About Prime 47 - Carmel

14300 Clay Terrace Blvd
Ste 155
Carmel, IN 46032
View Larger Map

Located at Clay Terrace, Prime 47 is known for its USDA Grade Prime Steaks, the highest quality seafood, exquisite cuisine, extensive wine selection and outstanding service. Relax and enjoy the ambiance, while our staff becomes your staff, dedicated to providing a truly personalized dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 8:00pm

Cross Street:
Next to Dick's Sport Goods at Clay Terrace

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 660-0720

Website:
http://prime47carmel.com/

Entertainment:
Live music nightly

Catering:
Prime 47 offers off-site catering arrangements. From boardroom meetings to corporate events, our team will provide you with a Prime Experience. For more information please call the restaurant directly.

Parking Details:
Prime 47 offers complimentary Valet Parking

Executive Chef:
Oscar Perez

Private Party Facilities:
Whether you are planning an intimate gathering or an elaborate affair, Prime 47 is the place for a truly personalized dining experience. Relax an enjoy the ambiance of our private dining rooms, while our staff becomes your staff. Dedicated to providing the most memorable of evenings for you and your guests.

President"s Room
Seating Capacity: 24

Mezzanine
Seating Capacity: 24
Reception Capacity: 30

The Fortune Room
Seating Capacity: 40
Reception Capacity: 60

Main Dining Room arrangements are available as well.

Private Party Contact:
Nessa Boyden: 317-660-0720x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prime 47 - Carmel Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (17)
Good for a Date (17)
Romantic (16)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Business Meals (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Live Music (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fun (7)
Private Room (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
People Watching (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Authentic (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Sports (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Healthy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
312 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always love the food and atmosphere. Ha ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Always love the food and atmosphere.

Had small issue with table not being ready when we arrived for our reservations. Had to wait an additional 15 minutes. Also had to ask again when out table woukd be ready. Felt maybe they forgot about us.

Overall, wonderful experience. Always. Love the bar and intimate dining experience. Food is always amazing.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fun, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing for the investment to enjo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Disappointing for the investment to enjoy the food. My husband and i went there with another couple to celebrate his birthday. I made a reservation ahead of time hoping that meant we would at least have a table where we could talk to each other and enjoy the night. Not even close. The place was so jammed full of tables I could not believe it. It was actually comical, as if they purposefully fit as many seats in the place as they could and not violate the fire code. No idea how servers even walked around in there. Our table was SMACK in the middle of the most crowded area and i literally had 2 young kids sitting almost in my lap and I got to basque in the glow of their iPads all through dinner. I am not kidding I was literally inches from their seats (I have a picture to prove it). We waited 20 minutes when we got there (2 rounds of water refills) before I finally asked if we had a waiter. When she finally showed up with no apologies about our wait I ordered wine. I sampled the wine after she dripped it all over my menu and table cloth. The extended wait periods between seeing our waitress made me think she had disappeared. The food we ordered was very good...that was the saving grace of the evening. The waitress she had supporting her table was so aggressive, all of us noticed and commented on it. She took appetizer plates away before the appetizer was even done so we had to eat it off the serving plate. Relax, seriously. We decided not to stay for dessert, even though it was a birthday celebration because it was just not a nice atmosphere with the sheep all herded together so closely. Too bad, the food is good, but I will never spend my money to sit on top of other people and eat again. If you go here, find a night when they are not on a cattle call.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value3

Always a great spot for special occasion ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Always a great spot for special occasions. Have been multiple times, and we are never disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really had high hopes of a really amaz ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I really had high hopes of a really amazing experience, yet was sadly disappointed. Our ouster appetizer was completely under cooked which not only tasted terrible before they fixed it but made many of us worried that the one we each tried may get us sick. Nothing like a fear of food poisoning. Out of our party of 7, 4 of our steaks were not cooked or garnished correctly. For a place renowned for their steaks I never would have expected that. Also, a few small other incidences occurred that could have easily been avoided. Our unfinished dishes, appetizers included, were taken away without asking. I do not mind if asked to have something boxed but the things they took we never saw again. And lastly we ordered an appetizer 3 times with our server coming back in to re-ask before finally stating that they ran out. At one point he even brought something else that he kept pushing us to get but we did not want. He was like, "oh yeah, you wanted that other thing." We tried to be very understanding and just let them know what things were not working out, and they did their best to fix everything, but it just reflected terribly on what our experience should have been. I do appreciate that our bill was reduced slightly for the wrongly done steaks and under cooked ousters, along with a lovely round of a specialty shot. Granted, my boyfriend who's birthday we were celebrating for does not drink alcohol, but the gesture was nice none the less.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

WAY TOO LOUD AND WE WERE SEATED AT THE F ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 20, 2016

WAY TOO LOUD AND WE WERE SEATED AT THE FAR END OF THE DINING ROOM.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Had a great nite. Bartenders were fun. G ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had a great nite. Bartenders were fun. Good bar entertainment

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Fun, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best restaurant in Carmel! Service was o ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Best restaurant in Carmel! Service was outstanding, food was superb, and the atmosphere was elegant, yet warm and cozy.

