About Puckett's Boat House

94 E Main St
Franklin, TN 37064
View Larger Map

Housed in Franklin’s old Boat Locker, Puckett’s Boat House will remind you of your favorite Southern beach side restaurant. We serve only the freshest in Gulf seafood. Delivered daily right to our kitchen, our menu features raw and grilled oysters, Gulf Coast grouper and shrimp, along with our wild caught catfish and salmon. For the land lubbers, we’ve added Southern style hand padded burgers, chicken fried chicken and yummy homemade desserts. Our bar features your favorite local brews and spirits, and our patio is the best in town! As with all of our Puckett’s restaurants, we showcase live music throughout the week. Check out our website for the calendar, and be sure to sign up for the weekly newsletter while you’re there!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Lunch & Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Franklin Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 790-2309

Website:
http://www.puckettsboathouse.com/

Entertainment:
We showcase live, local music throughout the week and live music is an important part of what makes us unique! Most shows have no cover charge, but the artists but each show varies, so please see our website calendar for full details at puckettsboathouse.com/events

Catering:
From catering your office luncheon to hosting your next family reunion, renting out the entire restaurant for your company’s next party to a hosting a graduation party on our river side patio, Puckett’s Boat House wants to help you with your next event!

Parking Details:
We have 4 exclusive parking lots- one along the front of the restaurant, another directly behind us and two across the street from the side of the building (located on 1st Ave N). The side lots are marked with signage. There is also a free parking garage just a short walk down Main Street. Free on-street parking is available as well.

Public Transit:
The Franklin Transit Authority makes stops a block away from our location: The South bound route stop is #15 at 2nd Ave. & Church Street available Monday-Friday 8am-4pm. The West Bound route stop is #60 at Main St. & 2nd, available Monday-Friday 6am-5pm and Saturday 8am-5pm. Visit tmagroup.org/franklin-transit for more details!

Executive Chef:
Donald Counts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Puckett's Boat House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Live Music (18)
See All
Great for Lunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fun (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for a Date (13)
Authentic (12)
Special Occasion (11)
Kid-friendly (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Happy Hour (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Family Style (5)
Great Beer (5)
Historic (5)
Cozy (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Private Room (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Bar Seating (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Spicy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fun place to be, good food and excellent ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 4 days ago

Fun place to be, good food and excellent service.

Fun place to eat with a group of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tomato basil soup was very spicy and tas ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Tomato basil soup was very spicy and tasted awful. Three ladies in our party of 4 got it and none of us liked it. Since I had recommended eating at Boat House, I was embarrassed that the food was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

I was disappointed in shrimp tacos. Didn ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I was disappointed in shrimp tacos. Didn't like the tacos themselves. Took long time to get salads, then food arrived soon after

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife and I made a reservation, wantin ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I made a reservation, wanting some good food and nice atmosphere. The food was really good, the atmosphere was nice, and the servers were great.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Puckett's Boathouse and eat ther ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We love Puckett's Boathouse and eat there often. It's always great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food and great service in a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Really good food and great service in a great location

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service! The fried oysters were d ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great service! The fried oysters were divine, great southern cooked vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed the freshness of the s ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We really enjoyed the freshness of the seafood. The raw oysters were fantastic as well as the cooked gulf shrimp.

We did not enjoy poorly executed service that was not an understaffing issue. General customer service skills....

Questionable phone skills during our call for reservation time adjustment, appetizers delivered to center of table without small plates, utensils, and napkins for us to eat them with. We noted staff grouped together talking to one another, yet no one responded to us trying to catch their eye while our waiter was in another room.

Our waiter was very friendly but poorly trained about serving bottled wine. (Surprised us considering that the location is marketed as a wine bar.)

So food and wine were both good but the oversights left us feeling like we would be better served elsewhere for our Friday evening dining dollar, (before the theater).

