About PRIMA Ristorante

1522 North Main St.
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Guests from the Bay Area and the world over celebrate Italian sensibility in this stylish ristorante, with the comfort and sophistication reminiscent of Florence and Rome.
Dining at PRIMA is like taking a culinary journey throughout the regions of Italy. Executive Chef, Peter Chastain, changes the menu daily, using the freshest of nature's bounty - creating a dazzling mix of the finest ingredients, resulting in authentic Italian cuisine that is exquisitely pure and immaculately simple.
Of course, dining at PRIMA wouldn't be complete without a choice of over 1,600 wines from international "artisan" producers. With PRIMA VINI retail wine shop adjacent to the restaurant, guests may purchase their favorite vintage to take home, or special order wines through PRIMA VINI's wine clubs.
PRIMA is the perfect venue to celebrate a special occasion, linger over a sumptuous meal, or design a special dinner party (with customized menus and wines to match) Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; BAR Service Available 2:30pm - 5:00pm Mon thru Saturday; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 935-7780

Website:
http://primawine.com/

Catering:
Prima can accommodate almost any catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $11.00 with validation.

Public Transit:
Prima is a few short minutes from the Walnut Creek Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Peter Chastain

Private Party Facilities:
PRIMA offers both private and semi-private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Johnston: 9259357780x26

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.primawine.com/events.php to view a list of our up coming special events and Friday Night wine tastings. Note that BAR Service Available 2:30pm - 5:00pm Mon thru Saturday.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRIMA Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
East Bay
Italian
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Walnut Creek ›

Notable Wine List (44)
Special Occasion (43)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Romantic (29)
Good for a Date (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Business Meals (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Authentic (16)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Comfort Food (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Cozy (10)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Fun (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Fireplace (7)
Casual (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Healthy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Private Room (5)
Wood Oven (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
People Watching (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Historic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Family Style (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was my wife's 20th year celebration ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was my wife's 20th year celebration of coming to America and I couldn't have picked a better place for us to celebrate. The food and the service are both exceptional and being seated next to the fireplace made it all the more romantic. Both the waiters and Maitre'd were very gracious and it was wonderful to have the chef come over to say hello. We had been to Primas before and plan to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Happy Hour, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Peter's food never fails to please and t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Peter's food never fails to please and the service is top notch. One of my go to restaurants!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Casual, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The fire place room was very quiet whic ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

The fire place room was very quiet which I appreciated.

Tags: Fireplace, Cozy, Romantic, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been visiting Prima on a regular b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We've been visiting Prima on a regular basis for many years, but our last meal (my wife's birthday) really missed the mark. We both had the Chef's Menu with wine pairing and to be honest, every course lacked flavor and originality, particularly the rack of lamb; which was tough and flavorless. The food was paired with four wines, all very young, all Italian and all a bit rough to drink. Service was outstanding, other than when they tried to seat us in the back room jammed against a wall... Will be exploring other options for now, as this meal dampened our enthusiasm for our former "go to" spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

A bit slow to get to me but best fish I' ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 19, 2016

A bit slow to get to me but best fish I've had in a while, and I eat out a lot . Really good kitchen.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food and service were excellent. Cla ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food and service were excellent. Classic Italian with all fresh ingredients. My only complaint is that the red wine is served in Chardanay glasses, for an exclusive and expensive restaurant one should not have to request a Pinot glass.

