About Pub Republic

3120 Lakeville Hwy
Petaluma, CA 94954
View Larger Map

Urban pub cuisine

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Burgers, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
So. McDowell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 782-9090

Website:
http://www.pubrepublicusa.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music weekly. Check our music calendar at http://www.pubrepublicusa.com/calendar

Parking Details:
Parking lot in the shopping center and additional overflow parking in the paved lot just South of the shopping center.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pub Republic Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Restaurants in Petaluma ›

Great for Lunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (7)
See All
Great Beer (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Live Sports (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Romantic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
151 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pleasantly surprised at how nice this Sp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Pleasantly surprised at how nice this Sports Bar was inside, fun bar area & their food was way above my expectations!

Met family there for a birthday lunch, quiet time of day. Host and server were attentive, nice & professional.

Will come back when weather is warmer to sit outside in their nice garden area next to creek!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed the meal, service. Worth the dri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Enjoyed the meal, service. Worth the drive from San Rafael.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Pub Republic is a good neighborhood rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Pub Republic is a good neighborhood restaurant with an easy going vibe. I've eaten at Pub Republic many times, this time I was disappointed. The Short Ribs that I ordered turned out to be fatty and not as 'melt' in your mouth quality, which is what I look forward to when I order Short Ribs. Our server was not very attentive, no refills on water, barely clearing empty dishes, so that by the end of the meal we had empty wine glasses, empty water glasses, food plates, etc.

I definitely would say there is room for improvement.

Also, that evening Parking was not to be found!!! This is a big problem in this particular strip mall, there are too many eating establishments, etc. for the number of parking spaces. I ended up having to park 'off-site' which was inconvenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Love this place but this time my regular ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Love this place but this time my regular Brussels - bacon hash wasn't as good as in the past. Lots of char that affected the taste of the food and most of the bacon pieces were overly burnt. I'll try it again but it was somewhat disappointing. However, we had 8 in our party and most of the other dishes were well-enjoyed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I love the outdoor seating, excellent br ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I love the outdoor seating, excellent brunch menu and awesome beer list!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good food and service!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Consistently good food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pub Republic is our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Pub Republic is our favorite restaurant in Petaluma. It doesn't hurt that it's right around the corner from our home. We take all of our visiting friends and family there. We've never had a bad meal at Pub Republic. Our favorite is the Sat/Sun brunch. Highly recommended. Just leave a seat for us!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Live Sports, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a nice dining experience but I've ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 17, 2016

It was a nice dining experience but I've had the same waitress before and she's always horrible. My son asked for another glass of wine and she never brought it until we were having dessert and he asked for it again. She's in over her head and is not taking the time to properly wait on tables. I'm probably going to stop going there for a while

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Everytime we go here, the food is very g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Everytime we go here, the food is very good, the service is great, and the experience is awesome. They have a large beer menu that changes with the seasons and local breweries. There are options for everyone include GF, veggie, and picky eaters. It is a pub, but with higher end food. The Gf hamburger bun is so good, you will question it! The truffle fries are a must have!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pub Republic is one of our favorite rest ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Pub Republic is one of our favorite restaurants in town. We've brought both family and friends there, and everyone has raved over it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointing........the server bro ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very disappointing........the server brought our entrees and neglected to remove the salad plates that were sitting there in front of us empty.

Both of us ordered different chicken dishes.....one their "signature" dish. Dry, overcooked and bland.

Not an inexpensive meal by any means....would not return. Go to Wild Goat and enjoy a much more pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent evening, food was wonderful, g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Excellent evening, food was wonderful, great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The Ahi salad and Poke tacos were very g ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Ahi salad and Poke tacos were very good. Service was prompt and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I've heard a lot of good things about Pu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 13, 2016

I've heard a lot of good things about Pub Republic and it was time to check it out. I normally do not order steak from a menu that only has 2 kinds, but I thought that if they did steak right, they might actually do the other dishes right. I had the Manhattan Cut New York Steak, medium. Again, I normally order medium rare on my steak, but this was my first time. It was a safe choice. I wasn't disappointed. I will go back and order my steak next time, medium rare.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, killer beer selection

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great service, killer beer selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always good, love the atmosphere ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food is always good, love the atmosphere and fun beers on Tap. Great Lunch spot, we love going there for work lunches.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. You can reserve online ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love this place. You can reserve online and both times our table was ready with reserved sign and it was a good table! Not as loud as some places. Unique menu. Sprout hash is an excellent find!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Nancy was horrible. She bar ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our waitress Nancy was horrible. She barely spoke to us, barely looked at us, and kept us waiting multiple times. She was completely not friendly. The food was amazing and the restaurant was clean and open and nice.

Unfortunately spent the whole night with food poisoning... Had the ahi poke tacos as an appetizer, bacon Mac and cheese was split between my date and I, and we both got our own burgers. Mine was the Chipotle burger. It was cooked the way I asked and it was tasty. Not sure which item got me sick all night but I needed to share that.

I am hoping I find my way into the Pub again and it's a different experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

This restaurant was a very pleasant surp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 17, 2016

This restaurant was a very pleasant surprise - was meeting a friend at in between distance of our homes and made the choice based on location only. Upon arrival, realizing that it was in a shopping center setting my expectations were not too high - but, no problem as this meeting was more about catching up with a friend. Surprise !!! Great menu, really good food, excellent service and while we sat for 3 hours over a late breakfast chatting, the staff was totally accommodating, polite - continually refilling our water glasses and most professional. My friend and I both agreed that the food was delicious and we cannot wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Went here for a birthday dinner with fam ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went here for a birthday dinner with family.

