About Primavista

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away! Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline, Ohio River and Northern Kentucky hillside. Primavista, established in 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. They and Chef Chris Prince have been working together to keep Primavista "Primo" for over 18 years. Because of our long-standing reputation for excellent food and service, Primavista draws guests from all over the world. From Prom dates to 50th Anniversary parties, Proposals to Rehearsal Dinners and Business Dinners to Birthday Parties, you're sure to impress your guests at Primavista. Just 5 minutes West of downtown we're quite convenient to all areas , but please see our website for directions, promotion details, and other information. www.pvista.com 513-251-6467

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday.

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Primavista offers the same excellent food and service with the same breath-taking view as our main dining room, for private parties. We pride ourselves in the fact that our Chef Chris Prince prepares dishes for 100 guests with the same care and attention as he does for two guests.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: 5132516467x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
8 More
Italian
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Scenic View
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Italian
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

scenic view (222)
special occasion (199)
romantic (194)
See All
fit for foodies (96)
neighborhood gem (89)
notable wine list (65)
good for groups (44)
hot spot (25)
late-night find (19)
great for lunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
kid-friendly (4)
great for brunch (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1768 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great experience

Dined 4 days ago

Went to Primavista for our 40th wedding anniversary. Great food, great service. A little pricey but this was a special night. Nice view...we sat at a window but good view no matter where you are seated.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service Spectacular v ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great food. Great service Spectacular view

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stunning View!!!!

Dined 5 days ago

OMG! The view = Just WOW! The appetizers were great, and the meal was even better. Fine selection of fine. This is THE spot if you want to take a romantic night out with your special one. The view is breathtaking, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to Prima Vista many times. Never ha ...

Dined 5 days ago

Been to Prima Vista many times. Never had a bad experience. You need to bring back your wedding soup

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Every table had a magnificent view of th ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Every table had a magnificent view of the city. We watched the sun go down and the city light up. The food was about the best classic Italian I've ever had. And our waitress, Jasmine, was superb - plenty of personality and attention without overwhelming us. My date loved it and so did I.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining!

Dined 6 days ago

We have dined here several times now and the food and service are always spot on. Add to that the beautiful view, and you have a recipe for a memorable and truly enjoyable evening out. Love this place! We will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view. Great food.

Dined 6 days ago

I've never had a bad meal at Prima Vista. I returned to Cincinnati after several years and brought my daughter to the restaurant for the view and food. Both were terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing view, truly professional service ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Amazing view, truly professional service staff, delicious food!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, food was flawlessly prepared. ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

As always, food was flawlessly prepared. Servers are conversant with menu and specials and can advise how to best order the dishes to suit each diner's tastes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2

The view was amazing!

Dined on May 15, 2016

The view was amazing!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant and view

Dined on May 14, 2016

Couldn't fault anything - from the fresh bread basket, to the goats cheese bruschetta and the raspberry sorbet was to die for. Our waiter was also very accommodating with a few dietary requests. And to top it off you get the best view in the city! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent as always with an exceptionall ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Excellent as always with an exceptionally clear and sunny view that evening.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my birthday here. We've been ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Celebrated my birthday here. We've been coming to Primavista for many years... never a bad meal, always consistently great!! And you can't beat the view!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Experience!

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were there for Mother's Day and the experience was the best! Great atmosphere, service and food. My mother is 88 and had never been there - so she was thrilled with everything and felt very special.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Awesome service. Great vie ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Amazing food. Awesome service. Great view. Had an amazing anniversary, with some great friends.

food1
ambience5
service2
value2

I was dissapointed in the food and the server.

Dined on May 1, 2016

I was surprised by how bad the food was. I would have rather ordered pizza. The view was amazing and the only thing worth the trip. Our server could clearly see that I wasn't eating my dinner but never bothered to ask why. I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone unless they let you enjoy the view and bring food with you.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a calm and romantic atmosphere

Dined on May 1, 2016

My husband and I came to Cincinnati for a weekend getaway. With 3 daughters at home, we really wanted a romantic, all about us, weekend. Our experience at this restaurant was unfathomable . We have never been somewhere with such a romantic atmosphere. We will definitely be visiting there again in our future. As well as will highly recommend to anyone that will be in the area. The food was so amazing. The waitress as well as all staff was helpful, polite and on top of our needs. Highly recommend!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not a bad seat...

Dined on April 30, 2016

Primavista has a view to match their food, great! The restaurant is designed so every seat has a great view of the Cincy skyline. The " Tuscan Brownie" dessert is simply ridiculous it's so good. The pricing is not near what they could charge, based on the food quality and view I expected to pay much more than I actually did.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

On top of a hill

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

This was our first time here, and it was not all that easy to find. We were also informed about needing to use Valet parking due to ongoing constructing in the neighborhood. Okay.. $5 for a teenager to drive my car 25 feet, but okay, whatever. We arrived on time and were promptly seated. And, Yes, what a view. All of Cincinnati , roads, bridges, trains right outside the window. Their website is very helpful as it details the menu by food groups, i.e. vegetarian, gluten, ect as the printed menu does not. We began with a bottle of Italian wine ($35), and enjoyed it with our meal, which we really enjoyed from appetizer through dessert. Pesto Raviolis, Caesar salad with added fillet of salmon, vegetarian pasta medley, tiramisu to share. Our only complaint; the tiramisu was glommed over with extra syrup & whipped cream. Not necessary as this made it too sweet and the cake was quite good on its own. Would certainly return. Dinner for 2: wine + app + salads + entrees + dessert + tip = $145.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Storybook Engagement!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

