About Promenade Cafe and Wine

130-C Provencher Blvd
Winnipeg, MB R2H 0G3
View Larger Map

Winnipeg Restaurant-Promenade Café and Wine serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in the French Quarter overlooking Esplanade Riel and the Red River. Local, homemade comfort food and All Day Delicious!

French comfort food and local ingredients is the basis ever-changing seasonal menus. Our restaurant menu focuses on Winnipeg's local and French community in our restaurant menu.
Our $28 four course prix fixe menu changes every week The inspiration for the dishes range from local ingredients, tradition of the Francophone French Community of Winnipeg and comfort food preparations.
We are dedicated to utilizing local, regional and organic food products wherever possible in our dishes. The is nothing premade in our Winnipeg restaurant including all of our scratch made desserts. You will certainly see this reflected in the freshness and quality of our French cuisine. With our ever changing menu no two visits to Promenade Café and Wine never needs to be the same.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French / Canadian, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00am
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Provencher & Tache

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 233-7030

Website:
http://www.cafeandwine.com/

Catering:
We cater to all off site events as well as our banquet facility at Fort Gibraltar.

Parking Details:
Park in our private lot right at the front of the building.

Public Transit:
We are central at the corner of Provencher and Tache.

Executive Chef:
Justin Gagnon

Private Party Contact:
Shawn Brandson: 204-999-5827x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promenade Cafe and Wine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Value
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg / Manitoba
5 More
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Value
Winnipeg
Great for Lunch
Winnipeg
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Scenic View (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Great for Lunch (29)
Good for Groups (23)
Great for Brunch (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
Newest
379 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was a little slow but the food w ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was a little slow but the food was great as usual. There was a party of

10 that seemed to control the flow of all other patrons that evening.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Great choice for a lovely breakfast or l ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 6 days ago

Great choice for a lovely breakfast or lunch. Varied and interesting menu with an impressive assortment of teas and desserts. The only restaurant in Winnipeg that I've found Floating Island. A pleasant walk over the bridge from The Forks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food and service for the price ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food and service for the price. We had the weekly 4 course meal and it was great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely meal. The waitress was a ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a lovely meal. The waitress was attentive but not pushy and the staff were kind even though we stayed for three hours!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

French cuisine dishes are always good, t ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

French cuisine dishes are always good, the slow roasted lamb shank, never disappoints.

Consistently good food and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All 6 diners in our group said their mea ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

All 6 diners in our group said their meals were excellent. We all had just main course entrees and several of us had dessert-which were also exceptional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent for the price, is goo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was excellent for the price, is good for a large group, but only indoors, not outdoors. Tables are too small for a group outdoors. Really need to put a blind on the door in the main area. I had the sun in my eyes the whole time. Very helpful and friendly staff. Wine was excellent but a little pricey. Definitely the best place for breakfast, I actually prefer Promenade's breakfast over lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were entertaining friends from out of ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were entertaining friends from out of town and we did have a lovely dinner. We did order bread from the appetizer list (and paid for it because our guests would expect it with their salad). It still bothers me that this is not included with your salad. It is such a little thing that strikes me as your restaurant owners being cheap to charge for bread. Otherwise, we always enjoy the food and ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice atmosphere, ok service but at times ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Nice atmosphere, ok service but at times a little slow. One meal was very good, the soup of the day was very good, the quiche was barely warm (server said it cannot be warmed up too much?), slow for coffee refills.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Great little restaurant. Parking wasn't ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great little restaurant. Parking wasn't as ample as let on to be, but found street parking without any issues.

Very impressed with the ability to order half appetizers so you can try a few different items.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was fantastic, loved the pulled por ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was fantastic, loved the pulled pork sandwich and salad with vinaigrette.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The duck salad was very good and good va ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The duck salad was very good and good value. The mussels with pomme frite was ok Expecting thin fries not shoe string potato chips. No bread was served to soak up the sauce, or with the meal. Water was tepid, had to ask for lemons. Did not offer perrier. The wine is expensive, served 5 oz glasses.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Promenade is a consistently good dining ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Promenade is a consistently good dining experience. Breakfast for example, offers a nice variety of options at a very reasonable price. It's the little things that make it stand out from other restaurants, e.g. good size pottery coffee mugs, a variety of local jam served in small glass jars, delicious breads. Easy parking is also appreciated.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, service and decor, already r ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great food, service and decor, already recommended to friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meal and service. We alw ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We enjoyed our meal and service. We always enjoy going there, mainly because of the food. Thank you for making our meal so special and enjoyable.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to the Promenade café for dinner ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We went to the Promenade café for dinner and sat out side on a beautiful Winnipeg summer evening. I had the weekly dinner special and it was fantastic. We did try a few of the appetizers and every thing was delicious. I would definitely recommend this restaurant. The service was great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were able to find parking nearby and ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were able to find parking nearby and arrived earlier than our reservation time but the table of 16 was quickly prepared for us and our server was very efficient at taking our orders and answered questions in a friendly manner. She was accommodating when some of the members of our group showed up late and in the end everyone was served and happy. The dining area was comfortable and the view was nice but in the area by the kitchen, where the entrance was and where we had to go to pay our bill - it was quite warm. Loved the "barn door".

