About Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant

3303 Boucherie Rd
Kelowna, BC V1Z 2H3
View Larger Map

Old Vines Restaurant is a meeting place of fresh local ingredients. Our selection of dishes enhance the light, fresh and fruitful, rich style of Quails' Gate wines. Our menu is constantly evolving as a reflection of our focus to serve the best and freshest the valley's local artisans and west coast markets can provide. We are dedicated to providing you with a beautiful setting and the ultimate food and wine experience in the Okanagan Valley. The Province (January 2007) Best places to un-wine. "Its fairytale pretty indoor/outdoor dining room among the vineyards is aptly named Old Vines Patio. Dinner here as the sun sets over the lake is a treat for the eyes and the palate." The New York Times (October 2006) - "Beyond our tables, the panorama of the lakefront, watercraft wake lines and row upon row of grapevines, with mountains in the distance, was mesmerizing." Wine Spectator (July 2004)- "One of the four best places to dine in the Okanagan."

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Northwest

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:30pm; Wine Bar Menu: Daily: from 2:30pm
Dinner: Daily 5:00pm

Cross Street:
Sunnyside

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(800) 420-9463 ext. 252

Website:
http://www.quailsgate.com/

Parking Details:
On-site parking is available for over 100 vehicles. Handicap parking and wheelchair accessible ramps are available at the entrances of both Old Vines Restaurant and the Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room.

Public Transit:
Quails' Gate is accessible by Public Transit. Kelowna Regional Public Transit System Route 20/21 Westside drops visitors at our winery door. Buses are equipped with bike racks. See bctransit.com/regions/kel for routing details.

Executive Chef:
Chef de Cuisine Nav Dhillon, Winery Chef Roger Sleiman

Private Party Facilities:
The Stewart Family Proprietors' Dining Room is adjacent to our Wine Tasting Room and offers seating for up to 36 guests and a stand up event of up to 60 guests. This technically equipped facility is an exceptional venue for private, corporate, or family events as well as wine-related tours. The window surrounded dining room provides a spectacular view of the vineyard and Lake Okanagan. Guests can enjoy the late day breeze of Okanagan Lake from the terrace balcony off the private dining room. Other private function options are available as well. Our Quails' Gate wines, hand-crafted by wine maker Nikki Callaway, are available along with a choice of group menu options which reflect the fresh regional cuisine of our Winery Chef, Roger Sleiman.

Private Party Contact:
Roger Sleiman: 2507694451x236

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
There's always something happening at Old Vines Restaurant. Throughout the year we host numerous wine and culinary celebrations, for more information please visit www.quailsgate.com

Restaurant Photos

Quails' Gate Estate Winery - Old Vines Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Vancouver / British Columbia
Notable Wine List
Vancouver / British Columbia
Romantic
Vancouver / British Columbia
11 More
Northwest
Vancouver / British Columbia
Best Overall
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Food
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Service
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Value
Okanagan / Wine Country
Fit for Foodies
Okanagan / Wine Country
Outdoor Dining
Okanagan / Wine Country
Romantic
Okanagan / Wine Country
Special Occasion
Okanagan / Wine Country
Most Booked
Okanagan / Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Kelowna ›

scenic view (151)
special occasion (134)
romantic (119)
See All
notable wine list (111)
great for outdoor dining (102)
fit for foodies (101)
great for lunch (80)
good for groups (50)
neighborhood gem (48)
great for brunch (46)
hot spot (21)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1627 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service and a great view. Woul ...

Dined 2 days ago

Excellent service and a great view. Would have liked a pasta dish but all good. Perfect spot for a date or to go with the family.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went on a long weekend so it's expect ...

Dined 3 days ago

We went on a long weekend so it's expected the restaurant would be busy. It did turn out that way although we did book the first seating already. Some bigger parties (>8) were already there. This would explain why dishes took a little longer to be ready. Food was excellent, as we expected! This is easily the best restaurant in Kelowna. We would definitely want to come back on a less busy day.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We arrived on time for our 2:15 reservat ...

