About Puckett's Boat House

94 E Main St
Franklin, TN 37064
View Larger Map

Housed in Franklin’s old Boat Locker, Puckett’s Boat House will remind you of your favorite Southern beach side restaurant. We serve only the freshest in Gulf seafood. Delivered daily right to our kitchen, our menu features raw and grilled oysters, Gulf Coast grouper and shrimp, along with our wild caught catfish and salmon. For the land lubbers, we’ve added Southern style hand padded burgers, chicken fried chicken and yummy homemade desserts. Our bar features your favorite local brews and spirits, and our patio is the best in town! As with all of our Puckett’s restaurants, we showcase live music throughout the week. Check out our website for the calendar, and be sure to sign up for the weekly newsletter while you’re there!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Lunch & Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Franklin Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 790-2309

Website:
http://www.puckettsboathouse.com/

Entertainment:
We showcase live, local music throughout the week and live music is an important part of what makes us unique! Most shows have no cover charge, but the artists but each show varies, so please see our website calendar for full details at puckettsboathouse.com/events

Catering:
From catering your office luncheon to hosting your next family reunion, renting out the entire restaurant for your company’s next party to a hosting a graduation party on our river side patio, Puckett’s Boat House wants to help you with your next event!

Parking Details:
We have 4 exclusive parking lots- one along the front of the restaurant, another directly behind us and two across the street from the side of the building (located on 1st Ave N). The side lots are marked with signage. There is also a free parking garage just a short walk down Main Street. Free on-street parking is available as well.

Public Transit:
The Franklin Transit Authority makes stops a block away from our location: The South bound route stop is #15 at 2nd Ave. & Church Street available Monday-Friday 8am-4pm. The West Bound route stop is #60 at Main St. & 2nd, available Monday-Friday 6am-5pm and Saturday 8am-5pm. Visit tmagroup.org/franklin-transit for more details!

Executive Chef:
Donald Counts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Puckett's Boat House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Franklin / Brentwood ›

Neighborhood Gem (35)
Good for Groups (29)
Kid-friendly (22)
See All
Great for Lunch (22)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Special Occasion (19)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Casual (11)
Good for a Date (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Authentic (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Live Music (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Great Beer (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Romantic (3)
Family Style (3)
Scenic View (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Private Room (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Cozy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
265 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We found Puckett's Boat House on Trip Ad ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 3 days ago

We found Puckett's Boat House on Trip Advisor; it was better than expected and we expected a lot! A great place to visit, a great waiter who led us to the "just right" dishes, and great food at a reasonable price.

We were in Franklin for several days and ate at some great restaurants, this was one of the best! Anyone visiting the area would be strongly advised not to miss eating here!

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! Food was awesome, beer ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great experience! Food was awesome, beer was great and our waiter was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a friend there for oysters and sh ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I took a friend there for oysters and she was disappointed. We also shared the Cajun Shrimp and Grits. The food, service and atmosphere were outstanding. Planning on a return visit soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu offerings were good. The oyster ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The menu offerings were good. The oysters were good.

The beer was fantastic.

Mixed drinks were poorly made. I could have made kool-aid at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Have enjoyed Puckett's BH several times. ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Have enjoyed Puckett's BH several times. Enjoy food and music.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been to Boathouse numerous times ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have been to Boathouse numerous times and have always enjoyed the evening... this past Friday was disappointing... took forever to get waited on , in fact I had to go to bar to get my date a beer, the oysters were the size of a nickel, should have added a more... eneed up leaving early and went down the street to finish dinner

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We had a good time and Beau is a great s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had a good time and Beau is a great server. Thanks, Gail

