Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: (250) 769-4451 ext. 236

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (152)
Great for Outdoor Dining (127)
Special Occasion (114)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (114)
Romantic (112)
Notable Wine List (108)
Good for a Date (106)
Worth the Drive (89)
Local Ingredients (88)
Fit for Foodies (72)
Creative Cuisine (71)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Great for Lunch (64)
Quiet Conversation (61)
Cozy (54)
Waterfront (38)
Seasonal (37)
Business Meals (35)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Authentic (34)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Casual (29)
Tasting Menu (27)
Fun (23)
Good for Groups (21)
Great for Brunch (20)
Gluten Free Options (17)
Organic (15)
People Watching (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Tapas (12)
Afternoon Tea (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vegan (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Live Music (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2331 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We are local and have been to the Old Vines several times since they opened. Both for lunch and dinner. We have found the service and friendliness of the staff quite variable. This last time I found our server excellent, friendly, engaging and responsive. My previous experiences have been quite poor. Servers have been bordering on rude, with slow or none existent service. I have needed to get up to get service several times.
And while our server was excellent last time, I question the organizations commitment to service. I booked a long way in advance for an anniversary dinner, requesting outside seating near a window if possible.
When we arrived they tried to put us at the back, at a table essentially in the high traffic aisle right by the kitchen. We asked to be moved and they hesitated, but did so. Both my wife and I agreed we would leave if they hadn't, it was the worst table in the house. And all evening, there were other better empty tables throughout the restaurant. What's with that?
It is unusual to get high quality European style service in the Okanagan, usually one receives more casual, friendly service. This restaurant markets itself as exclusive, but doesn't deliver consistency or professionalism.
If you want good European style service go to Bouchon's.
The last problem with Old Vines is the price point. While the food is of moderate quality for such a restaurant, and they have a very nice room with good views, those things are far from unique here. I would rate it as quite overpriced.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Great place, come early, as window tables seem to be attributed on first come basis.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Service and Food were both excellent! We purchased a case of wine following our lunch at the winery and Wine Supervisor (Larry I think??) took care of us with class!! Unfortunately we had a small accident at out last stop to buy some fruit before leaving West Kelowna...The case of wine fell to the ground when I opened the back seat door. It could have been worse I know but we lost 3 beautiful bottles of wine. ):

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

As always the Old Vines restaurant delivered exceptional service and wonderful food. Far and above my expectations every time, this restaurant is by far my favourite. I only wish I lived closer to enjoy it more often. We will always come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic food!!! Definitely will go again and highly recommend

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Stunning views but they claimed to be super busy but we think they forgot about us. They brought out our appetizer twice (15 mins apart) and we then waited 1 hr 15 mins for our main course. We had decided to grab our bill before the main course arrived as our waiter practically ran to our table with the food. The manager what approached us was kind and took care of our bill and apologized but still wouldn't own up to it being there fault.
Maybe we where just unlucky first timers... we are willing to go back and try again in the near future.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

Our evening was perfect, good food, awesome server & good view even with the smoky skies. Thanks

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 6 days ago

We had been here once before and enjoyed our meal so when we found ourselves going to Kelowna again we booked ahead using open table and were not disappointed. We enjoyed the seafood plate and the ling cod linguine.
Awesome food, service and view.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, People Watching, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 7 days ago

service was polite, prompt and professional

Meal was poorly balanced: good portions of Salmon and Duck little vegetable.

Duck was well prepared, but salmon was dry, lacked flavor and seemed to be last minute broiled with a hard surface crust.

Poor portions of vegetables, 1.5 potatoes, cut into 3 pieces and a hand full of corn and popcorn
is not appropriate at these prices.

Fun is one thing, value is another!

This restuarant needs to review it's plating practices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 15, 2017

A beautiful setting for our 25th anniversary celebration . We had the best outdoor table with panoramic lake views. The food was delicious and also beautifully served . I highly recommend this place !

