About Primavera Ristorante- Coronado

932 Orange Ave.
Coronado, CA 92118
View Larger Map

Primavera Ristorante has a long-standing reputation for being one of San Diego’s finest Italian Restaurants. Located in the heart of Coronado and voted one of four best Italian restaurants out of the hundreds surveyed by Zagat. Primavera Ristorante features Northern Italian cuisine, with additional options rivaling top steakhouses and fine seafood restaurants. Among its newest upgrades, Primavera Ristorante features comfortable outside dining, a stylish yet comfortable dining room, and a full-service bar. Earning top awards from Zagat, Trip Advisor, Diner’s Choice, Coronado Lifestyle Magazine, OpenTable and other dining accolades, Chef Jorge González has an impressive background and experience, receiving his degree in Culinary Arts and Management from the Culinary Arts School in México. We believe our success is based not only on our fine cuisine but on the excellence in customer service provided by our team” - Denise Stavros, Operations Manager

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
9th & 10th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 435-0454

Website:
http://www.primavera1st.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your celebration or party in our private dining room.

Parking Details:
We offer a small private parking lot for our patrons behind the restaurant and several other parking options on Orange Ave.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop on Orange Ave. In front of Rstaurant

Executive Chef:
Jorge Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
The Tuscany Room is one of the finest private dining rooms available in San Diego. This luxurious dining room is perfect for intimate groups seeking privacy and seclusion. Our private dining is perfect for: Corporate Meetings Rehearsal Dinners Family Gatherings Graduations

Private Party Contact:
Denise Stavros: 6194350454x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour, Mon-Fri 5pm-7pm
Mondays $5.00 Martini Night in our bar!
Tortellini Tuesday.
Wednesday Wine Night, up to 50% off selected wines.
Thursday Date Night.

Restaurant Photos

Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Primavera Ristorante- Coronado
Chicken Parmesan
Osso Bucco
Insalada Romana

Primavera Ristorante- Coronado Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
Notable Wine List
San Diego
3 More
Romantic
San Diego
Special Occasion
San Diego
Italian
San Diego
Best Restaurants in Coronado ›

Special Occasion (51)
Romantic (44)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (29)
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Groups (16)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Authentic (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Family Style (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
Newest
463 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had made an online reservation the wee ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 3 days ago

I had made an online reservation the week prior to our event and the night of, ended up needing two extra seats. The manager was quick to set up their private dining room and moved us up stairs. We were treated exceptionally well by the staff and ended up having a wonderful evening in the private room. Every course was fantastic to include special desserts. Dont forget to ask if there are "chefs' specials."

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and acceptable service. L ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

Very good food and acceptable service. Lobster ravioli was particularly good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Overtime we Go to Coronado.. We Have at ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Overtime we Go to Coronado.. We Have at least one meal at this Awesome Italian Spot.. Being from NJ/NY I love my Italian Food and this place is the best on the Island.. As usual we had the pleasure of having Omar Create an amazing Dining Experience He always goes above on beyond and is a top notch Server.. We even left a To Go bag and he called me with in minutes to come grab it

Enjoy the Meal My Friends...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Played golf with a guy who referred us. ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Played golf with a guy who referred us. WOW. What a great referral!! We loved it.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is very cute and intimat ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

This restaurant is very cute and intimate. I would recommend for a special occasion, all the food selections we had were amazing. The service was great, but kind of slow due to the amount of guests. The servers were very sweet and helpful with the menu. Great experience overall and I would go again if I lived closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This has always been one of our favorite ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants and have enjoyed dining there for more than 10 years. It has been a couple of months since going there so we were disappointed in the new menu. I'm not that excite about going there anymore.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful service and delicious food.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server did an exceptional job, very ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our server did an exceptional job, very professional and knowledged about the menu. Lobster raviolli are a must try !!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Competent, but uninspiring We are new t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Competent, but uninspiring

We are new to California this year from the East Coast, and to Coronado per se for the past 2 months. We had heard so many wonderful things about the restaurant as it being the best in all of all Coronado. That is, save for one resident here who emphatically stated that if you want really good food, you have to cross the bridge. We like to support our local businesses, so, for my birthday, my husband took me there.

We started off with a mixed greens salad. The greens were certainly fresh, however, the dressing was incredulously disappointing. It tasted like Wishbone Italian, which reminded my husband of what his mom used to use growing up, before people knew better. That was unacceptable, especially at that price point. We were shocked---in this fine dining establishment---bottled dressing, (and most likely) laden with sugar and artificial ingredients. Then the entrees came. I was salivating over the thoughts of a yummy char-grilled veal chop. In my excitement, I overlooked the fine print---it was with a balsamic glaze. That glaze turned out to be more of a sauce, and ruined the flavor for me. That said, THAT was my fault. I politely told the manager of my faux pas and he graciously offered to bring out a new one , sans the balsamic. Unfortunately, it came out with no seasoning at all, which rendered my otherwise piece of perfectly cooked veal, as tasteless...for shame... However, the accompanying roasted vegetables were quite delicious, and cooked to perfection. My husband's entree, grilled lamb chops, were equally tender and cooked perfectly, but again, without any seasonings to make them taste special, such as rosemary, mint, cumin, etc. In short, if one doesn't cook, then I guess this restaurant would suffice. However, if you do, and appreciate and want nuance as well as delectable flavor in your food when you dine out, then this place falls short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

it took over an hour for us to get our m ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

it took over an hour for us to get our meal. they said there was a party of 30 but you would think they would be prepared. We brought our wine and they opened it. And we kept sipping so we would be able to drink it with our dinner. We were starving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Delicious We ordered penne mediterranean ...

