Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Primavista

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away!
Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline and Ohio River. Primavista, since 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. Along with Chef Chris Prince, Frank and Joan work tirelessly to keep Primavista "Primo" for 25-years and counting!

Because of our long-standing excellent reputation and many awards for "Most Romantic" "Best Scenic View" and "Best Italian", Primavista the perfect spot for all occasions , from Birthdays to Corporate Dinners.
Located just 5 minutes West of downtown, enjoy the breath-taking views of the city while enjoying fine Italian dishes from all regions.

Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75 guests.

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday, except 2/13/2017 and 12/18/2017, open for Dinner

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking 4.00 and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: (513) 251-6467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentines week serving our full menu 2/11,2/12,2/13, and
a limited 6 Entree menu at regular price on2/14

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (140)
Special Occasion (115)
Good for a Date (94)
See All
Romantic (94)
Good for Anniversaries (93)
Worth the Drive (68)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Authentic (45)
Quiet Conversation (44)
Neighborhood Gem (42)
Notable Wine List (40)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Business Meals (25)
Cozy (23)
Historic (22)
Fun (19)
Good for Groups (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Seasonal (12)
Casual (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
People Watching (6)
Waterfront (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Healthy (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vegan (4)
Private Room (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
2391 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Primavista is just incredible. The food is amazing and the atmosphere and view is outstanding. There's just no place like it. It's expensive, but worth it for special occasions.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Unexpectedly found a gem. View is great as expected. Annie is awesome. Never rushed and courses spaced appropriately. Food awesome. My guests were impressed.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great view and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We went to Primavista with high hopes but, alas, we were disappointed. While they have a GF menu, with the abundance of GF pastas on the market, they do not include any pasta dish. We had 2 veal dishes, chicken dish, antipasti plate, Caesar salad, & GF bean soup (the best item we were served). The antipasti plate was exorbitantly priced for 12 3/4"x3/4" cheese cubes, 4 olives, and 4 paperthin slices of meat, 2 of them 2"x4", 2 of them 2"x2". Literally this would have been perfect for one, maybe two if they didn't really want too much each, people but at $18 we expected a bit more on the plate. The plate was mostly bare. The salad, meh, just ok...nothing special. All romaine with some added cheese at the table. The bean soup was excellent. Had good flavor, was just the right temp, and w/some added Parm was yummy. Then the dinners came out. Son and daughter's chicken with Gorgonzola sauce both barely had a sauce...it was a garnish at best. The worst part was the herbs on the chicken were not toasted but burnt to the skin. Chicken was dry (sauce would have been helpful here). The funny thing is son and daughter got the same thing but it was presented differently. The asparagus was the best thing on the plate. I was excited for my veal saltimboca since we rarely get to see saltimboca on a GF menu. It came out over cooked and dry and excessively salty. The ham may have added some salt but I don't know if it was the cheese on top or if someone salted the meat but it just wasn't good. It too was to have a sauce but again the sauce was over cooked and dried on the plate. Polenta cake was flavorless but the green beans were excellent. Obviously anything with beans in the name seems to be their forte. Husband's veal special just ok. Sauce was made nicely but no great flavor. His veal was over cooked and dry. Needless to say we were disappointed for Father's Day but if you go for the beans, you won't be disappointed.😕

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My first visited to PrimaVista was in 1999/2000 and although the surrounding area has changed the ambiance, the great view of the city and the wonderful food has not. Every visit has been either a date or anniversary.

Things to note:
- Every seat in the restaurant has a view of the city so plan your dinner date accordingly. Looking at the city lights while you eat is great
- Everything is priced like a high end Italian restaurant because it is a high end Italian restaurant. The prices in my opinion are fair (The veal is amazing)
- You can bring your own wine. They will charge a small corking fee.
- If you are having a special event and would like to bring a small cake, they will refrigerate it and cut it accordingly for your group

The bottom line is PrimaVista is a great restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fantastic view at every tablen with friendly, knowledgeable staff. The food was top notch in flavor and portion. Only downsides were that my colleague's lamb was overcooked, and the noise level was a bit overwhelming at times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Good service and the food was delicious! Great view of Cincinnat.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food great service and scenic view of Cincinnati skyline from our table. Hostess call to me in advance very appreciated

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Everything about our dinner there was special. The view was breathtaking, we went there right around sunset so it was quite the spectacle overlooking the cincinnati skyline. The food was delicious and our server Annie was great! Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Food was over cooked. Friendly waitress and she tried to make it right but second round was no better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 14, 2017

This is our third visit to Prima Vista. The food is outstanding, service impeccable, wonderful wine selection. The beautiful view of the city is priceless! Totally worth the drive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 13, 2017

It was great! This was for a birthday dinner and they even surprised us with some ice cream with an candle.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

The salmon was floating in grease; the vegetable accompaniment, asparagus, scant and over cooked as was the fish; the veal scallopini was also too greasy.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Prima vista is our go to restaurant for excellent food, excellent service and a beautiful few of Cincinnati. We are repeat patrons. The food is always delicious we have had multiple menu items and all been excellent. Great for a dinner for two, a small or large group. You will not be disappointed

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Wonderful experience
Great food
Wait staff attentive but not too much
View Spectaculr. Going back in the fall tosee the city lights.
Highly recommend

