About Prime 47 - Carmel

14300 Clay Terrace Blvd
Ste 155
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Located at Clay Terrace, Prime 47 is known for its USDA Grade Prime Steaks, the highest quality seafood, exquisite cuisine, extensive wine selection and outstanding service. Relax and enjoy the ambiance, while our staff becomes your staff, dedicated to providing a truly personalized dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Next to Dick's Sport Goods at Clay Terrace

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 660-0720

Website:
http://prime47carmel.com/

Entertainment:
Live music nightly

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Prime 47 offers complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Oscar Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or an elaborate affair, Prime 47 is the place for a truly personalized dining experience. Relax an enjoy the ambiance of our private dining rooms, while our staff becomes your staff. Dedicated to providing the most memorable of evenings for you and your guests.

President"s Room
Seating Capacity: 24

Mezzanine
Seating Capacity: 24
Reception Capacity: 30

The Fortune Room
Seating Capacity: 40
Reception Capacity: 60

Main Dining Room arrangements are available as well.

Private Party Contact:
Nessa Boyden: 317-660-0720x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Prime 47 - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indiana
Special Occasion
Indianapolis
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Indianapolis
Best Restaurants in Carmel / Westfield ›

special occasion (77)
romantic (49)
notable wine list (33)
See All
good for groups (31)
fit for foodies (21)
vibrant bar scene (18)
great for brunch (12)
hot spot (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
late-night find (9)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (5)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
238 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Live music makes the evening. Matt is a ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Live music makes the evening. Matt is a talented and entertaining vocalist. We'll come back to hear him. Sea Bass was outstanding. Fillet was top notch. Crab appetizer (crab dip with chips) was fantastic but pricey.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible dining experience!

Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and Prime 47 provided an incredible experience from the mezzanine arrangement to the customized menu, outstanding food and amazing service! I would highly recommend Prime 47 for special occasions and business meals. They always deliver an incredible experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A great place ot celebrate a special occasion

Dined on May 12, 2016

Had a great time at 47 Prime for my wife's Birthday. The waiter had exceptional knowledge of the wine list and made some great suggestions. A bit pricey but good for a special occasion dinner. Food quality was very good and the steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Mothers Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dined here several times and always enjoyed it. There have been other times when the service was not as quick as I would have liked, but I still come back. However, Mothers Day the service was extremely slow and it was not for the lack of trying by the staff as they were scurrying everywhere . This was poor planning by management in not having enough staff and the restaurant was not 100% full. Or perhaps it was just poor training. Prime 47 you are better than that. C'mon man!

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food and attentive service. Our s ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and attentive service. Our steaks were perfectly prepared and my daughter loves the lobster Mac and cheese. Great wine list with good value finds.

food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food, service a little slow

Dined on May 7, 2016

There was a wedding reception going on at the time, which probably was a factor in the somewhat slow service. But the food was excellent, and the prices not as exorbitant as I'd feared.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

Nice ambiance & good food but not extra ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Nice ambiance & good food but not extra ordinary to warrant the price point. Staff very attentive to the point we felt a but rushed even though there were multiple tables open.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

highly satisfied

Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food and tremendous service. My steak was much better than another top restaurant here in town.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

"Medallion" sized steak medallions

Dined on April 15, 2016

Service was great - food not so much. Two of us ordered the steak medallions. The size of the medallions was ridiculously small. Not much bigger than a silver dollar. I paid $36 for 3 of these. At this price the portions need to be much more substantial!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a good experience--superb service ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Always a good experience--superb service and excellent food.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary

Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was excellent. My boyfriend and I celebrated our two year Anniversay here, everything was amazing. From the time we pulled up until the moment we left, we were catered to. We will be coming back soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Steak house, right?

Dined on April 9, 2016

How difficult would you expect it to be for a high end "steak house" to prepare the steaks according to the diner's request? Seafood meals were prepared just fine and were enjoyable. What wasn't enjoyable was not only having the steak not prepared properly but to have to chase down the waiter to have him take the plate back to the kitchen. The waiter was nice, his assistants were swarming and the greet staff was very accommodating. But when spending $75 per person without alcoholic beverages, without appetizers and without desserts there are multiple options in this town where the kitchen can get it right and your server will be pleased to check with you to make sure it is.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Olaf was amazing very knowled ...

Dined on April 8, 2016

Our server Olaf was amazing very knowledgeable and personable. Food was deeeelicious! It was perfect for our anniversary celebration. The desserts were O M G! Nothing but praises for our first experience!

food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Disappointing

Dined on March 27, 2016

We attended Easter Sunday Brunch. We had 1:30 reservations , they ran out of several items on the buffet and did not replenish. We paid the same as guest that were there at 11:30 but did not have the same options

food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great food. Service was spotty by server.

