About Prime 47 - Indianapolis

47 S Pennsylvania St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is Indianapolis’s only locally owned & operated Prime Steakhouse. In addition to our wonderful steaks we offer a variety a fresh seafood and an extensive wine list. What really sets Prime 47 apart from other Indy steakhouses is our staff. Our servers work in teams of two to ensure that every guests has the Prime Experience.

Set in the Majestic Building, Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is a site to behold. Built in 1895 for the Indiana Gas Company, this unique building has a lot to offer. From its original tile floors, marble columns and 18-foot windows to view Pennsylvania and Maryland Streets, the atmosphere starts from the ground up.

Prime 47 is one of the few downtown Indianapolis steakhouses that featuring live music nightly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: hours may vary

Cross Street:
Maryland Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 624-0720

Website:
http://prime47.com/

Entertainment:
Prime 47 has live music nightly beginning at 6pm. Our pianist plays a variety of music from the classical jazz to classic rock to current pop hits

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available curb side on Pennsylvania Street for $10 per car

Executive Chef:
Patrick Stark

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for the Prime Time Sunday Brunch!!! For $34.95 you can enjoy an All You Can Eat Buffet, Bottomless Smirnoff Bloody Mary Bar & Bottomless Mimosas. Brunch is offered on Sundays before Colts Home Games.

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us at Prime 47 to celebrate Valentine's Day with your loved one. In addition to our ala carte menu, we will offer a $125 Dinner for Two Menu.

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

No matter what the occasion – a personal gathering or professional event we will take care of every detail to ensure the perfect experience. We hope that you will consider Prime 47 for all of your premier functions.

Prime 47 - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (35)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Romantic (22)
Business Meals (21)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Worth the Drive (11)
Historic (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
People Watching (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Live Music (10)
Fun (10)
Hot Spot (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Private Room (7)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Authentic (5)
Scenic View (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Family Style (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
305 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything about it was great, except th ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything about it was great, except the noise. There were some guys and a girl at the bar who obviously had imbibed too much. It seems the bartender nor the management has a plan to deal with situations like this, where 3 lessen the enjoyment of the other 30 or so who were there then. I'll go back though -- doubt that this occurs much.

Tags: Modern Decor, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Fantastic wagyu beef, and great scotch. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic wagyu beef, and great scotch. Wait staff was attentive and knowledgeable. All aroud great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Not sure if it was intended but we were ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Not sure if it was intended but we were the only black family there. (Mom, daughter granddaughter) were seated in the back, and no, I do mean no one was seated near us. This made our special occasion sad. I've asked for a manager to call but they have not yet... Plus the waiter put an incorrect charge on our bill. These people are professionals, these things should not have happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value1

Prime 47 always pleases. It is set apar ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Prime 47 always pleases. It is set apart from other "steak places" in Indy due to more creative beef (Japanese) that melts in your mouth. The calamari and shrimp appetizer is almost a meal in itself. Calamari is not fried like so many places are, and it is colorful and spicy. Recommend it highly. Overall, noise level on a busy day is a bit excessive, but very vibrant. It is pricey, but worth it.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The staff was friendly, helpful, and att ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 2, 2017

The staff was friendly, helpful, and attentative. The food was delicious and served quickly. The sides are designed for sharing and more than serve two!

Wonderful way to spend a date night!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Live Music, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I typically dine here before Pacers game ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I typically dine here before Pacers games since it is conveniently located 1 block from the Field House. Their valet parking makes it simple to get in and out of the downtown area. Always great steaks, and don't forget the scallop appetizer! They had a live piano player to add ambiance to the restaurant, which was great.

Don't forget the "after the game" celebration cocktail if you don't have to be home early ;-)

Tags: Historic, Special Occasion, Live Music, People Watching, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, good service and the bar ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was great, good service and the bar area was fun afterwards!!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We LOVE Prime 47! We had a wonderful din ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We LOVE Prime 47! We had a wonderful dinner on New Year's Eve. Excellent service from Bradford and team. The sea bass is always outstanding and you can't go wrong with any of their desserts. Good wine and good times. :)

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Refined night out. An elegant, fine din ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Refined night out. An elegant, fine dining experience. We used valet parking. The valet was outstanding, very friendly. We had a reservation and received a warm greeting by three hostesses, one of whom walked us to our table. Our Wait-team was outstanding, among the best in town. They were very knowledgeable of the food and wines. The pace of ordering our meal and receiving it was perfect. We had the Shrimp Cocktail, which was absolutely fabulous and breathtaking (literally, quite a spicy version - you are forewarned). The texture and taste of the shrimp and the cocktail sauce are second only to St. Elmo's. Next was the main course, Filet Mignon, medium well. It was seasoned very well. We got the mashed potatoes and their was all you could eat garlic bread. Just heavenly. Perfect! The finale was the chocolate cake. A multilayer dark chocolate cake with a fudge icing. We got some coffee to accompany our dessert. What a wonderful meal to welcome the new year. Thanks Prime 47. We will be back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

One of the best New Year's Eve dinners! ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

One of the best New Year's Eve dinners! They had a wonderful option for "a couple's menu" that provided great choices at a good value. I decided to stay with our favorites that included the sea bass! Just try it! We were unsure of a wine selection and our waitress was very helpful in finding the right one for us. If you need a sure fire restaurant that is consistent and delicious every time you need to look no further. Prime 47 is a perfect 10!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great post Pacers game dinner

