Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 0.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.21mi
  4. Distance: 1.23mi

About Preston's

“The leading restaurant in the New River Valley, Preston’s specializes in farm-to-table dining featuring premium meats and sustainable fresh seafood choices. Preston’s local artisan cheese selection, signature dishes such as the Seared Atlantic Salmon, the locally famous House-smoked Trout Crostini, and - of course - sumptuous house made desserts are some of the reasons you want to visit. Preston’s is known also for its progressive Wine Spectator Award winning wine list including many fine Virginia labels, hand crafted cocktails, and attentive service . Various nightly promotions make Preston’s always a fun place to celebrate great food and drink.”


Preston's serves breakfast and luncheon buffets daily with a rotating menu providing a variety of delicious fare including healthful selections. Dinner features an a la carte menu with selections for the most discriminating palette. Preston's is also the place for the New River Valley's finest Sunday Brunch.

901 Prices Fork Rd
Blacksburg, VA 24061
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 9:30am, Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
University City Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 231-0120

Website:
http://www.innatvirginiatech.com/dining_lounge/prestons_restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Thursday's from 5pm-7pm and Sunday's from 11:00am-1:30pm.

Catering:
All of our catering options are done through the banquet department of the hotel.

Parking Details:
We have plenty of parking available for guests.

Public Transit:
We have a few conveniently located public transit stops near the hotel. One on Prices Fork Road and the other on West Campus Drive. We also have a complimentary shuttle for our hotel guests.

Executive Chef:
David Oehring

Private Party Facilities:
We provide two separate rooms to accommodate private dining requests. The smaller of the two rooms holds up to 28 guests and the other room holds 38. We have AV equipment for rent as well.

Private Party Contact:
Bianca Norton: (540) 231-0115

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special events from time to time in the restaurant. We have a monthly Wine Society dinner, a beer tasting dinner in the fall, holiday buffets in our ballroom, & much more.

Preston's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Sunday Lunch (10)
Special Occasion (10)
Great for Brunch (10)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Business Meals (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Good for a Date (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Seasonal (3)
Authentic (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Romantic (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Historic (2)
Live Music (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fun (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The scallops were amazing!!! We enjoyed staying at the Inn and eating on site.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Absolutely wonderful service! Had the restaurant to ourselves, quick service in and out! Thanks so much!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Glad they were open on a holiday but wished they offered more than breakfast.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 28, 2017

The Sunday Buffet was not as good as usual in the last few years. The increased(?) price seems excessive. BH

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We go here every Mother's Day for brunch. Good food. Nice atmosphere

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

As always, Preston's never fails to please. It is always a treat to be received at Preston's and to participate in a meal event. Always well prepared and delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Authentic, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Compared to usual Sunday brunch the selection and quality of food was much lower. One would expect with such an increased price to see an improved menu and quality.

As Someone who frequents Prestons for lunch and brunch frequently, this is very disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Very overpriced Mother's Day brunch and relatively poor quality. Some dishes (e.g. Fish, hash browns and many others) were tasteless to inedible. They had lox, capers, onions, great right? No bagels...not sure what they thought you would do with it. For the price had higher expectations. To top the whole thing, a mandatory 18% service charge for a server that got a couple of cups of coffee. Really left a bad taste in my mouth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We went here for our son's graduation from Virginia Tech, and the restaurant did a bait and switch on us. They put everyone in a large conference center room with an overpriced buffet (about $40) of fairly lame food. Shame on Preston's! We had dined here before when we stayed at the Inn at Virginia Tech, and it was not great but fine. This was taking advantage of students and families when other places were booked. No wonder it was the only thing available in town!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Bad idea to have the grad even in the ball room. Ambiance was totally missing and promised music was not even plugged into the amp. Very disappointed they thought that would be a good idea for a graduation celebration

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Graduation dinner at Preston's - beware you may not know until the last minute that you will be sitting in a banquet room lacking ambiance instead of the beautiful historic resturant. We were excited to score a reservation at Preston's for my son's graduation we have never dined there before and we were looking forward to a elegant evening with good food and good service. However, the day before Preston's called to confirm our reservation and advised us that on Saturday, they were serving all guests in the Ball Room, buffet style for $37 per person. We were not happy with this arrangement but it was too late, all the other decent restaurants in town were booked. Upon arrival, The ball room was not the celebratory atmosphere we had hoped for (it was like a high school banquet). The food was good and filling, carved roast beef, chicken and starchy sides, and a chocolate fountain, but not worth $37 pp. Preston's could have at least turned down the lights and added more decor to create a better ambience and could have stepped up their game on the food, like including seafood, shrimp or or cooked to order items. And how about a free champagne toast to make up for not being able to order from the menu?? I would love to say we had great service but it was a Buffet and over priced for what was served. Wish we would have known sooner!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 12, 2017

We ate here to celebrate Graduation. The food was a terrible buffet. Tasted like cafeteria food. We liked the location of our table because we had a 9 month old with us and were in the overflow area by ourselves. We were able to fit her stroller comfortably and walk around with her . Just disappointed with the food .. you have to have good food!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Not a typical dining experience due to VT graduation weekend. The service was all buffet. The carving station of Roast Beef was decent. The selection of vegetables and sides were very limited and starchy. Dessert table had a nice assortment. The waitress was exceptional and friendly! The acoustic guitar was a nice touch but not heard if you were not sitting close by. Being a buffet you can only expect so much. Not a fair representation of what the restaurant usually has to offer. The young man at the host stand was very polite and professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

VT graduation buffet cannot compare to Preston's usual experience.
Grad weekend buffet was disappointing & expensive.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Staff was exceptional. Food was awesome. Disappointed there was no brunch option

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Not worth the $37 we paid for buffet. Dried up pasta and unripen fruits, and so on.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I appreciate the restaurant for being clean, good food, friendly host and servers. Variety of foods to choose from.

