About Primavera Ristorante- Coronado

932 Orange Ave.
Coronado, CA 92118
View Larger Map

Primavera Ristorante has a long-standing reputation for being one of San Diego’s finest Italian Restaurants. Located in the heart of Coronado and voted one of four best Italian restaurants out of the hundreds surveyed by Zagat. Primavera Ristorante features Northern Italian cuisine, with additional options rivaling top steakhouses and fine seafood restaurants. Among its newest upgrades, Primavera Ristorante features comfortable outside dining, a stylish yet comfortable dining room, and a full-service bar. Earning top awards from Zagat, Trip Advisor, Diner’s Choice, Coronado Lifestyle Magazine, OpenTable and other dining accolades, Chef Jorge González has an impressive background and experience, receiving his degree in Culinary Arts and Management from the Culinary Arts School in México. We believe our success is based not only on our fine cuisine but on the excellence in customer service provided by our team” - Denise Stavros, Operations Manager

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Seafood, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Nightly: 5 - 10 p.m.

Cross Street:
9th & 10th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(619) 435-0454

Website:
http://www.primavera1st.com/

Catering:
We would love to cater your celebration or party in our private dining room.

Parking Details:
We offer a small private parking lot for our patrons behind the restaurant and several other parking options on Orange Ave.

Public Transit:
MTS Bus stop on Orange Ave. In front of Rstaurant

Executive Chef:
Jorge Gonzalez

Private Party Facilities:
The Tuscany Room is one of the finest private dining rooms available in San Diego. This luxurious dining room is perfect for intimate groups seeking privacy and seclusion. Our private dining is perfect for: Corporate Meetings Rehearsal Dinners Family Gatherings Graduations

Private Party Contact:
Denise Stavros: (619) 435-0454

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour: Mon-Fri 5-7 p.m.
Mondays: $5.00 Martini Night in our bar!
Tortellini Tuesday
Wednesday Wine Night: up to 50% off selected wines
Thursday Date Night

Specials

Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

$5 Martini Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Thursday Date Night

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour

Mondays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

Enjoy happy hour offerings from 5 – 7 p.m. Monday – Friday. All cocktails and wines available for $3 off and a selection of antipasti share plates, including calamari fritti, flat bread, scampi alla griglia, and more. Excludes Tax and Tip. The happy hour menu is available in the bar area only. Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Mar 28, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

$5 Martini Monday

Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Start your week on the right note with $5 martinis all night! Happy hour is also available in the bar from 5-7 p.m. Make your Monday a happy one. Excludes Tax and Tip. Martini Monday is served all night long on Mondays!. Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Mar 28, 2017 on Mondays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Wine Wednesday

Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

#WineNot enjoy Wine Wednesday with up to 50 percent off selected wines by the glass or bottle. Available wines are subject to availability – ask your server for the current selections. Excludes Tax and Tip. Wine Wednesday is available all night on Wednesdays in the bar and dining room. Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Mar 28, 2017 on Wednesdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Thursday Date Night

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Join us for an unforgettable date night special: two glasses of wine and two entrees for $60. Entrée selections include: ravioli al formaggio, salmone al limoncello, pollo ai Carciofi, and involtini di manzo. Excludes Tax and Tip. Bring your date, and your appetite, and enjoy our Thursday Date Night menu!. Special valid Nov 28, 2016 - Mar 28, 2017 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Primavera Ristorante- Coronado Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (14)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
See All
Quiet Conversation (12)
Romantic (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Cozy (9)
Business Meals (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Casual (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fun (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Seasonal (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Private Room (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
515 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

We all enjoyed our meal and the service was attentive and upbeat. We had salad, bruschetta, fish and pasta dishes. The lobster risotto was great and the chocolate lava cake for dessert was fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service, prices are reasonable. Our server Gilbert was very hospitable, gracious and informative. I highly recommend Primavera Restorante for dinner when you are in Coronado.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We always have an enjoyable dining experience at Primavera ~ delicious food, wonderful ambience and excellent service. Love it here!

