About Prime46forty

4640 Monticello Ave.
Williamsburg, VA 23188
View Larger Map

The philosophy of Prime46forty is simple--take the best ingredients you can find and "don't mess them up." Chef Tim features the finest prime beef from Allen Brothers, sustainable seafood from around the world, and locally sourced all natural produce from regional farms. Each crafted dish on the menu will envelope you in flavors, aromas and texture and his nightly specials will instantly entice you. Co-owner Carroll complements the menu with an eclectic mix of unique and distinctive wines not found in any other Williamsburg restaurant. Clever cocktails, enormous martinis and craft beers are offered as well. Service is friendly, knowledgeable and memorable. Add live music on Saturday nights and Prime becomes your "go to" restaurant for every occasion. Come for a special night or just to enjoy a couple of appetizers---the decor is modern, comfortable and lively featuring abstract art created by Vicki Foster, a popular local artist. You will love our energy!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4pm - 11pm, Friday 4pm - 12am, Saturday: 4pm - 1am, Sunday: 4pm - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Old News Road (back left corner of Monticello Marketplace)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 224-4640

Website:
http://www.prime46forty.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday only beginning at 9:30pm on the patio weather permitting. Otherwise in bar area.

Parking Details:
Semi private parking lot adjacent to front door of restaurant. Handicapped spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Tim Westby-Gibson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Promotions

Burger Night!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Happy Hour at Prime

Tuesdays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Live Jazz

Saturdays from 9:30 PM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

Burger Night!

Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
House ground prime beef serves as the centerpiece of our perfect burger - then we add your choice of cheese, locally grown veggies, and our own secret recipe sauce on a homemade bun. Add fries and enjoy in the bar or on the patio for only $12!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 27, 2016 - Jun 27, 2016 on Wednesdays from 4:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Happy Hour at Prime

Tuesdays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Check out our inviting bar or our lively patio to take advantage of our great Happy Hour specials! Enjoy ambiance and great service while we offer specials on select wines, craft beers, cocktails and unique appetizers. (Not available in dining room.). Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 27, 2016 - Jun 27, 2016 on Tuesdays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
Live Jazz

Saturdays from 9:30 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
Enjoy live music from local musicians in our well appointed bar. Good Shot Judy puts new twists on old classics, and many other great artists perform. First and third Saturdays only - contact us for the schedule!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Feb 26, 2016 - Jun 26, 2016 on Saturdays from 9:30 PM - 11:30 PM.

Prime46forty Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Williamsburg
Best Value
Williamsburg
Fit for Foodies
Williamsburg
2 More
Romantic
Williamsburg
Special Occasion
Williamsburg
Best Restaurants in Williamsburg ›

special occasion (39)
fit for foodies (36)
neighborhood gem (21)
See All
notable wine list (20)
romantic (17)
good for groups (11)
vibrant bar scene (7)
hot spot (7)
late-night find (6)
 (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great steak!! We usually order the seaf ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Great steak!! We usually order the seafood because it is outstanding. Our friends were looking for great steak and they raved about it here!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on May 20, 2016

This is the place for a special occasion dinner - in our case an anniversary. The food by Chef Tim is creative and always delicious. The service is attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Just OK

Dined on May 18, 2016

Some of the dishes were great and some no so much. Overall a bit too salty across the board. Waiter was nice and attentive but service was slow.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Special occasion place

Dined on May 18, 2016

Upscale restaurant with good cuts of meat, good seafood, and a nice wine list. Don't expect to have a full meal with drinks for under $100. It is worth the price for a nice occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great for graduation! Had a great experi ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Great for graduation! Had a great experience with our group of 9-service just a tiny bit slow, but perhaps they did not want us to feel rushed. Waitress was very attentive to detail.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

I was disappointed that they didn't have ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

I was disappointed that they didn't have the martini menu as I had read reviews before coming. I had a New York strip and was disappointed in the cooking method. It had a bad smell from the gas? I expect a steak for this price to be grilled. The sides were great. Service good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a college graduation ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

We were celebrating a college graduation. Prime46forty was AWESOME. We ordered several appetizers for the table of 6 and we each ordered a different entrée. Every single thing was terrific. Desserts were not needed but we couldn't pass up on those sumptuous descriptions and ordered three for the table. Again, everything was so good. Yes. We will go back to Prime46forty and will suggest it to our friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent meal. Beautiful presentation, ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent meal. Beautiful presentation, seasonal, fresh, tasty!

