About Puckett's 5th & Church

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
Please visit http://www.parkitdowntown.com/ for details on parking

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: (615) 770-2772

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (63)
Casual (63)
Live Music (52)
See All
Fun (50)
Good for Groups (39)
Good for a Date (35)
Authentic (30)
People Watching (25)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Hot Spot (24)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Family Style (21)
Special Occasion (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Kid-friendly (19)
Great Beer (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (16)
Bar Seating (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Historic (12)
Quick Bite (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Business Meals (10)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Wood Oven (4)
Romantic (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Live Sports (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
S
1694 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely amazing! While I was enjoying a vacation in Nashville, I decided to try it out and decided I HAD to come back. The music both nights were absolutely fantastic and if I could have gone again, I would have. The food is great and the atmosphere is wonderful! I will definitely make it a tradition to stop at Pucketts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed Pucketts very much. We were on our way to a Predators hockey game and only had appetizers and drinks but it was very good as well as the service. Plan on going again hopefully in the near future. The wings were awesome!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Fun, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was amazing! Everything had great flavor, and the plates were BIG! I would recommend to make a reservation because the wait was about 2 hours without one!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had heard very good reviews from friends and planned dinner before a concert downtown. We arrived very early for our reservation and were seated immediately. That was not expected, but certainly appreciated the service. Service was very good with adequate time to decide as it was our first visit to Puckett's.

Food was very good. I had already decided on the Piggy Mac and was not disappointed. My wife ordered the Southern Fried Chicken and was very happy.

Dessert was also awesome.

Great visit and was actually surprised how affordable our dinner was since Puckett's is located downtown.

Will definitely be back!

Thanks

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great experience! Will definitely dine at Puckett's in the future. Will recommend Puckett's to family and friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our favorite comfort food restaurant in Nashville! Our waiter Chris was excellent!!

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 16, 2017

You can't go wrong with Pucketts! They have the best bbq around and their mac-n-cheese is to die for!

Tags: Authentic, Wood Oven, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Live Music, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

A Great dining experience that my date and I thoroughly appreciated

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was delicious. The atmosphere was great. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great singers good foood

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great for Valentines Day with live music!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Just a short walk from TPAC, my wife and I went to PuCkett's before a show. The atmosphere was great, very casual, and the food was delicious down home, comfort food. Nothing pretentious. The way Nashville USED to be. Service was great. I would recommend Puckett's to anyone looking for a great time with great food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Live Music, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Ha d a wonderful Valentine's dinner here. The wait staff as well as the hostess were amazing. This is the second time I have been to this Puckett's and I am yet to be disappointed. Whether a nice evening dinner or a special occasion, I highly recommend this place.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food quality was excellent and the portions larger than most other restaurants.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was excellent and reasonably priced. A good variety of southern dishes.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Live Music, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 11, 2017

First time to Puckett's. Unfortunately it was not a good experience as I found a hair in my chicken and waffles a couple of bites into it and lost my appetite. If this had not happened, I would have given it 3-4 stars for food and ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Puckett's Restaurant offers southern comfort food and BBQ. I have eaten here twice and it is a good place to grab lunch or dinner. They have a good beer selection. I thought the pulled pork BBQ was much better then the ribs.

Tags: Fun, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Usually a go-to restaurant for consistently good food and a fun atmosphere. Reservations are highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always enjoy Pucketts! Some of the best food around!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on February 2, 2017

2nd time to eat here. Both experiences were unbelievable. Food is outstanding! Southern comfort at its finest!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It's a typical southern restaurant. We went here for Nashville Scene's Hot Chicken Week. I got the hot chicken, and it was bad. The chicken was drenched in a hot sauce that wasn't very good. My husband got ribs, and it was okay. Really, though, there are many other places to go for barbecue in Nashville that are better, in my opinion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Great place for southern BBQ. Food was tasty, service was great and the ambiance captured it all. I'd go back again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Happy Hour, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The Pucketts experience was OK. Nothing spectacular about it. The food was good, but not great. Some clever items on the menu, but really similar to other dining venues. Our visit was for a birthday dinner since we were in town we thought we would visit as it seems to be a tourist thing to do.

