About Q

Taking purity and simplicity as its manifesto, Q provides an unsurpassed omakase dining experience. Q features Chef Hiroyuki Naruke's expression of Edomae cuisine, a historical preparation dating to the Edo-period of Japan that was the first to combine raw sashimi-style fish with vinegar-seasoned rice. Q offers a refined and intimate opportunity for guests to savor and celebrate uncompromised Tokyo-style sushi here in Los Angeles. Our 26-seat dining room matches the care, creativity, and craft of Chef Hiro's cuisine, melding Japanese tradition and striking modernity. Lighting sets the scene, featuring hundreds of glowing orbs that converge above the sushi bar and direct focus to Chef Hiro and his culinary artworks. From the undulating ceiling to the bar itself, the dining space reflects the deep Japanese appreciation for wood in its relaxing natural form. Furnishings include contemporary interpretations of Japanese Zaisu chairs, and tables that feature centuries-old joinery technique

521 W. 7th Street
Los Angeles, CA 90014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Sushi, Japanese, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner

Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm -10:00pm; Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm -11:00pm
Lunch
Monday-Friday 12:00pm-2:00pm

Cross Street:
Between Grand and Olive

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(213) 225-6285

Website:
http://www.qsushila.com/

Parking Details:
Street Parking, Parking Structure, Valet Parking is $8 Available starting at 7:00 PM

Executive Chef:
Hiroyuki Naruke

Additional:
Beer, Chef's Table, Non-Smoking, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Q Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

71% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (8)
Authentic (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Business Meals (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Healthy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Fun (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Historic (1)
Cozy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
115 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Really authentic, delicious meal. If you ...

vip
 (東京)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Really authentic, delicious meal. If you haven't been yet- GO!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overhyped and overpriced. The food was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Overhyped and overpriced. The food was ok, not worth the drive or the expense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Amazing experience overall, chef was fan ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Amazing experience overall, chef was fantastic and offered any further insight on the dish if you inquire.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They didn't ask me what I can not eat or ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

They didn't ask me what I can not eat or allergies . But they were asking to other customers. I guess he forgot. And when I said I can not eat egg when he gave us egg dish, he just said ok and he didn't give me anything else instead. It's omakase course so they should have asked in the beginning and most disappointed thing was he was giving something else to the lady next to me when she said she can not eat Uni. I thought it was unfair. And 20% service fee was included.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Every bite of fish is extraordinary...ou ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Every bite of fish is extraordinary...outstanding service...personable chef...wonderful dining experience!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic. Will visit again

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic. Will visit again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Worst dining experience I've had in LA i ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Worst dining experience I've had in LA in quite some time unfortunately. Ordered the speacial Botan omakase menu for 250 dollars each and would have thought it was the regular menu. Nothing special, not very many pieces and we left hungry. Incredibly disappointing. My wife is Japanese and she was shocked by how poor the overal experience was. Would never recommend this place to anyone who is a real experienced sushi or food enthusiast. Update: emailed The chef, Hiro, was was polite but unapologetic and basically dismissive overall. We're not coming back here again to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

We loved the restaurant but found it ver ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We loved the restaurant but found it very expensive.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Nice place… Excellent service… A little ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Nice place… Excellent service… A little pretentious… Wildly insanely expensive… The food is fine… I've had much better sushi elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Straight up. Best sushi I've ever had BY ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Straight up. Best sushi I've ever had BY FAR! If you are looking for an authentic edomae style Omakase, or just looking for some incredible sushi, try Q.

Be prepared to go on a journey led by Chef Hiroyuki Naruke but don't expect to get full from the meal as edomae sushi is very small.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Fun, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome sushi. Octopus tasted old.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Awesome sushi. Octopus tasted old.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Good quality food, but not great. Frien ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Good quality food, but not great. Friendly service but extremely slow given that there is only one sushi chef for the entire restaurant. It was basically a good meal but poor value given how expensive it is.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

1. I'm not a professional critic. Everyo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 25, 2016
  1. I'm not a professional critic. Everyone is entitled to own opinion. Here is mine.
  1. Do not come here expecting the usual "rolls" and salmon nigirizushi or side dishes...etc.
  1. This is the real deal. True art form of sushi creation. It is how it is meant to be. Sure there could be "better" places but chef Hiro is definitely one of the ones on the top.

