Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Primavista

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away!
Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline and Ohio River. Primavista, since 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. Along with Chef Chris Prince, Frank and Joan work tirelessly to keep Primavista "Primo" for 25-years and counting!

Because of our long-standing excellent reputation and many awards for "Most Romantic" "Best Scenic View" and "Best Italian", Primavista the perfect spot for all occasions , from Birthdays to Corporate Dinners.
Located just 5 minutes West of downtown, enjoy the breath-taking views of the city while enjoying fine Italian dishes from all regions.

Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75 guests.

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday, except 2/13/2017 and 12/18/2017, open for Dinner

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking 4.00 and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: (513) 251-6467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentines week serving our full menu 2/11,2/12,2/13, and
a limited 6 Entree menu at regular price on2/14

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (151)
Special Occasion (131)
Romantic (120)
See All
Good for a Date (116)
Good for Anniversaries (105)
Worth the Drive (80)
Good for Birthdays (79)
Quiet Conversation (60)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Creative Cuisine (42)
Notable Wine List (41)
Cozy (39)
Authentic (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Pre/post Theatre (34)
Good for Groups (20)
Historic (18)
Business Meals (16)
Seasonal (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Fun (13)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Healthy (9)
Waterfront (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Vegan (7)
Family Style (7)
People Watching (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Private Room (5)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great Beer (3)
Casual (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Dancing (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
2264 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Arrived early, greeted immediately and seated ahead of reservation. Service was highly attentive but not obtrusive. Food was excellent, actually better than expected compared to some reviews I had heard. The view is quite spectacular and layout allows for every table to take advantage of it. Menu is quite broad to accomodate most tastes. The PEI mussels were amazing as was the fish and crab option that evening. Wife had the saltimboca which was very good. Will definitely recommend to others and return again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent all the way around! Food. Service. Ambiance. Our only complaint was the weather ... and even with gray, overcast skies, we enjoyed the city view all evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2017

You cannot beat the view! Very charming, cozy place. Very quiet and relaxing. Service was great. Food was very good but not outstanding for the price. I would definitely go back and also recommend it for a nice evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was wonderful! Especially enjoyed the giant bottle wine too! The food was quite tasty!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Have been to Primavista many times, never disappointed! Everyone raved about their food. Recommend lamb,veal meatballs, Shrimp scampi, cioppino, but you can't go wrong on anything!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and service was Excellent and the view was Nice!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Glad to report that even though Primavista has an OUTSTANDING view, they do not sit back on their laurels expecting people to eat there for only that reason. The food was memorable -- some of our party of 12 shared various things, in order to enjoy more of the goodness. Those plates came already split ! Kindly, the wait staff explained the menu & "specials" of the evening, twice, at both ends of our long table. Although notable Italian, the veal was excellent as was the fish, salads, & brushetta. Nice to have choices with strong cocktails & beautiful views.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a lovely dinner to celebrate our daughter's 32nd birthday and although we did not tell the waitress, she understood what we were celebrating and brought a delicious pistachio ice cream dessert with birthday candle - nice touch!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Prima Vista is arguably the best restaurant in the southwest side of Cincinnati. Having said that, I believe that it can hold it's own with the top restaurants anywhere in the city. The unique view of downtown Cincinnati is a bonus.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I took my wife here for her b day and it was more than perfect!! The food is very good and we had excellent service.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 10, 2017

View was spectacular. Waitress was very helpful with selecting menu options and wines to go with it. Food was really tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent service and food. I was traveling for business, on my birthday :(...looking for a treat. My service was individualized--only given a vegetarian /vegan menu and was brought a special treat at end of meal in honor of my day.

Food outstanding

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Was great! Definitely recommend!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 28, 2017

It's my favorite restaurant in Cincy. Anytime I need a special meal, this is the experience I want: special & classy with no hint of snobbery. Waiters are perfect & informed yet not condescending. You can wear nice jeans & a jacket but the incredible view demands a step up to cocktail dress. Nowhere in Cincy can you bask in an old-world city view like this. The food is always delicious without being too mysterious...you know what you're eating & it's always amazing. Prima Vista, tho medium-priced, is worth every penny & worthy of every occasion.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was excellent, the service prompt and attentive, decent wine list, and great view of the city and northern Kentucky. It is my wife's favorite restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Every time I am in Cincinnati Prima Vista is on our list for a visit. This place has it all - great food, great service and a friendly staff that makes sure you leave as a satisfied customer - and one that will be back. This is our favorite Cincinnati restaurant and will be yours once you visit!