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Good restaurant for special occasions. Wish gave larger portions for the price.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Our go to place for special birthdays and anniversary.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great experience. Our food was superior and our waiter made the evening even better. Overall wonderful experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 7, 2017

It is always a pleasure to eat here. The service and attention to detail reviles other more expensive and well known restaurants. A gem!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 6, 2017

First trip to this restaurant an it was fantastic. Loved the view, service, and food. Would highly recommend for any occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Cozy, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Wasn't our favorite time here. Asked for a table by the window but did not get one. Seated next to 2 large loud parties. Bug in my husband's water glass. Food mediocre and not worth cost. Except Veal Saltimbocca, that was delicious. The view remains the draw and never fails to be amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was reserved under anniversary. Wait staff wasn't the best and did not care about our special evening.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Easily our favorite place. The view, the food, the service. Can't remember being disappointed whenever we have gone.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Classic northern Italian with a beautiful view. Our first time at the restaurant and would give the whole night a 10/10. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The view from this restaurant is awesome! The best view in Cincinnati. The waiter was very good, and made excellent recommendations. The decor, however, needs some up-dating. If it weren't for the large picture windows facing East, the interior is very nondescript and drab. The food was all right...but you must love garlic! It was, however, a nice birthday celebration!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Everything was delicious; service was a little slow because of large groups but it was explained to us and all in all it was a fine experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 26, 2017

While dining at Primavista the owner came up to our table to ask how everything was. He found out that we were new to Cincinnati and explained how he and his wife settled in Cincinnati years ago, after having lived various places, and still love it. He wished us well with our futures and said he hoped we enjoyed our meals. That conversation was a nice touch that made our experience even better. We will definitely return to Primavista; you can't beat the cuisine and gorgeous view.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great for dinner before a show at the Warsaw Federal Incline Theater! Try all the bruschetta - it's fantastic!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 25, 2017

Primavista just never fails on quality of food, friendliness of service and great wine selection! This is our "go to" restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 24, 2017

My husband and I went for our anniversary and it was our first visit. We were seated next to the window, which we had requested. Justin was our server and he was great. He answered any questions we had and gave great recommendations. There wasn't a single thing we ate that we did not enjoy. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The food and the view were wonderful. The wine was not. Three of my guests complained about the wine they chose by the glass. I bought a bottle thereafter and that was rated OK. The restaurant was understaffed so that service was slow. What was surprising is that it took so long to get the bill. You would think they would want to turn over the table faster because they were so busy. I was billed for the three undrinkable glasses of wine. I did not dispute this because we were late . The view and food were worth it . It was good value overall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Old fashioned West side dining. Friendly staff, gorgeous view over the city and river. Decent food without much finesse and hit and miss in the execution, desserts were the highlight, loverly gelato. My grandmother would love it

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our regular Mother's Day meal - everything, as always, was wonderful. Excellent food and wines, awesome view, owners and staff professional and give personal attention. Also great place to take out-of-town guests because of the view of the city.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I have to say that Primavista may well be the absolute best mix of great food, view, service, and setting that my wife and I have enjoyed. I brought my wife to celebrate Mother's Day, always bittersweet for her due to her only daughter, my stepdaughter, lives 2,000 miles away and is never there to celebrate on the actual day. Therefore, to have had such an incredible experience with all four of the aspects I mentioned, is especially rewarding. Thanks to all involved in a great occasion.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Spicy Diablo sauce was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very nice place to eat Italian, very authentic! Anthony was a pleasure as our waiter & described things very well & his recommendations were spot on. I'll go back, very pleasant experience & Mother's Day brunch with my family!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our favorite restaurant. Always great service and good food. A little pricey but we just keep adding on sides, drinks, dessert.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our server Lauren was very friendly, sincere, and efficient. Her personality enhanced a very pleasant dinner. The view of downtown going from day to night also added to the experience.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

This was the first time I've ever been to Prima Vista and though it seemed a bit sketchy walking into the building it was located in, my perception changed quickly when I went through the front door. Prima Vista is a smaller, though well packed, Italian restaurant that serves amazing food and drinks at a pretty reasonable price (for the quality that you get).

When you first arrive the view of Cincinnati is absolutely stunning. I've been living in area for 4 years and didn't know such a view of downtown existed. There is a nice small park right next door to Prima Vista where you can relax and take some pictures.

We arrived 20 min early so we got a drink at the bar. It was a bit packed but it looked quite fancy and was nice to sit at. I had the Italian Rootbeer which I highly recommend. After about 10 min they were ready to sit us.

Almost all the chairs face the incredible view and almost every seat has an amazing vista, except for a few seats which are situated behind poles/columns. Unfortunately, even though I said on the reservation that we were there for our 4 year anniversary and I requested a good view, I ended up in one of the few "bad view" seats.

The server was knowledgeable about all the food served. I ended up getting the Mahi-Mahi with crab and it was AMAZING! For our appetizer we ended up getting the special 'meat and cheese' plate which ended up being quite disappointing for the amount they were charging for it and the amount of food it contained. Two super thin sliced pieces of salami, a few cubes of cheese and a couple olives.

The Mahi-Mahi and my wifes veal were both extremely well cooked and tasted perfect. We followed everything up with two of their desserts (the brownie and chocolate custard) and it all made for a pretty unforgettable evening. While I wish they would have listened to my request for a decent seat (since 99% of the seats there have a great view) I can't knock the service or the food.

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.