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

A great post Pacers game dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An extremely well-run restaurant. Locat ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

An extremely well-run restaurant. Located in an early-1900s building, the setting is genteel and comfortable, but pretty energetic on the Friday night we were there. This is not a place for a quiet, romantic conversation. Wait staff works in teams and is awesome. Steaks are all prime cuts, and cooked to perfection. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent!! In every aspect. Molly mak ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent!! In every aspect. Molly makes a great Vesper!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating a birthday and the r ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and the restaurant personalized keepsake menus for us, it really was a nice touch. The food was spectacular, the service was attentive. I'm already planning a return trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I brought our sons for their ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My wife and I brought our sons for their first "fancy" dinner out. The food was wonderful, and the service was spot on. Kevin and Justin did an excellent job of making the family feel welcome, while maintaining the professionalism that one would expect at such a restaurant. We had a great time. I recommend the wild boar.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went to Prime 47 with my wife one random ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Went to Prime 47 with my wife one random Monday night. We opted to valet and had the whole experience. Our bill was right at $500 without tip between the two of us. The lobster that comes with Lisa’s Seafood Platter was bland at best. The crab cakes and scallops were wonderful and I would recommend ordering them separately from the platter. I had the Wagyu Tomahawk and my wife had the Wagyu filet. Both were decent but not worth anywhere near the amount of money we paid. I've had better steak elsewhere for much cheaper that wasn't Wagyu. The truffle mashed potatoes were good. The twice baked potato was not very good. My wife enjoyed the mushrooms.

TL;DR - If you have a bunch of money you don't mind spending it you will have an average dining experience at Prime 47. If you are looking for value, I would go elsewhere as there are many other better steakhouses in Indy for much cheaper.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

The location to several hotels in downto ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The location to several hotels in downtown Indianapolis, the apparent safe environment and cleanliness of the area, and the outstanding meal and service at Prime 47, makes this a special place to locals and visitors to the area. Highly recommended for quality and service.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Filet ... meh. It was okay. Horrible val ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Filet ... meh. It was okay. Horrible value though. There's so many better steakhouses in downtown. Been here twice with same results. Do NOT recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We normally tailgate before the Colts ga ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We normally tailgate before the Colts games but it was going to be very cold so we tried something different. There was a great selection of food including the omelet station. They changed out the selection of food part way through, which is unusual at a brunch but offered great options. The Bloody Mary Bar has numerous ways to garnish and spice up your Bloody Mary.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They were great (servers, servers' assis ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

They were great (servers, servers' assistants, managers, owner). They went above and BEYOND for my requests for a birthday, and it made one heck of an evening. The whole staff took service to a new level.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice meal.Best truffle fries I eve ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very nice meal.Best truffle fries I ever had.Fish was cooked to perfection. Would recommend. Pricey but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was pheonomenal and our server was ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Food was pheonomenal and our server was great. We loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time dining at Prime 47 ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 4, 2016

It was our first time dining at Prime 47 but not our last time. Great food and fabulous service!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Other than being very noisy it was a ter ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Other than being very noisy it was a terrific restaurant. The food was wonderful and the building is lovely.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Love the old historic gas building. Gre ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Love the old historic gas building. Great service and my steak was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was sooo impressed with my personalize ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I was sooo impressed with my personalized "70th birthday " menu! Totally thoughtful! 💕

Our service was prompt and our server was very nice! She showed our choices of steaks & was very informed regarding wine selections!

Our Caesar salads were tasty, steaks were perfect, twice baked potato was delicious but our cream corn was on the cold side as was the cream spinach. All sides were shared by 3 adults. Wish we had a bit more bread & butter.

We ordered a "handsome Eric" to share for dessert. It arrived with a candle of my birthday.

Nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent dry-aged ribeye was cooked to ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent dry-aged ribeye was cooked to perfection. Lamb lollipops are terrific as well. Other guests reported that the seafood was very good as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely wonderful! Brunch was delicio ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! Brunch was delicious and we were always well taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to visit and experience. Pe ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great place to visit and experience. Perfect downtown Indy location.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Historic, Scenic View, Fun, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. The NY Sirloin was the b ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was great. The NY Sirloin was the best I have ever had. Devi e was good and ambiance was energetic and great view of the city. There was a musty odor though that was tough to take at times. Need to fix that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent steak house!! We had dinner on ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent steak house!! We had dinner on our way to a concert and couldn't have made a better choice. Valet the car, have dinner, and leave you car with the valet until after the concert. Made the evening perfect !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good, staff very atten ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was very good, staff very attentive to our needs (cleaning away plates, refilling water,) etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent, service was fast and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was excellent, service was fast and nice atmosphere. Highly recommend. Only negative, is slightly pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best food and service in Ind ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Some of the best food and service in Indianapolis. They bring out cuts of their meat and walk you through it before the meal, and your waiter has an entire support staff who make you feel completely taken care of. The boar was pretty tough to chew, so I couldn't get through most of it, but the sides and appetizers were delicious. Highly recommend the sriracha mac and cheese and calamari dishes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service as usual. All of the ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic service as usual. All of the staff was very attentive to our requests. The seafood was excellent and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very convenient spot for a special meal ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very convenient spot for a special meal before a game at Banker's Life.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great staff and food.

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great staff and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and service as usual. Can't ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and service as usual. Can't go wrong selecting this place for fine dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a good experience. A+ server. Incre ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Such a good experience. A+ server. Incredible food!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.