Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi
  1. Distance: 0.17mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.25mi

About Primavera Ristorante- Coronado

Primavera Ristorante has a long-standing reputation for being one of San Diego’s finest Italian Restaurants. Located in the heart of Coronado and voted one of four best Italian restaurants out of the hundreds surveyed by Zagat. Primavera Ristorante features Northern Italian cuisine, with additional options rivaling top steakhouses and fine seafood restaurants. Among its newest upgrades, Primavera Ristorante features comfortable outside dining, a stylish yet comfortable dining room, and a full-service bar. Earning top awards from Zagat, Trip Advisor, Diner’s Choice, Coronado Lifestyle Magazine, OpenTable and other dining accolades, Chef Jorge González has an impressive background and experience, receiving his degree in Culinary Arts and Management from the Culinary Arts School in México. We believe our success is based not only on our fine cuisine but on the excellence in customer service provided by our team” - Denise Stavros, Operations Manager

932 Orange Ave.
Coronado, CA 92118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5 - 10 p.m.

Cross Street:
9th & 10th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 435-0454

Website:
http://www.primavera1st.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your celebration or party in our private dining room.

Parking Details:
We offer a small private parking lot for our patrons behind the restaurant and several other parking options on Orange Ave.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop on Orange Ave. in front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Jorge Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
The Tuscany Room is one of the finest private dining rooms available in San Diego. This luxurious dining room is perfect for intimate groups seeking privacy and seclusion. Our private dining is perfect for: Corporate Meetings Rehearsal Dinners Family Gatherings Graduations

Private Party Contact:
Denise Stavros: (619) 435-0454

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 5-7 p.m.
Mondays: $5.00 Martini Night in our bar!
Tortellini Tuesday
Wednesday Wine Night: up to 50% off selected wines
Thursday Date Night

Specials

Thursday Date Night

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

$5 Martini Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Specials

Thursday Date Night

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for an unforgettable date night special: two glasses of wine and two entrees for $60. Entrée selections include: ravioli al formaggio, salmone al limoncello, pollo ai Carciofi, and involtini di manzo. Excludes Tax and Tip. Bring your date, and your appetite, and enjoy our Thursday Date Night menu!. Special valid Mar 29, 2017 - Jul 29, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

#WineNot enjoy Wine Wednesday with up to 50 percent off selected wines by the glass or bottle. Available wines are subject to availability – ask your server for the current selections. Excludes Tax and Tip. Wine Wednesday is available all night on Wednesdays in the bar and dining room. Special valid Mar 30, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

$5 Martini Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Start your week on the right note with $5 martinis all night! Happy hour is also available in the bar from 5-7 p.m. Make your Monday a happy one. Excludes Tax and Tip. Martini Monday is served all night long on Mondays!. Special valid Mar 30, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour

Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy happy hour offerings from 5 – 7 p.m. Monday – Friday. All cocktails and wines available for $3 off and a selection of antipasti share plates, including calamari fritti, flat bread, scampi alla griglia, and more. Excludes Tax and Tip. The happy hour menu is available in the bar area only. Special valid Mar 30, 2017 - Jul 30, 2017 on Thursdays, Fridays, Mondays, Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Primavera Ristorante- Coronado Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (14)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Good for a Date (12)
See All
Authentic (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Worth the Drive (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Casual (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Fun (2)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Seasonal (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
People Watching (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Savannah)·Dined 7 days ago

Fabulous restaurant. We had the seafood specials (sea bass and mixed grill trio). Creme brûlée great also. Service was great. Highly recommend.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 7 days ago

The place is very elegant and the food is delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

One of the best meals I've ever eaten! Tortellini and veal chop were Outstanding!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent food and service. Been going there for over twenty years and have never been disappointed. Very consistent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Ambiance was wonderful. The entrees were so basic tasting and not the $25+ value at all. The chicken parm tasted so blah and the halibut was so tasteless. The beet salad was nice. The service and ambiance made up for the dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 13, 2017

We love this restaurant and have gone several times in the past. The veal is out of this world!
This time the service was poor. We waited and waited for water, bread, etc. a long wait for our meals. No one paid much attention or asked if we needed anything. Quite a departure from our past experiences there. We will go back, as the food is always good.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 11, 2017

It is what it is, a very good Italian place on Coronado. The seating area is not large- typical on Coronado- and in fact we'd hardly been seated when the waiter reminded us of the high price of real estate on Coronado- seemed to be an indicator that he'd like us to order, eat and move on so they could pay the rent!
Apart from that he was quite good. Appetizers were excellent (roasted octopus) to standard (calamari), the Beet salad was innovative and amongst the best I've had recently- a real highlight we both agreed. Main dishes were very good (Lobster ravioli) to outstanding (Fish special- halibut)- accompanied by a super tuscan by the glass which was very nice. Desserts were also excellent- spumoni very good, lemon mousse excellent.

