Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi
  1. Distance: 1.01mi
  2. Distance: 1.48mi
  3. Distance: 1.76mi
  4. Distance: 1.80mi

About Primo Grill

Primo Grill is a chef driven Mediterranean by Northwest restaurant showcasing the best of local bounty. Local wild caught fish, meats from local farms and foraged produce feature from the grill and brick oven. Owners Chef Charlie McManus and Jacqueline Plattner offer a relaxed yet sophisticated experience with an emphasis on Washington wines and hand muddled artisanal cocktails.

2701 6th Avenue
Tacoma, WA 98406
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mediterranean, Northwest, Italian

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: M-Th 4:00pm-10:00pm

Dinner: F-Sa 4:00pm-11:00pm

Dinner: Su 4:00pm-9:00pm
Happy Hour
Monday - Saturday 4:00pm - 6:00pm 9:00pm - close

Cross Street:
Oakes

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(253) 383-7000

Website:
http://www.primogrilltacoma.com/index.php

Executive Chef:
Charlie McManus

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Quarterly wine dinners

Regional dinners featuring cuisine of Mediterranean

Primo Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (39)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Local Ingredients (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Special Occasion (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Cozy (19)
Open Kitchen (19)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Happy Hour (16)
Authentic (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Seasonal (15)
Casual (15)
Healthy (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Bar Seating (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Romantic (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Fun (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Organic (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Business Meals (6)
Hot Spot (6)
People Watching (5)
Private Room (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I totally want to give Primo 5 stars, but as a regular diner, they need to update their menu a tad. Everything's good, but I expect a restaurant like this to change their menu once in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our second time here and a great local spot with fresh food and friendly service. When the wrong entree was brought out for one member of our party our server sought to correct the situation quickly and brought out a complimentary appetizer for that person. Pasta Ragu, brick chicken and king salmon special were enjoyed by everyone at the table. Will continue to return when visiting our daughter at UPS

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 21, 2017

While the food was very good for the most part. The noise level was way to high for those of us in our seventies therefore we had trouble hearing eachother. I believe the prices were quite high as well. Parking is a nightmare.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant. They make the best food and I am so glad they are located here in Tacoma

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Local Ingredients, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I've been going to the Primo about a dozen years. Its our standby when we want a good meal. We had a shrimp appetizer and I had the Pasta special. Both were excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was some of the best we've found in the tacoma area. Service was friendly and prompt. We will be bak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We had great service, the food came out quick and delicious, and our wait staff was very friendly. Overall 10/10 experience.

Tags: Fun, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 3, 2017

For an omnivore this place is outstanding! Vegetarians and wheat free folks will be challenged but there are a few items for them. Service was great and I love the 18% surcharge which obviates the tip.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We were party of eight people. The service was nothing spectacular, server was very rude and defensive when we ask for more information about the 18% extra "already" included for gratuity for all (except gift cards or orders to go), we just wanted to ask general reason. Fettuccini with salmon was extremely good, steak had a lot of fat but with original presentation and good flavor, but still had a lot of fat and lasagna was over cooked and crispy... Honestly we were planning to pay more as gratuity but because server acted very defensive we decided not to give more, she went directly and stated: "you can speak with my manager if you want, and if you have more 20 mins.." not appropriate comment for the kind of restaurant, this made our nice experience sort of disappointment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Private Room, Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 2, 2017

The food was good and service was great too. It was Saturday night but the service was a bit slow. We had 6:00 reservations and had to run into the theatre for our 7:30 play.

$100 for two glasses of wine, one appetizer, one salad, one entree and a bread plate (two of us shared the meal). Seemed a bit pricy for the Tacoma.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything was amazing! We couldn't have had a better experience. Farm to table and a ton of gluten free options...we will be back again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We celebrated my wife's birthday as a family and the food and service were excellent. While the table we were placed at was not a favorite I suspect it was driven by the seven people and an infant present. We have often over the years celebrated family events and occasions at Primo Grill it never disappoints.

