About Pub 5

104 5th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

We are an upscale American Bar focusing on Craft Beer and Craft Cocktails. We have a large selection of can craft beer and also a small selection of can domestic. We offer eight rotating draft beers and also a very nice wine selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
11am - 12pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 780-4005

Website:
http://www.pub5.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Miller

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pub 5 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (22)
good for groups (20)
neighborhood gem (18)
See All
hot spot (16)
great for outdoor dining (15)
scenic view (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
special occasion (9)
great for lunch (7)
notable wine list (3)
romantic (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
172 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

I have had many friends work here over t ...

Dined 7 days ago

I have had many friends work here over the past couple years and continuously recommend Pub 5 to me, but I was very disappointed when I went in for dinner and drinks before a show at the Bridgestone last week with a friend. I will probably give it another try, just because I know people who worked there that rave about it.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Service and food were very disappointing ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Service and food were very disappointing. Staff seemed uninterested and standoffish. Food was sub par. My fiance ordered a filet medium, it came out well done. The second attempt was only a small improvement. My salad was so-so. The rooftop was a nice setting, but did not make up for the other deficiencies. I will not be back.

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

I booked this restaurant because it was ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I booked this restaurant because it was close to all of our activities in Nashville and we liked the menu and the fact that it had rooftop dining. Plus, it could accommodate our group of 11. The food was okay and the service was okay. I had put in the notes when I booked that we were celebrating a 21st birthday and we would like to be on the rooftop. I mentioned this to the hostess when we arrived and she said the rooftop wasn't available. I booked 3 weeks in advance specifically asking for the rooftop. I mentioned to the server we were celebrating a 21st birthday. It was never acknowledged. He brought us the bill and I asked if they had a dessert or did anything special for the birthday girl and he said no. What restaurant doesn't have something for a birthday? I was disappointed by the lack of customer service in this area. Considering all of the other restaurant options in Nashville, I wouldn't recommend this place. Everything was very average and all of the other places we went after this were fun and vibrant, going above and beyond when we mentioned it was her 21st birthday.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great loved eating on the r ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was great loved eating on the rooftop something you cant do in southren illinois the music from next door was nice the sign was a little hard to see when trying to find it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place to eat before a show a ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

My favorite place to eat before a show at the Ryman. Always great food with reasonable prices, and being able to make reservations helps to make sure that we are on time for our concert.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great atmosphere. Can't wait ...

vip
Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A group of 9 of us went to Pub5 for a ba ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

A group of 9 of us went to Pub5 for a bachelorette dinner. The restaurant itself is charming and easy to find - right in front of the Bridgestone Arena. The hostess was kind and accommodating and the space on the 2nd level was perfect for our larger group. Our waitress Jessica was FANTASTIC - she was helpful with food choices, delightfully funny, and even gave us suggestions for night life on Broadway. Dinner was delicious and the crispy shrimp tacos were a big hit with everyone at the table. Following dinner, we went up to the roof deck. The roof deck is quaint and has a nice view of the city. The staff at the roof deck was a little underwhelming compared to the service we had in the restaurant. Overall, a great experience and would recommend to a group looking for an easy, laid-back spot with yummy eats.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Great for a Large Party

Dined on June 5, 2016

The entire ambiance/decor of the restaurant was breathtaking and different. We had a great time celebrating with a large group and our service was quick.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4

Salmon was tasty and seasoned well, thou ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Salmon was tasty and seasoned well, though the kale salad was a little dry. However, I did choose to get my dressing on the side, so that was on me-the dressing was tasty and the salad would have been better if I'd gotten it not on the side.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had never been to Pub 5 previously but ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

I had never been to Pub 5 previously but I was pleasant surprised. The food was great. The ambiance was fun. We also had pretty solid service and the staff seemed happy to work there.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3

The food and service were fine. The amb ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and service were fine. The ambiance not he best.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, private room great for ou ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great service, private room great for our group of 11, food was delicious

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great roof top bar away from the hustle ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great roof top bar away from the hustle and bustle of Broadway. Only eight tables. Fabulous mussels!! Great salmon tacos!! Oldest building in Nashville.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Party of 12. Had a private room. Andy wa ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Party of 12. Had a private room. Andy was our server and he was great. Everyone raved about the food. All staff were friendly and accommodating. Menu offered something for everyone. Will definitely go back next time we are in Nashville

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience4
service2

We called in the afternoon to push back ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We called in the afternoon to push back our reservation, and were told it wasn't a problem....and when we got thete, they had no reservation. It took 10 minutes for the waitress to first come over. Service continued to be slow. When we asked for ketchup and mustard, it took another 10 minutes....and then we actually got ketchup and ranch dressing in a mustard bottle (it was even labelled Ranch). The food wasn't anything special, and the rooftop patio was too small to have "ambiance." This would be a good place to have drinks, but I wouldn't go back if I was hungry.

food5
ambience5
service5

My favorite place to go before a Ryman e ...

Dined on May 4, 2016

My favorite place to go before a Ryman event. Broad, unique, healthy menu choices to please a crowd. Fun and convenient.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Lower Broadway Dinner Spot

Dined on April 30, 2016

Went here after the marathon with a large group to celebrate a birthday. We were seated in the bar area which unfortunately was overly noisy. The food and service was good. Four of the group had fried chicken and thought it was the best they ever had. It was a nice, alternative to the Honky Tonks on lower Broadway.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place. The rooftop is wonderful wh ...

