About PRIMA Ristorante

1522 North Main St.
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Guests from the Bay Area and the world over celebrate Italian sensibility in this stylish ristorante, with the comfort and sophistication reminiscent of Florence and Rome.
Dining at PRIMA is like taking a culinary journey throughout the regions of Italy. Executive Chef, Peter Chastain, changes the menu daily, using the freshest of nature's bounty - creating a dazzling mix of the finest ingredients, resulting in authentic Italian cuisine that is exquisitely pure and immaculately simple.
Of course, dining at PRIMA wouldn't be complete without a choice of over 1,600 wines from international "artisan" producers. With PRIMA VINI retail wine shop adjacent to the restaurant, guests may purchase their favorite vintage to take home, or special order wines through PRIMA VINI's wine clubs.
PRIMA is the perfect venue to celebrate a special occasion, linger over a sumptuous meal, or design a special dinner party (with customized menus and wines to match) Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 935-7780

Website:
http://primawine.com/

Catering:
Prima can accommodate almost any catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $11.00 with validation.

Public Transit:
Prima is a few short minutes from the Walnut Creek Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Peter Chastain

Private Party Facilities:
PRIMA offers both private and semi-private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Johnston: 9259357780x26

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.primawine.com/events.php to view a list of our up coming special events and Friday Night wine tastings.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRIMA Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Service
East Bay
Notable Wine List
East Bay
1 More
Italian
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Walnut Creek ›

fit for foodies (95)
special occasion (95)
notable wine list (84)
See All
romantic (61)
neighborhood gem (53)
great for lunch (37)
good for groups (35)
hot spot (10)
great for outdoor dining (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

still wonderful...

Dined 4 days ago

I have been coming to Prima for 20 years and I somehow believe it keeps getting better. Service was spot on as I've grown accustomed to. Food has been consistently wonderful and inventive but this time I feel like I ordered an overly sweet pot roast. Thank goodness the short rib ravioli was on the menu as that always rocks my world. Well be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

This restaurant has a very good reputati ...

Dined 7 days ago

This restaurant has a very good reputation, but unfortunately does not deliver. It's a bit tired and could use an injection of new life into the menu and the decor. If you are over 60 you might love it, though you'd find it pricey. At 40+ I was definitely the youngest one in the room. It's too bad, I wanted to love it. The wine list is the bright spot, as is the attached wine shop.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite restaurant in Walnu ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Walnut Creek. The menu changes with the season, but there are always so many great choices. It is fine dining, but don't ignore the pizza. If you love Italian wine, Prima is a must. Mangia!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PRIMA e bellissimo !!!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Love Prima. Love Italy - have eaten in both frequently. Prima understands very well how to pair foods, be creative, offer healthy choices, food always fresh. It is a gastronomical marriage. Staff is lovely, always making certain clients well taken care of, very good knowledgable of food choices and very very professional. They are great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

The Service is superb with many of wine ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The Service is superb with many of wine list. The food presentation is great. I have try the beef menu but the taste did not meet my expectation. Hope this will get better next time

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I hadn't been to Prima in a while, and I enjoyed the food a great deal.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Impeccable service

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff is AMAZING! They were very personable and accommodated my busy 8 year old son very well. While the food was a little pricey it was delicious. My son is a VERY picky eater and never eats his pizza crust;however, he ate every morsel of his thin crust pizza. It is certainly a great place for date night. We were able to sit near the fireplace😍 . Everyone there was like family. The most impressive aspect of this experience was the follow up phone call we received after my son reported his lost wallet. Fortunately the wallet was just misplaced. I greatly appreciated the follow up. They are the best at customer service!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best food and wine

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

i've been dining here for well over 30 years; I think they are about to celebrate their 39th year, so it may be very close to that number. They are locked in on a food/service cycle that never fails to deliver. That, together with the wine store that adjoins, makes it a home run place to dine or shop for wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day At Prima

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time back in a year or so and the food, service and experience were excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine!!!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and wine!!!

food5
ambience4
service5

The best restaurant in Walnut Creek. Cu ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The best restaurant in Walnut Creek. Cuisine, service, wines. Chef Peter is a treat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful birthday meal.

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We had the prix fixe menu and could not be more pleased. The waitress and other wait staff were very attentive. She was well versed on all the menu items and how they are prepared. We sat next to the open windows looking out to the front walk and enjoyed the evening while we ate. All in all, a great evening topped off with a strawberry soup which we had never had. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Long time Walnut Creek Favorite

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Have been dining here for years. Excellent food and reliable. Staff well trained and give great service. Menu remains much the same over time so that those of us who live out of the area can find their favorites when they return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Prima

Dined on April 25, 2016

We have been going to Prima for special occasions for many years. The food is consistently very good and the service is noteworthy. Strongly recommend even though it is pricey

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Everything was outstanding! Our table was near the window, as requested. Our server was perfect! So helpful, always there when we needed him, helpful with the wine selection and with a specialized diet one in our party had. All of the food was perfectly prepared, so fresh, beautifully presented and so delicious! Highest recommendation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The ravioli was amazing and my husband e ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The ravioli was amazing and my husband enjoyed his chicken entree. I enjoyed the portion sizes as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

20th Wedding Anniversary

Dined on April 21, 2016

I brought my wife here 22-years ago for our first date. Came back for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. Keeps getting better:)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Place

Dined on April 19, 2016

For us, Prima is reserved for special occasions like anniversaries or birthdays. It shows the honoree you cared.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prima delivers again

