Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.18mi
  4. Distance: 0.27mi

About Province Urban Kitchen & Bar

Province Urban Kitchen & Bar, located at the corner of Central and Van Buren in downtown Phoenix, is a modern American restaurant with cuisine inspired by traditional dishes and seasonally fresh ingredients.

Province Urban Kitchen & Bar has a large focus on Craft Beer, and rotates 11 draft taps frequently to ensure that we are able to showcase the best of what Arizona & the region has to offer.

Visit us at Province to enjoy breakfast, lunch, happy hour or dinner any day of the week. Or simply join us for a handcrafted cocktail at the bar, or a local craft brew on the patio. We look forward to seeing you soon!

333 North Central Avenue
Phoenix, AZ 85004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Contemporary American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: 06:00am to 11:00am (Monday – Sunday)

Brunch: 11:00am to 03:00pm (Sunday)

Lunch: 11:00am to 02:00pm (Monday – Saturday)

Bar Menu: 02:00pm to 11:00pm (Monday - Sunday)

Dinner: 04:00pm to 8:30pm (Monday – Sunday)

Cross Street:
Van Buren and Central

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 429-3600

Website:
http://www.provincephx.com/

Catering:
Evade Predictability. Come to Province to plan your next great party, where the food, service and setting combine to make your event exceptional in every way. Clean lines with modern edges make this a perfect choice for any business or social event. Our menus will please your guests, and we will please you with every attention to detail. The entire restaurant may also be available for larger private events.

Please contact: Melissa Balthazor at Melissa.Balthazor@westin.com

Parking Details:
Valet parking is offered for every meal period. The Valet desk is located on Central Avenue just twenty feet north of Van Buren. Valet parking is complimentary during the first three hours. Arrangements can be made for extended parking if you are planning on attending a Theater Production or Sporting Event.

Public Transit:
Adjacent to Phoenix Metro Lightrail - Van Buren and 1st Ave (Southbound) or Van Buren and 1st St (Northbound) stops.

Executive Chef:
Marco Garcia

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 4:00PM - 6:00PM

Private Dining

We have three options for more intimate dining experiences that allow you to create a more private event for your guests.

Province Urban Kitchen & Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (7)
Modern Decor (4)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Business Meals (4)
Healthy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Romantic (1)
Family Style (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Cozy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
399 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Wasn't sure about the location, but the was a pretty good deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Second time here and will go again. Food is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

So pretty much a stale experience. The waiter was good. Nothing too spectacular or engaging. The place was very empty with horrendous dance music playing non stop and loud. The food left much to be desired. Overall I wouldn't recommend it and won't be going back.

Tags: Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Oliver and Alex were so welcoming and made the entire time relaxed and enjoyable. The culinary treats were mouthwatering. A must dine spot.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

A little pricey, but a very nice place and great food. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meal. I would definitely go for a special occasion, but the bar area seemed casual enough for anytime.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I eat out a lot and the menu had a lot of common and favorite items like calamari and New York strip that you would expect at a place that has an upscale feel to it. I ordered the filet medium. It came to me rare with a massive amount of mushrooms which I don't like. I politely removed the mushrooms but a menu should state what you're getting if the amount of the item is dominant. They took the steak back to cook longer and it was cooked correctly when it came back but it was chewy for a filet. The calamari was so-so. It's a very cute place and the server was very nice but there was something off about it. You think you're getting a fine dining experience but it lacks the finesse to be one. But if you want a quick, casual meal where medium quality of the food is okay with you, then it will suit you fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Device was excellent. Good all tasted great and presented great. Good amount to pick from. Great location if you are doing anything downtown. We will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Decided late to book here for a pre concert Dinner with my wife. I was not aware that it was part of Westin, and it advertised price point was in range. Usually I do not post negative reviews, however in this case, there were some issues. The service was slow...it took over 5 minutes after being seated to be acknowledged and offered water ( it was only half full). More importantly, I ordered NY strip that was way overcooked and poorly prepared. Of course they offered a 'do over', but by that time, to little to late. To their credit they did discount our bill. On a secondary note, was supposed to get bonus 1000 points from open table for eating there, which never have appeared!

Overall, do not think we will return

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went there with the mother-in-law and had a fantastic dinner. I highly recommend the avocado toast appetizer, and if you like banana's, the banana parfet desert was awesome. I had the Herb chicken and my wide and mother-in-law had the salmon. with the appetizers, I was too full to finish. I got two more meals out of the leftovers from mine and combining my wife and mother-in-law's leftovers. Grate place in your in Downtown Phoenix...

