About Puckett's Boat House

94 E Main St
Franklin, TN 37064
View Larger Map

Housed in Franklin’s old Boat Locker, Puckett’s Boat House will remind you of your favorite Southern beach side restaurant. We serve only the freshest in Gulf seafood. Delivered daily right to our kitchen, our menu features raw and grilled oysters, Gulf Coast grouper and shrimp, along with our wild caught catfish and salmon. For the land lubbers, we’ve added Southern style hand padded burgers, chicken fried chicken and yummy homemade desserts. Our bar features your favorite local brews and spirits, and our patio is the best in town! As with all of our Puckett’s restaurants, we showcase live music throughout the week. Check out our website for the calendar, and be sure to sign up for the weekly newsletter while you’re there!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Lunch & Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Franklin Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 790-2309

Website:
http://www.puckettsboathouse.com/

Entertainment:
We showcase live, local music throughout the week and live music is an important part of what makes us unique! Most shows have no cover charge, but the artists but each show varies, so please see our website calendar for full details at puckettsboathouse.com/events

Catering:
From catering your office luncheon to hosting your next family reunion, renting out the entire restaurant for your company’s next party to a hosting a graduation party on our river side patio, Puckett’s Boat House wants to help you with your next event!

Parking Details:
We have 4 exclusive parking lots- one along the front of the restaurant, another directly behind us and two across the street from the side of the building (located on 1st Ave N). The side lots are marked with signage. There is also a free parking garage just a short walk down Main Street. Free on-street parking is available as well.

Public Transit:
The Franklin Transit Authority makes stops a block away from our location: The South bound route stop is #15 at 2nd Ave. & Church Street available Monday-Friday 8am-4pm. The West Bound route stop is #60 at Main St. & 2nd, available Monday-Friday 6am-5pm and Saturday 8am-5pm. Visit tmagroup.org/franklin-transit for more details!

Executive Chef:
Donald Counts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Puckett's Boat House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (30)
Good for Groups (30)
Kid-friendly (22)
See All
Great for Lunch (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (19)
Special Occasion (18)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Great for Brunch (12)
Hot Spot (7)
Romantic (5)
Scenic View (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
Newest
254 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a hit with out-of-town guests. O ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always a hit with out-of-town guests. Our guests from Chicago drove down and wanted to go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Really I've atmosphere but food was medi ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Really I've atmosphere but food was mediocre at best. I think this is a tourist spot that relies on its name, not food quality. Won't be back to any of their locations. Bummer!

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

service was great - friendly, prompt. f ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

service was great - friendly, prompt. food was what would you expect for a local seafood restaurant. Atmosphere needs updating and cleaning. tables were sticky and chairs were uncomfortable.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

This was our second visit to this restau ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our second visit to this restaurant. It was just as enjoyable as the first. Service is stellar and the food continues to be excellent. We are moving to the area and plan to be regulars.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Fantastic experience! Scott the bar tend ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Fantastic experience! Scott the bar tender was great! Enjoyed the special salmon and added sweet potato fries. We loved what we split and were perfectly satiated. Thanks. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food prices do not reflect quality of qu ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food prices do not reflect quality of quantity of food. Mahi was cut thin, dry and no flavor. Shrimp was a single skewer (for $19). Raw Oysters were good and priced reasonably. Overall the value just is not there for return trips.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We always like PBH but this was our leas ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We always like PBH but this was our least satisfying visit. It was a special occasion, a 60th birthday on our family, and we had made reservations a week in advance asking for seating near the live music. This was an off night for PBH though and we have always enjoyed our previous meals here, thus our return for a special event. Unfortunately, we were not seated near the music, we ordered a dozen oysters and received just 11, we waited about 30 minutes between the appetizers and the meal and the food was not of the quality during previous visits (i.e. the Mud Cat Mac & Cheese was watery and runny, etc...) We were a table of 8 so it wasn't like we were an unmanageable crowd. We will still return to PBH and anyone can have an off night but it was disappointing to have this happen during a special occasion.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I always enjoy my meal at PBH. It is the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

I always enjoy my meal at PBH. It is the quintessential Franklin dining experience. Good drinks, nice ambiance, great food and great service. And you can almost always get a seat at the wine bar. Plus, as an added bonus, they have two outdoor seating areas that are always welcoming of our corgi.

