About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle

1225 4th Avenue
Seattle, WA 98101
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the most fresh and local ingredients.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 11am to 11pm
Friday, 11am to 12am
Saturday, 12pm to 12am
Sunday, 12pm to 11pm

Cross Street:
University Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 829-2280

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Parking Details:
Parking is available in the Financial Center Parking Garage located directly underneath our restaurant on the corner of 4th and University. Once on University Street heading East, the garage is on your right hand side just after 3rd Ave and before 4th Ave. Parking is available throughout the day; prices vary. After 4pm parking is $5 with validation from the front desk 7 days a week.

Executive Chef:
Harry Mills

Private Party Facilities:
We offer a semi-private room for up to 20 people seated or 35 for a stand-up cocktail style event. Please call for details.

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: (206) 838-3853

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (85)
Good for a Date (72)
Special Occasion (60)
See All
Fit for Foodies (43)
Pre/post Theatre (41)
Modern Decor (38)
Romantic (38)
Bar Seating (34)
Good for Groups (34)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Great for Lunch (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Fun (30)
Business Meals (30)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Casual (26)
Hot Spot (22)
Happy Hour (19)
People Watching (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Cozy (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Late-night Find (15)
Authentic (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (9)
Healthy (9)
Tapas (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Scenic View (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Fireplace (3)
Vegan (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Waterfront (1)
Dancing (1)
Live Music (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
3172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time at Purple in the downtown Sea ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

First time at Purple in the downtown Seattle location. The center circular floor to ceiling bar and wine storage is pretty cool to look at. We were early and they were able to seat us anyway. The food was very good and the service very prompt and attentive despite being a busy Saturday night.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was fine, but not memorable. Drink ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was fine, but not memorable. Drinks are over-priced. Manhattan with bar bourbon Evan Williams was $11.00 close to the price of a fifth of it. Wine was $12.50 a glass. And amazingly they had no Pinot Grigio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Tge lunch combo is great for lighter far ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Tge lunch combo is great for lighter fare.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Best crab sandwich ever!

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Best crab sandwich ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our server was the best. He was so frien ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Our server was the best. He was so friendly, observant, attention to detail was spot on and he brightened our day. Thank you so much for such a pleasant experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service with great food. Great ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful service with great food. Great selection of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had high hopes for Purple Cafe and Win ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 16, 2017

I had high hopes for Purple Cafe and Wine Bar but they were dashed as soon as we were seated at the second worst table in the restaurant. It was right next to the host desk, by the front door, and my lower back and my butt were frozen by the constant draught. Horrible. I couldn't enjoy the dinner at all as I was wearing my winter jacket the entire evening. No one on the staff asked if the table was okay. I guess I should have asked to change but there didn't seem to be any tables available and I didn't want to wait for a new one to open up. The next big minus was the lukewarm Riesling I received. When will restaurants learn that white wine should be served chilled? Such an easy mistake to fix and yet no one does it. Food was okay, nothing to write home about. We had the cassoulet and the veal bolognese. The cassoulet was far too oily and there were no carbohydrates except for the cannellini beans. Total meat overdose. The sourdough bread pudding was actually tasty! Overall, I wouldn't come back here. Plus points for the extensive wine list but if you cannot serve it at the right temperature, there is no point in offering it. There are plenty of other choices in downtown Seattle.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

This was a fun but slightly expensive ev ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This was a fun but slightly expensive evening. Great wines and staff. Like the subdued ambiance. Just a bit pricey, that's all. =)

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great time with friends on a Friday nigh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great time with friends on a Friday night. Wait staff was awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I met my sister and son for dinner befor ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I met my sister and son for dinner before a concert. The food was wonderful. The wine list is superb. The wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable. Our appetizers and drinks arrived quickly but our entrees were slow. As a result our dinner was comped. Totally unexpected as we hadn't complained but very much appreciated. They even sent us out with complimentary caramels. Wonderful evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

My chicken was not cooked on my Ceasar s ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 12, 2017

My chicken was not cooked on my Ceasar salad so I sent it back. It elected to just have the salad with no chicken as a replacement. It took 20+ for just a salad dressing in the side....nothing to it and they still charged me for the salad. Though they did take care of the one order of sea salt caramels. The salad should have been taken care of 20 minutes plus is ridiculous. My friend was completely done eating by the time my replacement salad arrives.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value4

Good central location in down town and g ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Good central location in down town and good food and wine

