About Proof on Main

702 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

The ingredients in our menus reflect the region’s sustainable farmers and producers with a soulful and honest approach showcasing the bounty of the Ohio River Valley. Housed in five historic buildings in downtown Louisville, Proof on Main is part of 21c Museum Hotels, the award-winning boutique hotel and restaurant group. The dining room is one of the most striking public spaces in the city, with rotating, contemporary art exhibitions by local and internationally-acclaimed artists alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am - 10am; Saturday and Sunday: 7am -1pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm






Bar Open Until: 1:00 AM







Monday - Thursday: 1:00am







Friday - Saturday: 2:00am







Sunday: Midnight

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 217-6360

Website:
http://www.proofonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Adjacent to Proof on Main is the 21c Museum, North America's first museum dedicated solely to collecting and exhibiting contemporary art of the 21st century. With over 9000 square feet of exhibition space, 21c Museum hosts dynamic group and solo exhibitions featuring emerging artists alongside acclaimed international artists, such as video artists Bill Viola and Tony Oursler, photographers Andres Serrano, Sam Taylor Wood, and David Leventhal, sculptors Yinka Shonibare and Judy Fox, and multimedia artists Chuck Close, Alfredo Jaar, and Kara Walker.

The Museum is free and open to the public, 24/7.

Catering:
Catering is provided by Proof on Main and the culinary team can prepare a menu specifically tailored to fit your needs. The menu works to showcase the agricultural bounty of the Ohio River Valley and celebrates artisanal products and sustainable farming, delivering plates rich with the culinary traditions of Italy and the American South.

Parking Details:
Parking begins after 5:30pm and is $6 for valet. There is also garage parking available at 7th and Market.

Executive Chef:
Mike Wajda

Private Party Facilities:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Private Party Contact:
Meghan Madden: (502)217-6312x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Restaurant Photos

Proof on Main
Proof Benedict
Blackberry Pop Tart
Heirloom Tomato Salad
21 C Breakfast
Scallops
Salmon
Warm Ricotta
Bone Marrow
Gaierhof Pinot Grigio
Black Stallion Cab
Catfish
Bison
Chilled Ky Soup
Angus Short Ribs
Eight Dollar Hot Chocolate Dessert
Local Mixed Lettuces Salad
High And Mighty Beer Of The Gods
Bardstown Bellini
House-Made Ketchup
Sueño Mojado
Eggplant Bánh Mì
Bison Burger
Italian 76
Bulleit-Vardier
Corncake
Nutella Gelato
Hardneck Garlic Soup
Ramp Vichyssoise With Scallops
Stripe Bass
Unknown Cake With Candied Olives
beef short ribs
Bison Tenderloin
bison burger and fries
Pork Chop
Squid Soup
Chocolate, Olive Oil Caramel, And Candied Olives.
Scallop crudo
Carbonara With Salmon
Ramps Dinner
Tomato Salad With Strawberry
Carrot Cake
Ricotta Gnocchi With Beet Sauce
Scallops And Asparagus
Giocato Pinot Grigio
Riccotta Gnocchi
Grits
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
Bison Bone Marrow
Bourbon & Barrel
Truffle Fries
Butternut Squash Soup
Egg & Cheese Sandwich On Challah
Ricotta Gnocchi
Mixed Fruit Salad
Darkened Manhattan
Warm Local Ricotta w/ Bread
Eggs Bendict Over Kentucky Country Ham And Grits
Chocolate Terrine
Nutella and Roasted Peanut Gelato
Buttermilk Pancakes
Spring Scafata
T Bone Steak
Soft Shell Crab Salad
Truffle Risotto
Charcuterie Board
Woodland Farm Popcorn
Cheese and charcuterie plate
Basil Sponge Cake,Strawberries.
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Fingerling Potatoes
Roasted Broccoli Bahn Mi Sandwich
Sunchoke Soup with Mackerel Rillette
Chicken BLT
Pork Belly
Bison Pastrami Reuben
Chick Pea And Ham Fritters
Cod
Salmon with Barley
Short Rib
Ham Falafal
New American Classic
MARKSBURY FARM CHICKEN
Charred Octopus
Housemade Ginger Ale
Pan Roasted Halibut
Quinoa Fritters
Octopus Bagna Cauda
Sturgeon With Kohlrabi
Cotton candy
Halibut
Striped Mullet
Old Forester Bourbon
Atlantic Swordfish
Cornmeal Donut With Gelato
Cheese Plate
Bison Tongue And Octopus

Proof on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Central Kentucky
Fit for Foodies
Central Kentucky
Hot Spot
Central Kentucky
7 More
Contemporary American
Central Kentucky
Most Booked
Central Kentucky
Best Overall
Louisville
Best Ambiance
Louisville
Fit for Foodies
Louisville
Contemporary American
Louisville
Most Booked
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

fit for foodies (105)
special occasion (85)
hot spot (54)
See All
vibrant bar scene (50)
notable wine list (36)
neighborhood gem (36)
romantic (35)
great for brunch (29)
good for groups (29)
great for lunch (26)
late-night find (14)
great for outdoor dining (3)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1894 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had an amazing time at PROOF. It was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 5 days ago

