About Puckett’s Historic Downtown Franklin

120 4th Ave South
Franklin, TN 37064
View Larger Map

A little history…
Have you ever walked into a place, and you instantly feel at home? Well, Puckett's Grocery and Restaurant is that sort of place. Founded in the 1950s, Puckett's served as a country store to several communities in Williamson County. It has always been the place to buy some food, grab a good homemade sandwich and catch up on the day's events in the world and at home.

In 2004, Puckett's opened in Historic Downtown Franklin, and now in 2010, Downtown Nashville as well.

Southern breakfasts with local, organic eggs, award winning burgers, plate lunches,fresh salads, cherry wood smoked BBQ pulled pork and ribs, and homemade desserts, make every meal memorable.

Add live entertainment from some of Nashville's greatest artists and songwriters and you have the complete Puckett's experience!

Open at 7am every day, Puckett's invites you to come on down and see us!

Real Food, Real People, Real Fun!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-9pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am-10pm

Cross Street:
Main Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 794-5527

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/franklin/index.php

Entertainment:
Tuesday through Saturday Night, with the occasional special Sunday show. Please see our online calendar for more details at: http://puckettsgro.com/franklin/events

Executive Chef:
Jesse Quatro

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Happy Hour, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Puckett’s Historic Downtown Franklin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
Neighborhood Gem
Nashville
3 More
Great for Lunch
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
Neighborhood Gem
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Franklin / Brentwood ›

neighborhood gem (46)
good for groups (28)
fit for foodies (27)
See All
hot spot (25)
great for lunch (24)
kid-friendly (22)
special occasion (22)
late-night find (10)
great for brunch (9)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
 (4)
romantic (3)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
scenic view (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really fun night! My three grandkids tho ...

Dined 4 days ago

Really fun night! My three grandkids thought it was awesome! They enjoyed their meals and the service was great also. Yes, we will come again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good time

Dined on May 22, 2016

Always a good time

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time!

Dined on May 22, 2016

I love bringing friends here for great food and great entertainment. Always come away knowing we will be back again soon! Am always impressed with the friendly hospitality of the wait staff!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambiance and good live music. I ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Great ambiance and good live music. I took a friend for the first time and she was really impressed. The Piggy mac (BBQ with mac and cheese) was awesome and a large portion! I was disappointed there was no cherry cobbler (my favorite)...well. they had it but it had been made with maraschino cherries and that did not sound good. Overall, a great dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3

Overall, another great meal. Food is alw ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Overall, another great meal. Food is always excellent. Though, this meal was a little lacking in service. Appetizer came out 30 seconds before the salads, and the meal came 30 seconds after that. Seems like we were being hurried along, even though it was the emptiest I've ever seen the place.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Puckett's Franklin!

Dined on May 4, 2016

Puckett's in Franklin always delivers in both quality food and service. If it's a southern meal you're looking for, you have found it. I brought my guests from Germany to indulge in some southern fried chicken and mashed potatoes & gravy and boy what a hit! They loved every bite. But, it's not just the food that brings me back to Puckett's. The service is amazing. From start to finish, always an attentive wait staff to bring a smile to your face and make your evening enjoyable. Then, there's the music! You'll hear great artists, old and new - climbing their way to the top of the charts. Also, Puckett's in Leipers Fork is a great stop as well. Yes, I'm a big fan of Puckett's. They always deliver!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Florida visitor

Dined on May 2, 2016

Prior to coming to Franklin wife discovered Puckett's on the internet and we made reservation for Dinner. Best decision SHE made. Everything - was GREAT - food, wait service, and atmosphere. Looking forward to our return one day. And we will praise you to all!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pucketts - take family and guests

Dined on April 29, 2016

Continues to be our "pick" to take family and friends visiting from across the country. Unbeatable food. Awesome service. Tennessee atmosphere with down home memories as well as great music.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Extremehiker

Dined on April 21, 2016

We have frequented this site many times. It's a great place to grab dinner and listen to local artists.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Music City Vibe

