About Province Urban Kitchen & Bar

333 North Central Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85004
View Larger Map

Province Urban Kitchen & Bar, located at the corner of Central and Van Buren in downtown Phoenix, is a modern American restaurant with cuisine inspired by traditional dishes and seasonally fresh ingredients.

Province Urban Kitchen & Bar has a large focus on Craft Beer, and rotates 11 draft taps frequently to ensure that we are able to showcase the best of what Arizona & the region has to offer.

Visit us at Province to enjoy breakfast, lunch, happy hour or dinner any day of the week. Or simply join us for a handcrafted cocktail at the bar, or a local craft brew on the patio. We look forward to seeing you soon!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 06:00am to 11:00am (Monday – Sunday)

Brunch: 11:00am to 03:00pm (Sunday)

Lunch: 11:00am to 02:00pm (Monday – Saturday)

Bar Menu: 02:00pm to 11:00pm (Monday - Sunday)

Dinner: 04:00pm to 8:30pm (Monday – Sunday)

Cross Street:
Van Buren and Central

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 429-3600

Website:
http://www.provincephx.com/

Catering:
Evade Predictability. Come to Province to plan your next great party, where the food, service and setting combine to make your event exceptional in every way. Clean lines with modern edges make this a perfect choice for any business or social event. Our menus will please your guests, and we will please you with every attention to detail. The entire restaurant may also be available for larger private events.

Please contact: Melissa Balthazor at Melissa.Balthazor@westin.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered for every meal period. The Valet desk is located on Central Avenue just twenty feet north of Van Buren. Valet parking is complimentary during the first three hours. Arrangements can be made for extended parking if you are planning on attending a Theater Production or Sporting Event.

Public Transit:
Adjacent to Phoenix Metro Lightrail - Van Buren and 1st Ave (Southbound) or Van Buren and 1st St (Northbound) stops.

Executive Chef:
Marco Garcia

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Province Urban Kitchen & Bar
  • Province Urban Kitchen & Bar
  • Province Urban Kitchen & Bar
  • Province Urban Kitchen & Bar
  • Province Urban Kitchen & Bar
  • Province Urban Kitchen & Bar
Province Urban Kitchen & Bar
Province Urban Kitchen & Bar
Province Urban Kitchen & Bar
Province Urban Kitchen & Bar
Province Urban Kitchen & Bar
Province Urban Kitchen & Bar

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

We have three options for more intimate dining experiences that allow you to create a more private event for your guests.

Province Urban Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

3.9

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Good for a Date (1)
See All
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
Newest
350 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

In the special request field, I asked th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined 4 days ago

In the special request field, I asked the host to give the woman in our party a hug upon our arrival. She did it! She really made her night! Thank you. You have no idea how much it meant. You guys rock!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was just perfect. Service thr ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was just perfect. Service through the entire meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good but not great. Food was ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was good but not great. Food was good. Large bill though for what we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

We enjoyed dinner prior to a local event ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

We enjoyed dinner prior to a local event. Food was very good. Menu leans on the healthy side. Portions are moderate with good use of spices and seasoning. Service was very good as the waitress checked in multiple times and saw that we very satisfied. Restaurant is on first floor of the hotel and just off the lobby. It has a nice size outdoor area but was too hot outside to enjoy while we were there. We enjoyed the dinner and will be back next time we are in Phoenix.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Comfortable, modern atmosphere. We shared entrees; fettuccini with garlic shrimp, and grilled salmon. Excellent. Ordered 3 sides to share, fantastic vegetables and cheddar grits that were superb. Our waiter was attentive, helpful. Entree prices are good; drink prices a bit expensive. We plan to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was INCREDIBLE! Service was very go ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was INCREDIBLE! Service was very good, went on a Friday night and we were one of the only people at the restaurant with worried us but we went in anyways and so glad we did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

GREAT SERVICE!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Although a bit too pricey for lunch great service & delicious food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

just so-So

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We were going to the opera and looking for a restaurant near the theater. We chose this place for its proximity to the venue. It was a pleasant experience, but a thoroughly average one: the food was just okay and the service the same. I had a vegetarian dish that was so mediocre that I left it half-finished, while my wife had a dish only slightly better. If one needs a place solely for convenience, this one's fine. Otherwise, I'd pass in favor of one of downtown's many sports bars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Great Restaurant

