Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.43mi
  3. Distance: 0.74mi
  4. Distance: 0.86mi

About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: (250) 769-4451 ext. 236

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (88)
Great for Outdoor Dining (73)
Romantic (70)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Special Occasion (69)
Notable Wine List (66)
Good for a Date (66)
Local Ingredients (60)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Worth the Drive (52)
Creative Cuisine (50)
Great for Lunch (38)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Cozy (30)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Business Meals (23)
Waterfront (23)
Authentic (22)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Seasonal (18)
Casual (18)
Healthy (18)
Good for Groups (16)
Great for Brunch (13)
Organic (12)
People Watching (12)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Fun (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Tapas (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Fireplace (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Historic (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Family Style (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined 7 hours ago

Superb view. Food very good but with a few deficiencies - too much " filler" in the crab cakes, too few shrimp (3) in the pasta tagliatelle ( pasta itself was very good). Still a recommended dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined a day ago

Had an excellent lunch outside on the patio. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined 2 days ago

Delicious food and beautiful setting. All food sensitivities considered and alternatives were wonderful. Surprise tasty vegan chocolate and beet dessert with blackcurrant sorbet. 2009 Pinot Noir, a library wine, was recommended and super tasty.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Organic, Great for Lunch, Casual, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Disabled Access, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Great view of the winery. Food tasted excellent! Will come back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Frankfurt)·Dined 3 days ago

Not as good as expected. Should be one of the 150 best restaurants in Canada so after a perfect dinner at Cedar Creek we decided to have dinner the next evening at Quails Gate. Unfortunately this was the wrong decision. Surrounding and Service were perfect but food was not. Beef tatare had too much salt and mustard, the chorizo in the octopus dish was too thick and dominant, halibut was not well flavoured, the vegetables too hard and a sauce was missing, the foi grass terrine had not taste of foi grass and the clams were sandy... We left dissatisfied with paying the whole bill.... Therefore next time we'll be back at Cedar Creek

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant is offers an outstanding view of Okanagan Lake and Vineyards. You are able to walk between vines and take photos with spectacular backdrop.

I regret to say the food was not up to my expectations ie. Overcooked pasta and poor quality Burrata cheese. Service was lack luster. Had a very "dry" server, seemed rather disinterested which is not common for the region.

Was impressed that visitors in area get it when visiting wineries in the area and saw many, especially ladies in dresses and smart casual even for lunch. Not a snob, but but it adds to the experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 7 days ago

Awesome server and great food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 7 days ago

Beautiful view of the lake and vineyards from the patio! Food was delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Most beautiful views, service, food and wine! Will definitely recommend this jewel of the Okanagan!!! We will be back! Cheers!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

It was a wonderful evening , a delightful menu with so many options and we were very well looked after.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The ambiance was excellent. Service was excellent. Was a bit disappointed with the food given the expense. Oyster appetizer was amazing and highly recommend it. My wife had the salmon which was cooked perfectly but was a bit tasteless. I had the flat iron bison that was cooked perfectly and the hollandaise sauce was very good but no potatoes or rice or any vegetables. Had some mushrooms that were excellent and a bit of kale but was basically a plate of meat. Was not bad but not up to the price of the dinner. The chardonnay we had with the appetizer was very good. The syrah with the bison was thin and not overly flavourful. I have had better dinners and better wine for the $200 price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Service was quite slow and food took longer than normal but the food was unreal as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Tapas, Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on July 12, 2017

Best patio felt like we were in Italy! The views are incredible and the wine and good delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The server was excellent. One of the best we have had for a long time. Only complaint was the wait for the main course which came out about 50 minutes after the appetizer. The server gave us complimentary coffees which was appreciated. Food quality at best 4 of 5. Not as good as last visit.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Lovely setting with substandard, over-priced food. If you want to serve gourmet food, hire a chef who knows how to prepare it. Otherwise, simplify your menu. Our waitress was very sweet, but poorly trained. What was really insulting was that we could not get refills on our ice tea. We had to buy them. Outrageous , considering our meal cost $100.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 10, 2017

Going to Kelowna for

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We had a wonderful lunch, our server was great and the food delicious. We'll see you next year when we vacation in Kelowna again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 9, 2017

It was a great experience, great venue and delicious food and wines.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 9, 2017