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

I thought the service was excellent. The food was decent but not for the price. Don't understand why you would charge us for a coffee refill. That alone would prevent me from coming back. Too bad because a great setting. Don't mind spending the money if you feel you are getting the value. Great wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

We had the steamed clams and the fried cauliflower for appetizers. They were fairly tasty, but nothing special. The clam sauce was very watery and very salty.
I had the ribeye steak - medium rare. It had great flavour, but was almost impossible to cut and chew! I had to slice it in slivers to make it edible. There was so much fat and gristle, I left much of it on my plate. For $48.00, I expected much more! My boyfriend had the halibut. It was quite tasty. We had the dark chocolate desert which was cute served in the mason jar, but overall flavour was average - the ice cream was the best part of that desert. We had the Rose wine with our dinner and it was lovely. Our service was very slow at the start (we were there at 6:00).
Just felt like an extremely expensive dinner ($175.00) for two people for the kind of service and quality of the dinner we had.
I am afraid the view and the ambiance are not enough to get us to come back.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Excellent service and food! And the view from the patio was beautiful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 12, 2017

A restaurant with a beautiful setting overlooking the vineyards and the lake. Nice design and lighting. Great ambience. Dined on the patio near the fire bowl in a late sitting. Wonderful crab appetizer and peach salad. The salmon was lovely (ask for it medium rare they tend to go for medium they tell you-but they tell you!). The duck breast was very substantial, almost required a red wine but an oaky chardonnay was lovely. The house-made ice creams are also delicious and not too sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

Went with friends while on a short vacation.
Lived up to expectations with great service and food. Sat outside on the patio. Stunning views of the lake and vineyards. Very romantic. Lovely service without being overly formal. Terrific food and wine. Loved it and look forward to going back on our next visit to the Okanagan

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Lucky us! We sat out on the patio and watched a brilliant sunset over the vines. One of the only smokeless days of the summer.
Service was perfect, our server was friendly, and professional.
Appetizers through dessert- with a bottle of Chasselas. Exceptional experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We are never disappointed when we dine here, a little pricey, but the patio makes up for it.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Hello! I have been meaning to email you yesterday regarding our dining experience on Saturday night. We had out of town friends come in for the weekend and raved on about your restaurant and was so happy to reserve a table for four for Saturday evening. We had a nice table outside on the patio and the service was lovely however, we were all very disappointed with our meals. We ordered two wild coho salmon dishes and one Rangeland bison and one cornish game hen. The bison was good but the sides were weak...not much flavour. My salmon tasted fishy and I did mention this to the waitress and was immediately asked if I would like another identical meal or the halibut to which I replied the halibut. It was brought to me very quickly as I believe it was a plate that was perhaps ordered by mistake from another table. The halibut was bland and cold...I just ate it as I didn't seem to care anymore to resend a second plate back in front of my friends. My friend's wild salmon didn't taste fishy but was very bland and she said it tasted as though the salmon was dipped in butter. Also, although I understand the idea of whimsy on a plate, a few popped kernels of popcorn degrades the gourmet wild salmon plates. The Cornish hen wasn't bad but had very little flavour, seasoning herbs were not existent. In the end it was a disappointment as our usual experience at your restaurant is an awesome one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Delicious food but not enough. My friends chicken came with gnocchi... Two of them! Two! My steak was delicious but came with 4 green beans 2 tiny bite size squash and a small handful of risotto. Super delicious but hungry an hour later. If I'm spending $26 on lunch i expect to be full until dinner. Lovely location. Good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

I went to Old Vines Restaurant with my girlfriend for dinner and we enjoyed a grateful time! The food is very good and not too expensive. It's a very nice place too, with a beautiful view of the lake.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

This is a special place, with a vista and food and wine to match. The service was friendly and attentive, and the bill was hardly out of line for the quality and the setting. A great winery with awesome food. I had the "Butcher's Cut", which turned out to be a sliced flatiron steak, cooked to perfection, with a rich demiglaze, served over succulent roast potatoes and vegetables. Washed down with superb wines from the estate, this meal was the highlight of my trip to Kelowna.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Group of four and none of us enjoyed our appetizers. Peach Salad and crab salad were okayish but would not reorder. Cheese appetizer was pure salt and our friend didn't eat any of it. The server didn't even mention it wasn't touched when the plates were picked up.

