About Provenance

11150 East Blvd.
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Provenance is a 76-seat fine dining restaurant and lounge, located inside the world-renowned Cleveland Museum of Art, that features locally sourced and globally inspired cuisine and a prix fixe menu that complements current museum exhibitions. We accept reservations up to one month in advance to the date.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday through Saturday from 11:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dinner
Wednesday and Friday from 5 to 8 p.m.

Brunch
Sunday from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 707-2600

Website:
http://www.provenancecleveland.com/

Catering:
Catering by Provenance offers best-in-class catering services for the Cleveland Museum of Art’s unique and breathtaking venues.

For more information, please contact:
Sherri Schultz, Director of Catering
216-707-6834

Executive Chef:
Douglas Katz

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Provenance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Great for Lunch
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in University Circle ›

Fit for Foodies (34)
Special Occasion (31)
Great for Lunch (27)
See All
Great for Brunch (25)
Romantic (9)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Scenic View (4)
Notable Wine List (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
492 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

One of my favorite places in the Univers ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

One of my favorite places in the University Circle area! Whenever we are at the Cleveland Museum of Art, we plan a lunch or dinner here. Although I have a slew of food intolerances, they are always able to help me adapt one or more of the dishes so that I can eat them. Make certain to check out the prix fixe or special menu items related to a current exhibition!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The watermelon salad and ravioletti were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

The watermelon salad and ravioletti were delicious; flavor profiles hit all the right marks and the presentation was beautiful. Great ambiance and service, the perfect luncheon spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our brunch was absolutely delicious and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our brunch was absolutely delicious and the service was truly outstanding. It is one of our very favorite restaurants in Cleveland, set in the beautiful Cleveland Museum of Art.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think the restaurant has improved sinc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I think the restaurant has improved since opening. Everything was as it should be. Very creative mixed drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice way to spend Sunday afternoon in ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A nice way to spend Sunday afternoon in Cleveland. A nice selection of entre's together with a relaxed atmosphere and attentive service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was an excellent brunch experience. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was an excellent brunch experience. Portions were large and the food was delicious. It is an excellent venue for any occasion and then take a stroll through the beautiful art museum.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

pleasant experience. food very good. sal ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

pleasant experience. food very good. salads & rolls layout simple. a bit overwhelmed that we had two servers and there were only two of us brunchimg. been there before and will be there again

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice brunch: loved the "starter table" ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice brunch: loved the "starter table" with fresh fruit/ berries, mini scones & other pastries, nice green salad, yogurt etc....Bloody Mary was excellent & mimosa was very good.

Great way to spend a super hot day: art museum brunch & visit!

Negative: beautiful view out provenance windows is gone:(...orange barrels etc now!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first visit to Provenance. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our first visit to Provenance. We timed our 5pm reservation so we would be done in time for a tour of the museum at 6:30. We began with oysters with asparagus pearls and house-fermented chili, and tuna tartar. Oysters may not be Provenance's strong suit. They were fresh and briny, but the chili was virtually non-existent. Interesting presentation on a bed of pickled seaweed - which you don't eat, as we quickly learned. The tuna tartar was fresh and tasty, especially piled onto a veggie chip. For dinner we had the fenneled scallops and the young dijon hare. The scallops were perfectly seared and seared with potato cubes that I think were cooked sous vide and then fried. The hare was fall-off-the-bone tender, served on a bed of flageolet and greens. A small but perfectly adequate wine selection. Wonderful service, both from the bartender, who got us started with beverages when we arrived before the dining room was open, and from our server. This is a great place to dine, especially if you're touring the museum either before or after. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Provenance was a beautiful and refined d ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Provenance was a beautiful and refined dining experience. I went there on a date with my boyfriend, and we enjoyed the atmosphere and the service. The dishes were nicely plated and tasted delicious. Entrees are pricier, but I had an appetizer which was filling. Would recommend for a fancier evening out or for a high-end business meeting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food, waiter young inexperienc ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food, waiter young inexperienced, forgot an appetizer order.

For the level of Food, I would seek or train wait staff to a more professional level.

