Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

About Primo Grill

Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.

2701 6th Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98406
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Oakes

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 383-7000

Website:
http://www.primogrilltacoma.com/index.php

Executive Chef:
Charlie McManus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean

Primo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Local Ingredients (23)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (15)
Healthy (14)
Bar Seating (13)
Modern Decor (13)
Casual (12)
Romantic (10)
Authentic (10)
Wood Oven (9)
Seasonal (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Private Room (6)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Organic (4)
Family Style (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
326 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is a favorite of ours. The food is reliably excellent, the service is attentive without being intrusive, and the ambiance is cozy and comfortable. Make reservations, they fill up pretty early, and with good reason.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and good service. We enjoyed it thoroughly. The only downside was that it was cold inside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Food is always excellent. Weekend nights are very busy therefore very loud.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

The St Patrick's Day lamb chops special was exceptional. Service was prompt and friendly. Polenta with cheese appetizer is not on the menus, but it is perfect with the grilled balsamic bread. Primo was bustling and hitting on all cylinders.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything was excellent quality and perfectly prepared , attentive service, in a pleasant space comfortable space. I did not get wine or beer so cannot comment. I definitely will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Still one of our favorite restaurants in the world and a place we treat ourselves to but always try to invite friends and co-workers who have not dined there previously.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fried Brussels sprouts for appetizer. Parppadelle with a variety of mushrooms in a red sauce was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 8, 2017

As always, a delicious meal with great service. This time we had a new waitress, Kaitlin, who was such fun and a delight - as well as Charlie, the owner and chef, who chatted with us at our table (since the evening wasn't as booked as it can be). We chose a lean option and the kitchen crew helped to keep the oil down and calories minimal. We can't wait to return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This has become one of our favorite Tacoma spots. We love that they actually do locally source their ingredients, and they even list those sources on the menu (many restaurants claim an "effort" to locally source their ingredients, and then you'll see a Food Services of America truck unloading out back before opening). Their menu is specialized but has great variety, and it's just consistently amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

pizza and pasta were below average. would not order either again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

As always enjoyed our visit! Excellent service and the food is just amazing!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food here is excellent and always an interesting combination of flavors. Also very friendly service and we never feel rushed. My only complaint is that it is too noisy so if you have more than 4 people at a table, it is difficult to hear one another. But I keep coming back because of the quality, freshness and creativity of the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We highly recommend the appetizers including grilled bread, mussels and calamari.
Also the lamb shank with polenta was outstanding. Primo is a consistently excellent dining experience and our favorite restaurant in Tacoma.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Outstanding food and great customer service. We would not hesitate to recommend eating here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I can't say enough about this great restaurant! We dine here often and each time we love Primo more. Great food, great staff, great place. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent and interesting food. The lamb was moist and tender. The creamy potatoes and firm carrots were a nice complement. Apple pie was flaky with firm apples, nicely prepared with ample cinnamon.
The server was a bit intrusive but friendly and prompt.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I found this place while looking online for a restaurant and it didn't disappoint! The food was really good and full of flavor. The only negatives are the prices (kind of on he higher end) and it was cold inside, we all kept our coats on. We will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic service, great ambiance and delicious locally-sourced food! Very accommodating of gluten allergy/Celiac!

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Been here many times and the food never disappoints!!! Delicious as always! My only complaint is that we were sat in front of one of the (closed) garage doors and it was quite drafty and cold. I felt like i needed to wear my coat all of dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The cappellini with truffles were a special, i normally only order my amazing pork chop but i tried something different. The noodles were horrible and the dish had no flavor. I was bummed. Still paid full price. Definitely learned to order what u know! Still dig it there. 💖

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

LOVED IT.... Very inviting and attentive. Dinner and dessert were amazing and it's fun to watch them prepare your food! I will be back soon. Thx😍

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Primo is my favorite restaurant in our area (Tacoma, Lakewood, UP) and we go there often. The service is excellent, the food suburb and the atmosphere lively and upbeat. Every dish has always been delicious - we keep going back. I cannot recommend this lovely place highly enough.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been going to Primo for years and always enjoyed it, but this last dinner was exceptional even for them. The prosciutto appetizer was so good I thought about just ordering a couple more and making that my dinner. Ambience didn't get 5 stars because I'd prefer a little less noise (but that criticism applies to virtually every restaurant in existence these days). Service didn't get 5 stars because of a couple of smal things (like an order for a glass of wine that didn't get put into the bar for a while) but it was Valentines Day and the place was very busy. All in all, it would have been very hard for the experience to get any better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Primo Grill always accommodates my hearing impaired husband and seats us at a quiet table. Food is great and our server the last two times was wonderful. Thank you.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 14, 2017

awesome service and they really make you feel welcome! definitely going back again!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Definitely worth any travel even if its only from the N. 26th & Alder neighborhood. Great service, immaculate food and great atmosphere. The seating was arranged so I can enjoy a conversation with my wife instead of everyone else. Thank You Primo Grill!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The last time I dined at Primo, I wrote a somewhat unflattering review. I'm pleased to say that everything I called-out in the previous review has been resolved . . . the presentation of the wine, the accuracy of the order, the pace of the meal, etc . . . everything was back to the high standards I've come to expect from this innovative and pleasant dining establishment.

