About Pub 5

104 5th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

We are an upscale American Bar focusing on Craft Beer and Craft Cocktails. We have a large selection of can craft beer and also a small selection of can domestic. We offer twelve rotating draft beers and also a very nice wine selection. Please note that we do not split checks for parties larger than 6 and do not accept reservations for the rooftop patio. All reservations through Open Table will be made for indoor seating only.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
11am - 12am

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 780-4005

Website:
http://www.pub5.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Pub 5, Nashville, TN
Pub 5, Nashville, TN

Pub 5 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (16)
Casual (16)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
See All
Good for Groups (11)
Great Beer (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (7)
Authentic (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quick Bite (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Historic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Scenic View (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Romantic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Live Sports (2)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
231 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Restaurant was much smaller than what lo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Restaurant was much smaller than what looked like in the pix we found online (didn't have any pix on their site). Exposed brick atmosphere, which was very pretty. But, was thrown off when our table for 4 was at a table that in most restaurants would be only large enough for a table for 2. Food was decent, but unexpectedly spicy (i.e.mashed potatoes/green beans). Definitely a trendy, hipster restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Recommended by a native during our visit ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 6 days ago

Recommended by a native during our visit to town. Great local beer on tap with a good variety. Really great food with a lot of lite to heavy options, everything from amazing salads to a nice burger. We had tacos, which were excellent. Local beer on tap -- and a variety from light to heavy -- was a real plus. Reasonably priced, and a great value. This is a small, very intimate place. Seating only feels crowded but you have lots of room. Given the size of the place, it was very easy to hear and carry on a conversation. A very nice date place, well located to downtown attractions (we went there before a show at the Ryman.)

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Historic, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there twice recently because it is ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Been there twice recently because it is near work and in a great location for lunch. However, both time my food was not as tasty as I would expect and I had to wait for my beverage (sweet tea) to be refilled.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

My wife and I where in Nashville celebra ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

My wife and I where in Nashville celebrating our 35th anniversary and my wife's birthday. We where going to the Ryman that night so stopped in for dinner before. Great choice. The waitress was attentive without being intrusive. She made several suggestions which we took and they turned out to be wonderful. We shared the mussels done in garlic and white wine. Delicious. For dinner my wife had the crispy shrimp tacos. Wow. I had the seafood pasta with salmon, scallops, shrimp and mussels in a cream sauce. Double wow! I also has a draft beer, sorry two, that I can't remember the name of but it was something Peanut butter which tasted similar to a Guinness. Great food, great service, great atmosphere. We'll be back next time we're in Nashville.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Historic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

food was average and waitress acted anno ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 26, 2016

food was average and waitress acted annoyed to be waiting on us. I understand a gratuity should be added to parties of 6 or more but our waitress was not worth 20%

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Our server started an excellent evening. ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our server started an excellent evening. Stephanie was knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. The food was excellent across the board. Nice ambiance and not so loud that you have a hard time talking. Strong recommendation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was delicious! I will certainly retu ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 18, 2016

It was delicious! I will certainly return - and the convenience to Bridgestone - OUTSTANDING!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and excellent flavored sal ...

 
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great service and excellent flavored salads. Plus...my cosmo was made with a secret ingredient...love. :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place - the restaurant has great c ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great place - the restaurant has great charm - a beautiful building, great menu and great food. Loved it and highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Mediocre at best. Staff not friendly nor ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Mediocre at best. Staff not friendly nor attentive. Worst margarita I've ever had in my life.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Great service, a lot of gluten free opti ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great service, a lot of gluten free options. It gets crowded before events at bridgestone so make reservations.

Tags: Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was Ok, drinks were flat, sent it ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was Ok, drinks were flat, sent it back twice. Server didn't seem interested in being there at all. What I did love was the rooftop dining! Great atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

I would not list this as a restaurant, i ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I would not list this as a restaurant, it is a low class bar. We left after being seated and found a great place around the corner. We did come back to watch a sports game that evening, because we were in the area and the game was just ending.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

We had the carnutas tacos and fries chic ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had the carnutas tacos and fries chicken on the rooftop. Very very good dinner and view of 5th/Broadway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The Warm Goat Cheese appetizer was delig ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The Warm Goat Cheese appetizer was delightful! The fried chicken with green beans and mashed potatoes was delish!Didn't like the table we were at...3rd floor, right by the bar, stairs, bathroom and only entrance to the dining area. I would eliminate that table. Otherwise, all was well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was mediocre. Steak was undercoo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Service was mediocre. Steak was undercooked and sent back and still undercooked. Somewhat expensive for the quality. Rooftop was very nice and quiet. Very relaxing

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The only problem with this place is the ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The only problem with this place is the smell in the interior dining areas. Smells like sewage. Have had to request rooftop dining on each of my last 3 visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We opted to forgo our dining room reserv ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We opted to forgo our dining room reservations for the rooftop. It was fun, friendly, casual but the same great food.

Tags: Scenic View, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Visiting Nashville with the family and m ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Visiting Nashville with the family and met up with additional family and friends. We were seated up on the rooftop and it was great. Server was a little overwhelmed, but it wasn't her fault since she was the only one! We all enjoyed it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved eating at the bar. Ended up eatin ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Loved eating at the bar. Ended up eating there because the hostes never came and got us.

