Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Promenade Cafe and Wine

Winnipeg Restaurant-Promenade Café and Wine serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in the French Quarter overlooking Esplanade Riel and the Red River. Local, homemade comfort food and All Day Delicious!

French comfort food and local ingredients is the basis ever-changing seasonal menus. Our restaurant menu focuses on Winnipeg's local and French community in our restaurant menu.
Our $28 four course prix fixe menu changes every week The inspiration for the dishes range from local ingredients, tradition of the Francophone French Community of Winnipeg and comfort food preparations.
We are dedicated to utilizing local, regional and organic food products wherever possible in our dishes. The is nothing premade in our Winnipeg restaurant including all of our scratch made desserts. You will certainly see this reflected in the freshness and quality of our French cuisine. With our ever changing menu no two visits to Promenade Café and Wine never needs to be the same.

130-C Provencher Blvd
Winnipeg, MB R2H 0G3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French / Canadian, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00am
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Provencher & Tache

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 233-7030

Website:
http://www.cafeandwine.com/

Catering:
We cater to all off site events as well as our banquet facility at Fort Gibraltar.

Parking Details:
Park in our private lot right at the front of the building.

Public Transit:
We are central at the corner of Provencher and Tache.

Executive Chef:
Andre Desautel

Private Party Contact:
Shawn Brandson: (204) 999-5827

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promenade Cafe and Wine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Casual (12)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Scenic View (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Afternoon Coffee (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Waterfront (6)
Romantic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Fun (5)
Authentic (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Business Meals (3)
Family Style (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Historic (1)
Vegan (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
462 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

The menu offers both French cuisine and comfort foods. The food was delicious and perfect portions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Afternoon Coffee, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

First time I used Open Table. Restaurant didn't have my reservation! I had confirmation email! Not sure why that happened. Didn't wait long for a table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Comfortable, tasty, excellent service. Our whole group of diners thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I brought my Mom and 11 year old son here for my Mother's birthday.My Mother had the shrimp appetizer which she liked.It was a good portion with a small side salad and yam chips on the plate.I had the mushroom salad which is always satisfying.For my fussy son we also ordered a baguette.Can"t go wrong there.My Mother had the 100 mile chicken .She enjoyed it but I don't think it blew her away or anything.My son had the pork tenderloin which had the option of a half or full portion.Both my Mom and son had the half portions which are a good option if you want to try an appetizer also.I was disappointed that their menu did not include the calamari which was listed on the website.As well they did not offer a smaller portion of the bifteck which was listed on the website.Overall we enjoyed our meals.I felt that all three entrees we had we pretty chintsy with the sauces.Peppercorn steak was great but definitely needs a bit more sauce,as well as the pork and 100 mile chicken.Our bill came to about $150 which included 2 cocktails,2 glasses of wine ,2 appetizers,3 main courses(two of which were half portions), and 2 desserts.about what I expected to pay.Our waitress was lovely.Never caught her name,but spoke to us in french and was very attentive with perfect timing.Overall an enjoyable meal.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Liverpool)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food with reasonable portions. House rose was a little bland but otherwise things were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was a lovely evening, it got very busy about an hour after we arrived. This affected the service as to waiting for dessert and coffee... and the noise level.
The service was excellent, the coffee remarkably good! Very friendly atmosphere, and the servers spoke french- une ambiance parfaite pour le quartier- bravo, et le sentiment d'être vraiment chez-nous!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Try to get a window seat. The view is spectacular. Great place, great food

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Had a nice view of the river and bridge and can also see the Human Rights museum.

Enjoyed the loose leaf tea and the cinnamon and sugar crepes (filled with berries).

First time there; will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 10, 2017

My husbands boeuf borguignon was perfectly tender and flavourful. My pear, Brie and prosciutto was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Been for breakfast/brunch 4 times as find it great value and taste for money!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We go here for breakfast when choosing breakfast restaurants in Winnipeg rather than Perkins, Salisbury House. The breakfast is very good with vita eggs, decent bacon and great real red potatoes cooked on the grill hash browns. Also nice variety of homemade jams with your toast. This time we noticed the rye bread had changed. It was thinly sliced instead of thick. Not a big deal it was still good. The service was excellent this time.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Romantic, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Groups, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Very nice meal, very good, prompt service. The shrimp hors oeuvres were FANTASTIC!!
The 8 oz New York Biketk ordered as medium rare was excellent. Vegetarian dish was alright. Definitely would recommend to friends.

Tags: Healthy, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Very enjoyable experience. Good food and relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We love going to Promenade for a bite to eat, good service and friendly atmosphere! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The service was good , food was good , i especially liked the shrimp appetizer, i ordered the coq au vin, my partner had the lamb, both were good, for dessert we had a slice of raspberry cake , the portion was huge , its a good thing we shared the dessert.
The parking lot does not fit many cars , so be ready to park on the road, hopefully you can find a spot close by. I will definitely come back to try some other choices that were on the menu.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Nice ambience and selection of teas and fresh baked desserts, along with a good view of the Riel Esplanade. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was disappointed that there was a set valentines menu and you can only choose the entree. would be happier if it was like a normal day where the whole menu is available

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Perfect spot for a Valentine's Date. While we were not aware there was a special set menu for the day, it did not disappoint. Every bite was delicious and the service was great. First time here and definitely will be back with friends in tow!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines day dinner for two. 5 course set menu with entree choice of steak, chicken or fish. Overall was good, if a little expensive for portion sizes. Server missed bringing us the soup course and plates for the shared dessert. Service was slow. Compensated for the missed soup course by taking carafe of wine as well as coffee off the bill. A very welcome fix for the issues.

