About Puckett's 5th & Church

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
Please visit http://www.parkitdowntown.com/ for details on parking

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: (615) 770-2772

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (87)
Casual (71)
Live Music (71)
See All
Fun (56)
Good for a Date (40)
Good for Groups (36)
Authentic (36)
People Watching (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Hot Spot (26)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Family Style (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Kid-friendly (21)
Great Beer (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Happy Hour (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Historic (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Cozy (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Business Meals (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Romantic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Live Sports (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Dancing (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1762 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Started well as we were able to be seated 30 minutes early. The place had a cool atmosphere. However the food was sub standard. Baby-back ribs were the worst I've had. Tough as beef ribs. The restroom was lacking in the worse way. Something you would expect in a highway rest area rather than a notable restaurant. Then we learned that we would have to move to make room for a larger party. That has never happened to me in my 59 years. We intended to stay for the live entertainment but instead left in disgust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was delicious! The service was great and entertainment 1st class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great place to eat and drink
Great place to eat before the hockey game or concert at the Ryman

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Live Music, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Had dinner here with several friends while visiting Nashville.
The food was awesome--the Fried Pickles were the best I have ever had. Drinks were delicious and desserts were out of this world.
I like the atmosphere and the live music adds something.

One critique--a table was added outside of our booth but it was so close that we could not get out without hitting their chairs. It was a large party so they blocked our table. That was the only negative about the dinner but it was very annoying as we got up to use the restroom and we got up to depart. if we stood up and one of their people stood up, we would knock each other almost to the ground. If they scooted back as we were walking by or sat with their chair out at little bit, we were blocked or knocked. I suggest not trying to force another table in at the expense of those already seated.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The atmosphere was great, however the music level was extremely loud consisting of some type of unusual rock. A place with a country atmosphere should play country music, especially in Nashville.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The bristle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Visited last week while in Nashville on business. You need reservations or you will wait, which you may not mind if you have the live music keeping you occupied. Great food with healthy options if needed. I'll be back when I can eat more of what's on the menu, but the salmon and broccoli was great!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great BBQ and Live music

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The live music was AMAZING! ...the food though...disappointing, compared with previous experience. Maybe just an "off night "...maybe a new chef...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Food was horrible, order was wrong. Took forever to get a drink. Place is a dump. Absolutely disgusting

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I would not send my friends here. Besides being surround by a table of 30 - 13 year old girls whose parents were seated at another table and could care less what the girls were doing and tables of drunk bachelorette parties (who were all in the bathroom puking) the food was served cold and tasteless.
Skip this overrated tourist trap!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great spot in Nashville! Love the southern comfort food and hospitality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Berlin)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Despite out reservation we had to wait a while to be seated. But from that moment on service was really well. The food was OK. And The local beers certainly were also OK, as was the live band. I had a fine evening.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great Beer, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Great soul food at reasonable prices with live music

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 5, 2017

First time my family had been to Nashville. I had eaten at Puckett's last year when I was in Nashville and really enjoyed it. My family enjoyed the food and the atmosphere. Our waitress was a bit abrupt, which was the only downfall.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Very accommodating and friendly and the food was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We had out of town visitors and wanted to take them somewhere unique to Nashville. They really enjoyed the atmosphere...said it was perfect for them. The food was delicious and we ate too much. So, afterwards we "walked dinner off" by giving them a tour of the Gaylord Opryland resort.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Great southern fried chicken and Cole slaw

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 2, 2017

In Nashville for a few days and Puckett's got great reviews. The food was AWFUL. Mac & cheese watery & tepid. Cocktails terrible. Fried green tomatoes were greasy. Ribs were tough. Overall a total disappointment. Ham Family Band was good but don't need to see them again. I am just really amazed how many people wrote great reviews about this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Excellent barbecue! Wonderful wait staff- Jenny is the best!

