About Proof on Main

The ingredients in our menus reflect the region’s sustainable farmers and producers with a soulful and honest approach showcasing the bounty of the Ohio River Valley. Housed in five historic buildings in downtown Louisville, Proof on Main is part of 21c Museum Hotels, the award-winning boutique hotel and restaurant group. The dining room is one of the most striking public spaces in the city, with rotating, contemporary art exhibitions by local and internationally-acclaimed artists alike.

702 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am - 10am; Saturday and Sunday: 7am -1pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm






Bar Open Until: 1:00 AM







Monday - Thursday: 1:00am







Friday - Saturday: 2:00am







Sunday: Midnight

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 217-6360

Website:
http://www.proofonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Adjacent to Proof on Main is the 21c Museum, North America's first museum dedicated solely to collecting and exhibiting contemporary art of the 21st century. With over 9000 square feet of exhibition space, 21c Museum hosts dynamic group and solo exhibitions featuring emerging artists alongside acclaimed international artists, such as video artists Bill Viola and Tony Oursler, photographers Andres Serrano, Sam Taylor Wood, and David Leventhal, sculptors Yinka Shonibare and Judy Fox, and multimedia artists Chuck Close, Alfredo Jaar, and Kara Walker.

The Museum is free and open to the public, 24/7.

Catering:
Catering is provided by Proof on Main and the culinary team can prepare a menu specifically tailored to fit your needs. The menu works to showcase the agricultural bounty of the Ohio River Valley and celebrates artisanal products and sustainable farming, delivering plates rich with the culinary traditions of Italy and the American South.

Parking Details:
Parking begins after 5:30pm and is $6 for valet. There is also garage parking available at 7th and Market.

Executive Chef:
Mike Wajda

Private Party Facilities:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Private Party Contact:
Meghan Madden: (502) 217-6312

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Proof Benedict - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Blackberry Pop Tart - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Heirloom Tomato Salad - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
21 C Breakfast - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Angus Short Ribs - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Eight Dollar Hot Chocolate Dessert - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Local Mixed Lettuces Salad - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
High And Mighty Beer Of The Gods - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
House-Made Ketchup - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bardstown Bellini - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Sueño Mojado - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Eggplant Bánh Mì - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison Burger - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Italian 76 - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bulleit-Vardier - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Corncake - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Nutella Gelato - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Ramp Vichyssoise With Scallops - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Unknown Cake With Candied Olives - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Stripe Bass - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Hardneck Garlic Soup - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
beef short ribs - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Squid Soup - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Scallops - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Pork Chop - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
bison burger and fries - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison Tenderloin - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Chocolate, Olive Oil Caramel, And Candied Olives.  - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Carrot Cake - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Scallop crudo - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Ramps Dinner - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Tomato Salad With Strawberry - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Carbonara With Salmon - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Ricotta Gnocchi With Beet Sauce - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Scallops And Asparagus - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Grits - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Giocato Pinot Grigio - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Riccotta Gnocchi - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison Bone Marrow - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Truffle Fries - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bourbon & Barrel - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Butternut Squash Soup - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Gaierhof Pinot Grigio - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Egg & Cheese Sandwich On Challah - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Black Stallion Cab - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Ricotta Gnocchi - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Chilled Ky Soup - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Warm Local Ricotta w/ Bread - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Mixed Fruit Salad - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Chocolate Terrine - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Eggs Bendict Over Kentucky Country Ham And Grits - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Darkened Manhattan - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Nutella and Roasted Peanut Gelato - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Buttermilk Pancakes - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Spring Scafata - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Soft Shell Crab Salad - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
T Bone Steak - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Truffle Risotto - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Charcuterie Board - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Cheese and charcuterie plate - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Woodland Farm Popcorn - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Basil Sponge Cake,Strawberries.  - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Grilled Cheese Sandwich - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Salmon - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Sunchoke Soup with Mackerel Rillette - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Fingerling Potatoes - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Roasted Broccoli Bahn Mi Sandwich - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Chicken BLT - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Pork Belly - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison Pastrami Reuben - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Cod - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Chick Pea And Ham Fritters - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
MARKSBURY FARM CHICKEN - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Ham Falafal - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Short Rib - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
New American Classic - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Warm Ricotta - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Salmon with Barley - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bone Marrow - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Charred Octopus - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Housemade Ginger Ale - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Pan Roasted Halibut - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Quinoa Fritters - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Sturgeon With Kohlrabi - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Cotton candy - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Octopus Bagna Cauda - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Halibut - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Striped Mullet - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Old Forester Bourbon - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Atlantic Swordfish - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Catfish - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Cornmeal Donut With Gelato - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison Tongue And Octopus - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Cheese Plate - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY

