Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details
See affiliated restaurants ›

Restaurants you may also like

Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Woodinville
760 reviews
American | Woodinville, Eastside
Reserve Now
Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Seattle
2736 reviews
American | Downtown, Seattle
Reserve Now
Volterra Kirkland
600 reviews
Italian | Kirkland, Eastside
Reserve Now
Anthony's HomePort - Kirkland
431 reviews
Seafood | Kirkland, Eastside
Reserve Now
Trellis
1225 reviews
Contemporary American | Kirkland, Eastside
Reserve Now
Hector's Restaurant
79 reviews
Comfort Food | Kirkland, Eastside
Reserve Now
Milagro Cantina
116 reviews
Mexican | Kirkland, Eastside
Reserve Now
BeachHouse bar + grill
517 reviews
American | Kirkland, Eastside
Reserve Now
Le Grand Bistro Americain
658 reviews
French | Kirkland, Eastside
Reserve Now
Beach Cafe
1017 reviews
American | Kirkland, Eastside
Reserve Now
Bin on the Lake
884 reviews
Northwest | Kirkland, Eastside
Reserve Now
Cafe Juanita
1988 reviews
Italian | Kirkland, Eastside
Reserve Now
Big Fish Grill-Kirkland
55 reviews
Seafood | Kirkland, Eastside
Reserve Now
Woodblock
38 reviews
Contemporary American | Redmond, Eastside
Reserve Now
Blu Sardinia
166 reviews
Italian | Redmond, Eastside
Reserve Now

About Purple Cafe and Wine Bar - Kirkland

323 Park Place Center
Kirkland, WA 98033
View Larger Map

Purple Café and Wine Bar pairs a global wine selection with a menu that combines classic American styles with seasonal Northwest ingredients.

We feature an expansive menu ranging from artisan cheeses, starters, soups, salads, sandwiches and pizzas to pasta and seafood. We take a great deal of pride in utilizing the freshest, local ingredients that change with the seasons.

On the wine side of things our wine list features over 80 glass and 600 bottle selections. Over the years our wine program has been recognized with various accolades that include an "Award of Ultimate Distinction" from Wine Enthusiast Magazine and being named "Best Wine Bar" by Evening Magazine's Best of Western Washington Viewers Poll.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Northwest, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Thursday, 11am to 10pm
Friday, 11am to 11pm
Saturday, 12pm to 11am
Sunday, 12pm to 9pm

Happy Hour: Daily, 3pm to 6pm

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(425) 828-3772

Website:
http://www.purplecafe.com/

Catering:
We offer a variety of box lunches and a la carte platters; great for corporate events, parties, picnics and other get-togethers! Orders are available for pick up and we ask for 48 hours’ notice on all pick-up orders to ensure availability. Large orders may require additional lead time. We are available to place phone orders or answer any questions Monday-Friday 9am to 5pm. Please call 206.855.6118.

Executive Chef:
Jon Langley

Private Party Contact:
Private Events Team: 206-838-3853x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Sort By:
Newest
444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

We are going to miss Purple in Kirkland!

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

We are going to miss Purple in Kirkland!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

New Years Eve at Kirkland Purple

Dined on January 1, 2016

Although we didn't frequent the place often, we always enjoyed so made sure we got a table the last night they were open. Super friendly staff, and wonderful (actually perfect) service. It was early so there were families. The only negative is that it felt a little cramped like maybe they had a few extra tables out for this special evening. We look forward to returning when you all reopen!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

No warning

Dined on December 30, 2015

We were unaware that they were closing in two days due to construction. The menu was reduced and the food was marginal at best. We brought friends here from overseas so that made it even worse. We frequent Purple and always enjoy the food. I wish we would have known as we would have chosen the Woodinville location. Sad way to drop $250

food5
ambience5
service3

Great overall. Just slow service that day.

Dined on December 15, 2015

The food and ambiance was amazing as usual. We went for an early dinner and the service was terribly slow. The food came quick but there was minimal checking in and a hard time getting the bill settled. Still one of my favorite places.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Celebrated my moms 85th birthday.

Dined on December 13, 2015

The noise level was way too high for an older person. Other than that it was a good experience.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great Kirkland restaurant

Dined on December 13, 2015

Purple is an area staple, and they continue to deliver great food and wine. The host and wait staff were fantastic this evening; friendly, helpful with suggestions, and continuing to make sure we were being attended to throughout the night's stay. The wines we tried were excellent, and the meals visually and aromatically enticing, and very flavorful. I'm sorry to hear that this location will be long-term (but temporarily) closing for the redevelopment of the shopping and business center, but I look forward to their return already. Fortunately, the location on Woodinville-Redmond road is also excellent and easy to go to for us Eastsiders.

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2

Overcooked and burned food! Constantly w ...

