Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: (250) 769-4451 ext. 236

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

97% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (60)
Special Occasion (59)
Scenic View (58)
See All
Notable Wine List (52)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
Good for a Date (47)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Quiet Conversation (42)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Local Ingredients (40)
Worth the Drive (38)
Great for Lunch (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Cozy (29)
Neighborhood Gem (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (26)
Healthy (21)
Authentic (19)
Great for Brunch (19)
Business Meals (19)
Seasonal (19)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Waterfront (13)
Casual (11)
Fun (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Organic (5)
Tapas (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Live Music (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (2)
Vegan (2)
Sort by
S
2443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good service. very welcoming and attentive staff. Food did not disappoint

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Actually a very good restaurant. We enjoyed the food and the wine. The only problem we had was not really the restaurants fault. There was a very noisy and vulgar table a few tables away. After our great meal we moved over to the bar and the manager gave us free wine for the trouble. Very well done.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

I enjoyed my experience for the brunch at Quails' Gate, the food was excellent and the ambiance was good. However, the sparkling wine that was recommended on the menu for our specific meal was not available and the replacement was almost doubled the price. I think that if you offer specific pairings of wine with a meal you should have that wine available! I also think that with brunch menu, the coffee should be included in the price of the meal and not an extra!!!

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Very good time in a warm place, nice music and good food. What else !

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Early new yew brunch with friends. Easy parking. Reservation as requested. A terrific dining experience, we are looking forward to our next dinner here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

The featured duck was the best meal I have ever tasted. Hands down.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Fantastic, a good reason to cross the bridge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Food is amazing! Our second time eating here and doesn’t disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Overall very good. Music the past two visits seemed very loud and took away from the enjoyment. Food and service excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Our daughters special place to celebrate We love to make it memorable

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Casual, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Fun, Seasonal, Authentic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Once again a very nice holiday meal with family. Both the food and wine were great. Service was friendly and attentive . Can't go wrong choosing this restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Excellent as always. Our favorite dining spot in Kelowna.

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

Incredible food, great service and an amazing setting. We where there for my dads 60th birthday and really appreciated how the wait staff do not rush you. Lots of time to enjoy your meal and their fantastic wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2017

I can’t say enough about the view and ambiance of this beautiful restaurant. Our party of three enjoyed a festive holiday lunch and were seated by the window with incredible views of the snow covered vineyard and lake. Although busy and bustling, the noise level was low so we could enjoy our conversation. Loved the wine pairing suggestions with each item on the menu. I did find the some portion very small for the price, for example the scallop appetizer had two small scallops and an inch square of pork belly for $20. And the truffle fries portion size has shrunk significantly over the past year. Despite this both were very good. My friend had a pasta dish that was a huge portion however so wrong choice on my part. The service was excellent. The Server was polite and knowledgeable. Don’t forget to take a picture in front of the vineyard with the lake in the background before you leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 21, 2017

Excellent cuisine, fabulous service with a beautiful setting!

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 19, 2017

We enjoyed a lovely meal of appetizers and dessert with some friends. Going to this restaurant is very pricey so this made it more affordable. ( it was still $75/ couple and only $20 of that was wine) The restaurant didn’t offer us this special Happy Hour menu until we specifically asked for it, which I did think was cheeky. The appetizers are very tasty and pretty but if you have a larger appetite, you will find them small. Not sure if the appetizers on the Happy hour menu are actually smaller than the regular menu ones. Kinda hope so based on the price of them normally!
Our server was pleasant. The ambiance is nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Celebrated a special birthday & was treated with candles in our dessert along with orange juice & champagne a very nice touch. Excellent, pleasant service along with singer in the background another nice touch. Had the eggs benedict however felt the crumbet they used was a little hard other than that excellent!

Would highly recommend this Restaurant and a visit to their Winery for some tastings next door after enjoying your meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 17, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful celebration of his 60th birthday at your restaurant! The food was delicious, the cook offered to create a different vegetarian dish than was offered on the menu, my husband’s pork chop was done to perfection, the drinks were amazing, including the new Christmas special, the view was spectacular, the falling snow looked magical against the outdoor white sparkly lights, our server was professional yet very humorous....everything was PERFECT!! Thank you for an enjoyable evening!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Tea, Spicy, Afternoon Coffee, Vegan, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 17, 2017

This is our third month in Kelowna and hubby and I have been to Quails'Gate twice. The truffle fries came highly recommended and it did not disappoint. The complimentary wine given for our anniversary came as a surprise! I liked it and I am not a wine drinker. They accommodated our request for a lit candle for my daughter to blow for her 4th birthday. We came around 5:45PM and that was a good time coz not many people were around yet. We got to enjoy the warm, cozy ambience. My son loved his porkchop and the pasta for the kids was awesome. Definitely going back...

