About Puckett's 5th & Church

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
Please visit http://www.parkitdowntown.com/ for details on parking

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: (615) 770-2772

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (100)
Comfort Food (94)
Casual (86)
See All
Fun (80)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Authentic (49)
Hot Spot (47)
Good for a Date (47)
Good for Groups (41)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Great for Lunch (38)
People Watching (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Great Beer (26)
Worth the Drive (26)
Local Ingredients (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Bar Seating (22)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Happy Hour (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (11)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Spicy (7)
Live Sports (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Historic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Romantic (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Scenic View (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Private Room (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
S
1910 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 2 days ago

I went to see the Sunday showcase- Canaan Cox and Lacey Caroline were great performers. I had the meatloaf- terrific! My server Gabby was great as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

They serve down home country cooking. The food and live music were great. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

fun atmosphere and nice servers. Live Music venue is awesome! Great talent. Don't miss this place!Shrimp and Grits were delicious. Strong beer selection too! You will not be disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Best value in Nashville! Tasty, inexpensive food & quality live entertainment. Worth the wait!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Our second visit was a much better experience than our first one. Thank you for our gift card!

Tags: Live Sports, Great for Lunch, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food, great music, good spot to experience Nashville vibe

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Live Music, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Puckett's is our "go to" place when folks come to visit us in Nashville. Casual dinner at Pucketts then a short walk to Broadway. The food is always good.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Great food, great live music, lots of fun. We ate before a concert at Bridgestone (walking distance). Definitely recommend checking it out. Chicken & waffles were delicious.

Tags: Fun, Bar Seating, People Watching, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Waiter never returned to ask how food was and had to flag him down to refill waters twice waiters all hanging in back chatting

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Had a good time and got to hear some fantastic music from the Aberdeen Band

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I brought a friend from out of town and her two sons to Puckett's. It was a fabulous experience! Everyone was thrilled with the food options, and had a difficult time choosing from the mouth-watering Southern dishes. We ended up with the brisket nachos, catfish, piggy mac and chicken fried chicken -- all were fantastic! Our waiter was super-friendly, and the atmosphere was really fun. As we were leaving, a live band was tuning up.

Great spot for authentic and filling Southern comfort food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Famous restaurant with less than mediocre food. Only go just to say you went. I've always wanted to eat here and I was horribly disappointed. The food was below average. The service was average. It was loud. The hostess was rude. I'm only glad to have checked this off my list and will not recommended or ever eat here again.

We had chicken fried chicken and a sausage and cheese plate. The mash potatoes tasted instant. The green beans were saturated in butter and oil. The chicken was ok. The sausage and cheese plate was nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Just a good time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Loved that Puckett's was easy access since my friend was on her walker-the hostess made sure we were seated and kindly stored walker bringing it back to table when we were ready to go-Ruth was tired from ART CRAWL so we asked if there was any way we could eat at 7 and the hostesses kindly obliged!!! Yummy catfish, squash casserole-left happy!!!!! Kudos to great staff!!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Great Beer, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Our experience was overall good as well as was our server . Limited dinner menu I thought. The meatloaf was great and large portion.Either meatloaf and/ or gravy was a little salty though. Green beans were not as done as I like them. The chicken was really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Honestly, this place was a little overrated. We went here because everyone said we should and it did not live up to the hype. The meat was extremely dry, it was extremely loud (even without the live music playing so I can't even imagine when that is going on), and it was so packed it felt like they were rushing us out so they could free up our table. Our server was extremely nice, so plus there. Also, I don't know why they asked us if it was a special occasion on our reservation if they didn't even acknowledge it. anyway, I would only go to check it off your nashville list and if you desperately wanted to wait for a table.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Dinner as good; service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great atmosphere and delicious food! We went on a Tuesday night and they had live music. A little loud due to packed house. Recommend reservation as they were booked almost a week in advance for evenings.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great place off the main drag for good food & music.

