About Puckett's 5th & Church

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
Please visit http://www.parkitdowntown.com/ for details on parking

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: (615) 770-2772

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (79)
Casual (76)
Live Music (67)
See All
Fun (55)
Good for Groups (43)
Good for a Date (37)
People Watching (33)
Authentic (33)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Family Style (27)
Hot Spot (27)
Local Ingredients (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Kid-friendly (22)
Special Occasion (20)
Outstanding Value (19)
Great Beer (18)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Cozy (17)
Happy Hour (17)
Historic (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Business Meals (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Quick Bite (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Open Kitchen (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Romantic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Spicy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Live Sports (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
1732 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 15 hours ago

Came all the way from Texas to try the Chicken Fried Steak.....didn't have it at this location.....the waitress said they quit carrying it but get requests for it all the time. OWNER PUT IT BACK ON THE MENU. They were out of the chicken fried chicken so I had to go with the southern fried chicken which was awesome. Got the fried brownie for desert and it was awesome. Great place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good, Outstanding service, Table was ready at appointed time, not very long wait for food.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great chicken n waffles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Great sliders and fries. Pulled pork and mac n cheese was nothing special......

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 7 days ago

Crowded for a Monday evening. Recommend making reservations in advance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Pre show dinner with reservation through Open Table...good thing we had reservations on a Saturday night as it was packed...service was fast, efficient and gracious. Food was delicious..I had a great garden salad with the piggy mac and cheese......Try it it was great. Husband had cat fish that he said was very good.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Outstanding Value, Fun, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It was too warm. No fans & no air on because it was cool outside but with all the people it was not comfortable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Frequent all of Pucketts locations in Nashville and Franklin - you guys rock...!

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We went with another couple and each had the barbecue sampler plate. The plate was huge with chicken wings, ribs, and pulled pork. The wings and pulled pork were excellent. The ribs had been overcooked and while they tasted well they were a little tough and difficult to eat. If I was there again, I wouldn't get the sampler plate, but would get either the pulled pork or the wings.
We always get the fried green beans as an appetizer. Service was great and we enjoyed the restaurant as always.

Tags: Casual, Live Music, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great service. Fun atmosphere. Usually crowded so get reservations. Good food, especially for BBQ and comfort food lovers!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We arrived 1 hour earlier than our reservation due to time change. We were seated immediately. Service was excellent and food recommended was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic, Fun, Casual, Live Music, People Watching, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Food was great and so was the service from our waiter. I wish I could remember his name so that I could shout him out for his great hospitality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We passed through Nashville on Spring Break, and we googled for a family friendly restaurant with live music near our downtown hotel. Puckett's was a result, so we went ahead and made a reservation. What a great find!! My 13 year old felt comfortable there as other kids were seen in the restaurant. We all enjoyed the music, the food, and felt good to be in a place as a family at 9:00 PM without worries of what my daughter might experience in downtown Nashville.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Best cobbler in town!
Amazing food, service & live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 16, 2017

We were visiting Nashville for our second time and it happened to be the hubby's birthday. We wanted southern comfort food and some good music. We got both. Our only complaint was that the food was not as piping hot as we would have liked. We were there for a later dinner (8:00ish) so that may have played a role. Definitely will return! Music was great too!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 14, 2017

So glad we had this app! There was a 90 minute wait when we checked in but we went right to our table. Food was outstanding and the service was prompt even with the crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Loved our server and the entire staff. So attentive! Great live music too! Food was delicious. An authentic experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Great food and service! Waiter had great recommendations and gave enough time to make decisions. Cobbler of the day was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Never disappoints. Great food and atmosphere. Make reservations!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Historic, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, People Watching, Casual, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Fun, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Good food, good service. Music (bands) was way too loud. Could only talk to my friends between songs. Not fun. Perhaps our table was too close. Not sure but it was so loud we could not here each other at all. It was Sunday evening showcase night. We didn't know. Several acts. Some very loud. One screaming guy from Indiana in particular. Our waitress was wonderful and also noticeably bothered by the voluum.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Spent a long weekend in Nashville and out of four great restaurants Puckett's was our favorite. Good food, good value, great atmosphere, packed but efficient, friendly service. They had live music at 7 pm.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food was wonderful! We chose the grilled meatloaf and pork BBQ dinners. Meatloaf had 2 sides, and BBQ had 3. Corn cakes were fantastic. Had a reservation, otherwise I think the wait would have been too long for us. So, recommend getting a reservation in advance. Need more than 1 tv screen, the only one was in the corner in the bar. Floors were very slippery (greasy?), and tables are crammed in together. But, still, well worth going there, and we will be going back. Our server was great.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 10, 2017

