About Prime 47 - Carmel

Located at Clay Terrace, Prime 47 is known for its USDA Grade Prime Steaks, the highest quality seafood, exquisite cuisine, extensive wine selection and outstanding service. Relax and enjoy the ambiance, while our staff becomes your staff, dedicated to providing a truly personalized dining experience.

14300 Clay Terrace Blvd
Ste 155
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Next to Dick's Sport Goods at Clay Terrace

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 660-0720

Website:
http://prime47carmel.com/

Entertainment:
Live music nightly

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Prime 47 offers complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Oscar Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or an elaborate affair, Prime 47 is the place for a truly personalized dining experience. Relax an enjoy the ambiance of our private dining rooms, while our staff becomes your staff. Dedicated to providing the most memorable of evenings for you and your guests.

President"s Room
Seating Capacity: 24

Mezzanine
Seating Capacity: 24
Reception Capacity: 30

The Fortune Room
Seating Capacity: 40
Reception Capacity: 60

Main Dining Room arrangements are available as well.

Private Party Contact:
Nessa Boyden: (317) 660-0720

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Prime 47 - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (28)
Special Occasion (24)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
See All
Romantic (21)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Business Meals (17)
Notable Wine List (17)
Bar Seating (12)
Live Music (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Authentic (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Cozy (5)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Fun (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Great Beer (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Scenic View (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
494 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

From the moment we walked in until the time we left, everything was outstanding! The attention to detail was definitely noted. When we walked in and saw Steve Quinn singing, that was the icing on the cake. We both had the trio filet which was simply amazing as well as the size of which were outstanding as well! We were so full that we took our dessert to go. The colossal carrot cake was to die for. We will definitely be back! in the future!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband and I ordered the filet mignon, and they were prepared exactly how we asked. Perfection!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Our favorite place in Carmel! And Olaf is our favorite guy!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Olaf is hands down my favorite waiter in this town. We've had him multiple times and have loved him every time. If you go here ask for him!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Great service, great food, great wine! Try a bottle of the Tinto Iturria...love it! Thanks to an amazing staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Catherine is an awesome server! We ask for her section every time we eat at Prime and we are always very pleased with the service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

We are seniors, why not reduce prices and serve smaller portion Size? It is sinful to through
Away good food we were unable to eat because of enormous proportions. Nice touch with the
ice cream topped chocolate chip cookie for my wife's birthday. We only eat half the dinner, the
rest was??. Glad you asked for our opinion?
Tom King

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

When we walked in, we considered the bar area. However, there were two guys singing with an electric piano and decided it would be best to find a table as far as possible from the "lounge singer" aesthetic. They were loud and I think the environment would be more appropriate for just the sound of a piano. Thankfully, we were seated very far from the bar area.

We ordered the crab cake appetizer. Very very good.

For the entree, my wife ordered the blackened salmon. It was excellent and seasoned perfectly. I ordered the Filet Trio. Three beef medallions topped with three unique toppings. The first was a Brandy Peppercorn. Way too much peppercorn for my taste. I could tell there were excellent cuts of tenderloin underneath, but the amount of peppercorns on top was too overbearing to enjoy the meat. Scrapped off the topping and enjoyed. The second sauce was a horseradish blue cheese. Two very strong flavors paired together over the medallion was too much for the medallion to survive. Scrapped off the topping and enjoyed the meat with some bearnaise sauce. The third topping was crab oscar. It was tasty, but after having the crab cake appetizer, it became too much crab.

Our sides were steamed broccoli, brussel sprouts, and wasabi mashed potatoes. The brussel sprouts were a bit oily, and we generally prefer them to be roasted. The wasabi mashed potatoes were excellent since I could taste the wasabi, but without the full effect of a sinus-clearing. Very delicious.

For desert we were presented with a large, fresh-baked, gooey, chocolate chip cookie topped with a scoop of vanilla ice cream and hot fudge. There was no way we were going to finish this but alas, we returned the desert dish empty. Time to roll me home.

