About Provenance

11150 East Blvd.
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Provenance is a 76-seat fine dining restaurant and lounge, located inside the world-renowned Cleveland Museum of Art, that features locally sourced and globally inspired cuisine and a prix fixe menu that complements current museum exhibitions. We accept reservations up to one month in advance to the date.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday through Saturday from 11:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dinner
Wednesday and Friday from 5 to 8 p.m.

Brunch
Sunday from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 707-2600

Website:
http://www.provenancecleveland.com/

Catering:
Catering by Provenance offers best-in-class catering services for the Cleveland Museum of Art’s unique and breathtaking venues.

For more information, please contact:
Sherri Schultz, Director of Catering
216-707-6834

Executive Chef:
Douglas Katz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Holiday High Tea

Saturdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Holiday High Tea

Saturdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Provenance's annual high tea returns to the Cleveland Museum of Art! December 10 and 17 11:30am-3pm & December 24 and 31 11:30am-2:30pm. Reservation only and must be made by calling 216-707-2600. $30 per person/ $18 per child. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Dec 10, 2016 - Dec 31, 2016 on Saturdays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Provenance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Fit for Foodies
Cleveland
2 More
American
Cleveland
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in University Circle ›

Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Lunch (14)
Special Occasion (14)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Cozy (9)
Scenic View (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Seasonal (4)
Romantic (4)
Business Meals (4)
Historic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Vegan (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
People Watching (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Family Style (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
S
529 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Love the venue. When asked what an ingre ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the venue. When asked what an ingredient was, I was told it was cheese. Turns out I later learned it was fish eggs / something I am allergic to. Very few vegetarian options and nothing vegan the night we were there. As beautiful as the setting is, next time I'll dine at the cafe next door. Sorry, Provenance. If you are going to use less well known ingredients please be sure your servers can adequately describe what they are.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Lovely quiet setting inside the Clevelan ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Lovely quiet setting inside the Cleveland Museum of Art. They are were able to come up

with options for one of our party who is a vegetarian. Friendly, professional service from

a wait staff that knows the menu and the ingredients. Very attentive to our needs.

Great food and ambiance. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time at Provenance, we had been to ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 19, 2016

First time at Provenance, we had been to the Cafe at CLE Museum of Art previously. Restaurant exceeded expectations, everything was delicious and service was outstanding. Highly recommend the beet salad and then must try the tiramisu affogato for dessert.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is nicely prepared and presente ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food is nicely prepared and presented, and from local farms. The room is very nice. The staff is knowledgeable but on this occasion a bit overburdened.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

One of the more creative menus and the o ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 18, 2016

One of the more creative menus and the opportunity to sample several in a single sitting without excess. The Charcuterie Plate was filled with great local things to sample. Service was outstanding.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Provenance continues to grow its mark in ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Provenance continues to grow its mark in the University circle for a cozy, high quality restaurant with excellent service. Sometimes I wish they had more choices, but keep it in check knowing that it might ruin its fresh and flavorful offerings.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

A bit pricey, but you're surrounded by a ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A bit pricey, but you're surrounded by art of the ages.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Despite telling the wait staff of my oni ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Despite telling the wait staff of my onion allergy, they brought my entree covered in diced chives as garnish. I would have refused a replacement, but they claimed it would just be a few minutes to replace it. Almost a half hour later after my guest was completely done with their meal, they said sorry about the confusion and delay, but here was a new meal. Manager checked back and alluded to my meal being removed from the bill, as it should have been, but when the bill came there was just a token discount that any Museum member would get. Very disappointed in that. Bad service ruins a good meal every time and this was my birthday lunch out. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We had a delightful meal here. Service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a delightful meal here. Service was very attentive without being disruptive and the food was delicious. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and reasonable choices ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Excellent service and reasonable choices make this exclusive restaurant worth a trip if you are visiting University Circle.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

As usual the food was excellent. Howeve ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 30, 2016

As usual the food was excellent. However the service was spotty--a bit too slow at times and the restaurant was not that busy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Provenance is charming for a relaxed lun ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Provenance is charming for a relaxed lunch at the Art Museum. Food is good and service is pleasant. It would be nice to see some variation on the menu, which has bene the same since we first went there. Portions can be modest, to say the least.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We always enjoy dining there, and our gu ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We always enjoy dining there, and our guests have always been pleased. We are already looking forward to our next visit.

The cocktails are especially well done.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Provenance is a gem of a restaurant loca ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Provenance is a gem of a restaurant located in the Cleveland Museum of Art. It is cozy, with a peaceful view out to the garden, and is situated just off the "great room" at the heart of the museum. The menu is simple but satisfying and the food is well prepared. The staff is friendly and professional, and the overall atmosphere is refined and uplifting. We love to go there for Sunday brunch followed by a lazy walk through a few galleries, and of course a quick troll through the gift shop.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

when combined with a visit to CMA to vie ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 19, 2016

when combined with a visit to CMA to view art and/or a concert or film this makes for a lovely evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

We are never disappointed when we go to ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We are never disappointed when we go to any of Doug Katz's establishments. Provenance is a wonderful place to entertain visiting guests while we show off our fabulous Art Museum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was very quiet and refine ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The restaurant was very quiet and refined. A great step up from the types of eateries in the many museums we have been. We went for the Sunday Brunch. They have a wonderful Chef's Table with a variety of goodies. You can order by itself or as a free add-on with a main meal. They also have a nice selection of morning cocktails. Oh, and their decaf was excellent. Finally it's nice to have a wonderful break between all the exhibitions and our seeing our favorite pieces.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good albeit for the pr ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was very good albeit for the price point I would not expect otherwise. It was a bit noisy because of an event taking place outside in the museum, otherwise it would have been a pleasant noise level. The only slight stumble was that they could not find a cold chiller to place my large bottle of San Pellegrino into. I'm glad I didn't order a white wine as it would have been warm rather quickly. That minor point aside it was a good dining experience which I'd recommend.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful wonderful Great service, food ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Wonderful wonderful

