About Puckett's 5th & Church

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday & Sunday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet every Friday and Saturday evening starting at 5pm.

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: 6157702772x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits
Chicken Fried Steak
Chicken and Waffles
Fried White Meat Chicken Dinner
Boro Blonde Mayday
Southern Stack
Chicken
2meat And 2Side Special
Breakfast Buffet
Cherry Smoked Baby Back Ribs
Wings
Country Fried Chicken
Fried Pickles And Jalapenos
Bbq Brats
shots
Meat And Three
Sweet potato fries
Pineapple Juice
Fried Green Tomato B.L.T.
Fried Pickles & Fried Jalapenos
Puckett's Burger August Special
Biscuits and Gravy
Breakfast Burrito
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Puckett's Apple Pie Moonshine Martini
Smoked Bologna Sandwich
Chocolate Chip Pancakes And Home Fries
Omelet
veggie burger with sweet potato fries
Chicken Wings, Fried Pepperoni, Fried Asparagus, Pulled Pork Slider
Fried Green Tomatoes
Breakfast Buff
Beale Street Burger
Memphis Oysters
Peach Tea
Chicken Fried Chicken
Peach Cobbler
BBQ Pork Platter
Bubba's Eggs Benedict
Pork Chop
fried chicken
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich
Fried Green Beans
Patty Melt on Rye
Green Flash West Coast IPA
Eggs Benedict
Ribs And Chicken Fried Chicken
Meat
Ribs
Meatloaf & Gravy With Potato Salad
Pulled Pork
Chocolate Milk
Strawberry Salad With Raspberry Vinegarette Dress.and Rasperry Vodka
Red Beans & Rice
Early Riser Breakfast
Veggie Omelette
Bubba Bones
Bbq Shrimp & Grits
Chocolate Chip Pancakes
Fudge Pie
Country Ham Platter
Beef Brisket

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Nashville
Great for Lunch
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
5 More
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Value
Nashville
Great for Lunch
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

good for groups (161)
neighborhood gem (138)
hot spot (127)
See All
great for lunch (113)
fit for foodies (92)
kid-friendly (82)
special occasion (56)
vibrant bar scene (43)
great for brunch (39)
late-night find (30)
great for outdoor dining (14)
scenic view (7)
romantic (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Every year I visit Nashville and I ways ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Every year I visit Nashville and I ways make sure I make a reservation during my trip for dinner at Puckett's. I love the ribs. This year I did feel that the potato salad was a bit dry and not as favorable as in the past and the Mac and Cheese was over done - so I was a little disappointed. But I will go back again next year and hope for better since in the past it has always been excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service2
value5

Our waitress was great, but the hostess ...

Dined 4 days ago

Our waitress was great, but the hostess was very rude. We had a reservation, and had to wait about 20 extra minutes for a table. When I asked the hostess how much longer it would be, she replied with "I don't know", and looked the other way. Then I asked if we could have the open table in the corner and she said "No, that's a reservation". We should have been treated with the same respect as any other customer with a reservation. When we finally sat down, we ordered fried pickles. They came out before our tea even made it to the table. They were cold, and we had to send them back. We loved our server but the overall experience was not great due to the rude hostess and poor fried pickles. It was my mom and grandmas first time there, so she's not sure if she would come back. I appreciate you reading this !

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Love eating at Puckett's when we come to ...

Dined 6 days ago

Love eating at Puckett's when we come to Nashville! I would suggest reservations.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visited Puckett's 5th & Church while vac ...

Dined 6 days ago

Visited Puckett's 5th & Church while vacationing in Nashville. Our family of 4 thoroughly enjoyed the meal and the atmosphere. The Shrimp & Grits are wonderful! The service was also excellent. It's a bit noisy which adds to the atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good. Live entertainment

Dined 6 days ago

Good. Live entertainment

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Southern food. So fun to start a t ...

