About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

1225 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the most fresh and local ingredients.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 11am to 11pm
Friday, 11am to 12am
Saturday, 12pm to 12am
Sunday, 12pm to 11pm

Cross Street:
University Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 829-2280

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Financial Center Parking Garage located directly underneath our restaurant on the corner of 4th and University. Once on University Street heading East, the garage is on your right hand side just after 3rd Ave and before 4th Ave. Parking is available throughout the day; prices vary. After 4pm parking is $5 with validation from the front desk 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Harry Mills

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a semi-private room for up to 20 people seated or 35 for a stand-up cocktail style event. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: 206-838-3853x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle, Seattle, WA

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Happy Holidays! We will be closed on 12/24/16 and 12/25/16 in observance of Christmas. We will resume normal business hours on Monday 12/26/16.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Purple Café and Wine Bar- Downtown Seattle requires a credit card number to hold any reservation for this evening. A 48 hour notice of cancellation is required; a fee of $50 per person will be applied for any late notices.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
American
Seattle
1 More
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Notable Wine List (94)
Good for a Date (67)
Special Occasion (66)
See All
Fit for Foodies (54)
Romantic (46)
Modern Decor (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (39)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Hot Spot (35)
Good for Groups (35)
Bar Seating (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Fun (31)
Good for Birthdays (30)
Business Meals (28)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Casual (23)
Happy Hour (21)
Late-night Find (20)
Cozy (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
People Watching (14)
Healthy (14)
Authentic (12)
Comfort Food (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Tapas (8)
Seasonal (8)
Scenic View (7)
Quick Bite (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Organic (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
2981 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our sommelier was excellent. The food wa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Our sommelier was excellent. The food was ok and lobster mac and cheese and mushroom ragu pasta like warm by the time they arrived.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant is great, the staff is gr ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

The restaurant is great, the staff is great. The food and wine list are superb. The design and ambience are outstanding.

The demands of this website to fit their critiria for what is written are off putting, to say the least.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had heard good things about Purple, b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We had heard good things about Purple, but we're disappointed with the overall dining experience. The food was average and the service was not good. The waiter never asked to take out drink order and didn't bring a steak knife until I was nearly done eating my steak. We were not impressed with our main courses, NY strip & stuffed trout, but did enjoy the baked Brie. I would not recommend dining at Purple and feel that there are far better restaurants in Purple's price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Had a lovely meal and great wine before ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Had a lovely meal and great wine before the theater.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server for the evening (Sandra) was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server for the evening (Sandra) was incredibly socially awkward. She was pleasant enough, but at times made myself and the other guest feel uncomfortable and grateful when we no longer had to interact with her. Considering the elegance of this establishment, I am surprised to have experienced this level of service. My favorite quote of the evening..."So, are you going to tell me what you want?" Yes, a better server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Food was great but the service was slow.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great but the service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Downtown Purple Cafe is a great restaura ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Downtown Purple Cafe is a great restaurant. Great food, great service, and always enjoyable. I definitely recommend this location over any of the other locations. The non-Seattle locations leave something to be desired from a service and quality standpoint.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Funky, contemporary, vibe, loud and dark ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Funky, contemporary, vibe, loud and dark and cavernous, but cool. Menu was limited, but all selections we made were good. Our waiter was wonderful and attentive. Reasonably priced.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent, fresh food, good service and ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Excellent, fresh food, good service and great people watching. We had a window seat however any seat would be good! It's a bustling little spot on the corner, loud and energetic.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience, fantastic wine list!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Great ambience, fantastic wine list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Solid. As always. Purple is my go to fo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Solid. As always.

Purple is my go to for lunch, dinner, friends in town. You name it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Vegan, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great time to be at the Purple Cafe in d ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Great time to be at the Purple Cafe in downtown Seattle with a view of the trees all lit up for the holiday season. Super service and the best vegetarian burger around!

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was pretty good, but our ta ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 1, 2016

The service was pretty good, but our table was in a cold spot. We ate with our coats on.

I ordered the chop salad with no onions. It was soggy when it arrived, and I spent my time picking out the onions.

