About Provenance

11150 East Blvd.
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Provenance is a 76-seat fine dining restaurant and lounge, located inside the world-renowned Cleveland Museum of Art, that features locally sourced and globally inspired cuisine and a prix fixe menu that complements current museum exhibitions. We accept reservations up to one month in advance to the date.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday through Saturday from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Dinner
Wednesday and Friday from 5 to 8 p.m.

Brunch
Sunday from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 707-2600

Website:
http://www.provenancecleveland.com/

Catering:
Catering by Provenance offers best-in-class catering services for the Cleveland Museum of Art’s unique and breathtaking venues.

For more information, please contact:
Sherri Schultz, Director of Catering
216-707-6834

Executive Chef:
Douglas Katz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

The Art of Mixology

Wednesday Feb 22, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

The Art of Mixology

Wednesday Feb 22, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Join Provenance and Will Hollingsworth of The Spotted Owl for an exploration of the history and evolution of a classic cocktail while creating tasty versions!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Pre pay and reservation only. Please call 216-707-2600. $35 per person plus tax. Special valid on Wednesday Feb 22, 2017 from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Provenance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Good for a Date (14)
See All
Creative Cuisine (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Scenic View (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great for Brunch (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Seasonal (5)
Romantic (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Fun (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Historic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Vegan (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Private Room (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
556 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is located inside the Cleveland Art ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

This is located inside the Cleveland Art Museum. It's small and off the radar. I'm so glad we found it! The atmosphere is quiet and romantic, the staff is highly professional, and the food is exceptional! The drinks have an interesting twist on them that our group enjoyed. It's just another reason for Cleveland to be celebrated as a great food city.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizers very good in particular the B ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Appetizers very good in particular the Brussels sprouts. The gnocchi very salty and mushy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We went there twice on the same weekend ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We went there twice on the same weekend for a couple of special occasions. On Friday the service was quite poor, the waitress could not pronounce several of the menu items including espresso. At the end, she did not ask us if we were members, so we missed out on some savings which is a great perk about being a member.

On Sunday the service was exceptional. Although there was a rather unpleasant dark curly hair in my food a different waitress was very quick remove my plate and place a new order.

They probably should train their staff such that there is more consistency.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

For the past 3 years, I and a small gro ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

For the past 3 years, I and a small group of friends have visited Provenance in January for Sunday brunch.

This year we were disappointed by the meager selection on the buffet table compared to past years. The menu selections were good and we love the museum connection, but the change was enough to convince us to visit another restaurant for our next brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I love this restaurant and really wish t ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I love this restaurant and really wish they would serve a vegetarian offering that was not loaded with cheese or high in calories. The menu is fun and creative but really short when it comes to vegetarian options that are healthy. Service was excellent and the chef was willing to accommodate my request for a vegetable omelette yet there wee very few vegetables available--red and green peppers. Oh, for a little kale or zucchini or tomato. And, my guest had a great meal. So, in spite of my concerns, I will continue to go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

I proposed to my girlfriend on Friday ni ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I proposed to my girlfriend on Friday night at Provenance. It was magical. The service and food were some of the best we've experienced to date. Thank you Provenance!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delightful first course selection of che ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Delightful first course selection of cheeses and charcuterie

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Service was outstanding only outdone by ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service was outstanding only outdone by its setting, can't beat being surrounded by priceless art! My wife loved NY strip with cauliflower mash, dughters said the duck was cooked perfect but didn't love the sweetness of the risotto. I enjoyed but will struggle to remember the prefixed menu with oysters and short rib. The tiramasu dessert stole the show with the espresso poured over chairside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

The fresh, seasonal food and creative di ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The fresh, seasonal food and creative dishes are outstanding. As a member of the Museum who gets a discount, I find the value very good. The downer had little to do with the restaurant itself - at the next table was a particularly loud woman who was discussing topics (gore, crime) not conducive to a good dining experience (she even said, "I probably shouldn't talk about this during dinner"). We have had good dining experiences here before and will be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

We really enjoyed our lunch here. Would ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our lunch here. Would come back again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thx for Christmas Eve lunch coupled with ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Thx for Christmas Eve lunch coupled with tour of Cleveland Museum of Art exhibition of 19th & 20th Century owned pastels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While I love the ambiance and the usuall ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

While I love the ambiance and the usually good service, I find the food problematic. Sometimes there is over-seasoning (curried chicken salad) or the cream soups too rich. I do enjoy the Sunday brunch but overall find the food iffy.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

What an incredible menu, the food and se ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

What an incredible menu, the food and service was amazing. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a delicious meal. You should go there even if you're not going to the art museum.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always excellent and the ser ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food is always excellent and the service is attentive. I enjoy having lunch and brunch there and plan to try the Happy Hour.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We try to have lunch or dinner here when ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We try to have lunch or dinner here whenever the opportunity arises and yesterday was my seventieth birthday celebration. What a pleasure it was to have such a well-informed, charming and helpful waitress as Liz, who filled us in on the wines and dishes. The main courses of hamburger and short ribs were delicious even if some of us could not finish them. We always receive considerate attention from the people in the restaurant. The atmosphere is formal but not overpowering and the view from the window is terrific.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Love the venue. When asked what an ingre ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Love the venue. When asked what an ingredient was, I was told it was cheese. Turns out I later learned it was fish eggs / something I am allergic to. Very few vegetarian options and nothing vegan the night we were there. As beautiful as the setting is, next time I'll dine at the cafe next door. Sorry, Provenance. If you are going to use less well known ingredients please be sure your servers can adequately describe what they are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely quiet setting inside the Clevelan ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Lovely quiet setting inside the Cleveland Museum of Art. They are were able to come up

with options for one of our party who is a vegetarian. Friendly, professional service from

a wait staff that knows the menu and the ingredients. Very attentive to our needs.

