About Prelude at McCaw Hall

321 Mercer Street
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

Welcome to Prelude - on the Promenade Level of Marion Oliver McCaw Hall at Seattle Center. Sophistication, artistry and signature dishes designed by Executive Chef Shawn Applin await your visit. Prelude features the freshest local produce, artisanal products, a large selection of Northwest wines by the glass and half bottle, and Shawn's sublime take on cuisine executed by the SAVOR culinary team. Our seasonal menus provide the perfect prelude to a Pacific Northwest Ballet or Seattle Opera performance - or offer an exceptional dining experience on their own. Dinner reservations are encouraged prior to show time. Prelude also offers Brunch before Sunday shows and Intermission Reservations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner/Brunch:
Prelude opens 2.5 hours (Opera performances) and 2 hours (Ballet performances) prior show start.


Cross Street:
3rd & Mercer

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 615-0404

Website:
http://www.savorsmgmccawhall.com/

Catering:
Catering by SAVOR... is not limited to McCaw Hall. We apply our extensive experience in both large and small-scale events at most any location in the Seattle Area. For over 20 years, our culinary team and experienced sales staff have created custom menus and unique special events to successfully support world-class events for small groups or thousands of people. You can be sure we have the expertise to handle every detail of your event, from site coordination, to rentals, to securing a pleasant service staff. Contact us to learn more.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Applin

Private Party Facilities:
Opportunities for private events abound at McCaw hall. Whether planning a large party in the dining room or looking for a private space, our team is experienced and ready to handle the details for you.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Chocolate Peanut Butter Torte With Banana Compote  - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Grilled Sardine Toasts With Minted Peas - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Lemon Thyme Panna Cotta With Riesling Braised Peaches - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Bucatini With Roasted Mushrooms And Asparagus, Shaved Parmesan - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Steak With Chimichurri Sauce - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Marinated Calamari With Capers, Orange, Arugula - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Grilled Octopus, Spanish Chorizo, Saffron Aiolii - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Bbq Beef Brisket With Scalloped Potatoes And Braised Kale - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Coconut Cake With Carmelized Pineapple And Rum Creme Anglaise - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
coq au vin - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta With Balsamic Macerated Figs - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Octopus With Chorizo, Potatoes, Saffron Aioli - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Leonetti Merlot - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA

Prelude at McCaw Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

4.0

ambience

3.6

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (62)
Special Occasion (22)
Creative Cuisine (15)
See All
Good for a Date (8)
Modern Decor (8)
People Watching (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Disabled Access (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fit for Foodies (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Seasonal (5)
Romantic (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Cozy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Casual (4)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Authentic (3)
Fun (3)
Family Style (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Great Beer (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1986 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Prelude is an excellent option for a mea ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Prelude is an excellent option for a meal before the opera. We can arrive, park, get settled, and enjoy our meal without worrying about getting anywhere else before curtain time. We have always enjoyed the fine selection of food and wine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our lunch prior to the Sunday ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We enjoyed our lunch prior to the Sunday afternoon opera.

I was worried about the portions and quality of food given the price, and I was quite pleased with our lunch. I do have to say, Seattle a coffee mecca, they could do better with a coffee that tastes good.

I would suggest having a place in the reservation to indicate if you need a disabled area. We were accommodated in our seating for our needs.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

If you don't have time to go our for a l ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

If you don't have time to go our for a lunch or dinner before the opera, it is a good place to go. Lunch menu is very short. I have not seen the dinner menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful. Convenient in same building a ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful. Convenient in same building as opera, and service and food were excellent. We normally have dessert at intermission, but this time there was no intermission--not Prelude's fault.

Tags: , Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We like to eat here before the Sunday ma ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

We like to eat here before the Sunday matinee performances of Seattle Opera. It can be very slow, however, but at least you are already at the theater. Also they ran out of one of the main entrees. I consider it ok for a light meal before the show and convenient to get early parking.

