About Prime Steakhouse

951 Caroline Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Prime Steakhouse offers the finest steaks in the Florida Keys! Whether a 24oz Bone in Rib Eye or a succulent Filet, grilled to perfection, Prime is the best kept secret in Key West. Tucked away in the Conch Harbor Marina above Dante's, settle into our intimate dining room and let our servers take care of the rest. In addition to fabulous steaks, Prime serves Fresh Florida Lobster and nightly Seafood and Pasta specials. Nightly specials may also include a 16 oz Bone In Filet, Double Bone Pork Chop and an outrageous 16oz Veal Chop. Don't miss the Crab Cake and the Smoked Gouda & White Truffle Macaroni & Cheese. Noted for it's impeccable world-class service, the finest wines from the USA, Italy & France and a superb Martini and Cocktail menu, Prime has become the locals favorite Steakhouse!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Grinnell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-4000

Website:
http://primekeywest.com/

Parking Details:
Underground pay parking is available in the Conch Harbor Marina lot on Grinnell Street.

Executive Chef:
Kim Quach

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact restaurant for details.

Private Party Contact:
Nicole Earley: 305-293-5123x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Food
Florida Keys - Monroe County
1 More
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Special Occasion (20)
Romantic (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
See All
Good for Groups (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Business Meals (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Cozy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Waterfront (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Worth the Drive (1)
Authentic (1)
Private Room (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Fun (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
Newest
428 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We dined here for our 25th Wedding Anniv ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We dined here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We were treated like royalty from the second we walked in the door. They led us to a very private room with a beautiful bouquet of roses (that I had ordered earlier in the day) setting as the centerpiece of our table. They went all out to make sure that we had a great experience for our special day. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent rib eye. NY Strip not as good. ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent rib eye. NY Strip not as good. Pricey but overall great restaurant, service excellent, quiet decor

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Very expensive b ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food and service. Very expensive but worth it for the food. Best in key west.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Top quality metas. Fr ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great experience. Top quality metas. Friendly treat, prompt service. It is kind of hidden but well worth to find it. Best steak house in Key West.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great friendly service very ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place, great friendly service very helpful food was exceptional

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Private Room, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food service as always. Never let ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food service as always. Never lets me down. Michael, our server was tremendous. See ya next trip

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Awesome food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High-end Steakhouse where service and th ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

High-end Steakhouse where service and the Filet was on par with NYC, but with perfect local Key West casual dress. If you are in the mood for some great eating and fantastic service in Key West, where you don't even have to lose your flip-flops, but your waiters are in black, this gem is tucked away right off the marina, close to bars, but it's like walking into another world, more intimate and romantic. We will go again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak on the island. The bone-in f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best steak on the island. The bone-in filet is divine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone was great and it was very nice ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everyone was great and it was very nice set up, Thanks for lovely evening

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The best spot in Key West for a steak, a ...

vip
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The best spot in Key West for a steak, always good food, very good service, nice cold martinis, I had pork tenderloin for a change and it was very good. Mac and cheese is delicious. Pricey but for the best steak in town its worth it just can't afford it every night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I love Prime for the fish and crab. My h ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

I love Prime for the fish and crab. My husband and friends love the steak. Great service and delightful food. Our go to place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always we were very pleased with our ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

As always we were very pleased with our service from the moment we walked in the door. Awesome place to celebrate with family and friends. Best crab cake in Key West...hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely the best steak in Key West an ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Definitely the best steak in Key West and perhaps all of the Keys. Oysters Rockefeller was excellent as well. Great decor and location make this a top choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this restaurant and have eaten he ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I love this restaurant and have eaten here numerous times. When I have dined alone I prefer to sit at the bar. The change I would suggest is that the restaurant get some comfortable bar stools.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience.!!! We were there for m ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great experience.!!! We were there for my 55 Birthday!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent food and service!

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

We've been here often as it is a favorite of ours. Best steakhouse in Key West! Wine list is terrific. Service is top notch. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Prime over a dozen times on ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I've been to Prime over a dozen times on several business trips. My customers and I have never been let down. Great steaks served by excellent friendly wait staff. Would definitely recommend Prime...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent as always!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Rib Steak was unevenly cooked.

