About Prime 47 - Indianapolis

47 S Pennsylvania St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Prime 47 is a locally owned & operated steakhouse known for its USDA Prime Steaks, exquisite cuisine and outstanding service. Enjoy the ambiance of our beautiful & historic restaurant while our staff becomes your staff, dedicated to providing a truly personalized dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: hours may vary

Cross Street:
Maryland Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 624-0720

Website:
http://prime47.com/

Entertainment:
Prime 47 has live music nightly beginning at 6pm. Our pianist plays a variety of music from the classical jazz to classic rock to current pop hits

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available curb side on Pennsylvania Street for $10 per car

Executive Chef:
Patrick Stark

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

No matter what the occasion – a personal gathering or professional event we will take care of every detail to ensure the perfect experience. We hope that you will consider Prime 47 for all of your premier functions.

Prime 47 - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steak
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (49)
romantic (28)
good for groups (26)
See All
notable wine list (25)
fit for foodies (19)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (9)
neighborhood gem (8)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (5)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I was very disappointed in both the serv ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

I was very disappointed in both the service and the food. Provided the cost of the offerings on the menu, I would expect the chefs to be able to prepare the meal to perfection. Unfortunately, my simple selection of chicken parm was significantly overcooked, to the point of not being chewable. There were two servers for our group of 5 - one server was attentive and responsive to requests; however, the second server was extremely haughty and did not listen to simple requests or instructions from me. Given that I had included a note in my reservations that I was dining with very important clients and was hoping for an excellent experience, coupled with the fact that I was the individual responsible for paying the bill, I would have expected at least a response to my requests or instructions. Very disappointed and will not be returning.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

$60 for a "fair" steak. Way over priced ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

$60 for a "fair" steak. Way over priced. Good service.

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Date Night

Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice athmosphere for date night. Love the Piano player and had a great wine list. Neal was our waiter and he did a great job.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic Meal and Service

Dined on June 3, 2016

Went for an anniversary dinner and we arrived to menus that said "Happy Anniversary" on the top. Service was great and the meal was amazing. Maybe the best steakhouse experience we've had in Indy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

The shrimp cocktail is just a little bit ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The shrimp cocktail is just a little bit milder than St Elmo's but it will still light you up. Calamari was excellent. Filet Mignon - all you need is 8oz, don't be greedy.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waygu rules!!

Dined on May 22, 2016

Loved the place! Went there after Indy qualifying races. The Japanese Waygu beef is fantastic! It's expensive, but it's expensive everywhere. It was outstanding quality and melts in your mouth! The rest of the meal was terrific too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Last minute reservation with friends (be ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Last minute reservation with friends (because "the other" steakhouses were booked). This place was delicious! My filet was one of the best I've ever had!

food5
ambience5
service5

This was probably the best dining experi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

This was probably the best dining experience we have had in downtown Indy in quite some time. The flavor of each dish was phenomenal. We had the calamari, lobster mac n cheese, and each had the 12oz filets with different enhancements (creamy-spicy crab and brandy peppercorn sauce) that were both equally as enjoyable. We finished off dinner with a delicious half baked cookie with ice cream - will definitely be back!

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Very nice restaurant with great food. It ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Very nice restaurant with great food. It's in a great location in downtown Indy. All of the staff was friendly and cordial. The only complaint that I would have was there was a rather musty smell upon entering the restaurant. Perhaps it is because Prime 47 is located in an older historic building. Nonetheless we would dine there again. Good place!

Tags: romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great steak

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Great steak

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Excellent Food

Dined on May 7, 2016

While very expensive, the food portions, quality, and service made it worth it. The food was absolutely excellent. Biggest thing I want to note is be aware of how huge the sides are. I assumed the sides would be very small so each I, my mother and father ordered a side. The sides are sized as though to be shared. Consequently we had quite the feast in front of us when food was served. Food was served very quickly too.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Too early or off night

Dined on May 6, 2016

While our waiter's were both good, the bread was stale and cold my wife's filet was cold, we sent it back they brought it back less cold at best. The asparagus looked great but was terribly over seasoned. On the up side my scallops and risotto along with the twice baked was very good.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Family night out

