About Prime46forty

4640 Monticello Ave.
Williamsburg, VA 23188
View Larger Map

The philosophy of Prime46forty is simple--take the best ingredients you can find and "don't mess them up." Chef Tim features the finest prime beef from Allen Brothers, sustainable seafood from around the world, and locally sourced all natural produce from regional farms. Each crafted dish on the menu will envelope you in flavors, aromas and texture and his nightly specials will instantly entice you. Co-owner Carroll complements the menu with an eclectic mix of unique and distinctive wines not found in any other Williamsburg restaurant. Clever cocktails, enormous martinis and craft beers are offered as well. Service is friendly, knowledgeable and memorable. Add live music on Saturday nights and Prime becomes your "go to" restaurant for every occasion. Come for a special night or just to enjoy a couple of appetizers---the decor is modern, comfortable and lively featuring abstract art created by Vicki Foster, a popular local artist. You will love our energy!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4pm - 11pm, Friday 4pm - 12am, Saturday: 4pm - 1am, Sunday: 4pm - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Old News Road (back left corner of Monticello Marketplace)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 224-4640

Website:
http://www.prime46forty.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday only beginning at 9:30pm on the patio weather permitting. Otherwise in bar area.

Parking Details:
Semi private parking lot adjacent to front door of restaurant. Handicapped spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Tim Westby-Gibson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Prime46forty Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Williamsburg
Fit for Foodies
Williamsburg
Special Occasion
Williamsburg
Best Restaurants in Williamsburg ›

fit for foodies (35)
special occasion (35)
neighborhood gem (19)
See All
notable wine list (16)
good for groups (10)
romantic (10)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (4)
great for outdoor dining (2)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
383 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently the best food and service i ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Consistently the best food and service in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived on a Tuesday evening at 7. A ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

We arrived on a Tuesday evening at 7. A good time to go as the restaurant was not crowded and we were seated immediately. (We did have an Open Table reservation) Our server was prompt, polite, and professional. I had the dry aged NY Strip. Others in our party had the Ribeye, the pork chop, and the veal cutlets. All were exceptional. If there are two things you absolutely must order when you visit, they are the duck prosciutto and the truffle macaroni and cheese. These alone are worth the visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent steakhouse, but the veal di ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

An excellent steakhouse, but the veal dish was also fantastic! Service was impeccable, and what's really great is that there isn't any corkage charged on Sunday nights -- so bring your own great wine and celebrate!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without a doubt, the best restaurant mea ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Without a doubt, the best restaurant meal I've eaten in a long time anywhere, not just locally in Williamsburg

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to celebrate a friend's special ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to celebrate a friend's special birthday and it was a perfect setting. We started with very yummy cocktails and starters. We then went on to enjoy seafood entrees and saved room for absolutely delicious desserts. The service was impeccable and if you ask any of us if we would return to Prime46forty anytime soon, we each would say absolutely!

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Not quite there.

Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was definitely good as were the white linen tablecloths and the low noise level. What wasn't so good was the check which was too close to $200 (for 2) for us to go there very much. Also, the restaurant was close to empty whichdetracts significantly from the ambience. Service was a little slow possibly because of delays in the kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good

Dined on June 4, 2016

Will be back all away from Richmond. Steaks were awesome, wine and drink phenomenal and the halibut app, incredible.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Don't let the strip mall location fool you

Dined on June 3, 2016

This is a great find. Carroll is a gem and I love her warmth and accessibility to all those that come into the restaurant. The food is prepared wonderfully. There is not too much sauce or "extra", it lets the main piece shine. The fish and lamb chops that we had were perfectly cooked. The wine list is carefully selected and offers something for everyone. Charmingly named cocktails and beer are also available. The desserts were amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak!! We usually order the seaf ...

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Great steak!! We usually order the seafood because it is outstanding. Our friends were looking for great steak and they raved about it here!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on May 20, 2016

This is the place for a special occasion dinner - in our case an anniversary. The food by Chef Tim is creative and always delicious. The service is attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Just OK

Dined on May 18, 2016

Some of the dishes were great and some no so much. Overall a bit too salty across the board. Waiter was nice and attentive but service was slow.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Special occasion place

Dined on May 18, 2016

Upscale restaurant with good cuts of meat, good seafood, and a nice wine list. Don't expect to have a full meal with drinks for under $100. It is worth the price for a nice occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for graduation! Had a great experi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great for graduation! Had a great experience with our group of 9-service just a tiny bit slow, but perhaps they did not want us to feel rushed. Waitress was very attentive to detail.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

