About Pub 5

104 5th Ave South
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

We are an upscale American Bar focusing on Craft Beer and Craft Cocktails. We have a large selection of can craft beer and also a small selection of can domestic. We offer eight rotating draft beers and also a very nice wine selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
11am - 12pm

Cross Street:
Broadway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 780-4005

Website:
http://www.pub5.com/

Executive Chef:
Nathan Miller

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Pub 5 Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (14)
neighborhood gem (13)
good for groups (12)
See All
great for outdoor dining (12)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (8)
scenic view (8)
great for lunch (6)
special occasion (6)
late-night find (2)
romantic (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
178 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great time!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this cozy spot in the shadow of Br ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Found this cozy spot in the shadow of Bridgestone Arena a short walk from our hotel and could not have been happier with our visit. Two of us had the filet and it was excellent and the scalloped potatoes were heavenly! My other friend had the chicken salad wrap and the sweet potato fries and she loved all of it. The craft beer choices we had were very good. The list isn't very big, but what they have is varied and very good. The restaurant ambience was cozy and comfortable and great for conversation. The wait staff was great. Audrey and Shannon were both wonderful, friendly, and attentive. Highly recommend Pub5!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had dinner here with a friend who had ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had dinner here with a friend who had traveled to Nashville all the way from New Mexico to join us for a bluegrass concert event at the Ryman Auditorium. We thoroughly enjoyed the local brews and pub food, as well as the ability to have a lively conversation over our meal. Ambience is very nice. Service was excellent. Proximity to everything downtown is a real plus, as well. Highly recommend Pub5. Enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great lunch spot right off Broadway. Goo ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great lunch spot right off Broadway. Good beer selection too.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, although some dishes seemed o ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good food, although some dishes seemed overpriced. Our server was OK. Not the best, but fine. Rooftop is lovely. Definitely worth going here if you have a group who wants to hang out in downtown Nashville. This is one of the better places to dine in the area.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

After multiple attempts of contacting th ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

After multiple attempts of contacting the restaurant to cancel my reservation (over a period of two days), I finally received an email stating that I would be charged $300 for cancelling past the date.

I told them the reason the party I booked for did not want to go there was because of poor service during previous visits. My request was met with additional bad customer service. Their excuse was that they could have reserved the table for another party. Had this been any other restaurant in Nashville, that would have been true. But, I guess the word is out about this place.

I ended up wrangling together a group of friends to save myself from pure robbery. As evidence of the fact that they simply were trying to make a few extra bucks out of desperation: they moved my reservation time twice and even offered to move the large group to the patio once we were seated.

It's a shame because this place has a pretty cool vibe, an outdoor rooftop patio, is well-priced for being on Broadway - it's about the only place that's not super expensive or a honky tonk with spam sandwiches. :) However, it's never packed when I go there, and I doubt it will be around much longer.

I have brought in several large parties and made countless other reservations there, and I do this on a regular basis as event planning is one of my responsibilities. They lost my business - and the business of everyone I was with - with this terrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

I have had many friends work here over t ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I have had many friends work here over the past couple years and continuously recommend Pub 5 to me, but I was very disappointed when I went in for dinner and drinks before a show at the Bridgestone last week with a friend. I will probably give it another try, just because I know people who worked there that rave about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Service and food were very disappointing ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Service and food were very disappointing. Staff seemed uninterested and standoffish. Food was sub par. My fiance ordered a filet medium, it came out well done. The second attempt was only a small improvement. My salad was so-so. The rooftop was a nice setting, but did not make up for the other deficiencies. I will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

