Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Prelude at McCaw Hall

Welcome to Prelude - on the Promenade Level of Marion Oliver McCaw Hall at Seattle Center. Sophistication, artistry and signature dishes designed by Executive Chef Shawn Applin await your visit. Prelude features the freshest local produce, artisanal products, a large selection of Northwest wines by the glass and half bottle, and Shawn's sublime take on cuisine executed by the SAVOR culinary team. Our seasonal menus provide the perfect prelude to a Pacific Northwest Ballet or Seattle Opera performance - or offer an exceptional dining experience on their own. Dinner reservations are encouraged prior to show time. Prelude also offers Brunch before Sunday shows and Intermission Reservations.

321 Mercer Street
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner/Brunch:
Prelude opens 2.5 hours (Opera performances) and 2 hours (Ballet performances) prior show start.


Cross Street:
4th & Mercer

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 615-0404

Website:
http://www.savorsmgmccawhall.com/

Catering:
Catering by SAVOR... is not limited to McCaw Hall. We apply our extensive experience in both large and small-scale events at most any location in the Seattle Area. For over 20 years, our culinary team and experienced sales staff have created custom menus and unique special events to successfully support world-class events for small groups or thousands of people. You can be sure we have the expertise to handle every detail of your event, from site coordination, to rentals, to securing a pleasant service staff. Contact us to learn more.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Applin

Private Party Facilities:
Opportunities for private events abound at McCaw hall. Whether planning a large party in the dining room or looking for a private space, our team is experienced and ready to handle the details for you.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prelude at McCaw Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

4.0

ambience

3.7

value

3.1

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (70)
Special Occasion (32)
Creative Cuisine (14)
See All
Quiet Conversation (11)
Quick Bite (10)
People Watching (9)
Disabled Access (8)
Modern Decor (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Cozy (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Seasonal (6)
Romantic (5)
Fun (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Family Style (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Live Music (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2047 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

As is true for almost 100% of the clientele, we were there for a show! We let our waiter know right away what we wanted, and we wanted time for dessert. We were seated at 6:15 for a 7:30 show. Despite this knowledge, the waiter seemed to forget we ordered more than 1 dish as he asked us if wanted menus again. We felt forgotten for long periods of time, then we didn't get out of the restaurant until 7:25.

So, though we had plenty of time, we were nervous, and didn't really enjoy the rush at the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

This the first time dining at Prelude where the server was completely oblivious to the showtime. The bell was chiming and we had to track down our server to get the bill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 4 days ago

Great for before the ballet. Checks took kind of long to process as we were going to the lecture beforehand.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Dined before attending the ballet . We have eaten their. Edit but this time I found the food uninspired and the menu choices too narrow

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Convenient if you're attending the ballet otherwise food is just ok and prices are high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was good, but the main reason we have used this restaurant is because of its convenience before the ballet. We travel 40 miles to Seattle, the traffic is miserable and at least here we are assured a meal served before curtain time. VERY EXPENSIVE for good but not exceptional food and wine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

good for nice dinner before the opera, very relaxing

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We've had some great meals at Prelude, but this wasn't one of them. The menu reflected the Eastern European roots of the Opera, but really wasn't very appealing for those of us used to NW fresh food. We both chose the Chicken Kiev. It was okay...a little too greasy and one of my bundles didn't taste that fresh (like the chicken was "off"). The chicken had a "held under a heat lamp" quality rather than tasting cooked fresh. I cut into it and the "butter" filling squirted all over the table..just a little too much grease for me. The accompanying green beans and mashed potatoes were great.

We ordered dessert - the Napolean was disappointing. Very, very dry - we sent it back and they willingly replaced it with some wonderful ice cream. We also had an order of Rum babas that was quite good.

This was a disappointing meal. The chicken dishes were over $30! With a glass of wine and dessert, our per person check was $64. It seemed worth about 1/2 that. Not sure if we'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This restaurant is very convenient if you are attending an event at McGaw Hall. Food is average, but service is friendly and with a pace that takes into account going to a performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Went to Prelude (which is located inside the opera house) before attending an opera that evening. Good ambience and reasonable noise level. Very short menu. with few choices. Uncomfortable, extremely hard chairs unless you sit in a booth, which I'd recommend if you're going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My chicken kiev was outstanding, her beef stroganoff didn't have enough sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Ate there before attending the opera. Menu had a Russian flair very appropriate for the Janacek opera. The food was delicious and beautifully presented with excellent suggestions for wines to accompany each dish. The server was attentive and each course was served promptly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Because the opera "Katya Katanova" by composer Leoš Janáček was set in a small Russian village, Savor Restaurant chefs created a fun Russian dinner menu.

