About Prime 47 - Indianapolis

47 S Pennsylvania St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is Indianapolis’s only locally owned & operated Prime Steakhouse. In addition to our wonderful steaks we offer a variety a fresh seafood and an extensive wine list. What really sets Prime 47 apart from other Indy steakhouses is our staff. Our servers work in teams of two to ensure that every guests has the Prime Experience.

Set in the Majestic Building, Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is a site to behold. Built in 1895 for the Indiana Gas Company, this unique building has a lot to offer. From its original tile floors, marble columns and 18-foot windows to view Pennsylvania and Maryland Streets, the atmosphere starts from the ground up.

Prime 47 is one of the few downtown Indianapolis steakhouses that featuring live music nightly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: hours may vary

Cross Street:
Maryland Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 624-0720

Website:
http://prime47.com/

Entertainment:
Prime 47 has live music nightly beginning at 6pm. Our pianist plays a variety of music from the classical jazz to classic rock to current pop hits

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available curb side on Pennsylvania Street for $10 per car

Executive Chef:
Patrick Stark

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for the Prime Time Sunday Brunch!!! For $34.95 you can enjoy an All You Can Eat Buffet, Bottomless Smirnoff Bloody Mary Bar & Bottomless Mimosas. Brunch is offered on Sundays before Colts Home Games.

Restaurant Photos

  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN
Prime 47 - Indianapolis, Indianapolis, IN

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

No matter what the occasion – a personal gathering or professional event we will take care of every detail to ensure the perfect experience. We hope that you will consider Prime 47 for all of your premier functions.

Prime 47 - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (23)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Business Meals (22)
Worth the Drive (19)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (12)
Live Music (11)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Historic (9)
Hot Spot (8)
People Watching (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (7)
Cozy (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Scenic View (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Authentic (4)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Waterfront (1)
Healthy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vegan (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
281 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Other than being very noisy it was a ter ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Other than being very noisy it was a terrific restaurant. The food was wonderful and the building is lovely.

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value2

Love the old historic gas building. Gre ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Love the old historic gas building. Great service and my steak was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I was sooo impressed with my personalize ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I was sooo impressed with my personalized "70th birthday " menu! Totally thoughtful! 💕

Our service was prompt and our server was very nice! She showed our choices of steaks & was very informed regarding wine selections!

Our Caesar salads were tasty, steaks were perfect, twice baked potato was delicious but our cream corn was on the cold side as was the cream spinach. All sides were shared by 3 adults. Wish we had a bit more bread & butter.

We ordered a "handsome Eric" to share for dessert. It arrived with a candle of my birthday.

Nice dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent dry-aged ribeye was cooked to ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent dry-aged ribeye was cooked to perfection. Lamb lollipops are terrific as well. Other guests reported that the seafood was very good as well.

Tags: Business Meals, Live Music, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely wonderful! Brunch was delicio ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Absolutely wonderful! Brunch was delicious and we were always well taken care of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to visit and experience. Pe ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great place to visit and experience. Perfect downtown Indy location.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Romantic, Historic, Scenic View, Fun, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. The NY Sirloin was the b ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Food was great. The NY Sirloin was the best I have ever had. Devi e was good and ambiance was energetic and great view of the city. There was a musty odor though that was tough to take at times. Need to fix that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent steak house!! We had dinner on ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Excellent steak house!! We had dinner on our way to a concert and couldn't have made a better choice. Valet the car, have dinner, and leave you car with the valet until after the concert. Made the evening perfect !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good, staff very atten ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was very good, staff very attentive to our needs (cleaning away plates, refilling water,) etc.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent, service was fast and ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was excellent, service was fast and nice atmosphere. Highly recommend. Only negative, is slightly pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Some of the best food and service in Ind ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Some of the best food and service in Indianapolis. They bring out cuts of their meat and walk you through it before the meal, and your waiter has an entire support staff who make you feel completely taken care of. The boar was pretty tough to chew, so I couldn't get through most of it, but the sides and appetizers were delicious. Highly recommend the sriracha mac and cheese and calamari dishes.

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Seasonal, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service as usual. All of the ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Fantastic service as usual. All of the staff was very attentive to our requests. The seafood was excellent and fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very convenient spot for a special meal ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Very convenient spot for a special meal before a game at Banker's Life.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great staff and food.

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great staff and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Great food and service as usual. Can't ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great food and service as usual. Can't go wrong selecting this place for fine dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Such a good experience. A+ server. Incre ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Such a good experience. A+ server. Incredible food!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyed a dining experience with three o ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Enjoyed a dining experience with three other colleague's. Found this excellent dining establishment on open table, where it had 4 and 5 star reviews on yelp. The location is convenient and in walking distance from the major hotels and convention center. The greeting by the hostess, very pleasant and acknowledged our reservation and seated promptly.

The menus are simple, but descriptive, the wait staff timely and attentive, no sooner are you done with a starter and the busperson is there to clear your setting and refresh utensils for your entree.

The food presented well, and tasted marvelous and be sure to order a side of the lobster man and cheese.

