About Pub 5

104 5th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

We are an upscale American Bar focusing on Craft Beer and Craft Cocktails. We have a large selection of can craft beer and also a small selection of can domestic. We offer twelve rotating draft beers and also a very nice wine selection. Please note that we do not split checks for parties larger than 6 and do not accept reservations for the rooftop patio. All reservations through Open Table will be made for indoor seating only.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
11am - 12am Sundays - Thursdays
11am - 1am Fridays & Saturdays

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 780-4005

Website:
http://www.pub5.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pub 5 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Casual (14)
See All
Cozy (11)
Great Beer (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Quick Bite (9)
Fun (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Historic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Romantic (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Authentic (3)
Live Sports (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Organic (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our table was ready as soon as we arrive ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Our table was ready as soon as we arrived. The menu had a variety of foods and price range. We got the seafood pasta which was stock full of seafood and very flavorful. We could have easily split the dish. The beef tenderloin sandwich was a little lacking but sweet potato fries were good. Overall a fun atmosphere and literally across the street from the Bridgestone.

Tags: Vegan, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great little restaurant with affordable ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Great little restaurant with affordable options and character galore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always good food but the wait staff isn' ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Always good food but the wait staff isn't very friendly. Second time we've had bad service. Will probably be our last time we visit. Too many other great restaurants that have great service AND great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Party of four with no complaints on the ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Party of four with no complaints on the food or service. I personally had the shrimp po' boy that had incredible flavor. Can get a bit noisy due to seating being so close to other partys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best tacos I've ever had. Ever. Great fa ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Best tacos I've ever had. Ever. Great fast service. Cool vibe. Will go back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, really good service. Only re ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food, really good service. Only reason we gave it a 4 star instead of 5 is that tables are so small & so close together that it is awkward. Tables for 4 should be for 2.

Recommend & will return.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The mussels were amazing as was the seaf ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The mussels were amazing as was the seafood pasta. Will be back for both. Service was fine. We were worried about the service from what we read in previous reviews but they seemed to have cleared up any issues.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Terrible service with only two parties i ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrible service with only two parties in the restaurant. Never asked if we wanted anything to drink other than water. Asked for napkins after a water spill and received a dish towel from the kitchen. Very slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Went on New Year's Eve for a quick bite ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Went on New Year's Eve for a quick bite before heading out for festivities. The atmosphere is nice and rustic, food was awesome and service was even better. Will def come again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time here and loved it! The appeti ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 30, 2016

First time here and loved it! The appetizers were delicious, drinks were strong, and my lamb burger was fantastic! Next trip will o Nashville , I will definitely go back here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Incredibly poor service- waiter did not ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Incredibly poor service- waiter did not write our order down and messed up some of the orders. Creme brûlée tasted like scrambled eggs- went there a year ago and had a great time- gone down hill for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Great food & ambiance. Reservations allo ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food & ambiance. Reservations allowed & close to Ryman

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Accommodated my friend's food allergies. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Accommodated my friend's food allergies. Good burger and sweet potato fries. Scallops were tasty as well. Mixed drinks were good, full dose and not small. If they used fresh potatoes I would like to try the poutine. Reasonably priced for the area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food, Private Room, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We thought the Mediterranean Salad and t ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We thought the Mediterranean Salad and the Shrimp Tacos were delicious and an excellent value. Service and drink selection was good, but it did take a bit to get a check brought to the table. The fish and chips aren't good at any price... $17 for slightly upgraded Mrs. Paul's Fishsticks is unacceptable. Overall, it's worth a try... for the location alone!

Tags: Quick Bite, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent choice before seeing the show ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent choice before seeing the show at Ryman. Make sure and have reservations or you can ill not get a seat. Food was awesome. Love the homemade gnocchi . Drinks over priced for getting a glass full of ice with the mixed drink

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Family Style, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I will not be returning to Pub 5 nor wil ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I will not be returning to Pub 5 nor will I being recommending this place to friends. The food and service was highly disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

Waiter was rude and didn't speak more th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Waiter was rude and didn't speak more than 5 words for the hour or so we were there. Food was good but dude that served us was mute, awkward and had a bit of an attitude while serving us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Restaurant was much smaller than what lo ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Restaurant was much smaller than what looked like in the pix we found online (didn't have any pix on their site). Exposed brick atmosphere, which was very pretty. But, was thrown off when our table for 4 was at a table that in most restaurants would be only large enough for a table for 2. Food was decent, but unexpectedly spicy (i.e.mashed potatoes/green beans). Definitely a trendy, hipster restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Recommended by a native during our visit ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Recommended by a native during our visit to town. Great local beer on tap with a good variety. Really great food with a lot of lite to heavy options, everything from amazing salads to a nice burger. We had tacos, which were excellent. Local beer on tap -- and a variety from light to heavy -- was a real plus. Reasonably priced, and a great value. This is a small, very intimate place. Seating only feels crowded but you have lots of room. Given the size of the place, it was very easy to hear and carry on a conversation. A very nice date place, well located to downtown attractions (we went there before a show at the Ryman.)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there twice recently because it is ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Been there twice recently because it is near work and in a great location for lunch. However, both time my food was not as tasty as I would expect and I had to wait for my beverage (sweet tea) to be refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

