About Proof on Main

702 W. Main Street
Louisville, KY 40202
View Larger Map

The ingredients in our menus reflect the region’s sustainable farmers and producers with a soulful and honest approach showcasing the bounty of the Ohio River Valley. Housed in five historic buildings in downtown Louisville, Proof on Main is part of 21c Museum Hotels, the award-winning boutique hotel and restaurant group. The dining room is one of the most striking public spaces in the city, with rotating, contemporary art exhibitions by local and internationally-acclaimed artists alike.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 7am - 10am; Saturday and Sunday: 7am -1pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:30pm -11:00pm, Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm






Bar Open Until: 1:00 AM







Monday - Thursday: 1:00am







Friday - Saturday: 2:00am







Sunday: Midnight

Cross Street:
7th Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 217-6360

Website:
http://www.proofonmain.com/

Entertainment:
Adjacent to Proof on Main is the 21c Museum, North America's first museum dedicated solely to collecting and exhibiting contemporary art of the 21st century. With over 9000 square feet of exhibition space, 21c Museum hosts dynamic group and solo exhibitions featuring emerging artists alongside acclaimed international artists, such as video artists Bill Viola and Tony Oursler, photographers Andres Serrano, Sam Taylor Wood, and David Leventhal, sculptors Yinka Shonibare and Judy Fox, and multimedia artists Chuck Close, Alfredo Jaar, and Kara Walker.

The Museum is free and open to the public, 24/7.

Catering:
Catering is provided by Proof on Main and the culinary team can prepare a menu specifically tailored to fit your needs. The menu works to showcase the agricultural bounty of the Ohio River Valley and celebrates artisanal products and sustainable farming, delivering plates rich with the culinary traditions of Italy and the American South.

Parking Details:
Parking begins after 5:30pm and is $6 for valet. There is also garage parking available at 7th and Market.

Executive Chef:
Mike Wajda

Private Party Facilities:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Private Party Contact:
Meghan Madden: (502)217-6312x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
With over 5,000 square feet of art-filled event space, 21c Museum Hotel and Proof on Main are the ideal setting for board retreats, executive meetings, cocktail gatherings, reception dinners, charitable events, or any other special occasion. Rooms include one large atrium to accommodate seated groups up to 120 and receptions as large as 450; four private meeting areas to accommodate groups of 10 to 60; one boardroom with audio visual capabilities for up to 12; and, for a truly exceptional event, a private penthouse with soaring river views.



Our dedicated Event staff will provide professional service, overseeing every detail for your special event. To learn more contact Meghan at 502.217.6312 or mmadden@21chotels.com.

Restaurant Photos

Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Proof Benedict - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Blackberry Pop Tart - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Heirloom Tomato Salad - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
21 C Breakfast - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Angus Short Ribs - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Eight Dollar Hot Chocolate Dessert - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Local Mixed Lettuces Salad - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
High And Mighty Beer Of The Gods - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
House-Made Ketchup - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bardstown Bellini - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Sueño Mojado - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Eggplant Bánh Mì - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison Burger - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Italian 76 - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bulleit-Vardier - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Corncake - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Nutella Gelato - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Ramp Vichyssoise With Scallops - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Unknown Cake With Candied Olives - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Stripe Bass - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Hardneck Garlic Soup - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
beef short ribs - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Squid Soup - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Scallops - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Pork Chop - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
bison burger and fries - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison Tenderloin - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Chocolate, Olive Oil Caramel, And Candied Olives.  - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Carrot Cake - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Scallop crudo - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Ramps Dinner - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Tomato Salad With Strawberry - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Carbonara With Salmon - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Ricotta Gnocchi With Beet Sauce - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Scallops And Asparagus - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Grits - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Giocato Pinot Grigio - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Yellowfin Tuna Tartare - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Riccotta Gnocchi - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison Bone Marrow - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Truffle Fries - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bourbon & Barrel - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Butternut Squash Soup - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Gaierhof Pinot Grigio - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Egg & Cheese Sandwich On Challah - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Black Stallion Cab - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Ricotta Gnocchi - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Chilled Ky Soup - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Warm Local Ricotta w/ Bread - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Mixed Fruit Salad - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Chocolate Terrine - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Eggs Bendict Over Kentucky Country Ham And Grits - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Darkened Manhattan - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Nutella and Roasted Peanut Gelato - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Buttermilk Pancakes - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Spring Scafata - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Soft Shell Crab Salad - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
T Bone Steak - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Truffle Risotto - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Charcuterie Board - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Cheese and charcuterie plate - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Woodland Farm Popcorn - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Basil Sponge Cake,Strawberries.  - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Grilled Cheese Sandwich - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Salmon - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Sunchoke Soup with Mackerel Rillette - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Fingerling Potatoes - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Roasted Broccoli Bahn Mi Sandwich - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Chicken BLT - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Pork Belly - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison Pastrami Reuben - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Cod - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Chick Pea And Ham Fritters - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
MARKSBURY FARM CHICKEN - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Ham Falafal - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Short Rib - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
New American Classic - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Warm Ricotta - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Salmon with Barley - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bone Marrow - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Charred Octopus - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Housemade Ginger Ale - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Pan Roasted Halibut - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Quinoa Fritters - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Sturgeon With Kohlrabi - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Cotton candy - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Octopus Bagna Cauda - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Halibut - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Striped Mullet - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Old Forester Bourbon - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Atlantic Swordfish - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Catfish - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Cornmeal Donut With Gelato - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Bison Tongue And Octopus - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY
Cheese Plate - Proof on Main, Louisville, KY

