About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

1225 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the most fresh and local ingredients.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 11am to 11pm
Friday, 11am to 12am
Saturday, 12pm to 12am
Sunday, 12pm to 11pm

Cross Street:
University Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 829-2280

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Financial Center Parking Garage located directly underneath our restaurant on the corner of 4th and University. Once on University Street heading East, the garage is on your right hand side just after 3rd Ave and before 4th Ave. Parking is available throughout the day; prices vary. After 4pm parking is $5 with validation from the front desk 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Harry Mills

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a semi-private room for up to 20 people seated or 35 for a stand-up cocktail style event. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: 206-838-3853x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Notable Wine List
Seattle
1 More
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

notable wine list (241)
fit for foodies (194)
special occasion (163)
See All
romantic (122)
good for groups (105)
great for lunch (101)
hot spot (100)
vibrant bar scene (97)
neighborhood gem (54)
late-night find (52)
scenic view (26)
great for brunch (19)
kid-friendly (13)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
2733 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food. Great atmosphere

Dined 3 days ago

Good food. Great atmosphere

food4
ambience5
service5

Kudos to the manager who saved my bacon ...

Dined 4 days ago

Kudos to the manager who saved my bacon by allowing me to print my concert tickets at the restaurant. I had left them at home and he was most accommodating by allowing me to use his MacBook and printer. Wonderful service!!!! Good was amazing, especially the baked Brie and the lamb burger.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the most wonderful server who met ...

Dined 4 days ago

We had the most wonderful server who met our needs, was attentive, friendly and provided us names of brunch places that were not touristy. She was great. The ambience was relaxed and lively which was exactly what we were looking for.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2

Service was quite indifferent. Usually s ...

Dined 4 days ago

Service was quite indifferent. Usually servers are less than interested when they don't expect you to order a lot. We ordered 5 drinks, 2 entrees and 2 desserts... Still... And portions were very small.

food3
ambience4
service4

I love the purple cafe for lunch. Though ...

Dined 4 days ago

I love the purple cafe for lunch. Thought we'd try it out for dinner on our recent trip to Seattle. Good was good, the section we were in was a little chilly

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful food and ambiance makes for a ...

Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food and ambiance makes for a fantastic dining experience. If you're looking for great food that won't steal your monthly rent, this is it:-)

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent Server made appro ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellent Server made appropriate wine recommendations Menu offered wide selection Lamb was creatively served with parsnips and delicious sauce

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Restaurant is great, but it is too loud ...

Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant is great, but it is too loud to communicate with the people sitting at your table. I wish something could be done about the noise level.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good for our get together, good service, ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Good for our get together, good service, great wines, food OK nothing special.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wide variety on the menu of really tasty ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Wide variety on the menu of really tasty food choices.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Cute venue with nice ambiance

Dined on May 9, 2016

Venue is cute with nice ambiance, excellent service, food is good but nothing outstanding for the price

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the Best in Seattle

Dined on May 9, 2016

My wife and I had a Birthday celebration at the Purple, everything, service, food, wine was exceptional. Truly and special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a great time at the Purple Cafe with a couple of gfs. Will def' be back there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Fun Place When you are in Seattle!

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

We go here every trip and enjoy the food, wine pairings and the ambience. Its crowded, but worth it for the experience. Get a Reservation and have some fun!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wine Spectacular

Dined on May 7, 2016

Like wine? This is the place. Great wine flights available. 90% of the time, we drink red. The flights represent wine regions around the globe. I had Northern Italy, my wife, France/Spain. Turns out my wife like my Italian Nebbiolo; I liked her Tempranillo. Oh yeah, the food was good too. Loved the cheese and meat plates.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamb burger

Dined on May 5, 2016

the baked brie is always a favorite and when you have lamb burgers, it is incredible. The tastes within the burger are phenominal. Thank you!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Awesome place

Dined on May 5, 2016

It was really good place to enjoy the seattle with great wines. Ambiance of restaurant was so romantic that I want to come again with my boy friend.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food1
ambience2
service4

Very disappointed in the food. We had be ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Very disappointed in the food. We had been there for lunch once before and it was great. This time it was very poor. Sent chicken back because it was undercooked. Wait staff was very good. We will not be back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing wine list and great food.

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Often you can get a great selection of wines or great food but seldom both. Purple has a fantastic arrays of wines and some creative flights. In addition, the food is excellent. Not complicated. Excellent salads, sandwiches and soups along with some pastas and entrees. Not a gigantic menu but a good selection. You must have the homemade salted caramels for dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Upscale venue. Trendy. Deco of wrapped m ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Upscale venue. Trendy. Deco of wrapped metal everywhere made it feel slightly cold and unwelcoming.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Disappointing Visit

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

As a first time guest, l was very disappointed in my visit. My sandwich was made with aioli, although l clearly indicated that no aioli be put on the sandwich, due to allergy. The replacement took quite some time to bring out, and by then my dinner was ruined. Our server was fine and professional yet witty.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful time with very attentive servi ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Wonderful time with very attentive service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, Wine, and service.

