Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Primavista

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away!
Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline and Ohio River. Primavista, since 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. Along with Chef Chris Prince, Frank and Joan work tirelessly to keep Primavista "Primo" for 25-years and counting!

Because of our long-standing excellent reputation and many awards for "Most Romantic" "Best Scenic View" and "Best Italian", Primavista the perfect spot for all occasions , from Birthdays to Corporate Dinners.
Located just 5 minutes West of downtown, enjoy the breath-taking views of the city while enjoying fine Italian dishes from all regions.

Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75 guests.

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday, except 2/13/2017 and 12/18/2017, open for Dinner

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking 4.00 and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75.

Private Party Contact:
Cristie Reynolds: (513) 251-6467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentines week serving a special menu.
Details coming soon!

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

SERVING OUR SPECIAL NYE 3 COURSE 65.00pp Menu exclusively tonight. Please see Manager for details
$20.00 deposit per person, card is not charged unless you no show, or cancel less than 24 hours in advance.

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (119)
Good for Anniversaries (90)
Special Occasion (88)
See All
Romantic (87)
Good for a Date (81)
Worth the Drive (59)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Notable Wine List (36)
Cozy (35)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Authentic (28)
Good Vegetarian Options (20)
Business Meals (19)
Fun (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Healthy (9)
Vegan (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Waterfront (6)
Casual (5)
Disabled Access (5)
People Watching (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Salmon was excellent as well as the Chicken Formaggio. Great views of the city and excellent service. Will definitely come back to celebrate special events.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

As always, the food is flawlessly prepared. Two of our guests were new diners at Primavista and they're eager to return. Tonight's special dessert of the dark chocolate custard was absolutely delicious. Lois brings elegant, friendly service to the table all throughout the evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Love the place, great food and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Always excellent! Primavista has never disappointed us. It is our "go-to" place for great Italian food.

Tags: Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

This is a great spot for abience and the view - may be the best in the city. The food is pretty good - though heavy on veal options. If you're looking for what I would call grandma's Italian, this may not be the place for you, look over the menu before booking. The tables are a little bit one on top of the other which can get a little annoying. But overall we enjoyed ourselves and will go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I went here for our anniversary. The views are spectacular, and the tables are set up for stadium seating, so there are no seats in the house without a view.
We had seen their vegetarian/vegan menu online. They didn't hand it to us at first, but when we asked, they brought it out. We both enjoyed our meals. Hubby is vegan and I am a vegetarian. Dessert was not the best. I got tiramisu. It was beautifully plated but prettier than it was tasty.
We will go back there when we go back to Cincinnati. It was worth a drive.

Tags: Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

The view is spectacular. The appetizers were impeccable. The service was excellent, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 11, 2017

outstanding service; nice view of downtown & river; close to theatre; nice menu selection

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Delicious food, really, really good. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Everything was perfect. Food was delicious, service was exceptional, and view was amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Awesome view high above the city and especially gorgeous at night. All around great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Very good and delicious dishes. Parking option is only one, it was a pity.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Primavista continues to be our favorite. For years it has been consistently wonderful. From the service to the view and the food, it's hard to beat. The mussels and gnocchi are a delicious start to any meal. All of the pasta dishes are perfection, the loin of lamb is spectacular. But the seasonal fish is so delicious that it's hard to resist ordering every time. Dessert lovers should not pass up on the bread pudding. It's the stuff of dreams. Nice wine list, impeccable service and a stunning view make this the perfect dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

This was the best food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Our server Heather was exceptional. My son and I created our own custom surf and turf meal from two entree selections. Heather worked with the kitchen to make it happen.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 1, 2017

We had a great experience and are kicking ourselves for walking past it so many times before actually dining here. It's a little smaller and quite busy on a Saturday, but worth it. The bar is cozy and the staff is attentive. An excellent start before out table became ready. The wine and food were simply amazing. Kudos.

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Overall very good had the veal with sage, prosciutto. The prosciutto was cut thicker than expected and tasted like Virginia Salt cured ham instead of prosciutto. The corn meal could have used additional seasoning was very generic and bland. Veggies were prepared and seasoned well to accompany the entrees. Service was very good and friendly. We were under-dressed for a Saturday evening but not treated as such. We will be back to experience other entrees. House wines were fairly good.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Great food , great view of the city very romantic atmosphere. I got engaged here the very first time

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 30, 2017

The service,food and experience was outstanding!! Had a wonderful night out, Will return again and tell others about our evening. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2017

The mozzarella appetizer was abysmal. The cheese was good,but there was way too much of it for an appetizer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food was great! View fantastic! Not the best server ive had there but adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We returned after many years. So glad we did! Not only was the food amazing but the service was impeccable .
For those poor souls who have never been a customer, the city view is the best in the area!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 28, 2017

In a word, spectacular - the food, the service, the view!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 27, 2017

It was a really great experience, from the moment I walked through the door I enjoyed the fine atmosphere, was greeted almost instantly and pleasantly. Was taken over to my table which I think was the best one in the entire place. It was in the center with an amazing view of the entire of city. Lighting was great for the time of night and all of my food was great! Both the taste and presentation. I had a good amount of left overs as well because of the massive size of my entree which was soooooo delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 26, 2017

Another wonderful evening at Primavista. Service is always terrific!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2017

As usual, the food, service, and restaurant appearance were excellent, and the view, well, that's why it's named Primavista! It's our go to place for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We enjoyed our Sunday evening 50th birthday celebration. Our sever was very helpful with a wine selection. Our food was exceptional and the view of Cincinnati made it that much more special.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Our waitress was excellent and very kind and knowledgeable 👍🏾

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Our first time dining here. We loved it! Definitely plan to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We had a wonderful evening. We were celebrating our daughter's engagement and loved having the champaign at the window table as we sat down. Lovely evening - as always!

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Scenic View, Authentic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Always been great dining and Of course the great view.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

We started off at the bar. The bartender Matthew knew how to work the crowd. Lauren was our server and she was top notch.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2017

We have dined at Primavista on many occasions, as it is one of our favorite places to go. This was the first time I ever had an unpleasant experience. The waitress we had was terrible. She was not very friendly, and checked in on us very few times. She never even stated her name or said hello. She never went over the specials, which is usually done. The food was excellent, as usual, and so was the view. It was unfortunate that the waitress had to ruin the time.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 22, 2017

The service was excellent but the food was only fair. That's too bad, considering the price.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great service and the view of the city is fantastic.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Great restaurant, great view, excellent food and daring, great service

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 19, 2017

The excellent food and service was drowned in the loud talking of a majority customers who were obnoxious nearly yelling at neighboring tables. In sum it precluded conversation between my wife and I.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 19, 2017

Went here for a date night. Absolutely incredible. My date is allergic to gluten. They had a gluten free menu for her and she found something she really enjoyed. We both had an amazing time. She, as well as I had a great time.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

Being an Italian place, you’re going to get the Italian crowds and we all love them! But sometimes you want a relaxing evening. Noise was an issue but aside from that everything else was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.