Dined 3 days ago

We arrived on time for our 2:15 reservation. We waited another 15 minutes or so to be seated. The restaurant seemed busy but there were a few empty tables and no line up. Finally we were seated and placed our order. We ordered a bottle of wine and waited patiently to be served...30 minutes later our wine was poured. We didn't get our main course until 3:50. We had asked several times about the hold up? The manager came by and opened another bottle of wine. But honestly we didn't want to drink more wine on an empty stomache. Not the best lunch experience!

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food Wine and Service

Dined 5 days ago

The food was quite expensive and not worth the price. There should be more items to choose from on the menu! Service was not bad. We each had the prime rib steak..$46.00!! Was very small and not cooked properly and had to send mine back! Also the halibut was a very small portion for the price! Appetizers weren't that great either..Need more variety on the menu!!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had done a wine tasting at quails gat ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had done a wine tasting at quails gate a few days prior and decided we must have dinner there for my Birthday, we were extremely pleased with our decision, definitely worth the trip

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Super impressed with the kitchen and the ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Super impressed with the kitchen and the staff. Couldn't have been a more pleasant experience.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite go to place personally and p ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

My favorite go to place personally and professionally. The food is exceptional. Antony the manager goes out of his way to ensure the experience is always gold standard. The view and location is beyond compare.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

No question, Quail's Gate boasts the mos ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

No question, Quail's Gate boasts the most exquisite scenery. Our table on the patio was amazing. The food was delicious although it seemed incredibly over priced based on portion sizes (particularly the rib-eye). Bar service was slow but when we received our cocktails and wine selections the drinks were delicious. We were excited to visit the Old Vines restaurant as part of our wine-tour weekend with friends and we made our reservations before our trip. Therefore, it was disappointing when we still had to wait for a table, our server didn't arrive to greet us or offer us drinks for at least 10 minutes after we were seated and throughout the night service was very, very slow. In the end, we truly enjoyed our time at Quail's Gate despite some minor annoyances.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely Amazing

Dined on May 15, 2016

Our dinner at Quail's Gate was hands down the best meal we have ever eaten out! Everything we tried was incredible, the wine list was one of the best we've ever seen and our server Anina was the outstanding! :)

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an exceptional dining experienc ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

This was an exceptional dining experience. The view, setting, service and food were all top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had amazing service, great food and d ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

We had amazing service, great food and delicious wine!! It's a beautiful place to sit and look out over the vineyard and lake...a place I hope to come back to many more times!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent!

Dined on May 13, 2016

The food, atmosphere and wait staff were all excellent! Such a gem for West Kelowna!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Book a table with a view or if sunny, ou ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Book a table with a view or if sunny, outside - lovely food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance, views that stand out ab ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great ambiance, views that stand out above the other vineyard restaurants, plus non pretentious service with food selection and quality that stand above the rest. If you only have time for one vinyard dinning experience, this is where you want to be.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was super clean and the s ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

The restaurant was super clean and the service was great. The food was some of the best I've tasted. The view sitting out on the patio is breath taking and made the dining experience eve more enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Truly enjoyed every moment of lunch with friends.

Dined on May 7, 2016

The location is divine, and so is the food. We were well attended to by our servers, who were very obliging in accommodating our requests. Truly a gem in the heart of wine country. Will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Food and winery was very good, our serve ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Food and winery was very good, our server was not very attentive and forgot about us. He tried to apologize by giving us our coffee and tea.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was perfect, and the food was unreal!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Definitely a favorite of mine, can't wait to bring all of my friends to Old Vines.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing food and setting