Tags: Live Music, Local Ingredients, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We met a "starving music writer" who was working as a server at this restaurant. Was fun to chat with him and learn a bit more about the locals at Nashville and the music business. Good luck with your music, Dustin!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Disappointing. First night in town there was a 2 hour wait so we made reservations for another night. Service was fine but seating was cramped. Food was below average and disappointing based on other reviews and recommendations. The baby back ribs were dry and tough. The pig and mac was disappointing. The garden side salad was the highlight. Lots of people like this place but I don't seem to get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Everything was quite good. I had the Tennessee Hot Chicken sandwich and it was outstanding. Wife had Shrimp and Grits and said it was great. One son also had the chicken sandwich, other chicken and waffles that was quite good. Make reservations or you will have a long wait.

Tags: Spicy, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The concept and ambiance are great ... food is a bit lackluster. I had the baby back ribs and I thought they were cooked to death. The potato salad was bland and tasteless. There was nothing special about the baked beans and the corn bread was cold. It was early on Saturday evening and half of the beers on the list were not available. Also there were several food menu items that were not available. The hype does not match the quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Best food ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Really fun place! We stopped in Nashville overnight while on our way to Gulf Shores and decided to try Puckett's for dinner! the food was delicious and our server was fantastic. We were heading straight from Chicago to the restaurant and were running an hour and a half behind schedule; gave them a call and they happily accommodated us. We walked in and they sat us right away! Will definitely return to Puckett's when we are back in Nashville!

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

I'm very disappointed that the took the chicken fried steak of the menu! I ordered the chicken fried chicken and it was burnt and unedable. They did make me a new one after I complained and it was good but not as good as the chicken fried steak was!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Great entertainment on a Sunday night! Really enjoyed listening to the singers and not feeling rushed to leave our table.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Went for my daughter's birthday. Chicken salad sandwich was mostly chicken skin and had parts of "chicken carcass" per manager. The restaurant should have removed the inedible meal from our bill, but they did NOTHING.
My daughter got the hot chicken sandwich and was not able to eat most of the chicken either.
Would not recommend and will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We stopped here on our way through Nashville on a friend's recommendation. It was wonderful! Great classic comfort food like Southern fried chicken, pulled pork,BBQ ribs along with some interesting spins on classics such as Fried Green Tomato BLT (yum!) and Cajun Chicken and Waffles. Everything was delicious and the live music added to the already cool atmosphere. It was also reasonably priced. Would go here again in a minute!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Made reservation for 4 at least a week in advance, was seated between hostess station/waiting customers and brightly lit large cooler. My fault for not speaking up to request different table but this table should be eliminated. Food was good but we expected better given many choices in city and nearby. Wait staff was pleasant and mostly attentive but hostess did not smile and seemed to not want to be there. Band began as we were finished--sounded good and would have stayed for music if had the time.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 20, 2017

This place is a neighborhood gem! Part of the old Nashville scene and well worth the visit. Staff is great and a fantastic place for barbecue! Had the pork and chicken and both are fantastic. Make reservations if at all possible!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We had such a fun time at Puckett's. We watched Cassidy Daniels and enjoyed the live music. Just wish we could have seen her from our big booth. Only 3 of the 6 of us were in stage viewing area. Overall the service was friendly and food good. Would return on another trip to Nashville for sure.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 18, 2017

Great food and fast even though it was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Third time at Pucketts. The chicken and waffles are excellent so is the BBQ. It is one of the places we take friends when they come to visit in Nashville. The 4 stars is because our waitress was a little ditsy and forgot salads on three of our meals. The food was so good that nobody realized it until the ride home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 16, 2017

The food was fair. I expected more for the price. From the advertisement I was expecting a little higher level of fare. I have made better meatloaf at home.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Puckett's food never disappoints. We truly enjoyed the band Saturday night too.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 14, 2017

We all really enjoyed our meals. This is a great spot for a group of friends to get together! Will definitely return!

Tags: Live Sports, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food and atmosphere in a city I enjoy visiting!

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Outstanding southern BBQ. Terrific service. Everyone was pleasant and very accommodating. We had a great time. Enjoyed the apple cobbler! We were a little concerned about my 86-year-old mother but she had a blast, ate everything on her plate and insisted on her own Nana's Cobbler.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food was good - not anything special or outstanding -steaks need to be seasoned before cooking as they were very bland tasting - therefore the lower rating for value. We're not steak sauce users but we all agreed that they could have really used it. I also got a house salad and was very disappointed in the greens used - it needed some basic lettuce and not just tea room greens. The cookies and ice cream dessert was very good . I would recommend but would discourage ordering the steaks.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.