SEC tournament was going on and everyone wanted to eat in a short window of time before games started again. With a reservation we got in within a few minutes, service was excellent and food and drinks were served quickly so we could get back to the games. Great experience and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We really enjoy Puckett's for breakfast and at night for live music but we're disappointed in our dinner experience there. The ribs and hot chicken missed the mark.

Tags: Live Music, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Food was good. Nice people. Nice atmosphere! Philly sandwich was great as well as the piggy mac.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 10, 2017

A great place for good comfort food cuisine. My son had steak, I had southern fried chicken and my husband had a filet. All meals were delicious ! We will go again.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Easy walk from Bridgestone Arena. Even with the line out the door, during the SEC tourney, we were seated promptly at the time of our reservation in a great booth for our party of 6. We could actually hear each other talk. The service & food were great! Loved it!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

GREAT FOOD AND SERVICE. IN TOWN FOR THE BASKETBALL TOURNAMENT AND EVERY YEAR WE EAT AT PUCKETTS. LOVE THE CHICKEN FRIED CHICKEN. SEE YOU IN 2018

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Historic, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great location near downtown hotels & clubs. Super comfort food; some great unique items on menu. Wonderful service, great music. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Authentic, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Great time and they Sutter us about 25 minutes early. Place was packed. Eddie was our waiter and did an amazing job. Glasses were never empty.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food was delicious. Staff was friendly and attentive. Fun live music.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 27, 2017

This was a fun evening with live music and good comfort food. I enjoyed the Piggy Mac - an iron skillet with pork BBQ covered with mac and cheese. Waiter was great. Energetic with the music and large table parties. Missed the brunch on Sunday but heard it was quite good.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Very laid back atmosphere jeans and boots certainly fit right in. Very much a comfort food place and really good sweet tea. Perfect for a pre Broadway crawl meal or before a preds game meal.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were fortunate to get there at happy hour and our waitress made sure to help us be aware of the timing. Two thirds of the dinners were great, the other not so. I would say barbecue is king.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Had a great time. The service was quick and we were seated a little before our reservation time.

Tags: Live Music, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Casual, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Absolutely amazing! While I was enjoying a vacation in Nashville, I decided to try it out and decided I HAD to come back. The music both nights were absolutely fantastic and if I could have gone again, I would have. The food is great and the atmosphere is wonderful! I will definitely make it a tradition to stop at Pucketts.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Outstanding Value, People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 21, 2017

We enjoyed Pucketts very much. We were on our way to a Predators hockey game and only had appetizers and drinks but it was very good as well as the service. Plan on going again hopefully in the near future. The wings were awesome!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Fun, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was amazing! Everything had great flavor, and the plates were BIG! I would recommend to make a reservation because the wait was about 2 hours without one!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We had heard very good reviews from friends and planned dinner before a concert downtown. We arrived very early for our reservation and were seated immediately. That was not expected, but certainly appreciated the service. Service was very good with adequate time to decide as it was our first visit to Puckett's.
Food was very good. I had already decided on the Piggy Mac and was not disappointed. My wife ordered the Southern Fried Chicken and was very happy.
Dessert was also awesome.
Great visit and was actually surprised how affordable our dinner was since Puckett's is located downtown.
Will definitely be back!
Thanks

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great experience! Will definitely dine at Puckett's in the future. Will recommend Puckett's to family and friends.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.