About PRESS

587 St. Helena Hwy (Hwy 29)
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

PRESS is the perfect wine country dining experience. PRESS features prime dry-aged beef, whole roasted chicken, grass fed Sonoma lamb, and fresh fish prepared on a custom wood burning grill and rotisserie. The modern farmhouse style blends with the neighboring vineyards to create a truly modern steakhouse. An award winning largely Napa Valley wine list completes the PRESS experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM



Closed Tuesday



Bar Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Inglewood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-0550

Website:
http://www.pressnapavalley.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Trevor Kunk

Private Party Facilities:
PRESS has 3 wonderful dining locations for private parties and events. The first is our Edge Hill room which accommodates 6 to 12 guests. This space is intimate and ideal for smaller parties. The second is our beautiful, outdoor patio. The patio is a perfect setting for a Napa Valley event with views of the sunset over the western hills and vineyards. The partially covered patio offers an outdoor fireplace, patio lounge with firepits and comfy couches, and optional heating. We would be happy to assist in arranging dinners for groups of 10 to 32 guests on our patio. Lastly, our Wine Cellar can be privately reserved for 10 to 20 guests. There is AV equipment available and a view of our collection of all Napa Valley Wines. Private party menus are custom, can include your favorite dishes from the regular menu, and dietary restrictions are easily accommodated. Please email or call Megan Chin for more information on our private spaces and assistance with creating your menu.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Chin: 7079670550x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For events at PRESS, we offer dishes featured on our seasonal, regular dinner menu and assistance with planning the necessary details of special events. We also offer specialty cocktails, passed appetizers, and fresh seafood platters for guests to enjoy as part of their dining experience. Lastly, we can assist in pre-selecting wines from our notable all Napa Valley wine list. Although PRESS is only open for dinner, we can arrange for private day time events at the restaurant. Please email our Events Manager, Megan Chin at Megan.Chin@pressnapavalley.com or call 707.967.0550 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

PRESS
PRESS
PRESS
PRESS
Truffle Mac and Cheese
Bread Basket
Grilled New York Strip
Arugula Salad
Chocolate Souffle
Veggie Sampler
Kobe Tartare with Fried Oysters
Bacon Butter
Poched Egg
Spicy Kimchi Tuna Soup
Ricotta
Filet Mignon
roasted cauliflower
gin and tonic
Cucumber Royale
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Small Seafood Platter
Wine Older Than Me!
Assorted Raw Oysters
tomato and mozzerella
Pumpkin Whoopie Pies
Mixed Grill
Striped Bass
Chocolate Cake
Tartare of Hiramasa
Loaded Mini Baked Potatoes
Brussel sprouts
Spinach
Press Negroni
Duck Confit Salad
Dessert
Ribeye
Prime Tenderloin Steak Tartare
Tartare Of Hiramasa, Mango, Cucumber And Red Chilies
Vegetable Lasagna
Kobe hot dog
Chicken
Tomahawk Steak
Maitake Mushrooms
Whole Rotisserie Chicken For 2
Grilled Mushrooms And Sauteed Spinach
mixed seafood platter
Sautéed Spinach
French Fries
Padron Peppers
Seafood Platter
Cowboy Ribeye
Arietta 2004
Petit Filet Mignon With Truffle Butter
Maine Lobster & Crab Cake
Creamy Spinach
Blood Orange Margarita
Mixed Meat Platter For 2
Florida Stone Crab Claws
Sour Cream Potato Puree
Pimms Cup
Truffled Mac and Cheese
Porkchop
Manhattan
Tartare Of Kampachi
Bacon Sampler
Cowboy Steak
Wild Striped Bass
Short Rib Poutine
Hibiscus Cooler
Steak

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRESS Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Food
Wine Country
2 More
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

Notable Wine List (84)
Special Occasion (82)
Fit for Foodies (78)
See All
Romantic (48)
Good for Groups (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Hot Spot (32)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Scenic View (9)
Great for Brunch (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Great for Lunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1357 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Not a sour note. Our steaks were tender ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 5 days ago

Not a sour note. Our steaks were tender and well prepared - exactly to our requests. Unusual side dishes, also beatifully prepared. Attentive and gracious staff. Good wine and spirits list. Attractive atmosphere. Happy staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food, wine, and ambience. Dr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

excellent food, wine, and ambience. Drilling down: great crab/lobster cake, excellent chicken for those who eschew chewing beef (would be nice to see some really lean red meat such as bison or venison on the menu), and best chocolate souffle we have enjoyed since Paris! Excellent waiter who had some terrific wine suggestions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous evening from start to finish!! ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous evening from start to finish!! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner with my husband while vacatio ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had dinner with my husband while vacationing in Napa Valley. Seasonal fresh tomato salad was outstanding, the preparation got out of the way , and let the tomatoes shine. Our steaks were great and well cooked, sides were also terrific. The only misstep for the evening was the strawberry shortcake which was inedible: biscuit dry and over-leavened, too much whipped cream and not enough berries.

Despite the dessert, would not hesitate to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The dining experience was great. Always ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The dining experience was great. Always a pleasure to done at PRESS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect except server see ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything was perfect except server seemed to have an off night or he was new. We have been multiple time and it has always been amazing....

We will be back again....

