About Prime Steakhouse

951 Caroline Street
Key West, FL 33040
View Larger Map

Prime Steakhouse offers the finest steaks in the Florida Keys! Whether a 24oz Bone in Rib Eye or a succulent Filet, grilled to perfection, Prime is the best kept secret in Key West. Tucked away in the Conch Harbor Marina above Dante's, settle into our intimate dining room and let our servers take care of the rest. In addition to fabulous steaks, Prime serves Fresh Florida Lobster and nightly Seafood and Pasta specials. Nightly specials may also include a 16 oz Bone In Filet, Double Bone Pork Chop and an outrageous 16oz Veal Chop. Don't miss the Crab Cake and the Smoked Gouda & White Truffle Macaroni & Cheese. Noted for it's impeccable world-class service, the finest wines from the USA, Italy & France and a superb Martini and Cocktail menu, Prime has become the locals favorite Steakhouse!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 6:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Grinnell

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(305) 296-4000

Website:
http://primekeywest.com/

Parking Details:
Underground pay parking is available in the Conch Harbor Marina lot on Grinnell Street.

Executive Chef:
Kim Quach

Private Party Facilities:
Please contact restaurant for details.

Private Party Contact:
Nicole Earley: 305-293-5123x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prime Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Food
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Service
Key West / Florida Keys
11 More
Best Ambiance
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Value
Key West / Florida Keys
Romantic
Key West / Florida Keys
Special Occasion
Key West / Florida Keys
Best Overall
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Food
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Service
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Ambiance
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Value
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Romantic
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Special Occasion
Florida Keys - Monroe County
Best Restaurants in Key West ›

special occasion (33)
romantic (22)
notable wine list (17)
See All
fit for foodies (15)
neighborhood gem (11)
good for groups (11)
great for outdoor dining (9)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (5)
great for lunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I've been to Prime over a dozen times on ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

I've been to Prime over a dozen times on several business trips. My customers and I have never been let down. Great steaks served by excellent friendly wait staff. Would definitely recommend Prime...

Tags: special occasion
food1
ambience1
service1

Excellent as always!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Excellent as always!

food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Rib Steak was unevenly cooked.

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

The bone in Rib Steak was unevenly cooked. The outside of the steak was medium rare as I requested, further in the steak was rare. The anchovies for the Caesar Salad were full of bones. These are the kind of Kitchen mistakes I would not expect at a restaurant in this price range.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service. Wine is reasonab ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Great food and service. Wine is reasonably priced. Chocolate cake is wonderful if you have the room. Avoid the creamed spinach.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great steaks

Dined on May 4, 2016

Steak was outstanding. Garlic mashed potatoes were great but Luke warm. Vegetables we OK but I would skip them next time

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place

Dined on April 29, 2016

Great place

food3
ambience4
service3

It was our first time at the prime...the ...

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

It was our first time at the prime...the restaurant was calm and relaxed....the service was fair ...waiter was very slow . We had the 10oz filet...the steak arrived with ala cart sides...my girlfriends order steak medium rare but arrived medium which normally would not be a problem but she said it was very dry...I didn't believe her til I tasted it ...thank God they had braise sauce ...the steak was extremely dry ...very difficult to swallow... unfortunately we didn't say anything cause she didn't...inform me til she ate more 50%...BTW the waiter didn't check on the dinner until we were almost done. He looked like Dave Hasselhoff ...couldn't remember his name... We spent close to 239.00...sometimes it makes you wonder why you would spend this amount of hard earned money for an average dinner ...I wouldn't recommend this ...yaaaaaaaaaa I read the reviews but still decide to have a special dinner for my Anna's birthday....WHAT A MAJOR DISAPOINTMENT...probably the hot dog vendor close to Sloppy Joe's was more appetizing....