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a good meal and a great t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We always have a good meal and a great time at PBH. It is a staple of the Franklin scene.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Comfort Food, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 7:30 reservation, and the dinin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a 7:30 reservation, and the dining room was not that full. Regardless, we were seated right next to the drink station and kitchen. It felt as if we were dodging servers all night as they raced by our table. It took several minutes to be acknowledged by our server. I am not sure if it was he or the kitchen in the "weeds", but things seemed to take a long time to get to the table. We had water and a Coke, because there was no drink menu at our table. The appetizer rolls (forgot the name, they have the collards and black eyed peas in them) were sent back, as they had no taste, just mushy. The cod basket was okay-a bit overbattered, which made it difficult to taste the fish; but the fries were limp and greasy and almost cold when we received them on both orders. The Muffalatta sandwich was okay, but only half was eaten. A manager came by and asked how we liked it, and I said, "it's okay." She did not follow up or ask any questions as to why I said it's just "okay", not good or great. Although our server was very nice, tried hard, was apologetic about the wait time, and did get the uneaten appetizer off of the bill, I don't think we will be back. We live in Nashville, and for the drive and the price of the food, the food isn't good enough and doesn't justify the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The Boathouse is always a great time out ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Boathouse is always a great time out for dinner. We had the Rusty Bucket and the catfish over cheese grits. Excellent with a couple of Blue Moons in frosty jars. Stayed awhile for the music and it was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was so so, not great. Told wait ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service was so so, not great. Told waiter that the craft beer he recommended was not good, no response.

Food a little greasy.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a hit with out-of-town guests. O ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a hit with out-of-town guests. Our guests from Chicago drove down and wanted to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really I've atmosphere but food was medi ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Really I've atmosphere but food was mediocre at best. I think this is a tourist spot that relies on its name, not food quality. Won't be back to any of their locations. Bummer!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

service was great - friendly, prompt. f ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

service was great - friendly, prompt. food was what would you expect for a local seafood restaurant. Atmosphere needs updating and cleaning. tables were sticky and chairs were uncomfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

This was our second visit to this restau ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our second visit to this restaurant. It was just as enjoyable as the first. Service is stellar and the food continues to be excellent. We are moving to the area and plan to be regulars.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastic experience! Scott the bar tend ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic experience! Scott the bar tender was great! Enjoyed the special salmon and added sweet potato fries. We loved what we split and were perfectly satiated. Thanks. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food prices do not reflect quality of qu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food prices do not reflect quality of quantity of food. Mahi was cut thin, dry and no flavor. Shrimp was a single skewer (for $19). Raw Oysters were good and priced reasonably. Overall the value just is not there for return trips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We always like PBH but this was our leas ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We always like PBH but this was our least satisfying visit. It was a special occasion, a 60th birthday on our family, and we had made reservations a week in advance asking for seating near the live music. This was an off night for PBH though and we have always enjoyed our previous meals here, thus our return for a special event. Unfortunately, we were not seated near the music, we ordered a dozen oysters and received just 11, we waited about 30 minutes between the appetizers and the meal and the food was not of the quality during previous visits (i.e. the Mud Cat Mac & Cheese was watery and runny, etc...) We were a table of 8 so it wasn't like we were an unmanageable crowd. We will still return to PBH and anyone can have an off night but it was disappointing to have this happen during a special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I always enjoy my meal at PBH. It is the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I always enjoy my meal at PBH. It is the quintessential Franklin dining experience. Good drinks, nice ambiance, great food and great service. And you can almost always get a seat at the wine bar. Plus, as an added bonus, they have two outdoor seating areas that are always welcoming of our corgi.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was seated immediately upon arrival. Tab ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Was seated immediately upon arrival. Table was already ready go. That was very nice. We were greeted quick and asked for our drink orders and appetizers promptly.. One of my best experiences...

Highly recommend this place.. Food was amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took friends in from out-of town. Asked ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Took friends in from out-of town. Asked for a quiet place when we made the reservations. They were very accommodating as Puckets can be very noisy. We both shared meals as we are seniors and can't each too much. Food and service were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful shrimp and grits, but only 5 s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wonderful shrimp and grits, but only 5 shrimp for a $19 dish seemed a little scanty

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a great experience! Excellent foo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a great experience! Excellent food and service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good seafood,nice variety of friendly s ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Good seafood,nice variety of friendly staff. Noise level good for conversation good prior to band in main dining area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service could have been better, drin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service could have been better, drinks weren't great but the food was very good and perfect temperature. Very crowded area to sit a group of 6 when there weren't many people dining in general. I feel like you should get more food for the money. I would definitely visit again though because the food was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

