Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Proof on Main

The ingredients in our menus reflect the region’s sustainable farmers and producers with a soulful and honest approach showcasing the bounty of the Ohio River Valley. Housed in five historic buildings in downtown Louisville, Proof on Main is part of 21c Museum Hotels, the award-winning boutique hotel and restaurant group. The dining room is one of the most striking public spaces in the city, with rotating, contemporary art exhibitions by local and internationally-acclaimed artists alike.

702 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am - 10am; Saturday and Sunday: 7am -1pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm






Bar Open Until: 1:00 AM







Monday - Thursday: 1:00am







Friday - Saturday: 2:00am







Sunday: Midnight

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 217-6360

Website:
http://www.proofonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Adjacent to Proof on Main is the 21c Museum, North America's first museum dedicated solely to collecting and exhibiting contemporary art of the 21st century. With over 9000 square feet of exhibition space, 21c Museum hosts dynamic group and solo exhibitions featuring emerging artists alongside acclaimed international artists, such as video artists Bill Viola and Tony Oursler, photographers Andres Serrano, Sam Taylor Wood, and David Leventhal, sculptors Yinka Shonibare and Judy Fox, and multimedia artists Chuck Close, Alfredo Jaar, and Kara Walker.

The Museum is free and open to the public, 24/7.

Catering:
Catering is provided by Proof on Main and the culinary team can prepare a menu specifically tailored to fit your needs. The menu works to showcase the agricultural bounty of the Ohio River Valley and celebrates artisanal products and sustainable farming, delivering plates rich with the culinary traditions of Italy and the American South.

Parking Details:
Parking begins after 5:30pm and is $6 for valet. There is also garage parking available at 7th and Market.

Executive Chef:
Mike Wajda

Private Party Facilities:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Private Party Contact:
Meghan Madden: (502) 217-6312

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Proof on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (44)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Handcrafted Cocktails (42)
See All
Fun (30)
Special Occasion (30)
Good for a Date (30)
Local Ingredients (29)
Hot Spot (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
People Watching (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Bar Seating (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Casual (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Great for Lunch (11)
Authentic (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Seasonal (9)
Cozy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Organic (4)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Spicy (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tapas (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
2324 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined a day ago

This meal was fantastic! We were with a group so we got to try multiple dishes and everything was incredible. The octopus appetizer is probably the best grilled octopus I have ever had. The duck and rabbit dishes were amazing as well. I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

The oerall experience at Proof on Main was outstanding. Excellent food and service. Absolutely loved the Cotton Candy at the end! What a treat....we all left feeling like kids again! :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Love Proof. We ate at the bar. Bartenders are very knowledgeable about their bourbons. Had charcuterie board. Roasted cauliflower and other small bites. Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place the previous times I have eaten there. Not anymore. Very very disappointed in the food. Might not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a very good time. My daughter(7) and I had dinner before going to a concert.
Server knowledge of menu could use improvement.
We also both received different dinner menus.
Otherwise, food and ambiance were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was great this was a terrific find

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Our favorite restaurant in Louisville! Consistently delicious food, excellent service, and super cool atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We really enjoyed Proof in Main. The service and food were wonderful. We’ll go back if we’re ever in Louisville again.

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 13, 2017

We had brunch here. It was a really nice place. Creatively decorated and the food was good and good value.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Springfield)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Perfect food, service, and location. Drinks are incredible. Great service. The artwork and ambiance is interesting and quirky. I would go back weekly if I lived locally!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Three of us had entrees that were just warm. The pork chop which was just warmed was also very tough, the chicken was also only warm. The rabbit and dumpling was just warm. The cost was $38 for the chop and I expect better quality for the price. Certainly not unreasonable for a really good quality pork chop entree. We were very disappointed and do not expect to ever return. I didn’t get the impression that anyone there cared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Proof is usually fantastic. On this particular day they were understaffed and not able to create a great experience. Service was apologetic, but very slow and out of order.

I expect that they will correct these issues and we will give them another shot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Delicious! Great service. The eggs Benedict is outstanding. Great ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything about the restaurant was great-
From the greeting by the host- to JP who was an engaging and inspired chef who made the experience quite exceptional along with our waiter who was fun and engaging. Our table lost track of time with the great experience we had there. We look forward to returning.
Thank you proof.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

We had a wonderful meal and our server Kristen was great as well. We can't wait to get back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Excellent food and drink. The food was amazing and everyone in our group loved the dish and drink they selected. Drink prices were a little high but for a special occasion it was worth it.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Fun, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2017

The food was "good" bordering on great in some instances. The octopus is very good and certainly their signature dish. The Pork and accompanying sides were great. The restaurant is a bit pretentious and the adjoining art gallery was odd. Just not the best place I've eaten in Louisville. For the money there are much better fine-dining restaurants to choose from.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Vibrant brunch spot with a very friendly and accommodating staff. Food was excellent. Great museum connected to restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Had such a wonderful dinner! Wish I would have tried this restaurant sooner. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Very nice dinner and interesting hotel lobby attached to restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 27, 2017

I have been to Proof several times and have always bragged that I had one of my top 5 meal of all time here. During my recent golf and bourbon trip with friends, we decided to have our group dinner at this restaurant. We were not to be disappointed. The reservations were honored promptly, drinks were excellent and timely, the appetizers were delicious and the meals were spectacular! My buddies were more than impressed... I will once again highly recommend Proof on Main to anyone and everyone. Fantastic!!!

