About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

1225 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the most fresh and local ingredients.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 11am to 11pm
Friday, 11am to 12am
Saturday, 12pm to 12am
Sunday, 12pm to 11pm

Cross Street:
University Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 829-2280

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Financial Center Parking Garage located directly underneath our restaurant on the corner of 4th and University. Once on University Street heading East, the garage is on your right hand side just after 3rd Ave and before 4th Ave. Parking is available throughout the day; prices vary. After 4pm parking is $5 with validation from the front desk 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Harry Mills

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a semi-private room for up to 20 people seated or 35 for a stand-up cocktail style event. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: 206-838-3853x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Notable Wine List
Seattle
1 More
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Notable Wine List (156)
Fit for Foodies (99)
Special Occasion (92)
See All
Good for Groups (72)
Romantic (67)
Vibrant Bar Scene (64)
Hot Spot (63)
Great for Lunch (60)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Late-night Find (25)
Good for a Date (19)
Modern Decor (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Fun (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Casual (8)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Scenic View (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tapas (2)
Authentic (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Seasonal (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was great. Waitress was terrible. ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great. Waitress was terrible. She never circled back to ask us for a refill and we sat there for 20 minutes before our order was taken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Love this place. Can't go to often as me ...

 
 (Calgary)
·Dined 5 days ago

Love this place. Can't go to often as menu neve seems to change. Would be good to see changes in what is offered so we would go more.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I've been to the Seattle location on 4th ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 24, 2016

I've been to the Seattle location on 4th Ave for late dinner twice early August and Late September 2016. There is a good wine list; it is one of the few places with a decent list to have survived the recent spate of good wine bar closures. The full kitchen is open past 10:00pm on weekdays - so civilized! The shrimp and pork small dish is delicious and there is a good selection of GF options. The dinner menu was nearly identical during both visits, so it doesn't change that frequently. Like most places, it is way too loud to have a real conversation across the table. If you want to put your phone away and talk to your date, then ask to sit next to your companion. The staff accommodated this request both times I was there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Something for everyone! Meat, vegetarian ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Something for everyone! Meat, vegetarian and gluten free (we had all three in our party). Awesome sweet potato fries too! Service excellent and fab wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Bad service. Slow. They did do a good ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Bad service. Slow. They did do a good job of making up for it when we voiced our displeasure by providing a gratis dessert. Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Always good.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The salted caramels were fantastic. Went ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

The salted caramels were fantastic. Went back just to get more of them

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

The Cobb with steak was great. Well dre ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

The Cobb with steak was great. Well dressed but could have used more condiments. Service was slow and a bit snooty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great meal - well time to our schedule a ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great meal - well time to our schedule at Benaroya.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've dined here before with better resul ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I've dined here before with better results. On this occasion, the room was uncomfortably loud. The table service and the food were fine. However, there is no greeting that passes for a welcome. The receptionists are reasonably efficient, but early on a Monday evening seemed stressed by what I can only assume is a normal level of busyness.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Purple never disappoints!

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Purple never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Nice big restaurant in downtown Seattle, ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Nice big restaurant in downtown Seattle, across from the Fairmont Hotel. Very good wine selection, by the glass or the bottle. This was my second visit- we shared small plates and salads. Food was very good, service was excellent. Wait staff was very very polite and friendly. I would happily return to this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Janice is the bomb! Whether on the floor ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Janice is the bomb! Whether on the floor as a sommelier with her incredible knowledge of wine or in constant motion when she works the bar she is a delight in every way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I highly recommended their Maine Lobster ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I highly recommended their Maine Lobster Baked Mac and Cheese. It's simply amazing! I would definitely go back for it the next time I'm in Seattle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great ambiance, extensive wine and drink ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great ambiance, extensive wine and drink list, varied menu and excellent service!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to this restaurant as part of a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We went to this restaurant as part of a girl's weekend to Seattle. From the start our server was not knowledgable about the wine (despite it being a wine bar). When we were served our meals, one meal was cold. The server fought with my friend about this - and then finally agreed to take it back. She requested a different meal (a salad) with a substitute feta cheese. The salad came with goat cheese on it. Again the server laughed. She asked to have it brought back again - and it was quickly back at our table with goat cheese feta. At that point, my friend requested that he take it back and she just wouldn't eat. The rest of the table ate and then we left. The wine we had wasn't very good either....likely because we couldn't get the sommelier to come to our table to suggest a wine. An all around terrible experience. Thankfully, the rest of our dining and drinking experiences were good during our girls weekend away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great food, knowledgeable and friendly s ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great food, knowledgeable and friendly serving staff!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were drawn to have lunch here by the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were drawn to have lunch here by the soaring, unique interior, and by the positive remarks of others. We opted for salads each and a shared margherita flatbread, and were happy with our selections, and felt that the meal was generally healthful.

Tags: Healthy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Great ambiance and creative, fresh food. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great ambiance and creative, fresh food. Love all the options for flights. Would return again.