Dined on March 27, 2016

We thought the food was great. The hostess was good. Ambiance was good. Crowded but never felt they were lacking food. Only complaint was our server was difficult to find at times (Olaf) and shrimp cocktail was never pointed out to us. I was told later that it was in a separate room and our server should have mentioned it to us. He never did.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night!

Dined on March 26, 2016

What a great experience! The food was, as always, so very good! We had one guest who was "challenging" and Emily handled it perfectly. The music was some of the best we have heard there, (Matt Roush, go see him!). Overall it was a very nice night.

Tags: special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

great evening

Dined on March 19, 2016

Solid service with an upscale menu and vibe. A place to celebrate and splurge.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for Northside Nights. Waiter was ve ...

Dined on March 16, 2016

Went for Northside Nights. Waiter was very helpful and courteous. Ordered the wedge salad (an extra charge), the 3 beef medallions and bread pudding. The wedge had (I never thought I'd say this) way too much dressing and bleu cheese. The medallions were fabulous with 3 different toppings. The bread pudding was delicious. Would go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Our Server made our evening...

Dined on March 12, 2016

I only wish I could recall her name. She was kind, helpful, humorous and she knew exactly what she was doing. Of course, there seemed to be a 'team' of people taking care of us. We went during Devour Northside 2016. It was a nice occasion to try something different. We had a great experience!! We'll be back...but we won't order alcohol as the cocktail prices basically doubled our bill and added nothing to the experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Impress your date

Dined on March 8, 2016

Was there on a weeknight. The food is good enough but not all that special. It's the service and the atmosphere that were exceptional. Be prepared to pay dearly for the experience though.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service

Dined on March 7, 2016

The service from Nick was excellent. This is not the first time that Nick has served us and as always great service. We will be back and ask for Nick.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prime47, A Carmel Gem

Dined on March 6, 2016

The service and food at Prime 47-Carmel is on point!!! All of the servers and support staff are very good but if she's available ask for Heather. As a lover of authentic Cajun and creole cuisine we are very familiar with the "blackened" cooking technique. The chef at Prime47-Carmel prepares the best blackened salmon in the Indy area!!! Don't let the dark colored crust fool you, this is the delicious Cajun spice mixture charred to perfection and the taste is fantastic!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Bud Mar2016

Dined on March 2, 2016

Meals were outstanding. Generous helpings. Calamari was fantastic; shrimp cocktail had giant prawns rather than just large shrimp and cocktail sauce was great, spicy. Dessert was excellent. Staff provided good selection recommendations. Overall service was superior to most other high-end restaurants, actual meal ordering seemed just slightly delayed but still great. Definitely a "go back" kind of restaurant. Bar area with live music was vibrant while quiet areas were available further into the facility.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

Food Great, Service and Pace I expected Better...

Dined on February 27, 2016

The food was great, just entire pace of the meal was off and the serving staff didn't react to it. Also the service staff was ALWAYS around the table. My wife and I could barely talk because there were only 2 minute breaks between someone being at the table. Great food, just didn't enjoy the experience this time because of the pace and overservice.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5

Overall the food was great, but then we ...

Dined on February 25, 2016

Overall the food was great, but then we got disappointed in pre-purchased/pre-made desserts and the espresso came from a Nespresso machine and tasted bad. This expensive and not up to par? The main dining room suffered from live music coming from the bar while at the same time different music was playing over the speaker system. For the price, there are better options. The filet mignon was good though.

food5
ambience5
service5

Every year my husband and I celebrate ou ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Every year my husband and I celebrate our anniversary at Prime 47 and I couldn't imagine doing it anywhere else. Besides the excellent food and service, Prime 47 always makes it special for us.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful atmosphere. Food was very good ...

Dined on February 20, 2016

Wonderful atmosphere. Food was very good. Service excellent.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service, nice atmosphere.

Dined on February 20, 2016

Not a pretentious restaurant, but just the right atmosphere for a nice dinner with close friends or that special someone. The presentation of the food was subtle and understated. This restaurant while having nice presentation, in my opinion, recognizes that substance over form is more important and they let the quality, preparation and taste of the food make the impression. I am not a person that wants to see garnish items next to my steak or worries how "pretty" the food appears. I want a flavorful, tender and quality cut of meat prepared in such a manner that the taste and tenderness do the talking, without it it being served medium or medium rare, and that is what Prime 47 delivers. I think this is the first restaurant I have been to where the chef knows how to prepare a steak medium well to well to absolute perfection. I am 48 years old and it was the finest meal that I have ever had away from home. The service was a step above excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

A disappointment. Entirely too LOUD.

