About Puckett's 5th & Church

500 Church Street
Nashville, TN 37219
View Larger Map

Founded in the fifties, people have been congregating at Puckett"s for over half a century. We've updated a bit, added some recipes from our family and friends, and thrown in some great live music. But it's still Puckett's Grocery... nothing too fancy, but everything good. It's where the locals go for real food, real people and real fun.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Comfort Food, Southern, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday: 7am-10pm
Friday & Saturday: 7am- 11pm
Breakfast served daily from 7am-11am
Breakfast buffet available Friday, Saturday, Sunday & Monday beginning at 8am

Cross Street:
5th Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 770-2772

Website:
http://www.puckettsgrocery.com/nashville/index.php

Entertainment:
We feature Music City's best local talent 7 nights a week! You'll hear up and coming songwriters and great Americana acts Sunday through Thursday. Number one hit song-writers and bands made up by those hit song writers and the same musicians who have toured with everyone from Elton John to Emmylou Harris on featured on Friday and Saturdays. Want more info? Check our calendar at http://www.puckettsgro.com/nashville/events for all the details!

Catering:
Voted Best Caterer in Williamson County for 8 years in a row!

Parking Details:
Please visit http://www.parkitdowntown.com/ for details on parking

Executive Chef:
Billy Hearn

Private Party Facilities:
Small private dining area seats up to 15. We will rent out the restaurant for private events in the evening.

Private Party Contact:
Autumn Friese: 6157702772x

Additional:
Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp and Grits
Chicken Fried Steak
Chicken and Waffles
Fried White Meat Chicken Dinner
Boro Blonde Mayday
Southern Stack
Chicken
2meat And 2Side Special
Cherry Smoked Baby Back Ribs
Wings
Country Fried Chicken
Fried Pickles And Jalapenos
Bbq Brats
shots
Meat And Three
Sweet potato fries
Pineapple Juice
Fried Green Tomato B.L.T.
Fried Pickles & Fried Jalapenos
Puckett's Burger August Special
Biscuits and Gravy
Breakfast Burrito
Fried Chicken & Waffles
Puckett's Apple Pie Moonshine Martini
Smoked Bologna Sandwich
Chocolate Chip Pancakes And Home Fries
Omelet
veggie burger with sweet potato fries
Chicken Wings, Fried Pepperoni, Fried Asparagus, Pulled Pork Slider
Fried Green Tomatoes
Breakfast Buff
Breakfast Buffet
Beale Street Burger
Memphis Oysters
Peach Tea
Peach Cobbler
Chicken Fried Chicken
BBQ Pork Platter
Bubba's Eggs Benedict
Pork Chop
fried chicken
BBQ Pulled Pork Sandwich
Fried Green Beans
Patty Melt on Rye
Green Flash West Coast IPA
Eggs Benedict
Meat
Ribs And Chicken Fried Chicken
Ribs
Pulled Pork
Meatloaf & Gravy With Potato Salad
Chocolate Milk
Early Riser Breakfast
Strawberry Salad With Raspberry Vinegarette Dress.and Rasperry Vodka
Red Beans & Rice
Chocolate Chip Pancakes
Bbq Shrimp & Grits
Fudge Pie
Bubba Bones
Country Ham Platter
Veggie Omelette
Beef Brisket

Puckett's 5th & Church Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Nashville
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Value
Nashville
1 More
Most Booked
Nashville
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Good for Groups (146)
Neighborhood Gem (123)
Hot Spot (114)
See All
Great for Lunch (97)
Fit for Foodies (94)
Kid-friendly (79)
Special Occasion (72)
Great for Brunch (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (41)
Late-night Find (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Scenic View (8)
Romantic (4)
Notable Wine List (2)
Casual (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Historic (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1437 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I have eaten breakfast here a number of ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

I have eaten breakfast here a number of times. This was the first time for dinner. Food was good. The service was not as good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, great service, great atmosph ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Nice dinner Birthday !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked based on rating with Open Table. ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Booked based on rating with Open Table. Food was amazing. Comfort food at its best. Go in evening and listen to some great music. There is a cover charge of $12 per person regardless of whether or not you eat if after 8 but a really great spot.

