About Promenade Cafe and Wine

130-C Provencher Blvd
Winnipeg, MB R2H 0G3
View Larger Map

Winnipeg Restaurant-Promenade Café and Wine serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in the French Quarter overlooking Esplanade Riel and the Red River. Local, homemade comfort food and All Day Delicious!

French comfort food and local ingredients is the basis ever-changing seasonal menus. Our restaurant menu focuses on Winnipeg's local and French community in our restaurant menu.
Our $28 four course prix fixe menu changes every week The inspiration for the dishes range from local ingredients, tradition of the Francophone French Community of Winnipeg and comfort food preparations.
We are dedicated to utilizing local, regional and organic food products wherever possible in our dishes. The is nothing premade in our Winnipeg restaurant including all of our scratch made desserts. You will certainly see this reflected in the freshness and quality of our French cuisine. With our ever changing menu no two visits to Promenade Café and Wine never needs to be the same.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French / Canadian, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00am
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Provencher & Tache

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 233-7030

Website:
http://www.cafeandwine.com/

Catering:
We cater to all off site events as well as our banquet facility at Fort Gibraltar.

Parking Details:
Park in our private lot right at the front of the building.

Public Transit:
We are central at the corner of Provencher and Tache.

Executive Chef:
Justin Gagnon

Private Party Contact:
Shawn Brandson: 204-999-5827x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promenade Cafe and Wine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
11 More
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Value
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Ambiance
Winnipeg
Best Value
Winnipeg
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

scenic view (50)
neighborhood gem (46)
great for lunch (43)
See All
special occasion (39)
fit for foodies (38)
great for brunch (31)
good for groups (31)
romantic (28)
notable wine list (18)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
Sort By:
Newest
354 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A very pleasant surprise. A very pleasan ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

A very pleasant surprise. A very pleasant surprise. A very pleasant surprise.A very pleasant surprise!!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable Sunday Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great neighborhood gem! Service was prompt and food was prepared quickly. Our orders came piping hot and our server was quick to refill our coffees and ask if there was anything else he could get us. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Back again

Dined on May 12, 2016

Went a few weeks ago and sked for a window seat and the view of the new museum is wonderful. The food is excellent. I had the half portion of the seafood gnocchi and small salad and really enjoyed it. Should have had a dessert - they all looked wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food with a comfortable setting.

Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food with a comfortable setting.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with great service ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with great service and a nice view.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Second time round and it did not disappoint

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went here for Mother's Day and everyone had a great time and enjoyed the food. Would definitely go back. The boeuf bourguignon just melted in my mouth. The meat was so tender. The only downfall is it does not have a kids menu but that didn't stop my 10 year old from gobbling up the bison burger.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed celebrating Mothers Day with ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed celebrating Mothers Day with a nice lunch at Promenade Cafe and Wine.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food, huge portions and very good prices. Parking in the lot is limited BUT plenty of street parking available.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Reliably great

Dined on April 30, 2016

Promenade Bistro has dependable (and excellent) food, service and value and the location is wonderful for pre- or post-theatre etc. The skyline view is as good as any in Winnipeg. The salmon and tortiere are particularly good, and soups are always flavourful (but could use more heat!). It is definitely one of our favourite Winnipeg eating spots and never disappoints.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place to get together with friends.

Dined on April 27, 2016

This is the third time I have been here. I have absolutely no complaints about anything. Each time I've come with a different group and everyone enjoyed their night. I recommended this restaurant each time and I will again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Enjoyable experience

Dined on April 16, 2016

We attended dinner here with a group of 5 other friends. Those that had had the Boeuf bourguignon (3) rated it highly. The bison tourtière (1) also was given a good review. The lamb shank (1) and pork tenderloin (1) were good but the vegetables were cold. The pear fruit chutney was on the sweet side and would have benefitted from a little tartness. The Coq au vin (1) was very good. The apple tart (1) was simply amazing. The service was excellent and our server was very friendly. The ambiance lends itself well to conversation or to a romantic dinner for two.