Proof on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (44)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Modern Decor (42)
See All
Special Occasion (39)
Local Ingredients (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Handcrafted Cocktails (26)
Good for a Date (26)
Romantic (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Fun (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
People Watching (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Authentic (12)
Business Meals (12)
Seasonal (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Casual (11)
Organic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Historic (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Scenic View (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Cozy (3)
Private Room (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Spicy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Waterfront (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2113 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

the service and food was a-MAZ-ing. It w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

the service and food was a-MAZ-ing. It was a perfect night of dinning - our server was top notch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would not go back for the food. The at ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

I would not go back for the food. The athmosphere was great and the art suberb!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Bunch this morning was just delicious! W ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Bunch this morning was just delicious! Waitress was efficient and friendly. Highly recommend a visit to Proof on Main! You can also enjoy a stroll through the museum after your meal. Museum is free.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have eaten here many time and it is al ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

I have eaten here many time and it is always good, but Saturday night before the orchestra was over the top. 5 stars out of 5. All four of us had something different, and we all raved about our choice. The hen, the cavatelli, the salmon. The squash appetizer were all outstanding, and my sweet potato side was fabulous. We had a Northern Rhone region red that was outstanding and well served.

Hard to do better than this even in our foodie town

Tags: Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small menu, where everything was delicio ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 6 days ago

Small menu, where everything was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice brunch. We had stayed at 21 C so we ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Nice brunch. We had stayed at 21 C so we had a nice and tasty brunch before heading home. Hot chicken dish was very good. Breakfast platter, my wife had, was solid too. Good friendly service as always.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Slow service consider the restaurant was ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

Slow service consider the restaurant wasn't busy. Food was OK too. Couldn't believe how long we waited to get our breakfast. The waiter didn't ask for refills either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The food selections at Proof are fantast ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food selections at Proof are fantastic and the food is very tasty. Our waiter was excellent, but there is a cast of overly attentive support team members who frequently interrupted our eating experience to fill water glasses (repeatedly), remove dinner plates and take silverware. The decor is a little gimmicky with copies of western-themed art (read: Cowboys and Native Americans and bison) in a bright red and blue palette. Recorded dance music is played too loudly for dinner conversation and would be better suited for a dance floor.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Dinner for our three was superb. We ord ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Dinner for our three was superb. We ordered all things to share and started with the amazing whipped ricotta and the grilled octopus. Delish! The chicken liver pate "pop tart" was great - and I don't even like chicken liver! We finished with the slow-roasted monk fish - heaven! The service was great - present but not over-bearing or obsequious. Great wine too. All in all a truly fine dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was an escape weekend destination t ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was an escape weekend destination that had been recommended. The apps & entrees were both outstanding. The vibe is a bit over the top but unique enough to pull it off

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Service!! Wonderful bourbon spirit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great Service!! Wonderful bourbon spirit sommelier.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice food. Well presented food. Great ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Nice food. Well presented food. Great surroundings. Good place to eat with guests.

Tags: Notable Wine List, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I've had many fine meals at Proof over t ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I've had many fine meals at Proof over the years, but was let down this Christmas Eve. First, the good. As always, the drinks were excellent, particularly the Seelbach. Nor did the appetizer, a delightful little salad of sardines, English muffin, butter, and greens, disappoint. Alas, that is the extent of the good. Being there Christmas Eve, we were looking forward to a seasonal selection, so somewhat disappointed that the only festive offering was a whole goose suitable only for parties of 4 or more. I strongly feel not offering the bird a la carte was a major mistake, especially as as far as I could tell it came out to the tables presliced. Instead, we settled on the braised beer with roasted potato, which sounded like a hearty meal for late December. What we got, and which was not communicated anywhere on the menu or by the server, was effectively a hash with five very small pieces of beef in it, one of which was mostly fat. For $32 I found this quite insulting (I live in Philadelphia and it would be an insulting proposition even their). Additionally, the service was lacking. As two examples of the frequent lapses, I had to ask twice to get any bread for our table and my mother had to remind the waiter twice about her second drink before it finally arrived.

