Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

About Primo Grill

Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.

2701 6th Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98406
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Oakes

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 383-7000

Website:
http://www.primogrilltacoma.com/index.php

Executive Chef:
Charlie McManus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean

Primo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Special Occasion (24)
See All
Creative Cuisine (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Casual (19)
Fun (15)
Good for Groups (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Authentic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Seasonal (13)
Business Meals (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Organic (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Romantic (9)
Healthy (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Cozy (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Tapas (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very attentive and happy staff which made me feel like they really loved their job

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite Tacoma restaurant is Primo Grill. Maria could not have been a more helpful or kinder server. Charlie stopped by to say hello; Jacqueline greeted us warmly at the door. The scallops were wonderful. The heirloom tomatoes were such a treat! We sat at the open window next to Sixth Avenue and enjoyed ourselves greatly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The food is great! The spaghetti ragu is a winner. We went last year when we played golf in the area and it was unforgettable so when we came thru again, we booked it again and it was still wonderful. The waitress was very good also

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This is my stand by when friends or relatives visit Tacoma or when I just want a good meal.

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The only issue I have with the dining experience is the pre-calculated Tip that Primo's adds to the bill. Here is my reason why I take exception to this. We had a female waiter, who I fell didn't regularly check up on our meal, or sufficiently re-fill our drinks. We were provided luke warm tap water in a glass bottle while we waited for our appetizer, and during our appetizer. We didn't receive our drinks until the meal was provided. Does this service warrant an automatic 18%? That depends. I will always tip, but when someone tells me I have to tip a certain percent, regardless of the service I receive, I take exception to this. I will say, I'm not 100% current with Tacoma business and municipality ordinances, and I'm not sure if the mandatory tip is at other restaurants in the same area either. So hopefully I'm correct in saying this isn't the typical expectation in Tacoma. That aside, I wasn't pleased with the limited menu, and the fact the menu is a billboard for advertising where products were sourced. That being said, I don't think I will be dining at Primo's again, even though we've only eaten there a hand full of times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food - everything we had tasted very good. Three of us had pizzas, and one had a pasta dish. We had the brussel sprout appetizers (and we saw a LOT of them coming out of the kitchen so clearly they are very popular). I didn't love the flavor of the pizza crust compared to some brick oven style pizzas, but the toppings were good! Drinks/cocktails were very tasty. Service was decent - a little slow - but nothing too bad.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 4, 2017

It's our favorite spot !! Love the food and the excellent service. A real " find" - recommend it highly.

Tags: Authentic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Fun, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Had the salmon special, was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Excellent menu with many interesting choices -- we came across from the list of best restaurant in Tacoma --well not being from Tacoma it is definitely an excellent choice from wherever one is located. The flavors of the menu items are outstanding --the service was good and the coconut carmel gelato was excellent.

Tags: Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Tapas, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Primo was recommended by a few ppl, so we gave it a try. Food was fabulous, service was impeccable! We quickly decided that if we had one more night in Tacoma, we'd be back there for another meal!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 24, 2017

We have been visiting Primo Grill for several years now. It is one of our favorite restaurants in Tacoma. The food is always good. The service goes out of the way to make sure your needs are met. We especially love to sit along the cook line and watch the food being cooked and the salads and desserts being prepared. I'm sure that isn't for everyone, but it has been a delight for us. Charlie and his crew are great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The best restaurant in Tacoma!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Primo has an excellent location, the windows can all open outward to make it feel like you are dining outside, but out of the heat of the sun. The food is flavorful and locally sourced - I especially like the house-made pasta dishes. The wine on tap currently (the red blend) is so delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Everything we drank and ate was PERFECT! Service was wonderful too. Can't wait to take friends and family there!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Healthy, Cozy, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My wife and I have been patrons of Primo since it opened in 1999. We always enjoyed the food, the servers and the chef. Now, it's all gone. Primo is no longer the place it once was. The service was terrible. The server never once mentioned any specials. We had to hear about them from another table. The food wasn't hot when it came to our table. And worse of all, everything was ala carte. And too pricey.
So we bid farewell to another of our favorite restaurants in Tacoma, we won't be going back.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 2, 2017

I made the reservations on line which was very easy to do and received a reminder. I love it! The dining experience was exceptional. The waitress was excellent and the food was also wonderful.
We will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great food, great service! It was a beautiful Summer day.....the garage door walls were open, there was a nice breeze.....nearly perfect. A little too loud to comfortably hold a conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Recommended by people who live in Tacoma & we had a concert to go to - so ate there with our daughter/boyfriend ahead of time. Our first time & we had a regular menu & were in time to order off the Happy Hour Menu - we ordered lots of items - mostly from Happy Hour & were really satisfied with the quality of our food - mussels, sprouts, pizza, fries, steak etc & do not miss the sticky toffee pudding or gelato (choc/hazlenut) for dessert - pleasantly surprised by the total price - all staff were friendly, attentive and very professional. Too bad it's not close to where we live as it would become a very regular place to frequent.