Dined on May 2, 2016

Eatung mt left over as I write this review Had the ribeye and its still tender very well season

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Basically, the 12oz filet is as good as ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Basically, the 12oz filet is as good as it gets. Anywhere. Period.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wonderful Expirence

Dined on April 23, 2016

We choose Prime 47 to celebrate our annivesary, and we would highly recommend this restaurant. They customized our expirence and went over and beyond to make the night even more special. Thank you, Prime 47!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful melt-in-your-mouth steaks. Gre ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful melt-in-your-mouth steaks. Great service. A little noisy. We were a group so no issue for us but tricky if looking for intimacy. Overall wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

AMAZING!!!!!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a couple of drinks at the bar - great Old Fashion! We then ate dinner - Filets, sides, and Wine. The wine list was amazing and it was hard to narrow it down! The food was cooked to perfection - melt in your mouth filet. We will be back again for sure. I highly recommend this restaurant if you want great tasting food and a variety of options. The must do place for any special occasion or date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing place! Food was tops and servic ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing place! Food was tops and service is something they definitely understand. This was a top dining experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Experience

Dined on April 22, 2016

Service, Menu selection and Food quality was all top notch. Great restaurant. Parts of the restaurant can be a tad noisy but overall was great.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service1

Steaks okay but not close to expectation ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Steaks okay but not close to expectations for the cost and their self proclamations. Waiter was very arrogant! Nice environment but very noisy. Couldn't hear across the table which was a negative for our business dinner (round table of 8). 8 people, $1,150, disappointing. .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A 30th Birthday

Dined on April 19, 2016

We chose Prime 47 for its incredibly high level of service and incredible menu. My three friends are from Great Britain and all work for the same company, and with all of their travels they have chosen Prime as their number one spot in the US. It was one of the three's 30th bday, and were promptly seated upon arrival at a "Prime" table, even though I don't think I saw a poorly situated table anywhere. Prime 47 also gave us a personalized menu with a birthday salutation printed right on top! I really think a "6th Star" rating should be applicable for Prime! Cheers to them!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Way to Celebrate

Dined on April 16, 2016

Prime 47 was a great way to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. The food was awesome and our server Armondo exceptional as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak were fabulous. Will be going b ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The steak were fabulous. Will be going back. Top notch restaurant. Much better ambiance and food than Elmo's !

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My New Go-to Steak Place in Indy

Dined on April 11, 2016

Indianapolis has a plethora of steak restaurant options, and I've had the chance to sample many of them. Prime 47 gets the checkered flag in my book. The rich 1920's ambiance makes it feel like a steakhouse, the service was attentive yet professional, and the memory of my ribeye steak still makes my mouth water. Our waiter recommended I order one level more done than usual, so I went with medium. What a great tip - the steak was tender, oozing juicy, rich flavor with every bite. I'm not a dessert guy, but my guests are and they raved about their choices: a plate size chocolate chip cookie with vanilla ice cream and a new menu addition: an espresso, peanut butter bread pudding. Prime 47 should definitely be on your dinner list the next time you're in town.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place before the Symphony

Dined on April 8, 2016

Prime 47 is just 1 1/2 blocks from the garage entrance of the Indianapolis Symphony. Just a short walk for a great meal. Also, one perk we didn't know about previously. We usually have leftovers (Especially our lobster mac & cheese) from our dinners. Just ask your waiter and they will box the leftovers, put your name on your bag and put it into their cooler to be picked up after your event. Thank you for a great meal and leftovers the next day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoy

Dined on April 1, 2016

We dined at Prime 47 in celebration of my wife's birthday. We found the food to very good, and the service to be outstanding. Our waiter was very attentive, but never hovering. If you haven't been yet, its worth a visit if only for the Lobster Mac & Cheese.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food was amazing.

Dined on March 30, 2016

I had the sirloin medium with grilled asparagus and a baked sweet potatoe. My Date had the ribeye welldone and was not dry.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place for dinner before a Pacers Game!

