Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

About Primo Grill

Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.

2701 6th Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98406
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Oakes

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 383-7000

Website:
http://www.primogrilltacoma.com/index.php

Executive Chef:
Charlie McManus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Celebrate New Year's Eve at Primo!

Primo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (32)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Local Ingredients (26)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Bar Seating (17)
Casual (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Seasonal (15)
Creative Cuisine (14)
Healthy (14)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Romantic (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Happy Hour (12)
Authentic (8)
Cozy (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Business Meals (7)
Organic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Disabled Access (4)
Fun (4)
Great Beer (3)
Tapas (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
435 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was very good but a little pricey for us to frequent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Primo is our favorite restaurant in Tacoma. We’re very appreciative of their willingness to accommodate our gluten free needs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2017

really good food.everything was very fresh and flavorful. we had about five appetizers and four entrees between us. server was unbelievable. and four of us are gluten free- and we had no problems!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Our food was fine, nothing special. My biggest complaint is that they add gratuity to the bill (even for only two diners) and that seems presumptuous. The service was fine and I’m normally a 20% tipper so I’m happy to leave an ample tip, but the fact that I don’t get to choose seems ridiculous to me. Otherwise, it was a nice enough experience, but the food doesn’t justify the price for me.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2017

My hysband and I️ decided not to cook - headed for Primo and again: loved it. We had the chicken dish - fabulous - and sipped wonderful wine. Great service as always - our go to place!!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on November 1, 2017

Vegetables were dried out and partially burnt. Steak and chicken average. Priced too high for how it tasted. Reviews said great steak...it wasn't. It was noe prepared as requested.
Would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2017

We had dinner here for the 2nd time and it was even better than the 1st time we came and the 1st time was awesome! One of the best places we have ever gone to eat. Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2017

PG is simply the best restaurant in Tacoma.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 27, 2017

We always enjoy ourselves at Primo. The food is reliably great, the service attentive but not intrusive, the atmosphere upscale and comfortable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 26, 2017

Love this place. The food is always excellent with great staples and changing seasonal dishes. Very cool space, capable, friendly servers, and the owner/operators are talented, hard working good people

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 23, 2017

The food was AMAZING! I would go back anytime I'm in Tacoma! I was disappointed that service was painfully slow - we sat for a long time before even having drink orders taken and the restaurant did not look busy on a Sunday night. I was also disappointed that I asked to have our check split after she had run my card because I needed to be able to expense my part and the waitress was not helpful and said their machine wouldn't do that. I've worked in restaurants and know this was a silly answer. It was a really sad ending to an amazing meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2017

I am still not disappointed - ever - at Primo. We loved our dinner, our server (Ann), our welcoming young lady (Shelby), and other familiar faces Sunday evening. Our food was fab and our table by the window cozy and lovely. Primo is our "go to" place...always love it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 20, 2017

Probably the most underrated restaurant in Tacoma. Highly recommended.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 19, 2017

Invited a friend to brunch as we both enjoy dining at Pacific Grill. Our food was tasty and we enjoyed our brunch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2017

Wonderful food and good choices for Tacoma Restaurant Week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Love the Pumpkin (seasonal) Ravioli!, also loved the personal touch from them when I emailed them to ask if they had the pumpkin ravioli and they emailed me back right away. Primo has Washington wines, which I appreciate and purchase local veggies from local farms (even the farm that I have my CSA at).

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Primo is the best restaurant in Tacoma.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

Had a piece of eyelash or beard in my food. Waiter didn't offer and apology or seem to care, brought me back my plate 10-15 mins later and by that time everyone I was with was done with their meals. I called the owner the next day, she refunded me for my meal. Was still upset about how the waiter showed absolutely no empathy. $140 bill including 18% gratuity for two. I could have gone somewhere else.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2017

So many new restaurants in Tacoma now! As a result, we hadn't been to Primo Grill for a while. Although several of these new restaurants are very good, Primo Grill NEVER disappoints! Locally sourced ingredients and ever-changing seasonal options allows Primo to remain as new as the news guys in town. I would never use "comfort" as a descriptor for the Primo fare, but I would say that it's "comforting" to know that this first-rate restaurant is always there for us. Tacoma is lucky to have it . The South Sound is lucky to have it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Easily the best restaurant in Tacoma, every dish we had was tasteful and cooked properly. Deserves more recognition and more customers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a birthday date night with another couple at Primo recently. We were seated in the back room which seemed to be much quieter than the front area and was quite nice. The service was good. Parking is horrible, but it is 6th Avenue and you expect that.

