About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville

14459 Woodinville Redmond Road NE
Woodinville, WA 98072
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the freshest, local ingredients that change with the seasons.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday, 11am to 9pm
Friday and Saturday, 11am to 10pm

Happy Hour: Monday - Friday, 3pm to 6pm

Weekend Brunch: Saturday & Sunday, 11am to 2pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 483-7129

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Free parking is available in front of the restaurant in the Hollywood Vineyards shopping plaza lot.

Additional parking is available one block south, and turn west at the roundabout.

Executive Chef:
Brett Teegardin

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: 206-838-3853x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Mini Baked Brie (Close-Up)
Mini Baked Brie - Grapes
Mini Baked Brie
Lobster Mac And Cheese
Braised Short Ribs Ravioli
Beef Tenderloin Skewers
Nutella Brownie
Peach Sundae
lemon tart
Scallop Tartare
Grilled Chicken
Cheese Flight
Salted Caramels
White Wine Braised Rabbit, Carrot, Blackened Cauliflower, 5 Year Aged Parmigianna Reggiano Risotto

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Eastside
American
Eastside
Best Restaurants in Woodinville ›

notable wine list (86)
fit for foodies (64)
great for outdoor dining (53)
See All
great for lunch (52)
special occasion (50)
neighborhood gem (50)
good for groups (34)
great for brunch (31)
hot spot (26)
romantic (25)
kid-friendly (14)
vibrant bar scene (12)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
780 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was excellent. Would highly r ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Everything was excellent. Would highly recommend. Reservations are recommended. Parking can be a problem.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food! Good service! A bit crowded ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food! Good service! A bit crowded and to loud you feel like you have to talk loud at your table so those dining with you can hear you! Other than that was good! Wouldn't come there for a romantic dinner! Not sure you can really change all of that because the restaurant is small! Unless you move.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Parking was impossible, especially for a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Parking was impossible, especially for a person with limited mobility. Once inside, the staff was very accommodating . Lots to choose from and overall a good lunch.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Kobe Ribeye. Amazing. Wine. Amazing. Did ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Kobe Ribeye. Amazing. Wine. Amazing. Did I mention the Ribeye?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 7 people and 4 were children and ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

We had 7 people and 4 were children and got exceptional service, amazing kids menu.. Very pleased with our birthday lunch (for an adult).

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service! The server di ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food, great service! The server did a fantastic job! We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Slow service, waited more than 15 mins t ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Slow service, waited more than 15 mins to be waited on and another 15-20 for food. Food good. Waitress not particularly friendly or attentive.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A go to for restaurants or us

Dined on June 11, 2016

I recently took a friend of. I E to Purple Cafe' Woodinville, to celebrate her birthday. My husband and I frequent Purple Cafe at various locations, and are never disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I enjoyed my meal

Dined on June 5, 2016

My group arrived ahead of me and already unsure about our server when I got there. One of our party cut his hand on the sharp table edge too. This had me tuned in to my parties mood going forward. In keeping with their observations, the waiter did not think to address the group at each visit, rather, took singular refill orders while others were overlooked. I liked food, the room was attractive, if quite noisy, and I'll try again...we all have off days

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and wine!

Dined on June 5, 2016

The food here is very very good. Our server was fantastic the wine selection is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very pleasant experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

We had a very pleasant experience and early dinner on our way to a concert at St Michelle Winery.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2

We have dined at this Purple frequently ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

We have dined at this Purple frequently over the last 10 years and will continue to do so. We enjoy the food, wine, atmosphere, and staff.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Still very good

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We had a very nice outdoor lunch at Purple. The food and service were both very good. It is really nice to be able to have wine flights of both still and sparkling wines. Look forward to going there again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice food and excellent service.

Dined on May 30, 2016

Very nice food and excellent service.

food4
ambience4
service4

The chop salad and bruschetta were wonde ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

The chop salad and bruschetta were wonderful!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I had such a great time here! We had fou ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

I had such a great time here! We had four kids with us. The place was very lively. We were here for two hours. My kids have never spent two hours while we enjoyed a nice, leisurely meal and drinks. The atmosphere is so nice and comfortable. The food was very tasty. Our service was good and great with our kids.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We've been to Purple many times, and sad ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

We've been to Purple many times, and sadly this meal was uninspired. We were surprised as usually it is quite good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Do something about your beef.