Great service, food, ambience

Perfect lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely place to dine and talk. Lindsey ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Lovely place to dine and talk. Lindsey was our server and she was outstanding.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Vegan, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic menu - local & seasonal-inspir ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Fantastic menu - local & seasonal-inspired creative twists on great American classics. Ambiance and service were top-notch!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our party of four enjoyed the food, serv ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Our party of four enjoyed the food, service and view. The room boasts a very sophisticated décor, showing much attention to detail. The service was responsive and friendly. The seating was comfortable and uncrowded. An extremely appropriate locale for a business lunch. Overall, this is an expertly managed restaurant, part of the great Cleveland restaurant scene.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Provenance is my favorite "special lunch ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Provenance is my favorite "special lunch" restaurant--birthday, anniversary, or simply a place to linger with good friends. For food, service, and ambience, it's the tops--seasonal menu that is always delicious and exciting!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I like it there, the view is nice, the f ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I like it there, the view is nice, the food is good, and the art museum environment is great.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for a nice Sunday brunch and enj ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We went for a nice Sunday brunch and enjoyed the special brunch menu items. Service was very attentive and the food was hot and delicious when served. I would definitely return for brunch at Provenance. Since the restaurant is in the Cleveland Museum of Art, it's a great place to begin or end a walk thru Cleveland's beautiful landmark!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a reservation for the restaurant, ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We had a reservation for the restaurant, but didn't realize the was separate from the cafeteria and ate at the cafeteria. However, the food was excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed it.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. The host, waitress, and b ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great service. The host, waitress, and busser were all very attentive and friendly. Great food. We will be back!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food excellent as always. This is a goo ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food excellent as always. This is a good place to go to impress out-of-town guests.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great restaurant in the heart of the Cle ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great restaurant in the heart of the Cleveland Art Museum - fantastic way to make a day of exhibits and nice meal. Menu is very inventive - we had a table of 6 and everyone enjoyed a wide variety of courses from seafood to soup to vegetarian. Some things were a little "precious" for my taste (raw honeycomb in salad - pretty but awkward when eating). Service was not up to par - waitress seemed overwhelmed with table for 6 and was not attentive to clearing plates, refilling drinks or following up for coffee/dessert. Rest of staff stepped up to plate. Otherwise would give a 5 - will definitely be back - previous times there were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best food will return often. Chef is inc ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Best food will return often. Chef is incredible!Food is so good you want one of everything if haven't been go you'll be glad you did.

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have entertained friends at Provenance ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I have entertained friends at Provenance on two occasions. They were surprised and delighted that I had found a restaurant where we could linger to enjoy a delicious lunch and visit. The serve staff was personable and welcoming. The food was carefully prepared and presented. I look forward to returning frequently.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there when the Museum was having ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 9, 2016

We were there when the Museum was having its Mix Party so it was busier and louder than usual. The food is very good but if you are looking for normal steak and potatoes, you won't find it here which is fine. My only complaint is that the main coarse arrived too soon, not enough time to enjoy my first glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Someone needs to make sure the kitchen i ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Someone needs to make sure the kitchen is performing. I had carrot-ginger soup. Too strong on the ginger. I thought it was a rather odd texture. 2 Caesar salads were just okay. The leek tart was overdone. Almost forgot the special lemon dessert which was divine & beautifully presented. This is my second bad meal in a row. Would hate not be able to bring guests for lunch & seeing the wonderful art museum.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

This was my fourth visit. The prixe fixe ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was my fourth visit. The prixe fixe menu designed to accompany the Indian Mughal art exhibit sounded first-rate. Unfortunately, it was not. The first course - a fish curry - was delicious and up to par for Provenance. The second course - lamb chops with a curry crust - was fair. While the lamb was tender, it had no particularly unique flavor. The eggplant that accompanied the dish was awful - bland and seemingly not fresh. The basmati rice was also awful - not basmati, and bland by even plain white rice standards. I probably made a poor selection of meal choices knowing that Indian food requires an experienced hand, but this was a disappointment from an otherwise typically very good restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The boys and I took my wife/mom there fo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The boys and I took my wife/mom there for her birthday, absolutely excellent choice, everything we had was fresh, good portions and great taste, in an awesome and relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We don't fine at Provenance often becaus ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 26, 2016

We don't fine at Provenance often because it is pricey, but we always leave happy. The food is delicious and the service is also top-rate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite places in the Univers ...

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of my favorite places in the University Circle area! Whenever we are at the Cleveland Museum of Art, we plan a lunch or dinner here. Although I have a slew of food intolerances, they are always able to help me adapt one or more of the dishes so that I can eat them. Make certain to check out the prix fixe or special menu items related to a current exhibition!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The watermelon salad and ravioletti were ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 18, 2016

The watermelon salad and ravioletti were delicious; flavor profiles hit all the right marks and the presentation was beautiful. Great ambiance and service, the perfect luncheon spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our brunch was absolutely delicious and ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our brunch was absolutely delicious and the service was truly outstanding. It is one of our very favorite restaurants in Cleveland, set in the beautiful Cleveland Museum of Art.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.