About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: (250) 769-4451 ext. 236

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

2010 Chenin Blanc - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Roasted Beets & Almonds - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Halibut Special Order - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Selection Of Glasses - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Duck Confit Tagliatelle - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Wine And Glaases - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Selection Of Wine - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Chenin Blanc Wine Flight - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Truffle Pomme Frites - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Trout With Israeli Couscous & Mint Yoghurt Dressing - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Lamb Panini - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Grilled Ceasar Salad - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Mussels and Clams - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Beef Carpaccio - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Trio Of Creme Brulee - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Roasted golden beet and blood orange salad - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Pan Seared Ahi Tuna On Top Of Southwestern Quinoa And Wasabi Aioli - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Mussels - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Duck Liver - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC
Oysters - Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant, Kelowna, BC

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Scenic View (60)
Good for a Date (54)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Romantic (41)
Notable Wine List (39)
Local Ingredients (38)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Creative Cuisine (36)
Great for Lunch (36)
Quiet Conversation (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Business Meals (21)
Seasonal (20)
Cozy (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Tasting Menu (15)
Casual (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Waterfront (12)
Healthy (12)
Authentic (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Fireplace (9)
Organic (8)
Tapas (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Bar Seating (6)
People Watching (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Private Room (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Fun (3)
Historic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service! Made my friend feel v ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined a day ago

Excellent service! Made my friend feel very special.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a very impressive business lunc ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 3 days ago

This was a very impressive business lunch - I entertained two lawyers that are helping me build my business. They too were impressed with the lunch. I couldn't have made a better impression - thank you Quail's Gate

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful dinner and our server ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner and our server Danielle was fantastic - personable, funny and very attentive to our needs. My husband ordered the onion soup thinking it would be lactose free but when it arrived and we were sure there was cream in it Danielle was fantastic with taking it away and bringing another appetizer of his choice very quickly. This is our second time there in about a month and everything we have tried, different choices each night have been thoroughly enjoyed. Really enjoyed the 3 course feature they have right now and I made sure I had room for the fabulous dessert I treated myself to where my husband had two appy's and an entree which was perfect for him.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are always pleased with the food and ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

We are always pleased with the food and service at Quails Gate.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sunday Brunch is always a pleasure. Gre ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

Sunday Brunch is always a pleasure. Great Service, Outstanding Food and wine list.

Love the view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We were celebrating my wife's birthday; ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 6 days ago

We were celebrating my wife's birthday; enjoyed an excellent dinner, personable and professional service, and the ambiance is unbeatable! The real bonus is that the restaurant is five minutes from home.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old Vines is a marvellous experience eac ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Old Vines is a marvellous experience each and every time we take the opportunity to go there, lunch or dinner. First class food and service all the time.

Tags: Great for Lunch, , Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very enjoyable time spent with friends. ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very enjoyable time spent with friends. This is my gift to them rather than a wrapped gift. We all love our food so it's a wonderful way to visit and enjoy good food. One thing I'd like to suggest is browned butter hollandaise sauce with the eggs benny...it's a fabulous addition and adds that something extra special.

Thanks for having that something special restaurant to go to for special occasions.

Always enjoy, any time of the year.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was DELICIOUS, server was great ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was DELICIOUS, server was great. One of our new favourites!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always a superb experience from start ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always a superb experience from start to finish. Even in January this delightful restaurant excels. Even more impressive in spring, summer, and autumn due to the striking view of vineyards and Okanagan Lake.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Neighbourhood gem! Always a pleasure joi ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Neighbourhood gem! Always a pleasure joining the team at this restaurant, in the winter months is so quiet and thus more special.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve lunch with friends. Ever ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve lunch with friends. Everything was excellent Our waitress, Alicia, was very professional providing us a very comfortable atmosphere. The food was timely and very tasty. A great start to 2017!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately the pork was a little dry ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Unfortunately the pork was a little dry but everything else was outstanding.

The server was the most professional and knowledgeable we have ever had

Overall a good experience, I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic food , limited menu but everyt ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Fantastic food , limited menu but everything is so perfectly done.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful christmas setting wth lovely f ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Beautiful christmas setting wth lovely food and very nice wine selection to match .... romantic pre holiday evening.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Exceptional service. Waiting staff very ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Exceptional service. Waiting staff very helpful in suggesting menu items.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful dinner in a beautiful restaura ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Wonderful dinner in a beautiful restaurant. It wasn't very busy but it didn't feel empty. Service was a tad slow at times but overall, a very pleasant experience. We would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Was a very pleasant atmosphere with exce ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Was a very pleasant atmosphere with excellent food and drink

Tags: Seasonal, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another very good dining experience. We' ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Another very good dining experience. We'll be back...