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Once again Promenade Café did not disapp ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Once again Promenade Café did not disappoint me! Keep up the good work! Service was terrific - sorry I don't remember out waitresses' name.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Surprised and disappointed

Dined on April 12, 2016

I have considered this restaurant a neighborhood gem. Took relatives from Calgary who had greatly enjoyed the restaurant in the past. Mussels and frites were disappointing. Pork medallions were very thick and dry. Salmon was ok but on all orders potatoes were hot, vegetables were cold. Desserts great as usual but will think twice about recommending it in the future and will probably change to other neighborhood restaurants myself.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite breakfast spot

Dined on April 7, 2016

My mother and I come regularly for breakfast, and it is our favorite spot anywhere. My husband and I have only been there once for Valentine's dinner a couple of years ago. Menu caught us by surprise as when I went on line it did not show that you had a fixed menu. It just so happened that each of the 4 choices weren't our cup of tea, so that was a bit of a disappointment. We would like to try it for lunch. Do enjoy the atmosphere very much. The jury is still out on dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

special dinner

Dined on March 26, 2016

We came as a larger group (14) for Easter dinner. The food & wine were wonderful. We had not been here, but others with us had. The server was excellent. The view was just great! Our only issues were - 1) some of us had the fixed priced meal, others not -which caused the ones not having the fixed price meal to wait for (close to) one and on-half hours for their meal!! It would have been a good idea if the server could have mentioned that the main courses would have taken that long. An offering of a (free) bread basket OR suggestion of ordering appetizers would have been appreciated. We had an age range of 15 - 89! 2) The main courses for almost all - were not hot, only warm to lukewarm. (One was sent back.) I think there needs to be work put into serving large groups. Thank you for an overall wonderful evening. We will return!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always enjoy the food ! Breakfast was tasty!

Dined on March 20, 2016

Great breakfast ! The smoked salmon Benedict was full of flavour, eggs poached perfectly . Love the way the potatoes are done for breakfast, best ones I've had in long time , fresh not frozen and grilled with crisp edges ! Service was graceful and attentive, with hot coffee always on the ready !

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner for Two

Dined on March 8, 2016

The special offered dinner for two; appetizer, salad, main meal and a dessert. The food was outstanding. Our server offered just the right amount of attention, and allowed us to enjoy a leisurely meal. Thank you for a memorable evening.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great as usual

Dined on February 29, 2016

Once again enjoyed a wonderful meal. Keep up the good work.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved Promenade!

Dined on February 23, 2016

I have told several people about our great lunch at Promenade on Tuesday. Six of us enjoyed a wonderful lunch with the sun streaming in and the perfect Winnipeg view of Esplanade Riel, the Human Rights Museum and Winnipeg's uptown skyline. The menu options were great and the food excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great for brunch

Dined on February 18, 2016

Great restaurant for brunch. Food and service is top notch and the location is perfect. Only thing to note is the parking lot can get a little tight, usually easier to park on a side street.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

All in all it was a great experience, we ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

All in all it was a great experience, we had gone for the valentines day fixed menu dinner. fair price, and the food came out in perfect timing, the wait staff was friendly and prompt. Wine list was ok, but I found it small.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine Dinner

Dined on February 14, 2016

My fiancé and I had a reservation the day before valentine's day, and got to try the special valentine menu. The food was absolutely delicious and the service was wonderful. We really liked the romantic atmosphere and the big windows with beautiful scenery. It was perfect for valentine's day, and we will definitely come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on February 6, 2016

We have not been here for a long time. We will be back and soon! Loved everything we had. A younger vibe and ambiance since the last visit. Great fusion Canadian good. Gnocchi with seafood, bison tourtière, maple crime brûlée all were excellent. Bravo to the owners!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a delightful meal in their specio ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

We had a delightful meal in their specious dining room with a nice view of the river and the Forks on the other side of Tache. As luck would have it there were fireworks at the Forks that evening which made for an even more spectacular view. The food was delicious, well prepared and well paced. Our server was attentive but not intrusive. They have a decent wine list and probably the best creme brûlée in town. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always Consistent

