Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

Preston's

4.4
333 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Great for Brunch
  • Sunday Lunch
  • Good for Groups
“The leading restaurant in the New River Valley, Preston’s specializes in farm-to-table dining featuring premium meats and sustainable fresh seafood choices. Preston’s local artisan cheese selection, signature dishes such as the Seared Atlantic Salmon, the locally famous House-smoked Trout Crostini, and - of course - sumptuous house made desserts are some of the reasons you want to visit. Preston’s is known also for its progressive Wine Spectator Award winning wine list including many fine Virginia labels, hand crafted cocktails, and attentive service . Various nightly promotions make Preston’s always a fun place to celebrate great food and drink.”


Preston's serves breakfast and luncheon buffets daily with a rotating menu providing a variety of delicious fare including healthful selections. Dinner features an a la carte menu with selections for the most discriminating palette. Preston's is also the place for the New River Valley's finest Sunday Brunch.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood, Wine Bar
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 9:30am, Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(540) 231-0120
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
David Oehring
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We provide two separate rooms to accommodate private dining requests. The smaller of the two rooms holds up to 28 guests and the other room holds 38. We have AV equipment for rent as well.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Bianca Norton: (540) 231-0115
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
All of our catering options are done through the banquet department of the hotel.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
University City Blvd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
We have plenty of parking available for guests.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
We have a few conveniently located public transit stops near the hotel. One on Prices Fork Road and the other on West Campus Drive. We also have a complimentary shuttle for our hotel guests.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live entertainment on Thursday's from 5pm-7pm and Sunday's from 11:00am-1:30pm.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We have special events from time to time in the restaurant. We have a monthly Wine Society dinner, a beer tasting dinner in the fall, holiday buffets in our ballroom, & much more.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 333 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.3
food
4.2
service
4.2
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
86% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We made a reservation in advance for Sunday Brunch, as we try to make it to Preston's for Brunch almost every time we visit our son at VT. He LOVES brunch at Preston's, and so do his teammates (Hokies XC and T&F), so we invited one young man with us, but after meeting two other young men at the Sunday Mass, we invited them, too. As the group just got larger, I called Preston's, and they were very accommodating to my request to increase the reservation from 4 people to 6. What a treat for these young men, as they love to eat well! It was a delightful brunch in the company of our son and his friends. The variety of food was great, as always, and service personnel was courteous and attentive. There were a few large groups of people in different tables, but it was not as (uncomfortably) noisy as it could be at some of the area restaurants. Here at Preston's you can easily hold a conversation without screaming. Definitely a gem in Blacksburg.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Great Sunday brunch with many choices, omelette made to order was excellent! Service was great and the atmosphere and live music made it wonderful. We had a group of 10 and stayed 2 hours without being rushed out.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Very well put together spot for Easter brunch. One person in our party was vegetarian and she found plenty to eat. Easter Sunday brunch with an Easter Bunny visiting tables. Very cute.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We drove from NOVA to be with two Hokies for Easter Brunch (buffet). There were multiple appetizers, main courses, salads, etc. Ham and leg of lamb were carved in front of diners. We were seated promptly. There was also a kids' station with kid favorites--many adults were sampling the mac n cheese, so maybe this should have been on the "big table" as well. The food was delicious and in more than adequate supply. Desserts were plentiful, varied, and tasty, including the chocolate fountain. This is not really a complaint, but I would have preferred to have seen plain potato so that I could have tried out the different gravies/au jus that accompanied the meats. I plan to have Easter brunch/dinner here next year!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Had to sit at a table set up in the lobby. Was cold and pretty noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We visited our Hokie for Easter weekend. My family and I really enjoyed the Easter brunch buffet. It was great!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We attended the Easter Brunch at the Inn at Virginia Tech and we totally enjoyed it! The food was terrific, from the omelets made to order to the cornbread to the sliced filet Mignon and the salmon. Everything about our Brunch was perfect. Service was excellent and music by Jared Stout was awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2018

Always a favorite when we come to visit our diaughter at VT. Very good wine list and the food is seasonal and delicious. We will return in May.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

Wonderful dinner- food was delicious, service wonderful. Will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Usually don’t like buffet style meals, but brunch at this place was very good. Everything tastes fresh and delicious. Good variety of lunch and breakfast items, including omelette station .. Good musicians adds to ambiance and good service makes it worth going there.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We always love having the opportunity to dine at Preston's while visiting our son at VT. He specially LOVES brunch at Preston's, so we make it a point to make reservations to treat him and ourselves at this special gem in Blacksburg (he even sends pics of his plates to his friends who also love this place!). The lovely ambiance gives us a quiet place to enjoy conversation with our child while tasting delicious meals. Brunch is really priced well: whether going for the breakfast items or the lunch items, there is a great variety and everything is very appetizing. Service is excellent, and the staff is very attentive. We love the quiet atmosphere which is hard to find in most restaurants in the Blacksburg area.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 23, 2018

My shrimp dish had little flavor and the shrimp were not cooked enough. Very disappointing.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Service was very slow. Waitress was not attentive to our needs. Needed to ask for water twice, and also twice for rolls. Dessert was served with NO silverware.
Food was bland & tasteless, could have used some spices. Dinner rolls were hard and crumbly.
Overall, the food was not worth the price. It was our first visit to Preston's and we were very disappointed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