Tags: Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Historic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am a fussy foodie. I had a perfect lu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

I am a fussy foodie. I had a perfect lunch. Gnocchi that levitated with boar ragu and an apple tart with the most tender crust I had ever had. Oh, and a fabulous Merry Edwards sauvignon blanc. Best restaurant in Walnut Creek. And also I am a SF food snob so this review was not made out of any local pride--just good food.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything from the food to the service ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Everything from the food to the service was excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We visit Prima several times a year. Alw ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 8, 2016

We visit Prima several times a year. Always enjoyable and the food is good. Some guests may find the prices a little out of line.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Expensive but worth it. Food was great a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Expensive but worth it. Food was great and the service was even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Prima remains, IMO, the best food in Cen ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Prima remains, IMO, the best food in Central Contra Costa County, thanks to its chef, Peter Chastain. With an adjacent wine shop run by John Rittmaster , the wine list is very impressive and expandable. My favorite i9s the rack of lamb ("lamb lollipops") which are worth a visit just to sample and enjoy.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff very friendly and competent, inclu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Staff very friendly and competent, including the sommelier. Wine list extensive. The wine recommendations complemented the foods we chose perfectly. All of the food was delicious, creative combinations of vegetables, herbs, and meets. The endive salad with the apples and fennel slices was really delicious — crunchy and a very smooth vinaigrette which complemented all the ingredients, a perfect first course before a pasta dish.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prima never disappoints. Been here many ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Prima never disappoints. Been here many times and the service and food is always top notch. We had fresh fish prepared so well we savored it thoroughly through each bite. And the Tiramisu was a big hit. service was tied perfectly to make a show.

Tags: Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening! We totally enjoyed o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Wonderful evening! We totally enjoyed our Sunday night dinner at Prima. The specials--lentil/vegetable soup and oven baked Monkfish were both outstanding. So was the pasta.

Prima remains one of our favorite east bay eateries.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had dinner at the bar for the first time ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Had dinner at the bar for the first time- instead of a table! Great experience, fun to watch the bartenders do their thing and see the different drinks go out. The burrata was the best I have had- very creamy texture. The Neiman Ranch pork chop was superb- very flavorful and very tender. I cannot wait to return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Prima is an average restaurant, in terms ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Prima is an average restaurant, in terms of food, price, ambiance and overall value. Really nothing exceptional to recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We have eaten here quite a few times and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

We have eaten here quite a few times and have never been disappointed. I had the monk fish special this time and it was excellent.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

2nd time here, and it was just as good a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

2nd time here, and it was just as good as the first. Food was excellent and wine list phenomenal. Service was very attentive. The only negative thing I can say about this place is that it is pricey, but you get what you pay for.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Servers made me feel uncomfortable from ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Servers made me feel uncomfortable from greeters/hostess to wait staff who made me feel like I had to hurry and finish so they could clear the table. Pretty annoying. Food was outstanding and I commend the cook staff for delicious food and excellent presentation. The ambiance in the back room is pretty bland and indeed feels like a back room. I'm sure it is nice to have this type of room available for group reservations that want privacy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Hosted a birthday dinner for six. The fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Hosted a birthday dinner for six. The food and service were good. After spending ~$400 on dinner I found the $50 corkage fee to open and pour a magnum of wine to be excessive and greedy. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

I love coming to eat at Prima. It is an ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I love coming to eat at Prima. It is an occasion for dressing up and being taken care of by attentive and thoughtful waitstaff, eating good food in sensible portions and spending as much time as needed on a meal. it is our go-to place for special events and celebrations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We really loved the service, delicious ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We really loved the service, delicious food and special attention from the Sommelier.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a meal! I had the pot roast and a r ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 22, 2016

What a meal! I had the pot roast and a roasted romaine side dish that was wonderful. My husband had a fish we had never heard of, roasted also and terrific. We made reservations for 5:30 cause it is VERY popular, since it by far one of the best restaurants in Walnut Creek. We don't go here often since it is quite expensive, but if you want to be treated like a queen and fed like one too, well worth it!

