About Preston's

901 Prices Fork Rd
Blacksburg, VA 24061
View Larger Map

“The leading restaurant in the New River Valley, Preston’s specializes in farm-to-table dining featuring premium meats and sustainable fresh seafood choices. Preston’s local artisan cheese selection, signature dishes such as the Seared Atlantic Salmon, the locally famous House-smoked Trout Crostini, and - of course - sumptuous house made desserts are some of the reasons you want to visit. Preston’s is known also for its progressive Wine Spectator Award winning wine list including many fine Virginia labels, hand crafted cocktails, and attentive service . Various nightly promotions make Preston’s always a fun place to celebrate great food and drink.”


Preston's serves breakfast and luncheon buffets daily with a rotating menu providing a variety of delicious fare including healthful selections. Dinner features an a la carte menu with selections for the most discriminating palette. Preston's is also the place for the New River Valley's finest Sunday Brunch.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood, Wine Bar

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 7:00am - 9:30am, Saturday & Sunday: 7:00am - 10:00am;
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 1:30pm;
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 1:30pm;
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
University City Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(540) 231-0120

Website:
http://www.innatvirginiatech.com/dining_lounge/prestons_restaurant/

Entertainment:
Live entertainment on Thursday's from 5pm-7pm and Sunday's from 11:00am-1:30pm.

Catering:
All of our catering options are done through the banquet department of the hotel.

Parking Details:
We have plenty of parking available for guests.

Public Transit:
We have a few conveniently located public transit stops near the hotel. One on Prices Fork Road and the other on West Campus Drive. We also have a complimentary shuttle for our hotel guests.

Executive Chef:
David Oehring

Private Party Facilities:
We provide two separate rooms to accommodate private dining requests. The smaller of the two rooms holds up to 28 guests and the other room holds 38. We have AV equipment for rent as well.

Private Party Contact:
Bianca Norton: 5402310115x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have special events from time to time in the restaurant. We have a monthly Wine Society dinner, a beer tasting dinner in the fall, holiday buffets in our ballroom, & much more.

Preston's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

3.9

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Virginia
Great for Lunch
Virginia
Best Restaurants in Blacksburg ›

Great for Lunch (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
See All
Special Occasion (11)
Kid-friendly (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Romantic (3)
Scenic View (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Business Meals (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
229 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We treated ourselves to brunch on Drop O ...

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined 4 days ago

We treated ourselves to brunch on Drop Off day for my daughter. The food was excellent, but sadly they were understaffed and could not keep up with customer service requests. There is an abundance of fresh food selections. I was not able to sample the omelet bar because the chef was in the kitchen and heard yelling at the staff. There are 2 large buffet bars which I sampled heavily from including smoked salmon and fresh fruit that was fantastic. The bars were clean and well stocked.

Overall, a great value and we plan to return again. However, we hope for everyone's sake that the staffing problems will be resolved.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Family Style, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

The portions were pretty small for the p ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The portions were pretty small for the price and the food wasn't that impressive, especially with such a small menu.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

Service as usual was outstanding with th ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service as usual was outstanding with the servers covering for each other without hesitation. The food was good but I have had better at that lunch buffet! The bisque in particular was way too tart. Will be back I am sure!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

I had called two days before our reserva ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

I had called two days before our reservation to inform the restaurant that the occasion for our dining there was my wife's birthday. I always try to make the night of her birthday a VERY IMPORTANT celebration, and I wanted the staff to be aware and prepared. The restaurant was very quiet on a Tuesday night, as it was nearly empty. Ryan, our waiter, was courteous and impeccable.

I had asked that the chef prepare a special dessert for our celebratory dinner. It was totally unimaginative. The fruit was either not ripe or not fresh. The sorbet was icy and the portion very small. The entrée and vegetables were of fair proportions but over-priced for the quality and presentation.

This was a significant disappointment! We shall not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We enjoy the food and atmosphere. When ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We enjoy the food and atmosphere. When our son and his family are here we often go for brunch. He has twin sons age 17 and they really enjoy going there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As usual, the "breakfast" items are very ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As usual, the "breakfast" items are very tasty and can dominate the meal quickly. The baked salmon with its creamy sauce was superb. The rolls were not as good (hard) as in the past and the prime rib was not the best by the time we had a serving (after 1 pm.) but still a fine brunch with good bread pudding.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was not good. Service was poor. Ove ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was not good.

Service was poor.

