About PRIMA Ristorante

1522 North Main St.
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Guests from the Bay Area and the world over celebrate Italian sensibility in this stylish ristorante, with the comfort and sophistication reminiscent of Florence and Rome.
Dining at PRIMA is like taking a culinary journey throughout the regions of Italy. Executive Chef, Peter Chastain, changes the menu daily, using the freshest of nature's bounty - creating a dazzling mix of the finest ingredients, resulting in authentic Italian cuisine that is exquisitely pure and immaculately simple.
Of course, dining at PRIMA wouldn't be complete without a choice of over 1,600 wines from international "artisan" producers. With PRIMA VINI retail wine shop adjacent to the restaurant, guests may purchase their favorite vintage to take home, or special order wines through PRIMA VINI's wine clubs.
PRIMA is the perfect venue to celebrate a special occasion, linger over a sumptuous meal, or design a special dinner party (with customized menus and wines to match) Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; BAR Service Available 2:30pm - 5:00pm Mon thru Saturday; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 935-7780

Website:
http://primawine.com/

Catering:
Prima can accommodate almost any catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $11.00 with validation.

Public Transit:
Prima is a few short minutes from the Walnut Creek Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Peter Chastain

Private Party Facilities:
PRIMA offers both private and semi-private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Johnston: (925) 935-7780 ext. 26

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.primawine.com/events.php to view a list of our up coming special events and Friday Night wine tastings. Note that BAR Service Available 2:30pm - 5:00pm Mon thru Saturday.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRIMA Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Notable Wine List (38)
Good for Birthdays (36)
See All
Fit for Foodies (32)
Good for a Date (30)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Business Meals (24)
Romantic (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Authentic (17)
Cozy (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Fireplace (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Private Room (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Fun (8)
Comfort Food (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Casual (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Seasonal (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Great for Brunch (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (3)
Historic (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1688 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The appetizers and our 4 meals were amaz ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

The appetizers and our 4 meals were amazing. Best lunch I've had in a long time. Can't go here all the time due to the price, but will definitely be back!!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Love this place. We've been there twice ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this place. We've been there twice and each time we tried different things and everything has been delicious. Can't wait to go again and try something different.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went out for lunch on a very cold day ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

We went out for lunch on a very cold day and found this restaurant to be warm and cozy. There were very few people there, so it was quiet at our table by the fireplace. Service was exceptional, but food was just fair. Expected more Italian flavors and spices, both lunches lacked those. Seemed rather expensive for what is offered.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

My favorite restaurant in Walnut Creek. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

My favorite restaurant in Walnut Creek. Chef Peter Chastain always creates wonderful, flavorful dishes with the freshest seasonal ingredients. I've never had a bad meal there. It truly deserves a 5 star rating!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Private Room, Healthy, Wood Oven, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thought the food was good but very price ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Thought the food was good but very pricey. Thought the staff were cold and very unfriendly. Expensive, and the staff were not attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Linguine with fresh crab was incredible! ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Linguine with fresh crab was incredible! Service was excellent and the 2oz. Wine tasting trio was excellent!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first experience dining at ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

This was our first experience dining at PRIMA and we were celebrating our 25th anniversary. The hostesses greeted us and also wished us for our anniversary. She made sure that we had a special table for the evening. Our waiter was really friendly and made every effort to make our experience a great one. He started off with 2 complimentary glasses of Prosecco and was very attentive to us through our entire meal. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was terrific - food, service, ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Everything was terrific - food, service, ambience. We all enjoyed our leisurely lunch in an atmosphere where we could enjoy a conversation without having to literally yell at each to be heard. Thoroughly memorable birthday celebration for a dear friend. Thanks, Prima, can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We've been to Prima twice, and both time ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We've been to Prima twice, and both times the service was impeccable and the food was above and beyond delicious! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great wine list. The bathroom door is ri ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Great wine list. The bathroom door is right in the main room. Very uncomfortable - put up a screen! The other bathroom is back the kitchen. Both needed a paint job. Tierd decor.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

Great meal. Very quiet night thanks to t ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Great meal. Very quiet night thanks to the rain! Drafty table area, not sure why...

