Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.39mi
  3. Distance: 0.51mi
  4. Distance: 0.53mi

About Promenade Cafe and Wine

Winnipeg Restaurant-Promenade Café and Wine serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in the French Quarter overlooking Esplanade Riel and the Red River. Local, homemade comfort food and All Day Delicious!

French comfort food and local ingredients is the basis ever-changing seasonal menus. Our restaurant menu focuses on Winnipeg's local and French community in our restaurant menu.
Our $28 four course prix fixe menu changes every week The inspiration for the dishes range from local ingredients, tradition of the Francophone French Community of Winnipeg and comfort food preparations.
We are dedicated to utilizing local, regional and organic food products wherever possible in our dishes. The is nothing premade in our Winnipeg restaurant including all of our scratch made desserts. You will certainly see this reflected in the freshness and quality of our French cuisine. With our ever changing menu no two visits to Promenade Café and Wine never needs to be the same.

130-C Provencher Blvd
Winnipeg, MB R2H 0G3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French / Canadian, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00am
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Provencher & Tache

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 233-7030

Website:
http://www.cafeandwine.com/

Catering:
We cater to all off site events as well as our banquet facility at Fort Gibraltar.

Parking Details:
Park in our private lot right at the front of the building.

Public Transit:
We are central at the corner of Provencher and Tache.

Executive Chef:
Andre Desautel

Private Party Contact:
Shawn Brandson: (204) 999-5827

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promenade Cafe and Wine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (21)
Scenic View (16)
Special Occasion (15)
See All
Casual (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Cozy (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Romantic (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Waterfront (9)
Great for Brunch (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Afternoon Tea (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Business Meals (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Family Style (5)
Authentic (4)
Fun (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Healthy (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (2)
People Watching (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
450 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

Very enjoyable experience. Good food and relaxing atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We love going to Promenade for a bite to eat, good service and friendly atmosphere! Highly recommend it!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The service was good , food was good , i especially liked the shrimp appetizer, i ordered the coq au vin, my partner had the lamb, both were good, for dessert we had a slice of raspberry cake , the portion was huge , its a good thing we shared the dessert.
The parking lot does not fit many cars , so be ready to park on the road, hopefully you can find a spot close by. I will definitely come back to try some other choices that were on the menu.

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Nice ambience and selection of teas and fresh baked desserts, along with a good view of the Riel Esplanade. I would definitely visit again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I was disappointed that there was a set valentines menu and you can only choose the entree. would be happier if it was like a normal day where the whole menu is available

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Perfect spot for a Valentine's Date. While we were not aware there was a special set menu for the day, it did not disappoint. Every bite was delicious and the service was great. First time here and definitely will be back with friends in tow!

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentines day dinner for two. 5 course set menu with entree choice of steak, chicken or fish. Overall was good, if a little expensive for portion sizes. Server missed bringing us the soup course and plates for the shared dessert. Service was slow. Compensated for the missed soup course by taking carafe of wine as well as coffee off the bill. A very welcome fix for the issues.

Have been there previous times for lunch and brunch with excellent meals and service both times. Will put the evening's issues down to a very busy time/occasion - though set price for meal could be a little lower.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Authentic, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We enjoyed the ambience and the service. The entrees were good as were the salad and dessert. However the soup was bland. And the crostini with the amuse bouche were very hard, but the toppings were very good. We were there for Valentine''s Day with a fixe prie menu

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We really enjoyed our meal - we all tried something different and everyone was very satisfied with their food. The server was lovely and very professional.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great experience, the food was delicious and the service was very good, I would definitely recommend this restaurant for a nice meal.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The food is exceptional. That's all you need to know.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Because of the central and very appealing location of Promenade Cafe (with a great view of the Esplanade Bridge and the CMHR) I come here a lot for business. It's quiet - the food is always great, and it's suitable whether you're grabbing a quick tea or coffee or celebrating a special occasion through late into the evening. My most recent visit was a breakfast meeting and the veggie Eggs Benedict with tomato and spinach was really good! Plus the service is always prompt and pleasant - you really can't go wrong.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wife and I enjoyed our dinner here. Our hostess and waitress was bang on but getting our food took a bit long, however it was probably due to a private party at the back that took up the cooks effort and that was understandable.

We definitely would go back.

Cheers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

It was my first time to Promenade and I was not disappointed. Great wine list and lots of good eats to choose from on menu. I had the French onion soup which was good but perhaps a bit bland. Also had the New York steak and that was fabulous. Dessert was the chocolate caramel torte and it was out of this world good!! The rest of my party enjoyed everything immensely too. Great food. Great service. I will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Food was a tad overpriced for what you receive and service was quite slow...but server was friendly. A little more attention would have been nice.

