About Primavera Ristorante- Coronado

932 Orange Ave.
Coronado, CA 92118
View Larger Map

One of San Diego's finest Italian Restaurants located in the heart of Coronado, California, The Primavera Ristorante offers a unique blend of Northern Italian cuisine.

Chef Pepe Vega, has been preparing exquisite meals for nearly 20 years and has achieved world renowned success with his house specialty, Osso Buco. Don't miss this opportunity to experience the finest in Italian food.

The Primavera Ristorante has been awarded "Best Italian Food" in San Diego by the world famous "ZagatSurvey" restaurant guide.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
9th & 10th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 435-0454

Website:
http://www.primavera1st.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your celebration or party in our private dining room.

Parking Details:
We offer a small private parking lot for our patrons behind the restaurant and several other parking options on Orange Ave.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop on Orange Ave. In front of Rstaurant

Executive Chef:
Chef Pepe Vega

Private Party Facilities:
The Tuscany Room is one of the finest private dining rooms available in San Diego. This luxurious dining room is perfect for intimate groups seeking privacy and seclusion. Our private dining is perfect for: Corporate Meetings Rehearsal Dinners Family Gatherings Graduations

Private Party Contact:
Denise Stavros: 6194350454x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour, Mon-Fri 5pm-7pm
Mondays $5.00 Martini Night in our bar!
Tortellini Tuesday.
Wednesday Wine Night, up to 50% off selected wines.
Thursday Date Night.

Restaurant Photos

Primavera Ristorante- Coronado Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
1 More
Italian
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Coronado ›

special occasion (53)
romantic (49)
neighborhood gem (39)
See All
fit for foodies (33)
notable wine list (23)
vibrant bar scene (9)
good for groups (8)
late-night find (6)
hot spot (6)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
426 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was outstanding like a good ...

Dined 5 days ago

The service was outstanding like a good restaurant should have. The waiters , bus men, and manager all very sharp .

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Phenomenal!

Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing, the staff was stellar and the ambiance was absolutely perfect. I can not wait to another reason to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was wonderful Food was good Wi ...

Dined 6 days ago

Service was wonderful Food was good Wine was great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wednesday was wine night...discounted prices wine

Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was excellent as usual. I had veal chop cooked perfectly...my wife had Osso Buco...perfect. Wine pairing were great. Recommend David Bynum Pinot Noir.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Date night

Dined on May 14, 2016

Waiter needs to know about beer selection. He had to bring us the bottle to show us the type. After ordering a special appetizer, we learned that there was another special, to late to change . They should know their selection by 6:30. Ask for a romantic booth or you will sit a table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2

As locals, we generally love Prima Vera. ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

As locals, we generally love Prima Vera. However, while the food was good, the service was well below average . Our server, "A", was non-existent after placing our order. While I don't expect each waitperson to know we are local, "A" treated us like a one time transient to the restaurant . So disappointing. If that is the best the waitstaff can provide then I say chose another restaurant. Vigilucci's and Island Pasta appreciate each of their customers, and both provide tasty meals. Perhaps going back to "tuxedos" will remind the wait staff that "service" is their first obligation.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

favorite Coronado restaurant

Dined on May 8, 2016

always feels like going home again -- excellent food

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

We went for our 25th anniversary and had a fantastic meal and a great evening. My wife had the cioppino and I had the sea bass special and both were outstanding. The service was excellent. We've never been disappointed here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, they make you feel li ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent service, they make you feel like you're a regular not matter how long it's been. I had the best piece of seabass I have ever encountered in a restaurant anywhere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

food and service superb

Dined on April 24, 2016

we had a wonderful dinner at primavera - twice! fish special was a bit overcooked but pastas perfect!!!! great rolls, wines, service etc!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Food ok, nothing out of the ordinary Italian.

