Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

About Primo Grill

Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.

2701 6th Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98406
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Oakes

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 383-7000

Website:
http://www.primogrilltacoma.com/index.php

Executive Chef:
Charlie McManus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean

Primo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Good for a Date (29)
See All
Local Ingredients (28)
Special Occasion (25)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Casual (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Seasonal (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Fun (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Organic (10)
Romantic (10)
Authentic (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (7)
People Watching (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Tapas (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
420 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 2 days ago

Wonderful food and good choices for Tacoma Restaurant Week.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Love the Pumpkin (seasonal) Ravioli!, also loved the personal touch from them when I emailed them to ask if they had the pumpkin ravioli and they emailed me back right away. Primo has Washington wines, which I appreciate and purchase local veggies from local farms (even the farm that I have my CSA at).

Tags: Seasonal, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Primo is the best restaurant in Tacoma.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

So many new restaurants in Tacoma now! As a result, we hadn't been to Primo Grill for a while. Although several of these new restaurants are very good, Primo Grill NEVER disappoints! Locally sourced ingredients and ever-changing seasonal options allows Primo to remain as new as the news guys in town. I would never use "comfort" as a descriptor for the Primo fare, but I would say that it's "comforting" to know that this first-rate restaurant is always there for us. Tacoma is lucky to have it . The South Sound is lucky to have it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Easily the best restaurant in Tacoma, every dish we had was tasteful and cooked properly. Deserves more recognition and more customers!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We had a birthday date night with another couple at Primo recently. We were seated in the back room which seemed to be much quieter than the front area and was quite nice. The service was good. Parking is horrible, but it is 6th Avenue and you expect that.

One of our friends ordered the fish special and the portion size was so small that he was still hungry after finishing his meal. I am half his size and I think I would have even still been hungry. It was a very tiny serving for $20+. He had no complaints about the flavor of the meal, it tasted very good. Other dishes we tried were the fried cauliflower starter, the caprese starter, the pork chop with peach chutney, the mushroom capellini, and the spaghetti nero with prawns. All the dishes had good flavor and were very enjoyable.

We would go back if we found ourselves in the neighborhood.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Primo was very welcoming and accommodating. We brought birthday cupcakes and candles; they took care of keeping them for us and even put the candles on the cupcakes and delivered (lit). Our server, Rachel L, was at our table the moment we all arrived. They were timely with drinks and dinner. Food was very good for all. I had Spaghetti Nero with Prawns and it was excellent. Can't say anything negative except for the fact that there is no parking designated for Primo. Had to drive around a few blocks to find some place on the streets and then walked up. We will go to Primo again and our friends we were with said the same. It was a first time for all 12 of us.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Had a light dinner with my wife at Primo on a Sunday evening after seeing a movie at The Grand Cinema. It was understandably rather empty given the day/time we went. We were immediately seated and liked the menu. We have small appetites, so split the meal, and were still able to take away enough for lunch the next day. Started with Belgian Endive salad, the spaghetti with ragu, and finally a fruit pie. It was all good. Service was attentive and food arrived without much delay.

It is very much a neighborhood restaurant ( I love them!) with a slightly industrial décor. I think it would be noisy on a Friday or Saturday evening but was fine when we went. Street parking was easy.

We will go back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Just good solid food in a warm atmosphere. Highly recomended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Overall nice meal. I wasn't "wowed" by anything unfortunately. Oxaca margarita was fine, caprese was good, needed salt and there was none to be found. Pumpkin ravioli was fine. Like I said overall fine, just not amazing. Great staff though, excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Everything was great accept my steak was over cooked from medium rare to medium other than that it was a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Never disappointed! Fresh food, great table, great service...love Primo! Maria was wonderful...we had a lovely evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2017

I write reviews for Primo all the time...and the great news is: it is always, as hoped for, fabulous! Great waitress (Maria) and great food from Charlie and Jacqueline. Primo is our fave spot - wonderful food, great spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 22, 2017

