About Primavista

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away! Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline, Ohio River and Northern Kentucky hillside. Primavista, established in 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. They and Chef Chris Prince have been working together to keep Primavista "Primo" for over 18 years. Because of our long-standing reputation for excellent food and service, Primavista draws guests from all over the world. From Prom dates to 50th Anniversary parties, Proposals to Rehearsal Dinners and Business Dinners to Birthday Parties, you're sure to impress your guests at Primavista. Just 5 minutes West of downtown we're quite convenient to all areas , but please see our website for directions, promotion details, and other information. www.pvista.com 513-251-6467

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday.

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Primavista offers the same excellent food and service with the same breath-taking view as our main dining room, for private parties. We pride ourselves in the fact that our Chef Chris Prince prepares dishes for 100 guests with the same care and attention as he does for two guests.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: 5132516467x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Gnocchi
  • Lamb Chops
  • Arugula Salad With Blueberries
Gnocchi
Lamb Chops
Arugula Salad With Blueberries

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
7 More
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Italian
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Scenic View
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Italian
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

scenic view (195)
special occasion (181)
romantic (166)
See All
fit for foodies (85)
neighborhood gem (81)
notable wine list (57)
good for groups (44)
hot spot (20)
late-night find (13)
great for lunch (9)
great for brunch (7)
kid-friendly (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1798 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've been to Open Table several times wi ...

Dined 4 days ago

I've been to Open Table several times with both small and large groups and each time is flawless. Kudos to Debra, who has almost always been our server and contributes to the experience with her warm smile and professional attitude.

food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was delightful! Service was p ...

Dined 6 days ago

Everything was delightful! Service was perfect and the view was wonderful!

food4
ambience5
service5

My wife made reservations for Father's D ...

Dined 6 days ago

My wife made reservations for Father's Day. We enjoyed it very much. The waiters and waitresses gave us the right amount of attention and were very calm and genuine. The views were breathtaking, and the atmosphere was great. The food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took my girlfriend here for a Saturday ...

Dined 7 days ago

I took my girlfriend here for a Saturday night date, was blown away by the view and the service couldn't have been better. Food was great and worth the price. I will for sure be going back there soon!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was wonderful. My husband ...

Dined 7 days ago

The restaurant was wonderful. My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary (54 years) so we ate everything from appetizer to dessert and, of course, a few drinks and were very surprised at how reasonable the check was. Our server was very attentive and made suggestions when we asked about a particular entrée. All in all, a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Incredible evening. They acknowledged my ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Incredible evening. They acknowledged my wife s b day and made sure we were able to get to the theater on time. Highly recommend view and overall expierence is excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was fantastic. We can't wait t ...

vip
Dined on June 15, 2016

The food was fantastic. We can't wait to go back. Our server, Annie, made the evening all the morning wonderful. She was excellent!

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was amazing. The view was beaut ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was amazing. The view was beautiful. The ambiance/decor is very outdated. My fiancé and I also felt very out of place because it felt somewhat like an old boys club which we weren't 100% expecting.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive staff and gorgeous view of our ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Attentive staff and gorgeous view of our city too! Food was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Primavista is my favorte dining spot in ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Primavista is my favorte dining spot in Cincinnati. They have the best food, the best service, wonderful view. My go to spot for a special meal. Pricey but worth every penny.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything about our experience was grea ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Everything about our experience was great. The staff were polite and attentive, and the ambiance was romantic and peaceful. Not to mention the food was amazing. My husband had the veal meatballs and they were to die for! We loved every aspect of our meal. Definitely recommend!

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Favorite restaurant

Dined on June 10, 2016

The view and the menu are outstanding. Something seemed different this time. New chef? New manager? Not up to snuff as many times in the past. It was nosier. The lettuce was yellow. The raisins on the bread pudding were minimal. A staff member upturned a plate of spaghetti. This is our go-to special restaurant. I hope it gets back to the highest standards. Perhaps that day was a fluke.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Mesmerizing view , amazing food and know ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Mesmerizing view , amazing food and knowledgable service (thank you Anthony). We had a beautiful evening.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time!

Dined on June 9, 2016

Great food. Great staff. Great view. The food was excellent. Well made, good presentation and perfectly timed. The staff were outstanding. From the greeting upon arrival to the end of the meal. Our waiter (Brian) was very knowledgeable, prompt and courteous. We chose Primavista for my wife's birthday dinner celebration. We will definitely return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was very attentive and the fo ...

Dined on June 9, 2016

Our server was very attentive and the food was delicious. It was a very pleasant evening after a somewhat stressful day. Thank you so much!!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

cinili

Dined on June 8, 2016

My mushroom risotto was to salty, I had to return and order something else, order polenta and brussel sprouts, polenta was very plain and brussel sprouts overcooked . I would not recommend this restaurante if you are vegetarian or vegan !