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was poor. Food was ok. Nothing ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was poor. Food was ok. Nothing special and not worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Great food with a great view! Prices are ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Great food with a great view! Prices are reasonable.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely breakfast and did not fe ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We had a lovely breakfast and did not feel rushed by the staff, even though the restaurant was clearly busy. The food was delicious, the coffee was hot and plentiful, and my friends now have a new favourite restaurant. Bravo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The fixed price menu offered a lovely 4 ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The fixed price menu offered a lovely 4 course meal at a reasonable price. We chose to share a carafe of wine instead of doing the wine pairing (we needed to drive home).

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A gem of place for food and location

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Wonderful evening, relaxing atmosphere, great food. Met all of our expectations. Appreciate the French or English service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

we loved dining on the patio.

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

Delicious meals and drinks on a warm lovely evening were enjoyed on the patio. No rush for us to leave and were given pitchers of ice water as we visited. Our French waiter was very attentive. Extensive wine list.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Birthday dinner

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Birthday for my wife with our teenage girls along. We had a pleasant evening at Promenade. The dinners and appetizers were very good and there was something on the menu for everyone's taste. Wine selection was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Enter your review title here.

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Breakfast was great as always. Had a guest from Vancouver in and she loved it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A very pleasant surprise. A very pleasan ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

A very pleasant surprise. A very pleasant surprise. A very pleasant surprise.A very pleasant surprise!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Enjoyable Sunday Brunch

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great neighborhood gem! Service was prompt and food was prepared quickly. Our orders came piping hot and our server was quick to refill our coffees and ask if there was anything else he could get us. We will definitely be back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Back again

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Went a few weeks ago and sked for a window seat and the view of the new museum is wonderful. The food is excellent. I had the half portion of the seafood gnocchi and small salad and really enjoyed it. Should have had a dessert - they all looked wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food with a comfortable setting.

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great food with a comfortable setting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with great service ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with great service and a nice view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Second time round and it did not disappoint

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went here for Mother's Day and everyone had a great time and enjoyed the food. Would definitely go back. The boeuf bourguignon just melted in my mouth. The meat was so tender. The only downfall is it does not have a kids menu but that didn't stop my 10 year old from gobbling up the bison burger.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We enjoyed celebrating Mothers Day with ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We enjoyed celebrating Mothers Day with a nice lunch at Promenade Cafe and Wine.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food & service

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Good food, huge portions and very good prices. Parking in the lot is limited BUT plenty of street parking available.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reliably great

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Promenade Bistro has dependable (and excellent) food, service and value and the location is wonderful for pre- or post-theatre etc. The skyline view is as good as any in Winnipeg. The salmon and tortiere are particularly good, and soups are always flavourful (but could use more heat!). It is definitely one of our favourite Winnipeg eating spots and never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Favorite place to get together with friends.

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

This is the third time I have been here. I have absolutely no complaints about anything. Each time I've come with a different group and everyone enjoyed their night. I recommended this restaurant each time and I will again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable experience

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

We attended dinner here with a group of 5 other friends. Those that had had the Boeuf bourguignon (3) rated it highly. The bison tourtière (1) also was given a good review. The lamb shank (1) and pork tenderloin (1) were good but the vegetables were cold. The pear fruit chutney was on the sweet side and would have benefitted from a little tartness. The Coq au vin (1) was very good. The apple tart (1) was simply amazing.

The service was excellent and our server was very friendly.

The ambiance lends itself well to conversation or to a romantic dinner for two.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Once again Promenade Café did not disapp ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Once again Promenade Café did not disappoint me! Keep up the good work! Service was terrific - sorry I don't remember out waitresses' name.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Surprised and disappointed

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

I have considered this restaurant a neighborhood gem. Took relatives from Calgary who had greatly enjoyed the restaurant in the past. Mussels and frites were disappointing. Pork medallions were very thick and dry. Salmon was ok but on all orders potatoes were hot, vegetables were cold. Desserts great as usual but will think twice about recommending it in the future and will probably change to other neighborhood restaurants myself.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Favorite breakfast spot

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

My mother and I come regularly for breakfast, and it is our favorite spot anywhere. My husband and I have only been there once for Valentine's dinner a couple of years ago. Menu caught us by surprise as when I went on line it did not show that you had a fixed menu. It just so happened that each of the 4 choices weren't our cup of tea, so that was a bit of a disappointment. We would like to try it for lunch. Do enjoy the atmosphere very much. The jury is still out on dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

special dinner

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We came as a larger group (14) for Easter dinner.

The food & wine were wonderful. We had not been here, but others with us had.

The server was excellent. The view was just great!

Our only issues were - 1) some of us had the fixed priced meal, others not -which caused the ones not having the fixed price meal to wait for (close to) one and on-half hours for their meal!! It would have been a good idea if the server could have mentioned that the main courses would have taken that long. An offering of a (free) bread basket OR suggestion of ordering appetizers would have been appreciated. We had an age range of 15 - 89!

2) The main courses for almost all - were not hot, only warm to lukewarm. (One was sent back.)

I think there needs to be work put into serving large groups.

Thank you for an overall wonderful evening. We will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.