Tags: Scenic View, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always a great time, consistent service ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Always a great time, consistent service and the food was tremendous as usual

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful caring service matched with pe ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Wonderful caring service matched with perfectly prepared and spiced food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our visit was for Sunday brunch, an earl ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our visit was for Sunday brunch, an early Christmas family get together. We were seated promptly in arrival at a window table (as requested in the online booking) and had a lovely view over the vineyard and lake. Service was pleasant and professional, oysters were soooo fresh and yummy, the wild salmon Benny was to die for. Conversation was easy, not too loud. Definitely a do again, wonderful experience. Next time if it's snowy again We'll try for a seat by the gorgeous fireplace. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As usual, reliable food and wine for a n ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

As usual, reliable food and wine for a nice evening out.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and service, they never d ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food and service, they never disappoint!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server Alysia was great! She was very pa ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Server Alysia was great! She was very patient with one of our party, who was a "character."

Tags: Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was unfortunate the food was just so ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was unfortunate the food was just so so... it is usually better. Could be a one off...hopefully anyway!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

fantastic food and excellent service by ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

fantastic food and excellent service by our server Alycia. Food is always on point and wine list great! We always come here when we visit from Vancouver -- absolute must!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice atmosphere . Our table was gre ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Very nice atmosphere . Our table was great with a view of the lake and mountains.

Food was excellent. My son arrived from Montreal to visit and I suggested Quail's Restaurant,

as being from Montreal ,he is also used to very good food. He enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

What a great spot for a quiet get-togeth ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 28, 2016

What a great spot for a quiet get-together with friends. The view is fantastic and the service is impeccable. The food is delicious, fresh and really sets the bar for dining at lunch. I would return again and again just to see what was new on the menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food has always been excellent but servi ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Food has always been excellent but service has been slow. However, the server was on the ball for our most recent diner. Restaurant only serves Quail's Gate wines. The reds are mediocre single variety. Whites are better.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

EXCEPTIONAL 'business lunch menu' this p ...

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 23, 2016

EXCEPTIONAL 'business lunch menu' this past Wednesday. Superb food and excellent value for 3 courses, add in discounted wine and our wonderful server Monique, and we had the PERFECT lunch. Thank you Old Vines.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Excellent service, our favorite restaurant. Would like a change to menu more frequently.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Beautiful lunch. Great view to enjoy ... ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Beautiful lunch. Great view to enjoy ...so relaxing.Had a fantastic bison carpaccio. Loved the Rosè. Non intrusive service.

Will definatly go back. The wine shop service was absolutely amazing. Wanted to take home so many wines. Took only 6...but joined the wine club. Looking forward to my first shipment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely meal and excellent service in p ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 16, 2016

A lovely meal and excellent service in pleasant surroundings with a very acceptable noise level.

This was our first visit - I was paying up a 'Donald Trump' bet - but it certainly won't be our last.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The wine list very limited Pork not cook ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

The wine list very limited

Pork not cooked enough

Oyster so small no spécial presentation

Cornish hen good

It was a Sunday night maybe not the real chef...

Had been there 3 years ago and it was good but not this time

Especially when you pay that kind of price...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

We cannot say more about this Rezt

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We cannot say more about this Rezt

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great service, excellent menu. First tim ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great service, excellent menu. First time for brunch and will definitely do it again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Second time here - same time as last yea ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Second time here - same time as last year and it was everything we remembered. Was a quiet date night for us and the food was amazing. Server was super friendly and the whole experience was a very comfortable blend of semi casual and elegant.

We have some Gluten concerns and staff was extremely helpful and made every effort to help us and offered a lot of variety

Definitely going back

Tags: Notable Wine List, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal. The food was e ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We had a wonderful meal. The food was excellent and the service as well. No disappointments this time around. We will be back

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Fantastic restaurant. Romantic ambiance, ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Fantastic restaurant. Romantic ambiance, great service great food. Steak was fantastic but the pork was too much belly and not enough loin. All in all great place and I would return absolutely.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.