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 25, 2017

Wonderful breakfast!! Absolutely fresh, prepared exactly as ordered. Very quiet and relaxed atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Proof on Main was excellent from start to finish. The room itself is stunning with the artwork and the staff was spot on from start to finish. Food was the best quality, well prepared and very creative.

Tags: Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Louie was fantastic! Looking forward to my next visit!

Tags: Casual, Tapas, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Order never made it to kitchen, sloooowww, no make up on check etc, should have been on the house, very poor, but I'm a loyal patron

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We were in Louisville for the bourbon tour. Chose Proof because of the great location and great reviews on line. The food was fantastic. Service could have been better. Waiter was not as attentive as I like. Long delays between drink refills. Otherwise everything else about the restaurant was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 22, 2017

We got in just before the rush started. We ordered drinks and it took a very long time to get them. The server explained the situation but after we asked. Besides that food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

The Pork Chop I ordered was very grisly & tough & slightly under cooked even though highlighted by waitress as a very good choice. Could hardly find a place to cut into due to fat & gristle. Had some of friends Halibut & it was excellent. They did give us a free dessert but really neither 1 of us eat dessert. Service was excellent. Drinks good pour. Cauliflower appetizer was delicious. But when you charge $20+ for a porkchop it leaves a lot to be desire

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
·Dined on September 21, 2017

Love or hate it , I think you'll remember the experience of dining at proof : at times I felt as if I was part on an interactive art installation....
The food was fine , but not the main attraction
Only complaint : too long a wait between courses...had we known , we'd have visited the gallery then!
Great concept, definitely worth a visit

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, People Watching, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Absolutely a treat. Stop at the bar if you have the time. Great selection of Bourbon, etc. (Did I mention the Bourbon) at reasonable prices.

If you're afraid of the alternative lifestyles then skip this place. However, while we are into alternative lifestyles, we enjoyed the place a lot.
Eclectic decor followed by eclectic food was a great combo. Since the menu changes, I can't tell something to eat. Just go and try it....

Fresh cotton candy?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Interesting artwork on the walls, great ambiance. The pork chop is outstanding. Loved the cauliflower!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

Ambience was great, steak was not cooked properly. Sent back to the kitchen and just recooked the same piece to be sent back. Loved the wine and appetizers, however the entrees were too much for the poor quality meat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I wish I could give this restaurant 6 stars. Awesome!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and such great service; our server was very attentive and there were constantly servers coming to refill our waters (my date and I aren’t old enough to drink, but they have quite the selection). Our waiter was able to inform us about the menu and that their ingredients come from a local farm of theirs so it’s all fresh food, also he was very kind and gave me great suggestions on what to get because I am a vegetarian. However, I wouldn’t say it was worth the price, even though eating downtown you’re really just paying for the location. Overall, we had a really good experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Vegan, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Really great experience, both bar and restaurant. Loved the decor and the art exhibits next door. Food was fantastic, wait staff friendly. Loved the penguins! Would definitely go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Organic, Spicy, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Fun atmospheres and wonderful food and beverage list. Service was impeccable. Enjoyed the night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Proof is attached to the 21c art hotel, which has a very interesting and edgy rotating modern art museum in its lobby. and this unique style and vibe is carried into the restaurant. The environment and overall vibe would be plenty, but the menu and service is also quite nice and fit for foodies, special occasions, and fun business dinners. The attached bar has an amazing bourbon selection and is a good hang. Lots to love about this place and it keeps me coming back whenever I'm in Louisville.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We were in town from Chicago and looking for a nice anniversary spot. After recs from friends I made reservations at Proof on Main. My sister and bro-in-law also joined us as it was their anniversary too. We arrived and were seated within minutes. As we sat down in our seats, I turn away for one second and when I tuned back I asked where my wife was. She was on the ground, her chair broke. Thankfully she was fine and we all laughed about it. Immediately all the staff in the area were making sure she was ok. Once we got all seated, the manager came over and offered his apologies and gave us a bottle of champagne, 1 for our anniversaries as well as a "sorry your chair broke." It was a nice touch.

A few minutes later our server Alex, who was amazing came over and explain the menu to us. On a foodie scale from 1-5, I'd say we are a 4. The menu was impressive. There was a special for a duck breast, which she mentioned was just about out. My sister-in-law who had never had duck wanted to try it. We did not order right away, but Alex went ahead an "saved" the last piece of duck for her.

After reading another review, my wife and I ordered the Ricotta cheese dip as an app. It did not disappoint. The other two got a Catfish dip which sound odd, but was very good (smokey). As for dinner my wife got the halibut and my brother-in-law both got the NY strip.

All the food was delicious. My brother-in law both got the steak and strangely enough his piece of steak seemed to have a lot more fat on it, which was somewhat disappointing for a t$48 piece of steak.

I would highly recommend this place for anyone looking for a nice dinner. Be sure to use the restroom. The lobby to the restrooms in the home of an odd Art Museum. Crazy pieces of art here. I would ask for Alex as your server if she's available. If i'm back in Louisville anytime soon, I'll visit.

Five Star Food and Service!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The ambience was wonderful. We liked the variety of unique choices for entrees that the chef had prepared. The service was outstanding. In going to the restroom we discovered the art gallery which was "the icing on the cake." When back to Louisville, we'd definitely eat at Proof!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.