About Puckett’s Historic Downtown Franklin

120 4th Ave South
Franklin, TN 37064
View Larger Map

A little history…
Have you ever walked into a place, and you instantly feel at home? Well, Puckett's Grocery and Restaurant is that sort of place. Founded in the 1950s, Puckett's served as a country store to several communities in Williamson County. It has always been the place to buy some food, grab a good homemade sandwich and catch up on the day's events in the world and at home.

In 2004, Puckett's opened in Historic Downtown Franklin, and now in 2010, Downtown Nashville as well.

Southern breakfasts with local, organic eggs, award winning burgers, plate lunches,fresh salads, cherry wood smoked BBQ pulled pork and ribs, and homemade desserts, make every meal memorable.

Add live entertainment from some of Nashville's greatest artists and songwriters and you have the complete Puckett's experience!

Open at 7am every day, Puckett's invites you to come on down and see us!

Real Food, Real People, Real Fun!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-9pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 794-5527

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/franklin/index.php

Entertainment:
Tuesday through Saturday Night, with the occasional special Sunday show. Please see our online calendar for more details at: http://puckettsgro.com/franklin/events

Executive Chef:
Jesse Quatro

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Puckett’s Historic Downtown Franklin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (35)
Comfort Food (20)
Casual (20)
See All
Fun (18)
Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Historic (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Authentic (12)
Cozy (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Family Style (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
People Watching (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Romantic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
647 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Table was ready when we got there. The staff was amazing and we loved our waitress. The food was great and VERY generous. However the best thing was the friend brownie sundae. OMGoodness!!!!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Local hotspot; great food. Live shows are awesome! I had the pulled pork platter. I substituted the mac and cheese for the sweet potato fries and it was a good call. The mac and cheese was served in a small iron skillet; probably the best mac and cheese that I have had in a restaurant. So much food; if you leave there hungry it's your own fault. That night there was a trio of songwriters on stage. It was a great show.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Historic, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

A Southern down home charmer not to be missed! Good variety on the menu and the portions are generous. Wish we were able to enjoy more than one course, but we aren't ever able to! We were there while live music was playing. It can get a bit loud, which can hamper dinner conversation, but that's part of the experience!

Tags: Authentic, Casual, People Watching, Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We love going to Puckett's when there is live music. So much fun for dinner and a show!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Did not eat there. Cover charge was a little expensive for 1 1/2 of music. Not too bad of experience for first visit.

Tags: Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our waitress, though friendly, was the most inattentive waitress I've ever had. After placing the food on the table it was 35 minutes before she returned to check on us. Glasses were empty and I was unhappy with my food selection but had picked at it enough in the 35 minute wait that she didn't even give me opportunity to explain my concerns. I ordered the Shrimp and grits and asked for no tomatoes, onions or mushrooms. They left off the mushrooms but not the other veggies and there were virtually no grits to be found. When I told her that I couldn't find the grits she laughed and took my plate away. The only time she returned was to drop the bill. If it hadn't been that I made the trip especially for the live music that night I probably would have left. Or at least spoke to management. Will not go out of my way to return.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Went for my birthday celebration with my fiancée. She had the whiskey grilled chicken and mashed sweet potatoes, and I had the Cajun chicken and fries. Fries was cold, but the chicken was really delicious! My fiancée really enjoyed the Caesar Salad and mashed sweet potatoes. However, she said the grilled chicken was good, but could've had more seasoning. Had fried pickles as an appetizer and they were good, but not your average fried pickles where these are breaded sweet and spicy compared to regular dill pickles. Waiter was very attentive and took great care of us!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual, Historic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food. Everything I heard it would be!

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Historic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 4, 2017

We always love dining at Puckett's, Our server was Stan the man, excellent service and the food is always made Fresh.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 2, 2017

This was our first time to eat here and it was AMAZING!! We were celebrating my birthday and we'll definitely be back soon! Service was quick and friendly. The food was some of the best we've ever had!! Looking forward to eating here again very soon!!

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Historic, Cozy, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Live Music, Comfort Food, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for New Year's Eve celebration. Food and music were outstanding! Service was beyond perfect ~ LOVED Puckett's wine!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We visited Pucketts for the New Years Eve show with the WannaBeatles. We were seated promptly and have very good service. Menu was limited due to special event but we have been to Puckett's several times. Great for breakfast and lunch or casual dinner. Entertainment is always excellent.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Pucketts never disappoints. Free parking in garage across the street. Live music with no cover most weeknights.

Tags: People Watching, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Great for Lunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 24, 2016

First time to Pucketts. Enjoyed the good and music. Loved the turnip greens and smoked meatloaf.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Historic, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 20, 2016

We did not have the best waitress ---- got the wine order wrong then had to wait almost 20 minutes for correct wine. I ordered shrimp and grits, taste was ok but hardly any grits, very soup like. Almost too runny to eat. My friends food looked very good though. Live Music was awesome!

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 14, 2016

They sat us by the door which would have been fine if it was summer time, with it being winter time and the door kept opening and closing it was way too cold, I was freezing the whole time.

They sat a party at 12 behind us was clearly not enough room between the 2 tables so it made me feel really uncomfortable. It took 10 minutes to even get greeted by our server. I am a server myself so I know how things can be but still it shouldn't have taken that long. The food was good and we will definitely come back but you may need to improve on those things for future guests.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 14, 2016

I had the best chicken fried chicken ever. All of the food was very tasty, the service was prompt and attentive, and the experience was fun.

