About Primavista

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away! Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline, Ohio River and Northern Kentucky hillside. Primavista, established in 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. They and Chef Chris Prince have been working together to keep Primavista "Primo" for over 18 years. Because of our long-standing reputation for excellent food and service, Primavista draws guests from all over the world. From Prom dates to 50th Anniversary parties, Proposals to Rehearsal Dinners and Business Dinners to Birthday Parties, you're sure to impress your guests at Primavista. Just 5 minutes West of downtown we're quite convenient to all areas , but please see our website for directions, promotion details, and other information. www.pvista.com 513-251-6467

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday.

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Primavista offers the same excellent food and service with the same breath-taking view as our main dining room, for private parties. We pride ourselves in the fact that our Chef Chris Prince prepares dishes for 100 guests with the same care and attention as he does for two guests.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: 5132516467x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

  • Gnocchi - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH
  • Lamb Chops - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH
  • Arugula Salad With Blueberries - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH
Gnocchi - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH
Lamb Chops - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH
Arugula Salad With Blueberries - Primavista, Cincinnati, OH

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Scenic View
Cincinnati / Dayton
5 More
Italian
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Scenic View
Cincinnati
Italian
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Cincinnati ›

Scenic View (135)
Special Occasion (112)
Romantic (102)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (81)
Good for a Date (72)
Quiet Conversation (45)
Notable Wine List (41)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Worth the Drive (40)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Cozy (34)
Authentic (33)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Good for Groups (16)
Business Meals (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (13)
Fun (12)
Historic (11)
Outstanding Value (10)
People Watching (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Seasonal (7)
Vegan (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Waterfront (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Private Room (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Casual (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Music (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1990 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Top notch experience without pretense. E ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Top notch experience without pretense. Everyone from busers to server to the manager took great care with our night. There's a special menu for vegetarian / vegan choices so you can ask for that one at the host stand. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, great view al ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Great food, great service, great view always one of my favorites!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great city view, excellent service, deli ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great city view, excellent service, delicious food, best restaurant on west side of cincinnati

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinners were delicious: seafood sala ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our dinners were delicious: seafood salad, veal scallapini! Service was perfct, not too intrusive but timely.

Seating at bank table was a bit tight but cozy...view was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food and service is always excellent!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Food and service is always excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Went for a pre-theatre dinner date. Good ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went for a pre-theatre dinner date. Good atmoshpere, great view, excellent food!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is one of our favorite places to ea ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

This is one of our favorite places to eat. It is alway a perfect experience! Lisa gave exceptional service, food was amazing ! I would highly recommend it !!!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expect $$$$ but know the service and atm ...

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Expect $$$$ but know the service and atmosphere will come right along with the price.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Six of us went there to celebrate my dau ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Six of us went there to celebrate my daughter's 25th birthday. Our server was outstanding, and we did not feel rushed so that the restaurant could turn over the table more quickly. We all ordered different dishes, and the opinions varied from "pretty good" to "superb". We had a window table, and the view of the city was awesome. We will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was pretty terrible. Way way overpr ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Food was pretty terrible. Way way overpriced and sub-par. People pretty much go there for the view, which is great. But it's also a restaurant and the food sucks.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Good on everything!

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Good on everything!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous dinner and service. Looking for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Fabulous dinner and service. Looking forward to returning soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Ambiance, food, wine, service - fantasti ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Ambiance, food, wine, service - fantastic! Appetizer to dessert, layers of flavor in every course, even the coffee was exceptional. Service was spot on! A stunning atmosphere and an impeccable dinner. Cannot wait to treat ourselves again. Unmatched experience!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great place

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great food. Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We came here for my husbands birthday an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We came here for my husbands birthday and it was amazing. The staff is extremely nice and the food was amazing. The owner walked and around and even gave us complimentary dessert for the occassion. I would definitely reccomend this place! It was our first time going and we will definitely be back

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Primavista is one of the absolute be ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The Primavista is one of the absolute best among all the culinary delights Cincinnati has to offer ... and that is saying a lot! The food is top-shelf, as is the service. The view of Cincinnati and Northern Kentucky is spectacular. If you haven't been to the Primavista, you are missing out!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Historic, Comfort Food, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I took a special date on a special eveni ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I took a special date on a special evening out and Prima Vista delivered. We experienced a romantic setting, excellent service and food, and an awesome scenic view of the city and River. Can't wait to go back

