About Primavista

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away! Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline, Ohio River and Northern Kentucky hillside. Primavista, established in 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. They and Chef Chris Prince have been working together to keep Primavista "Primo" for over 18 years. Because of our long-standing reputation for excellent food and service, Primavista draws guests from all over the world. From Prom dates to 50th Anniversary parties, Proposals to Rehearsal Dinners and Business Dinners to Birthday Parties, you're sure to impress your guests at Primavista. Just 5 minutes West of downtown we're quite convenient to all areas , but please see our website for directions, promotion details, and other information. www.pvista.com 513-251-6467

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday.

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Primavista offers the same excellent food and service with the same breath-taking view as our main dining room, for private parties. We pride ourselves in the fact that our Chef Chris Prince prepares dishes for 100 guests with the same care and attention as he does for two guests.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: 5132516467x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Gnocchi
  • Lamb Chops
  • Arugula Salad With Blueberries
Gnocchi
Lamb Chops
Arugula Salad With Blueberries

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
7 More
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Italian
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Scenic View
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Italian
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Scenic View (188)
Special Occasion (160)
Romantic (141)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Fit for Foodies (59)
Notable Wine List (48)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Good for Groups (33)
Good for a Date (28)
Worth the Drive (19)
Hot Spot (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Cozy (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Authentic (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Historic (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
People Watching (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Casual (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Vegan (2)
Waterfront (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1918 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Still the best view of Cincinnati! Food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

Still the best view of Cincinnati! Food was excellent and service was first class-no rush but attentive and made for a great dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, this dinner was lovely, nice v ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

As usual, this dinner was lovely, nice view of downtown and the river. The food is great and the specials explained well. The bread is fresh and nicely served. We didn't go for dessert, so I can't speak to those. The beer selection is skimpy in my opinion and I am not a wine drinker. The service was prompt but not too fast. I had a new seafood dish and it was very well done.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always love coming here. The food and s ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Always love coming here. The food and service is consistently top notch. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

If it weren't for the magnificent view o ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

If it weren't for the magnificent view over the city, this would be an average restaurant . Service and food were good, but there are plenty of places with better. But every once in a while it's nice to dine in a room with the best view in Cincinnati.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was wonderful, service impeccab ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was wonderful, service impeccable and view was breathtaking. We loved it!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Primavista continues to be one of our fa ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

Primavista continues to be one of our favorite special occasion restaurants. The food, ambiance and service are primo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Primavista lives up to its name. And th ...

 
 (West Virginia)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Primavista lives up to its name. And the food that accompanies the great view is outstanding.

Tags: Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Scenic View, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I travel and entertain quite a bit on a ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

I travel and entertain quite a bit on a regular basis. This is by far the finest Italian restaurant that I have visited. The food was fantastic as well as the service and view of the city. Not a place you want to miss if you are in Cincinnati!!!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had Italian food in mind, like Lasagna. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Had Italian food in mind, like Lasagna. Need more tomato sauce.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Prima Vista is simply the finest restaur ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Prima Vista is simply the finest restaurant in Cincinnati, and maybe the entire state of Ohio

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Scenic View, Romantic, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was great. We enjoyed every ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The service was great. We enjoyed every recommendation our server made.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for anniversary date. One of the be ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went for anniversary date. One of the best meals I've had in my life. Bruschetta is on par with the best I've had in Italy, and the Gnocchi was incredibly tender with the perfect consistency. Veal is exquisite, but like most authentic Italian, Secondi is more expensive (primarily meat dishes) and the pasta dishes are more than filling (and a great value). Great wine list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food delicious, great view, excellent se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Food delicious, great view, excellent service. A special place to celebrate special friendships.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love this place. The food is always gr ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I love this place. The food is always great. The view is wonderful and the service is friendly. Joan and Frank have the best place in Cincinnati.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I planned the date for my husband and he ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

I planned the date for my husband and he loved the food so much he over ate! Great time, great service, and the food is simply scrumptious! Never had a bad meal there and the view is breathtaking!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for my 31st birthday. The food was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Went for my 31st birthday. The food was incredible. Cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had seven people in our group and eve ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We had seven people in our group and everyone ordered different items from the menu or the daily chef specials. Everyone was extremely pleased. all the food was delicious ! not even one minor complaint from anyone. Can't wait to go back,it ha been years since any of us had been there and have no idea why we waited so long to return. We will all be eating at Primavista on a more regular basis.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Primavista is always a favorite choice. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Primavista is always a favorite choice. We had an attentive server, a great view and a fine dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time visit after decades in Cincin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

