About PRESS

587 St. Helena Hwy (Hwy 29)
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

PRESS is the perfect wine country dining experience. PRESS features prime dry-aged beef, whole roasted chicken, grass fed Sonoma lamb, and fresh fish prepared on a custom wood burning grill and rotisserie. The modern farmhouse style blends with the neighboring vineyards to create a truly modern steakhouse. An award winning largely Napa Valley wine list completes the PRESS experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM



Closed Tuesday



Bar Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Inglewood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-0550

Website:
http://www.pressnapavalley.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Trevor Kunk

Private Party Facilities:
PRESS has 3 wonderful dining locations for private parties and events. The first is our Edge Hill room which accommodates 6 to 12 guests. This space is intimate and ideal for smaller parties. The second is our beautiful, outdoor patio. The patio is a perfect setting for a Napa Valley event with views of the sunset over the western hills and vineyards. The partially covered patio offers an outdoor fireplace, patio lounge with firepits and comfy couches, and optional heating. We would be happy to assist in arranging dinners for groups of 10 to 32 guests on our patio. Lastly, our Wine Cellar can be privately reserved for 10 to 20 guests. There is AV equipment available and a view of our collection of all Napa Valley Wines. Private party menus are custom, can include your favorite dishes from the regular menu, and dietary restrictions are easily accommodated. Please email or call Megan Chin for more information on our private spaces and assistance with creating your menu.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Chin: 7079670550x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For events at PRESS, we offer dishes featured on our seasonal, regular dinner menu and assistance with planning the necessary details of special events. We also offer specialty cocktails, passed appetizers, and fresh seafood platters for guests to enjoy as part of their dining experience. Lastly, we can assist in pre-selecting wines from our notable all Napa Valley wine list. Although PRESS is only open for dinner, we can arrange for private day time events at the restaurant. Please email our Events Manager, Megan Chin at Megan.Chin@pressnapavalley.com or call 707.967.0550 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

PRESS, St. Helena, CA
PRESS, St. Helena, CA
PRESS, St. Helena, CA
PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Bread Basket - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Grilled New York Strip - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Arugula Salad - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Truffle Mac and Cheese - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Veggie Sampler - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Kobe Tartare with Fried Oysters - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Bacon Butter - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Poched Egg  - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Spicy Kimchi Tuna Soup - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Ricotta - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Chocolate Souffle - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Filet Mignon - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
roasted cauliflower - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
gin and tonic - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Cucumber Royale - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Small Seafood Platter - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Wine Older Than Me! - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Assorted Raw Oysters - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
tomato and mozzerella - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Pumpkin Whoopie Pies - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Mixed Grill - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Striped Bass - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Chocolate Cake - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Tartare of Hiramasa - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Loaded Mini Baked Potatoes - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Ribeye - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Brussel sprouts - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Spinach - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Press Negroni - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Duck Confit Salad - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Dessert - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Prime Tenderloin Steak Tartare - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Tartare Of Hiramasa, Mango, Cucumber And Red Chilies - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Vegetable Lasagna - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Kobe hot dog - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Chicken - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Tomahawk Steak - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Maitake Mushrooms - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Whole Rotisserie Chicken For 2 - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Grilled Mushrooms And Sauteed Spinach - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
mixed seafood platter - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Sautéed Spinach - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
French Fries - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Padron Peppers - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Seafood Platter - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Cowboy Ribeye - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Arietta 2004 - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Petit Filet Mignon With Truffle Butter - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Maine Lobster & Crab Cake - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Sour Cream Potato Puree - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Pimms Cup - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Truffled Mac and Cheese - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Porkchop - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Manhattan - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Tartare Of Kampachi - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Bacon Sampler - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Creamy Spinach - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Blood Orange Margarita - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Mixed Meat Platter For 2 - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Florida Stone Crab Claws - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Cowboy Steak - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Wild Striped Bass - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Short Rib Poutine - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Hibiscus Cooler - PRESS, St. Helena, CA
Steak - PRESS, St. Helena, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

PRESS will be serving a $125/person prix fixe menu with choices made up of signature dishes and holiday specials. There will also be an optional $85/person wine pairing. We will have an extended evening with our latest reservation at 10 PM and celebrations continuing through midnight. Cheers!

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRESS Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Food
Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

Special Occasion (54)
Notable Wine List (54)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Good for a Date (29)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Romantic (29)
Local Ingredients (25)
Fireplace (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Worth the Drive (18)
Hot Spot (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Good for Groups (17)
Modern Decor (16)
Fun (14)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (10)
Business Meals (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Casual (9)
People Watching (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Authentic (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Scenic View (6)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My girlfriend had a wonderful experience ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined a day ago

My girlfriend had a wonderful experience at PRESS! We had a gift certificate for a tasting menu but had forgotten it at the hotel. After our initial panic the general manager came and talked to us to see if he could help. He was great he was able to look it up in the system and honor it after getting all of the relevant information. He went over the top to help us and we are so grateful!

