Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Promenade Cafe and Wine

Winnipeg Restaurant-Promenade Café and Wine serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in the French Quarter overlooking Esplanade Riel and the Red River. Local, homemade comfort food and All Day Delicious!

French comfort food and local ingredients is the basis ever-changing seasonal menus. Our restaurant menu focuses on Winnipeg's local and French community in our restaurant menu.
Our $28 four course prix fixe menu changes every week The inspiration for the dishes range from local ingredients, tradition of the Francophone French Community of Winnipeg and comfort food preparations.
We are dedicated to utilizing local, regional and organic food products wherever possible in our dishes. The is nothing premade in our Winnipeg restaurant including all of our scratch made desserts. You will certainly see this reflected in the freshness and quality of our French cuisine. With our ever changing menu no two visits to Promenade Café and Wine never needs to be the same.

130-C Provencher Blvd
Winnipeg, MB R2H 0G3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French / Canadian, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00am
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Provencher & Tache

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 233-7030

Website:
http://www.cafeandwine.com/

Catering:
We cater to all off site events as well as our banquet facility at Fort Gibraltar.

Parking Details:
Park in our private lot right at the front of the building.

Public Transit:
We are central at the corner of Provencher and Tache.

Executive Chef:
Andre Desautel

Private Party Contact:
Shawn Brandson: (204) 999-5827

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promenade Cafe and Wine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (19)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Scenic View (14)
See All
Quiet Conversation (12)
Casual (12)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Authentic (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Waterfront (6)
Fun (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Romantic (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vegan (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Family Style (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
486 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

We had breakfast here and it was great. Service was good and the food was delicious! Would definitely recommend it.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 4 days ago

Was surprised on how nice the staff and place really was. Enjoyed the evening and will return. The food and atmosphere was up to par with some of the better places in town. Thank you for the wonderful service Mel.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a party of 8 dining. Food was good. Steak was great and mussels. The lamb was not so great. Wine choices were plentiful. Desserts were delicious. Our waiter was very friendly but seemed to have a lot of tables he was tending to so time lapsed before he could get back to our table. Overall I would recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

We went for breakfast and food was good, very affordable and had a great view of the skyline but they had mess up our order, fortunately it didn't affect of meal overall. The big issue we had was that we found ourselves killing flies a lot while waiting for our meal. We hope that it was a one time thing and willin to give them a second chance.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

Love this restaurant. I have some special dietary needs and they accommodated me. The staff are friendly and helpful and the food is divine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Delicious food, great server. The view of the bridge and the Museum of Human Rights is fabulous.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We just met for a glass of wine but the service was still impeccable. Lovely place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 3, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience here. We did the $30 fixed price 4 course menu with the $18 wine pairings and it was worth every penny! Everything was delicious and the service was wonderful. My only (minor) complaint was that it was chilly inside so I had to keep my sweater on. Other than that, it was an incredible date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Always delicious food, good service and just a fun place for 2 guests to a larger group. We love to take out of town friends/family here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 18, 2017

The food was great
The service was awesome, our waiter was a delight.

The desserts are PHENOMENAL, I dislike peaches however the peach lavender tart was out of this world

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Good meal, although menu hadn't changed since last summer. Would like to see some fresh ideas!

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 13, 2017

I very much enjoyed my lunch at Promenade. I was disappointed, however, that they didn't have any milk alternatives, such as almond or soy. My moules frites was absolutely delicious, but it could have been a bigger portion.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The menu is small. My food was very good but cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 7, 2017

My wife and I enjoyed our 31st anniversary dinner at Promenade Café...31 years, not all 31 dinners here! We shared several plates to create a lovely dinner, with mussels and salad, pâté and bread. Everything was delicious. Service was attentive. Very satisfied. Will return again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The service was perfect and we felt we were not rushed at all as we waited for the final member of or party and as well after lunch when we took some extra time to chat. the food was excellent and the portions ample. Our waitress was very friendly and accommodating

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Our server was great, I liked my food

Tags: Scenic View, People Watching, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Great food and wine and a fantastic place to see Canada Day fireworks!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Perfect for a medium to large size committee or business meeting. Great food and wine list for a quaint local restaurant. Perfect noise volume (minimal yet busy) to host a meeting. Ie. somewhere with an atmosphere and yet quiet enough. Great visit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Service slow

