About Puckett's 5th & Church

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
Please visit http://www.parkitdowntown.com/ for details on parking

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: 6157702772x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits
Chicken Fried Steak
Chicken and Waffles
Fried White Meat Chicken Dinner
Boro Blonde Mayday
Southern Stack
Chicken
2meat And 2Side Special
Cherry Smoked Baby Back Ribs
Wings
Country Fried Chicken
Fried Pickles And Jalapenos
Bbq Brats
shots
Meat And Three
Sweet potato fries
Pineapple Juice
Fried Green Tomato B.L.T.
Fried Pickles & Fried Jalapenos
Puckett's Burger August Special
Biscuits and Gravy
Breakfast Burrito
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Puckett's Apple Pie Moonshine Martini
Smoked Bologna Sandwich
Chocolate Chip Pancakes And Home Fries
Omelet
veggie burger with sweet potato fries
Chicken Wings, Fried Pepperoni, Fried Asparagus, Pulled Pork Slider
Fried Green Tomatoes
Breakfast Buff
Breakfast Buffet
Beale Street Burger
Memphis Oysters
Peach Tea
Peach Cobbler
Chicken Fried Chicken
BBQ Pork Platter
Bubba's Eggs Benedict
Pork Chop
fried chicken
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich
Fried Green Beans
Patty Melt on Rye
Green Flash West Coast IPA
Eggs Benedict
Meat
Ribs And Chicken Fried Chicken
Ribs
Pulled Pork
Meatloaf & Gravy With Potato Salad
Chocolate Milk
Early Riser Breakfast
Strawberry Salad With Raspberry Vinegarette Dress.and Rasperry Vodka
Red Beans & Rice
Chocolate Chip Pancakes
Bbq Shrimp & Grits
Fudge Pie
Bubba Bones
Country Ham Platter
Veggie Omelette
Beef Brisket

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Nashville
Great for Lunch
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
3 More
Best Value
Nashville
Great for Lunch
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for Groups (128)
Neighborhood Gem (103)
Hot Spot (98)
See All
Great for Lunch (79)
Fit for Foodies (74)
Kid-friendly (66)
Special Occasion (60)
Great for Brunch (37)
Vibrant Bar Scene (32)
Comfort Food (20)
Casual (19)
Live Music (17)
Late-night Find (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Fun (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Scenic View (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Historic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Family Style (5)
Romantic (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Great Beer (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great place to gather with friends for c ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to gather with friends for cocktails, food, and live music!!! The restaurant was conveniently located near our hotel so we walked!!

The deep fried brownie is a must!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Enjoyed this stop on our trip to Nashvil ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed this stop on our trip to Nashville. Great atmosphere & food. Definitely try the fried pickles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Super helpful server, took attention to ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined 4 days ago

Super helpful server, took attention to our large group, timing of entrees and drinks, really impressive overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter was slow, took too long to get ou ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

Waiter was slow, took too long to get our drinks. The food ca,e before the drinks.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Great spot for a unique and fun dining e ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great spot for a unique and fun dining experience with a local flair

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fun, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

On our first visit to Nashville we wante ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 5 days ago

On our first visit to Nashville we wanted a restaurant that provided good local food and live music. This restaurant ticked all the boxes. We had a great time; the food was very good and the service was excellent, as was the live music. Overall this restaurant provides a really good night out in Nashville.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Live Music, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Was looking for something different for ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

Was looking for something different for my wife's birthday. We just moved to town a few months back and trying out the local fare. Puckett's was on my list. Arrived in time and seated very timely. Took more time than expected to get waited on but after having been waited on the service by Ivan was just fine, very attentive. Good server. Food took longer to get to us than we had hoped. They gave us a discount in fact for the long wait without saying anything which made that experience all but disappear. However a kitchen being busy in downtown Nashville when you are filled almost every night should never be an excuse for slow food service. Noise level was not the best. For casual dining though it was ok. We could still hear each other's conversation. Being the geek I am the sound measured on an app I have for work upwards of 95 decibels which is pretty loud averaging the upper 80s. But again the atmosphere there is supposed to be "loud" right? When our food was delivered it was cooked appropriately, tasty but a little cooler than expected but that was fine with us too. At least this time. Value was worth it and portions perfect. Over all a 4 and we will probably venture there again sometime. I would recommend it to anyone. I doubt my food service experience is typical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a reservation for 5:30 and were p ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a reservation for 5:30 and were promptly and politely seated. Our waiter was also friendly, but was clearly trying to rush us out of there, which we pointed out. At one point he said, "I'm gonna need you to cash out because these people are waiting for your booth," to which we replied, "that doesn't make us feel very welcome." Then the manager (we assume he was the manager, although he didn't introduce himself by name or title) came over to explain to us there was a 90-minute dining limit (no one told us, and, again, we had a reservation) and that they had a large party coming in that would need our booth. No apology for any miscommunication or inconvenience, just excuses about the large party, blahblahblah, and so we ordered another drink out of spite. (Our poor waiter didn't quite know what to do with us but remained sweet albeit flustered at the whole situation.)