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The food was good, but our servers were missing in action. When we arrived we were seated immediately, greeted by one server that said she was "sharing the section" ... and then disappeared. Throughout the meal it was like pulling teeth to get another round of drinks, coffee refill... it only took an hour and a half to eat but 1/2 hour of that was just waiting for service. Good experience but could have been great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Our food and service was very good. Server made good recommendations for our food choices. Not happy with our table location right at the front door. There is not an adequate waiting area and felt like those waiting for a table were on top of us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My husband, my friend, and I ate at Puckett's for dinner. Our waiter was friendly and attentive. I was already having trouble choosing my meal since the menu had so many good offerings, then the waiter told us about the special...I ended up with that: chicken stuffed with bacon and apples. It was wonderful, as were the plentiful sides. I'm embarrassed to share how I carbo-loaded on the sides, but I had mac & cheese baked in a cast-iron skillet and served with a slightly spicy corn cake, and mashed potatoes. It was all great! My husband loved his catfish, and my friend really enjoyed her dinner as well. Great night, reasonably priced.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, Authentic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 27, 2017

The restaurant was crowded and loud. Definitely set up for families. They say they have live music but it does not start until 8pm. I know good BBQ. This is set up for the crowds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Came all the way from Texas to try the Chicken Fried Steak.....didn't have it at this location.....the waitress said they quit carrying it but get requests for it all the time. OWNER PUT IT BACK ON THE MENU. They were out of the chicken fried chicken so I had to go with the southern fried chicken which was awesome. Got the fried brownie for desert and it was awesome. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Another great time at Pucketts. We came to see the Steel Blossoms play- terrific live music- and it was showcase night- we got to see 3 great live acts. My blackened salmon was perfectly cooked with a side of crisp flat iron beans. Kelsey, the hostesss was super-helpful in accommodating our party- which has grown by quite a few. We will be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Perfect place to eat before or after a show. Good menu and its been consistently good. They have a great beer selection. I always eat there when in Nashville.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We went on a Saturday night and there was a fun band playing. Food was excellent and priced very reasonably. Service was friendly and prompt. Would definitely go back if I return to Nashville.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was good, Outstanding service, Table was ready at appointed time, not very long wait for food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great chicken n waffles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

We called the restaurant for reservations but were told they were full. Went to the website and had no problem getting a table. In fact, there were plenty of tables when we got there.

The food was good and the server was very professional and nice.

Tags: People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Great sliders and fries. Pulled pork and mac n cheese was nothing special......

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Interesting decor. It use to be an old grocery store. It is very popular, so luckily they take reservations. Austin, our waiter, was very good and fast.

We had two orders of chicken and waffles which were big orders. I had the BBQ chicken (coleslaw, sweet potato fries and baked beans). It was enough for two people.

You should definitely try this place for the great food and prices.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Had a family dinner there - using the Open Table reservation system was helpful in finding a time that our group of 9 could be seated without waiting. Great food - good range of menu selections for all age ranges.

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 21, 2017

Crowded for a Monday evening. Recommend making reservations in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Pre show dinner with reservation through Open Table...good thing we had reservations on a Saturday night as it was packed...service was fast, efficient and gracious. Food was delicious..I had a great garden salad with the piggy mac and cheese......Try it it was great. Husband had cat fish that he said was very good.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Outstanding Value, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was too warm. No fans & no air on because it was cool outside but with all the people it was not comfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Frequent all of Pucketts locations in Nashville and Franklin - you guys rock...!

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went with another couple and each had the barbecue sampler plate. The plate was huge with chicken wings, ribs, and pulled pork. The wings and pulled pork were excellent. The ribs had been overcooked and while they tasted well they were a little tough and difficult to eat. If I was there again, I wouldn't get the sampler plate, but would get either the pulled pork or the wings.
We always get the fried green beans as an appetizer. Service was great and we enjoyed the restaurant as always.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great service. Fun atmosphere. Usually crowded so get reservations. Good food, especially for BBQ and comfort food lovers!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.