About Proof on Main

702 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

The ingredients in our menus reflect the region’s sustainable farmers and producers with a soulful and honest approach showcasing the bounty of the Ohio River Valley. Housed in five historic buildings in downtown Louisville, Proof on Main is part of 21c Museum Hotels, the award-winning boutique hotel and restaurant group. The dining room is one of the most striking public spaces in the city, with rotating, contemporary art exhibitions by local and internationally-acclaimed artists alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am - 10am; Saturday and Sunday: 7am -1pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm






Bar Open Until: 1:00 AM







Monday - Thursday: 1:00am







Friday - Saturday: 2:00am







Sunday: Midnight

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 217-6360

Website:
http://www.proofonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Adjacent to Proof on Main is the 21c Museum, North America's first museum dedicated solely to collecting and exhibiting contemporary art of the 21st century. With over 9000 square feet of exhibition space, 21c Museum hosts dynamic group and solo exhibitions featuring emerging artists alongside acclaimed international artists, such as video artists Bill Viola and Tony Oursler, photographers Andres Serrano, Sam Taylor Wood, and David Leventhal, sculptors Yinka Shonibare and Judy Fox, and multimedia artists Chuck Close, Alfredo Jaar, and Kara Walker.

The Museum is free and open to the public, 24/7.

Catering:
Catering is provided by Proof on Main and the culinary team can prepare a menu specifically tailored to fit your needs. The menu works to showcase the agricultural bounty of the Ohio River Valley and celebrates artisanal products and sustainable farming, delivering plates rich with the culinary traditions of Italy and the American South.

Parking Details:
Parking begins after 5:30pm and is $6 for valet. There is also garage parking available at 7th and Market.

Executive Chef:
Mike Wajda

Private Party Facilities:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Private Party Contact:
Meghan Madden: (502)217-6312x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Restaurant Photos

Proof on Main
Proof Benedict
Blackberry Pop Tart
Heirloom Tomato Salad
21 C Breakfast
Scallops
Salmon
Warm Ricotta
Bone Marrow
Gaierhof Pinot Grigio
Black Stallion Cab
Catfish
Bison
Chilled Ky Soup
Angus Short Ribs
Eight Dollar Hot Chocolate Dessert
Local Mixed Lettuces Salad
High And Mighty Beer Of The Gods
Bardstown Bellini
House-Made Ketchup
Sueño Mojado
Eggplant Bánh Mì
Bison Burger
Italian 76
Bulleit-Vardier
Corncake
Nutella Gelato
Hardneck Garlic Soup
Ramp Vichyssoise With Scallops
Stripe Bass
Unknown Cake With Candied Olives
beef short ribs
Bison Tenderloin
bison burger and fries
Pork Chop
Squid Soup
Chocolate, Olive Oil Caramel, And Candied Olives.
Scallop crudo
Carbonara With Salmon
Ramps Dinner
Tomato Salad With Strawberry
Carrot Cake
Ricotta Gnocchi With Beet Sauce
Scallops And Asparagus
Giocato Pinot Grigio
Riccotta Gnocchi
Grits
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare
Bison Bone Marrow
Bourbon & Barrel
Truffle Fries
Butternut Squash Soup
Egg & Cheese Sandwich On Challah
Ricotta Gnocchi
Mixed Fruit Salad
Darkened Manhattan
Warm Local Ricotta w/ Bread
Eggs Bendict Over Kentucky Country Ham And Grits
Chocolate Terrine
Nutella and Roasted Peanut Gelato
Buttermilk Pancakes
Spring Scafata
T Bone Steak
Soft Shell Crab Salad
Truffle Risotto
Charcuterie Board
Woodland Farm Popcorn
Cheese and charcuterie plate
Basil Sponge Cake,Strawberries.
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Fingerling Potatoes
Roasted Broccoli Bahn Mi Sandwich
Sunchoke Soup with Mackerel Rillette
Chicken BLT
Pork Belly
Bison Pastrami Reuben
Chick Pea And Ham Fritters
Cod
Salmon with Barley
Short Rib
Ham Falafal
New American Classic
MARKSBURY FARM CHICKEN
Charred Octopus
Housemade Ginger Ale
Pan Roasted Halibut
Quinoa Fritters
Octopus Bagna Cauda
Sturgeon With Kohlrabi
Cotton candy
Halibut
Striped Mullet
Old Forester Bourbon
Atlantic Swordfish
Cornmeal Donut With Gelato
Cheese Plate
Bison Tongue And Octopus