My family is new to the area. My daughter is a national swimmer, and your chef put together a special plate for her. In my book that speaks volumes to your level of service. Thanks a lot for having us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Magnificent view of vineyard and lake. The waiter offered us an opportunity to taste the two wines we were considering, very nice touch. The halibut was the best we have ever had - perfectly prepared. Paired with Stewart Family Reserve Chardonnay, it was memorable.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Excellent service, Daniello was very conscientious & made sure our needs was attended.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Quail's Gate food is always amazing. And the view is spectacular. The service is fine, although maybe a tad slow.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

This is the second time in 2 weeks we attended for a special occasion. The first was for my mother-in-law's 80th and this time was for my parent's 50th wedding anniversary. Both times the service was slow! We had requested on both occasions (and booked several months in advance) for an outside table but we're told upon arrival that the outside tables were full. This was very frustrating because we had specifically asked for el fresco dining both times in advance. The staff seem disinterested and slightly bored. It appears as if there are not enough staff and/or they are inefficient; they need a better services manager to drive them to excellence.

The food was okay but my pork chop was fatty and the fat had not been properly rendered. No one came over to wish my parents a happy anniversary. It was over-priced for the quality. I would recommend Mission Hill if anyone is looking for a fine dining experience with a view in West Kelowna. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Very nice restaurant. One order was a salmon, it was very raw in the middle, they took it back and cooked the same piece again and it was still raw in the middle. Another was the rib steak, asked for medium, making sure it would not be blood red, But it was also undercooked. We did not have a very good experience with our food. The ambiance was great.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tapas, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We returned to this amazing restaurant for our 10th anniversary after being completely blown away on our honeymoon. The food is great, the wine is amazing. Overall its an experience not to be missed.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Impressive menu and a stunning view. Staff make you feel welcome. Lovely place!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Nice patio with vineyard view. Food okay!
Kid friendly.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 5, 2017

I rarely give 5 stars. Awesome dinner and service. Our reservation was for 8:00pm but got there before 7 to partake in the wine tasting and then they were able to seat us early. Stroll around the property-it is beautiful.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Way too expensive for the portions and quality.
Way too overrated.
Ridiculous portions and not great cooking for the price.
A steal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Anniversary dinner, everything was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Good service and atmosphere. Enjoyed my Halibut dish but my wife was very dissapojnted with the gnocchi meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Outstanding in every way!!! Food, service, wine, ambiance, views...wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 3, 2017

We loved the entre of Cornish game hen and gnocchi. Beautiful setting. And the bird watching.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We sat out on the patio during sunset. The view is gorgeous, the food was delicious and we had a great experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Went for our 26th wedding anniversary. My wife & I both had the halibut which was excellent. Our server Danielle was awesome...professional & very polite! Someone brought their dog along which barked for about 10 minutes while the owners were at a table eating. They finally took the dog away as it was very distracting and annoying. Awesome setting but overrated!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on July 2, 2017

This was our third visit to Quails Gate. On this visit we sat outside on the patio for lunch during our Canada Weekend trip with friends. We initially had a bit of trouble with our reservation as we had receiving conflicting information when calling to increase the size of our group. When we arrive the first hostess who helped us was not very accommodating but the head host came over and worked his magic and was able to get our whole group in! From there on out the experience was fantastic! We had the best server--- she was professional and fun. Her food recommendations were excellent. We ended up ordering a bunch of the appetizers and wine pairings. Everyone in our group is into food and we were able to try multiple things by ordering this way.
Our group of 7 all left happy with the meal and experience --- it was a highlight of the trip. Can't wait to return to Quails Gate.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fun, Scenic View, Romantic, Organic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on July 1, 2017

It was a perfect day to have lunch on the patio. The wine flights were great and the food was delicious. Our server Michaela was excellent! It is a bit pricey but was a special treat and we will definitely be back. It is a lavish experience without feeling pretentious.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

As always, food was excellent. server was very attentive and the setting is superb. Special offering are always wirth the choice as a lot of thought is put into these offerings.
wine pairings are excellent.
great winery restaurant in Kelowna.....one of the best.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

As regular customers we still continue to enjoy everything they offer, the food is amazing and have changed it up a bit, the view is the best, and the service is outstanding. Our special occasion dinners are memorable as the servers recognize what u are celebrating and add that little extra flare. Our favorite restaurant in the Okanagan.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Had a wonderful time with a friend in a glorious setting with sublime food and wine offered by friendly hosts/hostesses ---What more can you ask for?

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.