About PRESS

587 St. Helena Hwy (Hwy 29)
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

PRESS is the perfect wine country dining experience. PRESS features prime dry-aged beef, whole roasted chicken, grass fed Sonoma lamb, and fresh fish prepared on a custom wood burning grill and rotisserie. The modern farmhouse style blends with the neighboring vineyards to create a truly modern steakhouse. An award winning largely Napa Valley wine list completes the PRESS experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM



Closed Tuesday



Bar Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Inglewood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-0550

Website:
http://www.pressnapavalley.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Trevor Kunk

Private Party Facilities:
PRESS has 3 wonderful dining locations for private parties and events. The first is our Edge Hill room which accommodates 6 to 12 guests. This space is intimate and ideal for smaller parties. The second is our beautiful, outdoor patio. The patio is a perfect setting for a Napa Valley event with views of the sunset over the western hills and vineyards. The partially covered patio offers an outdoor fireplace, patio lounge with firepits and comfy couches, and optional heating. We would be happy to assist in arranging dinners for groups of 10 to 32 guests on our patio. Lastly, our Wine Cellar can be privately reserved for 10 to 20 guests. There is AV equipment available and a view of our collection of all Napa Valley Wines. Private party menus are custom, can include your favorite dishes from the regular menu, and dietary restrictions are easily accommodated. Please email or call Megan Chin for more information on our private spaces and assistance with creating your menu.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Chin: 7079670550x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For events at PRESS, we offer dishes featured on our seasonal, regular dinner menu and assistance with planning the necessary details of special events. We also offer specialty cocktails, passed appetizers, and fresh seafood platters for guests to enjoy as part of their dining experience. Lastly, we can assist in pre-selecting wines from our notable all Napa Valley wine list. Although PRESS is only open for dinner, we can arrange for private day time events at the restaurant. Please email our Events Manager, Megan Chin at Megan.Chin@pressnapavalley.com or call 707.967.0550 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

PRESS
PRESS
PRESS
PRESS
Truffle Mac and Cheese
Bread Basket
Grilled New York Strip
Arugula Salad
Chocolate Souffle
Veggie Sampler
Kobe Tartare with Fried Oysters
Bacon Butter
Poched Egg
Spicy Kimchi Tuna Soup
Ricotta
Filet Mignon
roasted cauliflower
gin and tonic
Cucumber Royale
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Wine Older Than Me!
Small Seafood Platter
Pumpkin Whoopie Pies
Assorted Raw Oysters
tomato and mozzerella
Striped Bass
Chocolate Cake
Mixed Grill
Tartare of Hiramasa
Loaded Mini Baked Potatoes
Duck Confit Salad
Brussel sprouts
Dessert
Spinach
Press Negroni
Ribeye
Prime Tenderloin Steak Tartare
Tartare Of Hiramasa, Mango, Cucumber And Red Chilies
Vegetable Lasagna
Kobe hot dog
Tomahawk Steak
Chicken
mixed seafood platter
Grilled Mushrooms And Sauteed Spinach
Maitake Mushrooms
Arietta 2004
Padron Peppers
Sautéed Spinach
Seafood Platter
French Fries
Whole Rotisserie Chicken For 2
Cowboy Ribeye
Petit Filet Mignon With Truffle Butter
Maine Lobster & Crab Cake
Blood Orange Margarita
Mixed Meat Platter For 2
Florida Stone Crab Claws
Creamy Spinach
Tartare Of Kampachi
Truffled Mac and Cheese
Bacon Sampler
Pimms Cup
Porkchop
Manhattan
Sour Cream Potato Puree
Cowboy Steak
Wild Striped Bass
Hibiscus Cooler
Short Rib Poutine
Steak

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRESS Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
San Francisco Bay Area
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

special occasion (77)
notable wine list (74)
fit for foodies (64)
See All
romantic (41)
good for groups (28)
great for outdoor dining (27)
hot spot (22)
neighborhood gem (13)
scenic view (13)
vibrant bar scene (11)
great for lunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
late-night find (2)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While many people may have a difficult t ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

While many people may have a difficult time viewing steak as an exciting dinner item, when compared to fancy chef-created food, my wife and I were amazed and in complete agreement that the ribeye and New York strip steaks were the best steaks we had ever eaten.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Everyone in the area was watching the fi ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Everyone in the area was watching the final NBA game, so we had an unusually quiet dinner. The quality of the food was excellent, but my expensive entree of Copper River Salmon was no more than 4 ounces, cooked. Perhaps they should have used a dessert plate, so the portion would not have looked so small. Meanwhile the waiter proceeded to serve the wine so quickly that the bottle was empty before the entrees arrived. No agenda there to jack up the bill with extra bottles of wine? No, surely not. Well my experience at Press this time was unsettling, but our guests enjoyed themselves. I will end on that positive note.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Very good steak, no argument there. How ...

