About PRESS

587 St. Helena Hwy (Hwy 29)
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

PRESS is the perfect wine country dining experience. PRESS features prime dry-aged beef, whole roasted chicken, grass fed Sonoma lamb, and fresh fish prepared on a custom wood burning grill and rotisserie. The modern farmhouse style blends with the neighboring vineyards to create a truly modern steakhouse. An award winning largely Napa Valley wine list completes the PRESS experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM



Closed Tuesday



Bar Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Inglewood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-0550

Website:
http://www.pressnapavalley.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Trevor Kunk

Private Party Facilities:
PRESS has 3 wonderful dining locations for private parties and events. The first is our Edge Hill room which accommodates 6 to 12 guests. This space is intimate and ideal for smaller parties. The second is our beautiful, outdoor patio. The patio is a perfect setting for a Napa Valley event with views of the sunset over the western hills and vineyards. The partially covered patio offers an outdoor fireplace, patio lounge with firepits and comfy couches, and optional heating. We would be happy to assist in arranging dinners for groups of 10 to 32 guests on our patio. Lastly, our Wine Cellar can be privately reserved for 10 to 20 guests. There is AV equipment available and a view of our collection of all Napa Valley Wines. Private party menus are custom, can include your favorite dishes from the regular menu, and dietary restrictions are easily accommodated. Please email or call Megan Chin for more information on our private spaces and assistance with creating your menu.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Chin: 7079670550x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For events at PRESS, we offer dishes featured on our seasonal, regular dinner menu and assistance with planning the necessary details of special events. We also offer specialty cocktails, passed appetizers, and fresh seafood platters for guests to enjoy as part of their dining experience. Lastly, we can assist in pre-selecting wines from our notable all Napa Valley wine list. Although PRESS is only open for dinner, we can arrange for private day time events at the restaurant. Please email our Events Manager, Megan Chin at Megan.Chin@pressnapavalley.com or call 707.967.0550 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRESS Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
San Francisco Bay Area
Steakhouse
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
1 More
Notable Wine List
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

special occasion (84)
notable wine list (82)
fit for foodies (71)
See All
romantic (46)
good for groups (36)
great for outdoor dining (26)
hot spot (25)
vibrant bar scene (14)
neighborhood gem (14)
scenic view (12)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful wine list

Dined 4 days ago

If you are in the Napa Valley there should be a restaurant dedicated to the wines of that region. Press fills that need beautifully. First the dinner service was friendly and insightful and the food tasty and well prepared. I was happy with both the dinner service and the food. The sommelier was quite knowledgable and helped me select and excellent Napa cab to go with dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Grear time and great wine

Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful dinner. While the menu is somewhat limited for food, the wine list is very extensive. The customer service and ambiance was very nice as well. We would done here again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Steak had to go back asked for medium it ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Steak had to go back asked for medium it was raw and creamed spinach had no cream. Overall not worth the price!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Foods are nice and have calistalistic. I ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Foods are nice and have calistalistic. It is value to visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!!! Food was excellent. My third ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Awesome!!! Food was excellent. My third Time there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great great experience food was amazing ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great great experience food was amazing from start to finish. Tyler did an amazing job presenting the food in a professional confident manner.

food5
ambience4
service5

The steak tartare and crab/lobster cakes ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The steak tartare and crab/lobster cakes are to die for!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time there and we found ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

It was our first time there and we found the food to be "excellent" and the service was top notch. We will most likely go there again when we return to the Napa area. We will also recommend it to our family and friends to go there as well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A WOW

Dined on May 7, 2016

Rarely are we wowed by a restaurant. PRESS is a Wow. From exceptional steaks, flawless wine recommendations (with lots of local winery surprises), to some of the yummiest side dishes and starters ever, we absolutely loved our PRESS dining experience ... the 2 hours flew by.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

In a region which has an over abundant s ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

In a region which has an over abundant supply of quality restaurants Press certainly stands out. While best known for their steaks the diversity of the menu is inviting for a variety of palates and the quality is outstanding across the board. The staff is as professional as you would anticipate for a restaurant of this caliber and very knowledgeable. The dining room has an inviting feel as you first enter although the noise level is consistent with the strong vibe. That and the price point make it less than ideal for a first date but a great option for that special occasion romantic dinner with a long time companion.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance, superb steaks, great sal ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Great ambiance, superb steaks, great salad, and EXPENSIVE