Dined on April 18, 2016

We return to Prima because we knowxwe will get delicious food and wonderful service and we were not disappointed. The flight of Italian reds just added to our happiness. Chef Peter has put together a great dining experience and we will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Worth the Indulgence

Dined on April 18, 2016

Yes, it's expensive, but worth the occasional indulgence! Service was friendly and excellent, and they pour an excellent cocktail as well as a somewhat generous glass of wine. The mista salad was okay; however, both the Neiman pork chop and pappardelle with wild board sauce entrees were excellent, as was dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

real deal Italian food

Dined on April 8, 2016

Prima is real deal Italian food. It is all about the flavors and tastes and smells. No frou frou. THe garmugia soup is a meal in itself with fresh spring ingredients. Eat no or forever be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfetto

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Walnut Creek is blessed with many excellent restaurants. Prima stands out as one of the best. A great combination of welcoming, proficient staff front of house, and a kitchen that produces rich, authentic Italian cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second chances

vip
Dined on April 4, 2016

We used to dine at Prima's years ago but had stopped coming. The menu had changed (not for the better) and we had experienced poor/rude service. I recently received a gift card so we decided to give it another chance. Boy were we glad we did! The menu was was great, the service outstanding and the food delicious! We will definitely be coming back on a regular basis.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Italian Spot!

Dined on April 3, 2016

I had a good pasta with sea fruits. A good glass of wine, and artichoke as antipasti. Everything was good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great!

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Its hard to find a restaurant that gets everything right so consistently. Prima is THE place my wife and I go to when we want great food, service and atmosphere!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place!

vip
Dined on April 1, 2016

We enjoy coming here for good quality service and food

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Occasion Lunch

Dined on March 30, 2016

Overall it was very good, except for the overcooked halibut. Our group loved the mussels, agnolotti, risotto, tiramisu, and wine selection. It was a special occasion, and we were given what seemed almost like a private room - an alcove off the main dining room. Service was excellent. Definitely one of the finer restaurants in Walnut Creek. Maybe stick with the Italian entrees rather than fresh fish of the day (noticed another reviewer was not as happy with the monkfish). Plan on a minimum of $60 pp for lunch.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Wonderful place in a quiet setting! Hig ...

vip
Dined on March 29, 2016

Wonderful place in a quiet setting! Highly recommend!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Restaurant

Dined on March 27, 2016

My wife and I recently dined here for the first time. It is certainly one of the best restaurants that we have found in this area. The service was excellent and very attentive. However, the best aspect was the quality of the food. They had a "special" on fresh caught Half Moon Bay halibut that was one of the best prepared presentations of halibut that we have had, cooked to perfection and with excellent sauce and accompanyments. It is a pity that this dish is not a regular item on their menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, best service in town by Amand ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

As always, best service in town by Amanda. Can't say enough about the food. The New York steak is prepared perfectly and seasoned to perfection. The ravioli is the best I have had anywhere and always on my list to order. You won't be disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Italian

Dined on March 23, 2016

Service is always excellent. Great wine list and the food is always great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Sooooo much fun

Dined on March 19, 2016

It was my nephew's birthday and we were just looking for a new place to eat lunch. The experience was awesome. We tried each other's food , each one was different and all of them were delicious. I rated the food as four ONLY because I probably wish there would be more choices. Otherwise we enjoyed EVERYTHING! From the wine, which they recommended, to the entree, dessert and even the cappuccino!!! It was worth every penny. And staff were super charming. What else can I say... If I live close by I would probably be eat there often!!! Did I already say, we love it?

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic meal!

Dined on March 16, 2016

Fantastic meal!

food5
ambience4
service5

We visited to celebrate a birthday which ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We visited to celebrate a birthday which was honored. The food was wonderful. We brought wine and ordered a wine flight which worked out well. Our waiter was attentive and delightful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience!!!!

Dined on March 5, 2016

My husband and I are in the process of relocating to the Oakland area - choosing Prima and dining here was a great evening and dining experience!!!! Thank you Dale for guiding us through and making our dining so pleasurable - and to Peter - thank you for taking time out of your busy evening in the kitchen and coming out to meet us and converse with us!! We so look forward to the next time I'll be in town and dine at your wonderful ristorante!!!! We've found our new favorite place!!! Thank you, thank you, thank you!!!!! xoxoxoxo Jamie and Pam Meyers

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food great service.

Dined on March 5, 2016

I had the tagliatelle. It was great. The wine list is extensive. And the ambiance lively and fun but not too loud. I had a great time. Will go back there again soon for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome. Highly recommend!

Dined on March 5, 2016

We went for my birthday and sat by the fireplace. We arrived at the time of opening, so it was very quiet. We shared and antipasti plate in the bar - it was delicious. We especially loved our short rib ravioli. The staff was really friendly. We'll return again!

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Prima has become too expensive.

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

The food at Prima was mixed. The tuna crudo starter was one of the best tunas we had ever tasted. On the other hand, the $46 rib eye was over cooked and tough. The wine list is crazy expensive.... we had a bottle of Rombauer Chardonnay at $78... I can buy down the street at $30 which means they can buy for the low $20's. Waiter was nice but not around at the end... I will not rush back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable meal

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Prima continues to present gourmet meals, excellent wines and impeccable service. Walnut Creek is fortunate to have a restaurant of this quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3

Dinner was good. I had my raviolis stuf ...

vip
Dined on February 22, 2016

Dinner was good. I had my raviolis stuffed with short ribs, so delicious. Service was slow and the restaurant was not busy.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.