About Punk's Simple Southern Food

5212 Morningside
Houston, TX 77005
View Larger Map

Punk's is all about Southern hospitality married to a healthy dose of swagger and good manners. Southern native Chef Brandi Key channels her inner child at this rambunctious restaurant that almost feels as if you are on her back porch sipping somethin'. From Texas to Louisiana, Mississippi to Georgia and the Carolinas, these are recipes handed down by generations. Mix and match Grandpa Do's buttermilk biscuits - Ham & Jam, Chicken Fry, Crawdads and Gravy Train; Snack on Deviled Eggs with pickled relish, mustard & smoked paprika or Pickled Gulf Shrimp tossed in a medley of fresh vegetables and spiced vinegar. Fried Seafood Poboys, Redfish on the half shell, Braised Collard Greens and Mom's Cornbread share the spotlight with Grandma Pat's Crispy Buttermilk Fried Chicken.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Soul food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rice Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 524-7865

Website:
http://www.punkssimplesouthernfood.com/

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in Rice Village with full valet service offered as well.

Executive Chef:
Brandi Key

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Comfort is key at Punk’s as guests dig into Deviled Eggs, Sweet Corn Hushpuppies and Buttermilk Fried Chicken. Punk's can accommodate parties up to 120 persons on our outdoor patios and up to 100 persons indoors, limited availability. You bring the guests we bring the Southern Food and hospitality.

Punk's Simple Southern Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Houston
Outdoor Dining
Houston
Best Restaurants in Rice Village ›

great for outdoor dining (46)
kid-friendly (41)
good for groups (38)
See All
great for lunch (35)
neighborhood gem (35)
great for brunch (29)
fit for foodies (24)
hot spot (12)
special occasion (10)
scenic view (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
late-night find (5)
romantic (2)
Sort By:
Newest
196 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was really good. The service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was really good.

The service was slow (appetizer took 20 minutes). The value was lacking for this reviewer as the pickle chips appetizer contained about 12 total pickle chips for $5. 4 of us ate and spent $62, without alcohol, eating fried chicken and one with a hamburger and no dessert. Guess this is more than what we were looking for on this particular visit.

You will most likely pay to park and they do not validate your parking as a patron of the restaurant.

I probably will not go back but the food was good enough for me to reconsider if in the area again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Great service excellent food quality def ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great service excellent food quality definitely will be back for bunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Be prepared to wait at least 20 minutes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Be prepared to wait at least 20 minutes for the fried chicken for just 2 people.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

interesting menu, loved the deviled eggs ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

interesting menu, loved the deviled eggs. really neat industrial looking building. very friendly wait staff and attentive manager.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We celebrated a friend's birthday by hav ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated a friend's birthday by having brunch on a Saturday. The fried chicken is the best thing to get. I suggest getting the whole bird and sharing it with 2-3 people. Hush puppies are delicious and the loaded tots are different (they are actually rice balls with cheese and bacon and then rolled with potato flakes and fried).

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great shrimp n grits. Good value for amo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great shrimp n grits. Good value for amount of food. Fried pickles and Mac awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a wonderful experience! We had devil ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Had a wonderful experience! We had deviled eggs, loaded potato bites, fried chicken, chicken fried steak, macaroni & cheese, burgers, and more. Gravy was delicious. We loved the cotton candy sparkler they brought out for my husband's birthday! Even saw Coach O'Brien there- Go Texans!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every experience was good but my friends ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Every experience was good but my friends meatloaf dish wasn't good. She was very disappointed. My dish was "okay"

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our brunch. The corn h ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We really enjoyed our brunch. The corn hush puppies and Juleps were very tasty. We ordered the fried chicken (5 piece) as our entree and it was just okay. I've had better fried chicken at Popeye's. We had dessert - gooey butter bars. Those were like heaven! All in all, it's a great place. I don't recommend the fried chicken, but everything else was great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

