About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

1225 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the most fresh and local ingredients.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 11am to 11pm
Friday, 11am to 12am
Saturday, 12pm to 12am
Sunday, 12pm to 11pm

Cross Street:
University Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 829-2280

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Financial Center Parking Garage located directly underneath our restaurant on the corner of 4th and University. Once on University Street heading East, the garage is on your right hand side just after 3rd Ave and before 4th Ave. Parking is available throughout the day; prices vary. After 4pm parking is $5 with validation from the front desk 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Harry Mills

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a semi-private room for up to 20 people seated or 35 for a stand-up cocktail style event. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: 206-838-3853x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Notable Wine List
Seattle
Most Booked
Seattle
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Notable Wine List (185)
Fit for Foodies (127)
Special Occasion (117)
See All
Good for Groups (95)
Romantic (87)
Hot Spot (75)
Vibrant Bar Scene (71)
Great for Lunch (68)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Late-night Find (34)
Scenic View (12)
Great for Brunch (10)
Kid-friendly (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2847 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious food; I had the steak and frit ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious food; I had the steak and frites and the fries were some of the best ever! Our server, Chris, was delightful. The wine choices were extraordinary and there is a real commitment to wine and food. The space is beautiful and the tall windows surrounded by trees made it a lovely dining experience, almost in the treetops. Highly recommend and I will return next trip to Seattle.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great local wine selection and excellent ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great local wine selection and excellent food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I would call Purple overpriced if the fo ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined 5 days ago

I would call Purple overpriced if the food wasnt so darn good. While the food may be a bit pricey, every bite is delicious. Our party split 4 dishes and each dish was a favorite of one of us. I loved the burrata and peaches; the fig and gorgonzola flat bread was a close second. The wine menu is incredibly diverse and offers lots of fun flights. Prices on wine are high. Suck it up and drink it down. Our server was wonderful and allowed sampling of some wines before ordering. Fun atmosphere. Great for night out with small group.

Tags: Tapas, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I love everything about this restaurant. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

I love everything about this restaurant. Lovely atmosphere, outstanding service, wonderful food and not too loud music!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Paleo Friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Organic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and a great wine selectio ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food and a great wine selection. Ended the meal with Salted Caramels which were divine!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Changed their menu and took off some of ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 5 days ago

Changed their menu and took off some of the best menu items. Steak was good but others didn't like the pasta. This was our go-to spot for dinner when we visited Seattle but in the future we will probably find another restaurant for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great menu choice and the quality, prese ...

 
 (London)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great menu choice and the quality, presentation and taste of the food was top notch. Wine list was fantastic with some great local wines. Service was first class too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighbourhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Being a wine bar, I was excited for know ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Being a wine bar, I was excited for knowledgeable staff who might introduce us to some fun new wines. Unfortunately the staff we interacted with wasn't as knowledgeable as I had hoped and didn't give us a lot to work with in terms of selecting wine. The food was decent - the burrata and stone fruit and roasted cauliflower were very delicious, but the crab cakes and brown butter cake were only so-so.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

It is always a wonderful experience dini ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It is always a wonderful experience dining at Purple. It is my "go to" restaurant that NEVER disappoints! From the amazing food, ever changing wine selection and the great service.

