About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville

14459 Woodinville Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the freshest, local ingredients that change with the seasons.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday, 11am to 9pm
Friday and Saturday, 11am to 10pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 2pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 483-7129

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Brett Teegardin

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: 206-838-3853x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Mini Baked Brie (Close-Up)
Mini Baked Brie - Grapes
Mini Baked Brie
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Braised Short Ribs Ravioli
Beef Tenderloin Skewers
Nutella Brownie
Peach Sundae
lemon tart
Scallop Tartare
Grilled Chicken
Cheese Flight
Salted Caramels
White Wine Braised Rabbit, Carrot, Blackened Cauliflower, 5 Year Aged Parmigianna Reggiano Risotto

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Notable Wine List
Eastside
American
Eastside
1 More
Most Booked
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Woodinville ›

notable wine list (83)
fit for foodies (63)
great for outdoor dining (58)
See All
great for lunch (57)
special occasion (50)
neighborhood gem (45)
great for brunch (32)
good for groups (31)
romantic (24)
hot spot (24)
vibrant bar scene (13)
kid-friendly (11)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Purple Café and Wine Bar in the heart of ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

Purple Café and Wine Bar in the heart of Woodinville, WA is a destination place for those who love great food, a wonderful wine selection, conversation and ambiance.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The beef tenderloin appetizer was overco ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The beef tenderloin appetizer was overcooked, the salad was really good, the filet mignon was cooked as asked, and the potato side was amazing. The wine choices were very good, I enjoyed sharing a flight then glasses for dinner were easier to choose. The sorbet dessert tasted really good. Overall, a very pleasurable dining experience. And, from north Seattle, it only took 25 minutes, same as the trek to Downtown or better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

While Purple has always been my most fav ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

While Purple has always been my most fave I had not been in quite awhile and was surprised at the menu overhaul. Gone were the best Meze spreads of olive, feta walnut, roasted pepper and edamame only to be replaced by newer less satisfying options. The prawns and fries were gone too. So disappointed!!! The service however is as it always was, impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Had a really good experience. Was able t ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had a really good experience. Was able to have our dog on the patio which was great. Got seated right away and fun kids menu so there were good options for all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I had the lobster roll and was very disa ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I had the lobster roll and was very disappointed, huge roll and hardly any lobster. I had it with a green salad w/balsamic and that was great. Their salads are much better then some of there other menu items. Great selection of wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food great waitress! My Halibut wa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food great waitress! My Halibut was fantastic!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere. Very very ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere.

Very very loud. Very difficult to hear dining partners or staff.

I will return and would recommend with the caveat that it is noisy.

JF

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as usual. We come here quite a bit ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great as usual. We come here quite a bit. Waitress was very nice but service was very slow this time for some reason. Normally everything comes out in a timely manner. Maybe she had too many tables. Loved the chop salad and always have to get the sea salt caramels.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Purple Woodinville is our go-to restaura ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Purple Woodinville is our go-to restaurant for special occasions or just to celebrate the end of a day at work. Wonderful staff and a great wine selection combined with an interesting and varied menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it and they have a great happy hour ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Love it and they have a great happy hour as well! You can also buy full bottles of wine for a special price I think. Also offering a brunch menu on the weekend which people love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is very good but I, as others have ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food is very good but I, as others have noted in other social media, believe that the prices are a bit high compared to other similar restaurants. I do like the outdoor dining and the wine selection, however.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We love the salads and the shrimp appeti ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We love the salads and the shrimp appetizer and service is always great! Make a reservation as they are very popular!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I actually feel that the food is good bu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I actually feel that the food is good but not terrific. I can't recommend it as a great place to eat for that reason. Prices are a bit high, too. I don't mind paying for a great meal. Unfortunately, Purple has not delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A great restaurant stop to break up wine ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

A great restaurant stop to break up wine tasting in Woodinville.

