Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.03mi
  3. Distance: 0.03mi
  4. Distance: 0.10mi

About Proof on Main

The ingredients in our menus reflect the region’s sustainable farmers and producers with a soulful and honest approach showcasing the bounty of the Ohio River Valley. Housed in five historic buildings in downtown Louisville, Proof on Main is part of 21c Museum Hotels, the award-winning boutique hotel and restaurant group. The dining room is one of the most striking public spaces in the city, with rotating, contemporary art exhibitions by local and internationally-acclaimed artists alike.

702 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am - 10am; Saturday and Sunday: 7am -1pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm






Bar Open Until: 1:00 AM







Monday - Thursday: 1:00am







Friday - Saturday: 2:00am







Sunday: Midnight

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 217-6360

Website:
http://www.proofonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Adjacent to Proof on Main is the 21c Museum, North America's first museum dedicated solely to collecting and exhibiting contemporary art of the 21st century. With over 9000 square feet of exhibition space, 21c Museum hosts dynamic group and solo exhibitions featuring emerging artists alongside acclaimed international artists, such as video artists Bill Viola and Tony Oursler, photographers Andres Serrano, Sam Taylor Wood, and David Leventhal, sculptors Yinka Shonibare and Judy Fox, and multimedia artists Chuck Close, Alfredo Jaar, and Kara Walker.

The Museum is free and open to the public, 24/7.

Catering:
Catering is provided by Proof on Main and the culinary team can prepare a menu specifically tailored to fit your needs. The menu works to showcase the agricultural bounty of the Ohio River Valley and celebrates artisanal products and sustainable farming, delivering plates rich with the culinary traditions of Italy and the American South.

Parking Details:
Parking begins after 5:30pm and is $6 for valet. There is also garage parking available at 7th and Market.

Executive Chef:
Mike Wajda

Private Party Facilities:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Private Party Contact:
Meghan Madden: (502) 217-6312

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Proof on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (51)
Handcrafted Cocktails (47)
Fit for Foodies (45)
See All
Good for a Date (43)
Special Occasion (41)
Hot Spot (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Fun (29)
Romantic (29)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Local Ingredients (23)
Worth the Drive (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
People Watching (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Business Meals (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Authentic (14)
Great for Lunch (11)
Cozy (11)
Casual (11)
Great for Brunch (11)
Healthy (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Organic (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Scenic View (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (0)
Sort By:
S
2274 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Northern MI)·Dined 2 days ago

Exceptional food selections and everything was delicious. Our 15 year old granddaughter even had the octopus and ate it all! A very special and memorable evening with our two granddaughters.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the city. Laura Lee Brown and Steve Wilson always continue to outdo themselves with their various projects. This place is nothing short of that. They bring a modern whiff of fresh air to a town desperately needing it. I am grateful for their presence and drive to keep Louisville up with the times.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vegan, Tapas, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Cozy, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

Dinner is always well done and attentive service is a plus.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Vegan, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Third and final time for this over-rated restaurant. The pork chop, or at least the two bites of it that remained after cutting away the fat and bone, was very nice. The Halibut was overcooked. The service was fine and the bourbon offerings plentiful. There are a couple of worthwhile appetizers...the seared octopus got my attention. Other than that, it's a weird, overpriced menu. Many better options in Louisville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Overall great evening. The service was very good. The octopus appetizer was excellent. The lamb main course was okay, but we've had much better lamb. The art is interesting, but not necessarily appealing.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 11, 2017

For an all around great dining experience, you can always count on Proof. Service is always perfect and food is outstanding. We also like the large selection of Bourbon Flights as it gives us a chance to try new bourbons each time we go. Most consistently great restaurant that we visit.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great food. Fun decor. Very eclectic. A little weird that they put your bread straight on the table with no plate.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Menu was filled with things that we had never even tried before. A little difficult to order , but server was great at explaining choices. We choose this restaurant after reading $30 and under description but prices were much higher . I believe price level should be listed higher on open table . Food was small servings but with huge flavor! Great artsy place to go and have a fancy meal:) ...wouldn't bring the kids :)

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I eat at Proof every time I come to town. The roasted bones from the kitchen and the El Guapo from the bar are must haves for me. The food is fantastic and the bartenders are some of the most professional and creative I have every come across.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Good was fabulous! Ambiance was fabulous'. Our server was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Waitress made the evening along with great food! Great job. Burnt bones were great

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The menu is fabulous with options for everyone. Sides are as wonderful as the main entree. It is always a treat to dine here!

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

I was in Louisville KY for two days with my family and we wanted to find a place that was interesting, fun, and had good food. Proof fit the bill perfectly. We arrived directly from the airport and were a bit high strung. The waitress was not the least bit fazed by three high strung New Yorkers. She attended to our drinks and refreshments, then walked us through the menu making excellent recommendations at each juncture. We had one vegetarian in our group who found lots of excellent things to eat. The appetizers were delicious and both the fish special and the porkchop from the menu were excellent. We had the chocolate bar and the fruit for desert. both were very good.

The decor of the restaurant was fantastic and really fun. In addition, the bathrooms are in the contemporary art museum which is attached to the restaurant. Both the art museum and the bathrooms are a must see!

I would definitely go back to Proof when in Lousiville. As an aside we also went to Decca - also excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My wife had the Benedict and I had the spicy hot chicken, Both were excellently prepared and presented. Josh was a great server.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 30, 2017

The bartender was a great host to local bourbons. Dinner was delicious and we were touched by the sweet ending with the cotton candy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My family and I had a wonderful dinner at Proof on Main! It was a lively place with great service and delicious food!