Dined 7 days ago

Very good steak, no argument there. However, the portions are huge (no steak less than 8 oz on the menu, which I think is unrealistic, in this day and age). But we were willing to accept that the steak might be a bit big. However, everything being a la carte, there are side dishes to be ordered, which are also HUGE. The potato cake was delicious but could have served 3 easily (the server did tell us it was enough for 2). Needless to say, having another side of vegetables (spinach - also very good -) became just way, way too much. My companion was enticed into ordering the chocolate souffle, but for this, the server gave no indication that it could (read: should) be enough for 2. It was also huge. The result is that we finished only about half of our food and had to simply send the leftovers away because we were travelling (as I'm sure many guests are) so couldn't take a doggy bag. I hate wasting good food (not to mention $$!).

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

As usual Press was fantastic. Most nota ...

Dined 7 days ago

As usual Press was fantastic. Most notable from this experience was the knowledge of the sommelier. We told her what we wanted and her recommendations were spot on.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

PRESS had been recommended to us and did ...

Dined 7 days ago

PRESS had been recommended to us and did not disappoint! It was top notch and exceeded our expectations in every way. We will be back next time we are in the Napa Valley.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

All about the service and recommendation ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

All about the service and recommendations by Charles - a most fabulous waiter. And the delicious, fresh menu doesn't hurt, either. A MUST when in Napa Valley.

food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular dinner, but bring your own b ...

vip
Dined on June 16, 2016

Spectacular dinner, but bring your own bottle of wine. The wine list is ridiculously priced.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was excellent. Woul ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4

Lobster crab cake was great! Loved the g ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Lobster crab cake was great! Loved the grass fed steak as well. The chocolate souffle is a must!! We sat near the fire place, very romantic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent all around! Food, service, amb ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent all around! Food, service, ambiance. Will definitely return

food5
ambience5
service5

Everything on the menu is mouth-watering ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything on the menu is mouth-watering fantastic! Tyler was our server and did a phenomenal job. Attention to detail was very evident in their dishes and the care they took to provide an amazing experience. This was the restaurant we visited on the last night of our stay in Napa Valley and while all the restaurants were fantastic, this one by far was our favorite!

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My wife and I chose the PRESS to celebra ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I chose the PRESS to celebrate my 50th birthday. A very good selection! We both selected the tasting menu for - in my opinion - a very reasonable price; in addition I took the recommended wine pairings. Apart from two courses the menu was outstanding. The swordfish was overseasoned and the hangar steak seasoning was so rich that a side dish like mashed potatoes would have been a good idea as compensation for this richness - even for a tastting menu. Furthermore the selection of the marshmallow as main part of the dessert is worth to discuss. It is really brave to provide such a dessert and indeed for me it was fantastic, but not everyone likes marshmallows - e.g. my wife - and I would not integrate it in a menu. However this is complaining on very high level. In total the menu was somewhere between very good and outstanding. Now the wine pairings. All selected wines were very, very good. And indeed in most cases the wine pairing idea was outstanding. However the selection of an Equipo Navazos as pairing for the corn & mushroom bisque is debatable. This pairing works only if you do not take a sip directly after the bisque. Due to the flavoring you have to wait approx. 15 seconds before taking the sip. In that case the heat of the sherry merges wonderfully with the disappearing flavors of the bisque. This is clearly the job of the sommelier to explain to the patron. But again: Complaining on high level. We were the first time at the PRESS. And we will definitely come back. The PRESS people in total were very friendly and helpful. Perhaps the sommelier could be a little bit more responding to the customer. Especially due to the approach of the PRESS as a Californian wine sustainer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4

I return to the Press after a two year h ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

I return to the Press after a two year hiatus. The service was very good, but the food was mediocre for the expensive price point. Not the food experience I had few years back. There's plenty of great places to eat in Yountville for half the price. Sorry I was expecting to be impressed, but tasting quality just fell short on just about every dish we ordered.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of my Faves!

Dined on May 29, 2016

PRESS never disappoints. It is my go-to special occasion restaurant and we've been dining there for several years now. The food is amazing and the wine list is formidable (and offers an abundance of variety). It is perfect for a romantic evening out (request a one of the tables in the back under the clock) and arrive just as dusk is upon you. Did I mention that the food is amazing? I'm partial to the petite filet and truffle mac n' cheese, but I can honestly say I've never been disappointed with my selections (or those of my guests). PRESS is the place you go when you need the evening to be perfect and you don't to worry about the food, the service, or the ambiance. It is a quality dining experience that will have you planning your next reservation on your way out (hmmm, surely we can always find something to celebrate?).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Dinner, Superb Win List

Dined on May 28, 2016

This is our 2nd trip to PRESS. The first time we sat outside and it was a great ambiance, wonderful service and outstanding food. This time we sat inside and enjoyed our meal every bit as much. My only quibble is the service both times seemed to lack a sense of humor, professional to be sure but seemed a bit self-important. This is really a nice spot. Do yourself a favor and enjoy something from their awesome wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Bar service was slow but the table servi ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Bar service was slow but the table service was attentive.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was great as was the food

