About Primo Grill

2701 6th Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98406
View Larger Map

Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Oakes

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 383-7000

Website:
http://www.primogrilltacoma.com/index.php

Executive Chef:
Charlie McManus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean

Restaurant Photos

  • Primo Grill, Tacoma, WA

Report a photo problem

Primo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (17)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Special Occasion (12)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Open Kitchen (11)
Local Ingredients (11)
Healthy (9)
Casual (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Authentic (7)
Fun (7)
Wood Oven (7)
Cozy (7)
Romantic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Seasonal (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Private Room (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
286 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service is just not coordinated well. T ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Service is just not coordinated well. This is out second mediocre experience and we're ready to jump ship given the decline since years back. Facts on our experience :

  1. Ordered two Martini's and two appetizers to arrive as my wife arrived. Got the Brussel Sprouts within 2 to 3 minutes- bravo. BUT, drinks did not arrive for another 6 minutes and the second appetizer waited an additional 3 beyond that. You know better than I, I am sure, drinks in a timely manner first, appetizers next and together, warm. BTW- restaurant was half full at the time.
  1. Ordered our Martini's specifically to have onions and olives, if you had both. Was told by waiter "we may not have onions". I stated fine, no problem, olives alone were great. Martini's arrived late with onions only. This ain't rocket science and at the price of the Martinis and an additional charge for the onions and olives in them, you should ensure all regarding the drinks are perfect.

These are small inconveniences, but at your prices they shouldn't happen and poor service (with your pre-added 18% charge already on the bill) is unconscionable. Buck up you guys- you charge the price- provide the service par excellance!

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Was very good. Liked the serve staff. ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Was very good. Liked the serve staff. Very good menu. Not a place for ambiance, but there for food anyway.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

After they ran out of Mahi-Mahi I was se ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

After they ran out of Mahi-Mahi I was served a tasteless swordfish whose blandness was made worse by side-dish cauliflower with harissa sauce which I had just had for appetizer. I mean cauliflower and swordfish this does not go together; it is like it was improvised by the underlings in the kitchen without any gastronomical good-sense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Good food, if going on a date be prepare ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good food, if going on a date be prepared. There are children around and somewhat noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Along with Basilico in Olympia, our go-t ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

Along with Basilico in Olympia, our go-to place when we want something a little nicer than one of the local greasy spoons. The food is always good, and the service is good. One of our usual party has some serious dietary limitations, but they've always been able to provide some good for her. Parking situation leaves a bit to be desired, but you can't have everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level is very high. We were sh ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

The noise level is very high. We were shouting just to talk across the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I always enjoy Primo Grill for fresh, lo ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

I always enjoy Primo Grill for fresh, local ingredients used in delicious preparations. The menu features a few new offerings every time I go. I can always find something good on the wine list though that is not why I would recommend the place. Service is always great except when the place is too busy (in which case it is still good), the ambiance is pleasant and happy, and the food never disappoints.

Tags: Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner was delicious, something for ever ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Dinner was delicious, something for everyone. Brownie dessert👍👍👍

Tags: Business Meals, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Never once have I been disappointed with ...

 
·Dined on January 13, 2017

Never once have I been disappointed with my meal/seat/overall experience at Primo Grill. One of Tacoma's absolute bests! Locally sourced, altruistic, close-by, DELICIOUS! (if I had an ounce of complaint for our visit Thurs 1/12/17, it would have been the uneasy dinner music. Perfect for a bar, which of course, there is one, but a bit 80's frenetic for dining. It wasn't too loud though so I didn't mention it)

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was perfectly prepared. My wife ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was perfectly prepared. My wife and I enjoyed the whole experience from the appetizer to the main course. I had the Ribeye "amazing" she had the pumpkin ravioli also amazing. The atmosphere was quite and intimate very nice. Thank you Primo Grill we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Kaitlyn was terrific. Suggested terrifi ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

Kaitlyn was terrific. Suggested terrific drink choices and dinner selections. Love PRIMO...

