Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

The Seafare of WilliamsburgThe Seafare of Williamsburg
(590)
Seafood | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Fat Tuna Grille & Oyster HouseFat Tuna Grille & Oyster House
(74)
Seafood | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Corner CafeCorner Cafe
(40)
European | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Waypoint Seafood & GrillWaypoint Seafood & Grill
(219)
Seafood | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Cochon on 2ndCochon on 2nd
(169)
American | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Nawab Indian Cuisine - WilliamsburgNawab Indian Cuisine - Williamsburg
(104)
Indian | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Berret's RestaurantBerret's Restaurant
(1130)
Seafood | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Le YacaLe Yaca
(2940)
French | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Traditions at the Williamsburg LodgeTraditions at the Williamsburg Lodge
(166)
Contemporary Southern | Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Opus 9 SteakhouseOpus 9 Steakhouse
(1955)
Steakhouse | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Sweet Tea and BarleySweet Tea and Barley
(26)
Contemporary Southern | Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Terrace Room at the Williamsburg InnTerrace Room at the Williamsburg Inn
(22)
American | Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Fat CanaryFat Canary
(1959)
Contemporary American | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Regency Room at The Williamsburg InnRegency Room at The Williamsburg Inn
(123)
Contemporary American | Colonial Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now
Cafe Provencal - WilliamsburgCafe Provencal - Williamsburg
(620)
French | Williamsburg, Williamsburg
Reserve Now

About Permanently Closed - Prime46forty

4640 Monticello Ave.
Williamsburg, VA 23188
View Larger Map

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - The philosophy of Prime46forty is simple--take the best ingredients you can find and "don't mess them up." Chef Tim features the finest prime beef from Allen Brothers, sustainable seafood from around the world, and locally sourced all natural produce from regional farms. Each crafted dish on the menu will envelope you in flavors, aromas and texture and his nightly specials will instantly entice you. Co-owner Carroll complements the menu with an eclectic mix of unique and distinctive wines not found in any other Williamsburg restaurant. Clever cocktails, enormous martinis and craft beers are offered as well. Service is friendly, knowledgeable and memorable. Add live music on Saturday nights and Prime becomes your "go to" restaurant for every occasion. Come for a special night or just to enjoy a couple of appetizers---the decor is modern, comfortable and lively featuring abstract art created by Vicki Foster, a popular local artist. You will love our energy!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4pm - 11pm, Friday 4pm - 12am, Saturday: 4pm - 1am, Sunday: 4pm - 11 pm

Cross Street:
Old News Road (back left corner of Monticello Marketplace)

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(757) 224-4640

Website:
http://www.prime46forty.com/

Entertainment:
Live music Saturday only beginning at 9:30pm on the patio weather permitting. Otherwise in bar area.

Parking Details:
Semi private parking lot adjacent to front door of restaurant. Handicapped spaces available.

Executive Chef:
Tim Westby-Gibson

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prime46forty - Permanently Closed Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Romantic (19)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Unfortunately this fabulous restaurant h ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Unfortunately this fabulous restaurant has now closed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

our favorite. so sorry thy are closing ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

our favorite. so sorry thy are closing we will miss them

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

SO SAD this restaurant is closing! It ha ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

SO SAD this restaurant is closing! It has been a wonderful experience every time we ate there; unique with great food!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I had a very enjoyable time. The waiter ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I had a very enjoyable time. The waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. The halibut cheeks appetizer was delicious. I had the salmon special for my entrée and it was wonderful. We also had breadsticks that were addictive! I would definitely recommend this to friends and I will return!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding rock fish and extra dry vodk ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding rock fish and extra dry vodka martinis!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Preparation of food and tastes blended t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Preparation of food and tastes blended together were outstanding. Chef brings together his imagination in his meals to create some delicious combinations.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was excellent, from the drink ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was excellent, from the drinks to the appetizer specials, to the dinner, to the desert to the service. The menu is innovative and unique.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was absolutely incredible. The food w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