We had a 'love'ly Valentines dinner at Preston's at the Inn at Virginia Tech. It started off a bit rocky - after waiting 15 minutes for our server to check in, we finally flagged down a server and found out that we had fallen 'between the cracks.' which was quickly remedied with complimentary beverages. As I surmised, one of the servers had gone home sick, and the flurry of activity was everyone else, including the manager, filling in on their busiest night of the year. The three-course dinner, complete with baby kale salad, palate-cleansing sorbet, perfectly cooked ribeye, tender monkfish, raspberry creme brulee and double chocolate cake was very tasty. Well played, Preston's!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Preston’s never disappoints. We dine there a few time per year and the fact that you can hold a conversation without speaking in a loud voice is especially nice. The menu has some unique items and the wait staff are always friendly, courteous and efficient. This would be a good place for a business meal when impressing the client is important.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Food was above expectations. Friendly service too, which made for a great evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 24, 2017

The meal was a pleasure. The food, service, and ambiance are always good. We enjoyed the Santa Claus picture.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 21, 2017

After going to the Inn several times for our Christmas work lunch we were disappointed this year. The food was mediocre, with only a couple dishes that were "good." The service was terrible. Being that our lunch fell on graduation weekend the staff was hurried and rude and literally trying to force us out as fast as possible. We had to ask for water and basic things.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 20, 2017

Please, always include salmon in the menu. Provide oil and vinegar for the salad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 14, 2017

A convenient location for business meetings for Virginia Tech employees. Good food, friendly service, and a hospitable environment.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

We enjoyed our meal.
The calamari appetizer was not so great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Great food, as always! Robyn is always a delight!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

The check-in part was extremely disorganized and needed more staff. Once seated our waitress was great! The buffets were kept replenished. Nice food selection for Thanksgiving buffet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

We enjoyed the excellent Thanksgiving buffet, good food and good service. Since my husband is on a mobility scooter, we particularly appreciated that the tables were not crowded together. Even with the large crowd, the flow was well managed and you did not have to wait in line. A very pleasant dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 23, 2017

My husband and my parents went to Preston's for the Thanksgiving buffet. It was wonderful! There were lots of choices, the food was replaced constantly and was fresh, and the wait staff did a great job. Overall, great experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 23, 2017

We ate Thanksgiving brunch buffet. Food was very good. The service was awful. We could not find anyone to bring us our check. We waited about 45-1 hour to pay. They were extremely short staffed.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 19, 2017

We were in town for the VT/Pitt game and decided to do brunch for my wife's birthday. We made reservations and were seated promptly, but it took quite a while for the server to come over to take our drink order. The meal itself was very good, and the server stopped by several times to pick up dirty plates and bring more coffee. Unfortunately, when we were finished, our server disappeared again. After about ten minutes of waiting, we asked a different server for our check and were on our way. We've visited numerous times before and have always been pleased, and we were happy this time as well, but the service definitely left something to be desired on this trip.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 19, 2017

Met some friends Sunday brunch - there was 3 stations for brunch… the food I ate was wonderful - eggs, biscuit, gravy, fruit, sausage… there was prime rib on the carved meat section and it looked perfect however had a spicy rub that made it too hot to eat… several of my companions enjoyed the wide variety of desserts as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 11, 2017

The food was good, the service very good. The only thing that it was not good both times we were there for breakfast on weekends was the bread. It was not fresh! and rather tasteless. The seletion was limited ( 3 items) but the main thing is that it was not fresh! and I do not mean that it had been baked hours ago, but rather days ago..

Tha smoked salmon was very good as were the omelets and the coffee! We will go again. Maybe we will bring our own bread:)

Thank you,
Maria

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 9, 2017

The food was excellent; as well as the atmosphere. We ate from the buffet for lunch. Robin was very attentive in anticipating our needs. Great experience.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Good ambience and great food. This is one of those places were, no matter what you order, you will not get a bad dish. the setting was quite so, there is no issues having a quite conversation. Sufficient lighting and reasonably fast service. We will come here again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 29, 2017

The choices available at the buffet were excellent. The food was delicious. Our server needed training.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 29, 2017

Food was great, and a great value for a comprehensive brunch. Staff was very friendly. Live music was perfect for the setting.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 25, 2017

This was a perfect setting for neighbors to get together one last time during the "summer season" in Blacksburg. With our busy lives, this was the perfect place for us to meet and enjoy good food and conversation.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Preston is the best restaurant of the six we've tried since traveling to Blacksburg. Set inside the Inn at Virginia Tech, the restaurant is spacious, quite and has a nice view to the outside which opens up to the setting sun. The Service level is attentive and wait staffed is dressed more formally in alignment with ambience. Patrons in the dining room wore both suits/dresses and dressed more causally. We went after a football game and did not feel out of place dressed more on the casual side. Overall the restaurant features a nice menu of decidedly American cuisine. Spinach salad and Calamari appetizers were prepared well, solid portions with fresh ingredients. Our dinner's Steaks and Seafood were cooked to correct temperature, served promptly and served with well prepared side dishes. A very nice dessert menu finished the meal as a compliment. Although on the more expensive side for Blacksburg it was worth the premium if your desirous a meal on the finer side. Highly recommend and will return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 16, 2017

My favorite restaurant and my family are enjoying the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Our third or fourth time at Preston's did not disappoint! Great dinner with our family. Excellent food, service and ambiance! Will be back again....over and over again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 1, 2017

Celebrated our son’s (who is at Tech) birthday with brunch. Excellent food and great service! Wish it was closer to our home in NoVA.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 23, 2017

We enjoyed an appetizer, salad, entrée and dessert, it was all absolutely wonderful, especially the buttered popcorn ice cream!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 4, 2017

Excellent meal! Excellent service too! We have also enjoyed live music on past visits (none the last visit).

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9