Tags: Romantic, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I place is over-rated and not worth the ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I place is over-rated and not worth the wait. Our food came out cold and wasn't worth the money. Service was minimal. I don't plan on going back.

Tags: Casual, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We were in town for a bachelorette party ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We were in town for a bachelorette party and had a group of 10. We absolutely loved the area we were seated in. It allowed us to talk and hear each other, but still enjoy the music. The food and service were fantastic! I would highly recommend visiting Puckett's if you have the chance! Would definitely visit again if/when I return to Nashville.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Puckett's was exactly what we were hopin ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Puckett's was exactly what we were hoping it would be. They serve delicious down home country food in a fun Nashville inspired environment that was just right for kids too. We went early but wished we could stay for the 9:00 show.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good southern food with really talented ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Good southern food with really talented live music. Definitely try to get a table while someone is playing. The service is super slow but I think that's just the norm and I'm used to fast paced. We didn't even care because we truly enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Loved the atmosphere and the food was ex ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and the food was excellent home style fare. Service was also good, very friendly and timely. It was pretty loud.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked an early dinner before the DCX co ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Booked an early dinner before the DCX concert. Good service from John. Classic fried chicken was juicy and tasty. The chicken and waffles not so much, the waffles could been left from breakfast they were so dry and just crumbled when touched with a fork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was terrible. As an example, th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was terrible. As an example, the steamed broccoli was completely raw. I was embarrassed to have suggested it for a business dinner. The ambiance is fine, but the food was very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Went for the Monday night showcase. Musi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Went for the Monday night showcase. Music was good. Food was very average.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was okay, I wouldn't say anythi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was okay, I wouldn't say anything jumped out as excellent. Our waiter was absolutely terrible, not helpful when it came to the menu, walked away rolling his eyes several times, wouldn't come check on our table. Very poor service.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Piggy Mac was excellent.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Piggy Mac was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Really good food! The service was great ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Really good food! The service was great ....but it took about 30 minutes to get our food. But we will be back, it was worth the wait!

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I will say that the table position was o ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I will say that the table position was only good for half of us due to backs to the stage. Food was good but not great. Our waitress was the best waitress I ever had though. A real pro! She knew every order and controlled the table and other staffers effortlessly. She knew who to charge even though others wanted to pay or participate.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

the food was great. we had the fired p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

the food was great. we had the fired pickles, fried beans, hot wings as appitizers and the southern fired chocked was to die for. we also had ribs and green fired tomatoes as BLT

unreal - loved it. Vanessa our server was excellent

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent and glad we had reser ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food was excellent and glad we had reservations. I would definitely go back when in town.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best food we had in Nashville hands ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The best food we had in Nashville hands down! The fried pickles were amazing and the barbeque is outstanding. It's a family friendly atmosphere if you come for a late lunch/early dinner. Think between 2-5 and definitely get reservations. Keep in mind it's a busy place so they don't want you to sit and linger after you eat. They are friendly while serving you food but when the meal is over they want you out to seat other patrons.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Piggymac is amazing!! Drive two hours ju ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Piggymac is amazing!! Drive two hours just for it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service by Eddie was excellent.

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Service by Eddie was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Went for the food and music. I had thei ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Went for the food and music. I had their special baked chicken, which was amazing. Husband had ribs which he said were very good. We also enjoyed the live music.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my second visit to Pucketts and m ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

It was my second visit to Pucketts and my wife's first. We loved it. They food was great. Everything on the table was delicious especially the Piggy Mac. Had live music to boot. Also they gave us a complementary desert for our Anniversary. A must for Nashville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was packed and the food was gr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The place was packed and the food was great. A little difficult to have a conversation due to noise level. Hoecakes were delicious.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great music! Good southern food! Be sure ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great music! Good southern food! Be sure to make a reservation and walk past the lines. When everyone from 4 to 70 is having fun, life is good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We visited on a Sunday evening, the plac ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We visited on a Sunday evening, the place was packed. We had a reservation and had a 30 minute wait at the bar for a table. The service was quick and the food good. Music was great and there was a real buz about the place.