My Favorite restaurant in Seattle!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent place with great food and nice ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Excellent place with great food and nice setting. The dessert should be avoided. We tried two and they just don't seem to have that perfected. the rest of the menu is fantastic, and the wine pairings are spot on.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I cannot say enough about my experience ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I cannot say enough about my experience with The Purple Cafe. My boyfriend and I went for our first anniversary, and it was one that we will remember forever. Immediately after checking in with our reservation, both of the hostesses made sure to wish us a happy anniversary (I put a note on the reservation) and sat us right away. We had a beautiful corner table next to the large street-facing windows. A few minutes later, our incredible waiter came over and poured us some water (which was never empty all night, you go Hugo), and then brought over some complimentary champagne to celebrate our anniversary. The food was impeccable, I had the lamb and my boyfriend had the steak fries, and we started with the grilled cauliflower. EVERYTHING was delicious, I do not have a single complaint. We will for sure be returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved all the food. Dungeness crab roll ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Loved all the food. Dungeness crab roll was sublime. Desserts very creative and seasonal. Fun place and amazing wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We meet for lunch during the week and ha ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We meet for lunch during the week and had a very enjoyable time. What a great place. Enjoy the lunch special! Wine list looked fun, so watch out. Used to be a bank?!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Waiter was a little unfriendly but food ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Waiter was a little unfriendly but food and the host was good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Exceptional service and food was great.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Exceptional service and food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great wine, the strawberry goat cheese s ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great wine, the strawberry goat cheese salad is very yummy. My husband said their crab roll was great and the French fries were some of the best he's ever had. This is my second time in Seattle (we live in FL) and my second time dining here. We'll be eating here again next time we come back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

CT was referred to us by a mutual friend ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

CT was referred to us by a mutual friend and he was so kind and attentive during our meal. The food was great. My Lobster Mac and Cheese was some of the best I have ever had. Definitely a great place to dine. If I'm ever in Seattle again I will go back for sure.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Purple Cafe and Wine Bar was fantast ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The Purple Cafe and Wine Bar was fantastic. The wine list, wine flights and appetizers are amazing. The restaurant, located downtown, is a visual treat too - a wine tower in the middle of the place is a focal point and anchors the bar area. The Baratta and Stone fruit is a must have!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife's favorite when we are in Pionee ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

My wife's favorite when we are in Pioneer Square area of Seattle. Extensive wine list from moderate to expensive. Wait staff really is attentive and knows a lot about the food and wine. Impressive interior and the food is excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As expected, Purple provided a great win ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

As expected, Purple provided a great wine list and a fine selection of Northwest dishes that didn't disappoint.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waitress was so gracious, helpful an ...

vip
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Our waitress was so gracious, helpful and generous. Made our dinner at Purple Cafe!

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The two of us had an enjoyable meal at t ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The two of us had an enjoyable meal at the Purple Café. The place was very busy, but the service was outstanding from beginning to end. We split a kale Caesar salad that was exceptionally good. We both had filet mignons that were wonderfully prepared exactly as we ordered. The wine list is huge. There's a selection for every taste. A great number of wine bottles are stored in a huge column going to the ceiling around the bar area. What an impressive center piece. I can't think of anything Purple Café could have done to improve our experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

HUGE wine menu, 50-100 pages. Great Flig ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

HUGE wine menu, 50-100 pages. Great Flights. Knowledgeable staff, chic atmosphere. Very expensive though. $200 for 3 people only drinking wine and having appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed Purple Cafe very much, menu had ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Enjoyed Purple Cafe very much, menu had unique selections such as: duck and lamb. The service was even better, because the server was able to guide us through the various options available for wine selection.

Great place to get together with co-workers or a grab a glass of wine with that special someone. Would not be the ideal setting if your looking for quiet and romantic. Otherwise, great atmosphere, good food, knowledgeable and personable service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I choose to visit Purple with family and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

I choose to visit Purple with family and friends for my birthday. I was craving your wonderful lobster mac and it didn't disappoint! We had a table upstairs and we all loved sitting up there. It was more quiet and a more intimate setting than the main floor. Always amazing food and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The wine options were excellent. Timing ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The wine options were excellent. Timing is the meal was very efficient. The waitress was very informative and the menu. Overall, the night of dining was wonderful!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had been about 4 years ago, and couldn't ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Had been about 4 years ago, and couldn't wait to go back with my family. Food was fantastic as was the wine list and service.