Tags: Happy Hour, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a great find! We ate here for the f ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

What a great find! We ate here for the first time Friday. We ordered too much good because we wanted to try so many things. Everything was delicious! The brussel sprouts were everyone's favorite! Our waiter was fantastic as well. Definitely will be going back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined at Primo Grill more than a do ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've dined at Primo Grill more than a dozen times. This occasion was New Year's Eve, which I know can be stressful for a restaurant's staff, but the pathetic service and mediocre food didn't satisfy my modified expectations.

To begin, the server who I'd never seen before took our cocktail and wine order at the same time. He then brought the wine and the first course before the cocktails. He appeared annoyed when I told him to cancel the cocktail order.

After opening the wine ($59 Gigondas), he immediately filled both glasses and walked away. No presentation of the bottle and no opportunity to taste the wine. Fortunately, the wine was not corked.

I ordered a medium rare steak and it was served medium to well-done. When I mentioned that to the server he shrugged and walked away.

Probably the most irritating part of the evening was a sense that the staff wanted to leave by 10p. We were asked four times, if we wanted a box so we could take our unfinished food home. After the fourth time, I finally told the server to give us 10 more minutes before coming back. Due to the number of empty tables when we left, they did not have a 10p seating.

I support that Primo Grill adds an automatic 18% gratuity to the check, but in this case I would have adjusted the gratuity downward if given an opportunity.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Excellent food and service!

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful new Tacoma find for us. I will ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Wonderful new Tacoma find for us. I will definitely be back. My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Atmosphere was great and our server was ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Atmosphere was great and our server was very attentive. Highly recommend any fish entree and the spaghetti.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Of our 4 entres 3 were excellent. The p ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Of our 4 entres 3 were excellent. The pumpkin raviolis was the only dish that didn't live up to the usual standards. My husband said it was bland & soggy. My pappradell with mushrooms was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

I had a date with my spouse and Primo Gr ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

I had a date with my spouse and Primo Grill is our favorite restaurant in the South Sound.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

After all these years, it great to see t ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

After all these years, it great to see that Charlie and Jaqueline still have Primo in Primo shape with great food and drinks and a professional staff that really knows what they are doing. The food was very tasty and even though we just shared some apps and pasta, it was a great diversity of flavors and since we finished off with some sticky toffee and a spicy flan, we were completely full and satiated. An excellent meal, and I'm glad they are in our neighborhood.

Tags: Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Private Room, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our t ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

My friend and I thoroughly enjoyed our tenderloin steak dinners

and the service was excellent. We will return soon.

Ron Ayer 5010 Varco Rd NE

Tacoma, WA 98422

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My Wife, son and I went to celebrate her ...

 
·Dined on December 22, 2016

My Wife, son and I went to celebrate her birthday. When we sat down I mentioned that to our server and then again when she ordered a bottle of champagne. He came back 15 minutes later and said they were out. No other suggestions, check the list only the eighty two dollar a bottle. (No to that and not what she wanted) We ordered cocktails. Then he came back later and said she could order a small bottle that is usually served at brunch or something. She had that. When it came time for dessert no mention of her birthday or an offering of anything for her. Ok not required by primo , but generally on someone's birthday most places from the highest to the lowest price do something. He never acknowledged her occasion. I thought the minimum wage went up. Really and a minimum tip of 18% . Been to primo with large groups before, not sure why some places think they are doing you a favor by mandating huge tips and service usually lacks.

There are lots of places to dine in Tacoma. I would think places would be grateful for the business. I have a business of my own and I do some extras for customer relations. Which generally lead to repeats and referrals.

Tom

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

We really enjoyed the calamari with gril ...

 
·Dined on December 21, 2016

We really enjoyed the calamari with grilled balsamic bread. Delicious!

Tags: Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, and the food was deliciou ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Great service, and the food was delicious!

