About Primo Grill

2701 6th Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98406
View Larger Map

Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Oakes

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 383-7000

Website:
http://www.primogrilltacoma.com/index.php

Executive Chef:
Charlie McManus

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean

Restaurant Photos

  • Primo Grill
Primo Grill

Primo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Tacoma
Best Food
Tacoma
Best Service
Tacoma
4 More
Best Ambiance
Tacoma
Best Value
Tacoma
Fit for Foodies
Tacoma
Neighborhood Gem
Tacoma
Best Restaurants in Tacoma ›

fit for foodies (47)
neighborhood gem (39)
special occasion (35)
See All
good for groups (18)
romantic (15)
hot spot (10)
notable wine list (9)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (6)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's our favorite restaurant in the Taco ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 3 days ago

It's our favorite restaurant in the Tacoma area. We appreciate all the GF options.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful experience. Food and service ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined 6 days ago

A wonderful experience. Food and service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had not been in a while and really en ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had not been in a while and really enjoyed our meal. We will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service excellent. V ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was excellent. Service excellent. Very nice restaurant . My only complaint was they charge for bread. It's an Italian restaurant, bread is part of every meal. It was not the money. I ordered mussels for our app, they were served with this excellent sauce but with no bread to soak up the wonderful sauce the mussels were swimming in. I ordered bread and when I got the bill there was the charge. Next time won't order bread, will bring my own . Probably will get a bread age charge, kinda like a corkage charge. I will definitely go back tho.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites for years (going ba ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

One of our favorites for years (going back to Charlie McManus running the Altezzo Restaurant in the Tacoma Sheraton). Charlie continues to create a great menu and his staff does a fantastic job executing it. The service is always top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and drinks were delicious. We will ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food and drinks were delicious. We will be going back :-)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The price didn't match the food quality ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The price didn't match the food quality or the ambience but still was good and great service.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Delicious food, creative cocktails, and ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Delicious food, creative cocktails, and great service & ambiance. What's to not like?

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

ALWAYS great food with attention to deta ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

ALWAYS great food with attention to detail, locally sourced and accommodating to food allergies. Service is without a doubt some of the best I've had and I travel extensively.

Highly recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Primo Grill is a little jewel of a resta ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Primo Grill is a little jewel of a restaurant in a city not necessarily known for its food (sorry Tacoma!). We've been there several times with good friends who live in Olympia and it's perfect location wise. Service is always excellent. Nice, friendly staff who enthusiastically answers all our questions and everything we've ever had, from appetizers to desserts, has been excellent. You won't be sorry.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as always.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent food and service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience was very lovely. Father' ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our experience was very lovely. Father's Day dinner and by the front sidewalk, it was

altogether quite pleasant. Good food, good service and nice atmosphere.

Mr and Mrs Tulfo

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is always good, service is always e ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Food is always good, service is always excellent plus they always have great specials of the day.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I'd been to Primo previously on a couple ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

I'd been to Primo previously on a couple of occasions and loved the food so I chose it for my daughter's High School Graduation dinner. It surpassed my previous experience. We were placed in the back room with another large party. It was nice to have the big room between the two of us, although the other party was pretty loud. That's my only negative though, and that's only because my mother is hard of hearing. Since we had seven people it made sense to put us back there. Our waiter, I think his name was Jackson? was great. He was friendly and helpful and came around just enough to so we didn't have to wait, but not so often that he was interrupting us. He made great recommendations and everyone loved the dishes they chose. Two of the diners had the pork chop, which is one of the dishes that Primo is known for. It is huge and delicious. And since both people who had it had plates that looked like they had been licked clean I'm pretty sure it continued to live up to that reputation. One diner had the salmon fettucine and that was wonderful. The graduate had the ribeye, and since I got a bite I can tell you that it was delicious. I had the special which was swordfish and it was cooked to perfection. One of our party was a pretty finicky young eater and he loved the pizza, so that was a hit as well. I can't remember what the other party had, but she was smiling afterward and cleaned her plate. We also had several appetizers. The peppers stuffed with cheese were good. I loved the calamari. It is not breaded and a couple of the people at the table didn't like it because of that, but I figure that's because they don't actually like calamari, they really just like the breading. It was not chewy and the sauce was delicious. We also got the lamb meatballs which were delicious. The bread and balsamic drizzle were good too, although I don't like the current trend of charging people for bread. I think the bread was probably an Irish soda type bread. It was a great experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's favorite

