About Primo Grill

2701 6th Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98406
View Larger Map

Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Oakes

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 383-7000

Website:
http://www.primogrilltacoma.com/index.php

Executive Chef:
Charlie McManus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean

Restaurant Photos

  • Primo Grill, Tacoma, WA
Primo Grill, Tacoma, WA

Primo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Tacoma
Best Service
Tacoma
Best Ambiance
Tacoma
1 More
Best Value
Tacoma
Best Restaurants in Tacoma ›

Fit for Foodies (20)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
See All
Local Ingredients (14)
Special Occasion (12)
Good for a Date (10)
Open Kitchen (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Authentic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Casual (8)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Romantic (6)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Organic (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
People Watching (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Cozy (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went there on a Saturday night for a bir ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Went there on a Saturday night for a birthday. Had great service. Good food. The applewood porkchop was amazing. Definitely high end prices. Would go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT food! Jason was an amazing server ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

GREAT food! Jason was an amazing server which just added to the perfect night! Very cozy and warm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't like being forced to pay a fixed ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

I don't like being forced to pay a fixed gratuity in advance without knowing how good the service was. and I don't like paying tax on top of that gratuity. I wonder of the washington state tax people know.....I think I'll let them know, look for standard sales tax, and also look for sales tax on the gratuity.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Modern cosmopolitan seaport neighborhood ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Modern cosmopolitan seaport neighborhood hospitality! Reminded me of Camino in Oakland, CA, only more relaxed. Delicious, and glad to have this nearby! The leftovers would have been really good, and I can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was excited to eat at primo given the re ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Was excited to eat at primo given the reviews. Was disappointed as the food was blah and not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

We have eaten here a few times and the f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have eaten here a few times and the food is always wonderful. The atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed. Service is outstanding. Definitely one of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Primo never disappoints! The menu is sea ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Primo never disappoints! The menu is seasonal and isn't burdened by a lot of choices. There hasn't been an item we haven't enjoyed. The service is always great. The draft beer selection is always good as well.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I used to love Primo Grill in their old ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I used to love Primo Grill in their old location. It was cozy, romantic and had great ambiance. The food is always good though so I have been back a few times since they moved. However, on this last visit my friend and I, a party of TWO, were slapped with a mandatory 18% gratuity. Now, I normally tip 20% for good or even normal service but that is my choice. I have never been to a restaurant that charged a mandatory tip for a party less than 8. When we questioned the server about it, even she said that we should complain to management. She would have gotten 20% instead of 18% and I would have been able to choose the amount of gratuity I felt appropriate. If the service had been poor, I would have tipped less. But if you don't mind being forced into a tip, then you won't mind Primo Grill. Oh, and the new locale feels like a boring PNW pub, not a nice Italian Restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was average at best . It was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was average at best .

It was a over priced dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Hidden Gem fit for foodies from the Big ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Hidden Gem fit for foodies from the Big City! I travel to NYC, Chicago, Seattle often and have a hard time finding something palatable in Tacoma. This place qualifies for sure! Adorable ambiance, great menu selections, and the servers were OUTSTANDING! Top notch service for certain! Definitely will return (I always stay at Hotel Murano - and the selection is LIMITED) "downtown". Cheers to Primo - I'll be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food. We weren't greeted w ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Enjoyed the food. We weren't greeted with a friendly smile.--i.e. not very welcoming. It took 10 minutes before a server came to our table to ask for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Primo is our 'go to' Tacoma Restaurant. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Primo is our 'go to' Tacoma Restaurant. It is excellent. Always good. The service is impeccable. The atmosphere is lively yet cozy. Primo is fabulous. We especially love the calamari appetizer.

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was amazing and food was grea ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wait staff was amazing and food was great. Think they are overpriced however. Not sure if I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding as always! Charlie and his ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Outstanding as always! Charlie and his team provide an extraordinary culinary experience. Great flavors, service, and atmosphere. Our favorite spot in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding- quick, atte ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was outstanding- quick, attentive but not overly so. Food selection was great- several salads and entrees and thin crust pizza. I opted for fig and prosciutto. A little soggy on the bottom- would try a different one next time. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in an uptown neighborhood ne ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Great find in an uptown neighborhood near Univ Puget Sound, as opposed to the downtown waterfront area. Solid food, very fresh mussels and salmon; wish the mussels came with toasted bread, but that was about the only miss of the evening. Wife loved the pesto beneath the salmon, which had a hint of crushed pistachio in the pesto. Daughter really enjoyed her fettuccini. Staff service was excellent; while the restaurant tacks on 18% to all bills, any server stepped-in whether refilling water glasses, bussing plates or serving dishes. Will invariably return here during future visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The menu was limited. The prices were v ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The menu was limited. The prices were very high. For example, I think we paid $15 for an appetizer of baked calimari. It was about 1/2 cup all together and came without any bread. Four tiny slices of bread cost $3 extra

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Nice dinner. Only complaint was that the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Nice dinner. Only complaint was that they initially tried to seat us at a tiny table in a back corner of the restaurant that was crowded in behind another table. Clearly it would have been the worst seat in the place. I politely asked for a better table so they moved us to a nicer one by the window. I would have cancelled out reservation had they insisted we sit at the bad table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious. Bartender Grif ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Everything was delicious. Bartender Griffon was knowledgable and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Every time I've been to Primo Grill the ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Every time I've been to Primo Grill the experience is always great. The food is wonderful and wait staff is very kind and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The pie was still frozen in the middle. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The pie was still frozen in the middle. The dinner was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Primo is one of my favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Primo is one of my favorite restaurants in Tacoma. The chicken under a brick is outstanding as is the pork chop. Some good vegetarian choices as well. Service needs some polishing--our server removed my plate before the other two people at our table were done eating. Not a very big deal though and our meal was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Excellent food.

