About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville

14459 Woodinville Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the freshest, local ingredients that change with the seasons.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday, 11am to 9pm
Friday and Saturday, 11am to 10pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 2pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 483-7129

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Brett Teegardin

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: 206-838-3853x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mini Baked Brie (Close-Up) - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Mini Baked Brie - Grapes - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Mini Baked Brie - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Lobster Mac And Cheese - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Braised Short Ribs Ravioli - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Beef Tenderloin Skewers - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Nutella Brownie - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Peach Sundae - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
lemon tart - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Scallop Tartare - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Grilled Chicken - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Salted Caramels - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Cheese Flight - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
White Wine Braised Rabbit, Carrot, Blackened Cauliflower, 5 Year Aged Parmigianna Reggiano Risotto - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Woodinville ›

Notable Wine List (43)
Good for a Date (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Good for Anniversaries (17)
Romantic (16)
Casual (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Fun (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Groups (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Great for Brunch (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Seasonal (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Private Room (5)
Tapas (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Authentic (3)
Vegan (3)
Fireplace (3)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
871 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Chris our server was excellent, very per ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

Chris our server was excellent, very personable and attentive, would request him as our server again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Purple just keeps on going and yet every ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Purple just keeps on going and yet every time I have been to one of these restaurants I am disappointed. They get points for overall ambiance, but I find that the food is below par. I had the Kobe Beef Dip sandwich this time and it was tough and oddly seasoned, served with cold jus and a salad that was drenched in dressing. The waitress got the order wrong and it arrived with fries, which were taken away (served to the next guest?) and then the bad salad came. No one was thrilled with their food, it was just the backdrop for our conversation. Nothing special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent meal and superior service by o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent meal and superior service by our wait staff Tess. Will return for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent! The food was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The service was excellent! The food was good I would not brag about it. All in all it was a pleasant place to have a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Inexperienced server caused a 25 minute ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Inexperienced server caused a 25 minute wait to receive even a glass of wine...but finally the manager became involved (at waiters request) and got our meal going. A very professional response to the goof, and turned the meal around in our eyes. The food is good, not great, but lunch options tend not to be as imaginative maybe? Setting is lovely but the hard surfaces make for a very loud dining experience. Would go back with expectations for an everyday lunch, not a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Perfect lunch with my mother-in-law.

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Perfect lunch with my mother-in-law.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chicken Marsala is usually amazing with ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Chicken Marsala is usually amazing with a fabulous sauce and wonderful side veggies. Was dry and my last bite was burnt. The sauce was watery and the sides were ok. Without any beverage for last third of meal. When we were done, with utensils appropriately positioned and then our coats on, server was four feet away telling another table a long story. To be fair, it was busy and I didn't complain - too shocked because it's my favorite dish and service is usually amazing. The bruschetta was really good...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Very good ambient and excellent food. I ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very good ambient and excellent food. I fond the entree a little expensive with 16$ and the glass of wine 10 but was very good. Due to the costs cannot go often but definitely for special occasions it worth.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Purple has historically been very good. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Purple has historically been very good. This visit was just average. Many of the apps continue to be very tasty however the mains were just so so this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We've eaten at Purple for many years and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We've eaten at Purple for many years and it's always been great. A little noisy but food is always good - hot, tasteful and comes pretty quickly. Service is always great. Friday night was disappointing. We were there with friends who had not been there before and the food was mediocre, took forever to come, some of it was cold. It was just disappointing. Service was good initially but once our food was delivered we didn't see her again until time to clear. No checking back to see if everything was ok, etc. She was nice but not around much. $50 for two sandwiches and a glass of wine is fine if the service is great and the food is good, but really, have had much better food and service for less than half that price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I called ahead to let them know we were ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I called ahead to let them know we were vegans and they said the chef could leave items out and make vegan meals. Unfortunately the best they could come up with was pasta with marinara sauce and veggies. If you are not vegan the food is fabulous.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

We have been twice and both times have b ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have been twice and both times have been impressed at the quality of the food. Everything is excellent with quality local ingredients. This is really a treat for foodies! But be sure to leave yourself time for parking - you will likely end up in the back field parking which is not horrible but has no lighting and is awful for nice shoes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visit Purple downtown and Woodinville ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We visit Purple downtown and Woodinville often. Wines are always good. Service this time was inattentive bordering on rude. Server was more interested in chatting up a bar patron than waiting her tables. Lobster Mac & Cheese was soupy and not up to previous visits. Definitely off their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The cranberry chicken salad is usually m ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The cranberry chicken salad is usually my favorite but the apples in it were kind of soft and mushy definitely not this years crop. I wouldn't order it again it was too disappointing for the price. I'll try something else the next time I go there.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The eggs on 2 of the three meals we orde ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The eggs on 2 of the three meals we ordered were runnier than desired and it took quite a while to get our meals but the restaurant and our server handled it appropriately by comping a meal a drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love coming to Purple after an afternoon ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love coming to Purple after an afternoon of wine tasting. Great atmosphere (but noisey), great food and great staff. Had the brussel sprouts for the first time and I'm hooked!! Can't wait to have them again. Highly recommended making reservations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we have visited purple in woodenville se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