I will continue coming to proof for the superb bar, but am now somewhat leery of its dining room.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

The decor was different..but..the food w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The decor was different..but..the food was amazing

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic time at Proof. The wine choi ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Fantastic time at Proof. The wine choice went well with the amazing Cavatelle. We had the grilled octopus too. Great time and experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Whipped Ricotta - Stupid Good! This was ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Whipped Ricotta - Stupid Good! This was the first time several of my teammates have eaten at Proof. They are now believers!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Proof on Main is one of the best places ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Proof on Main is one of the best places I've had the pleasure to dine at. The food was excellent, the service was great, and it is connected to the 21c Museum space which is a great pre-dinner activity.

Tags: Good for Groups, Seasonal, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Of all of the restaurants that we visit, ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Of all of the restaurants that we visit, Proof consistently has the best service. The food is also great but we have had a lot of very good meals in other restaurants at the same price level that never have the all around outstanding service. On this visit, there were nine of us so I know it was a challenge for them but we received the same attention as if there had just been 2 of us. As always, food was also great and creative. Always something different to choose from.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was not impressed by anything but the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I was not impressed by anything but the cocktails and the dessert. Our waiter was rude, rushed us throughout the meal. The restaurant was freezing. The vegetarian options were limited to one. Never going back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

My wife, daughter, and I went to brunch ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My wife, daughter, and I went to brunch on Saturday before going to Louisville Ballet Nutcracker. Lucky we arrived early ay at 11:15 AM because our simple order of three buffalo burgers cooked medium took over and hour to arrive after ordering.

There were only about five tables occupied at that time, so the wait was unnerving. After waiting quite a while the waitress finally came by and said our burgers would be out in two minutes. Well it was over fifteen minutes later before we even saw our waitress again. This time the waitress said she was sorry it took so long and the food really would be out in one minute. Well five minutes later the manager came by and apologized. She said there was a mix on the order in the kitchen and they had to start over. Really? Well she was very nice and said she would take one hamburger off the bill. She also said the food would be out in just a few minutes. Needless to say it was almost another 15 minutes before the food did arrive. The manager apologized again and gave us some free fries. I didn't want fries or the temptation of eating them which is why I ordered greens as side to my burger. Anyway food was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The restaurant has a very cool vibe. The ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The restaurant has a very cool vibe. The service was great and the food was very good. The museum in the hotel is a must-see.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible experience for our anniversar ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Incredible experience for our anniversary dinner will absolutely be coming back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time dining at Proof and I certain ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 8, 2016

First time dining at Proof and I certainly was not disappointed. The service was excellent as was the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We live 1 hour away from Proof so it's a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We live 1 hour away from Proof so it's an effort to come. It is on my list of MUST EAT AT AT LEAST 1X per Year !! I am never disappointed and it was delicious again this year!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our service was great. Friendly, profess ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our service was great. Friendly, professional. The atmosphere was good - great art, comfortable seating, inviting atmosphere. The downfall was the food. We had high expectations but the fare was just not for us. Everything was charred. It's a trend but let's hope it passes soon. Appreciated the in-season selections but not the preparation. And the in-room dining options are just sad (yes, we were hungry later). Options are basically the same as the dining room - charred. Hopefully a new food trend will soon replace the current menu. Bring your own snacks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

The food was terrific although, it felt ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was terrific although, it felt like we were being rushed through dinner when a number of the tables were still empty. The food was very creatively prepared and wonderful. Everybody enjoyed their dinner from appetizer through dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

EVEN THOUGH I WAS ONCE AGAIN IMPRESSED, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

EVEN THOUGH I WAS ONCE AGAIN IMPRESSED, I THINK THE MAIN DISHES WERE NOT AS CREATIVE AND/OR AS GOOD AS IN PREVIOUS OCCASIONS. NOT SAYING IT WAS BAD BY A LONG SHOT; STILL OUTSTANDING. JUST THE BAR HAD BEEN SET WAY HIGH PREVIOUSLY AND IT FELT IT WENT A LITTLE LOW...