Plates are moderate in size and had good flavors.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

over priced, salty, poor menu selections ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

over priced, salty, poor menu selections. Not my choice but we had a gift card.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

I had a delicious salad made of chicken ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I had a delicious salad made of chicken fruit and veggies, with a oil dressing. It was delicious. The menu choices were varied and fun for those of us who like something more contemporary and fun.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was excellent. Would highly r ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Everything was excellent. Would highly recommend. Reservations are recommended. Parking can be a problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Good service! A bit crowded ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food! Good service! A bit crowded and to loud you feel like you have to talk loud at your table so those dining with you can hear you! Other than that was good! Wouldn't come there for a romantic dinner! Not sure you can really change all of that because the restaurant is small! Unless you move.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Parking was impossible, especially for a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Parking was impossible, especially for a person with limited mobility. Once inside, the staff was very accommodating . Lots to choose from and overall a good lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Kobe Ribeye. Amazing. Wine. Amazing. Did ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Kobe Ribeye. Amazing. Wine. Amazing. Did I mention the Ribeye?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 7 people and 4 were children and ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We had 7 people and 4 were children and got exceptional service, amazing kids menu.. Very pleased with our birthday lunch (for an adult).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service! The server di ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food, great service! The server did a fantastic job! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Slow service, waited more than 15 mins t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Slow service, waited more than 15 mins to be waited on and another 15-20 for food. Food good. Waitress not particularly friendly or attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

A go to for restaurants or us

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I recently took a friend of. I E to Purple Cafe' Woodinville, to celebrate her birthday. My husband and I frequent Purple Cafe at various locations, and are never disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I enjoyed my meal

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

My group arrived ahead of me and already unsure about our server when I got there. One of our party cut his hand on the sharp table edge too. This had me tuned in to my parties mood going forward. In keeping with their observations, the waiter did not think to address the group at each visit, rather, took singular refill orders while others were overlooked. I liked food, the room was attractive, if quite noisy, and I'll try again...we all have off days

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Great food and wine!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food here is very very good. Our server was fantastic the wine selection is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very pleasant experience

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a very pleasant experience and early dinner on our way to a concert at St Michelle Winery.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We have dined at this Purple frequently ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We have dined at this Purple frequently over the last 10 years and will continue to do so. We enjoy the food, wine, atmosphere, and staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Still very good

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a very nice outdoor lunch at Purple. The food and service were both very good. It is really nice to be able to have wine flights of both still and sparkling wines. Look forward to going there again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very nice food and excellent service.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Very nice food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The chop salad and bruschetta were wonde ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The chop salad and bruschetta were wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I had such a great time here! We had fou ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

I had such a great time here! We had four kids with us. The place was very lively. We were here for two hours. My kids have never spent two hours while we enjoyed a nice, leisurely meal and drinks. The atmosphere is so nice and comfortable. The food was very tasty. Our service was good and great with our kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We've been to Purple many times, and sad ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

We've been to Purple many times, and sadly this meal was uninspired. We were surprised as usually it is quite good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Do something about your beef.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Was celebrating a birthday here with out of town guests, made sure it was noted with the hostess over the phone beforehand. They had forgotten, sigh. Waiter was pleasant, ambiance was great, and food was mediocre. The best part of the entire evening was the dessert! They had listed "kobe beef" on their menu, and it looked like a sirloin, and was horribly tough. It felt like we were eating leather. The food tasted great, just horrible texture with the beef. Please do something about this!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food and wonderful service. We too ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. We took advantage of the half price wine bottles on a Monday. All locations are great and quality is consistent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I would give it 6 stars if I could. The ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I would give it 6 stars if I could. The steak (fillet and New York) is delicious. Try the baked Brie and the strawberry goat cheese salad. So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can not beat an experience eating at ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

You can not beat an experience eating at any of the Purple Cafes. Outstanding service and consistent quality of the food. Great recommendations for wine for our group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lunch was a great way to kick off an aft ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Lunch was a great way to kick off an afternoon of wine tasting for my wife's birthday. We had a great time and the food was excellent. Service was OK, I think because it was during the mid-afternoon doldrums and most of the staff was on break or something.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Appetizers were great. Main dishes wer ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Appetizers were great. Main dishes were lackluster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great food, great place!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We have dined here many times. We love the food and the wine. I always like the fact that we can make a reservation as the restaurant is always busy on Friday and Saturdays. Our server was very helpful and friendly. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.