Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.29mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.33mi

About Prime Steakhouse

Prime Steakhouse offers the finest steaks in the Florida Keys! Whether a 24oz Bone in Rib Eye or a succulent Filet, grilled to perfection, Prime is the best kept secret in Key West. Tucked away in the Conch Harbor Marina above Dante's, settle into our intimate dining room and let our servers take care of the rest. In addition to fabulous steaks, Prime serves Fresh Florida Lobster and nightly Seafood and Pasta specials. Nightly specials may also include a 16 oz Bone In Filet, Double Bone Pork Chop and an outrageous 16oz Veal Chop. Don't miss the Crab Cake and the Smoked Gouda & White Truffle Macaroni & Cheese. Noted for it's impeccable world-class service, the finest wines from the USA, Italy & France and a superb Martini and Cocktail menu, Prime has become the locals favorite Steakhouse!

951 Caroline Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Grinnell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-4000

Website:
http://primekeywest.com/

Parking Details:
Underground pay parking is available in the Conch Harbor Marina lot on Grinnell Street.

Executive Chef:
Kim Quach

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact restaurant for details.

Private Party Contact:
Nicole Earley: (305) 296-4000

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Make Prime Steakhouse part of your Easter Celebration. Reserve your table for dinner now!

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 18, 2017

Details

Leave the grilling to us and treat Dad to what he really wants for Father's Day....a 24 oz Bone In Ribeye with a side of our Truffled Macaroni & Smoked Gouda. Book your table today!

Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (22)
Good for a Date (19)
Romantic (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Cozy (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Waterfront (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Scenic View (3)
Private Room (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
522 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The servers were great every time we went there. In Key West for the month of March and ate there every Saturday night. New York Strip is the best in town and one of the best anywhere as is the crab cake. The best in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined 4 days ago

We ordered 2 steaks and some seafood dishes. 1 quite expensive steak was ordered medium, but came to us very rare and was sent back. It came back looking microwaved and steaming. It did not taste good at all, especially compared to the other steak. When we brought this up to the waitress, she tried to ignore this. We had to ask for the manager, who told us we ate some of the steak, so it must have been fine. Had she tried the steak, she would have understood, but she chose to argue instead. She was not objective and this was bad business. I hope she learns...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 20, 2017

Vacation dinner sitting out doors watching the sunset

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Everything was wonderful from the time we walked in until we left. Super good!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Happy Hour, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The staff was wonderful! It was a cold evening, yet we were crazy enough to still want to sit outside. They were not prepared for anyone wanting to sit outside given the temperature, yet they rallied and within 5 minutes we had a great table outside and were soon joined by other hearty soles also looking for an outdoor venue. Drinks were outstanding all four steaks were cooked absolutely perfectly. Side dishes were also cooked perfectly.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Fabulous dining, attentive staff - friendly but discreet, great food - good portions, cooked to specifications requested, interesting cocktails - very tasty, ambiance was warm, romantic, pleasing for the final night of our honeymoon. Thanks Prime Steak for making our trip to Key West worthwhile.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Prime Steakhouse has become one of our "must do's" for out of town company!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent cocktails and good wine list. She crab soup was wonderful, as was the bread. Steak was flavorful, but medium rare rather than medium (didn't send it back, though, because better to be under than over done). Creamed spinach was good. Fabulous key lime pie... best we've ever had! We will be back and bring our friends!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This place was recommended, my wife had the NY strip which was excellent. I had the Bone in lamb chop which was just OK, not very flavorful. Place is pricey so stick with the streak!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. The lobster tails were beyond compare. However, the location leaves a lot to be desired. Homeless people were sleeping on the staircase at 6pm. They wished us a "good morning". When you get to the top of the stairs it looks like a deserted office building and over in the left corner, by itself, is this beautiful restaurant. I had an uncomfortable feeling especially leaving after dark.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Was good. Great service. Only issue was my steak was ordered medium but was more like rare still cold in the middle. Overall would go back

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toledo)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Phenomenal as always!! The food and staff are so friendly and accommodating! Love it there.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

No view of the water or sunset. Disappointed because it was near the water.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great anniversary dinner...thanks guys!!!
Perfect setting ,great service and food.....fabulous!

