About Prime 47 - Cincinnati

580 Walnut Street
Suite S100
Cincinnati, OH 45202
View Larger Map

Prime 47 is known for its USDA Prime Steaks, exquisite cuisine, extensive wine selection and outstanding service. Relax and enjoy the ambiance, while our staff becomes your staff, dedicated to providing a truly personalized dining experience. We offer a menu for every occasion. Now open for lunch!

Live music Thursday, Friday and Saturday nights! Pianist during out Friday lunch.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steak, Seafood, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:


Monday through Thursday: 11am-10pm
Friday: 11am-11pm
Saturday: 3pm-11pm
Sunday: Open for special events.

Prime Time: Monday - Friday: 4:00pm-7:00pm
-$4 and $7 Happy Hour-


Cross Street:
6th & Walnut

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 579-0720

Website:
http://www.prime47cincy.com/

Entertainment:
Prime 47 has live music nightly.

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking is available curbside on 6th Street for $8/car. Valet is available after 6pm per city ordinance.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Heine

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or an elaborate affair, Prime 47 is the place for a truly personalized dining experience. Relax an enjoy the ambiance of our private dining rooms, while our staff becomes your staff. Dedicated to providing the most memorable of evenings for you and your guests.

President"s Room
Seating Capacity: 30
Reception Capacity: 50

The Fortune Room
Seating Capacity: 60
Reception Capacity: 90

The 580 Room
Seating Capacity: 90
Reception Capacity: 125

Main Dining Room arrangements are available as well.

Private Party Contact:
Amy Slifcak: 5135790720x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prime 47 - Cincinnati Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

78% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (96)
romantic (67)
fit for foodies (44)
See All
good for groups (36)
notable wine list (35)
vibrant bar scene (29)
hot spot (25)
great for outdoor dining (21)
neighborhood gem (19)
late-night find (16)
scenic view (16)
great for lunch (15)
great for brunch (8)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
398 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Modern decor, on vibrant downtown corner ...

Dined 4 days ago

Modern decor, on vibrant downtown corner with full height windows. Great food, but a bit pricey. Friendly and competent service; nice atmosphere, with live entertainment.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service5
value2

Live music on a Friday night. Not that i ...

Dined 5 days ago

Live music on a Friday night. Not that it was bad music, but it was SOOO LOUD. no reason for jazz to be that overwhelming. We even moved tables but no help. Food was ok but not worth the price. Just ok

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Very disappointing in almost every aspec ...

Dined 5 days ago

Very disappointing in almost every aspect. The steak was really good but that's about it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is incredible at Prime 47. I h ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is incredible at Prime 47. I had the best Filet I've ever had. It melts in your mouth. Service was exceptional.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice place, great steaks and seafood! Se ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Nice place, great steaks and seafood! Service was top notch but the prices were a bit high! Otherwise a great special occasion place!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Father's Day dinner. Shrimp cockta ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great Father's Day dinner. Shrimp cocktail was delicious and the steaks almost melt in your mouth!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent as was service. Will ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was excellent as was service. Will be going back

food4
ambience4
service4

Prime 47 is very good, but not quite gre ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

Prime 47 is very good, but not quite great. It seems they're close but just a little short across the board.

food4
ambience3
service3

I have died too many times and Indianapo ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

I have died too many times and Indianapolis in this was nowhere near at that level.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice Spot

Dined on June 5, 2016

Ate here on a Sunday, early evening, and it was almost empty. We had a 4 course special and it was excellent from start to finish. The cocktail sauce on the shrimp cocktail was different and very good; the filet was tender, tasty and cooked as requested. Dessert was good and the coffee was excellent. Parking in the 580 garage is very convenient.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Just what was needed.

