Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

About Primo Grill

Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.

2701 6th Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98406
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Oakes

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 383-7000

Website:
http://www.primogrilltacoma.com/index.php

Executive Chef:
Charlie McManus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean

Primo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

GoodForDates (34)
SpecialOccasions (27)
NeighborhoodGem (27)
See All
CreativeCuisine (25)
Foodies (22)
LocalIngredients (22)
Anniversaries (20)
Birthdays (18)
Casual (18)
Groups (18)
HandcraftedCocktails (17)
Authentic (15)
Fun (14)
Seasonal (13)
Healthy (13)
WorthTheDrive (13)
Cozy (12)
VegetarianOptions (12)
BusinessMeals (11)
Romance (10)
BarSeating (10)
Organic (9)
OpenKitchen (8)
PrePostTheatre (8)
Lunch (8)
NotableWineList (7)
ModernDecor (7)
HappyHour (7)
QuietConversation (7)
GlutenFree (6)
PrivateRoom (5)
ComfortFood (5)
VibrantBarScene (4)
PaleoFriendly (4)
HotSpot (4)
PeopleWatching (4)
TastingMenu (4)
SundayLunch (4)
WoodOven (3)
FamilyStyle (3)
Tapas (3)
ChildFriendly (2)
Brunch (2)
ScenicView (2)
LateNightFind (2)
QuickBite (2)
GreatBeer (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
363 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Recommended by people who live in Tacoma & we had a concert to go to - so ate there with our daughter/boyfriend ahead of time. Our first time & we had a regular menu & were in time to order off the Happy Hour Menu - we ordered lots of items - mostly from Happy Hour & were really satisfied with the quality of our food - mussels, sprouts, pizza, fries, steak etc & do not miss the sticky toffee pudding or gelato (choc/hazlenut) for dessert - pleasantly surprised by the total price - all staff were friendly, attentive and very professional. Too bad it's not close to where we live as it would become a very regular place to frequent.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 19, 2017

We had never been to Primo, I wanted a new experience. Was concerned with the Open Table design. But it worked for us. Love the large open windows to allow fresh air.

Food was excellent, fresh, enough yet not too much and interesting. I had my first cocktail that I liked so much I had two...I am not a drinker.

Over all good evening out with husband who is picky but said he'd come back. Thanks for the bright cheery service from every one. Waitress was particularly friendly and informed making us smile.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Organic, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Our family visited Primo for Father's Day; we made the drive up from Olympia for the occasion. The menu is diverse in options and offers a number of creative dishes. Every member of my family loved their entree. We were placed in the back where it is quieter, and we could easily converse. The service is excellent as well. We think Primo is worth the 45-minute drive for us!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Primo Grill is an excellent restaurant. The food is delicious and the servers are friendly.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Food was excellent although bar service took more time than usual

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Excellent food!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great experience for conducting our not-too-serious business meeting. Server was perfect; hostess effectively accommodated our seating request. Great "addition" to Tacoma's funking 6th Avenue district. Everyone had a great meal!

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We always love Primo! The hand pie and the sticky toffee are amazing! 💗

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We celebrate my son's college graduation - a grand dinner- Primo Grill cooks fresh seasonal dishes - great pizza , great bar great service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 25, 2017

I always enjoy eating at Primo Grill. The service is excellent. The food is fresh and well prepared. I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Always a pleasure to visit, food is consistently good and very fresh. I would recommend Primo to anyone!!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

I must confess: I already love promo. But hey- when it keeps on being great, it deserves another review, right? Primo is my first choice always- and I'm never disappointed. Food superb, staff friendly and fun, atmosphere upbeat always ( sometimes more robust than a quiet night) and now that nicer weather is here , the windows are open often. Primo is our 24/7 go to restaurant. I can't recommend it highly enough !!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were there for Mother's Day lunch/brunch. The food selection was good and the meals we ordered were all very delicious. Our server was wonderful too!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a wonderful Mother's Day Brunch at Primo Grill. Good selection, and everyone enjoyed their meals!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I hadn't been here for several years, since before they moved to their current location. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and drinks. We love a well crafted cocktail and both the drinks we had were excellent. We loved the appetizers and pizzas we had for dinner. All of it was delicious. I'll be back again for sure.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Excellent place, food is incredible! Owner/Chef came to our table to talk. Salmon was fresh and prepared to the highest standard. Great bar scene and open air seating.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Once again had the pork chops. Butternut squash hash was outstanding. Meat was smoked perfectly. Also, a good old fashioned.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Primo grill was very accommodating. I had requested a window table due to my special needs adult. A window helps to ensure he stays in his seat. A window was only available in the lounge but my party wasn't all adults. So Primo Grill set us up in a very private area where my sp nds adult could wander around, & my hard of hearing mother & sister could hear conversation due to the remote/private area of the table. But best of all for me & my husband, we could relax & enjoy the dinner because our adult "child" wasn't in anyone's way. It was lovely & I'm very grateful. The food & service were outstanding! I would highly recommend Primo solely based on the food & service. The special accommodations for us was truly icing on the proverbial cake! Thank you!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Private Room, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I've been coming to the Primo for years and the quality has always been consistently high. Both the seafood and local sourcing are outstanding. I had the Paella and it was excellent. It is a Tacoma gem.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I was taken aback by the great food and great music they played....