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We were shuffled off to a table beside the entrance. Only two other tables close by. No atmosphere, felt isolated. Had a reservation and the restaurant did not appear to be full.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Welcoming, friendly staff. Bison Tortiere was delicious as was the duck confit. Generous portions , great view looking over the Red River to the Human rights museum. Good memory of a brief visit to St. Boniface.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Always one of my breakfast favorites. Consistently good food. It was Fathers Day - so glad I made a reservation as they were advising walk-in customers of long wait times.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The menu offers both French cuisine and comfort foods. The food was delicious and perfect portions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 17, 2017

First time I used Open Table. Restaurant didn't have my reservation! I had confirmation email! Not sure why that happened. Didn't wait long for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Comfortable, tasty, excellent service. Our whole group of diners thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I brought my Mom and 11 year old son here for my Mother's birthday.My Mother had the shrimp appetizer which she liked.It was a good portion with a small side salad and yam chips on the plate.I had the mushroom salad which is always satisfying.For my fussy son we also ordered a baguette.Can"t go wrong there.My Mother had the 100 mile chicken .She enjoyed it but I don't think it blew her away or anything.My son had the pork tenderloin which had the option of a half or full portion.Both my Mom and son had the half portions which are a good option if you want to try an appetizer also.I was disappointed that their menu did not include the calamari which was listed on the website.As well they did not offer a smaller portion of the bifteck which was listed on the website.Overall we enjoyed our meals.I felt that all three entrees we had we pretty chintsy with the sauces.Peppercorn steak was great but definitely needs a bit more sauce,as well as the pork and 100 mile chicken.Our bill came to about $150 which included 2 cocktails,2 glasses of wine ,2 appetizers,3 main courses(two of which were half portions), and 2 desserts.about what I expected to pay.Our waitress was lovely.Never caught her name,but spoke to us in french and was very attentive with perfect timing.Overall an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 30, 2017

I found here exactly what I asked for: the view, the food, the attention, the environment for an important conversation were superb!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Vegan options were delicious. The server was very helpful and delightful. We had a lovely evening.

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food with reasonable portions. House rose was a little bland but otherwise things were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was a lovely evening, it got very busy about an hour after we arrived. This affected the service as to waiting for dessert and coffee... and the noise level.
The service was excellent, the coffee remarkably good! Very friendly atmosphere, and the servers spoke french- une ambiance parfaite pour le quartier- bravo, et le sentiment d'être vraiment chez-nous!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Try to get a window seat. The view is spectacular. Great place, great food

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a nice view of the river and bridge and can also see the Human Rights museum.

Enjoyed the loose leaf tea and the cinnamon and sugar crepes (filled with berries).

First time there; will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My husbands boeuf borguignon was perfectly tender and flavourful. My pear, Brie and prosciutto was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Been for breakfast/brunch 4 times as find it great value and taste for money!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We go here for breakfast when choosing breakfast restaurants in Winnipeg rather than Perkins, Salisbury House. The breakfast is very good with vita eggs, decent bacon and great real red potatoes cooked on the grill hash browns. Also nice variety of homemade jams with your toast. This time we noticed the rye bread had changed. It was thinly sliced instead of thick. Not a big deal it was still good. The service was excellent this time.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very nice meal, very good, prompt service. The shrimp hors oeuvres were FANTASTIC!!
The 8 oz New York Biketk ordered as medium rare was excellent. Vegetarian dish was alright. Definitely would recommend to friends.

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Very enjoyable experience. Good food and relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We love going to Promenade for a bite to eat, good service and friendly atmosphere! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The service was good , food was good , i especially liked the shrimp appetizer, i ordered the coq au vin, my partner had the lamb, both were good, for dessert we had a slice of raspberry cake , the portion was huge , its a good thing we shared the dessert.
The parking lot does not fit many cars , so be ready to park on the road, hopefully you can find a spot close by. I will definitely come back to try some other choices that were on the menu.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Nice ambience and selection of teas and fresh baked desserts, along with a good view of the Riel Esplanade. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.