We had an amazing time at PROOF. It was our first time and there were items on the menu we were clueless about. Our server took all the time needed to explain to us what each item was, how it was sourced, prepared, etc. She was amazing. The prices were reasonable for what you were getting as well. Then we got to walk through the hotel museum when we were finished. Overall a great experience and we will go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined here several times when in ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I have dined here several times when in Louisville. The ambiance is fun and the adjoining art gallery is interesting. However, my dining experiences have been somewhat mixed, depending on the dishes I ordered. I find many of the selections to be too greasy and lacking in other flavor for my taste. The grilled octopus was delicious, but overly oily. The hen roulade was tasteless. I would like to see more fresh vegetable accompaniments and entrees with lighter preparation. The menu changes seasonally, and I have had better dishes at other times.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good food but spotty service. Interesti ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Good food but spotty service. Interesting environment. Charred octopus and cheese grits are very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

Delectable is the only way to describe P ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Delectable is the only way to describe Proof. The service is amazing, the food to die for, and the wine list extensive. I cannot rave about Proof enough. Go. Drink. Eat. Repeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The jezebel sauce for the Bison Burger w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The jezebel sauce for the Bison Burger was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was spectacular. Ordered the ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Everything was spectacular. Ordered the special which was a duck breast and was honestly the greatest duck dish I've ever had. Staff was very accommodating for my brothers birthday and brought out dessert with a candle. Our server was a lot of fun, suggested and recommended great choices and was always on top of things. Look forward to going back on the next trip.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredibly fresh, innovative cuisine (tr ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Incredibly fresh, innovative cuisine (tried and loved the Blackberry Pop Tart, Bison Burger and Marksbury Hen Roulade), great service and an amazing art environment.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the food was good and the servin ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Overall the food was good and the serving size was also nice. The food was pricier but did offer a lot of complexity to the recipes. The seating is a bit close for my taste, and I did request private seating which we did not get. I am not sure we will return but it was nice to try and would probably recommend to someone wanting to try a fun menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Overall good dining experience. Excellen ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Overall good dining experience. Excellent food, and solid service. Fairly quiet Tuesday night. They neglected to check us in with our Open Table reservation, and though they mentioned our special occasion when confirming the reservation by phone, they did not mention it during our visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent brunch - eggs benedict - terri ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Excellent brunch - eggs benedict - terrific. Best mint julep in Louisville - served the correct way - crushed ice in a silver cup! Many other places, including Churchill, lazy - used cubed ice!

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

By far the best restaurant in downtown L ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

By far the best restaurant in downtown Louisville. Nothing else comes close. Perfectly executed food and cocktails.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We have loved Proof for a long time. We ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We have loved Proof for a long time. We hadn't been there since our honeymoon. Top notch food, great cocktails, and an hard-to-beat Bourbon list.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic. Best meal I've had in months. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fantastic. Best meal I've had in months. Delicious and interesting menu and knowledgeable and warm professional staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we stayed in Louisville for the weekend ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

we stayed in Louisville for the weekend and this was my favorite place to eat. they have a gallery next to the restaurant and the food and cocktails were amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the friendly service. Definitely ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Enjoyed the friendly service. Definitely get the truffle oil and Parmesan on your fries, if offered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I dropped in for lunch on a Saturday and ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

I dropped in for lunch on a Saturday and discovered that it was Proof's weekend brunch. I loved it! I couldn't decide between sweet or savory--I knew both would be too much. I decided on the shrimp and grits (without the bacon). Large shrimps, perfect grits and sides. Even the coffee was so yummy and note-worthy, like coffee in Europe, always good. Next time, the Warm Banana Walnut Bread. Or maybe the French Toast Casserole. There is the Egg Frittata...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Most importantly, Proof has delicious, i ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Most importantly, Proof has delicious, inventive food! My husband & I were both very impressed by each of our choices from the menu, as well as the fantastic service.

Also, the wine list was amazing, with many old world wines that I have seen on a wine list before.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Cannot complain at all about the overall ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Cannot complain at all about the overall experience. Great food, friendly and engaging service, plus an interesting and impressive museum. A must go when in Louisville!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 17th wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary at the 21c Hotel and we had brunch at Proof on Main. Out of all the places that we dined during our special weekend, Proof was the only place that really acknowledged the occasion and made us feel extra special! The food, service, and atmosphere were absolutely perfect. We can't wait to return again. Thanks Proof on Main and 21c for an unforgettable weekend!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is an art gallery connected to the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

There is an art gallery connected to the restaurant that is perfect for perusing with your drink, while you wait for your food. Now the food.... words can't do it justice! Amazing. Coupled with the ambiance, and you have a perfect spot for special occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Marvelous place to eat with great servic ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Marvelous place to eat with great service!! Beautifully decorated as well. Best food we had in Kentucky and on the caliber of what we expect in our foodie town of Charleston, SC. Highly recommended!! I would definitely come back if I am in the area again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!