Tags: People Watching, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Incredibly expensive for what was served ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Incredibly expensive for what was served. It was convenient to be at McCaw hall, but we'll be going somewhere else next time. It is hard to enjoy when you feel taken advantage of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value1

Prelude, I am going to review this dinin ...

 
·Dined on December 29, 2016

Prelude, I am going to review this dining destination as a top tier restaurant (as it wishes to be known as) rather than as just a regular restaurant destination. If this were a "regular restaurant" I would have said that it was easily an 9 (on a scale of 1 to 10) but the grading criteria is a little more difficult if you want to be a "top tier" restaurant as this destination I would say rates a 6 on a much more difficult scale when being compared to other "fancy" destinations.

First, the setting at McCaw Hall is PERFECT regarding its appropriate ambiance prior to any ballet or opera to get you into the mood.

  • The portions are small to moderate as you would expect from a top tier restaurant. This is only

a positive if the portions are expertly plated and the ingredients are top notch.

  • Service was friendly but I didn't feel as if I was the only concern. A top tier server has no

problem making you feel as if your table is his or her only table, even when thats not true.

  • The ambiance was only slightly skewed by the horrible positioning of the servers station.

  • No coat check was offered by the wait staff nor was it spoken of as a do it yourself option by

the wait staff. You have to ask. At a 10 star destination (my star ranking system) this would have

been a no brainer. This is especially usefull as the restaurant is often the first stop for a patron.

  • The seasonal Pumpkin Ravioli was delicious.

  • The Braised Short Rib had no ribs and tasted more like a soft pot roast. Was it

good...yes....could it be better...yes.

  • The smoked duck was fantastic.

  • The butternut squash soup was very good.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The selection for entrees was poor. A sm ...

 
·Dined on December 28, 2016

The selection for entrees was poor. A small menu must have great selections. I had soup and salad since none of the entrees enthused me. Farm raised salmon seriously!! The pear tart was bland. My friend had the braised beef and it was dry. I appreciate that the meals are small since we were going to the ballet afterwards. The dressing on the salad was tasteless. The butternut squash soup was fine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Way over priced and very limited selecti ...

 
·Dined on December 27, 2016

Way over priced and very limited selection. Almost $100 for 2 orders of salmon (good) with 2 whole carrots, 3 green beans and 1 dessert. No salad or appetizers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

We had a lovely time eating at prelude b ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had a lovely time eating at prelude before our annual Nutcracker event. This year it was especially enjoyable - great service and food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The other two members of my party enjoye ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

The other two members of my party enjoyed very tasty food. Not so with me. I ordered the salmon with cream cheese and bagel. The salmon was rather tasteless and the bagels were very dry. I didn't finish the first one and did not even try the other.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was superb! We were seated very ...

 
·Dined on December 20, 2016

Service was superb! We were seated very early for brunch (12:15 PM) during a weekday before Christmas to attend the Nutcracker, thus the room was very quiet. The Children's menu was important option for my grandchildren because the adult brunch menu required a sophisticated palate. Although had we dined in the evening, the Salmon entree would have been just fine for both Children. The smoked salmon with cream cheese bagel was not to their liking.

However, it was my choice and I felt overall it was a good choice. The bagels were a little small and too dry. They may have been cut earlier that morning. However the amount of Smoked Salmon provided was more than adequate. The wine selection was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Very enjoyable beginning to our evening ...

 
·Dined on December 19, 2016

Very enjoyable beginning to our evening to see The Nutcracker. Dining there added to the festive event.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and ambiance was great. The foo ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Service and ambiance was great. The food options were limited and not very appealing. I'd recommend finding a restaurant outside of McCaw Hall to eat beforehand

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Other than convenience, this restaurant ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Other than convenience, this restaurant left a lot to be desired. The menu was incredibly limited and although the food was good, it was exceptionally high priced considering there were literally 5 green beans on my plate as a side.. they were very accommodating with my daughter, but in general, the service lacked any sort of personality or attention to detail... there are so many AMAZING restaurants within walking distance to MCaw Hall.. go to any of them instead.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

A bit overpriced, they were out of one e ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

A bit overpriced, they were out of one entree and one dessert we wanted and just seemed disorganized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was average at best. Service was sl ...

