About PRESS

587 St. Helena Hwy (Hwy 29)
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

PRESS is the perfect wine country dining experience. PRESS features prime dry-aged beef, whole roasted chicken, grass fed Sonoma lamb, and fresh fish prepared on a custom wood burning grill and rotisserie. The modern farmhouse style blends with the neighboring vineyards to create a truly modern steakhouse. An award winning largely Napa Valley wine list completes the PRESS experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM



Closed Tuesday



Bar Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Inglewood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-0550

Website:
http://www.pressnapavalley.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Trevor Kunk

Private Party Facilities:
PRESS has 3 wonderful dining locations for private parties and events. The first is our Edge Hill room which accommodates 6 to 12 guests. This space is intimate and ideal for smaller parties. The second is our beautiful, outdoor patio. The patio is a perfect setting for a Napa Valley event with views of the sunset over the western hills and vineyards. The partially covered patio offers an outdoor fireplace, patio lounge with firepits and comfy couches, and optional heating. We would be happy to assist in arranging dinners for groups of 10 to 32 guests on our patio. Lastly, our Wine Cellar can be privately reserved for 10 to 20 guests. There is AV equipment available and a view of our collection of all Napa Valley Wines. Private party menus are custom, can include your favorite dishes from the regular menu, and dietary restrictions are easily accommodated. Please email or call Megan Chin for more information on our private spaces and assistance with creating your menu.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Chin: 7079670550x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For events at PRESS, we offer dishes featured on our seasonal, regular dinner menu and assistance with planning the necessary details of special events. We also offer specialty cocktails, passed appetizers, and fresh seafood platters for guests to enjoy as part of their dining experience. Lastly, we can assist in pre-selecting wines from our notable all Napa Valley wine list. Although PRESS is only open for dinner, we can arrange for private day time events at the restaurant. Please email our Events Manager, Megan Chin at Megan.Chin@pressnapavalley.com or call 707.967.0550 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

PRESS
PRESS
PRESS
PRESS
Bread Basket
Truffle Mac and Cheese
Grilled New York Strip
Arugula Salad
Chocolate Souffle
Veggie Sampler
Kobe Tartare with Fried Oysters
Bacon Butter
Poched Egg
Spicy Kimchi Tuna Soup
Ricotta
Filet Mignon
roasted cauliflower
gin and tonic
Cucumber Royale
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Small Seafood Platter
Wine Older Than Me!
Assorted Raw Oysters
tomato and mozzerella
Pumpkin Whoopie Pies
Mixed Grill
Striped Bass
Chocolate Cake
Tartare of Hiramasa
Loaded Mini Baked Potatoes
Ribeye
Brussel sprouts
Spinach
Press Negroni
Duck Confit Salad
Dessert
Prime Tenderloin Steak Tartare
Tartare Of Hiramasa, Mango, Cucumber And Red Chilies
Vegetable Lasagna
Kobe hot dog
Chicken
Tomahawk Steak
Maitake Mushrooms
Whole Rotisserie Chicken For 2
Grilled Mushrooms And Sauteed Spinach
mixed seafood platter
Sautéed Spinach
French Fries
Padron Peppers
Seafood Platter
Cowboy Ribeye
Arietta 2004
Petit Filet Mignon With Truffle Butter
Maine Lobster & Crab Cake
Sour Cream Potato Puree
Pimms Cup
Truffled Mac and Cheese
Porkchop
Manhattan
Tartare Of Kampachi
Bacon Sampler
Creamy Spinach
Blood Orange Margarita
Mixed Meat Platter For 2
Florida Stone Crab Claws
Cowboy Steak
Wild Striped Bass
Short Rib Poutine
Hibiscus Cooler
Steak

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRESS Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
San Francisco Bay Area
Notable Wine List
San Francisco Bay Area
Steakhouse
San Francisco Bay Area
5 More
Best Overall
Wine Country
Best Food
Wine Country
Best Service
Wine Country
Best Ambiance
Wine Country
Notable Wine List
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

Notable Wine List (80)
Special Occasion (76)
Fit for Foodies (69)
See All
Romantic (41)
Good for Groups (32)
Hot Spot (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Vibrant Bar Scene (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fireplace (6)
Scenic View (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Fun (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Cozy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Family Style (1)
Casual (1)
Organic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Authentic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The was AMAZING!!!! The service was OU ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

The was AMAZING!!!! The service was OUTSTANDING!!!! We thoroughly enjoyed our entire tune there. Can't wait to go back again!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent beef huge portions! Even if yo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent beef huge portions! Even if you split the sides, appetizers and salads it's a lot of food for two people. Excellent service. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

One of the best in the valley! Have nev ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best in the valley! Have never been on our Napa trips, but will come back again and again now that we have tried.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Press truly impressed us! Out of all the ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Press truly impressed us! Out of all the "must try" restaurants in Napa, this was by far the best in everything! Super cute restaurant at night, filled with light details, chandeliers, romance ambience, waiters who seem to be happy and proud to work there, they have their own housemade ale, housemade everything!

