About Primo Grill

2701 6th Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98406
View Larger Map

Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Oakes

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 383-7000

Website:
http://www.primogrilltacoma.com/index.php

Executive Chef:
Charlie McManus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean

Primo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (19)
Local Ingredients (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Romantic (15)
Special Occasion (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Cozy (13)
Bar Seating (13)
Healthy (11)
Authentic (11)
Casual (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Wood Oven (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Seasonal (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Business Meals (5)
Private Room (5)
Organic (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Family Style (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
306 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

LOVED IT.... Very inviting and attentive ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

LOVED IT.... Very inviting and attentive. Dinner and dessert were amazing and it's fun to watch them prepare your food! I will be back soon. Thx😍

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Primo is my favorite restaurant in our a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Primo is my favorite restaurant in our area (Tacoma, Lakewood, UP) and we go there often. The service is excellent, the food suburb and the atmosphere lively and upbeat. Every dish has always been delicious - we keep going back. I cannot recommend this lovely place highly enough.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We have been going to Primo for years an ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

We have been going to Primo for years and always enjoyed it, but this last dinner was exceptional even for them. The prosciutto appetizer was so good I thought about just ordering a couple more and making that my dinner. Ambience didn't get 5 stars because I'd prefer a little less noise (but that criticism applies to virtually every restaurant in existence these days). Service didn't get 5 stars because of a couple of smal things (like an order for a glass of wine that didn't get put into the bar for a while) but it was Valentines Day and the place was very busy. All in all, it would have been very hard for the experience to get any better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Primo Grill always accommodates my heari ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Primo Grill always accommodates my hearing impaired husband and seats us at a quiet table. Food is great and our server the last two times was wonderful. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

awesome service and they really make you ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

awesome service and they really make you feel welcome! definitely going back again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely worth any travel even if its ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Definitely worth any travel even if its only from the N. 26th & Alder neighborhood. Great service, immaculate food and great atmosphere. The seating was arranged so I can enjoy a conversation with my wife instead of everyone else. Thank You Primo Grill!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The last time I dined at Primo, I wrote ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The last time I dined at Primo, I wrote a somewhat unflattering review. I'm pleased to say that everything I called-out in the previous review has been resolved . . . the presentation of the wine, the accuracy of the order, the pace of the meal, etc . . . everything was back to the high standards I've come to expect from this innovative and pleasant dining establishment.

Every restaurant makes mistakes, but a truly great restaurant recovers quickly and vows never to repeat their errors. And, that's why I'll continue frequently Primo.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations and waited approxim ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We made reservations and waited approximately 10 minutes upon arrival. Our table was not available, so we were seated at a table near the bar/table right where the door was and the waiting area was. As guests entered they stood in front of our table and every time that the door opened a gust of wind greeted us. Our bill was approximately $130, for 2 and one drink each and for the price you'd expect an amazing meal and great ambiance neither or which we got.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Good, but a little overpriced for what i ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good, but a little overpriced for what it was. I got ragu bolognese with spaghetti and it was no better than I make at home. Definitely good but I was expecting a bit more. It also was not very saucy, a kind of dry sauce (i.e. mostly meat). Also I would have loved more of a braised short rib, slow cooked ragu, instead of just ground meat sauce. The husband got a ribeye that was flavorful but overcooked. Disappointing for 36.00! They were busy that night because it was V-day weekend, but still...

But otherwise the brussel sprouts and scalloped potatoes that came on the side were good, our mussels app was awesome (they ought to serve it with some bread, though), my blood orange sparkler drink was tasty, and our desserts were so yummy. I got panna cotta with huckleberry topping and it was to-die and he got tiramisu, that was decadent but a bit boozy.

