Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Primavista

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away!
Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline and Ohio River. Primavista, since 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. Along with Chef Chris Prince, Frank and Joan work tirelessly to keep Primavista "Primo" for 25-years and counting!

Because of our long-standing excellent reputation and many awards for "Most Romantic" "Best Scenic View" and "Best Italian", Primavista the perfect spot for all occasions , from Birthdays to Corporate Dinners.
Located just 5 minutes West of downtown, enjoy the breath-taking views of the city while enjoying fine Italian dishes from all regions.

Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75 guests.

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday, except 2/13/2017 and 12/18/2017, open for Dinner

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking 4.00 and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: (513) 251-6467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentines week serving our full menu 2/11,2/12,2/13, and
a limited 6 Entree menu at regular price on2/14

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (126)
Special Occasion (94)
Romantic (88)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (87)
Good for a Date (82)
Good for Birthdays (54)
Worth the Drive (51)
Authentic (40)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Pre/post Theatre (36)
Cozy (31)
Notable Wine List (30)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Fun (19)
Business Meals (18)
Good Vegetarian Options (17)
Good for Groups (14)
Historic (12)
Casual (9)
People Watching (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Vegan (8)
Seasonal (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Disabled Access (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Waterfront (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Private Room (3)
Family Style (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2457 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

My husband and I were in Cincinnati for the Western Southern Tennis Tournament and we had dinner here after a long day at the tournament. We were so happy we decided to keep this reservation. It was a quiet and really nice meal after a long day. The view is outstanding and the food was very good. Our server was very nice and made quite a few good recommendations. The portions were large. I had a very good arugula salad and the bread pudding was also very good.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The view was over the top. The food is excellent. Parking was a problem as there was no valet service that evening.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

This was my first time at Primavista. This was always my mother's favorite restaurant. The food and service were very good. The view is excellent. Our waiter was very pleasant. We enjoyed our visit and will be back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Our first visit will NOT be our last. Primavista was the perfect choice for celebrating a special family birthday. Lois, our server, attended to our every need. She was knowledgeable about the menu, sincere in her recommendations, friendly, kind, and patient. The food was delicious and the timing perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

It has been many years since my last visit to PrImavista. What a welcome return. Our server could not have been more cordial or gracious. WE WILL BE BACK!.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and atmosphere. The service was excellent!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

It was a great experience and would come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

I had not been to Primavista for many years and it did not disappoint. The view was as wonderful as ever. We had a special occasion and requested a table with a view when booking (about 3 weeks in advance) : We were pleasantly surprised, because it was 7pm on a Friday, to be placed at a table right by the window. This was much appreciated.

Highs: the bruschetta (we ordered as a pre-appetizer), the cocktails, the gnocchi with shrimp (thanks for serving very hot), the filet (ordered medium rare and cooked to perfection) and the tiramisu. The veal scallopini was good but not wonderful.

There is a vegetarian menu but you have to ask for it and it was not mentioned. This confused us initially because we had seen the vegetarian dishes on the website but then they weren't in the menu. I think it should be either mentioned by the server, or have the content integrated into the main menu, or at least put a footnote in the main menu.

Service was attentive without being overbearing. We loved our evening. Thanks!

Tags: Healthy, Vegan, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and excellent service as always! We love coming to Prima Vista!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food, not so excellent portions. I would call the portion sizes small to moderate equating to about $1-2 per bite.
For a special occasion , this is nice, nice view, nice services, excellent food.
The problem lies in the price/portion and decor. It is quite drab even by northern Italy standards. Faded carpet and seat backs does not properly complement the hight quality of the food. Also light fixtures that don't match the rest of the decor seem out of place.
Our thoughts is that we would rather pay half the price for twice the portion size at a Carabas, Macaroni Grill, or Olive Garden.
But the view is worth going there at least once.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Primavista was an excellent Joyce to celebrate our anniversary! Loved the view of Cincinnati and with Open Table, made making a reservation very easy!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great meal and the view was fantastic. Service was great. The only blemish was an antipasto special starter for $16 that was rather skimpy on the meats and cheese.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Very nice! Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 8, 2017

One of our favorite places! The food was good the service was exceptional! Always a good experience

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We went to celebrate my Mother's 80th and Father's 79th birthdays. Our server was OUTSTANDING and the manager couldn't have been nicer when checking on our dining experience. I love this restaurant. It's always a hit!!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great view but the food was less flavorful than common chain restaurants at 4X the price. Pasta was so-so. Chicken was too dry to eat. Outdated decor is not nice enough to make it to quaint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