Our chefs tasting menu was amazing, six savory courses followed by a wonderful dessert. Some highlights included a tasting of fresh vegetables from the garden presented beautifully with sauces; fried oysters (yum!); sausage cassoulet; and one of the best steaks I have had in a while. We didn't know what was coming course after course but it was such a fun surprise tasting everything.

We had eaten at a prestigious Michelin starred restaurant in SF earlier in the week and PRESS was much better! The service, food, and experience was amazing. We will definitely be returning our next trip up to Napa (hopefully soon)!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Understated, relaxed, exquisite food; a ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Understated, relaxed, exquisite food; a perfect dining experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time to Napa Valley. I wanted to g ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

First time to Napa Valley. I wanted to go someplace special for my girlfriend's birthday.

Press was outstanding. Great filet and a great pork chop.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Wine corkage fee policy after 2nd bottle ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wine corkage fee policy after 2nd bottle of wine should be taken out! We spend $478 and could not open our 3 rd bottle, so had to buy the less expensive wines in their list! We are locals so we have lots of memberships around and it is ridiculous that if I brought my Bosché 2004 and could not enjoy the celebration as I wished because of this policy. Our server Charles was amazing and he worked his awesome personality with us, just an asset to the restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our 3rd visit to Press and found it to b ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our 3rd visit to Press and found it to be just as wonderful as the previous times. Everything about the meal was superb. We will be there again!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good, consistent and good value p ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 22, 2016

Always good, consistent and good value premium steakhouse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding waiter, very good food. Res ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Outstanding waiter, very good food. Reserve for special occasion because it is expensive even for the Napa Valley. We went with a couple to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary

Mike

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best restaurant we've visited in Napa... ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Best restaurant we've visited in Napa... possibly one of the best houses I've ever been to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite Restaurant in NAPA a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is my favorite Restaurant in NAPA and NORCAL hands down. I love everything about it. The space, the bar, the fire pit, the food, the waiters, the hostesses, the bartenders the wine list, the cocktails, the steaks, the seafood platter. EVERYTHING and trust me you will too. I've visited PRESS over the past 6 years probably once a weekend. I'm a huge foodie and wine snob. IPRESS has the 2nd largest wine list to FRENCH LAUNDRY. Whether you enjoy to dine at a table or a bar, If you prefer chic restaurants which present an impressionable experience I urge you to book NOW. As a former NY'er who has dined in many, if not all, 5 star restaurants in NY and the SF Bay, PRESS is my favorite. Do not hesitate to reserve a table here. - JOHN F

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely amazing. We orde ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food was absolutely amazing. We ordered the bison to share amongst 4 people and it was perfect!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Press is a must on any trip to Napa. We ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Press is a must on any trip to Napa. We have recommended to friends who are travelling there because we think its one of the best restaurants.in St Helena

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a wonderful birthday celebration ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had a wonderful birthday celebration for my boyfriend - just the two of us, Monday night. Our waiter, Tyler - was absolutely outstanding - giving us history of the space, discussing the decorum, engaging us with the options for dinner, and overall was extremely engaged and attentive. My boyfriend mentioned that this was one of the best dining experiences of his life. He had the ribeye and I had the hangar steak - amazing! Go! Have a great time - it's a beautiful space, great staff, and amazing food!

Tags: Comfort Food, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Bar Seating, Modern Decor, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time that we have been to press an ...

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Third time that we have been to press and it has always been outstanding. Their service is impeccable yet done in a relaxed atmosphere. The steaks are perfectly grilled and the wine list is astonishing.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We look forward to dinner at Press every ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We look forward to dinner at Press everytime we are in town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Grear wine list from napa & the roast ch ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 15, 2016

Grear wine list from napa & the roast chicken is amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service. The food was outstanding ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Great service. The food was outstanding. We shared several dishes which were all great. Will certainly eat here again when in town.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very disappointed in the entree ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We were very disappointed in the entree and sides portion of our meal. The seafood platter and salads were lovely and tasty. The sides of the potato cake and cream spinach were unimpressive and lacked flavor. They seemed like a after thought. The steaks were tough and we have had better steaks for less than half the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2

Beautiful and delicious restaurant. Exp ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Beautiful and delicious restaurant. Expensive but worth the splurge if you are celebrating something.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Very good restaurant. Our third visit an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very good restaurant. Our third visit and the food and service was wonderful. I had a ground beef steak covered in mushrooms. Teriffic. A "must do" in the Napa Valley.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food selection especially the ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Excellent food selection especially the steaks. Perfectly done to your preference. The sommelier Gillie was particularly helpful in bringing a consensus in our choice for white wine. Server Jeff was spot on.