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An excellent experience from start to fi ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 11, 2017

An excellent experience from start to finish. Although we were initially ignored by the host stand upon entry, the staff became effusive with their apologies and subsequent attentiveness. Our waiter Treavor was excellent, recognizing that we would share our ordered items and splitting portions of them onto separate plates without even being explicitly asked. The sommelier was top notch, expertly guiding us to a wine that satisfied our particular tastes and interests. Ambience is excellent and we will definitely be returning for multiple visits.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent appetizers with interesting fl ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent appetizers with interesting flights of wine for a personal food and wine tasting -- what could be better!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful bartenders and a killer wine l ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Wonderful bartenders and a killer wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The food and drinks were amazing, but t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food and drinks were amazing, but the service was better than both! Wine selection is outstanding as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The wine flights are a wonderful way to ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The wine flights are a wonderful way to experience more varieties of wine. I received a free dessert with a candle for my birthday - so a fun place to celebrate!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was good but a little p ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and service was good but a little pricey for the portions but for a last minute reservation for new years it was great

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Dancing, Live Music, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Food and service was great. Need to do s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food and service was great. Need to do something about the door as very cold draughts every time a customer entered or exited.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

we came an hour earlier than reservation ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

we came an hour earlier than reservation but they found us table anyway, very much appreciated move

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Love the enormous wine menu (100 pages!) ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love the enormous wine menu (100 pages!) However a few times when I've asked for the more unique wines (i.e. from Georgia or Morocco), they don't have them. And then I just end up with a typical Italian, Californian, or Washington wine.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, varied selection. The chairs ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good food, varied selection. The chairs are uncomfortable and too heavy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyable atmosphere; good service. Our ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Enjoyable atmosphere; good service.

Our pasta dishes were mediocre, at best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

This was my 6th time dining at Purple, I ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This was my 6th time dining at Purple, I have been twice to the Bellevue location and this was our 4th time at Seattle. We went for a quick date night, a glass of wine, dessert and our usual starter of the baked Brie.

Service was EXTREMELY slow and not because our server was busy, while trying to get her attention I often saw her just walking around. This was frustrating, it took too long for her to come back for our drink order and then another 20 minutes for her to take our food order. Not acceptable when it's not busy and people who arrived after us were already eating?!

I'm not sure if they're cutting costs but the baked Brie was much smaller than usual.

I don't know if I would return, which is disappointing because I always recommended Purple to friends and family visiting

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

I really enjoyed the food at Purple Cafe ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

I really enjoyed the food at Purple Cafe and Wine Bar. It was one of my favorite meals in Seattle!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Purple Cafe is one of Seattle's iconic r ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Purple Cafe is one of Seattle's iconic restaurants. Known for their extensive wine list, unique atmosphere (there is a spiral staircase/wine case in the center of the room) and consistently good food. It is a restaurant you could go to once a week or once a year and the food, the service, and the atmosphere will be exactly the way you remembered.

On this visit, our server, Sandra, went the extra mile in finding us the perfect Pinot Noir for our meal. After tasting her first recommendation and finding it too light, she teamed up with the sommelier who took our entrees (Pear and Gorgonzola Pizza and Lamb Burger) and our budget to find a lovely match.

This is the type of experience I have at the Seattle location of Purple Cafe - I can't say the same for the other locations. But I'm biased - this was my first Purple Cafe and I have a certain allegiance to it. Enjoy!

Tags: , Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First let me say the food and service wa ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 24, 2016

First let me say the food and service was outstanding. Only complaint was our table was by the kitchen entrance. My husband, who was facing the entrance found it distracting and ruined the overall atmosphere for him. The occasion was a pre theater/family of 6, Christmas celebration. Management needs to screen the entrance off some way or move that table to another location. If my husband choses where we dine next, I am afraid it won't be at "Purple" because of his experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

Poor service, mediocre food and a very l ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Poor service, mediocre food and a very loud room did not make for the best pre-Christmas experience. We arrived right on time for our 6:00 pm dinner as we had an 8:00 pm concert to attend at Benaroya Hall (about a block away). Our thought was that 2 hours was plenty of time to eat a leisurely dinner and still be at the concert in plenty of time. We were wrong. Even though we were right on time we weren't seated for at least 10 minutes. Why do we have reservations then? And it's not like we were waiting for a table to be cleared. When seated, we were taken to a table that had been empty and set prior to our arrival.

