About Provenance

11150 East Blvd.
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Provenance is a 76-seat fine dining restaurant and lounge, located inside the world-renowned Cleveland Museum of Art, that features locally sourced and globally inspired cuisine and a prix fixe menu that complements current museum exhibitions. We accept reservations up to one month in advance to the date.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday through Saturday from 11:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dinner
Wednesday and Friday from 5 to 8 p.m.

Brunch
Sunday from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 707-2600

Website:
http://www.provenancecleveland.com/

Catering:
Catering by Provenance offers best-in-class catering services for the Cleveland Museum of Art’s unique and breathtaking venues.

For more information, please contact:
Sherri Schultz, Director of Catering
216-707-6834

Executive Chef:
Douglas Katz

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Provenance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Great for Lunch
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in University Circle ›

special occasion (44)
fit for foodies (42)
great for lunch (38)
See All
great for brunch (37)
romantic (16)
good for groups (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
hot spot (8)
scenic view (7)
notable wine list (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
473 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's always a treat to dine at the museu ...

Dined 3 days ago

It's always a treat to dine at the museum and then wander through the galleries. Provenance is a wonderful asset to CMA!

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Having enjoyed Katz's fire, food and dri ...

Dined 4 days ago

Having enjoyed Katz's fire, food and drink in Shaker Square many times, I had high expectations for Provenance, further enhanced by the prestigious context, the CMA. They were disappointed. I started with the fennel leek tart, which was OK, but which lacked character and which the embellishments did not appease. I then ordered the young hare dijon, which was underwhelming. The hare was stringy and appeared to have been cooked days ago, and barely reheated when placed on top of the beans. If the meat flavor was supposed to be infused in the beans, I could not tell and there appeared to be little mustard flavor (assuming that the use of dijon in the title of the dish implied some mustard flavoring) in the beans or hare. Even the raab was tough (not crunchy). Other choices on the menu look appealing for a try in the future, but given this experience, I am reticent to quickly return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

great food, wonderful service

Dined on May 18, 2016

we had a wonderful meal of lamb cooked perfectly. the service was wonderful and not over-bearing. The quality and creativity of the menu as an unexpected treat. The salad was good, the main dish had a different and creative side dish of barley that went well with the lamb. the chocolate tart with peanut butter was too salty and the puree accompanying it was sour. The ice cream and cookie were good, not special. The rest of the meal was wonderful and if the desserts come up to the level of the entrée, it will be a premier venue in which to relax and eat at the art museum.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Being a part of the Cleveland Museum of ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Being a part of the Cleveland Museum of Art and close to Severance Hall, this would be a lovely place before or after visiting either of these locations. The food, while presented beautifully, was overcooked. This was especially sad as they asked me how I liked my duck breast and it still came out well done. The skin on my companion's chicken was also tough and hard to cut. Otherwise the salads, vegetables, sides and desserts were excellent. I would try again and hope that it was an off day by the chefs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner for my wife's birthday. Excellen ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Dinner for my wife's birthday. Excellent choice. Talented bartender . Service quietly attentive . Food well prepared and presented.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a wonderful Mothers Day brunch. T ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a wonderful Mothers Day brunch. The food and service were excellent.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding dinner for Friday MIX

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Have been to Provenance several times and always food is exceptional. Oyster appetizer to start, but had to get two so we each got to try the three types. Also shared a quail egg tart, yummy. Dinners were giant scallops (cooked perfectly) and duck (ala carte from prix fixe menu). Drinks and service were very good as well. It was a nice break in the middle of the CMA Jazz MIX event.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Dinner

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner at the Provenance last Friday evening after enjoying the Pharaoh exhibit. The food, service and ambiance all were first-class and we enjoyed the our experience a lot. We look forward to our next visit in the near future. Thanks!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Eat at the bar

Dined on May 5, 2016

I had high expectations for Provenance. The server staff was very friendly, the bartender (excellent) but they were stretched too thin. I made a change to my lunch choice but somehow I lost my second course (I was the only one who ordered the 2nd course-oysters). After our cocktails we ordered a bottle of wine. We poured the second glasses because no one was coming to refill. I asked for water again and she apologized and refilled but again, they were too stretched for so many tables and this was a Thursday. The food was okay, I wasn't blown away. One person had chicken salad, it was tasty and looked good). The steak was okay but cut up so it wasn't warm to the last bite and we had to ask for the potatoes. The description said fingerlings. It didn't mention they were cold and we felt as if we asked for a special side and not because it didn't come out with the meal. I had the lamb. It was a little overcooked but tasty. Again, I went to Alley Cat Oyster Bar and was blown away. If it weren't for the fact the I was adventurous in food I would have went back instead of trying a new experience. The fennel tart and soup was excellent. I would eat at the cafeteria next door anytime. It's expensive but delicious. I wouldn't return to the restaurant for more than drinks at the bar. The value was okay. The wine hiked the bill up. Otherwise it would have been under $100 for three people.