I first came to Primavista three and a half years ago for my birthday dinner with my boyfriend, who I had recently started dating. This past Friday, we came back together for dinner after three and a half years, and I was completely surprised with an engagement proposal after dinner, outside overlooking the city! Primavista will always hold a special place in our hearts, and we can't wait to come back for more celebrations!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful meal. Had the veal special! E ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

Wonderful meal. Had the veal special! Excellent. Others also loved the food and great view. If you are veggie ask for the special menu nice touch for my wife's needs.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved the relaxed feeling, the scenic view

Dined on April 28, 2016

A soon as we got there, we were received by a very friendly host, I had left a note on Opentable, I got married that day, and they were prepared exactly for what I had asked for. Our Server was excellent, not overwhelming, kind, paid attention to details, she was fantastic (Debra). View from our table was great, food was exquisite and on time, and wine as expected, our children enjoyed the food and strawberry daiquiri . My wife and I even danced to one of there background toons next to the table. Thank you.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always great

Dined on April 24, 2016

We celebrated our daughters'S 18th birthday and we enjoyed dinner thoroughly. My only only wish is that the snails appetizer was still on the menu. :(. But an excellent meal. Our server Heather was outstanding! Thank you.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sharing our gift certificate.

Dined on April 24, 2016

We received a gift certificate from grandaughters in North Carolina. We invited our two sons and wives to celebrate their wedding anniversaries with us as a Thank You for all they do for us. Since we had been there before we knew how beautiful,the view was and wanted to share it with them. Thanks to your great wait staff and delicious food, it was a memorable time for all of us.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible dining. Not only was the view ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Incredible dining. Not only was the view to die for, the food was heavenly. Can't wait to go back!

food4
ambience4
service4

View is great. Nice experience.

Dined on April 23, 2016

View is great. Nice experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

That view! Outside of the jaw dropping ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

That view! Outside of the jaw dropping view the food was delicious. My wife and I had the veal picatta and I had the veal meatballs. We shared a calamari appetizer. The marinara sauce is delicious and the meatballs and calamari went perfectly with it. My wife love her dish as well. My wife had a sangria to drink and finished with the bread pudding dessert and she raved about all of them. The service was great and mother nature even added to the view with a beautiful rainbow. It was a perfect anniversary dinner and our waitress even wished us a happy anniversary after I only mentioned it in the open table reservation.

food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great Food

Dined on April 22, 2016

First time great view good food. I will be back . This is a great place for a date night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

wrong entree

Dined on April 21, 2016

I'd heard such good thing about Prima Vista. I went during Restaurant week and ordered the pesto shrimp. I was disappointed and did not like my daughter's veal. When I talked to people who recommended this place, they all had more tomato based entrees and I suspect I would have liked that better as well. So I may be back to try again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

A great restaurant week value

Dined on April 20, 2016

This restaurant is a bit above our usual price range, but the 3-course dinner offered during restaurant week gave us a chance to try it out. All of the food was very good. We had a table by the window, overlooking the city -- unfortunately there isn't much to see during daylight -- a whole bunch of trees, the road, and a soccer field. At night when the view would be city lights, it would be very nice. The service was good, and I think it is not quite as formal as years ago -- a plus for people who aren't into a lot of fussy details.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful

Dined on April 19, 2016

A wonderful dinning experience as always. It defines true dinning and not just eating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Andrea

Dined on April 19, 2016

Went during restaurant week for Birthday celebrations. Server was awesome, food fantastic and the view is always spectacular. Great restaurant week menu options.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The view of the city and delicious food ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

The view of the city and delicious food is what I will remember most. The mussels and swordfish were cooked to perfection. Both were tender with great flavor. However, the crab cake was a bit plain and the side of gnocchi was very small. I was just excepting a bit more from those dishes. Our server was very nice, but wine took a long time. There is definitely room for improvement for both service and culinary, but overall it was a pleasant experience.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Birthday Dinner

Dined on April 16, 2016

This was our first time at the restaraunt and the whole experience was wonderful. We had a fantastic view with great service and amazingly delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Repeat Customer

Dined on April 15, 2016

We've dined at PrimaVista a handful of times and are never disappointed. We are considering doing our rehearsal dinner there too. Great view and excellent food!

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Dinner, dessert

Dined on April 15, 2016

Everything about this restaurant was amazing, except for the Tiramisu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was fantastic!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Our server was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't be happier

Dined on April 15, 2016

Took my sister out for a special birthday dinner and we were so impressed with everything. The service was spectacular, the food excellent. The ambiance was comfortable and elegant. Try the bread pudding, it's amazing!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Great View Great Food

Dined on April 12, 2016

Great Northern Italian food and great view. Very romantic. We went to celebrate our anniversary and it was perfect. Bruschetta and gnocchi were both interesting and very tasty. Risotto was heavy.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One word ...amazing

Dined on April 9, 2016

I cannot say enough so i will just say the service is unmatched and the food was melting in my mouth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.