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been there twice and it is absolutely fantastic! 🌺😎

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great Italian Dinner! The only problems was there was a person in the bar with their phone on ding for messages and it went on and on..ding...ding.. It was so rude and annoying! I hope every ding was a life or death messages. The bartender was also very loud & boisterous! We could hear him all the way in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We all walked from the Hotel Del Coronado to Primavera. The walk was just a few blocks - so it wasn't too far at all. Our friends were sitting in the bar. We were all seated immediately. We enjoyed wine a great meal. I had the linguine vongoli. It was excellent - although it was too much food. I barely made a dent in it. But it was really good. We had a really nice business dinner. I recommend it.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Spinach salad top notch.Lobster bisque excellent. Rack of lamb is some of the best I have had. Pastas are very good and all entrees are large portions. A nice feature is on most items you can order a half size portion. Good Super Tuscan wine by bottle or glass. Service is outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Great ambiance.. service welcoming.. food delicious.. wine outstanding. The Spaghetti alla Carbonara was a unique and tasty dish. Wish I lived closer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Service was excellent, atmosphere is lively and food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Everything was great. The service was wonderful. The food was delicious. I had the salmon and really enjoyed it. I can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 12, 2017

We eat at Primavera whenever we stay in Coronado. It is an excellent restaurant with a classy ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Phenomenal!!! Great meal! We had the bruschetta and it was one of the best we've had. We had three pasta dishes and an Ossobucco...everything was incredible!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Veal picatta dry. Veal tough bruschetta not fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food and service always great. Arturo was friendly and genuine.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Great place service was excellent will definitely come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Food was great and overall outstanding experience. This was our second visit to this fine dining establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excelent food, wonderful service. Will come back, perfect place for a special celebration.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I was absolutely flabbergasted by this restaurant and the way that I was treated! It was my birthday and I asked for several special items to be made for me, which was no problem at all! The food was his stork one of the best meals that I've ever eaten. I recommend to everyone to go there and try this fabulous menu with the fabulous chef!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Excellent food. Wonderfully prepared, and service excellent. Wine by the glass was a little pricey at $12 per glass for a pinot grizio.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Had a great time for 4 of us for a Holiday related dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had an amazing dinner and the service was exceptional. I cannot wait to return!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We are never disappointed when taking guests here. We usually order veal since that is something we never have at home and it is always perfectly done. The service is excellent!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We have been to this restaurant before but we will not be returning. This was a pre-theater dinner and neither of our entrees were very good. I had the "house made" lobster ravioli, but whatever was inside of the ravioli, tasted nothing like lobster. It was ground up and beige and tasteless. The sauce seemed designed to disguise the taste of the ravioli. My date had the veal piccata, a dish that he often orders at other restaurants. It was mediocre at best. This restaurant is expensive and we have had much better meals for far less cost both in San Diego and on vacation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Primavera Ristorante provides a quiet atmosphere with great food and unparalleled service. While I have enjoyed multiple items on their menu, their wait staff is perhaps the most notable of the experience. They're attentive and old school, in a good way. This is one of my favorite restaurants on the Coronado island.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Very consistent! Always great food! Never fails us!

We always dine at Primavera

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This is a regular stop for us. We are always greeted and given personal service. High quality food, the best on the Island. Kyle is a wonderful bartender. Juan is a great waiter and so are the many other employees at the restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We had a lovely evening and were welcomed graciously. Food was excellent and our waiter Jose was very knowledgeable about the menu. He also gave us excellent service. The wine list was most sufficient and our. Hoover of a chianti was very good. We definitely will come again and recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

A nice restaurant in downtown Coronado. A great happy hour with a great bartender. But I would stop there unless you are looking for rather bland, overpriced food. Portions are small, prices are high. It's an older crowd that may be watching their salt, pepper, garlic intake and the kitchen reflects that. Service is excellent, but the food is just rather mediocre.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 24, 2016

We went here for an anniversary dinner and we were not disappointed at all. Our server was very attentive to our needs and the food was prepared and presented beautifully. I would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 23, 2016

excellent food and service. menu v. interesting and varieties of fish much appreciated.

Cocktails also done right.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 19, 2016

My husband's special swordfish was beautifully prepared, however the fish was tough and chewy. When asked how the food was my husband told the waiter. The fish was immediately removed and replaced with a delicious veal piccata . The food was very good and the service excellent . Prices are very fair. A

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Top-notch everything. Amazing service lovely atmosphere great fish special ( (Ono) terrific pasta. As a truffle lover I would love to see the menu includes something with truffles or truffle oil.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on October 3, 2016

This is been our "happy" place for years. We love the staff, the service and the ambience!

