Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Tue, 5/22
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 4 times today

Prelude at McCaw Hall

3.6
2385 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Pre/post Theatre
  • Creative Cuisine
  • Special Occasion
Welcome to Prelude - on the Promenade Level of Marion Oliver McCaw Hall at Seattle Center. Sophistication, artistry and signature dishes designed by our Executive Chef await your visit. Prelude features the freshest local produce, artisanal products, a large selection of Northwest wines by the glass and half bottle, and our sublime take on cuisine executed by the SAVOR culinary team. Our seasonal menus provide the perfect prelude to a Pacific Northwest Ballet or Seattle Opera performance - or offer an exceptional dining experience on their own. Dinner reservations are encouraged prior to show time. Prelude also offers Brunch before Sunday shows and Intermission.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner/Brunch:
Prelude opens 2.5 hours (Opera performances) and 2 hours (Ballet performances) prior show start.


icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(206) 615-0404
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Opportunities for private events abound at McCaw hall. Whether planning a large party in the dining room or looking for a private space, or larger events our team is experienced and ready to handle the details for you. For larger parties please ask for our Catering Director and we will be happy to put you in contact with her.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Susan Cuturilo: (206) 615-0254
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering by SAVOR... is not limited to McCaw Hall. We apply our extensive experience in both large and small-scale events at most any location in the Seattle Area. For over 20 years, our culinary team and experienced sales staff have created custom menus and unique special events to successfully support world-class events for small groups or thousands of people. You can be sure we have the expertise to handle every detail of your event, from site coordination, to rentals, to securing a pleasant service staff. Contact us to learn more.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
4th & Mercer
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 2385 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.6based on recent ratings
3.4
food
4.2
service
3.8
ambience
3.0
value
Noise · Moderate
75% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 3 days ago

Stopped coming before the Opera because it seemed too expensive for the quality of the food and wine. Tried it again Sat. . Have the same impression.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

The food is usually very very good, but this time the beans that came with the only gluten-free option on the menu just tasted like chili powder, which I don't like. And there was no gluten-free dessert option.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Disappointing. I would pay for excellent food but the present selection is less than acceptable. A vegan main course should be standard. Bread is very disappointing. Our was dry cold and at least one day old. We’re looking for other places to eat before the opera.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

We needed a pre-concert dinner reservation for 6, and Prelude was the only one available. We all enjoyed our food, and the service was very good. Wine and entrees are definitely pricey, so I wouldn't be a regular there. But it is very convenient for events at Seattle Center, and roomy enough to have seating available.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great place at the theater to eat. Harvest Bar + appetizer + drink best value.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 4 days ago

I ordered the harvest table (help yourself to meats, cheeses, etc.). Everything was picked over and hardly any options were available. Many platters were completely empty. Wine was very overpriced. Had 2 glasses of wine, bowl of soup, and harvest platter for $66! Not worth it at all!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

I brought my out-of-town guests on Friday 5/18, and I could not be more proud of Prelude for living up to and beyond my expectations for our dinner prior to Aida. The well-prepared and presented, inventive selections reflecting the Egyptian theme of the opera to the exquisite desserts and selection of wine were as much a success as the production we saw onstage. Kudos! The next time I entice my guests to return, I will promise them another wonderful dinner experience at Prelude.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 4 days ago

We chose this restaurant to eat a Friday night meal before a concert at Key Arena specifically because of its location within the Seattle Center area. We are from out of town and are not familiar with area restaurants, so the location worked very well for us. The food was good, but the menu somewhat limited with only four entries to pick from.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

crab cakes were a little disappointing, along with the sides. Not a great value for the $. Service was good and quick; waiter knowledgeable and helpful about wine selection.
Need better gluten free options. We took a chance on the crab because was best choice, but lots of things could be served that aren't gluten free.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 6 days ago

Convenient for pre-opera/ballet, etc. . . . . but otherwise nothing special.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

The crab cakes were not good—too spicy, which made me suspicious it was covering up some not-so-fresh crab meat—and also strangely chewy. I’ve had much better at a small restaurant on Whidbey Island for half the cost. Disappointing. Strawberry short cake quite good.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