vip
Dined on June 20, 2016

Great Southern food. So fun to start a trip in Nashville!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved this place!!! We went as a surpris ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Loved this place!!! We went as a surprise for my husband on Father's Day. He thoroughly enjoyed the blues music, the food, and the overall atmosphere. Our waitress was absolutely wonderful and she took the time to explain the restaurant concept and various menu items. Her menu suggestions were on point and everyone enjoyed their entrees. Will definitely return for future visits and recommend to friends.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service with an excellent ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and service with an excellent variety of items on the menu.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Chicken and waffles were sooooo good!!! ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Chicken and waffles were sooooo good!!! A must have!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tasty food, generous portions, attentive ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Tasty food, generous portions, attentive service. Very popular place so reservations are highly recommended.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great long meal. Yummy appetizers, entre ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great long meal. Yummy appetizers, entrees, and desserts. Great service and a wonderful music performance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Location was great in downtown area. Foo ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Location was great in downtown area. Food was very good. Service was a bit challenged. Went for dinner and my husband never got his salad (after reminding 2 waiters) then went back the next morning for breakfast and again he didn't get the gravy that was supposed to come with his breakfast platter. Had to ask for it again. Would still recommend this restaurant for location and food!!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was the best that we'd had whil ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was the best that we'd had while in Nashville. Our waitress was amazing. She made recommendations and made sure that we got exactly what we wanted. I've never had a waitress that made legitimate recommendations and was so attentive/ friendly. We will definitely go back everytime were in Nashville

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a group of 9 and Pucketts accommodat ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Had a group of 9 and Pucketts accommodated us nicely.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had dinner during CMA Fest. Reservations ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Had dinner during CMA Fest. Reservations are a must and the food was great, authentic Southern food. Live music was also nice and made for a great (and loud) atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience4
service2

Dinner was terrible. Will never eat ther ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Dinner was terrible. Will never eat there again. Waitress was wonderful but the food was not edible

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Really enjoyed brunch and dinner!! We ha ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Really enjoyed brunch and dinner!! We have lunch and dinner at Puckett's every time we visit Nashville!! Great buffet for brunch and reasonable!! Fantastic evening live music!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was beyond excellent. Every empl ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Service was beyond excellent. Every employee was friendly, helpful and accommodating. Food was good but wasn't o early impressive for the price. There was a live band, but the level was so oppressively loud that we couldn't even hear our server when she came to take our order. I understand that it's a live-music venue.... But it's also a place to have dinner. I feel like there could have been a happy medium -- something between quiet and deafening.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We made reservations which was the best ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We made reservations which was the best idea. There was a line out the door and we walked in and said that we had reservations at 5:30pm and the hostess grabbed 2 menus and walked us right to a table! MAKE RESERVATIONS!! The BBQ was wonderful. They had a band setting up and they were really good. It can be kid friendly, I think, up to a certain time due to language of the band. We had a great time and would go back again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Save room for cobbler

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Save room for cobbler

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, even during busy CMA week.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Fortunately I made reservations well in advance because they were booked all weekend when we considered changing the time. There were many things on the menu that we wanted to try, so we'll be back another time. We went with another couple who was also very impressed. Vanessa was the waitress that did an outstanding job for us. Very thorough, friendly and professional, despite being VERY busy.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PUCKETT'S

Dined on June 9, 2016

Puckett's was AMAZING!!!! One of our very favorite places to eat in Nashville.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful Nashville experience! W ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

What a wonderful Nashville experience! We were very lucky to have made a reservation since the place was packed and we ended up at a table right beside the stage. Sure, with a live band, it wasn't suitable for conversation. But the pork chop and ribs were outstanding and our server was extremely helpful with local beer and whiskey recommendations. We'll gladly come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fabulous! Recommend Pucke ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Everything was fabulous! Recommend Puckett's for a nice, casual dinner out in Nashville. The chicken fried chicken is awesome! Thanks to our server for recommending it. :)

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food best Mac & cheese I ever had! ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

Great food best Mac & cheese I ever had!!!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Southern cooking in a great spot

vip
Dined on June 7, 2016

Fried chicken or catfish. Sweet Potato Fries. Meat and three! And all of this in a busy and diverse setting. Great people watching - from tourists in shorts and cowboy boots to House members coming down from the Hill in 3 piece suits. Service has always been very fast and nice

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Where's the Beef?

