About PRIMA Ristorante

1522 North Main St.
Walnut Creek, CA 94596
View Larger Map

Guests from the Bay Area and the world over celebrate Italian sensibility in this stylish ristorante, with the comfort and sophistication reminiscent of Florence and Rome.
Dining at PRIMA is like taking a culinary journey throughout the regions of Italy. Executive Chef, Peter Chastain, changes the menu daily, using the freshest of nature's bounty - creating a dazzling mix of the finest ingredients, resulting in authentic Italian cuisine that is exquisitely pure and immaculately simple.
Of course, dining at PRIMA wouldn't be complete without a choice of over 1,600 wines from international "artisan" producers. With PRIMA VINI retail wine shop adjacent to the restaurant, guests may purchase their favorite vintage to take home, or special order wines through PRIMA VINI's wine clubs.
PRIMA is the perfect venue to celebrate a special occasion, linger over a sumptuous meal, or design a special dinner party (with customized menus and wines to match) Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Continental, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 2:30pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Lincoln

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(925) 935-7780

Website:
http://primawine.com/

Catering:
Prima can accommodate almost any catering needs.

Parking Details:
Valet parking is available for $11.00 with validation.

Public Transit:
Prima is a few short minutes from the Walnut Creek Bart Station.

Executive Chef:
Peter Chastain

Private Party Facilities:
PRIMA offers both private and semi-private parties.

Private Party Contact:
Lori Johnston: 9259357780x26

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit our website www.primawine.com/events.php to view a list of our up coming special events and Friday Night wine tastings.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRIMA Ristorante Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
East Bay
Italian
East Bay
Best Restaurants in Walnut Creek ›

special occasion (106)
fit for foodies (97)
notable wine list (88)
See All
romantic (65)
neighborhood gem (61)
great for lunch (35)
good for groups (34)
hot spot (12)
great for outdoor dining (12)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (5)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1421 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Remarkably excellent food. The wine lis ...

Dined 5 days ago

Remarkably excellent food. The wine list is superb. The sommelierr knows the wines very well and much to our amazement selected a wine more reasonably priced than we might have chosen and it paired beautifully with the meal. The tables are not jammed together like so many good restaurants these days so it is a wonderful restaurant where one can have a conversation. The restaurant was full at 7:00 p.m. but almost empty at 8:45 when we left. So good spot for later dining. We can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always memorable and service is always g ...

vip
Dined on June 23, 2016

Always memorable and service is always great. The wine list outstanding. .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a special place for me. I have t ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

This is a special place for me. I have taken my mom there for Mother's Day; my girl friend for any-old day; my business colleagues to smooze; and my Warriors buddies to commiserate. Yes, this place with its food, service, ambiance and wine list, met every challenge. First, it's about the food. The Italianesque cuisine is never over-fussy or over-saucy. Peter, the chef/owner, lets the ingredients and the cooking technique shine-without smothering the food in flashy sauces or baroque presentation. Any pasta dish is exquisite, and the meat, poultry, fish (steak, lamb, chicken, duck, fish, and pork on a rotating basis) are not after thoughts. These preparations are simple and honest, reflecting a true understanding of the food. The service is always special. The wait staff is professional, but with personality. The wine sommelier is there, if needed, but neither pushy nor a know it all pain in the a... The ambiance fits the cuisine: pleasing, but understated and not in competition with the food. Two thumbs up!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Hadn't been to Prima for a few years, bu ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Hadn't been to Prima for a few years, but they are as good or better than I remember. Food was outstanding, excellent service, wine list off the charts, and friendly people as always. Hostess remembered me from two years ago - awesome!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed our evening immensely! We wer ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We enjoyed our evening immensely! We were celebrating my daughters 21st birthday and wanted a lovely dinner with drinks. We could not have chosen better! We started with a Manhattan and a Persephone, both lovely. We split the salumi platter and grilled romaine salad, continued with linguine con vongole and cannelloni, again split the Tuscan pot roast and finished with tiramisu and cafe affogato. It was an incredible meal that was served beautifully over 2.5 hours by Ricky. We took our time and never felt rushed. We will be back for another special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just a delightful place for a wonderful ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Just a delightful place for a wonderful meal. Wait staff is what it should be for this type of establishment, proficient and enjoyable.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service5

We've enjoyed PRIMA before, so I booked ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We've enjoyed PRIMA before, so I booked a table for our anniversary. Unfortunately, we got an awful table right by the front door; I was cramped in a corner. While my husband enjoyed his entree, the "Tuscan style potroast," my New York strip was disappointing--just not a good cut of meat. We'll go back, but I'll be pickier about where we sit and what I order.

food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious and delightful! Great s ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Always delicious and delightful! Great salads, short rib raviolis, pizza - and fantastic service!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Dinner!!