I have to say usually the opposite is true, but here the food was delightful as far as main courses.

Thank You

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

My food was good, but my Mom's steak was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My food was good, but my Mom's steak was not. Our waiter had no personality and was kind of angry. I hope they improve - it's a beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We've dined here several times and alway ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We've dined here several times and always love it. This time the service was a little off. So I call it a one time thing really, and will certainly try again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We chose Provenance to celebrate my wife ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We chose Provenance to celebrate my wife's birthday- and it was such as special as we had hoped: a lovely setting, great menu, extraordinary service and delicious food. We really enjoyed the evening and hope to return when we come back to Cleveland.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch!

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, inventive, fresh and tasty fo ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Wonderful, inventive, fresh and tasty food in an elegant yet relaxed setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice complimentt to the Art Museum

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Attending a special event at the Cleveland Museum of Art was enhanced by lunch at Provenance. The setting is now opened up unveiling the view out the windows where it was previously screened out due to construction. Nice wine selections. Our server was very attentive. It definitely rounds out a museum visit!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Every morsel that hit your palate was de ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Every morsel that hit your palate was delicious.

Lots of attention to detail and the service was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It's always a treat to dine at the museu ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

It's always a treat to dine at the museum and then wander through the galleries. Provenance is a wonderful asset to CMA!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having enjoyed Katz's fire, food and dri ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Having enjoyed Katz's fire, food and drink in Shaker Square many times, I had high expectations for Provenance, further enhanced by the prestigious context, the CMA. They were disappointed. I started with the fennel leek tart, which was OK, but which lacked character and which the embellishments did not appease. I then ordered the young hare dijon, which was underwhelming. The hare was stringy and appeared to have been cooked days ago, and barely reheated when placed on top of the beans. If the meat flavor was supposed to be infused in the beans, I could not tell and there appeared to be little mustard flavor (assuming that the use of dijon in the title of the dish implied some mustard flavoring) in the beans or hare. Even the raab was tough (not crunchy). Other choices on the menu look appealing for a try in the future, but given this experience, I am reticent to quickly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We had lunch here. Ordered Curry Mussels ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had lunch here. Ordered Curry Mussels B-, Young hare dijon B-, Local lamb claybread C, Rhubarb strudel D. Ambiance was nice but a bit boring, Service was "kind of nice" but forgetful and not professional. Value was bad for the experience received. No coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

great food, wonderful service

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

we had a wonderful meal of lamb cooked perfectly. the service was wonderful and not over-bearing. The quality and creativity of the menu as an unexpected treat. The salad was good, the main dish had a different and creative side dish of barley that went well with the lamb.

the chocolate tart with peanut butter was too salty and the puree accompanying it was sour.

The ice cream and cookie were good, not special.

The rest of the meal was wonderful and if the desserts come up to the level of the entrée, it will be a premier venue in which to relax and eat at the art museum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Being a part of the Cleveland Museum of ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Being a part of the Cleveland Museum of Art and close to Severance Hall, this would be a lovely place before or after visiting either of these locations. The food, while presented beautifully, was overcooked. This was especially sad as they asked me how I liked my duck breast and it still came out well done. The skin on my companion's chicken was also tough and hard to cut. Otherwise the salads, vegetables, sides and desserts were excellent. I would try again and hope that it was an off day by the chefs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner for my wife's birthday. Excellen ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Dinner for my wife's birthday. Excellent choice. Talented bartender . Service quietly attentive . Food well prepared and presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a wonderful Mothers Day brunch. T ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a wonderful Mothers Day brunch. The food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dinner for Friday MIX

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Have been to Provenance several times and always food is exceptional. Oyster appetizer to start, but had to get two so we each got to try the three types. Also shared a quail egg tart, yummy. Dinners were giant scallops (cooked perfectly) and duck (ala carte from prix fixe menu). Drinks and service were very good as well. It was a nice break in the middle of the CMA Jazz MIX event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Dinner

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner at the Provenance last Friday evening after enjoying the Pharaoh exhibit. The food, service and ambiance all were first-class and we enjoyed the our experience a lot. We look forward to our next visit in the near future. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Eat at the bar

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

I had high expectations for Provenance. The server staff was very friendly, the bartender (excellent) but they were stretched too thin. I made a change to my lunch choice but somehow I lost my second course (I was the only one who ordered the 2nd course-oysters). After our cocktails we ordered a bottle of wine. We poured the second glasses because no one was coming to refill.

