Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Primavera Ristorante- Coronado

Primavera Ristorante has a long-standing reputation for being one of San Diego’s finest Italian Restaurants. Located in the heart of Coronado and voted one of four best Italian restaurants out of the hundreds surveyed by Zagat. Primavera Ristorante features Northern Italian cuisine, with additional options rivaling top steakhouses and fine seafood restaurants. Among its newest upgrades, Primavera Ristorante features comfortable outside dining, a stylish yet comfortable dining room, and a full-service bar. Earning top awards from Zagat, Trip Advisor, Diner’s Choice, Coronado Lifestyle Magazine, OpenTable and other dining accolades, Chef Jorge González has an impressive background and experience, receiving his degree in Culinary Arts and Management from the Culinary Arts School in México. We believe our success is based not only on our fine cuisine but on the excellence in customer service provided by our team” - Denise Stavros, Operations Manager

932 Orange Ave.
Coronado, CA 92118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5 - 10 p.m.

Cross Street:
9th & 10th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 435-0454

Website:
http://www.primavera1st.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your celebration or party in our private dining room.

Parking Details:
We offer a small private parking lot for our patrons behind the restaurant and several other parking options on Orange Ave.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop on Orange Ave. in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jorge Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
The Tuscany Room is one of the finest private dining rooms available in San Diego. This luxurious dining room is perfect for intimate groups seeking privacy and seclusion. Our private dining is perfect for: Corporate Meetings Rehearsal Dinners Family Gatherings Graduations

Private Party Contact:
Denise Stavros: (619) 435-0454

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 5-7 p.m.
Mondays: $5.00 Martini Night in our bar!
Tortellini Tuesday
Wednesday Wine Night: up to 50% off selected wines
Thursday Date Night

Primavera Ristorante- Coronado Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (25)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
See All
Romantic (18)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Authentic (17)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Casual (7)
Business Meals (7)
Cozy (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Family Style (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
People Watching (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Fun (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
566 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The carbonara was to die for!! The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was because I ordered a VERY dry martini and the waiter argued a bit when I said it wasn't dry enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

After being in Italy we just can't eat any pasta that is not made fresh. Primavera Ristorante did not disappoint! The Spaghetti Carbonara was devine. We chose the grilled artichoke heart appetizer and it was a perfect start to a perfect meal. The light lemon sauce paired so nicely with the smokey choke. Service was spot on, with each course perfectly timed out of the kitchen. Without a doubt the best pasta in Coronado.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 4, 2017

A good choice for authentic Italian on Coronado. Service was outstanding, food - delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Great food. Good ambiance. Everything was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on July 29, 2017

This is a hidden gem on the island and a favorite of ours the food is always outstanding as well as the service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on July 27, 2017

A very nice Coronado find in what can sometimes seem a sea of grossly overpriced and at best mediocre to lousy food ...the downsides to an overly popular place where some vendors don't even need try to make money through excellence.
The service here was impeccable, the food and wine excellent and priced fairly (for SoCal) and the ambience of the restaurant pleasant, allowing quiet conversation and enjoyment of ones companion(s). The reservation was taken seriously ... unlike other places on the island when a reservation time is merely something to be abused by the vendor. If you're looking for a nice dinner, linen and time spent not in a raucous atmosphere ... dine here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Local Coronado spot - we have never had a bad meal here. Staff is always friendly and accommodating. Food is top notch.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was ok but very overpriced. I prefer pasta al dente and our papardelle was overcooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Food and service was great. Would go bzzck in a heart beat.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We have lived in Coronado for 8 years and have always intended to go to Primavera. Finally went with some Coronado natives who had been there about 18 years previously.

It as all fairly good---not WOW! Fantastic. We ordered a few salads and 4 entrees. It took easily over 30 minutes between salad and entree, and the restaurant was not full. Don't know if we will go again. Their pricing is certainly geared to take advantage of the tourism. I have no problem dropping money for a fantastic meal---this just wasn't it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We (my 2 sisters and my niece) had a really good dinner. We loved the artichokes and 4 cheese risotto which we shared as starters. My niece had the chicken which was a large portion and excellent. Once sister had the carbonara which was also excellent. My sister and i had the wild king salmon with creamy leek sauce & vegetables. The salmon & vegetables were also excellent. the creamy leek sauce was too salty. When asked how everything was we said that everything was really good but that the leek sauce was over-salted in our opinion. We said we did not want to return our meal to the kitchen but that we asked the chef be told so he/she had a chance to correct it for future diners that night. We basically ate the salmon without the sauce. For some reason our waiter (and the maitre d or whomever was overseeing the dining room) seemed to have a problem that we gave feedback but didn't let them return our dishes to the kitchen. At least that was the impression they gave us.
We would all go back again. I was just a bit disappointed by the attitude of the staff when we tried to give constructive feedback.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Celebrated our anniversary at Primavera for the third time. We love everything about this treasure in Coronado!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 13, 2017