Dined on May 24, 2016

Was celebrating a birthday here with out of town guests, made sure it was noted with the hostess over the phone beforehand. They had forgotten, sigh. Waiter was pleasant, ambiance was great, and food was mediocre. The best part of the entire evening was the dessert! They had listed "kobe beef" on their menu, and it looked like a sirloin, and was horribly tough. It felt like we were eating leather. The food tasted great, just horrible texture with the beef. Please do something about this!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and wonderful service. We too ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Great food and wonderful service. We took advantage of the half price wine bottles on a Monday. All locations are great and quality is consistent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

I would give it 6 stars if I could. The ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I would give it 6 stars if I could. The steak (fillet and New York) is delicious. Try the baked Brie and the strawberry goat cheese salad. So good!

food5
ambience5
service5

You can not beat an experience eating at ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

You can not beat an experience eating at any of the Purple Cafes. Outstanding service and consistent quality of the food. Great recommendations for wine for our group.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lunch was a great way to kick off an aft ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Lunch was a great way to kick off an afternoon of wine tasting for my wife's birthday. We had a great time and the food was excellent. Service was OK, I think because it was during the mid-afternoon doldrums and most of the staff was on break or something.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Appetizers were great. Main dishes wer ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Appetizers were great. Main dishes were lackluster.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great place!

Dined on May 15, 2016

We have dined here many times. We love the food and the wine. I always like the fact that we can make a reservation as the restaurant is always busy on Friday and Saturdays. Our server was very helpful and friendly. We'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Purple does a great job of accommodating ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Purple does a great job of accommodating food allergies. I have a large number of food allergies and I can always find something tasty that can be modified so that I can eat it. The staff has done a great job of making sure my requests get passed on.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Mother's day purple cafe brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Purple cafe is always one of our favorite restaurants and we decided to go for Mother's day. It continues to be one of our favorite restaurants, the food, atmosphere are always very good, although the experience isn't as satisfying as it has been in the past. The food seemed more average then we have the in the past. My wife had the lobster sandwich and the bun and filling didn't have as much taste as I would have expected. My daughter had the lobster mac and cheese and the portion seemed smaller then in the past and although my meal was quite good, I was left a little hungry. I still highly recommend the restaurant as it is better then most other restaurants in the area and the value is good for the quality, but I would tamper my expectations.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

There were four in our party. We all had a different entree and every party enjoyed their choices. The cranberry chicken salad was great. My friend had the spring vegetable flatbread and the guys has the BLTA and the roasted turkey club. We will definitely come back again before an afternoon of wine tasting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Good food, good wine - the perfect place to be with good friends! We particularly appreciated the waiter's humor and his knowledge of the menu - he told us he is also a bartender and we will likely come in some Monday evening just to hang out around the bar while he's working! The upstairs loft is a good choice if you want a slightly less noisy space.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good choice for midweek business lunch

Dined on May 4, 2016

We were a group of four and had reserved a noon spot for a going away lunch for a colleague. Our food was a bit slow getting to us, but our server was attentive to our needs. Portions were decent, even for the $15 lunch combo.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fun place with great food

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We have eaten here twice, at the one in Woodinville. The dress is nice/casual. The service has been excellent both times though they were very busy. Good wine selection. Great appetizers especially the baked brie. I had the Sugo pasta one time and the clam linguine the second time. We really enjoy this place. We ate inside, but there is a nice area for eating outside that is heated if cool out. We would highly recommend.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A little noisy at times. Too dark...made ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

A little noisy at times. Too dark...made it hard to read the menu. Depending on where you sit in the restaurant you can feel cramped!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience1
service3

It was so loud that we were moved to a t ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

It was so loud that we were moved to a table higher in the restaurant. The service was slow. Not sure if was a bad day.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot for brunch!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great spot for brunch!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Open tables. We were fortun ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

We went for Open tables. We were fortunate the weather was perfect & ate outside so I cannot really rate the ambience or noise level. Food was very good. We want to go back for brunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

Noisy, not energetic. Food was OK.

Dined on April 17, 2016

Pappardelle pasta was good. Lobster mac n cheese was not. The ambiance was a 0/10. Unable to converse without yelling. Had to move my chair to along side my date in order to then yell to her ear. Not energetic, loud.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic service

Dined on April 12, 2016

Fantastic service

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Wonderful!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Every time I come to Purple, I enjoy it a great deal. Food is great, wine is great, service is wonderful!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mitch, our waiter, was excellent! Very attentive!

Dined on April 3, 2016

Ask for Mitch, who is a wonderful waiter at Purple in Woodinville. Terrific service and a great smile.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The only issue in what was an otherwise ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

The only issue in what was an otherwise great experience was that it was a busy Saturday afternoon and there was no parking available. My guest has trouble walking and it was of concern.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoy

Dined on April 2, 2016

We were given excellent service and we will be back for sure. It was a little loud, but worth it.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.