Dined on May 29, 2016

I was given excellent service. I had a reservation at 7:30pm but something came up and the staff was more then willing to give me an earlier table. The food was some of the best I have had in a while.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

I loved the Cajun spiced pork chop. It w ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

I loved the Cajun spiced pork chop. It was cooked to perfection! They had live music and half priced bottles of wine. I wish we had of known about their happy hour food specials because we would have gone earlier. I would definitely recommend this place for a casual business dinner or special evening.

food3
ambience4
service2

We ordered the $12 lunch lobster bisque ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

We ordered the $12 lunch lobster bisque and Caesar salad. We felt like because we didn't order a more expensive lunch our waiter didn't have much interest in serving us. We won't be coming back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Needed the night out ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

We've been to Prime several times and it never disappoints. This beautiful early summer evening was ideal for dining el Fresco and we too advantage of the outdoor dining. Our outdoor view included a spectacular sky and a vibrant street scene. The food, well was exactly what we expected. The mac and cheese was spectacular (we took some home and had it just today). Steak and pork chop satisfied our hunger for meat in a beautiful fashion. The steak disappeared, but the chop was a double and my wife couldn't finish it, so it accompanied the mac and cheese as a great leftover!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Enjoyable dining. The service was super ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Enjoyable dining. The service was superb. My steak was well done and had ordered med- well. My husband's steak was fine as ordered.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime47 is Amazing in every way. We wer ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Prime47 is Amazing in every way. We were there on a Saturday night..great live entertainment in the bar area. Calamari was some of the best I've ever had. Their brussel sprouts have extra flare with bacon !! Salmon is fresh and tasty. Steaks melt in your mouth. Large portions. And the brownie/pretzel is to die for :)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

Good food, service just okay

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food here was very good. I had the Filet, my husband had the Ribeye, both of which were very tasty. My Filet was a little undercooked, but I was able to eat plenty to fill me up- the remainder I took home as leftovers. The twice-baked potato was outstanding & HUGE! The brussel sprouts were okay- a little sweeter than I expected. The service was just okay, and the restaurant wasn't that busy, so there really was no excuse. We had to ask for a glass of water 3 times. I'd expect better service for the price you pay. Overall, the experience was good. We had a window seat, which was very nice and we were able to take home the "happy birthday" printed menu as a keepsake, so that was a nice touch. It's a nice restaurant and worth a try, but not sure we'll hurry to go back given so many other great choices in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special night.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great quiet place for that special night. We were attending the theatre that evening. Great for a pre show meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was wonderful. I highly reco ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was wonderful. I highly recommend this restaraunt.

food2
ambience3
service3

Possibly the worst "premium" ribeye I've ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Possibly the worst "premium" ribeye I've had in a year. Fat and gristle. Shared the truffle mac and cheese- okay but forgettable. Wife enjoyed filet trio, she says it was "okay". Shrimp cocktail was extremely sharp w horse radish. Tasty, but not very sophisticated. Overall it was mediocre. Probably not going back...

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing and the service was ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was outstanding! I loved the live music also. I'll definitely return!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

Mediocre steak. Cocktails were average. ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Mediocre steak. Cocktails were average. Salad and side items were very good. For the money there are much better steaks available elsewhere downtown. Service was very good. Band was too loud to sit in the bar area.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food with a professional wait ...

Dined on May 16, 2016

Excellent food with a professional wait staff. Worth the visit.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

We went on a Saturday night and the musi ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

We went on a Saturday night and the music in the bar was outstanding! The salads that came with the entree were very good. We also received a focaccia bread for dipping into olive oil and balsamic. The steak while good was cut thin for an upscale steakhouse. Dessert and coffee were both fine.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Steak medium well - came out twice well ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Steak medium well - came out twice well done - gave us free deserts - steak house should be able to cook steaks

food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Many special touches

Dined on May 13, 2016

We were impressed that our menus were personalized with the special occasion we had indicated on our open table reservation. The service was a bit slow getting started, especially our drinks but was wonderful later. Very knowledgeable and helpful staff. Our food was good, not the best steak I've ever had; but delicious and the sides were unique and very flavorful. We especially enjoyed the dessert selections. There was no draft beer to choose from.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience!! We'll be back for sur ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Great experience!! We'll be back for sure!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent steak house

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very excellent in every way. Steaks were as advertised and cooked perfectly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

Reviews were mixed so I was sceptical ho ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Reviews were mixed so I was sceptical however our food was cooked to perfection, steaks were excellent, waiter was superb.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Prime 47 Cincinnati

