About Prime 47 - Indianapolis

47 S Pennsylvania St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is Indianapolis’s only locally owned & operated Prime Steakhouse. In addition to our wonderful steaks we offer a variety a fresh seafood and an extensive wine list. What really sets Prime 47 apart from other Indy steakhouses is our staff. Our servers work in teams of two to ensure that every guests has the Prime Experience.

Set in the Majestic Building, Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is a site to behold. Built in 1895 for the Indiana Gas Company, this unique building has a lot to offer. From its original tile floors, marble columns and 18-foot windows to view Pennsylvania and Maryland Streets, the atmosphere starts from the ground up.

Prime 47 is one of the few downtown Indianapolis steakhouses that featuring live music nightly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: hours may vary

Cross Street:
Maryland Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 624-0720

Website:
http://prime47.com/

Entertainment:
Prime 47 has live music nightly beginning at 6pm. Our pianist plays a variety of music from the classical jazz to classic rock to current pop hits

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available curb side on Pennsylvania Street for $10 per car

Executive Chef:
Patrick Stark

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

No matter what the occasion – a personal gathering or professional event we will take care of every detail to ensure the perfect experience. We hope that you will consider Prime 47 for all of your premier functions.

Prime 47 - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
Steak
Indianapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

special occasion (42)
romantic (25)
notable wine list (24)
See All
good for groups (22)
fit for foodies (16)
hot spot (13)
neighborhood gem (8)
vibrant bar scene (6)
scenic view (5)
late-night find (5)
kid-friendly (2)
great for brunch (2)
great for lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
223 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had a very good dinner with excellent ...

 
 (Raum Hamburg)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a very good dinner with excellent meat and a very attentive service. The recommendations were right on the dot. The wine list is stunning. We'll be back the next time visiting Indianapolis.....

Tags: hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I tend to be on the hunt for the best ov ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 6 days ago

I tend to be on the hunt for the best overall experience... Prime 47 can give you that! The manager stops by the table the piano is playing and the food is well worth the money. Instead of a steak presented with a bunch of pretty colors you get a steak on a plate that is worth every penny you pay instead of a so so with nice presentation.... I will be returning often! P.S. Give any appetizer A shot they are very well stacked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Bradford was incredibly charming and our ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Bradford was incredibly charming and our waiter was helpful and courteous.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time visiting Prime 47 ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was my first time visiting Prime 47 and I must say it definitely won't be my last! The food and service were fantastic. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and we received royal treatment. We received a framed picture of our day, which was such a nice touch to the entire evening. I decided to get the dry-aged bone-in ribeye...it was absolutely amazing...I devoured it. We split the truffle fries (enough for 4 people) which complimented my steak nicely. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his filet as well. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime 47 did an outstanding job of provi ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Prime 47 did an outstanding job of providing top-notch food and service in a tight timeframe so we could make it to a concert! It was delicious and appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both service and food were excellent. L ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Both service and food were excellent. Lobster bisque was the best I've ever had which is saying a lot. Only criticism was that we were seated next to the piano which made it difficult to talk.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Menu choices and food quality and prepar ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Menu choices and food quality and preparation was very good. The calamari/shrimp appetizer was excellent and large enough for six to share. Steaks prepared correctly, very tender, flavorful. Sea bass was excellent.

Service was slow. After our waiter brought our appetizer and showed us the steak tray he disappeared and we had to track him down to place our order. On a very slow Monday night, our food order was 40 minutes in the kitchen before being served. Overall a nice evening - I would go back but would ask for a different waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything was great...hostess was a lit ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Everything was great...hostess was a little bitchy, but the server and the food were excellent!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was a good solid steak house me ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The menu was a good solid steak house menu. Unfortunately the food did not measure up. I specifically asked if tomatoes were ripe and was told yes but they had the flavor of cardboard. The steak was tough and ran over $50. For that price it should have been at least very good, but it was not. Twice baked potato was good. The waiter was very good except for the mislead on the tomato