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! As always!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent! As always!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally Great

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

From the time you enter this great dining Establishment the service is fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A phenomenal experience for the filet, b ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

A phenomenal experience for the filet, but other choices such as a beet-strawberry gazpacho were outstanding as well. Intimate dining on the patio in the back and enjoyed after dinner drinks by the fire.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top Steak House

Dined on May 2, 2016

As usual the food and service were super. Server especially attentive. Wine list is the best.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Most expensive dinner in a long time

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

We regularly dine out at top notch establishments on the East Coast but the prices at Press surprised us. A $57 steak that was average at best with gristle running through it and plated with a small pile of frisée was not what we expected. Everything is ala carte and the wine list is expensive so the total price runs up quickly. Definitely not worth the price. Would not go back. There are many other wonderful restaurants in Napa and Sonoma.

food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Press was OK.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything was done well. Service was top-notch. Just wasn't blown away by the food - not like steakhouses of NYC and Chicago . Press is mostly about steak. Also tried the salmon and that was a big miss. Slighty funny taste, small portion that was overdone for $42. Avoid that one. With wine $160/pp. I guess these are the prices in the Valley.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive to the details

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Was in St. Helena for a business meeting and Press was down the street from hotel. They were attentive from the moment I walked in the door. The food was outstanding, had the jalapeno cheeseburger from the bar menu, couldn't eat 1/2 of the amount of food given. The wine by the glass was superb. I recommended to colleagues who dined later in the week and they also had a fabulous time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Possibly the best dinner ever

Dined on April 18, 2016

This was perhaps the best dining out experience we've every had. The tenderloin/bernaise were incredible. The chopped salad and the truffle mac and cheese were off-the-charts. And the chocolate souffle was superb. They have an incredible wine list; even their more modestly priced wines were tremendous. And the service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service. Outstanding food. Gre ...

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Excellent service. Outstanding food. Great Californian wine list. Perfect way to end a day in the valley.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant. Friendly and atten ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Beautiful restaurant. Friendly and attentive staff. Quick food service. Delicious food.

food5
ambience5
service5

Unbelievable filet mignon- this is one o ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Unbelievable filet mignon- this is one of our most favorite restaurants. Fantastic food and service is consistent here.

food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Too Salty!

Dined on April 9, 2016

Went here with my wife on a recent trip to Napa. We ordered the small seafood platter as an appetizer. It was very good and came with a couple of different sauces. Next I ordered a chop salad and it was exceptional. Then we get to the main course. We split a Rib Eye. The steak was plenty big for the two of us and it was cooked perfectly. However, there was so much salt on the steak that we didn't finish it. We brought it up to the waitress and she said that she would pass the information along.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food-Great atmosphere

Dined on April 7, 2016

This was my first visit and if I am in the area I will definitely return. We wanted to change our table to a different location and waited less than 5 minutes and it was perfect. The waitress was friendly and had great recommendations. Everyone loved their dishes.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Dinner!

Dined on April 5, 2016

The food and service are spot on. Eveyrthing was perfectly cooked and the wine list is incredible. Prices are high but it is worth.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best meals we had in Napa. We ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

One of the best meals we had in Napa. We go there yearly and it is always a great meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect night at Press

Dined on April 2, 2016

Enjoyed a great Friday night at Press. The wine that was recommended was a perfect pairing to the meal. The appetizers were all so good. You could order everything on the menu and it all compliments each other. The fresh vegetable to the bacon sampler, I can't wait to go back. This is a great place for all occasions.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We came for my husbands birthday. Best s ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

We came for my husbands birthday. Best steaks we have found yet. Nice atmosphere, very friendly and professional wait staff.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

More for the wine then the food

Dined on March 26, 2016

My husband and I went for his birthday and our server was Awesome he had a great personality and was very knowledgeable. We order the steak for 2 and the cauliflower.. the cauliflower was AMAZINGLY delicious. the steak was not. it tasted like gas, it had such a thick coat of char on it that it was hard to eat...we had to ask for steak sauce to cover it just to eat it. We didn't say anything because the server was great and the other food was good but I would not go back for their steak, maybe just drinks and apps. it was reasonably priced but it did not live up to its Hype

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My favorite steak house in Napa.