We will definitely be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great experience here. I had r ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

We had a great experience here. I had read about this place online and am not familiar with Seattle, but was looking for someplace fun to have dinner with friends we were meeting in Seattle from Vancouver. It was relaxing, the food was good, the service was good, and we ended up having the bonus of a great view of the parade too! One person in our group was a vegetarian, and they had a lot of options that worked for her on the menu. Our son is going to be starting school at UW, so we will definitely visit this place again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Between a completely untrained and unres ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Between a completely untrained and unresponsive waitron and way over-salted entree, I was completely disappointed with Purple.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

A surprising find. The ambiance is reall ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A surprising find. The ambiance is really nice and relaxed, vibrant without being noisy. The waitress was the best part, she was really professional, very knowledgeable and made the whole experience really classy. The wines are varied and interesting, and the waitress was really helpful in inviting guests to try new wines with a taster before committing to a whole bottle. I'll definitely be visiting often.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

It was very loud and difficult to hear f ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It was very loud and difficult to hear for conversations. The food was quite good. The real negative was the hostess did not seat us for 20 minutes b/c we were 20 min early -- no traffic when we anticipated some -- (5:55 for a 6:15 res) even though there were MANY open tables of four and ours was empty the whole time we stood. Had to ask if we could have a glass of wine while we were standing -- never offered. So, not likely to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was superb. The lobster mac & cheese was spectacular and the brie appetizer was amazing. My husband's filet mignon was extraordinary and the desserts were to die for. An amazing pre-theater dinner. Really appreciate the discount with our theater tickets. Our waitress made sure our dinner went smoothly and we got out in plenty of time to make our show at 8:00 PM.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have always enjoyed the Purple Cafe i ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We have always enjoyed the Purple Cafe in downtown Seattle. They just do a great job.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Purple is one of my favorite restaur ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The Purple is one of my favorite restaurants here in Seattle because of the food. However this trip wasn't up to the usual standards. The service is always great but that noise level is a bit overwhelming, especially if you're trying to have a private conversation. We both ordered shrimp and grits. My expectations were probably already set so when the dish arrived, it was quite different than what I was looking forward to. The dessert was not the best we've had either My friend expressed the same sentiments. This will not deter my returning since I love the food here.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great atmosphere,service and food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great atmosphere,service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a good date night spot if you want ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It's a good date night spot if you want a lively scene and wine; the whole restaurant was booked up on a Friday night so reservations were a good idea! The current (July '16) menu is a bit schizophrenic - I'm not sure what they're trying to do here, and my husband and I both thought it was all over the place. Still it's a solid spot to meet up for a glass of wine and a bite to eat within the downtown core. For travelers in nearby hotels it's a great resource within walking distance, and one I'd be happy to find in any other city (we're spoiled by our local options here!)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

The chocolate caramels are delicious!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The chocolate caramels are delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Good food as always, but definitely the ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Good food as always, but definitely the worst service we've ever had at Purple. The waitress seemed annoyed and not very friendly... and the food took forever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Best dinning experience in a long time! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Best dinning experience in a long time! Great service, decor, atmosphere...everything. The food was divine , not to mention the wine menu. Although it is 100 pages, it is very well organized. I was able to navigate and find the red blends from Italy. We had an amazing bottle of wine and finished with dessert. I recommend the Brioche with berries. We will be definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Major disappointment this time with our ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Major disappointment this time with our lunch experience at purple. We had good friends come in from out of town and I was excited to take them to a great lunch spot. Eating here previously I thought it'd be great. I was wrong. I ordered the chopped purple salad in a full size, and medium cooked steak. What came to me was a half sized salad and meat that was pretty much well done. Anyone who knows meat knows flank steak over cooked is tough and rubbery. Needless to say I hated my salad. I only ate it because I was starving and already had to wait when they brought me the wrong size salad. My wife got the BLTA and she didn't finish it. The bread was stale, and the bacon was chewy and excessively greasy. Our friend didn't finish her quinoa salad as she said it was the worse quinoa she'd ever eaten. Pretty bad to screw up quinoa. To be honest I was embarrassed and ashamed for bringing my good friends to purple. Overall not impressed and I frankly do not see myself spending $20 on a mediocre salad. I'll take my business elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.