About Prime 47 - Carmel

14300 Clay Terrace Blvd
Ste 155
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Located at Clay Terrace, Prime 47 is known for its USDA Grade Prime Steaks, the highest quality seafood, exquisite cuisine, extensive wine selection and outstanding service. Relax and enjoy the ambiance, while our staff becomes your staff, dedicated to providing a truly personalized dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Next to Dick's Sport Goods at Clay Terrace

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 660-0720

Website:
http://prime47carmel.com/

Entertainment:
Live music nightly

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Prime 47 offers complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Oscar Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or an elaborate affair, Prime 47 is the place for a truly personalized dining experience. Relax an enjoy the ambiance of our private dining rooms, while our staff becomes your staff. Dedicated to providing the most memorable of evenings for you and your guests.

President"s Room
Seating Capacity: 24

Mezzanine
Seating Capacity: 24
Reception Capacity: 30

The Fortune Room
Seating Capacity: 40
Reception Capacity: 60

Main Dining Room arrangements are available as well.

Private Party Contact:
Nessa Boyden: (317) 660-0720

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

A Valentine's Day to Remember!

Prime 47 - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (23)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Romantic (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Business Meals (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Cozy (9)
Private Room (8)
Fun (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Live Music (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Hot Spot (4)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Authentic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Casual (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great Beer (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
343 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food and service - getting a f ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service - getting a followup phone call the following day was pretty cool - will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

First time experience. Went to celebrate ...

 
·Dined on January 15, 2017

First time experience. Went to celebrate a birthday and the waiter Olaf did an excellent job keeping it a fun and entertaining night.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter, Jeff, was wonderful!! The f ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our waiter, Jeff, was wonderful!! The food quality was delicious. We had a wonderful time and I would highly recommend Prime 47 to others!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly, Cozy, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service, food and ambiance. T ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent service, food and ambiance. They were able to "customize" my scallops to perfection. All members of the party thoroughly enjoyed their meals. Definitely a top-notch experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Olaf and Kelly were a great team. Food ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

Olaf and Kelly were a great team. Food was exceptional!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely excellent service and food. E ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Absolutely excellent service and food. Exceeded my expectations! Will be back again and again.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice experience. Great food and din ...

 
·Dined on January 6, 2017

Very nice experience. Great food and dining atmosphere. There were 6 of us and we were all very pleased. Service was perfect.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The restaurant was beautiful and had liv ...

 
·Dined on January 5, 2017

The restaurant was beautiful and had live music. The servers were all very helpful and courteous. The food was amazing!! The salmon was perfectly cooked and the filet was the best we have ever had. To top it off the cheesecake and gelato were so delicious.

Tags: Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food wasn't cooked accurately. The w ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food wasn't cooked accurately. The waiter was terrible. He never came back to the table after dropping our food off. We SAT around for 25 minutes and finally had to get up and ask someone for the bill. We were talked out of getting dessert and told it was terrible we shouldn't get it. The management was rude.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

My husband and I love Prime 47...it is b ...

 
·Dined on January 1, 2017

My husband and I love Prime 47...it is by far our favorite dining spot! We find ourselves dining there 2-3 times a month. Our favorite place to sit is in the bar at a high top table looking out at the courtyard. Whether we order off the bar menu or the main menu, the food is always delicious! It's a cozy atmosphere and a great place for a date night or to meet friends for a fun night out...especially when they offer an evening of music. (Matt Roush or Steve & Greg). This visit, New Years Eve was no different...everything was absolutely outstanding!

The goat cheese appetizer has become my new favorite go-to starter and is great for sharing. Either the Caprese Salad or the Chopped Salad are great choices but I also love the Caesar. The Wagyu steak is an amazing, melt-in-your-mouth delight, but honestly, lately the regular tenderloin steak is almost as tender. Other favorites are the Honey Horseradish Glazed Salmon, the Chilean Sea Bass and my personal favorite, the Sea Scallops (either with cream corn or pancetta ham risotto). The choice of sides is a wonderful mix of We have never had a bad experience...everything we have ever ordered has been amazing!

