About Prime 47 - Carmel

14300 Clay Terrace Blvd
Ste 155
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Located at Clay Terrace, Prime 47 is known for its USDA Grade Prime Steaks, the highest quality seafood, exquisite cuisine, extensive wine selection and outstanding service. Relax and enjoy the ambiance, while our staff becomes your staff, dedicated to providing a truly personalized dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Next to Dick's Sport Goods at Clay Terrace

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 660-0720

Website:
http://prime47carmel.com/

Entertainment:
Live music nightly

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Prime 47 offers complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Oscar Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or an elaborate affair, Prime 47 is the place for a truly personalized dining experience. Relax an enjoy the ambiance of our private dining rooms, while our staff becomes your staff. Dedicated to providing the most memorable of evenings for you and your guests.

President"s Room
Seating Capacity: 24

Mezzanine
Seating Capacity: 24
Reception Capacity: 30

The Fortune Room
Seating Capacity: 40
Reception Capacity: 60

Main Dining Room arrangements are available as well.

Private Party Contact:
Nessa Boyden: 317-660-0720x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prime 47 - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (41)
Romantic (30)
Notable Wine List (24)
See All
Good for Groups (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for a Date (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Business Meals (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Live Music (2)
People Watching (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Authentic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Sports (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Fun (1)
Casual (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
289 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great service. We felt pampered. Olaf ou ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great service. We felt pampered. Olaf our server was very knowledgeable and not afraid to offer recommendations. Always a great experience at Prine 47.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Scallops and lobster lacked any flavor. ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined 4 days ago

Scallops and lobster lacked any flavor. Really surprised. Meals are normally great.

Hope this is a freak occurrence.

Service is always good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Server Abigail was wonderful. Waygu fil ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Server Abigail was wonderful. Waygu filet was outstanding! Worth the premium, perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was fantastic. For the valu ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was fantastic. For the value, I thought they were on the high side when compared to the Ruth's Chris, St. Elmo's of the city. All in all a good restaurant. For the value, I wouldn't return as frequently as I would other establishments.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Prime 47 a nice place. There was a live ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Prime 47 a nice place. There was a live band playing in the bar. He wasn't really that good, but wasn't awful. We sat in the dining area for dinner, not the bar. The service was a little slow at first. We had to ask where our waiter disappeared. Once he came back, he was fine. The food prices are a little over the top. Personally....way too expensive for casual dining. My wife and I have no plans to go back. If you don't mind paying a lot for food, then perhaps it is the place for you! Outback is just as good and 1/3 the price!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Had a great anniversary dinner. Compli ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a great anniversary dinner. Complimentary champagne dessert, photograph and a personalized menu all made it very special. Service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed in food and service ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

We were disappointed in food and service. There was an event there (Habitat for Humanity) and so all other diners were squeezed into the bar. We wished we had known and we would have chosen another restaurant. The food was ok -- we had a strip steak, veal piccatta and chicken parmesan. None was the quality that we associate with a 4 plus star restaurant. The dining area was extremely conjested. It would not have met many fire codes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

We went there for our Anniversary and th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We went there for our Anniversary and they had all of the trimmings (excluding the annoying "staff singing")...special menu, quieter room on the mezzanine, free desert and sparkling wine, and they took a picture of us. The food was very good, although the sauces for the steak were a bit over used so that the flavor of the beef itself didn't come through. It's a "steak place" so you would expect it to be pricey, and it was, although not as bad as Capital Grill or Morton's. The wine by the glass selection was somewhat limited, but we did find a great Cab.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Remarkable dining establishment. The GM ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Remarkable dining establishment. The GM & AGM team go above and beyond to ensure exceptional service. Sharp, clean and well trained staff. BOH server out performed the Front with attention to detail, patience and charm. The food was executed flawlessly. Prime 47 Carmel is in its own class, the closest you can get to French Laundry in Indy. A++

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Healthy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Spicy, Modern Decor, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food there was fabulous and the ladi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food there was fabulous and the ladies that served the food was fabulous and picked up the food and served the drinks but our actual waitress was not good at all. within a 20 minute window she messed up on what we requested 4 times. She sent something to our table we didn't order, we asked her a question about a dining experience which she went to go find out and came back and had no recollection of us asking, I asked for iced tea twice and never received it until the manager came and asked if he could get me another glass of tea and there was one other item that happened that I cant remember now. Don't get me wrong, the ladies that served the food were absolutely fabulous and so professional and the food is phenomenal and the restaurant as a whole is wonderful but the waitress who took our order and explained everything was not good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My first steak I ordered blue rare and c ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

My first steak I ordered blue rare and came out medium and the second was still slightly frozen in the middle. Then they tried to charge us for both steaks but in the end did take them both off. They said they were going to give a free dessert for our trouble but charged us for it and made an excuse of logistics and food count. Drinks were ok Beer list is ok but nothing on tap. Food was barely above average for a grain fed cut of steak.