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Romantic, Cozy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Ideal for anniversaries and celebrations ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Ideal for anniversaries and celebrations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is authentic Italian, great ser ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food is authentic Italian, great service and atmosphere and definitely the best view of any restaurant in the city.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had another excellent experience, but ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

We had another excellent experience, but I have to say we had a couple with us who had never been to the Prima and the food, the ambiance, the service was so totally superb ...we were delighted. Our friends ( who frequent upscale restaurants in their many travels) were pleasantly surprised. They thoroughly enjoyed it!The best evening in a very long time. Thank you Prima Vista! Oh yes. Cincinnat's best kept secret.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as expected. Food was wonderfu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Excellent as expected. Food was wonderful and view next to none. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food here was great. We had always ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 15, 2016

The food here was great. We had always meant to eat here, but hadn't gotten to it. It was well worth it. The view was fantastic. We went at night and the moon rose over the skyline. It was very scenic.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best restaurant in Cincinnati! Great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The best restaurant in Cincinnati! Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our all time favorites. Enough s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

One of our all time favorites. Enough selection on the Vegetarian menu, and options for other diet restrictions as well. Everything has always been delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Primavista is our number one choice for ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Primavista is our number one choice for a special dinner out. The food is always beautifully prepared and presented. The wine list includes some reasonably priced selections by the glass or the bottle. And the view of the city and the river, especially on a clear night, is among the best in the Queen City!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Primavista. Our Ct. friends wer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We love Primavista. Our Ct. friends were in town, and we wanted to take the somewhere special. They loved the food and view. We always take out of town company there. The servers and water guys are wonderful.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Disabled Access, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our family dined to celebrate November b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our family dined to celebrate November birthdays. We had a table with a great view. The food was superb, and the service was outstanding!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambience was amazing as usual. Waitress ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Ambience was amazing as usual. Waitress was perfect. Capellini with veal meatballs was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Great view and excellent food. The penn ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Great view and excellent food. The penne pasta was outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The food, service, and view were outstan ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food, service, and view were outstanding! The air blowing on us was a little chilly -- I'don't recommend a sweater.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrating our 35 wedding anniversary, ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Celebrating our 35 wedding anniversary, we had reservations. Upon arriving, we had at least a 40 minute wait. After Ordering our food, our server then returned to tell us no asparagus. Then returned to tell us only two of us could get the special fish , as that was not available. After finally ordering something available, it took an extremely long time for our food to arrive. Then getting our check was very, very delayed. With being a special occasion, we were very embarrassed for our guests and disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

We are never disappointed with a meal at ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We are never disappointed with a meal at Primavista. We request banquette seating to take full advantage of the view. Makes for good people watching as well :)

We shared a cheese and sausage plate for starters. I had a caesar salad and the special fish preparation. For dessert a trio of gelato flavors. Everything was prepared perfectly. We rounded out the meal with a reasonably priced wine, a Coté du Rhone as I remember.

The service is always spot on, attentive, but not intrusive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love to go as often as I can. Great ser ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Love to go as often as I can. Great service! Beautiful view.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent first time visit; really enjoy ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent first time visit; really enjoyed the food and of course, the wonderful view! Fantastic server and service, attentive and made some nice recommendations; will definitely be returning!

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had gone to PrimaVista to celebrate th ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

I had gone to PrimaVista to celebrate the wedding day of my best friend. I was treating her to one last night out as a single lady! Everything was absolutely perfect. The food, the service, and the experience. I recommend this to anyone looking for a special night out!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time enjoying the vie ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had a wonderful time enjoying the view and the delicious food. The wine recommendation was spot on and the chef's special, John Dorrie, was exceptional

Our server Justine was efficient and very attentive.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, People Watching, Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is what a restaurant should be it's ...

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on November 3, 2016

This is what a restaurant should be it's nice to know you can get great food anywhere in the it's nice to know you can get great food anywhere in the United States US

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit and the food an ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This was our first visit and the food and service was excellent!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Allie was our server. If I were to go b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Allie was our server. If I were to go back, I would most certainly ask for her again. I really don't think there's a bad seat in the house. The menu offers a wide range of entrees, salads and appetizers. This rapidly became one of my favorite places to dine in Cincinnati!! My husband and I WILL be back!

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My girlfriend and I come here every year ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 28, 2016

My girlfriend and I come here every year for our anniversary, this was our fourth, and every time we're impressed. From the tremendous views to the incredible food and amazing wait staff that brings it, Primavista never disappoints. In fact I'm certain you couldn't be disappointed there if you tried. We love it.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.