About Prime Steakhouse

951 Caroline Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Prime Steakhouse offers the finest steaks in the Florida Keys! Whether a 24oz Bone in Rib Eye or a succulent Filet, grilled to perfection, Prime is the best kept secret in Key West. Tucked away in the Conch Harbor Marina above Dante's, settle into our intimate dining room and let our servers take care of the rest. In addition to fabulous steaks, Prime serves Fresh Florida Lobster and nightly Seafood and Pasta specials. Nightly specials may also include a 16 oz Bone In Filet, Double Bone Pork Chop and an outrageous 16oz Veal Chop. Don't miss the Crab Cake and the Smoked Gouda & White Truffle Macaroni & Cheese. Noted for it's impeccable world-class service, the finest wines from the USA, Italy & France and a superb Martini and Cocktail menu, Prime has become the locals favorite Steakhouse!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Grinnell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-4000

Website:
http://primekeywest.com/

Parking Details:
Underground pay parking is available in the Conch Harbor Marina lot on Grinnell Street.

Executive Chef:
Kim Quach

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact restaurant for details.

Private Party Contact:
Nicole Earley: 305-293-5123x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Good for a Date (16)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Good for Birthdays (13)
Romantic (11)
Private Room (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Waterfront (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Cozy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Authentic (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Fireplace (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
495 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food. Excellent service. You c ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food. Excellent service. You can't go wrong eating here if you're a steak lover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet mignon was absolutely deliciou ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 6 days ago

The filet mignon was absolutely delicious! It was cooked to perfection and melted in your mouth. Best I've ever had. The banana nut bread pudding tasted just like my mom's but netter! Will defiantly dine there again on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately, the steak was really bad. ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Unfortunately, the steak was really bad...both the filet and the bone in rib eye (hard to mess up)...some of the sides were goid, others were blah....I don't mind paying for a quality meal, but this was expensive without the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We sat at the bar. The bartender was ver ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We sat at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and explain all my questions. Food was perfectly cooked and plentyful.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great place for a steak .. was looking f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

great place for a steak .. was looking for a good beef meal since most of the meals i get in Florida are fish.. yummy.. almost on par with a capital grill .. not quite.. but almost..

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food, attentive but not overbe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent food, attentive but not overbearing service, and timing was done well. We highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and awesome service

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty disappointed. The she crab soup w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pretty disappointed. The she crab soup was great. The steaks were first brought out incorrect and they asked if we'd accept them that way (mine had blue cheese all over it which I don't eat for example) so no- needless to say we wanted them corrected. They left the sides on the table however, to sit while we waited for our steak. Not what you'd expect from such a highly touted steak house. The steaks were very dry sadly and the sides were not that great either. It was a very disappointing meal for over $200 for 2 people! We will never go back:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A wee bit pretentious- there are no peti ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A wee bit pretentious- there are no petite steak portions for those of us who cannot consume 24oz steaks...outdoor patio needs some work-especially to justify the heavy pricing,i.e., $68 just to waste 3/4 of the steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

This may have been the best steak dinner ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This may have been the best steak dinner I've ever had. The bone-in ribeye was perfect. The Oysters Rockefeller was fantastic. And the service was exceptional. Prime is expensive. But for that special occasion, it is worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've eaten here every Christmas for abou ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I've eaten here every Christmas for about 5 years and it as good as always!! Steak was so tender I could have cut it with a knife!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here and it won't be our last ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 25, 2016

First time here and it won't be our last. Our wait staff were awesome!! The food was super good. No....Fantastic!! We had the surf and turf....steak was cook perfect and very tasty. The lobster was perfectly done. We really enjoyed the experience and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing and filet was cooked ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was amazing and filet was cooked perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was perfect. The food was ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The ambiance was perfect. The food was fabulous. The steaks were perfectly cooked, and the vegetable sides were delicious. The service was courteous, efficient and charming.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best steaks I have eaten. Gr ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 11, 2016

One of the best steaks I have eaten. Great place. Great place for any occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork tenderloin was delicious and te ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The pork tenderloin was delicious and tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time there in 10 day ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This was our second time there in 10 day. Everything we have had is very good. Make sure you try the She Crab soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual an outstanding dining experienc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As usual an outstanding dining experience in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant this is the best pl ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Love this restaurant this is the best place to eat and have dinner with friends or just a loved one!

Tags: , Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely awsome. Not cheap. But knew t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Absolutely awsome. Not cheap. But knew that. Great ribeye. Perfectly cooked, Pittsburg rare. Great wine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. On the water. Quiet with ele ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food. On the water. Quiet with elegance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you so much to the staff of Prime ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Thank you so much to the staff of Prime for a wonderful 50th birthday dinner for my husband! As always, the food was outstanding; from the delicious stone crabs and perfectly cooked steaks to the pumpkin cheesecake and great wine. Thank you, as well, for the menus printed with Happy Birthday! Our group had a fantastic time. Prime is always a destination for us when in Key West. Hope to be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you want a nice dinning experience ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 23, 2016

When you want a nice dinning experience away from all the same fried fish sandwiches, Prime is a great place. Get all the same ambiance and menu selection of jacket required steakhouse, but in key west. Shorts and Sandals welcomed. Great staff and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This year we decided to travel to Key We ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This year we decided to travel to Key West, about a 4-hour drive, for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Arriving on Tuesday, I had made reservations at Prime Steakhouse. By all reviews it seemed to be a wise choice – wait for it – it wasn’t wise, it was genius. With outdoor seating, this place was great!

