About Primavista

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away!
Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline and Ohio River. Primavista, since 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. Along with Chef Chris Prince, Frank and Joan work tirelessly to keep Primavista "Primo" for 25-years and counting!
Because of our long-standing excellent reputation and many awards for "Most Romantic" "Best Scenic View" and "Best Italian", Primavista the perfect spot for all occasions , from Birthdays to Corporate Dinners.
Located just 5 minutes West of downtown, enjoy the breath-taking views of the city while enjoying fine Italian dishes from all regions.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday, except 2/13/2017 and 12/18/2017, open for Dinner

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking 4.00 and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Primavista offers the same excellent food and service with the same breath-taking view as our main dining room, for private parties. We pride ourselves in the fact that our Chef Chris Prince prepares dishes for 100 guests with the same care and attention as he does for two guests.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: 5132516467x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentines week serving our full menu 2/11,2/12,2/13, and
a limited 6 Entree menu at regular price on2/14

Restaurant Photos

  • Gnocchi - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH
  • Lamb Chops - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH
  • Arugula Salad With Blueberries - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH

Report a photo problem

Gnocchi - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH
Lamb Chops - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH
Arugula Salad With Blueberries - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Join us Valentines Week for Dinner at one of the
Country's "Most Romantic"Restaurants,Primavista!
We will serve our full menu 2/11,2/12,2/13 2017 and AND A LIMITED MENU,(6 entree choices at regular price)ON 2/14!

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (128)
Special Occasion (109)
Romantic (100)
See All
Good for a Date (95)
Good for Anniversaries (91)
Worth the Drive (61)
Quiet Conversation (54)
Good for Birthdays (50)
Neighborhood Gem (45)
Notable Wine List (43)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Authentic (37)
Cozy (36)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Business Meals (17)
Fun (15)
Seasonal (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Historic (14)
Outstanding Value (13)
Tasting Menu (9)
People Watching (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vegan (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Waterfront (5)
Private Room (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Family Style (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Casual (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
2167 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We found the seating for two awkward as ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

We found the seating for two awkward as the two tops are turned the wrong way to save room along the length of the dining room and so one of a party of two has to sit in the aislway. We've been coming for years and I guess have never been seated at one of these.

I had the Dory special it was a good piece of fish that I would have enjoyed more if it hadn't been smothered in butter, the pancetta was over done and chewy. The steak, service wine and atmosphere were perfect. We will be back!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent Cincinnati hotspot for awesom ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent Cincinnati hotspot for awesome Italian food with a spectacular view, and delightful ambiance.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely delicious meal, wonderful amb ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely delicious meal, wonderful ambience and scenery and impeccable service. Came back to Cincy for a visit and reminisced with old friends. Your restaurant was the perfect setting. Brought back wonderful memories of prom and victory dance dinners in the 70's! I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have not eaten here in awhile. The f ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have not eaten here in awhile. The food was outstanding along with a vegan/vegetarian menu if you ask. The view is spectacular also!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Bar Seating, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants, and I wo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

One of my favorite restaurants, and I would consider myself a foodie. The veal saltimbocca is my favorite dish, serve red with polenta and fresh green beans. The bread pudding is a must!

Excellent service every time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great View. Limited Menu. Food and servi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great View. Limited Menu. Food and service was excellent!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, every part of our meal at Pri ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As always, every part of our meal at Primavista was fantastic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great view! Atmosphere was very upscale ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great view! Atmosphere was very upscale and classy. Enjoyed the experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been to Prima Vista over 15 times ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I have been to Prima Vista over 15 times and the food and service is always fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing view, great service and overall ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Amazing view, great service and overall a wonderful experience! I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Table for 2 was very romantic and the sc ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Table for 2 was very romantic and the scenery was breath taking! Our server was incredibly polite and knowledgeable. Food was outstanding, and for a reasonable price. Perfect place to take your special one out for a dress up date. Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friends and I have been coming to Pri ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My friends and I have been coming to Prima Vista for our Holiday Celebration for the last several years and are never disappointed. Beautiful view, wonderful food, great service!

Tags: Modern Decor, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Primavista is my favorite restaurant but ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Primavista is my favorite restaurant but had a very bad experience with management and our server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

I had the red snapper stuffed with crab. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 4, 2017

I had the red snapper stuffed with crab. It was outstanding and so was my martini. I will be back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Primavista has always been a favorite re ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Primavista has always been a favorite restaurant. We always go several times a year. Will be back again soon for another great meal!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Best view of cinch ever. Worth the price ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Best view of cinch ever. Worth the price just to see the view.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed the total experien ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the total experience including the sunset overlooking downtown Cinti !

