Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.10mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.28mi
  4. Distance: 0.28mi

About Prelude at McCaw Hall

Welcome to Prelude - on the Promenade Level of Marion Oliver McCaw Hall at Seattle Center. Sophistication, artistry and signature dishes designed by Executive Chef Shawn Applin await your visit. Prelude features the freshest local produce, artisanal products, a large selection of Northwest wines by the glass and half bottle, and Shawn's sublime take on cuisine executed by the SAVOR culinary team. Our seasonal menus provide the perfect prelude to a Pacific Northwest Ballet or Seattle Opera performance - or offer an exceptional dining experience on their own. Dinner reservations are encouraged prior to show time. Prelude also offers Brunch before Sunday shows and Intermission Reservations.

321 Mercer Street
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner/Brunch:
Prelude opens 2.5 hours (Opera performances) and 2 hours (Ballet performances) prior show start.


Cross Street:
4th & Mercer

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 615-0404

Website:
http://www.savorsmgmccawhall.com/

Catering:
Catering by SAVOR... is not limited to McCaw Hall. We apply our extensive experience in both large and small-scale events at most any location in the Seattle Area. For over 20 years, our culinary team and experienced sales staff have created custom menus and unique special events to successfully support world-class events for small groups or thousands of people. You can be sure we have the expertise to handle every detail of your event, from site coordination, to rentals, to securing a pleasant service staff. Contact us to learn more.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Applin

Private Party Facilities:
Opportunities for private events abound at McCaw hall. Whether planning a large party in the dining room or looking for a private space, our team is experienced and ready to handle the details for you.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Prelude at McCaw Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.6

service

3.8

ambience

3.6

value

3.0

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (59)
Special Occasion (27)
Creative Cuisine (12)
See All
Quiet Conversation (10)
Disabled Access (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
People Watching (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Romantic (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (3)
Seasonal (3)
Cozy (3)
Casual (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Live Music (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fun (2)
Authentic (1)
Organic (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
2070 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 3 days ago

We have had dinner at Prelude several times over the past several years, before performances at the Ballet and Opera. The dinner before the April 20th Ballet performance was not up to the level of previous dinners there. That night seemed short on staff, led to us waiting a while before our main dishes arrived. One of the main dishes seemed just out of the micro-wave, resulting in a rubbery look and feel. Even though we arrived for our reservation at 6 pm, our main dishes did not arrive until after 7 pm, and we pushed to make the Ballet on time. Hopefully, some aspects of that evening may be remedied.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The salmon was great with asperigues, green potatoes and a glass Pinot Gris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Service was less than on previous visits. We were trying to make the pre-performance talk. Service was slow, had to ask for rolls, returned the wine but it was not taken off the bill. They are usually prompt making it easy to make the talk but not this time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

All aspects were very good and timely service. Quiche should have ham accompaniment.

Tags: Organic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Before a performance, my mother and I often enjoy Prelude as a treat. It's expensive but the food is tasty - we love the charcuterie plate plus the half bottles of wine! This visit Matt took care of us and was great. He gave us time to chit chat over wine and nibbles without rushing us at all on to the main course. I enjoyed the salmon, which was a light, yummy dish, and my mother had the pork with bread pudding. Unfortunately, the pork was a little dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Portions were small so we just ordered more. Potstickers were no good -- wrapper was chewy and there was hardly any filling. Disappointed, but the rest of our food was good.

