Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

Cochon on 2ndCochon on 2nd
(318)
$$$$
American | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 7 times today
Le YacaLe Yaca
(3414)
$$$$
French | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 27 times today
Opus 9 SteakhouseOpus 9 Steakhouse
(2285)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 12 times today
Corner CafeCorner Cafe
(100)
$$$$
European | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 1 time today
The Seafare of WilliamsburgThe Seafare of Williamsburg
(727)
$$$$
Seafood | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 1 time today
Fat Tuna Grille & Oyster HouseFat Tuna Grille & Oyster House
(193)
$$$$
Seafood | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 6 times today
Terrace Room at the Williamsburg InnTerrace Room at the Williamsburg Inn
(50)
$$$$
American | Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 1 time today
Waypoint Seafood & GrillWaypoint Seafood & Grill
(263)
$$$$
Seafood | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 1 time today
Fat CanaryFat Canary
(2246)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 19 times today
Berret's RestaurantBerret's Restaurant
(1334)
$$$$
Seafood | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 7 times today
Huzzah’s EateryHuzzah’s Eatery
(115)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Cafe Provencal - WilliamsburgCafe Provencal - Williamsburg
(700)
$$$$
French | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 3 times today
Nawab Indian Cuisine - WilliamsburgNawab Indian Cuisine - Williamsburg
(119)
$$$$
Indian | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
The Rockefeller Room at The Williamsburg InnThe Rockefeller Room at The Williamsburg Inn
(176)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 2 times today
Traditions at the Williamsburg LodgeTraditions at the Williamsburg Lodge
(202)
$$$$
Contemporary Southern | Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Booked 1 time today

About Permanently Closed - Prime46forty

4640 Monticello Ave.
Williamsburg, VA 23188
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Prime46forty is a casual yet trendy dining establishment in the hip Williamsburg neighborhood of Brooklyn. It serves a wide range of dishes and has a full bar with plenty of specialty cocktails, wine and craft beers. The atmosphere is cozy and intimate, and this is a good neighborhood spot to spend a night out with friends.

The Prime46forty menu includes starters, soups and salads and a host of mains. Start your meal at Prime46forty with Manakintowne arugula, lemon and garlic grilled asparagus or fresh mussels. Larger items include pan-seared Pompano filet, jumbo lump crab cakes and grilled organic chicken breast.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4pm - 11pm, Friday 4pm - 12am, Saturday: 4pm - 1am, Sunday: 4pm - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Old News Road (back left corner of Monticello Marketplace)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 224-4640

Website:
http://www.prime46forty.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday only beginning at 9:30pm on the patio weather permitting. Otherwise in bar area.

Parking Details:
Semi private parking lot adjacent to front door of restaurant. Handicapped spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Tim Westby-Gibson

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Unfortunately this fabulous restaurant has now closed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 4, 2016

our favorite. so sorry thy are closing we will miss them

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 3, 2016

SO SAD this restaurant is closing! It has been a wonderful experience every time we ate there; unique with great food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 26, 2016

I had a very enjoyable time. The waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. The halibut cheeks appetizer was delicious. I had the salmon special for my entrée and it was wonderful. We also had breadsticks that were addictive! I would definitely recommend this to friends and I will return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding rock fish and extra dry vodka martinis!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 20, 2016

Preparation of food and tastes blended together were outstanding. Chef brings together his imagination in his meals to create some delicious combinations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (West Virginia)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was excellent, from the drinks to the appetizer specials, to the dinner, to the desert to the service. The menu is innovative and unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was absolutely incredible. The food was exquisite and the service was so friendly. Our server Aaron was so kind and patient with us, because I know we weren't the easiest customers. They also did so many special changes for us and it was the best accommodation I've ever had anywhere. They made my boyfriends birthday the most incredible, perfect experience. We will definitely be returning, this is our new favourite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Another great meal from Chef Tim. We go to Prime 46forty for special occasions and are never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The beef always from Allen Brothers always petfect. I ventured away from the beef and had the most fabulous duck with black rice. Sundays are a great bargain with no corkage fee on your BYOB. Carol is a wonderful host with a great staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was amazing, would highly recommend and will be returning soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2016

We enjoyed our recent dinner at Prime46Forty. It is close to our home and is a fairly new restaurant in our neighborhood. This is definitely a foodie place. The owner and waiter took very special care of us, and we felt like being a member of their family. This restaurant is somewhat pricey and a good choice for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 7, 2016

Went for my husband's birthday. Food was very good and the ambiance was great. The waiter brought a complimentary dessert at the end. Overall really nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent food and staff. I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 3, 2016

I chose to celebrate my birthday at the Prime Forty46 and was not disappointed. Everything was

well cooked, nicely plated and delicious. Our server was helpful in helping us choose and describing dishes. Knowledgeable about the wine list and if he didn't know he found out. All in all it was a very pleasant evening and we will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 29, 2016

