About Prime 47 - Carmel

14300 Clay Terrace Blvd
Ste 155
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Located at Clay Terrace, Prime 47 is known for its USDA Grade Prime Steaks, the highest quality seafood, exquisite cuisine, extensive wine selection and outstanding service. Relax and enjoy the ambiance, while our staff becomes your staff, dedicated to providing a truly personalized dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Next to Dick's Sport Goods at Clay Terrace

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 660-0720

Website:
http://prime47carmel.com/

Entertainment:
Live music nightly

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Prime 47 offers complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Oscar Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or an elaborate affair, Prime 47 is the place for a truly personalized dining experience. Relax an enjoy the ambiance of our private dining rooms, while our staff becomes your staff. Dedicated to providing the most memorable of evenings for you and your guests.

President"s Room
Seating Capacity: 24

Mezzanine
Seating Capacity: 24
Reception Capacity: 30

The Fortune Room
Seating Capacity: 40
Reception Capacity: 60

Main Dining Room arrangements are available as well.

Private Party Contact:
Nessa Boyden: 317-660-0720x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Thu 5:00PM - 6:00PM 9:00PM - 9:00PM

Prime 47 - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (54)
romantic (32)
good for groups (25)
See All
notable wine list (23)
fit for foodies (12)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for brunch (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (6)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (6)
neighborhood gem (3)
great for lunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have dined at Prime 47 on numerous oc ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined 7 days ago

We have dined at Prime 47 on numerous occasions and have never been dissatisfied . Great food and excellent service. One of the top 5 restaurants in the Indy/ Carmel area.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything went well and the food was de ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Everything went well and the food was delicious. My steak was ordered "medium rare - closer to rare" and i received a medium steak. The steak was still delicious, but not exactly what was ordered. I think you can get a better steak for the price, though.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Decided to try again after terrible serv ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Decided to try again after terrible service a year ago. Hostess was fabulous! The guys had steak and it had a funky taste. I had scallops they were ok could have been hotter. Service hasn't improved. Such a disappointment!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Prime 47 is a great place for good food, ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Prime 47 is a great place for good food, great wine. We had a marvelous time. The kids were well looked after, and service was excellent.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and service

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Excellent food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service. I would r ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food and great service. I would recommend and already have to all my friends and family

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food very good. I enjoy wine but might e ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Food very good. I enjoy wine but might extend beer forthose that do not. No draft beer.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The service was terrific. I had the Chi ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

The service was terrific. I had the Chilean Sea Bass and it was very tasty. My husband had a sirloin and it was very grisly and difficult to chew. The restaurant was very accommodating and took 1/2 off the price and threw in a giant cookie with ice cream. Our server agreed that the steak was not up to their normal level of quality. Overall it was a very good experience. Next time he will probably have the filet to be sure it's tender.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was great as usual. Service was eve ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Food was great as usual. Service was even better. This is a great place for an early dinner too. Nice and quite and relaxing.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous! It was our anniversary and th ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Fabulous! It was our anniversary and they had "Happy 35th Anniversary" printed on the top of the menu. Gave us a champagne toast and dessert then took our picture with their camera and gave us the picture in a frame! The Hostess, told me she would email me the picture but it hasn't been received. I felt like a "movie star" with such treatment. The food was excellent also! I would highly recommend this restaurant. The food is pricey so, for us, it's for special occasions only.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We were running late for Fathers Day Din ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We were running late for Fathers Day Dinner and the host and the servers were so gracious and still accommodating especially since I think the manager was a little upset. This was past seating time so it was very appreciated and saved Fathers Day. The food was excellent. A big thank you to the wonderful staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love Prime 47 both in Clay Terrace an ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We love Prime 47 both in Clay Terrace and Downtown Indianapolis. The side dishes are great for vegetarians and the deserts are incredible!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ate hear last year and it was very go ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We ate hear last year and it was very good. We ate here last week and it was mediocre. The steaks are very expensive. They were served warm, not hot, and not cooked to the correct temperature...under-cooked. The meat was a bit tough and there was not much flavor. I have eaten at every good steak house in Chicago and Indianapolis. This would rank in the bottom third on that list.

