About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville

14459 Woodinville Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the freshest, local ingredients that change with the seasons.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday, 11am to 9pm
Friday and Saturday, 11am to 10pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 2pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 483-7129

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Brett Teegardin

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: 206-838-3853x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Eastside
American
Eastside
Most Booked
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Woodinville ›

notable wine list (89)
fit for foodies (68)
special occasion (61)
See All
great for lunch (50)
neighborhood gem (48)
great for outdoor dining (47)
romantic (36)
good for groups (34)
hot spot (31)
great for brunch (30)
vibrant bar scene (17)
kid-friendly (13)
late-night find (5)
Sort By:
Newest
761 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

I would give it 6 stars if I could. The ...

Dined 6 days ago

I would give it 6 stars if I could. The steak (fillet and New York) is delicious. Try the baked Brie and the strawberry goat cheese salad. So good!

food5
ambience5
service5

You can not beat an experience eating at ...

Dined 6 days ago

You can not beat an experience eating at any of the Purple Cafes. Outstanding service and consistent quality of the food. Great recommendations for wine for our group.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch was a great way to kick off an aft ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Lunch was a great way to kick off an afternoon of wine tasting for my wife's birthday. We had a great time and the food was excellent. Service was OK, I think because it was during the mid-afternoon doldrums and most of the staff was on break or something.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Appetizers were great. Main dishes wer ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Appetizers were great. Main dishes were lackluster.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great place!

Dined on May 15, 2016

We have dined here many times. We love the food and the wine. I always like the fact that we can make a reservation as the restaurant is always busy on Friday and Saturdays. Our server was very helpful and friendly. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Purple does a great job of accommodating ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Purple does a great job of accommodating food allergies. I have a large number of food allergies and I can always find something tasty that can be modified so that I can eat it. The staff has done a great job of making sure my requests get passed on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Mother's day purple cafe brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Purple cafe is always one of our favorite restaurants and we decided to go for Mother's day. It continues to be one of our favorite restaurants, the food, atmosphere are always very good, although the experience isn't as satisfying as it has been in the past. The food seemed more average then we have the in the past. My wife had the lobster sandwich and the bun and filling didn't have as much taste as I would have expected. My daughter had the lobster mac and cheese and the portion seemed smaller then in the past and although my meal was quite good, I was left a little hungry. I still highly recommend the restaurant as it is better then most other restaurants in the area and the value is good for the quality, but I would tamper my expectations.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

There were four in our party. We all had a different entree and every party enjoyed their choices. The cranberry chicken salad was great. My friend had the spring vegetable flatbread and the guys has the BLTA and the roasted turkey club. We will definitely come back again before an afternoon of wine tasting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Good food, good wine - the perfect place to be with good friends! We particularly appreciated the waiter's humor and his knowledge of the menu - he told us he is also a bartender and we will likely come in some Monday evening just to hang out around the bar while he's working! The upstairs loft is a good choice if you want a slightly less noisy space.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good choice for midweek business lunch

Dined on May 4, 2016

We were a group of four and had reserved a noon spot for a going away lunch for a colleague. Our food was a bit slow getting to us, but our server was attentive to our needs. Portions were decent, even for the $15 lunch combo.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun place with great food

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We have eaten here twice, at the one in Woodinville. The dress is nice/casual. The service has been excellent both times though they were very busy. Good wine selection. Great appetizers especially the baked brie. I had the Sugo pasta one time and the clam linguine the second time. We really enjoy this place. We ate inside, but there is a nice area for eating outside that is heated if cool out. We would highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A little noisy at times. Too dark...made ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

A little noisy at times. Too dark...made it hard to read the menu. Depending on where you sit in the restaurant you can feel cramped!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service3

It was so loud that we were moved to a t ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

It was so loud that we were moved to a table higher in the restaurant. The service was slow. Not sure if was a bad day.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for brunch!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great spot for brunch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Open tables. We were fortun ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

We went for Open tables. We were fortunate the weather was perfect & ate outside so I cannot really rate the ambience or noise level. Food was very good. We want to go back for brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Noisy, not energetic. Food was OK.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Pappardelle pasta was good. Lobster mac n cheese was not. The ambiance was a 0/10. Unable to converse without yelling. Had to move my chair to along side my date in order to then yell to her ear. Not energetic, loud.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service

Dined on April 12, 2016

Fantastic service

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Every time I come to Purple, I enjoy it a great deal. Food is great, wine is great, service is wonderful!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mitch, our waiter, was excellent! Very attentive!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Ask for Mitch, who is a wonderful waiter at Purple in Woodinville. Terrific service and a great smile.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The only issue in what was an otherwise ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The only issue in what was an otherwise great experience was that it was a busy Saturday afternoon and there was no parking available. My guest has trouble walking and it was of concern.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoy

Dined on April 2, 2016

We were given excellent service and we will be back for sure. It was a little loud, but worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Service was bad. Food was not as described.

Dined on March 27, 2016

We were so disappointed with Purple Woodinville. The service was subpar. The food was not as described. Unfortunately, it was such a bad time we won't be back.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Location!

