About Purple Parrot Café

3810 Hardy Street
Hattiesburg, MS 39402
View Larger Map

Regional favorite since 1987, Purple Parrot Cafe features contemporary cuisine with French and Asian influences. Highlights include global seafood, Wagyu beef, and locally grown artisinal foods.
Wine Spectator award winning wine list features over 700 labels and 30 wines by-the-glass. Cocktail bar is a local hotspot featuring hand-crafted cocktails from fresh ingredients.
- AAA Four Diamond Restaurant
- Wine Spectator "Best of Award of Excellence"

Lunch entrees $9-16; Appetizers $6-10; Dinner Entrees $18-34; Five-Course Chef's Tasting Menu $48/person.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Creole / Cajun / Southern

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
38th Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(601) 264-0656

Website:
http://www.nsrg.com/

Executive Chef:
Robert St. John

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Charbroiled Oysters
Cobia
Grouper With Crabmeat
Triple Chocolate Cake
Red Snapper With Lemon Butter, Asparagus, And Potatoes
Corn and Crab Chowder
Gulf Fish With Shrimp
Trio Of Belly
"Maple Leaf Farms" Duck Breast
Ceviche
Niman Ranch Pork Belly Confit
Prince Edward Island Mussels
Maple Leaf Farms Duck Breast
Triple Tail
Artic Char
Chocolate
Apple Pie
Wedge Salad With Creamy Basil Dressing

Purple Parrot Café Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Hattiesburg
Best Restaurants in Hattiesburg ›

romantic (5)
special occasion (5)
good for groups (3)
See All
notable wine list (2)
neighborhood gem (2)
great for lunch (2)
fit for foodies (2)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was attentive without hovering. ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Service was attentive without hovering. The menu has enough variety to make choosing a first and second course difficult. Both the meat and fish items were very well prepared. The wine list could use a bit more variety.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Robert St. John restaurant, enough said.

Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food prepared the RIGHT way. The sauces were excellent...from scratch of course.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Purple Parrot Birthday

Dined on May 21, 2016

The Purple Parrot is one of a very few restaurants in Hattiesburg with a menu that changes (somewhat) seasonally. As such, it can become the default choice for special occasions in the area. Thankfully, about a year ago (probably longer) they streamlined and revamped the menu as well as performed some much-needed interior updating. To start, we had a tomato gazpacho, which was very good, along with the lobster gnocchi with a brown butter sauce. This pasta was delicious, though the sauce could have used some acid, perhaps lemon or white wine. Next, we had scallops with ravioli in a cream sauce and a tenderloin with a mushroom bordelaise. These were both very good, but again, the seafood sauce needed some acid for balance. To finish, we had the "Chocolate Decadence," described as a mousse. It was actually a dense, fudgy piece of almost flourless cake. It was very good, but much richer than expected. It would be nice if there were lighter dessert options. All in all, this restaurant is worth a look, but I'd encourage folks to think about pairing their courses in terms of heavy/richness. Like most of the owner's restaurants, the dishes here tend to be heavy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incomparably wonderful

vip
Dined on February 1, 2016

No need to dwell on the details. You will find no more compelling synthesis of foodstuffs, conception, execution, service, wine, ambiance and value anywhere in the United States of America than here. From this it necessarily follows that the Parrot must be #1, n'est-ce pas?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service5
value3

The pompano

Dined on December 16, 2015

The blackened pompano was overcooked to the point the the edges and bottom were hard/burned. Had to use a knife to cut. Also had little taste. Perhaps you shouldn't offer it blackened. We were very disappointed, as we have eaten at Purple Parrot before and loved it. Service was great!

food2
ambience2
service2

Never Again!!

Dined on December 4, 2015

The Steaks were Ridiculously Expensive!!! The waiter Dumped water in my Lap the minute we sat down!! Definitely Not Worth The Money!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Unexpected brunch pleasure

Dined on November 29, 2015

We stopped here on a road trip and waited until the restaurant opened for Sunday Brunch. (They let us in a few minutes early.) On viewing the menu, the four of us agreed that absolutely everything looked wonderful, but we just weren't hungry enough to order it all! Starting with the char-grilled oysters was a must--YUM! The seafood gumbo did not disappoint! We always lean towards "specials" and the eggs benedict d'jour (no English muffin, but potato hash; no Canadian bacon, instead there were 2 petite filet mignon), the soft-shell crab, the crustless quiche, the Greek chicken, oh! and the warm ciabatta bread! And dessert! The service was top notch, friendly, timing perfect, water glasses were kept full. I would definitely recommend and wish it were closer to home. We have lots of great restaurants in Nashville, but this one would be an appreciated addition. Loved it!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

jrs

Dined on November 25, 2015

Good food, probably the best in the area. Outstanding wine list of wines one would not expect to see like Penfold's Grange. Server Jessica is highly knowledgeable on the prep of each dish. Maybe could use a little more variety on entree's but no real criticism. Good place.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on November 15, 2015

