About Purple Parrot Café

3810 Hardy Street
Hattiesburg, MS 39402
View Larger Map

Regional favorite since 1987, Purple Parrot Cafe features contemporary cuisine with French and Asian influences. Highlights include global seafood, Wagyu beef, and locally grown artisinal foods.
Wine Spectator award winning wine list features over 700 labels and 30 wines by-the-glass. Cocktail bar is a local hotspot featuring hand-crafted cocktails from fresh ingredients.
- AAA Four Diamond Restaurant
- Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence"

Lunch entrees $9-16; Appetizers $6-10; Dinner Entrees $18-34; Five-Course Chef's Tasting Menu $48/person.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
38th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 264-0656

Website:
http://www.nsrg.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert St. John

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charbroiled Oysters
Cobia
Triple Chocolate Cake
Gulf Fish With Shrimp
Grouper With Crabmeat
Corn and Crab Chowder
Red Snapper With Lemon Butter, Asparagus, And Potatoes
Chocolate
Triple Tail
Prince Edward Island Mussels
Apple Pie
Niman Ranch Pork Belly Confit
Ceviche
Artic Char
Trio Of Belly
Maple Leaf Farms Duck Breast
"Maple Leaf Farms" Duck Breast
Wedge Salad With Creamy Basil Dressing

Purple Parrot Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Hattiesburg
Best Restaurants in Hattiesburg ›

Romantic (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
See All
Fit for Foodies (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Business Meals (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I can't believe this place isn't adverti ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 5 days ago

I can't believe this place isn't advertised!! It is a gem in the midst of average restaurants! We have been to Hattiesburg several times and just now discovered this place! Fabulous food, service and decor. Loved everything about it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Requested a quiet table in the corner th ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined 5 days ago

Requested a quiet table in the corner that was conducive to visiting. We arrived at 11:20 AM for an 11:30 AM reservation and our table was waiting for our party of 3 upon arrival. Service was prompt and caring without being intrusive. Food was great. Our waiter let us linger for awhile once the bill was paid (there were other open tables).

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you like food and wine this is the pl ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

If you like food and wine this is the place to dine! The meal is excellent and they can provide whatever you can think of to drink. Save room for the white chocolate bread pudding for desert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The Purple Parrot always has good food a ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The Purple Parrot always has good food and a wonderful wait staff. It's usually pretty quiet and we can hear each other and that's why we take clients there, its just this time there was a very loud baby a table away, but PP can't help that. We would have heard that baby scream from the next building over. ;)

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every dish we ordered from the appertize ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Every dish we ordered from the appertizers to dessert was delicious. The presentation was wonderful!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of our favorite restaraunts ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaraunts when traveling thru Hattiesburg and it did not disappoint this time! Food was delightful as always, wine well paired with the meal and great service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Fried green tomatoes were great! Egg Be ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Fried green tomatoes were great! Egg Benedict terrible - other food so so. Very disappointed as I had been there 8 or 10 times and was very pleased. But, they have lost the perfection they have enjoyed over the years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service both exceeded expectati ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food and service both exceeded expectations (and we expected it to be good). And the price paid for the quality of food served was very reasonable. We look forward to dining here again soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, quiet atmosph ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food, great service, quiet atmosphere. Always enjoy celebrating special days at Purple Parrot.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service excellent. Constant pro ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food and service excellent. Constant problem with flies embarrassing and annoying...lunch and dinner. I don't experience this in any other restaurant, and certainly no fine dining restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Service was attentive without hovering. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Service was attentive without hovering. The menu has enough variety to make choosing a first and second course difficult. Both the meat and fish items were very well prepared. The wine list could use a bit more variety.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A Robert St. John restaurant, enough said.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food prepared the RIGHT way. The sauces were excellent...from scratch of course.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Purple Parrot Birthday

vip
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The Purple Parrot is one of a very few restaurants in Hattiesburg with a menu that changes (somewhat) seasonally. As such, it can become the default choice for special occasions in the area. Thankfully, about a year ago (probably longer) they streamlined and revamped the menu as well as performed some much-needed interior updating.

To start, we had a tomato gazpacho, which was very good, along with the lobster gnocchi with a brown butter sauce. This pasta was delicious, though the sauce could have used some acid, perhaps lemon or white wine.

Next, we had scallops with ravioli in a cream sauce and a tenderloin with a mushroom bordelaise. These were both very good, but again, the seafood sauce needed some acid for balance.