I was very unhappy with the service it was our anniversary and when I made the reservation on the phone I made the person aware. I was told that would be acknowledge and it wasn't. Our server came to our table twice didn't refill my wine glass. Didn't ask if we needed anything else. It was an unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I were visiting Williamsburg for the weekend and found reviews on OpenTable that sounded as if Prime 46forty would be a good choice for us. We had a good, but not great meal here. Everything was fine, but nothing had a real "wow" factor and our service was pretty weak. Not sure if our server was new or just uneducated but he seemed to "forget" to bring our wine or to refill our water jug and he reached across us to place silverware at our settings, rather than walking around. It was very quiet in the restaurant for a Saturday nite so feel like a different location (not at the end of a strip mall in suburbia) might be a better fit for this level of restaurant. And of note, we had dinner the prior nite at Fat Canary, the bills were identical in cost but Fat Canary rated a 5 star review from both of us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Consistently the best food and service in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 21, 2016

We arrived on a Tuesday evening at 7. A good time to go as the restaurant was not crowded and we were seated immediately. (We did have an Open Table reservation) Our server was prompt, polite, and professional. I had the dry aged NY Strip. Others in our party had the Ribeye, the pork chop, and the veal cutlets. All were exceptional.

If there are two things you absolutely must order when you visit, they are the duck prosciutto and the truffle macaroni and cheese. These alone are worth the visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 19, 2016

An excellent steakhouse, but the veal dish was also fantastic! Service was impeccable, and what's really great is that there isn't any corkage charged on Sunday nights -- so bring your own great wine and celebrate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2016

Without a doubt, the best restaurant meal I've eaten in a long time anywhere, not just locally in Williamsburg

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to celebrate a friend's special birthday and it was a perfect setting. We started with very yummy cocktails and starters. We then went on to enjoy seafood entrees and saved room for absolutely delicious desserts. The service was impeccable and if you ask any of us if we would return to Prime46forty anytime soon, we each would say absolutely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was definitely good as were the white linen tablecloths and the low noise level. What wasn't so good was the check which was too close to $200 (for 2) for us to go there very much.

Also, the restaurant was close to empty whichdetracts significantly from the ambience.

Service was a little slow possibly because of delays in the kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 4, 2016

Will be back all away from Richmond. Steaks were awesome, wine and drink phenomenal and the halibut app, incredible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 3, 2016

This is a great find.

Carroll is a gem and I love her warmth and accessibility to all those that come into the restaurant. The food is prepared wonderfully. There is not too much sauce or "extra", it lets the main piece shine.

The fish and lamb chops that we had were perfectly cooked.

The wine list is carefully selected and offers something for everyone. Charmingly named cocktails and beer are also available.

The desserts were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great steak!! We usually order the seafood because it is outstanding. Our friends were looking for great steak and they raved about it here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is the place for a special occasion dinner - in our case an anniversary. The food by Chef Tim is creative and always delicious. The service is attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Some of the dishes were great and some no so much. Overall a bit too salty across the board. Waiter was nice and attentive but service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Upscale restaurant with good cuts of meat, good seafood, and a nice wine list. Don't expect to have a full meal with drinks for under $100. It is worth the price for a nice occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great for graduation! Had a great experience with our group of 9-service just a tiny bit slow, but perhaps they did not want us to feel rushed. Waitress was very attentive to detail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 14, 2016

I was disappointed that they didn't have the martini menu as I had read reviews before coming. I had a New York strip and was disappointed in the cooking method. It had a bad smell from the gas? I expect a steak for this price to be grilled. The sides were great. Service good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2016

We were celebrating a college graduation. Prime46forty was AWESOME. We ordered several appetizers for the table of 6 and we each ordered a different entrée. Every single thing was terrific. Desserts were not needed but we couldn't pass up on those sumptuous descriptions and ordered three for the table. Again, everything was so good. Yes. We will go back to Prime46forty and will suggest it to our friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent meal. Beautiful presentation, seasonal, fresh, tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic we have dined many times with Carroll and her staff. She and Chef Tim have never failed us. We have taken many friends with us and all enjoyed there evening and returned with others. The finest restaurant we have eaten in our only wish is that it would be in Poquoson or closer to us.

Chef Tim always has specials to try and they are delicious!

The two key points in fine dining food and service! Prime nails both points!

Price wise worth every dollar! Food quality lives up to price twice over!

If you have any problems talk with Carroll or staff they are always willing to do there upmost to make your visit a pleasant one!😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual - specials were interesting, steaks were cooked perfectly, everything was paced well etc.

