About Proof on Main

702 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

The ingredients in our menus reflect the region’s sustainable farmers and producers with a soulful and honest approach showcasing the bounty of the Ohio River Valley. Housed in five historic buildings in downtown Louisville, Proof on Main is part of 21c Museum Hotels, the award-winning boutique hotel and restaurant group. The dining room is one of the most striking public spaces in the city, with rotating, contemporary art exhibitions by local and internationally-acclaimed artists alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am - 10am; Saturday and Sunday: 7am -1pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm






Bar Open Until: 1:00 AM







Monday - Thursday: 1:00am







Friday - Saturday: 2:00am







Sunday: Midnight

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 217-6360

Website:
http://www.proofonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Adjacent to Proof on Main is the 21c Museum, North America's first museum dedicated solely to collecting and exhibiting contemporary art of the 21st century. With over 9000 square feet of exhibition space, 21c Museum hosts dynamic group and solo exhibitions featuring emerging artists alongside acclaimed international artists, such as video artists Bill Viola and Tony Oursler, photographers Andres Serrano, Sam Taylor Wood, and David Leventhal, sculptors Yinka Shonibare and Judy Fox, and multimedia artists Chuck Close, Alfredo Jaar, and Kara Walker.

The Museum is free and open to the public, 24/7.

Catering:
Catering is provided by Proof on Main and the culinary team can prepare a menu specifically tailored to fit your needs. The menu works to showcase the agricultural bounty of the Ohio River Valley and celebrates artisanal products and sustainable farming, delivering plates rich with the culinary traditions of Italy and the American South.

Parking Details:
Parking begins after 5:30pm and is $6 for valet. There is also garage parking available at 7th and Market.

Executive Chef:
Mike Wajda

Private Party Facilities:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Private Party Contact:
Meghan Madden: (502)217-6312x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Restaurant Photos

Proof on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Central Kentucky
Hot Spot
Central Kentucky
Contemporary American
Central Kentucky
5 More
Most Booked
Central Kentucky
Fit for Foodies
Louisville
Hot Spot
Louisville
Contemporary American
Louisville
Most Booked
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

fit for foodies (117)
special occasion (80)
hot spot (55)
See All
vibrant bar scene (54)
good for groups (36)
romantic (35)
notable wine list (34)
great for brunch (33)
great for lunch (31)
neighborhood gem (30)
late-night find (16)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1861 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience3
service4

Ribs were very dry during the middle of ...

Dined 3 days ago

Ribs were very dry during the middle of the dinner rush. Their sauce is fantastic, sweet with a decent kick. Hot chocolate chip cookies were pretty good too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this hotel before. The f ...

Dined 3 days ago

We have been to this hotel before. The first visit was about 8 years ago and our waiter was Craig, perhaps the best we have experienced and truly unparalleled performance. So it was not that good this time but the waiter, Billy, was excellent and food was very good.

food5
ambience5
service1

Somehow with only a few diners for break ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Somehow with only a few diners for breakfast service was really poor. I guess we took our invisible pills and didn't realize it? LOL

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, unusual menu for serious eaters. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great, unusual menu for serious eaters. Wine prices are, however, high. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service1

Good food, cool scene, but way overprice ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Good food, cool scene, but way overpriced for the tiny amount of food you get. Service was awful.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

fun, creative dishes in a beautiful setting

Dined on May 17, 2016

The interior is lovely and eclectic (no surprise since this is a 21C restaurant). I loved the original artwork and beautiful furnishings and fixtures in the dining rooms and bar area (think rustic meets modern industrial meets vintage chic). My friends loved the locally sourced bison burger. The seared octopus appetizer was interesting but could have used more flavor; same with the bone marrow (roasted bones appetizer). The charcuterie plate was excellent; I'd definitely order it again. We had two different ports and the house gelato for our dessert course; these were all great. Service got slow, but the restaurant was very busy so this is understandable. Our server was friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

Visiting Louisville and had heard from friends to try this restaurant. Cocktails great. Menu small. Shrimp and grits were great. 21c eggs ok but no different than any other breakfast. We also had banana bread which we didn't finish because it was too done for our taste and didn't expect syrup on it. We'd go again though for those shrimp and grits. Service very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 14, 2016

Second visit to Proof on Main. It didn't disappoint. The service was excellent and the food was fantastic. Can't fault it. Simply a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was good but pricey for what you ge ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was good but pricey for what you get.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We've dined here whenever we're in Louis ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We've dined here whenever we're in Louisville. This trip we again brought a large party. Though the service was very good the food was underwhelming. We were also told that four items that we ordered were unavailable. That's disconcerting for a limited menu. Those of us who who had to chose an alternative were disappointed. The bison burger was overcooked, dry and flavorless and the rabbit cannelloni appeared to have been left under the heat lamp over night. The vegetables were overcooked and listless and the rabbit filling was not heated through. The cheese and charcuterie platter was good and so was the wine.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting variations on classic Americ ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Interesting variations on classic American ingredients. Outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous venue. Excellent food and wine list

