About Puckett's 5th & Church

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
Please visit http://www.parkitdowntown.com/ for details on parking

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: (615) 770-2772

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (87)
Live Music (87)
Casual (82)
See All
Fun (67)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Authentic (41)
Hot Spot (39)
Good for Groups (37)
Great for Lunch (34)
Good for a Date (33)
Worth the Drive (32)
Good for Birthdays (32)
Kid-friendly (31)
Special Occasion (29)
People Watching (27)
Local Ingredients (24)
Great Beer (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Cozy (13)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Business Meals (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Romantic (5)
Spicy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Live Sports (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Scenic View (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
1968 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

We have been here several times, but this time the service was poor and the food was cold when it reached our table.
We were embarrassed since we had guests from out of town with us. The greeters were chatting with their friends and a boyfriend, and the server seemed rushed and a little stressed. It was a busy Monday for the restaurant, but we were hoping for a better experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I've been here before a couple years ago and food was fantastic. This trip made me want to never return. I was so looking forward to piggy Mac which was dried out. The fried green tomatoes were disgusting and cold. The smoked meatloaf was the only edible dish out of the 3 entrees ordered. We never got our dessert we ordered and the waitress acted bothered when we had to ask for refills after sitting for 10 to 15 mins with empty glasses. I will never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and service. The pecan pie cobbler was one of the best desserts we have ever had

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

This is one of my Nashville favorites. They have delicious food and a low key atmosphere. It’s a must-see every time I go to Nashville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

was running a little late for reservation but no problem. seated immediately. service was fairly timely (a band had just started and place was packed). Food was yummy! Would eat there again for sure.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 11, 2017

The BEST Southern Fried Chicken in Nashville! Everyone must try Pucketts!

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Always outstanding. The Aroma captivates you at least a block way. I came on a birthday special provided by the restaurant. Go every chance you get. The breakfast is outstanding as well.

Tags: Healthy, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

We love Puckett’s. We were able to get a great table and listen to The Sunday Showcase. Very fun and casual place. I have always liked whatever I have ordered.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Smoked meatloaf fried chicken were excellent, great service, walk to broadway.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 6, 2017

The food was delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Can't wait to come back to Nashville so we can dine at Puckett's again!!!!!!! Everything was great. Loved the food, live music, great service. Would definitely recommend!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Our family of 4 met another family of 4 at Puckett's for a fun night during fall break. Puckett's used to be our go to for any events downtown, but we had not been in a while. Our server was great (sorry I don't remember her name!) - and all our requests were met. Our reservation was waiting and we were seated immediately. Food was great as always and portions are large - my husband and I normally share and entree and are both satisfied. Beer selection is very good as well. BBQ platter was excelling and their hot chicken is one of our favorites. Service was good as we had to be at another even at a certain time and had plenty of time to order, eat, visit, pay and walk to our event. Puckett's is on our permanent downtown list!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Very noisy. Good singer. Chicken sandwich was so spicy I was unable to eat it. Service good.
Would recommend it but beware of spicy dishes!!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 1, 2017

A great Nashville experience! They didn’t rush us at all, let us enjoy the music even though we had finished dinner. Very enjoyable!

Tags: Fun, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great service, busy night, live music, loved the food and it wasn’t too pricey particularly considering the live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

Chicken and waffle is not spicy by any means, but it was delicious and plenty of food! Piggy mac was also delicious and never lets us down. Good drink specials during happy hour, excellent service, very happy for a very affordable price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We came for a show at the Ryman from out of state and chose Puckett's based on location, menu, atmosphere and history. We were not disappointed. We enjoyed the entire experience and would recommend Puckett's to anyone.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great Beer, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2017

A great place just a few blocks away from all of the noise on Broadway. Live music at night. Worth heading to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Good food and live music. Was happy that they take reservations, too. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Live Music, Great Beer, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Good food, service and live music at Puckett's. Great location in downtown Nashville with easy access to other fun activities!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 21, 2017

The night we were at Puckett's, the music duo Penny Opera was performing, and they were just great. Service was outstanding. The meatloaf was delicious, but other items we ordered were just so-so: fried chicken was a little dry, green beans were overcooked and the mac n' cheese was bland and not worth the upcharge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Food was very good. Place was packed even on a weeknight so reservations helpful. Service wasn't great but I think it was just our server that night. Setting was very nice and the music was really good. If you are cold natured take a sweater, it was 85 outside and probably 55 inside, they kept it very cold.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fun, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great food, service, price & atmosphere! I took my family that came in from out of town and they LOVED it!

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Live Music, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 20, 2017

We have a party of 9. The food was fantastic. The service was fantastic. The live entertainment was fantastic. Sure wished I lived in Nashville so I could become a regular!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Another great Sunday dinner at Pucketts. The Steel Blossoms were the featured act in Marcus Whyvrew's Sunday Showcase. We all had the meatloaf - smoked in the smoker - a hearty meal. The music was terrific - 3 different acts - all great. Service from Gabrielle was top notch. I will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

We were in town from overseas and this restaurant was reommended. We decided to make a reservation and were pleased we had as there were l8mited time spots available. We were promptly seated and friendly waitress greeted us. Meals were adequate but not flash. The music was very good and not too loud even though we were seated beside the stage. The cobbler dessert was sufficient to share. The ginger beer was tasteless.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great value and beer selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

All great. Would have preferred to not be seated next to the drink cooler

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 16, 2017

I had shrimp & grits. It was tasty but not the best I've had. My husband had the catfish and loved it. The problem was the VERY loud live music. Made conversation impossible. Also the artist had a nasal cutting voice - hard to take.

Tags: Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Love love love Puckett's! Have looked forward to coming back since my last visit a few years ago! Never disappoints!

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Just my second visit to Pucketts and it was wonderful. My friend loved it, too. I learned at Ascend Amphitheatre that I should have asked you guys to transport us to the concert. I ended up paying $24 in your lot, then $30 in the lot across from the theatre. Parking is too expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Excellent please to eat and have a good time. Atmosphere, service and food were very good!!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Great Barbecue, great service, recommend highly if you like barbeque along with other choices like steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Unfortunately our waitress seemed to not be having a good day. Although she was very sweet, she was not very attentive. Also our food was just ok. I had the grits and beef tips which was tasty but lacking in beef for the price. My husband had the fried catfish which was served on top of sweet potato fries so both the breading on the catfish and the fries became soggy. My sister had the piggy mac and cheese which was very dry. We also ordered the brisket nachos and there was only a small amount of brisket.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

recommended by a friend who lives in Nashville and disnt disappoint. Food was fabulous wantes to repeat as didnt have space for dessert!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Girl's night out and show at Ryman. Really close by, had reservations and got right in. Food was great! It was a bit noisy but it was right after a Titans game and we still had a great time and enjoyed the food very much!

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Girlfriends and I celebrated my 50th birthday! Our wonderful waitress took great care of us. Delicious food!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Disappointed after reading online reviews. Music that evening was poor, a guest he pulled on stage even worse. Had much better music experience at Acme. Order taking was rushed and then food took a long time to arrive.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Puckett's always delivers great food and a great atmosphere. They deliver the soul of Nashville with a skilled and attentive staff, a menu that has something for everyone, a well stocked bar and always the best music.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Great Beer, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was good, as was the service. If you have a sensitive digestive system avoid the large plate of shrimp and grits. The history of the restaurant is interesting, and they try to use local ingredients. The restaurant was crowded for an early weekend dinner, almost too crowded with tables close together. But if you have a larger group, we had five, you can reserve a large booth in the back of the room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.