Each and every time, from the moment we arrive we are greeted warmly by everyone! Nathan, the valet, the gals at the reservation desk, and the wonderful wait staff (especially Laura!). It's always nice to have Jeremiah or John stop by our table to say hello. The staff is simply outstanding!

Even though we also dine at Harry & Izzy's and Ruth's Chris, we would hands down choose Prime 47 over either!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant was busy (New Year's Eve) but ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Restaurant was busy (New Year's Eve) but everything appeared to be under control. Meal and staff were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my honey out for his bday and our f ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Took my honey out for his bday and our first experience here. Not sure we will come back.

Pros-

Food was exceptional. Had both regular Filet and Waygu and very hard to tell the difference. Both very tender and melt in your mouth . Cheddar mash potatoes were very tasty as well.

Menu included a specific "Happy Birthday" on top of it.

Cons-

Service, Service. Service -

Felt completely rushed by several servers to try to turn table (i.e.: asked to take salad plate away while I was still eating/asked about dessert while still eating my dinner).

Server took leftovers and never brought them back. When I asked where they were, he looked confused and about 5 minutes later, brought us a bag...containing food that WAS NOT OURS! I guess he figured we wouldn't check it until we got home.

He was wrong. He noticed the back and box open, but never addressed it..,nor did we.

We were told we would receive a free dessert "for your anniversary or birthday..I forgot"...which we were then charged for. Kinda took away the whole menu printed thing.

I would like to add, that I have been in the food service industry and I understand how crazy it can get...however to obviously rush a table on a special evening enough that your customers are noticing while they are trying to have a nice Birthday celebration was disappointing.

Especially with a bill of approx $250, pretty upsetting.

We will probably choose to spend our hard earned money elsewhere, where we are treated with kindness, courtesy, honesty and respect especially on a special occasion.

Too bad, because the food was actually very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Went to Prime 47 on New Years Eve. Grea ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Went to Prime 47 on New Years Eve. Great food! Wonderful service! Was a very nice evening out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Enjoyed a fantastic New Years Eve dinner ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Enjoyed a fantastic New Years Eve dinner with my family. We were seated ahead of schedule, the service was excellent, and the food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superior service. Overpriced food. Maybe ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

Superior service. Overpriced food. Maybe once a year.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We celebrated our daughters birthday. M ...

 
·Dined on December 31, 2016

We celebrated our daughters birthday. Menu on table when we arrived was personalized with her name, very nice touch. Staff was pleasant and friendly. Food was very good, nothing but rave reviews from this party of 5.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a poor experience due to the entr ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

We had a poor experience due to the entree I ordered coming cold, and when they tried to salvage it came back overcooked. Service staff tried to recover, but overall a poor experience. We have been prior when it was a good experience so we will go back, but not any time soon to see if this is a trending bad spot that once was very good.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Olaf and his partner did a great job and ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Olaf and his partner did a great job and made us feel very welcome. Steak was cooked perfect too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was freezing in the restaurant and th ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was freezing in the restaurant and the table that we were seated at was less than favorable as it was the entrance and exit from the hall to the other tables for servers and patrons The food was great and the hostesses need some training. They were out of it and Jeramia had to take over the stand

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value2

Cramming in extra tables for Christmas e ...

 
·Dined on December 25, 2016

Cramming in extra tables for Christmas eve made for crowded passage and brought the noise level to 95dBA. My guests steak was over cooked and he was to timid to send it back. At these prices I would have sent back in a heart beat. My Chilean sea bass was perfect. Will only come back on less crowded nights. VAD from Florida.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

I have eaten at numerous restaurants & c ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

I have eaten at numerous restaurants & consider myself a foodie but can only count on one hand the number of times I have written a review. Furthermore, there are a number of really good steakhouses in the Indy area but the main reason for dining at Prime 47 was mostly due to its location.

