About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the freshest, local ingredients that change with the seasons.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

14459 Woodinville Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday, 11am to 9pm
Friday and Saturday, 11am to 10pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 2pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 483-7129

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Brett Teegardin

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: (206) 838-3853

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Mini Baked Brie (Close-Up) - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Mini Baked Brie - Grapes - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Mini Baked Brie - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Lobster Mac And Cheese - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Braised Short Ribs Ravioli - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Beef Tenderloin Skewers - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Nutella Brownie - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Peach Sundae - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
lemon tart - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Scallop Tartare - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Grilled Chicken - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Salted Caramels - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
Cheese Flight - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA
White Wine Braised Rabbit, Carrot, Blackened Cauliflower, 5 Year Aged Parmigianna Reggiano Risotto - Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville, Woodinville, WA

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (33)
Good for a Date (26)
Fit for Foodies (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Casual (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Cozy (12)
Romantic (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Fun (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Healthy (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fireplace (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Private Room (6)
Authentic (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vegan (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Tapas (3)
Seasonal (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
931 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

People come here for the wine and the fo ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

People come here for the wine and the food. It's a moderately priced eatery with an extensive wine list.

Parking on a Sunday night was a problem. We had to park a long way from the restaurant, then walk in the dark, through some buildings to get back to the restaurant. Also, the noise level was at a pitch where the three of us had difficulties carrying on a conversation.

Tags: People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

First time for brunch. Exceeded expecta ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 5 days ago

First time for brunch. Exceeded expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always excellent. Our Go To Lunch resta ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Always excellent.

Our Go To Lunch restaurant when in Woodinville.

Tags: Fireplace, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I really like Purple Café fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 10, 2017

My wife and I really like Purple Café food, wine, and service. My kids like the "milk flight" and kids menu. Gluten free options available.

Tags: Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love the food, wine and atmosphere. I wa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Love the food, wine and atmosphere. I was very excited to see they have one of my favorite local wines in a flight.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for a first date and the food ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Went here for a first date and the food was good and the decor was very pleasing. The server was helpful when it came to suggestions on food and was knowledgeable about the wine options. One downside to the restaurant was the noise level. Because of the open concept and open seating the place was rather loud and we both had to raise our voices to be heard. The only other negative was since the lights were low for ambiance...we both had a difficult time reading the menu and wine list. Overall though a nice place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Two things: order the spicy prawns (an ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Two things: order the spicy prawns (and ask for extra sauce!!) and ask to have Autumn for your server...she is a joyful presence, and really good at her job. I've been to Purple many times, and always find the menu a little challenging....everything sounds okay, nothing sounds amazing, so choosing is hard. The lobster mac and cheese is fantastic if you don't mind eating a gigantic bowl of mac and cheese for dinner....great wine list too!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

All good. One of our favorite restaura ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

All good. One of our favorite restaurants. Food is always excellent and we've had great waitstaff each time we've been there.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to the Purple for yea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We have been going to the Purple for years. Always good food and good service. The menu has a good variety so I think everyone can find something to enjoy. A great spot for an afternoon snack and a glass of wine during the summer with their outdoor seating.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Purple Cafe in Kirkland, and no ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on January 5, 2017

We loved Purple Cafe in Kirkland, and now we love your Woodinville restaurant too! The food was fantastic and our waiter was handling a huge crowd, but he managed to get us our food and drinks quickly with such a friendly manner. We'll definitely be back :)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Vegan, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful meal, great food and service.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Wonderful meal, great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We never have a bad time here at Woodinv ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We never have a bad time here at Woodinville location. Server knew his wines and cheese, that was great. My wife and a son also enjoy dining here.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Organic, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Happy Hour, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time, although it is a bi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great time, although it is a bit loud for my taste. Food was great tho, and I appreciated the wine pairing suggestions. Made it fun! Service was good. Lots more to explore here - we'll be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food, great variety and the se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent food, great variety and the service was fast

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The Purple Cafe & Wine Bar is the perfec ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The Purple Cafe & Wine Bar is the perfect spot for that business lunch, lunch with friends or out-of-town guests. The menu selections are all excellent and everyone in your party will find

a good selection to pick from. If you are wine fans the list is excellent. You might even get a peek at a local winemaker enjoy lunch here with friends.

With a warm and comfortable setting to excellent service we always recommend the Purple Cafe when dining in Woodinville.

