About Pub Republic

3120 Lakeville Hwy
Petaluma, CA 94954
View Larger Map

Urban pub cuisine

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Burgers, Gastro Pub

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Saturday - Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Sunday: 11:30am - 4:30pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
So. McDowell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 782-9090

Website:
http://www.pubrepublicusa.com/

Entertainment:
Live Music weekly. Check our music calendar at http://www.pubrepublicusa.com/calendar

Parking Details:
Parking lot in the shopping center and additional overflow parking in the paved lot just South of the shopping center.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Pub Republic Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Contemporary American
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in Petaluma ›

Good for Groups (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Kid-friendly (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Special Occasion (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Notable Wine List (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
141 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very disappointing........the server bro ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Very disappointing........the server brought our entrees and neglected to remove the salad plates that were sitting there in front of us empty.

Both of us ordered different chicken dishes.....one their "signature" dish. Dry, overcooked and bland.

Not an inexpensive meal by any means....would not return. Go to Wild Goat and enjoy a much more pleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Excellent evening, food was wonderful, g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent evening, food was wonderful, great atmosphere.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The Ahi salad and Poke tacos were very g ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The Ahi salad and Poke tacos were very good. Service was prompt and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I've heard a lot of good things about Pu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I've heard a lot of good things about Pub Republic and it was time to check it out. I normally do not order steak from a menu that only has 2 kinds, but I thought that if they did steak right, they might actually do the other dishes right. I had the Manhattan Cut New York Steak, medium. Again, I normally order medium rare on my steak, but this was my first time. It was a safe choice. I wasn't disappointed. I will go back and order my steak next time, medium rare.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great service, killer beer selection

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great service, killer beer selection

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always good, love the atmosphere ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Food is always good, love the atmosphere and fun beers on Tap. Great Lunch spot, we love going there for work lunches.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. You can reserve online ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Love this place. You can reserve online and both times our table was ready with reserved sign and it was a good table! Not as loud as some places. Unique menu. Sprout hash is an excellent find!!!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress Nancy was horrible. She bar ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Our waitress Nancy was horrible. She barely spoke to us, barely looked at us, and kept us waiting multiple times. She was completely not friendly. The food was amazing and the restaurant was clean and open and nice.

Unfortunately spent the whole night with food poisoning... Had the ahi poke tacos as an appetizer, bacon Mac and cheese was split between my date and I, and we both got our own burgers. Mine was the Chipotle burger. It was cooked the way I asked and it was tasty. Not sure which item got me sick all night but I needed to share that.

I am hoping I find my way into the Pub again and it's a different experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

This restaurant was a very pleasant surp ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This restaurant was a very pleasant surprise - was meeting a friend at in between distance of our homes and made the choice based on location only. Upon arrival, realizing that it was in a shopping center setting my expectations were not too high - but, no problem as this meeting was more about catching up with a friend. Surprise !!! Great menu, really good food, excellent service and while we sat for 3 hours over a late breakfast chatting, the staff was totally accommodating, polite - continually refilling our water glasses and most professional. My friend and I both agreed that the food was delicious and we cannot wait to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Went here for a birthday dinner with fam ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Went here for a birthday dinner with family.

Our server was amazing and had apples and carrots to occupy our toddler before we had even ordered drinks.

The brussel sprout tacos are amazing (our toddler even loved them)! As was everything else, I had the pistachio arugala salad with some of the best steak I've ever had. The short ribs were also to die for!

This place is perfect for special occasions while still be kid friendly (not always easy to find).

We will definitely be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place to eat - located close to ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Favorite place to eat - located close to where I work. Always good food and fun atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to brunch to celebrate my husban ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to brunch to celebrate my husband's birthday and Fathers Day. We sat on the lovely patio and had a delicious brunch. Highly recommend. It is also quieter outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pub Republic is loud due to hard surface ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Pub Republic is loud due to hard surfaces, lots of millennials and tv's showing sports. The beers and the list are great. Lots of choices. The 2 cocktails my guests ordered were weak (they each commented about the lack of liquor they tasted.

