About Primo Grill

2701 6th Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98406
View Larger Map

Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Oakes

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 383-7000

Website:
http://www.primogrilltacoma.com/index.php

Executive Chef:
Charlie McManus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean

Restaurant Photos

  • Primo Grill
Primo Grill

Primo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Service
Seattle / Eastern Washington
Best Overall
Tacoma
6 More
Best Food
Tacoma
Best Service
Tacoma
Best Ambiance
Tacoma
Best Value
Tacoma
Fit for Foodies
Tacoma
Neighborhood Gem
Tacoma
Best Restaurants in Tacoma ›

Fit for Foodies (39)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Special Occasion (26)
See All
Notable Wine List (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Romantic (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Seasonal (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Authentic (4)
Casual (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Organic (2)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Private Room (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Primo is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Primo is one of my favorite restaurants in Tacoma. The chicken under a brick is outstanding as is the pork chop. Some good vegetarian choices as well. Service needs some polishing--our server removed my plate before the other two people at our table were done eating. Not a very big deal though and our meal was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Excellent food.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fabulous restaurant. Friendly, relaxed, ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fabulous restaurant. Friendly, relaxed, good menu variety. Bar was a bit slow getting the drinks out and could have used some help on a busy Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always great here; well prep ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is always great here; well prepared, inventive and tasty. But this is our second visit in a row where the service has felt very rushed. Our server was friendly and attentive but we had barely taken our first bite of our appetizer when our meals arrived. I don't know it's a matter of bad timing in the kitchen or if they just really want to turn tables over as quickly as possible, but it's awkward and does not make for a relaxed dining experience. It's frustrating because this has always been one of my favorite "nice" restaurants in Tacoma. Still love the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Came here on son's recommendation. Lovel ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Came here on son's recommendation. Lovely ecclectic menu which we all enjoyed. Fig and prosciutto appetizer was incredible and flat breads wonderful. My friend had the lamb chops and was in heaven.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mandatory 18% tip. I typically tip more ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Mandatory 18% tip. I typically tip more than that but I like having that choice. Especially when the service is abysmal.

This was my last visit to Primo Grill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food and restaurant. Service was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food and restaurant. Service was better the first time we went, but was still adequate.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, beautiful place, ok service, ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food, beautiful place, ok service, they add 20% for tip to bill

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Attentive wait staff, excellent food, so ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Attentive wait staff, excellent food, some menu changes with the seasons. You can dine inexpensively on good pizza or treat yourself to more expensive fish or steak. It's all good, with great appetizers and desserts as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time, with great service ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Always a great time, with great service and food! Options for everyone, great ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, the food and service were exce ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

As usual, the food and service were excellent--the menu includes many options (all tasty and beautifully presented) at a variety of price points. And, oh my goodness, the cocktails! Yummy. Charlie and Jacqueline and the Primo staff create a welcoming, personalized dining experience. Love the attention to detail, the focus on locally-sourced menu items, and respect for the environment.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I requested a table that was not next to ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I requested a table that was not next to the bar and not noisy and they were very accomodating. I also like that one of the owners was there, stopped by to say "hi" and make sure everything was ok. The personal touch really means a lot to me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a gem - close to UPS campus. The fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

What a gem - close to UPS campus. The food was awesome and best Old Fashion we had in Tacoma!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice neighborhood restaurant....one of t ...

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice neighborhood restaurant....one of the best burrata caprese salads so far this summer

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Picked Primo Grill as an easy, central l ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Picked Primo Grill as an easy, central location for an after work dinner with friends thinking it was a place where we could have a nice dinner and good conversation. We all had drinks plus shared appetizers, pizzas and desserts, all of which were very good. Especially enjoyed the crispy thin pizza crust. Service was very good as well. Our experience went downhill pretty fast when they opened up the large windows onto 6th Ave. First of all, it was too hot! Second, being right on the street, the traffic noise was awful. Third, many, many people were smoking as they walked by and it was all blowing right on us! Everyone moved their cell phones and purses away from the open window due to the number of drunk, loud, swearing people right on top of us as they stumbled up and down 6th Ave.

It is unfortunate that the simple act of opening the windows ruined was was an otherwise pleasant evening. We also did not realize that--at least on Friday night--it seems to be much more of a bar than a restaurant. Maybe a weekday evening would be more suitable for those of us who prefer good food and conversation to noisy & smokey, but hey, we like to go out on weekends too!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We celebrated out 32nd wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We celebrated out 32nd wedding anniversary and it was a lovely evening. We were able to bring in a Gluten Free baguette so we could mop up the fabulous sauce that comes with the Calamari.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great dinner Killer Manhattans ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always a great dinner

Killer Manhattans

Friendly prompt service

The only reliable restaurant in Tacoma

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They have instituted a policy of chargin ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

They have instituted a policy of charging an automatic service charge of 18% before tax on each bill. Not sure how that will work out for them since it is usually the customer's option to tip according to the level of service rendered. An 18% tip assumes a very good level of service. That does not always happen.

