Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Provenance

Provenance is a 76-seat fine dining restaurant and lounge, located inside the world-renowned Cleveland Museum of Art, that features locally sourced and globally inspired cuisine and a prix fixe menu that complements current museum exhibitions. We accept reservations up to one month in advance to the date.

11150 East Blvd.
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday through Friday from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.

Dinner
Wednesday and Friday from 5 to 8 p.m.

Brunch
Saturday from 11:30 a.m. to 2 p.m.
Sunday from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 707-2600

Website:
http://www.provenancecleveland.com/

Catering:
Catering by Provenance offers best-in-class catering services for the Cleveland Museum of Art’s unique and breathtaking venues.

For more information, please contact:
Sherri Schultz, Director of Catering
216-707-6834

Executive Chef:
Douglas Katz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Provenance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Scenic View (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Modern Decor (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Romantic (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Cozy (6)
Business Meals (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Historic (3)
Authentic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Casual (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
People Watching (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
573 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The four of us enjoyed a lovely meal with portions that were very filling. Our female server was very pleasant and efficient.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 3, 2017

First of all, Provenance does NOT participate in Restaurant Week! They have one on-going prix fixe option loosely related to a current exhibit for $44. That's a far cry from offering 3 options for $33 that all of the other participating restaurants agree to. But after getting over that terrible disappointment - we made a reservation specifically to enjoy the Restaurant Week offerings - we had a wonderful meal. None of the 4 of us opted for the prix fixe. The roasted carrots and the spinach & roasted squash salads were highlights of the meal. The flat iron steak was delightful. We will return again sometime but we know now not to waste an evening of Restaurant Week.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellant meal with a creative menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I love the ambiance at Provenance. The service was very good, but the food was even better. I would recommend this place for anyone that's looking for something different, in a different environment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on February 22, 2017

I've been here several times. Love the location & conveniece. The food is just ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding Brunch!
Took my fiance here for a late Valentine's meal before visiting the Museum. I got the gravy and biscuits. THE BEST I'VE EVER EATEN.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Provenance is our new University Circle favorite. The service was great, food delicious and novel and atmosphere inside the Museum of Art can't be beat.
They were out of several menu items which was disappointing, but the alternatives were delicious. Our table had the cod, steak and duck, which were all equally good, although the risotto served with the duck was a table favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We have eaten here many times, and always have had great service and great food. The waitress on our recent visit was not very attentive and seemed to disappear for long periods of time. We informed the hostess when she seated us that we were going to a show, and we also informed our waitress of the show time. Our reservation was for 5:30, so it wasn't busy, but we were still 15 minutes late for a 6:45 show right there at the museum.

Not sure if our waitress was new or having a bad night (which was just getting started!), but we'll definitely be back. The food was great as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful food and service!!! Surprised us with a very tasty cupcake for a birthday celebration!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The ambiance was nice. The food was creative and taseful. The decor was modern. The atmosphere was pleasant. The seating was comfortable. The people were pleasant. The bar was open. There was a nice selection of handmade drinks with fresh ingredients. Local ingredients were used in the food and drink preparation. Overall, it was a very pleasant experience.

Tags: Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great spot inside the Cleveland Museum of Art. Had a nice dinner and then exploded the museum on a Friday evening. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Located right in the Art Museum you can have an amazing lunch then take your date to see world class art. The food was great, the service was better and the prices were reasonable for a place like that. Excellent wine and spirits selection

Tags: Great for Lunch, Modern Decor, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Fantastic service. There wasn't anything vegan on the menu and the server and chef made accommodations for me. Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This is located inside the Cleveland Art Museum. It's small and off the radar. I'm so glad we found it! The atmosphere is quiet and romantic, the staff is highly professional, and the food is exceptional! The drinks have an interesting twist on them that our group enjoyed. It's just another reason for Cleveland to be celebrated as a great food city.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Appetizers very good in particular the Brussels sprouts. The gnocchi very salty and mushy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We went there twice on the same weekend for a couple of special occasions. On Friday the service was quite poor, the waitress could not pronounce several of the menu items including espresso. At the end, she did not ask us if we were members, so we missed out on some savings which is a great perk about being a member.

On Sunday the service was exceptional. Although there was a rather unpleasant dark curly hair in my food a different waitress was very quick remove my plate and place a new order.

