Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Prelude at McCaw Hall

Welcome to Prelude - on the Promenade Level of Marion Oliver McCaw Hall at Seattle Center. Sophistication, artistry and signature dishes designed by our Executive Chef await your visit. Prelude features the freshest local produce, artisanal products, a large selection of Northwest wines by the glass and half bottle, and our sublime take on cuisine executed by the SAVOR culinary team. Our seasonal menus provide the perfect prelude to a Pacific Northwest Ballet or Seattle Opera performance - or offer an exceptional dining experience on their own. Dinner reservations are encouraged prior to show time. Prelude also offers Brunch before Sunday shows and Intermission.

321 Mercer Street
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner/Brunch:
Prelude opens 2.5 hours (Opera performances) and 2 hours (Ballet performances) prior show start.


Cross Street:
4th & Mercer

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 615-0404

Website:
http://www.savorsmgmccawhall.com/

Catering:
Catering by SAVOR... is not limited to McCaw Hall. We apply our extensive experience in both large and small-scale events at most any location in the Seattle Area. For over 20 years, our culinary team and experienced sales staff have created custom menus and unique special events to successfully support world-class events for small groups or thousands of people. You can be sure we have the expertise to handle every detail of your event, from site coordination, to rentals, to securing a pleasant service staff. Contact us to learn more.

Private Party Facilities:
Opportunities for private events abound at McCaw hall. Whether planning a large party in the dining room or looking for a private space, or larger events our team is experienced and ready to handle the details for you. For larger parties please ask for our Catering Director and we will be happy to put you in contact with her.

Private Party Contact:
Susan Cuturilo: (206) 615-0254

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prelude at McCaw Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.1

service

3.0

ambience

3.5

value

2.5

Noise

Moderate

53% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (31)
Notable Wine List (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
See All
Special Occasion (3)
Casual (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Cozy (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
S
2176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Went to have meal before 2pm opera. Ordered some sort of pork/egg breakfast sandwich on English muffin. Took the top muffin off to eat open-faced. Could not cut through the pork/fried egg/English muffin half. Perhaps really dull knife but don't think that was all of the problem. Picked up sandwich to eat by hand and quite dismayed to discover that the fried egg was cold - not hot, not warm - cold. Brought that to waiter's attention who did not seem surprised or particularly concerned. He said that the eggs are "pre-made". Yuck. I opted to switch to the "Harvest Table". Blueberry muffin which looked good tasted poor - no real blueberry flavor. Fresh pineapple tasted old. Had some grapes that were out - perhaps they were for display only (??) as they were seeded, overripe, and sitting directly on the table. Had hopes for the yogurt parfait. However, it had too much of a red overly sweet sauce on it - the granola was swimming in it - and I have quite a sweet tooth! This was our first time at McCaw Hall and first time at this restaurant. Really, really wanted it to be okay as it is so close to the parking garage and theater (obviously). The waiter seemed to not like his job, resented that I did not care for a cold fried egg or, heaven forbid, needed a spoon to eat the yogurt. Sorry - it just did not seem to be very well run or managed. Would suggest management try some of the food after it has come out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 2 days ago

Prelude has definitely been better. However, it's the most convenient place to eat lunch or brunch before a performance at the opera - and since I come from west Sound, I don't have time to cruise the neighborhood looking for other restaurants that can get me in and out in time for the pre-performance lecture. That being said - my Sunday lunch was a brunch (it has not been in the past), with extremely limited choice for someone who is diabetic, as I am. I had no appetizer choices that weren't very sweet, and only one entree that I could safely order. When it came, it was essentially an Egg McMuffin with the cheese and ham slightly upgraded, and the english muffin so soggy I couldn't cut it with the knife provided. Along side was an undressed handful of frisee. I ate the contents, left the frisee and the muffin. Service was erratic, though our server seemed to be trying. I think she was tasked with too many tables. We'll go back, because we don't have much choice - but sure hope things improve. They were definitely better last season! Only reason I would recommend is convenience of location if attending events at McCaw Hall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