Prelude is good if a convenient location is important. The food is fair. When i was there Wednesday night before the opera, Aida, my friend ordered a cocktail. The waitress said the bartender didnt show up so no cocktails. (No sub?) The ambience and convenience are excellent. The value i think is terrible. Expensive. Overpriced for the mediocre food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent restaurant for pre-opera dining. The menu had an Egyptian theme, consistent with Aida performances. The tabouli appetizer was good, with a strong lemon flavor. Unlike the dinner menu, the brunch menu featured quiche, which was very good (but oddly lacked egg). We avoided the "Egyptian soup," which we had returned previously (tasted like grass clippings in broth) and enjoyed our meal. The staff was extremely helpful, cheerful and polite. The best dining experience we've had so far in this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Prelude is the ideal place for our pre-Opera lunch. It’s perfectly convenient. It’s elegant with good food and great service.

It’s our only choice for every performance!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Prelude did some Egyptian themed dishes for dinner before the Opera's performance of Aida! Our server, Charlies, did a fantastic job. Food was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

5/12/2018. It was dinner before the opera Aida. The food was very good, tasty and attractively presented. The service was very good considering that they were faced with people arriving late due to accidents and traffic problems, and having to get customers fed and out in time for the opera. They did an excellent job of carrying out this daunting task.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Prelude ia very convenient for dining before the opera. The food is good, but the service is slow and sometimes inaccurate.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Excellent location pre-opera, very efficient reservation service and our waiter was very helpful and courteous. Then we get to the food--sadly, although we were among the first to dine, the food was warmed over and disappointing. Salads were OK but the lamb was tough. The pasta dish was cold and hard, a real disappointment. Beware of the Egyptian cake--very attractive presentation but you may need a steak knife to cut one of the layers. Good wine selection but the high prices are for the convenience of the location, not the cuisine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We had seven in our group, so I was pleased with both our seating and the quality of the food and service. It's my third time for dinner before opera and I'll be doing it there again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Greatly improved from the recent dip in food quality and service (dinner before the last few operas has been pretty sketchy)--at least based on the very good lamb and crab cake entrees. Our server was lovely. This was a "last chance" visit and I'm glad we gave it another try. Thanks.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food was mediocre and so was the service. I was actually given a pot of rancid cream for my coffee. The only benefit I think, is its convenience.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 10, 2018

The crab cakes, for $30, looked and tasted like they came out of a box and were heated in the microwave. Generally crab cakes are golden brown in color - but these were light beige, as if they were NOT pan fried. With little to no crabmeat, and a texture of flour and dough, these were by far the worst entree I’ve had anywhere. Maybe hey misunderstood me and thought I ordered card board.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 10, 2018

First time experience, nice modern interior, decent menu. Our waitress was fabulous, the food was good and ambiance nice. That said, there aren't a ton of menu options, and although the food was good, it seemed a bit over priced for what you got. Also, due to the layout, it can get a bit loud once it starts to fill up. And especially if you aren't sat in one of the booths, tables are pretty close to each other, maybe a foot apart? Therefore, it can be hard to have your own conversation when maybe someone is sat next to you who is a little bit louder than you're table. Makes it really easy to eavesdrop even when you're trying not to. My husband and I agree, it was a very nice dinner and experience, but definitely not at the top of our list for returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

We have had lunch at Prelude before opera matinees for several years and have found the food adequate for the most part. We especially enjoy having the option of dessert at intermission. But there was definitely an uptick in the menu last Sunday. Our meals were excellent. Maybe they have a new chef?

