About Primavista

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away! Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline, Ohio River and Northern Kentucky hillside. Primavista, established in 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. They and Chef Chris Prince have been working together to keep Primavista "Primo" for over 18 years. Because of our long-standing reputation for excellent food and service, Primavista draws guests from all over the world. From Prom dates to 50th Anniversary parties, Proposals to Rehearsal Dinners and Business Dinners to Birthday Parties, you're sure to impress your guests at Primavista. Just 5 minutes West of downtown we're quite convenient to all areas , but please see our website for directions, promotion details, and other information. www.pvista.com 513-251-6467

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday.

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Primavista offers the same excellent food and service with the same breath-taking view as our main dining room, for private parties. We pride ourselves in the fact that our Chef Chris Prince prepares dishes for 100 guests with the same care and attention as he does for two guests.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: 5132516467x

Additional:
Banquet, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Gnocchi
  • Lamb Chops
  • Arugula Salad With Blueberries
Gnocchi
Lamb Chops
Arugula Salad With Blueberries

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
7 More
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Italian
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Scenic View
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Italian
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Scenic View (194)
Special Occasion (179)
Romantic (154)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (79)
Fit for Foodies (75)
Notable Wine List (49)
Good for Groups (40)
Hot Spot (20)
Late-night Find (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1878 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's worth the drive from Milford to Pri ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined 4 days ago

It's worth the drive from Milford to Price Hill, especially on a beautiful summer evening, to experience that outstanding view and the outstanding food. I've had the Chicken Gorgonzola twice in the last few weeks because it was just so good I couldn't resist! The biggest downside is that it is so dated. It could really use some money spent on changing the décor and cleaning it up a bit. We overlook the décor for the view and food but this place could be as busy as Incline Public House is next door if the room would be 2016 and not 1986. Prices are reasonable too compared to downtown Cincinnati.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Was a really tasty meal and I sure did l ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Was a really tasty meal and I sure did like it a lot. I think Brittany liked it a lot too. It was a good meal.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very breath taking view, romantic and mo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very breath taking view, romantic and most of all scrumptious food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This my 23rd Anniversary dinner. So I ex ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

This my 23rd Anniversary dinner. So I expected a good time with my friends which I did. Most times when you dressed accordingly and with a group you are asked what's the occasion but not in this case even though we were about the only ones there due to it being a late Sunday afternon reservation. One of party members ordered a steak medium that came out looking dry n well done. The dining room head hostess said it was the lighting (imagine that on a sunny bright day and sitting next to window ). By that time she the hostess got over to the table with the steak it had been passed around from the waiter to whomever... and finally brought back and my friend was made to feel like a 2 year old who was gonna eat it no matter what. My friend refused and wanted another steak. What embarrassment! Imagine that. But the hostess ended up taking care of their bill and cooked her a new steak. So it ended well. Will I go back?Probably not but the view was spectacular.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

One of our favorites in Cincinnati. Have ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

One of our favorites in Cincinnati. Have come here often for special occasions and for no reason at all. Always excellent wait staff and wonderful food. Great/affordable wine list which changes often. We'll be back again, and again, and............

Bob G

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was awesome!

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

It was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Everything was terrific AS USUAL 👌

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Everything was terrific AS USUAL 👌

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating my parents 50th anni ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We were celebrating my parents 50th anniversary - the waiter provided complimentary deserts when he learned of the occasion. The food as always was as good or better than the amazing view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I love Primavista and always have for th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

I love Primavista and always have for the beautiful view and the outstanding service. It is the place to go for romance and yet it is a beautiful restaurant to dine for a special occasion. My only small negative is I wish they offered some other food choices like pasta and sauce for vegetarians. Or cheese ravioli and maybe even lasagna for teens who haven't developed a taste for veal and seafood. I would definitely recommend Primavista to family, friends and anyone who is visiting Cincinnati. The is view is AMAZING!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner for five on a Sunday night. crowd ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Dinner for five on a Sunday night. crowded but not packed. Ordered veal dishes and sesfood dishes, mussels appetizer, salads , dessert. Service and food were excellent. View is always a treat.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, vies and service. Got a lit ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food, vies and service. Got a little loud however.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our teen daughters to dinner and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We took our teen daughters to dinner and had a wonderful experience. We have been to the restaurant several times with couples, but never with our daughters. We had a great evening and so did they!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is spectacular, only to be exce ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The view is spectacular, only to be exceeded by the food! The bruschetta with goat cheese, honey and rosemary oil was truly delightful. We had the sockeye salmon special and red snapper fish of the day. Both were excellent. Our sweet tooth was in heaven with the bread pudding. As you can tell, we will be back very soon - so glad a friend told us about your restaurant!

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The view of the City is awesome! Best Al ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The view of the City is awesome! Best Alfredo ever! Nice atmosphere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the second time I've been here. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is the second time I've been here. The food was much better the first time around. The service & view were fantastic.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

This restaurant has by far the best view ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This restaurant has by far the best view of Cincinnati! Also has a wide range of food that is accommodating for every budget. My wife and I have been here many times, and we have never once been disappointed! Great dining experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A must if you want a spectacular view an ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

A must if you want a spectacular view and lots of good food while visiting Cincinnati. This was our first visit, but will not be our last. My BFF and I were in Cincy for the weekend celebrating her birthday. The owner stopped by our table to see if everything was satisfactory. We told him we were from Columbus and just in town for the weekend. He immediately thanked us many times over for visiting his restaurant and insisted on buying us both dessert. So nice!

Our waitress was very friendly and professional. Attentive without being intrusive.