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I totally want to give Primo 5 stars, but as a regular diner, they need to update their menu a tad. Everything's good, but I expect a restaurant like this to change their menu once in a while.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our second time here and a great local spot with fresh food and friendly service. When the wrong entree was brought out for one member of our party our server sought to correct the situation quickly and brought out a complimentary appetizer for that person. Pasta Ragu, brick chicken and king salmon special were enjoyed by everyone at the table. Will continue to return when visiting our daughter at UPS

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 21, 2017

While the food was very good for the most part. The noise level was way to high for those of us in our seventies therefore we had trouble hearing eachother. I believe the prices were quite high as well. Parking is a nightmare.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. They make the best food and I am so glad they are located here in Tacoma

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've been going to the Primo about a dozen years. Its our standby when we want a good meal. We had a shrimp appetizer and I had the Pasta special. Both were excellent.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was some of the best we've found in the tacoma area. Service was friendly and prompt. We will be bak!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had great service, the food came out quick and delicious, and our wait staff was very friendly. Overall 10/10 experience.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

For an omnivore this place is outstanding! Vegetarians and wheat free folks will be challenged but there are a few items for them. Service was great and I love the 18% surcharge which obviates the tip.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were party of eight people. The service was nothing spectacular, server was very rude and defensive when we ask for more information about the 18% extra "already" included for gratuity for all (except gift cards or orders to go), we just wanted to ask general reason. Fettuccini with salmon was extremely good, steak had a lot of fat but with original presentation and good flavor, but still had a lot of fat and lasagna was over cooked and crispy... Honestly we were planning to pay more as gratuity but because server acted very defensive we decided not to give more, she went directly and stated: "you can speak with my manager if you want, and if you have more 20 mins.." not appropriate comment for the kind of restaurant, this made our nice experience sort of disappointment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was good and service was great too. It was Saturday night but the service was a bit slow. We had 6:00 reservations and had to run into the theatre for our 7:30 play.

$100 for two glasses of wine, one appetizer, one salad, one entree and a bread plate (two of us shared the meal). Seemed a bit pricy for the Tacoma.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything was amazing! We couldn't have had a better experience. Farm to table and a ton of gluten free options...we will be back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday as a family and the food and service were excellent. While the table we were placed at was not a favorite I suspect it was driven by the seven people and an infant present. We have often over the years celebrated family events and occasions at Primo Grill it never disappoints.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our meals were delicious and exceeded our expectations. The halibut special was amazing and served piping hot. My husband had the chicken and was equally pleased. Staff was friendly and attentive. We will definitely return.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Primo remains a favorite because of the food. This time it was too noisy for conversation across the table because of a family birthday group next to us, but that happens sometimes. A late evening dinner would be better for a date or even a conversation.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 26, 2017

OutsrNding in all respects, sxcept noise level is a bit high

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We were having dinner before a show down the street. Everything was great until our waitress forgot about us and then disappeared. We waited more than half an hour from when she dropped off the dessert menu until the hostess closed us out. We were late to the show but luckily they still let us in. Food was great, but would not recommend if you need to be somewhere else afterwards.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was excellent. The duck leg appetizer was amazing. The steaks were great. The brownie at the end was phenomenal. The servers were very attentive.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This restaurant is a favorite of ours. The food is reliably excellent, the service is attentive without being intrusive, and the ambiance is cozy and comfortable. Make reservations, they fill up pretty early, and with good reason.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food and good service. We enjoyed it thoroughly. The only downside was that it was cold inside.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food is always excellent. Weekend nights are very busy therefore very loud.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.