About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: 2507694451x236

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Restaurant Photos

Selection Of Glasses
Duck Confit Tagliatelle
Wine And Glaases
Selection Of Wine
Chenin Blanc Wine Flight
Lamb Panini
Truffle Pomme Frites
Trout With Israeli Couscous & Mint Yoghurt Dressing
Grilled Ceasar Salad
Mussels and Clams
Pan Seared Ahi Tuna On Top Of Southwestern Quinoa And Wasabi Aioli
Roasted golden beet and blood orange salad
Mussels
Beef Carpaccio
Trio Of Creme Brulee
Duck Liver
Oysters

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
12 More
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Great for Lunch
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

scenic view (206)
special occasion (176)
romantic (148)
See All
great for outdoor dining (147)
fit for foodies (144)
notable wine list (138)
great for lunch (116)
neighborhood gem (70)
good for groups (69)
great for brunch (47)
hot spot (23)
late-night find (12)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1671 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, everything was spectacular. ...

Dined 5 days ago

As always, everything was spectacular. From beginning to end, service and food. But remember if it is your first time, dining at a winery is on the pricy side.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful as alway s - staff ...

Dined 5 days ago

Absolutely wonderful as alway s - staff are superb , food amazing and every meal is a special occaision

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding dining experience the food w ...

Dined 5 days ago

Outstanding dining experience the food was and whole experience was delightful.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally fantastic restaurant and such su ...

Dined 6 days ago

Totally fantastic restaurant and such superb views, service and high quality food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we are locals and have dined here severa ...

Dined 6 days ago

we are locals and have dined here several times. Always an amazing experience. thx u!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Outstanding food!!! Unparalleled ambian ...

Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding food!!! Unparalleled ambiance. Staff was efficient, friendly and competent.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wine is overpriced per glass, and only 5 ...

Dined 6 days ago

Wine is overpriced per glass, and only 5 ounces!!!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We had great expectations from this plac ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had great expectations from this place and the food certainly did not disappoint. That being said, our overall experience was subpar. Despite our reservations, we waited 40 mins for a table. While waiting for the table, we decided to have drinks at the bar. The service by the bartender was terrible. Despite being one of two couples there, she barely paid any attention to us. I literally had to flag her down to get served. She was busy pouring drinks for all the servers, while we sat there with empty glasses for at least 10 mins. On top of all this, the host told us our table was ready soon and the hostess would come get us. Instead, she arrived and proceeded to seat a couple that arrived after us. Again, the food was amazing...it's too bad that the service was so disappointing. We would not go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A highlight of our weekend everything wa ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

A highlight of our weekend everything was outstanding would highly recommend for a special occasion

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We live in the neighbourhood and it was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We live in the neighbourhood and it was our second visit. We will be watching for specials as we would like to frequent more often. Other than my mother's leeks which one of them was quite woody, the meal was quite delicious.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in the Valley. Hands down. Superb i ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Best in the Valley. Hands down. Superb in every respect: service, food, view, ambience. And a lovely gift shop to extend the joy to others back home. If you're anywhere near Kelowna, make a date here--and come early to get one of the better seats.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! Outstanding local food options ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Amazing! Outstanding local food options to compliment very nice wines (and view).

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I always enjoy coming to Quails Gate whe ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I always enjoy coming to Quails Gate when I'm in Kelowna for great wine and food. A neighborhood gem for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect setting and lunch. Haven't been ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Perfect setting and lunch. Haven't been to Old Vines for 10 years. Very pleased with the new wine shop and gardens. Ate here for a special birthday lunch. Great service. Everyone enjoyed their meal choices . And of course the Quail's Gate wines , two people had their wine flights. It's a good relaxed way to experience the different reds or whites. Would like to see more menu selections . Fabulous lake views in great patio area. One of the top Wineries in the Okanagan .

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular all around. My husband and I ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Spectacular all around. My husband and I sat on the comfortable couches, overlooking the lake, sipping Quail's Gates own delicious wines and eating their delicious food. Service was prompt and friendly. We enjoyed several items from the sharing menu - all were excellent. This restaurant is a real gem overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have dined here a few times after com ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We have dined here a few times after coming in to the winery in search of their award winning 2011 chard. This is a great place in Kelowna to have dinner. The food is great, the service superb and the view! You feel transported to Tuscany as you dine looking out over the vineyards to the lake. We were last at the restaurant in June and thought we remembered the menu as being broader but perhaps it's slimmed down in the slower season. We understand that it is usually fully booked so reservations in advance are advised.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Old Vines restaurant. A must do eve ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Love Old Vines restaurant. A must do everytime I'm in Westbank, amazing food, great view and fabulous wine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

On behalf of my fellow diners I have to ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

On behalf of my fellow diners I have to say that we were extremely disappointed with our meal. We ordered the halibut and it was extremely over cooked to the point that it tasted gritty and was not edible. The beet dish and desert was very good, as was the wine. What was disappointing is that the cost of the halibut entree should have been discounted off of the bill but rather they gave us ice wine and cookies as compensation, which although very nice, was not the way to compensate us for the poor meal. I have eaten at Quails Gate a few times over the past few years and have a property just down the hill so it is a very convenient location, but unfortunately, I doubt I will ever return for a meal.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous meal, excellent wine and amazin ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fabulous meal, excellent wine and amazing environment.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quail's Gate Old Vines Restaurant is a b ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Quail's Gate Old Vines Restaurant is a beautiful, upscale restaurant that has fantastic food and great service. I keep going back each time I visit the Okanagan.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I always take my out-of-town visitors to ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

