About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: 2507694451x236

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Restaurant Photos

2010 Chenin Blanc
Roasted Beets & Almonds
Halibut Special Order
Selection Of Glasses
Duck Confit Tagliatelle
Wine And Glaases
Selection Of Wine
Chenin Blanc Wine Flight
Truffle Pomme Frites
Trout With Israeli Couscous & Mint Yoghurt Dressing
Lamb Panini
Grilled Ceasar Salad
Mussels and Clams
Beef Carpaccio
Trio Of Creme Brulee
Roasted golden beet and blood orange salad
Pan Seared Ahi Tuna On Top Of Southwestern Quinoa And Wasabi Aioli
Mussels
Duck Liver
Oysters

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
13 More
Most Booked
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Great for Lunch
Okanagan / Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Okanagan / Wine Country
Outdoor Dining
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Scenic View
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

Scenic View (361)
Special Occasion (311)
Great for Outdoor Dining (292)
See All
Romantic (244)
Notable Wine List (230)
Fit for Foodies (222)
Great for Lunch (179)
Neighborhood Gem (84)
Good for Groups (76)
Great for Brunch (50)
Hot Spot (43)
Good for a Date (33)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Worth the Drive (25)
Local Ingredients (24)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Late-night Find (15)
Cozy (15)
Seasonal (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Waterfront (10)
Fun (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Healthy (8)
Business Meals (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Authentic (6)
Tapas (6)
Organic (5)
Casual (5)
Fireplace (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Historic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Family Style (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1880 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed our evening👍 It was on our l ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed our evening👍 It was on our list of things to do in Kelowna & it did not disappoint.

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our experience for the first time was ba ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Our experience for the first time was bar to none. The view, outside patio, food and service was out of this world. It might of been our first time to this Resturant but not our last. This was for my wife's Birthday, and the only thing missing was that acknowledgment. It would have been nice for someone to have wished her a Happy Birthday as I did tell reservations why I was bringing my wife there. Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice service. Ate out on patio. Sta ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very nice service. Ate out on patio. Staff good at responding to need for awning, then heaters. Lovely and quiet on patio so easy to have a business discussion. My dinner plate had a bit too much going on. The fish was good, but overly fussy presentation that didn't allow me to appreciate the flavours. Chocolate dessert not great.

Tags: Business Meals, Tapas, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I made this our last stop of ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife and I made this our last stop of our honeymoon, and it was truly the best meal we had the entire trip (which included a stop in San Francisco). The wine choices at Quails Gate are always a favorite of mine, and the food was outstanding. We had the steak and the Cornish hen, cooked perfectly with wonderful flavors. I will be back again, likely every year we are back in Kelowna. Thank you for making our last night a memorable one!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Casual, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was fabulous, the food excell ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our server was fabulous, the food excellent and location was perfect. Will definitely recommend and will be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Fun, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so disappointed this time. We ha ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We were so disappointed this time. We have been at Quails Gate many times, and this was a special occasion as we celebrated 3 birthdays and a wedding.

We waited a long time even to get a glass of wine, a lot longer to get our food. The girl was working hard, but had too many tables and the restaurant was not even full.

It will be a long time before we return, what a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Beautiful setting and amazing, personal ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Beautiful setting and amazing, personal service. Food and wine were delicious. It was a beautiful and enjoyable evening with my daughter.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Wood Oven, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

You should have some bread for the meal. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

You should have some bread for the meal. Other. Than that it was nice

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

have eaten here many, many times and wil ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

have eaten here many, many times and will come many more.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice building, well located, good servic ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Nice building, well located, good service, nice ambiance , menu shpuld offer more items on the main course

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Views of the Okanagan were breathtaking ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Views of the Okanagan were breathtaking. Food was exquisite. Service at the table was friendly and efficient. Good value even at the premium prices.

Hostess who greeted us could have been a little more cheerful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jordan at the front desk was awesome and ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Jordan at the front desk was awesome and our server Michelle was very helpful about telling us where to go after dinner as we were from out of town. Michelle provided great service as well!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The restaurant was quite busy when we we ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The restaurant was quite busy when we were there and we were seated inside because it was quite cool outside. The view and ambience of the restaurant is outstanding. There were six of us, celebrating my wife's birthday. The service was very slow, right from taking our drink orders to delivering the food. A couple of things that really annoyed me though was 1) the wine we had ordered was not delivered until we were half way through our main course and 2) nobody came to check if everything was OK after the meal was delivered (in fact, we were short cutlery and had to call over another server to help). Had hoped for better after al the good recommendations from friends. We'll give it another try...might have just been a bad night.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Good food, good service and beautiful se ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good food, good service and beautiful setting. The suggested pairing wine was not available for my appetizer. That was the only thing missing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very poor service...we start for almost ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very poor service...we start for almost an hour without our wine order...totally forgot about us. Menu was extremely limited...not even a pasta for an entrée! I cannot in all good conscience recommend this restaurant and I was so looking forward to it, including visiting the store but it was closed....disappointing way to spend my Birthday and the bill was well over $200 for two people with wine only!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Our third time there over several years. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Our third time there over several years. It is reliably excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointed this time .... My husband a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Disappointed this time .... My husband and I are locals and make a point of bringing our out of town guests to Quailsgate for dinner as we have always had a great meal. This time though,we were very disappointed with the food. First of all, although there is a lot of seafood, other than Lentils, there were no pasta dishes so two people were limited to having just salad. Overall out of six people only two were satisfied with their meal.