Dined on May 11, 2016

Visit this restaurant every time I visit Louisville. I bring friends and we never fail to be amused by the boutique hotel's art show.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Not the experience we expected

Dined on May 9, 2016

We were very excited for a date night at Proof on Main. Turned out to be not worthwhile at all. First off the service was top notch as was the ambiance. Both were as advertised. The drinks were also good, well priced, not very strong, but all in all tasty and worth ordering. The food is where things took a disastrous turn. The Pea and Carrot salad was over seasoned to the point of being inedible. It was horrid. Our server was obliging and apologetic and took it off the bill, but that was not the only disappointment unfortunately. The English muffin app was also misleading and disappointing. Seeing "bourbon belly" on the ingredients list led us to have mouth watering dreams of bourbon glazed or braised pork belly. Unfortunately, it was some sort of fish belly that was not terrible, but not what we wanted. So, disappointing. We shared a meal as we often do and chose the seared sea scallops. They were delicious and well prepared a great dish, but for the price? No. Not worth it. We also ordered a side of the cheese grits to share, these were excellent. Heading into dessert the only thing we truly enjoyed was the side of grits. We ordered the trio of ice cream/sorbet of the night. All three scoops were excellent as was the coffee, espresso, and Willett Rye flight we ordered. The cotton candy ending was a nice touch to pick up our spirits. While there were a couple items of note, we won't ever go back. We found it over priced to say the least based on even the best items we ate. And when you are paying a premium for your dining experience, over seasoned food to the point of being inedible is simply unforgiveable.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service3

Cool place to hang out during Derby time

Dined on May 9, 2016

Cool place to hang out during Derby time

food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting Louisville for the Derb ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We were visiting Louisville for the Derby and ate here and the service and food was fabulous! I'd highly recommend it!

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the finest meals I've had in rece ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

One of the finest meals I've had in recent years. Incredibly fresh, innovative cuisine, great service and an amazing art environment.

food2
ambience4
service4

Our evening started out great. We ordere ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Our evening started out great. We ordered the charred peas and carrots salad and it was to die for. We also ordered wine and unfortunately when the server went to serve it, he knocked it over and spilled it onto the booth and my jacket. He was very apologetic and cleaned up immediately. The people that were food runners were rude, snobbish and unfriendly. When we received our meal which was "rabbit cannelloni", what we received were two small dried out stuffed cannelloni's with blended chicken and rabbit made into a dry paste. We said something to the server asking where the rabbit meat was and he told us it was in the blended paste. If I order rabbit, I expect rabbit! He said he would take it off the bill, but he did not. Instead, the manager came by and offered us free dessert. This place does not deserve more than 3 stars. I would save my money and go elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on April 29, 2016

The cheese grits and kentucky bourbon pie were absolutely delicious. Service was exceptional. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food - loved it

Dined on April 29, 2016

Went there before the marathon. Had the hen-roulade. Outstanding! My friend had the salmon, also excellent. Potatoes for the morning of the race were some of the best I have had. Loved the cauliflower. Not a fan of the cotton candy, but that's just personally too sweet for my test. Waitress was very knowledgeable about the food and super helpful. Great service!!!! Have been telling all my friends in California about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pretty impressive

Dined on April 29, 2016

We dined at Proof for my husband's birthday. The service was fantastic! Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the menu. We don't dine out at expensive restaurants very often so we weren't familiar with a lot of the food terms. Our food came out quickly and was delicious. I had the Lamb Ragout, and my husband had the Rabbit Cannelloni. We were both very impressed. It was a great experience. Also, the check comes out with cotton candy, so that was an entertaining twist

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were on vacation, so don't know the t ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

We were on vacation, so don't know the total scene of this place. It was recommended by a friend. We loved the atmosphere and the food was very good too. Nice wine/cocktail selections and great bathrooms.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Well plated, very pricey, but misses

Dined on April 28, 2016

We've enjoyed brunch here before but we felt this was overpriced for what was served during the dinner. Maybe only a true gourmet wouldn't mind being charged over $22 for one whole carrot charred in ash, beautifully delivered to the table; however, I was a little taken aback.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Proof on Main is Superb

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was great, and the service was top notch. This is in downtown Louisville and it is a gem in that area. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Expected - Great

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Living in Cincinnati, I have been to the 21C hotel there and their restaurant, so while in Louisville, my wife and a couple of friends wanted to try their offerings here as well. The atmosphere, food and service was outstanding. We were there on the evening of the "Thunder" over Louisville event (fireworks) and the staff as well as most customers were hopping up to see. Our window seat was much coveted! Beyond the food the hotel and amenities are also fun and enjoyable, well designed and elegantly presented. I would recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Top-notch, beginning to end. I had the h ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Top-notch, beginning to end. I had the halibut, the beet salad, at least one dessert, kombucha and a few different wines. Just an excellent experience all around. Have a few wines then laze around all the spectacular art. The whole thing is sensory heaven. Go!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First tme customer