I asked for water again and she apologized and refilled but again, they were too stretched for so many tables and this was a Thursday. The food was okay, I wasn't blown away. One person had chicken salad, it was tasty and looked good). The steak was okay but cut up so it wasn't warm to the last bite and we had to ask for the potatoes. The description said fingerlings. It didn't mention they were cold and we felt as if we asked for a special side and not because it didn't come out with the meal. I had the lamb. It was a little overcooked but tasty. Again, I went to Alley Cat Oyster Bar and was blown away. If it weren't for the fact the I was adventurous in food I would have went back instead of trying a new experience. The fennel tart and soup was excellent. I would eat at the cafeteria next door anytime. It's expensive but delicious. I wouldn't return to the restaurant for more than drinks at the bar.

The value was okay. The wine hiked the bill up. Otherwise it would have been under $100 for three people.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Enjoyable

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Nice place to meet friends and take in an hour in the museum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Lunch after Museum

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

As always an outstanding dining experience. Good service, great food and outstanding end to a wonderful day at the museum, "Coffee With The Curator".

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Slow service, mediocre food

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We waited 45 minutes for the food to be served. That made for a very long lunch. And the food was mediocre at best. Too bad this prime location is given to such a bad restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Our server totally ruined our dinner!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was wonderful, and the ambience was lovely (even in the "new" annex next to the really hopping scene in the main restaurant). However, we had such a disappointing experience with our server that she totally ruined our time there and thus our review, which would have otherwise rated at least all four stars, and possibly even a five-star overall rating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Limited but very nice menu. A lovely pla ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 20, 2016

Limited but very nice menu. A lovely place to have lunch when visiting Cleveland Art Museum. Food is excellent; quantities are modest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Construction going on outside

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

No noise issues, but the view has been removed by frosting the windows. Even so, very pleased with the food, service, atmosphere and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Poor Service

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server ruined our meal. We were hurried through the entire meal by our server. We weren't give the chance to order appetizers or dessert ( I had to ask for the dessert menu). I also had ketchup spilled on me and the table next to us and our waitress didn't once apologize to us or even check to see if any had got on me, which it did.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

My meal was over cooked & staff seemed unhappy.

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

I love the CMA but the bar looks uninviting and the staff seems unhappy. I was there for dinner and the blinds were all closed because of direct sunshine. My "special exhibit" meal of duck breast and lentil rice was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Outstanding Art Museum Restaurant

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Outstanding restaurants are rare. Outstanding restaurants in Art Museums are virtually non-existent. Provenance is a tremendous restaurant in a world-class art museum. The drinks are innovative, the atmosphere relaxed, the service impeccable, and the food exquisite. One of my favorite restaurants in Cleveland, which happens to be located in the Cleveland Museum of Art.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

this was our second time here and we loved it this time as much as we did our last visit. Food was delicious in a beautiful setting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Art of Dining

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

An excellent restaurant with imaginative, high quality food combined with a very nice wine list, well stocked bar, nice atmosphere and service in the world class Cleveland Museum of Art and you have an memorable and rewarding experience

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch Delight!

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband and I invited a friend and her daughter for Sunday Brunch and we were very satisfied with our experience. The salad/pastry bar was very inviting and the fruits and salad and pastries were fresh. My husband's steak was perfection and the other dishes were good. My only complaint was that my quiche was just a bit too salty which obscured the flavor. Also, I wish the waiter had asked if I was a museum member because I forgot to give him my membership card and didn't receive the 10% discount. All in all it was a pleasant experience and we'll definitely return. (Can't wait until the construction is done so that we can have a nice view of the outdoors.)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.