They probably should train their staff such that there is more consistency.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

For the past 3 years, I and a small group of friends have visited Provenance in January for Sunday brunch.
This year we were disappointed by the meager selection on the buffet table compared to past years. The menu selections were good and we love the museum connection, but the change was enough to convince us to visit another restaurant for our next brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I love this restaurant and really wish they would serve a vegetarian offering that was not loaded with cheese or high in calories. The menu is fun and creative but really short when it comes to vegetarian options that are healthy. Service was excellent and the chef was willing to accommodate my request for a vegetable omelette yet there wee very few vegetables available--red and green peppers. Oh, for a little kale or zucchini or tomato. And, my guest had a great meal. So, in spite of my concerns, I will continue to go back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I proposed to my girlfriend on Friday night at Provenance. It was magical. The service and food were some of the best we've experienced to date. Thank you Provenance!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Delightful first course selection of cheeses and charcuterie

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Service was outstanding only outdone by its setting, can't beat being surrounded by priceless art! My wife loved NY strip with cauliflower mash, dughters said the duck was cooked perfect but didn't love the sweetness of the risotto. I enjoyed but will struggle to remember the prefixed menu with oysters and short rib. The tiramasu dessert stole the show with the espresso poured over chairside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The fresh, seasonal food and creative dishes are outstanding. As a member of the Museum who gets a discount, I find the value very good. The downer had little to do with the restaurant itself - at the next table was a particularly loud woman who was discussing topics (gore, crime) not conducive to a good dining experience (she even said, "I probably shouldn't talk about this during dinner"). We have had good dining experiences here before and will be back!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We really enjoyed our lunch here. Would come back again.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Good for a Date, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Thx for Christmas Eve lunch coupled with tour of Cleveland Museum of Art exhibition of 19th & 20th Century owned pastels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

While I love the ambiance and the usually good service, I find the food problematic. Sometimes there is over-seasoning (curried chicken salad) or the cream soups too rich. I do enjoy the Sunday brunch but overall find the food iffy.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

What an incredible menu, the food and service was amazing. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone wanting a delicious meal. You should go there even if you're not going to the art museum.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food is always excellent and the service is attentive. I enjoy having lunch and brunch there and plan to try the Happy Hour.

Tags: Scenic View, Happy Hour, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 8, 2016

We try to have lunch or dinner here whenever the opportunity arises and yesterday was my seventieth birthday celebration. What a pleasure it was to have such a well-informed, charming and helpful waitress as Liz, who filled us in on the wines and dishes. The main courses of hamburger and short ribs were delicious even if some of us could not finish them. We always receive considerate attention from the people in the restaurant. The atmosphere is formal but not overpowering and the view from the window is terrific.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Love the venue. When asked what an ingredient was, I was told it was cheese. Turns out I later learned it was fish eggs / something I am allergic to. Very few vegetarian options and nothing vegan the night we were there. As beautiful as the setting is, next time I'll dine at the cafe next door. Sorry, Provenance. If you are going to use less well known ingredients please be sure your servers can adequately describe what they are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Lovely quiet setting inside the Cleveland Museum of Art. They are were able to come up
with options for one of our party who is a vegetarian. Friendly, professional service from
a wait staff that knows the menu and the ingredients. Very attentive to our needs.
Great food and ambiance. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First time at Provenance, we had been to the Cafe at CLE Museum of Art previously. Restaurant exceeded expectations, everything was delicious and service was outstanding. Highly recommend the beet salad and then must try the tiramisu affogato for dessert.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food is nicely prepared and presented, and from local farms. The room is very nice. The staff is knowledgeable but on this occasion a bit overburdened.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

One of the more creative menus and the opportunity to sample several in a single sitting without excess. The Charcuterie Plate was filled with great local things to sample. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Provenance continues to grow its mark in the University circle for a cozy, high quality restaurant with excellent service. Sometimes I wish they had more choices, but keep it in check knowing that it might ruin its fresh and flavorful offerings.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A bit pricey, but you're surrounded by art of the ages.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Despite telling the wait staff of my onion allergy, they brought my entree covered in diced chives as garnish. I would have refused a replacement, but they claimed it would just be a few minutes to replace it. Almost a half hour later after my guest was completely done with their meal, they said sorry about the confusion and delay, but here was a new meal. Manager checked back and alluded to my meal being removed from the bill, as it should have been, but when the bill came there was just a token discount that any Museum member would get. Very disappointed in that. Bad service ruins a good meal every time and this was my birthday lunch out. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a delightful meal here. Service was very attentive without being disruptive and the food was delicious. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent service and reasonable choices make this exclusive restaurant worth a trip if you are visiting University Circle.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As usual the food was excellent. However the service was spotty--a bit too slow at times and the restaurant was not that busy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.