Dined on March 19, 2016

We have been going here over the past 4 seasons as a ritual before Pacers games - if you want to make tip off, just let them know and they will make sure you do - if not, relax and enjoy the service from teams of 2. Of course great steaks, but awesome scallop appetizer and both the tuna and Chilean sea bass main courses are great. A lot of energy in the restaurant, and with the valet parking, easy access to downtown.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner & Pacer Game

Dined on March 15, 2016

Had reservations at 5:30 and were sat promptly at 5:30. Scott and Damien waited on our table and were great! We would ask for them by name when visiting again. The food was perfect and in large portions. I recommend the Chilean Sea Bass or the Scottish Salmon. Both were incredible! The Jalapeno Au gratin Potatoes were prepared perfectly and the Cream Spinach couldn't have been better! I would highly recommend Prime 47 to anyone. It is on the pricey side, but I don't put a price on a good time, good food and good service! Thanks Scott and Damien! My son and I had a great time!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic !!

Dined on March 13, 2016

Everything was great as usual. The food, the service, the details and the experience !! We had a group of 6 - the server was on top of things. I would choose this one over the other steak house down the street !!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Celebrate Victory or Take Your Mind Off a Loss

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

The old "Mo's Place for Steaks" across from Banker's Life is now Prime 47 but only the name has changed. Good food & service, energetic, and high prices that are ~ equal to other similar places. Combo of steak & sashimi was surprisingly good.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

Overpriced. Underwhelmed.

Dined on March 12, 2016

We went to Prime 47 to celebrate our anniversary. Based on reviews elsewhere, I was expecting a somewhat fancy atmosphere. My husband and I were very dressed up and most everyone else was in jeans and T-shirts. The food was just OK. The cocktail sauce on the shrimp cocktail is ridiculous. Who would enjoy something that strong? My sinuses are clear now, thanks. And why is there so much of it. Who could possibly eat that much cocktail sauce when all you get is four shrimp? Sides and steak were good but overpriced. The steak had a strange texture but it was cooked perfectly. We had a lot of sides left over so I asked for them to go (the server didn't offer) but he never brought them out.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food, Great Service

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful dinner during the B10 basketball tournament. The food and service were top notch. My steak was cooked perfectly. We especially enjoyed the shrimp cocktail and sides of mashed potatoes and the grilled asparagus. However the noise was so loud it was very difficult to have a conversation at the table. The bar area seemed very busy due to St Patrick day celebrations. We will return for the great food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special occasion celebrated with a special meal!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Everyone in our party ordered something different - from sea bass to filet. All was prepared very well. We ordered the mushrooms and truffle fries as sides and they were tremendous! Calamari and ahi tuna appetizers were excellent. Service was great! The table next to us was really loud, but no fault of the restaurant. It did make it difficult to hear our table's conversation. We recommend and we will return again!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Meh

Dined on March 12, 2016

The food was not very good. The steak was okay, but the salad was brown, the baked potato was cold, and the chicken parmasan was burnt.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food, service and atmosphere were am ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

The food, service and atmosphere were amazing! I had the Chilean sea bass, shrimp cocktail appetizer & vegetables. Eric's cookie is the absolute best dessert ever! Thank you for the great experience!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top Notch Food and Service

Dined on March 5, 2016

Not our first time here. We enjoyed a late dinner after an event. Chris and his team provided top notch service, patient despite the late hour. The food was unreal, prepared to perfection. Will most definitely return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lived up to its recommendation.

Dined on March 4, 2016

Everything was more than great! Thank you for adding to a enjoyable evening. Dinner at Prime 47 and then the ISO. Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Exceptional

Dined on February 25, 2016

I have never had such amazing service, and the food was great as well. We will definitely be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Anniversary Celebration

Dined on February 22, 2016

We celebrated our 31st anniversary here. First - the good: The service was excellent from the moment we walked in the door. First the hostess congratulated us on our anniversary. Our waiter brought us menus which had a caption at the top indicating we were celebrating our anniversary. Then another hostess came around took our picture and within a few minutes brought us a framed copy of the picture to take home. Service continued to be excellent throughout the entire meal. Second - the not so great: My husband had a filet that was very dry. I had the braised short-ribs and they were essentially burned on the outside and such a thick crust that it was tough to eat. Lobster bisque was delicious and the Lamb Lollipops were good also. Overall, we couldn't have asked for better service but the food was a letdown. With wine, the bill was over $200 and for that price, I expected a higher quality of food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.