About Puckett's Boat House

Housed in Franklin’s old Boat Locker, Puckett’s Boat House will remind you of your favorite Southern beach side restaurant. We serve only the freshest in Gulf seafood. Delivered daily right to our kitchen, our menu features raw and grilled oysters, Gulf Coast grouper and shrimp, along with our wild caught catfish and salmon. For the land lubbers, we’ve added Southern style hand padded burgers, chicken fried chicken and yummy homemade desserts. Our bar features your favorite local brews and spirits, and our patio is the best in town! As with all of our Puckett’s restaurants, we showcase live music throughout the week. Check out our website for the calendar, and be sure to sign up for the weekly newsletter while you’re there!

94 E Main St
Franklin, TN 37064
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Southern, American

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 9:00am - 1:00pm

Lunch & Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:00am - 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Franklin Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 790-2309

Website:
http://www.puckettsboathouse.com/

Entertainment:
We showcase live, local music throughout the week and live music is an important part of what makes us unique! Most shows have no cover charge, but the artists but each show varies, so please see our website calendar for full details at puckettsboathouse.com/events

Catering:
From catering your office luncheon to hosting your next family reunion, renting out the entire restaurant for your company’s next party to a hosting a graduation party on our river side patio, Puckett’s Boat House wants to help you with your next event!

Parking Details:
We have 4 exclusive parking lots- one along the front of the restaurant, another directly behind us and two across the street from the side of the building (located on 1st Ave N). The side lots are marked with signage. There is also a free parking garage just a short walk down Main Street. Free on-street parking is available as well.

Public Transit:
The Franklin Transit Authority makes stops a block away from our location: The South bound route stop is #15 at 2nd Ave. & Church Street available Monday-Friday 8am-4pm. The West Bound route stop is #60 at Main St. & 2nd, available Monday-Friday 6am-5pm and Saturday 8am-5pm. Visit tmagroup.org/franklin-transit for more details!

Executive Chef:
Donald Counts

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Puckett's Boat House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (20)
Live Music (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Comfort Food (11)
Fun (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Authentic (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Spicy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Family Style (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great Beer (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Live Sports (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Romantic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
304 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I've dined here several times. Seems li ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I've dined here several times. Seems like service and food quality is going down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food and service as always!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is OK, fried seafood. However t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food is OK, fried seafood. However the service is less than desirable. Our last two visits continues to take longer and longer to get your your initial order placed. Again decent enough restaurant for fried seafood, otherwise won't be a place we will frequent very often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Our server was great. She was the only g ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our server was great. She was the only good thing about the restaurant. When I made my reservation, I requested a table as close to the band as possible as we were traveling three hours specifically to see them. When I received a confirmation call the day before my reservation, I reiterated my request. I was told I was seated back further. I said this was unacceptable as I was coming specifically to see the band and intended to video portions of the performance. The young lady asked me to hold on, then told me I would be seated right next to the stage. Upon my arrival I found I was not seated near the stage and had an obstructed view of the band. I requested the table I had been promised. I was told it was not possible. I tried to video the band. It proved impossible. I spoke to the manager about the problem. He said there was nothing he could do about it. He said when a closer table opened up, he could move me. By the time that occurred, he had left. The remaining staff told me they could not move me because they were going to convert that table space to a dance floor. No one danced so they replaced the tables, then sat no one at them. Their lack of concern and the subsequent chilly atmosphere I experienced were inexcusable.

The food was nowhere near as good as the food I have had at other Puckett's establishments.

The restaurant then reported to Open Table that I had not honored my reservation which would have damaged my status with Open Table had I not corrected them.