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Location is great if attending the ballet or opera. But, too bad they regularly miss the mark on portion size, quality, hot meals and value. Items look appealing on the menu but just don't measure up. Saving grace is the wonderful staff that does the best they can to put on a good face.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The Egyptian soup was a mystery--neither of us could eat it. The server Kindly took it off our bill. The entrees were OK, not as good as usual. Maybe trying a bit too hard for the Egyptian theme for Aida? Nice try in theory but the meal was forgettable. We were seated next to the kitchen--very noisy. Have requested window seating in the past but they are obviously very popular. Good location pre-opera.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Disappointed when I made reservations for a window seat and they were unable to accommodate me & my guest.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

It was convenient for the opera. For that reason, I would go again. The food was mediocre, the service was slow but friendly. I expected it to be more on top of the timeline and to have enough servers for the event since you take reservations and have a limited menu.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The last time we dined here, we had a very good experience. This time, not so much. I was very disappointed in the menu. Out of four entrees, every single one had garlic in it. To me this is not a good plan for a restaurant in a venue where you'll be sitting among thousands of people at a performance right after dinner. Given that, and the fact that so many people are allergic to or sensitive to garlic, could they not have had just *one* entree garlic-free? I ended up having the appetizer buffet for my dinner. Very disappointing. Plus I specified on my reservation that it was a birthday occasion. Not one mention was made of that. Most restaurants make sure to have that info ahead of time. Not likely to return here.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Our group has met here for years before the Opera. One is in the chorus so she has to leave early. The wait staff has always been helpful.
Entree was so generous I could not eat the rhubarb tart, that I know what remarkable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

We love the “buffet” table of seasonal food. And the desserts are wonderful!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Disappointed in the soup

Halibut entree had too many potatoes

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The value of Prelude is the proximity to McCaw Hall. The menu is always interesting to review. The plating of selection is often creative. However, they just as often miss the mark in terms of taste, portion size and food temperature. The many reviews with critical comments have not made any difference in the areas critiqued.

Would urge Prelude to go back to the drawing board on the avocado soup. There was no clue it was a cold soup nor that it would be sour - intentional or otherwise. Had the halibut been served hot, there may have been a more appealing taste.

No question we return for the convenience and a very accomodating staff of greeters and servers.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

The halibut main was excellent. Nice glass pour selection. Perfect for before the ballet.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Very good food in McCaw Hall -- and very fast service. Nice to get there early , have a good meal, and not have to worry about traffic at the last minute.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Promptly seated as soon as they opened. Server came quickly, poured our water, and reviewed the Harvest Table option. we had already decided on that so he brought our plates, bread, and drinks. Good food and service!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

We were give poor menu choices OR a buffet that had been severely picked over & not replenished. We had made a reservation but were placed in a very tiny back booth- I only weigh 105 & I had to squeeze in AFTER pulling out the table. The restaurant was only half full. Prices too high for such a poor & sloppy meal.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

My friend and I arrived with reservations and were seated promptly. I was expecting a quick average meal and so I told her that this might be a dining adventure. We were both very pleasantly surprised by the excellence of the meal and the outstanding service before attending a performance. The avocado soup was smooth and quite delicious. I ordered the present chicken offering, expecting it to be spicy (don't do spice), but it was quite wonderful... great flavors along with the rice and carrots. I would definitely order this again. Next time we are going to be more eager to come here and would totally recommend it as a dining venue before any performance. The dining experience was excellent and 6:00 reservations are just about perfect for an 8:00 performance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

This is a favorite spot for dining before events held at McCaw Hall in Seattle. Having a very good restaurant located right inside the venue makes it particularly convenient. I was only slightly disappointed by the limited menu, but the food and service were very good. Parking is conveniently available in a garage across the street which is connected to the hall via a covered skybridge. We will return here for dinner again before the next Seattle Men's Chorus concert in June.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 3, 2018

I went for the buffet prior to the 2pm performance of Paw Patrol LIVE! with my 5 year old son. The buffet was cute, and had a "Paw Patrol" theme to it. The food choices (pb&j, potato chips, mac and cheese, hamburger sliders, etc.) were kid friendly. The food was good, but luke warm to cold. Also, drinks were extra (expected) but refills on soda were not included, so $8 for two glasses of diet coke, which was mostly ice, was disappointing. Over all, I would recommend this restaurant if you are looking for ease of use before a McCaw Hall performance. Arrive early, get good parking, have a decent meal, and be there in plenty of time for the curtain. Convenient would be the best word to describe this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
60