Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 8 times today

Promenade Cafe and Wine

4.3
572 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
French / Canadian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Anniversaries
Winnipeg Restaurant-Promenade Café and Wine serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in the French Quarter overlooking Esplanade Riel and the Red River. Local, homemade comfort food and All Day Delicious!

French comfort food and local ingredients is the basis ever-changing seasonal menus. Our restaurant menu focuses on Winnipeg's local and French community in our restaurant menu.
The inspiration for the dishes range from local ingredients, tradition of the Francophone French Community of Winnipeg and comfort food preparations.
We are dedicated to utilizing local and regional products wherever possible in our dishes. The is nothing premade in our Winnipeg restaurant including all of our scratch made desserts. You will certainly see this reflected in the freshness and quality of our French cuisine.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
French / Canadian, French, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00am
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(204) 233-7030
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Andre Desautel
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Shawn Brandson: (204) 999-5827
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We cater to all off site events as well as our banquet facility at Fort Gibraltar.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Provencher & Tache
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Park in our private lot right at the front of the building.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We are central at the corner of Provencher and Tache.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 572 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.3based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
3.0Dined a day ago

Our experience was frustrating. We had a 7pm reservation and were seated immediately. After being seated, we were immediately asked our drink order. We asked for a couple minutes to look at the wine menu. It took 20 minutes for the server to return. She took my wife’s order, and then walked away without taking mine. At no point in the rest of the meal was I ever offered or asked for a drink order and was left drinking water. We were asked for our food order after having been there for 45 minutes. We ordered the pate appetizer. My wife ordered the coq au vin, I ordered the seafood gnocchi and french onion soup. It took another 30 minutes to get the appetizer and we were only given a half order and the baguettes were not included. When we asked for the baguettes the server made a big production that we should already have them and when being convinced we were given 4 small slices.

I was never given my soup.

Our food on the other hand was delicious. I would return for the food however I hope the staff is trained on how to manage tables and basic serving etiquette. We saw other tables being treated excellently so I feel like we just got a bad server or she was having an off day today.

I’ll try the restaurant again as the food was fabulous.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I would recommend for cozy atmosphere, friendly courteous service and good food! I will definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We chose this cafe for a Mother's Day Brunch. It had a very nice ambiance to it, and the items on the menu all looked great. Sides to order were a bit over priced for the amount you received, but all in all it was a pleasant experience.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

A nice dinner with good wine and a great view.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Never disappointed. Good food, good atmosphere, good service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Well prepared food, excellent service a real gem in the neighbourhood

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Had a very nice lunch experience. Food was very tasty and service was very good. Server was a new employee that did her very best to accommodate us as needed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Waitress was superb, had the best view from our table. Will be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 17, 2018

Promenade has become a favorite with my colleagues and friends when meeting for lunch. Service is great and food is always excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2018

The soup of the day (Turkey Chowder) was amazing. The salad was very tasty and the service was very good - as always! Parking (free) is never a problem - central location. The atmosphere is cozy with a great view of the Human Rights Museum and down town. I have always enjoyed my meal at Promenade! I highly recommend it. The food is like homemade!!! I have had lunch, breakfast and dinner at Promenade and they do a fantastic job at all three!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

great service, gluten free options and location. party of 5 for a birthday sitting at a table for 4
not in the dining room area was a little tight. we were offered space later but after the order was in. food was very good. my compliments to the chef and servers. !!!!!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Eggs were overcooked, bacon had been sitting for a while, it was cold and dried out. The service from the waitress was very good. The breakfast should be better for the price paid.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

First time trying it yesterday, changed the next day’s venue to come back for more! Wonderful staff & great food .. perfect spot to add to a happy day.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

I have eaten breakfast here two times. The view of Winnipeg downtown is beautiful, the food is plentiful and the price is just right.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Not the first time and it won't be the last either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

This is a lovely restaurant that's open for lunch, brunch and dinner. We've been back several times over the past few months for the excellent brunch menu, the great service and reasonable prices. Would highly recommend it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 24, 2018

Server was excellent. Food delish! Beautiful windows along front of building showcase the museum and the bridge but they could do with a good clean to enjoy the view to its maximum!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 23, 2018

