About Prime Steakhouse

951 Caroline Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Prime Steakhouse offers the finest steaks in the Florida Keys! Whether a 24oz Bone in Rib Eye or a succulent Filet, grilled to perfection, Prime is the best kept secret in Key West. Tucked away in the Conch Harbor Marina above Dante's, settle into our intimate dining room and let our servers take care of the rest. In addition to fabulous steaks, Prime serves Fresh Florida Lobster and nightly Seafood and Pasta specials. Nightly specials may also include a 16 oz Bone In Filet, Double Bone Pork Chop and an outrageous 16oz Veal Chop. Don't miss the Crab Cake and the Smoked Gouda & White Truffle Macaroni & Cheese. Noted for it's impeccable world-class service, the finest wines from the USA, Italy & France and a superb Martini and Cocktail menu, Prime has become the locals favorite Steakhouse!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Grinnell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-4000

Website:
http://primekeywest.com/

Parking Details:
Underground pay parking is available in the Conch Harbor Marina lot on Grinnell Street.

Executive Chef:
Kim Quach

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact restaurant for details.

Private Party Contact:
Nicole Earley: 305-293-5123x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Food
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Service
Key West / Florida Keys
5 More
Best Value
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Overall
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Food
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Service
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Value
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

Good for a Date (16)
Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
See All
Romantic (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (7)
Private Room (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Worth the Drive (5)
Cozy (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Waterfront (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Scenic View (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Authentic (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Seasonal (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Organic (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Fireplace (1)
Fun (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
451 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The pork tenderloin was delicious and te ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined 3 days ago

The pork tenderloin was delicious and tender.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second time there in 10 day ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

This was our second time there in 10 day. Everything we have had is very good. Make sure you try the She Crab soup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual an outstanding dining experienc ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

As usual an outstanding dining experience in Key West.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant this is the best pl ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Love this restaurant this is the best place to eat and have dinner with friends or just a loved one!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. On the water. Quiet with ele ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food. On the water. Quiet with elegance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely awsome. Not cheap. But knew t ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Absolutely awsome. Not cheap. But knew that. Great ribeye. Perfectly cooked, Pittsburg rare. Great wine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you so much to the staff of Prime ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Thank you so much to the staff of Prime for a wonderful 50th birthday dinner for my husband! As always, the food was outstanding; from the delicious stone crabs and perfectly cooked steaks to the pumpkin cheesecake and great wine. Thank you, as well, for the menus printed with Happy Birthday! Our group had a fantastic time. Prime is always a destination for us when in Key West. Hope to be back soon!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you want a nice dinning experience ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 23, 2016

When you want a nice dinning experience away from all the same fried fish sandwiches, Prime is a great place. Get all the same ambiance and menu selection of jacket required steakhouse, but in key west. Shorts and Sandals welcomed. Great staff and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This year we decided to travel to Key We ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 23, 2016

This year we decided to travel to Key West, about a 4-hour drive, for the Thanksgiving holiday.

Arriving on Tuesday, I had made reservations at Prime Steakhouse. By all reviews it seemed to be a wise choice – wait for it – it wasn’t wise, it was genius. With outdoor seating, this place was great!

As usual, we started with some cocktails. My partner ordered the Sesame and Pepper Encrusted Tuna Tataki, nicely prepared and seasoned. I had the Jumbo Lump Crab Cake, again a flavorful choice. Following our appetizers, we split a traditional Wedge salad; it was just what you should expect from a good steakhouse. But the best was yet to come.

My partner ordered the NY Strip Steak – charred and medium rare – it was cooked to perfection. The meat was tender, and flavorful – he said it was one of the best he’d ever had. My choice was the 10oz Filet Mignon, cooked the same, and, again, one of the best I have ever eaten. These steaks were perfection!

We ordered 2 sides, Creamed Garlic Spinach, a disappointment – watery and oddly seasoned. And Hash Browns, we ordered them “crispy”, they were perfect - crusty on the outside and creamy on the inside. Outstanding!

A great steakhouse but difficult to find, it’s on the second floor, in the back of the building, but well worth the search.

Our server had a large section with every table seated, but managed to give everyone excellent service. A cheerful hostess promptly seated us upon our arrival.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good but I was expecting mo ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food was good but I was expecting more based on the reviews I read (which was why we chose this restaurant in the first place). The seasoning on the 24 oz. rib eye was very good but did not penetrate deep enough into the meat, perhaps due to it's size. We ordered it medium and were not disappointed. The grouper served Oscar style left something to be desired as it seemed they just grilled the fillet without any seasoning whatsoever; very plain tasting although the crab and hollandaise sauce were quite good.

Our server was very nice, warm, and attentive and the food was served in a reasonable amount of time.

All in all I left feeling disappointed in the overall flavor of the food and resulting value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Simply delicious. I was soooo in the mo ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Simply delicious. I was soooo in the mood for a steak, mashed potatoes and a glass of red wine and it hit the spot! We were seated at the private alcove table which was perfect and quiet. Would highly recommend this restaurant. I can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

From the time you walk in, you are taken ...

 
 (Cornwall)·Dined on November 8, 2016

From the time you walk in, you are taken care of.

Great food, great service and a great atmosphere.