Dined on June 5, 2016

While visiting Nashville for a couple of days my wife and I wanted to try the Puckett's for its notable "southern" cuisine. We were seated shortly after our arrival; (we had reservations and suggest that you do as well); and service was quick and friendly. Our appetizers of fried green tomatoes and their special ribs met our expectations and was consistent with Puckett's reputation. Unfortunately, with the serving of our entrees, the shine wore off the star. My wife's catfish was fine, but certainly not noteworthy, and the portion robust; but my patty melt (one of my favorite meals), fell materially short. All I could think of was the old Wendy's ad where the old lady poignantly remarks "where's the beef". The patty, at best, filled 1/3 of the rye bread and the caramelized onions were few and far between. A major disappointment. We decided not to stick around for dessert. There are too many good places on Broadway to get great ice cream. I do not think that because Puckett's fell short on my choice means that it is an unworthy restaurant. I think what it means is that you need to stay away from ordering burgers there and stay with the fried fare and ribs. I think you will be much more satisfied.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

BEST FOOD IN TOWN!! Amazing BBQ. Pulled ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

BEST FOOD IN TOWN!! Amazing BBQ. Pulled pork was the best of any restaurant I've tried in Nashville!!! And the smoked chicken was killer!!! Waitress was super nice super friendly and she knew her stuff. I will definitely be back.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Southern Food in the Heart of Nashville

Dined on June 3, 2016

I took the wife and kids here for a good downtown meal before a show at TPAC. Our server was incredibly friendly and really made the meal that much more enjoyable. The food was great. I had the smoked half chicken (crispy skin, bonus!) and my wife had the hanger steak. The chicken was excellent, but one bite of my wife's steak and I regretted my decision. The steak was fantastic. My only complain was the noise level. It's a fairly noisy place to begin with, but we were seated next to a bachelorette party, so it was especially so. All in all a great experience. I'll be back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on June 3, 2016

The food was amazing! Every plate we ordered in the large group had no complaints. The alcoholic drinks were also very tasty! I wish I lived in Nashville because I would be visiting this place frequently!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great Music and Food

Dined on June 3, 2016

This place was recommended by a friend and we were not disappointed. Fortunately, we had reservations, so was able to walk right in and was sat immediately. I would highly recommend reservations! The food tasted wonderful and the live music was fabulous. I was with friends on a business trip and so I hope to take my wife soon to this wonderful establishment.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Fried chicken made to order was awesome

Dined on June 1, 2016

Fried chicken made to order was awesome

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food - awesome music

vip
Dined on May 31, 2016

Another great night at Pucketts! The BBQ sampler was the special - the smoker was right behind the bar - that's pretty cool. The band was good - and played originals and some requests.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great night of music and food he ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Another great night of music and food here. We had a great table in front of the stage. The band- Blair's West were a husband and wife duo- terrific talent and voices. They played for tips and played requests too. I had the Mojo burger- burger with pulled pork- really tasty and filled me up. Can't wait to go back!

food4
ambience4
service4

Group we went to hear- On Call- excellen ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Group we went to hear- On Call- excellent.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern Food

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Enjoyed our Fried Green Tomatoes and brisket nachos for appetizers. Tried a Moonshine Martini and it was uber sweet but went down smoothly. Extensive whiskey menu. I had the baby backs and my husband had the fried chicken (worth the extra wait!!!!). Both were outstanding. Comes with sides. This is the place to go if you want to experience real Southern Cookin'

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Exciting Place

Dined on May 27, 2016

The place was packed and noisy but fun Good for large or small groups. Not fancy

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

WE had 4 couples visiting from out of to ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

WE had 4 couples visiting from out of town so we wanted them to get some local flavor with a Nashville owned restaurant. We had a great table for 10 in a semi private area of the restaurant so we could all talk. Our waitress took great care of us and everything was efficient and delicious. She also took the time to separate checks! Great place for a pre-concert meal at the Ascend Amphitheater.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always SO GOOD. Best barbecue in ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Food is always SO GOOD. Best barbecue in Nashville. 👌🏼

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful

Dined on May 26, 2016

Being from Australia we asked some locals where was good. Several recommend Pucketts. You defiantly need to reserve a table at least the morning of the evening you intend on going as we missed out the first night we just showed up. The food was amazing! Had a home cooked meal feel to it which good when you've been traveling for weeks. The service was also awesome! Quick to the table, I ordered what our server suggested and some desert! The servings were huge! My mate and I could have easily shared a main and desert and been satisfied. I believe they have live entertainment every night which got a little loud at times but you can request a table further from the stage. All in all i highly recommend Pucketts. Awesome food, amazing vibe and delightful entertainment. Ps. Get the chicken fried chicken and chocolate chess pie!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.