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

This was a great Restaurant with great food service and location.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ok for hotel food. Nothing special. My w ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

Ok for hotel food. Nothing special. My waitress said that the menu has not changed in over two years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

After the Orpheum

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We attended a play at the Orpheum and wanted something to eat someplace close. None of us had ever been to the Province Urban Kitchen, so thought we would try it. It was super early for dinner so there were very few people there. We all loved our meals and the service was great. I would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Peaceful downtown place to eat with great food

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

We went on Christmas night before a play. The timing was perfect as we told the wait staff where we were going and at what time it started. We had appetizers, salads/soups, main courses and shared a desert. All were terrific mixes and blends as well as beautifully presented. The wine list was very eclectic and we had four different glasses of wine that non of us had tried before but were recommended and enjoyed each. The have a separate list of "specialty" drinks but we did not have room for any of those.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very good

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 5, 2015

good option for symphony - easy 2 block walk

the restaurant was very good - nothing exciting but very good

service was very good+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Waste of Space

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on December 3, 2015

We were extremely disappointed. We had dinner here prior to the Bocelli concert. The food was tasteless and overpriced. Please don't waste your hard earned money. You'd be better going to Five Guys down the road and eat peanuts for peanuts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Unexpected beautiful food! Chef inspired, fresh!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on November 14, 2015

We went here before the Opera...great downtown location, nice ambiance, especially on the patio. Had the tuna tartare...amazing and shortribs and halibut.

Fantastic flavor,beautifully presented!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Ahi tuna tartar was wonderful and Oliver ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on November 11, 2015

Ahi tuna tartar was wonderful and Oliver our server was very knowledgeable and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Wonderful staff and garden setting was e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 3, 2015

Wonderful staff and garden setting was especially nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

wonderful courtyard and very good food

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

A group of us went here before Garth Brooks... We picked it because, well it is super close to the light rail, and they had reservations available for a group of six. Great spot to sit outside and have a cocktail - we really enjoyed sitting in the courtyard, comfortable seats, great service, nice drink menu, if a little pricey. We checked in with the hostess when we arrived, 45 min early, and let her know we were waiting on the rest of our party, and looking to relax with a cocktail first. Which we did. It was. It was not busy night restaurant wise... Maybe 8 parties total, yet when we went back into the host stand at our designated reservation time, there was confusion over our table, they hurried to push two tables together, and those were not at the same height - off by a couple of inches. Set that hiccup aside, the food was really excellent - some favorites at our table... Pork shank, beef short rib, filet, the biscuits, plus the donuts for desert.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Pre-game/show Spot

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on October 24, 2015

3 blocks for the Talking Stick Arena we dined her prior to the Garth Brooks concert. We chose to sit on the patio as it was among the 1st days where comfortable temps had arrived in Phoenix. There is a nice selection of Craft beers on the menu and we enjoyed a couple of those before ordering dinner. We were the only ones there for about an hour but our server was attentive and constantly checking on us. We ordered the Short Rib and the Garlic Shrimp entrees. The short ribs were the bomb, but I feel the shrimp were bland and under seasoned, however the underlying pasta and asparagus were excellent.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Awesome Happy hour. Great place to go be ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on October 23, 2015

Awesome Happy hour. Great place to go before an event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is average, service was excellent. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 7, 2015

Food is average, service was excellent. And decor was gorgeous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

First time in Phoenix

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

we needed a nice spot for a party of 8 this work out perfectly. Right in the Westin where we were staying. Good food, great atmosphere and service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent service by our server. I salut ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2015

Excellent service by our server. I salute mr. Scott for great service. Thank you

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Way overpriced

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

$4 for coffee? I should have gone to Starbucks. $40+ for scrambled eggs and an omelet. Ridiculous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Good food and exceptional service. This ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

Good food and exceptional service. This restaurant is not all that huge considering it is a "hotel restaurant". The menu is small, but what food they have is good. Our waiter Oliver was particularly friendly and helpful. He made our dinning especially enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Province The Perfect pre Theater Spot

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

We enjoyed our dining experience at Province. We had theater tickets and this was a nice sport to enjoy leisurely dining before the show.