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was great as was the food

food5
ambience5
service4

Appetizers, steaks and sides were excell ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Appetizers, steaks and sides were excellent. Local IPA was awesome. Finished our Napa Trip with the best meal before heading to Vegas. Be back soon!!!

food2
ambience4
service2

Sadly disappointed. Chicken was dry. Ser ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

Sadly disappointed. Chicken was dry. Service was rude.

food5
ambience5
service5

What a nice steakhouse! We sat on a love ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

What a nice steakhouse! We sat on a lovely table at the terrace and enjoyed a beautifully cooked ribeye. just loved the dining experience

food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite meal in Napa. The food was ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Our favorite meal in Napa. The food was incredible, service was perfection! Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful wine list

Dined on May 23, 2016

If you are in the Napa Valley there should be a restaurant dedicated to the wines of that region. Press fills that need beautifully. First the dinner service was friendly and insightful and the food tasty and well prepared. I was happy with both the dinner service and the food. The sommelier was quite knowledgable and helped me select and excellent Napa cab to go with dinner

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Grear time and great wine

Dined on May 21, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. While the menu is somewhat limited for food, the wine list is very extensive. The customer service and ambiance was very nice as well. We would done here again!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Steak had to go back asked for medium it ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Steak had to go back asked for medium it was raw and creamed spinach had no cream. Overall not worth the price!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Foods are nice and have calistalistic. I ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Foods are nice and have calistalistic. It is value to visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!!! Food was excellent. My third ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

Awesome!!! Food was excellent. My third Time there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great great experience food was amazing ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great great experience food was amazing from start to finish. Tyler did an amazing job presenting the food in a professional confident manner.

food5
ambience4
service5

The steak tartare and crab/lobster cakes ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

The steak tartare and crab/lobster cakes are to die for!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time there and we found ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

It was our first time there and we found the food to be "excellent" and the service was top notch. We will most likely go there again when we return to the Napa area. We will also recommend it to our family and friends to go there as well.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A WOW

Dined on May 7, 2016

Rarely are we wowed by a restaurant. PRESS is a Wow. From exceptional steaks, flawless wine recommendations (with lots of local winery surprises), to some of the yummiest side dishes and starters ever, we absolutely loved our PRESS dining experience ... the 2 hours flew by.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

In a region which has an over abundant s ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

In a region which has an over abundant supply of quality restaurants Press certainly stands out. While best known for their steaks the diversity of the menu is inviting for a variety of palates and the quality is outstanding across the board. The staff is as professional as you would anticipate for a restaurant of this caliber and very knowledgeable. The dining room has an inviting feel as you first enter although the noise level is consistent with the strong vibe. That and the price point make it less than ideal for a first date but a great option for that special occasion romantic dinner with a long time companion.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great ambiance, superb steaks, great sal ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Great ambiance, superb steaks, great salad, and EXPENSIVE

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent! As always!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent! As always!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Totally Great

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

From the time you enter this great dining Establishment the service is fantastic

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A phenomenal experience for the filet, b ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

A phenomenal experience for the filet, but other choices such as a beet-strawberry gazpacho were outstanding as well. Intimate dining on the patio in the back and enjoyed after dinner drinks by the fire.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top Steak House

Dined on May 2, 2016

As usual the food and service were super. Server especially attentive. Wine list is the best.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Most expensive dinner in a long time

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

We regularly dine out at top notch establishments on the East Coast but the prices at Press surprised us. A $57 steak that was average at best with gristle running through it and plated with a small pile of frisée was not what we expected. Everything is ala carte and the wine list is expensive so the total price runs up quickly. Definitely not worth the price. Would not go back. There are many other wonderful restaurants in Napa and Sonoma.

food3
ambience4
service5
value1

Press was OK.

Dined on April 22, 2016

Everything was done well. Service was top-notch. Just wasn't blown away by the food - not like steakhouses of NYC and Chicago . Press is mostly about steak. Also tried the salmon and that was a big miss. Slighty funny taste, small portion that was overdone for $42. Avoid that one. With wine $160/pp. I guess these are the prices in the Valley.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive to the details

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Was in St. Helena for a business meeting and Press was down the street from hotel. They were attentive from the moment I walked in the door. The food was outstanding, had the jalapeno cheeseburger from the bar menu, couldn't eat 1/2 of the amount of food given. The wine by the glass was superb. I recommended to colleagues who dined later in the week and they also had a fabulous time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Possibly the best dinner ever

Dined on April 18, 2016

This was perhaps the best dining out experience we've every had. The tenderloin/bernaise were incredible. The chopped salad and the truffle mac and cheese were off-the-charts. And the chocolate souffle was superb. They have an incredible wine list; even their more modestly priced wines were tremendous. And the service was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.