About Prelude at McCaw Hall

321 Mercer Street
Seattle, WA 98109
View Larger Map

Welcome to Prelude - on the Promenade Level of Marion Oliver McCaw Hall at Seattle Center. Sophistication, artistry and signature dishes designed by Executive Chef Shawn Applin await your visit. Prelude features the freshest local produce, artisanal products, a large selection of Northwest wines by the glass and half bottle, and Shawn's sublime take on cuisine executed by the SAVOR culinary team. Our seasonal menus provide the perfect prelude to a Pacific Northwest Ballet or Seattle Opera performance - or offer an exceptional dining experience on their own. Dinner reservations are encouraged prior to show time. Prelude also offers Brunch before Sunday shows and Intermission Reservations.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Dinner/Brunch:
Prelude opens 2.5 hours (Opera performances) and 2 hours (Ballet performances) prior show start.


Cross Street:
3rd & Mercer

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(206) 615-0404

Website:
http://www.savorsmgmccawhall.com/

Catering:
Catering by SAVOR... is not limited to McCaw Hall. We apply our extensive experience in both large and small-scale events at most any location in the Seattle Area. For over 20 years, our culinary team and experienced sales staff have created custom menus and unique special events to successfully support world-class events for small groups or thousands of people. You can be sure we have the expertise to handle every detail of your event, from site coordination, to rentals, to securing a pleasant service staff. Contact us to learn more.

Executive Chef:
Shawn Applin

Private Party Facilities:
Opportunities for private events abound at McCaw hall. Whether planning a large party in the dining room or looking for a private space, our team is experienced and ready to handle the details for you.

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Peanut Butter Torte With Banana Compote  - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Grilled Sardine Toasts With Minted Peas - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Lemon Thyme Panna Cotta With Riesling Braised Peaches - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Bucatini With Roasted Mushrooms And Asparagus, Shaved Parmesan - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Steak With Chimichurri Sauce - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Marinated Calamari With Capers, Orange, Arugula - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Grilled Octopus, Spanish Chorizo, Saffron Aiolii - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Bbq Beef Brisket With Scalloped Potatoes And Braised Kale - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Coconut Cake With Carmelized Pineapple And Rum Creme Anglaise - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
coq au vin - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Vanilla Bean Panna Cotta With Balsamic Macerated Figs - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Octopus With Chorizo, Potatoes, Saffron Aioli - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA
Leonetti Merlot - Prelude at McCaw Hall, Seattle, WA

Prelude at McCaw Hall Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

4.1

ambience

3.7

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Pre/post Theatre (46)
Special Occasion (29)
Creative Cuisine (10)
See All
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Romantic (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Quick Bite (5)
Cozy (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Seasonal (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Worth the Drive (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Casual (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Healthy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Authentic (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fun (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1881 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was good but not outstanding. Pricy ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was good but not outstanding. Pricy for the selection and serving size. Server was a little tentative; he may have been new. Our table location was not optimal, directly adjacent to the servers' station. I would remove that table altogether. Next time we'll stick to coffee and dessert.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

There is a limited menu but it was fine ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

There is a limited menu but it was fine for brunch before a 12:30 pm performance of the Nutcracker. Very handy which made for a relaxing time before the ballet. Anthony w as a great server. Very efficient service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Great place to catch up with friends bef ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to catch up with friends before attending ballet performance. Food is very good, but not spectacular. Service is great. Reservations are the must.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was perfect for a pre-show option. ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

This was perfect for a pre-show option. It allowed us to relax, enjoy and not rush since we were already in the building. We saved dessert for intermission which was an amazing option. Will go again.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Family Style, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Service is great, my wife and I arrived ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 6 days ago

Service is great, my wife and I arrived 15 minutes to our reservation, and there was no issue. The waiter was on point, and very polite. The wine selection was excellent. The 4 courses was spot on and very on time. This is our 2nd time having dinner prior to the Nutcracker and both times was beautiful. We will be doing it again next year. Thank you

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Well placed tables, attentive service, l ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Well placed tables, attentive service, lovely settings, great food, perfect for dinner before a show....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Not great, waited over an hour for our d ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined 7 days ago

Not great, waited over an hour for our dinner, when it arrived one was wrong, we ate it anyway because the ballet was starting, no time for desert, when the wait staff finally did bring our dinner they hurried away and I had to ask for our empty soup bowl to be removed, just not attentive, also the portions were very small even for fine dinning and honestly nothing special, price not worth it, obviously the price represents the location and not the service or quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Ate at Prelude pre-Nutcracker with my ki ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Ate at Prelude pre-Nutcracker with my kids. Very convenient and our server was prompt and friendly. My cocktail and salad were very good as were my daughters chicken fingers. Unfortunately my son's sliders were not fully cooked so beware! I did not notice until he had eaten about 1/3 of one of the burgers. The server was great about bringing a new plate with fully cooked burgers but it really bothered me that a child's meal with ground beef was not fully cooked. I would eat here again but will be very careful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value3