I will not be returning, nor will I recommend anyone I know frequent this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

We had the Oysters & Shrimp and Grits Hu ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We had the Oysters & Shrimp and Grits Hushpuppies for our appetizers and they were yummy. If you are in the mood for fried food, you will enjoy it. Grits are very tasty. Grilled Mahi Mahi was overcooked and had to return it.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Food was very good, reasonable value. On ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Food was very good, reasonable value. Only concern was how hard they pushed alcohol. I certainly understand that restaurants have wider profit margins on selling alcoholic beverages but we declined refills on our (single round of) alcoholic beverages no less than five times-- a little bit extreme, in my opinion. Particularly on a holiday weekend with a lot of drunk drivers on the roads already. I'm sure this isn't coming from the servers, I can only imagine that management is putting a lot of pressure on them to sell alcohol. Ideally they could ease up on this in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, , Authentic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Excellent gulf fried shrimp, expected a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent gulf fried shrimp, expected a few more shrimp for the price. Cole slaw was tasty, but room temp.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Large family party for a Christmas festi ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Large family party for a Christmas festival. Puckett's handled it with ease. Food was good and the service was excellent. A fun place for all.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The best part was the band on thursdays ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The best part was the band on thursdays "Audio Saints". The hush puppies were very good and the potatoe soup was good. The waiter was friendly and helped us choose our meal. We both had the salmon but each was overcook and quite dry. It was a fun atmosphere with the band playing almost exclusively to us after 7:30. Most people had left by then. This was our first time there and probably won't be going back only because we live in San Diego. If we did come back I'd give it another try with a different entree.

Tags: Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The Fried Green Tomatoes with Pimento Ch ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The Fried Green Tomatoes with Pimento Cheese and Bacon Jam were outstanding!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Was the perfect night for a relaxing unh ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Was the perfect night for a relaxing unhurried dinner at Puckett's Boathouse. We ate in the lounge area and could still hear the live music in the main dining room. The service was great and their seafood is excellent. We had Salmon and Mahi Mahi.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun place to be, good food and excellent ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fun place to be, good food and excellent service.

Fun place to eat with a group of friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Tomato basil soup was very spicy and tas ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Tomato basil soup was very spicy and tasted awful. Three ladies in our party of 4 got it and none of us liked it. Since I had recommended eating at Boat House, I was embarrassed that the food was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

I was disappointed in shrimp tacos. Didn ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I was disappointed in shrimp tacos. Didn't like the tacos themselves. Took long time to get salads, then food arrived soon after

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

My wife and I made a reservation, wantin ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

My wife and I made a reservation, wanting some good food and nice atmosphere. The food was really good, the atmosphere was nice, and the servers were great.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Puckett's Boathouse and eat ther ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We love Puckett's Boathouse and eat there often. It's always great!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food and great service in a ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Really good food and great service in a great location

Tags: Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service! The fried oysters were d ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great service! The fried oysters were divine, great southern cooked vegetables.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed the freshness of the s ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We really enjoyed the freshness of the seafood. The raw oysters were fantastic as well as the cooked gulf shrimp.

We did not enjoy poorly executed service that was not an understaffing issue. General customer service skills....

Questionable phone skills during our call for reservation time adjustment, appetizers delivered to center of table without small plates, utensils, and napkins for us to eat them with. We noted staff grouped together talking to one another, yet no one responded to us trying to catch their eye while our waiter was in another room.

Our waiter was very friendly but poorly trained about serving bottled wine. (Surprised us considering that the location is marketed as a wine bar.)

So food and wine were both good but the oversights left us feeling like we would be better served elsewhere for our Friday evening dining dollar, (before the theater).

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Food is awesome and live band was good.i ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Food is awesome and live band was good.i recommend the mud cat Mac n cheese!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always a bit uncertain what you will get ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always a bit uncertain what you will get. Can be on but not at our last visit. Got apology after an extended wait for the grilled oysters. But as you can guess, oysters, salads and mains arrived promptly at the same time. A "sort of " apology but mostly an excellent example of throwing the kitchen staff under the bus. Grilled oysters were cold but mains were fine. Will try again but.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This was our first visit to Puckett's Bo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

This was our first visit to Puckett's Boat House and we're so glad we came! Diners of all ages were there on a beautiful October Saturday at lunchtime and it's obviously a great place for kids. The menu is interesting, the food came quickly and was carefully prepared, and the service was friendly, prompt and excellent. I'd been craving good fried shrimp, which are hard to find in this area, and the butterfly shrimp basket at PBH totally exceeded expectations. It will be worth another visit for those shrimp alone!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pretty average. Reserved a table to see ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Pretty average. Reserved a table to see live music while dining and was sat in a back room with no view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