Proof on Main Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Central Kentucky
Most Booked
Louisville
Best Restaurants in Downtown Louisville ›

Fit for Foodies (50)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Modern Decor (42)
See All
Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (32)
Handcrafted Cocktails (32)
Local Ingredients (32)
Hot Spot (29)
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Romantic (25)
Fun (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Groups (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Authentic (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Business Meals (14)
People Watching (13)
Casual (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Seasonal (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Organic (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Historic (7)
Cozy (7)
Scenic View (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Private Room (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Fireplace (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1984 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time dining at Proof and I certain ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

First time dining at Proof and I certainly was not disappointed. The service was excellent as was the food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We live 1 hour away from Proof so it's a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

We live 1 hour away from Proof so it's an effort to come. It is on my list of MUST EAT AT AT LEAST 1X per Year !! I am never disappointed and it was delicious again this year!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our service was great. Friendly, profess ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our service was great. Friendly, professional. The atmosphere was good - great art, comfortable seating, inviting atmosphere. The downfall was the food. We had high expectations but the fare was just not for us. Everything was charred. It's a trend but let's hope it passes soon. Appreciated the in-season selections but not the preparation. And the in-room dining options are just sad (yes, we were hungry later). Options are basically the same as the dining room - charred. Hopefully a new food trend will soon replace the current menu. Bring your own snacks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4

The food was terrific although, it felt ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 30, 2016

The food was terrific although, it felt like we were being rushed through dinner when a number of the tables were still empty. The food was very creatively prepared and wonderful. Everybody enjoyed their dinner from appetizer through dessert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

EVEN THOUGH I WAS ONCE AGAIN IMPRESSED, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

EVEN THOUGH I WAS ONCE AGAIN IMPRESSED, I THINK THE MAIN DISHES WERE NOT AS CREATIVE AND/OR AS GOOD AS IN PREVIOUS OCCASIONS. NOT SAYING IT WAS BAD BY A LONG SHOT; STILL OUTSTANDING. JUST THE BAR HAD BEEN SET WAY HIGH PREVIOUSLY AND IT FELT IT WENT A LITTLE LOW...

STILL ONE OF MY FAVORITE RESTAURANTS IN THE WORLD (YES, THE WORLD!)

Tags: Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great of out of town guests and well as ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Great of out of town guests and well as for special occasions.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Modern Decor, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stopped in Louisville while driving h ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We stopped in Louisville while driving hame after spending Thanksgiving with family. A bit of research turned up Proof and it was quite a find. Our waitress, Emma was a gem, guiding us through the menu which was obviously new to us.

The Green Chili Posole was excellent and the Pork Belly was superb.

Try the Gelati & Sorbet Tasting, but save room for the World's Best Cotton Candy!

We may drive the 300 miles to Louisville just to eat here again.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Octopus was delish and visiting the gall ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Octopus was delish and visiting the gallery after dinner was a nice treat. Service was excellent. Cocktails were inconsistent. My first drink was perfection and second did not make the grade- I don't know if they switched bartenders half way or what...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fantastic service, amazing food and wond ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Fantastic service, amazing food and wonderful artwork. Definitely will return again when in Louisville!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Thanksgiving dinner and the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We went for Thanksgiving dinner and the service was great, food delicious, and ambience family oriented and quaint. It has a nostalgic sort of air to it that is part of its charm and would recommend it for special occasions.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been here more than once and loved ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I've been here more than once and loved everything we ordered.