Every restaurant makes mistakes, but a truly great restaurant recovers quickly and vows never to repeat their errors. And, that's why I'll continue frequently Primo.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We made reservations and waited approximately 10 minutes upon arrival. Our table was not available, so we were seated at a table near the bar/table right where the door was and the waiting area was. As guests entered they stood in front of our table and every time that the door opened a gust of wind greeted us. Our bill was approximately $130, for 2 and one drink each and for the price you'd expect an amazing meal and great ambiance neither or which we got.

Tags: Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Good, but a little overpriced for what it was. I got ragu bolognese with spaghetti and it was no better than I make at home. Definitely good but I was expecting a bit more. It also was not very saucy, a kind of dry sauce (i.e. mostly meat). Also I would have loved more of a braised short rib, slow cooked ragu, instead of just ground meat sauce. The husband got a ribeye that was flavorful but overcooked. Disappointing for 36.00! They were busy that night because it was V-day weekend, but still...

But otherwise the brussel sprouts and scalloped potatoes that came on the side were good, our mussels app was awesome (they ought to serve it with some bread, though), my blood orange sparkler drink was tasty, and our desserts were so yummy. I got panna cotta with huckleberry topping and it was to-die and he got tiramisu, that was decadent but a bit boozy.

All in all, nice place and the service was good, but it's overpriced to the point where I can't say it's a good value. I don't mind dropping $140 on a meal for 2—especially when drinks and dessert & coffee's involved—but the food needs to be more than passable. I don't want to feel like I could've eaten just as well at home :-/

Tags: Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Private Room, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We loved this place. There's a different menu often with seasonal entrees. This makes us want to go back again!! We loved the flavors and ambiance. We had the chicken "under the brick" and the prime rib. Both were EXCELLENT!!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Primo Grill is always great. Been going for over a decade and no dish has ever been less than awesome. Great wine list. I enjoy the cook line and watching the choreography of the chefs during busy hours.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Best meal out we have had in a long time. We had the salmon special, Rib eye Steak and the Chicken - all were great tasting, presented well and just plain delicious. We had the calamari appetizer that was garlicky good. Liked the fact that the calamari was not breaded. Looking forward to going again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The restaurant was nice and good ambience but the food was not up to par for the price. I had an Applebee's meal at a Stanley & Seaforts price. The lamb was cooked good but was bland and the steak was not to the correct cook but had some good flavor. I knew before going there to eat there was an 18% gratuity but not fitting for the overall meals. Another thing to note is that's sodas are $3 a price with no bottomless refills. I must have missed it on the menu but the waitress never said anything like that's a common thing around restaurants not to mention. I won't be promoting primo after this past dinner service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Don't know what happened to Primo. Used to be my fave but now it's mediocre. Formerly the best calamari ever, it's now tasteless. So sorry. Have to find a new go to place. New location is way below par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great food, great beer, great happy hour! Set at the bar. The bartenders are attentive. Great service.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Great Beer, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Never disappoints. This is our go to for date night. Delicious farm to table food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Overall I was mostly pleased. I did not like the $3 up-charge we received for substitute squash(cheaper than broccoli) for broccoli due to an allergy. Food was excellent and service was good. We had the fig pizza and halibut with toffee pudding for dessert (which was simply amazing). We would come back again. Most likely for happy hour tho

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Service is just not coordinated well. This is out second mediocre experience and we're ready to jump ship given the decline since years back. Facts on our experience :
1. Ordered two Martini's and two appetizers to arrive as my wife arrived. Got the Brussel Sprouts within 2 to 3 minutes- bravo. BUT, drinks did not arrive for another 6 minutes and the second appetizer waited an additional 3 beyond that. You know better than I, I am sure, drinks in a timely manner first, appetizers next and together, warm. BTW- restaurant was half full at the time.
2. Ordered our Martini's specifically to have onions and olives, if you had both. Was told by waiter "we may not have onions". I stated fine, no problem, olives alone were great. Martini's arrived late with onions only. This ain't rocket science and at the price of the Martinis and an additional charge for the onions and olives in them, you should ensure all regarding the drinks are perfect.

These are small inconveniences, but at your prices they shouldn't happen and poor service (with your pre-added 18% charge already on the bill) is unconscionable. Buck up you guys- you charge the price- provide the service par excellance!

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Was very good. Liked the serve staff. Very good menu. Not a place for ambiance, but there for food anyway.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 15, 2017

After they ran out of Mahi-Mahi I was served a tasteless swordfish whose blandness was made worse by side-dish cauliflower with harissa sauce which I had just had for appetizer. I mean cauliflower and swordfish this does not go together; it is like it was improvised by the underlings in the kitchen without any gastronomical good-sense.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.