About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

1225 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the most fresh and local ingredients.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 11am to 11pm
Friday, 11am to 12am
Saturday, 12pm to 12am
Sunday, 12pm to 11pm

Cross Street:
University Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 829-2280

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Financial Center Parking Garage located directly underneath our restaurant on the corner of 4th and University. Once on University Street heading East, the garage is on your right hand side just after 3rd Ave and before 4th Ave. Parking is available throughout the day; prices vary. After 4pm parking is $5 with validation from the front desk 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Harry Mills

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a semi-private room for up to 20 people seated or 35 for a stand-up cocktail style event. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: 206-838-3853x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Notable Wine List
Seattle
1 More
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

notable wine list (195)
fit for foodies (140)
special occasion (124)
See All
good for groups (101)
romantic (93)
hot spot (78)
vibrant bar scene (70)
great for lunch (69)
neighborhood gem (47)
late-night find (37)
scenic view (12)
great for brunch (11)
kid-friendly (6)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2810 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's a good date night spot if you want ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

It's a good date night spot if you want a lively scene and wine; the whole restaurant was booked up on a Friday night so reservations were a good idea! The current (July '16) menu is a bit schizophrenic - I'm not sure what they're trying to do here, and my husband and I both thought it was all over the place. Still it's a solid spot to meet up for a glass of wine and a bite to eat within the downtown core. For travelers in nearby hotels it's a great resource within walking distance, and one I'd be happy to find in any other city (we're spoiled by our local options here!)

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The chocolate caramels are delicious!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The chocolate caramels are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Good food as always, but definitely the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Good food as always, but definitely the worst service we've ever had at Purple. The waitress seemed annoyed and not very friendly... and the food took forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Best dinning experience in a long time! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 7 days ago

Best dinning experience in a long time! Great service, decor, atmosphere...everything. The food was divine , not to mention the wine menu. Although it is 100 pages, it is very well organized. I was able to navigate and find the red blends from Italy. We had an amazing bottle of wine and finished with dessert. I recommend the Brioche with berries. We will be definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Major disappointment this time with our ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Major disappointment this time with our lunch experience at purple. We had good friends come in from out of town and I was excited to take them to a great lunch spot. Eating here previously I thought it'd be great. I was wrong. I ordered the chopped purple salad in a full size, and medium cooked steak. What came to me was a half sized salad and meat that was pretty much well done. Anyone who knows meat knows flank steak over cooked is tough and rubbery. Needless to say I hated my salad. I only ate it because I was starving and already had to wait when they brought me the wrong size salad. My wife got the BLTA and she didn't finish it. The bread was stale, and the bacon was chewy and excessively greasy. Our friend didn't finish her quinoa salad as she said it was the worse quinoa she'd ever eaten. Pretty bad to screw up quinoa. To be honest I was embarrassed and ashamed for bringing my good friends to purple. Overall not impressed and I frankly do not see myself spending $20 on a mediocre salad. I'll take my business elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

First time at Purple. Came highly recomm ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

First time at Purple. Came highly recommended and didn't disappoint. Great food, service and drinks.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good place for dinner before a show in d ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Good place for dinner before a show in downtown Seattle. Efficient, attentive service-didn't have to wait or rush through our meal (5:45 reservation before 7:30 show)

