About Primavera Ristorante- Coronado

932 Orange Ave.
Coronado, CA 92118
View Larger Map

Primavera Ristorante has a long-standing reputation for being one of San Diego’s finest Italian Restaurants. Located in the heart of Coronado and voted one of four best Italian restaurants out of the hundreds surveyed by Zagat. Primavera Ristorante features Northern Italian cuisine, with additional options rivaling top steakhouses and fine seafood restaurants. Among its newest upgrades, Primavera Ristorante features comfortable outside dining, a stylish yet comfortable dining room, and a full-service bar. Earning top awards from Zagat, Trip Advisor, Diner’s Choice, Coronado Lifestyle Magazine, OpenTable and other dining accolades, Chef Jorge González has an impressive background and experience, receiving his degree in Culinary Arts and Management from the Culinary Arts School in México. We believe our success is based not only on our fine cuisine but on the excellence in customer service provided by our team” - Denise Stavros, Operations Manager

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
9th & 10th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 435-0454

Website:
http://www.primavera1st.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your celebration or party in our private dining room.

Parking Details:
We offer a small private parking lot for our patrons behind the restaurant and several other parking options on Orange Ave.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop on Orange Ave. In front of Rstaurant

Executive Chef:
Jorge Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
The Tuscany Room is one of the finest private dining rooms available in San Diego. This luxurious dining room is perfect for intimate groups seeking privacy and seclusion. Our private dining is perfect for: Corporate Meetings Rehearsal Dinners Family Gatherings Graduations

Private Party Contact:
Denise Stavros: 6194350454x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour, Mon-Fri 5pm-7pm
Mondays $5.00 Martini Night in our bar!
Tortellini Tuesday.
Wednesday Wine Night, up to 50% off selected wines.
Thursday Date Night.

Restaurant Photos

Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Chicken Parmesan
Osso Bucco
Insalada Romana

Primavera Ristorante- Coronado Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Diego
Best Value
San Diego
Romantic
San Diego
1 More
Special Occasion
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Coronado ›

special occasion (50)
romantic (47)
neighborhood gem (39)
See All
fit for foodies (29)
notable wine list (24)
good for groups (11)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (2)
hot spot (2)
great for lunch (2)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
443 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my third time dining at this re ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was my third time dining at this restaurant. Took my mom and my two sons, after I raved about it. This time, I was disappointed. We sat too long prior to giving our drink order. Another table was seated after us, got bread in their table.I had to ask. We ordered the octopus appetizer, it was sold out.

The lobster ravioli was colorful, but bland.

The server seemed to have too many tables to give the service that needs to be given at an establishment such as this one.

Sitting at the bar, having your meal, is a much better experience at Primavera.

Thank you

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

A Coronado classic, still has the best s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A Coronado classic, still has the best service/staff and arguably the best food on Coronado. We need a couple more places like this!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was very good and they prepared ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was very good and they prepared a couple of dishes to suit our requests. The waiter we had was a little intense and rushy, but overall it was a good dining experience. The lamb chops were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was by far the worst meal I have ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was by far the worst meal I have had for a long time. The food was cold, the pasta was inedible. The fish special of the day left my wife sick.

Avoid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Most of the food ordered was real good ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Most of the food ordered was real good The server said I could have my money back if I didn't love the pasta with fish. It really wasn't that good but I was to embarrassed to ask for the money back!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A tradition in Coronado that is always a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A tradition in Coronado that is always a great choice. Fresh ingredients and 1st class service.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were on vacation with a group of 8 an ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were on vacation with a group of 8 and we had dinner at Primavera. Everyone in our group loved their meal. It was fresh, hot and delicious!! I would definitely recommend this lovely little restaurant!! The staff was friendly and knew the menu. The next visit to San Diego/Coronado we will dine here again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's our favorite restaurant!!! Jus ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It's our favorite restaurant!!! Just recently discovered and will return often.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good Northern Italian food. The vea ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Very good Northern Italian food. The veal marshal is wonderful and was everything else.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hidden Gem

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was a family night out while we are staying in Coronado. Great, food, great atmosphere and my kids along with their dates, loved it. And the Lemoncello was superb !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When dining in Coronado, Primavera is Numero Uno.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We always choose Primavera because of the ambiance, service and excellent cuisine. The only time we suggest other restaurants is when friends demand a view.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were recommended Primavera by a friend that has a vacation home on the island. We were doing a birthday getaway weekend for my husband (we are from Arizona) and met up with some CA friends. This was a lovely place for dinner. The food and service were nice. The décor is a bit on the "mature" end of the spectrum but it was a great experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very satisfied

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Primavera is one of our favorite restaurants. We have a close friend who comes into town 2x-3x a year and we always take her there. In addition, we go there on special occasions. The food and staff are wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we go to Coranado we come her ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Every time we go to Coranado we come here for dinner and it is great. This time was no different. It was recommended by the Hotel Del Beach Village concierge years ago and it is still great. We always make it the first night's dinner because we crave it. Food is excellent and service is exceptional.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best there is

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

best restaurant in San Diego - what else is there to say

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at this restaurant is truly won ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The food at this restaurant is truly wonderful, every bit, every course. We were delighted with it all. And the service is amazing. We felt very special and enjoyed our evening entirely. The front of the restaurant on Orange Avenue provides no hint to the fabulous restaurant hidden inside. It's a true gem, and we'll be returning soon and often.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with friends!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends. The food was excellent especially the pasta - very enjoyable!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding like a good ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The service was outstanding like a good restaurant should have. The waiters , bus men, and manager all very sharp .