Dined on April 16, 2016

Pucketts Captures the down home feeling of life in middle Tennessee with its charming country store atmosphere . The food is everything you would expect from a southern kitchen on any Farm table. The music which is the heartbeat of middle Tennesseans is the highlight and best part which pulls the whole experience of Pucketts together and makes it a MUST while in this fabulous Town . I love coming back home to visit and find what I miss all in one place! Madie NC

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, friendly people

Dined on April 6, 2016

We had a wonderful evening. The food was excellent and the staff is friendly. Also enjoy the music. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sherry

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great date night with hubby. Listened to song writer musicians singing great hits. Great food and cozy atmosphere. We had a great time!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We love Pucketts

Dined on March 26, 2016

We have visited and enjoyed the music and food a number of times. The venue is unique, friendly, a great value. We have had a lot of out of town guests visit us and we make it a point of taking them to downtown Nashville and Franklin Pucketts. It has not failed to please ourselves and our guests.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is comfort food with a comforta ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

The food is comfort food with a comfortable environment!

food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The place to go in Franklin

Dined on March 22, 2016

The Piggy Mac entree is amazing. Their house beer was very watered down. Great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining Surprise in Franklin

Dined on March 16, 2016

Hmmmm ... it says Puckett's Grocery on the sign, what does that mean? It means that you are in for an exceptional treat when you sit down to eat. The staff is incredible, the food is even better, and the whole atmosphere, right down to the free entertainment, made this experience the finest I've had in Franklin (and I go to Franklin at least 4-5 times per year. Puckett's is now on my "must go to" list every time I return to historic Franklin. The menu is quite varied and will satisfy everyone's food tastes. So make your plans early , get to Franklin, and most of all, be sure to stop in for a bite to eat at Puckett's

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff at Pucketts is always so frien ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

The staff at Pucketts is always so friendly and helpful. Tonight was no exception. The food was outstanding as always. Tonight was musician Virgil Beckham with no cover!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

EBB TN

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

We brought an out of town guest for dinner on Saturday night ...and as usual the food did not disappoint! Chicken Fried Chicken and the pulled pork were delicious! The entertainment for the night was quality but not particularly entertaining. We are used to performers/songwriters engaging the audience and telling stories about the music!This performer did neither. The food made up for it

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My favorite place for live music

Dined on March 5, 2016

I love being able to make a reservation, come in for an excellent meal and sit in a comfortable, space where the people around are usually there to listen respectfully to great music. Our server was Chris and he is super. He never let our tea glass get empty...and for my wife and I, that is a challenge. Donna Ulissee and the Poor Mountain Boys was a fantastic show. Thanks for a great night.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Much fun;drove 6 hrs. + to get there for ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Much fun;drove 6 hrs. + to get there for donna Ulisse concert + food, etc. Wait staff (ours + all others) super, wonderful: The most friendly, fun EVER

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night

Dined on February 27, 2016

We go to Pucketts quite a bit. It's at the top of our list to show out-of-towners what Franklin is all about. We also have heard some great entertainment in the 4 years we have lived here. Up until this past Friday that included South Street Players and On Call......now we are adding Rocketmen to that list....they were great and the crowd loved it!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall Opinion

Dined on February 20, 2016

We really enjoy the menu for all meals..we especially like the music venues…our favorites are the Wannabeatles, Boomerang and On Call..these groups really get the crowd moving and very, very upbeat! Food selection is something for everyones taste.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food.

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A real gem. Great service.

Dined on February 4, 2016

I found Puckett's online and decided to check it out. It was fantastic! Our server Chris was excellent. It was a great experience and the band was good as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Disappointed

Dined on January 30, 2016

The food was mediocre. We were charged a $12 cover charge we were not aware would be charged. We went to eat not for the live music. We did not know there would be live music and would not have stayed at all had we have known it cost extra. We only stayed for one and 1/2 songs.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great, fun food & lively atmosphere.

