About PRIMA Ristorante

1522 North Main St.
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Guests from the Bay Area and the world over celebrate Italian sensibility in this stylish ristorante, with the comfort and sophistication reminiscent of Florence and Rome.
Dining at PRIMA is like taking a culinary journey throughout the regions of Italy. Executive Chef, Peter Chastain, changes the menu daily, using the freshest of nature's bounty - creating a dazzling mix of the finest ingredients, resulting in authentic Italian cuisine that is exquisitely pure and immaculately simple.
Of course, dining at PRIMA wouldn't be complete without a choice of over 1,600 wines from international "artisan" producers. With PRIMA VINI retail wine shop adjacent to the restaurant, guests may purchase their favorite vintage to take home, or special order wines through PRIMA VINI's wine clubs.
PRIMA is the perfect venue to celebrate a special occasion, linger over a sumptuous meal, or design a special dinner party (with customized menus and wines to match) Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 935-7780

Website:
http://primawine.com/

Catering:
Prima can accommodate almost any catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $11.00 with validation.

Public Transit:
Prima is a few short minutes from the Walnut Creek Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Peter Chastain

Private Party Facilities:
PRIMA offers both private and semi-private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Johnston: 9259357780x26

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.primawine.com/events.php to view a list of our up coming special events and Friday Night wine tastings.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRIMA Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
East Bay
Best Food
East Bay
4 More
Best Service
East Bay
Notable Wine List
East Bay
Special Occasion
East Bay
Italian
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Walnut Creek ›

Special Occasion (85)
Notable Wine List (82)
Fit for Foodies (70)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (59)
Romantic (45)
Good for Groups (27)
Great for Lunch (25)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Good for a Date (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Hot Spot (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Authentic (7)
Business Meals (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Cozy (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Fun (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Casual (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The noise level sitting in the patios wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

The noise level sitting in the patios was very loud. The street noise with motorcycles and nearby bar was notable and made conversation almost impossible. The staff agreed but could not change our table. In general the volume from other patrons was also problematic as the acoustics of the restuarant did not lend to a quiet experience. It is expensive and not a desirable experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

Great food and service! Wish we would ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Great food and service! Wish we would have saved room for dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent and inovative menu. Very good ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

Excellent and inovative menu. Very good service. Very good wine list.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We visited for our anniversary, and both ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

We visited for our anniversary, and both food and service were impeccable. Our server congratulated us more than once on our celebration, and made sure that the food and beverage was exactly what we wanted. What a delightful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I reserved a table last night to celebra ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

I reserved a table last night to celebrate my father's 83rd birthday. There were three of us including my sister. The meal was quite lovely, the restaurant is warm and inviting, very friendly and the staff and hostess were impeccably helpful.

The food was amazing! Truly one of the best meals I've had in a long time. We started with Gorgonzola stuffed dates, then a grilled hearts of palm salad which was divine. Lemon, herbs and olive oil complimented the grilled romaine perfectly. My father and I shared two dishes, the braised beef ravioli with brown butter and sage, and the lamb dish from the chef's special menu. Both outstanding. The waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable, they obviously train their staff well.

One single detraction from the experience was that we were seated by way too many business dinner groups who were talking so loudly it drowned out our conversation. I had no idea this was such a hot spot at 8pm for business dinners! We counted not one or two but THREE tables surrounding us in the front room, with 6-8 people at each table, talking business very loudly over each other. They were not related with each other, each group filed in separately after we were seated.

That being said, it was one of the best meals I've had in years. I will definitely go back, I will just request to be seated on the patio or in a quieter area of the restaurant!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

I had the Tonno. Delicious, citrusy wit ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I had the Tonno. Delicious, citrusy with a spicey bite . Could easily have eaten more. Such a tiny on the plate.

The salad greens were fresh and had flavor. Spaghetti delicious.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The only reason I stated that the noise ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

The only reason I stated that the noise was energetic was that the table next to us was very noisy - 3 women chatting like it was their restaurant. We finally asked them to lower their voices and they did.

