About Pub 5

104 5th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

We are an upscale American Bar focusing on Craft Beer and Craft Cocktails. We have a large selection of can craft beer and also a small selection of can domestic. We offer twelve rotating draft beers and also a very nice wine selection. Please note that we do not split checks for parties larger than 6.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
11am - 12am

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 780-4005

Website:
http://www.pub5.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pub 5 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (20)
Special Occasion (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Hot Spot (13)
Scenic View (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Casual (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Romantic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Cozy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Great Beer (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Fun (1)
Private Room (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Modern Decor (0)
People Watching (0)
Sort By:
Newest
201 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Staff was great. Quick service. Food w ...

 
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Staff was great. Quick service. Food was good. Always love it there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We were hungry; passed by Pub 5; checked ...

vip
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We were hungry; passed by Pub 5; checked the reviews on Open Table and decided to try it. We were all pleasantly surprised. Food was excellent. Interesting salads--added chicken to a quinoa salad and also to a kale salad--both were tasty and filling. Nice selection of beers on tap.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Greatspot with friendly staff. Try the P ...

 
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Greatspot with friendly staff. Try the Poutine YUM! We had the shrimp tacos, mussels, and fried chicken as well. It was all excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Cozy, Casual, Great Beer, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience! We love the food, dr ...

 
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Amazing experience! We love the food, drinks, and atmosphere and the staff is always so welcoming ;)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good meal at Pub 5, but for wha ...

 
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We had a good meal at Pub 5, but for what we paid, we thought we could have definitely had a better meal elsewhere. My husband's filet was a little overcooked and my seafood pasta but just okay.

The service was quick and very attentive. We went at 6pm so the restaurant was a bit empty. We did have a chance to go to the rooftop for a drink and dessert, which was nice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great little hideout with a very good cr ...

 
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great little hideout with a very good craft beer selection as well as a solid drink menu. It is a cool place and the service is outstanding and the vibe is laid back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was SO great! We had Dean as ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything was SO great! We had Dean as our server! He's the best, extremely personable and REAL! Ask for him if you go!

Food was delicious! We got a mixture of all their tacos, highly recommend!

Atmosphere was fun, yet quaint!

All around GREAT experience! Definitely going back!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fun, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in our latest visit to ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Very disappointed in our latest visit to Pub 5. The first floor has smelled funny the last two times we've visited. We've been there several times, but the service was very unsatisfactory this time. The upstairs bartender was rude to my friend, telling her (not asking politely) she'd need to move so he could get to other tables. We weren't the ones who created the tight space by trying to overseat the second floor dining area. Drinks (gin and tonic) were very light on the tonic. We had to ask repeatedly for basic condiments. The one positive is the food -- it was excellent as usual. We'll probably return if going to a Bridgestone event, but will not highly recommend to others as we have in the past or make a special trip to eat there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

The music from the speakers was too loud ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The music from the speakers was too loud so it was not easy to have a conversation even though there were just four of us (on the patio) at a small table. Service could have been better. Food was OK, but I would have preferred a better selection of more healthy food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This was our first time here and we love ...

vip
·Dined on August 16, 2016

This was our first time here and we loved it! We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Ordered a filet mignon, I am not sure wh ...

 
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Ordered a filet mignon, I am not sure what exactly was served but it was not filet. Server was not quite rude but was not pleasant at all. Seemed to have a good selection of beers but would not recommend for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

If you only have one night in Nashville, ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

If you only have one night in Nashville, this wouldn't be your first choice. Everything was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Pub5 provided lovely scenery on the roof ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Pub5 provided lovely scenery on the rooftop for our first anniversary dinner. Good cocktails and quality food, though it can get pricy pretty quickly if you're not careful. It's a great place to splurge. You can dress it up or down for this restaurant. Overall, really liked the atmosphere, the elevated bar food, and the service.

Tags: Late-night Find, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

found this online as one of the top 10 r ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

found this online as one of the top 10 rooftop/patio dining in nashville. it ended up raining the night we had reservations (was there for a bachelorette party) so we sat inside. it looks like an old building reconstructed very cool atmosphere. there were fresh flowers everywhere, noticed the smell right when we walked in. staff was very friendly, food and drinks were amazing. good location and ambiance. would definitely recommend!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We placed our reservations trough the ap ...