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Overcooked and burned food! Constantly waited on server. Very disappointed

food5
ambience4
service5

Good eats in Kirkland

Dined on November 22, 2015

Great food, reasonable prices, free parking, good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Outstanding service

Dined on November 21, 2015

Our waitress was the best! She was friendly, quick and knew the menu inside and out.

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

Sad in Kirkland!

Dined on November 15, 2015

We've been fans of Purple in Kirkland for years. But our most recent experience left a lot to be desired. While service was outstanding - the food left a lot to be desired. $25 for 3 oz flank steak with soggy, not good at all fries. Add $ 17 a glass for wine. As my wife said - I think this will be the last time for Purple.

food5
ambience5
service5

Nice restaurant!

Dined on November 12, 2015

The noise level is extremely high. However, since there were just two of us, the hostess put us in one of the quieter areas of the restaurant. It meant that we had a delightful meal. The food was excellent, as was the service. I just hope we can always be seated in a similar section.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner date

Dined on November 8, 2015

We were seated a little ahead of our reservation time, and immediately were welcomed and served. The filet was prepared perfectly as ordered. I opted for some comfort food, lobster Mac and cheese, which my grand daughter would have enjoyed as much as I did. The restaurant was nearly full and the noise level was perfect for private conversation.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4

Great lunch but watch out for the 1 sunny table!

Dined on November 4, 2015

We made a reservation knowing it would be crowded for lunch and were told we we're lucky we had a reservation as we got the last table. Unfortunately the last table was in direct sunlight, so not only were we extremely warm the entire time, but half of our group had to sit facing into the sunlight, which was uncomfortable for everyone. I couldn't believe that I walked out of there with a sunburn! Yes, it is often gloomy here, but please look into shades for those rare days when the sun comes through!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service from Seth and excellent fo ...

vip
Dined on November 2, 2015

Great service from Seth and excellent food. Will go back...

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice place for special ocassions

Dined on October 31, 2015

We visit the Purple to celebrate special occasions like birthdays. This is my 5 year old daughters fav place. Great ambience, great service and they always make it special for us. Food is about the same in al Purple cafe's. We are vegetarians so nbot much choice we have but the menu is decent enough that we have a great time there. Coming back for the next birthday!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Food very good, hostess not...

Dined on October 30, 2015

This is a continuing thing for me whenever I go to Purple...and why I won't return to the Kirkland location even though I live two bocks away. Every time I've been there the Hostess has been very inflexible as to seating choices, even when there is ample evidence of table options. Never have they responded to a request to have a table different than the one I am shown. This past time I was seated right next to the kitchen entrance. even with other tables available. One other time I was not shown to tables because they were reserved...for 90 minutes out! We easily could have had dinner and been done within 90 minutes. Holding a reserved table that far out is not smart.

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3

Sub-Par

Dined on October 30, 2015

I am usually a big fan of Purple Cafe, but I was underwhelmed during this dining experience. The food wasn't as good as usual, especially the pear/gorgonzola flatbread, which is now more pizza-like and had too thick of a crust. We weren't impressed with the homemade sodas either. Service was a little slow. Rumor has it the restaurant will be closing soon and the regular wait staff has already quit and found new jobs.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service3

Great set menu for Seattle Restaurant week

Dined on October 30, 2015

Met here with some friends to take advantage of Seattle restaurant week. Three courses for $30 is a pretty great deal, especially when steak is one of the options. Food was very tasty, service was a little slow coming out, but we weren't in a rush so didn't matter to us. Nice feel to the restaurant, not too stuffy, but if you wanted to dress up for something special, you wouldn't look out of place. Shame this place is going to be a building site for a while.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service1

Service was terrible. Very slow and inept.

Dined on October 26, 2015

We visited last Sunday and it was not at all busy. It took us two hours to get through dinner due to slow service. The waiter got the dessert order wrong and did not bring glasses or sliver as requested.

food3
ambience4
service5

Yummy.

Dined on October 25, 2015

Enjoyed the food, second only to the superior, graceful service.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a lovely meal

Dined on October 23, 2015

Had lunch twice last week at Purple Kirkland. Food & service were great.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Best sandwich ever

Dined on October 17, 2015

The turkey sandwich I had with the lunch special - small chopped salad and turkey on ciabatta was the best sandwich I've ever put in my mouth.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Another great lunch

vip
Dined on October 15, 2015

This is always our go to place for out of town guests. It is always a good meal and a fun environment. The wine list is also expansive with a great selection to choose from. Purple is always our top choice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Waitress Courtney was amazing. We ab ...

