About Puckett's 5th & Church

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday & Sunday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
We offer complimentary valet every Friday and Saturday evening starting at 5pm.

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: 6157702772x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Nashville
Great for Lunch
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
5 More
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Value
Nashville
Great for Lunch
Nashville
Hot Spot
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

good for groups (135)
neighborhood gem (121)
hot spot (112)
See All
great for lunch (98)
fit for foodies (80)
kid-friendly (77)
special occasion (44)
vibrant bar scene (39)
late-night find (35)
great for brunch (32)
great for outdoor dining (9)
scenic view (4)
 (3)
 (3)
 (2)
 (2)
notable wine list (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1317 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Exciting Place

Dined 3 days ago

The place was packed and noisy but fun Good for large or small groups. Not fancy

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always SO GOOD. Best barbecue in ...

Dined 4 days ago

Food is always SO GOOD. Best barbecue in Nashville. 👌🏼

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect Spot to Eat Before a Ryman Show

Dined 5 days ago

We had made reservations online and were seated promptly even though we arrived 30 minutes early. Happy Hour lasts until 6:00 p.m with $2 bucks off most drinks. Our server (Katosha) was excellent and attended to our every need. We shared the Strawberry Field Salad with feta and walnuts. We highly recommend it. Both dinners were served hot. I had the Chicken MOONSHINE PLATTER (dinner menu). The chicken was tender and the mashed sweet potatoes and steamed veggies were perfect. I would order the same meal again. The meal was served quickly and made it to the 7:30 show with time to spare. Thank you for an excellent evening and meal to remember! If you want cheap parking - try the public library parking garage! It was $8 this night.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was super fast, and the foo ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Our waitress was super fast, and the food was fantastic!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Our table was stuck in the corner by the ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our table was stuck in the corner by the front door and a stack of high chairs and our waiter was nice but scarce. But the food was good and reasonably priced.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Puckett's is great!

Dined on May 21, 2016

Puckett's is great and opens the door for fun in downtown Nashville.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paige was amazing!!! She was so kind, at ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Paige was amazing!!! She was so kind, attentive and fast at service!!! BBQ was amazing!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3

Like an over priced Cracker Barrel. Go t ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Like an over priced Cracker Barrel. Go to the original in Franklin or not at all.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our reservation was for 10 we arrived ea ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Our reservation was for 10 we arrived early but were only 8 and were seated promptly. Our table was near the bathrooms and by the kitchen which was not a very good first impression, but the location was perfect for our business dinner. It was almost as if we were in a private room with a glass window! We were able to talk across the table to everyone. Service was very good and our waiter Zander was lots of fun with great recommendations. Looking forward to going back with friends to have real fun.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great Food, Excellent Fried Chicken

Dined on May 16, 2016

Seriously, get the southern fried chicken dinner. Ribs were great as well, but we almost ordered more chicken for dessert.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I was in town for Steeplechase with my b ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I was in town for Steeplechase with my boyfriend. I had raved to him about how good and fun Puckett's was last year when I was in town for a bachelorette, so we decided to go for dinner after the race on Saturday. The bad experience started out when I asked our waitress if she could recommend a beer comparable to a hefeweizen, and her response was "that's a dark beer, right?" - Yikes!! For a restaurant that has quite a large beer selection, how does your staff not have a good knowledge of beers? Secondly, my boyfriend ordered a Manhattan on the rocks. It came out in a martini glass. He is too nice to say anything, but he didn't enjoy sipping a martini at a country bar in Nashville. Plus, it was not what he ordered. Lastly, the food we ordered was SO cold and over-salted when it came out. It made us kinda lose our appetite immediately. We ate it, we didn't complain, we paid our bill, and we left....SO disappointed. I am sad to say that the only item on the bill worth paying that night was the $12 pp entertainment charge. The guy singing was awesome! I am just so disappointed to have spent the money we did on such an average meal. Especially on a restaurant that I was raving about beforehand.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great music and food. Server was helpful ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great music and food. Server was helpful food was good we ordered the Hanger Steak and Shrimp & Grits plus desert. Good meal, good time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere. We had a wonderful blu ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great atmosphere. We had a wonderful bluegrass and country group playing that night. I've been there twice and the food is always great, the service excellent and the music top notch.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

We had reservations for 2 tables but we ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We had reservations for 2 tables but we were seated at 1 table and told the table was reserved one hour later and we would have to be finished by that time. It was no problem because we were headed to TPAC . However, we were very rushed and some plates were picked up before people were finished. One of the alcoholic drinks had no alcohol . We ordered, got our food, paid and were out in less than 45 minutes.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

We were early for our reservation and th ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were early for our reservation and they sat us promptly. Even though the restaurant was packed, the service staff quickly took our orders. The food came out fast, hot and delicious. Everything was so prompt that we had time for dessert before leaving for the theater.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

An out of town treat

Dined on May 12, 2016

We went to Pucketts because it was recommended by a friend. It was live music night and it was a great..the music and the food. It is quite loud but energetic

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Good fun and music

Dined on May 7, 2016

The food was great, portions generous and singers were all professional and entertaining

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food

Dined on May 6, 2016

Our server was very prompt & efficient. Food was amazing! Would definitely go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Glad we went!