Entertainment was good. Caution watch for the cover charge that occur on certain nights. The staff will remind you when you are there.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

A friend recommended Pucketts to us knowing we would be in Nashville for only one evening. What a great choice! The service and food was fantastic. We ordered two desserts to share and glad we did! They were enough for four people. The pecan cobbler was the best! Although we did not stay for the cover-charge band, their warmups sounded great! Nice fun evening!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Went there for good southern cuisine and live music. Food was delicious! We had the piggy mac n cheese and the shrimp & grits. For desert there was fresh blueberry cobbler and vanilla ice cream. So good! Great service too. Fun spot!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Live Music, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We had an excellent dinner representative of true Southern BBQ before going to the Grand Ole Opry at the Ryman in downtown Nashville.

Tags: Happy Hour, Historic, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, People Watching, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Awesome food and great atmosphere. Dave's bones and fried green tomatoes were the perfect appetizers. And the shrimp and grits were the best I've ever had.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We liked the atmosphere, but the food wasn't great. One meal arrived cold and one was undercooked. However, ur waitress did credit us for one meal. I will probably not take out of town guests here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great server, very attentive. Food came out fast and was great as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food was great, great place to listen to music while having dinner, band was great, service was great, nice place, would definatley return.

Tags: Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Went before a concert at the Ryman. This was my 2nd time. The first time was great. Food is good but I was super disappointed with how my food came out the 2nd time. Their steamed broccoli looked like it was picked straight from the plant and barely cooked. It just felt like a bit of effort was left out. Our server was too busy. I will go back to give it another shot but wasn't thrilled with this experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Very good meal and within walking distance to Ryman for concert. Seated on time and good attention received from the staff. Appetizer of fried pickets were delicious as was the whole meal and drinks. Bonus discount if you go during happy hour.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 24, 2017

The food was good and the service was good. We were there with friends and once the music started it was almost impossible to hear anyone talk.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Another great tine at Puckett's. We were seated right near the stage, as we requested. The Steel Blossoms were a great singing duo - terrific voices and songs. I had the blackened salmon - perfectly cooked with green beans. My friends had the hot chicken sandwich and meatloaf - huge portions. Our server Chris was helpful and attentive. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Live Music, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We visit Pucketts when in the Music City. Pucketts is predictable in a positive way - food, service, and crowds. Make a reservation to avoid delays. The location is convenient to downtown especially the performing arts venues and hotels.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The reservation was not only honored on time but they willingly added another person to our table. The food was outstanding, as was the service. The portions are generous and fairly priced

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The meatloaf was great! I believe everyone in my fam enjoyed their meal. The Puckett lager is really good too.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Fun and memorable. Huge portions! Really fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The salad was super fresh, and the fried green tomatoes were awesome! I definitely wouldn't recommend the nachos, and the piggy mac was very dry and lack luster. The kids chicken tenders was a large portion and very good!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Great place for dinner. Great place for all occasions. Good music, diverse menu, and in the heart of Nashville.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The smoked bologna was fantastic! Cute atmosphere and enjoyed the love music. Our waitress was fantastic.

Tags: People Watching, Casual, Romantic, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Shrimp tacos were very good and the meal was served quickly.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Had a friend in from out of town and wanted to show her a local place. She really enjoyed the cocktails, the food and the ambience.

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 15, 2017

It was just... ok. Prices were comparable to other restaurants (in Nashville, everything is over-priced) and the food was comparable, as well. Just ok.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, didn't have to wait. Was pretty busy so our waitress we a little behind but overall a great dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, great environment! Absolutely love Puckett's!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Cozy, Hot Spot, Live Music, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Very fun. Make sure u go later for music. Ribs were great. Half order is big. Mac and cheese very good

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were shown to our table immediately and the wait staff were very friendly and attentive. The meal was wonderful especially the cajun chicken and waffle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I visit Puckett 's often and I am never disappointed. Wes was our server and he was really a nice guy. I brought a first time Nashville visitor for dinner, and he really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Family Style, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Pucketts was a planned stop for our trip and we will. One again. We enjoyed the food, live music and excellent friendly service. Due to inclement weather, they called me to confirm or select another time etc. Their hospitality was over the top. Musical guest was great too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.