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 10, 2016

So much fun! And the food so tasty!! Will definitely be back!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Catfish good, cole slaw way too tangy!!!! Will not go back! My waitress was great.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Amazing dinner at a fun place. I have food allergies and they were very accommodating! Also we enjoyed the live music! Awesome place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The music was great, service was very good and the hot wings are a must have everytime I am in Nashville. My husband loves the piggy mac. Great comfort food.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Wonderful ! If you want to experience the Nashville/Franklin feel, this is THE place!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Late-night Find, Tapas, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Historic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Live Music, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Franklin Pucketts never disappoints. We go there for the singer songwriter nights which are wonderful. The food is good; we can always find something to please everyone.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We had a great evening Saturday night with friends . The entertainment that nite was the group , The Boomers , and they were outstanding , bringing back memories of high school and college days ! Such fun! Thanks for a lovely evening !

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent breakfast place in downtown Franklin. Reason for evening visit was specifically for the live entertainment feature, On Call Band.

Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Service was slow, I'd not get our order right, and food was cold...we were very disappointed would never go back. It was our first time in Franklin and we expected more from this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great food. The squash casserole, a must!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My wife and I absolutely loved this place! It was a little pricey, but only because we have kids and don't make a ton of money so we never go out! I will say for what we paid, we found that it was absolutely worth it. The entertainment was fabulous, the service was spectacular, and the food was amazing! This was the first time my wife and I went out on a date in over a year. This is the place we chose and we were absolutely satisfied with our decision.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Family Style, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Casual, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fun, Worth the Drive, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 7, 2016

My husband, my nine-year-old and myself were driving through from FL to Ohio and decided to stay the night in Nashville. We looked online for kid friendly places, that still has live music and great food. Puckett's filled that bill to a T! Awesome food, great entertainment, service was excellent! Not one complaint from any of us.... and my little one is now a fan of country music!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Pucketts is always great. We have been several times. My husband and I love date night at Pucketts and the musical guest that appear. The food is great, however were very disappointed that the hanger steak was taken off menu choice. 😟 We loved Mo Pitney!! He is an awesome young man. Thanks for having him so we could be entertained by such a genuine humble guy.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Live Music, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I did not like the $12 per person coverage charge was a little over the top and he really not that good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 3, 2016

A must when visiting Franklin. Great BBQ and pimento cheese sandwiches. Friendly service and unique atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Heard this was a must see while visiting Franklin and they were right. Piggyback was fabulous!!Service was excellent too.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

This is one of the best meals and experiences dining out I have had in a long time. I got the smoked half chicken. Absolutely AMAZING! One of the best chicken dishes I have ever had. Turnip greens are awesome! The music was great as well (The Young Fables). My friends had the brisket topped with Gouda Mac/Cheese and said it was great. Our server was on point with good suggestions about what we should order. I would suggest making reservations in advance like we did because this is a popular spot in Franklin. We will definitely be back again and again.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A thoroughly enjoyable evening. The service was excellent, the food was good, and the musical entertainment was wonderful. Would highly recommend for out of town visitors but us locals enjoyed it too. Great place to bring friends and family of all ages.

Tags: Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We were visiting the area looking at Realestate and pucketts was recommended to us, I had the fried chicken my husband had the ribs, both were delish. The band was shout and was good and lively. We enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food was amazingly good, and we enjoyed our entire experience.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Live Music, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Great food, great music. Really enjoyed our trip to Puckett's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Interesting concept! Awesome food and entertainment! Waitstaff very attentive!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Our server was FANASTIC. Music was great. My wife enjoyed the Piggy Mac which she had gotten before at the Nashville location. I tried something different on the recommendation of our server, Cassie. Chicken Fried Chicken. It was very good. Crispy crust, great white gravy and wonderful mashed potatoes. Only problem was it was quite salty. Maybe just a heavy hand that night. With that said I would still come back if we found ourselves in Franklin. Thanks for a great evening.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Great food. Loved the Strawberry Shortcake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Drove from NC to attend the Pilgrimage Festival and made only two reservations. One for here and one for Puckett's Boathouse. Both were excellent. Will do it again next year.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We enjoyed the food and atmosphere. I had the fried chicken and it was crispy on the outside and very moist and tender inside. My husband had the catfish and said it was great. The portions are huge. The service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Consistently good food, friendly service combined with good music makes for a great evening!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer, Live Music, Fun
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The food and service was excellent. The entertainment was a bit loud for a writer's night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fun, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 31, 2016

Food and service were great but the music was WAY too loud. We couldn't have a conversation or speak comfortably with our server.

Tags: Live Music, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

We went to see the Webb Wilder show and had a great time.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Good ol southern style food. Always done well. The kitchen is very consistent in regard to taste and quality. Atmosphere is casual and relaxing.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great southern food with the Tennessee ambiance to match. There was a great band to drown out my noisy kids. I highly recommend as a must go to for down home cooking.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was the first time we had ever been to this restaurant. It was our 3 year anniversary and we decided to try something new. Although, the night we decided to go there was no live music :( we still had a blast. Our waiter was super kind and very knowledgeable! The food was perfect! I got the catfish with fries and mashed potatoes! Matt got the steak with sweet potato fries with mashed potatoes! We also finished the night with some banana pudding, delicious! All together this was such a great place and experience! Much better than we expected [no offense] we didn't know what to expect! We go to Cock of the Walk in Nashville quite often and Puckett's place was in my opinion equal. I love both, I probably would have loved it more if I went on a night with live music. I mean we live in Nashville, it's wonderful to listen to all the talented people that come through here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.