Have been there previous times for lunch and brunch with excellent meals and service both times. Will put the evening's issues down to a very busy time/occasion - though set price for meal could be a little lower.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed the ambience and the service. The entrees were good as were the salad and dessert. However the soup was bland. And the crostini with the amuse bouche were very hard, but the toppings were very good. We were there for Valentine''s Day with a fixe prie menu

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal - we all tried something different and everyone was very satisfied with their food. The server was lovely and very professional.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great experience, the food was delicious and the service was very good, I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is exceptional. That's all you need to know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Because of the central and very appealing location of Promenade Cafe (with a great view of the Esplanade Bridge and the CMHR) I come here a lot for business. It's quiet - the food is always great, and it's suitable whether you're grabbing a quick tea or coffee or celebrating a special occasion through late into the evening. My most recent visit was a breakfast meeting and the veggie Eggs Benedict with tomato and spinach was really good! Plus the service is always prompt and pleasant - you really can't go wrong.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wife and I enjoyed our dinner here. Our hostess and waitress was bang on but getting our food took a bit long, however it was probably due to a private party at the back that took up the cooks effort and that was understandable.

We definitely would go back.

Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was my first time to Promenade and I was not disappointed. Great wine list and lots of good eats to choose from on menu. I had the French onion soup which was good but perhaps a bit bland. Also had the New York steak and that was fabulous. Dessert was the chocolate caramel torte and it was out of this world good!! The rest of my party enjoyed everything immensely too. Great food. Great service. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was a tad overpriced for what you receive and service was quite slow...but server was friendly. A little more attention would have been nice.

If I visited again for dinner I'd opt in for the fixed price menu as that is probably the best offer.

And I'd also ask for a table in the more private room (rather than by the door) if I booked the reservation online in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Having dined here previously we felt that this visit didn't quite live up to our expectations. We will assume that this is a one off and will return and give them another try. We like the location as it close to theatre for us but parking can be an issue.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good food. Bad ambiance. Reservation did not produce good table in a not full restaurant. Avoid this place in winter--no heat!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Make reservation for two,table 23,night or day.

Will never forget.

Bring rose and say love you.

Spirit of Bodiroga family is there!

Dubrovnik,Stradun,see salt,olives,love you Peg, my new city!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Dinner was very good at the Promenade Cafe. Definitely would recommend the french onion soup and bison tourtière. Portion sizes were excellent and prices were very reasonable. Service was friendly and the ambience was great for casual meals. Overall a great find especially if you are in the mood for great French food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Historic, Seasonal, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I've been to Promenade quite a few times, and it is always enjoyable. A recent visit for lunch was a bit disappointing versus other experiences there (food wise), but overall the food is typically very good and well priced. Make sure you have time to spare though, as it is never the quickest to get in and out of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our first time and we were very pleasantly surprised. Our main dish, Moroccan Spiced Pork was delectable but the Floating Island was why we will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first time here- overall, unexpectedly Ok considering it's New Year's eve and I thought I booked for the Mon Ami Louis restaurant :(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love it! It was a great New Years Eve spot, staff was wonderful and polite. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great experience, excellent food (try the French Onion Soup and the Gnocchi), wonderful wine. An absolute gem and a restaurant my wife and I visit everytime we are in Winnipeg.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were enticed by the $30.00 for a four course meal. We were a party of 4 and decided to go this route. The meals were $30.00 each and were shareable. I have dined with this concept before so was surprised and disappointed when the meals were not enough for two person. The appetizer was 6 shrimp strategically spaced on a plank. Very pretty but too small for 2 people. The shrimp was small. Then the salad was delivered on the plank. Full lengths of romaine lettuce that was impossible to separate or cut between two people. Finally the main dish which was of course small as well. The finale was a small piece of apple tart that was small for one person. This was to be shared. The quality of the food was good but the focus of the restaurant is presentation. We felt that we shared a meal that was $30.00 but paid $70.00 for. The waitress was made aware that the portions were far to small to share between two persons. The portions are perfect for one. None of us would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A bit disappointed, the Saumon and Bison Burger were quite dry, however tasty. We will try again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was a little chilly by the window, but the fantastic French Onion Soup warmed me up. A number of starters are available in half portions which is appreciated. Nice selection of entrees and save room for dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have been to Promenade on many occasions and enjoyed ourselves and our food selections. However, this special occasion was less than satisfying. Confusion over our salad order and a main course that was tepid, all made for a disappointment that we usually do not expect here.

Not sure we are in a hurry to return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.