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We've been intermittent diners at Primo for many years. It's a favorite place to go when we want a special meal. I like the new place better as the noise level is MUCH suppressed. The food is still excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Grad night on the Ave

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Our party of six was treated very well from making the reservations to enjoying very fine meal. We were seated at a round table near the kitchen which fit us perfectly. There were two other groups of doctoral graduates also in the restaurant. It was quite a celebratory atmosphere! I enjoyed the prime rib and morel mushroom pasta dish as my husband and I shared. The pork chop was also fantastic as we tasted each other's great meals. The waiter recommended a wine that suited all of our meals. Overall wonderful experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Food was exquisitely prepared with a delightful presentation. Service was friendly and attentive and very flexible to accommodate our last minute changes.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food & service

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We returned to Primo Grill for the second visit since moving to Tacoma a month ago. Once again we found the food (a fettuccine dish with smoked salmon and an unusual pizza) to be very well prepared, and our server was personable and helpful in answering our questions.

We particularly like the emphasis on locally sourced ingredients and the variety of wines available, along with the excellent service we experienced on both visits. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The new location will be great in the su ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The new location will be great in the summer, but with the roll up windows closed the atmosphere is lacking. The staff and service were top notch. wine prices were reasonable. My pasta dish was very average. My wife's salmon was quite good. I have been to Primo Grill several times, and always walk away with the same feeling that although the food is good, is not equal to the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

As always, fantastic. An absolute Tacoma ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

As always, fantastic. An absolute Tacoma gem! First Copper River Salmon of the season, and probably the best we'll have this year. One of Primo Grill's best qualities: consistency. Consistently excellent food, wine and service. We love this restaurant so much that we're afraid we're going to get tired of it some day. We've been dining here for 17 years and we're still coming back regularly. We're not tired of it yet! Our other favorite restaurants? They're either in Seattle, Los Angeles or France.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First place my wife and I went in Tacoma

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

Everything was great. The only small complaint is that the hostess didn't have a table ready for us when we got there even thou their was 3-4 tables clear. It didn't take long but it seemed slightly unprepared

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Had a group of 9 for Mothers Day. We ha ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Had a group of 9 for Mothers Day. We had a fantastic meal. Looking forward to going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service is friendly, competent, and atte ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Service is friendly, competent, and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yum!

 
 (Portland)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Primo serves delicious food in a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The staff is knowledgeable, good-humored, and not at all intrusive. Charlie and Jacqueline are the perfect hosts--setting a high standard in both cuisine and comfort for their neighborhood bistro. The cocktails are beautifully realized and always interesting and nuanced. Primo's support of local growers and locally-sourced ingredients guarantees freshness and high quality. This is an environmentally aware and really tasty dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Celebration

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

We had a good time with no complaints. Loved the food and the menu had enough variety to satisfy our food taste differences. I definitely want to come back and try some other menu items.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent dining experience!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

The occasion? My birthday dinner (4/27)!

From the moment we walked in, the staff demonstrated friendliness and professionalism. We enjoyed a bottle of red wine, appetizers, grilled vegetable salad, fungi pizza, shrimp risotto, and porcini-crusted halibut. (the halibut was a substitute for the cod which was sold out.)My man was thrilled to learn halibut was added to the menu (it's one of his favorites). It was 5 🌟delicious!