Great food. Great service. Great view. Not a bad table in the place.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent. Server was attentive and knowledgeable about menu and options. View was fantastic. Food was great. Restaurant well maintained. A great place for before the show (Incline Theater), a special occasion or anytime you want great food and service with a fantastic view.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Primavista was a bucket list item for us in Cincinnati. Had heard about it but had never been.
The View is fantastic and well worth it.
The Food was Good and reasonably priced for a fine dining restaurant.
The Garlic Butter with the Bread was lacking and did not have an enjoyable flavor.
The Mussels were Outstanding. Highly recommend them.
Salmon and Veal were both well prepared with lots of flavor.
Service (Johnathan I believe) was very good. Good attention to detail and kept us informed.
Apparently there was a mix-up on our order as he had to come back and ask us what we ordered to be sure. There were others who came in just after us who were served before we were due to this mix-up. No one ever apologized for the delay.
Not a big Deal but this is a review.
I would put the noise level as Noisy for a restaurant of this standing. While the Restaurant was full the noise did not need to be this loud. You want to have conversation with your dining partner and this was hard a couple of times.
You should definitely give Primavista a try to say you have been there. Would come back and bring friends for sure.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great as usual, never disappointed! Our favorite place to have dinner. Pleasant atmosphere from the owner, Frank, to the gentlemen serving water and busing the tables.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

It was our Anniversary and it we had excellent food view and very nice, professional service! We will be back with friends next time!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Quick service. Very limited menu, chef must love veal and mushrooms. I'm not a picky eater, usually have trouble narrowing a selection down at a restaurant but on this menu nothing sounded appetizing.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Most romantic restaurant in the city! Best scenic view and the sun sets behind you. Truly wonderful food and service make this our favorite restaurant in Cincinnati

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Very nice place to take friends. They were all impressed with the food and service. These folks are foodies so impressing them is not easy. Way to go Primavista.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Primavista is our "go to" place every year for our anniversary even though there are many other restaurants in Cincinnati from which to choose. Our waiter, Anthony, was very attentive and Christie, the manager, made sure that all guests were happy. The veal and lamb dishes were outstanding; the bread pudding is always a "must"! We love supporting independently owned restaurants, especially those whose owners have invested in the community.

Tags: Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Went there for my birthday. Our server, Anthony, was very pleasant and knowledgeable. Our food was prepared to perfection. Strongly recommend, will definitely return. Great view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Good food and view, however it took a very long time to get our food and when we sat down, there were many nats flying around. My dad had a fly in his water when we sat down so we requested a new water. When the waiter brought back another water, it also had a fly in it. Thankfully the third time it didn't have a fly. There were a lot of flies by the windows. I would recommend sitting away from the window.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Service was horrible. Took almost an hour and a half to receive food. No one apologized to us for unacceptable service. Only free things offered were a dessert or appetizer". Food was okay. Restaurant was completely over rated. Will never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent views overlooking Cincinnati. A good place to celebrate a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 29, 2017

What a wonderful surprise! I hadn't been to Primavista in decades, and it was an amazing experience. Great service and the cocktails we creative and tasty. And there is a vegan and vegetarian menu, which is so rare in this city.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We have loved Primavista for many, many years. This time we enjoyed cocktails at the bar and then went to our window seat for the gorgeous view. The veal special was excellent and my husbands Cioppino was deemed the best. Quite a compliment since he has been ordering it for years! On this night the wild Alaskan salmon and grouper added to all the other seafood took it over the top. Always an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 27, 2017

People in from out of town. View even with fog wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The most memorable aspect of our meal there was the friendly, excellent service. The food met our every expectation as well. We even had a rainbow as the sun was setting for dessert.

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 23, 2017

We celebrated my mother's 89th birthday - a party of 8. The staff was very attentive to my mother's needs and the service was terrific from Lauren and Anthony. We tried a little of everything it seemed on the menu except lamb - so we will have to come back!
The brussel sprouts and the ravioli with Walnut pesto were amazing, as was the veal, grouper with crab meat and the sockeye salmon. Can't forget the strawberry salad nor the desserts - which of course we had to share, but they were fabulous just to have a taste. A memorable evening, made perfect with a full rainbow!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Wonderful meal terrific service vice and outstanding view !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Friends in from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

My wife and I made reservations for dinner celebrating our wedding anniversary. We were seated early with an amazing view overlooking Cincinnati. The waitress was familiar with the menu and specials and our entrees were amazing!!!!! Will definitely return soon.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Jackson Hole)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Service and food was excellent. Our waiter made some fantastic suggestions and provided fantastic service. The resturant is a little loud, could have been where we were seated. Overall price point was good and the specials were also great!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was a birthday celebration. We look to find a new place every year, and for some reason have never been to Primavista. First off, the staff was very friendly, and everyone had a natural smile on. We were early, so a couple of drinks at the bar gave us the chance to really look around and see the unbelievable view we had. Our waitress was great and the food was beyond what we expected.
A 5 star rating all around.

Tags: Authentic, People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fun, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

great food and atmosphere with an excellent view of the downtown area

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.