 
 (México)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Delicious

We ordered penne mediterranean and filet mignon!

It was very VERY good!

Love the romantic ambience and super friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience - so enjoyable with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful experience - so enjoyable with great food, excellent service and wonderful atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent. I had the best ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was excellent. I had the best shirmp scampi I ever had, and that includes fine places in the Caribbean, abroad, and some really good restaurants in the US. The service was excellent and at 6pm the place was nice and quiet. The decibel level picked up by the time we left but it was still more pleasant than usual. One of our best 2 meals in the San Diego area over the past 2 months. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I have been to this restaurant almost ev ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been to this restaurant almost every time we vacation in Coronado, it is constantly a quality experience both in service and the cuisine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Limited seating restaurant, however, we ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Limited seating restaurant, however, we still had a nice table that allowed quiet conversation. Osso Bucco and shrimp scampi were two excellent entrees. Service was good as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome place! Good food, service was ex ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Awesome place! Good food, service was excellent and atmosphere was pleasant. Good italian food being the only one on the island so far that have seen. Recommended it!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Greatspot, excellent entries, great serv ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Greatspot, excellent entries, great service, and friendly service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic pork ragu with house made past ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Fantastic pork ragu with house made pasta! The rest of our party also really really enjoyed their entrees :) We finished with gelato and it was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The rare filet wrapped in shrimp special ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The rare filet wrapped in shrimp special was one of the most tender I've ever had. It was cooked to perfection!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

We were here last year with just my husb ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We were here last year with just my husband and I for a 'romantic' night out. This time we had my 2 kids, and parents with us. The food was delicious and it was fine for the kids (They did not eat off the menu). Will definitely come back here on our next trip to Coronado.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my third time dining at this re ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was my third time dining at this restaurant. Took my mom and my two sons, after I raved about it. This time, I was disappointed. We sat too long prior to giving our drink order. Another table was seated after us, got bread in their table.I had to ask. We ordered the octopus appetizer, it was sold out.

The lobster ravioli was colorful, but bland.

The server seemed to have too many tables to give the service that needs to be given at an establishment such as this one.

Sitting at the bar, having your meal, is a much better experience at Primavera.

Thank you

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

A Coronado classic, still has the best s ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

A Coronado classic, still has the best service/staff and arguably the best food on Coronado. We need a couple more places like this!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was very good and they prepared ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The food was very good and they prepared a couple of dishes to suit our requests. The waiter we had was a little intense and rushy, but overall it was a good dining experience. The lamb chops were excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

This was by far the worst meal I have ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was by far the worst meal I have had for a long time. The food was cold, the pasta was inedible. The fish special of the day left my wife sick.

Avoid!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Most of the food ordered was real good ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Most of the food ordered was real good The server said I could have my money back if I didn't love the pasta with fish. It really wasn't that good but I was to embarrassed to ask for the money back!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

A tradition in Coronado that is always a ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

A tradition in Coronado that is always a great choice. Fresh ingredients and 1st class service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

We were on vacation with a group of 8 an ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were on vacation with a group of 8 and we had dinner at Primavera. Everyone in our group loved their meal. It was fresh, hot and delicious!! I would definitely recommend this lovely little restaurant!! The staff was friendly and knew the menu. The next visit to San Diego/Coronado we will dine here again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's our favorite restaurant!!! Jus ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

It's our favorite restaurant!!! Just recently discovered and will return often.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good Northern Italian food. The vea ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Very good Northern Italian food. The veal marshal is wonderful and was everything else.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hidden Gem

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was a family night out while we are staying in Coronado. Great, food, great atmosphere and my kids along with their dates, loved it. And the Lemoncello was superb !

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When dining in Coronado, Primavera is Numero Uno.

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We always choose Primavera because of the ambiance, service and excellent cuisine. The only time we suggest other restaurants is when friends demand a view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We were recommended Primavera by a friend that has a vacation home on the island. We were doing a birthday getaway weekend for my husband (we are from Arizona) and met up with some CA friends. This was a lovely place for dinner. The food and service were nice. The décor is a bit on the "mature" end of the spectrum but it was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very satisfied

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Primavera is one of our favorite restaurants. We have a close friend who comes into town 2x-3x a year and we always take her there. In addition, we go there on special occasions. The food and staff are wonderful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we go to Coranado we come her ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Every time we go to Coranado we come here for dinner and it is great. This time was no different. It was recommended by the Hotel Del Beach Village concierge years ago and it is still great. We always make it the first night's dinner because we crave it. Food is excellent and service is exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

best there is

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

best restaurant in San Diego - what else is there to say

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at this restaurant is truly won ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The food at this restaurant is truly wonderful, every bit, every course. We were delighted with it all. And the service is amazing. We felt very special and enjoyed our evening entirely. The front of the restaurant on Orange Avenue provides no hint to the fabulous restaurant hidden inside. It's a true gem, and we'll be returning soon and often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with friends!

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner with friends. The food was excellent especially the pasta - very enjoyable!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was outstanding like a good ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

The service was outstanding like a good restaurant should have. The waiters , bus men, and manager all very sharp .

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Phenomenal!

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

The food was amazing, the staff was stellar and the ambiance was absolutely perfect. I can not wait to another reason to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Service was wonderful Food was good Wi ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Service was wonderful

Food was good

Wine was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.