The food was fine/okay. I'm not sure if I'll return. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

So far I've never had a bad meal, servic ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

So far I've never had a bad meal, service, or experience. It's my favorite place to take my 2 yr old daughter for our dates

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We had limited time for our lunch & they ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We had limited time for our lunch & they worked within our schedule--even though we arrived late! I believe everyone enjoyed their meals and the 10 or so of us ordered a wide variety of food. One plate did arrive minutes after the other meals without much of an apology; however, the rest of the service was friendly and timely. My salmon poke tacos were delish: fresh and tasty. It was a plate to share so I didn't go away too full but I did get hungry mid-afternoon. I'd order it again. Our check was complicated by a combination of cash and CCs yet they were fine with it making a group meal easier to swing there. Overall a success. I'll be returning with my family--and it appears the patio is dog friendly :-)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was extremely slow. We had ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The service was extremely slow. We had a reservation, waited 7 minutes to be greated then had to wait for a table. Then we sat for 15 minutes watching servers run around but were never even greated or had a drink order taken. The fod was ok, wasn't blown away. Not sure if I will return and I've been there several times just this was the first for brunch, which ended up being disa

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

Varied menu with quality, fresh food. Se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Varied menu with quality, fresh food. Service is always excellent. Patio seating makes it worth the drive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My daughter graduated from SSU and we ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

My daughter graduated from SSU and we had her party there. They were very accommodating to a big group. Food was fantastic, service was awesome. We love Pub Republic!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the vegan burger, homemade and del ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I had the vegan burger, homemade and delicious. They even had gluten free options for burger bun and beer (the bun was store-bought, not great, but so nice to have that option). The restaurant was very clean and attractive, noise level for lunch was pleasant- not too loud. Good outside area for fresh air dining. Our waitress was attentive. I'd definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I've had just about everything on the me ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

I've had just about everything on the menu and have always been beyond satisfied

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was good, but not memorable.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Quite loud and not a good place for conversation with intimate others, unless you don't mind shouting.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Brunch was delicious, service was great.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Brunch was delicious, service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

a great place for burgers, beer, sides ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 22, 2016

a great place for burgers, beer, sides and salads. high quality ingredients and excellent service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just OK

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Not that impressive. Food was fair. Caesar salad had no flavor. Crispy Brussel Sprouts weren't. Service was adequate. Wouldn't hurry back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Awesome!!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 24, 2016

The food was fantastic, the waiter was so friendly and service was impeccable. We will be back very soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Showed up 5 minutes before our 5:30 rese ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Showed up 5 minutes before our 5:30 reservation. Hostess looked confused when she searched for my name on her computer. Another hostess comes up and proceeds to tell me that someone from our party called in earlier and had changed our reservation from 8 people to 5. I told them that was not possible as only I knew about the reservation and I had not changed the number of covers. After some small talk amongst the two hostess, I am then told another party had taken our reservation. They came in, said they were us, and were only 5 people. At this point I'm just a bit flabbergasted as to what is happening as I've now been told two different stories in a two minute time frame. After some more looking at the computer by the hostess staff, we are sat. Then we proceed to wait for five - six minutes before even being greeted by the wait staff. A simple "I'll be right with you" or an actual table greet within 2 - 3 minutes is restaurant 101.

Once we did get service however we were taken pretty good care of. Our waitress did disappear for moderate amounts of time throughout the meal though. The food was good. My veggie burger is one of the better ones I've had in a long time so I'll give them props for that.

I won't be racing back there anytime soon. The front desk staff needs to be in charge of setting the tone for the whole dining experience (especially for someone who has never been there) and they fell way short on this experience.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Nice touch

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

We went for Valentine's Day dinner and they handed out a beautiful long stemmed red rose (with a water tube attached) to every table to take home. Such a nice touch. It's been 3 days and the rose is still rocking it! The dinner was great, too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was tasty and good, even the gl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was tasty and good, even the gluten-free bun for the burger. The service was way below standard. Bar atmosphere with TV screens.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Service could have been better, overall ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Service could have been better, overall a good place to eat

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Great food and service. Love this place.

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

Great food and service. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

out of town diner

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 6, 2016

I looked up top restaurants in petaluma and Pub Republic came up. We made reservations through open table on the link. It was quick and easy. The atmosphere was nice and business casual. The food and service was quick and our server was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service.

