Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

Seasons 52 - BirminghamSeasons 52 - Birmingham
(1041)
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Village Tavern BirminghamVillage Tavern Birmingham
(801)
American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Satterfield’s RestaurantSatterfield’s Restaurant
(679)
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Fleming's Steakhouse - BirminghamFleming's Steakhouse - Birmingham
(438)
Steak | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
The Fig TreeThe Fig Tree
(24)
Southern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Perry's Steakhouse & Grille - BirminghamPerry's Steakhouse & Grille - Birmingham
(183)
Steakhouse | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Asian RimAsian Rim
(84)
Pan-Asian | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Grille 29 BirminghamGrille 29 Birmingham
(193)
Steakhouse | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Cocina SuperiorCocina Superior
(110)
Mexican / Southwestern | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Daniel George Restaurant and BarDaniel George Restaurant and Bar
(377)
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
AVOAVO
(324)
Californian | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Habitat Feed & SocialHabitat Feed & Social
(55)
Contemporary American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now
Bistro VBistro V
(97)
American | Birmingham, Birmingham
Reserve Now

About Primeaux Cheese & Vino - Permanently Closed

300 Summit Place
Birmingham, AL 35243
View Larger Map

Permanently Closed - Primeaux is a European inspired restaurant that features boutique wines and an excellent cheese selection. At Primeaux, we invite you to to savor our interpretation of classic French sandwiches like our decadent Croque Monsieur, or feast on Chef prepared entrees with friends and a great bottle of wine; enjoy a craft cocktail with friends on our patio and linger over a cup of French Press coffee and a seasonal dessert.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Wine Bar, Contemporary European

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday, 11:00am-9:00pm
Friday- Saturday:11:00am-10:0pm
Sunday: 11:00am-8:00pm

Cross Street:
Summit Blvd.

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(205) 623-5593

Website:
http://primeauxcheeseandvino.com/

Parking Details:
Coming from Highway 280, we are on the left between Potter Barn and West Elm.

Executive Chef:
Grayson Taft

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Cafe, Chef's Table, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Primeaux Cheese & Vino - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (13)
notable wine list (13)
special occasion (10)
See All
great for brunch (8)
great for lunch (8)
romantic (7)
good for groups (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
neighborhood gem (4)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
90 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We never made it to the restaurant. A ni ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined 6 days ago

We never made it to the restaurant. A nice person called the day before our reservation to let us know that the restaurant had closed for good. Obviously, this is news to Open Table, since they emailed me to write a review. Also, when we tried to use Open Table to book another reservation, we were not allowed - too close in time and location to the reservation we had made previously.....at the closed restaurant. Database update needed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

I wish I could give more of a review how ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

I wish I could give more of a review however when we showed up for our reservation the store was closed with a typed note attached to the door reading "due to unforeseen circumstances the store is closed for the evening." After reading through other reviews it's pretty obvious that this business has operational issues. Hopefully they can get their act together and stay in business then I might come back and give them another try but my gut instinct says they won't last through the end of the year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

It was a fun Sunday brunch with the girl ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

It was a fun Sunday brunch with the girls. Food was delicious!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our daughter's engagement. ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We celebrated our daughter's engagement. Winston, our server, made our four hour celebration even more special with his recommendations and his vibrant personality.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The cheese platter was amazing, as usual ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The cheese platter was amazing, as usual. We always go out and order the maximum cheese plate (no meats). The tomato-basil soup (seasonal) was also amazing!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place. Food was amazing. Very cust ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Great place. Food was amazing. Very customers. Modern decor, could use a jazz band in corner. Would absolutely recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This is our favorite restaurant for date ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant for date night! We love getting the charcuterie board and a bottle of wine to share! This time we tried the red wine flight and it was fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food and service.

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Outstanding food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I'm not one to comment negatively on rev ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

I'm not one to comment negatively on reviews, but this time I felt the need. The first time me and my husband ate here we were 10 minutes early and they had given away our reservation. We still got seated so I didn't make a big deal of it. Our waitress was good and so was the food. So my husband and I wanted to try it again. I made a reservation and we got there right on time, maybe even a couple minutes early. We stood at the front for a few minutes and waited for the hostess. Her or a waitress finally came and sat us, not sure which it was. We then sat at a table and waited 15 minutes with no service. No water, not even a waiter to walk over and say hello. So we got up and left, not sure how much longer we would have sat there. They have now lost our business and I would reconsider going there if you are thinking about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

I love this place! Everytime I am in to ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I love this place! Everytime I am in town I try to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service mediocre and some dinner items w ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Service mediocre and some dinner items were not very good. Wagyu burger is excellent. Paella was horrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Everything was excellent! The lobster c ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Everything was excellent! The lobster corn dogs are definitely a must try! All 10 of us enjoyed the selections from the menu and left satisfied!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

unexpectedly good!