Tags: Outdoor Eating, Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was seated immediately upon arrival. Tab ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Was seated immediately upon arrival. Table was already ready go. That was very nice. We were greeted quick and asked for our drink orders and appetizers promptly.. One of my best experiences...

Highly recommend this place.. Food was amazing!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took friends in from out-of town. Asked ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Took friends in from out-of town. Asked for a quiet place when we made the reservations. They were very accommodating as Puckets can be very noisy. We both shared meals as we are seniors and can't each too much. Food and service were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful shrimp and grits, but only 5 s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Wonderful shrimp and grits, but only 5 shrimp for a $19 dish seemed a little scanty

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We had a great experience! Excellent foo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a great experience! Excellent food and service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good seafood,nice variety of friendly s ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Good seafood,nice variety of friendly staff. Noise level good for conversation good prior to band in main dining area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The service could have been better, drin ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The service could have been better, drinks weren't great but the food was very good and perfect temperature. Very crowded area to sit a group of 6 when there weren't many people dining in general. I feel like you should get more food for the money. I would definitely visit again though because the food was delicious

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value2

If you can't get to the beach but you're ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

If you can't get to the beach but you're craving seafood this is the place to go. Casual, fun with a real boat house feel. You can eat healthy if you want to but I go for the fried shrimp, oysters and fish. I'm a seafood snob and Puckett's Boat House measures up to my standards. I recommend it to all my friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Previous experience with Puckett's Groce ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Previous experience with Puckett's Grocery (Leiper's Fork, Tn.) led me to want to investigate the Boathouse in Franklin, Tn. While visiting elderly in-laws in Nashville, we pre-arranged this visit to the Boathouse in anticipation of a treat for ourseves and these partially disabled elderly family members. I had pre-reviewed the menu on-line and had a sense of what to expect. We arrived ahead of our reservation but the staff accommodated us nicely and provided us seating that minimized the efforts needed to seat the elderly couple. We chose the fried pickle appetizer and were quite pleased with the taste & quantity. Two basket meals (catfish strip and butterfly shrimp) a two orders of the barbecue shrimp over grits completed our dinner orders. All were quite good. The baskets were overloaded with french fries, but that can be a matter of preference. We topped dinner off with Key Lime pie, Hummingbird Cake and Banana Pudding (X2), which were all quite good. The atmosphere was energetic, our waitress attentive to our needs and the evenings entertainment (Young Fables) was enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The shrimp basket (fried butterfly) was ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The shrimp basket (fried butterfly) was very fresh and fried well with a light breading. Will go back again for that shrimp! In lieu of fries (which can be soggy when placed below the fried fish when in a basket), I opted for the sautéed vegetables that were tasty, along with the cole slaw that comes with the basket. The included hush puppy was very good as well.

Another in our party had the grilled shrimp plate and said it was very good.

We also tried the Cajun Rolls---rolled with collard greens, smoked tasso ham, black-eyed peas and served with a jezebel sauce--which was exceptional and we will return soon to have those again.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our server never put my order in. We wer ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Our server never put my order in. We were also told we couldn't sit on the patio, yet the place was empty and they sat a group on the patio 20 minutes after we got there. Not thrilled about the service or willingness to accommodate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

What a great find! Located in Franklin, ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

What a great find! Located in Franklin, TN, about 20 miles south of Nashville, the town is the quintessential small town. The restaurant is old south decorated. The service was outstanding, drinks were good, and the fried oysters were amazing. Also fried green tomato's were also top notch. Allow extra time to explore downtown Franklin. Great find.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was traveling through Franklin for one n ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Was traveling through Franklin for one night and this choice was a great experience for dining for an evening while on the road. Definitely would go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

The one item I would like to see on the ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

The one item I would like to see on the menu would be lobster. All the other foods were outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casual, down home, seafood, and more. Al ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Casual, down home, seafood, and more.

Always fun and always great.

Raw oysters are fabulous!