The house chardonnay was way over priced at $14.00.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Service was incredibly slow and portion ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Service was incredibly slow and portion sizes are tiny (the large chopped salad and the soup/salad lunch combo).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

I had dinner with my husband. We shared ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 30, 2016

I had dinner with my husband. We shared a pizza and the calamari, both were delicious. We also enjoyed the wine pairing. I really like the ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

My second time here. I had an amazing se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 29, 2016

My second time here. I had an amazing service the first time I came in for a lunch w/a friend. The waitress said she was from France and was professional and welcoming. The second time was a bit disconnected. :(

More vegan options would be awesome! I don't lunch out because my options are very limited. For example, most dishes tend to have cheese or butter.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

It has great selection of wine and the a ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 26, 2016

It has great selection of wine and the ambiance is marvelous

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service! Try the Port flight & sea ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great service! Try the Port flight & sea salt caramels for dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very cool ambiance, attractive setting, ...

 
·Dined on November 22, 2016

Very cool ambiance, attractive setting, food was high average but not excellent. My daughter asked for her filet well done and it came medium.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Staff was terrible! Asked for a dessert ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Staff was terrible! Asked for a dessert menu and never got it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Our server Sam was brilliant! Very frien ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Our server Sam was brilliant! Very friendly, knowledgeable and patient with our larger party. Thank you for another incredible experience. Lovely as always

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was attentive, knowledgeable ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Our server was attentive, knowledgeable and fun! The menu was varied and creative. Something for everyone. All in all, a great get together with friends!

Tags: Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was my GFs birthday and we had great ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

It was my GFs birthday and we had great food and drinks. They even gave her some free caramels. Love this place.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was decent, but nothing to rave abo ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was decent, but nothing to rave about. Based on other "high end" restaurants in the area, the price of the food/wine was unreasonable. Take my picture, I won't be back anytime soon.

Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

First time visiting Seattle and this was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 20, 2016

First time visiting Seattle and this was recommended as a must. Down the block fr the W hotel where we stayed. Gorgeous interior esp with that impressive wine tower. Awesome ambience. There for my boyfriend's bday and the service, food and vibe made it perfect. Delicious seasonal food and extensive wine list. Friendly and attentive service. If I ever come to Seattle again, I'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Seasonal, Cozy, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We loved the look of this and the servic ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We loved the look of this and the service was wonderful. Earl took very good care of us. The men had burgers and really enjoyed them. We also had the baked Brie appetizer which was great. The ladies ordered the lobster mac and cheese and the blackened cod. We found they were both just okay. We would go back for sure though and just try something else!

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Happy Hour, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The cassoulet was tops! The brie and cra ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The cassoulet was tops! The brie and crabcakes were spectacular. Add a bottle of Margaux wine and we had a fabulous dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Tapas, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Good view. Attentive ser ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Excellent food. Good view. Attentive server. Too Dark. Too Noisy.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the atmosphere here. Love their piz ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Love the atmosphere here. Love their pizzas. Got a salad this time and it was tasty but very small for the "full" size.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Really cool space with two story windows ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Really cool space with two story windows on 3 sides and dramatic wine storage set the scene. Exactly what I want from a wine bar.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was good, except there wasn't ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Everything was good, except there wasn't enough help. Our waiter was excellent, but he had far too many tables to care for and it took way to much time to get our wine, get our entrees, and get our checks.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

This was just an average restaurant. The ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 14, 2016

This was just an average restaurant. The hype was over-blown. Service was too quick. Our meal was served before the appetizer was finished. We were in/out in 45 minutes. It seemed that they wanted a quick turnover.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food, wine, and atmosphere! Highl ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great food, wine, and atmosphere! Highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was such an amazing experience all ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was such an amazing experience all the way around. I would strongly recommend the Purple Cafe to anyone with discriminating palates for delicious food and wonderful wine. The service was exceptional, food outstanding and the wine unique and right on the money to compliment our food. Next time I am in Seattle I will make a point to return, without a a doubt!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great food and atmosphere. Just ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Overall great food and atmosphere. Just had a horrible person as a server.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Very lovely venue. Excellent servers. Go ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Very lovely venue. Excellent servers. Good wine list including an excellent fino.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful restaurant and amazing, eclect ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Wonderful restaurant and amazing, eclectic wine list. Must visit when in Seattle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great place to see and be seen. Love th ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Great place to see and be seen. Love the wine list plus variety of cocktails. We go mostly for the appetizers and wine pairing but always enjoy a meal also.

Tags: People Watching, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Scenic View, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this bar. Easy to get a reservation ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Love this bar. Easy to get a reservation, great food, great options for wine, and great location. Will come back often while I travel here for work!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Had an excellent evening at Purple. Our ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Had an excellent evening at Purple. Our waiter (Sam) gave us just the right amount of attention. He had some good recommendations for my wife on wine. Our meals were delicious. Overall I would recommend Purple as an excellent night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.