Tags: great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Enjoyable

Dined on May 4, 2016

Nice place to meet friends and take in an hour in the museum.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Lunch after Museum

Dined on May 4, 2016

As always an outstanding dining experience. Good service, great food and outstanding end to a wonderful day at the museum, "Coffee With The Curator".

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Slow service, mediocre food

Dined on April 30, 2016

We waited 45 minutes for the food to be served. That made for a very long lunch. And the food was mediocre at best. Too bad this prime location is given to such a bad restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Our server totally ruined our dinner!

Dined on April 29, 2016

The food was wonderful, and the ambience was lovely (even in the "new" annex next to the really hopping scene in the main restaurant). However, we had such a disappointing experience with our server that she totally ruined our time there and thus our review, which would have otherwise rated at least all four stars, and possibly even a five-star overall rating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Limited but very nice menu. A lovely pla ...

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Limited but very nice menu. A lovely place to have lunch when visiting Cleveland Art Museum. Food is excellent; quantities are modest.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Construction going on outside

Dined on April 17, 2016

No noise issues, but the view has been removed by frosting the windows. Even so, very pleased with the food, service, atmosphere and value.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Poor Service

Dined on April 16, 2016

Our server ruined our meal. We were hurried through the entire meal by our server. We weren't give the chance to order appetizers or dessert ( I had to ask for the dessert menu). I also had ketchup spilled on me and the table next to us and our waitress didn't once apologize to us or even check to see if any had got on me, which it did.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

My meal was over cooked & staff seemed unhappy.

Dined on April 15, 2016

I love the CMA but the bar looks uninviting and the staff seems unhappy. I was there for dinner and the blinds were all closed because of direct sunshine. My "special exhibit" meal of duck breast and lentil rice was over cooked.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Art Museum Restaurant

Dined on April 6, 2016

Outstanding restaurants are rare. Outstanding restaurants in Art Museums are virtually non-existent. Provenance is a tremendous restaurant in a world-class art museum. The drinks are innovative, the atmosphere relaxed, the service impeccable, and the food exquisite. One of my favorite restaurants in Cleveland, which happens to be located in the Cleveland Museum of Art.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent

Dined on April 5, 2016

this was our second time here and we loved it this time as much as we did our last visit. Food was delicious in a beautiful setting.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Art of Dining

Dined on April 1, 2016

An excellent restaurant with imaginative, high quality food combined with a very nice wine list, well stocked bar, nice atmosphere and service in the world class Cleveland Museum of Art and you have an memorable and rewarding experience

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easter Brunch Delight!

Dined on March 27, 2016

My husband and I invited a friend and her daughter for Sunday Brunch and we were very satisfied with our experience. The salad/pastry bar was very inviting and the fruits and salad and pastries were fresh. My husband's steak was perfection and the other dishes were good. My only complaint was that my quiche was just a bit too salty which obscured the flavor. Also, I wish the waiter had asked if I was a museum member because I forgot to give him my membership card and didn't receive the 10% discount. All in all it was a pleasant experience and we'll definitely return. (Can't wait until the construction is done so that we can have a nice view of the outdoors.)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Enjoyed Easter brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

We went for Easter brunch. It was our first time at provenance. Truly enjoyed it. We will come back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic setting and delicious brunch.