I booked this restaurant because it was ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I booked this restaurant because it was close to all of our activities in Nashville and we liked the menu and the fact that it had rooftop dining. Plus, it could accommodate our group of 11. The food was okay and the service was okay. I had put in the notes when I booked that we were celebrating a 21st birthday and we would like to be on the rooftop. I mentioned this to the hostess when we arrived and she said the rooftop wasn't available. I booked 3 weeks in advance specifically asking for the rooftop. I mentioned to the server we were celebrating a 21st birthday. It was never acknowledged. He brought us the bill and I asked if they had a dessert or did anything special for the birthday girl and he said no. What restaurant doesn't have something for a birthday? I was disappointed by the lack of customer service in this area. Considering all of the other restaurant options in Nashville, I wouldn't recommend this place. Everything was very average and all of the other places we went after this were fun and vibrant, going above and beyond when we mentioned it was her 21st birthday.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was great loved eating on the r ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

The food was great loved eating on the rooftop something you cant do in southren illinois the music from next door was nice the sign was a little hard to see when trying to find it.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My favorite place to eat before a show a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

My favorite place to eat before a show at the Ryman. Always great food with reasonable prices, and being able to make reservations helps to make sure that we are on time for our concert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great atmosphere. Can't wait ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great food. Great atmosphere. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A group of 9 of us went to Pub5 for a ba ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

A group of 9 of us went to Pub5 for a bachelorette dinner. The restaurant itself is charming and easy to find - right in front of the Bridgestone Arena. The hostess was kind and accommodating and the space on the 2nd level was perfect for our larger group. Our waitress Jessica was FANTASTIC - she was helpful with food choices, delightfully funny, and even gave us suggestions for night life on Broadway. Dinner was delicious and the crispy shrimp tacos were a big hit with everyone at the table. Following dinner, we went up to the roof deck. The roof deck is quaint and has a nice view of the city. The staff at the roof deck was a little underwhelming compared to the service we had in the restaurant. Overall, a great experience and would recommend to a group looking for an easy, laid-back spot with yummy eats.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great for a Large Party

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The entire ambiance/decor of the restaurant was breathtaking and different. We had a great time celebrating with a large group and our service was quick.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Salmon was tasty and seasoned well, thou ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Salmon was tasty and seasoned well, though the kale salad was a little dry. However, I did choose to get my dressing on the side, so that was on me-the dressing was tasty and the salad would have been better if I'd gotten it not on the side.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I had never been to Pub 5 previously but ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

I had never been to Pub 5 previously but I was pleasant surprised. The food was great. The ambiance was fun. We also had pretty solid service and the staff seemed happy to work there.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were fine. The amb ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

The food and service were fine. The ambiance not he best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great service, private room great for ou ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great service, private room great for our group of 11, food was delicious

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great roof top bar away from the hustle ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great roof top bar away from the hustle and bustle of Broadway. Only eight tables. Fabulous mussels!! Great salmon tacos!! Oldest building in Nashville.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Party of 12. Had a private room. Andy wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Party of 12. Had a private room. Andy was our server and he was great. Everyone raved about the food. All staff were friendly and accommodating. Menu offered something for everyone. Will definitely go back next time we are in Nashville

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We called in the afternoon to push back ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We called in the afternoon to push back our reservation, and were told it wasn't a problem....and when we got thete, they had no reservation. It took 10 minutes for the waitress to first come over. Service continued to be slow. When we asked for ketchup and mustard, it took another 10 minutes....and then we actually got ketchup and ranch dressing in a mustard bottle (it was even labelled Ranch). The food wasn't anything special, and the rooftop patio was too small to have "ambiance." This would be a good place to have drinks, but I wouldn't go back if I was hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

My favorite place to go before a Ryman e ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

My favorite place to go before a Ryman event. Broad, unique, healthy menu choices to please a crowd. Fun and convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lower Broadway Dinner Spot

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Went here after the marathon with a large group to celebrate a birthday. We were seated in the bar area which unfortunately was overly noisy. The food and service was good. Four of the group had fried chicken and thought it was the best they ever had. It was a nice, alternative to the Honky Tonks on lower Broadway.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Great place. The rooftop is wonderful wh ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Great place. The rooftop is wonderful when the weather is nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We really enjoyed this restaurant! They ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We really enjoyed this restaurant! They were quick to seat us, the staff was super friendly, and the food was very good! I loved the goat cheese dip!! Prices were reasonable for a place so close to Broadway and portions were just right! We had 10 in our party and everyone was very happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Drinks mediocre, food was horrible. We h ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Drinks mediocre, food was horrible. We had lamb tacos and beef tacos, very bland, uninspiring

