About Prime 47 - Cincinnati

580 Walnut Street
Suite S100
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Prime 47 is known for its USDA Prime Steaks, exquisite cuisine, extensive wine selection and outstanding service. Relax and enjoy the ambiance, while our staff becomes your staff, dedicated to providing a truly personalized dining experience. We offer a menu for every occasion. Now open for lunch!

Live music Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights! Pianist during out Friday lunch.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Monday through Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: 3pm-11pm
Sunday: Open for special events.

Prime Time: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm-7:00pm
-$4 and $7 Happy Hour-


Cross Street:
6th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 579-0720

Website:
http://www.prime47cincy.com/

Entertainment:
Prime 47 has live music nightly.

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available curbside on 6th Street for $8/car. Valet is available after 6pm per city ordinance.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Heine

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or an elaborate affair, Prime 47 is the place for a truly personalized dining experience. Relax an enjoy the ambiance of our private dining rooms, while our staff becomes your staff. Dedicated to providing the most memorable of evenings for you and your guests.

President"s Room
Seating Capacity: 30
Reception Capacity: 50

The Fortune Room
Seating Capacity: 60
Reception Capacity: 90

The 580 Room
Seating Capacity: 90
Reception Capacity: 125

Main Dining Room arrangements are available as well.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Slifcak: 5135790720x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
Come celebrate Father's Day with Prime 47! Show dad you really care with our USDA Prime cuts of beef in an upscale, but laid back atmosphere.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Prime 47 - Cincinnati Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati / Dayton
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

special occasion (115)
romantic (86)
fit for foodies (47)
See All
notable wine list (44)
good for groups (38)
vibrant bar scene (34)
hot spot (29)
scenic view (22)
neighborhood gem (20)
late-night find (17)
great for outdoor dining (16)
great for lunch (15)
great for brunch (13)
kid-friendly (5)
Sort By:
Newest
378 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful. I highly reco ...

Dined 3 days ago

Everything was wonderful. I highly recommend this restaraunt.

food2
ambience3
service3

Possibly the worst "premium" ribeye I've ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

Possibly the worst "premium" ribeye I've had in a year. Fat and gristle. Shared the truffle mac and cheese- okay but forgettable. Wife enjoyed filet trio, she says it was "okay". Shrimp cocktail was extremely sharp w horse radish. Tasty, but not very sophisticated. Overall it was mediocre. Probably not going back...

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food with a professional wait ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Excellent food with a professional wait staff. Worth the visit.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We went on a Saturday night and the musi ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We went on a Saturday night and the music in the bar was outstanding! The salads that came with the entree were very good. We also received a focaccia bread for dipping into olive oil and balsamic. The steak while good was cut thin for an upscale steakhouse. Dessert and coffee were both fine.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Steak medium well - came out twice well ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Steak medium well - came out twice well done - gave us free deserts - steak house should be able to cook steaks

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Many special touches

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were impressed that our menus were personalized with the special occasion we had indicated on our open table reservation. The service was a bit slow getting started, especially our drinks but was wonderful later. Very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Our food was good, not the best steak I've ever had; but delicious and the sides were unique and very flavorful. We especially enjoyed the dessert selections. There was no draft beer to choose from.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!! We'll be back for sur ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great experience!! We'll be back for sure!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent steak house

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very excellent in every way. Steaks were as advertised and cooked perfectly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Reviews were mixed so I was sceptical ho ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Reviews were mixed so I was sceptical however our food was cooked to perfection, steaks were excellent, waiter was superb.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Prime 47 Cincinnati

Dined on May 8, 2016

I thought that Mothers' Day lunch would be ordered from the menu. Wrong. They had the most stupendous buffet. We had visited Prime 47 a few years ago, shortly after its opening. There were few diners, due to the wet cold weather. Neverless the staff was on top of its game, and the food was great. This time, the food was also great, and we had plenty to try. From prime rib roast to lobster mac & cheese to seafood salad (calamari, shrimp, etc.) and Caesar salad, everything was superb. They wait staff was warm and respectful and sought to get answers to questions that they didn't know. Plus there were 2 waiters for every table. And the price was very reasonable ($35 per adult). I can't wait for their next holiday buffet.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful Mother's Day Brunch! Raw bar ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

A wonderful Mother's Day Brunch! Raw bar and perfect prime rib!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice Mother's Day brunch buffet and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very nice Mother's Day brunch buffet and bottomless mimosas.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mood. Good Eats.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the tailored experience received for my birthday. The dinner entrees ordered were amazing. I wasn't too impressed with the half baked cookie dessert but the waitstaff was quick to cater to my need and accommodating - thanks Michael and Brandon! We will definitely recommend Prime 47 and dine again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

too heavy on the seasoning

Dined on April 30, 2016

I like spicy food when it's expected - way too much pepper in pasta dish and on the chicken

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time at Prime!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had tickets to the ballet at the Aronoff and had a Cinci Special Reserve coupon for Prime 47 so we put the two together and had a nice night out. It was our first time dining at Prime. The restaurant very modern and larger than I expected. The bar/lounge was busy and looked. Like fun. The tables were seperatex with good room between so you didn't feel on top of one another. I thought the food was good. My husband thought the service was slower than the other patrons, but I didn't notice. It is pricey, so I would reserve it for special occasions. I was surprised to see bigger groups, which is nice to know that there is a place downtown that can accommodate larger numbers. I would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great stacks

Dined on April 27, 2016

The lunch Stacks menu is very good. Pricey for a regular lunch spot, but very good for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mediocre at best.