Also, our guest is Italian and is allergic to cheese so she asked for the risotto to be made without cheese and the chef complied. BTW, cheese is NEVER included in risotto in Italy - it's an American thing that makes risotto goopy.............

All in all a good experience.

Tags: Seasonal, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Superb dinner amid a quaint atmosphere. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Superb dinner amid a quaint atmosphere. Always a pleasure to dine at Prima!

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There was an event in WNC that day, it w ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

There was an event in WNC that day, it was very busy. They still did a good job despite how busy they were. Food is consistently good, service is good, good wine list. I keep going back because it is consistently good

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The restaurant failed to inform us that ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The restaurant failed to inform us that there was a big parade occurring in front of the restaurant during our reservation. In general, the food was good. I had a tuna crudo which I thought had too much lemon. My Cesear salad was good and my steak was perfect. I was disappointed with my chocolate dessert.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

It's been a while since we've eaten at P ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

It's been a while since we've eaten at Prima and we were pleasantly reminded just how good the place is. We were seated out front so you could watch the Walnut Creek sideshow go by on a Friday night. The wait staff were informed and very helpful. Our server took the time to help us sort through the immense wine list and found a bottle that was "at the right price point" and exactly what we were looking for. The food, especially the ravioli, was delicious and served hot . And the dessert was just right...not too sweet and a great combination of tastes. All in all a fun night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, attentive & knowledgable ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Excellent food, attentive & knowledgable waitstaff

Valet parking is expensive

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great italian place in Walnut creek. Fo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Great italian place in Walnut creek. Food was top notch, as was the wine list. The only negative thing I can say is that it was fairly expensive.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very attentive, friendly and knowledgea ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Very attentive, friendly and knowledgeable service. My husband and I both enjoyed our appetizers and entrees. Portion sizes are perfect. My favorite dishes of the evening were the pasta dishes. We tried spaghetti arrabiata, Gnocchi with Pesto, and ravioli with braised short ribs. All were fresh, tasty and cooked AL dente, and the risotto with rabbit was also excellent. We were also pleased that the final bill was less than we anticipated. Overall, great date night experience. I'm sure we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

One of my favorite restaurants. Great s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Great service and always a super meal, never disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A consistently outstanding restaurant th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

A consistently outstanding restaurant that does not disappoint. The staff is very helpful and attentive without being overbearing. Peter's "lamb pops" are the best

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service, they have been there ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Excellent service, they have been there for over 30 years.. nice place.. and food was good too..

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely meal on the patio on a balmy afte ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Lovely meal on the patio on a balmy afternoon. Friendly staff. Timely service. Excellent food. My date and I shared a delectable beet salad. I loved the boneless chicken. She described her gnocchi as "pillows from heaven." I tried one. I have to agree. I'll be back.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner was very good and service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Our dinner was very good and service was friendly, knowledgeable and speedy, with the exception of our dessert beverages (dessert wine and an espresso) which arrived after we'd finished the dessert course. nice to have so much selection for half bottles but thought the pricing was steep.

Tags: Historic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

I wasn't crazy about the choices on the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

I wasn't crazy about the choices on the menu eventhough the food was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Not only does Prima never disappoint, it ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Not only does Prima never disappoint, it actually gets better each time. The folks at Prima "get it." They understand that people go out for dinner to enjoy themselves, to eat great food, to receive fine and friendly service, and to get well-taken-care-of. The staff, from top of the org chart on down, are friendly, personable, professional, and caring. We do not dine there every day, week, or even month, but are treated every time like special guests. The food is terrific, and the service is wonderful. The best way I can summarize is, each time we finish an evening there, we ask ourselves, "Why don't we come here more often?"

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night out!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great night out!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The overall experience was disappointing ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

The overall experience was disappointing, considering the reputation.