First off, if you are a meat lover - MUST TRY PRESS! Try the Cote de Beouf, its huge, but you can share it at least between 2-3 people. Its truly special and different, so flavorous, so huge, so amazing! Also try the truffle mac and cheese, amazing!

I went to Bouchon, Celadon and all those listed as Napas must try.....but this was by far the best experience. The price is OK, but when the staff is so nice, the food and the environment is perfect - its worth paying for the experience. If I knew PRESS was the true gem of Napa, I would have eaten there everyday!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

we have eaten at press 5 times . every o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

we have eaten at press 5 times . every other time the food was outstanding. this time overcooked and too salty. we will still return but were disappointed.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We have been waiting to get into PRESS f ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

We have been waiting to get into PRESS for a few years now and it was worth the wait. The food and service was great. We all had red meat with a fantastic older vintage bottle of Cabernet off their extensive wine list. It was a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I enjoyed our dinner as it was a special ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

I enjoyed our dinner as it was a special occasion. Food was wonderful, nice presentation. Service was average, but nothing to complain about.............just a nice experience.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Well, if you haven't been here, you'll h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Well, if you haven't been here, you'll have to come see for yourself. Expensive, but well worth it. Super great food, excellently prepared, the wait staff are very knowledgeable, helpful and amusing. We have been 4 times now, ordered different things each time and have been very happy. We will continue to return. Wine selection is good, but if you've been wine tasting all day, it's a great place to come for great food. Cocktail selections are exciting, bread selection when you sit down is delicious, appetizers don't disappoint (steak tartar is so good, crab cake is perfect), steaks are cooked to perfection (no extra sauce is needed, as the flavors are superb). Order the molten lava dessert right when you sit down, so it will be ready when you finish, save room for it, it makes the meal! Make your reservations early, we booked ours 3 weeks out.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Local Ingredients, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We make sure to visit Press on each visi ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We make sure to visit Press on each visit to Napa. This trip we met friends who had never been. Room is gorgeous and food was perfect. Wine list is sensational but our server was not on top of her game. She probably hasn't worked here long or worked here too long but she tried to rush through dinner, over poured the $350 bottle of wine and kept pushing for the soufflé throughout the meal. Can't find good help even in Napa. It was a good time but not exceptional. Hope next time it's back to normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were celebrating a big birthday. I in ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

We were celebrating a big birthday. I indicated that when I made the reservation and reminded the hostess when we arrived (pointing out the birthday boy). They did absolutely nothing. I sought out the waiter just before we paid the check, and he said he would bring ice cream. He arrived with a microscopic scoop of vanilla ice cream with a candle. That's their go-to birthday celebration?? To make matters worse, the waiter -- who had been so attentive up to that point -- completely disappeared on us. And no manager ever came by to offer an apology. It was an awful evening. We had looked forward to this celebration for weeks. Utterly disappointed, and we would not recommend Press for any special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Flat Iron Steak was fantastic.

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Flat Iron Steak was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is our second visit to Press and al ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

This is our second visit to Press and although we enjoyed the ambiance and the service was wonderful; the entrees left much to be desired this time around. My husband and I both chose steaks.. a filet and an American Waygu and although cooked perfectly was overly salty as was the rest of the meal. We arrived back to the hotel and felt the effects of the salt and even more so this morning.. our faces, fingers and feet are swollen! Sadly, disappointed after the $240 bill for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Excellent place to dine. The ribeye was ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent place to dine. The ribeye was perfectly cooked. Our server Charles was excellent. Request for the bacon dish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate at Press a few nights ago and what c ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Ate at Press a few nights ago and what can I say other than Wow!! My husband and I had oysters, steak tartare, pear and arugula salad, wagyu beef, lobster cake, squash (side) and the soufflé. Not only was the food amazing, our server Tyler was phenomenal!! He is extremely knowledgeable and has such a fantastic personality, we can't speak highly enough about him. He made the entire experience beyond memorable and we will definitely be back here on our next visit to Napa. Ashley at the reception desk is also absolutely delightful and a foodie to boot....super fantastic all around! I highly recommend Press....a must try in Napa!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved Press the first time, but it has l ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Loved Press the first time, but it has let its standards drop: rancid olive oil on the bread served with the nice chicken liver puree; doughy, white flour roles (but v good bread sticks); hard-as-a-rock pickled vegetables; inedibly oxidized (and lumpy) mashed potato "cake," served in a large rectangular loaflike pan, which was removed from our bill. My BN Bavette steak was good, but a bunch of ready-for-the-compost rucola was undressed except for the very last mouthful. Why did I eat it? Desperation.

To the staff's credit, in reply to my question I learned the lobster in the appetizer had been cooked the day before. I passed.