 
 (Northern MI)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Great atmosphere, great service & best of all, the food was fantastic. We were in Louisville for a wedding. We are rarely disappointed using Open Table & this dining experience was no exception.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Won't go back

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My salmon was so salty I couldn't finish -even my ahi appetizer was too salty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Never again!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant. It is prentious without justification. The food is only fair, and not worth the cost. Inappropriate for children as it purports to be an adult or romantic place. We have travelled the world, and this will remain a negative memory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great experience

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our first time to try Proof, & we really enjoyed it.

The service was impeccable, the entrees unique & delicious.

The only disappointing part of the meal were our appetizers.

They were just average.

Would definitely dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely the best restaurant in Louisv ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Absolutely the best restaurant in Louisville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were exceptional! The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Food and service were exceptional! The team that waited on us was attentive and very knowledgable of the menu and specials. Don't be afraid to try the octopus if still available, you won't be disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fashionable restaurant

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Thank you for amazing dinner! We ate very delicious foods.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Top-tier prices; inconsistent food

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Proof is one of the most beautiful restaurants in Louisville. Housed in one of the best hotels in the country it promises more than it delivers. The food is wildly inconsistent. Take breakfast, for instance: I had fantastic pancakes, among the best ever, but my wife's simple dish was a disgrace: what should have been scrambled eggs came out as a small flattened mass and the bacon was unforgivably overdone and cold. We would have sent it back but by the time it was served we were on the clock to make our flight home. Similarly, at dinner with family two of us had good dishes, two didn't. Example: My rib-eye steak (for an exorbitant $51, no less, very high even by NYC standards) was thin and full of connective tissue, though tasty. The adjacent bar, however, is first-rate.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Great expectation met & exceeded

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We made a reservation to eat at Proof on Main for the first time for our 44th anniversary. We had been hearing great things about it and decided it was time to see for ourselves. We were delighted with the ambiance, the quirkiness of a few touches that we won't describe - you really do have to see this place for yourself - including the restrooms and the art exhibitions. The halibut was the best preparation I have had anywhere, including NYC, Copenhagen, and Paris. We don't normally order a cheese plate or anything like it, but we did this time, and it was delightful. A few people had children there, but unless your child is an epicure and very patient, I would make other plans for them when you go. Then you can sit back and relax.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Casual wear & great food; I'm pleasantly surprised

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Food and dessert were great. This was a special occasion as I'm from out of state and thought I would treat myself.

When I arrived at 5:45 PM, it was very calm and had a few patrons in the restaurant. There was a family with shorts and tank tops on which is GREAT! I was a little stressed that such a famous restaurant would be snooty and snobby but it was awesome. The hostess was wearing a (cute!) grey hoodie and the servers were dressed mostly casually.

I really enjoy when a restaurant can provide a beautiful place, wonderful food, and a casual dress mood. I would definitely come back next time I'm in Louisville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ribs were very dry during the middle of ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Ribs were very dry during the middle of the dinner rush. Their sauce is fantastic, sweet with a decent kick. Hot chocolate chip cookies were pretty good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We have been to this hotel before. The f ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been to this hotel before. The first visit was about 8 years ago and our waiter was Craig, perhaps the best we have experienced and truly unparalleled performance. So it was not that good this time but the waiter, Billy, was excellent and food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Somehow with only a few diners for break ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Somehow with only a few diners for breakfast service was really poor.

I guess we took our invisible pills and didn't realize it? LOL

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Great, unusual menu for serious eaters. ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great, unusual menu for serious eaters. Wine prices are, however, high. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, cool scene, but way overprice ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Good food, cool scene, but way overpriced for the tiny amount of food you get. Service was awful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

fun, creative dishes in a beautiful setting

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 17, 2016

The interior is lovely and eclectic (no surprise since this is a 21C restaurant). I loved the original artwork and beautiful furnishings and fixtures in the dining rooms and bar area (think rustic meets modern industrial meets vintage chic). My friends loved the locally sourced bison burger. The seared octopus appetizer was interesting but could have used more flavor; same with the bone marrow (roasted bones appetizer). The charcuterie plate was excellent; I'd definitely order it again. We had two different ports and the house gelato for our dessert course; these were all great. Service got slow, but the restaurant was very busy so this is understandable. Our server was friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Sunday brunch

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Visiting Louisville and had heard from friends to try this restaurant. Cocktails great. Menu small. Shrimp and grits were great. 21c eggs ok but no different than any other breakfast. We also had banana bread which we didn't finish because it was too done for our taste and didn't expect syrup on it. We'd go again though for those shrimp and grits. Service very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

 
 (London)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Second visit to Proof on Main. It didn't disappoint. The service was excellent and the food was fantastic. Can't fault it. Simply a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was good but pricey for what you ge ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was good but pricey for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.