Overal not pleasant for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value3

We had the graduation buffet. I was not ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

We had the graduation buffet. I was not super impressed with the quality of food. Our waiter basically hovered over our table the entire meal. The food was decent, just not great. Not somewhere I would go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value2

Great restaurant in Blacksburg! Given ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Great restaurant in Blacksburg! Given the weekend events they opened the ballroom and food was awesome. However, would have like to have known prior that the main dining room wouldn't be open. Felt more like a brunch instead of a special dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were in Blacksburg for our daughter's ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We were in Blacksburg for our daughter's graduation from Virginia Tech. This was to be a special celebratory dinner. I did not know that dinner was to be buffet style. First, I personally do not like buffets and would not have made the reservation had I known. We did not know until we walked into the ballroom that it was a buffet. Since this is our 3rd child graduating from VT we knew we would be unable to find anywhere else to eat on graduation night at 6pm. The food was good, however I was looking forward to the blackened salmon I had seen on the online menu and there was no salmon on the buffet. The bread pudding was outstanding. The service staff were very attentive. I did not see the inside of the restaurant since they set the tables up in the ballroom. Basically, I am unable to give you a review on the restaurant because we didn't really experience the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

We had a family dinner at Preston's afte ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

We had a family dinner at Preston's after our daughter's graduation from VT. They seated 9 of u comfortably, and the food and the wait staff was excellent. We couldn't have had a better experience. Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Upscale Comfort Food

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Preston's treated our family like their family. The opulent brunch featured up-scale comfort food for our entire group which included kids, teens, young adults and grandmas and grandpas.

We were in town for a graduation and had family members from out of state and two countries and required seating for 20. We felt blessed to have found such wonderful accommodations that was both elegant and kid-friendly.

The buffet was well-stocked and the wait staff was professional and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious! But priced inaccurately

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Visited Preston's for brunch on Mother's Day. Reservations made in advance online. Server was very slow to bring drinks and pick up used plates. Food and buffet service was excellent! Lots of variety, well stocked and delicious! Bill was served with a shock. Online price quoted $20.50 per adult. Actual price was $34.95 per adult because Mother's Day is considered a holiday brunch! 18% service was already included on the bill, as well.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Very good Mothers Day brunch. Service w ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Very good Mothers Day brunch. Service was mediocre. Bussed out own dishes (between trips to the buffet)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Mother's Day Brunch was fabulous! A bit ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mother's Day Brunch was fabulous! A bit pricey, but excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Best omelette I have had In a long time!

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Best omelette I have had In a long time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Reliable Food

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Unless there is something special, a game weekend or holiday, this is a very quiet place. The menu is somewhat limited, and more so if they are out of something, which was the case when we were last there. We had viewed the menu online before we went, but our first choice, the scallops, was sold out.

There were good wine choices by the glass. The server was just the right level of attentive, they didn't keep interrupting.

Food was prepared nicely, although perhaps the filet was more medium than medium rare. They were very accommodating on a vegetable substitution.

I only wish they had a couple of more choices, or a special or two, and perhaps the option for a side salad. I would not hesitate to return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent restaurant in Blacksburg

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The service was outstanding and the food combined some unique ingredients in a way that I had not experienced before. Everything was perfectly cooked and perfectly seasoned.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Valentine dinner

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had a lovely meal for Valentine day. The weather was turning bad so we were able to move up our reservation. The food was very good with generous portions. Presto so is a quiet place to have dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Brunch Menu

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great Brunch Menu. This was the perfect place to have delicious food and catch up with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Valentine's Day at Preston's

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food, service and entertainment were all exceptional! It was very nice for a special Valentine's dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sometimes very good

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on February 8, 2016

Last night an excellent gumbo, good ambience (quiet) and good service; next morning a great breakfast –scrambled eggs fluffy, bacon crispy, dry, potatoes just right. Second course I had smoked salmon with cream cheese on toast with capers & fine sliced onion. Lots of other choices but my favorites were excellent. So, Back for dinner, BUT this time good at best. Next morning’s breakfast spread was just as sumptuous as yesterday’s but things that should be warm were cold. A very disappointing inconsistency.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

A toast to the Champagne Brunch!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

I tried the champagne brunch with 3 other ladies. What an enjoyable experience! The service was friendly and efficient and the food, delectable. Many choices for various taste preferences.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

We had the family Christmas dinner and it was excellent especially for the price. The salads were especially good and the ice cream we had for dessert was some of the best I've ever eaten. I had the berry cheesecake ice cream which was fantastic. This was our first time eating at Preston's and we will certainly be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Food and Variety

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on December 14, 2015

There are always multiple choices of entrees and side dishes on the buffet along with two soups. The menu changes very day but the items are tasty and presented well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

