Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 12 times today

Primo Grill

4.7
526 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
  • Fit for Foodies
Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(253) 383-7000
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Charlie McManus
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Oakes
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 526 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.4
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
97% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 3 days ago

My boyfriends pasta was undercooked and the service was not very friendly

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

Sadly they were out of their Scallops Special, which is what I was looking forward to, but the Salmon was good too. I had to wonder how many scallops they had for the Special if they ran out so quickly.

It seemed awfully expensive this time, especially when I went with my heart set on scallops and didn't get them.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

The salmon with green onion mash was outstanding . Service outstanding too

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

I took my wife to Primo's for her birthday. It was a great experience. The food was really special with good service. My wife loved the evening. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Celebrated Mother’s Day. Everything was great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We love Primo Grill and always enjoy eating here! It was a nice Mother’s Day with my son and his girlfriend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Fabulous food! Loved the open air setting with the doors up! Our party of 6 loved every bite!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Food & wait staff was amazing. I recommend going there for a meal or cocktails.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This is our favorite restaurant in Tacoma. We have been dining at Primo for at least 15 years! Charlie and Jacqueline do an amazing job! The food is always well prepared, creative, delicious and fun. The wait staff is always polite and knowledgable. Wine is always wonderful too. This is our go to spot for most of our special occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

We have eaten here a few times and it never disappoints. The bar was a little slow delivering drinks however the food came out of the kitchen very quickly. The cocktails were excellent and the food was very good. An excellent spot to eat in Tacoma.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Food was very tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Fantastic Mahi Mahi with sweet potato mash with asparagus. Along with scrumptious
Dessert . Service was top notch as usual .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Creative cocktails with seasonal fruits and herbs. My fish was moist and flavorful, vegetables cooked just right. The others in my party had pasta and it was fresh and flavorful. The coconut cake with fresh raspberries on top was delicious. .

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent food and service!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

There were 7 of us getting together to celebrate 2 birthdays - the staff was very attentive, drinks and appetizers were fantastic - the special porcini crusted halibut was divine and the dessert was amazing. We'll be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Very good! We had mussels, calamari, Brussels sprouts, smoked salmon fettuccine. Everything was excellent. Love Primo. Excellent food, excellent service. Always.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Primo isn’t mind-blowing, it’s just consistently very good. It’s our go-to spot for a nice dinner. Not NICE, but nice.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Great food and service. The smoked salmon fettuccine is my usual and I am never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

We ate at Primo Grill to support the Pierce County Aids Foundation. Primo Grill donated 25% of its sales to PCAF the day we ate there. I appreciate their support of the local community. We all enjoyed our food and had good service even though the restaurant was crowded.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Once again: excellent! My husband and I stopped in for a light meal after a long weekend of a training and had a lovely meal and experience. We had a new waitress great us who was friendly and warm. Our food was great - unusual way to coat halibut and I loved it! Upbeat feel to the restaurant and lots of folks enjoying the bar area. I'm already looking forward to my next meal and Primo:)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

It was good. I had good food. I had good drinks. Is this 50 characters yet?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Went for dinner and then ate mostly from the Happy Hour menu. Roasted Brussels sprouts with bacon (large enough for more than two to share), Bacon and smoked onion pizza, and lamb meatballs were all excellent. We also got the Fried cauliflower from the dinner menu (also could be shared by more than two). The Panna Cotta was delicious as were the basil gimlets.

Definitely, will be going back for more.

Had 5:15 PM reservation on a Friday, which was good since the restaurant filled up shortly after we got there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The food was outstanding !! Wine choices great and the service exceptional !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

We just had dessert, but it was really good and the service was great

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We each went with pasta after sharing mussels and bread. Mussels were even fresher than usual; sauce was as marvelous as always. Cocktails were innovative and tasty. The pasta was steaming and al dente, teeming with shellfish. The Italian Pino Grigio was suitable and inexpensive.

Most important ingredient: Maria as server. She is terrific!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

PG has consistently great food and service. Great team effort.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 12, 2018

I was delivered the incorrect drink and incorrect entree. Each time I had to wait to get the correct item. My wife and I were unhappy with the gelato. We have been all over Italy and never had gelato so heavy. The entrees were good but we will be going somewhere else

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 10, 2018

Great service, wonderful dishes. An anniversary favorite of ours.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Charlie & his team hit another home run! fresh Halibut & braised short ribs were awesome!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Made a 6:30 reservation. We were seated promptly at 6:30. Parking can be a little hard to find in this area of restaurants in Tacoma but is doable. Ordered appetizers and drinks that were on the table in minutes. Main meal was served shortly after finishing appetizers. Food was delicious. Portions were fine but some may find a little small. Server was prompt, attentive and friendly. Prices were competitive with other Tacoma restaurants similar to Primo Grill. 18% service charge is tacked onto the bill which is uncommon in Tacoma restaurants but as explained on the bill goes to hire overall wages and benefits to all their employees. 70% directly to employees 30% to wages and benefits. Leaving the restaurant we noticed that it had packed out. So getting in a little early is probably a good idea. All and all we found Primo Grill was a great place to dine and will be repeat customers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Took my mom & Aunt there on Easter for late lunch/early dinner. Great food, and the staff were all very friendly and tentative. I would definitely recommend Primo Grill.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

The Primo Grill is consistently one of the best restaurants in Tacoma. They even have wonderful options for those on a gluten-free or other restrictive diet. It’s always a pleasure to dine there with friends and family.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

I really loved their Irish soda bread and mango loaf as well as their homemade pasta. The ribeye steak was great. Got to meet the owner of the place too. She genuinely cares about the customers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Always good food and service. Love this place!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

We went to Primo at my request for my birthday. Our waiter Sean was outstanding and was attentive and knowledgeable. I ordered halibut and it was perfection. My husband ordered gluten-free pasta and you’d never know the difference. The staff is so accommodating. This place always rocks and the owner/chef always makes the most wonderful dishes. He’s a food artist! Our table shared a toffee sticky pudding and a flourless chocolate cake, and, oh, my gosh, I was in heaven. Sean brought the sticky pudding with a candle in it, so he made our evening even more festive. Love Primo and will always eat there!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

We love having a great restaurant in our neighborhood for a spontaneous date night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 26, 2018

Really great date night ambiance. Super clean and very impressed with friendly staff. Loved every bite of everything we got. I ordered the Rhubarb cocktail which was light and fresh and husband got the mint herbal martini which he loved. The calamari starter was really tasty! Our entrees were the smoked Salmon fettuccine and the pesto pasta. Their chocolate bourbon cake was to die for for you chocolate lovers. So so so good! Worth giving this place a try! We will definitely be be back! Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 25, 2018

The vibe inside is great but unfortunately the best thing about the place. Food was pretty good but the small pasta portions were NOT worth the steep prices. Left hungry. It took 10 minutes for someone to come to our table and bring us water and when I asked for a pinot noir, she rather pointedly asked for my ID (I get that I look young, but you can be nice about it). She also had no knowledge of the bar. Husband asked about whiskey options and she was little to no help. Our waiter later came over and was friendly enough. A glass of red wine, a glass of whiskey, and two pasta entrees with mediocre service cost us over $90. If you’re going to charge that much, you better know what you’re doing. Don’t waste your time or money - go to The Table instead.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

In Tacoma for show, hotel recommended Primo. Brick chicken was moist & flavorful. Spouse had scallops & chef was very accommodating for a special cooking request. Service was friendly & attentive. Would go again when in Tacoma

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

23rd Birthday celebration

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
14