About Puckett's 5th & Church

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
Please visit http://www.parkitdowntown.com/ for details on parking

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: (615) 770-2772

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (94)
Live Music (83)
Casual (76)
See All
Fun (67)
Neighborhood Gem (51)
Good for a Date (42)
Authentic (40)
Good for Groups (37)
Hot Spot (36)
People Watching (32)
Kid-friendly (25)
Local Ingredients (25)
Great for Lunch (24)
Great Beer (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Family Style (19)
Special Occasion (17)
Bar Seating (16)
Historic (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Worth the Drive (14)
Business Meals (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Cozy (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Quick Bite (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Spicy (4)
Romantic (3)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Dancing (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
1837 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

We were initially pretty pumped up about going to Puckett's because the menu online looked amazing... and it seemed like a hot spot to go. It started off alright with some drinks and fried pickles, but then our food seemed to take forever to get out to us. The food was pretty good, but when it takes that long, it kind of puts you in a bad place to eat. Then we ordered some dessert for the table. After about 15 minutes of waiting for that to show up, we decided to cancel the dessert. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't great either. That definitely put a sour note on the top of our experience. I'm not sure if the server forgot to put it in or if there were other factors, but I saw desserts a-plenty coming out of the kitchen. Ours just never came. Sad.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Fun, Great Beer, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined 3 days ago

Rachel was great. Food is amazing. Great local talent playing live music. Must try the pecan pie skillet with locally sourced ice-cream.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food! Great atmosphere. Reservations are definitely recommended

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

Never disappointed with this place. Excellent food and drinks. Would recommend making reservations.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

My family of four (2 adults and 2 kids) visited Puckett's on a Saturday early evening during a vacation. We checked in for our 5:30 reservation about 5:15 and were able to be seated right away and had a booth for us, which I requested on my reservation notes. The menu online was thorough and accurate so we were able to narrow down our choices beforehand. Our server was super friendly and fast. My daughter's steak was not cooked to her liking and the server immediately took measures to make it right. She was attentive and friendly to the kids and made sure we had what we needed. It is a busy place but clean and inviting. We felt comfortable having dinner there.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good was mediocre and the music was loud. It was ok for dinner - betting it would be better for breakfast or lunch.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Comfort Food, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Puckett 's food is wonderful and great place to bring out of town visitors.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Good alternative location to Broadway street. Food was reliable and we enjoyed the live music venue during dinner.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Yum, yum and more yummy bbq for husband and. Have eaten brunch in past too. Also can make reservations!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Late-night Find, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My husband gave me the option of going to any restaurant for our 30th wedding anniversary. Instead of a formal upscale restaurant I wanted a casual dining with live entertainment. Puckett's did not disappoint - great food, service & live entertainment.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 13, 2017

What a great place! Authentic southern comfort food and live music for the Nashville feel. It is loud and the bar is very small. The food was good and reasonably priced. The mac n cheese was as good as people say. Don't go here expecting a nice wine list or business meal. This is for friends to hang out and have fun. The waiter and hostess were super friendly!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Live Music, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 11, 2017

We were there for a fan party there were dozens of people and the tables were arranged perfectly near the Bandstand as we requested. The service and food was great. Overall it was fantastic!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fun, People Watching, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 8, 2017

I will be back k

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Good food and great service. Great music as well. You must go here when in Nashville.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We make a stop everytime we are in the area. Highly recommend reservations. Chicken Fried Chicken - Ribs - Piggy Mac - Fried Green Tomatoes are amongst our favorites.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great BBQ! Wonderful service!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Fun, Authentic, Live Music, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great restaurant with local flair country cooking and great music artist each night during the week. Love to come here for lunch or dinner when visiting Nashville.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Authentic, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Food was a bit over cooked. Service was very slow. Atmosphere is fun and vibrant

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Good live music and fabulous BBQ ribs! Definitely a must if you are in Nashville.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 4, 2017

One word, amazing! Go and eat everything! We went on a night that had singer/songwriters and it was really great. Highly recommend for any occasion!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We love Puckett's. It is a must every time we visit Nashville and it never disappoints. Everything we have tried from the menu has been great- my husband says they have the best fried chicken ever.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Service was very good. Very accommodating. Food was so so. The fried appetizers didn't have the crunch- more soggy than anything. I had the burrito wrap- was supposed to be toasted but it wasn't. Overall, I would go back but with no expectations.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great comfort food. I had the fried chicken -- moist and tasty! Good service. Tables are very close together and it's pretty noisy, but the ambience was great.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Incredible service and great food. Only two downsides one was the noise level. The second was I asked if the fries were cut fresh daily and was told they were. However the fries that came out tasted like those that you get from a bag.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Casual, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 31, 2017

