About Prime Steakhouse

951 Caroline Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Prime Steakhouse offers the finest steaks in the Florida Keys! Whether a 24oz Bone in Rib Eye or a succulent Filet, grilled to perfection, Prime is the best kept secret in Key West. Tucked away in the Conch Harbor Marina above Dante's, settle into our intimate dining room and let our servers take care of the rest. In addition to fabulous steaks, Prime serves Fresh Florida Lobster and nightly Seafood and Pasta specials. Nightly specials may also include a 16 oz Bone In Filet, Double Bone Pork Chop and an outrageous 16oz Veal Chop. Don't miss the Crab Cake and the Smoked Gouda & White Truffle Macaroni & Cheese. Noted for it's impeccable world-class service, the finest wines from the USA, Italy & France and a superb Martini and Cocktail menu, Prime has become the locals favorite Steakhouse!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Grinnell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-4000

Website:
http://primekeywest.com/

Parking Details:
Underground pay parking is available in the Conch Harbor Marina lot on Grinnell Street.

Executive Chef:
Kim Quach

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact restaurant for details.

Private Party Contact:
Nicole Earley: (305) 293-5123

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (21)
Romantic (15)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Business Meals (6)
Waterfront (5)
Private Room (5)
Cozy (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Scenic View (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
508 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great anniversary dinner...thanks guys!! ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined 6 days ago

Great anniversary dinner...thanks guys!!!

Perfect setting ,great service and food.....fabulous!

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the most expensive restaurants in ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of the most expensive restaurants in town but will go there any time to celebrate a special occasion. The service and food are top notch and the atmosphere is very very pleasant.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The steaks were fair at best and very ve ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The steaks were fair at best and very very expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

The ambience was nice,the server seemed ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The ambience was nice,the server seemed to try but not what I expected at a fine restaurant.

French onion soup..average

Steak average

Wine..seemed like a very short pour,maybe was 3 ounces,should of been at least 4,

Expensive compared to other steak restaurants

Did not have dessert

Would not recommend on several levels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Pavel was exceptional! His recommendatio ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Pavel was exceptional! His recommendations of the crab cakes was perfection. His next recommendation of the bone in filet really made my night in Key West a memorable one. I will be back! If your looking for a great meal for a special occasion, this is the place! Ask for Pavel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I've had in a long time! Hav ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Best steak I've had in a long time! Have been traveling to Key West for many years and had never heard of this restaurant. A taxi driver recommended it. It was exactly as he described. Food, service & cocktails were superb! The locations is a little strange and off the beaten path. If it were in a different location it would be so busy you'd have to make a reservation a week or so in advance to get a table.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our table and service was wonderful, but ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Our table and service was wonderful, but the food was not. The pasta special was not good. It tasted like noodles swimming in some kind of water sauce. The steak special was not cooked properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

We had a very nice evening, staff was gr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a very nice evening, staff was great and the food was awesome.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Made a reservation thru OpenTable and th ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Made a reservation thru OpenTable and they seated us right away in a semi private area that was perfect for our only special dinner during this vaca. Beata was our waitress and she was very friendly and attentive but not too pushy. Food was awesome as was the wine menu. Great dinner!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our visit was to celebrate my wife's 50t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our visit was to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. It was a home run with her! At the time I made the reservation, I requested a quiet, intimate table. Carlos greeted us very cordially at the door when we arrived and ushered us to a great corner booth. Our waiter, Paval, was charming and very knowledgeable of both the menu and wine list. Every bit of the service was 5-star. The steaks here are grilled to perfection and of outstanding flavor. Paval surprised my wife at the end of our amazing meal with a slice of superb cheesecake topped with a candle for her special day.

We enjoyed ourselves so thoroughly that we dined there the next evening as well.

Thanks to all the staff for great dining memories!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unfortunately, this dinner was not up to ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Unfortunately, this dinner was not up to par. I've been here numerous times and this was a miss.

The tuna tataki was bland and tasteless and the strip steak was a bit chewy. Not what you would expect from prime meat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food, as usual. Superb veal ch ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Excellent food, as usual. Superb veal chop, perfect steaks and vey tasty she crab soup! Service was impeccable

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food. Excellent service. You c ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. You can't go wrong eating here if you're a steak lover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The filet mignon was absolutely deliciou ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The filet mignon was absolutely delicious! It was cooked to perfection and melted in your mouth. Best I've ever had. The banana nut bread pudding tasted just like my mom's but netter! Will defiantly dine there again on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unfortunately, the steak was really bad. ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Unfortunately, the steak was really bad...both the filet and the bone in rib eye (hard to mess up)...some of the sides were goid, others were blah....I don't mind paying for a quality meal, but this was expensive without the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

We sat at the bar. The bartender was ver ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We sat at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and explain all my questions. Food was perfectly cooked and plentyful.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great place for a steak .. was looking f ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

great place for a steak .. was looking for a good beef meal since most of the meals i get in Florida are fish.. yummy.. almost on par with a capital grill .. not quite.. but almost..