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

I was very disappointed in both the serv ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I was very disappointed in both the service and the food. Provided the cost of the offerings on the menu, I would expect the chefs to be able to prepare the meal to perfection. Unfortunately, my simple selection of chicken parm was significantly overcooked, to the point of not being chewable. There were two servers for our group of 5 - one server was attentive and responsive to requests; however, the second server was extremely haughty and did not listen to simple requests or instructions from me. Given that I had included a note in my reservations that I was dining with very important clients and was hoping for an excellent experience, coupled with the fact that I was the individual responsible for paying the bill, I would have expected at least a response to my requests or instructions. Very disappointed and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

$60 for a "fair" steak. Way over priced ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

$60 for a "fair" steak. Way over priced. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Great Date Night

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice athmosphere for date night. Love the Piano player and had a great wine list. Neal was our waiter and he did a great job.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic Meal and Service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Went for an anniversary dinner and we arrived to menus that said "Happy Anniversary" on the top. Service was great and the meal was amazing. Maybe the best steakhouse experience we've had in Indy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The shrimp cocktail is just a little bit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The shrimp cocktail is just a little bit milder than St Elmo's but it will still light you up. Calamari was excellent. Filet Mignon - all you need is 8oz, don't be greedy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Waygu rules!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Loved the place! Went there after Indy qualifying races. The Japanese Waygu beef is fantastic! It's expensive, but it's expensive everywhere. It was outstanding quality and melts in your mouth! The rest of the meal was terrific too.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last minute reservation with friends (be ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Last minute reservation with friends (because "the other" steakhouses were booked). This place was delicious! My filet was one of the best I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was probably the best dining experi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was probably the best dining experience we have had in downtown Indy in quite some time. The flavor of each dish was phenomenal. We had the calamari, lobster mac n cheese, and each had the 12oz filets with different enhancements (creamy-spicy crab and brandy peppercorn sauce) that were both equally as enjoyable. We finished off dinner with a delicious half baked cookie with ice cream - will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant with great food. It ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Very nice restaurant with great food. It's in a great location in downtown Indy. All of the staff was friendly and cordial. The only complaint that I would have was there was a rather musty smell upon entering the restaurant. Perhaps it is because Prime 47 is located in an older historic building. Nonetheless we would dine there again. Good place!

Tags: romantic, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great steak

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

While very expensive, the food portions, quality, and service made it worth it. The food was absolutely excellent. Biggest thing I want to note is be aware of how huge the sides are. I assumed the sides would be very small so each I, my mother and father ordered a side. The sides are sized as though to be shared. Consequently we had quite the feast in front of us when food was served.

Food was served very quickly too.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Too early or off night

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

While our waiter's were both good, the bread was stale and cold my wife's filet was cold, we sent it back they brought it back less cold at best. The asparagus looked great but was terribly over seasoned.

On the up side my scallops and risotto along with the twice baked was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Family night out

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Eatung mt left over as I write this review Had the ribeye and its still tender very well season

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Basically, the 12oz filet is as good as ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Basically, the 12oz filet is as good as it gets. Anywhere. Period.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Wonderful Expirence

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We choose Prime 47 to celebrate our annivesary, and we would highly recommend this restaurant. They customized our expirence and went over and beyond to make the night even more special.

Thank you, Prime 47!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful melt-in-your-mouth steaks. Gre ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Wonderful melt-in-your-mouth steaks. Great service. A little noisy. We were a group so no issue for us but tricky if looking for intimacy.

Overall wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

AMAZING!!!!!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We had a couple of drinks at the bar - great Old Fashion! We then ate dinner - Filets, sides, and Wine. The wine list was amazing and it was hard to narrow it down! The food was cooked to perfection - melt in your mouth filet. We will be back again for sure. I highly recommend this restaurant if you want great tasting food and a variety of options. The must do place for any special occasion or date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing place! Food was tops and servic ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Amazing place! Food was tops and service is something they definitely understand. This was a top dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Experience

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Service, Menu selection and Food quality was all top notch. Great restaurant.