Dined on October 11, 2015

Our Waitress Courtney was amazing. We absolutely loved the food and the entire dining experience from start to finish. Our favorite place to dine hands down

food4
ambience5
service4

One of my long-time favorites

Dined on October 10, 2015

I've been to Purple a dozen or more times, all locations and I feel you can just never go wrong. The atmosphere is always great, whether it is date night or a work lunch meeting (they even have WiFi). I actually went to this Kirkland location twice this week, once for a double date and once for a lunch meeting. Their burgers are incredible and filling and their pizzas are also a recommendation. Their salads offer a wide variety. We tried to pulled chicken (lettuce-less!) salad on date night to share before our dinner and I loved it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

LOVE Purple

Dined on October 10, 2015

I have loved Purple since the moment I heard it's name. My girlfriends and I go there at least every other month to catch up. Haven't been there in so long! This time I took my new "boyfriend" because I was bragging about the cheeses....and yeah... they not as much as a selection of cheese flights. But OK! so they limited their cheese menu ! STILL love this place.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4

Cute restaurant with nice ambience

Dined on October 8, 2015

My husband and I are here with another couple last week and we had a great time. Although it took almost ten minutes before the server came to our table to greet us, she was very accomadating, friendly, and helpful. Our food was pretty good. I ordered the seafood stew and although it tasted great, it was not very substantial. I wish I had more of a starch in it besides a piece of bread. The restaurant itself has great ambience with candles on the walls. Great place for a date!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5

Good food & very good service.

Dined on October 4, 2015

The dinners we had were very tasty. The menu gave all of us plenty to choose from. Our server was so friendly and attentive. The only downside is that the noise level is so high, it was hard to carry on a conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience3
service4

Trendy, busy restaurant

Dined on September 27, 2015

The dishes we had were excellent - veggie burger and BBQ burger done as we requested. Wine would have doubled the cost of dinner. Unfortunately, at the end of dinner we were told that there was a problem with their online system and they couldn't process our gift card, but we could pay by credit card or cash. No options or offers to temper the extra wait and hassle (buy us dessert while we wait for the system to reboot?). Less than perfect customer service. I felt for our server, who had several large tables to enter orders for manually, but it seems like Purple needed to account for this eventuality.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great lunch at Purple. Will definitely ...

vip
Dined on September 25, 2015

Great lunch at Purple. Will definitely return.

food5
ambience4
service4

Go with the grilled cheese!

Dined on September 22, 2015

One word....perfect! This is a fantastic lunch destination, for business or personal. Way to be, Purple Cafe!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Lamb entree was excellent. Cooked approp ...

Dined on September 13, 2015

Lamb entree was excellent. Cooked appropriately and the fruit mustard sauce was right on. The recommended wine pairing was right on with complementing the lamb. Server was friendly and new the dishes well.

food4
ambience4
service5

Our server was great and knowledgable ab ...

Dined on August 24, 2015

Our server was great and knowledgable about the wine menu. Made good suggestions and did an excellent job. Food was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Popular Place - You May Run Into Friends

Dined on August 21, 2015

Two friends and I met at the Purple Café Thursday night for dinner. We had a lovely outdoor table not too far from the entrance, so we were able to see everyone coming and going. Each of us saw, and greeted, someone we knew. Whether the relationship was professional or personal, it was fun that we were able to say hello to several different friends during wine and dinner who also appreciate the Purple Café for its offerings. Food was tasty, wine flight was fun, shared desserts are always delish.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service2

The food was good but the service wasn't

vip
Dined on August 18, 2015

I had the lobster roll, for which I am familiar from the East Coast; it didn't live up to that promise but was ok-not enough lobster. The chopped salad was quite good Very slow and uneven service.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Fan of Purple

vip
Dined on August 14, 2015

This was our second time at Purple (first was the Woodenville location). We love how many healthy options are on the menu. The food has been wonderful on both visits.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Gluten free choices and suggested wine pairings

Dined on August 6, 2015

My usual dinner destinations are independent/foodie restaurants on Capitol Hill/ downtown. But with this experience at Purple café - I will definitely go again. Excellent, polite, helpful service, and great gluten free choices. Each menu item also has a suggested wine pairing which I don't mind at all. ;)

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service4

Took out of town guests and they loved it

vip
Dined on August 3, 2015

We took my brother and his family visiting from SoCal to Purple for dinner. We had a superb dinner. Loved the entrées, the appetizers, the wine. All of it was great. Would go back in an instant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a Consistently Delicious Meal

Dined on July 30, 2015

I enjoy going to Purpule because the menu is always consistently unique and delicious. I appreciate the diverse wine menu and suggested pairings. Servers are very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service2

Solid place for dinner in Kirkland. Nothing fancy.

vip
Dined on July 26, 2015

We were there on Saturday night. The crowd was steady and it was busy - so our server was scarce but we had lots to talk about so twas ok. Great wine flights!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.