About Prime 47 - Carmel

Located at Clay Terrace, Prime 47 is known for its USDA Grade Prime Steaks, the highest quality seafood, exquisite cuisine, extensive wine selection and outstanding service. Relax and enjoy the ambiance, while our staff becomes your staff, dedicated to providing a truly personalized dining experience.

14300 Clay Terrace Blvd
Ste 155
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Next to Dick's Sport Goods at Clay Terrace

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 660-0720

Website:
http://prime47carmel.com/

Entertainment:
Live music nightly

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Prime 47 offers complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Oscar Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or an elaborate affair, Prime 47 is the place for a truly personalized dining experience. Relax an enjoy the ambiance of our private dining rooms, while our staff becomes your staff. Dedicated to providing the most memorable of evenings for you and your guests.

President"s Room
Seating Capacity: 24

Mezzanine
Seating Capacity: 24
Reception Capacity: 30

The Fortune Room
Seating Capacity: 40
Reception Capacity: 60

Main Dining Room arrangements are available as well.

Private Party Contact:
Nessa Boyden: (317) 660-0720

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prime 47 - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (44)
Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
See All
Romantic (30)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Business Meals (27)
Notable Wine List (22)
Bar Seating (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Private Room (13)
Live Music (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Good for Groups (11)
Cozy (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Fun (8)
People Watching (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Casual (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Fireplace (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
410 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were there for Easter Brunch. The food was terrible for such an upscale restaurant. They never had Prime Rib available during the time we were dining 2 pm. The food in the warmers was dry and stuck in the pan. We had to ask for items to be remade. We left very undstisifued sad to say.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was amazing. Fairly dim could have been a tad brighter to actually see what I was eating but it was most likely where we were sitting. Everything else was perfect.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 16, 2017

There was not any gluten free options for the Easter brunch...besides some fruit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Amazing service and food. Jeff our waiter was enthusiastic and knowledgeable about the menu. Service was great and friendly. Good was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Simply fantastic. We went to celebrate a birthday, and the food and the service were impeccable. The wait staff was friendly, and on top of everything. The food was fresh, and just delicious. That was one of the best steaks I've ever eaten. The birthday message on our menus was a wonderful touch. I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone who wants the best of the best. Just wonderful.

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dined there twice within a week. Had a bad experience the first time and returned with a gift certificate as a result. Same issue: We told the waiter "steaks done medium, we want it pink, not red" - He said I will tell the kitchen medium +. Steak clearly came out that look of medium rare with the internal being purple/red rare. Disappointing, close to my house. Cancelling my group of 20 in two weeks. I just don't understand how the kitchen cannot cook a steak correct at a steak house.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 26, 2017

The service, food and décor were excellent! The hostess and wait staff were very attentive but not overly so. I included a note in the reservation that my wife and I were celebrating our March birthdays. Staff provided nice extra touches that included Happy Birthday printed on the menu, a glass of bubbly, tasty dessert and photo which was printed, framed and given to us on the spot! We asked for our seafood to be grilled which was done to perfection...grilled seafood isn't something we've found easy to get in Indiana. We've visited the Prime 47 downtown several times while attending performances at Bankers Life but find the service and convenience (we live in Carmel) to be much better at the Carmel facility.

Our dinner reservations were early evening and most patrons were at the bar, not in the dining area. However, if the food and service we received during our visit is an example of how they do business, we will return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Jeff was our server. He was fantastic as well as the somlier!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 25, 2017

I came in with my date. I am deaf and she isn't. When we first seated at the table, our waiter came and put all of his attentions on her JUST BECAUSE he and her can communicate otherwise me and him couldn't. I have asked for pen and paper in gesture was. He was fully aware that I am deaf and yet nothing had improved after knowing the fact he has a deaf customer. I wouldn't recommend any hearing people to go there because if they were deaf, they would have to deal what I dealt either way. The food was good for sure. Well professional staffed.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was incredible! Best steak ever! Great service and "old school" customer service. Loved it.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Terrific dinner!
Very consistent, service by Abagail was great and salmon fantastic!
Music by Matt Roush is very entertaining and creates likely atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Undercooked steak after great clarity when ordering followed by overdone 2nd try. No apology. Sad. They called me today and sounded as if they didn't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Intimate dining room or bustling bar : your choice!
We took the former and had fantastic food & services from Abagail & Kellie! The blackened salmon is wonderful.. paired with prime sampler of 3 assorted sides. Finished with sorbet.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We LOVE Prime 47. Although we live in North Carolina, this was our choice to celebrate Paul's birthday. The service is always the best anywhere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The steak was great. The ribeye literally felt like cutting butter. Super tender and flavorful. I'm normally a filet person, but this ribeye was great.