Cheers,

Michael

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fireplace, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic but what really s ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The food was fantastic but what really stood out was our server Briana. She was amazing, so enthusiastic, warm and knowledgeable. Also, the manager Leshon, came by the table and chatted with us. She too was wonderful. I apologize if I didn't get the spelling of the names correct.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Took my mother in law in for a post Chri ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Took my mother in law in for a post Christmas meal. Everything was delicious. We shared a bottle of Chablis which was the perfect light wine to go with our meal. We loved everything except the multiple screaming babies that were there. The meal was great the service was even better. Thank you for such a nice night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Typical date lunch for long standing cou ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Typical date lunch for long standing couples who just want to get away from grind of the work week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Purple Cafe never disappoints. Food sel ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Purple Cafe never disappoints. Food selections are original and tasty!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Purple Café delivers a consistent high q ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Purple Café delivers a consistent high quality service, food and wine. My wife and I have enjoyed this restaurant for many years and plan to continue to do so. When the weather is warm we enjoy eating outside with our dog, Gabriella.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food and good service in an attra ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Decent food and good service in an attractive environment.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We love coming here, and do so quite oft ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We love coming here, and do so quite often. It can be noisy if they are crowded but if they aren't, then it's very quiet. Always good to make a reservation here, they fill up quickly.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Wonderful Choices - baked brie be ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Always Wonderful Choices - baked brie best I have had anywhere. Special on Wed. was Southern Fried chicken. Comes with choice of two sides - skip the coca cola baked beans - great mac and cheese. Great wine list. Malbec from Argentina - Catena - is excellent. Service was excellent. Place is all hard services and depending on the crowd can be VERY noisy. Llunch is generally quieter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Chris our server was excellent, very per ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Chris our server was excellent, very personable and attentive, would request him as our server again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Purple just keeps on going and yet every ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Purple just keeps on going and yet every time I have been to one of these restaurants I am disappointed. They get points for overall ambiance, but I find that the food is below par. I had the Kobe Beef Dip sandwich this time and it was tough and oddly seasoned, served with cold jus and a salad that was drenched in dressing. The waitress got the order wrong and it arrived with fries, which were taken away (served to the next guest?) and then the bad salad came. No one was thrilled with their food, it was just the backdrop for our conversation. Nothing special.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

Excellent meal and superior service by o ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Excellent meal and superior service by our wait staff Tess. Will return for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent! The food was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2016

The service was excellent! The food was good I would not brag about it. All in all it was a pleasant place to have a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Inexperienced server caused a 25 minute ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Inexperienced server caused a 25 minute wait to receive even a glass of wine...but finally the manager became involved (at waiters request) and got our meal going. A very professional response to the goof, and turned the meal around in our eyes. The food is good, not great, but lunch options tend not to be as imaginative maybe? Setting is lovely but the hard surfaces make for a very loud dining experience. Would go back with expectations for an everyday lunch, not a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Perfect lunch with my mother-in-law.

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Perfect lunch with my mother-in-law.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chicken Marsala is usually amazing with ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Chicken Marsala is usually amazing with a fabulous sauce and wonderful side veggies. Was dry and my last bite was burnt. The sauce was watery and the sides were ok. Without any beverage for last third of meal. When we were done, with utensils appropriately positioned and then our coats on, server was four feet away telling another table a long story. To be fair, it was busy and I didn't complain - too shocked because it's my favorite dish and service is usually amazing. The bruschetta was really good...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Very good ambient and excellent food. I ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very good ambient and excellent food. I fond the entree a little expensive with 16$ and the glass of wine 10 but was very good. Due to the costs cannot go often but definitely for special occasions it worth.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Purple has historically been very good. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Purple has historically been very good. This visit was just average. Many of the apps continue to be very tasty however the mains were just so so this time around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We've eaten at Purple for many years and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We've eaten at Purple for many years and it's always been great. A little noisy but food is always good - hot, tasteful and comes pretty quickly. Service is always great. Friday night was disappointing. We were there with friends who had not been there before and the food was mediocre, took forever to come, some of it was cold. It was just disappointing. Service was good initially but once our food was delivered we didn't see her again until time to clear. No checking back to see if everything was ok, etc. She was nice but not around much. $50 for two sandwiches and a glass of wine is fine if the service is great and the food is good, but really, have had much better food and service for less than half that price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I called ahead to let them know we were ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I called ahead to let them know we were vegans and they said the chef could leave items out and make vegan meals. Unfortunately the best they could come up with was pasta with marinara sauce and veggies. If you are not vegan the food is fabulous.

Tags: Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

We have been twice and both times have b ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We have been twice and both times have been impressed at the quality of the food. Everything is excellent with quality local ingredients. This is really a treat for foodies! But be sure to leave yourself time for parking - you will likely end up in the back field parking which is not horrible but has no lighting and is awful for nice shoes.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We visit Purple downtown and Woodinville ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We visit Purple downtown and Woodinville often. Wines are always good. Service this time was inattentive bordering on rude. Server was more interested in chatting up a bar patron than waiting her tables. Lobster Mac & Cheese was soupy and not up to previous visits. Definitely off their game.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

The cranberry chicken salad is usually m ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The cranberry chicken salad is usually my favorite but the apples in it were kind of soft and mushy definitely not this years crop. I wouldn't order it again it was too disappointing for the price. I'll try something else the next time I go there.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The eggs on 2 of the three meals we orde ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The eggs on 2 of the three meals we ordered were runnier than desired and it took quite a while to get our meals but the restaurant and our server handled it appropriately by comping a meal a drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Love coming to Purple after an afternoon ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Love coming to Purple after an afternoon of wine tasting. Great atmosphere (but noisey), great food and great staff. Had the brussel sprouts for the first time and I'm hooked!! Can't wait to have them again. Highly recommended making reservations.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

we have visited purple in woodenville se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

we have visited purple in woodenville several times. Experiences have always been well!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.