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Food is awesome and live band was good.i ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food is awesome and live band was good.i recommend the mud cat Mac n cheese!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a bit uncertain what you will get ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always a bit uncertain what you will get. Can be on but not at our last visit. Got apology after an extended wait for the grilled oysters. But as you can guess, oysters, salads and mains arrived promptly at the same time. A "sort of " apology but mostly an excellent example of throwing the kitchen staff under the bus. Grilled oysters were cold but mains were fine. Will try again but.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This was our first visit to Puckett's Bo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our first visit to Puckett's Boat House and we're so glad we came! Diners of all ages were there on a beautiful October Saturday at lunchtime and it's obviously a great place for kids. The menu is interesting, the food came quickly and was carefully prepared, and the service was friendly, prompt and excellent. I'd been craving good fried shrimp, which are hard to find in this area, and the butterfly shrimp basket at PBH totally exceeded expectations. It will be worth another visit for those shrimp alone!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pretty average. Reserved a table to see ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Pretty average. Reserved a table to see live music while dining and was sat in a back room with no view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

We love Puckett's, and the boathouse is ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We love Puckett's, and the boathouse is one of our favorites.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic time at Pucketts Boat ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a fantastic time at Pucketts Boat House. The wait staff was excellent, food was some of the best we have eaten before, music was great from the live band and the location within downtown franklin is superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was outstanding. Food quality and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Waiter was outstanding. Food quality and quantity was perfect. Would go back !!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ate outside and it was a pleasant exp ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We ate outside and it was a pleasant experience. Our waiter was very attentive. The food was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in after 9:00 for a late supper. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We came in after 9:00 for a late supper. The waitress was cheerful , helpful and efficient. The food was delicious. I had two young couples with me, and this was their kind of place. They loved the ample servings and the casual atmosphere. The many menu choices was also great. I would have no trouble recommending Pucketts for most any occasion except for a formal affair or for a quiet, romantic dinner! For good food, a casual atmosphere, and fun, Pucketts is perfect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Live Music, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food & service, but the live music ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Good food & service, but the live music wasn't. Can't decide if it was the artists or the sound system...or both. Unusually light crowd for a Friday night.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, People Watching, Live Music, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Puckett's Boat house has always been a f ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Puckett's Boat house has always been a favorite of ours. Unfortunately, on this occasion, the food was very disappointing. The oysters were tiny and dry (honestly, should not have been served). And the Shrimp & Grits were average at best. We will continue to eat here, and hope that in the future the food is back up to the standard we have experienced in the past. The Boat House is such a fun spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We were traveling to florida from Indian ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We were traveling to florida from Indiana we stopped to grab something to eat. Atmosphere was amazing. Our waiter was fantastic! The food taste was excellent This is a a place to and enjoy a good meal and great fellowship.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Went to Puckett's Boat House very early ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Went to Puckett's Boat House very early (5:30pm) on a weekday and it was quiet with very few guests. That made it perfect for catching up with some family members and both the food and the wine were terrific. We made reservations but they were not needed at that hour. Service was great, very attentive. No complaints here, would gladly go back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had never been here and thought why no ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had never been here and thought why not give them a try. Unfortunately the menu was mainly spicy food that my family can't eat, especially with an allergy to pepper. The server was nice but I felt the service was a bit too slow for having made a reservation at 5:30pm and it wasn't busy yet. We left around 8pm that evening.

For my family we probably won't give them another try. I would still recommend them as someone else may enjoy the spicy food and live music.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Any of the Marshall's restaurants are wo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Any of the Marshall's restaurants are wonderful! I am a Franklin, TN native who salutes the Marshall's for their ability to carry-on the dream of the community leaders of the past who worked toward ( I can personally vouch for) their goal of establishing Franklin, TN to be a town of quality, hospitality and excellence for future generations. My dad would have been a regular!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We found Puckett's Boat House on Trip Ad ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We found Puckett's Boat House on Trip Advisor; it was better than expected and we expected a lot! A great place to visit, a great waiter who led us to the "just right" dishes, and great food at a reasonable price.