Words cannot describe the taste of the each individual creation...you just gotta try it. It makes me somewhat uneasy, borderline angry, that some people think the sushi here is bland. I actually think it is on the salty side. (But then again I see people dipping soy sauce back and front of the rolls in other so called sushi restaurants)

We came here for anniversary lunch. I was so happy that it is open during lunch hours. With kids it is really difficult to go for do special dinners for us.

11 pieces for 75$ 15 for 125$ plus gratuity.

Quality of the fish is apical. No question. The chef politely told us of what the fish is and where they came from.

This placed uses black vinegar (higher quality) instead of distilled white vinegar.

Very fresh ingredients - I generally hate uni but uni here actually tastes sweet.

Wasabi is also freshly ground right before your eyes.

Ponzu is made out of katsuobushi squeeze.

Seaweed and rice blends well and complements the ingredients on the top. It's joyful to experience how the rice, seaweed and the fish all spread out evenly in your mouth as soon as you put it in...to bring out the best flavor in each fish.

If you have the palate to really appreciate "bland" /umami flavor this is a must for you. Trust the chef and enjoy his creations. If you have "well I wanna eat what I want to eat bc I'm paying a lot" mentality this is not for you.

Thank you Q and the master chef Hiro. We will be back.

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best sushi ever!!!

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

best sushi ever!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had lunch at Q. Sat at the sushi bar. Ch ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Had lunch at Q. Sat at the sushi bar. Chef Hiro was attentive and skillful. Omakase lunch restaurant is rare in DTLA. Waitress was excellent. I will go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was one of the most spectacular din ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was one of the most spectacular dining experiences I have ever had. Chef Hiro personally tended to every detail, down to which region the fish came from. I've never had fresher sushi, or an overall better experience at any Japanese restaurant. I simply can not say enough positive things about this place. But be prepared for the bill.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent omakase dinner. The Chef's sel ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent omakase dinner. The Chef's selection of 'tsunami' dishes and sushi was of the highest standard. The Chef's preparation and flavor of rice complemented the taste of the freshest fish.

The 16-course dinner epitomizes Japanese cuisine at its best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was good, but not as good as Sushi Zo in ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Was good, but not as good as Sushi Zo in downtown or Culver City. At Zo, pretty much every single order is amazingly melt in your mouth delicious. Q had some pieces of fish that were just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding and fresh dishes and sushi. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Outstanding and fresh dishes and sushi. Attentive service. Look forward to returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef and staff was great. It was very pe ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Chef and staff was great. It was very personal, I like the enviroment and the vibe. Quality of the food was outstanding, unfortunately I feel like the chefs menu could of been more creative and given more for the value.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Master sushi Chef Hiro a god among men. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Master sushi Chef Hiro a god among men. The food is divine combined with the conversation and experience of traditional sushi. A must for any sushi lover in LA

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Healthy, Disabled Access, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, , Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Modern Decor, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good quality of seafood. Good value ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2016

Very good quality of seafood.

Good value for money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Subtleties of sushi experience in an-oth ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Subtleties of sushi experience in an-other-worldly environment of peace, quiet, and cult for gastronomical tradition. Not only perfect fish, as expected for this price, but also unique rice, size, ambiance, and experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Expensive but good. Top level sushi/sas ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Expensive but good. Top level sushi/sashimi experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef was great