I was disappointed that they didn't have ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I was disappointed that they didn't have the martini menu as I had read reviews before coming. I had a New York strip and was disappointed in the cooking method. It had a bad smell from the gas? I expect a steak for this price to be grilled. The sides were great. Service good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a college graduation ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were celebrating a college graduation. Prime46forty was AWESOME. We ordered several appetizers for the table of 6 and we each ordered a different entrée. Every single thing was terrific. Desserts were not needed but we couldn't pass up on those sumptuous descriptions and ordered three for the table. Again, everything was so good. Yes. We will go back to Prime46forty and will suggest it to our friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. Beautiful presentation, ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent meal. Beautiful presentation, seasonal, fresh, tasty!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic we have dined many times with ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic we have dined many times with Carroll and her staff. She and Chef Tim have never failed us. We have taken many friends with us and all enjoyed there evening and returned with others. The finest restaurant we have eaten in our only wish is that it would be in Poquoson or closer to us. Chef Tim always has specials to try and they are delicious! The two key points in fine dining food and service! Prime nails both points! Price wise worth every dollar! Food quality lives up to price twice over! If you have any problems talk with Carroll or staff they are always willing to do there upmost to make your visit a pleasant one!😊

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was fantastic as usual - specials w ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual - specials were interesting, steaks were cooked perfectly, everything was paced well etc. Service wasn't quite as good as last time (proper settings weren't always out in time for the intended course like a salad fork when the steak came) but wasn't anything I'd complain about. Will definitely keep going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant neighborhood restaurant

Dined on April 27, 2016

The variety of food choices is commendable, prices are reasonable, and service is adequate. I could do with fewer check-ins by the waiter, who had a knack for interrupting conversations. He also seemed quite shocked that we didn't have dessert.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous seafood!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We ordered the scallops and the bronzini special ~ both were outstanding. Great sides, sauces and perfectly cooked - as usual

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful first visit

Dined on April 21, 2016

Had heard good things from fellow golfers and finally had our first visit. Long overdue. Loved the decor, but the food and service were the star. Excellent selection of entrees (no starter or dessert for this meal). Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Looked for a moderately upscale place fo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Looked for a moderately upscale place for a dinner with my wife and daughter. This was close to our hotel and occupies a spot that used to be Shackelford's. Not an upscale place. We were pleasantly surprised by the ambiance, the service and overall. Lamb special was perfect and slightly unusual as was the cobia special. My wife had the scallops. Not a good choice, as the sauce (a saffron based sauce) was very salty. Had to send it back, but still salty. Manager, server and all involved did the right thing and I have no complaints about the meal in general. So, I would say this place is almost ready for 5 stars overall. Dinners could be a bit more delicate (want to taste all flavores individually) and there could be one more notch of sophistication added. Maybe formality, I don't know. Just needs a light dusting of something. But it was still a good time and I recommend it. I will try again when in town next time. I'd like to try their steaks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime 4640 Never Disappoints!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Came back for my birthday dinner with my husband and 4 dear friends. We were taken care of by our favorite server. They had everything for Dark and Stormy's and had even brought back a favorite dessert of mine - The Maple Blueberry Fritters with Blueberry Sorbet, for my special evening. As usual, we got the charcuterie and cheese plate and thoroughly enjoyed it with a bottle of Barboursville Octagon, which they kindly decanted for us. Several had the oysters with horseradish mignonette and loved them. I got an appetizer, the Basil Linguine with Crab, for dinner, which was outstanding . Several got the veal medallions and raved about them. Also got the gnocchi, with truffles. Yum! So fresh tasting and delicious. This is my favorite restaurant in Hampton Roads, by far. Karen, the owner, is so nice and welcoming. Do yourself a favor and go there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Average experience

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Second time dining there. No hurry to go back because the server was very nice but the food coming out of the kitchen was exceptionally slow. We waited close to 40 minutes to get entrees while the resturant was sparely populated with diners;(It was mid week). This happened the first time we were there about 6 months ago. Pricy menu and the food was average. Not interested in going back and having a third dining delay!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

So So

Dined on April 2, 2016

We decided to try this restaurant. We eat out a lot. My wife's scallops were very salty. My steak was good, but I have had just as good if not better for less money. We were expecting more but didn't get it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Such a fun experience. Delicious food wi ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Such a fun experience. Delicious food with unique twists. A really fun drink menu and spunky wait staff!