Tags: Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We stayed in a 21c in Bentonville, AR an ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We stayed in a 21c in Bentonville, AR and liked the restaurant there. The chef at Proof seems as though he/she is more interested in showing off how exotic he/she can get with their cooking than in providing a balanced menu of choices. Although we are very experienced and frequent diners of fine restaurants...tending toward James Beard award nominees/winners, we had difficulty finding anything appealing on the menu. I finally landed on pisole and it was average at best. I didn't finish my meal. The decor is garish and uninviting which is disappointing as my wife and I love art and the collection we saw in Bentonville, AR. All in all, our high expectations crashed in a very disappointing evening. I would not recommend this restaurant or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our son is a student at the University o ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our son is a student at the University of Louisville and we took him here for a Sunday brunch. We each tried something different, and we were all pleased with our choices. Our choices consisted of the Garden Frittata, the Brisket Sandwich and the Proof Benedict. We all loved what we chose and thought the food was delicious! The service was great and the prices were reasonable we thought. We would definitely recommend this to others and would love to eat here again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great - the menu is inventive and ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always great - the menu is inventive and pleasing. Cocktails are creative and unique

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, prawns and salmon were over co ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food, prawns and salmon were over cooked. The salmon was tasteless and the shrimp were broiled with a sauce that was burnt as was the broccoli. The charcuterie platter was delicious as was the gelato/sorbet for dessert. The staff appeared to be facing a number of challenges as mistakes were made at tables around us throughout the dinner. Expected much better based on the reviews.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I met friends for brunch. The service w ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I met friends for brunch. The service was great, and the food was excellent. The waitress was attentive and friendly, and there was a variety of options if you wanted breakfast food or lunch entrees. The sweet potato french toast was incredible - sweet, but not too sweet. We actually tried to go back for dinner that evening but didn't have reservations and were in a time crunch, so we opted for somewhere else. I'll be back the next time I'm in Louisville.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food were amazing! Wonderfu ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service and food were amazing! Wonderful experience for our 16 year anniversary celebration!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It's always a pleasure eating at Proof. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It's always a pleasure eating at Proof. Service this time was exceptional in every respect. Our only "beef" was that the staff should have told us, when we asked for the entree to arrive after a little pause (which it did), that they had already started cooking it (or at least this is what I think, because the steaks were a little tired compared with the usual stellar quality of the meat). However the staff were very responsive to our concerns. We were recommended an outstanding Cab, very good value, and the starters were innovative and very tasty.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The Chef is very creative. Not everythi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The Chef is very creative. Not everything worked. We went because of the location and the reviews. We will not be returning for dinner perhaps go for brunch instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was unusual and delicious. Defi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The food was unusual and delicious. Definitely for foodies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the funky artwork in the dinning r ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Loved the funky artwork in the dinning room and it was nice to walk around the art gallery the restaurant is connected to after dinner. The grilled octopus was awesome, and salmon was light and super fresh. The cotton candy at the end was fun to eat also :) I really enjoyed the interesting cocktail options.

Tags: Seasonal, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Wonderful evening with friends, family, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Wonderful evening with friends, family, and great food! The wait staff is very friendly and helpful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Edward, our server, was great. Attentive ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Edward, our server, was great. Attentive, but wasn't pushy or hovering. Other staff helped out too, making it a team effort by the staff to ensure a great dining experience. The food was expertly prepared, portioned, and delicious! Atmosphere was great. Highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

I love Proof on Main but don't understan ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 24, 2016

I love Proof on Main but don't understand why they have to make the menu so complicated by using terms that few people, save the most educated culinary chefs, have ever heard. The chicken or "hen" comes with "cocks comb jus" and "rye berries". The grilled bok choy comes with "yuzu vinaigrette". What the hell is yuzu? And "pickled peanuts" on the grits? One of the people at the table ordered the grits side and, no, pickled peanuts do not taste good but they DO taste exactly like they sound and the description was at least easy to understand. Point is, the foods on the menu have REALLY GOOD potential and the chef is obviously talented but can we just simplify things a bit?

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

On an overnight stay in Louisville I loo ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

On an overnight stay in Louisville I looked for a good restaurant for dinner. So happy I chose Proof! We thoroughly enjoyed everything we tried, and the server and manager were both very attentive without hovering and made great recommendations for food selections and wine. Interesting decor and the opportunity to explore the attached art gallery was a plus. GO!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great nutella casserole and eggs Benedic ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Great nutella casserole and eggs Benedict! Drove from out of state! Loved the decor!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every bite was an explosion of flavor -- ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Every bite was an explosion of flavor -- perfectly balanced. Our waiter Edward had excellent recommendations and generally took great care of us. Cocktails were superb! The setting is unusual in that the restaurant itself is effectively an art installation. Highly recommended!

