Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.12mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.25mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Q

Taking purity and simplicity as its manifesto, Q provides an unsurpassed omakase dining experience. Q features Chef Hiroyuki Naruke's expression of Edomae cuisine, a historical preparation dating to the Edo-period of Japan that was the first to combine raw sashimi-style fish with vinegar-seasoned rice. Q offers a refined and intimate opportunity for guests to savor and celebrate uncompromised Tokyo-style sushi here in Los Angeles. Our 26-seat dining room matches the care, creativity, and craft of Chef Hiro's cuisine, melding Japanese tradition and striking modernity. Lighting sets the scene, featuring hundreds of glowing orbs that converge above the sushi bar and direct focus to Chef Hiro and his culinary artworks. From the undulating ceiling to the bar itself, the dining space reflects the deep Japanese appreciation for wood in its relaxing natural form. Furnishings include contemporary interpretations of Japanese Zaisu chairs, and tables that feature centuries-old joinery technique

521 W. 7th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm -10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Lunch
Monday-Friday 12:00pm-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Grand and Olive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 225-6285

Website:
http://www.qsushila.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking, Parking Structure, Valet Parking is $8 Available starting at 7:00 PM

Executive Chef:
Hiroyuki Naruke

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Q Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Authentic (8)
See All
Creative Cuisine (7)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Romantic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good for a Date (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Healthy (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 27, 2017

best sushi in LA, hands down. Perfect for a special occasion

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 17, 2017

It was a great experience. Best tamago I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Hi, the food was delicious and fresh but the place was very busy and bit noisy. When I arrived I did have an issue with the Open Table Reservation. They told me that they did not have a reservation and I should call and not use Open Table. They were able to seat up at the bar.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I made the reservation for my out of town friend and his 13 year old grandson. His feedback to me was "spectacular". He said the food was amazing, every attention to detail was amazing, and each dish was memorable. His note to me was that every morsel was consumed. He said the restaurant team treated them phenomenally well, the people they met at the sushi bar were terrific, and observing all of the dishes being constructed was very special. It is very small and it is expensive, but his comments were that' "it was special and well worth it". One of the most enjoyable meals he has had in a long time, and as far as sushi goes, every morsel was just phenomenal.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Brought my husband here for his birthday. I read reviews on Yelp and made a reservation despite some of the comments. The restaurant itself is very elegant with modern touches but keeping in form with the Japanese aesthetic. They have a small sake selection, however you won't be able to find anything less than $45 for a 10-12 oz carafe, a larger 24 oz bottle ranged from $65 upwards to $200+. We decided on the $200 pp omakase option but felt it wasn't on par with other omakase experiences we've had in LA or Japan before. While the fish itself was delicious and beautifully prepared, the rice was over seasoned and overwhelmed every single bite so that it was hard to differentiate each course from the other. While we dined I recalled a particular Yelp reviewer's comment that the rice was way too sour and I would have to agree that it was not that delicate rice vinegar flavor anyone who knows nigiri would be accustomed to. Instead we were met with an apple cider vinegar tartness that lingered on the palate. And I'm only guessing they use apple cider vinegar based on the color of the rice which had a slight reddish brown hue. The meal ended somewhat abruptly when we were served a piece of their special tomago and a cup of hot green tea. The tomago, while delicate and almost cake-like in it's texture, appeared to be prepared unevenly, meaning we were served a border and corner piece from the tray and it was also a little sunken in, similar to what a cake does after it's from removed the oven. Overall it struck me a little odd that it's corners or edges weren't trimmed to ensure the tomago had the same texture throughout. Corners and edges work for brownies but when you're expecting the same meticulous Japanese preparation you're used to with other omakase experiences, it left me regretting spending $600+ for a meal that left little to no impression on me. I would not recommend this place for dinner but if you're curious they also serve lunch at a much lower price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Hong Kong)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Authentic Tokyo-style sushi omakase. I've been to Jiro, Kyubei, Nozawa Bar, Sushi Sho (Tokyo and Hawaii) and other sushi restaurants throughout Japan and around the world.