Will definitely be back.

Richard & Lynn.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first trip to Prime and def ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This was our first trip to Prime and definitely not our last! Such a hidden gem in Key West. Will become part of our "must do" list!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wildly overpriced. It must be the corpo ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Wildly overpriced. It must be the corporate crowd with expense accounts supporting this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

the steaks are to die for.. like butter. ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2016

the steaks are to die for.. like butter... i do allot of dinning and had travel lots of places in this planet .. but this steakhouse.. the shrimp bisque delicious, my hubby had the fillet mignon and i had ribeye on the bone.. great for a special occasion, fam dinner. groups.. and they have a small private rooms for special romantic occasion.. i will be back for sure.. next year.. until then key west..

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Casual, Private Room, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience for a milestone birthda ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great experience for a milestone birthday. They made special arrangements for a private dining area....service was outstanding and the food was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was my wife's birthday and she picked ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on October 21, 2016

It was my wife's birthday and she picked Prime because she wanted a good steak. They delivered.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent top quality steakhouse with se ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Excellent top quality steakhouse with seafood. Good Service. Better than many high end Las Vegas restaurants.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I both enjoyed a filet @ Pri ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 9, 2016

My wife and I both enjoyed a filet @ Prime 951. Steaks were cooked to perfection and tasted great. I started with the she-crab soup that was great as well. Service was outstanding. This was a great meal and location to wrap our vacation up.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional service, staff was wonderful ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Exceptional service, staff was wonderful, food was very good. Loved the appetizers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We could not have picked a finer place t ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We could not have picked a finer place to celebrate my husband's 75th Birthday. He was immediately greeted with a Happy Birthday and we were shown to a private room overlooking the rest of the restaurant. Anka our server was the most attentive young lady we have ever had in all our years of fine dining. The menu had Happy Birthday printed on it and the dessert plate was decorated in chocolate with Happy 75th Birthday. The food was excellent and the service was over the top. We would highly recommend Prime!!!!!! Thank you Anka for making our night such a special one.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've reviewed Prime before, and I feel i ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on September 28, 2016

I've reviewed Prime before, and I feel it only gets better. Loved the special 1/2 price apps, lots to choose from, all well prepared. Seems like there may be new management? The wine list

is markedly improved. Looking forward to next visit.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great staff. Would take her ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food. Great staff. Would take her again for our anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined here for our 25th Wedding Anniv ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 20, 2016

We dined here for our 25th Wedding Anniversary. We were treated like royalty from the second we walked in the door. They led us to a very private room with a beautiful bouquet of roses (that I had ordered earlier in the day) setting as the centerpiece of our table. They went all out to make sure that we had a great experience for our special day. Would highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent rib eye. NY Strip not as good. ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent rib eye. NY Strip not as good. Pricey but overall great restaurant, service excellent, quiet decor

Tags: Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. Very expensive b ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food and service. Very expensive but worth it for the food. Best in key west.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great experience. Top quality metas. Fr ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great experience. Top quality metas. Friendly treat, prompt service. It is kind of hidden but well worth to find it. Best steak house in Key West.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, great friendly service very ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great place, great friendly service very helpful food was exceptional

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Private Room, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food service as always. Never let ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great food service as always. Never lets me down. Michael, our server was tremendous. See ya next trip

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and service

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Awesome food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

High-end Steakhouse where service and th ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on July 21, 2016

High-end Steakhouse where service and the Filet was on par with NYC, but with perfect local Key West casual dress. If you are in the mood for some great eating and fantastic service in Key West, where you don't even have to lose your flip-flops, but your waiters are in black, this gem is tucked away right off the marina, close to bars, but it's like walking into another world, more intimate and romantic. We will go again.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best steak on the island. The bone-in f ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Best steak on the island. The bone-in filet is divine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everyone was great and it was very nice ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everyone was great and it was very nice set up, Thanks for lovely evening

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The best spot in Key West for a steak, a ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on July 10, 2016

The best spot in Key West for a steak, always good food, very good service, nice cold martinis, I had pork tenderloin for a change and it was very good. Mac and cheese is delicious. Pricey but for the best steak in town its worth it just can't afford it every night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

I love Prime for the fish and crab. My h ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on July 10, 2016

I love Prime for the fish and crab. My husband and friends love the steak. Great service and delightful food. Our go to place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always we were very pleased with our ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 8, 2016

As always we were very pleased with our service from the moment we walked in the door. Awesome place to celebrate with family and friends. Best crab cake in Key West...hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Definitely the best steak in Key West an ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Definitely the best steak in Key West and perhaps all of the Keys. Oysters Rockefeller was excellent as well. Great decor and location make this a top choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I love this restaurant and have eaten he ...

vip
 (Key West)·Dined on July 1, 2016

I love this restaurant and have eaten here numerous times. When I have dined alone I prefer to sit at the bar. The change I would suggest is that the restaurant get some comfortable bar stools.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience.!!! We were there for m ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 13, 2016

Great experience.!!! We were there for my 55 Birthday!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently excellent food and service!

 
 (Key West)·Dined on June 6, 2016

We've been here often as it is a favorite of ours. Best steakhouse in Key West! Wine list is terrific. Service is top notch. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.