Tags: Private Room, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Key West)·Dined on February 14, 2017

One of the most expensive restaurants in town but will go there any time to celebrate a special occasion. The service and food are top notch and the atmosphere is very very pleasant.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The steaks were fair at best and very very expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The ambience was nice,the server seemed to try but not what I expected at a fine restaurant.
French onion soup..average
Steak average
Wine..seemed like a very short pour,maybe was 3 ounces,should of been at least 4,
Expensive compared to other steak restaurants
Did not have dessert
Would not recommend on several levels.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Pavel was exceptional! His recommendations of the crab cakes was perfection. His next recommendation of the bone in filet really made my night in Key West a memorable one. I will be back! If your looking for a great meal for a special occasion, this is the place! Ask for Pavel!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Best steak I've had in a long time! Have been traveling to Key West for many years and had never heard of this restaurant. A taxi driver recommended it. It was exactly as he described. Food, service & cocktails were superb! The locations is a little strange and off the beaten path. If it were in a different location it would be so busy you'd have to make a reservation a week or so in advance to get a table.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Our table and service was wonderful, but the food was not. The pasta special was not good. It tasted like noodles swimming in some kind of water sauce. The steak special was not cooked properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We had a very nice evening, staff was great and the food was awesome.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Made a reservation thru OpenTable and they seated us right away in a semi private area that was perfect for our only special dinner during this vaca. Beata was our waitress and she was very friendly and attentive but not too pushy. Food was awesome as was the wine menu. Great dinner!

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Our visit was to celebrate my wife's 50th birthday. It was a home run with her! At the time I made the reservation, I requested a quiet, intimate table. Carlos greeted us very cordially at the door when we arrived and ushered us to a great corner booth. Our waiter, Paval, was charming and very knowledgeable of both the menu and wine list. Every bit of the service was 5-star. The steaks here are grilled to perfection and of outstanding flavor. Paval surprised my wife at the end of our amazing meal with a slice of superb cheesecake topped with a candle for her special day.

We enjoyed ourselves so thoroughly that we dined there the next evening as well.

Thanks to all the staff for great dining memories!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Unfortunately, this dinner was not up to par. I've been here numerous times and this was a miss.
The tuna tataki was bland and tasteless and the strip steak was a bit chewy. Not what you would expect from prime meat.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Excellent food, as usual. Superb veal chop, perfect steaks and vey tasty she crab soup! Service was impeccable

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Authentic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent food. Excellent service. You can't go wrong eating here if you're a steak lover.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The filet mignon was absolutely delicious! It was cooked to perfection and melted in your mouth. Best I've ever had. The banana nut bread pudding tasted just like my mom's but netter! Will defiantly dine there again on our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Unfortunately, the steak was really bad...both the filet and the bone in rib eye (hard to mess up)...some of the sides were goid, others were blah....I don't mind paying for a quality meal, but this was expensive without the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

We sat at the bar. The bartender was very friendly and explain all my questions. Food was perfectly cooked and plentyful.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 3, 2017

great place for a steak .. was looking for a good beef meal since most of the meals i get in Florida are fish.. yummy.. almost on par with a capital grill .. not quite.. but almost..

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Excellent food, attentive but not overbearing service, and timing was done well. We highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food and awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Pretty disappointed. The she crab soup was great. The steaks were first brought out incorrect and they asked if we'd accept them that way (mine had blue cheese all over it which I don't eat for example) so no- needless to say we wanted them corrected. They left the sides on the table however, to sit while we waited for our steak. Not what you'd expect from such a highly touted steak house. The steaks were very dry sadly and the sides were not that great either. It was a very disappointing meal for over $200 for 2 people! We will never go back:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A wee bit pretentious- there are no petite steak portions for those of us who cannot consume 24oz steaks...outdoor patio needs some work-especially to justify the heavy pricing,i.e., $68 just to waste 3/4 of the steak

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This may have been the best steak dinner I've ever had. The bone-in ribeye was perfect. The Oysters Rockefeller was fantastic. And the service was exceptional. Prime is expensive. But for that special occasion, it is worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I've eaten here every Christmas for about 5 years and it as good as always!! Steak was so tender I could have cut it with a knife!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 25, 2016

First time here and it won't be our last. Our wait staff were awesome!! The food was super good. No....Fantastic!! We had the surf and turf....steak was cook perfect and very tasty. The lobster was perfectly done. We really enjoyed the experience and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Service was amazing and filet was cooked perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Key West)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The ambiance was perfect. The food was fabulous. The steaks were perfectly cooked, and the vegetable sides were delicious. The service was courteous, efficient and charming.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on December 11, 2016

One of the best steaks I have eaten. Great place. Great place for any occasion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.