About Prime 47 - Indianapolis

47 S Pennsylvania St
Indianapolis, IN 46204
View Larger Map

Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is Indianapolis’s only locally owned & operated Prime Steakhouse. In addition to our wonderful steaks we offer a variety a fresh seafood and an extensive wine list. What really sets Prime 47 apart from other Indy steakhouses is our staff. Our servers work in teams of two to ensure that every guests has the Prime Experience.

Set in the Majestic Building, Prime 47…Indy’s Steakhouse is a site to behold. Built in 1895 for the Indiana Gas Company, this unique building has a lot to offer. From its original tile floors, marble columns and 18-foot windows to view Pennsylvania and Maryland Streets, the atmosphere starts from the ground up.

Prime 47 is one of the few downtown Indianapolis steakhouses that featuring live music nightly.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: hours may vary

Cross Street:
Maryland Street

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 624-0720

Website:
http://prime47.com/

Entertainment:
Prime 47 has live music nightly beginning at 6pm. Our pianist plays a variety of music from the classical jazz to classic rock to current pop hits

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available curb side on Pennsylvania Street for $10 per car

Executive Chef:
Patrick Stark

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us for the Prime Time Sunday Brunch!!! For $34.95 you can enjoy an All You Can Eat Buffet, Bottomless Smirnoff Bloody Mary Bar & Bottomless Mimosas. Brunch is offered on Sundays before Colts Home Games.

Restaurant Photos

  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
  • Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis
Prime 47 - Indianapolis

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

Thanksgiving Dinner Special Menus & Offers

Thursday, November 24, 2016

Details

Prime 47...Indy's Steakhouse will be open for dinner for Thanksgiving. Joins us before heading to the Colts & Steelers Game at 8:30pm. Prime will be serving offering our full dinner menu.

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 9:00PM

Mon - Sat 5:00PM - 6:15PM 8:45PM - 10:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

No matter what the occasion – a personal gathering or professional event we will take care of every detail to ensure the perfect experience. We hope that you will consider Prime 47 for all of your premier functions.

Prime 47 - Indianapolis Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Downtown Indy ›

Special Occasion (30)
Notable Wine List (17)
Romantic (16)
See All
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Business Meals (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Scenic View (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Live Music (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
People Watching (3)
Historic (3)
Cozy (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Fun (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Casual (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Vegan (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Spicy (1)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Authentic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Waterfront (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
Newest
243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent restaurant with great service ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Excellent restaurant with great service and accommodating to our special requests. Will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime 47 has become our favorite steak s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Prime 47 has become our favorite steak spot in Indy! Great service, excellent food, and the energetic view of the city's streets has pushed this restaurant above Harry and Izzy's and St. Elmo's. It's now our go to!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent everything we enjoyed the conv ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Excellent everything we enjoyed the conversation food and decor

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went for our 5th year wedd ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

My wife and I went for our 5th year wedding anniversary. It was a fantastic place to spend a special dinner. I let them know that it was our anniversary and they really took care of us by having a special little note on the menu and just treating us like royalty. The portions are generous so go hungry! We had a great time and will be back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I visit prime 47 for every special occas ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

I visit prime 47 for every special occasion. It never fails and I know that I am going to get exceptional service and cuisine every single time. This past time I visited prime for my boyfriends birthday and it was his first time there. He was blown away by the steak and perfect service from our waiter!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a wonderful time. We ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

My wife and I had a wonderful time. We were celebrating 4 months of marriage. We were treated like royalty. If we are in the area again. We will definitely come back to this awesome restaurant . Everyone was great. We also enjoyed the music and our seat near the window .

The food was delicious.

Thank you all again for your wonderful hospitality.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vegan, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Seasonal, Fireplace, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Organic, Casual, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Private Room, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Cozy, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and amazing food!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Outstanding service and amazing food!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of ten. Great food and e ...

 
 (Iowa)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

We had a group of ten. Great food and even better service. Steaks were excellent as was the lobster Mac and cheese.

