About PRIMA Ristorante

1522 North Main St.
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Guests from the Bay Area and the world over celebrate Italian sensibility in this stylish ristorante, with the comfort and sophistication reminiscent of Florence and Rome.
Dining at PRIMA is like taking a culinary journey throughout the regions of Italy. Executive Chef, Peter Chastain, changes the menu daily, using the freshest of nature's bounty - creating a dazzling mix of the finest ingredients, resulting in authentic Italian cuisine that is exquisitely pure and immaculately simple.
Of course, dining at PRIMA wouldn't be complete without a choice of over 1,600 wines from international "artisan" producers. With PRIMA VINI retail wine shop adjacent to the restaurant, guests may purchase their favorite vintage to take home, or special order wines through PRIMA VINI's wine clubs.
PRIMA is the perfect venue to celebrate a special occasion, linger over a sumptuous meal, or design a special dinner party (with customized menus and wines to match) Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 935-7780

Website:
http://primawine.com/

Catering:
Prima can accommodate almost any catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $11.00 with validation.

Public Transit:
Prima is a few short minutes from the Walnut Creek Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Peter Chastain

Private Party Facilities:
PRIMA offers both private and semi-private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Johnston: 9259357780x26

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.primawine.com/events.php to view a list of our up coming special events and Friday Night wine tastings.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRIMA Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
East Bay
Best Food
East Bay
4 More
Best Service
East Bay
Notable Wine List
East Bay
Special Occasion
East Bay
Italian
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Walnut Creek ›

special occasion (110)
fit for foodies (99)
notable wine list (95)
See All
romantic (66)
neighborhood gem (64)
good for groups (38)
great for lunch (35)
great for outdoor dining (14)
hot spot (12)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (4)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our waiter was great, super friendly and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our waiter was great, super friendly and attentive! Wish I could remember his name. They gave us champagne for our anniversary and the food was yummy!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for lunch on a Saturday afternoo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

We went for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. We were both craving a classy Italian lunch-- you know, fresh homemade pasta with a rich sauce and nice glass of wine. Walking by a couple of weeks earlier, it looked busy for Saturday lunch but when we arrived for our rez, there was no one in the restaurant (1PM). We therefore had a quiet table. The lunch menu only had one pasta dish that fit the bill, however, when ordered the sauce was still in progress and wasn't servable. We each had a starter-- mine was better-- the tonno and white bean salad which was made especially good with fresh mint. For mains, I had a salad with grilled seafood and he had the short rib ravioli with a broth or butter sauce. It was all good, the wine was nice, the service was fine, but it didn't hit the spot and was pretty expensive for lunch ($144 for two if I recall... one glass of wine each).

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

$25 is way too much for corkage. This l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

$25 is way too much for corkage. This little fee is getting out of hand generally. I understand the insult to the wine list implied in bringing your own, but the cure is to rationalize the prices on that wine list, and reduce the 100% gross margins.

I won't be back at Prima unless this gouging stops.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent Italian fare, however we opted ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Excellent Italian fare, however we opted for the Bastille week "French"special four course dinner with wine pairings. Chef Peter and wine sommelier Frank hit a grand slam with this one.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prima is always good. The menu changes r ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Prima is always good. The menu changes regularly so it is always a surprise to see what is on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a fabulous meal. After 25 years ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always a fabulous meal. After 25 years still my fave in Walnut Creek.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed a variety of lunch options. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We enjoyed a variety of lunch options. The ahi salad was outstanding. The roasted chicken was reported as excellent as was the halibut and calamari salad. We had to go back to work after lunch so we had no wine which is sad because the wine list is extraordinary. One of us had a salad before the entree and we shared two desserts. It was all wonderful but $46 dollars a person, no wine, and. $48.00 tip forces us to enjoy Prima only on very special occasions.

