About PRESS

587 St. Helena Hwy (Hwy 29)
St. Helena, CA 94574
View Larger Map

PRESS is the perfect wine country dining experience. PRESS features prime dry-aged beef, whole roasted chicken, grass fed Sonoma lamb, and fresh fish prepared on a custom wood burning grill and rotisserie. The modern farmhouse style blends with the neighboring vineyards to create a truly modern steakhouse. An award winning largely Napa Valley wine list completes the PRESS experience.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM



Closed Tuesday



Bar Service :

Wednesday – Monday

5:00 PM – 10:00 PM

Cross Street:
Inglewood

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(707) 967-0550

Website:
http://www.pressnapavalley.com/

Parking Details:
Self Parking

Executive Chef:
Trevor Kunk

Private Party Facilities:
PRESS has 3 wonderful dining locations for private parties and events. The first is our Edge Hill room which accommodates 6 to 12 guests. This space is intimate and ideal for smaller parties. The second is our beautiful, outdoor patio. The patio is a perfect setting for a Napa Valley event with views of the sunset over the western hills and vineyards. The partially covered patio offers an outdoor fireplace, patio lounge with firepits and comfy couches, and optional heating. We would be happy to assist in arranging dinners for groups of 10 to 32 guests on our patio. Lastly, our Wine Cellar can be privately reserved for 10 to 20 guests. There is AV equipment available and a view of our collection of all Napa Valley Wines. Private party menus are custom, can include your favorite dishes from the regular menu, and dietary restrictions are easily accommodated. Please email or call Megan Chin for more information on our private spaces and assistance with creating your menu.

Private Party Contact:
Megan Chin: 7079670550x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For events at PRESS, we offer dishes featured on our seasonal, regular dinner menu and assistance with planning the necessary details of special events. We also offer specialty cocktails, passed appetizers, and fresh seafood platters for guests to enjoy as part of their dining experience. Lastly, we can assist in pre-selecting wines from our notable all Napa Valley wine list. Although PRESS is only open for dinner, we can arrange for private day time events at the restaurant. Please email our Events Manager, Megan Chin at Megan.Chin@pressnapavalley.com or call 707.967.0550 for more information.

Restaurant Photos

PRESS
PRESS
PRESS
PRESS
Truffle Mac and Cheese
Bread Basket
Grilled New York Strip
Arugula Salad
Chocolate Souffle
Veggie Sampler
Kobe Tartare with Fried Oysters
Bacon Butter
Poched Egg
Spicy Kimchi Tuna Soup
Ricotta
Filet Mignon
roasted cauliflower
gin and tonic
Cucumber Royale
Tomahawk Bone-In Ribeye
Wine Older Than Me!
Small Seafood Platter
Pumpkin Whoopie Pies
Assorted Raw Oysters
tomato and mozzerella
Striped Bass
Chocolate Cake
Mixed Grill
Tartare of Hiramasa
Loaded Mini Baked Potatoes
Duck Confit Salad
Brussel sprouts
Dessert
Spinach
Press Negroni
Ribeye
Prime Tenderloin Steak Tartare
Tartare Of Hiramasa, Mango, Cucumber And Red Chilies
Vegetable Lasagna
Kobe hot dog
Tomahawk Steak
Chicken
mixed seafood platter
Grilled Mushrooms And Sauteed Spinach
Maitake Mushrooms
Arietta 2004
Padron Peppers
Sautéed Spinach
Seafood Platter
French Fries
Whole Rotisserie Chicken For 2
Cowboy Ribeye
Petit Filet Mignon With Truffle Butter
Maine Lobster & Crab Cake
Blood Orange Margarita
Mixed Meat Platter For 2
Florida Stone Crab Claws
Creamy Spinach
Tartare Of Kampachi
Truffled Mac and Cheese
Bacon Sampler
Pimms Cup
Porkchop
Manhattan
Sour Cream Potato Puree
Cowboy Steak
Wild Striped Bass
Hibiscus Cooler
Short Rib Poutine
Steak