If I visited again for dinner I'd opt in for the fixed price menu as that is probably the best offer.

And I'd also ask for a table in the more private room (rather than by the door) if I booked the reservation online in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Having dined here previously we felt that this visit didn't quite live up to our expectations. We will assume that this is a one off and will return and give them another try. We like the location as it close to theatre for us but parking can be an issue.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good food. Bad ambiance. Reservation did not produce good table in a not full restaurant. Avoid this place in winter--no heat!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Make reservation for two,table 23,night or day.

Will never forget.

Bring rose and say love you.

Spirit of Bodiroga family is there!

Dubrovnik,Stradun,see salt,olives,love you Peg, my new city!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Dinner was very good at the Promenade Cafe. Definitely would recommend the french onion soup and bison tourtière. Portion sizes were excellent and prices were very reasonable. Service was friendly and the ambience was great for casual meals. Overall a great find especially if you are in the mood for great French food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Historic, Seasonal, Casual, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I've been to Promenade quite a few times, and it is always enjoyable. A recent visit for lunch was a bit disappointing versus other experiences there (food wise), but overall the food is typically very good and well priced. Make sure you have time to spare though, as it is never the quickest to get in and out of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our first time and we were very pleasantly surprised. Our main dish, Moroccan Spiced Pork was delectable but the Floating Island was why we will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first time here- overall, unexpectedly Ok considering it's New Year's eve and I thought I booked for the Mon Ami Louis restaurant :(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love it! It was a great New Years Eve spot, staff was wonderful and polite. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great experience, excellent food (try the French Onion Soup and the Gnocchi), wonderful wine. An absolute gem and a restaurant my wife and I visit everytime we are in Winnipeg.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were enticed by the $30.00 for a four course meal. We were a party of 4 and decided to go this route. The meals were $30.00 each and were shareable. I have dined with this concept before so was surprised and disappointed when the meals were not enough for two person. The appetizer was 6 shrimp strategically spaced on a plank. Very pretty but too small for 2 people. The shrimp was small. Then the salad was delivered on the plank. Full lengths of romaine lettuce that was impossible to separate or cut between two people. Finally the main dish which was of course small as well. The finale was a small piece of apple tart that was small for one person. This was to be shared. The quality of the food was good but the focus of the restaurant is presentation. We felt that we shared a meal that was $30.00 but paid $70.00 for. The waitress was made aware that the portions were far to small to share between two persons. The portions are perfect for one. None of us would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A bit disappointed, the Saumon and Bison Burger were quite dry, however tasty. We will try again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was a little chilly by the window, but the fantastic French Onion Soup warmed me up. A number of starters are available in half portions which is appreciated. Nice selection of entrees and save room for dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have been to Promenade on many occasions and enjoyed ourselves and our food selections. However, this special occasion was less than satisfying. Confusion over our salad order and a main course that was tepid, all made for a disappointment that we usually do not expect here.

Not sure we are in a hurry to return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Fantastic food and exquisite service. Amazing place. Gorgeous view on a snowy evening .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Tortiere was great! Excellent desserts and coffee. Friendly knowledgable service. All at moderate prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Lovely service but the meal arrived on the warm side. Like it had been sitting on the warming plate for too long. It wasn't hot. And the caesar salad had no flavour! Enjoyed a better meal last time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had brunch with a friend. The service and food was very good. We will definitely go back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, very good service. Food was well composed and presented, very creative takes on some classic French dishes. Wine list was not long, but everything on it was solid. Service was attentive but not overly familiar, and very knowledgeable about menu (slightly less so about wine but nonetheless an 8 out of 10). Great dinner all around.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was excellent, server was very polite and helpful as this was my first visit to restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our group members seemed to enjoy their meals. I found that the half portion of pork tenderloin provided only two slices of meat, though they were thick-cut, and a number of smaller potatoes, but no other veg. So I was disappointed in that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 7, 2016

It was a milestone Birthday for a longtime friend of mine- so I took her out for lunch to celebrate. We both enjoyed our meal & the service was very good. It was a little noisy as there was a large group but we had a nice visit. Only one suggestion the soup was delicious but was just Luke warm.
Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Healthy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It's a great place to eat with your love ones. Very comfy with a rustic yet classy feeling. The food? love it!!!! 👌🏻

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was very well prepared. Everything was delicious. I will definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent as always. Busy Sunday morning & the serving staff kept up nicely.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is not the best dining in Winnipeg. Deer & Almond is far superior.
The staff are not properly trained and the place feels rather amateur mostly run by young inexperienced staff. It needs someone to seriously manage the place.

The food was OK but not exceptional. For one salmon dish they ran out of rice! How can a restaurant run out of a basic ingredient? This again shows the lack of management oversight.

There are at least two far superior restaurants in Winnipeg.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.