Best Sweet Potato Fries in the state!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mahi mahi was delicious and the live ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The mahi mahi was delicious and the live music was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible food, atmosphere and service. ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Incredible food, atmosphere and service. Low key w some live bands. LOVE IT. PLEASE MAKE ONE IN NASHVILLE.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was very impressed by both the selection ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Was very impressed by both the selection of different seafood, but the quality of the food. The shrimp and grits hushpuppies were amazing!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and good are of good quality and ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Service and good are of good quality and reasonably priced. Jake, our server, was extremely attentive and accommodating. Will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

outdoor patio 4 taking your 4-legged best friend

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

I took my pup to dinner and we had a great time. the food was delicious, the waitstaff was very accomodating, and very friendly, towards me and my pup. Two paws up!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Great selection of seafood and other dishes. Hard to go wrong with all the different choices they offer. I would highly recommend going here for a great afternoon meal or dinner. The only bad thing I could say is that the chairs are SOOOOOO close together you feel cramped (at least at the six-top we were seated at). Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was fantastic and food was excel ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was fantastic and food was excellent. The menu was so tempting we had a difficult time choosing one entree! We have already recommended to others and will be visiting again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Oysters

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The oysters on the combination oyster platter were not as flavorful as they could / should be and they needed to cook longer (barely warm). This was the main reason for visiting and was disappointed in the quality for the high price!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Had a large group with kids. They were ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Had a large group with kids. They were ready for us as scheduled and very accommodating. Food was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Being a long term local resident and fre ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Being a long term local resident and frequent visitor to the many Puckett locations (Leipers, Columbia, Downtown Nashville, other Downtown Franklin location) poor service was the very last thing I expected! I am ESPECIALLY disappointed because it was my Daughters High School Graduation Day!!!!! Our "Server" was less than attentive. Actually he was horrible from appetizers to getting the Check! Our order was was not correct, no silverware, wrong appetizer, no appetizer plates (twice) condiments........ you name it! Even a simple request for butter for grits and mashed potatoes (that had to be ordered TWICE) was actually Drawn Butter???? As a result food became cold etc.... Although I have never been so disappointed, writing this review truly PAINS me! My family LOVES Pucketts and have never had anything but the absolute best service, food and overall experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

We had to send our French fries back bec ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had to send our French fries back because they were cold. The philly cheese steak sandwich had no cheese and only a small piece of pepper. It had to be sent back. The server apologized and brought us fresh fries and a new sandwich. The oysters on the half shell were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

We enjoyed the boat house

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed the boat house

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good Seafood

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Puckett's Boat House has good seafood. We are from Florida and it's not as fresh as there, but the best we've found for the value locally. We really enjoy the Puckett's restaurants and will be back many times to come!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Recommended

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

We were there about 4:30 PM on a Saturday and it was very quiet, which we wanted. The food was delicious and the service was very good. And the oysters were very fresh!! I highly recommend PBH for spending casual time with friends and family.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Not what we wanted

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Like most of you, I read other reviews with a grain of salt and then decide for myself. This is one I wished I'd listened to. Not fancy by any stretch of the imagination. Tap beer was NG due to a piping issue. Backup beer choice just sold out. We had the shrimp and grits app and could not taste much if any shrimp. The sauce it came with and the slaw saved it - both were good. We shared a Rusty Bucket - fish, shrimp, oysters, hush puppies, and fries - very brown - reminded us of school lunches. Color variation came from ketchup, tartar and cocktail sauce. Pricey for what you get. That being said, the place was packed including two prom going couples so it's popular. Not for us, however, as there are bunches of choices in the area worth trying for the same price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Day date

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We visited the boathouse for lunch on a Saturday. It was delicious! I had the hot fish and while spicy, it didn't kill my taste buds and gave me a chance to enjoy the blackened fish. My husband had the fish tacos and really enjoyed it. The wine area was freezing this particular rainy day, but I enjoyed the decor in the bar area. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Poor

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

No parking. Very expensive. No crawfish in the crawfish and shrimp Mac and cheese. Grilled MAIA MAIA was frozen and microwaved. Very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Good great as always. Did not like bein ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

Good great as always.

Did not like being told we had happy hour prices n them bill showed she put in order 5 min late!!

Really!!!! Not happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.