About Prime 47 - Carmel

Located at Clay Terrace, Prime 47 is known for its USDA Grade Prime Steaks, the highest quality seafood, exquisite cuisine, extensive wine selection and outstanding service. Relax and enjoy the ambiance, while our staff becomes your staff, dedicated to providing a truly personalized dining experience.

14300 Clay Terrace Blvd
Ste 155
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Next to Dick's Sport Goods at Clay Terrace

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 660-0720

Website:
http://prime47carmel.com/

Entertainment:
Live music nightly

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Prime 47 offers complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Oscar Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or an elaborate affair, Prime 47 is the place for a truly personalized dining experience. Relax an enjoy the ambiance of our private dining rooms, while our staff becomes your staff. Dedicated to providing the most memorable of evenings for you and your guests.

President"s Room
Seating Capacity: 24

Mezzanine
Seating Capacity: 24
Reception Capacity: 30

The Fortune Room
Seating Capacity: 40
Reception Capacity: 60

Main Dining Room arrangements are available as well.

Private Party Contact:
Nessa Boyden: (317) 660-0720

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prime 47 - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (46)
Special Occasion (38)
Romantic (34)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Business Meals (33)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Private Room (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Live Music (14)
Worth the Drive (12)
Fun (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Casual (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
People Watching (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Authentic (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Live Sports (2)
Seasonal (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 2 days ago

Terrific dinner!
Very consistent, service by Abagail was great and salmon fantastic!
Music by Matt Roush is very entertaining and creates likely atmosphere.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Undercooked steak after great clarity when ordering followed by overdone 2nd try. No apology. Sad. They called me today and sounded as if they didn't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Intimate dining room or bustling bar : your choice!
We took the former and had fantastic food & services from Abagail & Kellie! The blackened salmon is wonderful.. paired with prime sampler of 3 assorted sides. Finished with sorbet.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We LOVE Prime 47. Although we live in North Carolina, this was our choice to celebrate Paul's birthday. The service is always the best anywhere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The steak was great. The ribeye literally felt like cutting butter. Super tender and flavorful. I'm normally a filet person, but this ribeye was great.

Don't let them tell you the shrimp cocktail is better than St Elmo's or Harry and Izzys. The shrimp itself is better and very good, the sauce is spicy too. But the flavor isn't nearly as good nor does it punch you in the back of the head quite as hard

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 28, 2017

This was a birthday celebration dinner. From the moment we arrived the staff were absolutely great. They had reserved a very nice table for us decorated with a red rose for the birthday girl and a specially printed menu with her name . The entire evening was very pleasant. The food was well prepared and well served. Almost all dishes were plentiful and tasty. The tuna dish could use some help. The tuna was cooked Ok but it was siting on an enormous pile of tasteless mashed potatoes. It could have been better if they had served fewer potatoes with a little more reduction with the tuna on the side not on top of the potatoes. Similarly the crab cake appetizer could use something more to bring it to life. It was very bland and almost cold.
The wine recommendation from the server was quite good.
Generally, it was a fun evening and we strongly recommend Prime 47 for all occasions.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The list of starters has many great choices. Our steak tataki was excellent. The filet with crab Oscar was perfectly prepared, as was the salmon. Service was excellent as well. Attentive, knowledgeable and friendly describes our server, Olaf.
The low point of the meal was the dessert. The singnature cookie was barely cooked and just not that great. The yam cake was quite good, but just not good enough to be 'he icing on the cake' that is the dinner menu. We were told a new pastry chef is on board and will be revamping the dessert offerings soon. We are looking forward to a return trip to Prime 47.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Food was amazing and delicious! I had the porterhouse with black truffle butter. My father had the blackened salmon and my sister had the filet mignon. Everything was cooked to perfection. I even got to try a specialty craft drink of the night called the "Shark Attack," made by the wonderful Bartender Laura. With dinner we enjoyed a fabulous Spanish wine called Tinto Iturria and learned from the Manager Kevin, who was very knowledgeable about a lot of wines, that the owners of the Spanish vineyard actually live here in Carmel! The only thing topping the food and drink was the service by our very attentive servers, Olaf and Kelly. Will DEFINITELY be back soon!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The service was terrible, no actually it was the worst! Our waitress showed up at our table three times. One to take a drink order which took almost 20 minutes to get, the food order and to deliver our check. My wife's steak was served cold on a warm plate and the we were double charged for the steak as she blamed it on the computer. No one was interested in correcting the situation. Our waitress never followed up for additional drinks or to see if we were satisfied with our meals. Our waitress even commented that we received really poor service but she was just too busy! When you pay a premium price you should get great service and quality food we got neither. Beware of Prime 47 there are many better options.