We have never been disappointed. We look forward to it every time we go and always eat at Primavera when our family is in town!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Hot Spot, Private Room, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 25, 2016

I had made an online reservation the week prior to our event and the night of, ended up needing two extra seats. The manager was quick to set up their private dining room and moved us up stairs. We were treated exceptionally well by the staff and ended up having a wonderful evening in the private room. Every course was fantastic to include special desserts. Dont forget to ask if there are "chefs' specials."

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on September 20, 2016

Very good food and acceptable service. Lobster ravioli was particularly good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Overtime we Go to Coronado.. We Have at least one meal at this Awesome Italian Spot.. Being from NJ/NY I love my Italian Food and this place is the best on the Island.. As usual we had the pleasure of having Omar Create an amazing Dining Experience He always goes above on beyond and is a top notch Server.. We even left a To Go bag and he called me with in minutes to come grab it

Enjoy the Meal My Friends...

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Played golf with a guy who referred us. WOW. What a great referral!! We loved it.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 18, 2016

This restaurant is very cute and intimate. I would recommend for a special occasion, all the food selections we had were amazing. The service was great, but kind of slow due to the amount of guests. The servers were very sweet and helpful with the menu. Great experience overall and I would go again if I lived closer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 14, 2016

This has always been one of our favorite restaurants and have enjoyed dining there for more than 10 years. It has been a couple of months since going there so we were disappointed in the new menu. I'm not that excite about going there anymore.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Wonderful service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our server did an exceptional job, very professional and knowledged about the menu. Lobster raviolli are a must try !!

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Competent, but uninspiring

We are new to California this year from the East Coast, and to Coronado per se for the past 2 months. We had heard so many wonderful things about the restaurant as it being the best in all of all Coronado. That is, save for one resident here who emphatically stated that if you want really good food, you have to cross the bridge. We like to support our local businesses, so, for my birthday, my husband took me there.

We started off with a mixed greens salad. The greens were certainly fresh, however, the dressing was incredulously disappointing. It tasted like Wishbone Italian, which reminded my husband of what his mom used to use growing up, before people knew better. That was unacceptable, especially at that price point. We were shocked---in this fine dining establishment---bottled dressing, (and most likely) laden with sugar and artificial ingredients. Then the entrees came. I was salivating over the thoughts of a yummy char-grilled veal chop. In my excitement, I overlooked the fine print---it was with a balsamic glaze. That glaze turned out to be more of a sauce, and ruined the flavor for me. That said, THAT was my fault. I politely told the manager of my faux pas and he graciously offered to bring out a new one , sans the balsamic. Unfortunately, it came out with no seasoning at all, which rendered my otherwise piece of perfectly cooked veal, as tasteless...for shame... However, the accompanying roasted vegetables were quite delicious, and cooked to perfection. My husband's entree, grilled lamb chops, were equally tender and cooked perfectly, but again, without any seasonings to make them taste special, such as rosemary, mint, cumin, etc. In short, if one doesn't cook, then I guess this restaurant would suffice. However, if you do, and appreciate and want nuance as well as delectable flavor in your food when you dine out, then this place falls short.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

it took over an hour for us to get our meal. they said there was a party of 30 but you would think they would be prepared. We brought our wine and they opened it. And we kept sipping so we would be able to drink it with our dinner. We were starving.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (México)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Delicious

We ordered penne mediterranean and filet mignon!

It was very VERY good!

Love the romantic ambience and super friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Wonderful experience - so enjoyable with great food, excellent service and wonderful atmosphere!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was excellent. I had the best shirmp scampi I ever had, and that includes fine places in the Caribbean, abroad, and some really good restaurants in the US. The service was excellent and at 6pm the place was nice and quiet. The decibel level picked up by the time we left but it was still more pleasant than usual. One of our best 2 meals in the San Diego area over the past 2 months. Will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been to this restaurant almost every time we vacation in Coronado, it is constantly a quality experience both in service and the cuisine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Limited seating restaurant, however, we still had a nice table that allowed quiet conversation. Osso Bucco and shrimp scampi were two excellent entrees. Service was good as well.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Awesome place! Good food, service was excellent and atmosphere was pleasant. Good italian food being the only one on the island so far that have seen. Recommended it!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Greatspot, excellent entries, great service, and friendly service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.