To finish, we had the "Chocolate Decadence," described as a mousse. It was actually a dense, fudgy piece of almost flourless cake. It was very good, but much richer than expected. It would be nice if there were lighter dessert options.

All in all, this restaurant is worth a look, but I'd encourage folks to think about pairing their courses in terms of heavy/richness. Like most of the owner's restaurants, the dishes here tend to be heavy.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Incomparably wonderful

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

No need to dwell on the details. You will find no more compelling synthesis of foodstuffs, conception, execution, service, wine, ambiance and value anywhere in the United States of America than here. From this it necessarily follows that the Parrot must be #1, n'est-ce pas?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pompano

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

The blackened pompano was overcooked to the point the the edges and bottom were hard/burned. Had to use a knife to cut. Also had little taste. Perhaps you shouldn't offer it blackened.

We were very disappointed, as we have eaten at Purple Parrot before and loved it.

Service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

Never Again!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on December 4, 2015

The Steaks were Ridiculously Expensive!!! The waiter Dumped water in my Lap the minute we sat down!! Definitely Not Worth The Money!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Unexpected brunch pleasure

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

We stopped here on a road trip and waited until the restaurant opened for Sunday Brunch. (They let us in a few minutes early.) On viewing the menu, the four of us agreed that absolutely everything looked wonderful, but we just weren't hungry enough to order it all! Starting with the char-grilled oysters was a must--YUM! The seafood gumbo did not disappoint! We always lean towards "specials" and the eggs benedict d'jour (no English muffin, but potato hash; no Canadian bacon, instead there were 2 petite filet mignon), the soft-shell crab, the crustless quiche, the Greek chicken, oh! and the warm ciabatta bread! And dessert! The service was top notch, friendly, timing perfect, water glasses were kept full. I would definitely recommend and wish it were closer to home. We have lots of great restaurants in Nashville, but this one would be an appreciated addition. Loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

jrs

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 25, 2015

Good food, probably the best in the area. Outstanding wine list of wines one would not expect to see like Penfold's Grange. Server Jessica is highly knowledgeable on the prep of each dish.

Maybe could use a little more variety on entree's but no real criticism. Good place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Food and service were great. Always an exciting menu. Best restaurant in Hattiesburg!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant is Most All Respects

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

It is really nice to have such a fine dining restaurant in Hattiesburg. The food was excellent with our threesome having mahi mahi, duck, and filet mignon. Our appetizers were delicious and were composed of a charcuterie plate and chargrilled oysters that made you think you were eating in New Orleans.

Service was very good too. Jessica worked extra hard in making up for a problem we had with picking a bottle of wine. Unfortunately, the three bottles of wine we tried to order were out (priced in the $85 to $90 range). She let us taste a couple of wines and we eventually found a suitable substitute. The wine list is the only criticism I have of this fine restaurant. They have a huge selection of wine but most are well over $100 to several hundred dollars. There are lots of good wines below $100 so I think the Purple Parrot needs to carry a lot more of them. People will likely buy wine more often and would be more likely to buy a second bottle.

We ended our dining experience with three different desserts that we shared among us, and all were top-notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There were only 5 entrees and we order a ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

There were only 5 entrees and we order a prime steak and they were out. I would like to see

more options for entrees...

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Disappointed

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on October 17, 2015

We have been long-time patrons of this establishment. The menu was disappointing to the point where we almost left to go elsewhere. First time visitors would not know to ask about old standbys that we know to be delicious but they have been removed from the menu. The handwritten portion of the menu is not visually impressive, however, the fish was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Jim

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on October 14, 2015

A real find. Who in Hattesburg MS is going to have multiple bottles of Penfold's Grange? Very nice and prescriptive list. grilled scallop over red quinoa aside red grapefruit supremes well done. Overall excellent meal with equally skilled server Jessica.

Finally: ever heard of fried peas? Crowders and snow peas steamed breaded and dropped in a hot fryer. I thought I'd had everything fried one could have til then. While maybe more appropriate with a PBR its a fun and tasty side.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The price is high for our budget, but worth it!

