Pub 5

4.2
270 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Good for Groups
  • Hot Spot

Similar Restaurants

About

We are an upscale American Bar focusing on Craft Beer and Craft Cocktails. We have a large selection of can craft beer and also a small selection of can domestic. We offer twelve rotating draft beers and also a very nice wine selection. Please note that we do not split checks for parties larger than 6 and do not accept reservations for the rooftop patio. All reservations through Open Table will be made for indoor seating only.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
11am - 12am Sundays - Thursdays
11am - 1am Fridays & Saturdays
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(615) 780-4005
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Broadway
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 270 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.2based on all time ratings
4.1
food
4.1
service
4.2
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
89% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined on March 26, 2017

Tiny spot close to Broadway. Nice selection of local beers. We had the mussel appetizer, which was great. Plenty for two, with our salads, it made a great meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2017

Great little spot for a date night. Never too over crowded, and always has fresh tasty food.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 23, 2017

Food came out in about an hour and was cold

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 19, 2017

Sadly they were out of Tempeh which was why we originally booked but the other options were also great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall, good food. Service was above average. I want to make a cheese cake to take to the chef to show the kitchen what a really good cheese cake should taste like.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2017

Great drinks, food and service. I highly recommend, just make a reservation. Seating is very limited which makes it very the setting very cozy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 4, 2017

We came in for a late dinner on Saturday night, it was a little busy but not crazy considering the predators game just got out. Hostess barely greeted us, looked miserable. Waitress was friendly but always looked visibly annoyed with the bar patrons when she would get to our table. Food was pretty good, goat cheese appetizer was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2017

Pub 5 is a gem in downtown Nashville! You can tell the food is prepared from FRESH ingredients and tastes wonderful. The menu has a nice variety of items and is reasonably priced. It is certainly convenient if you are going to an event at Bridgestone and the servers will do their best to get you out by concert time. It is usually packed in prime time, so I would make reservations to ensure you can get in.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2017

We LOVE going to Pub 5 before every Ryman show we attend, which is about twice per month. We also love taking visitors to dine there. We feel like, in the midst of the chaos of lower broadway, this is a hidden gem that tourists somehow don't bombard. They have 2 levels of dining room and a rooftop with several tables. They have a few local beers on their list and a decent wine and cocktail list.
We love their tacos (usually shrimp which they can prepare grilled - I have a gluten allergy), sweet potato fries, fish and chips, goat cheese dip appetizer, corn fritter appetizer and our guests have always loved their food. They also feel as if Pub 5 is a cute, cozy, modern hidden gem in the tourist trap area of downtown.. its fantastic! We are regulars.
Their 2nd level has a private room that can be used for birthdays or business meetings. If you want to do a rehearsal dinner, it may hold closer to 40 between the 2nd level dining room and private room. The ambience is fantastic, low lit, hardwood and brick. We love it.
It's the BEST for a quick dinner before a show.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 2, 2017

The young lady waiting on us was a pleasure. She recommended the shrimp tacos which were very good, then looked after my buddy and me. She even knew who Leon Russell was. Extremely convenient for pre show casual dinner and drinks.
Thanks to our upstairs waitress last Thursday eve and to to chef.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 24, 2017

Great place. Loved it and would go back for sure.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 19, 2017

The food was decent, but the service was sub-par. Each hostess/waitress we interacted with was unfriendly and impatient. If you want somewhere to dine near Broadway it is a good choice, but don't go there for culinary excellence or friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Food was excellent, but our meals were rushed. We did not get to enjoy our appetizer before the entrees arrived.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Pub 5 has a great location close to the downtown action. The wait staff were extremely helpful, knowledgeable, and courteous. The food was great and the variety led to lots of sharing between plates.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 16, 2017

Good date spot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2017

I found this restaurant in an on line search. I had personal information or referrals. It was for a special occasion for my wife and myself. We found the food to be very good, tasty, fresh, and not in small portions. Not much of a view from the window behind me but still a nice and somewhat rustic yet historical feel. We were well pleased.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines Dinner before concert across the street at the Arena. Thoroughly enjoyed the atmosphere. Food and Drinks were good too!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 1, 2017

Food and environment were excellent but service was really slow

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 29, 2017

The ambiance was excellent! The food was decent to good, slightly over priced...most likely to match the stylishness of the restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2017