If you can't get to the beach but you're ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

If you can't get to the beach but you're craving seafood this is the place to go. Casual, fun with a real boat house feel. You can eat healthy if you want to but I go for the fried shrimp, oysters and fish. I'm a seafood snob and Puckett's Boat House measures up to my standards. I recommend it to all my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Previous experience with Puckett's Groce ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Previous experience with Puckett's Grocery (Leiper's Fork, Tn.) led me to want to investigate the Boathouse in Franklin, Tn. While visiting elderly in-laws in Nashville, we pre-arranged this visit to the Boathouse in anticipation of a treat for ourseves and these partially disabled elderly family members. I had pre-reviewed the menu on-line and had a sense of what to expect. We arrived ahead of our reservation but the staff accommodated us nicely and provided us seating that minimized the efforts needed to seat the elderly couple. We chose the fried pickle appetizer and were quite pleased with the taste & quantity. Two basket meals (catfish strip and butterfly shrimp) a two orders of the barbecue shrimp over grits completed our dinner orders. All were quite good. The baskets were overloaded with french fries, but that can be a matter of preference. We topped dinner off with Key Lime pie, Hummingbird Cake and Banana Pudding (X2), which were all quite good. The atmosphere was energetic, our waitress attentive to our needs and the evenings entertainment (Young Fables) was enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The shrimp basket (fried butterfly) was ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The shrimp basket (fried butterfly) was very fresh and fried well with a light breading. Will go back again for that shrimp! In lieu of fries (which can be soggy when placed below the fried fish when in a basket), I opted for the sautéed vegetables that were tasty, along with the cole slaw that comes with the basket. The included hush puppy was very good as well.

Another in our party had the grilled shrimp plate and said it was very good.

We also tried the Cajun Rolls---rolled with collard greens, smoked tasso ham, black-eyed peas and served with a jezebel sauce--which was exceptional and we will return soon to have those again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server never put my order in. We wer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our server never put my order in. We were also told we couldn't sit on the patio, yet the place was empty and they sat a group on the patio 20 minutes after we got there. Not thrilled about the service or willingness to accommodate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

What a great find! Located in Franklin, ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

What a great find! Located in Franklin, TN, about 20 miles south of Nashville, the town is the quintessential small town. The restaurant is old south decorated. The service was outstanding, drinks were good, and the fried oysters were amazing. Also fried green tomato's were also top notch. Allow extra time to explore downtown Franklin. Great find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was traveling through Franklin for one n ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Was traveling through Franklin for one night and this choice was a great experience for dining for an evening while on the road. Definitely would go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The one item I would like to see on the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The one item I would like to see on the menu would be lobster. All the other foods were outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual, down home, seafood, and more. Al ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Casual, down home, seafood, and more.

Always fun and always great.

Raw oysters are fabulous!

Best Sweet Potato Fries in the state!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mahi mahi was delicious and the live ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The mahi mahi was delicious and the live music was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food, atmosphere and service. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Incredible food, atmosphere and service. Low key w some live bands. LOVE IT. PLEASE MAKE ONE IN NASHVILLE.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very impressed by both the selection ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Was very impressed by both the selection of different seafood, but the quality of the food. The shrimp and grits hushpuppies were amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and good are of good quality and ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service and good are of good quality and reasonably priced. Jake, our server, was extremely attentive and accommodating. Will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

outdoor patio 4 taking your 4-legged best friend

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I took my pup to dinner and we had a great time. the food was delicious, the waitstaff was very accomodating, and very friendly, towards me and my pup. Two paws up!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great selection of seafood and other dishes. Hard to go wrong with all the different choices they offer. I would highly recommend going here for a great afternoon meal or dinner. The only bad thing I could say is that the chairs are SOOOOOO close together you feel cramped (at least at the six-top we were seated at). Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was fantastic and food was excel ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was fantastic and food was excellent. The menu was so tempting we had a difficult time choosing one entree! We have already recommended to others and will be visiting again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.