Service wasn't quite as good as last time (proper settings weren't always out in time for the intended course like a salad fork when the steak came) but wasn't anything I'd complain about. Will definitely keep going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 27, 2016

The variety of food choices is commendable, prices are reasonable, and service is adequate. I could do with fewer check-ins by the waiter, who had a knack for interrupting conversations. He also seemed quite shocked that we didn't have dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 24, 2016

We ordered the scallops and the bronzini special ~ both were outstanding. Great sides, sauces and perfectly cooked - as usual

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 21, 2016

Had heard good things from fellow golfers and finally had our first visit. Long overdue. Loved the decor, but the food and service were the star. Excellent selection of entrees (no starter or dessert for this meal). Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Looked for a moderately upscale place for a dinner with my wife and daughter. This was close to our hotel and occupies a spot that used to be Shackelford's. Not an upscale place. We were pleasantly surprised by the ambiance, the service and overall. Lamb special was perfect and slightly unusual as was the cobia special. My wife had the scallops. Not a good choice, as the sauce (a saffron based sauce) was very salty. Had to send it back, but still salty. Manager, server and all involved did the right thing and I have no complaints about the meal in general. So, I would say this place is almost ready for 5 stars overall. Dinners could be a bit more delicate (want to taste all flavores individually) and there could be one more notch of sophistication added. Maybe formality, I don't know. Just needs a light dusting of something. But it was still a good time and I recommend it. I will try again when in town next time. I'd like to try their steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2016

Came back for my birthday dinner with my husband and 4 dear friends. We were taken care of by our favorite server. They had everything for Dark and Stormy's and had even brought back a favorite dessert of mine - The Maple Blueberry Fritters with Blueberry Sorbet, for my special evening. As usual, we got the charcuterie and cheese plate and thoroughly enjoyed it with a bottle of Barboursville Octagon, which they kindly decanted for us. Several had the oysters with horseradish mignonette and loved them. I got an appetizer, the Basil Linguine with Crab, for dinner, which was outstanding . Several got the veal medallions and raved about them. Also got the gnocchi, with truffles. Yum! So fresh tasting and delicious. This is my favorite restaurant in Hampton Roads, by far. Karen, the owner, is so nice and welcoming. Do yourself a favor and go there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 13, 2016

Second time dining there. No hurry to go back because the server was very nice but the food coming out of the kitchen was exceptionally slow. We waited close to 40 minutes to get entrees while the resturant was sparely populated with diners;(It was mid week). This happened the first time we were there about 6 months ago. Pricy menu and the food was average. Not interested in going back and having a third dining delay!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2016

Such a fun experience. Delicious food with unique twists. A really fun drink menu and spunky wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 2, 2016

We decided to try this restaurant. We eat out a lot. My wife's scallops were very salty. My steak was good, but I have had just as good if not better for less money. We were expecting more but didn't get it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with exceptional potential to be truly great. Cost of meal for our party of 6 was $500 - which we gladly pay for the highest quality food and service. Unfortunately, the service was entry level (waiter reading from list of specials, enters delivers to wrong person, waiter reachin across one guest to another; and the food was good, not great. Prime rib was cold, scallops were miniature, and shaved Brussels sprouts were unimaginative at best, swimming in bowl of vinager. All in all a decent experience, but not a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 26, 2016

We were visiting Williamsburg for a long weekend and after reviewing two top steak restaurants in the area, we chose Prime 46 Forty because of its proximity to the Historic Powhatan Resort. We were told it was our lucky night because it was prime rib night which only occurs every few months. We went for the prime rib and a grilled char. Maybe a good prime rib is hard to come by in Williamsburg, but in Northern Virginia it is a nightly offering. Although there prime rib was good, it was not better than what you can find in many fine restaurants in most large metropolitan areas. It is priced a bit higher at $57. The Char, again a good piece of fish, but could have been cooked a little longer as it came out a bit mushy instead of firm. The service was friendly and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 26, 2016

The prime rib served at this restaurant is the best I have ever had. I will return when it is offered again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 2, 2016

This restaurant has a fantastic chef and a fabulous menu. Nice wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 28, 2016

Prime is just around the corner from the house yet I would travel far for this place. Being a chef I find the food always fresh the flavors blend perfect and the creativity is outstanding. I only wish I had more free time to visit.. Had a great Birthday Thanks guys....

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 20, 2016

Food is consistently overwrought and overpriced. No value for the dollar here. Not a foodies restaurant as the chef can't resist over reaching on each dish. Portions are inconsistent certain ingredients overused as they wax and wane in popularity. Too bad we don't have a real alternative to Opus here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 19, 2016

This was our first time at Prime46forty, having been big fans of A. Carroll's. Our server was excellent but we were at a table by the window which was cold and the lights were too bright for intimate dining. Also the table next to us was a little too close. Our appetizers, the wild boar ragu and shrimp with risotto wee delicious. For entrees, the crab cakes were solid, but the Arctic char very disappointing. I usually follow the servers recommendation and wish I had this time. If I return I'll get the steak, which was recommended. The banana brownie dessert was delicious. There are other restaurants I like better for the price but I might be willing to try them again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.