Don't let them tell you the shrimp cocktail is better than St Elmo's or Harry and Izzys. The shrimp itself is better and very good, the sauce is spicy too. But the flavor isn't nearly as good nor does it punch you in the back of the head quite as hard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 28, 2017

This was a birthday celebration dinner. From the moment we arrived the staff were absolutely great. They had reserved a very nice table for us decorated with a red rose for the birthday girl and a specially printed menu with her name . The entire evening was very pleasant. The food was well prepared and well served. Almost all dishes were plentiful and tasty. The tuna dish could use some help. The tuna was cooked Ok but it was siting on an enormous pile of tasteless mashed potatoes. It could have been better if they had served fewer potatoes with a little more reduction with the tuna on the side not on top of the potatoes. Similarly the crab cake appetizer could use something more to bring it to life. It was very bland and almost cold.
The wine recommendation from the server was quite good.
Generally, it was a fun evening and we strongly recommend Prime 47 for all occasions.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The list of starters has many great choices. Our steak tataki was excellent. The filet with crab Oscar was perfectly prepared, as was the salmon. Service was excellent as well. Attentive, knowledgeable and friendly describes our server, Olaf.
The low point of the meal was the dessert. The singnature cookie was barely cooked and just not that great. The yam cake was quite good, but just not good enough to be 'he icing on the cake' that is the dinner menu. We were told a new pastry chef is on board and will be revamping the dessert offerings soon. We are looking forward to a return trip to Prime 47.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was amazing and delicious! I had the porterhouse with black truffle butter. My father had the blackened salmon and my sister had the filet mignon. Everything was cooked to perfection. I even got to try a specialty craft drink of the night called the "Shark Attack," made by the wonderful Bartender Laura. With dinner we enjoyed a fabulous Spanish wine called Tinto Iturria and learned from the Manager Kevin, who was very knowledgeable about a lot of wines, that the owners of the Spanish vineyard actually live here in Carmel! The only thing topping the food and drink was the service by our very attentive servers, Olaf and Kelly. Will DEFINITELY be back soon!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was terrible, no actually it was the worst! Our waitress showed up at our table three times. One to take a drink order which took almost 20 minutes to get, the food order and to deliver our check. My wife's steak was served cold on a warm plate and the we were double charged for the steak as she blamed it on the computer. No one was interested in correcting the situation. Our waitress never followed up for additional drinks or to see if we were satisfied with our meals. Our waitress even commented that we received really poor service but she was just too busy! When you pay a premium price you should get great service and quality food we got neither. Beware of Prime 47 there are many better options.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was very good. They were understaffed on the floor, and totally flustered. 15 minutes before we were approached for the first order. They apologized, however we felt like we were on their schedule, not ours. We will try again to see if it was a one-off circumstance...