Parts of the restaurant can be a tad noisy but overall was great.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks okay but not close to expectation ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Steaks okay but not close to expectations for the cost and their self proclamations. Waiter was very arrogant! Nice environment but very noisy. Couldn't hear across the table which was a negative for our business dinner (round table of 8). 8 people, $1,150, disappointing. .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

A 30th Birthday

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

We chose Prime 47 for its incredibly high level of service and incredible menu. My three friends are from Great Britain and all work for the same company, and with all of their travels they have chosen Prime as their number one spot in the US. It was one of the three's 30th bday, and were promptly seated upon arrival at a "Prime" table, even though I don't think I saw a poorly situated table anywhere. Prime 47 also gave us a personalized menu with a birthday salutation printed right on top! I really think a "6th Star" rating should be applicable for Prime!

Cheers to them!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Way to Celebrate

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Prime 47 was a great way to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. The food was awesome and our server Armondo exceptional as well.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The steak were fabulous. Will be going b ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The steak were fabulous. Will be going back. Top notch restaurant. Much better ambiance and food than Elmo's !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My New Go-to Steak Place in Indy

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

Indianapolis has a plethora of steak restaurant options, and I've had the chance to sample many of them. Prime 47 gets the checkered flag in my book. The rich 1920's ambiance makes it feel like a steakhouse, the service was attentive yet professional, and the memory of my ribeye steak still makes my mouth water. Our waiter recommended I order one level more done than usual, so I went with medium. What a great tip - the steak was tender, oozing juicy, rich flavor with every bite. I'm not a dessert guy, but my guests are and they raved about their choices: a plate size chocolate chip cookie with vanilla ice cream and a new menu addition: an espresso, peanut butter bread pudding. Prime 47 should definitely be on your dinner list the next time you're in town.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place before the Symphony

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Prime 47 is just 1 1/2 blocks from the garage entrance of the Indianapolis Symphony. Just a short walk for a great meal. Also, one perk we didn't know about previously. We usually have leftovers (Especially our lobster mac & cheese) from our dinners. Just ask your waiter and they will box the leftovers, put your name on your bag and put it into their cooler to be picked up after your event. Thank you for a great meal and leftovers the next day.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoy

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

We dined at Prime 47 in celebration of my wife's birthday. We found the food to very good, and the service to be outstanding. Our waiter was very attentive, but never hovering.

If you haven't been yet, its worth a visit if only for the Lobster Mac & Cheese.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was amazing.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

I had the sirloin medium with grilled asparagus and a baked sweet potatoe. My Date had the ribeye welldone and was not dry.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great place for dinner before a Pacers Game!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

We have been going here over the past 4 seasons as a ritual before Pacers games - if you want to make tip off, just let them know and they will make sure you do - if not, relax and enjoy the service from teams of 2. Of course great steaks, but awesome scallop appetizer and both the tuna and Chilean sea bass main courses are great. A lot of energy in the restaurant, and with the valet parking, easy access to downtown.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Dinner & Pacer Game

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 15, 2016

Had reservations at 5:30 and were sat promptly at 5:30. Scott and Damien waited on our table and were great! We would ask for them by name when visiting again. The food was perfect and in large portions. I recommend the Chilean Sea Bass or the Scottish Salmon. Both were incredible! The Jalapeno Au gratin Potatoes were prepared perfectly and the Cream Spinach couldn't have been better! I would highly recommend Prime 47 to anyone. It is on the pricey side, but I don't put a price on a good time, good food and good service! Thanks Scott and Damien! My son and I had a great time!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fantastic !!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Everything was great as usual. The food, the service, the details and the experience !! We had a group of 6 - the server was on top of things. I would choose this one over the other steak house down the street !!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrate Victory or Take Your Mind Off a Loss

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

The old "Mo's Place for Steaks" across from Banker's Life is now Prime 47 but only the name has changed. Good food & service, energetic, and high prices that are ~ equal to other similar places. Combo of steak & sashimi was surprisingly good.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.