About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: 2507694451x236

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Restaurant Photos

2010 Chenin Blanc
Roasted Beets & Almonds
Halibut Special Order
Selection Of Glasses
Duck Confit Tagliatelle
Wine And Glaases
Selection Of Wine
Chenin Blanc Wine Flight
Truffle Pomme Frites
Trout With Israeli Couscous & Mint Yoghurt Dressing
Lamb Panini
Grilled Ceasar Salad
Mussels and Clams
Beef Carpaccio
Trio Of Creme Brulee
Roasted golden beet and blood orange salad
Pan Seared Ahi Tuna On Top Of Southwestern Quinoa And Wasabi Aioli
Mussels
Duck Liver
Oysters

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
14 More
Most Booked
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Great for Lunch
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Outdoor Dining
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

Scenic View (350)
Special Occasion (305)
Great for Outdoor Dining (294)
See All
Romantic (244)
Fit for Foodies (232)
Notable Wine List (229)
Great for Lunch (184)
Good for Groups (93)
Neighborhood Gem (91)
Great for Brunch (57)
Hot Spot (41)
Late-night Find (17)
Kid-friendly (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing! Fresh, original, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing! Fresh, original, delicious in every way. The ambiance and service was also incredible. Overall, an excellent and very memorable dining experience!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Fun, Scenic View, Tapas, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service (thanks Anita), and th ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service (thanks Anita), and the food was superb. The seafood platter starter was incredible. Lovely time was spent.

Tags: Seasonal, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Organic, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A lovely setting over looking the lake. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 5 days ago

A lovely setting over looking the lake. Delicious food and very attentive staff. Pre dinner we bought a bottle of chilled white wine from their shop. The shop staff gave us 2 paper cups. We then went into the garden and sat under the pergola and drank the wine. Perfect.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We tried several winery restaurant durin ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

We tried several winery restaurant during our visit to Kelowna. This is one of the best all round. The location is fantastic - Unbeatable views. Yes there are lots of visitors - mostly with tasting tours. If you make a reservation, you are guaranteed a quiet table which is far away from the busy crowd upstairs.

Service is top notch. You get prompt friendly attention but never rushed. After-all you are there to relax and enjoy. We ordered and then stepped out to take pictures in the vineyard and the big lawn overlooking the lake. We were there for lunch but am sure evening time would be even more wonderful.

We are not much expert on wines, but definitely enjoyed the delicious food. From the perfectly cooked meat to fresh vegetables, every detail is excellent. Would definitely go back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic views, creative food, lovely p ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fantastic views, creative food, lovely presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was okay but all too salty. My wife ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was okay but all too salty. My wife's butcher cut steak was over grilled on the surface. Both surprised and disappointed to see those oysters we ordered for starters were so tiny (comparable to the size of a kidney bean). Desserts looked good but didn't taste good.

However, the service was good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Awesome service and food. Highly recomme ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome service and food. Highly recommend. Great view.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was slow to say the least. Men ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Service was slow to say the least.

Menu was quite limited and were not very accommodating to our dietary needs. Quite disappointing.

View was beautiful, but overall not enough to save the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

A must for anyone visiting the Okanagan ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

A must for anyone visiting the Okanagan valley. Great local produce (heirloom tomatoes were at peak perfection in August), wines and meat/poultry/fish.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Joel gave us great advice n terrific ser ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Joel gave us great advice n terrific service! Awesome views, delicious food n the patio was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food wasn't worth the hype but the servi ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food wasn't worth the hype but the service was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was painfully slow probably as t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Service was painfully slow probably as the restaurant had more customers than the kitchen could reasonably handle. This was likely due to their special group dining. The time between courses was unreasonably long (just under an hour). The food was disappointing overall.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great high quality food with great views ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Great high quality food with great views and ambience. Service not as perfect this time, but overall will repeat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Waitress was very perky, but spot on, no ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Waitress was very perky, but spot on, not intrusive. Glad I knew to book ahead.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As with past visits to Old Vines, the me ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

As with past visits to Old Vines, the meal, service and ambiance was top notch. In our view, it is one of the best values for a quality dining experience a a winery in the Okanagan. Kudos to our server Amy who was friendly, attentive and made great recommendations for our meal.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful views from the patio! Very exp ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Beautiful views from the patio! Very expensive but worth it for a special occasion. We had the salmon and the duck and they were both incredible. Great selection of wines and friendly, attentive service. Excellent desserts as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, wine and ambience is really wo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food, wine and ambience is really wonderful. We live in Kelowna and often dine at Quail's Gate for special occasions and special events ( birthdays and anniversaries) as well as taking out of town guests.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting from Ontario. Our favou ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We were visiting from Ontario. Our favourite place for lunch.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We went for dinner on our 1st year anniv ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We went for dinner on our 1st year anniversary, having had our wedding reception at Quail's Gate a year before. The food was as exceptional that day as it was at our wedding. It is hard to imagine a tomato salad that can taste so good, except perhaps in Italy, and the steak was melt in your mouth! Naturally the wine was good as always and so happy to have found a new Viognier that I love.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Everything was amazing, the food, wine, ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Everything was amazing, the food, wine, location, ambiance and dessert but the washroom was absolutely filthy.....someone needs to really be checking those and cleaning them regularly.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic , however the ser ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food was fantastic , however the service was a bit disappointing.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Beautiful spot to have a glass of wine o ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Beautiful spot to have a glass of wine outside on the patio. View was amazing. Didn't care much for the expensive fancy seafood selections, but wine is very reasonably priced and we got a couple of appies to go with it. Service was great. We went on a gorgeous Saturday evening and it was surprisingly not very busy. Had a reservation but wouldn't have really needed it to get a table right away.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

My daughter and a friend had lunch at th ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My daughter and a friend had lunch at the Old Vines restaurant and had raved about it so we had to go and yes, they were right! The food was more than outstanding.