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Average service, ho-hum food

Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with exceptional potential to be truly great. Cost of meal for our party of 6 was $500 - which we gladly pay for the highest quality food and service. Unfortunately, the service was entry level (waiter reading from list of specials, enters delivers to wrong person, waiter reachin across one guest to another; and the food was good, not great. Prime rib was cold, scallops were miniature, and shaved Brussels sprouts were unimaginative at best, swimming in bowl of vinager. All in all a decent experience, but not a good value.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A Little Over Rated

Dined on March 26, 2016

We were visiting Williamsburg for a long weekend and after reviewing two top steak restaurants in the area, we chose Prime 46 Forty because of its proximity to the Historic Powhatan Resort. We were told it was our lucky night because it was prime rib night which only occurs every few months. We went for the prime rib and a grilled char. Maybe a good prime rib is hard to come by in Williamsburg, but in Northern Virginia it is a nightly offering. Although there prime rib was good, it was not better than what you can find in many fine restaurants in most large metropolitan areas. It is priced a bit higher at $57. The Char, again a good piece of fish, but could have been cooked a little longer as it came out a bit mushy instead of firm. The service was friendly and efficient.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime rib

Dined on March 26, 2016

The prime rib served at this restaurant is the best I have ever had. I will return when it is offered again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Go on Wednesday, sit at the bar and get a burger!

Dined on March 2, 2016

This restaurant has a fantastic chef and a fabulous menu. Nice wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wounderful as always...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Prime is just around the corner from the house yet I would travel far for this place. Being a chef I find the food always fresh the flavors blend perfect and the creativity is outstanding. I only wish I had more free time to visit.. Had a great Birthday Thanks guys....

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3

Food is consistently overwrought and ove ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food is consistently overwrought and overpriced. No value for the dollar here. Not a foodies restaurant as the chef can't resist over reaching on each dish. Portions are inconsistent certain ingredients overused as they wax and wane in popularity. Too bad we don't have a real alternative to Opus here.

food4
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at Prime46forty, ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

This was our first time at Prime46forty, having been big fans of A. Carroll's. Our server was excellent but we were at a table by the window which was cold and the lights were too bright for intimate dining. Also the table next to us was a little too close. Our appetizers, the wild boar ragu and shrimp with risotto wee delicious. For entrees, the crab cakes were solid, but the Arctic char very disappointing. I usually follow the servers recommendation and wish I had this time. If I return I'll get the steak, which was recommended. The banana brownie dessert was delicious. There are other restaurants I like better for the price but I might be willing to try them again.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Valentine disappointment

Dined on February 15, 2016

I took my wife to a surprise Valentine dinner at this establishment. Unfortunately, we were stuck with a very rude server. A twenty percent gratuity was predetermined by the management so that the sever had no incentive to meet our needs. We did not order wine so maybe the server was made we didn't increase the predetermined menu price.

food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were in town for a Valenti ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I were in town for a Valentine's Day Getaway and Prine46Forty was recommended. There was a pre-set 4 course menu with multiple selections! Everything was over-the-top outstanding! It was absolutely outstanding! Highly recommend and look forward to returning!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were first time diners here, and enjoyed the special menu for Valentine's day. Everything was very good, the service was attentive, but no so much that you wish they would go away .. A very good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Another great dinner at Prime 46Forty. Wonderful staff who make you feel like one of the family, great food, and FREE CORKAGE Sundays. Give it a try - you won't be sorry

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal little gem !

Dined on February 14, 2016

Hands down, THE best restaurant I have been to in a long time. My husband and I did the Valentines Dinner and it was unbelievable. The food was fresh, prepared perfectly, timely, and even pretty to look at! The dinner was 4 courses, a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. It was worth every penny! My husband and I tried the Tuna and Bison for our first course and both were amazing. Our favorite was the main course - Grilled venison tenderloin with a port/cherry glaze, sweet potatoes, and kale. It was heavenly! The atmosphere is romantic with an eclectic/hip/modern vibe to it. Our waiter, (I cannot remember his name), was seriously on point. He was professional, friendly, observant, and knowledgeable about the food. One of the owners, Carroll, was absolutely wonderful to us! I would return to visit her alone. She was extremely attentive, friendly, and ensured all of the patrons were happy. She has this persona that just makes you feel at home, cozy, and comfortable while dining in her establishment. That alone speaks volumes for how the business is run ! You must try this place! You won't be disappointed !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We went on Valentine's for the second ye ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went on Valentine's for the second year in a row. We looked at other local restaurants but no other menu was nearly as creative or exciting. We were amazed again this year at how good everything was. Both of us felt our first courses were the real standouts--bison was one and duck for the other. We can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants !

Dined on February 13, 2016

Every meal we've had here, except for the very first one two years ago, has been fantastic. Carroll and her crew do a wonderful job!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.