Dined on January 31, 2016

Never out of this world, but always good food and a pleasant dining experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5

The restaurant was very quiet while we w ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

The restaurant was very quiet while we were there. I found the lighting to be quite bright over our table. The service was exceptional. I had the duck with Whiskey apple sauce and it was amazing! Would definitely recommend :)

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Brunch

Dined on January 17, 2016

Great brunch. Terridic service. Very accommodating to large group. Returned often with coffee

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on January 16, 2016

Cozy, quiet, with a nice view of river. Great food and reasonable prices!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely Saint Boniface bistro

Dined on January 11, 2016

The menu is quite interesting, the portions generous and the food was very good. Our server was knowledgeable and attentive. I especially like sitting in the dining room area in this restaurant and I'd go back to try other dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot

Dined on January 9, 2016

Food was excellent. Two of our diners had the prix fixe dinner. Very tasty but temperature wise it could have been hotter. Presentation of the four courses was excellent. Our server was most attentive and friendly. Thanks for a good evening.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

One of my favorite places!

Dined on January 8, 2016

I love this restaurant ... food is always great! Very busy this time and we were seated by the front door and close to the reception area. A little colder and noisier than usual. Prefer the back where the view is better and room is nicer. Food as always was great!!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on December 31, 2015

Our New YearEve,s 4 course dinner was fabulous, done just right...our server was very attentive + you cannot beat the view and the fireworks

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

New Years Eve

Dined on December 31, 2015

This is the second time we've reserved at Promenade on NYE and we were pleased with the meal and attentive service. The price point was a very good value for the well prepared and tasty food. Continuing success to Promenade Cafe and Wine in 2016.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cook and server did an amazing job t ...

Dined on December 23, 2015

The cook and server did an amazing job the day we were there. Please thank both of them for our group. Our group could not say enough about the food, service, and price. Thank you for making our Christmas get together breakfast fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

So very enjoyable

Dined on December 13, 2015

Great service and food. One meal came out not as expected but the corrected dish was better than one could ever ask for! Thanks so much ! Definitely would go back again ! Dining room area is quieter and warmer... see you soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service1

Great food, bad service

Dined on December 6, 2015

We arrived on time for our reservation and sat at our table for at least 15-20 minutes before a server even acknowledged that we were there. It took another 15-20 to get our COFFEE and again a while before we were served our food. Once the food arrived, our coffee cups and water glasses were empty, there were no condiments and the jam my husband ordered wasn't with the meal. After the server asked what kind of jam he'd ordered, to which he replied "strawberry", she proceeded to bring him raspberry. I love Promenade Cafe and Wine's food and ambience for brunch, however both times I have gone, the service has been below par. Please work on improving service to keep customers coming for the food!

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

My Mother's 85th

Dined on November 29, 2015

We went to Promenade for my mother's 85th birthday. There were 11 of us, with varying food needs, and the staff were welcoming and adaptable to requests. The food is fabulous! It is a "cafe", albeit with a fine dining menu - so don't expect sophisticated ambience. It's small, lively, and French :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

Lovely view

Dined on November 26, 2015

Had a nice supper here with my niece. Mushroom crostini appetizer was yummy and a large order was perfect for two. The tortiere was quite good and a very large portion.my niece had the pirk medallions were tasty but a bit tough. One thing of note here is that it is often very cold in dining room. I have been here several times both for breakfast and supper and it is almost unbearably cold. ( this is odd for me as usually i am way too warm)

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Good experience

Dined on November 22, 2015

Great food and wonderful environment and service. Appreciate that we can make a reservation for Sunday lunch.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience3
service2

Service and food a little chilly

Dined on November 22, 2015

I'm normally very happy with this restaurant but on this occasion the service was slow, almost to the point of being ignored. My meal was tasty but both sides ( veggies and oitato) were served cold. My partner's pork medallions were overcooked and it took forever to receive the baguette we ordered. On a positive note, our friends ordered the prix fixe meal and were quite happy with it.

Tags: scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.