Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Provenance

Provenance is a 76-seat fine dining restaurant and lounge, located inside the world-renowned Cleveland Museum of Art, that features locally sourced and globally inspired cuisine and a prix fixe menu that complements current museum exhibitions. We accept reservations up to one month in advance to the date.

11150 East Blvd.
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Dinner
Wednesday and Friday from 5 to 8 p.m.

Brunch
Saturday from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Sunday from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 707-2600

Website:
http://www.provenancecleveland.com/

Catering:
Catering by Provenance offers best-in-class catering services for the Cleveland Museum of Art’s unique and breathtaking venues.

For more information, please contact:
Sherri Schultz, Director of Catering
216-707-6834

Executive Chef:
Douglas Katz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Provenance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Quiet Conversation (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Fit for Foodies (13)
See All
Special Occasion (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Romantic (10)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Scenic View (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Fun (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Casual (1)
Vegan (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
590 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Stopped for a light supper on a Friday night, always excellent, wonderful presentation and exceptional quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

It was our first dining experience at Provenance for a Mother's Day dinner. It was an exciting ambience. However, the meals took longer than expected to receive after we ordered. The "flat iron steaks" were cold when received at our table. They had to be returned only to be brought back to the table, exactly the same. Quite disappointing.
On the positive side, our waitress was very friendly. My grandson ordered a pizza with pepperoni that was very good.
All in all, a rather spoiling experience for $280.00.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Lovely meal, the museum is the back drop and ambience Devine. Great service , entre options were creative and seasonal and we had an excellent bottle. If wine !! Highly recommend

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 12, 2017

I was with the table of donors

Terrible service… On the important night of the Alex Katz lecture..... there should've been more staff !
We arrived at 5:30 PM and barely had dinner by 6:40 PM
Even though we let our waitress know that we had to go to the lecture at 7 PM they brought the food out at 6:40 and we had been there for more than an hour
We asked for bread three times before it finally arrived ... waitress acted quite put off that we would even ask

And then later The waitress never asked if we were members ...which was quite obvious... and brought the bill without any discount . Then my host who had to wait even longer for it to be changed was late for the lecture

Food portions were so small that my friend had to order more food after the entrée came
And she is not a big woman.

The food was very good...once finally received

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 11, 2017

What a nice surprise at the Cleveland Museum of Art. Came for lunch after seeing the Alex Katz show are really glad we did. Spring flavors and really great execution of the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Entertaining a client from out of town, we all have individual diet restrictions and the restaurant fit all our needs. A little gem inside the big gem: Cleveland museum of art.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This is a terrific restaurant - the food and the service. Brie, our waitress was lovely. We need more like her in the business. Thanks for your good production
Nancy KLein

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food itself was quite good, but the pre-dinner time at the bar is what made our evening. The special cocktails were well balanced and original (and their names had hidden meanings which we enjoyed deciding). The barperson was engaging and charming -- all 3 of us felt like we were back in NYC.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Very nice waitress. My lady and I loved the burrata. The duck confit fried rice was unusual and very delicious. I loved the pork belly that was mixed in as well. Overall a very nice experience. Thank you.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Perfect place for a before the concert dinner. Food was superb. Excellent cocktails as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Good food. Great service. Parking is expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Food and service are both excellent. Scallops were perfectly cooked and presented. Will return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The French onion soup was horrible. It was Luke warm with no broth.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Exceptionally appointed, comfortable venue within the most stunning museum in Cleveland. The food, drinks and service were phenomenal.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Excellent service. I am delighted with the menu change and encourage the chef t do more often, and experiment more often.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Wonderful service & food. Definitely will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This was a nice restaurant. Tthe menu was unusual with lots of different flavors. I chose something highly recommended by the server and really didn't care for it to much. My guest felt the same way. I was pretty surprised to find out on that my parking bill was $11 for lunch. We didn't stay very long. That on top of the cost of the restaurant was just too over-the-top for me.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The four of us enjoyed a lovely meal with portions that were very filling. Our female server was very pleasant and efficient.