The service was excellent. The house red zin paired well with everything.

Prime 47 is a steakhouse with the usual players on the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Our first time here. Excellent food. Great staff. Can't wait to go again

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Unfortunately I cannot remember my server's name. However, she provided excellent service. The food was really good and the creme brulee was nothing short of awesome. A few days following my visit to the restaurant, a manager called to inquire about my dining experience. This spoke volumes to the value management places on ensuring a great experience for its customers. I will definitely visit the restaurant again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2017

They get it right every time, food, service, ambiance. Wine list is one of the best in Indy.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Wonderful food! Love the atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 1, 2017

We enjoyed eating in the bar area listening to the live music and watching sports on TV. Our food was delicious, but it is pricey. Will be going back!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Little pricey but mostly worth it. We'll be back. Wait staff was attentive without being overbearing. Food was very good, our new favorite steak house since moving to Indy a few years ago. Wish we had tried it sooner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Bobby the Bartender was great, Steve and Greg the musicians were delightful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 29, 2017

The food was outstanding and the service was impeccable. It was my boyfriend's birthday and they personalized the menu and gave us a special dessert. I loved the ambiance .... I felt like I was at a nice restaurant in the 1930s.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food and atmosphere were good. However, the service was not great, especially considering they were not super busy.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had originally reserved through OpenTable. Upon arrival, we were seated immediately and assisted in timely fashion. Our servers were Olaf and Stephen. The were quick to respond to our needs and went that extra mile to ensure satisfaction. The fillet was incredible (along with the Shrimp Cocktail, Shrimp Chowder & Cheddar mashed potatoes). I highly recommend for any occasion (including group events).

Thank you Prime47!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

Tried this as a part of Devour Indy. We sat outside, but it turned cold and moved inside. We were seated next to a family with small children who were very loud. It was hard for us to have a conversation with the noise from their table.
The food and service (Olaf) were outstanding. 2 of us had the filet trio. The sauces and beef were done to perfection. The 3rd diner had the filet and it was quite good. Salads, sides and drinks were tasty.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We went to take advantage of Devour Indy and it was delicious! The petit filets were cooked perfect and the sides were enough to share. Laura was amazing taking our order and checking in with us. She has a wonderful personality and is very knowledgeable.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We had both Shawn and Sean at our table for the evening and they were just incredible. I am going to request them again when I go back! Excellent food and quiet atmosphere- perfect birthday location!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

Close local restaurant that we wanted to try - so we went during Devour Indy. We went early for a very late lunch/early dinner - atmosphere was pleasant except because the place was relatively empty when we went - both management and the wait staff were loud with personal conversations detracting from the environment. Plus a great event was being held outdoors and the team seemed very focused on them versus us. Two Shawns were our servers, one Shawn great, one not so great. Actually felt like we were an imposition dining in the restaurant. Food was good - filet trio that my wife had and I had a grilled pork chop - it was huge. We had an awesome crab cake appetizer then salads. Someone from what I would guess was a manager stopped by for two seconds and asked if everything was good - we replied yes. Not sure who he was, didn't bother to introduce himself. Unlike our experience at Flemings earlier in the week - btw, the general manager there is Mark. I know that because he introduced himself and spoke to is about our experience.