I don't think we will return with our guests in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Understaffed. Took 45 minutes to get fi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Understaffed. Took 45 minutes to get first glass of wine. Hostess was bussing tables. 20 minutes late on seating us for our reservation. My first glass of wine was wrong one. Very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

This was one of the best meals we have e ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This was one of the best meals we have ever had. Delicious & creative food. Wonderful setting.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

acoustics were difficult for conversatio ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

acoustics were difficult for conversation, but food and wine was execelent

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Elegant, friendly, tasty...that makes yo ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Elegant, friendly, tasty...that makes you want to go back

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Scenic View, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

food was very good, especially the lamb. ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

food was very good, especially the lamb. there should be more salad options. service was great and the views, as always, spectacular.

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server, Marc, suggested wines with e ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Our server, Marc, suggested wines with each course that were outstanding choices. I would highly recommend a visit to Old Vines as it never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful dinner.James our serve ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Another wonderful dinner.James our server was excellent. He served us last year during a visit to Kelowna and he remembered us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My friend and I enjoyed lunch at Quails ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

My friend and I enjoyed lunch at Quails Gate. We ordered the pan fried trout with risotto. That trout was absolutely amazing in taste. The risotto also very tasty. It was a great experience.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Too many staff who are not doing enough. ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Too many staff who are not doing enough. Food was OK, but given the price not within the value proposition window. We were out with friends from out of town and this was a letdown.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

The food was amazing along with the wine ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was amazing along with the wine. The view was absolutely breathtaking and the service was first class! I would highly recommend this place to anyone. Would definitely return!

Tags: Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The lunch was spectacular! I brought a ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The lunch was spectacular! I brought a friend from Arizona. She loved the ambience, food and wine. Pricey but worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

our Reservation ( i made the reservation ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

our Reservation ( i made the reservation 2 weeks in advance) was for 7:30 pm . When we arrived the Host made a point of saying " your reservation is at 7:30 and you are early ) wait till your reservation. it took a while for a server to come and ask us if we want any drink /etc while waiting for our table . Anyway we were seated at about 7:45=7:50 without any apology from the group of 3 hosts that were at the front lobby ( we were seating across from them) and one of them Did make a point of going to the couple that came 15 min after us to apologize for delay and telling them they will be seated soon since a table was getting ready ( not us ). so i had to wave to them and i think she " SAW" us!!!! we were seated almost 5 min after i waved at them to recognize we have been waiting too and were there before the other couple! our server Michelle was very nice , we enjoyed dinner . it did get noisy at some point when a table of 4 were too loud laughing ( almost like a bar atmosphere ) but overall we liked the view not so much the young slightly immature hosts! we decided to go for cheese and wine the next day since Saturday (the weather was better and we could view the scenery . we did not make reservation . We walked in and asked if we could have appies and wine,etc before our Tour at 2:30 . The same girl said "i'm sorry we are not seeing anyone without reservation. Inside the restaurant was half full and also almost all tables in the patio were empty ( 95 percent were empty). she said we have reservations coming up!!!!!!! i told her we won't be long since we have a wine tour to attend soon and she said " i' m sorry , not without reservation"...Very rude , snobby and in my opinion unfriendly and unwelcoming . Hosts/hostesses need PROPER training at this location for sure!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Loved it here. Went to various wineries ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Loved it here. Went to various wineries and decided to eat for lunch. Such a good experience. Their food is spectacular and well priced for what it is. Would love to go back some time

Tags: Romantic, Fun, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Stunning location...well run restaurant ...

vip
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Stunning location...well run restaurant and winery. Great lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional food ,ambience and service.e ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Exceptional food ,ambience and service.excellent food and wine pairings.k owledgable servers.reception staff could be more welcoming

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Made the reservation well in advance. W ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Made the reservation well in advance. Was seated outside, as requested, but in the far corner with no view at all.

Very nice and attentive server.

Too pricey, food portions tasty but portions very small.

Although I live very close, I rarely choose Quail's Gate because of the price of the food and wine.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Amazing food!!! Highly recommend this pl ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Amazing food!!! Highly recommend this place for supper, you won't be disappointed! The salmon was cooked to perfection and the desserts were exquisite!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first dinner at a winery re ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This was our first dinner at a winery restaurant in British Columbia and it was a great experience. The food and wine pairings were excellent, service was attentive without being over the top and we were able to relax and enjoy our meal. We were surprised to see deer sneaking past heading for the delicious grapes on the vines. We sat outside and enjoyed the lovely views over the vines and down to the lake as the sun went down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous vistas, great food, attentive s ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Fabulous vistas, great food, attentive service, everything you want in a fine restaurant. Thanks.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful location. Food was outstanding ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Beautiful location. Food was outstanding. Service was poor but did not detract from a very nice meal. Other service staff looked much more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Old Vines is always a great place to tak ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Old Vines is always a great place to take family and friends who enjoy fine dining and fine wine.

The service is always great and the atmosphere pleasant.

Although not an everyday dining restaurant it is great for special occassions.

I highly recommend experiencing this restaurant.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I brought my freshly minted fiance here ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I brought my freshly minted fiance here for our first dinner as an engaged couple. I called ahead and asked them to add a special touch to our dinner. They seated us right away at a choice table on the patio. The view was amazing. The champagne was perfect. The food was even better. A cut above any of the other places that we had dined at. I wouldn't have celebrated our special dinner any other way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, terrific view, friendly wait ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Great food, terrific view, friendly wait staff. And the wine was fantastic. A wonderful way to spend an unhurried lunch.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.