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2017

Excellent dinner with my parents visiting from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 16, 2017

It was very good however we were disappointed that they weren’t doing happy hour as that was the reason we went. The website says it is on Monday through Friday and it was Friday at 5 when we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 10, 2017

Always 10/10 consistently. Food, staff and setting always great

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 9, 2017

My friend and I chose old Vines because it was a Christmas lunch. We had an awesome table overlooking the vineyard. Unfortunately the pork belly on the scallop appetizer was not properly cooked. It was cold and rubbery.. other than that it was a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2017

Everything was perfect, from the moment we crossed the threshold. Great service, delicious food, good wine, delightful atmosphere, wonderful view - the praise goes on and on. This is as good as it gets. I'd recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

Wow. First time making it to Quails Gate! Drove by it many times and didn’t really know it was a restaurant. But it’s a great one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 5, 2017

Service and food on point. Will definitely host business meetings here in the future!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2017

Wonderful meal in a gorgeous setting . Start off with a wine tasting and browse through all the great items in the gift shop. End off with a fabulous meal overlooking the vineyards and Okanagan Lake. Always a favourite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 29, 2017

A great seasonal menu with exceptional VQA wines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 25, 2017

The food was excellent. The waitress was clearly inexperienced and could not explain the menu properly. As we were more familiar with the restaurant than she was this was of no special consequence.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on November 25, 2017

Outstanding service, great food and fantastic atmosphere!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2017

Wonderful food and wine, the waitress was great! She was helpful and attentive and gave us good suggestions for choosing our meals. Meals and appetizers were large and we took some home.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2017

lways love the setting of Quails Gate. Th Menu is always a little limiting but the quality of the food makes up for it. Service was a bit slower than normal but we were not in a rush and our server was very pleasant and knowledgable. Overall a loverrly evening out!🥂🍷

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 19, 2017

By far the best dining experience we have had in a very long time. Our service was truly amazing, with extra special care taken by all servers and the chef for someone in our party who suffers a severe celiac allergy. We can’t wait to go to Old Vines Restaurant at Quails Gate Winery again! Thank-you for a memorable dining experience.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 18, 2017

Excellent food, interesting menu with seasonal local ingredients

Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

My meal was excellent. It was very, very tasty. The atmosphere was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 18, 2017

It was our first time at Old Vines Restaurant and we weren't disappointed. They have a flexible 3-course Farm-to-table menu for dinner and we chose to have 3 starters, 2 main courses and 1 shared dessert.
We shared the oysters which were very fresh, the seared scallop with pork belly was fantastic as was the Albacore tuna tartine. Portion sizes were good and presentation was precise and pleasing to the eye.
My wife had the Cornish game hen which was amazing, not dry and very rich. The herb gnocchi was the best she has ever had. The Rib eye was more than enough (10 oz) and presentation was artful. We order our organic pasture raised beef/lamb from a local farmer and the taste is better than the restaurant beef, however, it is still good quality. It was cooked to a perfect med-rare with good caramelization and well rested. The capers added a briny punch to the dish.
Dessert was the Cherry verrine which was light and not too sweet. Plating was playful in a mason jar.... the pistachio sponge had just enough pistachio, cherries were fab and the glace had a creamy smooth texture.
Service was a good pace allowing time between courses without feeling rushed. Our waiter was knowledgeable but didn't proactively offer wine or coffee during the meal so we had to ask throughout. Given it is a winery restaurant, I would have thought this would be top of mind.
Overall, it was a great first impression and we wouldn't hesitate to return - maybe for happy hour?

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on November 16, 2017

My wife & I had an absolutely wonderful lunch. It was our 49th anniversary & we wanted to treat ourselves to a moment to remember lunch. Well we were not disappointed we we greeted with a glass of sparkling wine & an appetizer that was wonderful. Our lunch was better than anticipated. The waitress was very courteous & knowledgeable about the various wines at Quails Gate.
Overall experience was a lunch date to remember.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 14, 2017

Albeit one of the most expensive meals I've had in a while, the exceptional service and food was worth the expense. Wonderful date night with my hubby.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 12, 2017

We had brunch and it was amazing. I will bring all my friends here when they come to visit. The view is beautiful. I will definitely try the restaurant for dinner

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 12, 2017

Great food, Great service. Nice atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.