Anyway, here's my frustration and disappointment - poor overall service and leadership running the place from our experience. Also, really bad live entertainment the night we were there - We were glad when they went on break.
So, we choose to save room for dessert and waiter offers to box our left overs - especially because there were lots of leftovers long story short - waiter only boxed up vegetables and forgot my wives filets. I noticed the miss when we got home, live close and thought I would run over to pick up. Forget it - epic fail. Impossible to speak to a live person when you call, forced to leave a meaaage. Left a voice mail with a manager to call. No call. Two days later a hostess calls to check on our experience - no idea that I was waiting for a call back from a Mgr. She said she couldn't help and she would give name and number to the mgr to call that afternoon. Another three days and no call. Guess that don't care

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Had the Devour Indy menu/ filet which was excellent. Sides were fantastic and so was the yummy warm cookie dessert!
Our server, Liam, was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I was highly disappointed in our meal that we spent a significant amount of money on. 3/4 of the 12 person table felt the food was SO salty it could not be consumed. Rather than address it, they sent desserts. No adjustment to the $1500 bill. I will not recommend this

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

Service was not very good. Had to ask for things more than once. Steak was not cooked as ordered. Did not receive some things that were ordered. Timing of food being brought to the table was off.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 22, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 55th anniversary at Prime 47. We had prior experience with some of the staff and anticipated having a great time. Our drinks were excellent through out the evening as was our food. The live music was most enjoyable and our evening ended with the entire bar singing our favorite song - "sweet Caroline!" The starters were excellent (I had two - blue point oysters and French onion soup.) The main course was great - twin lobster tails for me and Chilean Sea Bass for my wife. For dessert, I had ice wine and we took the carrot cake home with us. The service was perfect!

Would I do it again? You bet! AND I wouldn't need a special occasion!! Give it a try!!

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 21, 2017

I'm not impressed. it's just carmel's attempt at joining the world of nice steak houses, but it just comes across as pretention. if I'm going to spend that kind of money, I'm going to make the trip to st. elmo's where I'm not going to leave hungry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Very nice fillet. The house cabinet sauvignon was surprisingly good. Skip the red blend. Seemed to be an overlap on servers as we were asked the same thing twice throughout the evening. Overall it was very good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Our service was spot on- what a great waiter who knew about wine and made a nice presentation with the menu

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My husband and I had a fabulous dinner this past Saturday night. We shared a Caesar salad, a wagyu (melt-in-your mouth) steak and a vegetable trio (truffle potatoes, cream corn and Brussels sprouts)...all were absolutely outstanding! We sat in the bar and it was a beautiful evening so the doors were open & Matt Roush (our favorite musician) was playing great tunes. Our waitress, Laura was great! We love our dates at Prime 47!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Nice Steakhouse. Meals were superb. Nice cuts of meat and cooked to request. Service was overall good with multiple servers. I was only disappointed that my glass of wine finally showed up midway through the main meal. Even after after pointing out it was missing early on. I do prefer to have wine prior to my meal. Is there a disconnect between the dining room and bar that needs to be addressed. I would definitely return but want my drink first please.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

I took clients here for dinner on a Tuesday evening. Clean and nice atmosphere. Great service, however, I feel the food was not up to par in comparison to other restaurants in the area. Steak was undercooked ( my client ordered well done and it came medium rare) and the sea bass had no flavor. The seafood tower appetizer tasted as though it had been prepared ahead of time and placed in a cooler until it was ordered vs made fresh to order. It was chewy. Maybe it was just the night. Will give it one more try before giving up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

It was just okay. I would describe the food as average and not worth the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent service by Olaf and delicious food! We always enjoy eating at Prime 47.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Over great restaurant..it is little expensive......it is a great place in carmel

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Loved it had a wonderful time for my mother and fathers 25th! Our waiter Olaf was awesome! Best steak in caramel!

Tags: Hot Spot, Live Music, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Healthy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Organic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Plenty of better choices in the Indy area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Another great experience. Great food and service. Have never had bad food or service.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Exceptional service and quality cuisine!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Service was very slow. Many many minutes between the ending of one course to order another course. It took us a long long long time to get out first drinks and somehow even longer to get out bottle of wine (our second drink). We felt like we were put in the deepest corner and almost forgotten . Good food overall but the risotto was very undercooked and tasted like uncle bens rice undercooked. We still loved majority of the food and our meal overall. Just felt like it was a disappointment compared to the last time we were there with a group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.