About Primavista

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away! Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline, Ohio River and Northern Kentucky hillside. Primavista, established in 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. They and Chef Chris Prince have been working together to keep Primavista "Primo" for over 18 years. Because of our long-standing reputation for excellent food and service, Primavista draws guests from all over the world. From Prom dates to 50th Anniversary parties, Proposals to Rehearsal Dinners and Business Dinners to Birthday Parties, you're sure to impress your guests at Primavista. Just 5 minutes West of downtown we're quite convenient to all areas , but please see our website for directions, promotion details, and other information. www.pvista.com 513-251-6467

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday.

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Primavista offers the same excellent food and service with the same breath-taking view as our main dining room, for private parties. We pride ourselves in the fact that our Chef Chris Prince prepares dishes for 100 guests with the same care and attention as he does for two guests.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: 5132516467x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Gnocchi
  • Lamb Chops
  • Arugula Salad With Blueberries
Gnocchi
Lamb Chops
Arugula Salad With Blueberries

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
7 More
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Italian
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Scenic View
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Italian
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

scenic view (212)
special occasion (196)
romantic (170)
See All
neighborhood gem (92)
fit for foodies (91)
notable wine list (57)
good for groups (50)
hot spot (25)
late-night find (13)
great for lunch (11)
great for brunch (8)
kid-friendly (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1838 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent Italian food on the westside o ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent Italian food on the westside of Cincinnati. The gnocchi with shrimp was fabulous. The veal was great also. Actually everything we had was great. Service was a little slow but gave us time to enjoy the view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Sure glad I came to the "Natti". I would ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

Sure glad I came to the "Natti". I would have never known about this place. It's an extremely rare day (or night), I say anything along the lines of "One of the very best restaurants North America has to offer", but the truth is out there. Little did I expect the best, most enjoyable Saturday night ever (or any night, for that matter) would be happening in downtown Cincinnati!! Who would have thunk' it?

Primavista's the name; world class food, drink, service (love you Allison!), view and ambience is the game. Yes, people this place can rival any eatery in N.Y.C., L.A., Vegas, Miami. Right here in the Queen City. The veal special- lived up to it- and how. The wine, Albarino (never heard of it before) is is permanently etched in my mind. Shocker alert: Usually restaurants that have an outstanding view, are usually overrated and overpriced. This is the exception. EVERYTHING matches the outstanding view!! One word about our server. (Actually lots of words.) Professional, classy, sweet, her pacing the dishes that we ordered was perfect. "Love you Allison" Oh wait, I already said that. Well, I guess it bears repeating then. I felt like a million dollars; but didn't spend a million. If I would have had to spend a million dollars on Primavista? Well worth it. Come to think about it, I probably would gotten off cheap!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic server! The food was incredibl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

Fantastic server! The food was incredible and a view unmatched by any in the city.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The view is wonderful...especially in th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

The view is wonderful...especially in the evening as the sun sets and the city lights come on. However, I was disappointed in the attire of some guests dressed in shorts and t-shirts. Everyone who served us (in the bar area and at our table) were polite and responsive to our needs. The bar area is in need of an update. Our food was good but served dry as though it had been sitting out too long and then reheated. I had the penne sausage dinner and my wife had veal. It was my wife's 63rd birthday and I wanted it to be a great experience...it came close. I would not go back there again for a special occasion.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and the food was fanta ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent service and the food was fantastic. It takes a little longer, but well worth the wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Im 95% sure my credit card was compromis ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Im 95% sure my credit card was compromised at prima vista, which is sad because other than that it was a very nice evening. This was the only place I've used this card in the last month where it left my sight. Next morning there were three large purchases in Columbus using a copy of my card. No return call from the restaurant. Oh well. Amex is taking care of it.

Ps- in Europe the card is swiped at table side. US catch up!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

My brother recommended this restaurant a ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

My brother recommended this restaurant as he lives in Cincinnati. My husband and I were in visiting for a concert so made a reservation. We were thoroughly impressed by the quality of food, the excellent service and, of course, the location and view of the city. We will be back!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food, Sevice, and oh the View; absolutel ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Food, Sevice, and oh the View; absolutely amazing! We started off with the calamari appetizer,then shared the Caesar salad and then our entrees. I had the saltibocca and my husband had the filet. Every bite was delicious. Thanks for everything! We will be back!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the best Italian food that I ha ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

This was the best Italian food that I have had in Cincinnati. I have already recommended this to multiple people. The service was fantastic and the view was unbeatable overlooking downtown. I will definitely be back in the future.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service, good food, unreal s ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding service, good food, unreal scenic view. One of the best in Cincinnati.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

1st time at this restaurant, service was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

