Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Q

4.5
187 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Sushi
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for a Date
Taking purity and simplicity as its manifesto, Q provides an unsurpassed omakase dining experience. Q features Chef Hiroyuki Naruke's expression of Edomae cuisine, a historical preparation dating to the Edo-period of Japan that was the first to combine raw sashimi-style fish with vinegar-seasoned rice. Q offers a refined and intimate opportunity for guests to savor and celebrate uncompromised Tokyo-style sushi here in Los Angeles. Our 26-seat dining room matches the care, creativity, and craft of Chef Hiro's cuisine, melding Japanese tradition and striking modernity. Lighting sets the scene, featuring hundreds of glowing orbs that converge above the sushi bar and direct focus to Chef Hiro and his culinary artworks. From the undulating ceiling to the bar itself, the dining space reflects the deep Japanese appreciation for wood in its relaxing natural form. Furnishings include contemporary interpretations of Japanese Zaisu chairs, and tables that feature centuries-old joinery technique
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm -10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Lunch
Monday-Friday 12:00pm-2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(213) 225-6285
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Hiroyuki Naruke
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Between Grand and Olive
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street Parking, Parking Structure, Valet Parking is $8 Available starting at 7:00 PM
Additional
Beer, Chef's Table, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 187 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.7
service
4.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Quiet
25% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Minimalist perfection from a true master. The omakase menu unveils itself slowly over the course of about two hours and it’s pure inspiration. A little slice of the Ginza in downtown. 10++

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Best sushi/sashimi experience I have ever enjoyed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The chef is skilled. I had a really nice communication with him

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Best sushi I have ever had. Highly recommended

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

Best sushi in LA. Exquisite fish, excellent quality and presentation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Authentic sushi. Great quality.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 9, 2018

Amazing quality and service as always. Seasonal fish was excellent, not to mention the egg cake (can literally eat that for B/L/D).. Thank you chef Hiro and Mrs K! A+
Definitely a must try for sushi purists

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

Extraordinary service and amazing sushi!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 2, 2018

Sushi was slightly disappointing for the price

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 10, 2018

There was little variety in the dishes and preparations were uninspiring. The sushi was nothing more than rather average fish over rice. If looking for a touch of lemon zest, yuzu or any other subtle complement tp the fish, go elsewhere. At one point, five out of six pieces were tuna. This was a total disappointment. Just go to Sushi Zo where the fish is reliably excellent if looking for omakase.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 6, 2018

Sublime in every way. Never had better sushi outside Tokyo. Eric and Hiro are both graceful, creative and masterful. Very expensive, of course, but well worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2018

best sushi in los angeles

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 27, 2018

One of the worst meals I've had! And the price tag was ridiculous. A huge disappointment. I would never go there again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

The ambiance was very intimate and personal. It was just a group of my friends and the sushi chef and waitresses. The entire experience was unique. However for as much as we paid I expected more food. In terms of quality the food was great. In terms of quantity, it was lacking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 16, 2018

Extraordinary experience, outstanding food and service, wonderful discussions with the chef, felt very welcomed, thank you for a special evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2018

Some of the best sushi I’ve ever eaten outside of Japan. Served by graceful, friendly chefs (thanks, Erik!) in a grand space. The superb experience does come at a price: Dinner for one, with a $200 bottle of sake, was almost $500.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 9, 2018

This is the place for people who like to experience the authentic high end raw fish. I went for dinner tasting menu. Only a couple of plates that are cooked. The sauces are delicate and tasty. I couldnt believe how the real wasabi can be so mild. It’s fun to observe how the chefs prepare food for you one bite at a time. The fish are fresh from various parts of the world. One fish (I don’t remember the name) tastes like coconut meat with the crunch and everything. It would be better if they offer more than one desert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Every bite was amazing, and hope to come back again! Happy new year!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 21, 2017

Fantastic as Always! The sushi and service is top notch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 20, 2017

It was super delightful, amazing flavours , super intimate, the highest quality of produce and skill showcased in its best form . I loved the amazing service and atmosphere . Love love loved it

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

2nd time coming to Q and it was better than my first...I loved the rice!!! The red vinegar rice was superb, well seasoned and perfectly cooked so that each grain was plump, sticky and perfectly jewel like. 3 types of snapper 4 types of yellowtail all showcasing unique individual traits that even a newcomer to sushi can easily understand.