 
·Dined on December 18, 2016

Food was average at best. Service was slow and our table by a window was freezing. Only plus is convenience for attending a show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

I hadn't been here for awhile so thought ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

I hadn't been here for awhile so thought I'd give it a shot given the convenience factor. Unfortunately, the food was not great and the service inattentive. I don't review places very often, but feel compelled to tell you that you can do way better in the area for pre-show food and drink. I suspect my server took a 15 min break during my meal, which I don't understand because it was right in the middle of the pre-show rush. I mean, whoever is doing the scheduling needs to make sure there's coverage. And my tough, luke warm "braised" short rib was not worth $30. The $11 salad was no better than wilty Organic Girl salad mix with a few chopped tomatoes and cucumbers and barely any dressing. I won't be back any time soon, no matter how convenient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

If you want a decent dinner before a sho ...

 
·Dined on December 17, 2016

If you want a decent dinner before a show, this restaurant is very convenient. Service was good. Food on the pricey side, but negates the rush to reach your seat in time for the performance.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

The food was over-priced. $27 for half ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

The food was over-priced. $27 for half a breast of chicken! Salmon was badly prepared. Very limited menu -- only four entrees! The ambiance was cold, uninteresting, and sterile.Only two advantages to this place: quick service and nearness to the venue, which explains why we chose it in the first place. This restaurant tries to present itself as special, attempts to be high class, but only succeeds at being mediocre at best. If the cost was 50% less, it MIGHT be worth it. We won't be back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

SO convenient pre-ballet! This was my f ...

 
·Dined on December 16, 2016

SO convenient pre-ballet! This was my first time at Prelude, prior to seeing The Nutcracker. It was restful, quiet (it was a Thursday night) and the food was good, if IMHO overpriced. I had the pumpkin ravioli which was better than I expected, and the orange-cranberry cream brûlée which was WONDERFUL. I definitely recommend for pretheater or other pre at McCaw Hall.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Prelude is a great find at McCaw Hall. ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Prelude is a great find at McCaw Hall. The proximity to the theater is the big draw. We were able to eat right up to the 7 minute bell which is great on a weeknight with time constraints. We ordered dessert and bubbly for intermission-how great is that? The food was excellent and Tim's service was impeccable and friendly. The price is high end restaurant pricing so I wouldn't say the value is amazing but considering the overall scene, I would do it again in a heart beat and highly recommend it to others.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was only okay, but service was good ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

Food was only okay, but service was good - was very late for reservation but they held the table, food was served promptly as was the check, ensuring we were not late getting to our seats for the ballet.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

David was an excellent server, had his e ...

 
·Dined on December 15, 2016

David was an excellent server, had his eyes on all of his tables. The cheese plate was scant, I can see limited the amount of cheese but a few crackers, dab of jam.........disappointing. Caesar was good, the couscous salad again a couple of tablespoons of couscous on a bed of lettuce, disappointing. Needless to say very convenient before the Nutcracker but probably would not go back again even if there was a performance I was attending.

Noticed many ordering small plates, not dinners, perhaps offering all small plates, salad, soup, mini-cheese balls, might be worth considering.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

It was ok. It was convenient before the ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

It was ok. It was convenient before the show. The food was good. the seating was like grade school chairs and some were very wiggly. The service was good. It was very noisy and hard to have a conversation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food and service were impeccable and ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

The food and service were impeccable and it was wonderful to be in the venue before the show so no last minute rush to get there. I would highly recommend the food for the price point!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our table was ready when we arrived and ...

 
·Dined on December 14, 2016

Our table was ready when we arrived and our orders taken and food served in plenty of time for us to enjoy our meal and arrive for the concert we were attending. We found the wait staff to be attentive and the food was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Wasn't impressed with food or service es ...