My husband and I shared these wonderful treats:
Борщ Borscht, Carrot, Beet, Onion, Sour Cream, Dill
Капустный салад с селёдкой Roasted Cabbage Salad, Herring, Onion, Sour Cream
Строганов Stroganoff, Short Rib, Sour Cream, Pearl Onions, Mushrooms, Pasta
Ромовая Бава Rum Baba with Rum Sauce

вкусно!!! That's "delicious" in Russian.

Our waiter Anthony was most attentive, and we especially enjoyed our chat with hostess Fariha. I recommend Savor to anyone attending the Seattle Opera or any other event at McCaw Hall. We had a most enjoyable meal prior to the opera!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have dined at this restaurant before the opera many times. The menu selections for this particular dinner were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Online reservations didn't let me rsvp for 6 pm, only for 5, then I had to run to make that time and we got done with dinner over an hour before the show, so we were forced to just sit around.
Could have used my time better otherwise if the system would have left me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellent! So much improved from years past!!! The new menus representing different countries/regions of the world are a real treat. This restaurant is also very good about handling my dietary allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

In the past we have had mediocre experiences at Prelude, but keep going back because it's so darn convenient and the atmosphere is nice. This time Prelude really stepped it up! We were floored with the improvements. From plating to service, it seems they have paid attention to the reviews and improved everything. Everything. We had a great time!

We opted for the salmon/caviar toasts, the potato salad, the herring salad (standout), and the rum baba dessert, and asked for them all to be brought one at a time (there were two of us). The sommelier (she's great!) came out and offered us a couple choices from what we had described to our server Matt (also great!) and we ended up with a wine we wouldn't have chosen but that we loved, right at our budget. A half bottle of wine each and some salads is a light meal, but we were there at 5pm and lingered until after 7 because we were having such a nice time.

Get there as early as possibly before your show!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent place for brunch before the opera. Food was excellent and the service was very responsive to our needs.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Boise)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The borscht was more like a thick tomato soup without any distinguishing flavors, and then the cabbage stuffed with rice was covered with the same tomato soup. Very bland, tasteless. I wish it was better food since it is so convenient to the theatre/opera/ballet performances in McCaw Hall. So for convenience it is worth it. The cost is outlandish. $240 for 3 people and a very, very mediocre meal. The wine pairings per glass were in the $20 per glass range and very average as well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was mediocre. Borscht was mostly tomato based, not beets. The cabbage and herring salad was not very good. The beef stroganoff was not particularly good. Overall pricey but not worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Thus far, after eight pre-opera occasions at Prelude, this was perhaps the smoothest, most pleasant experience. The tip of my hat for putting cocktails on the menu; and, although a minor detail, we found having the names of the updated Russian dishes printed in Cyrillic type-- hematic for the performance of Katya Kabanova-- was as charming as the dishes were delightful. It is wonderful to be able to write a good review. Keep up the good work. Thank you!

Tags: Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Romantic, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Convenient to dine here prior to a performance, good food, great service, and makes it a fun evening. We were late for our reservation due to horrible traffic, called and they held our table, no problem, very pleasant and helpful. Nice Staff, also great to come out to table and have dessert and coffee at intermission, waiting for you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Even with a limited menu, this is a great place to eat before the ballet or opera. Food is generally good or better and the ability to book dessert and drinks during intermission and keep your table is perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Got in early and was served quickly but then it went downhill. The food was lukewarm at best and bad! We went for lunch prior to a ballet matinee. The French Toast was rubbery, I had a lot of trouble cutting it, was thinking of asking for a steak knife, it was so tough. Presentation looked good but that is the only positive thing I can say about the food. Overpriced, who pays $14 for french toast? They have spent money on trying to improve the ambiance of the place, they should pay attention to the quality of the food.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Location is great for quick service for ballet or opera. Pricey! And food quality varies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 11, 2017