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Traveled to Seattle for my Wife birthday. We had look at many restaurants for her celebration but in the end settled on Purple Cafe. We could not have been more happy with our choice. The first inclination that we were in for a treat was our server. He was polite and very knowledgeable about all the menu options and the extensive wine lists. He took the time to answer all of our questions and made sure too comment on how our wine selections would go with our meals. The food was excellently prepared,the portions were perfect in size, and everything was very fresh and well seasoned. We truly enjoyed out meal from the starters to dessert. Great experience, would highly recommend it to anyone that is looking for a higher end place for dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice Place!

Dined on April 30, 2016

My first time at Purple, and I enjoyed it a lot. Had the classic "steak frites" and very nicely prepared. Great list of wine and cocktails as well. Lots of things on the menu I'd like to go back and try! Service was a tad slow...I'm thinking because the wait staff was stretched too thin? But all in all a good evening and I'll be back.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Disappointed

Dined on April 26, 2016

LOVE the Purple in woodinville. Brought my 5 BFFs in from NYC, first time in Seattle for dinner, and we couldn't hear ourselves over the noise. Would not go back with a group.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The thing that stood out to me was the s ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The thing that stood out to me was the service - our waitress was amazing! She took the time to get to know us, introduce us to the menu, and she even had great wine recommendations. I went with a group of friends for a night out and she really accommodated us with everything we needed. The food was okay, but the ambience is beautiful. I loved the whole look of Purple and I will definitely be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

The food will not knock your socks off, ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food will not knock your socks off, but we had a nice meal. The waitress was helpful. She suggested a drink for my husband after he explained what he was looking for and he enjoyed what she brought for him very much. However, we expressed some disapproval of our brussel sprouts (which were overcooked and bitter) and she seemed to get defensive. Just politely say 'sorry you didn't care for them' and take them off of the table. I was hoping for more from this trendy little chatted about place, but overall I wasn't impressed enough to want to return. Trends come and go.

food4
ambience3
service3

Great location. Seems pretty full especi ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Great location. Seems pretty full especially because of restaurant week. As such service maybe not as attentive. But it was lunch hour during the week. Can get fairly loud. But good quality and reasonable prices.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Not my best visit here

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

I came here during restaurant week, and ordered off the menu. Since I've been to this restaurant several times, I know that it is usually delicious. I ordered the trout, and didn't really care for it. The server was amazing, and offered to get me someone else. The service here is wonderful, and normally the foodis as well. I will definitely be back:-)

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great experience

Dined on April 19, 2016

Was traveling on business dining alone rather late. Had the pinot noir flight and steak salad. Both excellent and so was service. Would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great find

Dined on April 17, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary at Purple Cafe last week. I'd never been, but reviews were favorable. What a great choice it turned out to be! Wonderful food, wine and service. We'll be going again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Wine list far better than the food

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

A friend and I dined here one recent Friday night. Great wine list with very good BTG choices and many flights to choose from. However, fresh trout was bludgeoned to death in a sticky sweet pandering sauce and my lamb shank tasted like braised beef stew (instead of a lamb shank). Cheese plate was left with no real explanation, no explanation of wines, service definitely was uneven. and the noise in the place was deafening! Not intimate conversation applicable. Yelling at top of lungs required.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Lovely Evening

Dined on April 16, 2016

We were visiting Seattle for the weekend and stayed at a nearby hotel within walking distance of Purple. We started with the brussel sprouts - a favourite of mine. It was excellent albeit a bit creamy for my taste, but then it was a night on the town, so why not. I had the duck and my wife had the Halibut. Both were very well prepared and nicely presented. Normally, we'd try a flight of wine, but this time, we had a bottle of Cristom that was excellent. Best of all was our waiter who really went above and beyond. All in all, it was a lovely night. Highly recommended!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

wonderful food and service

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server Aaron made sure we had plenty of time to make it to the theater on time and spaced our meal perfectly. We started by sharing the calamari and stuffed figs, both delicious! My halibut was the best halibut I have ever had, both the freshness and the preparation! Our desserts were wonderful also. And the extensive wine list, too good to be true! A five star meal, we can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful wonderful food and service

Dined on April 15, 2016

Impeccable. Can't wait to return. It was so important that everything was just right for this work dinner and it was. The food and service are terrific. I didn't even have to ask for a thing. Rare.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

GREAT Place!!!

Dined on April 15, 2016

This is a wonderful place to eat!!! The service was perfect! The food was delicious! Highly recommend!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Seattle REstaurant Week

Dined on April 13, 2016

Went to Purple for Seattle Restaurant Week before catching a show at the 5th Avenue Theatre Selection was great and wine was fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

restaurant week gem

Dined on April 11, 2016

went for restaurant week. 30 bucks for a 3 course meal. had the trout and was surprised by the size of the portion. very large and very tasty. the desert was slightly disappointing but I am not supposed to eat it anyway! the service was good and the wine "flights" fun and a great way to try several wines without being too loaded to drive home safely. I will return to purple!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect pre-theater dinner spot

Dined on April 11, 2016

We often dine at Purple before a show at 5th Avenue. The food is always wonderful and the service is attentive but not "pushy." This time yummy calamari to start - cooked with olives and broth, not frite - and the spring vegetable pasta. Who knew English peas could add such a velvety texture and fresh flavor to pasta? Excellent. Purple is one of our favorites.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

Service was not friendly. Food was over salted

Dined on April 10, 2016

Service was not friendly. Food was salty and expensive.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.