So yea...I would say I like it here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Got in a fight with my girlfriend the day before we went here. After eating at Q it’s safe to say that it saved our relationship. Thanks Q!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 14, 2017

Q is authentic and delicious! The sushi chef was engaging and shared wonderful information about the different fish and his process for buying fish as well. The quality was outstanding! Each dish was flavorful and perfectly prepared. I can't wait to return. One of the best experiences I have had in a long time!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Exceptional hi level sushi and sashimi, probably among the best in LA.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Expectation was so high coming to this place. Toro dishes were pretty good and others are average comparing to others high end omakase. For 200 per person, i have had better sushi omakase experience else where.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Great experience as always. Took my brother and he had nothing but praise for the way Chef Hiro goes about each dish and the preparation. His dedication is evident in each item presented, amazing quality and the service A+ Thank you Chef Hiro and Mrs. K.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

superb experience!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 14, 2017

This is certainly Sushi done right. There is no menu, only two options for dinner. The chef chooses and serves the sushi. You do not even add soy. The chef is world renown, and if you want to experience sushi at its finest, this is likely THE place in socal. That said, it was too expensive for what it was. Perhaps I don't know my sushi well enough though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Q is one of a handful places one can step into a Zen-like trance and focus one's entire being on enjoying authentic Tokyo sushi from a true master artisan. Chaos and chance have no place here; the sushi bar is transcendent and orderly, with every item placed with quiet intention and care. Likewise, each dish you'll consume will be created with the same intent and expertise. Spring for the Botan menu (requires 42hr advance notice), and you might receive fermented silver shrimp, Washington Kumomoto (IIR) with ponzu sauce, Uni marinated in sweetened miso for two weeks, anago sushi, and o-toro, toro, and more, with numerous courses of sushi. From casting ones eyes upon a dish, to holding it -- whether by chopsticks or by fingers -- and then relishing the textures, flavors, and temperatures, everything is set up for you to enter a dining trance and commune your senses with these treasures from the sea. This is Tokyo sushi at the high-end of refinement and pleasure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

A+ Service, they offered sake tasting for the remainder of the meal after we had finished the bottle we ordered. Consistent quality. Thank you Chef Hiro

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 8, 2017

This was my first time eating at Q. I had heard people hype it up, but from our experience, It did not meet the hype.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2017

Fresh ingredients, attentive service, A+! Thank you Chef Hiro

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 5, 2017

There is no doubt that this is a high end sushi/sashimi restaurant. But that is what it is. Sushi and Sashimi. Lots of it! Big meal is 17 courses. Very well done. Some items were excellent to outstanding and very memorable. Some items were a little flat and are very forgettable. It is a very nice dining experience with a price that matches.

Be prepared they automatically add 20% gratuity to the bill and it appears they add it pre-tax, so that you are paying tax on the 20% gratuity.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 5, 2017

Sushi is ok but not outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 27, 2017

Amazing quality, excellent service. A must try, Will definitely return. Thank you Chef Hiro. A+

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

ロサンゼルスで本物のお寿司が頂ける数少ないお店の一つです
一つひとつを大切に真摯に握ってくださいます、暖かいホスピタリティにも感激しました
舌も心も満足する素晴らしい時間でした

また、ぜひ伺いたいと思います

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 21, 2017

The best sushi we've ever eaten. The seafood was so fresh and premium grade. Because of the simplicity of each course, the flavor of each piece was showcased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 27, 2017

best sushi in LA, hands down. Perfect for a special occasion

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2017

It was a great experience. Best tamago I have ever had.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 16, 2017

Hi, the food was delicious and fresh but the place was very busy and bit noisy. When I arrived I did have an issue with the Open Table Reservation. They told me that they did not have a reservation and I should call and not use Open Table. They were able to seat up at the bar.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
5

Tweets by Q