So convenient--and lots of fun-- to eat at a full service restaurant in the venue when seeing a performance at McCaw Hall. Arriving early makes parking much easier and it takes no time to get from the table to your seat. The menu rotates, so entrée choices are sometimes great and other times, not so much. The staff is generally great but can be hampered by so many tables to attend at once and a kitchen that can be slow, (despite the fact that everything is prepared in advance so far as I can tell). There is no real reason that service should take more than 60 minutes, but arrive 75-90 minutes before curtain time if you really want to relax and enjoy the experience, with the service and attention you deserve. Pre-order dessert and return to savor it during intermission.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Arrived dressed to the nines and in a great mood looking forward to a great evening at the exact time of our reservation before going to the opera to be greeted by a hostess had a bad attitude. "We are seating on time and there are people before you so you have to wait." I have no idea what that was supposed to mean, as we were there on time. Felt like she was trying to say it was somehow our fault we were being seated late. They have a little area where one can order a drink while waiting. There's no list or menu or anything to choose from, so I joked to the server, "so I just name the drink of my dreams?" He wasn't in any mood to play and rolled his eyes at me. So two unfriendly staff. We had to pay at the drink kiosk, couldn't have it moved to our table. Seated 15 minutes later and had to wait another 5 before anyone paid attention to us. This is a restaurant IN the opera hall. They serve the audience that is eating BEFORE GOING TO THE OPERA. This isn't some kind of surprise rush. Somewhat amusingly, the drink book didn't have any printed material inside it, but whatever. Mistakes happen. The waiter is friendly when he finally does show up and assures us there is time to get the steak. He comes back another 20 minutes later to tell us there is no more steak, but there is chicken. CURTAIN IS IN 15 MINUTES WHAT ARE YOU TALKING ABOUT. The tart we ordered was ok I guess, but the whole experience was so sour I certainly can't rave about it. Didn't get dinner. Didn't offer anything off our drink/tart tab. The ambiance is that of a cafeteria full of bored old people. Go to Toulouse Petit or Ten Mercer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

We had reservations prior to the opera. Even though we only had an entree and dessert for 2 people, it took nearly 1 1/2 hours to complete the meal. The table next to us was just getting served 10minutes before the start of the opera, even though they had been there for 1 hour.
My wife and I ordered New York strip steak. It was clearly reheated and dry, not the quality I would expect for a $34 dollar steak. The root vegetables which came with the steak were good, but nothing special. The chocolate torte dessert was very good. I had a glass of wine, which was paired with the steak. It was a very good choice.
We used to come to the Prelude regularly, but stopped because of the quality. We tried to give it another chance, and were disappointed.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Disorganized and clueless. This venue is at the Opera House and exists primarily to serve McCaw Hall patrons. They are aware of the show start times and their reservations. Food should come out quickly and like clockwork. Guests should be greeted as soon as they are seated and orders should go in right away.

With a 6 pm reservation prior to a 7:30 show, that should be ample time to dine. Our hostess was clueless and it took her 10 minutes to seat us, then our waiter was AWOL and didn't come to our table at all for another 20 minutes. We ordered right away and waited another 45 minutes with no bread or anything except a bottle of wine. Then at 7:15 the waiter came and told us the kitchen had run out of everything except chicken (the only thing we DID NOT order). With only 15 minutes to eat we said fine but still that never came. At 7:25 we got up and left without ever having eaten!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Service was very slow. 90 minutes is a long time for a two course dinner. My first entree choice was unavailable, and my second choice arrived barely warm. I had to bolt the food and skip dessert and coffee to get to the performance on time. Overall, not a very pleasurable dining experience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

They were terribly short staffed. They didn't let us know until 1/2 hour before curtain time that they were out of our main dish. The replacement was bad, and expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

The vegetarian cauliflower entre was very overpriced.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

Good for opera dinner. Service efficient; dinner choices limited but tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

We were disappointed in the past, but decided to give Prelude another chance because the location couldn’t be more convenient for Opera night, and the menu online looked good.
Epic Fail!
The menu was uninspired, and not like the one online. Their special harvest table which could have saved the day, as a sort of tapas buffet, was not set up when we arrived, and the waitress didn’t know what would be on it. She said it wouldn’t be the same as the appetizers, but it looked like that to me from across the room later. I enjoyed the squash soup, but my companions didn’t like their chicken or pork entrees, and the squash chèvre tart was disappointing.
Desserts were good...but didn’t come until about an hour after we finished our main course. The tables near us complained about the service and left early, or were told they Ran Out of Entrees!!!!! And maybe they could come back at intermission to eat ???
Summary: The location could not make up for mediocre food and the delays caused by grotesque levels of understaffing both on the floor and in the kitchen. Never Again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

I can safely say that we will never go to this restaurant again. They were very short on staff it took forever for the waitress to come up to get our order. They couldn't do anything for our nutritional restrictions. We were waiting on bread for almost an hour. When the food came it was completely subpar. The restaurant is extremely expensive for the kind of food that you get. We were very very disappointed in our experience, the food, and the Wait staff. Considering that we always go to see the ballet at mccaw Hall, going to this restaurant was very convenient and we were celebrating a special occasion. We don't get very disappointed in restaurants often but this was a huge disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2017