I always take my out-of-town visitors to the Quailsgate restaurant. The view and the food are fantastic! The service is very attentive and my guests always love it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Terrible/ overbook/ 30-45 wait

Dined on June 10, 2016

Quail Gate Winery over books, and is not a place i would recommend for a special occasion. Price/ selection / service over rated.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great food, great wine, great service & Great view

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Quail's Gate simply delightful

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

QG has become one of the best restaurants in Western Canada. Food is beautifully presented and is delicious. A smallish menu but enough choice for almost everybody. The staff both servers and the hostess have exactly the right blend of professionalism and friendliness. Plus one of the best outlooks/views anywhere- just spectacular.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had lunch there last Monday (June 6th ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

We had lunch there last Monday (June 6th) and it was a simply a sublime experience! Seated promptly out on the patio with stunning views of the vineyard and the lake beyond. I started with asparagus soup, my wife had the crab cakes and we both finished with the fritters which we agreed were the best we'd ever tasted! Our waitress and manager were both friendly and helpful which is most appreciated. First time at the restaurant but most definitely not the last . . .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on June 5, 2016

Food and wine was amazing! Service was exceptional and the patio is gorgeous! I could have sat there all afternoon enjoying the lake, vineyard and the flowers! Wish I took some pictures!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was beautiful

Dined on June 4, 2016

The food, the wine and the scenery were beautiful experiences.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous evening

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The setting and views are beautiful - and the food and wine exceeded expectations. A lovely gem with a menu that, although not extensive, has something for everyone. Would highly recommend this restaurant. Our server was professional yet friendly and took very good care of us. She knew the wines very well! Would definitely return.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4

My favorite restaurant. Food is excellen ...

vip
Dined on June 2, 2016

My favorite restaurant. Food is excellent here and I always go to this restaurant everytime I visit Kelowna. This time around, the food was a bit slow to come out. Other than that, everything was excellent

food4
ambience5
service3

The setting is amazing

Dined on June 2, 2016

The setting is amazing

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Spot

Dined on June 1, 2016

First time at the restaurant, with a group of friends on holiday in Kelowna. food and wine choices were superb. Prices on the lunch menu were very reasonable and the service staff were happy, professional and courteous. We had a great time and we will dine here again when next we are in B.C. Wine Country.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and great Profesional service

Dined on June 1, 2016

From entry in to leaving the staff are there at your table to check everything is going OK

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicolious

Dined on May 31, 2016

Awesome food and excellent service. It was a bit pricey, but sooooo delicious.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food came out too quickly

Dined on May 29, 2016

We would definitely go again, but would establish with the server that we wished to enjoy our wine for a few minutes before we had the food placed in front of us.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All Around Perfect

Dined on May 29, 2016

It was the perfect dining place to bring our out of town guests. The weather was not up to par but the ambience inside was warm and cozy. We had a window seat and could still enjoy the view despite the clouds and rain that evening. Our waitress was friendly and all smiles. The elk carpaccio and albacore tuna poke was perfect! Our entrees included Duck Breast (delicious!) halibut (nicely done!), rib eye (served sliced for personal carving) The accompanied wines were well paired too! We all shared a strawberry (local & fresh) shortcake! Scrumptious! We were all smiles. The only thing we wished we asked the waitress to take a photo of all of us. We were busy taking pics of the food LOL!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent as well as food! W ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Service was excellent as well as food! Will be back soon.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fabulous meal

Dined on May 28, 2016

We travelled to Kelowna from Vancouver for a couple of get-away days and went to Quail's Gate for dinner. My husband and I both said it was the best restaurant meal we had eaten in years. The open-faced asparagus ravioli appetizer I had was amazing with beautiful textures and tastes. The main courses (halibut and duck) were both fabulous as were the desserts. I had a cheese tray that was more than I could eat. This was the kind of meal best eaten slowly so that you could savour every bite. We did just that with a couple of glasses of Quail's Gate wine to go with it. The Pinot Gris and the Pinot Noir were so good that we bought 4 bottles of each to take home! The service was terrific right up until the end. Our server left us hanging after bringing the bill and we sat cooling our heels for about 15 minutes before we could pay. All in all we highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding experience

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

My wife and I were very impressed with the entire experience. We had a great table overlooking the lake and we received exceptional service. The food was outstanding as was the wine. Highly recommend Quail's Gate but make sure that you make a reservation so that you get a good table. This is a very busy restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, beautiful views, tast ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Excellent service, beautiful views, tasty food, wonderful wines. You must make Quails Gate part of your Kelowna experience!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Made a dinner reservation here with some girlfriends for a nice dinner and we ended up waiting an hour and a half to get sat. And then waited another hour and a bit for our entrees. Wouldn't say the food was worth the two and a half hour wait, but the ambiance was nice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.