Tags: Seasonal, Happy Hour
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Food was very good. They were understaffed on the floor, and totally flustered. 15 minutes before we were approached for the first order. They apologized, however we felt like we were on their schedule, not ours. We will try again to see if it was a one-off circumstance...

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awful service. Had this been my first time visiting, I would not be going back.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was spectacular right get from the beginning. We were seated at our reservation time. Might not be a big deal but for Valentine's Day, I was impressed that they maintained their schedule throughout the evening. When we were seated, we were promptly waited by a young man that offered us various water options. The wait staff was ver attentive even on a busier evening. Our food was exquisite. Perfectly seasoned and cooked. I enjoyed the space between the tables and felt very private. We didn't feel rushed and had a great experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I took my wife for a Valentine's dinner. The food was good and the service was good until we were almost finished eating. As we neared the end of out meal the server's assistant took my drink glass, I was expecting a refill, he never came back. As soon as we finished eating the server took out plates and returned with the check and two chocolate covered strawberries. We had planned on getting desert, we were not offered a desert menu and I never received a refill.
We were under the impression they wanted us to leave. I understand that there was a crowed since it was Valentine's and people were waiting for tables, that's why we made a reservation. We spent over $160 and would have spent more if we were given the option of having desert.
What started as a nice meal with good service, ended up being a disappointment. Overall, I cannot say that we were satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to Prime 47 for a Valentine's Day dinner. We had a great table and the atmosphere was very romantic. We had wonderful service that night and our waiters were on-top of our every need. They also gave us great suggestions on what food/ drink to order and we never felt rushed. The food was delicious. The steaks were prepared just the way we ordered and I liked the variety of sides that were on the menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentines Sunday Brunch was outstanding! A little pricey, but the offerings were well worth it. Service was outstanding...pleasant, appropriately attentive, and informative.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was awful. Bottle of Wine took 30 minutes to come out. Service staff grabbed our salads away while we were still eating and then waited 15 minutes for our meals after that. I will never go back

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for dinner the Saturday before Valntine's Day and like many other restaurants it was busy. Fortunately for us, it was also surprisingly well organized to handle the crowd. The serving staff as well as the kitchen did a very nice job. The service was very good as was the food. The lobster bisque and the mussels were well prepared and very tasty. The salads and the scallops and sea bass main dishes were equally as good. We also enjoyed the drinks, wine and desert.
It is definitely worth going back soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This has become one of our favorite places to go. The food is very good, and Laura, our waitress we request each time, is the best service person we have ever had at any restaurant. This is a great place to eat and socialize. Also, the entertianment on Tuesday and Saturday is another reason we keep coming back. The singer, Matt Rouch, is extremely talented.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Went to Prime 47 for my Birthday and it was great! The service was great with the servers being very friendly and the food was delicious. Prime 47 is one of our favorite restaurants and they did nothing to change our opinion on this visit, it was fantastic and we will be back.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Maybe I set my expectations too high for my first visit to the restaurant but I was generally disappointed. The wait staff did a fantastic job and if it wasn't for the wait team that took care of my wife and I, this review would not be so good. Crab cake appetizer was great, chunks of meat, little breading and the remoulade was excellent. Entrees, however, were a bit disappointing. I ordered the dry aged KC strip (signature item), medium, as the restaurant's definitions are a half degree lower than the typical, which seems odd. I normally order my NY strips medium rare but the description seems comparable to the standard "rare" definition so I opted to go up to medium. It was good but for a signature item I expected better and I have had better. Glad we had the experience. Great wait staff that made the experience a good evening out. Unfortunately just not a restaurant that I would say is a "must go back".

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

1st class, from the food to the service. Our steaks were awesome!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The food was delicious, cooked to perfection. The service was impeccable. Prices were very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Meal was fantastic. Tried the Kung Pao Calimari; it was outstanding. Ate in the bar to watch the Super Bowl so was a little louder than rest of restaurant but definitely not too loud. Laura was the bartender and took care of the bar and the tables in the bar area. She did a super job taking care of so much territory.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Upper room seat in the corner was the most romantic and quiet seat.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Not happy with wine selection or how few wines available by the glass. But food was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We came here to try it out as part of our local pre fixe menu week with some friends. The food was great, but the service was incredibly slow. My husband and I each ordered a drink from the bar and it took more than half an hour for them to come out. We didn't get our drinks until after the appetizer and the soup/salads were out. I would give them another chance though to see if it's like that all the time or if maybe they were just overwhelmed that one night.
We tried the baked goat cheese appetizer and it was excellent! Would also recommend their Crab Oscar add on. The sauce was seasoned perfectly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Our experience was fine until after dinner.. we had to wait for a drink refill for over 30 minutes, dessert did not arrive until 45 minutes after we finished dinner. Took two requests to see the manager who apologized they had not staffed appropriately to accommodate the customers and would talk about it tomorrow and use it as a learning opportunity... and repeated the statement over again. We were in the center of the room and felt completely ignored. ... it was nice to receive a cold call from then inquiring about our experience.... hope they use it for a learning opportunity. Too bad because we went as a participant in Devour Indy program.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We celebrated our 2nd anniversary there with my parents. We always have a fantastic meal at this restaurant. Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent food, steaks were cooked perfectly. Jeff was a fantastic server. Overall a wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 1, 2017