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic we have dined many times with ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic we have dined many times with Carroll and her staff. She and Chef Tim have never failed us. We have taken many friends with us and all enjoyed there evening and returned with others. The finest restaurant we have eaten in our only wish is that it would be in Poquoson or closer to us. Chef Tim always has specials to try and they are delicious! The two key points in fine dining food and service! Prime nails both points! Price wise worth every dollar! Food quality lives up to price twice over! If you have any problems talk with Carroll or staff they are always willing to do there upmost to make your visit a pleasant one!😊

food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was fantastic as usual - specials w ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual - specials were interesting, steaks were cooked perfectly, everything was paced well etc. Service wasn't quite as good as last time (proper settings weren't always out in time for the intended course like a salad fork when the steak came) but wasn't anything I'd complain about. Will definitely keep going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Pleasant neighborhood restaurant

Dined on April 27, 2016

The variety of food choices is commendable, prices are reasonable, and service is adequate. I could do with fewer check-ins by the waiter, who had a knack for interrupting conversations. He also seemed quite shocked that we didn't have dessert.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous seafood!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We ordered the scallops and the bronzini special ~ both were outstanding. Great sides, sauces and perfectly cooked - as usual

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful first visit

Dined on April 21, 2016

Had heard good things from fellow golfers and finally had our first visit. Long overdue. Loved the decor, but the food and service were the star. Excellent selection of entrees (no starter or dessert for this meal). Will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5

Looked for a moderately upscale place fo ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Looked for a moderately upscale place for a dinner with my wife and daughter. This was close to our hotel and occupies a spot that used to be Shackelford's. Not an upscale place. We were pleasantly surprised by the ambiance, the service and overall. Lamb special was perfect and slightly unusual as was the cobia special. My wife had the scallops. Not a good choice, as the sauce (a saffron based sauce) was very salty. Had to send it back, but still salty. Manager, server and all involved did the right thing and I have no complaints about the meal in general. So, I would say this place is almost ready for 5 stars overall. Dinners could be a bit more delicate (want to taste all flavores individually) and there could be one more notch of sophistication added. Maybe formality, I don't know. Just needs a light dusting of something. But it was still a good time and I recommend it. I will try again when in town next time. I'd like to try their steaks.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime 4640 Never Disappoints!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Came back for my birthday dinner with my husband and 4 dear friends. We were taken care of by our favorite server. They had everything for Dark and Stormy's and had even brought back a favorite dessert of mine - The Maple Blueberry Fritters with Blueberry Sorbet, for my special evening. As usual, we got the charcuterie and cheese plate and thoroughly enjoyed it with a bottle of Barboursville Octagon, which they kindly decanted for us. Several had the oysters with horseradish mignonette and loved them. I got an appetizer, the Basil Linguine with Crab, for dinner, which was outstanding . Several got the veal medallions and raved about them. Also got the gnocchi, with truffles. Yum! So fresh tasting and delicious. This is my favorite restaurant in Hampton Roads, by far. Karen, the owner, is so nice and welcoming. Do yourself a favor and go there!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Average experience

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Second time dining there. No hurry to go back because the server was very nice but the food coming out of the kitchen was exceptionally slow. We waited close to 40 minutes to get entrees while the resturant was sparely populated with diners;(It was mid week). This happened the first time we were there about 6 months ago. Pricy menu and the food was average. Not interested in going back and having a third dining delay!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

So So

Dined on April 2, 2016

We decided to try this restaurant. We eat out a lot. My wife's scallops were very salty. My steak was good, but I have had just as good if not better for less money. We were expecting more but didn't get it.

food5
ambience5
service5

Such a fun experience. Delicious food wi ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

Such a fun experience. Delicious food with unique twists. A really fun drink menu and spunky wait staff!

food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Average service, ho-hum food

Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with exceptional potential to be truly great. Cost of meal for our party of 6 was $500 - which we gladly pay for the highest quality food and service. Unfortunately, the service was entry level (waiter reading from list of specials, enters delivers to wrong person, waiter reachin across one guest to another; and the food was good, not great. Prime rib was cold, scallops were miniature, and shaved Brussels sprouts were unimaginative at best, swimming in bowl of vinager. All in all a decent experience, but not a good value.

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

A Little Over Rated

Dined on March 26, 2016

We were visiting Williamsburg for a long weekend and after reviewing two top steak restaurants in the area, we chose Prime 46 Forty because of its proximity to the Historic Powhatan Resort. We were told it was our lucky night because it was prime rib night which only occurs every few months. We went for the prime rib and a grilled char. Maybe a good prime rib is hard to come by in Williamsburg, but in Northern Virginia it is a nightly offering. Although there prime rib was good, it was not better than what you can find in many fine restaurants in most large metropolitan areas. It is priced a bit higher at $57. The Char, again a good piece of fish, but could have been cooked a little longer as it came out a bit mushy instead of firm. The service was friendly and efficient.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime rib

Dined on March 26, 2016

The prime rib served at this restaurant is the best I have ever had. I will return when it is offered again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Go on Wednesday, sit at the bar and get a burger!

Dined on March 2, 2016

This restaurant has a fantastic chef and a fabulous menu. Nice wine list.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wounderful as always...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Prime is just around the corner from the house yet I would travel far for this place. Being a chef I find the food always fresh the flavors blend perfect and the creativity is outstanding. I only wish I had more free time to visit.. Had a great Birthday Thanks guys....

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience2
service3

Food is consistently overwrought and ove ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food is consistently overwrought and overpriced. No value for the dollar here. Not a foodies restaurant as the chef can't resist over reaching on each dish. Portions are inconsistent certain ingredients overused as they wax and wane in popularity. Too bad we don't have a real alternative to Opus here.

food4
ambience5
service5

This was our first time at Prime46forty, ...