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fabulous restaurant. Friendly, relaxed, ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fabulous restaurant. Friendly, relaxed, good menu variety. Bar was a bit slow getting the drinks out and could have used some help on a busy Saturday night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always great here; well prep ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 11, 2016

The food is always great here; well prepared, inventive and tasty. But this is our second visit in a row where the service has felt very rushed. Our server was friendly and attentive but we had barely taken our first bite of our appetizer when our meals arrived. I don't know it's a matter of bad timing in the kitchen or if they just really want to turn tables over as quickly as possible, but it's awkward and does not make for a relaxed dining experience. It's frustrating because this has always been one of my favorite "nice" restaurants in Tacoma. Still love the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Came here on son's recommendation. Lovel ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Came here on son's recommendation. Lovely ecclectic menu which we all enjoyed. Fig and prosciutto appetizer was incredible and flat breads wonderful. My friend had the lamb chops and was in heaven.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mandatory 18% tip. I typically tip more ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Mandatory 18% tip. I typically tip more than that but I like having that choice. Especially when the service is abysmal.

This was my last visit to Primo Grill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

Great food and restaurant. Service was ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great food and restaurant. Service was better the first time we went, but was still adequate.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, beautiful place, ok service, ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great food, beautiful place, ok service, they add 20% for tip to bill

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Attentive wait staff, excellent food, so ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Attentive wait staff, excellent food, some menu changes with the seasons. You can dine inexpensively on good pizza or treat yourself to more expensive fish or steak. It's all good, with great appetizers and desserts as well.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great time, with great service ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Always a great time, with great service and food! Options for everyone, great ambiance!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service.

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

As usual, the food and service were exce ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 21, 2016

As usual, the food and service were excellent--the menu includes many options (all tasty and beautifully presented) at a variety of price points. And, oh my goodness, the cocktails! Yummy. Charlie and Jacqueline and the Primo staff create a welcoming, personalized dining experience. Love the attention to detail, the focus on locally-sourced menu items, and respect for the environment.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I requested a table that was not next to ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 21, 2016

I requested a table that was not next to the bar and not noisy and they were very accomodating. I also like that one of the owners was there, stopped by to say "hi" and make sure everything was ok. The personal touch really means a lot to me.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a gem - close to UPS campus. The fo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 21, 2016

What a gem - close to UPS campus. The food was awesome and best Old Fashion we had in Tacoma!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice neighborhood restaurant....one of t ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice neighborhood restaurant....one of the best burrata caprese salads so far this summer

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Picked Primo Grill as an easy, central l ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Picked Primo Grill as an easy, central location for an after work dinner with friends thinking it was a place where we could have a nice dinner and good conversation. We all had drinks plus shared appetizers, pizzas and desserts, all of which were very good. Especially enjoyed the crispy thin pizza crust. Service was very good as well. Our experience went downhill pretty fast when they opened up the large windows onto 6th Ave. First of all, it was too hot! Second, being right on the street, the traffic noise was awful. Third, many, many people were smoking as they walked by and it was all blowing right on us! Everyone moved their cell phones and purses away from the open window due to the number of drunk, loud, swearing people right on top of us as they stumbled up and down 6th Ave.

It is unfortunate that the simple act of opening the windows ruined was was an otherwise pleasant evening. We also did not realize that--at least on Friday night--it seems to be much more of a bar than a restaurant. Maybe a weekday evening would be more suitable for those of us who prefer good food and conversation to noisy & smokey, but hey, we like to go out on weekends too!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We celebrated out 32nd wedding anniversa ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We celebrated out 32nd wedding anniversary and it was a lovely evening. We were able to bring in a Gluten Free baguette so we could mop up the fabulous sauce that comes with the Calamari.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great dinner Killer Manhattans ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Always a great dinner

Killer Manhattans

Friendly prompt service

The only reliable restaurant in Tacoma

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They have instituted a policy of chargin ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 7, 2016

They have instituted a policy of charging an automatic service charge of 18% before tax on each bill. Not sure how that will work out for them since it is usually the customer's option to tip according to the level of service rendered. An 18% tip assumes a very good level of service. That does not always happen.

The restaurant was very sparsely populated the Saturday evening we were there. Maybe the new service charge is the reason. If they are trying to pay their help more to meet minimum wage requirements, I would rather see higher food prices and leave the tipping to the customer.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.