I personally hadn't ever been to Puckett's; my boss recommended it for a special team dinner, as some of our remote team members were in town. It was pretty embarrassing to talk up the great Nashville hospitality, and then be treated like this. And hey, stuff happens, it does. But make it right, you know? We actually had to ASK for 10% coupons off our next visit to feel we were shown a good-will gesture. We shouldn't have had to ask. We shouldn't have been rushed out of there, and we certainly shouldn't have been asked to CASH OUT BECAUSE SOMEONE ELSE NEEDS OUR BOOTH. Had the 90-minute time-limit been communicated to us, we would've made that work. Gladly. And we still did tip our waiter well (none of this was his fault, poor guy). But we will not be back. Pretty sad stuff right there.

Other than that, Puckett's seems like a pretty cool place - the layout and ambience were Nashville all the way. But, again, we are soured from this one experience and hence will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Definitely recommend the Fried Chicken a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Definitely recommend the Fried Chicken and Chicken and waffles. Sooo good. Our entire table was happy with their order. Service was friendly and our table was waiting for us on our arrival.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Puckett's 5th & Church for a ...

 
 (Shreveport)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went to Puckett's 5th & Church for a dinner on a bachelorette party. The food was delicious and not very expensive for what we got. They were even able to accommodate my friend with a gluten allergy

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went specifically to hear Box of Rox, ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We went specifically to hear Box of Rox, who was playing at Puckett's. We had made a reservation and were seated right up front. The band was fabulous, and we ordered dinner, which was also very good! We had nachos, pork burrito, chicken tenders, and a hamburger. They were all delicious! I would recommend Puckett's to friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the salmon and shrimp and grits. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We had the salmon and shrimp and grits. The food was well prepared and flavored; with the shrimp and grits being on the spicy side. The tap beer selection was small but good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Piggy Macs, cocktails and service were a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Piggy Macs, cocktails and service were all excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My friends and I were headed to TPAC. G ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

My friends and I were headed to TPAC. Great spot for early dinner. Food was great. A little noisy but the food made up for it.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The waitress, music, food and value were ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

The waitress, music, food and value were great!!! Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was all we expected and more. A fun p ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

It was all we expected and more. A fun place to go and have great local food and enjoy some music.

Tags: Live Music, Casual, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Wonderful Southern comfort food at modes ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Wonderful Southern comfort food at modest prices. Great music and attentive service.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very tasty and the portions ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The food was very tasty and the portions large but reasonable. The waitress was friendly and even brought me a different wine when I didn't like the first one. It was extremely loud and the live music though good was completely different from what we expected. It was advertised as a singer/songwriter evening but he just sang cover versions of popular evergreens and hardly anything of his own stuff since that's what this kind of crowd appreciates more.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Casual, Comfort Food, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food in a casual atmosphere. V ...

 
 (Yorkshire)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Excellent food in a casual atmosphere. Very busy on a Thursday night but thoroughly enjoyed the experience

Tags: Live Music, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I was really looking forward to going he ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

I was really looking forward to going here. The food was a bit disappointing. I had the fried chicken and it was quite dry. The server was great and the atmosphere was fun. The food is just ordinary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

We were there on a Nursing conference. F ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We were there on a Nursing conference. First time in Nashville. What a wonderful experience!! My friend wanted chicken and waffles so we picked this restaurant. We had the best waitress I had ever had!! She deserves kudos! Her name is Katosha Palmer! She helped us with ordering I'm not a lover of spicy food was going to order the shrimp and grits and she thought I wouldn't like it as much as the chicken fried chicken. Absolutely loved my dinner as did my friend who ordered the chicken and waffles!! After dinner which we were stuffed she wrote down places for us to visit during our stay in Nashville!! I have to say the next day at the conference we told everyone to have dinner at this restaurant!! Can't wait to visit again! Thank you Katosha!! I'm sure you remember the 3 nurses from NY!!!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We had an excellent experience at Pucket ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We had an excellent experience at Pucketts. Our waiter, Brandon, was very friendly, helpful, and speedy! It was some of the fastest service I have ever experienced. Not to mention, the food was absolutely delicious. Great atmosphere, great ribs, great drinks, great time!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a get together and were surp ...