Tags: Authentic, Hot Spot, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed with this place. ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I was very disappointed with this place. First of all, we ordered martinis, and the waiter brought these in small dessert glasses. I told him that was the smallest martini I had ever seen. He explained that a lot of the glasses had been broken and it had the same amount of alcohol, but that was not the case. It was about 1/4 of the size of a normal martini at $12 per drink. Then we were going to order the Halibut special, and he said they only had 2 left and were almost out, and would have to check to see if he had enough for all of us. Nothing else on the menu looked very good. Lovely atmosphere, but that's about it. We asked for the bill and left - - never ordered dinner. Such a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value1

Definitely, a must-stop place to dine in ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Definitely, a must-stop place to dine in Louisville. The dishes from appetizers to desserts were creatively plated with local ingredients, asian and bourbon-infused flavors. We had the roasted bones, green chilli posole, even the rib-eye was better than most reputable steakhouses. The riesling pear tart was superb. And, as an added bonus, the walk to the restroom passed through the museum that is co-located with the restaurant. What stunning exhibits! Together with the the attentive service, it was a truly wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Very expensive for the menu items offere ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very expensive for the menu items offered. The manager also yelled at an employee in front of customers and used vulgar language. Not sure what the hype was about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was outstanding. We each had someth ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Food was outstanding. We each had something different and there was some tasting going on. All was so tasty. And the meal ended with a bowl of great flavored cotton candy! The waiter was so helpful and attentive, just the right amount.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Proof on Main is package. The ambiance, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Proof on Main is package. The ambiance, staff, and food were superb. I will gladly return.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Organic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious local ingredients served in ex ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Delicious local ingredients served in extremely creative dishes. Our server Melanie was absolutely delightful and just made our evening! Delicious cocktails, dinner, and gelatto / sorbetto. Especially loved the watermelon cotton candy treat and the red birthday penguin -- too fun!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Food - Service was ok, but Cocktai ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Great Food - Service was ok, but Cocktails and Wine was great.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I was here about 4 years ago and enjoyed ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

I was here about 4 years ago and enjoyed it. I came back to Louisville and was excited to go back. It was a big disappointment. The cocktails were very good, but the menu selection was not that interesting to me. We settled on a crispy roast duck for 2. It was not very crispy and kind of tough inside. The cauliflower side was breaded (menu didn't state that) and we didn't love that, either. All this wound up being over 180 plus gratuity. Not money well spent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

We had a hiccup with the reservation whi ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had a hiccup with the reservation which was party my fault. When I first booked on Open Table I put in the wrong email address and when I corrected it I made two bookings. The folks from Proof called the day of the reservation to ask if I really wanted two tables for four. When I explained she said she would cancel one. But she cancelled both. However, the folks at the front desk figured it out and were very accommodating. We had dined there last year and this year we were staying at the hotel with newbies to the bourbon trail and wanted them to have the experience. It all ended well!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very cool decor and we enjoyed the bar. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Very cool decor and we enjoyed the bar. Service for dinner was unprofessional and very slow. Food was cold and just OK. It was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We had an amazing server and the bourbon ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We had an amazing server and the bourbon cocktails were excellent. I was, however, very disappointed with my entree. I ordered the halibut and was very excited about it, but it was very unappetizing to look at, probably due to the squid ink used to garnish, dry, slightly rubbery and not tasty at all. My first bite of the butternut squash I had to spit out because of a seed (assuming it was a seed, some hard, non-chewable substance) that was missed by whoever cleaned it. I should have said something to the server about my disappointment but I'm too much of a chicken to complain at restaurants since I used to be a server and I know how that feels. They did give us a lovely free dark chocolate torte on the house since it was our anniversary and the octopus appetizer was wonderful. My husbands ratatouille was fantastic so it was just me with the bad dinner. I would still recommend to people, I'm sure I won't have the same experience next time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Had an enjoyable time and nice dinner. ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Had an enjoyable time and nice dinner. Was great taking pictures with the Red penguin. also an interesting museum to stroll thru at your leisure.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

An outstanding dining experience from cr ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 27, 2016

An outstanding dining experience from creativity and quality of food, wine list, decor and especially the service. Finally, a very reasonable price for one of our top ten dining experiences ever.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, People Watching, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.