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on August 2, 2016

Chef was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Q may be on the main road but it is sere ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Q may be on the main road but it is serene and peaceful inside with a beautiful decor. I was, in fact, the only person in the restaurant for the entire meal - and what an experience! Q is "omakase" only (i.e. the chef picks your courses, and then at the end asks if there is anything else you would like) and the food is of the highest quality. Each dish is very traditional and "pure" - fish, of many different kinds from many different areas, without bells and whistles - and beautifully selected and prepared. I am not sophisticated enough to tell you the difference between New Zealand fish and Californian fish; you are not paying for "flavours" per se (which are not strong at this level of sushi if your taste buds are as unrefined as mine!) but exquisite textures and quality of fish. You are paying for a fine dining experience and that is what you get. A wonderful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was very good but too overprice ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was very good but too overpriced. Also, a Chef's menu with so many courses should include at least one dessert. The last course was supposed to be dessert, but it didn't taste sweet and they didn't even tell us it was the last course or considered dessert until after we ate it. Disappointing end.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A serene experience and one of our favou ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 3, 2016

A serene experience and one of our favourites during our time in LA.

Sitting at the bar is the only way to go. The best fish we'd ever eaten. The uni is a miracle of texture and flavour. Everything is immaculately prepared before your eyes. We lost count of the number of courses but somewhere around 20 we think. Even dessert is based on shrimp! Not cheap.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

not worth $500 for 2 people albeit was r ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2016

not worth $500 for 2 people albeit was really good, just not worth the $. Ill try everything once, i wont be returning. Theres too many options for that kind of $ in LA that are better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value2

This is an Omakase sushi bar with 2 seat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 24, 2016

This is an Omakase sushi bar with 2 seatings, 6:00 PM and 8:00 PM. (There are also a few tables but the sushi bar is where you want to be) Don't expect fancy rolls or splashy presentations. This meal is understated, refined and a chance to watch a master sushi chef create simple presentations of sashimi and sushi. Unlike the everyday sushi bars which we frequent regularly, Hirkoyuki Naruke, makes sure that each piece of fish is served to advantage (watch how he takes the skin off one fish and not another...there's always a reason and he is glad to explain it). He starts with sashimi and follows it with sushi. The rice was the best I've ever had (from Japan). Most of the fish is from Japan but the Uni was from Santa Barbara and we also had fish from Baja. The Tamago was made from egg and shrimp and was by far the best I'll probably ever have....something to do with the texture as well as the taste....almost cake-like.

We were there on a Thursday night. There were only 5 of us seated at the Sushi Bar. Behind the bar is a counter filled with ceramic vases or all sizes and textures. There was also a long lacquered piece which turns out to be a the sheathing for the sheathing of a sword. Nice to look at. Above our heads are strings of transparent golden balls which serve as the lighting. It's the only thing in the restaurant that was a little overdone...

Like most Omakase, this is an expensive meal with expensive sake but worth the price for the experience of savoring every bite or every piece of fish.

It is totally quiet in the restaurant which was nice for a change but after about a half hour we started talking to the 3 strangers next to us.....after all it's a sushi bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The best Sushi in LA. Better than the S ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2016

The best Sushi in LA. Better than the SF in Beverly Hills!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was absolutely, hands-down, the WOR ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2016

This was absolutely, hands-down, the WORST dining experience I have had in years. In fact, this is my very first review, and it's being written to express the extraordinarily high level of discontent that I have after visiting this spot in downtown LA.

After walking into the front door on the evening I visited I was told that the $170.00/person prix fixe omakase menu (chef selection) was going to be spectacular and that this would be a very special evening. After a moment or two of thinking about the completely revised terms, I agreed to stay and went along for what ultimately turned out to be a completely underwhelming ride.

What went wrong besides the $430.00 bill? I'll start by saying that the food was average, at best, which is a crying shame given the reputation that the place has with local sushi aficionados. I've had better sushi at hole in the wall restaurants when I was in college and had limited financial resources - THIS PLACE IS THAT BAD. Next, I would argue that the staff here is pretentious, un-attentive and not particularly welcoming/friendly. Lastly, I'm a tall guy (6'3") and was forced to sit elbow to elbow at the sushi bar with 4 other couples while there were numerous other tables that were open and would have provided a much nicer dining experience.

