About Puckett's 5th & Church

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
Please visit http://www.parkitdowntown.com/ for details on parking

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: (615) 770-2772

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (85)
Live Music (74)
Casual (69)
See All
Fun (54)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Good for Groups (38)
Good for a Date (36)
Authentic (34)
People Watching (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Family Style (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Kid-friendly (25)
Local Ingredients (22)
Great Beer (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Historic (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Special Occasion (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Outstanding Value (13)
Cozy (12)
Business Meals (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Open Kitchen (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Romantic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Dancing (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
1796 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

I couldn't say enough about friendly staff and service. Food was so tasty and presented well. Our reservation was perfect timing. Just a note Open Table is awesome!!! Tried making phone reservations and was told they were booked. Thank you open table!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Good comfort food in a casual atmosphere. I was there for dinner and breakfast. I recommend the King's French Toast, which includes peanut butter and bananas. YUM!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Took a family group of 10 for graduation dinner. Food was great with enough choices for all. Fried Green Tomatoes were a hit!!! Our server, ashamedly I cannot recall her name was friendly, attentive and helped those who needed it. Large party at some places would cause slowness or coldness of some of the order...NOT HERE, everyone's food came out right, hot and tasty! All this service with a NHL hockey conference final just down the street, Go Preds!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very popular downtown spot. Great live music, fun environment. Homestyle cooking. The pecan cobbler is outstanding!

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Chicken Fried Chicken is Delicious! Classic Nashville atmosphere with good service and great comfort food!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We had a great time and service was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 12, 2017

On a fun trip to Nashville, we decided we needed at least one "real meal". Puckett's came up with high reviews on Trip Advisor, and the hotel front desk personel also highly recommended it. Luckily we had made reservations, because most walk ins we heard had an hour wait. The bar area seemed a little overwhelmed trying to fulfill drink orders but we finally got ours just as our table was ready. So many yummy options to choose from, but this is southern comfort food and a lot of it. We tried the meatloaf, which had so much flavor, a slightly crispy outside crust, but perfectly cooked medium rare inside. A light mushroom gravy complemented it. Potato and green beans that came with it were good. The other entree was bbq topped with gouda mac and cheese which was also delicious. It came with a nice fresh side salad, that actually was large for a side. The corn pancakes were also a yummy bread side. I highly recommend Puckett's for flavor and value.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Great food, great service. Don't miss the dessert (warmed up pecan dish with ice cream). Makes having the delicious grilled salmon worth it (although the salmon rocked too).

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Fun time, food average, cocktails delicious , music good

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Very nostalgic restaurant. Atmosphere and food were great and is highly recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Our party of 6 was seated promptly at our reservation time. Each one tried different dishes and all were delighted. It was a great time with friends before a concert.

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Historic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Walked in to a cool spot, energized by the crowd. The fun stops there ☹️. I must preface I don't eat BBQ so my options were limited. I had a grilled chicken sandwich which was average, on a non-memorable roll. I ordered onion rings thinking a BBQ would make great ones... forget it!! They tasted like frozen onion rings warmed up! My husbands ribs came out with mashed sweets and both average or sub ! Don't understand the hype but as a northern visitor I'd opt for someplace else. Sorry!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Puckett was a great dinner option for a night out in Nashville! We had a great time and the food was Excellent!!!

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Our first time and we thoroughly enjoyed it. A fun place with good food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

This was our second visit here. We were seated promptly, and had to wait for the other half of our party to arrive about 30 minutes later, and there was never pressure to go ahead and order. Waiter very attentive and once the rest of our party arrived, service was fast. Food was great, though daughter's special order sandwich did not come as ordered, but she didn't want to say anything.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Comfort Food, Casual, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Love the ribs. Bar is a great place to eat. Servers/bar staff are very fine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great place in downtown Nashville to get authentic Southern fare like ribs and cornbread, with live music, and an energetic crowd.