Tags: Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service. A great atm ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Excellent food and service. A great atmosphere for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

15th anniversary and we told them that - ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

15th anniversary and we told them that - 8 pm reservation but they seated us close to 9 with no apology. Lame. Food's good though - but then we were starving ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

It was exceptional service and our seati ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was exceptional service and our seating was good until it filled up with people. The noice level went off the decibel level and became uncomfortable .. there was no mercy. Food was fantastic.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Prima's is one of our favorite Walnut Cr ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Prima's is one of our favorite Walnut Creek restaurants. The service is excellent, the food is delicious, the menu is creative and it's a great place to go for any special occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed Prima very much. Our only hes ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We enjoyed Prima very much. Our only hesitation is that it is VERY high-priced. But the food and service and the setting were all first-class.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Every meal at Prima is pretty special an ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Every meal at Prima is pretty special and last Saturday was no exception- superb branzini (me) and lamb chops (my wife).

And our server Dale, is absolutely the best!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite places for lunch or d ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

One of my favorite places for lunch or dinner. The food is always delicious.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service was excellent. On t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The food and service was excellent. On this occasion there was enough noise in the restaurant was not whether it was in the area we sat on this occasion, had a good time. They have good selection of wines, my recommendation is to have more affordable for all budgets.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been to this restaurant of 20 yea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

I have been to this restaurant of 20 years, in the old days it was much more like a local restaurant, where you would often see the owner at dinner, they used to have a policy that if you bought a wine from there wine list they would wave the corkage fee, you could also buy a wine from the wine shop & they wouldn't charge you corkage. But now what ever you chose to do bring it or buy it they will charge you for the opening of the wine, which seems really cut throat, this is not a inexpensive restaurant you wouldn't think they would have to be so tight with there money. But sometimes restaurants are only interested in the $$$$$. Don't care about making friends or see repeat customers. Not to worry there are many more restaurants all over the bay area that are dying for a chance. I have to say that they did give us a 4.00 dish of ice cream for free, but only after they forgot are friends birthday candle on the dessert that we did order. Thanks so much for that Birthday Wish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

food is always good and the service is t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

food is always good and the service is top notch. Our server Chris was very good and very nice. made for an outstanding dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

PRIMA has had great food and service for ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2016

PRIMA has had great food and service for a long time. Oh and a Great wine list!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Prima never disappoints. We tend to sit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Prima never disappoints. We tend to sit at the bar, although table seating is excellent. Have been there for lunch as well as to celebrate our wedding anniversary. On both occasions I ordered ghocchi (sp?), with green & yellow squash. Absolutely amazing. Looking forward to our next visit which hasn't been planned yet, but it won't be long!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We arrived for our 6:00 PM reservation l ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We arrived for our 6:00 PM reservation last Friday evening, and were greeted and seated promptly. Nice table for two in the corner next to the fireplace. My fiancee was very happy with everything, and she thought it was so romantic. The hostess remembered what I had noted on the Open Table reservation that this dinner was to celebrate our engagement, and she congratulated us! The service was great, and the food & wine were wonderful. Best swordfish I have ever had. I love going here for my birthday and other occasions. We'll keep coming back!

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our service was amazing. Great suggesti ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Our service was amazing. Great suggestions, and very knowledgeable about the plates. Had entrees never before tried: braised short ribs. Delicious wine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great vegetarian options, nice ambiance. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Great vegetarian options, nice ambiance. I like this place. I'd just say two things - In the U.S., good service equates to cleaning up your table the second you put your fork down and it doesn't matter if the other person still hasn't finished their meal. I really hate this. In Europe, they know how to do it. They generally don't clear the table until everyone is well and done and it's so much more relaxing. The servers could be a little less efficient in whipping away your plates. I guess next time I'll just tell them to leave them until everyone's done. Also the dining areas in this restaurant are quaint and nice with white table clothes and candlelight but the back bathroom needs updating. It's pretty funky for a nice restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent as always. Been a winner for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent as always. Been a winner for almost thirty years and it still continues to never miss a beat!

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level sitting in the patios wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The noise level sitting in the patios was very loud. The street noise with motorcycles and nearby bar was notable and made conversation almost impossible. The staff agreed but could not change our table. In general the volume from other patrons was also problematic as the acoustics of the restuarant did not lend to a quiet experience. It is expensive and not a desirable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.