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Restaurant looks good. Food was mediocre at best. Server was quite friendly, but he told us he would be right back to bring the au jus after he dropped off the sandwich that goes with it and then proceeded to finally get to it 10 minutes later after the sandwich was cold.

food2
ambience5
service1
value5

Kind employees. Great cookie dessert and location.

Dined on April 24, 2016

I am a fan of Ruth Chris so I decided to give Prime a try for this year's restaurant week. The hostess was very nice and helpful and so was our server. I believe our server was one of the only people on duty because she is the only person we saw on the floor frequently, and that kept her from giving us the best service she could. We waited a while for everything, including drink refills and salt/pepper. After waiting for our food for over 45mins, our server tells us that you all did not have the salmon my friend had ordered. My steak was not cooked correctly and neither the original or the fixed one had any flavor at all. My friend said that her NY Strip had flavor but my thicker ribeye was very plain tasting. The loaded potatoes were great and so was the half baked cookie. I would come back for the cookie. I would probably never get a steak from Prime again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service2

Unfortunately, our experience at prime 4 ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Unfortunately, our experience at prime 47 was very lackluster. In tune with many of the reviews on open table, the service was very, very slow. To be fair, the staff were very friendly and professional, but perhaps there simply were not enough of them on site. Additionally, the truffle mac & cheese was nothing short of exquisite. My wife and I also enjoyed very much the mushroom side dish. Alas, several of the steaks had to be sent back for being under cooked, even my wives who ordered hers medium plus which came out looking more like a medium rare at best. There was also a big problem with several of the dishes being too salty. The manager is very courteous and professional and very willing to lend a hand where his waitstaff fall short, but overall I think that the dining experience falls far short of several nearby competitors. In summary, if you're going to charge the same prices as you're nearby competitors, you better make sure you provide the same service and quality of food that they are renowned for.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Pretender on the Steakhouse Scene

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We went to Prime 47 for the first time Sunday afternoon before a show at the Arnoff. The food was great but pricey. We are used to paying for great service, but it was sorely lacking. It took over 20 minutes for a first cocktail to arrive, and every course was brought with apologies from the server. The decor is plain and boring--about as inviting as a corporate dining room. We dropped over $300 for a family of four and didn't even earn a smile or thank you on our way out past the management. There are many consistent steakhouse alternatives in town. Go there instead.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I absolutely love this place!

Dined on April 24, 2016

My first experience was with my great niece. Our plan for the evening was dinner and see the play Cinderella. The restaurant I chose had a 45 minute wait, so we crossed the street and entered PRIME 47. We were greeted with a cheerful 'Hello' and asked how many. To make a long story short, they treated my great niece like a "Princess." My second experience was to celebrate my mothers 81st birthday. I told her about our earlier experience along with a doggie bag and immediately, she asked when could I take her. Again, to make a long story short, my mother was treated like a "QUEEN!"

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Don't waste A Date Night

Dined on April 24, 2016

The service was good but the food left something to be desired. Not only did it come out late but after 1 bite I had to push it to the side. I was informed that the head chef was on his honeymoon so I will give Prime the benefit of the doubt. However, I am in no rush to give them another try.

food1
ambience5
service1

Had a very disappointing experience at P ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Had a very disappointing experience at Prime 47. We were visiting for the weekend. First off we made an open table reservation and called in before hand to see if they had any times open so we could come earlier which we were told they did. We showed up and they thought we were crazy and no one wanted to admit that they spoke to us on the phone . Our waitress was non existent she was by three times the whole meal to take our drink order, to take our food order and to drop the food off. Not once were we asked if the food was good, nor could we find her. Food was over salted and my steak was luke warm. Couldn't find the waitress to request another steak so just ate what We had and asked for the bill. For a nice restaurant, I was very disappointed in the service and the food. Only bright spot was my girlfriends salmon was excellent but the rest of her meal was extremely salty. With all the nice restaurants in the area I do not recommend this one.

food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Not an enjoyable evening

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had dinner here on a Saturday evening and there was a lot going on Downtown. This may account for the large parties dining here. The noise level was well beyond an enjoyable level. We had to yell across the table just to have any conversation at all. The second issue was the food quality. If a restuarant wants to be known as a "steak" restuarant, then the kitchen staff should know how to prepare a steak to the proper temperature. Neither of our steaks were cooked to the requested temperature. We sent the under cooked steak back. The food portion of our dinner was removed from our bill but the evening was a big disappointment.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Over priced and over hyped!!!!!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Long Horns steaks are better at half the price! The meatballs where divine, as well as the potatoe soup. My tea had something floting in it. I will never go back, nor refer any of my couples friends.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week Find

Dined on April 22, 2016

We wanted to try Prime 47. Due to it being Restaurant Week this made it a must try. The live band added just what we needed to make it happen. We are so happy we did. Loved it!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was delicious and so reasonably ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

The food was delicious and so reasonably priced! I spent way less than I had anticipated.

food2
ambience2
service1

Terrible service and sub-par food. There ...