1st time at this restaurant, service was great. View was great, food was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Once again excellent food recommended by ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Once again excellent food recommended by Deborah, our excellent server.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Though we would like to frequent PrimaVi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Though we would like to frequent PrimaVista often, we look forward to our annual anniversary celebration overlooking the city and enjoying a premier meal. I am dairy free and they are always accommodating with outstanding and personal service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was extraordinary! Food was deli ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Service was extraordinary! Food was delicious as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

i requested a booth table so we were abl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

i requested a booth table so we were able to enjoy the view, this was out 10th wedding anniversary. We were seated at a table for two far from the window. To enjoy the view we had to look over several tables of people. The next time I make a reservation at a restaurant I will call them to make sure my specifications are honored.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Been coming here for over 25 years, incl ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Been coming here for over 25 years, including for our wedding rehearsal dinner. Always a consistently good meal!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful dinner, wonderful view! Great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Wonderful dinner, wonderful view! Great Italian cuisine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was not my first dinner experience ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was not my first dinner experience at Prinavista and, once again, I was not disappointed. Excellent food, excellent and attentive staff, and a marvelous view of our Queen City. Will return.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wait staff - friendly and professi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Great wait staff - friendly and professional helped make the evening extra fun. Food was great, love the small pizza starters.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful at Primavista. ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Everything was wonderful at Primavista. Food, service...everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was nice and was a great way ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was nice and was a great way to spend the night out as an event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Amazing service and food. The view is on ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing service and food. The view is one of the best we have found in the tri-state. For the price you can not beat the and quality. Will most and return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything wonderful? Good food and good ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Everything wonderful? Good food and good service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great regional Italian cuisine and impec ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great regional Italian cuisine and impeccable service. Fantastic view of the city night skyline just adds to the romance of the dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food. Great view. Wonderful time. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Good food. Great view. Wonderful time. We have been here several times and the food is very consistent as well as the service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We usually pick this spot for special oc ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We usually pick this spot for special occasions such as birthdays, anniversaries, etc. We always get a lower end seating, but notice other get the nicer tables by the window. I am convinced this restaurant caters to a class of regulars and friends. May not be going there anymore. I guess we don't make the A-List.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The view of Cincinnati is unrivaled. The ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The view of Cincinnati is unrivaled. The food and service is remarkable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Outstanding view of the city. Excellent ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Outstanding view of the city. Excellent service. Mussels in wine/garlic sauce were great. Bar served a fabulous Manhattan. Party of 5 had 5 different entrees, everyone very satisfied with their choices. And great deserts to finish an excellent evening. Took our time, but never felt rushed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and overall experience has alwa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food and overall experience has always great at Prima Vista, but at this visit, we picked up five bad mussels in our appetizer, which was a surprise and a disappointment. Other than that, our entrees were wonderful, the garlic spread was wonderful, the server was knowledgble, the view sublime, and we love the new chairs!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our first time. We were not disappointed ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our first time. We were not disappointed and were pleasantly surprised at how good the food was. Service was great. Can't beat the view! My glass of Chianti was a bit stale is my only complaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time there and enjoyed the except ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

First time there and enjoyed the exceptional setting, view and food. Recommend highly to anyone

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every is always perfect. We have never h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Every is always perfect. We have never had a bad meal there.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was vey good and the service wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was vey good and the service was excellent. Every seat has an excellent view.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

We're repeat customers and picked Primav ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We're repeat customers and picked Primavista for a special occasion for a friend. As always, the atmosphere was relaxed, and service friendly and efficient. Great antipasta plate appetizer, sliced pork, salmon, filet mignon, and meatballs. Once again, the food and service were "out of this world".

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrating our anniversary, we chose to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Celebrating our anniversary, we chose to come to Primavista because of the reviews from other people who had dined there. They raved about the food as well as the view, so how could we not go? We're so glad we did. The hostess got a window table for us, which was fantastic, and the waiter (Brian) tended to our every need. We got the shrimp scampi (out of this world) and the veal piccata (very good) along with a nice bottle of wine. The bill was as expected, but we felt it was worth it.

If you can find this place, you'll be glad you did.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food and top notch service. The ve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great food and top notch service. The veal is outstanding as well as the pasta. The view of downtown cincinnati is impressive. An excellent choice for a special occasion or before heading to the theatre.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I've been to Open Table several times wi ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

I've been to Open Table several times with both small and large groups and each time is flawless. Kudos to Debra, who has almost always been our server and contributes to the experience with her warm smile and professional attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was delightful! Service was p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything was delightful! Service was perfect and the view was wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My wife made reservations for Father's D ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife made reservations for Father's Day. We enjoyed it very much. The waiters and waitresses gave us the right amount of attention and were very calm and genuine. The views were breathtaking, and the atmosphere was great. The food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

I took my girlfriend here for a Saturday ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I took my girlfriend here for a Saturday night date, was blown away by the view and the service couldn't have been better. Food was great and worth the price. I will for sure be going back there soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.