 
 (Savannah)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We went for a get together and were surprised by fabulous music and delicious food! Had a great time at Pucketts!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was great and we really enjoy ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our server was great and we really enjoyed the atmosphere. Piggy Mac is where it's at!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience as a place to take out ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great experience as a place to take out of town friends! We enjoyed the downtown experience of food and happy hour! Great service!

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visited Nashville for our anniversary an ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Visited Nashville for our anniversary and ate there twice. Amazing food and great service. So much food had lunch the next day which was great.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had made reservations due to live mus ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We had made reservations due to live music that evening. Unfortunately, our table was right "in", basically, the server access for the kitchen, and the customer access for the bar. Customers had no issue with standing at our table, within inches of us, blocking our view of the music, and basically being just rude. While this is not the fault of Puckett's, placement of the table is. Also, it was very obvious to customer and server alike that our table was poorly placed from our standpoint and the server's standpoint. ASK the standing customers to wait in the appointed area., not at another customer's table.

Ivan was great. The food was good. The live music was INCREDIBLE. Go. Visit. Eat at Puckett!s charming restaurant. Buy a tee shirt or a mason glass. Have a blast. We will be back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

I cannot speak highly enough about the w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

I cannot speak highly enough about the waitress Ketosha, she is simply amazing. We request her every time we visit Puckett's. They have a gem with her and she should be highly recognized and praised for her excellent service. Additionally, another waiter Thomas helped back up Ketosha when a larger group came in. They make a great team and are superstars! As always, the food was amazing and the music was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for a friend's birthday with 7 ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Went here for a friend's birthday with 7 people and everyone loved their food. It was nice to be able to make a reservation for a large group on a Saturday night in Nashville. We arrived right on time for our reservation and they had a nice large booth ready for us and sat us right away. The service was also exceptional. It was not too loud so we could have a conversation throughout dinner. Although we didn't have any with us, it was kid friendly as well. I highly recommend Puckett's to anyone looking for a good meal!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have always enjoyed Pucketts. The staff ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Have always enjoyed Pucketts. The staff is exceptional. Very accommodating. Enjoy bringing visitors to Pucketts to give them a real Nashville feel. Food is great. Just sit back and enjoy the experience.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I have eaten breakfast here a number of ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I have eaten breakfast here a number of times. This was the first time for dinner. Food was good. The service was not as good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, great service, great atmosph ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Nice dinner Birthday !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked based on rating with Open Table. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Booked based on rating with Open Table. Food was amazing. Comfort food at its best. Go in evening and listen to some great music. There is a cover charge of $12 per person regardless of whether or not you eat if after 8 but a really great spot.

Tags: Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I place is over-rated and not worth the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I place is over-rated and not worth the wait. Our food came out cold and wasn't worth the money. Service was minimal. I don't plan on going back.

Tags: Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We were in town for a bachelorette party ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were in town for a bachelorette party and had a group of 10. We absolutely loved the area we were seated in. It allowed us to talk and hear each other, but still enjoy the music. The food and service were fantastic! I would highly recommend visiting Puckett's if you have the chance! Would definitely visit again if/when I return to Nashville.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Puckett's was exactly what we were hopin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Puckett's was exactly what we were hoping it would be. They serve delicious down home country food in a fun Nashville inspired environment that was just right for kids too. We went early but wished we could stay for the 9:00 show.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good southern food with really talented ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good southern food with really talented live music. Definitely try to get a table while someone is playing. The service is super slow but I think that's just the norm and I'm used to fast paced. We didn't even care because we truly enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Loved the atmosphere and the food was ex ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and the food was excellent home style fare. Service was also good, very friendly and timely. It was pretty loud.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked an early dinner before the DCX co ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Booked an early dinner before the DCX concert. Good service from John. Classic fried chicken was juicy and tasty. The chicken and waffles not so much, the waffles could been left from breakfast they were so dry and just crumbled when touched with a fork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was terrible. As an example, th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was terrible. As an example, the steamed broccoli was completely raw. I was embarrassed to have suggested it for a business dinner. The ambiance is fine, but the food was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.