Dined on May 8, 2016

I thought that Mothers' Day lunch would be ordered from the menu. Wrong. They had the most stupendous buffet. We had visited Prime 47 a few years ago, shortly after its opening. There were few diners, due to the wet cold weather. Neverless the staff was on top of its game, and the food was great. This time, the food was also great, and we had plenty to try. From prime rib roast to lobster mac & cheese to seafood salad (calamari, shrimp, etc.) and Caesar salad, everything was superb. They wait staff was warm and respectful and sought to get answers to questions that they didn't know. Plus there were 2 waiters for every table. And the price was very reasonable ($35 per adult). I can't wait for their next holiday buffet.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A wonderful Mother's Day Brunch! Raw bar ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

A wonderful Mother's Day Brunch! Raw bar and perfect prime rib!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Very nice Mother's Day brunch buffet and ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Very nice Mother's Day brunch buffet and bottomless mimosas.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mood. Good Eats.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Pleasantly surprised by the tailored experience received for my birthday. The dinner entrees ordered were amazing. I wasn't too impressed with the half baked cookie dessert but the waitstaff was quick to cater to my need and accommodating - thanks Michael and Brandon! We will definitely recommend Prime 47 and dine again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

too heavy on the seasoning

Dined on April 30, 2016

I like spicy food when it's expected - way too much pepper in pasta dish and on the chicken

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

First time at Prime!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had tickets to the ballet at the Aronoff and had a Cinci Special Reserve coupon for Prime 47 so we put the two together and had a nice night out. It was our first time dining at Prime. The restaurant very modern and larger than I expected. The bar/lounge was busy and looked. Like fun. The tables were seperatex with good room between so you didn't feel on top of one another. I thought the food was good. My husband thought the service was slower than the other patrons, but I didn't notice. It is pricey, so I would reserve it for special occasions. I was surprised to see bigger groups, which is nice to know that there is a place downtown that can accommodate larger numbers. I would return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great stacks

Dined on April 27, 2016

The lunch Stacks menu is very good. Pricey for a regular lunch spot, but very good for special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mediocre at best.

vip
Dined on April 27, 2016

Restaurant looks good. Food was mediocre at best. Server was quite friendly, but he told us he would be right back to bring the au jus after he dropped off the sandwich that goes with it and then proceeded to finally get to it 10 minutes later after the sandwich was cold.

food2
ambience5
service1
value5

Kind employees. Great cookie dessert and location.

Dined on April 24, 2016

I am a fan of Ruth Chris so I decided to give Prime a try for this year's restaurant week. The hostess was very nice and helpful and so was our server. I believe our server was one of the only people on duty because she is the only person we saw on the floor frequently, and that kept her from giving us the best service she could. We waited a while for everything, including drink refills and salt/pepper. After waiting for our food for over 45mins, our server tells us that you all did not have the salmon my friend had ordered. My steak was not cooked correctly and neither the original or the fixed one had any flavor at all. My friend said that her NY Strip had flavor but my thicker ribeye was very plain tasting. The loaded potatoes were great and so was the half baked cookie. I would come back for the cookie. I would probably never get a steak from Prime again.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food3
ambience3
service2

Unfortunately, our experience at prime 4 ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Unfortunately, our experience at prime 47 was very lackluster. In tune with many of the reviews on open table, the service was very, very slow. To be fair, the staff were very friendly and professional, but perhaps there simply were not enough of them on site. Additionally, the truffle mac & cheese was nothing short of exquisite. My wife and I also enjoyed very much the mushroom side dish. Alas, several of the steaks had to be sent back for being under cooked, even my wives who ordered hers medium plus which came out looking more like a medium rare at best. There was also a big problem with several of the dishes being too salty. The manager is very courteous and professional and very willing to lend a hand where his waitstaff fall short, but overall I think that the dining experience falls far short of several nearby competitors. In summary, if you're going to charge the same prices as you're nearby competitors, you better make sure you provide the same service and quality of food that they are renowned for.

food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Pretender on the Steakhouse Scene

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We went to Prime 47 for the first time Sunday afternoon before a show at the Arnoff. The food was great but pricey. We are used to paying for great service, but it was sorely lacking. It took over 20 minutes for a first cocktail to arrive, and every course was brought with apologies from the server. The decor is plain and boring--about as inviting as a corporate dining room. We dropped over $300 for a family of four and didn't even earn a smile or thank you on our way out past the management. There are many consistent steakhouse alternatives in town. Go there instead.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.