About Punk's Simple Southern Food

5212 Morningside
Houston, TX 77005
View Larger Map

Punk's is all about Southern hospitality married to a healthy dose of swagger and good manners. Southern native Chef Brandi Key channels her inner child at this rambunctious restaurant that almost feels as if you are on her back porch sipping somethin'. From Texas to Louisiana, Mississippi to Georgia and the Carolinas, these are recipes handed down by generations. Mix and match Grandpa Do's buttermilk biscuits - Ham & Jam, Chicken Fry, Crawdads and Gravy Train; Snack on Deviled Eggs with pickled relish, mustard & smoked paprika or Pickled Gulf Shrimp tossed in a medley of fresh vegetables and spiced vinegar. Fried Seafood Poboys, Redfish on the half shell, Braised Collard Greens and Mom's Cornbread share the spotlight with Grandma Pat's Crispy Buttermilk Fried Chicken.

Dining Style:
Home Style

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food, Soul food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch and Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:00am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:00am - 11:00pm, Sunday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Rice Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(713) 524-7865

Website:
http://www.punkssimplesouthernfood.com/

Parking Details:
Ample street parking in Rice Village with full valet service offered as well.

Executive Chef:
Brandi Key

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Comfort is key at Punk’s as guests dig into Deviled Eggs, Sweet Corn Hushpuppies and Buttermilk Fried Chicken. Punk's can accommodate parties up to 120 persons on our outdoor patios and up to 100 persons indoors, limited availability. You bring the guests we bring the Southern Food and hospitality.

Punk's Simple Southern Food Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Kid Friendly
Houston
Outdoor Dining
Houston
Outdoor Dining
Houston
Best Restaurants in Rice Village ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (42)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Kid-friendly (33)
See All
Good for Groups (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Special Occasion (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Fun (6)
Casual (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Family Style (4)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Scenic View (3)
Business Meals (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Romantic (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
Newest
233 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food, great service.

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent - took the time to ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 6 days ago

Service was excellent - took the time to offer suggestions & explanations - definitely southern

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The deviled egg app had a weird taste to ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined 7 days ago

The deviled egg app had a weird taste to them, but the hush puppies were amazing.

Entrees were great. Service was not so great. Maybe she was new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Food is very tasty and definitely "comfo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food is very tasty and definitely "comfort" food. Sauces were rich and tasty and the hush puppies were crispy and delicious. My only complaint was we ordered the hush puppies as an appetizer, however they came out a mere few minutes before our main course. I felt a little rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I liked the fried chicken and Mac n chee ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I liked the fried chicken and Mac n cheese. The blackened fish was good as well. I didn't care much for the shrimp and grits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

My only complaint is the price of the fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

My only complaint is the price of the food. Everything else was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The red beans and rice was bland. They f ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The red beans and rice was bland. They forgot it came with sausage. The sausage was brought to my table and served as a side. It was unremarkable. The collard greens were overcooked and bland. No cornbread available! No desserts with peaches! Definitely missing Southern ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

Wonderful as always!

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Wonderful as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our server. Loved our food.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Loved our server. Loved our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and personable wait staff ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent food and personable wait staff. Comfortable decor. We were in town 6 days and ate there 3 evenings. When back in Houston, we'll eat there again.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classic Southern comfort food in a relax ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Classic Southern comfort food in a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. We enjoyed a fried chicken dish and a bacon avocado burger. Both were tasty and filling. We originally chose this because of its proximity to Rice University and good ratings on OpenTable. Punk's did not disappoint.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food & service were wonderful. Howe ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food & service were wonderful. However, we elected to eat on the patio, and I won't do that again. A group with children sat next to us, and they proceeded to turn the patio area into their own personal soccer field....complete with yelling parents and children...not exactly the ambience we were going for that day... They seemed to be totally oblivious to the other diners in the area, who did not come there to watch kids play soccer. Next time, we will definitely eat inside....

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice family venue great chicken

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice family venue great chicken

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Without a doubt the best fried chicken e ...

vip
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Without a doubt the best fried chicken ever! The only thing better was the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First the parking is not good. Valet is ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

First the parking is not good. Valet is the only way. While the inside dining room was noisy, we had a server who was not the best. He was trying, but seemed to not be attentive much. The biscuits were good and eggs were done correctly, but it just was not inspiring. There were too many bell peppers in the potatoes, more peppers than potatoes. For brunch, it was underwhelming. The fried chicken looked good, but we did not try that.