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on September 22, 2015

My wife is very picky about food being from a bigger city with many choices. The Purple Parrot is expensive, but worth the price we paid to enjoy the fine dining experience in Hattiesburg. This is our place of choice for our anniversary or for other special occasions. We drive all the way down from Laurel.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First times a charm

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

Dinner for my wife's birthday was fantastic! The waiter was very informative on the whole menu. The wife ordered filet and lobster and I ordered pork chops. Both were fantastic. To top it off they gave her a vanilla bean bread pudding for her birthday! This was our first time but it won't be our last! Thanks for the great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 26, 2015

If you enjoy fine dining then you can’t miss the Purple Parrott. I dined there several years ago and remembered how good it was. I was in the area this week and thought I would try it again… It did not disappoint. I drove 30 minutes out of my way just so we could go. It was worth it! The food and service is top shelf! I’ve eaten in many great restaurants all over and this is one of my favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great but expensive

 
 (Tallahassee)
·Dined on July 25, 2015

Great food. Romantic. Great bar connected to restaurant. Service was good. Worth the price!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food with equally good service. M ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

Great food with equally good service. Menu limited in the formal section but choices were sufficient. Was seated in shorts but business casual would be more appropriate. Staff very pleasant and engaging. Left a nice tip for a most enjoyable evening

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Lunch

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 3, 2015

What a great find on the road on the way to New Orleans! Only issue was finding it in the shopping center

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Chef Approved

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on May 7, 2015

My husband I dined at Purple Parrot for our anniversary. I am a certified chef, but my husband is an officer in the Army so I have not worked since we moved to MS a short time ago. I was very pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere could use a little revamping (particularly the ceiling), but the food was incredible. Both our dishes were well balanced french with southern flair. They were also paired well with suitable wine. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and very attentive. We enjoyed our visit and will return when we get the chance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellent All-Around

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 21, 2015

This might have been one of my best restaurant experiences ever. The food was incredible, the service was great, and the atmosphere was perfect. I will definitely be coming back here for future special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

48$ New York strip was terrible. Duck was extremely fat. Brought wrong desserts. Corn and crab bisque was not like before. Shiitake mushroom soup was tasty but about 1/4 cup not sufficient for price. Overall I was sorely disappointed. I have dined at purple parrot many times in the past, but the new purple parrot is a real disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1

A Tradition

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

A New Year's tradition since we retired to the area. Love the special New Year's menu and always find something new and scrumptious on it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Great Fine Dining Restaurant

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on November 10, 2014

It is such a pleasure to find a fine dining restaurant among the many fast food and family restaurants chains that make up most of the eating establishments in the Hattiesburg area. However, be forewarned that high prices come along with the quality and elegance of the Purple Parrot. But the food and drinks are about as good as it gets, the restaurant and wait staff are both top notch, and the very large adjoining bar includes a big inside and outside sitting area and a magnificent wine room where group dining is available.

Enough said; enjoy this outstanding restaurant on a special occasion or more often if your budget can handle it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My steak was cold and the french fries w ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on October 24, 2014

My steak was cold and the french fries were as well. Very dissatisfied. Beautifully presented on the plate.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Good experience

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 20, 2014

We were seated promptly and enjoyed the food very much. Nothing very special about the setting and the staff were not as polished as they could be. However, we would rate this highly because of the chef.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Gem in Central Mississippi

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2014

This was my first trip to Mississippi and specifically to Hattiesburg. I inquired of a few locals their favorite place to dine and Purple Parrot kept coming up. It was a pretty slow evening being mid week and with school out but the service was impeccable and the food was great. I started with the foie gras and a dozen gulf oysters. For my entree I had the shrimp and scallops served with truffled gnocchi. The seafood was cooked perfectly and all of the flavors melded together well. We split a white chocolate bread pudding that was different than what i expected (consistency was more cake like) but very good. The biggest surprise was the extensive wine list with gems like Martinelli, Siduri, Novy and other great CA wines.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One if best steaks ever

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2014

From New York and do not expect to have high quality food when traveling outside a major city. The food was excellent. Had the shrimp appetizer which was tasty and fresh. We shared the sirloin which we both thought was one of the best steaks we ever ate. Space is very pretty . Service was not great. I think their intention was not to rush us but servers rarely came over.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Lived up to it's reputation

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 7, 2014

A wonderful dining experience in every sense. Innovative menu; plenty of options to choose from; the wait staff was superb, mastering the fine line between over/under attentiveness and best of all my teenaged son LOVED the "funky" black truffle sauce on his steak...which was cooked to perfection. In fact, we both left the restaurant completely satisfied in every sense of the word. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding.

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on June 4, 2014

As usual, the food and service were OUTSTANDING at our recent business meeting lunch.

Our out-of-town guest requested the Purple Parrot for the lunch location.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.