About Provenance

11150 East Blvd.
Cleveland, OH 44106
View Larger Map

Provenance is a 76-seat fine dining restaurant and lounge, located inside the world-renowned Cleveland Museum of Art, that features locally sourced and globally inspired cuisine and a prix fixe menu that complements current museum exhibitions. We accept reservations up to one month in advance to the date.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch
Tuesday through Saturday from 11:30 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dinner
Wednesday and Friday from 5 to 8 p.m.

Brunch
Sunday from 11 a.m. to 3 p.m.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(216) 707-2600

Website:
http://www.provenancecleveland.com/

Catering:
Catering by Provenance offers best-in-class catering services for the Cleveland Museum of Art’s unique and breathtaking venues.

For more information, please contact:
Sherri Schultz, Director of Catering
216-707-6834

Executive Chef:
Douglas Katz

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00

Wednesday Oct 19, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00

Wednesday Oct 19, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM

Details

Five Course Prix Fixe Meal for $120.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. $120 per person plus tax and 20% gratuity. $100 for museum members. Special valid on Wednesday Oct 19, 2016 from 6:30 PM - 9:00 PM.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Wed 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Fri 5:00PM - 5:45PM

Provenance Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
American
Cleveland / Akron / Canton
Great for Lunch
Cleveland
1 More
American
Cleveland
Best Restaurants in University Circle ›

Fit for Foodies (23)
Great for Lunch (20)
Special Occasion (18)
See All
Great for Brunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Romantic (7)
Good for a Date (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Scenic View (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Cozy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Business Meals (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
People Watching (1)
Healthy (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
503 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went for a nice Sunday brunch and enj ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went for a nice Sunday brunch and enjoyed the special brunch menu items. Service was very attentive and the food was hot and delicious when served. I would definitely return for brunch at Provenance. Since the restaurant is in the Cleveland Museum of Art, it's a great place to begin or end a walk thru Cleveland's beautiful landmark!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service. The host, waitress, and b ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great service. The host, waitress, and busser were all very attentive and friendly. Great food. We will be back!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food excellent as always. This is a goo ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food excellent as always. This is a good place to go to impress out-of-town guests.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great restaurant in the heart of the Cle ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great restaurant in the heart of the Cleveland Art Museum - fantastic way to make a day of exhibits and nice meal. Menu is very inventive - we had a table of 6 and everyone enjoyed a wide variety of courses from seafood to soup to vegetarian. Some things were a little "precious" for my taste (raw honeycomb in salad - pretty but awkward when eating). Service was not up to par - waitress seemed overwhelmed with table for 6 and was not attentive to clearing plates, refilling drinks or following up for coffee/dessert. Rest of staff stepped up to plate. Otherwise would give a 5 - will definitely be back - previous times there were outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Best food will return often. Chef is inc ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Best food will return often. Chef is incredible!Food is so good you want one of everything if haven't been go you'll be glad you did.

Tags: Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have entertained friends at Provenance ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I have entertained friends at Provenance on two occasions. They were surprised and delighted that I had found a restaurant where we could linger to enjoy a delicious lunch and visit. The serve staff was personable and welcoming. The food was carefully prepared and presented. I look forward to returning frequently.

Tags: Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were there when the Museum was having ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We were there when the Museum was having its Mix Party so it was busier and louder than usual. The food is very good but if you are looking for normal steak and potatoes, you won't find it here which is fine. My only complaint is that the main coarse arrived too soon, not enough time to enjoy my first glass of wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Someone needs to make sure the kitchen i ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Someone needs to make sure the kitchen is performing. I had carrot-ginger soup. Too strong on the ginger. I thought it was a rather odd texture. 2 Caesar salads were just okay. The leek tart was overdone. Almost forgot the special lemon dessert which was divine & beautifully presented. This is my second bad meal in a row. Would hate not be able to bring guests for lunch & seeing the wonderful art museum.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

This was my fourth visit. The prixe fixe ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

This was my fourth visit. The prixe fixe menu designed to accompany the Indian Mughal art exhibit sounded first-rate. Unfortunately, it was not. The first course - a fish curry - was delicious and up to par for Provenance. The second course - lamb chops with a curry crust - was fair. While the lamb was tender, it had no particularly unique flavor. The eggplant that accompanied the dish was awful - bland and seemingly not fresh. The basmati rice was also awful - not basmati, and bland by even plain white rice standards. I probably made a poor selection of meal choices knowing that Indian food requires an experienced hand, but this was a disappointment from an otherwise typically very good restaurant.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