The ambiance is more typical of a busy bistro as opposed to an upscale restaurant, this is not a place for a romantic dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

This place continues to be completely so ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place continues to be completely solid -- you know you will have a very nice meal, from the food itself to the execution of the dining experience. Down to earth but elegant Italian fare with a great wine list.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food and wine was excellent. We sat in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Food and wine was excellent. We sat in the back room so it was nice and quiet.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Never fails to please. Great food, excel ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Never fails to please. Great food, excellent service. Will be back soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I chose this restaurant to celebrate my ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I chose this restaurant to celebrate my sons birthday because it is consistently good.

The food was very good, service is good, atmosphere is good

One of my favorite restaurants

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Prima has been and still is, in our opi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Prima has been and still is, in our opinion, the best restaurant in Contra Costa County. They were on top 24 years ago and still reside in that position today. I absolutely adore their braised romaine hearts appetizer. My wife and I both had linguine con vongole (pasta with clams) which was outstanding. Our Son-in-law, who is out here on business from Albuquerque, loved his braised pot roast which was both a feast for the eyes as well as the stomach. Executive Chef Peter Chastain is truly gifted.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great waiter, great food, wine, dessert, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Great waiter, great food, wine, dessert, excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was served by a very knowledgeabl ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Dinner was served by a very knowledgeable and helpful server, without being stuffy or

trying to impress us with how much she knew. The food is always very good at this

place and the wait person was very helpful with all the items she suggested when we were

making a choice. Very nice evening was shared by all. Order the Gnochi as an appetizer and

share at the table. To die for. Excellent Calamari.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food and drink were excellent. Server s ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Food and drink were excellent. Server seemed either new at the job or distracted. Never asked if we wanted after dinner coffee. The occasion was my daughter's birthday, but the restaurant did not comp her a dessert, as they've done in the past. We'll go back but won't have our expectations as high.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service here was outstanding, the waiter ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service here was outstanding, the waiter was friendly and bus people were swift and attentive. Food was excellent, dishes were original and well cooked.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been coming for many years, food is stil ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Been coming for many years, food is still good but service was poor. It appeared our server was maybe the only available because she kept apologizing to us

About not being available. It took a better part of 20 min to take our main order.

Maybe you need more servers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

Prima is one of my favorites for lunch o ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Prima is one of my favorites for lunch or dinner.

All around very good upscale Italian restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The waiter was excellent and very attent ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The waiter was excellent and very attentive - BUT his assistant was a total loss - thereby taking away from the overall experience. But the waiter did "comp" the desserts in exchange for the bad service by his assistant - that says a lot for his training and sensitivity

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Food good as usual. Service was outstan ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food good as usual. Service was outstanding. Wine list continues to be one of the best in WC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

First timer, went for a wedding annivers ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

First timer, went for a wedding anniversary. Lively restaurant, great service and the food was excellent. Had a house cab with dinner, which was quite good for the price. We stopped just down the block from another restaurant (which was M-T, not one person dining there), then went to Prima where we had reservations, and they were bustling with business. Gotta tell you something!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our waiter was great, super friendly and ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Our waiter was great, super friendly and attentive! Wish I could remember his name. They gave us champagne for our anniversary and the food was yummy!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for lunch on a Saturday afternoo ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We went for lunch on a Saturday afternoon. We were both craving a classy Italian lunch-- you know, fresh homemade pasta with a rich sauce and nice glass of wine. Walking by a couple of weeks earlier, it looked busy for Saturday lunch but when we arrived for our rez, there was no one in the restaurant (1PM). We therefore had a quiet table. The lunch menu only had one pasta dish that fit the bill, however, when ordered the sauce was still in progress and wasn't servable. We each had a starter-- mine was better-- the tonno and white bean salad which was made especially good with fresh mint. For mains, I had a salad with grilled seafood and he had the short rib ravioli with a broth or butter sauce. It was all good, the wine was nice, the service was fine, but it didn't hit the spot and was pretty expensive for lunch ($144 for two if I recall... one glass of wine each).

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

$25 is way too much for corkage. This l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

$25 is way too much for corkage. This little fee is getting out of hand generally. I understand the insult to the wine list implied in bringing your own, but the cure is to rationalize the prices on that wine list, and reduce the 100% gross margins.

I won't be back at Prima unless this gouging stops.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.