Proof on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Central Kentucky
Contemporary American
Central Kentucky
Most Booked
Central Kentucky
3 More
Fit for Foodies
Louisville
Contemporary American
Louisville
Most Booked
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

fit for foodies (125)
special occasion (91)
hot spot (62)
See All
vibrant bar scene (58)
notable wine list (39)
romantic (39)
good for groups (38)
neighborhood gem (38)
great for brunch (33)
great for lunch (30)
late-night find (17)
great for outdoor dining (4)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1876 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the friendly service. Definitely ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the friendly service. Definitely get the truffle oil and Parmesan on your fries, if offered.

food5
ambience5
service3
value3

I dropped in for lunch on a Saturday and ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

I dropped in for lunch on a Saturday and discovered that it was Proof's weekend brunch. I loved it! I couldn't decide between sweet or savory--I knew both would be too much. I decided on the shrimp and grits (without the bacon). Large shrimps, perfect grits and sides. Even the coffee was so yummy and note-worthy, like coffee in Europe, always good. Next time, the Warm Banana Walnut Bread. Or maybe the French Toast Casserole. There is the Egg Frittata...

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Most importantly, Proof has delicious, i ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Most importantly, Proof has delicious, inventive food! My husband & I were both very impressed by each of our choices from the menu, as well as the fantastic service. Also, the wine list was amazing, with many old world wines that I have seen on a wine list before.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cannot complain at all about the overall ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Cannot complain at all about the overall experience. Great food, friendly and engaging service, plus an interesting and impressive museum. A must go when in Louisville!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 17th wedding anniversa ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We celebrated our 17th wedding anniversary at the 21c Hotel and we had brunch at Proof on Main. Out of all the places that we dined during our special weekend, Proof was the only place that really acknowledged the occasion and made us feel extra special! The food, service, and atmosphere were absolutely perfect. We can't wait to return again. Thanks Proof on Main and 21c for an unforgettable weekend!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Marvelous place to eat with great servic ...

vip
Dined on June 10, 2016

Marvelous place to eat with great service!! Beautifully decorated as well. Best food we had in Kentucky and on the caliber of what we expect in our foodie town of Charleston, SC. Highly recommended!! I would definitely come back if I am in the area again!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on June 10, 2016

Great atmosphere, great service & best of all, the food was fantastic. We were in Louisville for a wedding. We are rarely disappointed using Open Table & this dining experience was no exception.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Won't go back

Dined on June 10, 2016

My salmon was so salty I couldn't finish -even my ahi appetizer was too salty

food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Never again!

Dined on June 4, 2016

I would not recommend this restaurant. It is prentious without justification. The food is only fair, and not worth the cost. Inappropriate for children as it purports to be an adult or romantic place. We have travelled the world, and this will remain a negative memory.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our first time to try Proof, & we really enjoyed it. The service was impeccable, the entrees unique & delicious. The only disappointing part of the meal were our appetizers. They were just average. Would definitely dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were exceptional! The ...

Dined on June 1, 2016

Food and service were exceptional! The team that waited on us was attentive and very knowledgable of the menu and specials. Don't be afraid to try the octopus if still available, you won't be disappointed!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fashionable restaurant

Dined on May 30, 2016

Thank you for amazing dinner! We ate very delicious foods.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Top-tier prices; inconsistent food

Dined on May 28, 2016

Proof is one of the most beautiful restaurants in Louisville. Housed in one of the best hotels in the country it promises more than it delivers. The food is wildly inconsistent. Take breakfast, for instance: I had fantastic pancakes, among the best ever, but my wife's simple dish was a disgrace: what should have been scrambled eggs came out as a small flattened mass and the bacon was unforgivably overdone and cold. We would have sent it back but by the time it was served we were on the clock to make our flight home. Similarly, at dinner with family two of us had good dishes, two didn't. Example: My rib-eye steak (for an exorbitant $51, no less, very high even by NYC standards) was thin and full of connective tissue, though tasty. The adjacent bar, however, is first-rate.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great expectation met & exceeded

