About Puckett's 5th & Church

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
Please visit http://www.parkitdowntown.com/ for details on parking

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: 6157702772x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits
Chicken Fried Steak
Chicken and Waffles
Fried White Meat Chicken Dinner
Boro Blonde Mayday
Southern Stack
Chicken
2meat And 2Side Special
Breakfast Buffet
Cherry Smoked Baby Back Ribs
Wings
Country Fried Chicken
Fried Pickles And Jalapenos
Bbq Brats
shots
Meat And Three
Sweet potato fries
Pineapple Juice
Fried Green Tomato B.L.T.
Fried Pickles & Fried Jalapenos
Puckett's Burger August Special
Biscuits and Gravy
Breakfast Burrito
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Puckett's Apple Pie Moonshine Martini
Smoked Bologna Sandwich
Chocolate Chip Pancakes And Home Fries
Omelet
veggie burger with sweet potato fries
Chicken Wings, Fried Pepperoni, Fried Asparagus, Pulled Pork Slider
Fried Green Tomatoes
Breakfast Buff
Beale Street Burger
Memphis Oysters
Peach Tea
Chicken Fried Chicken
Peach Cobbler
BBQ Pork Platter
Bubba's Eggs Benedict
Pork Chop
fried chicken
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich
Fried Green Beans
Patty Melt on Rye
Green Flash West Coast IPA
Eggs Benedict
Ribs And Chicken Fried Chicken
Meat
Ribs
Meatloaf & Gravy With Potato Salad
Pulled Pork
Chocolate Milk
Strawberry Salad With Raspberry Vinegarette Dress.and Rasperry Vodka
Red Beans & Rice
Early Riser Breakfast
Veggie Omelette
Bubba Bones
Bbq Shrimp & Grits
Chocolate Chip Pancakes
Fudge Pie
Country Ham Platter
Beef Brisket

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Nashville
Great for Lunch
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
5 More
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Value
Nashville
Great for Lunch
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

good for groups (162)
neighborhood gem (135)
hot spot (122)
See All
great for lunch (114)
fit for foodies (104)
kid-friendly (85)
special occasion (66)
great for brunch (45)
vibrant bar scene (44)
late-night find (19)
great for outdoor dining (16)
scenic view (8)
notable wine list (3)
romantic (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We were visiting Nashville and found thi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 3 days ago

We were visiting Nashville and found this on Yelp. The chicken and the pulled pork are out of this world. Live music at 8:00 was great too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Puckett's is a unique place. Food is g ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined 5 days ago

Puckett's is a unique place. Food is good quality and affordable, good but not oversized portions. I noted the noise level was high because this particular evening there was live music - which is what we came to see. We ordered the Chicken Fried Chicken - very good. Ordered Ribs in past - a little too fry and overdone for my taste

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I want to specially commend the receptio ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

I want to specially commend the reception staff for their great work in finding a table for our party after it grew from 6 to 9 people.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Made a reservation weeks in advance and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Made a reservation weeks in advance and still had to wait 20 minutes to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This venue has a table with absolutely n ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

This venue has a table with absolutely no A/C. It made our experience less than pleasant. Our waiter was pretty amicable, but forgot to ring in my drink. He did however comp a drink for me after my date had to go to the bar and order my drink after waiting 30 minutes. I might try it again, but definitely not in the July! It was HOT!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

this is a very large restaraunt and it w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

this is a very large restaraunt and it was very accommodating to our very large group. The food was great with menu choices that accommodated everyone in our group! It was only a couple blocks away from the Broadway strip so its location is ideal.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Puckett's is a must stop off if you are ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Puckett's is a must stop off if you are visiting downtown Nashville. The food is comfort southern with our favorite's like ribs, BBQ and all the sides you would expect like mac n cheese, baked beans, onion rings and the like. I had the chicken fried chicken with mashed potato and gravy and it was just delicious. It was not the weight watchers special I should have had but it was well worth the extra calories. One note, we went on a Friday early evening expecting to hear live music and were sorely disappointed that they did not have music until 9PM that night so double check that if you are expecting to see live music. I went there once before and saw a wonderful group of performers and that was the main reason we went back and so that was the major down side of this visit. Just double check because their website said music and we were bummed about that.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was very nice. We were m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was very nice. We were meeting with friends we hadn't seen in a long time and it was so loud we could barely hear each other.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Mac and cheese was excellent. That was a ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Mac and cheese was excellent. That was about it. The nacho cheese tasted like Velveeta. My BBQ chicken was dry but the beans and coleslaw was average. My alcoholic peach tea barely had any alcohol. Food was a average at best. Luckily the live music was enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

We made reservations at this place and h ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