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

PRESS Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Steakhouse
San Francisco Bay Area
Notable Wine List
Wine Country
Best Restaurants in St. Helena ›

special occasion (86)
notable wine list (82)
fit for foodies (74)
See All
romantic (50)
good for groups (38)
great for outdoor dining (34)
hot spot (30)
neighborhood gem (21)
vibrant bar scene (13)
scenic view (11)
kid-friendly (4)
great for lunch (4)
late-night find (4)
great for brunch (4)
Sort By:
Newest
1335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is the second time my husband and I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

This is the second time my husband and I have been to Press for dinner and we thoroughly enjoyed it both times. Though a steak house you can find something else just as scrumptious on the menu. The bar scene is vibrant but low key so you can have a conversation with a date. The drinks are delicious and the service is impeccable. Truly worth the experience if you like fine dining.

I would suggest you look at the website before going there. They also have a very pretty patio with heaters but check when making reservations as it may be booked for a private event.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a wonderful experience. The servic ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 3 days ago

What a wonderful experience. The service, food, and wine were outstanding. A restaurant you shouldn't miss when visiting Saint Helena, Ca.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant with impeccable service ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant with impeccable service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Hard to remember a better ribeye... 5 st ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Hard to remember a better ribeye... 5 star service... great ambiance... great place!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our favorite meal in Napa! The ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

This was our favorite meal in Napa! The service and food were outstanding!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite restaurant in Napa Valley! ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in Napa Valley! Stephen provided fabulous service, as always. Enjoyed some new, seasonal items on the menu. Filet mignon was perfect. Side dishes were abundant and delicious. Already looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spectacular dinner with spectacular serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Spectacular dinner with spectacular service. I love the feel of the restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A great atmosphere & stunning surrounds ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A great atmosphere & stunning surrounds

Really liked the range of innovative food options

Staff recommended we order way too much food and it was delivered very quickly, rather than allowing g us to savor the great variety of flavors separately.

There was an issue with our confirmed reservation but perhaps that's part of being new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Always one of the best dining options in ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Always one of the best dining options in the Valley. Very consistent. The service is attentive and friendly but not intrusive. Though we visit only a few times per year we see many of the same helpful staff. Whether ordering fish, fowl or filet the preparations are always delicious, well seasoned and often unique. The wine list is hard to beat for both variety and quality. Pro tip: the bar area is inviting though rarely crowded having its own menu consisting of both the full menu and some tasty sandwich options unavailable in the dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Perfectly cooked (medium rare ) New York ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Perfectly cooked (medium rare ) New York strip steak. Great service. Beautiful restaurant with a nice wine list.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite restaurants in the V ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in the Valley. Excellent staff and a wonderful inviting environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the absolute best restaurant in t ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

One of the absolute best restaurant in the Wine Country! Beautiful interior, beautiful patio. Great, great, great service. The Chef puts out a Wonderful menu. BRAVO!! BRAVO!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The best food we have had in awhile. The ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The best food we have had in awhile. The steaks were perfect, and my husband likes a rare steak. This is only time in 20 years I have seen it done perfect. The truffle mac and cheese, and the sweet corn were absolute winners. The caesar salad was a bit strong on the garlic, but still very tasty. Bacon Sampler app was great, but would be better with a sheet telling us what we are eating. The ending chocolate souffle and chocolate cake was to die for. Pricey but worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food in st Helena. Wonderful atmos ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great food in st Helena. Wonderful atmosphere and quite a nice bar. It's a great place to have a date or a family special occasion dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best restaurant in Napa...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Simply the best restaurant in Napa...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of our favorite restaurants to dine ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants to dine at. The food is always tasty and consistent and the staff is great. We've come here several times and will continue to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Despite the fact that we changed our res ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Despite the fact that we changed our reservation time the night before, our reservation was honored the moment we arrived. Service was professional and friendly, and I especially commend our waiter, who had to deal with some special menu requests. We went for steak and were not disappointed. Having been raised in South America, I am not a big fan of American cuts and the cult of corn-fed beef. The grass-fed bavette steak was everything a real steak should be and was perfectly cooked.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious meal to cap off our wedding we ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Delicious meal to cap off our wedding week! Steak was amazing and we brought a bottle of Phelps Insignia ($30 corkage) and the waiter treated us to some ice cream since we had just gotten married. Food was outstanding as was ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding CA wine list. Best steak im ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Outstanding CA wine list. Best steak imaginable! Excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We dined here about 6 months ago and had ...