I had crab cakes (not a big eater at lunch), two had the chicken which was so tender and the 4th person had seared tuna and that was delicious. The waitress was very pleasant and knowledgeable. She helped us pick out some wine for our tastes (2 liked one, 2 liked the other!).

I would absolutely return, next time for dinner.

ps Quails Gate always has phenomenal wine-this years favorite is their Viognier Shannon Pacific

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view. The service is perfect. They ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great view. The service is perfect. They hold off serving while we wanders around with the vineyard. Food is first class. Definitely recommend

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a must go place when in the Okan ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is a must go place when in the Okanagan/West Kelowna area. Food is fantastic and on a world scale of "outstanding", despite some rather rare (actually "uncooked" and "uneaten") salmon and quite small portions.

Unfortunately, front of house service needs some improvement - cool welcome because we were a few mins early, lots of rolling eyes among wait and bar staff while we were waiting in bar area (unclear if this was about us, or some other problem). We got seated about 10 min after the time of our Opentable reservation, and sadly our group of four were seated in a corner-outside table at the back near the exit from the kitchen that had a very limited view. This sort of supports my general impression that on-line, non-regular or non-valued customers get the less desirable seating. Next time, I will try a direct reservation by phone or in person to see if I get better service and table, and thereby avoid Opentable.

However, menu and food were great and the wine fantastic, although pretty expensive overall (about $120 per person for dinner with wine).

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value2

Wonderfull lunch, with great service and ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Wonderfull lunch, with great service and good wine. Great view!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a little worried as there was a ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We were a little worried as there was a storm earlier in the day, thunder and lightening. As the evening approached the skies cleared and it was a magnificent view from everywhere in the winery. I have been to Italy and I felt like I was back. The food was absolutely delicious. I had the game hen with the gnocci, my sister-in-law had the sable fish and my daughter (who is vegan) had the lentil dish, all were wonderful. We tried four different deserts and they were melt in your mouth scrumptious. The service staff was awesome. Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Outdoor Eating, Late-night Find, Romance, Scenic View, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been here before. Loved it as a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We have been here before. Loved it as always. Great food, ambience and service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, we had a lovely experience at Q ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Overall, we had a lovely experience at Quail's Gate. Their lunch menu had many choices, all of which sounded amazing. We ended up selecting the crab cakes to start and for main courses had the clams and mussels and the chicken. Both meals were cooked perfectly and had beautiful flavour profiles. The only downside was that our waitress was new and didn't have a good hold on the specials. We overheard another waitress explain the specials and they sounded much more appealing. However, we loved the view and the ambience. It was a fair price for a lunch menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Fantastic all round for lunch. The most ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Fantastic all round for lunch. The most delicious chicken I've ever ordered at a restaurant. Beautiful view, great staff - the food and wine were absolute winners!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quails' Gate Estate Winery- Old Vines Re ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Quails' Gate Estate Winery- Old Vines Restaurant was absolutely fantastic. The view was breathtaking and the food was delicious. If I were ever in the area again I would not hesitate to book a table. Thank-you for an incredible night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We missed Anthony! Never booking on his ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We missed Anthony! Never booking on his night off again!

A Magical moment from start to finish.

Our 30th wedding anniversary and our newborn Grandson !

Couldn't have been a better night!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A spectacular dining experience in every ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

A spectacular dining experience in every way! The view is gorgeous, the food wonderful and the service just perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view, the steak was delicious. O ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Amazing view, the steak was delicious. Our server Was incredibly friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We chose Quales Gate for our 11th Aniver ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We chose Quales Gate for our 11th Aniversary lunch. We were not disappointed. The food was great as well as the wine. The view of the vineyard and okanagan lake was stunning. The service very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous venue, beautiful view and great ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Fabulous venue, beautiful view and great food and service. Wines are outstanding!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The view was amazing, the service was gr ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

The view was amazing, the service was great and the food was impeccable. Every single course and dish was wonderfully balanced, excellent presentation and delicious. We really enjoyed our meal and look forward to visiting again.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed both a lunch and supper while ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We enjoyed both a lunch and supper while on vacation in wine country. Both lunch and supper were exceptional. All family members were pleased with their choices and would not hesitate to recommend them to friends.

Ask to sit outside the view is spectacular.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is beautiful, great food and am ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The view is beautiful, great food and ambiance. Can't beat it for a great experience in the Okanagan!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding view, excellent service, del ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Outstanding view, excellent service, delicious food beautifully presented.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.