Thank you.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

My co-worker and I went for happy hour. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 23, 2015

My co-worker and I went for happy hour. Excellent find! The half price menu was awesome, the tacos were a hit. Tasty, juicy and full of flavor. I will return...thank you for the great service and food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

good for special occasion

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 1, 2015

Pricey for regular dining, but service and food are both very good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

A pleasant surprise

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 23, 2015

I don't expect great food in a hotel restaurant, so I was pleasantly surprised by Province. The trout was absolutely superb. It was a beautiful warm night, and the outside seating area is pleasant, especially for being in the middle of downtown. the waterfall masks much of the traffic noise, and it was an altogether pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Embarrassed For Them...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 15, 2015

the service at brunch today was HORRENDOUS. it was me and three other ladies. all too polite for our own good. we all sent at least one item back. our waters and coffees were not attended to . we had to ask for every retail. then when we asked for a pitcher of water [since there was four of us and the glasses were small] you would have thought we asked for the moon. our waitress was extremely neglectful. she made us feel like we were a hassle and she rolled her eyes [!!!!!!!!!!!!] and yapped about how tired she was and how she couldnt remember the soup of the way. she also was making recommendations off the BREAKFAST menu even though they had already stopped serving breakfast. then she came over to tell us she was going on a break and another lady would be "taking over" . we never saw that lady. when we made complaints about the food, the manager literally brought over a copy of the menu and tried to tell US we were wrong about what the dish should include! it was bizarre and almost comical. we were starving and we had valeted our cars so it seemed like a hassle to leave . needless to stay we stayed and ate a bit. but left very dissatisfied

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Loud Music

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 1, 2015

The outdoor music was moved indoors because of the weather. In spite of asking the DJ to lower the music (twice) this was a detriment to good conversation. We feel that music in a restaurant should be pleasant, background and non-disruptive and we PICK our restaurants accordingly. We have been to this restaurant previously and have not run into this situation. When it was obvious that we (4) were going to leave to find another place, an accommodation was made.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Lackluster upscale hotel dining room.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 21, 2015

OK if you are a hotel guest/business person. Nothing remarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Limited steak choices.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 12, 2015

I had the ny strip and was wuite happy with the donned and flavor. I paired mine with a side of asparagus and a glass of scotch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

My daughter and I enjoyed a quiet early dinner.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 26, 2015

The outside seating with fire pit and waterfall were relaxing. We ordered martinis, appetizer, then waited awhile to order our salad, then ravioli and risotto- (to die for). The waitstaff was friendly and timed their attention to us perfectly. We didn't know you could enjoy and outdoor meal in Phoenix, downtown!! Of course, it was early on a Sunday evening! Would love to visit again and stay at the hotel.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wonderful experience!

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on January 10, 2015

Came in for dinner and had a lovely time--our server was so friendly and knowledgeable, and all of the food was just delicious. We especially enjoyed the tomato-basil soup, the trout and the roast chicken. And we loved the outside patio! Simply a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Came for brunch, stayed for lunch

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 4, 2015

While we were looking for a brunch, we were quite happy with the lunch menu at Province. The wait staff was always discretely available, friendly, and helpful. The place was relatively empty, which probably makes sense for a Sunday lunch time. Their execution of a grilled cheese sandwich with tomato soup was superb. I've seen great restaurants fail at simple fare.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good, service excellent, ambiance--meh.

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

This was a hotel restaurant so the ambiance was not much to speak of. That said, the service was excellent and the food turned out to be quite good. Our dinner was on New Year's Eve so there was a price fix menu--the taste and presentatoin were very nice.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5

Very nice quiet restaurant, overall the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on December 19, 2014

Very nice quiet restaurant, overall the menu selection very good. Good quality.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great dining experience

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 14, 2014

My daughters and I dined at Province prior to a downtown event. The reservation process was easy, the service was prompt and attentive and the menu featured a dynamic range of creative options including a 'chefs inspiration' that was extremely well prepared. The prices were reasonable and the atmosphere was perfect for us to visit without having to compete with external distractions from other tables (the room was somewhat full when we where there).

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Night at Ballet

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 13, 2014

Province was our dinner selection previous to an evening at the ballet....what an awesome preclusion to the events of the evening😄😄!! Our hostess Lori was outstanding!! As was the manager with my elderly parents....a night to remember....,

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.