We were in Franklin for several days and ate at some great restaurants, this was one of the best! Anyone visiting the area would be strongly advised not to miss eating here!

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Returned to Pucketts Boathouse with visi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Returned to Pucketts Boathouse with visiting family. Servers were prompt, friendly and attentive. Food was very good, especially the creamed spinach appetizer. We will be back.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Drove from NC to attend the Pilgrimage F ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Drove from NC to attend the Pilgrimage Festival and made only two reservations. One for here and one for Puckett's Downtown Franklin. Both were excellent. Will do it again next year.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience! Food was awesome, beer ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great experience! Food was awesome, beer was great and our waiter was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a friend there for oysters and sh ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I took a friend there for oysters and she was disappointed. We also shared the Cajun Shrimp and Grits. The food, service and atmosphere were outstanding. Planning on a return visit soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu offerings were good. The oyster ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The menu offerings were good. The oysters were good.

The beer was fantastic.

Mixed drinks were poorly made. I could have made kool-aid at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Have enjoyed Puckett's BH several times. ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Have enjoyed Puckett's BH several times. Enjoy food and music.

Tags: Live Music, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fun, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I have been to Boathouse numerous times ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

I have been to Boathouse numerous times and have always enjoyed the evening... this past Friday was disappointing... took forever to get waited on , in fact I had to go to bar to get my date a beer, the oysters were the size of a nickel, should have added a more... eneed up leaving early and went down the street to finish dinner

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We had a good time and Beau is a great s ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We had a good time and Beau is a great server. Thanks, Gail

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always have a good meal and a great t ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We always have a good meal and a great time at PBH. It is a staple of the Franklin scene.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Comfort Food, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a 7:30 reservation, and the dinin ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a 7:30 reservation, and the dining room was not that full. Regardless, we were seated right next to the drink station and kitchen. It felt as if we were dodging servers all night as they raced by our table. It took several minutes to be acknowledged by our server. I am not sure if it was he or the kitchen in the "weeds", but things seemed to take a long time to get to the table. We had water and a Coke, because there was no drink menu at our table. The appetizer rolls (forgot the name, they have the collards and black eyed peas in them) were sent back, as they had no taste, just mushy. The cod basket was okay-a bit overbattered, which made it difficult to taste the fish; but the fries were limp and greasy and almost cold when we received them on both orders. The Muffalatta sandwich was okay, but only half was eaten. A manager came by and asked how we liked it, and I said, "it's okay." She did not follow up or ask any questions as to why I said it's just "okay", not good or great. Although our server was very nice, tried hard, was apologetic about the wait time, and did get the uneaten appetizer off of the bill, I don't think we will be back. We live in Nashville, and for the drive and the price of the food, the food isn't good enough and doesn't justify the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The Boathouse is always a great time out ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Boathouse is always a great time out for dinner. We had the Rusty Bucket and the catfish over cheese grits. Excellent with a couple of Blue Moons in frosty jars. Stayed awhile for the music and it was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was so so, not great. Told wait ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Service was so so, not great. Told waiter that the craft beer he recommended was not good, no response.

Food a little greasy.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Always a hit with out-of-town guests. O ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a hit with out-of-town guests. Our guests from Chicago drove down and wanted to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really I've atmosphere but food was medi ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Really I've atmosphere but food was mediocre at best. I think this is a tourist spot that relies on its name, not food quality. Won't be back to any of their locations. Bummer!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

service was great - friendly, prompt. f ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

service was great - friendly, prompt. food was what would you expect for a local seafood restaurant. Atmosphere needs updating and cleaning. tables were sticky and chairs were uncomfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

This was our second visit to this restau ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our second visit to this restaurant. It was just as enjoyable as the first. Service is stellar and the food continues to be excellent. We are moving to the area and plan to be regulars.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.