great service, delicious food and can even enjoy our dessert at intermission

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Service was super slow
30 min after ordering we were told they ran out of our entree
Brought s second entree 25 min later which we had to scarf down in order to get to the opening act of the ballet.
Then they billed us incorrectly and charged us for both the entree they ran out of and the one we actually were served
We had to come back at intermission to correct the charges
Altogether s very unpleasant and stressful experience
Think they should fave comped our entire bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Making reservations was easy. We were seated on time on a busy night. The three course meal was more than I care to eat but the soup,salad, desert option was good.
The only thing I can suggest is, since there are many seniors going to events, a few lighter choices (soups not with cream etc. one light main dish , would not go amiss.
Our waiter was super and I like the different decor that changed from the original restaurant when McCaw Hall first opened.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Have been here many times, this time was a disaster. New management and chefs. Food was very good, once we got it ! Our reservation was 5:45, concert at 7:30. Our plan was to have a nice relaxing dinner before the show. Took a long time to take our order. They brought rolls, three - there were four of us. Then one entree came out. Before salad and soup, Nothing else came out for about 5 minutes until we brought it to their attention. Then, two salads and two soups came out. (One soup was my entree) Then the entrees came out , but not my salad. Had to ask for that. Didn't want it by that point. Now it's 7:10 and we asked for the bill. That took ten minutes, all the while we are involving the manager in this, which did not seem to help much.. Two couples and each had their own ticket. But what they did was put all the meals and drinks on each ticket. So each bill was double what it should have been - a total of over $200. Plus there was stuff we did not order on ticket. Concert was starting so we were told to come back at intermission. We got back, bills were finally straightened out without gee we are sorry at all, then we got a certificate for a free entree the NEXT time we come in. Nothing taken off this bill at all. Don't think I am going back any time soon. It was a disaster. Don't go here if you are planning on making a ballet or opera.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Prelude is located inside the concert hall where we were going to attend a ballet performance. We arrived at 530 pm so that we would have plenty of time to eat before going into the ballet at 730. We were served our entrees at 715 pm! And my husband was brought the wrong entree, but there was no time to exchange it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 5, 2017

outstanding attention by our server at table #28 and positive response by administrative staff to fulfill my seating request.

Tags: People Watching, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This is the most convenient venue for pre-show dining for opera and ballet. I find it a bit overpriced, but basically you're paying for the convenience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Eating at Prelude before the ballet is not only convenient, but such a nice experience. The food is very good, the service is almost always very efficient and everyone leaves in a good mood.
Thanks for being there!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We had brunch at the Prelude prior to attending the Ballet. As always, the service was quick as the staff knows most of the customers at that time must be served promptly. The food was excellent, portions a little too large for me. Very friendly staff.....all together eating at The Prelude is usually a very pleasant experience!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Prelude was perfect for our pre ballet gathering on a rainy Sat. Afternoon. However, the food was disappointing in light of the cost. My friend had a bowl of corn chowder that was very plain and looked as if it had been put in a blender. No bread. For $10 one would expect more. My strata for $16 was tasty but for that price I would expect an additional side of some sort.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Always love coming here for pre-show brunch! Great food, great service.

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Well done menu selection and timing pretty concert. Short menu, three course pre fixe dinner option. Wines expensive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 4, 2017

It was the second time that my friend and I had had dinner at Prelude before opening night at the ballet. We arrived promptly at our appointed time, 6:15, and we were promptly seated. Our frustrations soon mounted as we were unable to attract the attention of any servers for 10 or 15 minutes, not even for drinks. We ordered our dinners at the same time in order to expedite the service. We did not receive even our first courses until 6:55. Finally ~ 7:10 we were served our main courses. We requested desserts then and received them ~ 5 minutes later. The soup was lukewarm; the sherbet likewise. The dinners were expertly prepared, but we had to leave our dinners unfinished, and then because of a mistake in the bill got up to leave at 7:30, with plans to return at intermission to pay. The server and I met on the way to the exit. It was explained to me that they were understaffed and unprepared for opening night (every time there is an opening night, it's opening night).

Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The first surprise was the paper tablecloth, but I understand that it is to prepare the table faster, the old and unequal chairs, the table was too close to another, my plate had stains of coffee I asked for the change and the next one also had stains, Excellent food and service !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My wife and I have eaten here before the opera and the ballet on several occasions. The food is always good, the staff always friendly and efficient, and the meal always worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.