Dined on April 17, 2016

Glad to find a new place to get brunch when we attend the shows at Ky Center. Good food and service. We will be back at the next showing at the Ky Center of the Arts.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Place

Dined on April 17, 2016

Order the Octopus my wife and I really enjoy the food and wine.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Am vegan and my husband is an omnivore s ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Am vegan and my husband is an omnivore so eating out and having actually satisfying food is sometimes challenging. We returned to Proof for our 10th anniversary and had a wonderful experience. Food was perfect, service perfect, and ambiance wonderful.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great way to start special evening

Dined on April 15, 2016

We brought my parents to Louisville from Cincinnati to attend an event at the KY Performing Center for the Arts. Proof on Main was such a lovely way to start the evening. My parents are older and have a few mobility issues. The short distance from the restaurant to the theater offered the perfect evening walk before our show. The food: Absolutely delicious. Portions were just the right size to be perfectly satiated--not that overstuffed feeling. Seasoned and served just beautifully. Our server was excellent and the support staff was very attentive to detail. Thanks for a great dinner!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional

Dined on April 15, 2016

Took my 16 and 14-year-old grandchildren for a before-the-play dinner. They tried new and interesting dishes (well outside the teenage go-to's, i.e. pizza, nachos) and they loved it. they especially like the end of the meal complimentary cotton candy. Our service was top-notched and his recommendations were spot on.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Njumbo shrimp was amazing!!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Njumbo shrimp was amazing!!

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mixed experience

Dined on April 14, 2016

Interesting dishes--though sometimes too much emphasis on creativity and not enough on the taste. The chicken liver-strawberry poptart (starter) was not well balanced (too much liver flavor, not enough strawberry). The octopus starter was fantastic--very flavorful. My colleagues enjoyed the salmon and the hen roulade. I had the halibut and thought it was a little bland. Portion sizes are rather small. We got a kick of the golden David statue out front. Nice atmosphere. We were able to easily get a reservation on a Friday night (booked same day).

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

surprise find

Dined on April 13, 2016

Excellent food and service. We wanted a special place to eat before a show at the KY PAC. It was perfect!

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

April 2016

Dined on April 10, 2016

Quiet start to Sunday brunch at 9:30. Thought maybe we out-of-towners had picked the wrong spot. No worries when an hour later the place was packed. Also, one of the best spirit & wine lists this group of beverage industry vets has ever seen. Broad, deep, and thoughtfully put together. Brunch selections limited (in a good way), and outstanding. Shaved country ham a revelation. Don't miss the next door art museum.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious meal!

Dined on April 8, 2016

My husband and I visited Louisville for the weekend and found Proof on Main on the Internet. I am so glad we did. Our cocktails were delicious, our meals were incredible, and our server was the best! The Crispy Cauliflower side was so yummy and enough to share with four people. Hubby had the Rabbit Cannelloni which was the best rabbit dish I have ever tasted. I had a duck special which was delicious... but the rabbit won the contest. Everything was so delicious that we had to try a dessert, too, so we had the KY Bourbon Pie. As expected, it exceeded our expectations. You must eat here when in Louisville! It's too good to miss!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I highly recommend Proof on Main for an ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

I highly recommend Proof on Main for an exceptional dining experience. Try the creative signature cocktails - the El Guapo and Robbin Friday are excellent if you enjoy tequila. Food is amazing and the staff & ambiance is stellar!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

High-end but not uptight

Dined on April 3, 2016

Coming from Los Angeles I wasn't very optimistic as we'd been disappointed by the food while traveling through the state. But this far exceeded my expectations. We had dinner with our two children aged 5 and 8. Our meal was spectacular and they had a kids menu. The art exhibition in the lobby kept the kids endlessly entertained. The staff was friendly and efficient. I can't say enough great things about this place!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Proof is awesome

Dined on April 1, 2016

We went for my daughter's birthday celebration. The food and service is always great. I like the fact they constantly add new items to the menu. This place is great for all foodies.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience

Dined on April 1, 2016

A friend of ours recommended Proof On Main to us when we came to Louisville for a visit and we were extremely happy with our dining experience. Our waitress Chanda was beyond wonderful. She was friendly and extremely knowledgeable about the restaurant, the food and the boubon list which was very helpful. Our food was great and the art galleries were a great bonus!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful meal!

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

Proof is a fun place to have lunch or dinner. The food is wonderful -- perfectly prepared. Can't get enough of the crispy salmon! Great drinks and wine list. My only complaint would be the music choice, and volume level. Detracts a bit. But we have been many times, and will be back

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.