We made the reservation for the Holiday Family Meal using the online reservations tool. The online reservations tool was easy to use. We were seated promptly upon arrival, service was impeccable and the food outstanding. Our server, Hailey, was incredible. Not only did she serve our meal but light conversation with her about the meal was very nice. The carolers from Blacksburg High School added to the warmth of the season and the trees and decorations in the outer hallway were breathtaking. We are planning on coming back this Saturday, December 19, again for dinner. This will certainly become a family tradition.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Breakfast buffet was incredible for the ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Breakfast buffet was incredible for the price: omelette station, two types of oatmeal, grits, smoked salmon, fruit and more. Cooked food was properly prepared and kept warm and moist. Other food was fresh. Good choice!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service! Crab cakes ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 31, 2015

Excellent food and service! Crab cakes are wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

food a little dry but atmosphere pleasant

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on October 30, 2015

I had trout, and some of it was a bit dry, and then I had bread pudding, and it was also dry. So that was disappointing. But our waitress was a great combination of attentive but not intrusive, and the restaurant was quiet, which facilitated our conversation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Best Brunch Ever!

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Took our VT Hokie and his girlfriend to brunch at Preston's the Sunday after the VT/Duke game; The food was wonderful

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food, should add waffle/pancake sta ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on October 25, 2015

Good food, should add waffle/pancake station.

Not enough breakfast offerings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Change in # of guests

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on October 5, 2015

We had a lot more people than we anticipated for our party and beyond our reservation, but the staff accommodated us and got us a large table with no fuss. We greatly appreciate that.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Dinner at Preston's

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 19, 2015

Jed was great helping up select a wine, he gave us a taste of a few before we settled on the one. Ridgley provided great service in Preston's, she was knowledgeable about the menu and very pleasant. The menu was varied; our food was presented well and was very good and fresh. The desserts topped off the evening perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

OK but service was lacking at breakfast.

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Went for Sunday breakfast (not brunch). Even though it buffet it was a difficult to get the attention of a waiter and found out after almost being finished that there was an omelet bar. Waited forever for the bill and was finally told we had to leave because brunch was beginning. Told the hostess we had wanted to leave a long time ago but had no check. Food was OK but nothing special. They do need to up their service however.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Great restaurant

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

My fiancée and I came here to celebrate our engagement with breakfast; the food was outstanding and the price reasonable for the quality of food. Great find!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Virginia Tech Treat

vip
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 3, 2015

Preston's is located in the Inn at Virginia Tech Hotel on campus. The building and interior are very impressive and the restaurant is large and comfortable. They also have private rooms for dining. The food was excellent. I had the mushroom & asparagus soup and shrimp & grits with asparagus on the side. I also had a nice German Reisling, Dr Loosen. The total tab was $37, which I thought was very reasonable considering the wine and the quality of the food. The service was also very good, prompt and attentive without being irritating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

GreAt brunch with my girls!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Really enjoyed the Sunday brunch with my girl friends and we decided to do brunch every other Sunday here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We were very disappointed; bad experience.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

The outside of the restaurant was under construction so the restaurant had the curtains drawn, where on prior visits there are lovely views of outside - 1st disappointment; the waitress bad-mouthed the Virginia single glass white wine offering (not a good thing to do in Virginia), and if, in fact, it wasn't a good choice, why didn't they have other options available? She didn't tell us that two of the limited menu items weren't available (the soup of the day and the crab cakes) until we asked about them - and we had an early reservation, so it's not like they could have already run out; her pat answer to everything asked of her was "of course", but it sounded patronizing and not solicitous. The food overall was not good; it tasted as though it had been sitting for a while. The chicken I had was tough and rubbery. We were very disappointed and won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Good food, service leaves something to be desired

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

Prestons had only a few guests in the main dining area on the evening I was there although there was a wedding party in a separate room. The food was very good, well prepared and presented. The thing that made the visit less that optimal was a simple matter of refilling a glass of tea. I had to ask three times for a refill on my drink, and I left a fair amount of time (5 - 10 minutes) between requests. When the waitress did bring more tea she brought a pitcher, but it was the wrong kind - I was drinking sweet tea and clearly asked for that as the waitress acknowledged my request correctly. However, the pitcher ended up being unsweetened tea. At this point I gave up, said nevermind and just drank water. Okay, fine - but I would have expected that at least they would drop the tea from the bill - nope. This was not a huge deal, but considering the prices, which are a bit steep, I would expect more care in the customer service area.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Nice selection

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

Great variety of foods and in portions small enough that you can try everything you would like.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.