Dined on May 7, 2016

The location is amazing, with doors that open to a covered deck and patio area, looking over the lake. We sat inside but felt like we were outside. We eat at a lot of nice restaurants, but the food here was very impressive. Even the olives we had as our first nibble were exceptional- a variety that was not the usual mix, gently warmed to really bring out the flavour. We had the tuna tartare next. I'm usually not a fan of albacore tuna, but my partner felt this compared with the best poke (pronounced po-kay, the food, not the nudge!) that we had in Hawaii, and I made sure I had my share! And then the entree- oh my! I tried to convince my husband to have the cornish game hen, their signature dish, as duck is "my' dish, but it looked too good so we both had the same. It met or surpassed my previous benchmark duck, which was at FARM in Napa Valley. The breast was oh so tender and cooked just right, medium rare. There was another piece of duck that was cooked more, maybe braised? and melt in your mouth. It was perfectly offset by the curried cauliflower and salted spinach and the simple duck jus. The wine selection was mostly Quail's Gate, as it should be, but they also had some wines from their sister wineries, as well as classic champagnes. As we dined too late to attend the tastings, I appreciated that there were flights available. There was also a pairings menu, but as it was heavy to fish/seafood and we are from the coast, we passed. It did look interesting though. Service was good but not great- the staff seemed quite young, but I imagine they are just starting to gear up for the busy season.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

Lunch get together for friends

Dined on May 4, 2016

We are spending a few days with friends from Calgary and we are from Vancouver. We had lunch on May 3 Rd, my friends and husband ordered the pork, they were disappointed with it as they said it was like pulled pork. My husbands entree and my wine were forgotten, so then I had the wine after my meal was finished and my husband was eating after we were all finished. The wines were delicious, I had r The chicken which was very nice, but I expect vegetables not a sprig of green. I was left still very hungry. We have been here before and it was always very good, we were disappointed this time.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was amazing but the service was okay ....

Dined on May 3, 2016

Amazing food and wine but we were disappointed in the service. Table of 5 on a quiet evening. First Course delivered to wrong people st table and once we began eating realized. Beverages brought tithe wrong table twice and wine pairings forgotten on 2 courses. But the amazing food will bring us back !!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Spectacular experience overall

Dined on May 3, 2016

There are few restaurants that have nailed great customer service, quality and variety of food, knowledgeable staff, and value for money - Old Vines certainly has all of these aspects nailed. We were welcomed with a smile and professional service, seated at a table with a stunning view just on the cusp of being outside (the large window/door could be closed at our request). The waitress was prompt and explained the menu well - not in a condescending tone as with other similar places. We enjoyed a set menu with wine pairings - of course a vineyard restaurant knows how to pair their own wines with food and it did not disappoint. The food was delicious - locally sourced where possible, every dish was well thought out, neatly presented, contained familiar food but in a new way (lamb bacon was a first for us), and was a taste sensation when paired with the recommended wines. I am not normally a fan of ice wine as it can be quite syrupy, but the Quail's Gate riesling ice wine was no doubt one of the nicest dessert wines I have ever tasted - balanced and light. I will definitely be going back to Old Vines.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, romance, special occasions, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful food, amazing views, great wine.

Dined on May 1, 2016

The service was attentive but not stifling. The food was very good - cooked perfectly, well presented. Couldn't have had a better day for the wonderful views across the lake from the patio. Tuscany in Canada. Do book ahead!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a restaurant should be

Dined on April 30, 2016

This place has it all! It is over looking the lake and City of Kelowna. The outdoor dining and indoor seating offer something for everyone. The fireplace along the east wall is FANTASTIC. It is suited for any occasion. The menu is not the usual chain selection, it offers something to explore and open up new favourites! We were there in the slower season and it was still as amazing as ever. The wine and food are one of the BEST in the Okanagan. You will not find a better venue for a night out!!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Poor Service

Dined on April 29, 2016

Had poor service. Waitress was inattentive and had us waiting on multiple occasions. Food was inconsistent. Oysters were superb, quail appetizer was good, duck breast entree was only so-so, ribeye steak entree was superb. Dessert of cheese and sorbet was below par. Not the most overall satisfying experience, though the view was good and the ambience very nice.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Overpriced small portions