It was absolutely incredible. The food was exquisite and the service was so friendly. Our server Aaron was so kind and patient with us, because I know we weren't the easiest customers. They also did so many special changes for us and it was the best accommodation I've ever had anywhere. They made my boyfriends birthday the most incredible, perfect experience. We will definitely be returning, this is our new favourite restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great meal from Chef Tim. We go ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Another great meal from Chef Tim. We go to Prime 46forty for special occasions and are never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The beef always from Allen Brothers alwa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The beef always from Allen Brothers always petfect. I ventured away from the beef and had the most fabulous duck with black rice. Sundays are a great bargain with no corkage fee on your BYOB. Carol is a wonderful host with a great staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was amazing, would highly recom ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was amazing, would highly recommend and will be returning soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoyed our recent dinner at Prime46F ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We enjoyed our recent dinner at Prime46Forty. It is close to our home and is a fairly new restaurant in our neighborhood. This is definitely a foodie place. The owner and waiter took very special care of us, and we felt like being a member of their family. This restaurant is somewhat pricey and a good choice for special occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for my husband's birthday. Food wa ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Went for my husband's birthday. Food was very good and the ambiance was great. The waiter brought a complimentary dessert at the end. Overall really nice experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent food and staff. I will definit ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Excellent food and staff. I will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose to celebrate my birthday at the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I chose to celebrate my birthday at the Prime Forty46 and was not disappointed. Everything was

well cooked, nicely plated and delicious. Our server was helpful in helping us choose and describing dishes. Knowledgeable about the wine list and if he didn't know he found out. All in all it was a very pleasant evening and we will go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I was very unhappy with the service it w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

I was very unhappy with the service it was our anniversary and when I made the reservation on the phone I made the person aware. I was told that would be acknowledge and it wasn't. Our server came to our table twice didn't refill my wine glass. Didn't ask if we needed anything else. It was an unpleasant experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

My husband and I were visiting Williamsb ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My husband and I were visiting Williamsburg for the weekend and found reviews on OpenTable that sounded as if Prime 46forty would be a good choice for us. We had a good, but not great meal here. Everything was fine, but nothing had a real "wow" factor and our service was pretty weak. Not sure if our server was new or just uneducated but he seemed to "forget" to bring our wine or to refill our water jug and he reached across us to place silverware at our settings, rather than walking around. It was very quiet in the restaurant for a Saturday nite so feel like a different location (not at the end of a strip mall in suburbia) might be a better fit for this level of restaurant. And of note, we had dinner the prior nite at Fat Canary, the bills were identical in cost but Fat Canary rated a 5 star review from both of us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Consistently the best food and service i ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Consistently the best food and service in the area.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived on a Tuesday evening at 7. A ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We arrived on a Tuesday evening at 7. A good time to go as the restaurant was not crowded and we were seated immediately. (We did have an Open Table reservation) Our server was prompt, polite, and professional. I had the dry aged NY Strip. Others in our party had the Ribeye, the pork chop, and the veal cutlets. All were exceptional.

If there are two things you absolutely must order when you visit, they are the duck prosciutto and the truffle macaroni and cheese. These alone are worth the visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An excellent steakhouse, but the veal di ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

An excellent steakhouse, but the veal dish was also fantastic! Service was impeccable, and what's really great is that there isn't any corkage charged on Sunday nights -- so bring your own great wine and celebrate!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Without a doubt, the best restaurant mea ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Without a doubt, the best restaurant meal I've eaten in a long time anywhere, not just locally in Williamsburg

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate a friend's special ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

We went to celebrate a friend's special birthday and it was a perfect setting. We started with very yummy cocktails and starters. We then went on to enjoy seafood entrees and saved room for absolutely delicious desserts. The service was impeccable and if you ask any of us if we would return to Prime46forty anytime soon, we each would say absolutely!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Not quite there.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

The food was definitely good as were the white linen tablecloths and the low noise level. What wasn't so good was the check which was too close to $200 (for 2) for us to go there very much.

Also, the restaurant was close to empty whichdetracts significantly from the ambience.

Service was a little slow possibly because of delays in the kitchen.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Very good

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Will be back all away from Richmond. Steaks were awesome, wine and drink phenomenal and the halibut app, incredible.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't let the strip mall location fool you

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

This is a great find.

Carroll is a gem and I love her warmth and accessibility to all those that come into the restaurant. The food is prepared wonderfully. There is not too much sauce or "extra", it lets the main piece shine.

The fish and lamb chops that we had were perfectly cooked.

The wine list is carefully selected and offers something for everyone. Charmingly named cocktails and beer are also available.