The restaurant was very sparsely populated the Saturday evening we were there. Maybe the new service charge is the reason. If they are trying to pay their help more to meet minimum wage requirements, I would rather see higher food prices and leave the tipping to the customer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great local place. Drinks and food were ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Great local place. Drinks and food were excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ok - to be fair, I'm a fan. Yet again, I ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ok - to be fair, I'm a fan. Yet again, I found Primo as wonderful as always. Service great, food creatively and deliciously prepared, sustainable sources (my dinner companion asked the tough questions) and beautifully prepared. This place is a gem...and we have it in Tacoma (not much time on I-5 for us). Can't say enough about Charlie and Jacqueline and their staff. Go there - enjoy!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Alway delicious! One of our very favori ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Alway delicious! One of our very favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Menu has amazing choices. Our party of 7 ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Menu has amazing choices. Our party of 7 ordered 7 different entrees and each one was delicious. Staff super friendly!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Parking in this area can be tough on a b ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Parking in this area can be tough on a busy night. Dinner with friends visiting in town was wonderful. We had the table near the rear so we had a lot of privacy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It's our favorite restaurant in the Taco ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

It's our favorite restaurant in the Tacoma area. We appreciate all the GF options.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience. Food and service ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

A wonderful experience. Food and service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had not been in a while and really en ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We had not been in a while and really enjoyed our meal. We will be back soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service excellent. V ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was excellent. Service excellent. Very nice restaurant . My only complaint was they charge for bread. It's an Italian restaurant, bread is part of every meal. It was not the money. I ordered mussels for our app, they were served with this excellent sauce but with no bread to soak up the wonderful sauce the mussels were swimming in. I ordered bread and when I got the bill there was the charge. Next time won't order bread, will bring my own . Probably will get a bread age charge, kinda like a corkage charge. I will definitely go back tho.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites for years (going ba ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

One of our favorites for years (going back to Charlie McManus running the Altezzo Restaurant in the Tacoma Sheraton). Charlie continues to create a great menu and his staff does a fantastic job executing it. The service is always top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and drinks were delicious. We will ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and drinks were delicious. We will be going back :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The price didn't match the food quality ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The price didn't match the food quality or the ambience but still was good and great service.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Delicious food, creative cocktails, and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious food, creative cocktails, and great service & ambiance. What's to not like?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ALWAYS great food with attention to deta ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

ALWAYS great food with attention to detail, locally sourced and accommodating to food allergies. Service is without a doubt some of the best I've had and I travel extensively.

Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Primo Grill is a little jewel of a resta ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Primo Grill is a little jewel of a restaurant in a city not necessarily known for its food (sorry Tacoma!). We've been there several times with good friends who live in Olympia and it's perfect location wise. Service is always excellent. Nice, friendly staff who enthusiastically answers all our questions and everything we've ever had, from appetizers to desserts, has been excellent. You won't be sorry.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as always.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was very lovely. Father' ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our experience was very lovely. Father's Day dinner and by the front sidewalk, it was

altogether quite pleasant. Good food, good service and nice atmosphere.

Mr and Mrs Tulfo

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good, service is always e ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food is always good, service is always excellent plus they always have great specials of the day.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I'd been to Primo previously on a couple ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I'd been to Primo previously on a couple of occasions and loved the food so I chose it for my daughter's High School Graduation dinner. It surpassed my previous experience. We were placed in the back room with another large party. It was nice to have the big room between the two of us, although the other party was pretty loud. That's my only negative though, and that's only because my mother is hard of hearing. Since we had seven people it made sense to put us back there. Our waiter, I think his name was Jackson? was great. He was friendly and helpful and came around just enough to so we didn't have to wait, but not so often that he was interrupting us. He made great recommendations and everyone loved the dishes they chose. Two of the diners had the pork chop, which is one of the dishes that Primo is known for. It is huge and delicious. And since both people who had it had plates that looked like they had been licked clean I'm pretty sure it continued to live up to that reputation. One diner had the salmon fettucine and that was wonderful. The graduate had the ribeye, and since I got a bite I can tell you that it was delicious. I had the special which was swordfish and it was cooked to perfection. One of our party was a pretty finicky young eater and he loved the pizza, so that was a hit as well. I can't remember what the other party had, but she was smiling afterward and cleaned her plate. We also had several appetizers. The peppers stuffed with cheese were good. I loved the calamari. It is not breaded and a couple of the people at the table didn't like it because of that, but I figure that's because they don't actually like calamari, they really just like the breading. It was not chewy and the sauce was delicious. We also got the lamb meatballs which were delicious. The bread and balsamic drizzle were good too, although I don't like the current trend of charging people for bread. I think the bread was probably an Irish soda type bread. It was a great experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's favorite

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We've been intermittent diners at Primo for many years. It's a favorite place to go when we want a special meal. I like the new place better as the noise level is MUCH suppressed. The food is still excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Grad night on the Ave

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Our party of six was treated very well from making the reservations to enjoying very fine meal. We were seated at a round table near the kitchen which fit us perfectly. There were two other groups of doctoral graduates also in the restaurant. It was quite a celebratory atmosphere! I enjoyed the prime rib and morel mushroom pasta dish as my husband and I shared. The pork chop was also fantastic as we tasted each other's great meals. The waiter recommended a wine that suited all of our meals. Overall wonderful experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.