Dined on February 19, 2016

In spite of a lovely interior, this was a disappointment. The noise level was awful and we had a group of four people who wanted to be able to talk to one another. Hardly possible. The service was OK, but it hardly mattered relative to the din that permeated the place from a very loud bar area....and then to make matters worse, a girl sat on a stool and started playing music into the dining area, equaling MORE noise. These places who have not attempted to baffle the dining areas with some sort of sound absorption should take a lesson from Arturo, at the wonderful Capri. It is never annoyingly loud there......no matter how crowded.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4

Had a wonderful and delicious dinner for ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Had a wonderful and delicious dinner for Valentines Day.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Even on Valentine's Day the service was great.

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Filet was great. Service was too. We had a great night and we will be back

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Mediocre

Dined on February 14, 2016

My wife and I ate there for Valentine's. Food was not impressive. Service was great and good atmosphere. Not sure if it was the Valentine menu but very over priced for the quality and taste of the food, particularly the steak. It was talked up but had little flavor and had a processed feel to it. Okay for special occasion (mostly the atmosphere) but not to go for a regular meal.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Valentine's Day Greatness!

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Busy Valentie's Day but food and service were excellent! The rose on each table and the chocolate covered strawberries were a nice touch!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Valentines Day

Dined on February 14, 2016

The hostesses did a good job. The wait staff were on top of it all day long while we were there. The only problem was that the cutting station for the meat was always behind while we were there and it cut back on the enjoyment of the day because we were always waiting . At one time the cutter actually said he would bring us a serving to our table so we would not have to wait in line.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Valentine's Day!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Valentine's Day meant a busy evening and energetic atmosphere! We didn't get seated until 8pm for a 7:30 reservation but based on the night, that was understandable. Service was great for the night! Had 3 people taking care of us! Food was fantastic! Calamari was excellent! Lobster Bisque was outstanding! Scallops and filet were delicious! Chocolate covered strawberry's were a great finish for the night! The rose was a special touch! Overall, the night was expensive, but well worth it for my wife and myself!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service1

After being seated 15 minutes late we ha ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

After being seated 15 minutes late we had to sit and wait 10 more minutes to order our drinks. Once we received our drinks we were ready to order because we had been there for over 20 minutes. We order an appetizer of the calamari which was delicious but once again took way to long to receive. We both ordered steaks and both asked for them to be of a medium cook. By the time our steaks arrived we had been at the restaurant for an hour and forty-five minutes and seated for an hour and a half of that time. One of the steaks was cooked perfectly however the other steak was borderline rare. Having been there so long I did not even bother to ask for another steak knowing how long the first one took. Since we were already running behind for our after dinner plans I asked for the check as soon as the steaks arrived. The waitress apologized for the slowness and got our check for us. As soon as the check arrived I immediately put my payment with the bill on the corner of the table to be taken. We had finished our entrees and the table had been cleaned of our finished plates before the check was ever picked up from our table and returned. We arrived at 7 for a 7:15 reservation and was seated at 7:30 and had our entrees delivered at 9. Now knowing it was the Saturday before Valentine's Day I expected a slower than normal service. That being said for an expensive dinner of that magnitude i find it extremely unacceptable to be seated late have a dinner last that long and for my simple 8oz steak to be so under cooked. I would not recommend this to any of my family or friends unless they plan for a nearly two and a half hour dinner costing close to $200 for two people.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointing

Dined on February 14, 2016

Food is above average but expect better from a high end restaurant. Service was below average - poor communication between wait staff caused delays in getting drinks, meals, salad dressing, etc.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4

Very nice experience for my husband & I' ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Very nice experience for my husband & I's 1st time here. We will be back for sure!

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Underwhelming Valentines Dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

I chose Prime 47 for our Valentine’s Day in hopes for exceptional ambiance and a delicious meal; however, from the freezing seating in the dining room to the over-cooked steak we were very disappointed based on the price. The seating by the windows was absolutely freezing where I decided to not get dessert because it was so cold. A girl a table over even had to get her coat brought to her. We got the pick-3 side dishes where one of our choices was the broccoli with hollandaise sauce that came as a small piece of broccoli head uncut. One of the steaks was ordered as medium-rare and we were disappointed to get the $45 steak at least medium. Overall, having been to most of the top steak houses in the area ranging from St. Elmo’s to Fleming’s to Skyline Club, we were underwhelmed with Prime 47’s food quality and lack of attention-to-detail versus other similar steak houses.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

WOW

Dined on February 13, 2016

Had a romantic dinner on 13th of February. Had no idea just how wonderful an evening it would be. I made reservations ahead of time. Requested a particular floral arrangement at my table but was blown away by the service that welcomed the evenings meal. Welcoming valet...Welcoming hotesses...CRRCTN: HOSTESSES. ..GREAT service (shout out to Nick, Greg, Jeff) they took such wonderful care of us and showed what Excellence should resemble. From the the manager kindly checking up on us to the remarkable calamari appetizers that kept us company. We have been raving about P47 everyday since. It's rare that an establishment will focus on every detail of service to/for their guests. Amazing presentation Prime 47. Definitely looking forward to dining with you again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.