One bonus to remember is the remarkable wine store attached to the restaurant with a knowledgable and truly helpful staff. Also, the valet is $11 plus I gave him a $7.00 tip because it is not included in the $11 valet charge. It all comes together for a very expensive and outstanding lunch in a very attractive dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasions, lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Walnut Creek excellence. Prima is our go ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Walnut Creek excellence. Prima is our go to for any occasion. The food is great and the wine list is tremendous. Chef Peter is known for Northern Italian, but everything is good. The grilled romaine salad is always fabulous. We had two pastas. Both were delicious. The staff is terrific. Home away from home.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The best restaurant outside of san franc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

The best restaurant outside of san francisco in the east bay

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Visited for my wife's birthday. Everyone ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Visited for my wife's birthday. Everyone made the occasion extra special. Amazing food and staff! Every course was incredible . And there was no rush as we took our time. They have an exceptional wine list but I brought something special from my cellar and they were absolutely fine with that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent!. Wine that was reco ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent!. Wine that was recommended not so much. Especially for the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great wine list and food. Pricey but gr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great wine list and food. Pricey but great for special occasions

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Always a perfect meal and outstanding se ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always a perfect meal and outstanding service. From the moment you walk in to drinks in the bar and dinner service - everything was perfect.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prima always shines. We went for my hus ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Prima always shines. We went for my husband's birthday, with another couple whose wife shares the birthday (not the same year). We ordered wine tastes of champagne before our meal and again with the meal. None of us are big drinkers, but at Prima one needs to pair the meal with wine. We had a slow, meal with very attentive service. They did not push us out as we sat and visited for some time after we had paid our check. We find Prima to be a great place for a special occasion meal and have come here often. It never fails to impress.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine service. Very good food. Great pl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Fine service. Very good food. Great place to celebrate an anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Remarkably excellent food. The wine lis ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Remarkably excellent food. The wine list is superb. The sommelierr knows the wines very well and much to our amazement selected a wine more reasonably priced than we might have chosen and it paired beautifully with the meal. The tables are not jammed together like so many good restaurants these days so it is a wonderful restaurant where one can have a conversation. The restaurant was full at 7:00 p.m. but almost empty at 8:45 when we left. So good spot for later dining. We can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great dining experience that was well sp ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great dining experience that was well spaced between courses and the service was outstanding.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always memorable and service is always g ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Always memorable and service is always great. The wine list outstanding. .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a special place for me. I have t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This is a special place for me. I have taken my mom there for Mother's Day; my girl friend for any-old day; my business colleagues to smooze; and my Warriors buddies to commiserate. Yes, this place with its food, service, ambiance and wine list, met every challenge. First, it's about the food. The Italianesque cuisine is never over-fussy or over-saucy. Peter, the chef/owner, lets the ingredients and the cooking technique shine-without smothering the food in flashy sauces or baroque presentation. Any pasta dish is exquisite, and the meat, poultry, fish (steak, lamb, chicken, duck, fish, and pork on a rotating basis) are not after thoughts. These preparations are simple and honest, reflecting a true understanding of the food. The service is always special. The wait staff is professional, but with personality. The wine sommelier is there, if needed, but neither pushy nor a know it all pain in the a... The ambiance fits the cuisine: pleasing, but understated and not in competition with the food. Two thumbs up!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hadn't been to Prima for a few years, bu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Hadn't been to Prima for a few years, but they are as good or better than I remember. Food was outstanding, excellent service, wine list off the charts, and friendly people as always. Hostess remembered me from two years ago - awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed our evening immensely! We wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening immensely! We were celebrating my daughters 21st birthday and wanted a lovely dinner with drinks. We could not have chosen better! We started with a Manhattan and a Persephone, both lovely. We split the salumi platter and grilled romaine salad, continued with linguine con vongole and cannelloni, again split the Tuscan pot roast and finished with tiramisu and cafe affogato. It was an incredible meal that was served beautifully over 2.5 hours by Ricky. We took our time and never felt rushed. We will be back for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Just a delightful place for a wonderful ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Just a delightful place for a wonderful meal. Wait staff is what it should be for this type of establishment, proficient and enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've enjoyed PRIMA before, so I booked ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We've enjoyed PRIMA before, so I booked a table for our anniversary. Unfortunately, we got an awful table right by the front door; I was cramped in a corner. While my husband enjoyed his entree, the "Tuscan style potroast," my New York strip was disappointing--just not a good cut of meat. We'll go back, but I'll be pickier about where we sit and what I order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Always delicious and delightful! Great s ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Always delicious and delightful! Great salads, short rib raviolis, pizza - and fantastic service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb Dinner!!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was an awesome dinner for my son's Birthday (over 21 years by the way...). Our waitress was superb - she listened to who we are, found ways to make our dinner even better, and overall made us feel very special. The food was excellent from start to finish, and we could not have enjoyed the time spent at PRIMA Ristorante any more than we did. Kudos to the whole team who obviously work together well to make a delightful evening.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the Halibut, which had been sautée ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