we have visited purple in woodenville several times. Experiences have always been well!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Noise may be a l ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food and service. Noise may be a little too much for some.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Very noisy and crowded on a Friday night ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very noisy and crowded on a Friday night. And parking is a major deterrent. Our meal was $240 for one appetizer, 2 steaks, and 2 glasses each of wine (4 total). The meal was good (not blow your hair back) but the wine was excellent. They have a great wine list. Not for a quiet romantic evening, but good for an expensive girls night out.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding chicken Marsala. The best I' ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Outstanding chicken Marsala. The best I've had in the world. Truly. Always good wine and excellent recommendations. Our waiter was really good, and in spite of having a table of 4 next to us turn into an unannounced party of 12, he remained somehow focused on all of us. Made what could have been a loud and negative experience into something ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Haven't been to Purple in years (other l ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Haven't been to Purple in years (other location) and it was a real treat to be back in the Seattle area and to get to go to this one. The wine selection is outstanding, I did the cab flight. Our appetizer of calamari was perfect, and we decided to split the Wednesday dinner special (fried chicken) so that we could order all the sides with it. It was outstanding! Great atmosphere and Tony our server (I'm sure that was his name) was a hoot and added to the evening. Hope to be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were there to celebrate a birthday an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We were there to celebrate a birthday and had six guests. They put us in a back room, by an exit door that was extremely drafty. I had to wear my jacket the entire meal. Also, we could barely hear each other over the din. My son in law was sitting next to me and I had to keep repeating myself. VERY DISAPPOINTED. I have been to other Purple Cafes and this did not happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Always busy but consistently great and a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Always busy but consistently great and attentive service. There's a reason why it's busy! Food always delicious as well.

Tags: Cozy, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 11 people. They seate ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We had a party of 11 people. They seated us promptly and were quite attentive. The appetizers were great as were the entrees for everyone. A few people ordered appetizers for their main plus a side and were quite satisfied. We also enjoyed the wine selection and desert was ample just ordering two for the whole table. All in all, an enjoyable experience for a large party!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The lobster mac and cheese had just bits ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The lobster mac and cheese had just bits of lobster in it, so much for a $30 dish. They really back you into a corner to order a bottle of wine, which is less expensive than ordering by glass if you drink more than one glass at dinner, which we do. The waitress was a little forgetful.

All in all it was an OK experience. Sea Salt Caramels are the best ever on a plus note.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

Great evening out with my friend and Pur ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great evening out with my friend and Purple is always a safe bet for good food and service. We were too full for dessert but the waitress noticed I brought a gift for my friend and brought some salted caramels on the house. Very thoughtful. I will be back!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great. Crab cakes were o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The service was great. Crab cakes were ordered as a starter and they were delicious. Lunch entrees, not so good. I ordered the lobster Mac and cheese and it was dry (cheese was very difficult to eat and swallow) and pasta under cooked. I could not finish it. My friend ordered a sandwich with fries and the fries were ice cold and we had to return them. I was a bit disappointed. Seems like it's always a hit or miss at their restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Really nice restaurant of this group. Wo ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Really nice restaurant of this group. Worth the drive and the service is the best.

This week they are having the Seattle Week promotion with fix price. Great value and quality.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

As always, it was delicious. Service wa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 14, 2016

As always, it was delicious. Service was great too. Thanks for helping to make my birthday even better!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, a bit over priced. Servic ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Food was good, a bit over priced. Service was very slow. I saw this comment on other reviews and it's true

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Amazing brunch food!

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Amazing brunch food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Arrived a little early for our reservati ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Arrived a little early for our reservation but the table was ready so we got sat right away, there were 4 of us and we all decided to do shareable plates which didn't seem to be a problem. Our server was very knowledgeable of our dishes. Highly recommend the ricotta and olives and the sea salt carmels for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

One of our long time favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 6, 2016

One of our long time favorite restaurants. Great service and food at reasonable prices. It also has atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Great atmosphere and environment

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great atmosphere and environment

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice atmosphere, Wine selection is great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Nice atmosphere, Wine selection is great, good place to share a meal and conversation

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always great. We took our visiting rela ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Always great. We took our visiting relatives to Purple, and they loved it as much as we do. Perfect day to enjoy the tomato soup and grilled cheese combo.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I made my reservation at Purple easily t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

I made my reservation at Purple easily thru OpenTable. Upon our arrival we were seated straight away, our server was lovely and the food was delicious. What more could you ask for?

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Private Room, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always come here for the Chicken Marsala ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Always come here for the Chicken Marsala. The prep and presentation was different. Chicken on the bone is not how I prefer my Chicken Marsala and the sides seemed a little skimpy but flavor was great. This location is a little loud but the overall ambiance with the candles is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not easy parking even on friday, great a ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Not easy parking even on friday, great ambiance, very nice menu with lots of choices. Our server was new and very good good but the supervisor trying to make sure she was doing her job was rather creepy and annoying. Food was excellent and we will be back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Pretty good but could have done better f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Pretty good but could have done better for my anniversary. Felt the wait staff could have been friendlier. Food was just ok. Bellevue location is better. Still decent place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.