This is our third time at Puckett's and we have never been disappointed. Great drinks, food and staff to serve us. This is a very friendly and fun restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Fun place with live entertainment.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We went here after the Pedal Bar Tavern for my sister's bachelorette and it was perfect. The food was so good. The only problem was the hot chicken was so spicy that it was inedible for the 4 girls that ordered it. It didn't mention it was that spicy on the menu. Everyone else really enjoyed their meals. Beware of the spicy chicken meal if you can't handle the heat! Music was great and the waiter was awesome too. Highly recommend! They accommodated our large group and were able to push back our reservation 15 mins so we could make it in time.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Once again Puckett's 5th & Church did not disappoint. We try to make it here whenever we are in Nashville. They food is always delicious and so is the Peach Tea moonshine. Even the two vegetarians found something on the menu. This trip we were not only provided scrumptious food but exceptional service by a waiter named Chris. He was so pleasant and knowledgeable of the entire menu. He made our dining experience the best we had while in Nashville! Thanks Chris

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Live Music, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Bar Seating, Cozy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 28, 2017

You can tell why this place is always packed! Great food, wonderful live music and friendly staff! Best fried pickles ever!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We booked a reservation on Open Table for a 6:00 Saturday night on Memorial Day weekend. We checked in early and to our surprise we were able to get in early. I had heard someone ask how long a wait with no reservation and it was a 2 hour wait.
Our service was very friendly and prompt and our food came out within 15 minutes and was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Took 45 minutes to get 2 drinks and 2 appetizers. Not sure if kitchen was overwhelmed or what. Took forever to get water refills too. Food was average and live music was good, but too loud for the acoustics of the room. Probably will not return to visit.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Dinner was freshly made and the atmosphere was inviting. We completely enjoyed our evening.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We were extremely disappointed with our experience at Puckett's. We had heard so many good things from friends and locals who had been here before, and the menu looked delicious, so it was a no-brainer when I decided to make a reservation. We were in Nashville to celebrate our 5 year anniversary & my brother's 30th birthday, and this was supposed to be our celebration dinner...boy do I wish we would have chosen somewhere else! Atmosphere was nice, but very loud, even before the live band started. Service was just ok, nothing to brag about. The food, which I had expected to be wonderful based on reviews & recommendations from friends was terrible! I ordered the Filet, and it came out overcooked & dry. The green beans, which I had expected to be the flat southern-style beans (they are called Flat Iron Green Beans) were simply steamed beans with roasted red peppers and some garlic thrown in, not bad but definitely not what I expected. The skillet mac'n'cheese was the only redeeming part of my meal, and it was tasty. My husband ordered the special BBQ combo, which came with ribs, wings, and pulled pork. Neither of us are picky eaters, but we do enjoy and expect quality food when dining out. He said the wings were dry, and the ribs were a bit tough. Also he said the baked beans tasted like they were from a can, not homemade, and slaw was not good either. My sister-in-law ordered the squash casserole with her meal, what a joke! It was nothing more than stewed squash, and not very good for that either. There was no sauce, cheese, breadcrumbs, all things one would expect from a "casserole". I couldn't even bring myself to order dessert, and risk being disappointed once again. Probably the best thing about our meal was the live music. Overall, we were highly disappointed with the experience, and would certainly not recommend it to anyone. We had a much better dinner experience just a block or so down the street at the Frothy Monkey coffee house!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Excellent food and service! Valerie our server was spot on with recommendations and service. Wife had the salmon and I had BBQ platter. Generous portions and sides. A must try in Nashville!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Outstanding service and ambience - and great artists!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Excellent overall experience! Will definitely visit again real soon!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 23, 2017

Our server was attentive and fast. Made it to our show with time to spare. But really glad we had reservations. The wait would have been too long.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Our waitress was amazing and the food was perfect. The noise level, however, was really hard to deal with. We actually had a member of our party leave because they were getting a headache. The music was turned up really loudly which caused the diners to have to shout over it. We'll still go back because it's really good food!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value4

 
·Dined on May 22, 2017

Food wasn't great - especially the Mac and cheese! Service was also good. Definitely book if you want a table because they weren't turning people away all night. Music wasn't very loud because we were sitting right next to the stage, but we like music and that's one of the reasons we chose Puckett's so it was good for us!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Live Music, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Our 3rd time to eat at Puckett's and they have been great every time!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.