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

The food is always good but there's neve ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

The food is always good but there's never anyone to greet us when we arrive so we wait. After five minutes just standing on our last visit a server finally greeted us and tried to get us checked in when the hostess finally walked up. Once seated the service that is usually good was slower than usual. Let's just blame it on a busy day. The rooftop is great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

As always! The staff at Pub 5 is amazing ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

As always! The staff at Pub 5 is amazing! They all seem to be very happy employees... They work together and make you truly feel at home! And the food never disappoints!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just okay

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Interesting decor. Menu okay. Food okay. Overall disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Good food, good location

 
 (E. Tennessee)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We were looking for a place to have dinner before a Ryman Auditorium concert, and found Pub 5 on TripAdvisor. We were very pleased with the food and service. Good craft beer list, and the salmon BLT was a big hit!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great $ for Location

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Great food and service. Great value for location. Highly recommended.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed the Beef sandwich with the horse ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Enjoyed the Beef sandwich with the horseradish sauce and avocado. Can't pronounce it, but it was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Lamb burger is excellent. Good for group ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Lamb burger is excellent. Good for groups. Not good for people watching.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Native Nashvillian

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

Ryan is a great server.

There were six of us and he took good care of us. Everyone enjoyed their food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a reservation for 530 for 8 peopl ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 16, 2016

We had a reservation for 530 for 8 people. We received a call before and confirmed it. We arrived on time. We were not acknowledged by what a appeared to be the manager at the front desk we was not busy with anyone else. A hostess did appear and tell us that out table was not yet ready. A few minutes later we were told the table was ready and we were taken upstairs and seated. The room was empty and we were there for an early dinner, so I'm not sure why the table would not have been ready for our reservation time. It was just frustrating to have all of us waiting at the front door entrance when we were on time. Other than that the food was great. We had the goat cheese as the reviews suggested and it was delicious. 3 of us ordered the filet and that was wonderful as well. Our server did a good job getting us drinks and everything else we needed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Loved the food and ambiance

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

My family and I (both children are older than 30) made reservations and ate during the SEC Basketball Tournament last week at 4:30 in the afternoon. The wait staff were friendly and efficient; the food was excellent; and, the price was reasonable.

We had a great experience. It was moderately loud but certainly no louder than any other place on Broadway that has a bar in it.

I would highly recommend this.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a big group

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

We had a great time. Some of the wait staff were unpleasant, but not all of them. Our party had water fall on them from the floor above because the table on the second floor split their water (seems like an easy fix), but they comped all of our appetizers, so that was nice. Great drinks, great food, and great overall environment.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Its All in the Details

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Cocktails are fun and delicious. One option is to sit at the first floor bar and have food there which is a great way to spend some time if you don't have a reservation. Goat Cheese appetizer is a must. Dinning spaces are small and cozy with lots of character. Every food selection we made was delicious combined with the location, price and atmosphere this is one of my new favorite spots in Nashville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

IL Volo at the Ryman

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Pub 5 has an eclectic menu with savory choices. The warm goat cheese with tomato bacon jam topping serve with warm bread was outstanding. Our server provided prompt, informative and energetic service the entire evening. It will be a place that we will visit again.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good for eating before a Bridgestone Arena event

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Poutine with lamb was very good. I've had other dishes here as well and been pleased. While not blown away by the service (tends on the slower side, but some waiters seem more attentive - just had a bad draw each time I suppose), it's a great place to get food right before going into Bridgestone Arena for an event. I've done this twice and it's not too busy to get a table and a quick bite. The rooftop dining has a great view for people watching.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.