I appreciate that Primo's is a farm-to-table establishment and supports our local farmers. All of this deliciousness was topped by exceptional customer service by our server. I can't remember her name, but she was phenomenal and a great asset to Primo's. Well done, Primo's, we'll be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lamb chops

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

I was disappointed in the quality of the lamb chops.

I expected much better for $28.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Inspired cuisine, excellent local ingredients

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

This was a family dinner. Three generations found selections they enjoyed. Each time I visit Primo Grill I resolve to go more often. Cons: parking, wine values.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

A very pleasant dining experience

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

I had heard from two of our group about the quality food and atmosphere at Primo Grill, but that was for their previous location. This was a first trip for all of us to their current location. All in our group were very satisfied with the food, service, and value of the meal, two of the group preferred the atmosphere of the previous location. As I had not been to either, before I was quite satisfied with the current location. it was a very pleasant and warm evening and we were seated next to one of the open "garage" doors so had an alfresco experience as well. We lingered long over the meal and drinks which is a sign of satisfaction for our group. I would recommend Primo grill to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

No the best experience.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

My friend had a great experience here before, however ours was not that great. The cocktails we ordered should have been smooth and ours had a bite that we weren't looking for. The pear and cheese appetizer was nicely presented and tasted good. Our server was okay, but came across as a bit ruffled and the outfit didn't reflect the hip vibe the interior suggested. A glass accidentally spilled water onto the floor and our server and a bus-gal responded promptly with considerable attention to wiping it up as our server cited that the floors cannot be wet because of a special expensive oil that is on them. While we thought that was interesting for a restaurant to put in non-get-wet floors, what was disturbing was one of the floor towels was used to also wipe the table. The bus-gal was the most lively and fun part of our visit.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

Primo was, in fact, PRIMO! Nuff said!

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Really need to try it yourself. The chef came out and asked how things were. Wine selection had something for everyone and staff was very attentive. The food was exceptional!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Really enjoyed my meal and the service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening from food to service! ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent evening from food to service! A fine recommendation for any foodie.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and the service were both excellent.

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

The flavors in the dishes we ordered were amazing. Everything was very fresh and the panna cotta we had for desert was incredible.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. Great food. Always our fi ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great service. Great food. Always our first choice to come for Bday celebrations. Been coming to PG for years.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Visiting the kids

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

After much searching for a dinner on a Saturday night, we ended up Primo grill. We had a table in the back and with a large group that worked well. The server very helpful and all the waitstaff was too. We will definitely be back to enjoy another meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second great experience at Primo Grill

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

This was our second visit, and each time the food was delicious and the service was attentive and courteous.

We went early on a Friday evening and were surprised by the Happy Hour menu, which included most or all of the pizzas on the regular menu. Both of our pizzas were quite good, as was the wine,

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

We recently dined at Primo Grill with 3 of our out of town relatives. We ordered a variety of delicious appetizers, sides, and entrees. We all enjoyed sharing bites of the delicious food. We will be back again soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and yummy cocktails

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

The reason why I'm giving a four star rating instead of five stars is this: made reservations 3 weeks in advance for Valentines Day. Received numerous emails reminding me of reservation date. Received numerous calls. First call with voicemail noted it was a reminder and that if I needed to cancel to please call and let them know. Wasn't cancelling, didn't call. Second call with voicemail noted confirming reservation. Third call with voicemail to please call and confirm. So I did. Received 2 more calls up to the day of and each time I called back and confirmed. Gotta admit I came close to cancelling because this was really annoying. How many times does one need to confirm? The appetizer, drinks and food were really wonderful and the service was really nice so we will try again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful service. My father's 80th was ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Wonderful service. My father's 80th was on Valentines Day, yet we were accommodated and our party of 14 were given respect and great service. So nice that we were able to take my parents to their favorite restaurant in Tacoma. They always go here after attending an opera by the Tacoma Opera. Thank you Primo Grill!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.