scene ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Amazing food every time. Beautiful scenery and amazing wine. We went six hours out of our way on a road trip just to go for lunch here. Love it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Staffs were nice and friendly every time ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Staffs were nice and friendly every time I've visited.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always nice to go to Old Vines resto. I ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Always nice to go to Old Vines resto. It had been a couple of years since our last visit. But this time, the menu wasn't so great. The food was still good, but there was nothing exciting on the menu. And the food was under-seasoned. Probably won't go back for another couple of years, but we will definitely go back to to the wine shop sooner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great braised octopus tagliatelle! Great ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great braised octopus tagliatelle! Great wines and beautiful patio setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

lots of competition in the winery dining ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

lots of competition in the winery dining experience in the Okanagan Valley and Quail's Gate continues to set the standard in warm, friendly service and great food. What a view and the kitchen outdoes itself time after time. Fresh oysters to match the best in Vancouver and carpaccio that is topped with creative and flavorful treats.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding lunch!!!, the food was amazi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Outstanding lunch!!!, the food was amazing, the service super nice & frienly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.