Duck was delicious! Halibut was good.

I'd skip the appetizers and stick to mains.

Wines are great and not overpriced by bottle.

Tags: Seasonal, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Third time visiting this restaurant. Was with party of 5. Three of 5 guests complained that there was too much salt in fries and meal was too salty. Many guests are on salt reduced diets and a guest can add salt as required. Further, a complementary bread/bun served with meal would have been appreciated.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

We had a fantastic night celebrating our 2 year anniversary. The patio was excellent, food amazing, and staff were very friendly and attentive. Thankyou, you will see us again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Quail Gate was delightful and sat outside on the patio.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

This was our first visit at Quails Gate and we loved the area, winery and very very friendly staff. We took in the wine tasting at 10 am before our lunch and the gentleman that served us was so friendly, informative and helped us understand about wine tasting. We found various wines we loved and purchased a few bottles to take home with us. The views were spectacular, the service was out of this world. The menu was awesome as it allowed us to try various choices as we ordered different plates to share. Very romantic as we felt we were the only 2 people there. We will definitely come back for another visit. Thank you very much for such a lovely experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

great location , had amazing food and good wine! we spend a nice evening in a wonderful atmosphere

Tags: Great for Brunch, Authentic, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Fantastic location - beautiful ambience- fabulous food - so worth the drive!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Hot Spot, Organic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 1, 2017

The ambiance of this restaurant was superb! Friendly hostess & our waitress was very knowledgeable about the menu & wine. A great dining experience & a gorgeous setting & interior!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Our server Kelly was excellent and just added to great night with friends, food and wine.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Excellent food.elegant setting with story book views of lake and vines.well matched wine pairings.rather inattentive and somewhat off hand service.very crowded dining room with high noise level.but the food the wine and the view are each something to behold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 29, 2017

Great food, great view and great wine on a hot day. What more can we ask for.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

One of my favorite places to go In the Kelowna/West Kelowna area. I always enjoy the food, ambiance, patio dining with the view overlooking the lake and of course the wine. Travelling with my daughter to visit Kelowna together for the first time since we moved from the area in 2009, it was a must to have dinner at Quail's gate during our stay. Service was great as always and we made new fond memories during our trip!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The food was great but what made our evening very special and memorable was our server Mandy (blond hair lady). Usually, we love the food but we always have issues with the service. This time however, Mandy completely changed our experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The food was delicious! However we were not entirely impressed with the service. We felt like we waited a long time for the server to come check on us, she was also quiet and not very personable. However I feel that maybe we felt this way since the night before we were at a different restaurant and had the best server we have ever experienced.

Regardless, food is good, and the ambience is great! We especially loved the string lights hanging in the vineyard. I ate the gnocchi which were to die for. I wasn't entirely impressed with my husband's steak but he liked it so that is all that matters.

If you are having trouble obtaining a reservation online, try calling or dropping in. I tried to change a reservation time and online it was showing that they were completely booked all weekend. When I called they were able to accommodate, and when we showed up for the reservation there were many open tables.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Outstsanding service, fantastic food & amazing scenery. Old Vines is consistently awesome!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Amazing !!! Beautiful view ! Best food .!
Awesome service .
Will definitely be returning
Make sure to make a reservation !

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Fun, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our second time to Old Vines at Quails Gate, and the food was every bit as good as the first time. My flat iron steak and my friend's cod wee cooked to perfection. Accompanying vegetables and salads were fresh and sweet. Staff were friendly and professional. I appreciated being moved from the outdoor patio to indoors because staff were concerned about rain in the forecast. a definite must-see for anyone visiting the Okanagan!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Fun, Yummy menu. Attentive service, very well run by Casey and her team.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

I received a Quails Gate gift card from my kids in honour of a milestone birthday. We strolled the beautiful grounds and admired the flowers and vineyards. My husband and I were both recipients of a complimentary drink prior to our meal served on the patio. Food was delicious, overpriced, but nevertheless delicious. It came with excellent waitressing and an awesome view. Declining deserts, we each received a complimentary aperitif at the end of the meal. Great way to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.