Dinner experience that night was momentous. Will be back again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best filets we've ever eaten, accompanie ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Best filets we've ever eaten, accompanied by great service, that was not rushed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

PRESS is extraordinary. The Chef Sharon ...

 
 (Caribbean)·Dined on November 5, 2016

PRESS is extraordinary. The Chef Sharon Li, is outstanding. We have a wonderful night with a lots of appetizers and a feast of meats.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Didn't order the tasting menu because it ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Didn't order the tasting menu because it was mostly white wine. Fortunately, it led me to order the pork chop, which was so simple, but the best chop I've ever had. Thick, yet perfectly cooked and juicy. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food very well done, plus a wo ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Excellent food very well done, plus a wonderful atmosphere and great service

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance is wonderful and we were lu ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 3, 2016

The ambiance is wonderful and we were lucky enough to get a seat close to the fireplace...our server Loretta was very welcoming and pleasant..the food was cooked perfectly and with great timing between courses. We didn't lack for anything as all of our needs were anticipated by the staff. Can't wait to visit again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, although pricey. Servic ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Excellent food, although pricey. Service was outstanding. Sommelier was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Tyler served us and he was knowledgeable ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Tyler served us and he was knowledgeable and personable which enhanced our dining experience. My wife is vegetarian and their options were outstanding. The lobster-crad cale appetizer was delicious and the waygu flat iron one of the best steaks ever. A ten.....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I live in southern Califo ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on October 30, 2016

My husband and I live in southern California. We visit Napa very often and in the last two weeks we've been to dinner at Press twice. We love it, it's lively has great food and the service is always good! The sommeliers are always helpful, knowledgeable and fun to listen to. This past weekend we brought our daughter and son in law for their one year anniversary. (They were married in Napa) He said it was one of the best meals he's had. Our family started with the seafood tower, the oysters were amazing. My husband and I had the bone in filet and my daughter and husband shared the La Bouef. We just loved it all!! Don't forget to get the chocolate soufflé, its awesome. Thanks we will be back over and over again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice dining experience.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Very nice dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic, great breakfast - the fresh ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Fantastic, great breakfast - the fresh made maple sausage was off the charts. The bana bread fantastic

Tags: Casual, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The could not do anything right.. ordere ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

The could not do anything right.. ordered sirloin AU poivre.. they just brought a side of brown stuff.. no pepper in the preparation. The steak was not cooked to order. $61 wasted.. this is not a steak house..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2

Had the prefix. Chicken was outstanding ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Had the prefix. Chicken was outstanding but had nothing with it. Mac and Cheese was great but over priced. The big letdown was the meatballs . Could not even eat them and I would think for that price, someone would have noticed. We sat at the bar and the staff was very nice. I had a great experience last time. Big let down this time. With so many choices in Napa , I don't think I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

There were 8 of us in our party and we p ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 24, 2016

There were 8 of us in our party and we picked a bad day to eat at Press. Those of us who got steaks (more than half of the group) were extremely disappointed. We ordered them medium to medium-rare. What we got was seriously charred black lumps that were cold and bloody inside. They kept taking them back to cook them more, but that made the overpowering burnt taste worse than it already was. They apologized profusely and did their best at service recovery with not charging for 2 of the steaks and providing dessert for the table. This was appreciated but did not make up for the fact that the steaks were just not tended to on the grill which heavily soured our overall experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

The food was excellent. We ended up sitt ...

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The food was excellent. We ended up sitting outside which turned out to be nice. The server's personality could have been improved but otherwise was attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was impeccable ... superb wine l ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Service was impeccable ... superb wine list

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We love Press and come every time we are ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We love Press and come every time we are in wine country. Last night we had the worst waitress ever and it really made an impact on our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Awesome dinner and wine in a beautiful p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Awesome dinner and wine in a beautiful place with excellent service!Would highly recommend it when you are staying in St.Helena.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ for everything about ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Amazing! ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️ for everything about it. It has now ranked in amongst the top three restaurants i have ever experienced. The food was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There's no real x-factor to warrant the ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 20, 2016

There's no real x-factor to warrant the hype and price. Steak and roasted chicken were delicious as were the sides. Ambiance is chic and dramatic. If what you value most is a high profile dining experience in Napa, then this is the place to go. The digital wine list was very helpful. Navigating a lis that big manually would have been burdensome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Excelente lugar, comida, servicio, decor ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Excelente lugar, comida, servicio, decoracion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.