Dined on May 28, 2016

We made a reservation to eat at Proof on Main for the first time for our 44th anniversary. We had been hearing great things about it and decided it was time to see for ourselves. We were delighted with the ambiance, the quirkiness of a few touches that we won't describe - you really do have to see this place for yourself - including the restrooms and the art exhibitions. The halibut was the best preparation I have had anywhere, including NYC, Copenhagen, and Paris. We don't normally order a cheese plate or anything like it, but we did this time, and it was delightful. A few people had children there, but unless your child is an epicure and very patient, I would make other plans for them when you go. Then you can sit back and relax.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Casual wear & great food; I'm pleasantly surprised

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food and dessert were great. This was a special occasion as I'm from out of state and thought I would treat myself. When I arrived at 5:45 PM, it was very calm and had a few patrons in the restaurant. There was a family with shorts and tank tops on which is GREAT! I was a little stressed that such a famous restaurant would be snooty and snobby but it was awesome. The hostess was wearing a (cute!) grey hoodie and the servers were dressed mostly casually. I really enjoy when a restaurant can provide a beautiful place, wonderful food, and a casual dress mood. I would definitely come back next time I'm in Louisville.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service4

Ribs were very dry during the middle of ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Ribs were very dry during the middle of the dinner rush. Their sauce is fantastic, sweet with a decent kick. Hot chocolate chip cookies were pretty good too.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to this hotel before. The f ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We have been to this hotel before. The first visit was about 8 years ago and our waiter was Craig, perhaps the best we have experienced and truly unparalleled performance. So it was not that good this time but the waiter, Billy, was excellent and food was very good.

food5
ambience5
service1

Somehow with only a few diners for break ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Somehow with only a few diners for breakfast service was really poor. I guess we took our invisible pills and didn't realize it? LOL

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great, unusual menu for serious eaters. ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Great, unusual menu for serious eaters. Wine prices are, however, high. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service1

Good food, cool scene, but way overprice ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Good food, cool scene, but way overpriced for the tiny amount of food you get. Service was awful.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

fun, creative dishes in a beautiful setting

Dined on May 17, 2016

The interior is lovely and eclectic (no surprise since this is a 21C restaurant). I loved the original artwork and beautiful furnishings and fixtures in the dining rooms and bar area (think rustic meets modern industrial meets vintage chic). My friends loved the locally sourced bison burger. The seared octopus appetizer was interesting but could have used more flavor; same with the bone marrow (roasted bones appetizer). The charcuterie plate was excellent; I'd definitely order it again. We had two different ports and the house gelato for our dessert course; these were all great. Service got slow, but the restaurant was very busy so this is understandable. Our server was friendly and very knowledgeable about the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

Visiting Louisville and had heard from friends to try this restaurant. Cocktails great. Menu small. Shrimp and grits were great. 21c eggs ok but no different than any other breakfast. We also had banana bread which we didn't finish because it was too done for our taste and didn't expect syrup on it. We'd go again though for those shrimp and grits. Service very good.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 14, 2016

Second visit to Proof on Main. It didn't disappoint. The service was excellent and the food was fantastic. Can't fault it. Simply a lovely evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service3

Food was good but pricey for what you ge ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Food was good but pricey for what you get.

food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We've dined here whenever we're in Louis ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

We've dined here whenever we're in Louisville. This trip we again brought a large party. Though the service was very good the food was underwhelming. We were also told that four items that we ordered were unavailable. That's disconcerting for a limited menu. Those of us who who had to chose an alternative were disappointed. The bison burger was overcooked, dry and flavorless and the rabbit cannelloni appeared to have been left under the heat lamp over night. The vegetables were overcooked and listless and the rabbit filling was not heated through. The cheese and charcuterie platter was good and so was the wine.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Interesting variations on classic Americ ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Interesting variations on classic American ingredients. Outstanding service.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous venue. Excellent food and wine list

Dined on May 11, 2016

Visit this restaurant every time I visit Louisville. I bring friends and we never fail to be amused by the boutique hotel's art show.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