Tags: Great Beer, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best rooftop in the city.

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Best rooftop in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were told we could sit up on roof or ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 17, 2016

We were told we could sit up on roof or downstairs because our reservation was early. We were told roof top was great. It was small and it did not extend to edge so you could see the sky line but not the street. My fish and chips were very tasty. Lots of fries and the tartar sauce had a kick from jalapeños. Husband had fried chicken. He said it was good but not great. For what we paid he felt it should have been better.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Pub 5 was adequate to mediocre. We arri ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Pub 5 was adequate to mediocre. We arrived for our reservation early and were seated right away. Clearly there were some issues with the kitchen because we ordered our meal and specified to bring the appetizers first followed by salads and then the mains. The appetizers and salads all came at once creating the awkward rearranging of a too crowded table. The waitress apologized and said she told the kitchen to stagger but that didn't happen. The corn fritters were basically fried cornbread balls and quite delicious. Hummus plate was basic. Our mains came before all our salads were done and they weren't hot. One dish had to be sent back because it was wasn't even warm to touch. The waitress was very kind and apologetic and did remove the dish from the bill. The plate that was returned to the kitchen came back with the sweet potato fries over done since they were thrown back into the fryer to heat up instead of a new batch made and the burger was still very rare. The food that had no problems was quite good-the fried chicken was done perfectly and the green beans were cooked perfectly. The kale and arugula salads were simple but good. It might have been a bad night and our one waitress was polite but most of the staff seemed slightly apathetic. There are a lot of good restaurants in Nashville I would try before returning to Pub 5.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Service and seating were great, despite ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Service and seating were great, despite a ridiculously busy time. Second time there and will do it again. If you are looking for a Bud Light, and the latest Luke Bryan song, go somewhere else. Please.

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We love Pub 5 for easy in and out. The f ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We love Pub 5 for easy in and out. The food and people are always great! We love coming here every chance we get!

Tags: Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Highly recommend the shrimp tacos. So ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Highly recommend the shrimp tacos. So good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place,very good food,it was ju ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Love this place,very good food,it was just very loud on this night

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful spot for a date. Excellent ser ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Wonderful spot for a date. Excellent service. Delicious food. Intimate setting. We had a lovely time.

Tags: Historic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, nice waitstaff, but ridiculo ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great food, nice waitstaff, but ridiculous policy of not splitting checks means I won't return. We had a lot of strangers dining together during a conference, suddenly digging for cash and change instead of our cards to split a check because the manager won't allow individual checks. Nope.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This wasn't my first time here, and, gen ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 2, 2016

This wasn't my first time here, and, generally, I have a nice experience, but this was a bad one. Terrible service. Server never put it on our starter and didn't check on us. Brought our food, put it in the table and quickly left. At one point I went looking for the server so I could get condiments for my burger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Staff was great. Quick service. Food w ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Staff was great. Quick service. Food was good. Always love it there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were hungry; passed by Pub 5; checked ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were hungry; passed by Pub 5; checked the reviews on Open Table and decided to try it. We were all pleasantly surprised. Food was excellent. Interesting salads--added chicken to a quinoa salad and also to a kale salad--both were tasty and filling. Nice selection of beers on tap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Greatspot with friendly staff. Try the P ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Greatspot with friendly staff. Try the Poutine YUM! We had the shrimp tacos, mussels, and fried chicken as well. It was all excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Cozy, Casual, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience! We love the food, dr ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Amazing experience! We love the food, drinks, and atmosphere and the staff is always so welcoming ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good meal at Pub 5, but for wha ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a good meal at Pub 5, but for what we paid, we thought we could have definitely had a better meal elsewhere. My husband's filet was a little overcooked and my seafood pasta but just okay.

The service was quick and very attentive. We went at 6pm so the restaurant was a bit empty. We did have a chance to go to the rooftop for a drink and dessert, which was nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great little hideout with a very good cr ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great little hideout with a very good craft beer selection as well as a solid drink menu. It is a cool place and the service is outstanding and the vibe is laid back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was SO great! We had Dean as ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything was SO great! We had Dean as our server! He's the best, extremely personable and REAL! Ask for him if you go!

Food was delicious! We got a mixture of all their tacos, highly recommend!

Atmosphere was fun, yet quaint!

All around GREAT experience! Definitely going back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in our latest visit to ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very disappointed in our latest visit to Pub 5. The first floor has smelled funny the last two times we've visited. We've been there several times, but the service was very unsatisfactory this time. The upstairs bartender was rude to my friend, telling her (not asking politely) she'd need to move so he could get to other tables. We weren't the ones who created the tight space by trying to overseat the second floor dining area. Drinks (gin and tonic) were very light on the tonic. We had to ask repeatedly for basic condiments. The one positive is the food -- it was excellent as usual. We'll probably return if going to a Bridgestone event, but will not highly recommend to others as we have in the past or make a special trip to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The music from the speakers was too loud ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 19, 2016

The music from the speakers was too loud so it was not easy to have a conversation even though there were just four of us (on the patio) at a small table. Service could have been better. Food was OK, but I would have preferred a better selection of more healthy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This was our first time here and we love ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was our first time here and we loved it! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.