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Simply said, I was expecting more. The food was good, but not great. By far the appetizers and sides were the best part of the meal. Both the chicken and short ribs were chewy. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This was a great find for us. The prices were a bit high (figure $30+ per person), but the food was absolutely phenomenal. I had the chicken plate, and it was easily the best chicken I've ever had. The portions appear small at first, but they were perfect. The menu is full of healthy options that are both filling and satisfying, and there are plenty options that aren't as healthy that are just as good. The service was also great. Our waitress was attentive, quick to respond to requests, and she was able to keep on her feet despite our table's strong personalities. All-in-all, I'd highly recommend this place for a couple or a small group. I can't wait to return!

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Service was good. One good meal, one not good at all. Ordered Braised Ribs, tasted like pot roast and didn't come with the roasted pepper or roasted corn which was listed on the menu. The Scottish Salmon was quite good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 23, 2017

First time visit here, to be near the Herberger theater for a 730 show. We'll definitely go again. The food was quite good. The service even better. Wine prices were steep. No bargain in price but it is downtown and a great location to get to by Metro Rail.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Great healthy juices! There was a really good-sounding salad of the day I wish I had ordered.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Brussel Sprouts that taste good! I never thought I'd live to see the day. You gotta know if they can make Brussel Sprouts tasty everything else must be incredible. Herb Chicken on Lentles.....excellent. Atlantic Salmon...excellent. Wine list...not extensive, but very good. Everything is well done and fresh.
Yes, it has a little bit of that hotel vibe. But still a nice place with a unique and fresh menu.
Service is great.
Validate parking in Westin parking lot.
All in all, a good place before a concert or the theatre.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I first encountered Province while on our honeymoon (we are locals to AZ, but love the Westin Downtown). The food is always spectacular, the atmosphere is modern & chic, and the staff is phenomenal. The manager checked up on us every so often, and when we came in the next time, he recognized us and gave us some special date night treatment. We went in this time for Sunday brunch, and it is by far the best breakfast we've found in Phoenix (and we are major foodies)! The Bella Benedict had a creamy, sweet yet salty hollandaise and my husband had an amazing Bananas Foster French Toast. We love every aspect of Province and we try to go at least a few times per year for special occasions.

Tags: Seasonal, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I'll get straight to the point. The ambiance is nice, and it's on par price wise with other food in the area. The thing is, the service isn't very good for "better than average" dining. Also, while the food is prepared well, none of the flavors make you want to come back. I liked the short ribs. They were fork tender and juicy, but the flavor wasn't quite there. It was so mild all you could say was it was cooked well. That's the deal breaker for me. If I want to spend 300-400 dollars for someone's birthday dinner I want the food to be memorable. Everyone in my party agreed that it wasn't.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

It is hard to find a place to eat before the opera or symphony. Province gets the job done. The room is relatively quiet for an early dinner and the menu has a bit of everything. It helps that the servers are friendly and efficient. Not the greatest but it sure beats most of the competition in that area.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Located in the Westin Hotel in downtown Phoenix. Convenient complimentary/free valet parking with validation in the restaurant. Nice setting. Very friendly staff. Great service. A little expensive for the portion size. The food was nicely prepared. Tasted fine. Everything is ala cart. If you are hungry or a big eater you will need an appetizer as the portions are a bit on the skimpy side and come without any sides.
The calamari are thick strips as opposed to the traditional rings. They were excellent. The shrimp was nicely prepared and consisted of 6 on a skewer over kimwah. Duck was just 2 small breasts and duck wrapped in skin. It was excellent but skimpy portion.
I would recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We all orderedsmall plates... all were delicious! Service lacking...had to ask for coffee refill and hot water refil for those drinking tea. Tea drinkers had to use same tea bag. The coffee was served in ice cold carafe so coffee was luke warm. Water finally refilled as we were paying check.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We decided on Province due to the decent reviews, location to the theatre and the gluten free options offered. Overall, we experienced an overpriced hotel restaurant with mediocre service and an over-inspired chef. The buffalo wings were just like any you'd get from a national chain - nothing different about them. The shoestring potatoes were very good, but we chalked it up to fresh oil and the fry size taking on the oil; though the fries weren't "oily" which was a surprise. We didn't bother with the broccoli cheddar soup - really? broccoli cheddar at this place? (Denny's has it too!) My shrimp entree over quinoa was okay, but the shrimp were dry and only slightly warm to cold. The quinoa was flavorful but with too many flavors overpowering the sweetness of the quinoa. My partner's steak came out with the onion rings on the top, which we specifically asked to exclude since she is Celiac. They returned it and made a new one which came about 10 minutes after I was done. Dinner together didn't happen, but the steak was good, not great. They gave us a discount for the mistake.

Service was very rushed when we sat down, even though there was light customer traffic. We purposefully didn't order the rest of our meal until midway through our appetizers to slow it down. She must have been used to hurried conference-goers and business people. She was friendly and apologized a number of times for the mistake (as did the manager). It did get busier on a Friday night, but there were tables available when we left at 7:30. Ambience was average in noise and atmosphere - the bar, with two TVs, seemed a bit overpowering as it was set about one or two dining tables away in the whole restaurant.

