About Puckett's 5th & Church

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
Please visit http://www.parkitdowntown.com/ for details on parking

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: (615) 770-2772

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Shrimp and Grits - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Chicken Fried Steak - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Southern Stack - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Chicken - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Fried White Meat Chicken Dinner - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Boro Blonde Mayday - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Chicken and Waffles - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Cherry Smoked Baby Back Ribs - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Wings - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Country Fried Chicken - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Fried Pickles And Jalapenos - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Bbq Brats - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
shots - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Meat And Three - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Sweet potato fries - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Pineapple Juice - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Fried Green Tomato B.L.T. - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Fried Pickles & Fried Jalapenos - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
2meat And 2Side Special - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Puckett's Burger August Special - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Biscuits and Gravy - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Breakfast Burrito - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Fried Chicken & Waffles - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Puckett's Apple Pie Moonshine Martini - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Smoked Bologna Sandwich - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Chocolate Chip Pancakes And Home Fries - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Omelet - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
veggie burger with sweet potato fries - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Chicken Wings, Fried Pepperoni, Fried Asparagus, Pulled Pork Slider - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Fried Green Tomatoes - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Breakfast Buff - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Breakfast Buffet - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Beale Street Burger - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Memphis Oysters - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Peach Tea - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Peach Cobbler - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Chicken Fried Chicken - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
BBQ Pork Platter - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Bubba's Eggs Benedict - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Pork Chop - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
fried chicken - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Fried Green Beans - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Patty Melt on Rye - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Green Flash West Coast IPA - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Eggs Benedict - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Meat - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Ribs And Chicken Fried Chicken - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Ribs - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Pulled Pork - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Meatloaf & Gravy With Potato Salad - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Chocolate Milk - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Early Riser Breakfast - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Strawberry Salad With Raspberry Vinegarette Dress.and Rasperry Vodka  - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Red Beans & Rice - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Chocolate Chip Pancakes - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Bbq Shrimp & Grits - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Fudge Pie - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Bubba Bones - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Country Ham Platter - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Veggie Omelette - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN
Beef Brisket - Puckett's 5th & Church, Nashville, TN

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (71)
Casual (61)
Fun (54)
See All
Live Music (52)
Good for Groups (41)
Hot Spot (39)
Authentic (36)
Good for a Date (30)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Special Occasion (25)
Great Beer (21)
People Watching (21)
Family Style (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Great for Lunch (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Historic (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Cozy (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Quick Bite (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Business Meals (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Romantic (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Seasonal (3)
Scenic View (3)
Live Sports (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1656 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fun and memorable. Huge portions! Reall ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined 3 days ago

Fun and memorable. Huge portions! Really fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The salad was super fresh, and the fried ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

The salad was super fresh, and the fried green tomatoes were awesome! I definitely wouldn't recommend the nachos, and the piggy mac was very dry and lack luster. The kids chicken tenders was a large portion and very good!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great place for dinner. Great place for ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for dinner. Great place for all occasions. Good music, diverse menu, and in the heart of Nashville.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The smoked bologna was fantastic! Cute a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The smoked bologna was fantastic! Cute atmosphere and enjoyed the love music. Our waitress was fantastic.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Shrimp tacos were very good and the meal ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Shrimp tacos were very good and the meal was served quickly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Had a friend in from out of town and wan ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a friend in from out of town and wanted to show her a local place. She really enjoyed the cocktails, the food and the ambience.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was just... ok. Prices were comparab ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was just... ok. Prices were comparable to other restaurants (in Nashville, everything is over-priced) and the food was comparable, as well. Just ok.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, didn't have to wait. Was pr ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, didn't have to wait. Was pretty busy so our waitress we a little behind but overall a great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food, great environment! Absolutel ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, great environment! Absolutely love Puckett's!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Hot Spot, Live Music, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fun. Make sure u go later for music ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very fun. Make sure u go later for music. Ribs were great. Half order is big. Mac and cheese very good

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were shown to our table immediately a ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were shown to our table immediately and the wait staff were very friendly and attentive. The meal was wonderful especially the cajun chicken and waffle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I visit Puckett 's often and I am never ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I visit Puckett 's often and I am never disappointed. Wes was our server and he was really a nice guy. I brought a first time Nashville visitor for dinner, and he really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, , Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pucketts was a planned stop for our trip ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pucketts was a planned stop for our trip and we will. One again. We enjoyed the food, live music and excellent friendly service. Due to inclement weather, they called me to confirm or select another time etc. Their hospitality was over the top. Musical guest was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best chicken and waffles I've ever had

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Best chicken and waffles I've ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Puckett's is a fun place that is always ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Puckett's is a fun place that is always consistent. Good variety in both the food menu and beer tap selection. Convenient to Ryman and Broadway.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were in Nashville for three nights an ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We were in Nashville for three nights and visited Pucketts twice! The menu choices were great - pretty much everything looked fantastic. We loved the resolution turkey burgers. The roast chicken was very flavourful as was the mac and cheese with pulled pork. We shared the pecan crumble for desert and was great too. Great local beer choices - loved the pickets lager. Wines by the glass were great too. Got to listen to a great bluegrass band one night. Staff were all super friendly and very service oriented. Would go again in a heartbeat !