Tags: Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Summer is here and the windows are open at Primo Grill! That's good (fresh air and nice urban vibe) and bad (the roar of vehicles makes it harder to hear conversation). Enjoyed Father's Day dinner with my teenage daughter. Food and service both excellent. I was able to watch Charlie and his crew working in the open kitchen. Overall a really good experience on this busy night. It was noisy but everything was done perfectly within the restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We had never been to Primo, I wanted a new experience. Was concerned with the Open Table design. But it worked for us. Love the large open windows to allow fresh air.

Food was excellent, fresh, enough yet not too much and interesting. I had my first cocktail that I liked so much I had two...I am not a drinker.

Over all good evening out with husband who is picky but said he'd come back. Thanks for the bright cheery service from every one. Waitress was particularly friendly and informed making us smile.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Casual, Organic, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Our family visited Primo for Father's Day; we made the drive up from Olympia for the occasion. The menu is diverse in options and offers a number of creative dishes. Every member of my family loved their entree. We were placed in the back where it is quieter, and we could easily converse. The service is excellent as well. We think Primo is worth the 45-minute drive for us!

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Primo Grill is an excellent restaurant. The food is delicious and the servers are friendly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Food was excellent although bar service took more time than usual

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Excellent food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great experience for conducting our not-too-serious business meeting. Server was perfect; hostess effectively accommodated our seating request. Great "addition" to Tacoma's funking 6th Avenue district. Everyone had a great meal!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We always love Primo! The hand pie and the sticky toffee are amazing! 💗

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We celebrate my son's college graduation - a grand dinner- Primo Grill cooks fresh seasonal dishes - great pizza , great bar great service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Paleo Friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 24, 2017

The copper River salmon was excellent the salad Caesar was perfect service was excellent and the sticky toffee dessert was also outstanding. Great place to go highly recommend it

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 24, 2017

I always enjoy eating at Primo Grill. The service is excellent. The food is fresh and well prepared. I highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Always a pleasure to visit, food is consistently good and very fresh. I would recommend Primo to anyone!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food as usual. Seasonal plates are excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 19, 2017

I must confess: I already love promo. But hey- when it keeps on being great, it deserves another review, right? Primo is my first choice always- and I'm never disappointed. Food superb, staff friendly and fun, atmosphere upbeat always ( sometimes more robust than a quiet night) and now that nicer weather is here , the windows are open often. Primo is our 24/7 go to restaurant. I can't recommend it highly enough !!

Tags: Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were there for Mother's Day lunch/brunch. The food selection was good and the meals we ordered were all very delicious. Our server was wonderful too!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a wonderful Mother's Day Brunch at Primo Grill. Good selection, and everyone enjoyed their meals!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I hadn't been here for several years, since before they moved to their current location. I was pleasantly surprised at the quality of the food and drinks. We love a well crafted cocktail and both the drinks we had were excellent. We loved the appetizers and pizzas we had for dinner. All of it was delicious. I'll be back again for sure.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent place, food is incredible! Owner/Chef came to our table to talk. Salmon was fresh and prepared to the highest standard. Great bar scene and open air seating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Once again had the pork chops. Butternut squash hash was outstanding. Meat was smoked perfectly. Also, a good old fashioned.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Primo grill was very accommodating. I had requested a window table due to my special needs adult. A window helps to ensure he stays in his seat. A window was only available in the lounge but my party wasn't all adults. So Primo Grill set us up in a very private area where my sp nds adult could wander around, & my hard of hearing mother & sister could hear conversation due to the remote/private area of the table. But best of all for me & my husband, we could relax & enjoy the dinner because our adult "child" wasn't in anyone's way. It was lovely & I'm very grateful. The food & service were outstanding! I would highly recommend Primo solely based on the food & service. The special accommodations for us was truly icing on the proverbial cake! Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I've been coming to the Primo for years and the quality has always been consistently high. Both the seafood and local sourcing are outstanding. I had the Paella and it was excellent. It is a Tacoma gem.

Tags: Fun, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 29, 2017

I was taken aback by the great food and great music they played....

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.