On a happier note, we enjoyed our buttered popcorn, caramel swirl ice cream and blueberry sorbet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

The seafood platter was outstanding. The ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

The seafood platter was outstanding. The Berkshire Pork Chop was the best I have had anywhere. Great Wine list with something for everyone. Attentive professional service.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good service. Pricey, but hey it's Napa. ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Good service. Pricey, but hey it's Napa. The steak was ordered medium rare, but when it came out the cooking was uneven and mostly rare. If you call yourself a fine steakhouse then please get the one thing you are know for right. Please? Also there was a few pieces of gristle. Drinks were tasty, and side dishes were so-so. After spending $250 for 2 people (including tip) I think there are quite a few more restaurants I am willing to try before heading back to Press.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was delicious. One of us had the ve ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Food was delicious. One of us had the vegetarian entre and that was delicious. Service was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had an excellent meal. Great service, at ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Had an excellent meal. Great service, atmosphere and food!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic steaks but I'd recommend stayi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Fantastic steaks but I'd recommend staying with the New York over the sirloin or flat iron. It was amazing. The flat iron was a little disappointing.

The mushrooms were fantastic! Salads were great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent experience!! Our waiter could ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Excellent experience!! Our waiter could not have been more helpful and on it! The food was outstanding! Must get the truffle mac as a side with your steak! Save room for desert because the chocolate soufflé will have your tongue singing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was good. The Parmesan roll ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

The service was good. The Parmesan rolls (like a small popover) were heavenly. I had the filet which was super flavorful and cut like butter. My hubby got the rib eye which was nowhere as flavorful as mine. The potato cake lacked enough salt and tasted warmed over so I don't recommend. The Strawberry shortcake, although beautiful in presentation, was not sweet and the biscuit was dry. That being said, there are most likely other things on the menu that would suit my taste better. It is worth a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is consistently great great gre ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The food is consistently great great great!

Excellent waitstaff.

A wonderful menu

And a pretty dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A major disappointment. The Filet was g ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

A major disappointment. The Filet was good, but everything else was mediocre at best. Do Not order the vegetable cocktail; it was shameful.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

My wife and I had a great honeymoon dinn ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

My wife and I had a great honeymoon dinner. Our server was very attentive to my wife's dairy allergy and the restaurant was accommodating to ensure we had a great experience. Our dinner featured some of the best steaks we've come across in our 6 years dining together. Press will be highly recommended to anyone we know that is visiting the Napa Valley.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Everything was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined at press for a birthday dinner Aug ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Dined at press for a birthday dinner August 2016. Gregory was our waiter and was outstanding. We chose the fillet, tomato salad and potato cake and there was plenty of food for two people . We also had chocolate soufflé for dessert was which was exquisite. Of course the wine list is the focus here at press. Service outstanding food outstanding atmosphere outstanding will certainly return when in the area.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

$300 dollars for two steaks, one halibut ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

$300 dollars for two steaks, one halibut steak , one spinach side , one french fry order and a bottle of Sauvignon Blanc is not worth it. We won't go back again, even though the staff was attentive.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Everything about Press continues to be w ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Everything about Press continues to be wonderful. It has been and continues to be my favorite restaurant in Napa Valley. The food, service and the room can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The steak house that couldn't get my ste ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The steak house that couldn't get my steak right. I ordered a small filet mignon well done. The steak that I received was cut it in half and it still came out pink and bloody on the inside and charcoaled on the outside. The waitress took it back, and the second time it came back very red in the middle. The manager and waitress were very apologetic. They gave us an extra side dish and took my steak off the bill. The service and atmosphere was good. In the past, I had a good experience and would have recommended this restaurant. This was a disappointing experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value2

Not a sour note. Our steaks were tender ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Not a sour note. Our steaks were tender and well prepared - exactly to our requests. Unusual side dishes, also beatifully prepared. Attentive and gracious staff. Good wine and spirits list. Attractive atmosphere. Happy staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food, wine, and ambience. Dr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

excellent food, wine, and ambience. Drilling down: great crab/lobster cake, excellent chicken for those who eschew chewing beef (would be nice to see some really lean red meat such as bison or venison on the menu), and best chocolate souffle we have enjoyed since Paris! Excellent waiter who had some terrific wine suggestions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous evening from start to finish!! ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Fabulous evening from start to finish!! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had dinner with my husband while vacatio ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Had dinner with my husband while vacationing in Napa Valley. Seasonal fresh tomato salad was outstanding, the preparation got out of the way , and let the tomatoes shine. Our steaks were great and well cooked, sides were also terrific. The only misstep for the evening was the strawberry shortcake which was inedible: biscuit dry and over-leavened, too much whipped cream and not enough berries.

Despite the dessert, would not hesitate to return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The dining experience was great. Always ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The dining experience was great. Always a pleasure to done at PRESS.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect except server see ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything was perfect except server seemed to have an off night or he was new. We have been multiple time and it has always been amazing....

We will be back again....

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Staff was very accommodating. Food and d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Staff was very accommodating. Food and drinks were amazing. Corkage fee was a little high in my opinion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite Napa valley restaurant!! Great ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Favorite Napa valley restaurant!! Great date night spot. Wonderful steaks, great service and excellent wines- all around wonderful place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Lovely experience at Press to celebrate ...

 
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Lovely experience at Press to celebrate our honeymoon in Napa valley. Food was outstanding and service was great. The steaks were cooked perfect and the sides were very savory.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice restaurant. One of our best m ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Very nice restaurant. One of our best meals while in Napa Valley. Service was very good.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.