We enjoyed Primavera Ristorante very much. The artichoke appetizer was delicious. Everything we had tasted very good. It was a pleasurable experience and I would go there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My wife and I were in Coronado for the week celebrating our 25th anniversary. This was our final night so thought we'd try it. Bottom line; food very good; homemade noodles, etc. It was packed which was good for them but while waiting on a group above us (two levels), the waiter spilled food on my head and down the side of the divider. He apologized but was in to big of a hurry to say much and left. Our waiter never acknowledge it even though we mentioned it. Anyway, good food, but very pricey for the experience so probably would check it off our list.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The BEST Italian food anywhere in San Diego and would recommend to anyone

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I noted on our reservation we had a special event to celebrate. Best seat in the house and a lovely complimentary desert. Great service all around. Gladly will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent food and service. We had Sea Bass, and others loved the veal, Penne Mediterraneo, lobster bisque.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 6, 2017

This is the 3rd time we've dined at Primavera and have also just gone to Happy Hour there the same number of times. They uphold the word "consistent" in drinks, service and food. It's a pleasure to enjoy a meal or a drink there.

Tags: Cozy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Easily made reservations for 7. Had a children's menu. Each plate served was declared delicious by the patron who ordered it.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Primavera never disappoints. Quality of food, service, ambiance...everything is superior.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Outstanding dinner. We've been dining at Primavera for years and it continues to serve superb dinners.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Fabulous restaurant. We had the seafood specials (sea bass and mixed grill trio). Creme brûlée great also. Service was great. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The place is very elegant and the food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever eaten! Tortellini and veal chop were Outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Excellent food and service. Been going there for over twenty years and have never been disappointed. Very consistent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Ambiance was wonderful. The entrees were so basic tasting and not the $25+ value at all. The chicken parm tasted so blah and the halibut was so tasteless. The beet salad was nice. The service and ambiance made up for the dinner.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2017

We love this restaurant and have gone several times in the past. The veal is out of this world!
This time the service was poor. We waited and waited for water, bread, etc. a long wait for our meals. No one paid much attention or asked if we needed anything. Quite a departure from our past experiences there. We will go back, as the food is always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

It is what it is, a very good Italian place on Coronado. The seating area is not large- typical on Coronado- and in fact we'd hardly been seated when the waiter reminded us of the high price of real estate on Coronado- seemed to be an indicator that he'd like us to order, eat and move on so they could pay the rent!
Apart from that he was quite good. Appetizers were excellent (roasted octopus) to standard (calamari), the Beet salad was innovative and amongst the best I've had recently- a real highlight we both agreed. Main dishes were very good (Lobster ravioli) to outstanding (Fish special- halibut)- accompanied by a super tuscan by the glass which was very nice. Desserts were also excellent- spumoni very good, lemon mousse excellent.

The food was definitely top notch overall, the atmosphere, sort of OK. Cost- excellent for such good food

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I always recommend this restaurant to my Friends, Family and Clients. There is always a slection on the Menu of quality food and the Chef always does a great job

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Always amazing! My husband and I love this place.

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Great service, nice authentic menu, and excellent food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent food. It isn't easy to find great Italian food, but this restaurant does a great job consistently. It is an intimate dining experience on Coronado. They were able to accommodate no cheese options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Love the restaurant and the staff, a go to place when we are in Coronado. Highly recommended.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Good food and service - great flavors and good size portions.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Third year coming here for my anniversary. Truely a authentic and aesthetically romantic environment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Prima Vera is always great and we love to go on a date there or bring new people to try it out. It is wonderful, intimate and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Although I have lived in Coronado for years , this was my first trip to Primavera. The food was perfect! My corvina fillet was sublime! Wait staff excellent. Our table for two was right on top of the waiters station!....annoying! We will go back but request a different table.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The restaurant has changed since our last visit. It has become more of a sports bar with more noise than prior visit. We missed the quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Great food and excellent service.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 7, 2017

this is probably the very best restaurant in Coronado. Being a resident for 20 years, I feel safe in writing this. Staff is friendly and professional, food is very fresh along with a great atmosphere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.