Tags: Good for a Date, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place but over priced food Nice atm ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Nice place but over priced food Nice atmosphere and great service

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The Chicken Picatta was excellent and so ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The Chicken Picatta was excellent and so was the service.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Historic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

I loved how they made our anniversary ex ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I loved how they made our anniversary extra special by printing it on our menus and taking a picture of us and framing it. AND giving us a free dessert to share. I see you Prime 47!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Steak was excellent! I thoroughly enjoye ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Steak was excellent! I thoroughly enjoyed the entire meal... With one exception- dessert. We went during Devour Downtown, and the dessert offering was a choice of maple bacon donuts or vanilla spice donuts. We ordered one of each. Both were rather dry, neither were served warm (which would have improved them), the maple bacon exterior was odd because of the maple sauce on them. They tasted pre-made and almost tough from over mixing. I'd go again for the steak, but not those donuts!

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

We went for devour downtown. I thought ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We went for devour downtown. I thought the devour menu was excellent until we got to dessert. The donuts were not good at all compared to the other delicious food. I LOVE desserts and the donuts were a HUGE disappointment!!

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I visited Prime 47 during Devour Downtow ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I visited Prime 47 during Devour Downtown and cannot wait to return for a meal. The food was A++, the wine pairing was perfect and the price of course was awesome ($40 6oz steak for devour menu steak). I did not care for the dessert donuts, I thought they were dry, super sweet and rather tasteless. I will definitely return!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks and service were excellent! Also ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Steaks and service were excellent! Also, the prosciutto wrapped scallops were superb!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal! Also a great deal during ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Excellent meal! Also a great deal during Devour Downtown

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience was worth every pen ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The whole experience was worth every penny! However, the service made us feel like royalty!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great evening at Prime 47 downtown Indy. ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great evening at Prime 47 downtown Indy. Food and atmosphere were outstanding and the service was perfect--enough attention without being overwhelming. The entertainment was live piano music that added great atmosphere without interfering with the ability to enjoy the conversation at our table. The venue is great and we love to dine here. Makes you feel like you have had a real city night out on the town. Valet parking is also a great amenity.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Four people at the bar were very loud an ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Four people at the bar were very loud and boisterous. Together with a loud piano I left with an ear ache.

With a party of six we could no carry on a conversation.

Four of six loved there food; filet, chicken parmisian, sea bass.

Two of us has $40 New York Sirloin which the waiter said was prime. Both were ordered medium rare but one was less than rare and sent back only to be done medium. Both were orange in color, very salty and tasted like it was heavily coated with meat tenderizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

The bread was amazing! Excellent lobster ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

The bread was amazing! Excellent lobster bisque and sesame tuna. Too full for dessert. Outstanding and attentive service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had a very good dinner with excellent ...

 
 (Raum Hamburg)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a very good dinner with excellent meat and a very attentive service. The recommendations were right on the dot. The wine list is stunning. We'll be back the next time visiting Indianapolis.....

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I tend to be on the hunt for the best ov ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

I tend to be on the hunt for the best overall experience... Prime 47 can give you that! The manager stops by the table the piano is playing and the food is well worth the money. Instead of a steak presented with a bunch of pretty colors you get a steak on a plate that is worth every penny you pay instead of a so so with nice presentation.... I will be returning often! P.S. Give any appetizer A shot they are very well stacked!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Bradford was incredibly charming and our ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Bradford was incredibly charming and our waiter was helpful and courteous.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time visiting Prime 47 ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

This was my first time visiting Prime 47 and I must say it definitely won't be my last! The food and service were fantastic. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and we received royal treatment. We received a framed picture of our day, which was such a nice touch to the entire evening. I decided to get the dry-aged bone-in ribeye...it was absolutely amazing...I devoured it. We split the truffle fries (enough for 4 people) which complimented my steak nicely. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his filet as well. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime 47 did an outstanding job of provi ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Prime 47 did an outstanding job of providing top-notch food and service in a tight timeframe so we could make it to a concert! It was delicious and appreciated!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Both service and food were excellent. L ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Both service and food were excellent. Lobster bisque was the best I've ever had which is saying a lot. Only criticism was that we were seated next to the piano which made it difficult to talk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Menu choices and food quality and prepar ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Menu choices and food quality and preparation was very good. The calamari/shrimp appetizer was excellent and large enough for six to share. Steaks prepared correctly, very tender, flavorful. Sea bass was excellent.