STILL ONE OF MY FAVORITE RESTAURANTS IN THE WORLD (YES, THE WORLD!)

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great of out of town guests and well as ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great of out of town guests and well as for special occasions.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped in Louisville while driving h ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We stopped in Louisville while driving hame after spending Thanksgiving with family. A bit of research turned up Proof and it was quite a find. Our waitress, Emma was a gem, guiding us through the menu which was obviously new to us.

The Green Chili Posole was excellent and the Pork Belly was superb.

Try the Gelati & Sorbet Tasting, but save room for the World's Best Cotton Candy!

We may drive the 300 miles to Louisville just to eat here again.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Octopus was delish and visiting the gall ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Octopus was delish and visiting the gallery after dinner was a nice treat. Service was excellent. Cocktails were inconsistent. My first drink was perfection and second did not make the grade- I don't know if they switched bartenders half way or what...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic service, amazing food and wond ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fantastic service, amazing food and wonderful artwork. Definitely will return again when in Louisville!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Thanksgiving dinner and the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving dinner and the service was great, food delicious, and ambience family oriented and quaint. It has a nostalgic sort of air to it that is part of its charm and would recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here more than once and loved ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I've been here more than once and loved everything we ordered.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stayed in a 21c in Bentonville, AR an ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We stayed in a 21c in Bentonville, AR and liked the restaurant there. The chef at Proof seems as though he/she is more interested in showing off how exotic he/she can get with their cooking than in providing a balanced menu of choices. Although we are very experienced and frequent diners of fine restaurants...tending toward James Beard award nominees/winners, we had difficulty finding anything appealing on the menu. I finally landed on pisole and it was average at best. I didn't finish my meal. The decor is garish and uninviting which is disappointing as my wife and I love art and the collection we saw in Bentonville, AR. All in all, our high expectations crashed in a very disappointing evening. I would not recommend this restaurant or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our son is a student at the University o ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our son is a student at the University of Louisville and we took him here for a Sunday brunch. We each tried something different, and we were all pleased with our choices. Our choices consisted of the Garden Frittata, the Brisket Sandwich and the Proof Benedict. We all loved what we chose and thought the food was delicious! The service was great and the prices were reasonable we thought. We would definitely recommend this to others and would love to eat here again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great - the menu is inventive and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always great - the menu is inventive and pleasing. Cocktails are creative and unique

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, prawns and salmon were over co ...

 
 (London)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food, prawns and salmon were over cooked. The salmon was tasteless and the shrimp were broiled with a sauce that was burnt as was the broccoli. The charcuterie platter was delicious as was the gelato/sorbet for dessert. The staff appeared to be facing a number of challenges as mistakes were made at tables around us throughout the dinner. Expected much better based on the reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I met friends for brunch. The service w ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I met friends for brunch. The service was great, and the food was excellent. The waitress was attentive and friendly, and there was a variety of options if you wanted breakfast food or lunch entrees. The sweet potato french toast was incredible - sweet, but not too sweet. We actually tried to go back for dinner that evening but didn't have reservations and were in a time crunch, so we opted for somewhere else. I'll be back the next time I'm in Louisville.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were amazing! Wonderfu ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service and food were amazing! Wonderful experience for our 16 year anniversary celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always a pleasure eating at Proof. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It's always a pleasure eating at Proof. Service this time was exceptional in every respect. Our only "beef" was that the staff should have told us, when we asked for the entree to arrive after a little pause (which it did), that they had already started cooking it (or at least this is what I think, because the steaks were a little tired compared with the usual stellar quality of the meat). However the staff were very responsive to our concerns. We were recommended an outstanding Cab, very good value, and the starters were innovative and very tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.