Tags: Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Our meals were delicious and exceeded our expectations. The halibut special was amazing and served piping hot. My husband had the chicken and was equally pleased. Staff was friendly and attentive. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Primo remains a favorite because of the food. This time it was too noisy for conversation across the table because of a family birthday group next to us, but that happens sometimes. A late evening dinner would be better for a date or even a conversation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 26, 2017

OutsrNding in all respects, sxcept noise level is a bit high

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We were having dinner before a show down the street. Everything was great until our waitress forgot about us and then disappeared. We waited more than half an hour from when she dropped off the dessert menu until the hostess closed us out. We were late to the show but luckily they still let us in. Food was great, but would not recommend if you need to be somewhere else afterwards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was excellent. The duck leg appetizer was amazing. The steaks were great. The brownie at the end was phenomenal. The servers were very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

This restaurant is a favorite of ours. The food is reliably excellent, the service is attentive without being intrusive, and the ambiance is cozy and comfortable. Make reservations, they fill up pretty early, and with good reason.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food and good service. We enjoyed it thoroughly. The only downside was that it was cold inside.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food is always excellent. Weekend nights are very busy therefore very loud.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The St Patrick's Day lamb chops special was exceptional. Service was prompt and friendly. Polenta with cheese appetizer is not on the menus, but it is perfect with the grilled balsamic bread. Primo was bustling and hitting on all cylinders.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything was excellent quality and perfectly prepared , attentive service, in a pleasant space comfortable space. I did not get wine or beer so cannot comment. I definitely will return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Wood Oven, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Still one of our favorite restaurants in the world and a place we treat ourselves to but always try to invite friends and co-workers who have not dined there previously.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Fried Brussels sprouts for appetizer. Parppadelle with a variety of mushrooms in a red sauce was delightful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 8, 2017

As always, a delicious meal with great service. This time we had a new waitress, Kaitlin, who was such fun and a delight - as well as Charlie, the owner and chef, who chatted with us at our table (since the evening wasn't as booked as it can be). We chose a lean option and the kitchen crew helped to keep the oil down and calories minimal. We can't wait to return!

Tags: Hot Spot, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This has become one of our favorite Tacoma spots. We love that they actually do locally source their ingredients, and they even list those sources on the menu (many restaurants claim an "effort" to locally source their ingredients, and then you'll see a Food Services of America truck unloading out back before opening). Their menu is specialized but has great variety, and it's just consistently amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 4, 2017

pizza and pasta were below average. would not order either again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 4, 2017

As always enjoyed our visit! Excellent service and the food is just amazing!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, People Watching, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 3, 2017

The food here is excellent and always an interesting combination of flavors. Also very friendly service and we never feel rushed. My only complaint is that it is too noisy so if you have more than 4 people at a table, it is difficult to hear one another. But I keep coming back because of the quality, freshness and creativity of the food.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We highly recommend the appetizers including grilled bread, mussels and calamari.
Also the lamb shank with polenta was outstanding. Primo is a consistently excellent dining experience and our favorite restaurant in Tacoma.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Outstanding food and great customer service. We would not hesitate to recommend eating here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I can't say enough about this great restaurant! We dine here often and each time we love Primo more. Great food, great staff, great place. I can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent and interesting food. The lamb was moist and tender. The creamy potatoes and firm carrots were a nice complement. Apple pie was flaky with firm apples, nicely prepared with ample cinnamon.
The server was a bit intrusive but friendly and prompt.

Tags: Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I found this place while looking online for a restaurant and it didn't disappoint! The food was really good and full of flavor. The only negatives are the prices (kind of on he higher end) and it was cold inside, we all kept our coats on. We will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic service, great ambiance and delicious locally-sourced food! Very accommodating of gluten allergy/Celiac!

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Been here many times and the food never disappoints!!! Delicious as always! My only complaint is that we were sat in front of one of the (closed) garage doors and it was quite drafty and cold. I felt like i needed to wear my coat all of dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The cappellini with truffles were a special, i normally only order my amazing pork chop but i tried something different. The noodles were horrible and the dish had no flavor. I was bummed. Still paid full price. Definitely learned to order what u know! Still dig it there. 💖

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

LOVED IT.... Very inviting and attentive. Dinner and dessert were amazing and it's fun to watch them prepare your food! I will be back soon. Thx😍

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Primo is my favorite restaurant in our area (Tacoma, Lakewood, UP) and we go there often. The service is excellent, the food suburb and the atmosphere lively and upbeat. Every dish has always been delicious - we keep going back. I cannot recommend this lovely place highly enough.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Organic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have been going to Primo for years and always enjoyed it, but this last dinner was exceptional even for them. The prosciutto appetizer was so good I thought about just ordering a couple more and making that my dinner. Ambience didn't get 5 stars because I'd prefer a little less noise (but that criticism applies to virtually every restaurant in existence these days). Service didn't get 5 stars because of a couple of smal things (like an order for a glass of wine that didn't get put into the bar for a while) but it was Valentines Day and the place was very busy. All in all, it would have been very hard for the experience to get any better.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.