Shrimp cocktail shrimp were huge and the hash browns had ZERO taste or spice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wow! Fabulous experience tonight! Server ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wow! Fabulous experience tonight!

Server Ben and his team mate Andrew were quiet and efficient. Tried Salmon ..2 entrees.. Blackened and Honey Horseradish glaze...incredibly moist and delicious.. Each bite virtually melted in our mouths, exploding with flavor!

Sides of creamed corn, Brussels sprouts, asparagus and baked potato were extremely tasty and hot-- temp.

Barely had room for dessert so settled for scoops of vanilla ice cream and lemon sorbet.. Nice light finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are loyal Ruth's Chris customers... s ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We are loyal Ruth's Chris customers... so our opinion will be biased. Great experience... our server definitely made the evening. Food wise we were not swayed away (price point similar). Great alternative for us if we're in a pinch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Everyone's food (6 in the party) was exc ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everyone's food (6 in the party) was excellent. Steaks came out as ordered. Shrimp were large and cocktail sauce was delicious. I highly recommend the Ahi Tuna as an appetizer. Our waiter was right on and all the support personnel did a great job. Never out of water.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a 12 oz filet. My date had the sal ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had a 12 oz filet. My date had the salmon. Both were excellent. The waiter was very knowledgeable and offered good advice. With a couple glasses of wine, the total came to $160. It's expensive to go back often, but I'll definitely go back for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. We were celebrat ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was excellent. We were celebrating our anniversary, so our waiter delivered a champagne toast at the beginning of our meal and a dessert at the end (both on the house). The service was great - very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A Matt Roush night - outstanding!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

A Matt Roush night - outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a fantastic meal at Prime 47. We ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a fantastic meal at Prime 47. We went for our anniversary and were excited that they not only greeted us saying happy anniversary, but we had a specialized menu title and got a picture taken that was emailed to us and we got to take home in a frame we were given, in addition to a free anniversary dessert. The meal was very special and delicious. We definitely plan to return. The happy hour menu and bar area looked hopping with live music that we'd love to try.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Was amazing! Celebrated my moms bday her ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Was amazing! Celebrated my moms bday here and they had menus printed out Happy 66th Birthday on them. Our service was phenomenal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great experience at Prime 47. ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had a great experience at Prime 47. We were celebrating our 28th wedding anniversary and they had the menu printed with "Happy 28th Anniversary," they took our picture and put it in a frame and they gave us a very nice dessert. The food was fabulous! The service was excellent! I would strongly recommend this restaurant to anyone. It is a higher end restaurant, so you will pay more than your average steakhouse, but it was well worth it. Best calamari I've ever eaten. Thanks for making our anniversary a very special one!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and out of the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The food was outstanding and out of the ordinary. The service was beyond excellent and the atmosphere lovely.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything is just ok which is not ok fo ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Everything is just ok which is not ok for the price! Nothing was all that special or tasting all that great. Unless you buy the $100 steak, the meat wasn't all that juicy or flavorful. Our sides were also pretty blah/lumpy/dry. The atmosphere both in the bar and in the dining room aren't anything too exciting - just ok. I can see what they want to be but they're just not executing that vision at all. Very nice servers though. For the price I would suggest Ruth Chris or Eddie Merlots.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

The Service and Food were excellent, the ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