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Steak ($56) was first cold and after did ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Steak ($56) was first cold and after didn't really have a taste that I expected. The staff was great on fixing the problem but taking it off my bill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

Do not order the ribs- worst ever and ve ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Do not order the ribs- worst ever and very fatty!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Love this place. Manager John does a fab ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Love this place. Manager John does a fabulous job making you feel welcomed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I have been here before a ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 4, 2016

My husband and I have been here before and really enjoyed the food. However, the service from our main waiter was horrible. We got our drinks right away but, we had to wait almost 30 minutes before actually even ordering our food. He kept running to two other tables and waiting on them instead of just quickly grabbing our orders. Once he took our order he wrote half of it down and came back 20 minutes later asking what we ordered. He had another woman I assume he was training with him but it seemed that she was not allowed to help at all other than ask if we were OK. He also had another woman running food for him which created issues as she didn't know our orders and got things backwards. The bill came and she brought it out but the bill was completely wrong. We had to be refunded and then re-billed which was I suppose our mistake for not checking the bill first. This service seemed odd for them. The last two times we went it wasn't like this at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Had a great time. The atmosphere was ve ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Had a great time. The atmosphere was very peaceful. There were no disturbances and hosts attended to our table and every need. I will have to go to this place again!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All food items well prepared and present ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

All food items well prepared and presented. Very good service.

Tomato vodka sauce with the red grouper was excellent as was the scallop appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Superior service. Definitely a 5 star re ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Superior service. Definitely a 5 star restaurant. Noise level a little high for me, but we enjoyed our time. Excellent steak and no greasy butter top! Loved it! Decent wine list. All in all a rockstar dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Rated noise level as energetic because w ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Rated noise level as energetic because we were purposefully in the bar for NLCS Cubs game and to listen to live music by Matt Roush. Cubs ended the Billy Goat Curse, Matt provided an incredible set , and we enjoyed a great meal. So, yeah. Energetic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went for wedding anniversary and they di ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Went for wedding anniversary and they did a WONDERFUL job of making us feel pampered! We did tell them at reservation time that we were celebrating an anniversary. They had printed us special menus, gave us each a flute of complimentary champagne to toast and a complimentary dessert too! Our service was exceptional and the food was delightful. All in all, a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, particularly if you're a steak ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The food, particularly if you're a steak lover, is as good as it gets. While you pay for it, quality is the best.Lobster Mac n Cheese may have replaced Capital grill's as the best ever!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Celebrating my birthday and it was fanta ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Celebrating my birthday and it was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dinning at this ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was our first time dinning at this establishment and it certainly want be or last... My wife and I celebrated our anniversary there and enjoyed every moment of the evening; included the personal serenade 😀❤️..

Tags: Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fun, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed Prime 47. Their attent ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We really enjoyed Prime 47. Their attention to detail was impeccable and they really surprised us with their service. They wait in teams and it really shows. The value wasn't quite there for us ($100+ with a discounted menu), but it was great food.

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wonderful dining experience. Savvy staf ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Wonderful dining experience. Savvy staff & very professional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always on point! Fantastic meal! My go ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Always on point! Fantastic meal! My go to place for a nice evening out.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Modern Decor, Live Music, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. We felt pampered. Olaf ou ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great service. We felt pampered. Olaf our server was very knowledgeable and not afraid to offer recommendations. Always a great experience at Prine 47.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Scallops and lobster lacked any flavor. ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Scallops and lobster lacked any flavor. Really surprised. Meals are normally great.

Hope this is a freak occurrence.

Service is always good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Server Abigail was wonderful. Waygu fil ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Server Abigail was wonderful. Waygu filet was outstanding! Worth the premium, perfectly prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was fantastic. For the valu ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The service was fantastic. For the value, I thought they were on the high side when compared to the Ruth's Chris, St. Elmo's of the city. All in all a good restaurant. For the value, I wouldn't return as frequently as I would other establishments.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Prime 47 a nice place. There was a live ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Prime 47 a nice place. There was a live band playing in the bar. He wasn't really that good, but wasn't awful. We sat in the dining area for dinner, not the bar. The service was a little slow at first. We had to ask where our waiter disappeared. Once he came back, he was fine. The food prices are a little over the top. Personally....way too expensive for casual dining. My wife and I have no plans to go back. If you don't mind paying a lot for food, then perhaps it is the place for you! Outback is just as good and 1/3 the price!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Had a great anniversary dinner. Compli ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Had a great anniversary dinner. Complimentary champagne dessert, photograph and a personalized menu all made it very special. Service was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were disappointed in food and service ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 8, 2016