Dined on March 24, 2016

Conveniently located close to a number of wineries. Good food.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal, one of the best we have ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Excellent meal, one of the best we have had in a long time. This will be one of our favorites from now on.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of my favs

Dined on March 21, 2016

Love all the Purples but this one is my favorite. The loft gets very warm so opt out for sitting at the bar. food is always wonderful!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Food/Service

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Purple is a good basic restaurant. Food is well prepared-interesting menu. Service is always excellent

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and of course, wine selec ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Excellent food and of course, wine selection.

food4
ambience4
service4

Recent visit was for happy hour. Very ni ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Recent visit was for happy hour. Very nice selections between happy hour and regular menus. Attentive service in a nice atmosphere. Always a treat. Only negative is the parking, which often is non-existent due to the popularity of the "wine country". Have cancelled reservations and gone elsewhere after spending 15 minutes looking for somewhere to park.

food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on March 18, 2016

I have been to the Woodinville Purple many times, and it has always been reliable. However, on this visit it was awful. I decided to splurge on a $19.95 lobster roll with fries. The bun was fresh and lightly toasted, but the rest? The sandwich was stuffed mostly with shredded lettuce and barely topped with a tasteless lobster salad, containing very little lobster. To make matters worse, the fries were mostly over-fried remnants from the bottom of the fry basket. Even a fast food restaurant can put out a decent French fry. We also had to flag down our waiter to order a second glass of wine. Hopefully it was just a bad Purple day, because it's always been a nice restaurant location whether you're biking the Burke Gilman trail or taking a break from wine tasting.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service!

Dined on March 16, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at Purple! Not only was the food delicious, but the service was excellent as well. Our server was extremely knowledgeable about the wine list and made very helpful suggestions. Everything about this restaurant is top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Terrible service

Dined on March 15, 2016

Food was great, service was terrible. Terry disappeared for long stretches, took nearly 30 minutes just to get drinks. We had three preteens with us and she acted as if she couldn't understand a word they said. Treated them disrespectfully. Cleared the table one person at a time so that process took 20 minutes. Long story short 2 hours and 15 minutes for an entree and dessert.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was great but

Dined on March 10, 2016

My party of 8 was placed at two tables and we needed a third. We had some big guys with us and we were tight. Asked for a bigger table and was told couldn't do it. Our server noticed and did her best to make sure we had a nice experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Returning from Seatac

Dined on March 6, 2016

Dinner on the way home couldn't have been better. My wife had the New York Steak cooked medium and it was perfect! She's not a big fan of the Haystack Potatoes. But, I noticed there were none left... I thoroughly enjoyed the Chicken Marsala with garlic mashed potatoes that were fantastic with just enough garlic to enjoy and the carrots were so tasty I would have been happy with those as my meal on there own. She tried the house Chardonnay followed by a Red Blend and I had a Chennin Blanc. This was all topped off with the Brownie Sundae. Nothing left to say except... Awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

pricey for what you get

Dined on February 27, 2016

I ordered the special of the day-french toast. 2 pieces that were nice and custardy with side of bacon, a small sauce dish of compote, no butter or syrup, and whip cream=$18. i love french toast and this was good, but not $18 good. it took forever to get our drinks and we were there early before it got busy. food came out quickly and nice ambiance. i'd save this for special occasions because of the price and price/for the quality of food i'll stick with it's sister restaurant the commons instead.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great lunch spot

Dined on February 24, 2016

Great service and food. Our service really went above and beyond. We were in and out in less than an hour and that included appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

One Classy Restaurant

Dined on February 23, 2016

Purple Café is one of our favorite date night places. On this particular night we took my husband's family to dinner and the food did not disappoint. Their new duck entrée was probably one of the best I've ever ordered at a restaurant. It was right up there in invention, technical ability and taste with Tom Douglas. We did have some difficulties with our server however after filling out their review card the manager called me the next day to find out more information and apologize. She even insisted on sending a gift card to make up for it. I was really impressed with the phone call and their desire to improve service. They have definitely won us over, not only with their great food and ambience, but with their care about how we are treated.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

LOVED it

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had brunch here and everything was great! They also brought over caramels with a candle on the plate because we had a birthday in the group.

Tags: great for brunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Purple in Woodinville, it's a great bet!

Dined on February 21, 2016

My husband planned a trip to Woodinville for my birthday and it included staying at the Woodinville Lodge, but we did not want to eat at their restaurants, we opted for reservations at Purple up the street. We made reservations about 2 weeks in advance, for an early table at 6:45pm and when we arrive the place was completely packed! Every table taken, and there might have been one or two tables outside open, but not for long. It was so fun to be there, and enjoy the food being served to other tables got us excited for our dinners. They were both amazing! I had the Pancetta Wrapped Sea Scallops and my husband had the Filet. At the end of dinner, our waitress brought over 3 amazing fresh chocolate covered caramels one with a candle, on the house. Great experience. Third time I've been there, will always go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Lobster Mac N Cheese

Dined on February 20, 2016

I recently went here on Saturday for lunch after seeing their awesome Lobster Mac N Cheese on the menu. When I asked the waitress why it wasn't on the menu, she advised me that this is only on the lunch menu on weekdays not weekends. She kindly offered to check with the kitchen if they would make it for me and they did and it was as awesome as I had hoped. Great experience, super friendly staff I will return with my friends from Australia soon!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We have a wonderful experience! Our serv ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

We have a wonderful experience! Our server was knowledgeable of both the food and wine menus and was very aware of our time to make sure we were finished in time to get to our movie.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.