Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Proof on Main

The ingredients in our menus reflect the region’s sustainable farmers and producers with a soulful and honest approach showcasing the bounty of the Ohio River Valley. Housed in five historic buildings in downtown Louisville, Proof on Main is part of 21c Museum Hotels, the award-winning boutique hotel and restaurant group. The dining room is one of the most striking public spaces in the city, with rotating, contemporary art exhibitions by local and internationally-acclaimed artists alike.

702 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am - 10am; Saturday and Sunday: 7am -1pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm






Bar Open Until: 1:00 AM







Monday - Thursday: 1:00am







Friday - Saturday: 2:00am







Sunday: Midnight

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 217-6360

Website:
http://www.proofonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Adjacent to Proof on Main is the 21c Museum, North America's first museum dedicated solely to collecting and exhibiting contemporary art of the 21st century. With over 9000 square feet of exhibition space, 21c Museum hosts dynamic group and solo exhibitions featuring emerging artists alongside acclaimed international artists, such as video artists Bill Viola and Tony Oursler, photographers Andres Serrano, Sam Taylor Wood, and David Leventhal, sculptors Yinka Shonibare and Judy Fox, and multimedia artists Chuck Close, Alfredo Jaar, and Kara Walker.

The Museum is free and open to the public, 24/7.

Catering:
Catering is provided by Proof on Main and the culinary team can prepare a menu specifically tailored to fit your needs. The menu works to showcase the agricultural bounty of the Ohio River Valley and celebrates artisanal products and sustainable farming, delivering plates rich with the culinary traditions of Italy and the American South.

Parking Details:
Parking begins after 5:30pm and is $6 for valet. There is also garage parking available at 7th and Market.

Executive Chef:
Mike Wajda

Private Party Facilities:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Private Party Contact:
Meghan Madden: (502) 217-6312

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Proof on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (48)
Special Occasion (46)
Good for a Date (46)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Handcrafted Cocktails (41)
Hot Spot (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (34)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Modern Decor (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Fun (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Notable Wine List (20)
Worth the Drive (20)
Business Meals (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Romantic (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Authentic (14)
Bar Seating (13)
People Watching (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Seasonal (9)
Cozy (8)
Healthy (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Casual (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Organic (5)
Historic (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Waterfront (2)
Tapas (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Spicy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
2234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined 3 days ago

A wonderful meal from start to finish. Unusual menu with creative flavors and flairs. Service was flawless, efficient and informative.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined 3 days ago

Our first time in Louisville, and we thought we might want to explore the trappings of touristy Kentucky food-fare, but were steered to Proof by a native. SO happy we obliged the recommendation. A world-class menu, fresh and inventive, attention to service and detail, plus some surprises (cotton candy, instead of mints, with the bill!) Oh...and we had our Kentucky Bourbon flights, so we we didn't miss out on the tasteful heritage of this historic city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

All good until it wasn't. Ordered a $160 bottle of champagne and they set it by the Busboys table with no ice. We ordered an after-dinner drink off the menu they didn't have it; we ordered the second after dinner drink they didn't have that one either; we ordered a lemon sorbet dessert they served us pineapple sorbet instead. So it was all good until it wasn't. And when we pointed out all these issues to the manager he made excuses about being veey busy and gave us a giant plate of cotton candy instead of just saying I'm sorry. Weird. So at the end of the day we had a $700 tab for 6 people and it ended very poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Interesting venue with good service. Unfortunately food isn't up to that standard. Rabbit ragout was tasty but lacked a key ingredient, rabbit. If there was 3 oz it was a lot. My wife's hen was dry. Good bourbon and nice wine but too much about the vibe and not enough about the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food, drinks and waiter were all very good. We had an issue with our order, it took literally one hour for our food to come. The manager quickly resolved the issue by picking up our tab.
I would give this place another try based on the quality of the food and service.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Having just arrived in Louisville we wanted a nice light meal with drinks. The servers were young, cute and attentive. There was good attention to detail. The outdoor dining is delightful. Our meals consisted of a pasta small plate and grilled broccoli side -- both delicious and perfectly portioned. My husband greatly enjoyed the lamb chops. The downstairs bar has a great feel and the bartender delighted us with live music conversation.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We had lunch at Proof before a trip to the Frazier Museum. Our server was an awesome young lady. Her recommendations were spot on and her personality a breath of fresh air. What an outstanding dining experience. When in Louisvile, a visit to Proof on Main is a must! Bravo!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Waitress brought the wrong lunch after I had asked her what part of the chicken was in the hot fried chicken . She told me it was the breast. When the meal came, she brought a Caesar salad with chicken. I said that was not what I ordered. How to you mis HEAR Caesar salad when someone says fried chicken? My husband ordered the pasta. He was presented with a half , literally pasta on only one half of the plate for $18. This was the luncheon portion. The food was mediocre.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Stayed at the 21C Museum Hotel for the weekend and enjoyed Sunday brunch and our anniversary dinner at Proof. Service was wonderful and food was outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I was disappointed this time around. I had the cod and it was overly dry with no interesting flavors. My sister had the wild rice paella and it was equally unexciting. We were expecting to be wowed, but it fell flat. Either there weren't any specials, or our server forgot to tell us about them. I'm removing Proof from my favorites list.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Fabulous place. Creative menu done well. Excellent bourbon list and a well priced wine list.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Flavorful and nice, server was very knowledgeable. A little underwhelming for the price.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Proof is a definite destination for foodies. If your palate is not refined pass on by. We always enjoy the adventure here.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The TL;DR version of this is that we do recommend Proof's brunch.