Dined on May 6, 2016

The food is what one would expect. Filling and heavy. Good though. This ain't some buffet place. The service, however, was excellent. The hostess was able to move our reservation up an hour on 45 min. notice and our server was the perfect type of attentive. She even customized me a flight of local beers based on my like of IPA. Definately worth a stop.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

one night in Nashville

Dined on May 6, 2016

We only had one night and Puckett's was recommended by another server as a good taste of Nashville. We enjoyed our date there- good food, plenty of choices, live music was really fun, service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was amazing And the artist performi ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was amazing And the artist performing was great! It took about an hour to get our food and making a reservation is a must but it is worth it!

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Worth the Stop!

Dined on May 5, 2016

Ate here 2 times during our Nashville TN visit. Once for breakfast and other for dinner. Both meals were delicious! The smoked pork is outstanding. Fun and comfortable atmosphere. The staff was friendly and professional. We would eat here again on a future trip to Nashville. Also enjoyed the nighttime entertainment.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Southern comfort

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Southern comfort food and hospitality. The little italian waitresses from AZ was awesome. So friendly, so nice. Couldn't ask for anyone better. The chicken fried steak and fried chicken (dark meat on the bone) was also outstanding. Just what you would expect in southern kitchens. Topped it off with the warmed cherry cobbler and a scoop of vanilla ice cream. Even now to think of these items while I'm writing them, makes my mouth water. Yum.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome service, food, and entertainment

Dined on May 2, 2016

Our server was ready to offer a recommendation for the popular items on the list Great music, lively place for a late dinner with friends. Servings were HUGE! You can easily share a few plates and try a bit of everything, Mac and cheese was really really good!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Yum!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very loud once band started. Food delicious but portions too big so half of it wasted. You do compost all the leftovers don't you? Service was personable and attentive. Offer smaller plates to encourage less overeating and less waste.

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Live music with hot chicken

Dined on April 30, 2016

I had heard about hot chicken before this trip. I had it at Puckett's and will never forget the fire in my mouth. Not what I expected, but really good. Chicken was fresh and the hit was hot. I finished with pecan pie. Yum, yum. Then the band started. Ever seat can hear the music. Lively and energetic places. At least 3 bachelorette parties on the Friday we went. That always makes things happen. Service was able to explain things. Automatic Cover charge ($12 per person) if you are eating around 9 pm and the band is supposed to play. That part was weird.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Rock and Roll Half

Dined on April 30, 2016

Such a good experience! Came into town for the half marathon. We had made reservations but got there about an hour and a half early. They got us seated about 20 minutes later! Food was awesome! I got the moonshine chicken platter...so good!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love Puckett's

Dined on April 29, 2016

Went to Nashville for the Rock n Roll Marathon. Ended up eating at Puckett's twice while there. Friday night the food was great so went back Sunday morning for the breakfast buffet which was amazing. Highly recommend but get reservations or be prepared to wait.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing chicken and waffles.

Dined on April 28, 2016

Amazing chicken and waffles.

food4
ambience4
service4

My shrimp and grits was awesome. It had ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

My shrimp and grits was awesome. It had a little kick. My husband had the chicken fried chicken and didn't think it was anything special. The fried pickles were more batter than pickles.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a reservation for 10 people and s ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

I made a reservation for 10 people and showed up with 11. Our reservation was for 9pm and we were seated by 8:45. our server, Faith, was awesome and made our visit a pleasure. I've been there before but the rest of the group had not; Puckett's made me look like a hero. Thanks

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Check prices carefully

Dined on April 25, 2016

We had an unpleasant surprise when our check arrived. One wine drinker at the table ordered a glass of the house red at happy hour prices. We were shocked when we later discovered that the 1 glass of wine @$8.50 cost more than her dinner.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Mixology!

Dined on April 25, 2016

The bartenders here are outstanding. Though they didn't have the Pennington's Strawberry Rye Whiskey this visit, the bartender went out of their way to make me a delicious ginger beer drink.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice Nashville Restaurant

Dined on April 24, 2016

My wife and I have been to Nashville 4 times and always have at least one meal here. Food is good,service great and the prices are not bad. If you can time your visit to hear the live music it's always good!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nashville Gem-don't miss!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a large group with two separate reservations and the restaurant was very accommodating to combine our tables. Our group of 10 sat together, enjoyed incredible food and wonderful service! The Sausage appetizer was amazing-do not miss out on it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Sweet cornbreaf, ugh!!!

Dined on April 21, 2016

Anyone from the South knows that cornbread is NOT sweet! Also, all the veggie had sugar added.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious bbq with homemade sauces!

Dined on April 19, 2016

I was traveling through Nashville and saw this was a popular place to eat that was highly rated. This was absolutely true! The barbecue meat and homemade bbq sauces were delicious, the food portions were small enough that I had room for dessert (with inexpensive prices to match those portions), and the dessert was also freshly made and amazing! Would definitely go here again if I were back in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Make reservations and enjoy everything t ...

Dined on April 19, 2016

Make reservations and enjoy everything they have!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal & music

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

The food is straightforward, but awesome and tremendously flavorful -- didn't have anything even approaching bland. Appetizers: fried green beans, ribs; both really good. A few of us got the hanger steak, and it was among the most flavorful pieces of meat I've ever had. One of our group had the piggy mac, and everyone tasted & loved it. The chicken and waffles was also highly praised. The live music was a wonderful side note, feeding on the Nashville vibe. Great food and great time. Will return soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Extremehiker

Dined on April 17, 2016

Great venue. Enjoyed the music. The food was good and Shannon was very attentive.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.