Food and service were great. Always an exciting menu. Best restaurant in Hattiesburg!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Restaurant is Most All Respects

vip
Dined on November 11, 2015

It is really nice to have such a fine dining restaurant in Hattiesburg. The food was excellent with our threesome having mahi mahi, duck, and filet mignon. Our appetizers were delicious and were composed of a charcuterie plate and chargrilled oysters that made you think you were eating in New Orleans. Service was very good too. Jessica worked extra hard in making up for a problem we had with picking a bottle of wine. Unfortunately, the three bottles of wine we tried to order were out (priced in the $85 to $90 range). She let us taste a couple of wines and we eventually found a suitable substitute. The wine list is the only criticism I have of this fine restaurant. They have a huge selection of wine but most are well over $100 to several hundred dollars. There are lots of good wines below $100 so I think the Purple Parrot needs to carry a lot more of them. People will likely buy wine more often and would be more likely to buy a second bottle. We ended our dining experience with three different desserts that we shared among us, and all were top-notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

There were only 5 entrees and we order a ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

There were only 5 entrees and we order a prime steak and they were out. I would like to see more options for entrees...

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service5

Disappointed

Dined on October 17, 2015

We have been long-time patrons of this establishment. The menu was disappointing to the point where we almost left to go elsewhere. First time visitors would not know to ask about old standbys that we know to be delicious but they have been removed from the menu. The handwritten portion of the menu is not visually impressive, however, the fish was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5

Jim

Dined on October 14, 2015

A real find. Who in Hattesburg MS is going to have multiple bottles of Penfold's Grange? Very nice and prescriptive list. grilled scallop over red quinoa aside red grapefruit supremes well done. Overall excellent meal with equally skilled server Jessica. Finally: ever heard of fried peas? Crowders and snow peas steamed breaded and dropped in a hot fryer. I thought I'd had everything fried one could have til then. While maybe more appropriate with a PBR its a fun and tasty side.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The price is high for our budget, but worth it!

Dined on September 22, 2015

My wife is very picky about food being from a bigger city with many choices. The Purple Parrot is expensive, but worth the price we paid to enjoy the fine dining experience in Hattiesburg. This is our place of choice for our anniversary or for other special occasions. We drive all the way down from Laurel.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

First times a charm

Dined on August 31, 2015

Dinner for my wife's birthday was fantastic! The waiter was very informative on the whole menu. The wife ordered filet and lobster and I ordered pork chops. Both were fantastic. To top it off they gave her a vanilla bean bread pudding for her birthday! This was our first time but it won't be our last! Thanks for the great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Exceptional!!

Dined on August 26, 2015

If you enjoy fine dining then you can’t miss the Purple Parrott. I dined there several years ago and remembered how good it was. I was in the area this week and thought I would try it again… It did not disappoint. I drove 30 minutes out of my way just so we could go. It was worth it! The food and service is top shelf! I’ve eaten in many great restaurants all over and this is one of my favorites!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great but expensive

Dined on July 25, 2015

Great food. Romantic. Great bar connected to restaurant. Service was good. Worth the price!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food with equally good service. M ...

Dined on June 28, 2015

Great food with equally good service. Menu limited in the formal section but choices were sufficient. Was seated in shorts but business casual would be more appropriate. Staff very pleasant and engaging. Left a nice tip for a most enjoyable evening

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Lunch

vip
Dined on June 3, 2015

What a great find on the road on the way to New Orleans! Only issue was finding it in the shopping center

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5

Chef Approved

Dined on May 7, 2015

My husband I dined at Purple Parrot for our anniversary. I am a certified chef, but my husband is an officer in the Army so I have not worked since we moved to MS a short time ago. I was very pleasantly surprised. The atmosphere could use a little revamping (particularly the ceiling), but the food was incredible. Both our dishes were well balanced french with southern flair. They were also paired well with suitable wine. Our server was very knowledgeable about the menu and very attentive. We enjoyed our visit and will return when we get the chance.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent All-Around

Dined on March 21, 2015

This might have been one of my best restaurant experiences ever. The food was incredible, the service was great, and the atmosphere was perfect. I will definitely be coming back here for future special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service1

food

Dined on March 1, 2015

48$ New York strip was terrible. Duck was extremely fat. Brought wrong desserts. Corn and crab bisque was not like before. Shiitake mushroom soup was tasty but about 1/4 cup not sufficient for price. Overall I was sorely disappointed. I have dined at purple parrot many times in the past, but the new purple parrot is a real disappointment.

food5
ambience5
service5

A Tradition

Dined on January 1, 2015

A New Year's tradition since we retired to the area. Love the special New Year's menu and always find something new and scrumptious on it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

A Great Fine Dining Restaurant

vip
Dined on November 10, 2014

It is such a pleasure to find a fine dining restaurant among the many fast food and family restaurants chains that make up most of the eating establishments in the Hattiesburg area. However, be forewarned that high prices come along with the quality and elegance of the Purple Parrot. But the food and drinks are about as good as it gets, the restaurant and wait staff are both top notch, and the very large adjoining bar includes a big inside and outside sitting area and a magnificent wine room where group dining is available. Enough said; enjoy this outstanding restaurant on a special occasion or more often if your budget can handle it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4

My steak was cold and the french fries w ...