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

Great view - that's about all

Dined on June 7, 2016

We can't complain about the food, but there are so many better special occasion restaurants in the city. It has been forty years since we have been there, and it looks like nothing changed. The food was fine, but everything else lacked that special touch to make it a special place to dine. Our server was nice, but the entire staff needed to pay attention to detail and upgrade their dress and manner. Not sorry we went, but it is off our list for sure.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

A lovely experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

My husband and I went to Prima Vista before seeing a show at the Federal Incline Theater. Overall, we had a wonderful experience. We were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and were given very good service. They sat us by the window where we had a spectacular view of the city as well as a short rain shower and a glorious rainbow! Our waitress and bus staff were very attentive and had great attitudes. We ordered the carpaccio (which I thought was quite good), a caesar salad (I wasn't fond of this-I believe there was too much dressing and was a little too tart for me), the ravioli (which was delicious), and the grilled chicken with gorgonzola (which I thought was only so-so. A little bland and dry for my taste). I think the food left a little to be desired (especially for the price), but it might be worth a visit for the spectacular view and the convenience to the theater. The clientele was on the older side, so as a younger couple we felt a little out of place, but I guess in a way that was part of its charm as well.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Brilliant

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our server Lisa was really nice, patient and catered to our needs very well. Please thank her on our behalf and she deserves a pat on her back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Anniversary date night

Dined on June 3, 2016

My boyfriend and I went here for our 3 year anniversary dinner last week. The view was incredible and the food was very delicious. They have a vegetarian and vegan menu also available.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect As Usual

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

We celebrated our anniversary here this year. The view out across the city as night falls is wonderfully romantic. Everything we had was really good. The Copper River Salmon was superb! Served over al dente asparagus with morels and diced Pancetta, prepared rare per our request, was perfect. Our waitress Debra remembered us from previous visits, provided impeccable service, never intrusive. The restaurant is always quiet enough to carry on an intimate conversation. Sixteen years later it is still one of our favorite romantic spots.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversay Dinner

Dined on May 30, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a romantic dinner over looking the city to celebrate our 35th Wedding Anniversary. It was a wonderful evening, from the view to the food and great service, it was delightful!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent views and delicious food!

Dined on May 29, 2016

Excellent views and delicious food!

food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Great food, mediocre and snobby service

Dined on May 29, 2016

Just as truly rich people often don't act rich, truly top-end restaurants should not be pretentious. I had to ask who our server was because it took her so long to introduce herself. When she did wait on us, she was demeaning and slow. I was not impressed. The food was OK. The veal marsala was very salty and slightly chewy, and the scampi was more noodles than shrimp. No one in our group of 7 made a comment of how much he/she enjoyed the food. It was simply adequate.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful ambience, food and service ver ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Wonderful ambience, food and service very good Only complaint, crummy cocktail glasses, too small

food5
ambience4
service5

Food, service, atmosphere and all I betw ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Food, service, atmosphere and all I between is great here. Great date place or special occasion. A little pricey, but everything is excellent

food5
ambience5
service5

Great view and great pasta dishes.

Dined on May 27, 2016

Great view and great pasta dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5

The view of the city.

Dined on May 26, 2016

The view of the city.

food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience. Thank you ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We had a wonderful experience. Thank you chefs and servers - you were great.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great experience

Dined on May 23, 2016

Went to Primavista for our 40th wedding anniversary. Great food, great service. A little pricey but this was a special night. Nice view...we sat at a window but good view no matter where you are seated.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Great service Spectacular v ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Great food. Great service Spectacular view

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Stunning View!!!!

Dined on May 22, 2016

OMG! The view = Just WOW! The appetizers were great, and the meal was even better. Fine selection of fine. This is THE spot if you want to take a romantic night out with your special one. The view is breathtaking, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to Prima Vista many times. Never ha ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Been to Prima Vista many times. Never had a bad experience. You need to bring back your wedding soup

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Every table had a magnificent view of th ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Every table had a magnificent view of the city. We watched the sun go down and the city light up. The food was about the best classic Italian I've ever had. And our waitress, Jasmine, was superb - plenty of personality and attention without overwhelming us. My date loved it and so did I.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining!

Dined on May 20, 2016

We have dined here several times now and the food and service are always spot on. Add to that the beautiful view, and you have a recipe for a memorable and truly enjoyable evening out. Love this place! We will definitely return.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great view. Great food.

Dined on May 20, 2016

I've never had a bad meal at Prima Vista. I returned to Cincinnati after several years and brought my daughter to the restaurant for the view and food. Both were terrific.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing view, truly professional service ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Amazing view, truly professional service staff, delicious food!

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As always, food was flawlessly prepared. ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

As always, food was flawlessly prepared. Servers are conversant with menu and specials and can advise how to best order the dishes to suit each diner's tastes.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service2

The view was amazing!

Dined on May 15, 2016

The view was amazing!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant and view

Dined on May 14, 2016

Couldn't fault anything - from the fresh bread basket, to the goats cheese bruschetta and the raspberry sorbet was to die for. Our waiter was also very accommodating with a few dietary requests. And to top it off you get the best view in the city! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.