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food & Service

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

The server was wonderful & I had a bone in filet that was incredible! My wife had a Caesar Salad & some kind of capricious roast beef & tomatoes. Our Freinds had a Yellow Tail special. Everything was great, the bread was warm right out of the oven, the place isn't cheap but your not going to find any bargains in Key West that are worth going to. All in all we would go back in a minute!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4

A little pricy but very good (wish the s ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

A little pricy but very good (wish the steaks had come with a side or two, rather than having to buy separately). Filet was cooked perfectly. Featured "twix" cheesecake was fabulous!

food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Price does not match the food

Dined on April 2, 2016

I have been to Prime on many occasions. Overall the service is always superb, however the food has dropped in quality. Not sure if they have a new chef or just lack of oversight. The cost of dinning at prime does not match the food. My pork tenderloin was very dry and overcooked. The other three individuals each had steaks and I was not impressed. Prime, I have no issues with paying 50 dollars for a plate, but it better meet the standards. As someone who cooks I feel that the sides and plates lacked care and attention that a chef would want leaving a kitchen. Prime's cost and lack of care in the dish has me recommending visiting people to Key west somewhere else, possible Latitudes. Don't waste your money on plates/dishes were quality does not match the price. R/

food5
ambience4
service5

Ribeye great

Dined on March 31, 2016

Ribeye great

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

Dined on March 27, 2016

Amazing carpaccio, and bone in filet! Will be coming back more often!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5

Amazing food and service in a convenient ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Amazing food and service in a convenient location next to the marina.

food5
ambience5
service4

Great find on the island. Classic steakh ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Great find on the island. Classic steakhouse feel great wine and steak. Escargot was great more than enough

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bone in filet was nothing short of perfe ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Bone in filet was nothing short of perfect. Stone crab was cracked so it made it easier to partake. While the crab was served cold, the butter would have been tastier had it been warmed. Awesome dinner!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best steakhouse In key west

Dined on March 3, 2016

Steaks are simply amazing! We had the bone in fiber a day the filet minion, both were excellent! And try the handout french fries.. best we ever had. Homemade key lime pie was a real treat.. better than Kermit pie guy pies. A bit hard to find but we'll worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Service was fantastic. Expected Prime cu ...

vip
Dined on February 29, 2016

Service was fantastic. Expected Prime cuts given the name. Sides need improvement

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Bob

Dined on February 27, 2016

Very good but too much food & pricey. Reduce the servings & lower the price.

food5
ambience4
service5

A little difficult to find but was worth ...

vip
Dined on February 25, 2016

A little difficult to find but was worth the search to get there.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Good food but too pricey

Dined on February 20, 2016

Prime is a very nice date night restaurant, the service is wonderful and the food was very good. I do think it is quite overpriced, they charge $50+ for a steak with no sides. That's just ridiculous. However the steak was very good, the bartender doesn't skimp on the alcohol, and we took home a piece of their cheesecake that was amazing! For those reasons I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is always great every time I ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

This place is always great every time I go definitely recommend

food5
ambience5
service5

Best steak in town hands down. Always de ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Best steak in town hands down. Always delicious and service is wonderful.

food3
ambience4
service5

Great service. Steaks were fantastic. Lo ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Great service. Steaks were fantastic. Lobster was over done and sides were only OK. But the steaks... Would definitely go back.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great steaks

Dined on February 3, 2016

While the prime meats are always excellent, the other items on the menu occasionally miss the mark. Overall it is a good restaurant especially for meat lovers.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great wine & great service

Dined on January 31, 2016

Great food, great portions, great wine & Great service. The prime rib is to die for. My wife and I have already recommended Prime several times to people that we met at the Casa Marina that were looking for dinner recommendations.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
Dined on January 26, 2016

We went here to celebrate a birthday and enjoyed everything. We started with drinks with our appetizers followed my wine with our entrees. Being in Key West among many good restaurants Prime stands out as having the finest steaks and freshest seafood every time We have dined here at 10 times and have never had a bad meal. Highly recommend any time you want great beef.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

Missing on all cylinders

Dined on January 25, 2016

I have had great meals at Prime in the past, but this visit was just bad! Our server was obviously inexperienced, never remembering a single diners selection (4 diners), and therefore constantly sitting the wrong item in front of the wrong person. Then there was the food. I had the Tuna tatake which was not bad, but not great either. The entree's took forever to come out of the kitchen, and when they did finally come out twin lobster tails entree arrived stone cold. Everything on the plate was cold including the drawn butter. Did I complain to the waiter - no, I was hungry and did not want to wait any longer to eat. Did the manager come by the table and ask about the meal - no! At this level of dining I expect better service and management that engages with it's patrons. I live locally in Key West, and it will be a long time before I choose Prime Steakhouse for a meal with friends or guests.

food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Disappointed in the entire dinning experience

Dined on January 22, 2016

Wife's lobster was non eventful for a steak house, my grouper was extremely boring. Good feel in bar and overall restaurant even though it was upstairs in an empty shopping mall

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Restaurant in Key West

Dined on January 5, 2016

We've been coming to Key West for four years and have found Prime Steakhouse to be the best restaurant in town. It has a great drink/wine menu and a variety of dinner options to suite anyone's taste. My husband always orders a steak and I usually order a chicken dish or fish. The food is always hot and delicious and the service outstanding. You get great value for your money and never go away disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Wasn't the best experience.