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Fantastic both times this trip; found the place a year ago on business.

OUTSTANDING waitperson, Elliott. Good wine, good slow-food experience.

well worth your time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Girls' night out

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a lovely evening outside, keep in mind this is an outdoor shopping area so there is some foot traffic. The cheese/meat tray was fabulous. The waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and all the wines. They will let you try any wine before you commit to the glass or bottle.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

A real find

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Great place to visit. Second time here, second straight year, and so good that my wife and I

plan to return for dinner tonight before heading home!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Last minute dinner

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

Happened to be at the Summit spending money and it occured to me that we hadn't been to Primeaux. It looked intriquing and I've intended to go for some time. Not at all disappointed. Food was outstanding and service was good (need some more wait staff, but she did manage to handle the inside diners pretty well).

Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Twisted my arm!

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

We had such a great time with our server he twisted our arm to try the dark chocolate bread pudding and another glass of wine. Great time and great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time celebrating our ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We had a wonderful time celebrating our engagement! Our waiter was fantastic and very knowledgable about the food and wine options and pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Enjoyed our dinner. The entertainment was great. loved the lobster corn dogs .

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

A really fun place! Looking forward to ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

A really fun place! Looking forward to going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Great Place to Unwind with Good Wine

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Our server made an outstanding suggestion as a wine choice and we split a bottle. Paired with the "Fromage and Charcuterie" and a Wagyu Burger that may be the best burger in town...made for a great evening. I'm looking forward to my next visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit and we were not ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

This was our first visit and we were not disappointed. Great atmosphere, food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Will be back :)

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Will be back :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful spot in the Summit. Great food ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

Wonderful spot in the Summit. Great food, good soft music on the background.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Business lunch

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Recently took a business colleague to lunch there. Wonderful server, good ambiance where we could actually hear each other talk and the food was excellent. Gourmet, but not too pricy. Would recommend.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! Hubby and I split the L ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Love this place! Hubby and I split the Lobster Corndogs - they are awesome! We both had the Snapper which was superb. The two guys and their guitars were a nice complement to a great date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good vibe at Primeaux!

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Spectacular food, wine and cocktails are a staple at Primeaux. The place just has a great atmosphere. Ready for groups of all sizes or even an intimate romantic dinner. My favorite is an afternoon getaway on Friday afternoon.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second visit

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on February 17, 2016

I've tried the restaurant twice now for lunch. The menu has some interesting choices and a good variety for lunch. Service has been consistently good. Very nice wine selection by the glass. Food is fine. Generally not too crowded at lunch so a good place to meet a friend and catch up.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Very disappointed with the food, on top ...

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Very disappointed with the food, on top of the fact I noted in my reservation and reiterated to the waiter at least 4 times that I require gluten free and that I have Celiac Disease. Despite his checking with the chef and assuring me they could accommodate my gluten free requirements (again, not a choice, as I have Celiac Disease), my appetizer carpaccio had capers fried in the same grease as battered items, and therefore was not gluten free. Someone who did not identify herself by name or position came over to apologize and noted some people just choose gluten free as a dietary fad; I am not sure why this would matter, because regardless of the reasons for the request, a restaurant should be capable and competent to prepare gluten free food. But in my case, in which it is a medical necessity, it was particularly shocking to have someone tell me they do not take all requests for gluten free accommodations seriously. I will not be back and would not recommend this restaurant to anyone with food allergies or Celiac Disease. Moreover, my husband said his meal was not good: lobster "corndogs" were greasy, and his lamb chops were pitifully thin and fatty. One would expect better quality, but the food was not worth the price. Overall, not a good food experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

A fabulous experience overall!! So than ...