Upon our arrival at Prime 47 we were escorted to our table that had been setup with four wooden folding chairs. The surrounding 6-8 empty tables all had regular chairs. In fact, we were hard pressed to see any tables in the main dining area with folding chairs. Perhaps making reservations two weeks prior was not far enough in advance to be seated at a regular table. I don’t think anyone should feel like they are sitting at the "kid’s table" when they are paying $75-100 a person. And it only went done hill from there.

While we had two waiters the service was fair at best. My daughter ordered the Chicken Oscar (chicken parm) w/out sauce, no mash potatoes, & a side of plain pasta only to get grilled chicken & pasta mixed with marinara sauce. After bringing the corrected entrée my daughter discovered a hair in her pasta. There were a number of other misses as well – never told the specials, while drink refills were promised we had to ask a couple of additional times, had to ask for accompaniments that were missing on one of the entrees, weren’t asked if we wanted dessert. At the end of the meal one of the waiters scurried around our table handing out spoons & singing (yes singing) how he was going to fix things with a surprise. The surprise - a cookie sundae left at the side of our table, in a to go container, w/out explanation & also leaving us to wonder why spoons were handed out in the first place. It took forever to get & pay the check. When the check finally arrived it was somebody else’s along with their credit card. I don’t mind a leisurely dinner but 2hrs & 15min seems a bit extreme.

In fairness, they did comp the chicken parm, a salad, the dessert, & half a soup (?).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Prime 47 in Carmel is an excellent steak ...

 
·Dined on December 24, 2016

Prime 47 in Carmel is an excellent steakhouse option in a city of top rated steakhouses. I'm a real fan of Ruth Chris, but this is really a competitor. The Wagyu filets were outstanding. They were well cooked and buttery. The menu is full of excellent options, including a very nice veal chop and chilean sea bass. The appetizers and salads are good but not notable, but the sides for the entree are a treat. We really loved the brussel sprouts and the truffle fries. Wine menu good but limited options in the $75-100 range where they could be making bank. I'd strongly recommend this place. My only criticism is that the entry is super crowded when the restaurant is busy. I felt like I was fighting through a concert crowd. Really not fantastic. Service overall is superb though, as the steakhouse uses a team approach like most top notch restaurants. This restaurant is serious steak. Should be a choice over Harry and Izzy in Castleton, or Sullivans.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Service and food was wonderful!

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Service and food was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went here for a special occasion. Every ...

 
·Dined on December 23, 2016

Went here for a special occasion. Everything was nice, but nothing really jumped out as exceptional. The prices are pretty steep, too. I think that is why I am conflicted. Had it been cheaper, or if there had been something really special about the place, I would feel more satisfied. The waitress was pleasant & responsive, but I didn't get the "make the customer feel super special" vibe that I enjoy at a particular downtown steakhouse. The food was tasty and the steak was especially tender, but none of it was "amazing". I was hoping there would have been something that tasted so good that I'd be raving about it, but that didn't happen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Second time I have dined here and not re ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Second time I have dined here and not really impressed. Appetizers and ambience are quite good as well as the wine list. Problem is the steak, for the second time, sub par. With so many other choices for steak in the area I would not recommend and suggest people go elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Prompt seating, very good service, food ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Prompt seating, very good service, food served warm at best for a $1000 bill

I expect food to be hot when served especially at this price.

Not up to par like the last time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

Great food and service. Wonderful live m ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Great food and service. Wonderful live music.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and level of service was OUTSTA ...

 
·Dined on December 13, 2016

The food and level of service was OUTSTANDING!!! I look forward to going there again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with business associates (s ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Great dinner with business associates (some from out of town and this was their first time here.) Food and service was excellent. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We sat in the bat. Great live music! Foo ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We sat in the bat. Great live music! Food is amazing?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good and you expect to pay more ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

Food was good and you expect to pay more for a good steak but I think there prices are still a little high. Should be about 20% less.