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awful service. Had this been my first time visiting, I would not be going back.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was spectacular right get from the beginning. We were seated at our reservation time. Might not be a big deal but for Valentine's Day, I was impressed that they maintained their schedule throughout the evening. When we were seated, we were promptly waited by a young man that offered us various water options. The wait staff was ver attentive even on a busier evening. Our food was exquisite. Perfectly seasoned and cooked. I enjoyed the space between the tables and felt very private. We didn't feel rushed and had a great experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my wife for a Valentine's dinner. The food was good and the service was good until we were almost finished eating. As we neared the end of out meal the server's assistant took my drink glass, I was expecting a refill, he never came back. As soon as we finished eating the server took out plates and returned with the check and two chocolate covered strawberries. We had planned on getting desert, we were not offered a desert menu and I never received a refill.
We were under the impression they wanted us to leave. I understand that there was a crowed since it was Valentine's and people were waiting for tables, that's why we made a reservation. We spent over $160 and would have spent more if we were given the option of having desert.
What started as a nice meal with good service, ended up being a disappointment. Overall, I cannot say that we were satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to Prime 47 for a Valentine's Day dinner. We had a great table and the atmosphere was very romantic. We had wonderful service that night and our waiters were on-top of our every need. They also gave us great suggestions on what food/ drink to order and we never felt rushed. The food was delicious. The steaks were prepared just the way we ordered and I liked the variety of sides that were on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentines Sunday Brunch was outstanding! A little pricey, but the offerings were well worth it. Service was outstanding...pleasant, appropriately attentive, and informative.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was awful. Bottle of Wine took 30 minutes to come out. Service staff grabbed our salads away while we were still eating and then waited 15 minutes for our meals after that. I will never go back

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for dinner the Saturday before Valntine's Day and like many other restaurants it was busy. Fortunately for us, it was also surprisingly well organized to handle the crowd. The serving staff as well as the kitchen did a very nice job. The service was very good as was the food. The lobster bisque and the mussels were well prepared and very tasty. The salads and the scallops and sea bass main dishes were equally as good. We also enjoyed the drinks, wine and desert.
It is definitely worth going back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This has become one of our favorite places to go. The food is very good, and Laura, our waitress we request each time, is the best service person we have ever had at any restaurant. This is a great place to eat and socialize. Also, the entertianment on Tuesday and Saturday is another reason we keep coming back. The singer, Matt Rouch, is extremely talented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went to Prime 47 for my Birthday and it was great! The service was great with the servers being very friendly and the food was delicious. Prime 47 is one of our favorite restaurants and they did nothing to change our opinion on this visit, it was fantastic and we will be back.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Maybe I set my expectations too high for my first visit to the restaurant but I was generally disappointed. The wait staff did a fantastic job and if it wasn't for the wait team that took care of my wife and I, this review would not be so good. Crab cake appetizer was great, chunks of meat, little breading and the remoulade was excellent. Entrees, however, were a bit disappointing. I ordered the dry aged KC strip (signature item), medium, as the restaurant's definitions are a half degree lower than the typical, which seems odd. I normally order my NY strips medium rare but the description seems comparable to the standard "rare" definition so I opted to go up to medium. It was good but for a signature item I expected better and I have had better. Glad we had the experience. Great wait staff that made the experience a good evening out. Unfortunately just not a restaurant that I would say is a "must go back".

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

1st class, from the food to the service. Our steaks were awesome!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was delicious, cooked to perfection. The service was impeccable. Prices were very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Meal was fantastic. Tried the Kung Pao Calimari; it was outstanding. Ate in the bar to watch the Super Bowl so was a little louder than rest of restaurant but definitely not too loud. Laura was the bartender and took care of the bar and the tables in the bar area. She did a super job taking care of so much territory.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Upper room seat in the corner was the most romantic and quiet seat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Not happy with wine selection or how few wines available by the glass. But food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We came here to try it out as part of our local pre fixe menu week with some friends. The food was great, but the service was incredibly slow. My husband and I each ordered a drink from the bar and it took more than half an hour for them to come out. We didn't get our drinks until after the appetizer and the soup/salads were out. I would give them another chance though to see if it's like that all the time or if maybe they were just overwhelmed that one night.
We tried the baked goat cheese appetizer and it was excellent! Would also recommend their Crab Oscar add on. The sauce was seasoned perfectly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our experience was fine until after dinner.. we had to wait for a drink refill for over 30 minutes, dessert did not arrive until 45 minutes after we finished dinner. Took two requests to see the manager who apologized they had not staffed appropriately to accommodate the customers and would talk about it tomorrow and use it as a learning opportunity... and repeated the statement over again. We were in the center of the room and felt completely ignored. ... it was nice to receive a cold call from then inquiring about our experience.... hope they use it for a learning opportunity. Too bad because we went as a participant in Devour Indy program.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We celebrated our 2nd anniversary there with my parents. We always have a fantastic meal at this restaurant. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent food, steaks were cooked perfectly. Jeff was a fantastic server. Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.