The Service and Food were excellent, they were very attentive and extremely nice. It was our 30th anniversary and they took a picture of us and framed it and gave us a complimentary dessert. It was delicious.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have dined at Prime 47 on numerous oc ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We have dined at Prime 47 on numerous occasions and have never been dissatisfied . Great food and excellent service. One of the top 5 restaurants in the Indy/ Carmel area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything went well and the food was de ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything went well and the food was delicious. My steak was ordered "medium rare - closer to rare" and i received a medium steak. The steak was still delicious, but not exactly what was ordered. I think you can get a better steak for the price, though.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Decided to try again after terrible serv ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Decided to try again after terrible service a year ago. Hostess was fabulous! The guys had steak and it had a funky taste. I had scallops they were ok could have been hotter. Service hasn't improved. Such a disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Prime 47 is a great place for good food, ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Prime 47 is a great place for good food, great wine. We had a marvelous time. The kids were well looked after, and service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service. I would r ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food and great service. I would recommend and already have to all my friends and family

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food very good. I enjoy wine but might e ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food very good. I enjoy wine but might extend beer forthose that do not. No draft beer.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was terrific. I had the Chi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The service was terrific. I had the Chilean Sea Bass and it was very tasty. My husband had a sirloin and it was very grisly and difficult to chew. The restaurant was very accommodating and took 1/2 off the price and threw in a giant cookie with ice cream. Our server agreed that the steak was not up to their normal level of quality. Overall it was a very good experience. Next time he will probably have the filet to be sure it's tender.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great as usual. Service was eve ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was great as usual. Service was even better. This is a great place for an early dinner too. Nice and quite and relaxing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! It was our anniversary and th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Fabulous! It was our anniversary and they had "Happy 35th Anniversary" printed on the top of the menu. Gave us a champagne toast and dessert then took our picture with their camera and gave us the picture in a frame! The Hostess, told me she would email me the picture but it hasn't been received. I felt like a "movie star" with such treatment. The food was excellent also! I would highly recommend this restaurant. The food is pricey so, for us, it's for special occasions only.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were running late for Fathers Day Din ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were running late for Fathers Day Dinner and the host and the servers were so gracious and still accommodating especially since I think the manager was a little upset. This was past seating time so it was very appreciated and saved Fathers Day. The food was excellent. A big thank you to the wonderful staff.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Prime 47 both in Clay Terrace an ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love Prime 47 both in Clay Terrace and Downtown Indianapolis. The side dishes are great for vegetarians and the deserts are incredible!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate hear last year and it was very go ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We ate hear last year and it was very good. We ate here last week and it was mediocre. The steaks are very expensive. They were served warm, not hot, and not cooked to the correct temperature...under-cooked. The meat was a bit tough and there was not much flavor. I have eaten at every good steak house in Chicago and Indianapolis. This would rank in the bottom third on that list.

We were seated in the place where a band is normally placed. The decor was quite boring and the space was dark. It felt like we were in a makeshift seating area not an expensive dining establishment.

The waitress was not mean or difficult but was also not very friendly. She did not make the experience enjoyable but didn't make it bad either. I gave her a $60 tip that she really didn't earn.

The expense of this meal did not match the quality you would expect and was well below the experience we had last year. At that price I wont take a chance by going back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had the most amazing time at Prime 47, e ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had the most amazing time at Prime 47, everyone from the valet to the manager were extremely nice, our server Olaf was excellent beyond five stars, the food was just okay not exceptional but will go bac because of the excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I bought my son and he's son for Father' ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I bought my son and he's son for Father's Day celebration. It was a blast and we have so much fun and my little grandson did so well. The waitress we had was outstanding I thought and the food selection was wonder and a nice size portions. We couldn't eat it all and had to take food home with us and it was just as good the next day after being heated up. My son just ask me this morning when are we going back I told him very soon. thanks Prime-47

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful brunch!! Food was great ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful brunch!! Food was great and service was wonderful. Awesome to eat outdoors. Our first time here we will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I treated my husband to a nice dinner ou ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I treated my husband to a nice dinner out for Father's Day. We were so lucky that there was live music that night. While quite loud, (even though we weren't sitting in the bar area) the man playing was very, very good. The appetizer we ordered (Beef Tataki) was just ok - we much prefer beef tartar, but that's our fault for ordering something different. Love that the entrees come with soup or salad - it's nice that everything wasn't separate. My husband enjoyed his french onion soup, and my house salad was good although the croutons were stale. The bread served was very good. My husband's filet was cooked perfectly, he ordered Rare Plus and that is exactly what he received. I ordered the Veal Piccata and it was amazing. Quite a lot of asparagus, but the veal portion was generous. The sauce was excellent. My husband enjoyed the drink he ordered, but it's hard to mess up Glenlivet neat. My vodka martini with a twist was made very well and tasted great. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.