About Primavista

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away!
Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline and Ohio River. Primavista, since 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. Along with Chef Chris Prince, Frank and Joan work tirelessly to keep Primavista "Primo" for 25-years and counting!

Because of our long-standing excellent reputation and many awards for "Most Romantic" "Best Scenic View" and "Best Italian", Primavista the perfect spot for all occasions , from Birthdays to Corporate Dinners.
Located just 5 minutes West of downtown, enjoy the breath-taking views of the city while enjoying fine Italian dishes from all regions.

Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday, except 2/13/2017 and 12/18/2017, open for Dinner

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking 4.00 and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: (513) 251-6467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentines week serving our full menu 2/11,2/12,2/13, and
a limited 6 Entree menu at regular price on2/14

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (153)
Special Occasion (136)
Romantic (127)
See All
Good for a Date (120)
Good for Anniversaries (112)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Worth the Drive (77)
Quiet Conversation (69)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Cozy (50)
Notable Wine List (48)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Authentic (42)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Good for Groups (19)
Outstanding Value (19)
Fun (18)
Historic (18)
Seasonal (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Healthy (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Waterfront (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Vegan (8)
Family Style (7)
People Watching (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Private Room (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great Beer (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (2)
Live Music (1)
Dancing (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2243 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was great this evening. Food was delicious! Good selection of options that appealed to both myself and my other half, who is a vegetarian. Beautiful views of the city! Only critique of the restaurant is that it can feel a little cramped space wise - not the roomiest seating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The view, the ambience, the service, the food, excellent on all points.....

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Best view and great food and service. Day or night...just the best

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

The food and view were even better than expected! Definitely will visit again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is always outstanding and the wait staff was very attentive. Our wine glasses were never empty. The view of Cincinnati is gorgeous. I would recommend this place for a nice date or special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wonderful service, exceptional description of menu items. First time experiencing something like that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Gorgeous views! !!! So romantic! Great ambience! ! Service exceptional! ! I really enjoyed this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The view was amazing as was the service. The bar before our setting was very nice and bartender was super attentive. Dinner service was very prompt and informative. Overall, the experience was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Occasion: Date night with my wife.

We arrived on time and were seated right away. Unfortunately we were seated at a small corner table directly next to the kitchen where the light streaming through the kitchen windows all but killed the desired ambiance. Servers were routinely entering and exiting through kitchen doors just behind our chairs and we found ourselves straining to converse with one another over the constant sound of plates and silverware being tossed into sinks and busser bins. Although we voiced our displeasure with the table location, we were not re-seated, even though the dining room was nearly 1/2 empty with plenty of other open tables. Service was slow and forgetful (bread, wine, check, etc.), as was the food. We ordered the night's fish special, along with the shrimp scampi and side of gnocchi. Unfortunately, I found the dishes only average at best.

I had high hopes for the evening. Sadly, I was very disappointed with the entire experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Wonderful decor and view. Excellent service -- we were very happy with the vegetarian options offered.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our server was fully welcoming and allowed us to spend as much time as we wanted eating and enjoying our conversation. The view is AMAZING!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Unparalleled views of Cincinnati. We went on St. Valentine's Day and it was a limited menu. We understand the reasoning as I am sure they did hundreds of dinners. We would have preferred the regular menu. We have our favorites. The arugula salad was deliciousl and the raspberry chocolate glace was the best. One of our favorite restaurants. The owners are always there and want to make sure that everyone has a wonderful experience. They work so hard. We really appreciate them.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was outstanding. Debra was our sever and she did an excellent job. I was quite frustrated when i was handed a condensed menu. My wife and I drove from Indiana specifically for the chicken and pasta meal that we just love and we could NOT order it. My steak was cooked perfectly and was very good but not what we had came for. The only other thing i would suggest is to have some sort of normal potato side dish besides the potato/cormeal patty.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I had my first experience on Valentines Day with my wife.

Service was great ( Amanda was our server)

Food was great.

The table next to us was very disruptive with continuous "flash" picture taking.

I can tolerate 4 or 5 flash pictures. The party took at least 25 flash pictures in a 35 minute period.

We didn't want to make a scene, so we kept quiet.

This totally ruined our experience for the evening.