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Fantastic setting and delicious brunch.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An Egyptian Dinner

Dined on March 25, 2016

Outstandingly creative food, especially the prix fixe dinner which is themed around one of the special exhibits. Will have to return to eat off the regular menu that also had several dishes that appealed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Doesn't miss for service, food, and more

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great Bibb salad. Pasta pillows (angoletti?) and peas were a surprising hit. Not only vegetarians would enjoy them. Fish very nicely done and impressively presented in parchment. Wines by the glass are great values and intelligently presented by types; for example reds by light, medium and full body. Service was impeccable. CMA continues to burnish its reputation for hospitality with Chef Katz and the food service group here.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it every time

Dined on March 20, 2016

This was probably my fourth or fifth visit to Provenance. Brunch is so very good there - beautiful and bountiful buffet, interesting entrees, and a wide variety of beverages, alcoholic and non. The atmosphere is lovely but friendly and the service is always attentive without being overbearing. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent all around

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

Great service. Excellent food. Quiet/elegant atmosphere. Went here for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. Convenient if you want to spend some time at the museum.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New menu has some knock-out dishes

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

I've only tried two of the new dishes, the rocket salad and the spring pea agnoletti, but both were real standouts--dishes I would travel far to eat. And here they are in our back yard! Service was excellent, too. I look forward to trying more of the delights on the new menu, especially the Egyptian prix fixe menu.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

Nice. Great miso soup!!!

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Nice. Great miso soup!!!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Dinner, exceptional food

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

Friday night dinner as part of Feb MIX event. Was surprised that I could get reservations that morning. Everything we tried was great. Apple & Miso soup, Califlower/Beet/Quinoa salad to start (soup was amazing). Venison/gruyere/potato and Scallops dinners were exceptional as well. We've been to Provenance several times and each was very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Hard to believe that you can dine on a g ...

vip
Dined on February 4, 2016

Hard to believe that you can dine on a gorgeous rack of venison in a museum. Delicious. Nice atmosphere and good service. The wine selection could be a bit better.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice late lunch on Saturday, nephew ...

Dined on January 30, 2016

Very nice late lunch on Saturday, nephew was pleased as well

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely lovely

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

Every part of the experience was relaxing, beautiful and delicious. Not really expensive and great time.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Improved

vip
Dined on January 28, 2016

This is the fourth or fifth time I have eaten at Provenance. I was really underwhelmed with both the lunches and dinners I have had there, but love the idea of the restaurant at such a great venue and am a big Doug Katz fan. This meal was far better and the service was really good. So I am hoping this uptick is the direction of the a well placed restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best meal I have had in Cleveland. Over ...

Dined on January 17, 2016

Best meal I have had in Cleveland. Overall experience was perfect! Benedict was excellent! Waitress Erin was the best! We will be back!

food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Not as good

Dined on January 9, 2016

We were a bit disappointed at our latest meal at Provenance. My salad was a bit wilted, the bread didn't seem fresh and the prices higher than in the past. We've had wonderful experiences at this restaurant before, but this wasn't one of them. Our server was very pleasant, but our dinner this time wasn't up to the usual standards.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Gem at the Cleveland Museum of Art

Dined on January 5, 2016

A wonderful respite during a day trip from Pittsburgh to see the last day of a special exhibit. The food was excellent and the service helpful. A real treat

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Scrumptious

Dined on January 5, 2016

I loved the miso soup. The addition of fresh fennel was a welcome brightness and crunch to cut through the creamy soup.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

We enjoyed brunch at Provenance

Dined on January 3, 2016

Combining brunch with a tour of the Cleveland Museum of Art is lovely, but certainly not a foodie event or good value. The best part of their brunch is the Chef's table, with salad, fresh fruit, yogurt and fabulous mini pastries. We ordered the crab quiche, which had a great pastry crust, but was disappointing. It was very eggy with only a little cheese. While crab and lobster quiches sound appealing, seafood rarely goes well with cheese and the tried and true Quiche Lorraine is always better. The stuffed french toast had too much bread and not enough "stuffing." We wished we had picked up fresh berries from the Chef's table to add to the meager amount of fruit included with the French toast. Our server was very nice, and the overall experience was worth the visit.

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

Disappointed!

Dined on December 27, 2015

I had high hopes for Provenance based on reviews I had read earlier, but the brunch was disappointing to say the least. First of all, it's not the type of brunch where items are laid out on a table; you order brunch items off a menu. I ordered the crabmeat quiche and it came lukewarm and had a rubbery texture like it had been reheated instead of made fresh. The other 3 people at my table said their food was average at best, and for this we paid nearly $100. None of us had any drinks other than water and one tea. The atmosphere is surprisingly cold; the large picture windows were glazed over to obstruct the construction view outside and the rest of the decor was rather institutional looking -- not what I expected for a high-end restaurant at the Cleveland Museum of Art!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.