Longer version. So we did not realize that Proof (which is basically a hotel restaurant, but a very stylish / postmodern one) has a breakfast menu until 10AM and a separate brunch menu after 10. We made reservations for 9:45 and we didn't figure this out until after we ordered, when it came up that we had wanted something that wasn't on the menu. The brunch menu is better, for the most part, so take this into consideration.

We were driving home to Grand Rapids, MI (6.5 hours), so we really loaded up and didn't eat again till dinner. We had the egg white frittata (the cave aged Gruyere is excellent), the Proof Benedict (this is really good - it's served with a fresh green salad, which is delightful, and the biscuits go really well with the hollondais without being excessive). We had a side of potatoes (these, too, are delightful - they have pickled onions and a touch of citrus, which makes them really fresh tasting, they're crispy, but the citrus really cuts through the fat). Finally, this is the dish we couldn't order at 9:45 because brunch didn't start till 10, we had the french toast casserole as a "dessert" - this is actually the way to have it, it's served in cast iron and it's gooey and wonderful, the current flavor was bourbon banana, with caramelized shaved walnuts. We really recommend this, but if we hadn't been planning on going 10 hours before eating again, we would have cut down on the main course, because it was too much food.

Finally the decor is chic, cool art on the walls, avant garde / post-modern, not hotel-like at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

My wife and I ended up here on a Sunday for brunch and lived it.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Amazing food, drinks, service, and ambiance.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We had a great waiter. He managed our bottle of wine throughout the entire meal (tough to do). Our dinners were good. Our dessert wss not good. A deconstructed carrot cake which looked like a disaster and they forgot the bacon frosting (Very important). They did not charge us though; again great service. My big disappointment was the 3x-4x make-up on a pretty good wine list. I call that gouging. The bar is fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Forget farm to table vegetables. This place grows their own Bison. Great flavors, complimentary textures, appealing presentations. Big city sophistication on the Ohio River.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

When we visit Louisville this is our go to restaurant. Excellent and fresh dishes. A really great wine list as well as specialty drinks. The bar scene is very hip. One of the most polite staff at the bar and restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Thrilling Cuisine In Art-Filled Room

Highly creative, perfectly prepared, gloriously presented -- the meal at Proof was as memorable as the museum in the 21c, which is a very high bar.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Excellent service. Amazing food. Probably would not have the carrot cake again though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Just traveling thru...enjoyed the hotel and the restaurant! Thanks for being there.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was a special night out with my 88-yr old mom and my sister who flew in from Atlanta. They enjoyed their first visit to Proof on Main before we went to see Beautiful at the KY Center for Performing Arts. It was the perfect way to start our evening on the town.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Went to the theatre afterwards

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Amazing menu. The service was top notch. First time trying octopus...

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Reliable choice that never disappoints. The confirmation phone call adds a personal touch that is synonymous with the 21c brand.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Limited menu. Not my style. Two things looked good to us.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 16, 2017

The servic and food were both excellent, but overall, our "girls' night out" was a bit pricey. I enjoyed two glasses of wine, entree, dessert and coffee, plus tip, and my tab alone exceeded $100. I could read the reaction to the entree prices on my friend's face, so suggested perhaps an appetizer and salad if she wasn't very hungry - which is what she did. Since Proof on Main had been my suggestion, I sprung for her dessert as my treat. This is the perfect dining establishment for a special occasion or business dinner, but unless there's a gold or platinum credit card in your wallet, I'd not recommend it for a casual night out.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I reserved a table for seven for a groomsmen and best man occasion. I ordered the bison burger and fries, which was dry and tepid. Fries were ok. Coffee was very good. Several people at my table left with a feeling of being short changed with the small portions (pork cheeks). After dropping $400 for the evening, I figured that was my first and last visit.
The young lady waiting on us did a very good job. Thankful for that.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went for mother's dinner. Staff was great, Food was great. Great time great pace.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Beautiful Atmosphere. The service was great and seeing the museum was an added bonus. There aren't many vegetarian options, but the server was great about making accommodations and was very knowledgable about the menu.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I had duck and my wife had speghetti. The food was awesome, good music and plenty to look at in the museum.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Fantastic experience throughout. Knowledgable and accommodating staff. Cocktails to die for paired with outstanding food options.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Portions very small on main meal and fish had little flavor, crammed seating heard everyone's conversations. Not what I expected at a 4 star but was an experience to try is so bar but skip on meal much better options in town for 1/2 the price .

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on May 10, 2017

There were six in our party and all plates were clean. Creative cuisine and cooked to perfection. We keep coming back. Love it dearly.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Absolutely LOVED Proof. Catfish dip was incredible as was the Rabbit. Did 2 bourbon tastings and our waitress was so lovely giving great recommendations. Was first time in Louisville and this was one of our best meals.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The food was fabulous, and the service impeccable. Our server, Baker, was delightful! Unfortunately, the art that was displayed throughout the space was very dark and vulgar in a lot of cases. I am really not a fuddy-duddy, but it was offensive and we will not go back because of it. Too bad!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2017

As two out of towners and one local person, we went there for brunch the morning after the Kentucky Derby and it was fantastic! Everyone got something different and everyone loved what they got! We would definitely go again when in town!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Our breakfast at Proof was great! Everyone was happy and satisfied with their meals. Beautiful restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Would have been great if they made it clear the menu on weekends is brunch only. Very limited veg and no vegan options. Was not really worth the hype.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.