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Phenomenal!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was amazing, the staff was stellar and the ambiance was absolutely perfect. I can not wait to another reason to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was wonderful Food was good Wi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was wonderful

Food was good

Wine was great

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Wednesday was wine night...discounted prices wine

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was excellent as usual. I had veal chop cooked perfectly...my wife had Osso Buco...perfect.

Wine pairing were great. Recommend David Bynum Pinot Noir.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Date night

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Waiter needs to know about beer selection. He had to bring us the bottle to show us the type. After ordering a special appetizer, we learned that there was another special, to late to change . They should know their selection by 6:30. Ask for a romantic booth or you will sit a table.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

As locals, we generally love Prima Vera. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

As locals, we generally love Prima Vera. However, while the food was good, the service was well below average . Our server, "A", was non-existent after placing our order. While I don't expect each waitperson to know we are local, "A" treated us like a one time transient to the restaurant . So disappointing. If that is the best the waitstaff can provide then I say chose another restaurant. Vigilucci's and Island Pasta appreciate each of their customers, and both provide tasty meals. Perhaps going back to "tuxedos" will remind the wait staff that "service" is their first obligation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

favorite Coronado restaurant

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

always feels like going home again -- excellent food

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We went for our 25th anniversary and had a fantastic meal and a great evening. My wife had the cioppino and I had the sea bass special and both were outstanding. The service was excellent. We've never been disappointed here.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, they make you feel li ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent service, they make you feel like you're a regular not matter how long it's been. I had the best piece of seabass I have ever encountered in a restaurant anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food and service superb

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

we had a wonderful dinner at primavera - twice! fish special was a bit overcooked but pastas perfect!!!! great rolls, wines, service etc!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food ok, nothing out of the ordinary Italian.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

Food too expensive for what you get.

Wish I could remember our waiters name, he was so gracious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Consistently delicious

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

What a delight to be able to walk to this cozy restaurant that always feels lovely, warm, welcoming. We enjoyed succulent seafood lightly sauced, perfect pasta, the lightest, most tantalizing tiramisu anywhere. Our wonderful waiter was professional shy of fussy, friendly with a perfect dash of humor.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Italian/European Dining

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

Went here because the prices were a bit better than main competitor down the street on Orange. GREAT choice. Lamb chops were delicious. Wife had scampi. Wait staff were gracious. Get the spumoni gelato for dessert; you will not be disappointed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in Coronado

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We have use this restaurant for business dinners several time over the years and it never fails to impress. The service, food, wine, and the relaxed ambience make it one of the best restaurants in Coronado. We arrived at 6;#0pm on a Wednesday evening and left at 10:00pm and the service remained second to none throughout the evening. We felt comfortable throughout the evening. Of course, we will be back many times!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New favorite place

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

New favorite place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Coronado's best

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Would come back here at the drop of a hat. Dined here many times and always great. Service impeccable, chef does amazing specials. This is a place that you can take your most important client or special night out with your wife. Do not hesitate to book a table here, you will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came for our anniversary was an early re ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Came for our anniversary was an early reservation 5:15. Restaurant fairly empty. Bread we received cold inside/ semi frozen, took 15min to get replaced bread came about same time as dinner. I had asked for the bread at same time as caprese. No apologies for this also we were never asked if we wanted a second drink/ cocktail. There was another couple to the right of us and their waiter checked in with them every few minutes. We were completely ignored. Lobster Ravioli portion very skimpy 4 very small ravioli lobster ground up impossible to discern in ravioli. We live in downtown SD. This use to be a favorite restaurant ( why we so chose for 33 anniversary) it will be long time before we return or recommend.BIG DISAPPOINTMENT!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

All would have been perfect, a ten, exce ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

All would have been perfect, a ten, except that the very tasty white sea bass was a litle overdone, not moist. Also the same for the Chop,,,,,,,,,,,,,,but still good, but could have been better. would have sent back but were with out of towners, whose food was being enjoyed.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Wonderful special occasion dinner

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 10, 2016

The Osso buco, the tiramisu and the vanilla were all spectacular

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Italien food the way it should be prepared

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

We've been visiting Primavera for a pre-theatre dinner before attending the Lamb's theatre down the street. I've been disappointed at many other Italian restaurants which, I feel, over season the food or bury it under heavy sauces. Not so Primavera. I've grown quite fond of the Ravioli Aragosta with vodka cream sauce. I usually avoid risotto because of the heavy use of salt, but not here. At Primavera I can taste the ingredients.

If you get a chance, ask for Jerry as your waiter. We tried Primavera because he joined their staff. A true professional, he's a wonderful blend of formality and personality. He'll take excellent care of you.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Primavera Ristorante Coronado is an extr ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Primavera Ristorante Coronado is an extraordinary Italian restaurant. The food is exquisite and the service is perfect. We had a table of 6 for a business dinner and nothing could have been improved on. It would have been an excellent place for a romantic dinner as well. The next night we had another business dinner at another Italian restaurant in Coronado which was highly recommended and which was even more expensive---we preferred Primavera. I would go again in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service was excellent! Arturo the best!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Great meal and our waiter, Arturo, the best! So conscious and personable. Took great care of us all the way to curb. Oh yeah food was to die for, but if you were looking at this place, you already knew that! Food great, staff over the top, they know how to make a meal a dining experience. Thanks, L. Latasa

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First Class all the way.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

We enjoyed an evening of fine food, friendly staff, and pleasant company. We will come again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.