Tags: Casual, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The worst lunch my husband and I had in the Seattle area and the food was not worth half the price charged. The Popcorn shrimp starter turned up to be just one single medium size tough shrimp. The five spiced tuna entrée we ordered was 5 small pieces of thin, dry seared tuna. It also came with a small tower of coconut rice of which was very frozen and even a knife could not cut through it. The only decent items we had were the beverages and dessert. Our total lunch bill was over $80+ and we would not mind to pay it if the meals were decent.... but they were not. We left the place with belly less than half full and very, very disappointed. We will not recommend this place to anyone unless there is big change in their food quality and serving size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The Chinese food they served for the Shen Yun production was tasty. Prices were a bit inflated given that the portion sizes were small. However, the convenience of being near the parking garage and McCaw Hall were a major plus. This experience is definitely worth exploring if you are in the mood for food before a major performance event.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is the first negative review I have ever made. The food was terrible and way over priced. Our waiter worked very hard to please us but the kitchen and the management let him (and us) down. The "crispy duck" was oily and undercooked. The "popcorn shrimp" appetizer was one shrimp. The "five spice tuna" was four pieces of tune, 3/4" by 1 1/2 inches and 1/4" thick. The management of this restaurant is even trying. They are just preying on the people who come to the theater to enjoy a concert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Everything was great, but the food prices are too much for how little you get. When I ordered my Popcorn shrimp I expected 3-4 pieces a small snack before the show; I got 1 piece, that was sad.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Came here before Shen Yun. Service was a bit slow, but relaxed. We had plenty of time to finish our meal before the show. Food was delicious. Small portions, but very, very tasty. Would go here again before a show.
Menu stated server would take intermission orders, but when we asked our server, she had no idea what to do. Ended up not getting intermission snack.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Wry disappointed. Soup was cold. Rice undercooked, food lacked flavor and creativity. If not for our special occasion I would have complained on site, not worth spoiling an event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were seated very quickly. W#e chose a wine and the server brought the bottle opened and poured. We ordered our salad and an entree. The portion for the entree was miniscule both the duck and the pork belly were so small it was only two bites total. The green beans for salad was larger than the entree.By this time our server was caught up with tables elsewhere and we worried we would get our meal before the curtain time. We ordered a dessert to share and cancelled it because time was running out to pay the bill and get to our seats.
if the idea is small plates for a happy hour I can understand but the portion is totally inadequate for an entree. There was nothing to accompany the pork belly but a sauce with lentils. My duck was like a happy hour chicken leg and wing with virtually no plum sauce.
Very unhappy diner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We went to Prelude in the hopes to have a comfortable dinner prior to the show at McCaw Hall. We unfortunately were very disappointed. I've never seen such small portions and although we could have been okay with it had it been explained up front, it was not expected. We noticed several people around us that had the same reaction. We ended up having to order several other dishes to have a descent sized meal. The food itself was okay - although nothing I would 'rave' about. The staff were friendly and tried their best to serve quickly but it seemed a single waiter had far too many tables. The place itself was clean and accommodating - I think the portions were just so disappointing, I don't think we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 9, 2017

overall good, the venue is lovely. so nice to have linen. The duck was dry, both meals were not hot but cool. too bad, the flavor was great!Our server James was good

Tags: Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It took me over an hour to get to McCaw Hall for a show. I made reservations the night before for a quick bite to eat and a chance to wind down before the show. The service we received was very good from the hostess, to our server and the timeliness of the food and the bill. My only complaint was the food. The shrimp appetizer for $5.00 was described as popcorn shrimp so I thought there would be at least 3-4 popcorn shrimp but it was actually only 1 shrimp. Not sure why it was called popcorn shrimp. I ordered shu mai and that was fine, it was a normal size and I think it was 2 or 3 pieces. I also ordered spring rolls and they were 2 tiny springs rolls. They were the size of my finger but flat. The best part of our quick bite was dessert which was a rice pudding with a coconut cream sauce and mango pieces. It was delicious. I don't know if I would get the appetizers again but I wouldn't mind trying the entrees when I have more time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Not much food for the price. Poor service. Could not think of fifty characters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Way over priced for small potions of mediocre food. Will not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food was okay but overpriced. The food matched the show that we were there to see - Chinese. I wish we would have known ahead of time - we may have chosen a different restaurant. I do understand why they had Chinese, but my Mom had a hard time finding something she would enjoy.

Tags: Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Was hoping for a nice bite and into the show before it started. Food was slow, service was ineffective, value of food for what we got was mediocre... overall, would have gone somewhere else a bit less convenient to have better service, quality of food and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Prelude's food is very uneven. We ordered "mushroom stuffed eggs with truffle oil". There was no truffle oil anywhere in that dish--that's for sure--and the eggs were soft-boiled with mushrooms only placed on top. Prelude is mainly a convenient place to go before a McCaw Hall performance. And they are often understaffed and have a hard time getting diners out on time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It is what it is: the best, closest option for dining before a performance at The Opera House. The menu is limited. The food preparations are imaginative but variable in size and quality and overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (London)·Dined on March 25, 2017

As is true for almost 100% of the clientele, we were there for a show! We let our waiter know right away what we wanted, and we wanted time for dessert. We were seated at 6:15 for a 7:30 show. Despite this knowledge, the waiter seemed to forget we ordered more than 1 dish as he asked us if wanted menus again. We felt forgotten for long periods of time, then we didn't get out of the restaurant until 7:25.