As usual, we started with some cocktails. My partner ordered the Sesame and Pepper Encrusted Tuna Tataki, nicely prepared and seasoned. I had the Jumbo Lump Crab Cake, again a flavorful choice. Following our appetizers, we split a traditional Wedge salad; it was just what you should expect from a good steakhouse. But the best was yet to come.

My partner ordered the NY Strip Steak – charred and medium rare – it was cooked to perfection. The meat was tender, and flavorful – he said it was one of the best he’d ever had. My choice was the 10oz Filet Mignon, cooked the same, and, again, one of the best I have ever eaten. These steaks were perfection!

We ordered 2 sides, Creamed Garlic Spinach, a disappointment – watery and oddly seasoned. And Hash Browns, we ordered them “crispy”, they were perfect - crusty on the outside and creamy on the inside. Outstanding!

A great steakhouse but difficult to find, it’s on the second floor, in the back of the building, but well worth the search.

Our server had a large section with every table seated, but managed to give everyone excellent service. A cheerful hostess promptly seated us upon our arrival.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good but I was expecting mo ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was good but I was expecting more based on the reviews I read (which was why we chose this restaurant in the first place). The seasoning on the 24 oz. rib eye was very good but did not penetrate deep enough into the meat, perhaps due to it's size. We ordered it medium and were not disappointed. The grouper served Oscar style left something to be desired as it seemed they just grilled the fillet without any seasoning whatsoever; very plain tasting although the crab and hollandaise sauce were quite good.

Our server was very nice, warm, and attentive and the food was served in a reasonable amount of time.

All in all I left feeling disappointed in the overall flavor of the food and resulting value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Simply delicious. I was soooo in the mo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Simply delicious. I was soooo in the mood for a steak, mashed potatoes and a glass of red wine and it hit the spot! We were seated at the private alcove table which was perfect and quiet. Would highly recommend this restaurant. I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

From the time you walk in, you are taken ...

 
 (Cornwall)·Dined on November 8, 2016

From the time you walk in, you are taken care of.

Great food, great service and a great atmosphere.

Will definitely be back.

Richard & Lynn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first trip to Prime and def ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This was our first trip to Prime and definitely not our last! Such a hidden gem in Key West. Will become part of our "must do" list!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wildly overpriced. It must be the corpo ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Wildly overpriced. It must be the corporate crowd with expense accounts supporting this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

the steaks are to die for.. like butter. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

the steaks are to die for.. like butter... i do allot of dinning and had travel lots of places in this planet .. but this steakhouse.. the shrimp bisque delicious, my hubby had the fillet mignon and i had ribeye on the bone.. great for a special occasion, fam dinner. groups.. and they have a small private rooms for special romantic occasion.. i will be back for sure.. next year.. until then key west..

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Casual, Private Room, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience for a milestone birthda ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great experience for a milestone birthday. They made special arrangements for a private dining area....service was outstanding and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my wife's birthday and she picked ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It was my wife's birthday and she picked Prime because she wanted a good steak. They delivered.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent top quality steakhouse with se ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent top quality steakhouse with seafood. Good Service. Better than many high end Las Vegas restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I both enjoyed a filet @ Pri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My wife and I both enjoyed a filet @ Prime 951. Steaks were cooked to perfection and tasted great. I started with the she-crab soup that was great as well. Service was outstanding. This was a great meal and location to wrap our vacation up.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service, staff was wonderful ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Exceptional service, staff was wonderful, food was very good. Loved the appetizers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We could not have picked a finer place t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We could not have picked a finer place to celebrate my husband's 75th Birthday. He was immediately greeted with a Happy Birthday and we were shown to a private room overlooking the rest of the restaurant. Anka our server was the most attentive young lady we have ever had in all our years of fine dining. The menu had Happy Birthday printed on it and the dessert plate was decorated in chocolate with Happy 75th Birthday. The food was excellent and the service was over the top. We would highly recommend Prime!!!!!! Thank you Anka for making our night such a special one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've reviewed Prime before, and I feel i ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I've reviewed Prime before, and I feel it only gets better. Loved the special 1/2 price apps, lots to choose from, all well prepared. Seems like there may be new management? The wine list

is markedly improved. Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great staff. Would take her ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food. Great staff. Would take her again for our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined here for our 25th Wedding Anniv ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We dined here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We were treated like royalty from the second we walked in the door. They led us to a very private room with a beautiful bouquet of roses (that I had ordered earlier in the day) setting as the centerpiece of our table. They went all out to make sure that we had a great experience for our special day. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent rib eye. NY Strip not as good. ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent rib eye. NY Strip not as good. Pricey but overall great restaurant, service excellent, quiet decor

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.