A disappointing first experience with the new dining format of "harvest buffet." Charcuterie selection included only one pate, nothing was labeled, and staff could not keep selections stocked once crowd arrived. Menu options more limited than before and chicken paella (ordered with no shrimp) had 2 clams, 2 mussels (both rather dry) and a couple of bites of chicken that had to be unearthed beneath a mound of pasty rice (we thought chicken was main feature of the dish?). Soup still excellent and table quietest we've ever had there, but service was the worst. All in all, not worth the $100 price tag. We'll be eating at home and sticking with cocktails only at opera & ballet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Prelude is an excellent place to go when you are attending a performance at McCall Hall. But I would never choose to go to this restaurant if I wasn't going to McCall Hall. I feel it is overpriced and the food is not consistent, with some dishes being very good and others just mediocre. Often service is slow, not because of the staff working, but because they often don't have enough staff. I had corn chowder the other night. The flavor was ok--I could taste fresh corn--but it was very thin and watery, not at all like a chowder. I do like the new feature of having a small buffet as an add-on to a entree or by itself. Also like the new type of bread rolls.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Prelude's location makes it a perfect place to dine prior to an event at McCaw Hall. In addition the food is excellent and our server, Matt, was outstanding, It was a fine way to begin our night at the ballet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

I had been here once before and the dinner was wonderful. This time I felt as though I was in a cafeteria. $33 for a piece of salmon that was barely warm and the side was cold. My daughter paella was tepid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Quality of food less than a year ago. Understand new chef.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Poor food quality. Seems to have declined in the last year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Can't beat the convenience of this venue when attending a PNB performance (attended a weeknight evening). The food was above average (salad, pasta dish), and the chocolate mousse cake for dessert was excellent. wine list decent (tried a red blend from columbia, wa and a pinot noir from oregon). The wait staff was pleasant and attentive. It is a bit pricey, but it was a pleasant pre-performance meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

I have been going to Prelude for many years prior to attending the ballet. The experience has steadily deteriorated primarily due to the poor service and the expensive, yet under par food. I've never complained previously, but this past Saturdays experience has provoked me to do so. We sat for 30 minutes before being approached by a staff member, who took our order, albeit who was not our server. We saw our server once who was too busy with other tables to attend to our requests or even take our order. While the new addition of a salad/starters table was nice, it was insufficiently attended to and therefore not stocked adequately to meet the demand. The salmon was second rate (clearly farm raised, dry, overcooked and tasteless) and did not meet the quality commensurate with the price. Very sad to see this venue deteriorate even further over the years.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 24, 2017

Apparently they were short staffed, even though there was a Ballet that evening - which was why we decided to eat there. We sat for quite a while without seeing a server. Once he came, the food was delivered in a timely manner. I do not plan on eating there prior to an event again, I feel there are other restaurants close by I would prefer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 23, 2017

Do not eat at Prelude. Out of the four entree selections on the menu they were out of two of them. The eggs inexplicably came without toast but with cabbage and potato salad. The server spilled my friend's coffee and didn't help clean it up. It was 75% empty, I guess loads of folks know not to eat at Prelude before a performance at McCaw Hall. And it was slow! We sat down at 1:04 pm and didn't get any food until 1:40.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

What a disappointment! Once again, Prelude has been revamped. The new furnishings and setting are nice, but he new menu is a disaster. I've eaten at Prelude several times in the past few years and have always found the food to be good, and the items on the menu usually matched my appetite. The new menu is much less flexible. No soup or salad options. Instead you can either order an entree for $15-$20 or opt for the "fall table" for $20. This table includes a couple of salads, a fruit plate, a couple of kinds of cheese, a meat terrine of some kind, and condiments. Fine if you are hungry, but a lousy option if you want something light. The person who was with me ordered an entree that arrived cold.