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We always enjoy our visit to PrimaVista and again were not disappointed with the view, the food, or the service. Because of our good experiences visiting this restaurant, we are actually planning on having a private event to share the experience with family and friends.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

View is beautiful for Cincinnati. A bit noisy for conversations. Food was excellent for Italian cuisine. Water was in abundant however, bar services as slow.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We love Prima Vista! We go there for most of our special occasions, including the ones that Prima advertises (the Prix Fixe meals are a great deal - get on the email list!)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This is certainly one of the finest restaurants that I have eaten in. And I have eaten all over the world. The food and the service was 10 plus on my 10 Scale. The one exception was the dreadful elevator music in the background when we arrived at 5:30. Incongruous with the setting and fine dining. Even Panera plays Vivaldi in the background. Whoever is responsible for that transgression should be fired.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Service was great this evening. Food was delicious! Good selection of options that appealed to both myself and my other half, who is a vegetarian. Beautiful views of the city! Only critique of the restaurant is that it can feel a little cramped space wise - not the roomiest seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The view, the ambience, the service, the food, excellent on all points.....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Best view and great food and service. Day or night...just the best

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food and view were even better than expected! Definitely will visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food is always outstanding and the wait staff was very attentive. Our wine glasses were never empty. The view of Cincinnati is gorgeous. I would recommend this place for a nice date or special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful service, exceptional description of menu items. First time experiencing something like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Service was excellent, view fantastic. First time we dined there.. how did we not know about this wonderful place!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Gorgeous views! !!! So romantic! Great ambience! ! Service exceptional! ! I really enjoyed this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The view was amazing as was the service. The bar before our setting was very nice and bartender was super attentive. Dinner service was very prompt and informative. Overall, the experience was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Occasion: Date night with my wife.
We arrived on time and were seated right away. Unfortunately we were seated at a small corner table directly next to the kitchen where the light streaming through the kitchen windows all but killed the desired ambiance. Servers were routinely entering and exiting through kitchen doors just behind our chairs and we found ourselves straining to converse with one another over the constant sound of plates and silverware being tossed into sinks and busser bins. Although we voiced our displeasure with the table location, we were not re-seated, even though the dining room was nearly 1/2 empty with plenty of other open tables. Service was slow and forgetful (bread, wine, check, etc.), as was the food. We ordered the night's fish special, along with the shrimp scampi and side of gnocchi. Unfortunately, I found the dishes only average at best.

I had high hopes for the evening. Sadly, I was very disappointed with the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful decor and view. Excellent service -- we were very happy with the vegetarian options offered.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our server was fully welcoming and allowed us to spend as much time as we wanted eating and enjoying our conversation. The view is AMAZING!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Unparalleled views of Cincinnati. We went on St. Valentine's Day and it was a limited menu. We understand the reasoning as I am sure they did hundreds of dinners. We would have preferred the regular menu. We have our favorites. The arugula salad was deliciousl and the raspberry chocolate glace was the best. One of our favorite restaurants. The owners are always there and want to make sure that everyone has a wonderful experience. They work so hard. We really appreciate them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was outstanding. Debra was our sever and she did an excellent job. I was quite frustrated when i was handed a condensed menu. My wife and I drove from Indiana specifically for the chicken and pasta meal that we just love and we could NOT order it. My steak was cooked perfectly and was very good but not what we had came for. The only other thing i would suggest is to have some sort of normal potato side dish besides the potato/cormeal patty.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had my first experience on Valentines Day with my wife.
Service was great ( Amanda was our server)
Food was great.

The table next to us was very disruptive with continuous "flash" picture taking.
I can tolerate 4 or 5 flash pictures. The party took at least 25 flash pictures in a 35 minute period.
We didn't want to make a scene, so we kept quiet.
This totally ruined our experience for the evening.
I would have expected the management to step in after a reasonable period but nothing was said.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Its been a while since we dined at Prima Vista. We have been an occasional customer since 1995. the food is consistency good and the service was excellent on a busy night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My date and I went to Prima Vista for Valentine's Day. It was a great choice. The entire serving staff were well dressed and very appropriate for a dining place of this reputation. We enjoyed our perfectly cooked meals and the desserts were just as good as the main courses. Will go again very soon.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful..as always! We love the people, the food, the staff, the VIEW. A One service and a great night.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Authentic, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The view is gorgeous and the food delicious! Veal Marsala and crab cake this time- loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It was a great time with an awesome view and great service and food

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.