We love Primo Grill and have been patrons for 10+ years. The service is great and the food is wonderful, we've never had a bad meal. We also appreciate that Primo gives back to the community and makes every effort to source their ingredients locally. It's a fantastic restaurant and we highly recommend it!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 17, 2017

The food was wonderful, loved the place, unpretentious, great service. We had a lovely evening the pricing was reasonable for the quality. Will definitely be back. Thank you

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 17, 2017

I was a little surprised at how amazing this place is. From the outside it looms like just another bistro, but the food was so fresh and so delicious and the service was great. Definitely coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Steak was cooked well when asked for medium so keep that in mind when ordering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 16, 2017

It's our favorite restaurant in Tacoma! They are very accommodating to our Gluten Free needs.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Excellent for birthday dinner date. A bit pricey for students, but worth it for the occasion! I started the evening tense and left happy and well-fed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Prices (wine & entrees) way out of line with location, ambiance, presentation. Wine list full of errors (2 year old bottles served with attempt to replace 5 year old bottles listed at same price). Substitution fees & split plate fees ridiculous surprise, especially when not noted on menu or by server.

This all was not a problem with server, but management. We will probably not patronize this place again even though the food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Celebrating 28 years of marriage and decided to come here as past experience was really good. This night was no different! Food always taste fresh and tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Primo is my go-to favorite restaurant and has the best spaghetti on the planet!

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Never disappointed !! As always: delicious - great service and warm welcome. We can't stay away!!

Tags: Organic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fun, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Farm to table at its best. High quality product excellently prepared with attentive service.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Groups, Organic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Primo is a long-time favorite. I always enjoy Charlie's seasonal specials.

Tags: Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Food was good. Smoked salmon fettuccine was excellent. The pork chop though was bland and lacking any flavor. Drinks were delicious. The 18 percent add on kind of threw us off. Would recommend going there but not for a specific reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Delicious food, creative cocktails, and great service & ambiance. What's to not like?

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great date night. Delicious foods, creative cocktails (not too sweet), and service was attentive, but not pushy. I look forward to going back to try more menu items and to test out the happy hour!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

I recently moved to Washington and remembered Primo Grill from visiting years ago. I wondered if the Grill was still as good. They had moved, but were under the same ownership. I am happy to report the food was delicious, the ambiance casual and friendly, and our server and the chefs were great fun! One of the best meals I've enjoyed!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Primo Grill is one of our Tacoma favorites! Love everything about this place, the only downside, which is minor, is that the menu is rather small and doesn't update very often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

The food was excellent and we enjoyed it very much. When I reserved through Open Table I stated that it was our 37th wedding anniversary. The waitress never even mentioned it. That was somewhat dissappointing.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

I had the fungi pizza and some of the stems on the mushrooms should have been trimmed off ( inedible), also we had the Calamari appetizer which had way to much garlic and we love garlic. Waiter who was also the bartender was very attractive.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 22, 2017

First time here, it was fantastic! Brussel sprouts as a starter, housemade fettucini with shrimp for me, and lamp chops for my wife, coupled with some awesome cocktails and wine, as well as killer desserts. Will definitely come back here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Great food, great service. Will definitely return soon.

Tags: Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We've gone to Primo a number of times. We meet very close friends who live in Olympia. The food is always top notch. Service excellent.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful consistent food. Would choose this over going to Seattle for a great meal

Tags: Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very attentive and happy staff which made me feel like they really loved their job

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My favorite Tacoma restaurant is Primo Grill. Maria could not have been a more helpful or kinder server. Charlie stopped by to say hello; Jacqueline greeted us warmly at the door. The scallops were wonderful. The heirloom tomatoes were such a treat! We sat at the open window next to Sixth Avenue and enjoyed ourselves greatly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The food is great! The spaghetti ragu is a winner. We went last year when we played golf in the area and it was unforgettable so when we came thru again, we booked it again and it was still wonderful. The waitress was very good also

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 6, 2017

This is my stand by when friends or relatives visit Tacoma or when I just want a good meal.

Tags: Organic, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.