So, though we had plenty of time, we were nervous, and didn't really enjoy the rush at the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

This the first time dining at Prelude where the server was completely oblivious to the showtime. The bell was chiming and we had to track down our server to get the bill.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great for before the ballet. Checks took kind of long to process as we were going to the lecture beforehand.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Dined before attending the ballet . We have eaten their. Edit but this time I found the food uninspired and the menu choices too narrow

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Convenient if you're attending the ballet otherwise food is just ok and prices are high

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The food was good, but the main reason we have used this restaurant is because of its convenience before the ballet. We travel 40 miles to Seattle, the traffic is miserable and at least here we are assured a meal served before curtain time. VERY EXPENSIVE for good but not exceptional food and wine.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 12, 2017

good for nice dinner before the opera, very relaxing

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We've had some great meals at Prelude, but this wasn't one of them. The menu reflected the Eastern European roots of the Opera, but really wasn't very appealing for those of us used to NW fresh food. We both chose the Chicken Kiev. It was okay...a little too greasy and one of my bundles didn't taste that fresh (like the chicken was "off"). The chicken had a "held under a heat lamp" quality rather than tasting cooked fresh. I cut into it and the "butter" filling squirted all over the table..just a little too much grease for me. The accompanying green beans and mashed potatoes were great.

We ordered dessert - the Napolean was disappointing. Very, very dry - we sent it back and they willingly replaced it with some wonderful ice cream. We also had an order of Rum babas that was quite good.

This was a disappointing meal. The chicken dishes were over $30! With a glass of wine and dessert, our per person check was $64. It seemed worth about 1/2 that. Not sure if we'll be back.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This restaurant is very convenient if you are attending an event at McGaw Hall. Food is average, but service is friendly and with a pace that takes into account going to a performance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Went to Prelude (which is located inside the opera house) before attending an opera that evening. Good ambience and reasonable noise level. Very short menu. with few choices. Uncomfortable, extremely hard chairs unless you sit in a booth, which I'd recommend if you're going.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 9, 2017

My chicken kiev was outstanding, her beef stroganoff didn't have enough sauce.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Ate there before attending the opera. Menu had a Russian flair very appropriate for the Janacek opera. The food was delicious and beautifully presented with excellent suggestions for wines to accompany each dish. The server was attentive and each course was served promptly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Because the opera "Katya Katanova" by composer Leoš Janáček was set in a small Russian village, Savor Restaurant chefs created a fun Russian dinner menu.

My husband and I shared these wonderful treats:
Борщ Borscht, Carrot, Beet, Onion, Sour Cream, Dill
Капустный салад с селёдкой Roasted Cabbage Salad, Herring, Onion, Sour Cream
Строганов Stroganoff, Short Rib, Sour Cream, Pearl Onions, Mushrooms, Pasta
Ромовая Бава Rum Baba with Rum Sauce

вкусно!!! That's "delicious" in Russian.

Our waiter Anthony was most attentive, and we especially enjoyed our chat with hostess Fariha. I recommend Savor to anyone attending the Seattle Opera or any other event at McCaw Hall. We had a most enjoyable meal prior to the opera!

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We have dined at this restaurant before the opera many times. The menu selections for this particular dinner were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Online reservations didn't let me rsvp for 6 pm, only for 5, then I had to run to make that time and we got done with dinner over an hour before the show, so we were forced to just sit around.
Could have used my time better otherwise if the system would have left me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Excellent! So much improved from years past!!! The new menus representing different countries/regions of the world are a real treat. This restaurant is also very good about handling my dietary allergies.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Portland)·Dined on March 2, 2017

In the past we have had mediocre experiences at Prelude, but keep going back because it's so darn convenient and the atmosphere is nice. This time Prelude really stepped it up! We were floored with the improvements. From plating to service, it seems they have paid attention to the reviews and improved everything. Everything. We had a great time!

We opted for the salmon/caviar toasts, the potato salad, the herring salad (standout), and the rum baba dessert, and asked for them all to be brought one at a time (there were two of us). The sommelier (she's great!) came out and offered us a couple choices from what we had described to our server Matt (also great!) and we ended up with a wine we wouldn't have chosen but that we loved, right at our budget. A half bottle of wine each and some salads is a light meal, but we were there at 5pm and lingered until after 7 because we were having such a nice time.

Get there as early as possibly before your show!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Excellent place for brunch before the opera. Food was excellent and the service was very responsive to our needs.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.