About Promenade Cafe and Wine

130-C Provencher Blvd
Winnipeg, MB R2H 0G3
View Larger Map

Winnipeg Restaurant-Promenade Café and Wine serves breakfast, lunch and dinner in the French Quarter overlooking Esplanade Riel and the Red River. Local, homemade comfort food and All Day Delicious!

French comfort food and local ingredients is the basis ever-changing seasonal menus. Our restaurant menu focuses on Winnipeg's local and French community in our restaurant menu.
Our $28 four course prix fixe menu changes every week The inspiration for the dishes range from local ingredients, tradition of the Francophone French Community of Winnipeg and comfort food preparations.
We are dedicated to utilizing local, regional and organic food products wherever possible in our dishes. The is nothing premade in our Winnipeg restaurant including all of our scratch made desserts. You will certainly see this reflected in the freshness and quality of our French cuisine. With our ever changing menu no two visits to Promenade Café and Wine never needs to be the same.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
French / Canadian, French, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:00am
Saturday - Sunday: 8:00am - 11:30am
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 5:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Provencher & Tache

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 233-7030

Website:
http://www.cafeandwine.com/

Catering:
We cater to all off site events as well as our banquet facility at Fort Gibraltar.

Parking Details:
Park in our private lot right at the front of the building.

Public Transit:
We are central at the corner of Provencher and Tache.

Executive Chef:
Justin Gagnon

Private Party Contact:
Shawn Brandson: 204-999-5827x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promenade Cafe and Wine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
5 More
Best Value
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Best Value
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Scenic View (29)
Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (22)
See All
Cozy (20)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Comfort Food (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Casual (15)
Authentic (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Great for Brunch (11)
Waterfront (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Romantic (10)
Family Style (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Healthy (7)
Business Meals (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Fun (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
People Watching (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
413 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It was a little chilly by the window, bu ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a little chilly by the window, but the fantastic French Onion Soup warmed me up. A number of starters are available in half portions which is appreciated. Nice selection of entrees and save room for dessert.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Quick Bite, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been to Promenade on many occasi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

We have been to Promenade on many occasions and enjoyed ourselves and our food selections. However, this special occasion was less than satisfying. Confusion over our salad order and a main course that was tepid, all made for a disappointment that we usually do not expect here.

Not sure we are in a hurry to return.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Fantastic food and exquisite service. A ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Fantastic food and exquisite service. Amazing place. Gorgeous view on a snowy evening .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tortiere was great! Excellent desserts a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Tortiere was great! Excellent desserts and coffee. Friendly knowledgable service. All at moderate prices.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Lovely service but the meal arrived on t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Lovely service but the meal arrived on the warm side. Like it had been sitting on the warming plate for too long. It wasn't hot. And the caesar salad had no flavour! Enjoyed a better meal last time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Had brunch with a friend. The service a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had brunch with a friend. The service and food was very good. We will definitely go back

Tags: Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very nice atmosphere, very good service. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Very nice atmosphere, very good service. Food was well composed and presented, very creative takes on some classic French dishes. Wine list was not long, but everything on it was solid. Service was attentive but not overly familiar, and very knowledgeable about menu (slightly less so about wine but nonetheless an 8 out of 10). Great dinner all around.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Food was excellent, server was very poli ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was excellent, server was very polite and helpful as this was my first visit to restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our group members seemed to enjoy their ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our group members seemed to enjoy their meals. I found that the half portion of pork tenderloin provided only two slices of meat, though they were thick-cut, and a number of smaller potatoes, but no other veg. So I was disappointed in that.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It was a milestone Birthday for a longti ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 7, 2016

It was a milestone Birthday for a longtime friend of mine- so I took her out for lunch to celebrate. We both enjoyed our meal & the service was very good. It was a little noisy as there was a large group but we had a nice visit. Only one suggestion the soup was delicious but was just Luke warm.

Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Healthy, Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

It's a great place to eat with your love ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It's a great place to eat with your love ones. Very comfy with a rustic yet classy feeling. The food? love it!!!! 👌🏻

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Family Style, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was very well prepared. Everything ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Food was very well prepared. Everything was delicious. I will definitely recommend to friends.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always. Busy Sunday morning ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent as always. Busy Sunday morning & the serving staff kept up nicely.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

This is not the best dining in Winnipeg. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is not the best dining in Winnipeg. Deer & Almond is far superior.

The staff are not properly trained and the place feels rather amateur mostly run by young inexperienced staff. It needs someone to seriously manage the place.

The food was OK but not exceptional. For one salmon dish they ran out of rice! How can a restaurant run out of a basic ingredient? This again shows the lack of management oversight.

There are at least two far superior restaurants in Winnipeg.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Loved the cozy feel. Our waitress was ch ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Loved the cozy feel. Our waitress was cheerful and just-right attentive. Food was tasty and I LOVED the half-portion dinner options.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

I was very pleased with my dining experi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was very pleased with my dining experience. the lighting was good and the location of our table was really nice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

First time visiting Promenade and was th ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 28, 2016

First time visiting Promenade and was thoroughly impressed with everything about the restaurant. Seafood gnocchi was absolutely delightful, steak was seasoned very well and cooked exactly to our liking. Will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed a wonderful and leisurely visit ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Enjoyed a wonderful and leisurely visit with friends over a delicious lunch. Staff were pleasant and no one rushed us through our meal .