 
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We placed our reservations trough the app at the last minute before heading downtown, for approximately 30 minutes after we made the reservation. We have several times to choose from and chose the soonest. When we got to the restaurant, the hostess walked us upstairs only to find our table had been given away (even though we arrived 10 minutes early). She told is there were no more open tables available but we could sit at the shared table at the bar. While the hostess was apologetic, she blamed the open table website on letting us reserve a table that was unavailable. I should have mentioned that there were 3 other openings at 15 minute Increments but decided to let it go. After that, our service throughout the night was mediocre at best compared to what we had expected. It felt as though we were an inconvenience at the bar. We were charged for extra sauce for a sandwich, which we didn't know until our check came. The food was good, but the service left much left to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great location and ambience with a nice ...

 
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Great location and ambience with a nice selection of craft brews and variety in menu items--Goat cheese spread and lamb were delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Just the best group of people taking car ...

 
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Just the best group of people taking care of us there! The food was awesome

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just off Broadway, great little pub with ...

 
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Just off Broadway, great little pub with good food and ambiance. Music not live but great Spotify feed with fun variety, not just country.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My party of 8 reservation turned into a ...

 
·Dined on July 29, 2016

My party of 8 reservation turned into a party of 10 and Pub 5 was super accommodating! I was so pleased with the service, atmosphere and the location was a treat as well! We had really great service, Dean took great care of us and was attentive to all of our needs, despite our large party. We also had a chance to check out the rooftop bar after dinner and we loved it! The food was amazing: the lamb burger was delicious. We shared orders of meatballs--definitely a favorite among all of us at the table. I will recommend Pub 5 to all of my friends traveling to Nashville in the future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Group of 5 that turned into a group of 7 ...

vip
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Group of 5 that turned into a group of 7. This could have thrown off many restaurants but the staff showed no sign of annoyance and were great! The food is a much needed middle option between the Broadway bar fare and higher end restaurants downtown. It's always been a good choice for us!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent, innovative pub food. Husband ...

vip
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent, innovative pub food. Husband had a Cobb salad that included a chicken salad on top of the other classic Cobb ingredients (tossed). Husband said it was the best Cobb he ever had. I had a lamb burger with feta and tzatziki and veg. Side of Etole (not on the cob) was excellent. Overall a really great array of unusual flavors. The interior is a really cool space but the industrial-style fixtures that have been popping up all over in new restaurants is starting to get old. As my daughter is fond of pointing out, 15 years from now when you walk into one of these places you'll be able to identify exactly when it was opened. But overall great staff, food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Celebrated my sons 21st Birthday there w ...

vip
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Celebrated my sons 21st Birthday there with a group from Chicago. The location was perfect. We had a group of 16, there was something for everybody! The ambiance was very nice and the food was very good, and our service was wonderful. I would highly reccomend it especially for a group.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The ambiance of the rooftop patio was aw ...

 
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The ambiance of the rooftop patio was awesome. Small little patio with a nice bar, I really liked the patio lights. The service was good and the food was good, I would recommend the hummus for an appetizer. Definitely a great rooftop for a late night dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time!

vip
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this cozy spot in the shadow of Br ...

 
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Found this cozy spot in the shadow of Bridgestone Arena a short walk from our hotel and could not have been happier with our visit. Two of us had the filet and it was excellent and the scalloped potatoes were heavenly! My other friend had the chicken salad wrap and the sweet potato fries and she loved all of it. The craft beer choices we had were very good. The list isn't very big, but what they have is varied and very good. The restaurant ambience was cozy and comfortable and great for conversation. The wait staff was great. Audrey and Shannon were both wonderful, friendly, and attentive. Highly recommend Pub5!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had dinner here with a friend who had ...

 
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had dinner here with a friend who had traveled to Nashville all the way from New Mexico to join us for a bluegrass concert event at the Ryman Auditorium. We thoroughly enjoyed the local brews and pub food, as well as the ability to have a lively conversation over our meal. Ambience is very nice. Service was excellent. Proximity to everything downtown is a real plus, as well. Highly recommend Pub5. Enjoy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch spot right off Broadway. Goo ...

 
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great lunch spot right off Broadway. Good beer selection too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, although some dishes seemed o ...

 
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good food, although some dishes seemed overpriced. Our server was OK. Not the best, but fine. Rooftop is lovely. Definitely worth going here if you have a group who wants to hang out in downtown Nashville. This is one of the better places to dine in the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

After multiple attempts of contacting th ...

vip
·Dined on June 29, 2016

After multiple attempts of contacting the restaurant to cancel my reservation (over a period of two days), I finally received an email stating that I would be charged $300 for cancelling past the date.