All in all, nice place and the service was good, but it's overpriced to the point where I can't say it's a good value. I don't mind dropping $140 on a meal for 2—especially when drinks and dessert & coffee's involved—but the food needs to be more than passable. I don't want to feel like I could've eaten just as well at home :-/

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Private Room, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We loved this place. There's a different ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We loved this place. There's a different menu often with seasonal entrees. This makes us want to go back again!! We loved the flavors and ambiance. We had the chicken "under the brick" and the prime rib. Both were EXCELLENT!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Primo Grill is always great. Been going ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Primo Grill is always great. Been going for over a decade and no dish has ever been less than awesome. Great wine list. I enjoy the cook line and watching the choreography of the chefs during busy hours.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Best meal out we have had in a long time ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Best meal out we have had in a long time. We had the salmon special, Rib eye Steak and the Chicken - all were great tasting, presented well and just plain delicious. We had the calamari appetizer that was garlicky good. Liked the fact that the calamari was not breaded. Looking forward to going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was nice and good ambienc ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The restaurant was nice and good ambience but the food was not up to par for the price. I had an Applebee's meal at a Stanley & Seaforts price. The lamb was cooked good but was bland and the steak was not to the correct cook but had some good flavor. I knew before going there to eat there was an 18% gratuity but not fitting for the overall meals. Another thing to note is that's sodas are $3 a price with no bottomless refills. I must have missed it on the menu but the waitress never said anything like that's a common thing around restaurants not to mention. I won't be promoting primo after this past dinner service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Don't know what happened to Primo. Used ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Don't know what happened to Primo. Used to be my fave but now it's mediocre. Formerly the best calamari ever, it's now tasteless. So sorry. Have to find a new go to place. New location is way below par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Great food, great beer, great happy hour ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great food, great beer, great happy hour! Set at the bar. The bartenders are attentive. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappoints. This is our go to for ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Never disappoints. This is our go to for date night. Delicious farm to table food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall I was mostly pleased. I did not ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Overall I was mostly pleased. I did not like the $3 up-charge we received for substitute squash(cheaper than broccoli) for broccoli due to an allergy. Food was excellent and service was good. We had the fig pizza and halibut with toffee pudding for dessert (which was simply amazing). We would come back again. Most likely for happy hour tho

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service is just not coordinated well. T ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Service is just not coordinated well. This is out second mediocre experience and we're ready to jump ship given the decline since years back. Facts on our experience :

  1. Ordered two Martini's and two appetizers to arrive as my wife arrived. Got the Brussel Sprouts within 2 to 3 minutes- bravo. BUT, drinks did not arrive for another 6 minutes and the second appetizer waited an additional 3 beyond that. You know better than I, I am sure, drinks in a timely manner first, appetizers next and together, warm. BTW- restaurant was half full at the time.
  1. Ordered our Martini's specifically to have onions and olives, if you had both. Was told by waiter "we may not have onions". I stated fine, no problem, olives alone were great. Martini's arrived late with onions only. This ain't rocket science and at the price of the Martinis and an additional charge for the onions and olives in them, you should ensure all regarding the drinks are perfect.

These are small inconveniences, but at your prices they shouldn't happen and poor service (with your pre-added 18% charge already on the bill) is unconscionable. Buck up you guys- you charge the price- provide the service par excellance!

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Was very good. Liked the serve staff. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Was very good. Liked the serve staff. Very good menu. Not a place for ambiance, but there for food anyway.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

After they ran out of Mahi-Mahi I was se ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

After they ran out of Mahi-Mahi I was served a tasteless swordfish whose blandness was made worse by side-dish cauliflower with harissa sauce which I had just had for appetizer. I mean cauliflower and swordfish this does not go together; it is like it was improvised by the underlings in the kitchen without any gastronomical good-sense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food, if going on a date be prepare ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food, if going on a date be prepared. There are children around and somewhat noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Along with Basilico in Olympia, our go-t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Along with Basilico in Olympia, our go-to place when we want something a little nicer than one of the local greasy spoons. The food is always good, and the service is good. One of our usual party has some serious dietary limitations, but they've always been able to provide some good for her. Parking situation leaves a bit to be desired, but you can't have everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level is very high. We were sh ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The noise level is very high. We were shouting just to talk across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I always enjoy Primo Grill for fresh, lo ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I always enjoy Primo Grill for fresh, local ingredients used in delicious preparations. The menu features a few new offerings every time I go. I can always find something good on the wine list though that is not why I would recommend the place. Service is always great except when the place is too busy (in which case it is still good), the ambiance is pleasant and happy, and the food never disappoints.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was delicious, something for ever ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Dinner was delicious, something for everyone. Brownie dessert👍👍👍

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never once have I been disappointed with ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Never once have I been disappointed with my meal/seat/overall experience at Primo Grill. One of Tacoma's absolute bests! Locally sourced, altruistic, close-by, DELICIOUS! (if I had an ounce of complaint for our visit Thurs 1/12/17, it would have been the uneasy dinner music. Perfect for a bar, which of course, there is one, but a bit 80's frenetic for dining. It wasn't too loud though so I didn't mention it)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was perfectly prepared. My wife ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was perfectly prepared. My wife and I enjoyed the whole experience from the appetizer to the main course. I had the Ribeye "amazing" she had the pumpkin ravioli also amazing. The atmosphere was quite and intimate very nice. Thank you Primo Grill we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Kaitlyn was terrific. Suggested terrifi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Kaitlyn was terrific. Suggested terrific drink choices and dinner selections. Love PRIMO...