Tags: Modern Decor
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

First of all, Provenance does NOT participate in Restaurant Week! They have one on-going prix fixe option loosely related to a current exhibit for $44. That's a far cry from offering 3 options for $33 that all of the other participating restaurants agree to. But after getting over that terrible disappointment - we made a reservation specifically to enjoy the Restaurant Week offerings - we had a wonderful meal. None of the 4 of us opted for the prix fixe. The roasted carrots and the spinach & roasted squash salads were highlights of the meal. The flat iron steak was delightful. We will return again sometime but we know now not to waste an evening of Restaurant Week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellant meal with a creative menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I love the ambiance at Provenance. The service was very good, but the food was even better. I would recommend this place for anyone that's looking for something different, in a different environment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I've been here several times. Love the location & conveniece. The food is just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding Brunch!
Took my fiance here for a late Valentine's meal before visiting the Museum. I got the gravy and biscuits. THE BEST I'VE EVER EATEN.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Provenance is our new University Circle favorite. The service was great, food delicious and novel and atmosphere inside the Museum of Art can't be beat.
They were out of several menu items which was disappointing, but the alternatives were delicious. Our table had the cod, steak and duck, which were all equally good, although the risotto served with the duck was a table favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We have eaten here many times, and always have had great service and great food. The waitress on our recent visit was not very attentive and seemed to disappear for long periods of time. We informed the hostess when she seated us that we were going to a show, and we also informed our waitress of the show time. Our reservation was for 5:30, so it wasn't busy, but we were still 15 minutes late for a 6:45 show right there at the museum.

Not sure if our waitress was new or having a bad night (which was just getting started!), but we'll definitely be back. The food was great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful food and service!!! Surprised us with a very tasty cupcake for a birthday celebration!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The ambiance was nice. The food was creative and taseful. The decor was modern. The atmosphere was pleasant. The seating was comfortable. The people were pleasant. The bar was open. There was a nice selection of handmade drinks with fresh ingredients. Local ingredients were used in the food and drink preparation. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great spot inside the Cleveland Museum of Art. Had a nice dinner and then exploded the museum on a Friday evening. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Located right in the Art Museum you can have an amazing lunch then take your date to see world class art. The food was great, the service was better and the prices were reasonable for a place like that. Excellent wine and spirits selection

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic service. There wasn't anything vegan on the menu and the server and chef made accommodations for me. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is located inside the Cleveland Art Museum. It's small and off the radar. I'm so glad we found it! The atmosphere is quiet and romantic, the staff is highly professional, and the food is exceptional! The drinks have an interesting twist on them that our group enjoyed. It's just another reason for Cleveland to be celebrated as a great food city.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Appetizers very good in particular the Brussels sprouts. The gnocchi very salty and mushy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We went there twice on the same weekend for a couple of special occasions. On Friday the service was quite poor, the waitress could not pronounce several of the menu items including espresso. At the end, she did not ask us if we were members, so we missed out on some savings which is a great perk about being a member.

On Sunday the service was exceptional. Although there was a rather unpleasant dark curly hair in my food a different waitress was very quick remove my plate and place a new order.

They probably should train their staff such that there is more consistency.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

For the past 3 years, I and a small group of friends have visited Provenance in January for Sunday brunch.
This year we were disappointed by the meager selection on the buffet table compared to past years. The menu selections were good and we love the museum connection, but the change was enough to convince us to visit another restaurant for our next brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I love this restaurant and really wish they would serve a vegetarian offering that was not loaded with cheese or high in calories. The menu is fun and creative but really short when it comes to vegetarian options that are healthy. Service was excellent and the chef was willing to accommodate my request for a vegetable omelette yet there wee very few vegetables available--red and green peppers. Oh, for a little kale or zucchini or tomato. And, my guest had a great meal. So, in spite of my concerns, I will continue to go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I proposed to my girlfriend on Friday night at Provenance. It was magical. The service and food were some of the best we've experienced to date. Thank you Provenance!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Delightful first course selection of cheeses and charcuterie

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service was outstanding only outdone by its setting, can't beat being surrounded by priceless art! My wife loved NY strip with cauliflower mash, dughters said the duck was cooked perfect but didn't love the sweetness of the risotto. I enjoyed but will struggle to remember the prefixed menu with oysters and short rib. The tiramasu dessert stole the show with the espresso poured over chairside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The fresh, seasonal food and creative dishes are outstanding. As a member of the Museum who gets a discount, I find the value very good. The downer had little to do with the restaurant itself - at the next table was a particularly loud woman who was discussing topics (gore, crime) not conducive to a good dining experience (she even said, "I probably shouldn't talk about this during dinner"). We have had good dining experiences here before and will be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our lunch here. Would come back again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.