I told them the reason the party I booked for did not want to go there was because of poor service during previous visits. My request was met with additional bad customer service. Their excuse was that they could have reserved the table for another party. Had this been any other restaurant in Nashville, that would have been true. But, I guess the word is out about this place.

I ended up wrangling together a group of friends to save myself from pure robbery. As evidence of the fact that they simply were trying to make a few extra bucks out of desperation: they moved my reservation time twice and even offered to move the large group to the patio once we were seated.

It's a shame because this place has a pretty cool vibe, an outdoor rooftop patio, is well-priced for being on Broadway - it's about the only place that's not super expensive or a honky tonk with spam sandwiches. :) However, it's never packed when I go there, and I doubt it will be around much longer.

I have brought in several large parties and made countless other reservations there, and I do this on a regular basis as event planning is one of my responsibilities. They lost my business - and the business of everyone I was with - with this terrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

I have had many friends work here over t ...

 
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I have had many friends work here over the past couple years and continuously recommend Pub 5 to me, but I was very disappointed when I went in for dinner and drinks before a show at the Bridgestone last week with a friend. I will probably give it another try, just because I know people who worked there that rave about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Service and food were very disappointing ...

 
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Service and food were very disappointing. Staff seemed uninterested and standoffish. Food was sub par. My fiance ordered a filet medium, it came out well done. The second attempt was only a small improvement. My salad was so-so. The rooftop was a nice setting, but did not make up for the other deficiencies. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I booked this restaurant because it was ...

 
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I booked this restaurant because it was close to all of our activities in Nashville and we liked the menu and the fact that it had rooftop dining. Plus, it could accommodate our group of 11. The food was okay and the service was okay. I had put in the notes when I booked that we were celebrating a 21st birthday and we would like to be on the rooftop. I mentioned this to the hostess when we arrived and she said the rooftop wasn't available. I booked 3 weeks in advance specifically asking for the rooftop. I mentioned to the server we were celebrating a 21st birthday. It was never acknowledged. He brought us the bill and I asked if they had a dessert or did anything special for the birthday girl and he said no. What restaurant doesn't have something for a birthday? I was disappointed by the lack of customer service in this area. Considering all of the other restaurant options in Nashville, I wouldn't recommend this place. Everything was very average and all of the other places we went after this were fun and vibrant, going above and beyond when we mentioned it was her 21st birthday.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was great loved eating on the r ...

 
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was great loved eating on the rooftop something you cant do in southren illinois the music from next door was nice the sign was a little hard to see when trying to find it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite place to eat before a show a ...

 
·Dined on June 13, 2016

My favorite place to eat before a show at the Ryman. Always great food with reasonable prices, and being able to make reservations helps to make sure that we are on time for our concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great atmosphere. Can't wait ...

vip
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A group of 9 of us went to Pub5 for a ba ...

 
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A group of 9 of us went to Pub5 for a bachelorette dinner. The restaurant itself is charming and easy to find - right in front of the Bridgestone Arena. The hostess was kind and accommodating and the space on the 2nd level was perfect for our larger group. Our waitress Jessica was FANTASTIC - she was helpful with food choices, delightfully funny, and even gave us suggestions for night life on Broadway. Dinner was delicious and the crispy shrimp tacos were a big hit with everyone at the table. Following dinner, we went up to the roof deck. The roof deck is quaint and has a nice view of the city. The staff at the roof deck was a little underwhelming compared to the service we had in the restaurant. Overall, a great experience and would recommend to a group looking for an easy, laid-back spot with yummy eats.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for a Large Party

 
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The entire ambiance/decor of the restaurant was breathtaking and different. We had a great time celebrating with a large group and our service was quick.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Salmon was tasty and seasoned well, thou ...

 
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Salmon was tasty and seasoned well, though the kale salad was a little dry. However, I did choose to get my dressing on the side, so that was on me-the dressing was tasty and the salad would have been better if I'd gotten it not on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I had never been to Pub 5 previously but ...

 
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I had never been to Pub 5 previously but I was pleasant surprised. The food was great. The ambiance was fun. We also had pretty solid service and the staff seemed happy to work there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were fine. The amb ...

vip
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and service were fine. The ambiance not he best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.