We were disappointed in food and service. There was an event there (Habitat for Humanity) and so all other diners were squeezed into the bar. We wished we had known and we would have chosen another restaurant. The food was ok -- we had a strip steak, veal piccatta and chicken parmesan. None was the quality that we associate with a 4 plus star restaurant. The dining area was extremely conjested. It would not have met many fire codes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

We went there for our Anniversary and th ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 6, 2016

We went there for our Anniversary and they had all of the trimmings (excluding the annoying "staff singing")...special menu, quieter room on the mezzanine, free desert and sparkling wine, and they took a picture of us. The food was very good, although the sauces for the steak were a bit over used so that the flavor of the beef itself didn't come through. It's a "steak place" so you would expect it to be pricey, and it was, although not as bad as Capital Grill or Morton's. The wine by the glass selection was somewhat limited, but we did find a great Cab.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Remarkable dining establishment. The GM ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Remarkable dining establishment. The GM & AGM team go above and beyond to ensure exceptional service. Sharp, clean and well trained staff. BOH server out performed the Front with attention to detail, patience and charm. The food was executed flawlessly. Prime 47 Carmel is in its own class, the closest you can get to French Laundry in Indy. A++

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Cozy, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food, Quick Bite, Hot Spot, Healthy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Bar Seating, Live Music, Spicy, Modern Decor, Private Room, Tasting Menu, Live Sports, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food there was fabulous and the ladi ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food there was fabulous and the ladies that served the food was fabulous and picked up the food and served the drinks but our actual waitress was not good at all. within a 20 minute window she messed up on what we requested 4 times. She sent something to our table we didn't order, we asked her a question about a dining experience which she went to go find out and came back and had no recollection of us asking, I asked for iced tea twice and never received it until the manager came and asked if he could get me another glass of tea and there was one other item that happened that I cant remember now. Don't get me wrong, the ladies that served the food were absolutely fabulous and so professional and the food is phenomenal and the restaurant as a whole is wonderful but the waitress who took our order and explained everything was not good.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I'm a steak guy and am hard to please. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 3, 2016

I'm a steak guy and am hard to please. My favorites are Bob's, Morton's and Gibson's. This a great alternative. They don't have the broad wine list or the exact level of service, but it is really good. Abigail is a gem. Nothing but attention from her. Always accommodating and genuinely wants to serve you. I've had nothing I wouldn't order again. We like to eat in the bar or the patio because of the openness. If atmosphere is a major consideration, I would check it out in more detail. It has outdoor dining and indoor clubby feel, but it is in a mall location.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My first steak I ordered blue rare and c ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 29, 2016

My first steak I ordered blue rare and came out medium and the second was still slightly frozen in the middle. Then they tried to charge us for both steaks but in the end did take them both off. They said they were going to give a free dessert for our trouble but charged us for it and made an excuse of logistics and food count. Drinks were ok Beer list is ok but nothing on tap. Food was barely above average for a grain fed cut of steak.

Shrimp cocktail shrimp were huge and the hash browns had ZERO taste or spice.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Wow! Fabulous experience tonight! Server ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wow! Fabulous experience tonight!

Server Ben and his team mate Andrew were quiet and efficient. Tried Salmon ..2 entrees.. Blackened and Honey Horseradish glaze...incredibly moist and delicious.. Each bite virtually melted in our mouths, exploding with flavor!

Sides of creamed corn, Brussels sprouts, asparagus and baked potato were extremely tasty and hot-- temp.

Barely had room for dessert so settled for scoops of vanilla ice cream and lemon sorbet.. Nice light finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are loyal Ruth's Chris customers... s ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We are loyal Ruth's Chris customers... so our opinion will be biased. Great experience... our server definitely made the evening. Food wise we were not swayed away (price point similar). Great alternative for us if we're in a pinch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Everyone's food (6 in the party) was exc ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everyone's food (6 in the party) was excellent. Steaks came out as ordered. Shrimp were large and cocktail sauce was delicious. I highly recommend the Ahi Tuna as an appetizer. Our waiter was right on and all the support personnel did a great job. Never out of water.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had a 12 oz filet. My date had the sal ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 7, 2016

I had a 12 oz filet. My date had the salmon. Both were excellent. The waiter was very knowledgeable and offered good advice. With a couple glasses of wine, the total came to $160. It's expensive to go back often, but I'll definitely go back for special occasions.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. We were celebrat ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 6, 2016

The food was excellent. We were celebrating our anniversary, so our waiter delivered a champagne toast at the beginning of our meal and a dessert at the end (both on the house). The service was great - very attentive and knowledgeable about the menu. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

A Matt Roush night - outstanding!

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 30, 2016

A Matt Roush night - outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.