Great food and ambiance. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Provenance, we had been to ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First time at Provenance, we had been to the Cafe at CLE Museum of Art previously. Restaurant exceeded expectations, everything was delicious and service was outstanding. Highly recommend the beet salad and then must try the tiramisu affogato for dessert.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is nicely prepared and presente ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food is nicely prepared and presented, and from local farms. The room is very nice. The staff is knowledgeable but on this occasion a bit overburdened.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

One of the more creative menus and the o ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

One of the more creative menus and the opportunity to sample several in a single sitting without excess. The Charcuterie Plate was filled with great local things to sample. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Provenance continues to grow its mark in ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Provenance continues to grow its mark in the University circle for a cozy, high quality restaurant with excellent service. Sometimes I wish they had more choices, but keep it in check knowing that it might ruin its fresh and flavorful offerings.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A bit pricey, but you're surrounded by a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A bit pricey, but you're surrounded by art of the ages.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Despite telling the wait staff of my oni ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Despite telling the wait staff of my onion allergy, they brought my entree covered in diced chives as garnish. I would have refused a replacement, but they claimed it would just be a few minutes to replace it. Almost a half hour later after my guest was completely done with their meal, they said sorry about the confusion and delay, but here was a new meal. Manager checked back and alluded to my meal being removed from the bill, as it should have been, but when the bill came there was just a token discount that any Museum member would get. Very disappointed in that. Bad service ruins a good meal every time and this was my birthday lunch out. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a delightful meal here. Service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a delightful meal here. Service was very attentive without being disruptive and the food was delicious. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and reasonable choices ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent service and reasonable choices make this exclusive restaurant worth a trip if you are visiting University Circle.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

As usual the food was excellent. Howeve ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As usual the food was excellent. However the service was spotty--a bit too slow at times and the restaurant was not that busy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Provenance is charming for a relaxed lun ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Provenance is charming for a relaxed lunch at the Art Museum. Food is good and service is pleasant. It would be nice to see some variation on the menu, which has bene the same since we first went there. Portions can be modest, to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy dining there, and our gu ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We always enjoy dining there, and our guests have always been pleased. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

The cocktails are especially well done.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Provenance is a gem of a restaurant loca ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Provenance is a gem of a restaurant located in the Cleveland Museum of Art. It is cozy, with a peaceful view out to the garden, and is situated just off the "great room" at the heart of the museum. The menu is simple but satisfying and the food is well prepared. The staff is friendly and professional, and the overall atmosphere is refined and uplifting. We love to go there for Sunday brunch followed by a lazy walk through a few galleries, and of course a quick troll through the gift shop.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

when combined with a visit to CMA to vie ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

when combined with a visit to CMA to view art and/or a concert or film this makes for a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We are never disappointed when we go to ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We are never disappointed when we go to any of Doug Katz's establishments. Provenance is a wonderful place to entertain visiting guests while we show off our fabulous Art Museum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very quiet and refine ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The restaurant was very quiet and refined. A great step up from the types of eateries in the many museums we have been. We went for the Sunday Brunch. They have a wonderful Chef's Table with a variety of goodies. You can order by itself or as a free add-on with a main meal. They also have a nice selection of morning cocktails. Oh, and their decaf was excellent. Finally it's nice to have a wonderful break between all the exhibitions and our seeing our favorite pieces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good albeit for the pr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was very good albeit for the price point I would not expect otherwise. It was a bit noisy because of an event taking place outside in the museum, otherwise it would have been a pleasant noise level. The only slight stumble was that they could not find a cold chiller to place my large bottle of San Pellegrino into. I'm glad I didn't order a white wine as it would have been warm rather quickly. That minor point aside it was a good dining experience which I'd recommend.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful wonderful Great service, food ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wonderful wonderful

Great service, food, ambience

Perfect lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place to dine and talk. Lindsey ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Lovely place to dine and talk. Lindsey was our server and she was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Vegan, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic menu - local & seasonal-inspir ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Fantastic menu - local & seasonal-inspired creative twists on great American classics. Ambiance and service were top-notch!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of four enjoyed the food, serv ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Our party of four enjoyed the food, service and view. The room boasts a very sophisticated décor, showing much attention to detail. The service was responsive and friendly. The seating was comfortable and uncrowded. An extremely appropriate locale for a business lunch. Overall, this is an expertly managed restaurant, part of the great Cleveland restaurant scene.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Provenance is my favorite "special lunch ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Provenance is my favorite "special lunch" restaurant--birthday, anniversary, or simply a place to linger with good friends. For food, service, and ambience, it's the tops--seasonal menu that is always delicious and exciting!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like it there, the view is nice, the f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I like it there, the view is nice, the food is good, and the art museum environment is great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.