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We regularly meet for breakfast at Prome ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We regularly meet for breakfast at Promenade Cafe. Good food, good parking, and good service.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

With a window seat we had a great view o ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 22, 2016

With a window seat we had a great view of the Esplanade Riel and the Canadian Museum of Human Rights. The food was awesome, service great and did not rush us out after dessert even though the restaurant was busy. We will be back.

Tags: Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very good and the service w ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 18, 2016

The food was very good and the service was excellent. We had the prix fixe dinner for two. The smoked salmon was excellent, the steak was cooked perfectly and tender. The potatoes were not our favourite but they were interesting and well presented. The creme brûlée was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Promenade always at the top in my books. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Promenade always at the top in my books. Great food to accompany a visit with friends. Service was very good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Quick Bite, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit to the Cafe was for Sun ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Our first visit to the Cafe was for Sunday brunch. We had 11am reservations and our table was ready on time.

We were seated promptly but our party of 5 (3 adults and 2 children) were left with only one menu because they had a shortage.

2 of us ordered beverages and they were quite slow to arrive. When they did, we were not offered any milk or cream for the coffee. Coffee was cool by the time the milk arrived.

The meals were quite tasty. 2 different types of eggs benedict, one "regular" bacon and eggs breakfast and 2 orders of crepes for the kids. The food was out in a reasonable amount of time, but the kids were last to receive their food, which, as any restaurant and/or server should know, get the kids their food first!

My order of eggs benedict were served with room temperature hashbrowns...that wasn't too enjoyable.

All-in-all, I don't think I'd go out of my way to return to this cafe, but I do think it's a nice little spot.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

C'etait magnifique! The food made us sa ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 15, 2016

C'etait magnifique!

The food made us salivate, the waiter was spot on, the atmosphere perfect.

Love love loved it!

Tags: Waterfront, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tourtiere and pear & brie croissant are ...

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Tourtiere and pear & brie croissant are two dishes to order. Delicious always, along with the Croque Monsieur. Service was friendly and attentive. Wine choices varied for every budget. Lovely lunch place..

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

All in all a good time! 2 orders were no ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 8, 2016

All in all a good time!

2 orders were not right, but were corrected in record time😀👏🏼

Great recovery!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Healthy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful restaurant with great and know ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wonderful restaurant with great and knowledgeable staff. Great wine too.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my 95 year old friend for her ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 29, 2016

I brought my 95 year old friend for her birthday and she loved it! Easy parking, best part was the great male server we had! He was so respectful of her and he made her feel very 'special'. Loved the French cuisine aspect too.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

My husband and I had the special where y ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 24, 2016

My husband and I had the special where you get an appetizer, dessert, main course and soup for $28 and for $16 extra you get wine with each course. It is excellent value and gives you just the right amount of food to share. The meat on our visit unfortunately was a little tough. The waiter was delightful and the rest of the courses were good especially the mushroom soup and the appetizer platter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

We had an enjoyable time with our friend ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had an enjoyable time with our friends. We were able to have great conversation. Our dinners were delicious and served at exactly the right temperature. Our waitress was attentive and friendly. We will definitely go back.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love coming here everytime I am in town ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Love coming here everytime I am in town. Wish they would bring back the pancakes !

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

We go to Promenade Bistro as often as an ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We go to Promenade Bistro as often as any restaurant in Winnipeg because the food and service are reliably excellent, prices reasonable and the view of downtown exceptional. It would be great if there were something a little more chocolatey for dessert but everything else is great. I recommend it to people frequently, and will continue to do so. It has never disappointed. The menu doesn't change very often, though.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was a little slow but the food w ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was a little slow but the food was great as usual. There was a party of

10 that seemed to control the flow of all other patrons that evening.

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

Great choice for a lovely breakfast or l ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Great choice for a lovely breakfast or lunch. Varied and interesting menu with an impressive assortment of teas and desserts. The only restaurant in Winnipeg that I've found Floating Island. A pleasant walk over the bridge from The Forks.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food and service for the price ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Excellent food and service for the price. We had the weekly 4 course meal and it was great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a lovely meal. The waitress was a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a lovely meal. The waitress was attentive but not pushy and the staff were kind even though we stayed for three hours!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

French cuisine dishes are always good, t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 13, 2016

French cuisine dishes are always good, the slow roasted lamb shank, never disappoints.

Consistently good food and good service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All 6 diners in our group said their mea ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 6, 2016

All 6 diners in our group said their meals were excellent. We all had just main course entrees and several of us had dessert-which were also exceptional

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent for the price, is goo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food was excellent for the price, is good for a large group, but only indoors, not outdoors. Tables are too small for a group outdoors. Really need to put a blind on the door in the main area. I had the sun in my eyes the whole time. Very helpful and friendly staff. Wine was excellent but a little pricey. Definitely the best place for breakfast, I actually prefer Promenade's breakfast over lunch or dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We were entertaining friends from out of ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were entertaining friends from out of town and we did have a lovely dinner. We did order bread from the appetizer list (and paid for it because our guests would expect it with their salad). It still bothers me that this is not included with your salad. It is such a little thing that strikes me as your restaurant owners being cheap to charge for bread. Otherwise, we always enjoy the food and ambience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.