We had hope for an above average hotel restaurant experience, as some have been surprising to us. However, if we're in Phoenix again, we'll try another place and would recommend a different place than Province.

Tags: Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

service tres tres lent, y compris lors de la demande d' addition (30 minutes)
Certains plats trop cuits et trop épicés

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A nice breakfast spot with delicious food that was a twist on the normal standard breakfast food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I came into Phoenix on Christmas Day and wanted to take my friend from Chicago who picked me up for a Christmas lunch. It was perfect. And then we saw the panda sculpture at the Art College around the corner afterward ... ABSOLUTELY PERFECT as we are Panda-Holics! Thank you.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Group of 5 for dinner before a ballet. Fast and great service. We split a bunch of appetizers, all tasted amazing. Would eat there again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Atmosphere contemporary settings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was the first time that we dined at this restaurant. Each item that we ordered was prepared in a unique way. The food was good. In contrast to other restaurants that we have gone to in the surrounding area, we found the prices to be just a bit higher. The décor is very modern and sparse. We dined on the patio which is very nice, but the noise from the cars on the street was definitely louder than we would have liked. The best part of the experience was our server. She was very nice and did not miss a beat. She made the entire experience much more enjoyable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Really disappointing overall. First, the patio looks little like the picture. It's cold, industrial, right on the busy street (exhaust fumes were present). Second, the food was barely passable. My husband had two eggs, an assortment of meats, and fruit. NOTHING was seasoned. It was all terribly bland and the honeydew melon was his favorite part of the whole meal. I had the "pot pie". I put that in quotes because it was nothing more (I kid you not) than a link of sausage cut up, topped with a white sauce, covered with a disk of puff pastry. There were no vegetables...nothing. Just sliced up sausage and a ton of sauce. To be fair, the sauce was very good. My eggs were also unseasoned. As advertised, the coffee is Starbucks (burned, bitter). For a "health" friendly place I expected to see Stevia, but they only had the standards. We will definitely not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The bartender was very friendly. The quality of the food was just OK. It seemed like your typical hotel restaurant...nothing special. We ordered a cheese plate and charcuterie plate. The prosciutto on the plate was so tough/thick that we couldn't eat it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great restaurant overall. Surprised when we got there to see it was located in the bottom of the Westin hotel-- don't let it sway you, it is very classy and private. The decor is simple and clean. My Mom had graduated earlier that afternoon so we wanted somewhere quiet to just enjoy with the family. Our waiter, Shamit was exceptional; he knew the menu and made sure our water glasses were never empty. I was not happy with my order and he made sure to get it fixed for me without giving me a hassle. Something little like that goes a long way to a paying customer- please send him our thanks. Warm smiles from the whole staff the whole dinner. Thank you for a great dining experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Overall the experience was pretty good. Didn't know it was in the Westin. Service was very attentive. Food was pretty good. An unfortunate aspect was that we ate outside. Very pleasant, but the lighting was nonexistent. While the NY strip was tasty, could barely see it. Candles did not work.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Great views, food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

We were in town for a meeting and looking for a restaurant with good reviews near our location. This restaurant seemed to fit our needs. It is located in the Westin Hotel.
We were not very hungry due to a priori event. One of us had a salad and the other a white fish
Nicoise. The Nicoise was great and most different. We had a glass of wine and wished we had a larger appetite. Costs were very reasonable and like most restaurants in town, not very busy.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 28, 2016

In the special request field, I asked the host to give the woman in our party a hug upon our arrival. She did it! She really made her night! Thank you. You have no idea how much it meant. You guys rock!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Everything was just perfect. Service through the entire meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Service was good but not great. Food was good. Large bill though for what we had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 17, 2016

We enjoyed dinner prior to a local event. Food was very good. Menu leans on the healthy side. Portions are moderate with good use of spices and seasoning. Service was very good as the waitress checked in multiple times and saw that we very satisfied. Restaurant is on first floor of the hotel and just off the lobby. It has a nice size outdoor area but was too hot outside to enjoy while we were there. We enjoyed the dinner and will be back next time we are in Phoenix.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2016

Comfortable, modern atmosphere. We shared entrees; fettuccini with garlic shrimp, and grilled salmon. Excellent. Ordered 3 sides to share, fantastic vegetables and cheddar grits that were superb. Our waiter was attentive, helpful. Entree prices are good; drink prices a bit expensive. We plan to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food was INCREDIBLE! Service was very good, went on a Friday night and we were one of the only people at the restaurant with worried us but we went in anyways and so glad we did!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Although a bit too pricey for lunch great service & delicious food

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.