The boys and I took my wife/mom there fo ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The boys and I took my wife/mom there for her birthday, absolutely excellent choice, everything we had was fresh, good portions and great taste, in an awesome and relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We don't fine at Provenance often becaus ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We don't fine at Provenance often because it is pricey, but we always leave happy. The food is delicious and the service is also top-rate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite places in the Univers ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

One of my favorite places in the University Circle area! Whenever we are at the Cleveland Museum of Art, we plan a lunch or dinner here. Although I have a slew of food intolerances, they are always able to help me adapt one or more of the dishes so that I can eat them. Make certain to check out the prix fixe or special menu items related to a current exhibition!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The watermelon salad and ravioletti were ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The watermelon salad and ravioletti were delicious; flavor profiles hit all the right marks and the presentation was beautiful. Great ambiance and service, the perfect luncheon spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our brunch was absolutely delicious and ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our brunch was absolutely delicious and the service was truly outstanding. It is one of our very favorite restaurants in Cleveland, set in the beautiful Cleveland Museum of Art.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I think the restaurant has improved sinc ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

I think the restaurant has improved since opening. Everything was as it should be. Very creative mixed drinks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nice way to spend Sunday afternoon in ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

A nice way to spend Sunday afternoon in Cleveland. A nice selection of entre's together with a relaxed atmosphere and attentive service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was an excellent brunch experience. ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was an excellent brunch experience. Portions were large and the food was delicious. It is an excellent venue for any occasion and then take a stroll through the beautiful art museum.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

pleasant experience. food very good. sal ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

pleasant experience. food very good. salads & rolls layout simple. a bit overwhelmed that we had two servers and there were only two of us brunchimg. been there before and will be there again

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice brunch: loved the "starter table" ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Nice brunch: loved the "starter table" with fresh fruit/ berries, mini scones & other pastries, nice green salad, yogurt etc....Bloody Mary was excellent & mimosa was very good.

Great way to spend a super hot day: art museum brunch & visit!

Negative: beautiful view out provenance windows is gone:(...orange barrels etc now!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first visit to Provenance. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our first visit to Provenance. We timed our 5pm reservation so we would be done in time for a tour of the museum at 6:30. We began with oysters with asparagus pearls and house-fermented chili, and tuna tartar. Oysters may not be Provenance's strong suit. They were fresh and briny, but the chili was virtually non-existent. Interesting presentation on a bed of pickled seaweed - which you don't eat, as we quickly learned. The tuna tartar was fresh and tasty, especially piled onto a veggie chip. For dinner we had the fenneled scallops and the young dijon hare. The scallops were perfectly seared and seared with potato cubes that I think were cooked sous vide and then fried. The hare was fall-off-the-bone tender, served on a bed of flageolet and greens. A small but perfectly adequate wine selection. Wonderful service, both from the bartender, who got us started with beverages when we arrived before the dining room was open, and from our server. This is a great place to dine, especially if you're touring the museum either before or after. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Provenance was a beautiful and refined d ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Provenance was a beautiful and refined dining experience. I went there on a date with my boyfriend, and we enjoyed the atmosphere and the service. The dishes were nicely plated and tasted delicious. Entrees are pricier, but I had an appetizer which was filling. Would recommend for a fancier evening out or for a high-end business meeting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food, waiter young inexperienc ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Excellent food, waiter young inexperienced, forgot an appetizer order.

For the level of Food, I would seek or train wait staff to a more professional level.

I have to say usually the opposite is true, but here the food was delightful as far as main courses.

Thank You

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

My food was good, but my Mom's steak was ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

My food was good, but my Mom's steak was not. Our waiter had no personality and was kind of angry. I hope they improve - it's a beautiful setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We've dined here several times and alway ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We've dined here several times and always love it. This time the service was a little off. So I call it a one time thing really, and will certainly try again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We chose Provenance to celebrate my wife ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We chose Provenance to celebrate my wife's birthday- and it was such as special as we had hoped: a lovely setting, great menu, extraordinary service and delicious food. We really enjoyed the evening and hope to return when we come back to Cleveland.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful brunch!

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Wonderful brunch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful, inventive, fresh and tasty fo ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Wonderful, inventive, fresh and tasty food in an elegant yet relaxed setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice complimentt to the Art Museum

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Attending a special event at the Cleveland Museum of Art was enhanced by lunch at Provenance. The setting is now opened up unveiling the view out the windows where it was previously screened out due to construction. Nice wine selections. Our server was very attentive. It definitely rounds out a museum visit!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Every morsel that hit your palate was de ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Every morsel that hit your palate was delicious.