This is one of my top sushi experiences.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Best Sushi/Sashimi experience imaginable. Pricey, but if you're a foodie it's a must at least once. If your blessed with plenty of income, return visits will be without question.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Outstanding sashimi and sushi but too pricey even for this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This is a very high-end sushi restaurant. If you dine at Q, you should expect an authentic Japanese sushi experience. The atmosphere is very quiet and reverent. Seating is limited. The day we dined, there were only 4 of us. The quality of the food is exceptional. The quality of the sake is also exceptional.

If you have a chance to eat at Q, you should feel very special. The number of people who get to eat at Q is limited. They do not allow that many people to dine there every evening. I would not recommend eating at Q if you are only an occasional sushi eater. If you are a sushi foodie, have a discerning pallet, or if you want to impress a Japanese colleague, this is the place. I went on a date and it was a wonderful experience, however, we would likely not go back.

Master Chef Hiro came to LA from Japan. His goal is to create a high-quality experience equal to what he had delivered in Tokyo. He definitely achieves this. The challenge is that the environment is very somber. Conversation is a bit challenging because it offers no privacy. You feel like the only acceptable conversation is regarding the exceptional food. If I brought a larger group of 6 it may be fun, but with a $$$$$ price point it is not for the casual diner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Intimate dining experience with a chef who is a master at his trade.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Best sushi we've had in the US! Omekase is a very ritualized way of dining. It's very calming and formal, and I love it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Exceeded all expectations which were very high. It has to be the purest form of sushi in Los Angeles. Every bite was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Healthy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Best sushi bar I've ever been to. Worth every dollar I spent on. There were many appetizers, including sashimis. Topped with amazing sushis. We went there as soon as it opened, during weekday lunch, so we were the only ones. We had a nice talk with Hiro. It was amazing experience and amazing food. I would like to move to LA just so I can eat Q Sushi more often..

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This was a truly exceptional and memorable dining adventure. The unassuming entrance door remains locked until exactly 6 pm, at which time you enter a portal into what could be a sushi restaurant in Japan. The sushi chef (itamae) is a master and as by tradition works almost entirely himself preparing every piece of sushi or sashimi. The meal flowed well from the beginning to end, and each piece from the omakasi menu is like work of art and carefully constructed by chef Hiro. The end of the meal is sweet sorrow, and it leaves you wanting to come back for more. If you have seen the movie "Jiro dreams of Sushi" and want to experience that, you should come here.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The fish was tough and muscly and we were not impressed with the flavor or presentation. Felt like we were in a temple factory line.....disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A fabulous Omakase experience. Chef Hiro cuts every piece of fish and serves every guest personally. The dishes are exceptional.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Sitting at the counter, watching a consummate professional work magic with fish, rice and the occasional sauce was a fascinating experience, one that we will always remember.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Wonderful experience! Celebrated my cousin's birthday here and we were the only customers during the first seating of the night. The food was thoughtfully made and delicious. We were also able to talk to Chef Hiro throughout dinner service. Definitely recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went to Q for the first time for lunch, and it was so outstanding that we booked for dinner the following night. There was almost no overlap in the menu.

The quality of the food is extraordinary.

This is a boutique restaurant, which apparently only accepts eight guests at a sitting. There appears to be at least five staff, including the master chef, the manager and an engaging American host at dinner who speaks fluent Japanese.

This is a restaurant in which both the novice and connesieur will feel equally at home.

For those who have never eaten in this style of restaurant, the menu is almost exclusively raw seafood. For both our lunch and dinner menus, only one course was cooked (by blow torch).

The menu will vary by season and depends on what is available in the market, in Tokyo as much as in LA. For example, both our meals included the three traditional cuts of tuna, but for dinner we also had hairy crab, Japanese needle fish, and mackeral from Japan. For lunch, we had the sea urchin from Santa Barbara, but this is not our favorite. This was duly noted by the chef, so we had a different course for dinner.