First time visit. Staff and food were excellent, nice quiet dining room; very easy to carry on a conversation without having to raise your voice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The food was pretty jazzy! We had the medallion filets and we liked most of them but they each had a different topping. We would've preferred to have been able to pick what came on ours because there was one we weren't a fan of. The potato soup was great but the size of the tea cup they put it in made us laugh. It was about 5 bites worth! The bread was great and the cookie with ice cream was also delish!

We went during devour Indy week,so the prices seemed reasonable but not sure we'd pay the full asking price during a regular visit merely based upon portion sizes.

All-in-all we had a great time! This would be a restaurant we recommend for sure.

Tags: Fireplace, Late-night Find, Private Room, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great service by knowledgeable staff... food was terrific, extensive wine list to pick from... great live music in the bar.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, People Watching, Romantic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was excellent. But the server asked me if I really wanted to have my steak rare. It will be red and cold inside. My opinion: A good cook can make a steak rare and warm from inside! But finally the steak came super delicious. Because of the life music and the amount of people it was a little loud, so talking was kind of effort.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We came during the "devour" promo. The selections were very good & very enjoyable. Service was great even though they were very busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had a lengthy wait upon arrival despite our reservation. We were seated upstairs where it was a little loud. We asked for a Devour Indy menu and our waiter seemed disappointed. The service seemed to diminish once wait staff knew we weren't going to be big spenders. It took a long time to get a refill of our iced tea and then we had a long wait for dessert. Waiter came by and said "you haven't had dessert yet"? He seemed surprised. With a team of two serving our table, we expected cruise ship level of service. The service wasn't even close The Devour Indy program got us in the door, but the staff didn't do their part to make sure we come back again. Food was pretty good. Value was good - appreciated the Devour pricing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We've had great luck here in the past, but had a very bad experience this time. I believe it was over crowded due to Devour Downtown. Our waiter couldn't great us for at least 5 minutes after we were seated, our food came out cold, and some of our food didn't show up at all. They tried very hard to make everything right for us.

Tags: Live Music, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We really enjoyed our sides, and the steak was good but not amazing. What we were most disappointed in was that we came for the devour menu, and my salad was not delivered, our appetizer that was an extra item was not delivered, and we also had to ask for our dessert that we had ordered. It just seem like a lot of items were not Brought out when they were supposed to be.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 28, 2017

While looking for restaurants on Yelp, I came across Prime 47. I was in town on business and had my family with me and we were wanting a nice dinner. The food reviews were pretty good, but the service seemed to be sketchy according to what I read. We arrived, were greeted and immediately seated. The server came and took drink orders right away and returned with our cocktails really quickly. We ordered an appetizer and it also came out pretty quickly. From that point on our server was MIA for some time. We weren't too concerned as we were catching up with old friends, but eventually the appetizer is gone and our drinks ran dry we started to notice that we hadn't seen the server and we hadn't ordered food. She later returned and apologized taking our orders and refreshing our drinks. The food came out fairly quickly after that. My daughters had a filet mignon with no real flavor. They were quite disappointed. I had the ribeye and it had good flavor as well as the sides of potatoes and creamed spinach. Dessert of carrot cake was large enough to share and was very tasty. All in all it wasn't bad, but management should really focus on the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We were somewhat disappointed in the service. We were a group of 6, ordering $450 worth of food/drink - point being we were a good table. And although we requested black napkins it was not until after the main course that the server remembered. Also, we ordered 3 appetizers and one was incorrect so after 20 minutes and reminding them they brought out the correct one. Then said they wouldn't charge us for the incorrect one even though it was not left at the table by the server when they brought it in the first place so clearly we did not eat it! However, it was still on the bill and we had to ask again to have it removed. The food was good, but the whole thing didn't impress anyone to come back. Really was not awful, but could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.