Tags: Healthy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was the best sunday brunch I've been to in a long time. The food was all extraordinary.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Reservation service worked well and seating was ready as requested. Staff was very attentive. There was a great variety of food selections in one price. Prepared to order omelets were an added plus. Out of state visitors were very impressed with the entire facility at The Inn at Virginia Tech.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I want to thank Woodrow for accommodating our last-minute change in the number of guests. I also want to thank the host for giving us a better table in the hallway. I forget his name, but he was very friendly and courteous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food was very good and trendy. Recommend for a date or special occassion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I was disappointed in the service during breakfast---got seated but no one came to the table and I had to get up and finally ask someone for coffee. The food was okay but not overwhelmingly good. I was given a discount from the server since I had to ask her for the coffee, which was nice. The restaurant is very clean and quiet, however, and very convenient if staying at the Inn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Our guests enjoyed the scallops and the ribeye steaks; both dishes were unremarkable but fine. The shrimp & grits dish was served with an unusual tomato broth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We recently chose Preston's to celebrate our granddaughter's 21st birthday at the Sunday brunch. While the food was exceptional, the service was poor. PLates piled up and weren't taken away. Our water pitchers were empty. No one came by to see if we wanted a second drink. Each time I had to leave the table and hunt down a waitress. We were a party of ten, all family and we would definitely recommend Preston's to others however the service must be improved.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our server was lovely. The food was not to our taste.....very strong pickled mushrooms on a very fatty ribeye , stacked on horseradish mashed potatoes! Not yummy. Ambiance was not there either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We were visiting Virginia Tech with our college senior. We decided to check out the local cuisine after a long day of tours. The restaurant was empty so we were seated promptly upon arrival. We had some delicious cocktails that were served quickly. We then placed our food order. It was after placing our order that the service went down hill. We felt that the waitress was not interested in serving us. We were served our salad and soup and we had to ask for rolls the kale and beer salad was perfectly dressed and small but totally satisfying. The beef and barley soup my husband ordered was also very tasty. Our entrees were also just as yummy. Shrimp and Grits, T-bone steak which was cooked just as asked and pork tenderloin which was very very rare. My mother asked for it to be cooked more which they did and after that she said it was very tasty. The only thing that could have been better was the potatoes with the steak were cold. We shared a creme brûlée and it was also tasty. All in all a pleasant night but the service definitely could have been more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Met our son for brunch. Enjoyed the atmosphere and the desert table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Our group of three colleagues had very different food preferences yet all of us were able to find food that we were extremely pleased with. The service was efficient 5 and super friendly and helpful. The prices were very reasonable. There also are nice interesting food and drink options during happy hour at the bar.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Live Music, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Exceptional expierience at Prestons! The venue, the waiters, and food all exceeded perfection. Would recommened for anyone looking for amazing food. 10/10

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Our party of 4 went to Christmas Eve special menu dinner. Service was prompt and courteous. Limited choices for this special occasion, but still had vegetarian, red or white meat selections. We had a variety. All good. I had the Preston's label Merlot that was exceptional for the price. Their wine list is several pages. Live acoustic guitar played throughout the evening.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Wonderful family dinner for Christmas Eve. Our annual dinner was great as usual. The staff and hostess were great. The food was delightful. Thank you for a great evening.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Monterrey)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very good variety and high quality food. Server was very nice and looking to see that everything was good.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our waitress was the best! We love eating here, you can have a conversation and the food is excellent!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Our office staff had lunch at Preston's during the Christmas season. It was a really special treat and we really enjoyed ourselves. The staff was friendly and service was wonderful. We also enjoyed the "hall of trees" which were decorated for the season by area businesses.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Cozy, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We came for a Friday night dinner. We are not local but were looking for a place that would not be noisy because we wanted to have conversation and not compete with TVs and a bustling bar scene. We were celebrating our son's successful defense of his PhD dissertation at VT that dat and had asked another couple to join us. Preston's was recommended by a local.
Service was just ok. Our server forgot a few things and had to be reminded. Three of us ordered steaks and they did not come as ordered; "medium rare" and "medium" were what we wanted but they were "medium well."
Salads, fish and pork choices were good. "Oysters casino" appetizer had disappointingly tiny oysters.
The atmosphere was quiet, which allowed us to enjoy the conversations we had been hoping for, but the food experience that night did not measure up to our expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We had the family specials - the filet was yummy & the vegetarian dish was great. I look forward to dining here again soon.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Always good food and extremely accommodating. Sunday Brunch is our last stop after spending time with out Cadet.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The food is consistently very good; service is always friendly and prompt. Ambience is good and conducive to conversation. A real gem and good value for the price.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always love this place, food and atmosphere is very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We had the Sunday brunch buffet for my daughter's birthday. The food was middle of the road, nothing out of the ordinary. We expected more since reviews touted this restaurant as higher end. The restaurant was not crowded but the service was awful. I'm not sure if our waiter was training but he took our drink order and came back about 15 minutes later wondering what we had ordered. We were over halfway through our meal before we received anything to drink besides water. He never checked back until he came back to deposit the bill on the table. He was certainly not overworked as there weren't many people dining that day and there were other servers as well. Very disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.