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Repeat customers of Pucketts and as alwa ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Repeat customers of Pucketts and as always, super happy! Keep up the great work!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very interesting. Good food. Specialty ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Very interesting. Good food. Specialty cocktails tasted off. Overall good experience, especially the corn cakes.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Puckett's, great ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had a great time at Puckett's, great food and atmosphere. I had the shrimp and grits, excellent choice! My husband has the ribs, which were tender and delicious. Great place for families too. We were too early for the music, still had a great time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the places I try to hit each time ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

One of the places I try to hit each time I am in Nashville. I always enjoy the atmosphere and the food at Puckett's . I really want a t-shirt to advertise to my friends. I will always have Puckett's on my must visit list when visiting the Nashville area. When I have friends ask about where to eat in Nashville I always recommend Puckett's. My only problem is what to eat....so many decisions :)

Tags: Fun, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place! Definitely make reservation ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great place! Definitely make reservations! Loved the Piggy Mac and fried brownie dessert! Very casual!

Tags: Authentic, Live Sports, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The overall experience could have been b ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The overall experience could have been better. We ordered salmon and a ribeye steak. Salmon was very good, but if you want a steak go somewhere else. Steak was flavorless and had lots of grizzle. The sides that came with both entrees tasted great. Service showed a lack of detail. Had to request bread halfway through meal and wait 10 minutes to get a steak knife after food was delivered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

We made a last minute reservation for af ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We made a last minute reservation for after the Music City Bowl, based on reviews and location. This by FAR exceeded our expectations! Simple comfort food that was FANTASTIC!! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food and value. We liked the ambi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and value. We liked the ambiance of the restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

this was a great way to spend an evening ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

this was a great way to spend an evening in Nashville before going out on the town, the ambiance was perfect, service was excellent, staff really knew the menu and recommendations were outstanding. Would highly recommend this restaurant to friends and family and plan on visiting again soon.

Thank You

Tags: Good for a Date, Great Beer, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our dinner at Puckett's so mu ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner at Puckett's so much that we went back for lunch two days later! The food was excellent, especially the catfish and southern-fried chicken, the dessert was a yummy surprise, and the music entertaining and appropriate. Our family will remember this for a long time.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our first night in Nashville on the holi ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our first night in Nashville on the holiday weekend. Reservations were hard to come by and it was very busy everywhere and Puckett had a table available. The atmosphere was fun and family friendly but the food was below average. We had higher expectations based on other reviews.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

This is a favorite of ours. We are out ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is a favorite of ours. We are out of town season ticket holders to the Nashville Predators and although Puckett's is close to Bridgestone Arena, it's not the only reason we go there. The food is great. The service is fast (but not rushed) and friendly and you can't beat the live music. It is always crowded so using Open Table has been really helpful. I suggest reservations but even without them, it's worth the wait.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great Beer, Casual, Open Kitchen, People Watching, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nachos Appetizer had much more cheese t ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Nachos Appetizer had much more cheese than BBQ beef. Seemed lower quality than previous time ate there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always!! Go to spot before ca ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Amazing as always!! Go to spot before catching a show at the Ryman.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food are both great. Would h ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service and food are both great. Would highly recommend a reservation because it is a popular place.

Good location just a couple of blocks from Broadway.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely LOVED this place! Great food, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Absolutely LOVED this place! Great food, great beer and we had the pleasure of hearing Adam Bruno live. Outstanding show! Would love to come back again some day (we live in Virginia!)

Tags: Great Beer, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ribs and shrimp and grits were delicious ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

ribs and shrimp and grits were delicious. great service, fun atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mac and Cheese Entree looked like appeti ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Mac and Cheese Entree looked like appetizer.

Shrimp and grits with blackened shrimp was NOT Blackened, Grits were soupy. Fried pickles were good

Service was good

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

One of the best pre- Predator's game din ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 22, 2016

One of the best pre- Predator's game dinner locations downtown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food - country club was on point a ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food - country club was on point as always. Need to get proper cups for those Moscow mules!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall enjoyed the experience but it to ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Overall enjoyed the experience but it took 50 minutes to get our food. We got there at 5:35 and didn't get our food until 6:25. We had tickets to the Predators game that started at 7. Had to rush to eat and we were 5 minutes late.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

We went here 3 times on our trip. Twice ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We went here 3 times on our trip. Twice for breakfast and once for dinner and the food was delicious both times. I got their fried catfish for dinner and I have to say it's the best I've ever eaten! Would definitely recommend this restaurant for a good meal while in Nashville.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations at 5 and did not mak ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had reservations at 5 and did not make it until 5:15 due to traffic. We were prepared to wait but they still sat us as soon as we said our name. Love this place. Always great food along with service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Romantic, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great ambience and food.

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Great ambience and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.