Service was slow. After our waiter brought our appetizer and showed us the steak tray he disappeared and we had to track him down to place our order. On a very slow Monday night, our food order was 40 minutes in the kitchen before being served. Overall a nice evening - I would go back but would ask for a different waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Everything was great...hostess was a lit ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Everything was great...hostess was a little bitchy, but the server and the food were excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu was a good solid steak house me ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The menu was a good solid steak house menu. Unfortunately the food did not measure up. I specifically asked if tomatoes were ripe and was told yes but they had the flavor of cardboard. The steak was tough and ran over $50. For that price it should have been at least very good, but it was not. Twice baked potato was good. The waiter was very good except for the mislead on the tomato

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

I was very disappointed in both the serv ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

I was very disappointed in both the service and the food. Provided the cost of the offerings on the menu, I would expect the chefs to be able to prepare the meal to perfection. Unfortunately, my simple selection of chicken parm was significantly overcooked, to the point of not being chewable. There were two servers for our group of 5 - one server was attentive and responsive to requests; however, the second server was extremely haughty and did not listen to simple requests or instructions from me. Given that I had included a note in my reservations that I was dining with very important clients and was hoping for an excellent experience, coupled with the fact that I was the individual responsible for paying the bill, I would have expected at least a response to my requests or instructions. Very disappointed and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

$60 for a "fair" steak. Way over priced ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

$60 for a "fair" steak. Way over priced. Good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Great Date Night

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Nice athmosphere for date night. Love the Piano player and had a great wine list. Neal was our waiter and he did a great job.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Fantastic Meal and Service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Went for an anniversary dinner and we arrived to menus that said "Happy Anniversary" on the top. Service was great and the meal was amazing. Maybe the best steakhouse experience we've had in Indy!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The shrimp cocktail is just a little bit ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The shrimp cocktail is just a little bit milder than St Elmo's but it will still light you up. Calamari was excellent. Filet Mignon - all you need is 8oz, don't be greedy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Waygu rules!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Loved the place! Went there after Indy qualifying races. The Japanese Waygu beef is fantastic! It's expensive, but it's expensive everywhere. It was outstanding quality and melts in your mouth! The rest of the meal was terrific too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Last minute reservation with friends (be ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Last minute reservation with friends (because "the other" steakhouses were booked). This place was delicious! My filet was one of the best I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was probably the best dining experi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This was probably the best dining experience we have had in downtown Indy in quite some time. The flavor of each dish was phenomenal. We had the calamari, lobster mac n cheese, and each had the 12oz filets with different enhancements (creamy-spicy crab and brandy peppercorn sauce) that were both equally as enjoyable. We finished off dinner with a delicious half baked cookie with ice cream - will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very nice restaurant with great food. It ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Very nice restaurant with great food. It's in a great location in downtown Indy. All of the staff was friendly and cordial. The only complaint that I would have was there was a rather musty smell upon entering the restaurant. Perhaps it is because Prime 47 is located in an older historic building. Nonetheless we would dine there again. Good place!

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great steak

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

Great steak

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

While very expensive, the food portions, quality, and service made it worth it. The food was absolutely excellent. Biggest thing I want to note is be aware of how huge the sides are. I assumed the sides would be very small so each I, my mother and father ordered a side. The sides are sized as though to be shared. Consequently we had quite the feast in front of us when food was served.

Food was served very quickly too.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.