I'd definitely go there again.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went there on a Saturday night for a bir ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Went there on a Saturday night for a birthday. Had great service. Good food. The applewood porkchop was amazing. Definitely high end prices. Would go back again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

GREAT food! Jason was an amazing server ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

GREAT food! Jason was an amazing server which just added to the perfect night! Very cozy and warm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I don't like being forced to pay a fixed ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

I don't like being forced to pay a fixed gratuity in advance without knowing how good the service was. and I don't like paying tax on top of that gratuity. I wonder of the washington state tax people know.....I think I'll let them know, look for standard sales tax, and also look for sales tax on the gratuity.

Tags: Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Overseas visitors. Previously dined at t ...

 
·Dined on December 1, 2016

Overseas visitors. Previously dined at the former Primo Grill and enjoyed so travelled some distance to try the current location.

We were not disappointed. Made to feel very welcome and would certainly return if visiting the area again.

Thanks to all the very friendly staff who sent us on our way feeling very satisfied.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Was excited to eat at primo given the re ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Was excited to eat at primo given the reviews. Was disappointed as the food was blah and not worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Modern cosmopolitan seaport neighborhood ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

Modern cosmopolitan seaport neighborhood hospitality! Reminded me of Camino in Oakland, CA, only more relaxed. Delicious, and glad to have this nearby! The leftovers would have been really good, and I can't wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten here a few times and the f ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

We have eaten here a few times and the food is always wonderful. The atmosphere is comfortable and relaxed. Service is outstanding. Definitely one of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Primo never disappoints! The menu is sea ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Primo never disappoints! The menu is seasonal and isn't burdened by a lot of choices. There hasn't been an item we haven't enjoyed. The service is always great. The draft beer selection is always good as well.

Tags: Organic, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I used to love Primo Grill in their old ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

I used to love Primo Grill in their old location. It was cozy, romantic and had great ambiance. The food is always good though so I have been back a few times since they moved. However, on this last visit my friend and I, a party of TWO, were slapped with a mandatory 18% gratuity. Now, I normally tip 20% for good or even normal service but that is my choice. I have never been to a restaurant that charged a mandatory tip for a party less than 8. When we questioned the server about it, even she said that we should complain to management. She would have gotten 20% instead of 18% and I would have been able to choose the amount of gratuity I felt appropriate. If the service had been poor, I would have tipped less. But if you don't mind being forced into a tip, then you won't mind Primo Grill. Oh, and the new locale feels like a boring PNW pub, not a nice Italian Restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was average at best . It was ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was average at best .

It was a over priced dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Hidden Gem fit for foodies from the Big ...

 
·Dined on November 7, 2016

Hidden Gem fit for foodies from the Big City! I travel to NYC, Chicago, Seattle often and have a hard time finding something palatable in Tacoma. This place qualifies for sure! Adorable ambiance, great menu selections, and the servers were OUTSTANDING! Top notch service for certain! Definitely will return (I always stay at Hotel Murano - and the selection is LIMITED) "downtown". Cheers to Primo - I'll be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed the food. We weren't greeted w ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Enjoyed the food. We weren't greeted with a friendly smile.--i.e. not very welcoming. It took 10 minutes before a server came to our table to ask for drinks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Primo is our 'go to' Tacoma Restaurant. ...

 
·Dined on November 6, 2016

Primo is our 'go to' Tacoma Restaurant. It is excellent. Always good. The service is impeccable. The atmosphere is lively yet cozy. Primo is fabulous. We especially love the calamari appetizer.

Tags: Great Beer, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A go to dinner spot for me in Tacoma

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

A go to dinner spot for me in Tacoma

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Seasonal, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was amazing and food was grea ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Wait staff was amazing and food was great. Think they are overpriced however. Not sure if I'll go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Outstanding as always! Charlie and his ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

Outstanding as always! Charlie and his team provide an extraordinary culinary experience. Great flavors, service, and atmosphere. Our favorite spot in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding- quick, atte ...

 
·Dined on October 23, 2016

The service was outstanding- quick, attentive but not overly so. Food selection was great- several salads and entrees and thin crust pizza. I opted for fig and prosciutto. A little soggy on the bottom- would try a different one next time. I will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.