Dined on April 19, 2016

Food too expensive for what you get. Wish I could remember our waiters name, he was so gracious!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently delicious

Dined on April 9, 2016

What a delight to be able to walk to this cozy restaurant that always feels lovely, warm, welcoming. We enjoyed succulent seafood lightly sauced, perfect pasta, the lightest, most tantalizing tiramisu anywhere. Our wonderful waiter was professional shy of fussy, friendly with a perfect dash of humor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian/European Dining

Dined on April 7, 2016

Went here because the prices were a bit better than main competitor down the street on Orange. GREAT choice. Lamb chops were delicious. Wife had scampi. Wait staff were gracious. Get the spumoni gelato for dessert; you will not be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Coronado

Dined on April 7, 2016

We have use this restaurant for business dinners several time over the years and it never fails to impress. The service, food, wine, and the relaxed ambience make it one of the best restaurants in Coronado. We arrived at 6;#0pm on a Wednesday evening and left at 10:00pm and the service remained second to none throughout the evening. We felt comfortable throughout the evening. Of course, we will be back many times!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

New favorite place

vip
Dined on March 28, 2016

New favorite place

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coronado's best

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Would come back here at the drop of a hat. Dined here many times and always great. Service impeccable, chef does amazing specials. This is a place that you can take your most important client or special night out with your wife. Do not hesitate to book a table here, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service1

Came for our anniversary was an early re ...

vip
Dined on March 13, 2016

Came for our anniversary was an early reservation 5:15. Restaurant fairly empty. Bread we received cold inside/ semi frozen, took 15min to get replaced bread came about same time as dinner. I had asked for the bread at same time as caprese. No apologies for this also we were never asked if we wanted a second drink/ cocktail. There was another couple to the right of us and their waiter checked in with them every few minutes. We were completely ignored. Lobster Ravioli portion very skimpy 4 very small ravioli lobster ground up impossible to discern in ravioli. We live in downtown SD. This use to be a favorite restaurant ( why we so chose for 33 anniversary) it will be long time before we return or recommend.BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!!

food3
ambience4
service3
value3

All would have been perfect, a ten, exce ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

All would have been perfect, a ten, except that the very tasty white sea bass was a litle overdone, not moist. Also the same for the Chop,,,,,,,,,,,,,,but still good, but could have been better. would have sent back but were with out of towners, whose food was being enjoyed.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful special occasion dinner

Dined on March 10, 2016

The Osso buco, the tiramisu and the vanilla were all spectacular

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Italien food the way it should be prepared

Dined on March 5, 2016

We've been visiting Primavera for a pre-theatre dinner before attending the Lamb's theatre down the street. I've been disappointed at many other Italian restaurants which, I feel, over season the food or bury it under heavy sauces. Not so Primavera. I've grown quite fond of the Ravioli Aragosta with vodka cream sauce. I usually avoid risotto because of the heavy use of salt, but not here. At Primavera I can taste the ingredients. If you get a chance, ask for Jerry as your waiter. We tried Primavera because he joined their staff. A true professional, he's a wonderful blend of formality and personality. He'll take excellent care of you.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Primavera Ristorante Coronado is an extr ...

Dined on March 1, 2016

Primavera Ristorante Coronado is an extraordinary Italian restaurant. The food is exquisite and the service is perfect. We had a table of 6 for a business dinner and nothing could have been improved on. It would have been an excellent place for a romantic dinner as well. The next night we had another business dinner at another Italian restaurant in Coronado which was highly recommended and which was even more expensive---we preferred Primavera. I would go again in a heartbeat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food and service was excellent! Arturo the best!

Dined on March 1, 2016

Great meal and our waiter, Arturo, the best! So conscious and personable. Took great care of us all the way to curb. Oh yeah food was to die for, but if you were looking at this place, you already knew that! Food great, staff over the top, they know how to make a meal a dining experience. Thanks, L. Latasa

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First Class all the way.