We made reservations at this place and had to wait about 20 minutes, but it was a great place for a larger group! They had a live band while we ate which made the dining experience a great time! The food and drinks were great!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience was fantastic. Our ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Our dining experience was fantastic. Our group of 4 couples had a reservation and were seated promptly, service was outstanding and everyone's meals were top notch!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out!! Table was ready upon o ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Great night out!! Table was ready upon our arrival. Service and food was great. The live music made it a 5 star night !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Really nice evening. Wonderful apps and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Really nice evening. Wonderful apps and entrees. Server did a very nice job with great pace. Good beer knowledge, and very friendly. Thanks for a very nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server was awesome. It was my daugh ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Our server was awesome. It was my daughter's birthday and he made her feel special by bringing her a chocolate milkshake on the house. It was a great time.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was delicious and our server Valer ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was delicious and our server Valerie was fantastic! She was attentive and allowed my daughter to customize her order!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was great, servers were attentive. ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food was great, servers were attentive. Had reservations, took about 10 minutes to get seated. Took about an hour for food to arrive. Received free dessert to make up for the long wait time for the food.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

My favorite place to see live music! Th ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My favorite place to see live music! They do live music every night of the week. And the BBQ is killer - the smoker is right behind the bar. Service is always friendly. One of my go-to spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was pretty slow, water glasses n ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Service was pretty slow, water glasses not refilled and waiter would disappear for long stretches. However food was very good, a good vibe and energy made for a fun evening. We paid less for dinner at pucketts than we did for breakfast at a different Nashville hotspot. Recommended.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Excellent music mix playing while enjoyi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Excellent music mix playing while enjoying our delicious meal! Friendly service and our drinks never ran dry. Fun place for born and raised Nashvillians as well as visitors. Great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food & service. Jonathan , ou ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful food & service. Jonathan , our server, was very personable, efficient & entertaining. Loved the decor. Also the location & proximity to the Ryman auditorium.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service. Loud. Definitely a great m ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Good service. Loud. Definitely a great music venue for out of town guest.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Great food although I was really looking ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Great food although I was really looking forward to the BBQ nachos and they turned out to be very disappointing. Everything else was really good!

Tags: scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Loved the live music and dinner and drin ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Loved the live music and dinner and drinks were awesome. The service was impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great southern comfort food. The BBQ was ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great southern comfort food. The BBQ was delish! Great service, our waitress Faith was awesome and very fun. She even gave us some recomendations for where to get drinks after dinner.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was very good. Had the sliders and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was very good. Had the sliders and pulled pork. Too loud, crowded and busy. Not relaxing. Found ourselves eating quickly so we could leave. Felt sorry for the sweet waitress who had too many tables to take care of. Make a reservation if you go.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

I would recommend the hot chicken....it' ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I would recommend the hot chicken....it's spicy but delicious. The mac & cheese was really good too, as were the fried pickles. It's a Nashville staple, so definitely a place to check out.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Decent food, I really liked the mac and ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Decent food, I really liked the mac and cheese. VERY loud. Service was not very good (had to wait 20 minutes after asking for the check). Would not recommend there are too many other better choices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Great food and incredible service. The f ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great food and incredible service. The fried chicken is very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The live music and vibe were outstanding ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The live music and vibe were outstanding. The catfish was delishious although the fried green tomatoes were downright terrible. Derive was also good.

Make a reservation! We had one and were seated within ten minutes. Those that did not had 1 and 1/2 hour waits.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Pucketts was the perfect kickoff to our ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Pucketts was the perfect kickoff to our Nashville trip. We loved it so much we ate their twice. The live music was great, and the food even better. We tried the bbq and the hot chicken among other things, and the meal came out very quickly and was excellent. Loved the sweet bbq sauce.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value5

Fried Chicken was amazing. The honeydew ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Fried Chicken was amazing. The honeydew mojito delicious. Great service for our large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

With the exception of the excellent frie ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

With the exception of the excellent fried green tomatoes appetizer, all of the food was awful, from the tasteless rack of ribs to the over sweet and/or over salty side dishes. For the same price one can eat much better in countless other places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Chicken was DRY DRY DRY!!! It was NOT "c ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Chicken was DRY DRY DRY!!! It was NOT "cooked to order". I had to cut it in 1/4' inch pieces and SOAK it in sauce in order to eat it! AND it was only a 1/2 chicken breast. VERY disappointing

HOWEVER... The BBQ pulled pork was EXCELLENT!

Will not go here again... nor would I recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the vibe there and easy d ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Really enjoyed the vibe there and easy downtown area to get to. The menu was great and we enjoyed our dinner one night and breakfast two days later!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find! The food was superb a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

What a great find! The food was superb and the wait staff was friendly and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Shrimp &Grits followed by Peach ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Awesome Shrimp &Grits followed by Peach Cobbler

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved Pucketts! Loved our dinner, wine & ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Loved Pucketts! Loved our dinner, wine & craft beers!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took our family from WI and WV to this N ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Took our family from WI and WV to this Nashville gem for our mother's 79th birthday. We sat outside where it was quiet and we could hear all of 8 of us talk. The food was amazing as always and our waitress was very attentive and hospitable!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was awesome and did such a gr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Our server was awesome and did such a great job! We had a party of 11 and all of our drinks were always filled to the top. Loved the private table by itself ...it was perfect for our celebration!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great BBQ ANDTHEChicken FRied ChicKenWAS ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Great BBQ ANDTHEChicken FRied ChicKenWASAWESOME. THE ONLYCOMPLAINT WOULD Be that they needed more gravy! Excellent place

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.