Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Provenance

Provenance is a 76-seat fine dining restaurant and lounge, located inside the world-renowned Cleveland Museum of Art, that features locally sourced and globally inspired cuisine and a prix fixe menu that complements current museum exhibitions. We accept reservations up to one month in advance to the date.

11150 East Blvd.
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Dinner
Wednesday and Friday from 5 to 8 p.m.

Brunch
Saturday from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Sunday from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 707-2600

Website:
http://www.provenancecleveland.com/

Catering:
Catering by Provenance offers best-in-class catering services for the Cleveland Museum of Art’s unique and breathtaking venues.

For more information, please contact:
Sherri Schultz, Director of Catering
216-707-6834

Executive Chef:
Douglas Katz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Provenance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (18)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
See All
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Romantic (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Healthy (8)
Scenic View (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (4)
Authentic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Business Meals (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Fun (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Casual (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Consistently our favorite place for food, crafted cocktails, service and ambiance. A refreshingly civilized experience not to be rushed.

Photos: The Marado Mule and Bloody Mary, Tortilla Espanola and Hangar Steak. Brunch menu.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Bar Seating, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Excellent. Highly recommend. The food was delicious.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Organic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 16, 2017

So pleased with Erin,our server. She was friendly and so attentive. Lived the brunch menu and it was a wonderful way to celebrate my birthday.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service was not up to par, entrees arrived before our appetizers were finished. Very average. $150 check for three people later, had to pay $10 for parking.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Always a great experience. Staff very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 9, 2017

The food is excellent and so is the service. Everyone is really friendly. Being in the art museum, it has some extra ambiance, and it's simply a very classy place I'm proud to take my friends to. I've been there many times and have always had a good dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 8, 2017

We were visiting Cleveland to attend a wedding, and were thrilled to visit the Art Museum. The Promenade Restaurant is lovely and pleasant. At first I was concerned because there was nothing vegan on the menu. But the chef created something absolutely delicious for me, and it was also presented beautifully. This made our meal extra special. My husband had the crab cake, which is on the menu, and he loved it. We highly recommend the Promenade.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Beautiful restaurant inside the Art Museum. Interesting menu, mostly excellent, and great drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Art and great fish in a peaceful setting: a great Friday night combo

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The one positive things I can say is that the location is great, the restaurant is well decorated, and that our waiter was friendly. Late the night before our brunch, I changed our reservation from 2 to 3 people, which required a time change per Open Table, from the first available at 11AM to 11:15AM. As there are no two-person table in this restaurant, this change obviously meant that the 11AM time was not at the maximum number of guests they can handled. But when we arrived at 11:07AM the next day, and they had just opened and only seated 1 table with 3 guests, we were told to come back in 8 minutes because they were full. It was ludicrous as we were staring at an empty restaurant with no other party waiting to be seated. We were hoping for the menu and food to make up for the meal, but one of us was pescatarian, and the choices were limited; there was meat - esp. pork - in many dishes. Cocktails and coffee were average. The cornmeal pancake was dry and too salty. Disappointing meal all around. I would not come back, and definitely would not recommend the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Provenance is one of my favorite Friday night dining spots. Elegant in a simple, clean style. I love Doug's deep commitment to local seasonal products from farmers he supports.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Creative cuisine. Imaginative specials. Plating & presentation was top notch. Dined solo & service was attentive & friendly. Wine list could use a bit of variety as the wines offered were standard variety with high price markups. Ordered the scallops & was pleasantly surprised by the complimentary sea-salt ciabatta bread offering. Food (scallops in particular) was impeccably prepared and seared to perfection. Ordered the lemon curd trifle for dessert. Wished I had done the rhubarb cobbler. I'd return again if only for an espresso & to try more desserts!

Tags: Vegan, Quick Bite, Organic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for a Date, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We've been to Provenance numerous times for the Sunday brunch and it's always great.
The food, service, and environment are all super

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Food was amazing, great service. Loved the short rib Benedict!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We had a lovely dinner at Provenance. The service was excellent and the timing for serving allowed for a break between courses. The presentation of the food was very appealing and the quality of the food was excellent. Would definitely go back there again when we are in town.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 16, 2017

If it is a Friday, there is hardly a better restaurant in the University Circle area. The food never disappoints, and the service is consistently outstanding. 5 of us dined last Friday, and, for some of us, it was a first time experience. A truly delightful experience rendered warm by an excellent hostess.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 13, 2017