Dined on February 21, 2016

We enjoyed an evening of fine food, friendly staff, and pleasant company. We will come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We dine here fairly frequently and have always found it to be fine in every way. We understand a major menu change is forthcoming, and we hope the current quality and ambiance continues.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful. We love the daily specials. R ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Wonderful. We love the daily specials. Rom avers is always terrific.

food5
ambience5
service5

The finest Italian restaurant we have ev ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

The finest Italian restaurant we have ever enjoyed. This from a citizen of Italy!! Beautiful room , tremendous staff, and, incredible food. We dine here every Friday that we are in town , for 37 years. You must try this magnificent restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb in Every Respect

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

Once again, our experience at Primavera was simply fabulous. The room, the gracious staff and the food were all perfect. The perfect restaurant with the finest Italian food anywhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Yet Again

vip
Dined on February 6, 2016

The best fine dining venue in the region, we have enjoyed Primavera for years. We dine here every Friday and all of our guests over the years have just loved the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fabulous food and service, best taramas ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Fabulous food and service, best taramasu ever. A true fine dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Formal dining, large portions

Dined on January 31, 2016

This was just a little over the top for us because the setting is kind of stuffy. The service is very attentive but it was too much food for 2 people. I had a very delicious soup and my partner had the carpaccio, which he said was good. But 2 entrees that followed were wasted on us. Maybe it would be better with a bigger table and sharing plates. Maybe we have just evolved past this style of fine dining. I should mention the bread was the best we've had in a long time. I would go back just for that and a salad or share a meat dish.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best of the Fine Dining Venues in Coronado

vip
Dined on January 30, 2016

I don't think you shall discover a better fine dining e xperience than at Primavera. It has been our regular Friday night spot for years and we love it. The food is superb , along with the service and ambience. You must try this restaurant for the finest in Italian and the finest in dining.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Osso Bucco was AMAZING!!!

Dined on January 24, 2016

If you go to this restaurant, be sure to try the Osso Bucco. The risotto and sauce that it is served with is the best i have ever had!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Private room

Dined on January 24, 2016

We reserved the private room and everything about our experience was fantastic; food, service, price and ambiance. The staff is very welcoming and available to assist us with our planning.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great service, great ambianc ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Great food, great service, great ambiance! Try the stuffed mushrooms and the bacon wrapped shrimp for appetizers! Both are great. We had the filet with the peppercorn mushroom sauce which was cooked perfectly and was tender and flavorful. The tortellini verde was great also and we dipped our bread in the sauce to get up every last bit!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our Very Favorite Italian

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

Wonderful in every respect, and has been for us over more than 30 years. If it is Friday night, we are in Primavera. Beautiful room, superb staff and terrific food, prepared just the way I enjoyed it in Italy. You shall love this place!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely worthy of all the great reviews...

Dined on January 18, 2016

We had a great experience at this restaurant. The staff was friendly and provided excellent service. We felt very tended to, but not hovered over. In addition, every element of the meal from appetizer to dessert was really delicious... Like, REALLY delicious. :) We had the four-cheese risotto and the lobster ravioli. And, on top of everything, the bill was very reasonable - especially in light of the high quality food and service we received! We would certainly go back and we would certainly recommend this restaurant to others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our very favorite places, for 37 ...

vip
Dined on January 16, 2016

One of our very favorite places, for 37 years! When we are here each winter, Friday nights are for Primavera. The room is beautiful , the food superb and the staff, just fabulous. You must try this wonderful restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing

Dined on January 11, 2016

My husband and I came in for our 2nd anniversary and they didn't upset!! We had amazing time and we will be back!! This is now our anniversary spot for many years to come! If you are looking for a romantic night out, just a special occasion, or just some good service and amazing food this place is it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Review of Primavera in Coronado

Dined on January 9, 2016

Our party of three had dinner at Primavera for the first time on January 8th. We were impressed with the setting and décor. The restaurant was beautiful and elegant. We all ordered different dishes, and the wines, main courses and desserts were all delicious and exquisitely served. The staff were helpful and attentive. Our server Jerry was exceptional, and added to our enjoyment of the evening. We go to the theatre in Coronado frequently, and Primavera will be our first choice for a pre-theatre dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian Restaurant

Dined on January 1, 2016

We were fortunate enough to get reservations this year for New Years Eve. We were promptly seated and greeted by our waiter Jose. He was very attentive, and helped us pick our wine and dining choices. You could tell this was a place that people return often, as we watched the servers spend time with other families around the restaurant. Our dinner was absolutely delicious. I had a mediterranian pasta and my husband had shrimp scampi. We also shared a traditional ceasar salad. Our server recommended their chef specialty of tiramasu and it did not disappoint. It was light and delicious. I highly recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting the island.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.