Once seated it took almost 10 minutes for our server to stop by. We were totally ready to order by then. A split appetizer, two entrées and two glasses of wine. The appetizer (roasted beets) was excellent. It showed up not very long after we ordered. The wine did not get there before the appetizer and neither did the bread service we had ordered.

Our entrées (both steaks, my wife the filet, me the NY) arrived. She loved hers. Mine was fatty, gristly and had our server checked in with us even once after the food arrived, I would have sent it back. One of the worst steaks I have ever had. It was also supposed to come (according to the menu) with a tomato-type sauce. It didn't. It came with a white sauce. Had I know that, I would not have ordered it.

No one ever asked if we would have liked more wine...we would have. By the time the table was cleared our server stopped by to leave dessert menus (time at this point was 7:15) we were already running behind. Our server did not return to check to see if we wanted dessert (we did) until 7:35. At this point we said don't bother and asked for the check. That took 10 more minutes and we walked out the door at 7:45. Ridiculous!

We have eaten at all the other Purples, Lot 3, The Commons and Meet the Moon and loved them all. This was our second bad experience at Purple Seattle. It's just sad.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

That was the second time I ate there. I ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

That was the second time I ate there. I ordered the same meal--crab roll with fries because it was excellent the first time I had it. However, the fries weren't as good the second time. They were a little soggy and not as well seasoned, but it was still okay.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great, food just 'ok'. I've ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Service was great, food just 'ok'. I've been here a few times as my nieces love it, great wine selection, friendly wait staff, but the food wasn't great- especially given the price. My dish was lackluster and dry.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Our waitress was slow and forgetful. She ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Our waitress was slow and forgetful. She was nice but we had kids with us so the slow pace and food mistakes were extra hard. She blamed her "spacey head" on a new puppy who had kept her up all night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Our waiter took over pouring our wine an ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Our waiter took over pouring our wine and was very pushy it seamed like all he wanted to do was

Sell another bottle of wine. I had to tell him to stop pouring and

I would do it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Purple has always been a favorite for us ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Purple has always been a favorite for us, this time - not so much. We arrived early so we sat at the bar. The bartender was yawning repeatedly, didn't provide eye contact , therefore we weren't able to order an appetizer easily. When our table was ready, the host said "close out your tab at the bar and we can seat you". Well, we couldn't get the bartender's attention! Finally, we were ready and the host didn't offer to carry our drinks or our appetizers to the table. We looked like low class customers. So, service really failed us at Purple. Our dinner service was excellent, but my pesto pasta was lukewarm upon arrival. Ordered a coffee for two and the french press didn't even fill our two cups.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

I just love going to Purple during the h ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I just love going to Purple during the holiday season! We are a group of friends who go to see the Seattle Men's Chorus every year and we always have a fabulous dinner before the theater, which is only a block away. The lights everywhere inside and outside of the restaurant are just magical and reflect off of all the glass and metal of the décor and the spiral wine tower inside.

We've always had excellent service and the food is wonderful. I like that I can get an appetizer (I had the grilled cauliflower) and a half a salad (cherry, goat cheese and pecans) and still have a little room left for dessert (chocolate trifle). And their coffee is great!

Go to Purple - you will love it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and the service at Purple were ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

The food and the service at Purple were top notch as always. And we appreciated the sommelier's suggestions for what would pair well with our varied menu selections. Since they didn't have any black tea in stock (not all of us are coffee drinkers), I opted to try the sherry they recommended to pair with their chocolate trifle for dessert. This was the only misfire of the evening as the sherry was way too sweet and overwhelmed the nuanced flavors of the trifle. However, bonus points go out to to our server, Becca, who made it right. This is why, whenever we're attending a concert or other event downtown, Purple is usually our first thought for fine dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went 2 days in a row, fell in love wi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We went 2 days in a row, fell in love with the place and especially our waiter Chris was amazing!

The food is fantastic and the ambience really nice

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure why, but the service was crazy ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Not sure why, but the service was crazy slow. Took forever to get our order taken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Too loud and every time we've been in th ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Too loud and every time we've been in the dining room, there's been a cold draft blowing down at us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our first time after a show at Benaroya, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our first time after a show at Benaroya, we really enjoyed ourselves and will likely go back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was outstanding! Everyone was very kind & our server Chris was very attentive. Would recommend Purple Cafe to everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Family Style, , Fun, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.