About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville

14459 Woodinville Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the freshest, local ingredients that change with the seasons.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday, 11am to 9pm
Friday and Saturday, 11am to 10pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 2pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 483-7129

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Brett Teegardin

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: 206-838-3853x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Mini Baked Brie (Close-Up)
Mini Baked Brie - Grapes
Mini Baked Brie
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Braised Short Ribs Ravioli
Beef Tenderloin Skewers
Nutella Brownie
Peach Sundae
lemon tart
Scallop Tartare
Grilled Chicken
Salted Caramels
Cheese Flight
White Wine Braised Rabbit, Carrot, Blackened Cauliflower, 5 Year Aged Parmigianna Reggiano Risotto

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Great for Lunch
Eastside
Notable Wine List
Eastside
2 More
American
Eastside
Most Booked
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Woodinville ›

Notable Wine List (67)
Great for Lunch (48)
Fit for Foodies (47)
See All
Special Occasion (46)
Great for Outdoor Dining (39)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Romantic (24)
Great for Brunch (22)
Good for Groups (22)
Hot Spot (14)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Good for a Date (10)
Kid-friendly (7)
Seasonal (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Casual (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Fun (3)
Tapas (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Cozy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Family Style (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
827 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was excellent and our server made s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Food was excellent and our server made sure we were happy with the wine pairing. Very nicely balanced flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It had been a few years since I'd been t ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

It had been a few years since I'd been there. I wasn't as impressed as I was back then.

My flatbread was too oily. Also, I didn't expect it to be focaccia -- and that could be on me for not fully reading the description.

While it as great to get fries with my happy hour slider, I didn't expect that much food. I wish it would have been clear on the HH menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Excellent dining experience at the Purpl ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent dining experience at the Purple Cafe in Woodinville! The lobster mac and cheese was amazing.....and perfect location for pre-show concert at the Chateau St. Michelle Vineyards. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was as wonderful as always. We enjo ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Food was as wonderful as always. We enjoyed the crab cakes and a salad.

Tags: Happy Hour, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. AND...if you ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food. Great service. AND...if you happen to need to be GLUTEN FREE, THIS IS YOUR PLACE. They can modify so many menu items to be gluten free that you have a plethora of choices. More important, they get it, so you never have to worry that the price of your fun meal includes miserable symptoms.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wine selection was good, but the foo ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The wine selection was good, but the food we had wasn't great. It took a very long time and then was cold when it arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

The food was delicious, the service prom ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food was delicious, the service prompt and friendly, and the pricing was pretty reasonable for Saturday brunch at an upscale restaurant. I love this place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband ordered the French Dip with a ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My husband ordered the French Dip with a side salad. The meat was minimal, there was entirely too much roll, and the meat was dry. The salad came without dressing and seemed like spring greens from a bag was just put on the plate. My crab roll was delicious but, again, too much bread. Their fries were amazingly delicious. Our friend's French Dip was about the same as my husband's and his wife's flatbread with peaches seemed to be good. In all, it was a mixed bag. The restaurant was entirely too noisy and we couldn't hear each other at all. If we do go back, it will be in the summer when we can eat outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

This was my first time at the Purple Caf ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This was my first time at the Purple Café, on a father/daughter date with my youngest prior to seeing Frankie Valli perform. The food was superb, the service spot-on, and I was surprised at the extent, and affordability of the wine list. What a terrific surprise; I'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited 45+ minutes for our dinner to ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We waited 45+ minutes for our dinner to arrive even with reservations. We had a window seat & noticed those arriving after us that were seated outside were served long before we were? I ordered a full size greek/grain salad that was "tasteless" & the bread I requested to go with it didn't arrive until far later after I flagged down the waiter. My husband had a sirloin steak dinner that he enjoyed very much. With orders of wine, dessert & coffee included with this meal, we had a total of approx $125 in addition to the waiter's tip. This is comparable to what we spend for fine dining with impeccable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Found the bacon meat loaf ordinary at be ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Found the bacon meat loaf ordinary at best, dry. Mashed potatoes and beans OK.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food, wine selection , and amb ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent food, wine selection , and ambiance in heart of Woodinville. A little pricey though. Great for a special occasions as well as for a date night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We would be considered regular customers ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We would be considered regular customers and are on first name with some of the employees.

Our server appeared to be in over her head yet the restaurant was not overcrowded.

I had to ask other wait staff on 3 occasions for bread, follow up on my request for more wine as well as the check

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

A terrific dining experience with friend ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

A terrific dining experience with friends. Food was good but service better.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I like eating at Woodinville Purple beca ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I like eating at Woodinville Purple because it's close to the Hollywood wineries and the food is dependably good. It's very crowded and the staff is stretched and you really need a reservation.