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good food. Great service. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Consistently good food. Great service. Can be a little noisy.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Purple is really quite nice. The food wa ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Purple is really quite nice. The food was very good and I liked the feel of the restaurant. The wine list was extensive. The service was good but not exceptional. It was a little loud but certainly not all bad...more lively. All in all Purple is a very good option for a very good meal and bottle of wine.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I visited Purple Cafe and Wine Bar on a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I visited Purple Cafe and Wine Bar on a trip to Seattle with my girlfriend. This restaurant was recommended to us through an Instagram contact, and boy were we impressed. The wine list was larger than both of us have seen at most places, the service was impeccable, and the food was delicious. We split a few menu items, all paired PERFECTLY with different wines. The only indiscretion was a forgotten appetizer, ordered by us, but never delivered to the table. This was handled expertly by our waiter, who assumed full ownership and gave us complementary sea salt dark chocolate caramels after dinner as consolation. Thank you Purple for such an amazing experience! I will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy eating here! The menu has ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Always enjoy eating here! The menu has changed a bit but we settled on pizza and the chicken cranberry salad and enjoyed both. It is a bit noisy but a fun place to dine after a theater or symphony event--- just a short walk away. Always attentive waiters.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We had dinner at the downtown Purple bef ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had dinner at the downtown Purple before a play. Our server was great about making sure we got out of there in time to walk back to the theater. We all enjoyed our meals quite a bit. I had the crab cakes appetizer because I was not so hungry and they were outstanding! Others in our 6-person party also loved their meals, from lamb burgers to roast lamb loin. The salted caramels (to go) were the perfect dessert!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing service! First time here with my ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Amazing service! First time here with my girlfriend. We were attending the Seattle symphony across the street and came here to eat before the show. Ended up sitting at the table next to the conductor! While we were eating dessert, a waiter came up with some complimentary dessert wine on the house. Will definitely be back next time I'm in Seattle.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service! The buratta and stone fru ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great service! The buratta and stone fruit appetizer was delicious with perfectly in season apricots. Salmon entree and lobster Mac and cheese were the favorites of the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wine list incredible. Cocktails pretty g ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wine list incredible. Cocktails pretty good. Food continues to be uneven in quality--will probably keep us from returning unfortunately. Very loud environment. Was disappointed no happy hour in Seattle!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar is a great rest ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar is a great restaurant for those of that love great wines and good food. It was everything I expected. The only reason that I did not give it all 5's is because we had a server was "dry" and seemed to lack the enthusiasm I have come to expect during a culinary experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The cranberry chicken salad was EXCELLEN ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The cranberry chicken salad was EXCELLENT! Often times there are few ingredients in chicken salad, but this was like a chop salad with many vegetables and flavorful chicken. Wish I had ordered the whole size as my meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always yummy and a staple for me when I ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Always yummy and a staple for me when I visit Seattle!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The atmosphere is great, but you need to ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The atmosphere is great, but you need to allow an hour or more to eat here, because the service is incredibly slow. The menu has been updated and the current selections are an improvement. Mushroom soup was very tasty, but quinoa/arugula salad was all quinoa -- it should be mostly arugula and veg, with only a small amount of quinoa. Price was $26 (I added prawns) for a booze-free lunch, so too pricey and too time consuming to be an everyday lunch spot -- I'd consider it special occasion only. Although nice, I don't consider the meal was commensurate with the price.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Had a great experience here with my wife ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Had a great experience here with my wife on our anniversary. The food and wine was great. Also, the service was fantastic!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great energy, great wines with friendly ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

great energy, great wines with friendly efficient service & wonderful surroundings. my wife & i had a incredible evening filled with laughter, great food. i would definitely go back on my next trip to Seattle.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service; good menu choices.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent service; good menu choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

New York steak tasted like it came from ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

New York steak tasted like it came from the Safeway managers special bin.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

My wife and I have dined here a few time ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

My wife and I have dined here a few times, and this particular visit was to meet my father-in-law prior to a concert in which his photography was featured. The food here is excellent - very tasty, excellent texture, and their meat is locally sourced (Draper Valley chicken in my case). The staff also excels in their wine pairing recommendations - the Pinot Blanc they chose went very well with the meal, even though I normally wouldn't have chosen that wine on its own. My only real complaint is that the place is very noisy - the industrial setting has very little to reduce sound, and I could barely hear our own conversation above all those around us.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The staff and hotess were very arrogant ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The staff and hotess were very arrogant. Not a pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value1

Delicious food, albeit small portions. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Delicious food, albeit small portions. If bread would have been provided (and a spoon) with the Seafood Stew, it would have gone from very good to outstanding. It's a little noisy, but that is part of the ambiance and was no surprise to our party of 6. I did let them know I was on a lunch hour and they made it happen w/in an hour. Not every restaurant will do that for you. Overall, I would recommend Purple to all (except those with small children).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value2