Dined on June 11, 2016

It was an awesome dinner for my son's Birthday (over 21 years by the way...). Our waitress was superb - she listened to who we are, found ways to make our dinner even better, and overall made us feel very special. The food was excellent from start to finish, and we could not have enjoyed the time spent at PRIMA Ristorante any more than we did. Kudos to the whole team who obviously work together well to make a delightful evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the Halibut, which had been sautée ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

I had the Halibut, which had been sautéed with capers on top. Fava bean side. Two fairly generous cuts of fish. I typically order a fish disk when going to Prima, and have always been pleased. I little pricey, but very good quality. I like the al fresco dining when weather is nice.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

vip
Dined on June 5, 2016

We celebrated our 31st anniversary at Prima last weekend. Great service, great food as always and they even treated us to a glass of champagne!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and friendly staff. Noise level loud in

Dined on June 5, 2016

Noise level better as a few tables emptied out. Made us feel very special on our anniversary.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was delicious food, dessert, ...

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything was delicious food, dessert, have excellent range of wines. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Special Occasion

Dined on June 3, 2016

I wanted a special place to celebrate my wife finishing her 18th Chemo treatment there in Walnut Creek. I asked her nurses and everyone recommended Prima for that special occasion. I was specifically interested in a quiet, romantic location, with emphasis on the cuisine, service, and ambiance. On the day of our meal, I received a call from the general manager of Prima. She had read my Reservation Request and advised me that a portion of the message did not come through, for whatever reason. I went ahead and informed her of all I had requested and wanted this occasion to be a special one for my wife. Upon arriving at Prima, we were immediately greeted by a friendly server who, upon checking our reservations, took us to our table. It was a perfect location, away from the general crowd, near the fireplace, tucked away in a corner where we could be alone and enjoy the moment. The manager appeared shortly, introduced herself, and welcomed us to Prima. Our server was first class, and he saw to our every needs. There was no rush, and trust me, we took our time enjoying the entire event. The cuisine was fantastic; my wife had the risotto, I the ravioli. The wine list long and spectacular. Of course, we saved room for desert and my wife ordered the tiramasu while I had the lava cake. The entire evening was made special by Prima's manager seeing to our EVERY needs and requests, even went as far as presenting us with a complimentary glass of champagne for the event. If you come looking for a cheaply priced dinner meal, over the counter service and soda dispenser, then don't come here! However, if you want a 5 star restaurant, with the excellent service, cuisine, wine and ambiance, a location to impress your spouse/date/partner and make that person feel first class ... Prima is the place to go in Walnut Creek. Remember the old saying... you get what you paid for. And you will definitely get your money's worth at Prima. We can't wait to go there again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Always love Prima. As a former NYC resi ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Always love Prima. As a former NYC resident who loves Italian fine dining, this is high praise!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure to visit Prima

Dined on May 27, 2016

We've been going to Prima since around 1990, it's always a pleasure to dine at Prima. They have a great wine list and I like how the menu changes with the seasons. We will continue to visit Prima, and if you have a chance you should also go for one of the wine pairings as well.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb!

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

Lunch with an old friend was a delight at Prima! XLNT food, service, ambiance, easy location. Two very happy campers. Superb as always! RBMiller Walnut Creek

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

it took nearly 30 minutes to get bread! ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

it took nearly 30 minutes to get bread! When asked why so long we were told "you have to order your dinner before we will serve you bread"! Really, really!! Don't think we have ever been to a restaurant where this is a pre-requesite!!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

still wonderful...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I have been coming to Prima for 20 years and I somehow believe it keeps getting better. Service was spot on as I've grown accustomed to. Food has been consistently wonderful and inventive but this time I feel like I ordered an overly sweet pot roast. Thank goodness the short rib ravioli was on the menu as that always rocks my world. Well be back for sure.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

This restaurant has a very good reputati ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

This restaurant has a very good reputation, but unfortunately does not deliver. It's a bit tired and could use an injection of new life into the menu and the decor. If you are over 60 you might love it, though you'd find it pricey. At 40+ I was definitely the youngest one in the room. It's too bad, I wanted to love it. The wine list is the bright spot, as is the attached wine shop.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our favorite restaurant in Walnu ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

This is our favorite restaurant in Walnut Creek. The menu changes with the season, but there are always so many great choices. It is fine dining, but don't ignore the pizza. If you love Italian wine, Prima is a must. Mangia!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PRIMA e bellissimo !!!