Dined on December 26, 2015

I was hopeful going, as there were some good reviews, so it's disappointing that I didn't have a great experience. First, I will say that the she crab soup was great!! Beyond that I don't have anything positive to say. I ordered the filet medium well, it came out medium rare. I had it sent back and when it was returned it was barely cooked anymore than when I first received it. If the cook doesn't want to cook it med well they should tell me that ahead of time. The filet was not good and it cost $50! That is crazy! My friend got the NY strip which was cooked right but was very tough, and that costs even more. They are way overpriced for what they offer. The service was ok, I had to wave down the waitress to tell her about the steak not being cooked correctly and she didn't come back until we were already done, never asked how everything was and no apology for the stead not being cooked right. Poor customer service! I will definitely never go back their again.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best Steak in Key West

Dined on December 25, 2015

We werde a üarty of 9. The seating process took to long. But it was rewarded by excellent food. The bone-in Filet was nothing else but world class. Also the regular filet and the bone-in ribeye were perfect in quality and preparation.

Tags: fit for foodies, group bookings, outdoor eating, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Elegant

vip
Dined on December 25, 2015

We had a bit of a rocky start when a group of six with two strollers toting two little kids - without a reservation - arrived moments before we did with our Open Table reservation. We had planned to sit indoors as it's very elegant, but with the group of six with kids being seated before we were, and in the main room, we opted for outdoors. The weather was a bit humid, but overall the outdoor area was very nice, too, except for an over-served group of very shabbily dressed twenty-somethings who dropped the "F" bomb continuously throughout their overly-loud conversation. Our server couldn't have been more attentive, however, and the food, although quite expensive, was very good and the jumbo lump crab cake was one of the two best I've ever had. I'm afraid the bone-in rib eye didn't bowl us over, but it was a substantial piece of meat which - with our leftovers - yielded two meals.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

National Counterdrug Program Manager

Dined on December 24, 2015

I chose Prime for my Christmas dinner because my first experience was very impressive. Knowing what to expect and receiving it twice in a row is proof-positive that I can bring friends and feel confident to recommend Prime as a reliable restaurant. It would be unfortunate to visit Prime only on special occasions but it "feels" like a place you would mark on a calendar when you want to impress or be impressed. The steak, fish, and appetizers are generous and memorable; the crème brulee is perhaps the best in the Florida Keys.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5

Great wait staff Food was over salted ...

vip
Dined on December 22, 2015

Great wait staff Food was over salted and took awhile. Lot of hype.

food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Hidden Gem

Dined on December 20, 2015

Excellent change of pace from the normal Key West fare. The steaks and veal chops are delicious. Location is out of the way and it is expensive but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime steak house was amazing, very impressed

Dined on December 16, 2015

Prime steak was unreal. I had made reservations while my wife and I were in key west. We ate numerous places and prime steak was the best steak house around. I was expecting nice but not that good. Great help and food. Hopefully can make it back some day.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great steak restaurant

Dined on December 14, 2015

fab meal. steak was delicious. staff were polite & friendly. definitely worth a visit

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Beat restaurant in Key West!!!

vip
Dined on December 10, 2015

Beat restaurant in Key West!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

It was our wedding day, just the two of ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

It was our wedding day, just the two of us. When we showed up (about 20 mins early) they had a private room set up for us, bottle of champagne and all. Wait staff was very attractive, but didn't hover. The food was amazing. Highly recommend the pork. Was so happy we chose this place. I can't wait to go back the next time we're in town.

food4
ambience5
service5

Best steak house in Key West!

Dined on December 1, 2015

We were very happily surprised by the quality of the steaks. They were cooked to perfection! Being in the restaurant business myself for 30 years, I am a little leary about ordering steaks when out of town. We had heard good things about this restaurant and thought we would give it a shot. We highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for a great steak in Key West!

Tags: great for outdoor dining

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.