Tags: Special Occasions, Vibrant Bar Scene, Group Bookings, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

I went here by myself after taking my da ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

I went here by myself after taking my daughter to a nearby camp. I had reservations for 5:00PM on a Sunday, but decided to eat at the bar. Plenty of seating available. Very friendly and knowledgeable bartenders. Great local beer selection. I had the pulled pork. It was very good, but I've had better. I think it was the BBQ sauces offered. None really stood out as exceptional. Again, still a very good meal. Loved the atmosphere overall. Wished I could've gone later to catch some live music as well.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I love reserving a table for the 9:00 sh ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I love reserving a table for the 9:00 show! Always a good band with fabulous music. Those that plan on socializing from 9 to 11 should probably pick a different venue so you don't have to raise your voice for conversation. The bar tenders create interesting cocktails as well as the stand by beers and wine! Food is always good and if you are not completely satisfied, wait staff will rectify the problem. We miss the chicken fried steak though😔😔😔

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious dinner, great atmosphere, and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Delicious dinner, great atmosphere, and fabulous service! Ended up staying to watch the band, and enjoyed some great cocktails. Love this place, and will be back each & every time we visit the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I appreciated that they seated us half a ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I appreciated that they seated us half an hour earlier than our reservation time. The pulled pork was delicious--even better with added bbq sauce. The dry ribs were okay; I prefer wet ribs. The mac and cheese was also okay. Our waitress was very friendly, but service was slow because there was a table of 53. I don't like that even if you have a reservation well before show time, you have to pay cover if you're still there when the band starts, but that seems to be standard in Nashville.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Our 1st time visiting Nashville. Puckett ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Our 1st time visiting Nashville. Pucketts was referred to us by a local friend, & well worth it! It was a great way to start our visit! Music was good, atmostphere was very nice, but the food was absolutely fantastic!

PiggyMac, fried greenbeans, Chicken fried chicken, chicken salad, fried pickles....all very good and a good price also! Hope to go again very soon! (Make a reservation!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were really impressed with our waiter ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We were really impressed with our waiter, he was so accommodating for a large group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Decent food and music, although very lou ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Decent food and music, although very loud. Seemed like the diners' conversations were competing with the live music. Had the Piggymac and Meatloaf. Piggymac was quite yummy, Meatloaf had a great flavor but was slightly too salty for our taste. We sat at the bar and both bartenders were very friendly and helpful. The featured cocktail was well balanced and refreshing. Overall a good experience but not exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Heard a lot of good things but it turned ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Heard a lot of good things but it turned out to be just ok. Very busy but the name is drawing visitors in, as it did us. I can't imagine locals fine here

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

I've been to Puckett's several times and ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I've been to Puckett's several times and always had exceptional service when dining with local friends. This time, I brought 4 out-of-towners with me and unfortunately our server was assisting with a very large group and our table was forgotten about for the second half of our time there. I love Puckett's and just wish that hadn't happened when I had newbies with me.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

We were visiting Nashville and found thi ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We were visiting Nashville and found this on Yelp. The chicken and the pulled pork are out of this world. Live music at 8:00 was great too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Puckett's is a unique place. Food is g ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Puckett's is a unique place. Food is good quality and affordable, good but not oversized portions. I noted the noise level was high because this particular evening there was live music - which is what we came to see. We ordered the Chicken Fried Chicken - very good. Ordered Ribs in past - a little too fry and overdone for my taste

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I want to specially commend the receptio ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I want to specially commend the reception staff for their great work in finding a table for our party after it grew from 6 to 9 people.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Made a reservation weeks in advance and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Made a reservation weeks in advance and still had to wait 20 minutes to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

This venue has a table with absolutely n ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This venue has a table with absolutely no A/C. It made our experience less than pleasant. Our waiter was pretty amicable, but forgot to ring in my drink. He did however comp a drink for me after my date had to go to the bar and order my drink after waiting 30 minutes. I might try it again, but definitely not in the July! It was HOT!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

this is a very large restaraunt and it w ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

this is a very large restaraunt and it was very accommodating to our very large group. The food was great with menu choices that accommodated everyone in our group! It was only a couple blocks away from the Broadway strip so its location is ideal.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.