Dined on May 12, 2016

Love Prima. Love Italy - have eaten in both frequently. Prima understands very well how to pair foods, be creative, offer healthy choices, food always fresh. It is a gastronomical marriage. Staff is lovely, always making certain clients well taken care of, very good knowledgable of food choices and very very professional. They are great!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5

The Service is superb with many of wine ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

The Service is superb with many of wine list. The food presentation is great. I have try the beef menu but the taste did not meet my expectation. Hope this will get better next time

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food

vip
Dined on May 9, 2016

I hadn't been to Prima in a while, and I enjoyed the food a great deal.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Impeccable service

Dined on May 8, 2016

The staff is AMAZING! They were very personable and accommodated my busy 8 year old son very well. While the food was a little pricey it was delicious. My son is a VERY picky eater and never eats his pizza crust;however, he ate every morsel of his thin crust pizza. It is certainly a great place for date night. We were able to sit near the fireplace😍 . Everyone there was like family. The most impressive aspect of this experience was the follow up phone call we received after my son reported his lost wallet. Fortunately the wallet was just misplaced. I greatly appreciated the follow up. They are the best at customer service!

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best food and wine

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

i've been dining here for well over 30 years; I think they are about to celebrate their 39th year, so it may be very close to that number. They are locked in on a food/service cycle that never fails to deliver. That, together with the wine store that adjoins, makes it a home run place to dine or shop for wine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mother's Day At Prima

Dined on May 8, 2016

First time back in a year or so and the food, service and experience were excellent!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and wine!!!

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

Great food and wine!!!

food5
ambience4
service5

The best restaurant in Walnut Creek. Cu ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The best restaurant in Walnut Creek. Cuisine, service, wines. Chef Peter is a treat.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A wonderful birthday meal.

vip
Dined on May 4, 2016

We had the prix fixe menu and could not be more pleased. The waitress and other wait staff were very attentive. She was well versed on all the menu items and how they are prepared. We sat next to the open windows looking out to the front walk and enjoyed the evening while we ate. All in all, a great evening topped off with a strawberry soup which we had never had. We will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Long time Walnut Creek Favorite

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Have been dining here for years. Excellent food and reliable. Staff well trained and give great service. Menu remains much the same over time so that those of us who live out of the area can find their favorites when they return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Prima

Dined on April 25, 2016

We have been going to Prima for special occasions for many years. The food is consistently very good and the service is noteworthy. Strongly recommend even though it is pricey

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Everything was outstanding! Our table was near the window, as requested. Our server was perfect! So helpful, always there when we needed him, helpful with the wine selection and with a specialized diet one in our party had. All of the food was perfectly prepared, so fresh, beautifully presented and so delicious! Highest recommendation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3

The ravioli was amazing and my husband e ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

The ravioli was amazing and my husband enjoyed his chicken entree. I enjoyed the portion sizes as well.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

20th Wedding Anniversary

Dined on April 21, 2016

I brought my wife here 22-years ago for our first date. Came back for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. Keeps getting better:)

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Special Place

Dined on April 19, 2016

For us, Prima is reserved for special occasions like anniversaries or birthdays. It shows the honoree you cared.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prima delivers again

Dined on April 18, 2016

We return to Prima because we knowxwe will get delicious food and wonderful service and we were not disappointed. The flight of Italian reds just added to our happiness. Chef Peter has put together a great dining experience and we will be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Worth the Indulgence

Dined on April 18, 2016

Yes, it's expensive, but worth the occasional indulgence! Service was friendly and excellent, and they pour an excellent cocktail as well as a somewhat generous glass of wine. The mista salad was okay; however, both the Neiman pork chop and pappardelle with wild board sauce entrees were excellent, as was dessert.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

real deal Italian food

Dined on April 8, 2016

Prima is real deal Italian food. It is all about the flavors and tastes and smells. No frou frou. THe garmugia soup is a meal in itself with fresh spring ingredients. Eat no or forever be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfetto

vip
Dined on April 7, 2016

Walnut Creek is blessed with many excellent restaurants. Prima stands out as one of the best. A great combination of welcoming, proficient staff front of house, and a kitchen that produces rich, authentic Italian cuisine.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.