Tags: Tapas, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CT, the sommelier, was so vivid with des ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

CT, the sommelier, was so vivid with descriptions of wine that helped us pick the perfect complimentary bottle to our dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The wine storage silo was impressive. F ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The wine storage silo was impressive. Fantastic selection of wines. Waitstaff also informed on wine suggestions. The french fries are to die for -- extra crispy and flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were impressed with our waitress, he ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We were impressed with our waitress, her knowledge of the wines & menu while being approachable & friendly was refreshing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

still is my favorite restaurant in seatt ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

still is my favorite restaurant in seattle! try the baked bre, it's so good

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon was perfect! Flatbread was delig ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Salmon was perfect! Flatbread was delightful. Ambience / vibe was alive and happy! We loved our dinner experience !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Always good food. They changed the bre ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Always good food. They changed the bread on the BLTA from a ciabbatta roll to sandwich bread which was disappointing to me. Prefer the ciabbata roll (sp?) for this sandwich.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food, (aside from the crispy chicken ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The food, (aside from the crispy chicken sandwich), was a disappointment to all of us.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

The chocolate sea salt caramels for dess ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

The chocolate sea salt caramels for dessert and the vanilla creme brûlée are the best!!!!!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a reservation, arrived 15 minutes ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had a reservation, arrived 15 minutes early, there were empty tables when we got there, they would not seat us early, party of 2. We ate at the bar, same tables were still empty when we left. Don't know what the problem would have been seating a party of 2 a few minutes early.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

We had a lovely meal, but got off to a b ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We had a lovely meal, but got off to a bad start. We had a reservation but receptionist tried to put us way in the back in small split Booth when there were several empty tables available. She then tried to put us upstairs which was practically empty. I asked her why she didn't put us in main dining room and she said those were saved for reservations. After I reminded her we had a reservation she grudgingly put us where we should have been seated to begin with! We didn't appreciate being treated in such a poor manner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We went here for our anniversary. From ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went here for our anniversary. From beginning to end everything was beyond incredible. We started with the Brie app, then the strawberry goat cheese salad., main course was pork chop with peach purée. Then ended with a chocolate trifle. The wine pairing was perfect. Our waiter was very attentive and gave great recommendations.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband made a special birthday reser ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My husband made a special birthday reservation through my Open Table account on Sept 4th. It was my birthday and we have celebrated there in the past.

Once we arrived we were seated by the hostess and welcomed by the waitress. My husband ordered an iced coffee and I asked for a taste of two specific red wines. When the drinks came, I was swirling both and enjoying the differences, when i noticed the pours were quite different in volume and one was really too small. We waited for awhile for our server and finally i just got up and headed to the bar. The bartender could have waited over to me but instead she just shouted over to me and asked if i needed help. Again, not coming to me, I loudly asked for more wine for my 1 taste. She just looked at me. I told her that it was too small and it wasn't adequate. She (still not moving any closer to me) told me it was a 1 oz pour & that's what we serve.

So i said, okay, thank you, and told my husband that i would use the restroom and then we need to leave. When i came out of the restroom, we left and went to the Pink Door a bit later and had a wonderful experience.

Note: Besides a rude bartender and mildly slow server, noone bothered to wish me a happy birthday even though it had been noted on Open Table and i was wearing an almost neon pink dress- something that at 3pm on a Sunday should have been picked up by staff as possibly special. The bartender was female, big boned, short hair. Someone there most definitely should have at least tried to fix the situation. It was as if WE were doing the favor of dining there. I also opened a wine bar on Capital Hill in 2001 & I absolutely know what a pour size is. A fact I didn't share with the bartender due to her obvious attitude she displayed toward me. NOT a good moment for us on my birthday.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Fabulous food and ambiance.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fabulous food and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great restaurant. Food was good. Waite ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great restaurant. Food was good. Waiter was either inexperienced or a snob, so I would not go back with him as my server.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Cool place. Tends towards the young mill ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Cool place. Tends towards the young millennials

Menu is ok but salmon was over cooked. Service was good. Main problem Imho is the acoustics: hard to carry a conversation over the noise. I Rate it a 3.5 overall.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Way too loud in there. I can always tel ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Way too loud in there.

I can always tell a truly fine dining restaurant because they go that extra final step and install good sound dampening material in the ceiling etc. this allows for a reasonable level of conversation.

At purple my wife and I, sitting directly across from each other, had to shout to be understood. And when we left, our heads were ringing from the massive constant noise in there.

I won't ever go back.

All that noise ruins a good meal.

And it shows that the ownership is cutting corners.

I wonder where else they cut corners?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great vibe and wine choices. Good meal a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great vibe and wine choices. Good meal and the dessert - homemade caramels are a must.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Outstanding overall experience! Despite ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Outstanding overall experience! Despite being a fairly large establishment the service was personal, quick and engaging. Our meals were delicious and served promptly and efficiently. Starters were tasty with the grilled cauliflower being great and unusual. Mains also very good with my hanger steak being tender and flavorful. My wife enjoyed the duck although she expected the dish to be a bit sweeter than was experienced. One enjoyable aspect of the evening were the wine flights. A nice idea for those wishing to try several choices.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is my favorite restaurant in the wo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant in the world, and i am a world traveler... I come here once a year and it's always amazing and worth the time and money, especially if you are a wine and cheese lover.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar is a location t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar is a location that my wife and I make a point to frequently dine at when we come to Seattle to visit. Possessing an array of wine flights, exploration of various wines is a must. We have dined at Purple over a half dozen times and each time each menu item ordered is created with excellence.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really noisy so difficult for a quiet co ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Really noisy so difficult for a quiet conversation. Service and staff was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.