Tags: Fun, Historic, People Watching, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Food was adequate and service was poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Best dining experience we had on any trip to Nashville.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Live Music, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food and atmosphere! Try the deep fried brownie sundae - fantastic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Bar Seating, Casual, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Wonderful food.
Staff great
Loved saying the pledge of allegiance
Overall great experience

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We just came for a visit to Nashville for fun. Pucketts was suggested to us by our hotel it was so fun. The music was fun, the food was great and so was the service. One of my favorite places we visited.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 27, 2017

The food and variety is awesome! We were running late to our reservation due to a late Uber driver and I called and they were glad to hold my reservation. We were short on time heading to a concert so I was very appreciative of the staff working with me! My meal and drink was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 26, 2017

What a phenomenal place. Excellent food (the ribs were to die for) and locally crafted beers. Great music was an added feature.

Tags: Great Beer, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Authentic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Excellent find in my first trip to Nashville! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Live Music, Great Beer, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 25, 2017

We celebrated my husband's birthday. Food was great. HUGE portions, in fact we couldn't quite finish our entree as we wanted to try the pecan cobbler dessert. Definitely recommend the meatloaf, as well as the peach pork chop! The wine was also good. Service was fabulous. Live music a definite plus. Even the coffee was outstanding.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Wonderful service. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Simply the best filet I have ever had. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Our server was awesome and very attentive and our food was great as usual. However, the mood in there amongst the majority of the servers appeared very negative. We walked in and made our way to the host stand. The hostess completely ignored us. When she finally did make eye contact, there was no greeting, no "hi" or anything. She just stared at us until I said that we had a reservation. I gave her my name and she looked up at us and said "it'll be 10 minutes". Then nothing else. The other hosts at the stand were much nicer and appeared more approachable. We were then seated next to the wait staff station. It's not a bad location, we were happy to be seated, however while there we overheard numerous wait staff complain about customers. Completely unprofessional. We understand the need to vent but they should at least do it in a much more private location. We love going to Pucketts but this one evening it appeared that majority of the staff was just off their game. Our server was amazing - wish I got his name. He definitely made up for what could have been an awful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was wonderful Southern Fare. The atmosphere was fun and casual. Service was great! If you're in Nashville, go eat at Puckett's, you won't regret it!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Went to Nashville for a few days with my brothers and everyone said to go to Pucketts. I'm glad I took the advice because we had a great time. The only thing I will ask next time is what time the music starts so I'm listening to music through the whole meal! We got there a bit too early and only had music for the second half . If you visit Nashville go to Pucketts!

Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Started well as we were able to be seated 30 minutes early. The place had a cool atmosphere. However the food was sub standard. Baby-back ribs were the worst I've had. Tough as beef ribs. The restroom was lacking in the worse way. Something you would expect in a highway rest area rather than a notable restaurant. Then we learned that we would have to move to make room for a larger party. That has never happened to me in my 59 years. We intended to stay for the live entertainment but instead left in disgust.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Everything was delicious! The service was great and entertainment 1st class.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Always a great place to eat and drink
Great place to eat before the hockey game or concert at the Ryman

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Live Music, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Had dinner here with several friends while visiting Nashville.
The food was awesome--the Fried Pickles were the best I have ever had. Drinks were delicious and desserts were out of this world.
I like the atmosphere and the live music adds something.

One critique--a table was added outside of our booth but it was so close that we could not get out without hitting their chairs. It was a large party so they blocked our table. That was the only negative about the dinner but it was very annoying as we got up to use the restroom and we got up to depart. if we stood up and one of their people stood up, we would knock each other almost to the ground. If they scooted back as we were walking by or sat with their chair out at little bit, we were blocked or knocked. I suggest not trying to force another table in at the expense of those already seated.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The atmosphere was great, however the music level was extremely loud consisting of some type of unusual rock. A place with a country atmosphere should play country music, especially in Nashville.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The bristle

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Great place for BBQ. The ribs and brisket were excellent and the service was friendly and accommodating!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Visited last week while in Nashville on business. You need reservations or you will wait, which you may not mind if you have the live music keeping you occupied. Great food with healthy options if needed. I'll be back when I can eat more of what's on the menu, but the salmon and broccoli was great!

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great BBQ and Live music

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.