There was not sufficient room for chairs between our table and the next table. It worked out OK because both tables had only two diners used only one of the two chairs between the two tables. If both tables had had 4 diners it would not have worked.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2018

We enjoyed our meals though not quite up to previous visits. Service was friendly and efficient. We liked that the restaurant was quiet allowing for a pleasant visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

The ambiance was really neat and welcoming. The waitress was super nice and attentive. The food was amazing. Big portions and delicious. Our group had kids and adults and we all enjoyed the selection and variety of the breakfast menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Very pleasant experience. Never felt rushed. Great food!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 14, 2018

Le service était vraiment pas bon. Malgré une facture sale de plus de 170$, on s’est fait pratiquement fête dehors une heure plus tôt que l’heure prévu de fermeture parce que c ‘était un soir tranquille

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Food was just average, nothing special but not bad either. The service was terrible, from having our group of six seated at two separate tables, to asking our group to leave within an hour from the time we were seated because they had another reservation. Funny enough we we're there with a reservation and it wasn't like we had just dropped by! I have never been asked to leave a restaurant table in my life, let alone after only one hour of sitting!!
I will never go back and will tell everyone I know to avoid having an unpleasant experience by going to this Cafe!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Soup was cold and lamb was dry...very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Lovely meal as always! Great service! Beautiful view!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

Not only was the food a good taste of French “comfort food” and locally grown fare - we never felt rushed and we felt as if we were back in Europe out for a late dinner with good friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 7, 2018

The food was excellent and the service was awesome! Thanks for looking after us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 3, 2018

We enjoyed a wonderful dining experience for our family’s celebration. Great food, selection, wines and service. Exceptional desserts. Thank you.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 2, 2018

I recently took two of my clients to Promenade Cafe & Wine for dinner. We had the Bison Burger and the 100 Mile Chicken. My guest described his burger as, "the best burger in Winnipeg", and, "better than steak!" My other guest and I both had the 100 Mile Chicken and it was absolutely delicious - so flavourful and not overcooked. The service was friendly, efficient and very professional. I can always trust this restaurant to impress my guests. The great view of the CMHR and the Esplanade Bridge doesn't hurt, either.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Really lovely venue. Was seated in the wine room. Although it was partially empty and there were many spots open near the window, we were seated facing the wall a foot away from other occupied tables. I work in a restaurant so I understand why we were seated here, so I didn't mind at all. But definitely will request a seat by the window next time because the view is AMAZING! Overall excellent service and food was DELICIOUS! Will definitely be back for brunch. Made the trip to St. Boniface so worth it!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

One never is disappointed going to Promenade. Food is excellent and Service is outstanding

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 22, 2018

Great atmosphere , great food, great service. Thank you!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 18, 2018

We were seated, promptly our server was polite and efficient. The food came out quickly and the flavour, temperature and portion size were excellent. We’ll keep coming back again and again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We have been there for Valentine's day! Everything was awsom. They had a menu for the night. A bit pricey though.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Our food was lovely and the server was excellent. On a cold winter night the room was not warm. I wore my winer coat over my sholuders most of the evening

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 31, 2018

Although the manager had requested that our party of 9 be set up by the door we requested to be moved into the dining area which was better. It was too cold by the door. Our waitress moved us without question. Our time was 4:30. All of our bills had to be redone because we were charged for after 5 prices. My Beef Bourgeois. was a bit chewy also. We had been there for brunch on Sat. so a bit disappointing as I had suggested the location after the theatre.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2018

Quiche/salad, sandwich/salad-delicious with great dressing on salad. Fried chicken/waffle/frites-interesting flavors, but waffle very tough, hard to cut, dry.
Service excellent.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Food was good. Ambience lovely. However they told us we had to leave after an hour and a half. We didn't even finish our dessert and they took the plate away.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 26, 2018

While the food was delicious (went there for Fried Chicken Week), and the waitress was really friendly and knowledgeable, the food delivery was quite slow for a lunch time meal. We were there was almost 2 hours which is too long for a work day lunch. Would definitely go back when I’m not in a hurry. Really enjoyed the food and ambience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 24, 2018

Came for chicken fest (chicken and waffles). The chicken was delicious! However, the waffles were too dense. And the time it took for the food to arrive was at least an hour.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
15

Tweets by Promenade Cafe and Wine