Our server was amazing and had apples and carrots to occupy our toddler before we had even ordered drinks.

The brussel sprout tacos are amazing (our toddler even loved them)! As was everything else, I had the pistachio arugala salad with some of the best steak I've ever had. The short ribs were also to die for!

This place is perfect for special occasions while still be kid friendly (not always easy to find).

We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place to eat - located close to ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Favorite place to eat - located close to where I work. Always good food and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to brunch to celebrate my husban ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to brunch to celebrate my husband's birthday and Fathers Day. We sat on the lovely patio and had a delicious brunch. Highly recommend. It is also quieter outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pub Republic is loud due to hard surface ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 15, 2016

Pub Republic is loud due to hard surfaces, lots of millennials and tv's showing sports. The beers and the list are great. Lots of choices. The 2 cocktails my guests ordered were weak (they each commented about the lack of liquor they tasted.

The food was fine/okay. I'm not sure if I'll return. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

So far I've never had a bad meal, servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2016

So far I've never had a bad meal, service, or experience. It's my favorite place to take my 2 yr old daughter for our dates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had limited time for our lunch & they ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2016

We had limited time for our lunch & they worked within our schedule--even though we arrived late! I believe everyone enjoyed their meals and the 10 or so of us ordered a wide variety of food. One plate did arrive minutes after the other meals without much of an apology; however, the rest of the service was friendly and timely. My salmon poke tacos were delish: fresh and tasty. It was a plate to share so I didn't go away too full but I did get hungry mid-afternoon. I'd order it again. Our check was complicated by a combination of cash and CCs yet they were fine with it making a group meal easier to swing there. Overall a success. I'll be returning with my family--and it appears the patio is dog friendly :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was extremely slow. We had ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 5, 2016

The service was extremely slow. We had a reservation, waited 7 minutes to be greated then had to wait for a table. Then we sat for 15 minutes watching servers run around but were never even greated or had a drink order taken. The fod was ok, wasn't blown away. Not sure if I will return and I've been there several times just this was the first for brunch, which ended up being disa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Varied menu with quality, fresh food. Se ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2016

Varied menu with quality, fresh food. Service is always excellent. Patio seating makes it worth the drive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter graduated from SSU and we ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2016

My daughter graduated from SSU and we had her party there. They were very accommodating to a big group. Food was fantastic, service was awesome. We love Pub Republic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the vegan burger, homemade and del ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2016

I had the vegan burger, homemade and delicious. They even had gluten free options for burger bun and beer (the bun was store-bought, not great, but so nice to have that option). The restaurant was very clean and attractive, noise level for lunch was pleasant- not too loud. Good outside area for fresh air dining. Our waitress was attentive. I'd definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I've had just about everything on the me ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2016

I've had just about everything on the menu and have always been beyond satisfied

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, but not memorable.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2016

Quite loud and not a good place for conversation with intimate others, unless you don't mind shouting.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Brunch was delicious, service was great.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 10, 2016

Brunch was delicious, service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

a great place for burgers, beer, sides ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 22, 2016

a great place for burgers, beer, sides and salads. high quality ingredients and excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just OK

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 20, 2016

Not that impressive. Food was fair. Caesar salad had no flavor. Crispy Brussel Sprouts weren't. Service was adequate. Wouldn't hurry back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Awesome!!!

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 24, 2016

The food was fantastic, the waiter was so friendly and service was impeccable. We will be back very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Showed up 5 minutes before our 5:30 rese ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Showed up 5 minutes before our 5:30 reservation. Hostess looked confused when she searched for my name on her computer. Another hostess comes up and proceeds to tell me that someone from our party called in earlier and had changed our reservation from 8 people to 5. I told them that was not possible as only I knew about the reservation and I had not changed the number of covers. After some small talk amongst the two hostess, I am then told another party had taken our reservation. They came in, said they were us, and were only 5 people. At this point I'm just a bit flabbergasted as to what is happening as I've now been told two different stories in a two minute time frame. After some more looking at the computer by the hostess staff, we are sat. Then we proceed to wait for five - six minutes before even being greeted by the wait staff. A simple "I'll be right with you" or an actual table greet within 2 - 3 minutes is restaurant 101.

Once we did get service however we were taken pretty good care of. Our waitress did disappear for moderate amounts of time throughout the meal though. The food was good. My veggie burger is one of the better ones I've had in a long time so I'll give them props for that.

I won't be racing back there anytime soon. The front desk staff needs to be in charge of setting the tone for the whole dining experience (especially for someone who has never been there) and they fell way short on this experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Nice touch

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for Valentine's Day dinner and they handed out a beautiful long stemmed red rose (with a water tube attached) to every table to take home. Such a nice touch. It's been 3 days and the rose is still rocking it! The dinner was great, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was tasty and good, even the gl ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was tasty and good, even the gluten-free bun for the burger. The service was way below standard. Bar atmosphere with TV screens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Service could have been better, overall ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service could have been better, overall a good place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great food and service. Love this place.

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 6, 2016

Great food and service. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.