Lots of attention to detail and the service was spot on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

It's always a treat to dine at the museu ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

It's always a treat to dine at the museum and then wander through the galleries. Provenance is a wonderful asset to CMA!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having enjoyed Katz's fire, food and dri ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Having enjoyed Katz's fire, food and drink in Shaker Square many times, I had high expectations for Provenance, further enhanced by the prestigious context, the CMA. They were disappointed. I started with the fennel leek tart, which was OK, but which lacked character and which the embellishments did not appease. I then ordered the young hare dijon, which was underwhelming. The hare was stringy and appeared to have been cooked days ago, and barely reheated when placed on top of the beans. If the meat flavor was supposed to be infused in the beans, I could not tell and there appeared to be little mustard flavor (assuming that the use of dijon in the title of the dish implied some mustard flavoring) in the beans or hare. Even the raab was tough (not crunchy). Other choices on the menu look appealing for a try in the future, but given this experience, I am reticent to quickly return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We had lunch here. Ordered Curry Mussels ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We had lunch here. Ordered Curry Mussels B-, Young hare dijon B-, Local lamb claybread C, Rhubarb strudel D. Ambiance was nice but a bit boring, Service was "kind of nice" but forgetful and not professional. Value was bad for the experience received. No coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

great food, wonderful service

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

we had a wonderful meal of lamb cooked perfectly. the service was wonderful and not over-bearing. The quality and creativity of the menu as an unexpected treat. The salad was good, the main dish had a different and creative side dish of barley that went well with the lamb.

the chocolate tart with peanut butter was too salty and the puree accompanying it was sour.

The ice cream and cookie were good, not special.

The rest of the meal was wonderful and if the desserts come up to the level of the entrée, it will be a premier venue in which to relax and eat at the art museum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Being a part of the Cleveland Museum of ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Being a part of the Cleveland Museum of Art and close to Severance Hall, this would be a lovely place before or after visiting either of these locations. The food, while presented beautifully, was overcooked. This was especially sad as they asked me how I liked my duck breast and it still came out well done. The skin on my companion's chicken was also tough and hard to cut. Otherwise the salads, vegetables, sides and desserts were excellent. I would try again and hope that it was an off day by the chefs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Dinner for my wife's birthday. Excellen ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Dinner for my wife's birthday. Excellent choice. Talented bartender . Service quietly attentive . Food well prepared and presented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a wonderful Mothers Day brunch. T ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

It was a wonderful Mothers Day brunch. The food and service were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding dinner for Friday MIX

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Have been to Provenance several times and always food is exceptional. Oyster appetizer to start, but had to get two so we each got to try the three types. Also shared a quail egg tart, yummy. Dinners were giant scallops (cooked perfectly) and duck (ala carte from prix fixe menu). Drinks and service were very good as well. It was a nice break in the middle of the CMA Jazz MIX event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Dinner

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

We had a lovely dinner at the Provenance last Friday evening after enjoying the Pharaoh exhibit. The food, service and ambiance all were first-class and we enjoyed the our experience a lot. We look forward to our next visit in the near future. Thanks!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Eat at the bar

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

I had high expectations for Provenance. The server staff was very friendly, the bartender (excellent) but they were stretched too thin. I made a change to my lunch choice but somehow I lost my second course (I was the only one who ordered the 2nd course-oysters). After our cocktails we ordered a bottle of wine. We poured the second glasses because no one was coming to refill.

I asked for water again and she apologized and refilled but again, they were too stretched for so many tables and this was a Thursday. The food was okay, I wasn't blown away. One person had chicken salad, it was tasty and looked good). The steak was okay but cut up so it wasn't warm to the last bite and we had to ask for the potatoes. The description said fingerlings. It didn't mention they were cold and we felt as if we asked for a special side and not because it didn't come out with the meal. I had the lamb. It was a little overcooked but tasty. Again, I went to Alley Cat Oyster Bar and was blown away. If it weren't for the fact the I was adventurous in food I would have went back instead of trying a new experience. The fennel tart and soup was excellent. I would eat at the cafeteria next door anytime. It's expensive but delicious. I wouldn't return to the restaurant for more than drinks at the bar.

The value was okay. The wine hiked the bill up. Otherwise it would have been under $100 for three people.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Enjoyable

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Nice place to meet friends and take in an hour in the museum.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.