The food was definitely top notch overall, the atmosphere, sort of OK. Cost- excellent for such good food

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Always amazing! My husband and I love this place.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: People Watching, Fun, Special Occasion, Romantic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great service, nice authentic menu, and excellent food.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Excellent food. It isn't easy to find great Italian food, but this restaurant does a great job consistently. It is an intimate dining experience on Coronado. They were able to accommodate no cheese options.

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Love the restaurant and the staff, a go to place when we are in Coronado. Highly recommended.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Good food and service - great flavors and good size portions.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Third year coming here for my anniversary. Truely a authentic and aesthetically romantic environment.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Prima Vera is always great and we love to go on a date there or bring new people to try it out. It is wonderful, intimate and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Although I have lived in Coronado for years , this was my first trip to Primavera. The food was perfect! My corvina fillet was sublime! Wait staff excellent. Our table for two was right on top of the waiters station!....annoying! We will go back but request a different table.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The restaurant has changed since our last visit. It has become more of a sports bar with more noise than prior visit. We missed the quiet.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Great food and excellent service.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 8, 2017

this is probably the very best restaurant in Coronado. Being a resident for 20 years, I feel safe in writing this. Staff is friendly and professional, food is very fresh along with a great atmosphere.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Family Style, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We had a wonderful time, we love this nice place in Coronado, food and service superb!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Great find on Coronado Island. Wonderful ambiance and we were able to actually hold a conversation at the table. The food was simply delicious, very tasty and presented exquisitely. Has become one of my favorite places to eat when in San Diego. Worth the trip over the bridge.
The veal was tender and thin from the Veal Marsala to the Veal Piccata. You will not be disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 26, 2017

As usual, the Primavera staff provided us with outstanding service. From the grilled artichoke hearts to the Lemon dessert, every bit was delicious.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Fuimos atendidos de manera personalizada por el mesero cuyas sugerencias de platillos y los tiempos de los mismos fueron excelentes y muy bien recibidos por todos los comensales , fue una fiesta de sabores increíble

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Service and food was the best. A great place to celebrate an event

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Primavera is a great place for an intimate dining experience. the new chef has upgraded the already great good significantly. the service is flawless.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We enjoyed our 1st of what will be many dinners (in the future) at Primavera. Wonderful service and food that is so satisfying.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 6, 2017

We were very pleased with our experience at this restaurant. Our waiters were excellent but not overbearing. It was quiet enough that you could carry on a conversation without shouting; a rare experience in restaurants now. The food was very good and we will certainly return again.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 26, 2017

best food we had in san diego.great service,the table could have a little more room around it.i would go back there the next time iam in town

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 24, 2017

As always, Primavera is our favorite restaurant in Coronado. Love their food!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Private Room, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 20, 2017

We all enjoyed our meal and the service was attentive and upbeat. We had salad, bruschetta, fish and pasta dishes. The lobster risotto was great and the chocolate lava cake for dessert was fabulous.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Great food and service, prices are reasonable. Our server Gilbert was very hospitable, gracious and informative. I highly recommend Primavera Restorante for dinner when you are in Coronado.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We always have an enjoyable dining experience at Primavera ~ delicious food, wonderful ambience and excellent service. Love it here!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been there twice and it is absolutely fantastic! 🌺😎

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great Italian Dinner! The only problems was there was a person in the bar with their phone on ding for messages and it went on and on..ding...ding.. It was so rude and annoying! I hope every ding was a life or death messages. The bartender was also very loud & boisterous! We could hear him all the way in the restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We all walked from the Hotel Del Coronado to Primavera. The walk was just a few blocks - so it wasn't too far at all. Our friends were sitting in the bar. We were all seated immediately. We enjoyed wine a great meal. I had the linguine vongoli. It was excellent - although it was too much food. I barely made a dent in it. But it was really good. We had a really nice business dinner. I recommend it.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Spinach salad top notch.Lobster bisque excellent. Rack of lamb is some of the best I have had. Pastas are very good and all entrees are large portions. A nice feature is on most items you can order a half size portion. Good Super Tuscan wine by bottle or glass. Service is outstanding.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great ambiance.. service welcoming.. food delicious.. wine outstanding. The Spaghetti alla Carbonara was a unique and tasty dish. Wish I lived closer!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was excellent, atmosphere is lively and food was fresh and delicious.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything was great. The service was wonderful. The food was delicious. I had the salmon and really enjoyed it. I can't wait to go back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We eat at Primavera whenever we stay in Coronado. It is an excellent restaurant with a classy ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Phenomenal!!! Great meal! We had the bruschetta and it was one of the best we've had. We had three pasta dishes and an Ossobucco...everything was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.