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Staff was very accommodating. Food and d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Staff was very accommodating. Food and drinks were amazing. Corkage fee was a little high in my opinion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Napa valley restaurant!! Great ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Favorite Napa valley restaurant!! Great date night spot. Wonderful steaks, great service and excellent wines- all around wonderful place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely experience at Press to celebrate ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Lovely experience at Press to celebrate our honeymoon in Napa valley. Food was outstanding and service was great. The steaks were cooked perfect and the sides were very savory.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant. One of our best m ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very nice restaurant. One of our best meals while in Napa Valley. Service was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We had an amazing dinner at Press las ni ...

vip
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

We had an amazing dinner at Press las night. The food was incredible and our server Greg was very good. The restaurant is beautiful, service is impeccable and the food is superb. Highly recommend if you are in Napa.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious steak! Truffle Mac and cheese ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious steak! Truffle Mac and cheese enough for four. Attentive waiter and staff.. Water glass never empty!!! Great spot !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a wonderful restaurant where we enj ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Just a wonderful restaurant where we enjoyed fabulous steaks and shared beautiful salads.

Would recommend Press to anyone looking for a great dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food, beautiful place. Our ser ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Amazing food, beautiful place. Our server was so pleasant and truly made the evening complete! We will definitely return.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This may be the best meal I have ever ha ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This may be the best meal I have ever had! The steak was absolutely incredible and the sides were delightful. Wine was excellent and we had a lovely time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Patio was a great place to enjoy the end ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Patio was a great place to enjoy the end of the day. Service was top notch. Never found ourselves wanting or waiting for anything. I had the Ribeye. She had the filet, and we shared the potato cake and creamed spinach. All was cooked to perfection!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

every course was excellent, superb serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

every course was excellent, superb service,

best steak I've ever had

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steak was great all was great the wa ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The steak was great all was great the wait staff was a little slow.

Really was a great meal best in Napa.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

Excellent food. Great wine list... serv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Excellent food. Great wine list... servicewas superb.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food amazing. Had a waitress that acted ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Food amazing. Had a waitress that acted like she didn't want to be there at all. Was scattered and sloppy. Way over poured our wine glasses. Acted put out when we wanted it decanted (wine)

Had heard food good but service poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

Incredible 'see and be seen' location wi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Incredible 'see and be seen' location with an impeccable old Napa cab section of an extensive (and well crafted) list. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for a top-notch Napa experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was nice. The sommelier was ver ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

The food was nice. The sommelier was very cold- she did not enhance the wine experience one bit. Very arrogant and no pressure whatsoever for wine. She sort of spoiled the meal with her attitude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

This is the second time my husband and I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This is the second time my husband and I have been to Press for dinner and we thoroughly enjoyed it both times. Though a steak house you can find something else just as scrumptious on the menu. The bar scene is vibrant but low key so you can have a conversation with a date. The drinks are delicious and the service is impeccable. Truly worth the experience if you like fine dining.

I would suggest you look at the website before going there. They also have a very pretty patio with heaters but check when making reservations as it may be booked for a private event.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful experience. The servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

What a wonderful experience. The service, food, and wine were outstanding. A restaurant you shouldn't miss when visiting Saint Helena, Ca.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with impeccable service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great restaurant with impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hard to remember a better ribeye... 5 st ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Hard to remember a better ribeye... 5 star service... great ambiance... great place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our favorite meal in Napa! The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was our favorite meal in Napa! The service and food were outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in Napa Valley! ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Napa Valley! Stephen provided fabulous service, as always. Enjoyed some new, seasonal items on the menu. Filet mignon was perfect. Side dishes were abundant and delicious. Already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular dinner with spectacular serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Spectacular dinner with spectacular service. I love the feel of the restaurant

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A great atmosphere & stunning surrounds ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A great atmosphere & stunning surrounds

Really liked the range of innovative food options

Staff recommended we order way too much food and it was delivered very quickly, rather than allowing g us to savor the great variety of flavors separately.

There was an issue with our confirmed reservation but perhaps that's part of being new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always one of the best dining options in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always one of the best dining options in the Valley. Very consistent. The service is attentive and friendly but not intrusive. Though we visit only a few times per year we see many of the same helpful staff. Whether ordering fish, fowl or filet the preparations are always delicious, well seasoned and often unique. The wine list is hard to beat for both variety and quality. Pro tip: the bar area is inviting though rarely crowded having its own menu consisting of both the full menu and some tasty sandwich options unavailable in the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfectly cooked (medium rare ) New York ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Perfectly cooked (medium rare ) New York strip steak. Great service. Beautiful restaurant with a nice wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in the V ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in the Valley. Excellent staff and a wonderful inviting environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the absolute best restaurant in t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

One of the absolute best restaurant in the Wine Country! Beautiful interior, beautiful patio. Great, great, great service. The Chef puts out a Wonderful menu. BRAVO!! BRAVO!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best food we have had in awhile. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The best food we have had in awhile. The steaks were perfect, and my husband likes a rare steak. This is only time in 20 years I have seen it done perfect. The truffle mac and cheese, and the sweet corn were absolute winners. The caesar salad was a bit strong on the garlic, but still very tasty. Bacon Sampler app was great, but would be better with a sheet telling us what we are eating. The ending chocolate souffle and chocolate cake was to die for. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in st Helena. Wonderful atmos ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food in st Helena. Wonderful atmosphere and quite a nice bar. It's a great place to have a date or a family special occasion dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best restaurant in Napa...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Simply the best restaurant in Napa...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite restaurants to dine ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants to dine at. The food is always tasty and consistent and the staff is great. We've come here several times and will continue to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Despite the fact that we changed our res ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Despite the fact that we changed our reservation time the night before, our reservation was honored the moment we arrived. Service was professional and friendly, and I especially commend our waiter, who had to deal with some special menu requests. We went for steak and were not disappointed. Having been raised in South America, I am not a big fan of American cuts and the cult of corn-fed beef. The grass-fed bavette steak was everything a real steak should be and was perfectly cooked.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal to cap off our wedding we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Delicious meal to cap off our wedding week! Steak was amazing and we brought a bottle of Phelps Insignia ($30 corkage) and the waiter treated us to some ice cream since we had just gotten married. Food was outstanding as was ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.