Guests sit at the long bar in front of the master chef, Japanese style. Aside from providing a vantage point to watch a master class in sushi preparation, it also enables you to ask questions to the chef (within reason; he is a busy man).

The chairs at the bar are amazingly comfortable. I don't like sitting on stools, or even at bars. But these chairs are wonderful.

Given the sources of the ingredients, the skill of the master chef who has trained for at least 10 years to attain this level of expertise and the ratio of staff to guests, this restaurant is necessarily expensive (although the wine list is not). I would recommend you note the prices before booking. The restaurant is certainly worthy of the charge, but will not fit everyone's budget.

This is Japanese cuisine matching the highest quality served in Tokyo. Enjoy.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Amazingly delicious sushi prepared by a chef who respects tradition .

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Very traditional and good but very very expensive at $200 pp for 20 courses.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Very good but way too expensive.The bill for a group of 5 was over $1,000!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Q is exquisite. The best sushi we have had since we were in Tokyo a decade ago. Four kinds of fish we'd never even had before, amazing combinations of tastes -- fish & sauces in appetizer bowls, an incredible shishito relish on seared toro! Yes, chef could've given us two pieces of sushi at times when he gave us only one each. Especially because it was so very, very $$$. But as a one-percenter- kind of afternoon, it was really excellent.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 10, 2017

probably the worst sushi I have ever had. terrible quality and I left hungry. I wouldn't mind the price if the sushi was good, but it was hard to eat and not good. would not recommend. also chef was rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Ate on a Wednesday night at 6 p.m. Only six people were eating at the ten person bar. Service was perfunctory. The allegedly super high quality sashimi and sushi was rather ordinary with only minor variation between courses on the 20 course meal. Rather expensive for the quality and value received, compared to other high end sushi restaurants in LA, NYC, and Tokyo.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Best Sushi I have ever had! Chef Hiro is an amazing sushi craftsman who delivers flavor you would never expect from a bite of sashimi. It's expensive but worth it!

My GF and I are thinking of what the next special occasion is so we can go again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Delicious
Find myself chewing in time to the music !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The rice over-powered the taste of the apparently superior fish, but since the rice over-powered, over-shadowed, you cannot tell aside from the urchin taken from a plastic container. Everything was served too cold, so the falvors were not released. The toro's fat was untasteable due to the coldness of it. The egg desert was also too cold. So this place ended up feeling overprivced for the sole reason that everything was too cold and the rice over-powering, and also for not letting some guests know they were being too loud and obnoxious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Wonderful ambiance, chef is a master of sushi
Every course was a delight

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 24, 2017

I've eaten a lot of great sushi before. The service was great! But the food wasn't not. It miss that "WOW" factor of what excellent sushi suppose to be like. I feel like the chef has become Americanize. The food was not orgasmic. It did not bring a smile to my face. I feel like you taste the rice more then the fish itself.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 21, 2017

One of the most amazing meals of my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Amazing sushi with a very talented and proud chef!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Really authentic, delicious meal. If you haven't been yet- GO!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Overhyped and overpriced. The food was ok, not worth the drive or the expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Amazing experience overall, chef was fantastic and offered any further insight on the dish if you inquire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (東京)·Dined on December 31, 2016

They didn't ask me what I can not eat or allergies . But they were asking to other customers. I guess he forgot. And when I said I can not eat egg when he gave us egg dish, he just said ok and he didn't give me anything else instead. It's omakase course so they should have asked in the beginning and most disappointed thing was he was giving something else to the lady next to me when she said she can not eat Uni. I thought it was unfair. And 20% service fee was included.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Service felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Every bite of fish is extraordinary...outstanding service...personable chef...wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic. Will visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We loved the restaurant but found it very expensive.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.