HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Prime46forty

4.6
406 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Special Occasion
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Prime46forty is a casual yet trendy dining establishment in the hip Williamsburg neighborhood of Brooklyn. It serves a wide range of dishes and has a full bar with plenty of specialty cocktails, wine and craft beers. The atmosphere is cozy and intimate, and this is a good neighborhood spot to spend a night out with friends.

The Prime46forty menu includes starters, soups and salads and a host of mains. Start your meal at Prime46forty with Manakintowne arugula, lemon and garlic grilled asparagus or fresh mussels. Larger items include pan-seared Pompano filet, jumbo lump crab cakes and grilled organic chicken breast.

Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 4pm - 11pm, Friday 4pm - 12am, Saturday: 4pm - 1am, Sunday: 4pm - 11 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(757) 224-4640
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Tim Westby-Gibson
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Old News Road (back left corner of Monticello Marketplace)
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Semi private parking lot adjacent to front door of restaurant. Handicapped spaces available.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live music Saturday only beginning at 9:30pm on the patio weather permitting. Otherwise in bar area.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 406 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.6  based on all time ratings
4.7
food
4.7
service
4.3
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
perfectk4y4king (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on August 5, 2016

Unfortunately this fabulous restaurant has now closed.

Report
Helpful
SherryS (Baltimore)
5.0  Dined on August 4, 2016

our favorite. so sorry thy are closing we will miss them

Report
Helpful
Pommie (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on August 3, 2016

SO SAD this restaurant is closing! It has been a wonderful experience every time we ate there; unique with great food!

Report
Helpful
goodfood (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on July 26, 2016

I had a very enjoyable time. The waiter was knowledgeable and attentive. The halibut cheeks appetizer was delicious. I had the salmon special for my entrée and it was wonderful. We also had breadsticks that were addictive! I would definitely recommend this to friends and I will return!

Report
Helpful
FredS (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on July 21, 2016

Outstanding rock fish and extra dry vodka martinis!

Report
Helpful
kjd66 (Las Vegas)
4.0  Dined on July 20, 2016

Preparation of food and tastes blended together were outstanding. Chef brings together his imagination in his meals to create some delicious combinations.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (West Virginia)
5.0  Dined on July 17, 2016

Everything was excellent, from the drinks to the appetizer specials, to the dinner, to the desert to the service. The menu is innovative and unique.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on July 17, 2016

It was absolutely incredible. The food was exquisite and the service was so friendly. Our server Aaron was so kind and patient with us, because I know we weren't the easiest customers. They also did so many special changes for us and it was the best accommodation I've ever had anywhere. They made my boyfriends birthday the most incredible, perfect experience. We will definitely be returning, this is our new favourite restaurant!

Report
Helpful
MrMalbec (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on July 14, 2016

Another great meal from Chef Tim. We go to Prime 46forty for special occasions and are never disappointed.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (New York Area)
5.0  Dined on July 10, 2016

The beef always from Allen Brothers always petfect. I ventured away from the beef and had the most fabulous duck with black rice. Sundays are a great bargain with no corkage fee on your BYOB. Carol is a wonderful host with a great staff.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was amazing, would highly recommend and will be returning soon!

Report
Helpful
DodgeB (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on July 7, 2016

We enjoyed our recent dinner at Prime46Forty. It is close to our home and is a fairly new restaurant in our neighborhood. This is definitely a foodie place. The owner and waiter took very special care of us, and we felt like being a member of their family. This restaurant is somewhat pricey and a good choice for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Richmond)
4.0  Dined on July 7, 2016

Went for my husband's birthday. Food was very good and the ambiance was great. The waiter brought a complimentary dessert at the end. Overall really nice experience.

Report
Helpful
JenniferA (Richmond)
5.0  Dined on July 5, 2016

Excellent food and staff. I will definitely return.

Report
Helpful
KayC (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on July 3, 2016

I chose to celebrate my birthday at the Prime Forty46 and was not disappointed. Everything was
well cooked, nicely plated and delicious. Our server was helpful in helping us choose and describing dishes. Knowledgeable about the wine list and if he didn't know he found out. All in all it was a very pleasant evening and we will go back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
28