The food was great and fried deviled egg ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was great and fried deviled eggs were so delicious so we ordered it twice. The only negative is the hostess is unorganized and I did not appreciate her giving me an up and down look before she helped me.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Been here several times and I've always ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Been here several times and I've always enjoyed the experience. Service is great and the food is always good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent down home southern cooking. Wa ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent down home southern cooking. Wait staff very courteous and efficient. Food and service were excellent. I highly recommend this casual southern cooking restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Some of the food and drinks shown online ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Some of the food and drinks shown online were no longer on the menu. Ordered fried chicken because waiter said was best in city. I would strongly disagree. Food was average. First and last visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

Fabulous....can't wait to go back. Hush ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fabulous....can't wait to go back. Hush puppies and the greens were amazing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was awesome!! Food was sooooo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

This place was awesome!! Food was sooooooo good!! We all left with clean plates! The drinks were yummy!! You have to get the Farmarita! Just wonderful!! We will definitely be back!! Great service great food great atmosphere what more can you ask for!! You don't wanna pass this place up!! Mad I hadn't tried it sooner!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The collard greens texture and seasoning ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The collard greens texture and seasonings

the best I've tasted of any restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Really fun place with a great menu -- th ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Really fun place with a great menu -- the "loaded" devil's eggs are phenomenal, as is their fried chicken. Honestly, everything we had was fantastic. It's a wee bit pricey, but you can't question the quality and the ambiance is very very fun.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

If you looking for a dish to wow you and ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

If you looking for a dish to wow you and knock your socks off you won't find it here. We really enjoy the ambiance and the bar here but theropod is always average. I prefer the brunch over the dinner here. The biscuit bar is definitely worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We loved it! The food was great and the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We loved it! The food was great and the decor is adorable, right down to the clothespin on the napkin

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upon arrival at Punk's we were offered a ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Upon arrival at Punk's we were offered an outdoor table full sun which we declined. The hostess showed poor customer service by making sure to tell me the wait for any alternative would be 45 minutes. A manager was able to seat us. Our waiter was nice but was very lost during our lunch and actually tried to take our order twice. He did not get the order correct and food was not as good as it once was. The dining room is crowded with customers and staff squeezing between tables. Valet is the only parking available at $5 whereas most places in the city offer valet for customary tips.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

The ambiance is really good, as well as ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The ambiance is really good, as well as the location is great. Food, I find, is a little overpriced for overall taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Took a while before we were waited on ( ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Took a while before we were waited on (it was busy) after being seated upon arrival. Our drink order arrived with our appetizer and our main courses arrived about 2 minutes later. We did not have time to enjoy our appetizer/drinks before having additional food/plates being placed on our table. Food was excellent and our server was very attentive. Need some work on their timing.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

For a seafood place it was not stinky at all!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

This place was great for our business meeting! Food was great, quality and quantity was great, service was great and I cannot wait to go back and try the brunch menu! Just everything about Punk's was perfect. Seating arrangement, it was not noisy at all for us to have a successful business meeting. I do not like seafood, my coworkers chose to go to Punk's so I thought, no big deal, I would just find something else on the menu that wasn't seafood related. I was quite hesitant because most seafood places have that "seafood smell penetrated" but this was not the case here which was oh so very pleasing to me! I ended up having the Chicken Fried Steak. Best choice by far! Loved it! My coworkers got either the Fried Chicken or Shrimp and Grits - they too were super pleased by taste and quantity.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu changed

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Although good food, the menu on line is not the same menu at the restaurant. We were disappointed.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Overpriced and underflavored

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The sweet corn nuggets as an appetizer were ok when you first bite into them but you will soon discover there is not much flavor and they tasted a bit mealy. The fried chicken was decent but not worth the price. The chicken pot pie was very small (size of a swanson's frozen) and I would actually prefer a Marie Calendar pot pie, especially for the price we paid. The sides - Horseradish mash, mac n cheese and collards were average without much southern flavor. The drinks were good but $10 each. The ambiance is nice and family oriented with a kids play area out back, which indicates the noise lever. Overall, might give it another shot if we happen to be in the Rice Village area, but no special trips. If you have kids and money and don't need a lot of flavor or spice (as most southerners do) then it's a perfect spot for you! The servers were nice.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Cool atmosphere, very nice staff

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My husband and I sat at the bar first and then switched to a table for our dinner, and all of the staff we interacted with were very nice. We started out with the deviled eggs which were enjoyable. He loved his avocado burger (although the fries were pretty average) and I thought the airline chicken was very good. The ladies at the table next to us got the fried chicken, which looked and smelled outstanding. Will have to go back again to try it!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I must say that on my first visit to Pun ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I must say that on my first visit to Punk’s Simple Southern Food I was not impressed and somewhat disappointed for the most part.