My wife and I where in Nashville celebra ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My wife and I where in Nashville celebrating our 35th anniversary and my wife's birthday. We where going to the Ryman that night so stopped in for dinner before. Great choice. The waitress was attentive without being intrusive. She made several suggestions which we took and they turned out to be wonderful. We shared the mussels done in garlic and white wine. Delicious. For dinner my wife had the crispy shrimp tacos. Wow. I had the seafood pasta with salmon, scallops, shrimp and mussels in a cream sauce. Double wow! I also has a draft beer, sorry two, that I can't remember the name of but it was something Peanut butter which tasted similar to a Guinness. Great food, great service, great atmosphere. We'll be back next time we're in Nashville.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Historic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was average and waitress acted anno ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

food was average and waitress acted annoyed to be waiting on us. I understand a gratuity should be added to parties of 6 or more but our waitress was not worth 20%

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our server started an excellent evening. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our server started an excellent evening. Stephanie was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent across the board. Nice ambiance and not so loud that you have a hard time talking. Strong recommendation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was delicious! I will certainly retu ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It was delicious! I will certainly return - and the convenience to Bridgestone - OUTSTANDING!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and excellent flavored sal ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service and excellent flavored salads. Plus...my cosmo was made with a secret ingredient...love. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place - the restaurant has great c ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place - the restaurant has great charm - a beautiful building, great menu and great food. Loved it and highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Mediocre at best. Staff not friendly nor ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Mediocre at best. Staff not friendly nor attentive. Worst margarita I've ever had in my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great service, a lot of gluten free opti ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great service, a lot of gluten free options. It gets crowded before events at bridgestone so make reservations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was Ok, drinks were flat, sent it ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was Ok, drinks were flat, sent it back twice. Server didn't seem interested in being there at all. What I did love was the rooftop dining! Great atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

I would not list this as a restaurant, i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I would not list this as a restaurant, it is a low class bar. We left after being seated and found a great place around the corner. We did come back to watch a sports game that evening, because we were in the area and the game was just ending.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had the carnutas tacos and fries chic ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had the carnutas tacos and fries chicken on the rooftop. Very very good dinner and view of 5th/Broadway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Warm Goat Cheese appetizer was delig ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Warm Goat Cheese appetizer was delightful! The fried chicken with green beans and mashed potatoes was delish!Didn't like the table we were at...3rd floor, right by the bar, stairs, bathroom and only entrance to the dining area. I would eliminate that table. Otherwise, all was well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was mediocre. Steak was undercoo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was mediocre. Steak was undercooked and sent back and still undercooked. Somewhat expensive for the quality. Rooftop was very nice and quiet. Very relaxing

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The only problem with this place is the ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The only problem with this place is the smell in the interior dining areas. Smells like sewage. Have had to request rooftop dining on each of my last 3 visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We opted to forgo our dining room reserv ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We opted to forgo our dining room reservations for the rooftop. It was fun, friendly, casual but the same great food.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting Nashville with the family and m ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Visiting Nashville with the family and met up with additional family and friends. We were seated up on the rooftop and it was great. Server was a little overwhelmed, but it wasn't her fault since she was the only one! We all enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved eating at the bar. Ended up eatin ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Loved eating at the bar. Ended up eating there because the hostes never came and got us.

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best rooftop in the city.

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Best rooftop in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were told we could sit up on roof or ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were told we could sit up on roof or downstairs because our reservation was early. We were told roof top was great. It was small and it did not extend to edge so you could see the sky line but not the street. My fish and chips were very tasty. Lots of fries and the tartar sauce had a kick from jalapeños. Husband had fried chicken. He said it was good but not great. For what we paid he felt it should have been better.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Pub 5 was adequate to mediocre. We arri ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Pub 5 was adequate to mediocre. We arrived for our reservation early and were seated right away. Clearly there were some issues with the kitchen because we ordered our meal and specified to bring the appetizers first followed by salads and then the mains. The appetizers and salads all came at once creating the awkward rearranging of a too crowded table. The waitress apologized and said she told the kitchen to stagger but that didn't happen. The corn fritters were basically fried cornbread balls and quite delicious. Hummus plate was basic. Our mains came before all our salads were done and they weren't hot. One dish had to be sent back because it was wasn't even warm to touch. The waitress was very kind and apologetic and did remove the dish from the bill. The plate that was returned to the kitchen came back with the sweet potato fries over done since they were thrown back into the fryer to heat up instead of a new batch made and the burger was still very rare. The food that had no problems was quite good-the fried chicken was done perfectly and the green beans were cooked perfectly. The kale and arugula salads were simple but good. It might have been a bad night and our one waitress was polite but most of the staff seemed slightly apathetic. There are a lot of good restaurants in Nashville I would try before returning to Pub 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.