Dined on October 24, 2014

My steak was cold and the french fries were as well. Very dissatisfied. Beautifully presented on the plate.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4

Good experience

Dined on September 20, 2014

We were seated promptly and enjoyed the food very much. Nothing very special about the setting and the staff were not as polished as they could be. However, we would rate this highly because of the chef.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

Gem in Central Mississippi

Dined on July 31, 2014

This was my first trip to Mississippi and specifically to Hattiesburg. I inquired of a few locals their favorite place to dine and Purple Parrot kept coming up. It was a pretty slow evening being mid week and with school out but the service was impeccable and the food was great. I started with the foie gras and a dozen gulf oysters. For my entree I had the shrimp and scallops served with truffled gnocchi. The seafood was cooked perfectly and all of the flavors melded together well. We split a white chocolate bread pudding that was different than what i expected (consistency was more cake like) but very good. The biggest surprise was the extensive wine list with gems like Martinelli, Siduri, Novy and other great CA wines.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2

One if best steaks ever

vip
Dined on July 30, 2014

From New York and do not expect to have high quality food when traveling outside a major city. The food was excellent. Had the shrimp appetizer which was tasty and fresh. We shared the sirloin which we both thought was one of the best steaks we ever ate. Space is very pretty . Service was not great. I think their intention was not to rush us but servers rarely came over.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Lived up to it's reputation

Dined on June 7, 2014

A wonderful dining experience in every sense. Innovative menu; plenty of options to choose from; the wait staff was superb, mastering the fine line between over/under attentiveness and best of all my teenaged son LOVED the "funky" black truffle sauce on his steak...which was cooked to perfection. In fact, we both left the restaurant completely satisfied in every sense of the word. We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding.

Dined on June 4, 2014

As usual, the food and service were OUTSTANDING at our recent business meeting lunch. Our out-of-town guest requested the Purple Parrot for the lunch location.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints...

Dined on May 30, 2014

We enjoy the Purple Parrot experience routinely. Order the tasting menu and try some new things...unwind with the wine pairings. It's a great treat!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistent Excellence

Dined on May 6, 2014

One more time we loved the food. I took my husband to dinner to celebrate his birthday. The food & service were excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

This has been the best meal that we have ...

vip
Dined on April 23, 2014

This has been the best meal that we have had in Hattiesburg.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent

Dined on April 18, 2014

The service was absolutely wonderful. The food was fantastic and there wasn't any disturbances or any problems what so ever.

food5
ambience5
service5

Love the Purple Parrot!

vip
Dined on April 17, 2014

Whenever we are in the Hattiesburg area, the Purple Parrot is a "must dine" stop. Whether for lunch or dinner, their menu always offers some favorites as well as few creative new fares with unique blends of flavors. They have an adjacent bar that is lively and has a broad variety of beers and drinks. The abiance of the restaurant is wonderful and never disturbed by the bar. Great food, relaxing atmoshphere!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2

bad night or has PPC slipped?

Dined on February 2, 2014

Ate on a Saturday night. High expectations since we've always enjoyed our meals there. My Bloody Mary was weak. Chef's lagniappe was so small only one taste bud was needed. Gumbo was good as was the beet salad. Both diners had red fish and it was cooked perfectly. Dessert was a king cake/whipped cream confection, it was very good. Service was not up to the usual attention level. Had to ask for things - water, bread - that normally would be taken care of instantly. Only saw the waiter sporadically. I was a little slow choosing a wine, didn't see the waiter again until the main course was served, so they lost a wine sale. Background music was '50s/'60s jazz, was intrusive and was such a fast tempo that I felt like the goal was turnover.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best in Mississippi

Dined on December 23, 2013

Being a native of Mississippi, the Purple Parrot has got to be one of, if not the best in the State. If you are anywhere near Hattisburg and you do not stop shame on you. Sweet Potato Blondie with homemade ice cream and caramel sauce the BEST!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Pre-concert Extravagance

Dined on December 3, 2013

We traveled to Hattiesburg for the Southern Miss Holiday Spectacular and planned the trip to facilitate a nice dinner beforehand. We selected the Purple Parrot for a number of reasons and were thrilled with the meal and service. Everything was top notch and we will look forward to another excuse to get on I-59 and visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service1

Did you forget about us?

Dined on October 2, 2013

The service was unbelievably slow and negligent, especially considering hardly anyone was there. We waited 20 mins for our first round of drinks, and to order food, and we were never offered second rounds of drinks with our meal or later. Disappointing service for what is supposed to be our city's nicest restaurant.

food5
ambience4
service5

For Foodies

Dined on September 22, 2013

The Purple Parrot was a pleasant surprise that I didn't expect to find in Hattiesburg. I had the sea scallops and my husband had the ribeye, accompanied by a bottle of pinot noir. Everything was fantastic, and the chocolate truffle layer cake was to die for. I would recommend this restaurant for date night or special occasions, but leave the kids with a sitter!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.