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this spot- the food, the view an ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We love this spot- the food, the view and the efficient yet not rushed service. The gluten free menu is a plus

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great service was great will de ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was great service was great will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Historic, Afternoon Coffee, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Spicy, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Seasonal, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife's birthday is Christmas Day so w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My wife's birthday is Christmas Day so we were celebrating tonight. The food was amazing and so was the view. Definitely recommend for dates and special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

The latest in a more than thirty years c ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The latest in a more than thirty years continuing experience with Prima Vista. We've never had a bad meal here. We eat here once or twice a year and will continue to do so. The mussels were particularly good this time. They are better here than anywhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent food, served by very attentive ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent food, served by very attentive, professional servers. View is spectacular.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Met with former neighbors. Great atmosph ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Met with former neighbors. Great atmosphere! Food was good and service was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time with a party of 8. Than ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Had a great time with a party of 8. Thank you Anthony for the great service!

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A favorite place for family celebration ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

A favorite place for family celebration with very yummy veal and fish dishes and fabulous view

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Primavista is always a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Our experience at Primavista is always amazing! The seafood special was delicious and fresh. The filet is always a good choice. Our waitress was on top of everything and very helpful. Highly recommend for a nice upscale dinner spot!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service and that view of ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great food and service and that view of Cincinnati was awesome

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We met some out of town family members a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

We met some out of town family members at Prima Vista Restaurant for dinner during the Holidays. The view was special and dining was excellent. I highly recommend the experience in going to Prima Vista Restaurant for that special dining experience. It is located close to anywhere and easy to get to in Cincinnati.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Primavista never fails! Food and serv ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Primavista never fails! Food and service were outstanding despite it being an extremely busy night! Looking forward to going back for our New Years dinner!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is known for the spectac ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This restaurant is known for the spectacular view overlooking the city which is the main reason for choosing it. Our backs were facing the sprawling windows. I will give it that it was Christmas week and somewhat crowded but there is no excuse for such a poor table.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

Seated promptly with a great view of the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Seated promptly with a great view of the city and the Ohio River a wonderful setting to enjoy a birthday dinner with my Son. Service was personal, timely without being intrusive. Enjoyed the fresh bread with garlic and oil, my salad was a flavorful start and my lamb was perfect. Cant wait to return, again. Always have such a nice experience at Primavista thank you Frank and Joan.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Primavista once again proves to be a hid ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Primavista once again proves to be a hidden gem in the Queen City. Our meals were excellent. Our server, Heather, was fantastic. The views of the city were unparalleled. Whether just visiting Cincinnati or living here, Primavista is a go-to restaurant which never fails to provide top quality every time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not been to Primavista for severa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 22, 2016

We had not been to Primavista for several years and I don't know why. The service is impeccable, and the view is spectacular, matched by the menu and the preparation and presentation of the food. We won't wait so long to return.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Primavista is one of Cincy's gems, food ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Primavista is one of Cincy's gems, food and view both!!! Love this place!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We arrive on time and were quickly escor ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We arrive on time and were quickly escorted to our table. We had to wait about 15 minutes before any server appeared to ask if we had been waited on. Outside that it was an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Primavista has, perhaps, the best dining ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Primavista has, perhaps, the best dining view of Cincinnati. Try to get a window table. The food is good, but not really special. Prices are a little high if you add a salad, side, or dessert. Not that bad for a special occasion if you get the view. They did not hurry us as we sat and talked to good friends for a while after our meal. By, they did not offer coffee after we were finished eating. It is a special occasion place if you get the view. Otherwise, there are other places nearby without the view and much more interesting food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food, good service, a little c ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Very good food, good service, a little chilly by the window, but nice view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Our annual Christmas gathering with life ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Our annual Christmas gathering with lifelong friends was absolutely superb! The food was excellent and the wait staff was very attentive to all our needs. The view of the city as night fell was breathtaking too!

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Authentic, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. My food was awesom ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Everything was great. My food was awesome and the portions were plenty. I just had knee surgery 2 weeks ago and didn't have to walk a lot from my car to my table. It was the perfect place for a special date with spectacular view.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view of the City and surrounding hil ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The view of the City and surrounding hills, River and Northern Kentucky are stunning. The Italian cuisine is wonderful and unique, not what you will get at other Italian restaurants . Nice wine selection and great service.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.