We went to celebrate our son's birthday and indicated that on the reservation but there was no acknowledgement of it while we were at the restaurant. Not that we expected anything but why ask if you aren't doing anything with the information.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Always love the food and atmosphere. Ha ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Always love the food and atmosphere.

Had small issue with table not being ready when we arrived for our reservations. Had to wait an additional 15 minutes. Also had to ask again when out table woukd be ready. Felt maybe they forgot about us.

Overall, wonderful experience. Always. Love the bar and intimate dining experience. Food is always amazing.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, , Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing for the investment to enjo ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Disappointing for the investment to enjoy the food. My husband and i went there with another couple to celebrate his birthday. I made a reservation ahead of time hoping that meant we would at least have a table where we could talk to each other and enjoy the night. Not even close. The place was so jammed full of tables I could not believe it. It was actually comical, as if they purposefully fit as many seats in the place as they could and not violate the fire code. No idea how servers even walked around in there. Our table was SMACK in the middle of the most crowded area and i literally had 2 young kids sitting almost in my lap and I got to basque in the glow of their iPads all through dinner. I am not kidding I was literally inches from their seats (I have a picture to prove it). We waited 20 minutes when we got there (2 rounds of water refills) before I finally asked if we had a waiter. When she finally showed up with no apologies about our wait I ordered wine. I sampled the wine after she dripped it all over my menu and table cloth. The extended wait periods between seeing our waitress made me think she had disappeared. The food we ordered was very good...that was the saving grace of the evening. The waitress she had supporting her table was so aggressive, all of us noticed and commented on it. She took appetizer plates away before the appetizer was even done so we had to eat it off the serving plate. Relax, seriously. We decided not to stay for dessert, even though it was a birthday celebration because it was just not a nice atmosphere with the sheep all herded together so closely. Too bad, the food is good, but I will never spend my money to sit on top of other people and eat again. If you go here, find a night when they are not on a cattle call.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Always a great spot for special occasion ...

 
·Dined on December 2, 2016

Always a great spot for special occasions. Have been multiple times, and we are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really had high hopes of a really amaz ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

I really had high hopes of a really amazing experience, yet was sadly disappointed. Our ouster appetizer was completely under cooked which not only tasted terrible before they fixed it but made many of us worried that the one we each tried may get us sick. Nothing like a fear of food poisoning. Out of our party of 7, 4 of our steaks were not cooked or garnished correctly. For a place renowned for their steaks I never would have expected that. Also, a few small other incidences occurred that could have easily been avoided. Our unfinished dishes, appetizers included, were taken away without asking. I do not mind if asked to have something boxed but the things they took we never saw again. And lastly we ordered an appetizer 3 times with our server coming back in to re-ask before finally stating that they ran out. At one point he even brought something else that he kept pushing us to get but we did not want. He was like, "oh yeah, you wanted that other thing." We tried to be very understanding and just let them know what things were not working out, and they did their best to fix everything, but it just reflected terribly on what our experience should have been. I do appreciate that our bill was reduced slightly for the wrongly done steaks and under cooked ousters, along with a lovely round of a specialty shot. Granted, my boyfriend who's birthday we were celebrating for does not drink alcohol, but the gesture was nice none the less.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

WAY TOO LOUD AND WE WERE SEATED AT THE F ...

 
·Dined on November 20, 2016

WAY TOO LOUD AND WE WERE SEATED AT THE FAR END OF THE DINING ROOM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a great nite. Bartenders were fun. G ...

 
·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had a great nite. Bartenders were fun. Good bar entertainment

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best restaurant in Carmel! Service was o ...

 
·Dined on November 15, 2016

Best restaurant in Carmel! Service was outstanding, food was superb, and the atmosphere was elegant, yet warm and cozy.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Steak ($56) was first cold and after did ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Steak ($56) was first cold and after didn't really have a taste that I expected. The staff was great on fixing the problem but taking it off my bill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

Do not order the ribs- worst ever and ve ...

 
·Dined on November 13, 2016

Do not order the ribs- worst ever and very fatty!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.