Not the experience we expected

Dined on May 9, 2016

We were very excited for a date night at Proof on Main. Turned out to be not worthwhile at all. First off the service was top notch as was the ambiance. Both were as advertised. The drinks were also good, well priced, not very strong, but all in all tasty and worth ordering. The food is where things took a disastrous turn. The Pea and Carrot salad was over seasoned to the point of being inedible. It was horrid. Our server was obliging and apologetic and took it off the bill, but that was not the only disappointment unfortunately. The English muffin app was also misleading and disappointing. Seeing "bourbon belly" on the ingredients list led us to have mouth watering dreams of bourbon glazed or braised pork belly. Unfortunately, it was some sort of fish belly that was not terrible, but not what we wanted. So, disappointing. We shared a meal as we often do and chose the seared sea scallops. They were delicious and well prepared a great dish, but for the price? No. Not worth it. We also ordered a side of the cheese grits to share, these were excellent. Heading into dessert the only thing we truly enjoyed was the side of grits. We ordered the trio of ice cream/sorbet of the night. All three scoops were excellent as was the coffee, espresso, and Willett Rye flight we ordered. The cotton candy ending was a nice touch to pick up our spirits. While there were a couple items of note, we won't ever go back. We found it over priced to say the least based on even the best items we ate. And when you are paying a premium for your dining experience, over seasoned food to the point of being inedible is simply unforgiveable.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service3

Cool place to hang out during Derby time

Dined on May 9, 2016

Cool place to hang out during Derby time

food5
ambience5
service5

We were visiting Louisville for the Derb ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

We were visiting Louisville for the Derby and ate here and the service and food was fabulous! I'd highly recommend it!

food5
ambience5
service5

One of the finest meals I've had in rece ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

One of the finest meals I've had in recent years. Incredibly fresh, innovative cuisine, great service and an amazing art environment.

food2
ambience4
service4

Our evening started out great. We ordere ...

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

Our evening started out great. We ordered the charred peas and carrots salad and it was to die for. We also ordered wine and unfortunately when the server went to serve it, he knocked it over and spilled it onto the booth and my jacket. He was very apologetic and cleaned up immediately. The people that were food runners were rude, snobbish and unfriendly. When we received our meal which was "rabbit cannelloni", what we received were two small dried out stuffed cannelloni's with blended chicken and rabbit made into a dry paste. We said something to the server asking where the rabbit meat was and he told us it was in the blended paste. If I order rabbit, I expect rabbit! He said he would take it off the bill, but he did not. Instead, the manager came by and offered us free dessert. This place does not deserve more than 3 stars. I would save my money and go elsewhere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful

Dined on April 29, 2016

The cheese grits and kentucky bourbon pie were absolutely delicious. Service was exceptional. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food - loved it

Dined on April 29, 2016

Went there before the marathon. Had the hen-roulade. Outstanding! My friend had the salmon, also excellent. Potatoes for the morning of the race were some of the best I have had. Loved the cauliflower. Not a fan of the cotton candy, but that's just personally too sweet for my test. Waitress was very knowledgeable about the food and super helpful. Great service!!!! Have been telling all my friends in California about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Pretty impressive

Dined on April 29, 2016

We dined at Proof for my husband's birthday. The service was fantastic! Our waitress was extremely knowledgeable about the menu. We don't dine out at expensive restaurants very often so we weren't familiar with a lot of the food terms. Our food came out quickly and was delicious. I had the Lamb Ragout, and my husband had the Rabbit Cannelloni. We were both very impressed. It was a great experience. Also, the check comes out with cotton candy, so that was an entertaining twist

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were on vacation, so don't know the t ...

vip
Dined on April 28, 2016

We were on vacation, so don't know the total scene of this place. It was recommended by a friend. We loved the atmosphere and the food was very good too. Nice wine/cocktail selections and great bathrooms.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Well plated, very pricey, but misses

Dined on April 28, 2016

We've enjoyed brunch here before but we felt this was overpriced for what was served during the dinner. Maybe only a true gourmet wouldn't mind being charged over $22 for one whole carrot charred in ash, beautifully delivered to the table; however, I was a little taken aback.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Proof on Main is Superb

vip
Dined on April 25, 2016

The food was great, and the service was top notch. This is in downtown Louisville and it is a gem in that area. I highly recommend this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Expected - Great

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Living in Cincinnati, I have been to the 21C hotel there and their restaurant, so while in Louisville, my wife and a couple of friends wanted to try their offerings here as well. The atmosphere, food and service was outstanding. We were there on the evening of the "Thunder" over Louisville event (fireworks) and the staff as well as most customers were hopping up to see. Our window seat was much coveted! Beyond the food the hotel and amenities are also fun and enjoyable, well designed and elegantly presented. I would recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Top-notch, beginning to end. I had the h ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Top-notch, beginning to end. I had the halibut, the beet salad, at least one dessert, kombucha and a few different wines. Just an excellent experience all around. Have a few wines then laze around all the spectacular art. The whole thing is sensory heaven. Go!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.