One of our friends ordered the fish special and the portion size was so small that he was still hungry after finishing his meal. I am half his size and I think I would have even still been hungry. It was a very tiny serving for $20+. He had no complaints about the flavor of the meal, it tasted very good. Other dishes we tried were the fried cauliflower starter, the caprese starter, the pork chop with peach chutney, the mushroom capellini, and the spaghetti nero with prawns. All the dishes had good flavor and were very enjoyable.

We would go back if we found ourselves in the neighborhood.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Primo was very welcoming and accommodating. We brought birthday cupcakes and candles; they took care of keeping them for us and even put the candles on the cupcakes and delivered (lit). Our server, Rachel L, was at our table the moment we all arrived. They were timely with drinks and dinner. Food was very good for all. I had Spaghetti Nero with Prawns and it was excellent. Can't say anything negative except for the fact that there is no parking designated for Primo. Had to drive around a few blocks to find some place on the streets and then walked up. We will go to Primo again and our friends we were with said the same. It was a first time for all 12 of us.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Had a light dinner with my wife at Primo on a Sunday evening after seeing a movie at The Grand Cinema. It was understandably rather empty given the day/time we went. We were immediately seated and liked the menu. We have small appetites, so split the meal, and were still able to take away enough for lunch the next day. Started with Belgian Endive salad, the spaghetti with ragu, and finally a fruit pie. It was all good. Service was attentive and food arrived without much delay.

It is very much a neighborhood restaurant ( I love them!) with a slightly industrial décor. I think it would be noisy on a Friday or Saturday evening but was fine when we went. Street parking was easy.

We will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Just good solid food in a warm atmosphere. Highly recomended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Overall nice meal. I wasn't "wowed" by anything unfortunately. Oxaca margarita was fine, caprese was good, needed salt and there was none to be found. Pumpkin ravioli was fine. Like I said overall fine, just not amazing. Great staff though, excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Everything was great accept my steak was over cooked from medium rare to medium other than that it was a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Never disappointed! Fresh food, great table, great service...love Primo! Maria was wonderful...we had a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I write reviews for Primo all the time...and the great news is: it is always, as hoped for, fabulous! Great waitress (Maria) and great food from Charlie and Jacqueline. Primo is our fave spot - wonderful food, great spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

We love Primo Grill and have been patrons for 10+ years. The service is great and the food is wonderful, we've never had a bad meal. We also appreciate that Primo gives back to the community and makes every effort to source their ingredients locally. It's a fantastic restaurant and we highly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was wonderful, loved the place, unpretentious, great service. We had a lovely evening the pricing was reasonable for the quality. Will definitely be back. Thank you

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I was a little surprised at how amazing this place is. From the outside it looms like just another bistro, but the food was so fresh and so delicious and the service was great. Definitely coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Steak was cooked well when asked for medium so keep that in mind when ordering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It's our favorite restaurant in Tacoma! They are very accommodating to our Gluten Free needs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Excellent for birthday dinner date. A bit pricey for students, but worth it for the occasion! I started the evening tense and left happy and well-fed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Prices (wine & entrees) way out of line with location, ambiance, presentation. Wine list full of errors (2 year old bottles served with attempt to replace 5 year old bottles listed at same price). Substitution fees & split plate fees ridiculous surprise, especially when not noted on menu or by server.

This all was not a problem with server, but management. We will probably not patronize this place again even though the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Celebrating 28 years of marriage and decided to come here as past experience was really good. This night was no different! Food always taste fresh and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Primo is my go-to favorite restaurant and has the best spaghetti on the planet!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Never disappointed !! As always: delicious - great service and warm welcome. We can't stay away!!

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Farm to table at its best. High quality product excellently prepared with attentive service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Primo is a long-time favorite. I always enjoy Charlie's seasonal specials.

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.