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Great place. The rooftop is wonderful when the weather is nice.

food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed this restaurant! They ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant! They were quick to seat us, the staff was super friendly, and the food was very good! I loved the goat cheese dip!! Prices were reasonable for a place so close to Broadway and portions were just right! We had 10 in our party and everyone was very happy!

food1
ambience1
service2

Drinks mediocre, food was horrible. We h ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Drinks mediocre, food was horrible. We had lamb tacos and beef tacos, very bland, uninspiring

food5
ambience3
service2

The food is always good but there's neve ...

vip
Dined on April 18, 2016

The food is always good but there's never anyone to greet us when we arrive so we wait. After five minutes just standing on our last visit a server finally greeted us and tried to get us checked in when the hostess finally walked up. Once seated the service that is usually good was slower than usual. Let's just blame it on a busy day. The rooftop is great though.

food5
ambience5
service5

As always! The staff at Pub 5 is amazing ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

As always! The staff at Pub 5 is amazing! They all seem to be very happy employees... They work together and make you truly feel at home! And the food never disappoints!

food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Just okay

Dined on April 15, 2016

Interesting decor. Menu okay. Food okay. Overall disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Good food, good location

Dined on April 10, 2016

We were looking for a place to have dinner before a Ryman Auditorium concert, and found Pub 5 on TripAdvisor. We were very pleased with the food and service. Good craft beer list, and the salmon BLT was a big hit!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great $ for Location

Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food and service. Great value for location. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed the Beef sandwich with the horse ...

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Enjoyed the Beef sandwich with the horseradish sauce and avocado. Can't pronounce it, but it was delish!

food3
ambience3
service3

Lamb burger is excellent. Good for group ...

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Lamb burger is excellent. Good for groups. Not good for people watching.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Native Nashvillian

Dined on March 16, 2016

Ryan is a great server. There were six of us and he took good care of us. Everyone enjoyed their food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

We had a reservation for 530 for 8 peopl ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

We had a reservation for 530 for 8 people. We received a call before and confirmed it. We arrived on time. We were not acknowledged by what a appeared to be the manager at the front desk we was not busy with anyone else. A hostess did appear and tell us that out table was not yet ready. A few minutes later we were told the table was ready and we were taken upstairs and seated. The room was empty and we were there for an early dinner, so I'm not sure why the table would not have been ready for our reservation time. It was just frustrating to have all of us waiting at the front door entrance when we were on time. Other than that the food was great. We had the goat cheese as the reviews suggested and it was delicious. 3 of us ordered the filet and that was wonderful as well. Our server did a good job getting us drinks and everything else we needed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the food and ambiance

Dined on March 11, 2016

My family and I (both children are older than 30) made reservations and ate during the SEC Basketball Tournament last week at 4:30 in the afternoon. The wait staff were friendly and efficient; the food was excellent; and, the price was reasonable. We had a great experience. It was moderately loud but certainly no louder than any other place on Broadway that has a bar in it. I would highly recommend this.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great for a big group

Dined on March 6, 2016

We had a great time. Some of the wait staff were unpleasant, but not all of them. Our party had water fall on them from the floor above because the table on the second floor split their water (seems like an easy fix), but they comped all of our appetizers, so that was nice. Great drinks, great food, and great overall environment.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Its All in the Details

vip
Dined on March 2, 2016

Cocktails are fun and delicious. One option is to sit at the first floor bar and have food there which is a great way to spend some time if you don't have a reservation. Goat Cheese appetizer is a must. Dinning spaces are small and cozy with lots of character. Every food selection we made was delicious combined with the location, price and atmosphere this is one of my new favorite spots in Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

IL Volo at the Ryman

Dined on March 1, 2016

Pub 5 has an eclectic menu with savory choices. The warm goat cheese with tomato bacon jam topping serve with warm bread was outstanding. Our server provided prompt, informative and energetic service the entire evening. It will be a place that we will visit again.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good for eating before a Bridgestone Arena event

Dined on February 29, 2016

Poutine with lamb was very good. I've had other dishes here as well and been pleased. While not blown away by the service (tends on the slower side, but some waiters seem more attentive - just had a bad draw each time I suppose), it's a great place to get food right before going into Bridgestone Arena for an event. I've done this twice and it's not too busy to get a table and a quick bite. The rooftop dining has a great view for people watching.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Good Service

Dined on February 28, 2016

The restaurant had a very cool vibe and the service was great! The menu was unique and had lots of choices. The food however was average. Would recommend for ambiance and service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Pre-Preds Dinner

Dined on February 20, 2016

A group of 9 of us wanted to have diner before the Nashville Preds game and thought Pub 5 would be the perfect place. It was. We had a private room upstairs so we were able to hear each other easily. The eclectic menu offered something for everyone (including gluten free) at all price points. The service was great and of course the location was perfect, it being directly across the street from the Bridgestone Arena. A must try when in downtown Nashville.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Destination for Coworkers

Dined on February 4, 2016

Overall good experience with Pub 5. Service for 15 coworkers was provided. Although we had reservations and requested 3 tables upstairs, we had separate tables downstairs which limited conversation, but the staff provided good service and all were happy.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Find

Dined on January 30, 2016

Great atmosphere, food was excellent. We had the goat cheese appetizer & seafood pasta. Would highly recommend both.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Business Dinner

Dined on January 21, 2016

We were having trouble finding affordable restaurants in the area that could accommodate our needs/party in a pinch. We were so lucky to find this hidden gem. We quickly reserved a private room at no charge and were able to work with the reservation specialist and servers to get exactly what we needed. This was such a relaxed and beautiful dinner; pain-free! The servers were attentive and very nice. Food was great! All bottles of wine were $10 off! We have a picky group of people, but all I heard were rants and raves! Pub5 was definitely a win :)

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Comfy pub with Music city charm

Dined on January 19, 2016

Loved the atmosphere and the whipped goat cheese with bacon. The best! Good service and great table upstairs overlooking arena. Great place for a snack or meal before a Preds game:) Will go back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.