About Promenade Cafe and Wine

Winnipeg Restaurant-Promenade Café and Wine serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in the French Quarter overlooking Esplanade Riel and the Red River. Local, homemade comfort food and All Day Delicious!

French comfort food and local ingredients is the basis ever-changing seasonal menus. Our restaurant menu focuses on Winnipeg's local and French community in our restaurant menu.
Our $28 four course prix fixe menu changes every week The inspiration for the dishes range from local ingredients, tradition of the Francophone French Community of Winnipeg and comfort food preparations.
We are dedicated to utilizing local, regional and organic food products wherever possible in our dishes. The is nothing premade in our Winnipeg restaurant including all of our scratch made desserts. You will certainly see this reflected in the freshness and quality of our French cuisine. With our ever changing menu no two visits to Promenade Café and Wine never needs to be the same.

130-C Provencher Blvd
Winnipeg, MB R2H 0G3
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French / Canadian, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00am
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Provencher & Tache

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 233-7030

Website:
http://www.cafeandwine.com/

Catering:
We cater to all off site events as well as our banquet facility at Fort Gibraltar.

Parking Details:
Park in our private lot right at the front of the building.

Public Transit:
We are central at the corner of Provencher and Tache.

Executive Chef:
Justin Gagnon

Private Party Contact:
Shawn Brandson: (204) 999-5827

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promenade Cafe and Wine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (25)
Good for a Date (24)
Cozy (23)
See All
Special Occasion (22)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Casual (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Great for Lunch (14)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Waterfront (13)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Family Style (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Romantic (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Authentic (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Outstanding Value (7)
Healthy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Business Meals (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Historic (3)
Fun (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Quick Bite (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was a tad overpriced for what you r ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 2 days ago

Food was a tad overpriced for what you receive and service was quite slow...but server was friendly. A little more attention would have been nice.

If I visited again for dinner I'd opt in for the fixed price menu as that is probably the best offer.

And I'd also ask for a table in the more private room (rather than by the door) if I booked the reservation online in the future.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy, Afternoon Tea, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Having dined here previously we felt tha ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Having dined here previously we felt that this visit didn't quite live up to our expectations. We will assume that this is a one off and will return and give them another try. We like the location as it close to theatre for us but parking can be an issue.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Good food. Bad ambiance. Reservation did ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Good food. Bad ambiance. Reservation did not produce good table in a not full restaurant. Avoid this place in winter--no heat!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Make reservation for two,table 23,night ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Make reservation for two,table 23,night or day.

Will never forget.

Bring rose and say love you.

Spirit of Bodiroga family is there!

Dubrovnik,Stradun,see salt,olives,love you Peg, my new city!

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

Dinner was very good at the Promenade Ca ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Dinner was very good at the Promenade Cafe. Definitely would recommend the french onion soup and bison tourtière. Portion sizes were excellent and prices were very reasonable. Service was friendly and the ambience was great for casual meals. Overall a great find especially if you are in the mood for great French food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Historic, Seasonal, Casual,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Promenade quite a few times ...

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 10, 2017

I've been to Promenade quite a few times, and it is always enjoyable. A recent visit for lunch was a bit disappointing versus other experiences there (food wise), but overall the food is typically very good and well priced. Make sure you have time to spare though, as it is never the quickest to get in and out of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our first time and we were very ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

This was our first time and we were very pleasantly surprised. Our main dish, Moroccan Spiced Pork was delectable but the Floating Island was why we will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first time here- overall, unexpected ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Our first time here- overall, unexpectedly Ok considering it's New Year's eve and I thought I booked for the Mon Ami Louis restaurant :(

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Love it! It was a great New Years Eve sp ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Love it! It was a great New Years Eve spot, staff was wonderful and polite. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience, excellent food (try th ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great experience, excellent food (try the French Onion Soup and the Gnocchi), wonderful wine. An absolute gem and a restaurant my wife and I visit everytime we are in Winnipeg.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, , Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were enticed by the $30.00 for a four ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We were enticed by the $30.00 for a four course meal. We were a party of 4 and decided to go this route. The meals were $30.00 each and were shareable. I have dined with this concept before so was surprised and disappointed when the meals were not enough for two person. The appetizer was 6 shrimp strategically spaced on a plank. Very pretty but too small for 2 people. The shrimp was small. Then the salad was delivered on the plank. Full lengths of romaine lettuce that was impossible to separate or cut between two people. Finally the main dish which was of course small as well. The finale was a small piece of apple tart that was small for one person. This was to be shared. The quality of the food was good but the focus of the restaurant is presentation. We felt that we shared a meal that was $30.00 but paid $70.00 for. The waitress was made aware that the portions were far to small to share between two persons. The portions are perfect for one. None of us would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

A bit disappointed, the Saumon and Bison ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 11, 2016

A bit disappointed, the Saumon and Bison Burger were quite dry, however tasty. We will try again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

It was a little chilly by the window, bu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was a little chilly by the window, but the fantastic French Onion Soup warmed me up. A number of starters are available in half portions which is appreciated. Nice selection of entrees and save room for dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been to Promenade on many occasi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We have been to Promenade on many occasions and enjoyed ourselves and our food selections. However, this special occasion was less than satisfying. Confusion over our salad order and a main course that was tepid, all made for a disappointment that we usually do not expect here.