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find! We ate here for the f ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 7, 2017

What a great find! We ate here for the first time Friday. We ordered too much good because we wanted to try so many things. Everything was delicious! The brussel sprouts were everyone's favorite! Our waiter was fantastic as well. Definitely will be going back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined at Primo Grill more than a do ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've dined at Primo Grill more than a dozen times. This occasion was New Year's Eve, which I know can be stressful for a restaurant's staff, but the pathetic service and mediocre food didn't satisfy my modified expectations.

To begin, the server who I'd never seen before took our cocktail and wine order at the same time. He then brought the wine and the first course before the cocktails. He appeared annoyed when I told him to cancel the cocktail order.

After opening the wine ($59 Gigondas), he immediately filled both glasses and walked away. No presentation of the bottle and no opportunity to taste the wine. Fortunately, the wine was not corked.

I ordered a medium rare steak and it was served medium to well-done. When I mentioned that to the server he shrugged and walked away.

Probably the most irritating part of the evening was a sense that the staff wanted to leave by 10p. We were asked four times, if we wanted a box so we could take our unfinished food home. After the fourth time, I finally told the server to give us 10 more minutes before coming back. Due to the number of empty tables when we left, they did not have a 10p seating.

I support that Primo Grill adds an automatic 18% gratuity to the check, but in this case I would have adjusted the gratuity downward if given an opportunity.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent food and service!

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful new Tacoma find for us. I will ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful new Tacoma find for us. I will definitely be back. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Atmosphere was great and our server was ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Atmosphere was great and our server was very attentive. Highly recommend any fish entree and the spaghetti.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Of our 4 entres 3 were excellent. The p ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Of our 4 entres 3 were excellent. The pumpkin raviolis was the only dish that didn't live up to the usual standards. My husband said it was bland & soggy. My pappradell with mushrooms was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I had a date with my spouse and Primo Gr ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I had a date with my spouse and Primo Grill is our favorite restaurant in the South Sound.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After all these years, it great to see t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 28, 2016

After all these years, it great to see that Charlie and Jaqueline still have Primo in Primo shape with great food and drinks and a professional staff that really knows what they are doing. The food was very tasty and even though we just shared some apps and pasta, it was a great diversity of flavors and since we finished off with some sticky toffee and a spicy flan, we were completely full and satiated. An excellent meal, and I'm glad they are in our neighborhood.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our t ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 23, 2016

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our tenderloin steak dinners

and the service was excellent. We will return soon.

Ron Ayer 5010 Varco Rd NE

Tacoma, WA 98422

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My Wife, son and I went to celebrate her ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My Wife, son and I went to celebrate her birthday. When we sat down I mentioned that to our server and then again when she ordered a bottle of champagne. He came back 15 minutes later and said they were out. No other suggestions, check the list only the eighty two dollar a bottle. (No to that and not what she wanted) We ordered cocktails. Then he came back later and said she could order a small bottle that is usually served at brunch or something. She had that. When it came time for dessert no mention of her birthday or an offering of anything for her. Ok not required by primo , but generally on someone's birthday most places from the highest to the lowest price do something. He never acknowledged her occasion. I thought the minimum wage went up. Really and a minimum tip of 18% . Been to primo with large groups before, not sure why some places think they are doing you a favor by mandating huge tips and service usually lacks.

There are lots of places to dine in Tacoma. I would think places would be grateful for the business. I have a business of my own and I do some extras for customer relations. Which generally lead to repeats and referrals.

Tom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We really enjoyed the calamari with gril ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We really enjoyed the calamari with grilled balsamic bread. Delicious!

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, and the food was deliciou ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great service, and the food was delicious!

I'd definitely go there again.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.