Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi
  1. Distance: 0.56mi
  2. Distance: 0.57mi
  3. Distance: 0.63mi
  4. Distance: 0.89mi

About Primavista

Primavista, named after our "Premier View", takes your breath away!
Enjoy Chef Chris Prince's award-winning Italian dishes while over-looking the Cincinnati skyline and Ohio River. Primavista, since 1989, is the cozy but elegant creation of Owners Frank and Joan Lenkerd. Along with Chef Chris Prince, Frank and Joan work tirelessly to keep Primavista "Primo" for 25-years and counting!

Because of our long-standing excellent reputation and many awards for "Most Romantic" "Best Scenic View" and "Best Italian", Primavista the perfect spot for all occasions , from Birthdays to Corporate Dinners.
Located just 5 minutes West of downtown, enjoy the breath-taking views of the city while enjoying fine Italian dishes from all regions.

Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75 guests.

810 Matson Place
Cincinnati, OH 45204
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm-9:00pm, Friday-Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm,
Sunday: 4:30pm - 8:00pm.
Closed on Monday, except 2/13/2017 and 12/18/2017, open for Dinner

Cross Street:
W. 8th & Price

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 251-6467

Website:
http://www.pvista.com/

Parking Details:
Valet Parking 4.00 and Street Parking. Driveway is wheel-chair accessible.

Executive Chef:
Christopher Prince

Private Party Facilities:
Celebrate your next event at Primavista in one of our two dining rooms. Primavista will create the perfect atmosphere for your next business meeting, celebration, or family gathering. Hosting groups of up to 75.

Private Party Contact:
Ashley Alford or Cristie Reynolds: (513) 251-6467

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access

Special Events & Promotions:
Valentines week serving our full menu 2/11,2/12,2/13, and
a limited 6 Entree menu at regular price on2/14

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Please join us for this Mother's Day! Please note that we will be serving a limited menu in the evening.

Primavista Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (163)
Special Occasion (133)
Romantic (124)
See All
Good for a Date (108)
Good for Anniversaries (107)
Worth the Drive (83)
Good for Birthdays (78)
Quiet Conversation (63)
Neighborhood Gem (50)
Notable Wine List (47)
Authentic (42)
Fit for Foodies (39)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Cozy (37)
Pre/post Theatre (33)
Business Meals (24)
Historic (23)
Good for Groups (22)
Fun (18)
Seasonal (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Late-night Find (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Waterfront (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Private Room (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Casual (7)
Family Style (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vegan (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Great Beer (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Fireplace (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
2325 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 15 hours ago

Our server Bryan was awesome. I had the special mussel appetizer which was outstanding. Great meal, service and ambiance at a good price. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Best view in all of Cincinnati---particularly at night. Good service. Attentive waitperson. Food was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic restaurant week meal excellent value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Just an absolutely beautiful view! Jasmine was AWESOME and made great recommendations.

Tags: Disabled Access, Historic, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful dinner! We came for Cincinnati Restaurant Week, special menu. I had Burrata for the appetizer. It was a mozzarella ball with a soft creamy center, nuts, EVOO, and other good stuff! The crab and alfredo fettucine was wonderful! Make sure you save room for dessert; I had the bread pudding, delicious! Normally I would have ordered the Tirimisu, but my husband did. The espresso in it was WAY too strong, I'm glad I ordered the bread pudding. Annie, our server, was fantastic! Fabulous view of the river and downtown, back side of Union Terminal and the train yard.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, People Watching, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, view, and service. Annie was a great server and made our visit even more enjoyable!! A+++ as always for our Anniversary!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Went for our anniversary/Cincinnati Restaurant week. Ended up not doing the Restaurant week menu, because while the appetizer and entree options looked great, we're not big dessert people.
Started with a split salad, followed by gnocchi, both of which were excellent. Gnocchi is supposed to be light, little pillows, and that is exactly what these were.
H had a double order of the ravioli with walnuts and pesto appetizer for her dinner, I had the veal saltimboca. both were terrific, and I want to call out the brussel sprouts that came with my veal. Roasted and finished with a balsamic reduction that was awesome.

The wine list is not massive, but it's got variety as well as many value choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was wonderful, service was very fast, and the view of downtown Cincinnati is really outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Dined during Greater Cincinnati Restaurant Week after not having dined at Primavista in over a year. First, the portions were good for a promltional week, the view is great and the service was attentive. However, the food we ordered has not kept up with the times. The beautiful bone in pork chop should be done or offered medium rare. Pasta needs less sauce. Bruschetta is a flat bread and not small pieces of cone shaped bread. The Tiramisu was the biggest disappointment with a heavy sauce drowning the item which also lacked the delicateness of this layered dessert. We want this long standing local restaurant to suceed. The surrounding neighborhood has been undergoing redevelopment and we think Primavista's offerings would benefit from an update and refinement.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Most disappointed in the entrees for restaurant week. The pork was dry, the salmon strangely sautéed. The burrito and arugula first plates were good. Desserts rather heavy, considering the entrees. The conversational din made table talk difficult.
On a more positive note, the service was excellent, and the view, from our table, enchanting.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

It had been several years since my wife and I dined at Prima Vista, but we saw an opportunity to once again have dinner here when we noticed they were participating in Restaurant Week. The dinner was well prepared and the portions were very adequate. The service was as we had experienced before at Prima Vista, nicely paced, not rushed.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