Not sure we are in a hurry to return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Fantastic food and exquisite service. A ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Fantastic food and exquisite service. Amazing place. Gorgeous view on a snowy evening .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tortiere was great! Excellent desserts a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Tortiere was great! Excellent desserts and coffee. Friendly knowledgable service. All at moderate prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely service but the meal arrived on t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Lovely service but the meal arrived on the warm side. Like it had been sitting on the warming plate for too long. It wasn't hot. And the caesar salad had no flavour! Enjoyed a better meal last time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Had brunch with a friend. The service a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had brunch with a friend. The service and food was very good. We will definitely go back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very nice atmosphere, very good service. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, very good service. Food was well composed and presented, very creative takes on some classic French dishes. Wine list was not long, but everything on it was solid. Service was attentive but not overly familiar, and very knowledgeable about menu (slightly less so about wine but nonetheless an 8 out of 10). Great dinner all around.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, , Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Food was excellent, server was very poli ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was excellent, server was very polite and helpful as this was my first visit to restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our group members seemed to enjoy their ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our group members seemed to enjoy their meals. I found that the half portion of pork tenderloin provided only two slices of meat, though they were thick-cut, and a number of smaller potatoes, but no other veg. So I was disappointed in that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a milestone Birthday for a longti ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 7, 2016

It was a milestone Birthday for a longtime friend of mine- so I took her out for lunch to celebrate. We both enjoyed our meal & the service was very good. It was a little noisy as there was a large group but we had a nice visit. Only one suggestion the soup was delicious but was just Luke warm.

Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Healthy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It's a great place to eat with your love ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It's a great place to eat with your love ones. Very comfy with a rustic yet classy feeling. The food? love it!!!! 👌🏻

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very well prepared. Everything ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was very well prepared. Everything was delicious. I will definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Busy Sunday morning ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent as always. Busy Sunday morning & the serving staff kept up nicely.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is not the best dining in Winnipeg. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is not the best dining in Winnipeg. Deer & Almond is far superior.

The staff are not properly trained and the place feels rather amateur mostly run by young inexperienced staff. It needs someone to seriously manage the place.

The food was OK but not exceptional. For one salmon dish they ran out of rice! How can a restaurant run out of a basic ingredient? This again shows the lack of management oversight.

There are at least two far superior restaurants in Winnipeg.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Loved the cozy feel. Our waitress was ch ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Loved the cozy feel. Our waitress was cheerful and just-right attentive. Food was tasty and I LOVED the half-portion dinner options.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I was very pleased with my dining experi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was very pleased with my dining experience. the lighting was good and the location of our table was really nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

First time visiting Promenade and was th ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 28, 2016

First time visiting Promenade and was thoroughly impressed with everything about the restaurant. Seafood gnocchi was absolutely delightful, steak was seasoned very well and cooked exactly to our liking. Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a wonderful and leisurely visit ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful and leisurely visit with friends over a delicious lunch. Staff were pleasant and no one rushed us through our meal .

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We regularly meet for breakfast at Prome ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We regularly meet for breakfast at Promenade Cafe. Good food, good parking, and good service.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With a window seat we had a great view o ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 22, 2016

With a window seat we had a great view of the Esplanade Riel and the Canadian Museum of Human Rights. The food was awesome, service great and did not rush us out after dessert even though the restaurant was busy. We will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and the service w ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food was very good and the service was excellent. We had the prix fixe dinner for two. The smoked salmon was excellent, the steak was cooked perfectly and tender. The potatoes were not our favourite but they were interesting and well presented. The creme brûlée was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Promenade always at the top in my books. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Promenade always at the top in my books. Great food to accompany a visit with friends. Service was very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to the Cafe was for Sun ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our first visit to the Cafe was for Sunday brunch. We had 11am reservations and our table was ready on time.

We were seated promptly but our party of 5 (3 adults and 2 children) were left with only one menu because they had a shortage.

2 of us ordered beverages and they were quite slow to arrive. When they did, we were not offered any milk or cream for the coffee. Coffee was cool by the time the milk arrived.

The meals were quite tasty. 2 different types of eggs benedict, one "regular" bacon and eggs breakfast and 2 orders of crepes for the kids. The food was out in a reasonable amount of time, but the kids were last to receive their food, which, as any restaurant and/or server should know, get the kids their food first!

My order of eggs benedict were served with room temperature hashbrowns...that wasn't too enjoyable.

All-in-all, I don't think I'd go out of my way to return to this cafe, but I do think it's a nice little spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

C'etait magnifique! The food made us sa ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 15, 2016

C'etait magnifique!

The food made us salivate, the waiter was spot on, the atmosphere perfect.

Love love loved it!

Tags: Waterfront, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tourtiere and pear & brie croissant are ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Tourtiere and pear & brie croissant are two dishes to order. Delicious always, along with the Croque Monsieur. Service was friendly and attentive. Wine choices varied for every budget. Lovely lunch place..

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All in all a good time! 2 orders were no ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 8, 2016

All in all a good time!

2 orders were not right, but were corrected in record time😀👏🏼

Great recovery!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Healthy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful restaurant with great and know ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with great and knowledgeable staff. Great wine too.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my 95 year old friend for her ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I brought my 95 year old friend for her birthday and she loved it! Easy parking, best part was the great male server we had! He was so respectful of her and he made her feel very 'special'. Loved the French cuisine aspect too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.