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

The bone in Rib Steak was unevenly cooked. The outside of the steak was medium rare as I requested, further in the steak was rare. The anchovies for the Caesar Salad were full of bones. These are the kind of Kitchen mistakes I would not expect at a restaurant in this price range.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Great food and service. Wine is reasonab ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food and service. Wine is reasonably priced. Chocolate cake is wonderful if you have the room. Avoid the creamed spinach.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steaks

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

Steak was outstanding. Garlic mashed potatoes were great but Luke warm. Vegetables we OK but I would skip them next time

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great place

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

It was our first time at the prime...the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

It was our first time at the prime...the restaurant was calm and relaxed....the service was fair ...waiter was very slow .

We had the 10oz filet...the steak arrived with ala cart sides...my girlfriends order steak medium rare but arrived medium which normally would not be a problem but she said it was very dry...I didn't believe her til I tasted it ...thank God they had braise sauce ...the steak was extremely dry ...very difficult to swallow... unfortunately we didn't say anything cause she didn't...inform me til she ate more 50%...BTW the waiter didn't check on the dinner until we were almost done. He looked like Dave Hasselhoff ...couldn't remember his name... We spent close to 239.00...sometimes it makes you wonder why you would spend this amount of hard earned money for an average dinner ...I wouldn't recommend this ...yaaaaaaaaaa I read the reviews but still decide to have a special dinner for my Anna's birthday....WHAT A MAJOR DISAPOINTMENT...probably the hot dog vendor close to Sloppy Joe's was more appetizing....

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great food & Service

vip
 (Naples)
·Dined on April 13, 2016

The server was wonderful & I had a bone in filet that was incredible!

My wife had a Caesar Salad & some kind of capricious roast beef & tomatoes.

Our Freinds had a Yellow Tail special.

Everything was great, the bread was warm right out of the oven, the place isn't cheap but your not going to find any bargains in Key West that are worth going to.

All in all we would go back in a minute!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A little pricy but very good (wish the s ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

A little pricy but very good (wish the steaks had come with a side or two, rather than having to buy separately). Filet was cooked perfectly. Featured "twix" cheesecake was fabulous!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Price does not match the food

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

I have been to Prime on many occasions. Overall the service is always superb, however the food has dropped in quality. Not sure if they have a new chef or just lack of oversight. The cost of dinning at prime does not match the food. My pork tenderloin was very dry and overcooked. The other three individuals each had steaks and I was not impressed. Prime, I have no issues with paying 50 dollars for a plate, but it better meet the standards. As someone who cooks I feel that the sides and plates lacked care and attention that a chef would want leaving a kitchen. Prime's cost and lack of care in the dish has me recommending visiting people to Key west somewhere else, possible Latitudes. Don't waste your money on plates/dishes were quality does not match the price.

R/

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Ribeye great

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 31, 2016

Ribeye great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food!

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Amazing carpaccio, and bone in filet! Will be coming back more often!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and service in a convenient ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Amazing food and service in a convenient location next to the marina.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great find on the island. Classic steakh ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Great find on the island. Classic steakhouse feel great wine and steak. Escargot was great more than enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Bone in filet was nothing short of perfe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Bone in filet was nothing short of perfect. Stone crab was cracked so it made it easier to partake. While the crab was served cold, the butter would have been tastier had it been warmed. Awesome dinner!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Best steakhouse In key west

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Steaks are simply amazing! We had the bone in fiber a day the filet minion, both were excellent! And try the handout french fries.. best we ever had.

Homemade key lime pie was a real treat.. better than Kermit pie guy pies. A bit hard to find but we'll worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was fantastic. Expected Prime cu ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Service was fantastic. Expected Prime cuts given the name. Sides need improvement

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Bob

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Very good but too much food & pricey. Reduce the servings & lower the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

A little difficult to find but was worth ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on February 25, 2016

A little difficult to find but was worth the search to get there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food but too pricey

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

Prime is a very nice date night restaurant, the service is wonderful and the food was very good. I do think it is quite overpriced, they charge $50+ for a steak with no sides. That's just ridiculous. However the steak was very good, the bartender doesn't skimp on the alcohol, and we took home a piece of their cheesecake that was amazing! For those reasons I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This place is always great every time I ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

This place is always great every time I go definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in town hands down. Always de ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Best steak in town hands down. Always delicious and service is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Steaks were fantastic. Lo ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service. Steaks were fantastic. Lobster was over done and sides were only OK. But the steaks... Would definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.