I have been to provenance 4 times; each time I go hoping so very much that it will be great. I think I will have to move on. The ambience could not be more wonderful for lunch; it is quiet so conversation is easy. Unfortunately the food just doesn't measure up. The lunch menu is limited. I have had the chicken salad twice; it's delicious but is simply a serving of salad with a few grapes and nuts. Yesterday I had the burrata appetizer. It was so salty as to be unpalatable and it was clearly served as intended. I simply have not seen the creativity that the chef is known for. I am truly disappointed. With an improved menu this could be the best lunch in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I brought my friend from New York to Provenance and we both enjoyed the meal and a walk through the museum after. We had brunch, and he was very impressed with the food. The waiter was very polite and attentive. I ordered a negroni for Negroni Week (with all proceeds going to charity) and not only was the drink delicious, but I received a paper mustache for my purchase and the waiter gave it to me while wearing one!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 6, 2017

This is a great restaurant well worth the drive to get there with or without the fabulous Cleveland Museum of Art

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The menu selections were very strange with tastes combined in unusual,creative but to our tastes way out of our box. Examples: Crab cake w/pork belly sandwich, beef ribs benedict with a much too savory sauce, bisquits and gravy with a sweet tasting bisquit with a serving way too generous. Some people may like these things but not us.
Service was not well trained and left dirty dishes on the table much too long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Usually Provenance has an excellent menu with great selections. But the brunch menu is almost bizarre!! The combinations were strange mixtures of luncheon items with brunch items. I ended up with Szechuan Trout which was good but not a typical brunch selection. I wish this brunch menu would go back to more traditional entrees with a bit of an edge. Also, I missed the buffet - fresh salads and fruits and pastries.

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Provenance is a lovely setting for a special dinner or lunch. The fine dining option enhanced our visit to the Cleveland Museum of Art on our anniversary. The restaurant has the special Douglas Katz touch that we have come to expect-- attentive service, an interesting menu, good wine list and terrific ambience. Highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Authentic, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Scenic View, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 17, 2017

The food was good but not spectacular and it was disappointing to have to wait so long for our desserts. The biggest problem we encountered was the air conditioning, which was much too cold. Until that problem is resolved, I cannot recommend Povenance to others - at least not in hot weather. Carrying a sweater might be a solution but most people are not going to do that in mid-summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Stopped for a light supper on a Friday night, always excellent, wonderful presentation and exceptional quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It was our first dining experience at Provenance for a Mother's Day dinner. It was an exciting ambience. However, the meals took longer than expected to receive after we ordered. The "flat iron steaks" were cold when received at our table. They had to be returned only to be brought back to the table, exactly the same. Quite disappointing.
On the positive side, our waitress was very friendly. My grandson ordered a pizza with pepperoni that was very good.
All in all, a rather spoiling experience for $280.00.

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Lovely meal, the museum is the back drop and ambience Devine. Great service , entre options were creative and seasonal and we had an excellent bottle. If wine !! Highly recommend

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I was with the table of donors

Terrible service… On the important night of the Alex Katz lecture..... there should've been more staff !
We arrived at 5:30 PM and barely had dinner by 6:40 PM
Even though we let our waitress know that we had to go to the lecture at 7 PM they brought the food out at 6:40 and we had been there for more than an hour
We asked for bread three times before it finally arrived ... waitress acted quite put off that we would even ask

And then later The waitress never asked if we were members ...which was quite obvious... and brought the bill without any discount . Then my host who had to wait even longer for it to be changed was late for the lecture

Food portions were so small that my friend had to order more food after the entrée came
And she is not a big woman.

The food was very good...once finally received

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

What a nice surprise at the Cleveland Museum of Art. Came for lunch after seeing the Alex Katz show are really glad we did. Spring flavors and really great execution of the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Entertaining a client from out of town, we all have individual diet restrictions and the restaurant fit all our needs. A little gem inside the big gem: Cleveland museum of art.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is a terrific restaurant - the food and the service. Brie, our waitress was lovely. We need more like her in the business. Thanks for your good production
Nancy KLein

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food itself was quite good, but the pre-dinner time at the bar is what made our evening. The special cocktails were well balanced and original (and their names had hidden meanings which we enjoyed deciding). The barperson was engaging and charming -- all 3 of us felt like we were back in NYC.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very nice waitress. My lady and I loved the burrata. The duck confit fried rice was unusual and very delicious. I loved the pork belly that was mixed in as well. Overall a very nice experience. Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Perfect place for a before the concert dinner. Food was superb. Excellent cocktails as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Good food. Great service. Parking is expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food and service are both excellent. Scallops were perfectly cooked and presented. Will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The French onion soup was horrible. It was Luke warm with no broth.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Exceptionally appointed, comfortable venue within the most stunning museum in Cleveland. The food, drinks and service were phenomenal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent service. I am delighted with the menu change and encourage the chef t do more often, and experiment more often.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Wonderful service & food. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was a nice restaurant. Tthe menu was unusual with lots of different flavors. I chose something highly recommended by the server and really didn't care for it to much. My guest felt the same way. I was pretty surprised to find out on that my parking bill was $11 for lunch. We didn't stay very long. That on top of the cost of the restaurant was just too over-the-top for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.