We were seated in the place where a band is normally placed. The decor was quite boring and the space was dark. It felt like we were in a makeshift seating area not an expensive dining establishment.

The waitress was not mean or difficult but was also not very friendly. She did not make the experience enjoyable but didn't make it bad either. I gave her a $60 tip that she really didn't earn.

The expense of this meal did not match the quality you would expect and was well below the experience we had last year. At that price I wont take a chance by going back.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had the most amazing time at Prime 47, e ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Had the most amazing time at Prime 47, everyone from the valet to the manager were extremely nice, our server Olaf was excellent beyond five stars, the food was just okay not exceptional but will go bac because of the excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

I bought my son and he's son for Father' ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I bought my son and he's son for Father's Day celebration. It was a blast and we have so much fun and my little grandson did so well. The waitress we had was outstanding I thought and the food selection was wonder and a nice size portions. We couldn't eat it all and had to take food home with us and it was just as good the next day after being heated up. My son just ask me this morning when are we going back I told him very soon. thanks Prime-47

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a wonderful brunch!! Food was great ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

What a wonderful brunch!! Food was great and service was wonderful. Awesome to eat outdoors. Our first time here we will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I treated my husband to a nice dinner ou ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I treated my husband to a nice dinner out for Father's Day. We were so lucky that there was live music that night. While quite loud, (even though we weren't sitting in the bar area) the man playing was very, very good. The appetizer we ordered (Beef Tataki) was just ok - we much prefer beef tartar, but that's our fault for ordering something different. Love that the entrees come with soup or salad - it's nice that everything wasn't separate. My husband enjoyed his french onion soup, and my house salad was good although the croutons were stale. The bread served was very good. My husband's filet was cooked perfectly, he ordered Rare Plus and that is exactly what he received. I ordered the Veal Piccata and it was amazing. Quite a lot of asparagus, but the veal portion was generous. The sauce was excellent. My husband enjoyed the drink he ordered, but it's hard to mess up Glenlivet neat. My vodka martini with a twist was made very well and tasted great. We will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Prime 47 has always been one of our favo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Prime 47 has always been one of our favorite restaurants. The service has always been outstanding and the menu has always been interesting, until this time; this time was different. I don't know exactly why but it felt different. The service was a little slower and not quite as professional and experienced as we have seen in the past. The menu didn't seem to have the interesting things we have seen in the past. The shrimp in the shrimp cocktail were huge but very tough. The horseradish in the cocktail sauce was very coarsely ground and tough to chew. My steak was done to perfection but was also tough and somewhat grisly. Don't get me wrong, Prime 47 is still an excellent restaurant but it seems to have lost the edge it once had, it is the difference between outstanding and excellent.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

The food was very good and the portions ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was very good and the portions generous. Just nothing that WOW'd us. There are other fine dining options that I would recommend over Prime 47.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Very Pleasant experience! The staff was ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Very Pleasant experience! The staff was so friendly and the live music was perfect for the occasion!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and Food was excellent. Just be ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Service and Food was excellent. Just be sure to bring the Gold Card. make that the platinum card.... Really wonderful food and decent wine list, albeit a tad pricy. The private room upstairs is perfect for a small group of 10 to 15 people. I certainly will go back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service a little slow when we first arri ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Service a little slow when we first arrived (probably took 20 minutes to ask if we wanted drinks), but once they engaged it was as expected.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Great restaurant: good food & service.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Wanted to dine here for a while now. The ambience, food and service are first rate. If you are hard of hearing, ask to be moved to the back, away from the bar and live music. The music was wonderful, though. The menu prices are a bit on the pricier side...so be aware before you go there. It is a great place for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Prime 47 has an outstanding menu and phe ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Prime 47 has an outstanding menu and phenomenal filets. The shrimp cocktail was one of the best that I've had. The service was exceptional and the atmosphere was a delight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great overall