First time visit after decades in Cincinnati. We were late because the play went on for 2.5 hr unexpectedly, but still seated promptly. Our waitress was great. I'd like to have her at every restaurant. Good choices on the menu, and a good beer list (no drafts). Very nice view and for folks in their area a great choice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was excellent. Food was good bu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Service was excellent. Food was good but can be pricy. Really dislike having to pay for parking outside downtown. The restaurant used to provide free parking lot, now have to pay $4 for valet parking, lot only access is valet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Wonderful food, service and best view in ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Wonderful food, service and best view in Cincinnati.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time there was fine, but I don't ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Second time there was fine, but I don't expect to wait for 5 minutes before I'm even acknowledged by the server in a fine dining restaurant. There was a long break in between the appetizer and the salads, which shouldn't happen. I ordered a item with my entree that never came. Just little things that shouldn't happen in a $60/ppn establishment. Overall, we had a nice time, It's a good experience and I'd go back, but these issues should be addressed.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Reservations are a must. Not a bad seat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Reservations are a must. Not a bad seat in the house. Spectacular view of the city and surroundings. Excellent fish. The garlic spread for the bread is very special. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for a nice dinner with a guest w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We went for a nice dinner with a guest who had never been to the area. We wanted her to see the beautiful view of downtown Cincinnati. She loved it as we all did! We had a wonderful table by the window and it was an awesome experience. The good was very good as always, we all love the veal dishes, and the tiramisu is always fantastic!

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Primavista was an excellent choice to ce ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Primavista was an excellent choice to celebrate our anniversary. I highly recommend it

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Experience with Open scenic views ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great Experience with Open scenic views of Cincinnati. All tables have a great view. The food was great and the cost ranges from about $20-$40 a plate. They are known for their veal which was very tender and delicious. The fish and crab were also very good. The fish changes daily and was snapper the night we were there. They seem to be busiest around 6:30pm at 4:45pm we were the first to arrive. However, I would recommend a reservation.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

View is great. Food is quite good. Noisy ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

View is great. Food is quite good. Noisy and a bit cramped

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was good but overpriced for the por ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Food was good but overpriced for the portion size I got. My waitress while friendly was inattentive. The view and enviroment are huge plusses. A fun but flawed experience. Thumbs squarely in the middle.

Tags: People Watching, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Private Room, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

10th anniversary dinner- our food was ex ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

10th anniversary dinner- our food was excellent, service great, view of the city is great. The inside decor needs an update.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful view and delicious dinner. We ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Wonderful view and delicious dinner. We went to the Incline Theatre after dinner. It made a very special evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful as always a gem in Cincinnati ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Wonderful as always a gem in Cincinnati the best food around with an amazing view.

Tags: Scenic View, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first visit, but certainly wo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

It was our first visit, but certainly won't be our last. My wife and celebrated our wedding anniversary at Primavista, and we couldn't have made a better choice.

The food was exceptional as well as the service. We arrived in daylight, watched a storm over the city and then were enchanted by the city lights after dark. It was a magical experience.

We can't wait to return. It's not to be missed!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food,service and view. Nice restaur ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Good food,service and view. Nice restaurant to have a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Jim and I always enjoy dining at the Pri ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Jim and I always enjoy dining at the Prima Vista - Great folks, delish food - Marge

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We was warmly welcomed, taken to our tab ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We was warmly welcomed, taken to our table, then the service and food were excellent.

We had a great experience, we would recommend to any one great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Situated on the west side, this Italian ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Situated on the west side, this Italian restaurant has a great view of Cincinnati, the Ohio River, and neighboring Kentucky. Our waitress was great. She explained the menu well, gave us wine recommendations, helped us decide between a couple entrees, and overall was very knowledgeable and friendly. The roast lamb was cooked perfectly and the green beans with it were great. The sauce served with it overpowered the tenderness of the lamb at times, however. The chicken saltimbocca was also great and offered enough to take home for leftovers. We had an amazing brownie with gelato and cappuccinos for dessert. Overall we were very happy, but because of the price point ($120 was the bill) we would probably only go for other special occasions. You can valet park for $4. Dress is business casual/semi-dressy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful view, food, drinks and always ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful view, food, drinks and always consistent every time we go. They never hurry you as we were with friends & family for a birthday celebration and had a lot to talk about. Our waitress was the best!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's worth the drive from Milford to Pri ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

It's worth the drive from Milford to Price Hill, especially on a beautiful summer evening, to experience that outstanding view and the outstanding food. I've had the Chicken Gorgonzola twice in the last few weeks because it was just so good I couldn't resist! The biggest downside is that it is so dated. It could really use some money spent on changing the décor and cleaning it up a bit. We overlook the décor for the view and food but this place could be as busy as Incline Public House is next door if the room would be 2016 and not 1986. Prices are reasonable too compared to downtown Cincinnati.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

Was a really tasty meal and I sure did l ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Was a really tasty meal and I sure did like it a lot. I think Brittany liked it a lot too. It was a good meal.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Very breath taking view, romantic and mo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Very breath taking view, romantic and most of all scrumptious food!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.