Only drawback is with the high ceilings and piano player, there is an echo which makes it difficult to have a conversation.

You will not be disappointed if you select this as a dining venue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and awesome food!

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great service and awesome food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A very special night for my stepdad and ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

A very special night for my stepdad and what a way to celebrate. Prime 47 made a special menu that said "Happy Birthday" and acknowledged the birthday boy. We even had a special dessert surprise with candle for the final evening celebration. Very special and thoughtful!! The food was fantastic and so was the service. We chose Prime 47 over other steakhouses because of our last experience (without my parents). I truly love the atmosphere and customer service at Prime 47 and the food is just the icing on the cake (so to speak)...so amazing! Thank you PRIME 47 for making our night so special and personal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, good food but expensi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent service, good food but expensive. Lobster bisque was amazing! Went for our anniversary and they took our picture and gave it to us framed, personalized our menus, and complimentary desert! Server was very knowledgeable not just about the food but the city in general, highly recommended for special occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic! Wonderful service.

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fantastic! Wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The servers are personable, professional ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The servers are personable, professional, and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Amazing service. Stakes perfectly done. ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Amazing service. Stakes perfectly done. Not sure about the 'Lobster Mac and Cheese' without the lobster. However an awesome experience and wonderful food and service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Historic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Was visiting Indianapolis for my husband ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Was visiting Indianapolis for my husbands birthday and was looking for a good restaurant to celebrate. They have an extensive wine list so we reserved a table. I'm so glad we did it was one of our top five meals. The waiters were excellent they pride them selfs on the leisurely dinning experience something that is hard to find in the states. We both ordered seafood, crab cakes for starters, Scottish Salmon and Charred Scallops for entree, all were cooked to perfection. The bar even made us a custom after dinner coffee.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic night. Great food and ambience

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Fantastic night. Great food and ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time that I have eat ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This was the second time that I have eaten at Prime 47. The quality of the steaks were excellent and the sides were outstanding. All parties at the table enjoyed the meal. My steak was prepared perfectly (12 oz. fillet, Med Rare) the first time I was with you. However this time the steak was over done (clearly medium) robbing it of some of its flavor. Were it not for that I would have rated the experience as excellent.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service! Price a little h ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Great food and service! Price a little high for Indianapolis.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brunch buffet choices are limited and bu ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Brunch buffet choices are limited and buffet location is far removed from upstairs seating area. Beautiful historic building. Better choice for dinner rather than brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I was disappointed in the lack of variet ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

I was disappointed in the lack of variety for the brunch. I thought because of Prime 47's gourmet dinner menu, the brunch would have been more special and have more lunch entrees.

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Hey I got 100 points again for a 1000 po ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Hey I got 100 points again for a 1000 point reservation! Thanks open table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Got the KC ribeye which was tough, exces ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Got the KC ribeye which was tough, excessively fatty, and not worth the $66. Applebee's steak tasted better than that

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Prime47 a most memorable experience for ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Prime47 a most memorable experience for our anniversary.

The attention to detail from the moment we pulled up, until the delivery of the check.

They went above and beyond to ensure our evening was perfect. From the kind and engaging servers, to the hostess taking our picture and returning it to us in a frame.

My wife just had to share the whole evenings experiences on Facebook.

Prime47 will always be a TOP choice for Fine Quality Dining Excellence!!

Thank you guys again for a wonderful showing!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Open Kitchen, Business Meals, Live Music, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Casual, Organic, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent steak! The menu was extensive. ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Excellent steak! The menu was extensive. Great side dishes. Realize that it is expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Atmosphere was fantastic. Love the old b ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Atmosphere was fantastic. Love the old building it resides in and floor to ceiling Windows. Had the demonico Ribeye and my wife the Seabass. Both great. Tuna Poke app was very good and prepared great. Service was spot on. Got seated next to 500 winner Rossi which was cool as well. Will be heading back often for Pacer Season

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Really disappointing that one of the few ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Really disappointing that one of the few local steakhouses was such a bad experience. My ribeye steak was inedible -- I ate less than half of it (although they took it off the bill). The filet mignon was much better, but still a little dry. The best part of the meal was the truffle mashed potatoes. The dining room looked like an old bank, and it was just about as appetizing as one, too. The best part of the meal (aside from the live piano player) was the reasonable price on my whiskey, although I did notice that some bottles were very expensive while others were good values.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

A delicious meal, great service, and gre ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 24, 2016

A delicious meal, great service, and great atmosphere

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our anniversary along with ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary along with friends of ours who were also celebrating their anniversary and a birthday. The hostess and wait staff went above and beyond to make it a memorable experience. As always, the food was fantastic. This is by far one of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant with great service ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent restaurant with great service and accommodating to our special requests. Will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime 47 has become our favorite steak s ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Prime 47 has become our favorite steak spot in Indy! Great service, excellent food, and the energetic view of the city's streets has pushed this restaurant above Harry and Izzy's and St. Elmo's. It's now our go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent everything we enjoyed the conv ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent everything we enjoyed the conversation food and decor

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.