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent food, attentive but not overbe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent food, attentive but not overbearing service, and timing was done well. We highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and awesome service

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty disappointed. The she crab soup w ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pretty disappointed. The she crab soup was great. The steaks were first brought out incorrect and they asked if we'd accept them that way (mine had blue cheese all over it which I don't eat for example) so no- needless to say we wanted them corrected. They left the sides on the table however, to sit while we waited for our steak. Not what you'd expect from such a highly touted steak house. The steaks were very dry sadly and the sides were not that great either. It was a very disappointing meal for over $200 for 2 people! We will never go back:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

A wee bit pretentious- there are no peti ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A wee bit pretentious- there are no petite steak portions for those of us who cannot consume 24oz steaks...outdoor patio needs some work-especially to justify the heavy pricing,i.e., $68 just to waste 3/4 of the steak

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

This may have been the best steak dinner ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This may have been the best steak dinner I've ever had. The bone-in ribeye was perfect. The Oysters Rockefeller was fantastic. And the service was exceptional. Prime is expensive. But for that special occasion, it is worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've eaten here every Christmas for abou ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I've eaten here every Christmas for about 5 years and it as good as always!! Steak was so tender I could have cut it with a knife!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time here and it won't be our last ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 25, 2016

First time here and it won't be our last. Our wait staff were awesome!! The food was super good. No....Fantastic!! We had the surf and turf....steak was cook perfect and very tasty. The lobster was perfectly done. We really enjoyed the experience and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was amazing and filet was cooked ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was amazing and filet was cooked perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The ambiance was perfect. The food was ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The ambiance was perfect. The food was fabulous. The steaks were perfectly cooked, and the vegetable sides were delicious. The service was courteous, efficient and charming.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best steaks I have eaten. Gr ...

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 11, 2016

One of the best steaks I have eaten. Great place. Great place for any occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pork tenderloin was delicious and te ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 5, 2016

The pork tenderloin was delicious and tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time there in 10 day ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This was our second time there in 10 day. Everything we have had is very good. Make sure you try the She Crab soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual an outstanding dining experienc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 4, 2016

As usual an outstanding dining experience in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant this is the best pl ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Love this restaurant this is the best place to eat and have dinner with friends or just a loved one!

Tags: , Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely awsome. Not cheap. But knew t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Absolutely awsome. Not cheap. But knew that. Great ribeye. Perfectly cooked, Pittsburg rare. Great wine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. On the water. Quiet with ele ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food. On the water. Quiet with elegance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Thank you so much to the staff of Prime ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Thank you so much to the staff of Prime for a wonderful 50th birthday dinner for my husband! As always, the food was outstanding; from the delicious stone crabs and perfectly cooked steaks to the pumpkin cheesecake and great wine. Thank you, as well, for the menus printed with Happy Birthday! Our group had a fantastic time. Prime is always a destination for us when in Key West. Hope to be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you want a nice dinning experience ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 23, 2016

When you want a nice dinning experience away from all the same fried fish sandwiches, Prime is a great place. Get all the same ambiance and menu selection of jacket required steakhouse, but in key west. Shorts and Sandals welcomed. Great staff and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This year we decided to travel to Key We ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This year we decided to travel to Key West, about a 4-hour drive, for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Arriving on Tuesday, I had made reservations at Prime Steakhouse. By all reviews it seemed to be a wise choice – wait for it – it wasn’t wise, it was genius. With outdoor seating, this place was great!

As usual, we started with some cocktails. My partner ordered the Sesame and Pepper Encrusted Tuna Tataki, nicely prepared and seasoned. I had the Jumbo Lump Crab Cake, again a flavorful choice. Following our appetizers, we split a traditional Wedge salad; it was just what you should expect from a good steakhouse. But the best was yet to come.

My partner ordered the NY Strip Steak – charred and medium rare – it was cooked to perfection. The meat was tender, and flavorful – he said it was one of the best he’d ever had. My choice was the 10oz Filet Mignon, cooked the same, and, again, one of the best I have ever eaten. These steaks were perfection!

We ordered 2 sides, Creamed Garlic Spinach, a disappointment – watery and oddly seasoned. And Hash Browns, we ordered them “crispy”, they were perfect - crusty on the outside and creamy on the inside. Outstanding!

A great steakhouse but difficult to find, it’s on the second floor, in the back of the building, but well worth the search.

Our server had a large section with every table seated, but managed to give everyone excellent service. A cheerful hostess promptly seated us upon our arrival.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good but I was expecting mo ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was good but I was expecting more based on the reviews I read (which was why we chose this restaurant in the first place). The seasoning on the 24 oz. rib eye was very good but did not penetrate deep enough into the meat, perhaps due to it's size. We ordered it medium and were not disappointed. The grouper served Oscar style left something to be desired as it seemed they just grilled the fillet without any seasoning whatsoever; very plain tasting although the crab and hollandaise sauce were quite good.

Our server was very nice, warm, and attentive and the food was served in a reasonable amount of time.

All in all I left feeling disappointed in the overall flavor of the food and resulting value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Simply delicious. I was soooo in the mo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Simply delicious. I was soooo in the mood for a steak, mashed potatoes and a glass of red wine and it hit the spot! We were seated at the private alcove table which was perfect and quiet. Would highly recommend this restaurant. I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

From the time you walk in, you are taken ...

 
 (Cornwall)·Dined on November 8, 2016

From the time you walk in, you are taken care of.

Great food, great service and a great atmosphere.

Will definitely be back.

Richard & Lynn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first trip to Prime and def ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This was our first trip to Prime and definitely not our last! Such a hidden gem in Key West. Will become part of our "must do" list!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.