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on January 2, 2016

A fabulous experience overall!! So thankful this spot exists!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch

vip
 (Alabama)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Great food. the crab cheesecake is incredible. Check out the salmon salad. I'll be back. this place is a winner for brunch

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Place for great Food

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 28, 2015

Showed up for dinner and it turned out to be restaurant week. The charcuterie plate was wonderful and the main course was excellent. My wife had the blueberry creme brûlée for dessert even though she doesn't care for blueberries. She loved it! The visit was well worth it. Will return the next time we're in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Restaurant Week lunch

vip
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on August 26, 2015

The Birmingham Reataurant Week lunch was a very nice deal. $15 for an appetizer and entree.

We both had the charcuterie and fromage appetizer and it was very interesting and just the right amount for a lunch appetizer. We had two different sandwiches as an entree. My Cubano was generous sized and had a good amount of roast pork, ham and cheese on it. While it looked like good quality ingredients the taste was only so so. Definitely needed more seasoning and probably more mustard and pickles in the sandwich to have a richer flavor. My dining partner only ate half of her Black and blue sandwich and when asked if she wanted the leftover piece she said no. The wine flights looked like a good value and I would definitely try restaurant again.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

You've Got to Be Kidding

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

Restaurant Weeks are advertising opportunities. A veteran foodie, I read the menus before going and loved the menu here. Unfortunately, despite the excellent dessert and tasty appetizer, the prevailing memory of dinner our first time here was of the four one inch pork cubes on top of doctored up corn (of the Mexi-corn variety). This was the roast pork -maque choux. My husband's bland mashed potatoes topped with less than half a breaded chicken breast and four string beans cement that image. Wine flight was decent. Hubby does not want to return and says I must use our gift certificate at lunch or for merchandise. What a contrast to the generous servings and superior food at Bottega during RW. Either don't skimp or don't participate. False economy drives away customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

1st Time

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Excellent service, food and wine. We had a great experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Date Night

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

Good food - everything we ordered was prepared correctly. Salads were dressed lightly, the chicken remained moist without being under done and tuna was of high quality.

Service was terrific and was the highlight of the evening. Servers were friendly and attentive without being intrusive.

We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very pleasantly surprised

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

Went here with a girlfriend as part of our local restaurant week aND truthfully was not expecting a whole lot. It is located in a busy open air mall so really was on the fence about how good it was going to be but man was I surprised. The food was wonderful and some of the best service I've had on a restaurant in a very long time. Will definitely be putting it on my list of places when someone ask "where would u like to eat".

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Rip Off

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 13, 2015

I was looking forward to this place because of reviews and location. I went for lunch and was presented with the dinner menu - which was fine by me - can always bring a snack home if needed.

I ordered the wild salmon salad. Server never described dish size or other options - like pay more for more. The portion was about 3 oz for $20. The salad had a few pieces of beets at the bottom and nothing but a lot of lettuce on top. I asked for something to justify the price, like a few cherry tomatos, onion, and feta crumbles. They provided these items but I hated I had to ask.

The drink I ordered was the Primeaux mule. Nice shot of vodka, pretty mediocre mix and overall drink.

Save your money for somewhere better. Just my opinion. Bon chance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Excellent service

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

My server, Kyle, was very attentive and friendly! The service and food was phenomenal!

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good time but has great potential

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

I went there with my mother and sister to show them a good time at a new place here in Birmingham. From start to finish the meal and experience was definitely fantastic. The cheese plate (we did the 5 which has 3 cheeses and 2 meats) was absolutely amazing. The snapper and lobster mac and cheese that I had was out of this world.

However, I would have some concerns about the overall management, which I think is what is holding back this restaurant from reaching its full potential. First, we watched our server run to tables outside, inside, and all over the restaurant. As a former server, I don't know what their method is with section sizes and such. However, we barely saw our server because he was busy running all over the place. We were in no hurry and so we enjoyed our wine and took our time. We were watching him run all over the place and he was an absolute pleasure when he was at the table with us. However, we barely saw him and had to flag him down the few times we did need something. Second, there was a man there (he sat us but I don't know if he was management or not) that we could see drinking wine behind the bar where customers could see him. Then he was drinking straight out of the bottles of water that were being poured out for customers water. He seemed to really stand alone as the only person who didn't have their act together, but it just seemed to really tarnish the ambience and setting of the restaurant.

But I stared various dishes were taken by (dessert and entrees alike) even when I was full. The place was fantastic for my experience and I will definitely return. I do wish that someone in management would put their professional cap on though.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.