Tags: Casual, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

I don't like to complain but the meal and disconnect with the waitress was disappointing. I would never go back. The waitress didn't take the time to explain a wonderful looking buffet that we saw after our meals came. The beef in the pot pie seemed low quality and my friend said the stuffing in the crepe was not good.
I usually don't critique and don't want to become a complainer. Usually I am so astounded with the restaurants in Seattle. I vow to write 5 good critiques to this negative one.
Thank you!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The beef pot pie was inedible--chunks of gristle and gravy that was tasteless and just plain ugly. There were only a few small pieces of vegetables. It's very hard to tip a nice obliging waiter when the food is so expensive and so poorly cooked. I understand the difficult dynamics of trying to cook for such venues (this was an afternoon ballet performance) but I have had too many misses at the Prelude. Sorry.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Ran out of 2 out of 4 entrees !! Only had two breakfast entrees available . Very poor service .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Our recent trip to Prelude was disappointing and has me wondering if we will return in future. They have redone the space, which I can understand, although I preferred the little 2-person booths along the window to the airport-style tables they have now. Plus the bistro tables are gone, which were fun. And I did not like walking passed the "Harvest" buffet on my way to my table. These are personal preferences, certainly, but how unfortunate to discover that they have changed the menu, also. Gone is the charcuterie plate, and the soup option. All of the appetizers are gone, in favor of the buffet, which did not look impressive - orzo pasta salad, a couple of cheeses, some coleslaw and potato salad, one pate and some store-bought crackers. How disappointing to no longer be able to enjoy some appetizers alongside delicious wine before taking in a show at McCaw.
On top of that, our table was in no-man's-land so the servers didn't know who we belonged to and as a result did not talk with us for ages. And while our server was considerate from then on, he could not make our dinner warm. Our pasta dish arrived tepid at best. Overall a very poor showing for what used to be a fun pre-show treat. For those prices, we'd be better off going somewhere else. What a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Weak menu choices; lack of flavor; overpriced. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

The food was not hot and not tasty. We had the sea bass. Our wait person , Brittany, was outstanding. She even mixed a drink that I was unfamiliar with which was excellent. The vanilla ice cream we had for dessert was good. The service was punctual and efficient.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were celebrating my wife's birthday weekend starting with dinner, opera and a stay downtown. The reservation process was easy but that's where it ended. We arrived to find the staff unable to find our reservation. Once seated the wait staff was disorganized and unattentative. We had to ask for simple things such as ice and water. Twice another tables dinners were brought to us which we poelitely refused, although we had just started our salads. As we finished our meal, we requested coffee with cream and honey. We had to remind our server about the coffee and by the time he brought the honey, the coffee was cold. The selection for non alcoholic beverages was dismal.
The convenience of being at the venue for dinner was exciting but was not what it should or could have been. On our next visit, we will find another place for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Going to the opera just wouldn't be the same without having dinner here

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is a fabulous way to enjoy the opera especially when you have to take a ferry to get there and back. No worries about being late you can enjoy dessert during intermission atmosphere if good meals are great and I've always had wonderful service. Only downfall for me is I have to remember to make the reservation. Their new appetizers/salad table is a little pricy but excellent. I recommend it, and hope they keep it excellent way to try new tastes

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Extremely convenient. Very nice service. Rather pricey and limited options.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Much better, food good, service dramatically improved

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We had eaten here many times prior to performances and have never had such a poor experience. We think the "Harvest Table" idea is a mistake. We had an incredibly inattentive waiter. The roast chicken entree which we both ordered was bland and lackluster. The paltry vegetables that accompanied it were not seasoned at all. The service was so slow that we NEVER were served our dessert. We will find some other option for the remainder of the opera season. We will not be dining here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Dinner (black cod) was delicious but I miss the "small plates" menu. Frequently I would rather have two "small plates" than an entree.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Prelude at Seattle Opera is trying a new approach where a limited number of first course options are available at a sort of salad bar. We saw two problems with this approach at our dinner this week: 1. the selections were not as listed on the menu, and 2. the dishes with the more attractive selections were empty when we first visited the table. We returned 10 minutes later, and we then found dishes for other selections were empty. It seems obvious that Prelude must assign someone to monitor the table and re-fill serving dishes immediately as required. At present, it is most amateurish and will certainly be offputting to most guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

we believe the quality/quantity of the food has gone down over the time we have eaten there (over a span of 8-10 years). At the same time prices have increased thus for us lowering overall value received. And the price for a glass of wine at 10, 11, 12+/glass is very expensive. Our service this past Sunday was excellent, food arrived quickly and our server was outstanding in every way. The seating arrangement along the back corner was squeezed in so that parties coming leaving had to ask others to move so they could move in or out.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Our experience at Prelude before the opera was outstanding. We were so fortunate to have as our server the person who orders the wine and spirits for Prelude. She shared information about the dessert menu and the drinks, including the absolutely stellar limoncello. We would definitely return to this restaurant. It is so nice to be right in the opera house and not have to run down the street to make the curtain. Chicken pot pie--delicioso! We shall return!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The new Harvest Table was good and enjoyable; the entrees were mediocre (not well prepared) and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.