Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: (250) 769-4451 ext. 236

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (54)
Scenic View (49)
Good for Anniversaries (48)
See All
Romantic (45)
Good for a Date (39)
Notable Wine List (37)
Local Ingredients (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Great for Lunch (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Cozy (20)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Business Meals (17)
Great for Brunch (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Healthy (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Fireplace (11)
Seasonal (11)
Authentic (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Organic (10)
Casual (9)
Waterfront (9)
Tapas (8)
Bar Seating (8)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Private Room (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fun (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
2095 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined 12 hours ago

Never disappointed. Great food with excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

We've been to this restaurant in the past, so it was a natural choice for us to come back and celebrate husband's 75th birthday. Thinking we are going to have a quiet dinner for two turned out to be a total surprise our daughter from Toronto has arranged with the restaurant staff.
Great service, great meal and all together another wonderful experience. Thank you.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

We were there for Sunday Family Dining. The chicken was really good, as were the vegetables. The salad was fresh but the dressing tasteless, bland like olive oil was splashed on it. The desert was unimpressive. All in all a pleasant evening for the family but we were disappointed in the food, not enough flavour in any of the sauces

Tags: Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 2 days ago

Our food was amazing and the setting was equally jaw dropping. We scored with the brunch since there was live jazz to enjoy.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 3 days ago

It was a perfect brunch, great food, great location, great service and great entertainment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined 3 days ago

I was visiting from out of town and my two friend's (who just bought a place across the street from the vineyard) took me to Quail's Gate for Sunday brunch. I was thoroughly impressed with the food and ambiance including the live jazz music! Our server was delightful recommending local trails for hiking and dishes to eat. Overall a great experience and I can not wait to come back the next time I visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Magnifica vista
Excelente servicio
Comida Gourmet
Excelentes vinos

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

One of kelowna's best. Great food with a great view. Limited menu but always delicious. (Of course the wine is too)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I had the sweet onion soup, paired with their Chasselas-Pinot Blanc blend, which arrived as a bowl with pickled and roasted onions, over which was poured the creamy sweet onion soup. The Chasselas worked extremely well with it.

This was followed by the pan-seared ling cod on a ragout of red peppers and chickpea. A wee hint of cumin throughout with exquisitely textured, seared ling. The Pinot Gris was a little overwhelmed, but the effect was still wonderful.

Dessert was a couple of pungent cheeses from the Farmhouse in Agassiz, paired with Quail's Gate's own botrytis-afflicted late-harvest wine.

Overall, one of the best meals I've had this year.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 16, 2017

What an incredible opportunity to participate in a long table dinner at the Old Vines Restaurant...The company at the table were friendly, cheerful and a joy to be with. The menu this night was seafood and it was spectacular......The wine was perfect..especially enjoyed the Chenin blanc and Rose....Can't say enough about the friendly staff and the ambiance well....i think you...

Tags: Romantic, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent view and ambiance. Service was great. Food was average and definitely not worth the cost. Portions were small.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always a great spot that's always 10/10 food! Wine is also of course great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was great but my whole family ordered the chiopino and all of us thought that it should have had more seafood...bigger chunks of seafood would have been great. And the portion was too small. We actually all left hungry. But the flavour was great.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent brunch which was enhanced with Anna Jacyszyn music. Ambiance is always beautiful despite the new snow on the ground! Would suggest to move a heater inside as we sat by the window and it was cool enough that I needed to put on my jacket.

Tags: Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent service, food and the setting is just so lovely.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Ambiance, service, menu selection and quality of the food was outstanding. We thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had a wonderful time! We were thoroughly taken care of by our waiter. He took us through the entire menu, recommended fantastic dishes. Ensured our wine and water glasses were constantly full and gave us incredible detail to ever aspect of the wine and food list. We can't wait to be back.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Tapas, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 21, 2017

2nd time back here from all the way from Melbourne Australia and this place never let me down. Great food. Friendly service by our server ( Monique ) I apologize if I spell the name wrong. But a 👍🏻 for the friendly service. Love the 2009 Pinot Noir

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 19, 2017

We had a wonderful brunch with live jazz music. We were initially concerned that the live music would be too loins for us to carry on a conversation however, it was the perfect level and added to our overall experience

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fireplace, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

I brought a friend and my sister-in-law from England for lunch and I was not disappointed. The service was great and the food was superb. I will definitely return!

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Another excellent lunch at QG. Food (all courses) truly outstanding. The lemon creme desert is to die for...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 17, 2017

A great place for locals during the off season.

We had the three course meal expecting that the portions would be reduced in size but they were very generous.

Great service, food and wine list.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Very tasty dinner during the Feb dinner 3 course special. Most accommodating as my sons flight was late getting in and they were wonderful to hold our reservation.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Phenomenal as usual. Never disappoints. Highly recommend!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Vegan, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great place. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Always one of our favorites spots for special occassions or just because. We feel very fortunate it's only 10 minutes from our home.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Went for a special occasion lunch. Menu was limited. Both meals selected were too salty. Considering that this is a "fine dining" restaurant, we were surprised that the chef used so much salt and strange flavours.

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

My husband and I always enjoy dining at Quails Gate. It's a favorite date destination of ours. The food is stellar and the atmosphere can't be beat.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was amazing. Especially enjoyed the live music.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Pre-Valentine's lunch with husband.

Nice vegetarian options for myself, improved culinary satisfaction versus previous visit in 2015.

Server seemed somewhat stressed or overwhelmed with neighbouring tables but clearly evident that a supervisor stepped in to recover the situation.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on February 10, 2017

As usual, excellent. Great place to have a nice lunch before or after a tasting at the winery!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The BEST food, service, ambience. I have been to this restaurant several times and am never disappointed. My favourite restaurant in the Okanagan Valley.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great value thru dine around Okanagan. Wine pairings were perfect with amazing meals. Not for regular meat & potatos kinda people.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had an amazing dinner (as always). We were lucky enough to cone this year during wine and dine! Try the oysters!!

Our only suggestion is to not ask if we were celebrating a special occasion if you weren't going to go one step further and acknowledging the event.
When you spent $400 on dinner, a slice of cake or glass of wine or even a 'Happy Birthday' would have gone a long way!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Way over-salted truffle frys. Under seasoned duck confit orchiette pasta with flavorless cream sauce that didn't work. Very bitter marmalade on salted caramel compote that overwhelmed the dessert. Blah and forgetable curried squash soup. Great location. Ok service but food is underwhelming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Beautiful food, excellent option is to go with wine pairing. I'm always looking forward to the seasonal menu changes.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This restaurant has always been a favorite of ours for our anniversaries. Our last visit was slightly disappointing due to the slow service and lack of attention given by our server (we ordered a bottle of wine and after one glass my wine glass remained empty for a long time, so we filled our own glasses more than once) which is not typical at this restaurant. Our server was very nice, but Perhaps had too many tables? It was also extremely cold in the restaurant and some people had a blanket on which shouldn't be the case in the wintertime when you're inside. Not as enjoyable as it should've been.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Our experience at Quails Gate was excellent. The staff was attentive and quick the food was great and warm and tasted like more. We enjoyed the 45 dollar 3 course meal option as part of an Okanagan deal.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Sunday night family dinner. Relax, kick back and share precious time together. The service , beverage, and food was excellent. Most enjoyable. We look forward to getting together here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The taste of the Okanagan made our decision to try this restaurant. The food was amazing, and good portions. The service we received by James was even better......efficient and funny..great combination.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Tapas, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.