 
·Dined on December 12, 2016

Wasn't impressed with food or service especially with the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

We had an outstanding night! And to begi ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had an outstanding night! And to begin at a dinning venue that was top notch was the icing to the cake. We were celebrating our two year anniversary with a night out to see the Nutcracker. The meal that we enjoyed fit so perfectly with the showing I felt as if I was the guest of honor. Please keep creating unique and delicious meals to make everyones night as perfect as ours was. Thank you.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best place to eat pre theater or opera. ...

 
·Dined on December 11, 2016

Best place to eat pre theater or opera. A little pricey but they know how to get you in and out before the performance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Very convenient for pre-ballet at McCaw ...

 
·Dined on December 10, 2016

Very convenient for pre-ballet at McCaw Hall. Option for pre-ordering of dessert for intermission was especially appreciated. Food is uneven in quality and portion size is erratic. Eating before the matinee last Saturday, squash soup was super and the portion size suitably generous. The smoked salmon entree with a tiny scrap of salmon and a lot of so-so bagel was however a large step down from the soup. And so it goes. Despite these criticisms we will continue to eat at Prelude because of its convenience and wonderful service.

Tags: People Watching, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

My daughter and I ate at the Prelude bef ...

 
·Dined on December 9, 2016

My daughter and I ate at the Prelude before seeing the Nutcracker. It was very convenient and the service was very fast! We were able to enjoy our food without rushing to see the performance. My daughter can be a very picky eater and she was very pleased with the food and I was able to enjoy my dinner of salmon! Our server was very attentive and helpful. Thank you so much!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Romantic, Fun, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good but not outstanding. Pricy ...

 
·Dined on December 5, 2016

Food was good but not outstanding. Pricy for the selection and serving size. Server was a little tentative; he may have been new. Our table location was not optimal, directly adjacent to the servers' station. I would remove that table altogether. Next time we'll stick to coffee and dessert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

There is a limited menu but it was fine ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

There is a limited menu but it was fine for brunch before a 12:30 pm performance of the Nutcracker. Very handy which made for a relaxing time before the ballet. Anthony w as a great server. Very efficient service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great place to catch up with friends bef ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great place to catch up with friends before attending ballet performance. Food is very good, but not spectacular. Service is great. Reservations are the must.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was perfect for a pre-show option. ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was perfect for a pre-show option. It allowed us to relax, enjoy and not rush since we were already in the building. We saved dessert for intermission which was an amazing option. Will go again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is great, my wife and I arrived ...

 
·Dined on December 4, 2016

Service is great, my wife and I arrived 15 minutes to our reservation, and there was no issue. The waiter was on point, and very polite. The wine selection was excellent. The 4 courses was spot on and very on time. This is our 2nd time having dinner prior to the Nutcracker and both times was beautiful. We will be doing it again next year. Thank you

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Well placed tables, attentive service, l ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Well placed tables, attentive service, lovely settings, great food, perfect for dinner before a show....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Not great, waited over an hour for our d ...

 
·Dined on December 3, 2016

Not great, waited over an hour for our dinner, when it arrived one was wrong, we ate it anyway because the ballet was starting, no time for desert, when the wait staff finally did bring our dinner they hurried away and I had to ask for our empty soup bowl to be removed, just not attentive, also the portions were very small even for fine dinning and honestly nothing special, price not worth it, obviously the price represents the location and not the service or quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Ate at Prelude pre-Nutcracker with my ki ...

 
·Dined on November 28, 2016

Ate at Prelude pre-Nutcracker with my kids. Very convenient and our server was prompt and friendly. My cocktail and salad were very good as were my daughters chicken fingers. Unfortunately my son's sliders were not fully cooked so beware! I did not notice until he had eaten about 1/3 of one of the burgers. The server was great about bringing a new plate with fully cooked burgers but it really bothered me that a child's meal with ground beef was not fully cooked. I would eat here again but will be very careful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.