Am I aware that omakase preparations are most commonly done while being seated at the bar to provide a glimpse into the chef and his unique culinary abilities? Of course I am, but sitting there was VERY uncomfortable, as I barely had enough room to move my elbows and sat next to someone that clearly forgot to use deodorant that day. The best way I can describe last night's dining experience was eating very average sushi in the middle seat of the economy section while on a 2.5 hour flight all while being seated next to someone that didn't shower for several days. If I could rate this place 0 stars, I most certainly would. I will NEVER visit this place again, you can count on that.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Best sushi I have had in a while. You h ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 16, 2016

Best sushi I have had in a while. You have to be prepared to spend some time there....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best sushi I ever had!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 12, 2016

Best sushi I ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good omakase experience, but consid ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 27, 2016

Very good omakase experience, but considering the price, you must really love edomae style sushi to find this worthwhile. Otherwise you can get a more interesting meal elsewhere, for the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A must for the ultimate omakase experience.

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 22, 2016

Be prepared to spend $$$ to dine at Q, but the all around experience, meal and service is worth every penny. We were lucky to dine at Chef Hero's bar and each dish, served Omakase, was fresh, flavorful, perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had such a wonderful experience at Q. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We had such a wonderful experience at Q. The authentic Edomae sushi experience in Los Angeles. Everything was so beautifully prepared and tasted amazing. The master and his apprentice were both inspirational to watch. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed with the experience.

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 21, 2016

The website said to allow at least an hour and a half for the omakase experience, but our meal only lasted 49 minutes. To me, that is totally unacceptable. It was way too expensive for how quickly they moved us through the dinner. The fish was very fresh, but there was nothing I haven't eaten before at other sushi restaurants for much less money. It was the basics of sushi- tuna, toro, mackerel, amberjack, uni, roe, eel (which was not filleted properly- it still had the little soft bones in it). I appreciate the concept of simplicity - which is what the sushi chef is known for- but then the sashimi was over sauced with very sharp flavors and they used the same garnish on almost every piece of sushi. It is very similar to Sugarfish but for 5 times the price. I would not go back, and I would definitely not recommend this to anyone else. The service was very good- but we were also the only people in the entire restaurant. So disappointing. I actually had a second meal at Shunji Sushi afterwards and for a fraction of the price had a way better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Mixed feelings for Q

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 17, 2016

We found the Q experience to be very uneven. Probably 10 of the 19 courses (20 if you count the dry pound cake passed off as a dessert) were excellent. The others ranged from just average to poor. The pickled smelt (tasted like a dry wood stick) and the seaweed cured oyster (an "off" taste?) stand out as the worst. I have to say that the overall quality of the fish was high and the chef and his assistant put on a good show. The service was fine.

Now here is the real problem for us. When we confirmed our 6PM Saturday reservations, we were advised that 1) the valet parking didn't start until 6:45 PM and 2) that food service could not start until all guests had arrived - not just our party, but all patrons scheduled at that time. We actually arrived about 20 minutes early and parked in a garage across from Whole Foods, only to find the restaurant door locked and the whole area swarming with very aggressive panhandlers and street people. This made us very uncomfortable, so we retreated to the Whole Foods and later to the patisserie across the street to kill some time and escape the panhandlers. Amazingly, the restaurant didn't actually unlock the door until after 6PM. This episode got the evening off to a bad start and the restaurant needed to be the best sushi ever in order to justify the hassle. Unfortunately, it was only an above average dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Absolutely horrible in all asoects! Rude service!

 
 (London)·Dined on April 15, 2016

Granted we were rude also,the reservation was for 4 people. Two of us including my pregnant friend were 15 min early. My pregnant friend backed out of the 2 optional omakase lunch options. The alternative was a vegatarian choice for the same price. The third was 10 min late and the fourth 30 min late. By than the 2 of us already started our omakase lunch. Our server , who spoke English disappeared halfway and never ever refilled. He also brought the wrong sake, which we particularly ordered, the bubbly one. We had to politely ask for everything. In the end as we were the only one they decided to serve the cold omakase on one plate (while we were halfway) with no explanations at all. As go finish and leave, which we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.