Tags: Spicy, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We loved our pre concert snack in Woodin ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We loved our pre concert snack in Woodinville so much that we went to the Purple Cafe next night in Seattle. our only complaint is the price. We had 2 glasses of wine, 6 oz pours and a cheese plate for $25.00 and our bill was $58.00 a little on the pricey side we thought. Great spot with lots of amazing things however found it too expensive for what we got.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Tapas, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

This is one of my favorite lunch destina ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

This is one of my favorite lunch destinations. This time I was disappointed. I ordered the chicken salad (one of my favorites). It was overpowered with large slices of celery. Mimosa I ordered was forgotten and had to request a second time. My friend loved her salad with stone fruit.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

very friendly staff and great service... ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

very friendly staff and great service.....good selection of wine by the glass.....good variety of items for the casual diner

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

You always know that when you go to Purp ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

You always know that when you go to Purple, the food will be solidly good, you'll get great service and the wine list is creative. We had cranberry chicken salad which was nicely crunchy and flavorful. The Grilled prawns over Kasseri cheese was just a little greasy for my taste, even though I do like the flavor of Kasseri. Service was excellent

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The outdoor patio overlooks a parking lo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The outdoor patio overlooks a parking lot! Not very ambient at all! The food was good, but terribly overpriced. The wine was disgracefully overpriced, especially considering we were in a wine region, and were drinking local wine. We went to this restaurant before attending a concert at the Chateau St. Michelle winery; next time I would skip dining out and enjoy a wonderful picnic dinner on the beautiful grounds of the winery.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

Love Purple. This was my first time at ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Love Purple. This was my first time at the Woodinville location. As usual, the food and the service was great. As usual, the noise level was almost unbearable inside. We got a table outside, which was quite a wait, but also the only way we could actually hold a conversation. Loved everything else about the evening. there. Sometimes it seems as if Purple has TRIED to make every location so noisy you can't enjoy a quiet conversation. They are all this bad (Seattle is actually the best of them).

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place. I love coming here especial ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great place. I love coming here especially when you can sit outside on the patio.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent wine list. The ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Great food and excellent wine list. The service was fast and they were able to accommodate my wife's allergy problems. Even when the place was packed, we received great service and the food was delivered at an excellent pace. I would recommend the place to anybody who enjoys great food and good wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Brunch was amazing. Great service and at ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Brunch was amazing. Great service and atmosphere I highly recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed our evening. The food ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We really enjoyed our evening. The food and especially the service was excellent. Nicole was our server. The only down side was it was a bit noisy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything we tasted was completed to pe ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Everything we tasted was completed to perfection. The menu choices are simple, but that is the beauty of what Purple offers. The execution in taste and presentation were flawless and there is no need to overdo it. Great service with knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hadn't been to this Purple for awhile bu ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Hadn't been to this Purple for awhile but had been to the others recently. It was LOUD! Hard for us old folks to hear each other. But good food, wine, and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

This restaurant is wonderful! Our group ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This restaurant is wonderful! Our group enjoyed everything about the meal-food, drinks and ambiance. Variety of wine showcased. Definitely one of our faces.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Love this place for lunch. Very lively ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Love this place for lunch. Very lively and always busy! Wonderful menu with some gluten free options. The chicken salad is one of my favorites. Great restaurant to meet friends. Make a reservation to assure quick seating. Nice to have the option to dine outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

Purple Café and Wine Bar in the heart of ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Purple Café and Wine Bar in the heart of Woodinville, WA is a destination place for those who love great food, a wonderful wine selection, conversation and ambiance.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The beef tenderloin appetizer was overco ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The beef tenderloin appetizer was overcooked, the salad was really good, the filet mignon was cooked as asked, and the potato side was amazing. The wine choices were very good, I enjoyed sharing a flight then glasses for dinner were easier to choose. The sorbet dessert tasted really good. Overall, a very pleasurable dining experience. And, from north Seattle, it only took 25 minutes, same as the trek to Downtown or better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

While Purple has always been my most fav ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

While Purple has always been my most fave I had not been in quite awhile and was surprised at the menu overhaul. Gone were the best Meze spreads of olive, feta walnut, roasted pepper and edamame only to be replaced by newer less satisfying options. The prawns and fries were gone too. So disappointed!!! The service however is as it always was, impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Had a really good experience. Was able t ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Had a really good experience. Was able to have our dog on the patio which was great. Got seated right away and fun kids menu so there were good options for all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I had the lobster roll and was very disa ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I had the lobster roll and was very disappointed, huge roll and hardly any lobster. I had it with a green salad w/balsamic and that was great. Their salads are much better then some of there other menu items. Great selection of wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Great food great waitress! My Halibut wa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food great waitress! My Halibut was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and atmosphere. Very very ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent food and atmosphere.

Very very loud. Very difficult to hear dining partners or staff.

I will return and would recommend with the caveat that it is noisy.

JF

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great as usual. We come here quite a bit ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Great as usual. We come here quite a bit. Waitress was very nice but service was very slow this time for some reason. Normally everything comes out in a timely manner. Maybe she had too many tables. Loved the chop salad and always have to get the sea salt caramels.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Purple Woodinville is our go-to restaura ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Purple Woodinville is our go-to restaurant for special occasions or just to celebrate the end of a day at work. Wonderful staff and a great wine selection combined with an interesting and varied menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it and they have a great happy hour ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Love it and they have a great happy hour as well! You can also buy full bottles of wine for a special price I think. Also offering a brunch menu on the weekend which people love!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is very good but I, as others have ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food is very good but I, as others have noted in other social media, believe that the prices are a bit high compared to other similar restaurants. I do like the outdoor dining and the wine selection, however.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.