Dined on March 25, 2016

Always extra yummy and consistent! Love the outdoor patio.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just amazing, again.

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

Still my favorite restaurant in the Napa Valley, warm service, great food, great wine, cocktails, etc. A great American restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner at the Press

Dined on March 19, 2016

Service was awesome and food was perfect! Everyone went out of their way to make sure it was a wonderful dining experience without being overwhelming. Wine list is over the top. A great stop after touring a few wineries in the beautiful Napa Valley. I highly recommend the experience...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience

Dined on March 18, 2016

I dined at Press during a recent visit to Napa for my birthday. It was a memorable dining experience. The wine list was nothing short of amazing...and long! We actually ordered a cocktail to drink while reviewing it. Our sommelier was young, but very, very knowledgable, and very kind. We enjoyed speaking with her. The food was spectacular. I don't have any complaints other then my steak was cooked a tad over the requested medium rare. Though it was still a superb meal. Our waitress was engaging and kind, and very detailed about the dishes. The restaurant wasn't very busy while we were there so the noise level was not an issue. We were able to carry on conversations just fine, with the ability to hear one another. The ambiance was delightful and very modern. It was colder outside when we were there but we did visit the patio to see what it was like. With all the fire pits and heaters, it is probably an excellent locale to sit and enjoy cocktails. Overall, the experience was top notch, and the pricing, while may be considered expensive, was on par for the dining experience. We'll definitely dine here again.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Special occasion dining & wine list

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Press is excellent if you're looking for a steak house experience. The food was excellent, the atmosphere very sophisticated, and the service knowledgeable and professional. This place is expensive however. As in most steak houses, everything is a la carte. I would suggest that for two people, one salad to share and then one side to share would be quite enough. We each had a salad and then got two sides and it was really too much food for us. For entrees we had the pork chop and the filet, both were very good. Note that the wine list is mostly library wines from Napa, great wines, but the list could benefit from a few more bottles in perhaps the $150-$200 range. Most we're quite a bit higher. Don't get me wrong...we thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Press..it's just very expensive so know that going in.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service3

Enjoyed the filet. Service could have be ...

Dined on March 14, 2016

Enjoyed the filet. Service could have been better with our waiter. Had to flag him down to get service. Forgot to put the sauce in our togo bag, even though he said he would.

food5
ambience5
service5

Exquisite meal and outstanding service

Dined on March 13, 2016

Exquisite meal and outstanding service

food4
ambience5
service2
value4

Excellent Steaks

vip
Dined on March 10, 2016

We had a very nice dinner at PRESS- our first time - food was excellent, steaks cooked to perfection and the sides were memorable. The service was not. Either our waiter had too many times when we arrived, or we did not order a bottle of wine, or something. It was probably more than 35 minutes after we sat down before our order was taken. We had to ask for water three times (yes we realize you have to ask in California) and our waiter sadly was not interested in our table. The food was very good and we would return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great on a (very) rainy night

Dined on March 6, 2016

We visited PRESS on a dark and stormy night and it was just terrific! The atmosphere was perfect for the evening's monsoon, and the food matched up perfectly. Our steaks were the best we have had in a long time and cooked to perfect temperature. And do not pass on the chocolate souffle, it is decadent and wonderful simultaneously. Corkage fee ($30) is a bit high as are the wine prices, so be aware of this. However, all in all, a wonderful experience, we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Lucky Us

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Living in the Napa Valley one can become quite jaded about restaurant quality and service considering the many premium choices available. PRESS should be put on the top of the list. Everything is top quality and executed very professionally. The food preparation is exactly as you ordered. And the service is so outstanding. The staff really make a person feel welcome and could not be more attentive.

Tags: notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Good but not good enough for the price

Dined on March 4, 2016

We had two steaks, a shared salad, a shared mac and cheese dish plus two glasses of wine. The total was $240. Recommend Rutherford grill or Market instead! At Market ask to be seated at one of "Alfies" tables. He's been there many years and is great at what he does.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.