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

Terrible service and sub-par food. There are far better steakhouses in town... Go to one of them. Anywhere but here.

food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Second visit

Dined on April 20, 2016

This was my second time at Prime 47. My husband and I and another couple had a great experience the first time before a play at the Aronoff so I wanted to go back. This time I brought a girlfriend. We had tickets to see Beauty and the Beast at 7:30. Our reservations were for 5:30 but traffic was bad so I called and asked them to save our table. When we arrived they had saved our table and we had a beautiful view next to the window. However it took almost 10 minutes before a waiter came over to take our drink order. We explained that we had tickets to the play at 7:30. I had also mentioned that when I placed our reservation on Open Table. When we placed our wine order we also asked for bread and a black napkin because my friend had on black linen pants. When they brought the wine they didn't bring the bread or the napkin. We had to ask for it again. Then it took quite a while before they came back to check on us. Once we ordered our meal we had to ask twice for more bread. Our meal was delicious but once again we had to remind the waiter that we needed to order dessert and take care of our check to get to the play. We had two waiters and they both brought a bill. This was confusing. But it finally got resolved and we ran to the Aronoff and barely made it before the last bell. I love the atmosphere and the food at Prime 47, but because of the service, we may not be back especially before a show.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant Week.

Dined on April 19, 2016

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. We had been to "happy hour" in bar before and it was very good. Nice corner windows for light and view of people passing by. When we saw Prime 47 was part of restaurant week we decided to try it with some new friends. Everyone enjoyed dinner. On the menu we noticed the special prixe menu we had is available all the time from 4 until 6 p.m. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Evening.

Dined on April 19, 2016

Great food and superb service. Staff was cheerful, engaging, and yet unobtrusive. Have a great evening in comfortable surroundings and quiet atmosphere.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

celebrating birthday

Dined on April 16, 2016

Notified restaurant when reservation made that I was celebrating husband's birthday and they told me they would give him special birthday menu and choco chip cookie with ice cream and and candle. Well there was nothing to recognize the celebration. We ordered the filet mignon and for a steakhouse it was not very tender. First visit and also probably last visit. I will frequent the Jeff Ruby establishments, Ruth Chris or Morton's for the kind of money that I spent at Prime 47. At these places, I know when I order a filet I can cut it with a fork, it's that tender.

food5
ambience5
service5

Shrimp cocktail include 4 huge delicious ...

vip
Dined on April 13, 2016

Shrimp cocktail include 4 huge delicious Shrimp. The Brussels sprouts were amazing. Had special request on preparation and came out perfectly. Service was pleasant and attentive. Would go back in a minute.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great lunch

Dined on April 11, 2016

Great service. The food was very good. I would suggest more lunch options to draw a bigger crowd.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nelson and Shawn make a great team!

Dined on April 9, 2016

I also can not say enough about the bar staff. David and Blake are knowledgable and extremely helpful.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great staff. Best steak I've ever had.

Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I had a wonderful experience. We were celebrating our 6th anniversary and enjoyed the window seat and fantastic staff. We had a $100 gift certificate so we were very appreciative of the 3-course for $35 option. We came in thinking we wouldn't have enough to get an appetizer, dessert, and drink, but we did! We felt catered to and important! I had the best steak I've ever had, cooked to perfection. Dessert was perfect! The salad and lobster bisque were both very good, but I've had better. I also was not a fan of the sweeter olive oil that was served with the bread. Before leaving, we also got to enjoy a special dance that the band played for us. Thank you!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Good food Poor service

Dined on April 5, 2016

We loved the food but the service was a lot to be desired. The waiter seemed less than motivated to explain the menu and I'm sure I heard several "sighs" throughout the evening. We were in a bit of a time crunch as we were heading to a concert and he seemed put off when we gave him that information. We won't be going back. Too many GREAT restaurants in a 2 mile radius of Prime 47.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak I have ever had!

Dined on April 5, 2016

My husband and I have been to quite a few huger end steak houses in our day and this was by far the best meal we have ever had at one! We will definitely be back when we travel to Cincinnati again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

18 of us. Awesome Service - Excellent Food !!!!!!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Our business lunch was a huge success. The staff provided excellent service. The menu offered a variety from which to choose and well priced. The portions were large; no one left hungry. I would highly recommend Prime as a lunch destination as well as dinner. (I dined there once previously.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

The side dishes knocked it out of the pa ...

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

The side dishes knocked it out of the park! Main courses also good but may return just to fill up on sides. Servers were attentive and personable.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.