We got a table by the window as I requested when I made the reservation. Beautiful view, which impressed our out of town friends. The food was spectacular also. My husband had crab fettuccine which he raved about and my salmon was cooked perfectly. Our friends enjoyed theirpork chops. Tiramisu for dessert looked as good as it tasted. A very nice evening!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

The view alone is worth the $35!
Cincinnati Restaurant Week offers 3 course meals for $35; thus, great time to explore venues not visited.
I deliberately chose more than I would eat in order to have some to take home. Pork chop and potatoes were fine. Cauliflower was a bit overdone.
Our server was totally customer focused and added to the enjoyment of the evening.
AND--the view is unlike any other in the city.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Attentive service, some newer menu dishes to complement the traditional popular dishes. Joan & Frank do a very good job of ensuring a good customer experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

Great view, great service at our table, great value. I would have rated it 5 stars if not for the rudeness of not only the people sitting at the table next to us, but their server. After some drinks and wine, the women next to us were talking very loudly. As we tried to enjoy the remainder of our wine after dinner, their server joined in. I understand that the restaurant does not have control over how loud their patrons talk, but when the server stands there for over 10 minutes participating and ignoring the fact that other patrons are sitting close by, it is very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

PRIMVISTA HAS ALWAYS BEEN MY FAVORITE PLACE TO DINE OUT FOR YEARS. THE FOOD IS ALWAYS EXCELLANT AND SO IS THE SERVICE. ITS' A REALY PLEASURE TO BE SERVED THERE
ON SPECIAL OCCASSIONS OR ANYTIME.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

I really enjoy the food and the view simply beautiful.

Tags: Business Meals, Private Room, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Prima Vista is one of our favorite Cincinnati Restaurants. We love the view of downtown as the sun goes down. The food is delicious and authentic, the service friendly and efficient. For understated and unpretentious elegance, nothing beats this west side gem.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 35th wedding anniversary at Primavista this past Tuesday. We've been coming to this gem of a restaurant for the past 20 years because the food, people, service, ambiance, and view are all outstanding! You can get a wonderful meal with a bottle of wine and desert for a very reasonable price and the view is amazing from any table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

We went to Primavista for restaurant week. The main part of the salad was bland, the main was over salted, and the dessert was soggy.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Simply WONDERFUL! Forgotten treasure with a SPECTACULAR View of downtown and the river.
Food/Service great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

The food was sub par and not flavorful. Even if the prices were reduced, I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Went there for restaurant week. Also celebrated a birthday. Great food, excellent service. View is the best!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We were in Cincinnati visiting our son and we had Easter dinner at Primavista. It was the perfect place to celebrate Easter with a large group of family and friends. The food was fantastic and the portions were huge ... perfect for the several hungry 20-something young men we had in our party! The wait staff was wonderful and very attentive to our large group spanning ages from 20's to 70's. The view was spectacular and we thank Primavista for a terrific holiday experience!

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful Easter meal. Amazing service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

とても綺麗な景色と美味しい食事が楽しめる素敵なレストランでした。ハイチェア、子ども向けメニューもあるのでファミリーで利用できるとは思うのですが、それなりに静かにできないと、ちょっと周りに申し訳ないようにも思いました。みなさん笑顔で接してくれるのですが…

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful choice for a special occasion. Delicious food, consistently wonderful service staff, amazing view of the city of Cincinnati. I highly recommend this fine restaurant for the best meal and experience around.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had an excellant experience. The food, service and view spectacular . Highly recommend to anyone. We shall return.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Tasting Menu, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I always enjoy eating here. The food is fantastic and the view is amazing. I would definitely recommend this place to friends.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The atmosphere at Prima Vista is outstanding and the food was amazing. Our server was knowledgeable and friendly. You can't beat the view of downtown Cincinnati. I highly recommend Prima Vista!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Primavista was a great choice for my anniversary. The food was very good and the view over Cincinnati at night time was even better. It was so beautiful, definitely a must see sight of Cincinnati.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Awesome! Never disappoints

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Hadn't been in over a decade and was as great as I remember.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Beautiful place. Food & view were both amazing! Proposed to my girlfriend here & the staff did everything they could to make our night as wonderful as possible. I don't remember our sever's name but she was very nice & made us feel at home. Thank you guys again. We'll be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Historic, Cozy, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Took my girlfriend here for her birthday, first time for both of us. We had a really great experience in every aspect. She is a vegetarian and a bit of a foodie while I am easier to please and we both thought our meals were great. Good service, fantastic view, spent about $100 for two of us (which included 1 glass of wine, 2 vodka tonics) I usually don't write reviews but gotta give credit where credit is due

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

I went with my in-laws and 2 people had fish, 1 had pasta, and 1 had veal and everyone LOVED their meal! The view is absolutely amazing as well! Definitely worth going to. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Excellent find nestled atop Price Hill. The view was amazing. The service was excellent. Anthony made us feel like we were his only customer. Justin stopped by to check on us several times. Five stars easy! Don't let the 1960s style building fool you!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Excellent meal, outstanding service. Never been before but definitely will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Our dinner was to celebrate a birthday with family and friends. The seating was good. Our waitress was attentive our food was good, though I thought it took a little long to be prepared. Overall it was a pleasant dinner and we shall dine there again. Next time we shall ask for a window seating as the view is lovely in the evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.