We would sit outside next time, if there will be a next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Although we made a reservation and they ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Although we made a reservation and they even called to confirm the reservation when we got there they said that we would have to eat outside (raining and over 90 degrees) because there weren't seats available inside for 2 hours and that because we reserved it that morning it wasn't really a reservation. It was not a quick drive there so very disappointing and embarrassing.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our waiter was really helpful but the fo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our waiter was really helpful but the food runners were having an issue with table numbers which caused our appetizer to go to another table. After that we received our meals but they were not as good as they had been in the past. Our chicken was dry and needed seasoning and the waffle was hard. Drinks were good though. I have been three other times and always had great food. This time not so much.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Food was delicious but our waiter was ho ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was delicious but our waiter was horrible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

Went here for Houston Restaurant Weeks. ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went here for Houston Restaurant Weeks. Beautiful place, but the food quality, presentation of the food, the timing of the service and the temperature of the food left a lot to be desired. There were 5 of us in the party, and we all drew the same conclusion. However, the drinks (cocktails) were good and the wine by bottle was reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

great friendly staff and atmophere. good ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

great friendly staff and atmophere. good food, bit on the expensive side for home cooking, but not shy with portions.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

What a Great place for a get together. S ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What a Great place for a get together. Service , food and location all excellent. The Fried Chicken is AWESOME!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

What a pleasant surprise! The food was ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

What a pleasant surprise! The food was good, the service was great and the price was right.

Nice place. I definitely plan to come back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It is a beautiful casual restaurant. The ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

It is a beautiful casual restaurant. The food was fabulous and flavorful. The staff was incredibly friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The server Will was great as well as the ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The server Will was great as well as the location but the food left much to be desired. I ordered the wings and waffle.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Great beer selection, meatloaf and chick ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great beer selection, meatloaf and chicken fried steak! The service is excellent, too.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

We found the service to be attentive but ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We found the service to be attentive but not overwhelming, the food to be delicious and the overall experience to be outstanding. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall a big disappointment! Sorry bec ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Overall a big disappointment! Sorry because was so looking forward to a great dining experience.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Houston restaurant weeks visit, and mid ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Houston restaurant weeks visit, and mid week so not as crowded. Table for five with a chair missing was our start. No drinks were ordered but they tried to give us other tables orders, three times. Food was good, nothing I make at home but a bit ordinary. Friends burger and fries were very Whataburger like: good but not really worth the $35 HRW price tag. Dessert of cake bites and Brownie made up for it. I'll plan a return visit for the fried chicken.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Entree arrived before we were half way t ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Entree arrived before we were half way thru appeteiser so I asked the waiter to take it back to the kitchen and keep it warm. When we did get to it, the meatloaf was huge and much better than the shrimp and grits. I shared the meatloaf and left the s&g virtually untouched. My dessert was so sweet I could only eat a few bites. We might go back to try the fried chicken which the next table had and looked good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The restaurant was understaffed. We had ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The restaurant was understaffed. We had to ask for drinks, ask for silverware, ask for our wine several times. This was our fourth visit, but probably our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Awesome southern food and a nice, laid-b ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Awesome southern food and a nice, laid-back atmosphere. Came for Houston Restaurant Weeks with friends but look forward to coming back with the kids!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food with Southern flair, excellen ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food with Southern flair, excellent drinks, and amazing service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for restaurant weeks but will gladl ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went for restaurant weeks but will gladly go again! Great food and service, welcoming and kid friendly with out being kiddie. Good drink menu. Great location!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good comfort food very well prepared. A ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Good comfort food very well prepared. A very Village spot.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was really good. The service ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was really good.

The service was slow (appetizer took 20 minutes). The value was lacking for this reviewer as the pickle chips appetizer contained about 12 total pickle chips for $5. 4 of us ate and spent $62, without alcohol, eating fried chicken and one with a hamburger and no dessert. Guess this is more than what we were looking for on this particular visit.

You will most likely pay to park and they do not validate your parking as a patron of the restaurant.

I probably will not go back but the food was good enough for me to reconsider if in the area again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Great service excellent food quality def ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great service excellent food quality definitely will be back for bunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Be prepared to wait at least 20 minutes ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Be prepared to wait at least 20 minutes for the fried chicken for just 2 people.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

interesting menu, loved the deviled eggs ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

interesting menu, loved the deviled eggs. really neat industrial looking building. very friendly wait staff and attentive manager.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We celebrated a friend's birthday by hav ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We celebrated a friend's birthday by having brunch on a Saturday. The fried chicken is the best thing to get. I suggest getting the whole bird and sharing it with 2-3 people. Hush puppies are delicious and the loaded tots are different (they are actually rice balls with cheese and bacon and then rolled with potato flakes and fried).

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great shrimp n grits. Good value for amo ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Great shrimp n grits. Good value for amount of food. Fried pickles and Mac awesome.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.