The desserts were amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great steak!! We usually order the seaf ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Great steak!! We usually order the seafood because it is outstanding. Our friends were looking for great steak and they raved about it here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This is the place for a special occasion dinner - in our case an anniversary. The food by Chef Tim is creative and always delicious. The service is attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Just OK

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Some of the dishes were great and some no so much. Overall a bit too salty across the board. Waiter was nice and attentive but service was slow.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Special occasion place

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Upscale restaurant with good cuts of meat, good seafood, and a nice wine list. Don't expect to have a full meal with drinks for under $100. It is worth the price for a nice occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Great for graduation! Had a great experi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great for graduation! Had a great experience with our group of 9-service just a tiny bit slow, but perhaps they did not want us to feel rushed. Waitress was very attentive to detail.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was disappointed that they didn't have ...

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

I was disappointed that they didn't have the martini menu as I had read reviews before coming. I had a New York strip and was disappointed in the cooking method. It had a bad smell from the gas? I expect a steak for this price to be grilled. The sides were great. Service good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We were celebrating a college graduation ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

We were celebrating a college graduation. Prime46forty was AWESOME. We ordered several appetizers for the table of 6 and we each ordered a different entrée. Every single thing was terrific. Desserts were not needed but we couldn't pass up on those sumptuous descriptions and ordered three for the table. Again, everything was so good. Yes. We will go back to Prime46forty and will suggest it to our friends.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal. Beautiful presentation, ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Excellent meal. Beautiful presentation, seasonal, fresh, tasty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic we have dined many times with ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic we have dined many times with Carroll and her staff. She and Chef Tim have never failed us. We have taken many friends with us and all enjoyed there evening and returned with others. The finest restaurant we have eaten in our only wish is that it would be in Poquoson or closer to us.

Chef Tim always has specials to try and they are delicious!

The two key points in fine dining food and service! Prime nails both points!

Price wise worth every dollar! Food quality lives up to price twice over!

If you have any problems talk with Carroll or staff they are always willing to do there upmost to make your visit a pleasant one!😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was fantastic as usual - specials w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Food was fantastic as usual - specials were interesting, steaks were cooked perfectly, everything was paced well etc.

Service wasn't quite as good as last time (proper settings weren't always out in time for the intended course like a salad fork when the steak came) but wasn't anything I'd complain about. Will definitely keep going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Pleasant neighborhood restaurant

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

The variety of food choices is commendable, prices are reasonable, and service is adequate. I could do with fewer check-ins by the waiter, who had a knack for interrupting conversations. He also seemed quite shocked that we didn't have dessert.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fabulous seafood!

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We ordered the scallops and the bronzini special ~ both were outstanding. Great sides, sauces and perfectly cooked - as usual

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful first visit

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Had heard good things from fellow golfers and finally had our first visit. Long overdue. Loved the decor, but the food and service were the star. Excellent selection of entrees (no starter or dessert for this meal). Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Looked for a moderately upscale place fo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Looked for a moderately upscale place for a dinner with my wife and daughter. This was close to our hotel and occupies a spot that used to be Shackelford's. Not an upscale place. We were pleasantly surprised by the ambiance, the service and overall. Lamb special was perfect and slightly unusual as was the cobia special. My wife had the scallops. Not a good choice, as the sauce (a saffron based sauce) was very salty. Had to send it back, but still salty. Manager, server and all involved did the right thing and I have no complaints about the meal in general. So, I would say this place is almost ready for 5 stars overall. Dinners could be a bit more delicate (want to taste all flavores individually) and there could be one more notch of sophistication added. Maybe formality, I don't know. Just needs a light dusting of something. But it was still a good time and I recommend it. I will try again when in town next time. I'd like to try their steaks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Prime 4640 Never Disappoints!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Came back for my birthday dinner with my husband and 4 dear friends. We were taken care of by our favorite server. They had everything for Dark and Stormy's and had even brought back a favorite dessert of mine - The Maple Blueberry Fritters with Blueberry Sorbet, for my special evening. As usual, we got the charcuterie and cheese plate and thoroughly enjoyed it with a bottle of Barboursville Octagon, which they kindly decanted for us. Several had the oysters with horseradish mignonette and loved them. I got an appetizer, the Basil Linguine with Crab, for dinner, which was outstanding . Several got the veal medallions and raved about them. Also got the gnocchi, with truffles. Yum! So fresh tasting and delicious. This is my favorite restaurant in Hampton Roads, by far. Karen, the owner, is so nice and welcoming. Do yourself a favor and go there!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.