The staff was very friendly and I really like the ambience and layout of the restaurant. Great outdoor seating is available and appears seat more than the interior of the restaurant.

We order the PICKLE CHIPS and PIMENTO CHEESE DIP for starters and both were excellent. The pickle chips were served with a tasty sauce and came out crispy but a bit oily. For a table of four there isn’t enough for sharing, so we had to order a second serving. If you like pimento cheese, you MUST try this starter, served with Ritz crackers, celery and carrots. Serving is plenty for four, but we did have to ask for more Ritz crackers (a $0.50 charge???).

Our table had two CHICKEN FRIED STEAKS, one CRISPY BUTTERMILK FRIED CHICKEN (5 pc.), and a SALISBURY STEAK. As this is “southern” we were all about the gravies!! The chicken fried steaks were very large with nice batter, not to thick, and covered with cream gravy. All of the dishes were served with horseradish mash and cream gravy; unfortunate no one at our table could taste the horseradish in the mash, but they were very good without it.

A couple of ‘NANA PUDDIN’ were shared by the table, but only about ½ of one was eaten. I personally didn’t care for the nana pudding, but then I’m very particular about banana pudding. Apparently the rest of the table felt the same, or they were just too hungry to finish.

After $250.00 for a “simple dinner” for four, I’ll be thinking twice before going back to Punks. But you’ll still find me often at the other CCC restaurants.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Nice place... We have been twice now and ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Nice place... We have been twice now and had the same server. Good Southern Food...highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun new restaurant

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This is a great restaurant. Has great atmosphere in a great location. Food was great and had a great drink selection. Great for families.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fried chicken was absolutely to die for! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Fried chicken was absolutely to die for!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food. Our server was an order ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Delicious food. Our server was an order taker, wish she'd suggested more or tried to engage us since it was our first visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

My favorite casual brunch in Houston!

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

My favorite casual brunch in Houston!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and amazing dessert. The gooe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and amazing dessert. The gooey butter cake bites are amazing and that's an understatement.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great place to dine with kids.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I dine here with my 3 year old daughter almost weekly. The food is good and the back patio is great for kids to run around and play while waiting for the food. The service is great.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to take grandchildren

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We took our 13 and 10 year old grandchildren. They enjoyed it. The food was good and simple. The waitstaff was very good. The wine list for us adults was fine with decent selection. Casual dining (we came straight from a baseball game). I particularly liked the pickled shrimp appetizer. It was very good. The chicken fried steak was large, and good. The kids menu chicken strips were good and so was the cheeseburger.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

with their special sauce, a must have.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

I took my daughter here for her birthday because we love Punks and the experience was delightful. The food was very good and the staff went out of their way to make her special occasion meaningful. We were seated immediately and our wait staff was very professional.

This is my new go to place for special moments!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The fried chicken is wonderful. Seriousl ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

The fried chicken is wonderful. Seriously. Try it! Perfect place to hang out with your friends and chat about the nothings of life over a nice beer or whiskey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent menu choices

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

I brought a client to lunch here and he loved the buffalo chicken sandwich. And the deviled eggs were incredible!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was excellent as al ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The service and food was excellent as always!!! Love this place :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great location, great food awesome service!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

I visited this restaurant for the first time with my family after church service one Sunday and I must say it was quite a pleasure. We opted to sit out on the patio and enjoy the nice breeze, because is sits tucked away in a neighborhood the scenery was very pleasant. We all ordered different entrees and everyone was quite pleased with the taste and portions of the meals. Our waiter was Mrince and he was nothing short of great when it comes to customer service. We will definitely be back and we have already told lots of people about this nice establishment.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.