I had the Halibut, which had been sautéed with capers on top. Fava bean side. Two fairly generous cuts of fish. I typically order a fish disk when going to Prima, and have always been pleased. I little pricey, but very good quality. I like the al fresco dining when weather is nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We celebrated our 31st anniversary at Prima last weekend. Great service, great food as always and they even treated us to a glass of champagne!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and friendly staff. Noise level loud in

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Noise level better as a few tables emptied out. Made us feel very special on our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything was delicious food, dessert, ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything was delicious food, dessert, have excellent range of wines. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Special Occasion

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

I wanted a special place to celebrate my wife finishing her 18th Chemo treatment there in Walnut Creek. I asked her nurses and everyone recommended Prima for that special occasion. I was specifically interested in a quiet, romantic location, with emphasis on the cuisine, service, and ambiance. On the day of our meal, I received a call from the general manager of Prima. She had read my Reservation Request and advised me that a portion of the message did not come through, for whatever reason. I went ahead and informed her of all I had requested and wanted this occasion to be a special one for my wife. Upon arriving at Prima, we were immediately greeted by a friendly server who, upon checking our reservations, took us to our table. It was a perfect location, away from the general crowd, near the fireplace, tucked away in a corner where we could be alone and enjoy the moment. The manager appeared shortly, introduced herself, and welcomed us to Prima. Our server was first class, and he saw to our every needs. There was no rush, and trust me, we took our time enjoying the entire event. The cuisine was fantastic; my wife had the risotto, I the ravioli. The wine list long and spectacular. Of course, we saved room for desert and my wife ordered the tiramasu while I had the lava cake. The entire evening was made special by Prima's manager seeing to our EVERY needs and requests, even went as far as presenting us with a complimentary glass of champagne for the event.

If you come looking for a cheaply priced dinner meal, over the counter service and soda dispenser, then don't come here! However, if you want a 5 star restaurant, with the excellent service, cuisine, wine and ambiance, a location to impress your spouse/date/partner and make that person feel first class ... Prima is the place to go in Walnut Creek. Remember the old saying... you get what you paid for. And you will definitely get your money's worth at Prima. We can't wait to go there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always love Prima. As a former NYC resi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Always love Prima. As a former NYC resident who loves Italian fine dining, this is high praise!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure to visit Prima

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We've been going to Prima since around 1990, it's always a pleasure to dine at Prima. They have a great wine list and I like how the menu changes with the seasons. We will continue to visit Prima, and if you have a chance you should also go for one of the wine pairings as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Lunch with an old friend was a delight at Prima! XLNT food, service, ambiance, easy location. Two very happy campers. Superb as always!

RBMiller

Walnut Creek

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

it took nearly 30 minutes to get bread! ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

it took nearly 30 minutes to get bread! When asked why so long we were told "you have to order your dinner before we will serve you bread"! Really, really!! Don't think we have ever been to a restaurant where this is a pre-requesite!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

still wonderful...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

I have been coming to Prima for 20 years and I somehow believe it keeps getting better. Service was spot on as I've grown accustomed to. Food has been consistently wonderful and inventive but this time I feel like I ordered an overly sweet pot roast. Thank goodness the short rib ravioli was on the menu as that always rocks my world.

Well be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant has a very good reputati ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

This restaurant has a very good reputation, but unfortunately does not deliver. It's a bit tired and could use an injection of new life into the menu and the decor. If you are over 60 you might love it, though you'd find it pricey. At 40+ I was definitely the youngest one in the room. It's too bad, I wanted to love it. The wine list is the bright spot, as is the attached wine shop.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

This is our favorite restaurant in Walnu ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Walnut Creek. The menu changes with the season, but there are always so many great choices. It is fine dining, but don't ignore the pizza. If you love Italian wine, Prima is a must. Mangia!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

PRIMA e bellissimo !!!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Love Prima. Love Italy - have eaten in both frequently. Prima understands very well how to pair foods, be creative, offer healthy choices, food always fresh. It is a gastronomical marriage. Staff is lovely, always making certain clients well taken care of, very good knowledgable of food choices and very very professional. They are great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Service is superb with many of wine ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

The Service is superb with many of wine list. The food presentation is great. I have try the beef menu but the taste did not meet my expectation. Hope this will get better next time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

I hadn't been to Prima in a while, and I enjoyed the food a great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.