I would have expected the management to step in after a reasonable period but nothing was said.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Its been a while since we dined at Prima Vista. We have been an occasional customer since 1995. the food is consistency good and the service was excellent on a busy night.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My date and I went to Prima Vista for Valentine's Day. It was a great choice. The entire serving staff were well dressed and very appropriate for a dining place of this reputation. We enjoyed our perfectly cooked meals and the desserts were just as good as the main courses. Will go again very soon.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Wonderful..as always! We love the people, the food, the staff, the VIEW. A One service and a great night.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Authentic, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The view is gorgeous and the food delicious! Veal Marsala and crab cake this time- loved it!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

It was a great time with an awesome view and great service and food

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Terrific meal with an amazing view. Great service staff

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Fantastic food, view and service. Will definitely go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Prima Vista comes through again. Been coming here every year for special occasions. You can't beat the food and the view on a clear night.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It was our first time going. Everything was amazing! It was our anniversary and they brought us out an ice cream dessert with a candle. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Service was outstanding, the view was gorgeous and the whole meal from the brushetta to dessert was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Sat at a nice table for two against the window overlooking the city. Great view! Wait staff was very knowledgeable and attentive, and didn't try to push on upselling. Food was very good, my date and I both ended up with seafood and was well-prepared and delicious. Too pricey for normal dining, but great for special occasions or a great date night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was really good and we had a good experience. The waitress was also really good to us and made sure we had everything we needed.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

This was our second visit, and the food was excellent, service was first rate, a really lovely evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Wonderful food and attentive staff. Couldn't be happier

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We often eat at high end restaurants in Cincinnati. Primavista was by far the best meal we've had in Cincinnati in a long time. While we didn't have the best table our servers were in incredible and the view is fabulous! I highly recommend Primavista.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great service, delicious food, attention to detail, professional, knowledgeable staff! Great all around! Would go again!

Tags: Historic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The ambiance, food and service are great. We recommend it highly. A wonderful place for a special meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great view, service, food and everything else!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding. Every time I go, I'm blown away by the food. The view is cool, but I come back for the food! Get the pan seared fish with lump crab on top and a side of garlic angel hair... you'll be thinking about it for a week after you eat it- promise!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I loved the food and I loved the view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great night celebrating my wife's birthday on Friday night. The staff was very knowledgeable about the wine and the entrees. We asked to move a table over to have a better view and they moved us without any problems! We will definitely be back.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

It was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Daughter was in town from LA and we all truly enjoyed our server Amanda taking great care of us, great food and superb views of the city

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had a reservation for 7 and showed up a few minutes early. Sadly we were not seated until 7:20. With a reservation at a nice restaurant such as this I would have expected to be seated soon. The hostess didn't even apologize for the wait. The food and the view were good however and slightly made up for the wait.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We have been there many times over the last 20 years, and it's always excellent. Beautiful view

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Overall a very goo experience. Can't beat the view as every table has a view of Cincinnati down below thanks to the floor to ceiling windows. The side we were at farthest from the window was terraced up bit higher so we could see. Food was very good; the pasta was excellent as was the chicken dish. The risotto was good but would have been top notch if they had used Porcini mushrooms instead. Brought out a little dessert treat for the birthday girl, a nice touch. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Primavista was excellent, the menu have some great choices and the staff is very knowledgeable about all the choices. We had a great bottle of wine that was reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We chose Prima Vista for dinner with another couple last Saturday evening. The food was excellent, the atmosphere peaceful, the service could not have been better and the view was indescribable. It was definitely worth the hour drive!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The ravioli amazes me always, still think it is a hidden gem of a meal in the region.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great food, spectacular view!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Fish was well prepared though it took ages to come out. Service was good until it ceased to exist altogether. Probably will not return since there are better places for the money nearby.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

What I love about Primavista other than the spectacular view is that the food and service is very consistent. The service is on point and not overly intrusive. The food is consistently good and the options are just right. We always look forward to our visits there!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great view. Great food. Good place for a date night for a couple. Tasty food. Very nice service.

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Outstanding Value, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We have been dining at Primavista since they opened their doors over 25 years ago . every experience has been exceptional. The broiled flounder special melted in my mouth and the bread pudding is always my favorite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Outstanding authentic Italian. Fine dining, good wine list. Knowledgeable servers, beautiful view.

Great for a quiet evening for two or a larger group who enjoy comraderie .

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.