Dined on April 27, 2016

Beautiful setting and great service. Very disappointed in the kale salad for $18 with 5 leaves of kale and some wilted arugula and small amount of dressing. The crab cakes (2) were good but over priced for the portion. The trout main course was a good choice.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Poor service

Dined on April 23, 2016

We have been to Quail's Gate before and were impressed. Although our reservations were confirmed, upon arrival the front desk girl appeared confused and left us standing our front with an explanation for 10 minutes, before taking us to our table. The restaurant itself, is beautiful, and the scenery is great. Each of us had a beef dinner which was also very good. The service itself was spotty with the server taking long periods f time getting our wine order, then our dinner order. A ;large group sat next to us, with the same server taking care of them. He then completely ignored us for another 10 minutes. Another server eventually asked us if we wanted coffee, and when we didn't get coffee, we were left alone and ignored. My wife and daughter eventually went to sit in the car as I awaited the bill. After at least 15 minutes it arrived. For a restaurant of Quail's Gate calibre the service needs to be improved.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unforgettable experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food is amazing and beautifully presented while still being reasonably priced. The staff was very accommodating and were extremely friendly! If you are looking for a relaxing but very special lunch, choose Quails Gate!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very delicious. The restaur ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

The food was very delicious. The restaurant is not supposed to allow animals, but because our puppy is only 3 month old, the manager set us a patio table so that we could tie our puppy on the bench in our sight. Their sever was very hospitalized. Give the restaurant a big yes. Will definitely come again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 20, 2016

We are vegetarian and we ask the chef if he can make something for us. We are quite picky about what we eat but The food they prepared was excellent, made with local and seasonal ingredients.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding view Romantic Great food and ...

Dined on April 20, 2016

Outstanding view Romantic Great food and wine

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Our only comment would be related to service.

Dined on April 19, 2016

Server was a little overwhelmed due to the numbers dining. She referred to the early hot weather and under-staffing as the problem. A delay in initial wine service, bringing the bread to the table and the extended wait for our cheque are areas that could be improved upon. I must say the hostess of the evening was very knowledgeable and did come past our table on at least 3 occasions. Love the view.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

ok food, slow service

Dined on April 19, 2016

While the food was decent, my tuna arrived warm, not hot. (likely due to sitting around while waiting to be served). Our waitress neglected to refill our wine glasses, service was slow and we felt ignored. Nice location and ambiance but the food was not as great as I was expecting from an upscale restaurant. Blue cheese desert was a little offputting and salad was overdressed. Again the service could have been better from spilled water on the table to offering more bread that arrived after we had finished eating....

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrate any occasion at Quail's Gate.

Dined on April 18, 2016

Every meal is exquisite, the service is extraordinary, and the is ambiance beautiful! Thank you! We will continue again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just Great

Dined on April 17, 2016

it was one of the best experience we had in Kelowna.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner with the most beautiful woman in the world

Dined on April 16, 2016

We were celebrating an anniversary and wanted a special evening. We arrived an hour early intending to enjoy the view, the sunset, a glass of wine, and each other. We were informed that a table was ready and were given the option of taking it or continue as planned. We chose the former and were shown to a table positioned so that we felt that we were the only people in the restaurant. The view was remarkable, the lady taking care of our needs was personable, knowledgeable, and a pleasure all around.The food was excellent, the wine selection varied, the ambiance wonderful. It made our anniversary memorable.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time we have eaten th ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

This is the second time we have eaten there for lunch and it is fabulous each time. Food as good as you find in a NYC or LA restaurant. Excellent service as well! Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful brunch in a beautiful setting

Dined on April 10, 2016

Enjoyed the weekend brunch menu, the food and wine were amazing and the setting overlooking the vineyards and lake was perfect. Would definitely return!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3

Excellent view and excellent food, but t ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent view and excellent food, but the service was slow.

food4
ambience4
service5

Great fish

Dined on April 10, 2016

Great fish

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.