About Puckett’s Historic Downtown Franklin

120 4th Ave South
Franklin, TN 37064
View Larger Map

A little history…
Have you ever walked into a place, and you instantly feel at home? Well, Puckett's Grocery and Restaurant is that sort of place. Founded in the 1950s, Puckett's served as a country store to several communities in Williamson County. It has always been the place to buy some food, grab a good homemade sandwich and catch up on the day's events in the world and at home.

In 2004, Puckett's opened in Historic Downtown Franklin, and now in 2010, Downtown Nashville as well.

Southern breakfasts with local, organic eggs, award winning burgers, plate lunches,fresh salads, cherry wood smoked BBQ pulled pork and ribs, and homemade desserts, make every meal memorable.

Add live entertainment from some of Nashville's greatest artists and songwriters and you have the complete Puckett's experience!

Open at 7am every day, Puckett's invites you to come on down and see us!

Real Food, Real People, Real Fun!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-9pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 794-5527

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/franklin/index.php

Entertainment:
Tuesday through Saturday Night, with the occasional special Sunday show. Please see our online calendar for more details at: http://puckettsgro.com/franklin/events

Executive Chef:
Jesse Quatro

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

"Country" Club
Chicken Fried Chicken
Fried Green Tomato BLT
Strawberry Field Salad
Puckett's Patty Melt
Coffee
Grilled Chicken Salad Sandwich
Western Omelette
Bubba's Eggs Benedict
Chicken Noodle Soup
Smoked Sausage & Cheese Plate
Fried Green Beans
Puckett Burger With Pimento Cheese
Coke
Diet Coke
Abita Pecan Beer
Maccallan 12
Country Club Sandwhich
Red Neck Burrito
veggie burger with seasoned fries
veggie burger with sweet potato fries
St. Patty's Melt
Backwoods Cherry Cola
Piggy Mac
Shrimp and Grits
Chili And Grilled Cheese
portabello burger
Jalapeno Omlete
Maui Waui Burger
Prime Rib
Reba Sangria
Pulled Pork Plate
Pulled Pork Nachos

Puckett’s Historic Downtown Franklin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Nashville
Neighborhood Gem
Nashville
Best Value
Nashville
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Franklin / Brentwood ›

Neighborhood Gem (52)
Kid-friendly (32)
Good for Groups (32)
See All
Great for Lunch (32)
Hot Spot (25)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Special Occasion (19)
Great for Brunch (13)
Late-night Find (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Romantic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was the first time we had ever been ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was the first time we had ever been to this restaurant. It was our 3 year anniversary and we decided to try something new. Although, the night we decided to go there was no live music :( we still had a blast. Our waiter was super kind and very knowledgeable! The food was perfect! I got the catfish with fries and mashed potatoes! Matt got the steak with sweet potato fries with mashed potatoes! We also finished the night with some banana pudding, delicious! All together this was such a great place and experience! Much better than we expected [no offense] we didn't know what to expect! We go to Cock of the Walk in Nashville quite often and Puckett's place was in my opinion equal. I love both, I probably would have loved it more if I went on a night with live music. I mean we live in Nashville, it's wonderful to listen to all the talented people that come through here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pucketts offers an incredible menu - fro ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Pucketts offers an incredible menu - from appetizers (might I suggest the fried green beans), to salads, sandwiches and entrees. Food was amazing. The music was even more amazing (Scott Reeves, Emily Reeves, Mark Narmore and TW Hale)!! Our waitstaff was the absolute best (Brett). After the show, we were leaving for home - a long drive back to CT. Brett made sure we had coffees to go. The TN people is one of the reasons I love TN so much.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pucketts is always a great experience. G ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Pucketts is always a great experience. Great food, great people, great music - great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Great place to hear local musicians with ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great place to hear local musicians with pub grub that is quite good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

We love Puckett's in downtown Franklin! ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We love Puckett's in downtown Franklin! The food was an excellent example of good southern cooking and the service was friendly and efficient. Our only concern was that we really wanted to hear the music and this was difficult given a very loud (rather obnoxious) group that wasn't interested in hearing the music. The next time we go to Puckett's we'll know better than to expect to be able to listen to the music.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

loud, poor service, worse food. Cover c ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

loud, poor service, worse food. Cover charge foe entertainment exorbitant for the level of professionalism