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Absolutely Terrific! We had the chefs m ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Absolutely Terrific! We had the chefs menu and we all loved it! Yum, wish I was coming there tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We reached about 20 mins earlier than ou ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We reached about 20 mins earlier than our reservation but were promptly and courteously shown to our table.

The bread they served when we sat down was not what I expected. It was cold, and we could have totally done without it. At a restaurant of this stature, the bread left a lot to be desired.

Our server suggested a nice Cabernet and even brought us a sample which we didn't like. She very nicely suggested we talk to their sommelier, which we did, and he suggested a very nice pinot that we loved a lot! My wife is vegetarian, but they had an ample selection. The steak was marvelous although I thought it was a (very) wee bit well done for medium but I take no points away for it, it was delicious, juicy, and the size of Manhattan!

In conclusion, this place is nice for a date night once in a while. Although the food is not mind-blowing, it does hold its own. The service we got was fantastic!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We were able to dine in the wine room wh ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We were able to dine in the wine room which made the evening special. It was quiet with only 5 tables The food is perfect along with the waitress being very responsive. I wish the corkage fee was less, $25.00 for his service was a bit much. Overall really top notch dining.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Still my favorite restaurant in Walnut C ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Still my favorite restaurant in Walnut Creek after all these years. Fantastic food & service. Plan to be there at least 2 hours for 4 courses enjoying every bite.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This dinner at Prima was the best ever. ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This dinner at Prima was the best ever. We have been Prima patrons for many years and the dining continues to delight with amazing food and wine. The staff is professional and makes sure that the experience is the best it can be. Bravo Prima!!

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent food and service,but......pric ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

excellent food and service,but......pricey. definite special occation spot.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent meal, especially the fois gras ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent meal, especially the fois gras.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

New Year's Eve

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

NYE special menu was unbelievably good! ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

NYE special menu was unbelievably good! We let Frank select some champagne to enjoy and it was excellent! Great evening! A normal experience at Prima whether it is NYE or just another Saturday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best meal we have had in the East Bay in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Best meal we have had in the East Bay in years ! Our expectations were surpassed as it was a busy night , New Year's Eve , each course of the meal was fantastic .

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve! Just lovely. Had a wond ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years Eve! Just lovely. Had a wonderful meal and evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We save Prima for special occasions and ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We save Prima for special occasions and were not disappointed. The food was delicious and perfectly cooked. One of our party of 4 had to ask for his soup after the rest of us had been served our salads, but that was the only lapse in the service. When the waiter could not answer our question about a second bottle of wine, the sommelier came to our table. His recommendation was very good.

My only real complaint is that the wines available on the wine list are expensive. It would be nice to have some more reasonably priced options.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, Prima excelled in every way. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always, Prima excelled in every way. Since we were celebrating the new home that our grandson and his wife just bought, owner Peter treated our table of four to delicate glasses of Prosecco for a toast. He followed that with the most delectable al dente tagliatelli with fresh mushrooms and garlic. I would have been satisfied with just that, but then the watercress and pear salad was crisp and delicious to the last sprig, and the lamb! Well the lamb was exactly the medium rare I had ordered, so tasty and so tender, omg, served with bright green broccolini. As if that all wasn't enough, we even had dessert! Although it was not on the menu, I requested an affogato with coffee and chocolate ice cream. To accompany this superb dinner, Frank suggested a beautiful red Tuscan wine which complimented our two lamb and two risotto main courses. And Amanda was the most perfect server--knowledgeable, friendly, helpful, and fun!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again another wonderful dining expe ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Once again another wonderful dining experience! Will be back...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prima is one of the top 5 best Restauran ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Prima is one of the top 5 best Restaurants in the east bay. Their wine selection is simply amazing. We eat here frequently and love it every time. Try it for yourself and you will love it too!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was mediocre , not worth the price. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was mediocre , not worth the price. Cesar salad was really good but entrees we overpriced for the quality. I was surprised since there were not to many options on the menu you would think the food would be great. We have been there a few times in the past and it was always really good, but it had been a couple years. It has gone down hill a little bit and is a little over rated. Service was great though so that was nice.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was excellent and the food wa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our server was excellent and the food was superior.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Still my favorite Italian restaurant in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Still my favorite Italian restaurant in Walnut Creek as it has been for the last 20 years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was acceptable, nothing special, an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Food was acceptable, nothing special, and the noise was awful, but that was because a man at the table next to us kept standing up, grabbing the server with his arm around her shoulder, singing at the top of his lungs. They needed an elementary school yard duty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Great food and ambiance. Just as it has ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Great food and ambiance. Just as it has been for the thirty seven years I've been going there! Or maybe it's forty?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. I liked the braised ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