Tags: Healthy, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Terrible experience. 2 out of the 4 of us received cold, under cooked dishes. Mine was the Buffalo Burger and it was cold and drastically under cooked. A friend ordered the Paella and it was cold, the broccoli wasn't steamed (at all), the mussels were under cooked and the rice tasted like minute rice. Overall, none of us were impressed given the dishes are fairly pricey. When we mentioned this to the server, he gave us an attitude as if he didn't quite believe us. I certainly wouldn't go back or recommend this place to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Cream of broccoli soup was really good. I could have eaten a couple bowls. Ribeye was not worth the $50. The flavors were way too contrasting and did not go well together. I didn't even eat half of it because it just wasn't that good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on July 20, 2017

Fantastic, flavorfilled food followed by touring the building and looking at art galleries - a unique and wonderful experience! The photo below pictures the grilled ham and cheese with Parmesan garlic fries on top and the whipped ricotta on bottom. Both were delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food was delicious but the service was sub par. My waiter brought me a porkchop when I ordered the ribeye. Also brought me the wrong side item. Then we had our remaining food boxed up to take with us. They boxed my ribeye with my date's side of cauliflower and her rabbit was boxed with my side of Lima beans. This was my first visit to this restaurant and my expectations for the experience were not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Food was OK. One entrée came out cold when it should've been hot. Drinks were OK. Service was ok. Hard to justify paying these prices when your food sits in the back and goes cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2017

This is my favorite hotel in Louisville and the food is always superb!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Side dish of charred broccoli came out cold. Sent it back and when it was returned it was still cold. Waiter was very apologetic but never heard from the manger.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Had a wonderful brunch here while in Louisville visiting. Delicious food, great service, and some unique breakfast cocktails. The grits are fantastic - get them if you're there for brunch.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great food, great setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Good time. Except I had to ask for bread 3 times.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Definitely worth stopping by if you're in the area! The raspberry and duck liver pate pop tart sounds like a joke, but it was really fantastic! The portions for the main courses were a decent size. I had the duck special and my husband had the pork chop. Unfortunately we didn't have room for desert!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

it is not that it is bad, it is just nothing special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food was ok. I've eaten all over the world, seemed like chef tried too hard to be quirky. No one loved and over priced for quality.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Very unusual and creative place with delicious food! Service was great, food was amazing, atmosphere was not so fancy that you feel uncomfortable, but elegant enough for a special occasion. The only thing that some may not like is that you sit very close to the other guests, almost impossible to not start up a conversation with them. However, if you are social enough and comfortable with that, this place is really amazing and worth the drive if you don't live in the Louisville area!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Disappointed. Brisket had a strange flavoring (definitely not your standard BBQ). Portions were small, particularly with the spaghetti (come-on, how much more does a few noodles cost you?). Service was very slow and they were not busy. Do not understand the high marks except for a great liquor selection. Only reason I would go back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Have eaten here about every other year since its opening. Always very good with eclectic surroundings and goo service. This time just took it all to the pinnacle of excellence, though. A variety of charcuterie, entrees and desserts briliantly served at our table were top notch! Guest from Atlanta was blown away! Right up there with the Oak Room and English Grill without all the formality!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Outstanding meal, great service, fun atmosphere....fun night!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food was tasty, but the entrees were a bit overpriced.
Good service and nice atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 27, 2017

The was the best meal I have had in Louisville. The food is like you would find in upscale restaraunts in New York, Atlanta or Washington, DC, but without the highend prices. Also, save room for the Carrot Sponge Cake. You will love the complex flavors.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Service was abysmal. 45 minutes to get our first drinks. Only took that order after we walked around the restaurant to find our server. Restaurant was only ~50% full too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 25, 2017

A wonderful meal from start to finish. Unusual menu with creative flavors and flairs. Service was flawless, efficient and informative.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Des Moines)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Our first time in Louisville, and we thought we might want to explore the trappings of touristy Kentucky food-fare, but were steered to Proof by a native. SO happy we obliged the recommendation. A world-class menu, fresh and inventive, attention to service and detail, plus some surprises (cotton candy, instead of mints, with the bill!) Oh...and we had our Kentucky Bourbon flights, so we we didn't miss out on the tasteful heritage of this historic city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Proof was the first restaurant we went to as part of our Kentucky bourbon tour. No denying that the food was awesome, if overpriced. The service was good, too. We asked for a sample of the ramp butter from the kitchen, even though it wasn't on the menu, and it was given without complaint. Delicious! My one complaint is not unique to Proof, but is a common element at all of the restaurants we visited in Louisville: the bourbon flights are ridiculously overpriced. I'm used to bars overcharging and underpouring, but the bourbon flight prices are nothing short of criminal. Beware; you'll get 3-4 samples of bourbon, and each will barely be enough to coat your tongue, but you'll pay $17-$20 for it. Go to Proof for the unique, farm-to-table dining, and have a drink, too. But steer clear of the flights (apply this advice to any restaurant or bar in Louisville).

Tags: Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

All good until it wasn't. Ordered a $160 bottle of champagne and they set it by the Busboys table with no ice. We ordered an after-dinner drink off the menu they didn't have it; we ordered the second after dinner drink they didn't have that one either; we ordered a lemon sorbet dessert they served us pineapple sorbet instead. So it was all good until it wasn't. And when we pointed out all these issues to the manager he made excuses about being veey busy and gave us a giant plate of cotton candy instead of just saying I'm sorry. Weird. So at the end of the day we had a $700 tab for 6 people and it ended very poorly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.