We love Puckett's, and the boathouse is ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We love Puckett's, and the boathouse is one of our favorites.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Spicy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a fantastic time at Pucketts Boat ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We had a fantastic time at Pucketts Boat House. The wait staff was excellent, food was some of the best we have eaten before, music was great from the live band and the location within downtown franklin is superb

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was outstanding. Food quality and ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Waiter was outstanding. Food quality and quantity was perfect. Would go back !!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We ate outside and it was a pleasant exp ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We ate outside and it was a pleasant experience. Our waiter was very attentive. The food was great.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came in after 9:00 for a late supper. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We came in after 9:00 for a late supper. The waitress was cheerful , helpful and efficient. The food was delicious. I had two young couples with me, and this was their kind of place. They loved the ample servings and the casual atmosphere. The many menu choices was also great. I would have no trouble recommending Pucketts for most any occasion except for a formal affair or for a quiet, romantic dinner! For good food, a casual atmosphere, and fun, Pucketts is perfect.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Live Music, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Puckett's Boat house has always been a f ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Puckett's Boat house has always been a favorite of ours. Unfortunately, on this occasion, the food was very disappointing. The oysters were tiny and dry (honestly, should not have been served). And the Shrimp & Grits were average at best. We will continue to eat here, and hope that in the future the food is back up to the standard we have experienced in the past. The Boat House is such a fun spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food & service, but the live music ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Good food & service, but the live music wasn't. Can't decide if it was the artists or the sound system...or both. Unusually light crowd for a Friday night.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Authentic, People Watching, Live Music, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were traveling to florida from Indian ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We were traveling to florida from Indiana we stopped to grab something to eat. Atmosphere was amazing. Our waiter was fantastic! The food taste was excellent This is a a place to and enjoy a good meal and great fellowship.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Went to Puckett's Boat House very early ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Went to Puckett's Boat House very early (5:30pm) on a weekday and it was quiet with very few guests. That made it perfect for catching up with some family members and both the food and the wine were terrific. We made reservations but they were not needed at that hour. Service was great, very attentive. No complaints here, would gladly go back again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I had never been here and thought why no ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I had never been here and thought why not give them a try. Unfortunately the menu was mainly spicy food that my family can't eat, especially with an allergy to pepper. The server was nice but I felt the service was a bit too slow for having made a reservation at 5:30pm and it wasn't busy yet. We left around 8pm that evening.

For my family we probably won't give them another try. I would still recommend them as someone else may enjoy the spicy food and live music.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Any of the Marshall's restaurants are wo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Any of the Marshall's restaurants are wonderful! I am a Franklin, TN native who salutes the Marshall's for their ability to carry-on the dream of the community leaders of the past who worked toward ( I can personally vouch for) their goal of establishing Franklin, TN to be a town of quality, hospitality and excellence for future generations. My dad would have been a regular!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Drove from NC to attend the Pilgrimage F ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Drove from NC to attend the Pilgrimage Festival and made only two reservations. One for here and one for Puckett's Downtown Franklin. Both were excellent. Will do it again next year.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found Puckett's Boat House on Trip Ad ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

We found Puckett's Boat House on Trip Advisor; it was better than expected and we expected a lot! A great place to visit, a great waiter who led us to the "just right" dishes, and great food at a reasonable price.

We were in Franklin for several days and ate at some great restaurants, this was one of the best! Anyone visiting the area would be strongly advised not to miss eating here!

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Returned to Pucketts Boathouse with visi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Returned to Pucketts Boathouse with visiting family. Servers were prompt, friendly and attentive. Food was very good, especially the creamed spinach appetizer. We will be back.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience! Food was awesome, beer ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Great experience! Food was awesome, beer was great and our waiter was exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a friend there for oysters and sh ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

I took a friend there for oysters and she was disappointed. We also shared the Cajun Shrimp and Grits. The food, service and atmosphere were outstanding. Planning on a return visit soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, , Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu offerings were good. The oyster ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The menu offerings were good. The oysters were good.

The beer was fantastic.

Mixed drinks were poorly made. I could have made kool-aid at home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.