The food was great. I liked the braised beef ravioli. The pistachio panna cotta and tiramisu were delicious, too. Great service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

My wife and I have been going to Prima f ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 21, 2016

My wife and I have been going to Prima for the past 10+ years. At one time, I would say it is/was the best restaurant in the East Bay.... No longer!!!!

We were at the restaurant to celebrate our wedding anniversary. Our greeting by the hostess was pleasant, she congratulated us on our anniversary and escorted us to our table. The flowers I pre-ordered we there and we were presented with a complimentary glass of champagne. WOW, what a great start.

Then came our waitresses. If you can think of a picture of sadness (during the holiday season), she was it. I can't say much of anything good here so I will stop. She did admit, after we completed our dinner that she was previously the sommelier at a local, upscale steakhouse. Yet she said nothing about the bottle of wine we had her open. A 99 vintage rated 97 by wine spectator . HUMMMMM

We ordered the tonno crude-which was so spicy we could hardly eat it. I had the risotto, al dente was taken to the limit. It was tough, and $28.00 to boot. My wife's papparadella was marginally better, and much less expensive. At this point we decided the best bet for desert was gelato. We finished and exited.

We were sorely disappointed that one of our "go-to" restaurants had declined so badly. It will be the last time we make our way to Walnut Creek to dine at Prima. So sad!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

I choose this restaurant which I'd never ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 19, 2016

I choose this restaurant which I'd never been to before to hold a meeting with a client of five years but we'd never met in person. My client drove in from Sacramento and my manager from San Mateo and me from San Francisco. The host was quite pleasant and accommodating as was our server whom never let us wait for our meals or beverages and he provided great service. The food was delicious. They both had the ahi tuna salad which was very colorful and delicious according to them and I enjoyed the roasted rosemary chicken.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, , Casual, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous dinner. The roasted chicken wit ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Fabulous dinner. The roasted chicken with squash and chanterelle mushrooms was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service were excellent!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food and service were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday. Excellent service.

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Birthday. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I have been patrons of Prima ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 17, 2016

My wife and I have been patrons of Prima for 23 years. We have had business lunches, family, birthday, anniversary and engagement dinners with up to 15 family members at the table as well as just my wife and I quietly sitting at Table 30 near the fireplace. Peter Chastain, his kitchen and wait staff have never disappointed. The menu is always changing with interesting new tastes and presentations as well as standard fare. The wine list is outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waitress was not very friendly...... ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 16, 2016

The waitress was not very friendly.......and short in her interest in me as a customer, she seemed only nterested in getting us in and out asap....I did not feel comfortable or appreciated as a customer....I have not dined at the restaurant for over 15 years, I have recently moved back to WC and will likely not dine at Prima again.....to bad the food was very good..

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

It was my wife's Birthday.........I info ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

It was my wife's Birthday.........I informed the restaurant of this in the process of making the reservation. As with all the restaurants we have enjoyed over the years ( we are 78) some consideration was indeed, I thought, forthcoming. Well, to say the least, we were extremely surprised and disappointed when we were informed by the waitress that it is policy that a candle would grace the dessert of our choice (not comped) BIG DEAL!!!!! Not to mention the menu is extremely limited and overpriced in my opinion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.