Good food. Interior small but convenient to bridgestone arena

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 25, 2017

Very few people there that night, which was perfect for my evening. Have been there when it's so crowded you can barely walk thru, but still a cool place even then. When it's not packed, it's a nice place to hang and have quiet conversation. Great place for a very casual date preshow to the Ryman. The salmon tacos were excellent that night, best I've had at Pub 5...maybe because it wasn't slammed. Good cold beer on tap and bottle. Bartender could have been more attentive hence the 3 rating for her. Maybe she had a tough day because she never smiled. All in all, it was the perfect place for a Wednesday night to chill before a concert.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 21, 2017

Our table was ready as soon as we arrived. The menu had a variety of foods and price range. We got the seafood pasta which was stock full of seafood and very flavorful. We could have easily split the dish. The beef tenderloin sandwich was a little lacking but sweet potato fries were good. Overall a fun atmosphere and literally across the street from the Bridgestone.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2017

Great little restaurant with affordable options and character galore.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 13, 2017

Always good food but the wait staff isn't very friendly. Second time we've had bad service. Will probably be our last time we visit. Too many other great restaurants that have great service AND great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 10, 2017

Party of four with no complaints on the food or service. I personally had the shrimp po' boy that had incredible flavor. Can get a bit noisy due to seating being so close to other partys.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2017

Best tacos I've ever had. Ever. Great fast service. Cool vibe. Will go back!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 7, 2017

Great food, really good service. Only reason we gave it a 4 star instead of 5 is that tables are so small & so close together that it is awkward. Tables for 4 should be for 2.
Recommend & will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 1, 2017

The mussels were amazing as was the seafood pasta. Will be back for both. Service was fine. We were worried about the service from what we read in previous reviews but they seemed to have cleared up any issues.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 1, 2017

Terrible service with only two parties in the restaurant. Never asked if we wanted anything to drink other than water. Asked for napkins after a water spill and received a dish towel from the kitchen. Very slow.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Went on New Year's Eve for a quick bite before heading out for festivities. The atmosphere is nice and rustic, food was awesome and service was even better. Will def come again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 29, 2016

First time here and loved it! The appetizers were delicious, drinks were strong, and my lamb burger was fantastic! Next trip will o Nashville , I will definitely go back here!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 29, 2016

Incredibly poor service- waiter did not write our order down and messed up some of the orders. Creme brûlée tasted like scrambled eggs- went there a year ago and had a great time- gone down hill for sure.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2016

Great food & ambiance. Reservations allowed & close to Ryman

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2016

Accommodated my friend's food allergies. Good burger and sweet potato fries. Scallops were tasty as well. Mixed drinks were good, full dose and not small. If they used fresh potatoes I would like to try the poutine. Reasonably priced for the area.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 18, 2016

We thought the Mediterranean Salad and the Shrimp Tacos were delicious and an excellent value. Service and drink selection was good, but it did take a bit to get a check brought to the table. The fish and chips aren't good at any price... $17 for slightly upgraded Mrs. Paul's Fishsticks is unacceptable. Overall, it's worth a try... for the location alone!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent choice before seeing the show at Ryman. Make sure and have reservations or you can ill not get a seat. Food was awesome. Love the homemade gnocchi . Drinks over priced for getting a glass full of ice with the mixed drink

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 16, 2016

I will not be returning to Pub 5 nor will I being recommending this place to friends. The food and service was highly disappointing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 10, 2016

Waiter was rude and didn't speak more than 5 words for the hour or so we were there. Food was good but dude that served us was mute, awkward and had a bit of an attitude while serving us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 4, 2016

Restaurant was much smaller than what looked like in the pix we found online (didn't have any pix on their site). Exposed brick atmosphere, which was very pretty. But, was thrown off when our table for 4 was at a table that in most restaurants would be only large enough for a table for 2. Food was decent, but unexpectedly spicy (i.e.mashed potatoes/green beans). Definitely a trendy, hipster restaurant.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 4, 2016

Recommended by a native during our visit to town. Great local beer on tap with a good variety. Really great food with a lot of lite to heavy options, everything from amazing salads to a nice burger. We had tacos, which were excellent. Local beer on tap -- and a variety from light to heavy -- was a real plus. Reasonably priced, and a great value. This is a small, very intimate place. Seating only feels crowded but you have lots of room. Given the size of the place, it was very easy to hear and carry on a conversation. A very nice date place, well located to downtown attractions (we went there before a show at the Ryman.)

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7