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Lots of menu options and great comfort f ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Lots of menu options and great comfort food! A few items were already sold out before 7:00 which I thought was a bit odd. The portions were easily shareable and our group enjoyed everything we had.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Although we had always enjoyed our Pucke ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Although we had always enjoyed our Puckett's experience, the food was terribly off Tuesday evening. Neither the squash casserole or mashed sweet potatoes, resembled our expectations, however our Server Rob was fabulous. We thoroughly enjoyed Adam Bruno, purchasing each of his cds after his performance. We would attempt the dining again, since we suspect there was a new cook/chef or someone inadvertently used wrong seasonings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent except the music was too loud. ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Excellent except the music was too loud. Decided to eat outside where is was quiet.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Puckett's is the ultimate country kitche ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Puckett's is the ultimate country kitchen/store dining experience. The dow home atmosphere cannot be beat. If you're in Franklin, you must stop in

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was mine and my husbands first time ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

This was mine and my husbands first time in Franklin and Pucketts and we absolutely loved it! We will be back! The atmosphere was friendly and welcoming!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place with ambiance. Live music fr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great place with ambiance. Live music from Nashville's best. Definitely going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One my favorite places! Great music scen ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

One my favorite places! Great music scene ! Good menu! Love everything about it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We planned a dinner at Puckett's with my ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We planned a dinner at Puckett's with my in-laws for Father's Day: they enjoyed the fish sandwich, burger, and the sides they choose to go with them (coleslaw, fries, and onion rings). We were glad to see that with each visit with us, the get a solid, satisfactory experience with Puckett's and continue to want to return when in Franklin, TN.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The BBQ is great!!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The BBQ is great!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fried chicken was tough and over cooked. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Fried chicken was tough and over cooked. The waiter got the order wrong. Mashed sweet potatoes were not good. Have eaten the fried chicken here on numerous occasions and it was always good but not this night. Very substandard.

The music group was The Boomerangs. The musicians were very good but the female singers were not good. Not worth a $12 cover charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Dinner reservations set for 30 minutes p ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Dinner reservations set for 30 minutes prior to Blue Hollow show. The restaurant was busy. Noise level was high. Host service and food service (BBQ platter and fried bologna sandwich) was prompt and on-point. Between the server trainer and trainee, we were surprised on the lower frequency of check-ins. Overall, it was a good experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great night with family. Food was great ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great night with family. Food was great and live music was the topper to a great evening. Three songwriters who kept us laughing all night long (and took us down memory lane with a couple of classics). Highly recommend to anyone looking for good food, casual atmosphere and good night out.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We arrived early and we were seated. Cu ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We arrived early and we were seated. Cute country atmosphere with friendly staff. After tasting a few drafts we settled on beer and sampled chicken wings. We ordered smoked ribs and fried chicken. Both were delicious and filling. The green beans sides were not special but the corn cakes were quite good. Great service with a live band at 830p (cover charge added to check)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great Southern Cooking, friendly and att ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Great Southern Cooking, friendly and attentive waiter and wait staff! Very fun and lively atmosphere. We were visiting from Chicago Area and appreciated the Southern Hospitality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We flew in from Wisconsin for a work mee ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We flew in from Wisconsin for a work meeting and had made reservations for dinner at 7:30 in order to listen to the live music. We arrived at 7:20 and our table was ready and waiting for us. The entertainment started promptly at 7:30 - she was fantastic! The pulled pork was excellent and the beer was cold. It was a perfect first day in the greater Nashville area. The restaurant was full and quite loud but was to be expected due to the live music. This is a quaint little joint that I would highly recommend to foodies as well as lovers of live music! Will definitely return on our next trip to Brentwood.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Dinner with old friends