Dined on February 19, 2016

This was our first time at Prime46forty, having been big fans of A. Carroll's. Our server was excellent but we were at a table by the window which was cold and the lights were too bright for intimate dining. Also the table next to us was a little too close. Our appetizers, the wild boar ragu and shrimp with risotto wee delicious. For entrees, the crab cakes were solid, but the Arctic char very disappointing. I usually follow the servers recommendation and wish I had this time. If I return I'll get the steak, which was recommended. The banana brownie dessert was delicious. There are other restaurants I like better for the price but I might be willing to try them again.

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Valentine disappointment

Dined on February 15, 2016

I took my wife to a surprise Valentine dinner at this establishment. Unfortunately, we were stuck with a very rude server. A twenty percent gratuity was predetermined by the management so that the sever had no incentive to meet our needs. We did not order wine so maybe the server was made we didn't increase the predetermined menu price.

food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I were in town for a Valenti ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

My wife and I were in town for a Valentine's Day Getaway and Prine46Forty was recommended. There was a pre-set 4 course menu with multiple selections! Everything was over-the-top outstanding! It was absolutely outstanding! Highly recommend and look forward to returning!

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentine's Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

We were first time diners here, and enjoyed the special menu for Valentine's day. Everything was very good, the service was attentive, but no so much that you wish they would go away .. A very good experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dinner!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Another great dinner at Prime 46Forty. Wonderful staff who make you feel like one of the family, great food, and FREE CORKAGE Sundays. Give it a try - you won't be sorry

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal little gem !

Dined on February 14, 2016

Hands down, THE best restaurant I have been to in a long time. My husband and I did the Valentines Dinner and it was unbelievable. The food was fresh, prepared perfectly, timely, and even pretty to look at! The dinner was 4 courses, a little pricey, but you get what you pay for. It was worth every penny! My husband and I tried the Tuna and Bison for our first course and both were amazing. Our favorite was the main course - Grilled venison tenderloin with a port/cherry glaze, sweet potatoes, and kale. It was heavenly! The atmosphere is romantic with an eclectic/hip/modern vibe to it. Our waiter, (I cannot remember his name), was seriously on point. He was professional, friendly, observant, and knowledgeable about the food. One of the owners, Carroll, was absolutely wonderful to us! I would return to visit her alone. She was extremely attentive, friendly, and ensured all of the patrons were happy. She has this persona that just makes you feel at home, cozy, and comfortable while dining in her establishment. That alone speaks volumes for how the business is run ! You must try this place! You won't be disappointed !

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We went on Valentine's for the second ye ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We went on Valentine's for the second year in a row. We looked at other local restaurants but no other menu was nearly as creative or exciting. We were amazed again this year at how good everything was. Both of us felt our first courses were the real standouts--bison was one and duck for the other. We can't wait to go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants !

Dined on February 13, 2016

Every meal we've had here, except for the very first one two years ago, has been fantastic. Carroll and her crew do a wonderful job!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Not worth the money

Dined on February 13, 2016

Went here on February 13, told the server it was our first time, she wasn't interested. Gave us menus that we had to pick from. The cost was 75 per person. Told her I thought we could order from menu, no was the answer. Food was alright, not hot! This place was recommended by several people. It was alright, service was average. Not going back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Later hours allowed great discovery

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Traveling to Williamsburg for the weekend and got a late start. Searched for restaurants open after 9:00PM. Found Prime 46Forty. Didn't know much about it but we were all very pleased with our find. Great, fresh food prepared well and displayed attractively. Service was excellent. It is on our list now!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Awesome sauce, literally

Dined on February 13, 2016

Exquisitely conceived menu featuring perfectly seasoned, perfectly cooked food that is truly memorable. HIghly recommend the veal medallions and the pan-roasted duck breast.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best find in Williamsburg!

Dined on February 12, 2016

Enjoyed our meal, the food was great and wait staff was the best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful birthday dinner!

vip
Dined on January 31, 2016

Not only is the food excellent here, but if you come here even somewhat regularly, they really do make you feel like you're "one of the family." We celebrated a birthday here and got a few special items that were delicious and very thoughtful. DO let them know if you're celebrating a special occasion - they always try to make it memorable. THANKS to Paegan, Chef Tim and all the staff at Prime46Forty for a wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Prime46forty

Dined on January 29, 2016

This was our third time there. Service was off tonight; the restaurant was about 75% full. The past two times service was 5-star. The food was great. It was restaurant week. The three course menu had a good selection. The roasted chicken, mushroom and Gruyere cheese soup was outstanding. As was my wife's salmon and my sirloin steak. The raspberry sorbet and chocolate wontons were a great ending. Their bar makes unique and delicious speciality drinks. We plan to go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another great meal.

Dined on January 28, 2016

My wife and I go to Prime46forty for special occasions. The food and service always exceed expectations. We are already looking forward to our next visit. We both highly recommend it to our friends as a place to go for outstanding food.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, lovely evening!

Dined on January 27, 2016

The duck was wonderful--such an interesting combination of ingredients!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.