My family of four, including our 2 teens ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

My family of four, including our 2 teens, had a fantastic experience at Purple. The atmosphere is vibrant and rich, not loud and bar-like. The iron hand-forged dining chairs and spiral staircase in the center of the restaurant made for a unique look. We enjoyed a delicious, sophisticated meal served by a knowledgeable server. The grilled cauliflower could be the best thing I've ever eaten in my life! Amazing! Thank you, Purple

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful. Food was deli ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Everything was wonderful. Food was delicious, great selection of menu items. Lots of wine choices, too. On vacation and celebrating our anniversary was special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good. NY steak and fries ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food was very good. NY steak and fries excellent. Cooked perfectly.

beware of the tip recommendations. They try to get you to tip on the tax...and then argue with you when you tell them their tip % is incorrect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The menu looked promising. And it mostly ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The menu looked promising. And it mostly delivered. Two of us had the halibut special. It was nicely prepared, though it contained something a bit too sweet for our palate. Our friends had a chicken dish that was good but not particularly memorable. The banana bread pudding, that multiple servers recommended to us was a total disappointment. The texture was gummy which got in the way of enjoying it. Finally, we found the waiter abrupt. He seemed knowledgeable, just not personable. The decor is fun but with all the hard surfaces, sounds bounces all over the place so it's hard to hear. The net result: we won't be back.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Enjoyed our meal immensely. Excellent, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Enjoyed our meal immensely. Excellent, attentive service. Easy walk to Benaroya.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was quite good but for us (and we a ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was quite good but for us (and we are a bit older than the crowd that seemed to patronize this establishment) the noise level was pretty high.

Tags: neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

The food is amazing. Lots of and innovat ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The food is amazing. Lots of and innovative flavor combinations. We had the roasted cauliflower to start and the morel mushroom pizza with asparagus as a sauce. The chocolate trifle dessert was super yummy. It was the place for my friend and I to eat prior to our show at the 5th Ave.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Unfortunately, we were disappointed with ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Unfortunately, we were disappointed with the food. I ordered the lamb medium rate and it came out well done. Beyond, that it was a very small portion (maybe 3-4 ounces). My daughter ordered some type of crab meat sandwich that was overly dressed in mayonnaise and combined with a non-interesting hoagie. My wife can't even remember what she ordered as it lacked taste.

The server seemed to be in an absolute rush. I tried to get his attention and we seemed to be ignored. Then, we received the check that was dropped off on the table without any discussion.

Tags: vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

LOUD! So loud I could not hear my compa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

LOUD! So loud I could not hear my companion sitting across the table from me. I notice Open Table uses the term "energetic" to indicate a higher noise level. This restaurant does not have a pleasant "energetic" vibe. It is painfully loud. My ears were ringing and I was feeling intensely relieved to escape to the street noise of 4th Avenue. The street was at a lower decibel level than inside the restaurant.

Please, Purple! Do something about that noise. I'm thinking your employees will suffer hearing loss.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value4

We were referred to Purple from a friend ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We were referred to Purple from a friend and previous Seattle resident. I booked my reservation about 1 week ahead of time and asked for a great table. We were fortunate, in that it was a Wednesday evening, but we got a terrific seat and had a lovely time with great food. Our server was exceptional . I had the chicken with the wine pairing and it was delicious. All in all a great experience! It was loud due to the high ceilings, large windows and concrete floors. We had heard it was loud so it was not unexpected.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Restaurant is close to theatre and parki ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Restaurant is close to theatre and parking. Oh, and the food was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I always enjoy coming to Purple, I've ne ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I always enjoy coming to Purple, I've never been disappointed.

Tags: great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have dined here before and loved the f ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I have dined here before and loved the food. This time I had the steak tartar and really did not like it. Traditionally the beef is either ground or scraped, but this was big raw chunks of steak with a lot of vinegar based seasoning - just not pleasant. Everything else was great, the service terrific and the other meals were good.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Food is delicious, service is up to the ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food is delicious, service is up to the standard, and decor is unique and interesting. I would recommend this place to people who would like to take a bite during the afternoon, it opens all day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.