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We chose Puckett's as a good place to have dinner with old friends. We wanted good food and to be able to linger and talk. Our waiter wass great and he allowed us to chat after we were finished eating. The pulled pork and hamburger were great, but the salad and catfish were just average. It also seemed nosier than previously. We did enjoy our conversation and the atmosphere at Puckett's. We will return, but will stick to the pulled pork and sweet potato fries.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Patrick, our server, was wonderful. Food ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Patrick, our server, was wonderful. Food was great and gluten free options are plentiful. Music made us happy to be in (outside of) Nashville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wanted to like it...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Seated promptly with reservation. Sunday evening and not overly crowded. Feel like sitting in community center with grocery fridge/freezers tucked in one corner and small bar in the other. Kitchen was wide open to the back like a school cafeteria. No live music, etc. between 6-7p. Server was friendly but very forgetful about multiple things and in the weeds. Appetizer was fried green beans and they were ok. Restaurant was out of the flank steak that wife intended to order so she switched to a filet. Prepared fine and meal was average. Smoked ribs were tough and hard to pull off the bone. Child loved piggy mac. Other child had grilled PBJ since it was different and like it. For dessert, tried chess pie, pecan pie, and peach cobbler. All were good. Not sure how this is a top 15-20 mentioned restaurant, honestly. Downtown Franklin is charming.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Really fun night! My three grandkids tho ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Really fun night! My three grandkids thought it was awesome! They enjoyed their meals and the service was great also. Yes, we will come again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good time

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Always a good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great time!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

I love bringing friends here for great food and great entertainment. Always come away knowing we will be back again soon! Am always impressed with the friendly hospitality of the wait staff!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and good live music. I ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

Great ambiance and good live music. I took a friend for the first time and she was really impressed. The Piggy mac (BBQ with mac and cheese) was awesome and a large portion! I was disappointed there was no cherry cobbler (my favorite)...well. they had it but it had been made with maraschino cherries and that did not sound good. Overall, a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, another great meal. Food is alw ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall, another great meal. Food is always excellent. Though, this meal was a little lacking in service. Appetizer came out 30 seconds before the salads, and the meal came 30 seconds after that. Seems like we were being hurried along, even though it was the emptiest I've ever seen the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Breakfast was great. Had the country ha ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Breakfast was great. Had the country ham. Come hungry because there is lots of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Puckett's Franklin!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Puckett's in Franklin always delivers in both quality food and service. If it's a southern meal you're looking for, you have found it. I brought my guests from Germany to indulge in some southern fried chicken and mashed potatoes & gravy and boy what a hit! They loved every bite. But, it's not just the food that brings me back to Puckett's. The service is amazing. From start to finish, always an attentive wait staff to bring a smile to your face and make your evening enjoyable. Then, there's the music! You'll hear great artists, old and new - climbing their way to the top of the charts. Also, Puckett's in Leipers Fork is a great stop as well. Yes, I'm a big fan of Puckett's. They always deliver!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Florida visitor

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Prior to coming to Franklin wife discovered Puckett's on the internet and we made reservation for Dinner. Best decision SHE made. Everything - was GREAT - food, wait service, and atmosphere. Looking forward to our return one day. And we will praise you to all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pucketts - take family and guests

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Continues to be our "pick" to take family and friends visiting from across the country. Unbeatable food. Awesome service. Tennessee atmosphere with down home memories as well as great music.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extremehiker

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We have frequented this site many times. It's a great place to grab dinner and listen to local artists.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Music City Vibe

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Pucketts Captures the down home feeling of life in middle Tennessee with its charming country store atmosphere . The food is everything you would expect from a southern kitchen on any Farm table. The music which is the heartbeat of middle Tennesseans is the highlight and best part which pulls the whole experience of Pucketts together and makes it a MUST while in this fabulous Town . I love coming back home to visit and find what I miss all in one place! Madie NC

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food, friendly people

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. The food was excellent and the staff is friendly. Also enjoy the music. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sherry

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Great date night with hubby. Listened to song writer musicians singing great hits. Great food and cozy atmosphere. We had a great time!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Pucketts

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We have visited and enjoyed the music and food a number of times. The venue is unique, friendly, a great value. We have had a lot of out of town guests visit us and we make it a point of taking them to downtown Nashville and Franklin Pucketts. It has not failed to please ourselves and our guests.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The food is comfort food with a comforta ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

The food is comfort food with a comfortable environment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place to go in Franklin

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

The Piggy Mac entree is amazing. Their house beer was very watered down. Great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.