Dined on January 28, 2016

Met some friends for dinner. Good food-although nachos had more chips & could have used more meat. Great entertainment & fun place to hang out.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a good meal and great time

Dined on January 27, 2016

We are semi-regulars at Pucketts. We enjoy the music and the food. The green bean appetizer is excellent. The Music City Hot Chicken sandwich is nice and spicy, and both the chicken fried steak and chicken are top notch. Nice selection of beers and special drinks. Great desserts too. Get there early to hear David Parr on the Chapman Stick. What a treat!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent, as usual. Ribs and chicken fr ...

Dined on January 25, 2016

Excellent, as usual. Ribs and chicken fried chicken. Need I say anything more?

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to eat downtown

Dined on January 24, 2016

My husband and I were in Franklin for a two day trip and dined at Puckett's for dinner. Our choices of shrimp & grits and the pulled pork platter were fantastic. Food was awesome. The brownie dipped in pancake batter and deep fried topped with ice cream was to die for. Had a great dining experience at Puckett's!!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

On point (as usual)

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

We made reservations for four to see Back 80 bluegrass band (highly recommended). The food and service (thanks to Doris) was fantastic ... as usual. We enjoyed our evening.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice option off the square in Franklin

Dined on January 16, 2016

Good food, live music just off the historic square. The Entertainment charge was unexpected as we were seated well before the show and had to leave after the first few songs. We were told the restaurant was full and we should reserve for 7:30 when we arrived there were many open tables.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always a great night out

Dined on January 15, 2016

Wonderful food. The Philly with the brisket was tender and flavorful. Loved the spinach and artichoke dip. Prisillica gave us fantastic service. Bluegrass was good. Enjoyed our night out as we usually do when we visit Pucketts in Franklin.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great entertainment!

Dined on January 10, 2016

A terrific way to spend the evening listening to real artists share humorous anecdotes and sing well-known songs. Good service, good food, good music all combine to make a very pleasant evening.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Puckett's in Franklin has become our favorite!

Dined on January 7, 2016

We love the menu and the entertainment is great. We will bring all of our out-of-town guest here. Their employee Doris has become a great friend and we look forward to seeing her smile as much as anything. We highly recommend Puckett's in Franklin.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience5
service4
value3

Keep Traditional Favorites

Dined on January 1, 2016

New Year's Eve menu choices got too urban. Need to keep traditional favorites from regular menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

Good southern meals.

Dined on December 31, 2015

Good southern meals.

food5
ambience3
service2
value5

Last night in Franklin

Dined on December 19, 2015

It was the last night of my daughters 4 1/2 month internship in Nashville. Wanted to take her some where really great for dinner ( I loved my lunch here preciously). Got seated with our reservation right away; we waited over 10 minutes to be greeted by a waiter for our drink order. I had to flag someone down and then he told our waiter we just sat down which was an outright lie. Sat us a table for two right on top of another table; someone was literally right behind me and I could not get out of my chair. Felt like we knew all of their business . Food was excellent and came pretty quickly. We paid and left and no one said a thing to us as we were leaving; they just looked at us. Was pretty disappointed in the service considering I had such a wonderful experience there my first time. Food is outstanding!

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True Southern Cookin'!

Dined on December 17, 2015

Great restaurant! We were seated on time for our reservation and greeted immediately by our Server. He made some recommendations and I tried the Piggy Mac. Very good! BBQ pulled pork with Mac-n-cheese over top served in a cast iron skillet! My friend had the chicken fried steak and said it was the best he'd ever had. His wife said they really know how to do the Children fingers too! Highly recommend this place but you should definitely make a reservation! Very busy all the time!

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

The live music was excellent.

Dined on December 12, 2015

The good was good except for the ribeye steak, which was very thin and tasteless. We sent it back to the kitchen because it was overcooked, but the second steak wasn't better.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4

Entertainment

Dined on November 21, 2015

Food is basic country but good. Really went for the entertainment - On Call Band

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.