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

We dined here about 6 months ago and had a fantastic time. So good that we wanted to return, so we made plans to do so. Before we sat down we joked that we had such high expectations that it might not be possible for the restaurant to come close to delivering.

We were foolish to have had any concerns.

As good as it was last time, we enjoyed this visit even more. The service is great, very friendly and accommodating, obviously a key element to any good dining experience. The food is not "tweezer food" (and I love tweezer food), but it is solid, well-made food that is delicious and filling (if you leave here hungry it's your own fault :-) The main ingredients taste like what they are rather than being over-seasoned or covered in sauces or getting lost as one of 20 ingredients.

We over-indulged (in part because one of their purveyors hooked us up so we got some extra dishes that we hadn't planned on) and had so much food that we were miserable, but it was well worth it. Starting with very fresh oysters and fresh vegetables, we moved on to some very tasty salads. The steaks are superlative--in fact, this is the only place I can think of where I enjoy the steaks as much or even more than when we grill at home. This is in part because they use Bryan Flannery beef (arguably the best you can buy in the US) but obviously they know how to prepare it, too. The mushrooms and corn sides, while simple, again showcase how ingredients mean so much. The corn may have been the best side dish I've ever had anywhere--and it was just corn. The baked, gluten-free crabcake was amazing--again fresh, and the essence of crab. And the strawberry shortcake--fabulous. Just amazing.

Already looking forward to the next time!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My new favorite spot in wine country. Th ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

My new favorite spot in wine country. The food was incredibly fresh (grown and sourced locally) and deliciously prepared. Would highly recommend the steak tartar, any of the steaks and the pork chop!! Would be great for a date night, family dinner or group. Our waiter and the other service was top notch. Will be back (and back)!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for steaks! The meat was te ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great place for steaks! The meat was tender and perfectly cooked. We ordered mac and cheese and the truffle fries as our sides and both were excellent. For dessert, we ordered the soufflé and that was great. Would definitely recommend this place. Charles, our waiter, was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were perfectly prepared. Eve ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The steaks were perfectly prepared. Everything was so good, from the appetizers on up. Wish I had room for dessert. Our waiter was sensational! Informative, friendly, knowledgeable..he made the evening for special for all four of us. I'd return in a heartbeat.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Great service. Great ambianc ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Great food. Great service. Great ambiance. Looking forward to returning and recommending this to my friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

While many people may have a difficult t ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

While many people may have a difficult time viewing steak as an exciting dinner item, when compared to fancy chef-created food, my wife and I were amazed and in complete agreement that the ribeye and New York strip steaks were the best steaks we had ever eaten.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone in the area was watching the fi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Everyone in the area was watching the final NBA game, so we had an unusually quiet dinner. The quality of the food was excellent, but my expensive entree of Copper River Salmon was no more than 4 ounces, cooked. Perhaps they should have used a dessert plate, so the portion would not have looked so small. Meanwhile the waiter proceeded to serve the wine so quickly that the bottle was empty before the entrees arrived. No agenda there to jack up the bill with extra bottles of wine? No, surely not.

Well my experience at Press this time was unsettling, but our guests enjoyed themselves. I will end on that positive note.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

Very good steak, no argument there. How ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Very good steak, no argument there. However, the portions are huge (no steak less than 8 oz on the menu, which I think is unrealistic, in this day and age). But we were willing to accept that the steak might be a bit big. However, everything being a la carte, there are side dishes to be ordered, which are also HUGE. The potato cake was delicious but could have served 3 easily (the server did tell us it was enough for 2). Needless to say, having another side of vegetables (spinach - also very good -) became just way, way too much. My companion was enticed into ordering the chocolate souffle, but for this, the server gave no indication that it could (read: should) be enough for 2. It was also huge. The result is that we finished only about half of our food and had to simply send the leftovers away because we were travelling (as I'm sure many guests are) so couldn't take a doggy bag. I hate wasting good food (not to mention $$!).