The food was fantastic! We had the goat cheese with rosemary honey bruschetta as an appetizer. It was incredible! My friend has the mushroom risotto and I had the capellini with veal meatballs. Huge portions and so, so good. For dessert, she had the bread pudding with dark caramel sauce and Marsala raisins. I had the Tuscan brownie with Salted Caramel gelato. Both desserts were fabulous.

If you're looking for a nice restaurant without crazy high prices, a great view, and really good food and service, go to Primavista.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I would highly recommend Primavista to a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I would highly recommend Primavista to anyone who wants to enjoy their dinning experience not to just eat and run.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Primavista to celebrate my Mo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We went to Primavista to celebrate my Mom's birthday. We had a beautiful view of Cincinnati, wonderful service, and an excellent meal! The part-owner, Frank, even came by and checked on how our meal was. He then surprised us by buying a dessert for my Mom.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a great dining spot for not only ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This is a great dining spot for not only fabulous food and scenery, but a chance to savor the food and scenery as the total meal experience takes almost 2 hours. This combination of excellent food, scenery and time to enjoy the meal creates a complete dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view of downtown Cincinnati. Food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Great view of downtown Cincinnati. Food was good and our server was knowledgeable and fast. Awesome experience overall.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and very well pre ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food was excellent and very well prepared and presented. The view is spectacular and the service was perfect. We were seated promptly (we did have a reservation) and the food was served in a timely fashion. The menu has a good amount of variety and there were also specials.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We hadgreatfood&service! Especiallythe a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We hadgreatfood&service! Especiallythe attentiontoourtimelineforthetheaterfromourserverLisa!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to celebrate our one year marria ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We went to celebrate our one year marriage anniversary. We had a good time there. We ordered gnocchi with rock shrimp, the veal special dish and shrimp scampi. The sauces were excellent and I enjoyed dipping the bread in the sauce and eating it. We enjoyed the romantic ambiance along with the night view of the city. I must mention that the ladies room has such antique and pretty looking furniture!

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Knowledgeable server. The fried meatbal ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Knowledgeable server. The fried meatballs were a delicious news addition to the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Heather was absolutely deligh ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our server Heather was absolutely delightful. She had a wonderful attitude and was a ray of sunshine. I was impressed with her extensive knowledge of the wine list and menu. Our food was beautiful, tasted delicious and was prepared perfectly. I look forward to my next dining experience with Primavista.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our visit to primavista ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We always enjoy our visit to primavista at 2 times per year. view is great and especially the food. Service 2nd to none.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you're looking to get out of the city ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

If you're looking to get out of the city for a bit, this is the place to come to! Great place to have dinner with friends and the view is spectacular of Cincinnati.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Impeccable service and gorgeous view. A ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Impeccable service and gorgeous view. Adored the argulla salad and fresh bread. Only downfall table over to right of us kept telling there child to look out the

window at our table numerous times then took pictures right at our table. Extremely rude and definitely put a kink in our anniversary dinner. Coffee outstanding well. Cocktail prices our outrageous for the martini I ordered was also extremely small glass.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The service an food were better than man ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The service an food were better than many of the fancy downtown restaurants

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The view is amazing, and the tables are ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The view is amazing, and the tables are set up so that most tables have a great view. The service was attentive but not intrusive. The cheese plate, bread, and garlic spread were so good that I couldn't stop eating it. I had angel hair and veal meatballs. It was tasty, but the pasta was a little congealed and dense. The meatballs were tender and flavorful. My husb had the snapper with crab that had a super rich buttery sauce that was very good. Good place to impress someone from out-of-town or a romantic date.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey pasta dishes probably aren't wort ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Pricey pasta dishes probably aren't worth it, but their salmon plate was fantastic and well worth the cost. The view is magnificent and I definitely recommend a dining experience here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited this restaurant many times, and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Visited this restaurant many times, and it is always a lovely experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prima Vista is our place to go for speci ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Prima Vista is our place to go for special occasions, birthday, anniversary, etc. This was my husband's 70th birthday and he loves the Veal Piccata so that is where we went. Once again we were not disappointed. Food delicious, service exceptional and view awesome.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food and staff

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Wonderful food and staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I came to celebrate our b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

My husband and I came to celebrate our birthdays and wedding anniversary, all in July. We were prepared to enjoy ourselves just being in this delightful spot. Service at the beginning was flawed: we ordered a bottle of white wine, and an appetizer. Our usual protocol is to enjoy a glass of wine before any food arrives. The complimentary appetizer (bread, garlic, oil) came before the wine. The server then asked us what we wanted to order and I churlishly said I did not want to think about food until I had a glass of wine in my hand. After another delay, she brought the wine in a cooler, saying, "I think it is cold enough now." This seems to mean all whites are not kept on ice but iced upon order. If there is a next time, I'll be warned. Things are changing in the restaurant business with a lot of young people who don't even know how to dine, so training is needed. Or am I wrong?

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had not been to Prima Vista in about ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We had not been to Prima Vista in about a 1 1/2. Great service..........attentive..........menu has not changed much...........

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We love this place. Relive in the neigh ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We love this place. Relive in the neighborhood and love to come here as often as we can. Great service as usual

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tasty food,great service , scenic view;a ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Tasty food,great service , scenic view;a winner. Hadn't been there for years for 3 years since we live in East side of town. However, we wanted a place close to the musical at Covedale Performing Arts Center and this was our first choice. We plan to be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a birthday and we se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

We were celebrating a birthday and we seated at a lovely window table as requested. A very enjoyable evening in all ways. Great food and server and a little complimentary dessert to celebrate the birthday!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.