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on January 25, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brussel sprout tacos and beer!

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

We were on vacation and looking for a fun place for dinner that focused more on beer than wine. Pub Republic was a fantastic choice!

Food Pros: Brussel sprout tacos (AMAZING) and the option to only order 1/2 shepherd's pie.

Drink Pros: Such a great draught selection, and the bartender energetically offered to let us taste before we committed to a full pint.

Service Pros: The bartenders were all friendly, accommodating and "team served" to make sure your glass was never empty.

Ambience Pros: Fun vibe on a Friday night, preparing for the live band that was setting up to perform.

Two reasons I did not enter a full 5 stars:

1. Made a reservation, and upon arrival was told they were running 30 minutes (at least) behind on their reservations. They quickly found a spot at the bar for us where they served the full menu. Not as comfortable, but appreciated the quick response.

2. Parmesan pretzel: This was terrible. It was extremely dry and the shredded parmesan was sprinkled on top and then overbaked into the pretzel. The amazing service once again kicked in, and upon noticing only a couple bites were gone, the bartender quickly removed the pretzel from our bill and suggested the sweet potato fries instead (which was an EXCELLENT recommendation).

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Local Restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

We have been coming here since the restaurant opened - the food is always good with fresh, innovative menus. The brussel sprout tacos are amazing, soups are delicious, salads equally delicious and the burgers are the best in town. Service is great and, even when very busy, they keep up or let you know if there is a lag in the kitchen due to volume. Patio dining is great and dog-friendly. Music on Friday nights is a bonus. This is a wonderful Petaluma friendly restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We have been to Pub Republic at least 4 times now. We have had 2 great experiences once at the bar and once in the side room for dinner. The other time service was off but our server did his best to make it up to us. This last time is going to be difficult to forget and it will be a long while before we go back. We went for Sunday brunch to celebrate a birthday, the birthday girl loves brunch. Our server took everyone's order at the same time and somehow managed to not put in the entire order. So, the food comes out and there are multiple dishes missing. Including the food for the kids (both under 2). We got the missing salad and hash pretty quickly but it was at least 30 minutes before the kids food was ready and we had already paid. The server said it was the kitchens fault but really she didn't put all our food in. She never asked if we wanted more drinks and we did. Overall it was a very disappointing experience at a place that has so much potential. I clicked yes, to recommending it to a friend because I would tell them to sit at the bar and get beer and a burger during happy hour.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Always good food, friendly service and a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on January 15, 2016

Always good food, friendly service and a seasonal menu. The staff is friendly and very welcoming. I usually book casual business lunches here and I am never disappointed.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Very impressed! Food was fabulous! We will definitely return again! Looking forward to sharing with our guests; when they are looking for something in Petaluma!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great local place for happy hour, lunch, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 26, 2015

Great local place for happy hour, lunch, dinner. Excellent beer selection. Gets very crowded, so make a reservation. Can get very noisy. If weather permits, sit outside. Try the Brussels sprouts tacos or Shepherd's pie. Service has been slow on several visits, but food is great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

OK Place

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

Very good food. Nice service. Disappointed it was not a real " PUB." This is a family (kid) friendly restaurant not a real "pub." Although stand alone it is like a strip mall pub!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

I used to really love this place, and it ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on November 30, 2015

I used to really love this place, and it has been a "must-stop" anytime I am in the area. This last visit my boyfriend and I were driving from Napa to Santa Rosa and actually stopped in twice. We sat at the bar both times. Our first visit we just grabbed a beer and a pretzel--the female bartender was friendly and prompt to greet us. The pretzel was stale and very dry, definitely didn't seem freshly baked. After our errands in Santa Rosa, we decided we couldn't make it back to Napa without a snack, so we returned a little after the 5pm hour. New bartender not very friendly and seemingly annoyed with us. We ordered beers and 2 items off of happy hour-- calamari and bacon-blue cheese sliders. Calamari was totally bland and over cooked. Asked for a side of tartar sauce; their version includes jalapeños and just wasn't very good. Sliders were ok, cooked a perfect medium, but had blue cheese only, no bacon. Just an off experience all around and I'm definitely not as likely to stop in the next time I'm in the neighborhood.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.