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

As usual Press was fantastic. Most nota ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

As usual Press was fantastic. Most notable from this experience was the knowledge of the sommelier. We told her what we wanted and her recommendations were spot on.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

PRESS had been recommended to us and did ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

PRESS had been recommended to us and did not disappoint! It was top notch and exceeded our expectations in every way. We will be back next time we are in the Napa Valley.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All about the service and recommendation ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

All about the service and recommendations by Charles - a most fabulous waiter. And the delicious, fresh menu doesn't hurt, either. A MUST when in Napa Valley.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular dinner, but bring your own b ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Spectacular dinner, but bring your own bottle of wine. The wine list is ridiculously priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service was excellent. Woul ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food and service was excellent. Would highly recommend it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lobster crab cake was great! Loved the g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Lobster crab cake was great! Loved the grass fed steak as well. The chocolate souffle is a must!! We sat near the fire place, very romantic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent all around! Food, service, amb ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Excellent all around! Food, service, ambiance. Will definitely return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I celebrated our 5th anniver ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

My wife and I celebrated our 5th anniversary at Press and we were blown away. We both had the chef's menu and wine pairing and exceeded our every expectation. We will definitely make a return to Press for future dates!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything on the menu is mouth-watering ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Everything on the menu is mouth-watering fantastic! Tyler was our server and did a phenomenal job. Attention to detail was very evident in their dishes and the care they took to provide an amazing experience. This was the restaurant we visited on the last night of our stay in Napa Valley and while all the restaurants were fantastic, this one by far was our favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I chose the PRESS to celebra ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

My wife and I chose the PRESS to celebrate my 50th birthday. A very good selection! We both selected the tasting menu for - in my opinion - a very reasonable price; in addition I took the recommended wine pairings. Apart from two courses the menu was outstanding. The swordfish was overseasoned and the hangar steak seasoning was so rich that a side dish like mashed potatoes would have been a good idea as compensation for this richness - even for a tastting menu. Furthermore the selection of the marshmallow as main part of the dessert is worth to discuss. It is really brave to provide such a dessert and indeed for me it was fantastic, but not everyone likes marshmallows - e.g. my wife - and I would not integrate it in a menu. However this is complaining on very high level. In total the menu was somewhere between very good and outstanding. Now the wine pairings. All selected wines were very, very good. And indeed in most cases the wine pairing idea was outstanding. However the selection of an Equipo Navazos as pairing for the corn & mushroom bisque is debatable. This pairing works only if you do not take a sip directly after the bisque. Due to the flavoring you have to wait approx. 15 seconds before taking the sip. In that case the heat of the sherry merges wonderfully with the disappearing flavors of the bisque. This is clearly the job of the sommelier to explain to the patron. But again: Complaining on high level. We were the first time at the PRESS. And we will definitely come back. The PRESS people in total were very friendly and helpful. Perhaps the sommelier could be a little bit more responding to the customer. Especially due to the approach of the PRESS as a Californian wine sustainer.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

I return to the Press after a two year h ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

I return to the Press after a two year hiatus. The service was very good, but the food was mediocre for the expensive price point. Not the food experience I had few years back.

There's plenty of great places to eat in Yountville for half the price. Sorry I was expecting to be impressed, but tasting quality just fell short on just about every dish we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

OMG I'm still dreaming about Press !!! ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

OMG I'm still dreaming about Press !!! the food is absolutely the best i have had in the bay area... so GOOD, great wine list and exceptional service !! I will not pass up any opportunity to go back.. we had a blast- service is impeccable.. food.. food... food is amazeballs

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my Faves!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

PRESS never disappoints. It is my go-to special occasion restaurant and we've been dining there for several years now. The food is amazing and the wine list is formidable (and offers an abundance of variety). It is perfect for a romantic evening out (request a one of the tables in the back under the clock) and arrive just as dusk is upon you. Did I mention that the food is amazing? I'm partial to the petite filet and truffle mac n' cheese, but I can honestly say I've never been disappointed with my selections (or those of my guests). PRESS is the place you go when you need the evening to be perfect and you don't to worry about the food, the service, or the ambiance. It is a quality dining experience that will have you planning your next reservation on your way out (hmmm, surely we can always find something to celebrate?).

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.