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

My wife and I were first timers at this restaurant and we loved it. The steak was some of the best we have had. Service was fantastic. Couldn't have asked for a better night to celebrate our anniversary.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

We have been to Prime 47 quite a few times, we have never been disappointed with service or the food. Great options beside Steak and I think the Horseradish Honey Salmon is the best Salmon dish I have ever had at a any restaurant, let alone a place known for quality Steak.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Beautiful evening

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We celebrated my husbands birthday and had a lovely evening. This was a Sunday, after the Indy 500, and I was thankful you were open. The staff was wonderful, professional, and we were treated to a lovely free dessert. My husbands filet was excellent, my scallops were good, but didn't care for the acorn squash sauce. My daughters salmon was the best thing we ordered, excellent. Our other daughter had grilled chicken which was dry, not good. We should have said something, my fault. Bernadette, Emily(?), and our other waiter were excellent. The hostess was kind and took lots of photos for us(brunette with pretty white dress). Our evening was very nice and I am thankful you were open as most restaurants close on Sunday, and this was race day too. Thank you all

Sonia

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and Personal

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was really a treat for my birthday. The food was beyond delicious, the staff was extremely polite and knowledgeable, and they even had printed special menus for us with "Happy Birthday" on it. Definitely a special dinner, and I'll be back :)

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Live music makes the evening. Matt is a ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Live music makes the evening. Matt is a talented and entertaining vocalist. We'll come back to hear him.

Sea Bass was outstanding.

Fillet was top notch.

Crab appetizer (crab dip with chips) was fantastic but pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible dining experience!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our anniversary and Prime 47 provided an incredible experience from the mezzanine arrangement to the customized menu, outstanding food and amazing service! I would highly recommend Prime 47 for special occasions and business meals. They always deliver an incredible experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place ot celebrate a special occasion

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Had a great time at 47 Prime for my wife's Birthday. The waiter had exceptional knowledge of the wine list and made some great suggestions. A bit pricey but good for a special occasion dinner. Food quality was very good and the steak was cooked to perfection.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Mothers Day

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

I have dined here several times and always enjoyed it. There have been other times when the service was not as quick as I would have liked, but I still come back. However, Mothers Day the service was extremely slow and it was not for the lack of trying by the staff as they were scurrying everywhere . This was poor planning by management in not having enough staff and the restaurant was not 100% full. Or perhaps it was just poor training. Prime 47 you are better than that. C'mon man!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food and attentive service. Our s ...

vip
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and attentive service. Our steaks were perfectly prepared and my daughter loves the lobster Mac and cheese. Great wine list with good value finds.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great food, service a little slow

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

There was a wedding reception going on at the time, which probably was a factor in the somewhat slow service. But the food was excellent, and the prices not as exorbitant as I'd feared.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Nice ambiance & good food but not extra ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Nice ambiance & good food but not extra ordinary to warrant the price point. Staff very attentive to the point we felt a but rushed even though there were multiple tables open.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

highly satisfied

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

Great food and tremendous service. My steak was much better than another top restaurant here in town.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

"Medallion" sized steak medallions

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Service was great - food not so much. Two of us ordered the steak medallions. The size of the medallions was ridiculously small. Not much bigger than a silver dollar. I paid $36 for 3 of these. At this price the portions need to be much more substantial!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Always a good experience--superb service ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Always a good experience--superb service and excellent food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

The food was excellent. My boyfriend and I celebrated our two year Anniversay here, everything was amazing. From the time we pulled up until the moment we left, we were catered to. We will be coming back soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Steak house, right?

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

How difficult would you expect it to be for a high end "steak house" to prepare the steaks according to the diner's request? Seafood meals were prepared just fine and were enjoyable. What wasn't enjoyable was not only having the steak not prepared properly but to have to chase down the waiter to have him take the plate back to the kitchen.

The waiter was nice, his assistants were swarming and the greet staff was very accommodating.

But when spending $75 per person without alcoholic beverages, without appetizers and without desserts there are multiple options in this town where the kitchen can get it right and your server will be pleased to check with you to make sure it is.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.