Prelude is very convenient as a pre-show ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Prelude is very convenient as a pre-show place to eat at McCaw Hall. They do have a kids' menu, which is a bonus, and the service is good. However, the food is overpriced and of average quality. At $29 for a smallish piece of salmon, I expect a better-than-average product with more than four green beans as an accompaniment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

We regularly dine at Prelude before atte ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We regularly dine at Prelude before attending the ballet on the Sunday post-Thanksgiving. With brunch reservation at 11am, we had a delicious leisurely meal without feeling rushed to make curtain. The quiche with cheddar and caramelized onion was the perfect size, and prompt pleasant service made this another great birthday treat for grandma and granddaughter alike.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I made a reservation for brunch at Prelu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I made a reservation for brunch at Prelude prior to the 12:30 p.m. performance of the Nutcracker this past Sunday. I have had wonderful dinners at Prelude for evening performances of the ballet in the past but I was very disappointed in the brunch menu. For instance, my mother's bagels, cream cheese and salmon plate was overpriced and the bagels were not fresh (very dry).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

I don't expect great cuisine/fine dining ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I don't expect great cuisine/fine dining at Prelude: for my wife & I, it's main attraction is its convenience when we're attending an event at Seattle Centre (e.g., opera or theatre). The food is generally good and, usually, the service is fast (some might find it too fast). However, this last Saturday, the service was strangely slow -- it took well over 15 minutes for our entrées to arrive: our waitress had to speak to the manager to move our order along. Our waitress was friendly but seemed a little distracted -- e.g., she forgot what we ordered a couple of times; normally, I'd attribute that to how busy Prelude is but it wasn't at all busy on Saturday.

Tags: Quick Bite, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Way overpriced for extremely small porti ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Way overpriced for extremely small portions of food that are mediocre at best. I had literally, 8 bites of food for my entrée that included no sides. When I still had 2 of my 8 bites left, the server attempted to take my plate away even though I was still holding my fork and chewing my food. We only ate there for convenience. NEVER again. Definitely not worth $142 for two people who were still hungry when finished.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Good place with lovely decor and very pe ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Good place with lovely decor and very personable service. We were dining prior to an afternoon event and had more than enough time for a leisurely meal before the ballet.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Bread rolls better (usually they're sub- ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Bread rolls better (usually they're sub-par for the quality of restaurant. The chairs aren't comfortable, they're very cheap in quality. Considering the food isn't made to order on the premises, but pre-prepared and reheated like on an airplane, why does it take over 15" to get a salad when the restaurant is less than 50% capacity? Convenient, but generally disappointing. I keep hoping it will get better. Someone needs to go to the restaurant in NYC's Metropolitan Opera House to get some tips and ideas on how to run a restaurant at a venue such as McCaw Hall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

We come for each ballet performance for ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We come for each ballet performance for the convenience and for the dessert and coffee at intermission. The servers are always very nice, but timing on the courses is almost always way off. Food is fine, but not great for the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Service was excellent; wine pairing with ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was excellent; wine pairing with our food choices was prefect; combining Prelude with the Ballet creates and lovely, low stress evening of dining and entertainment.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always my choice for treating myself to ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Always my choice for treating myself to an exquisite evening at the ballet! Fabulous staff!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prelude is convenient when attending eve ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Prelude is convenient when attending events at McCaw Hall, which I did with friends. The server was excellent. The food, however, was overpriced for the quality. I will probably seek other dining options the next time I attend an event at McCaw Hall.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

I enjoy dining at Prelude before the Bal ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 5, 2016

I enjoy dining at Prelude before the Ballet. It is not only convenient, but has very good food and a comfortable and warm ambience.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Crowded seating like middle seat on plan ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Crowded seating like middle seat on plane, couple on both sides

Extremely limited menu

Crowded table, lack of small plates

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

This has always been expensive but the s ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

This has always been expensive but the skimpy serving of red wine (about 1/3 of the glass) at $12 a glass put us over the edge. Its too expensive for the quality. We will not be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

The Food is over priced but the restaura ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 30, 2016

The Food is over priced but the restaurant is very convenient for performances at McCaw Hall.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was well prepared and beautiful ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The food was well prepared and beautifully presented. This is the best meal we have had here out of the twenty plus times we have eaten here. They seem to be upping their game.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

As always, a spectacular pre-opera meal. ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on October 29, 2016

As always, a spectacular pre-opera meal. Pork rillette, pumpkin soup and stuffed chicken breast. Top notch as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have been to Prelude before and there ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

We have been to Prelude before and there are always ups and downs. The up this time was the food - fantastic. The beet and pear salad and the crab and prawn starter were innovative. The tenderloin was just right, with a large portion, and the feta stuffed chicken with polenta delicious. But the service is never friendly. We were told we could not have a table in the front section because we had not booked - so Open Tablers - book a Window table in advance. One of the servers was inapropriately dressed. Our server was chatty, but had no idea bout serving wine, and forgot our bread. More training is required. But overall, Prelude is a great pre-theater venue.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Prelude is usually good and certainly co ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Prelude is usually good and certainly convenient before the opera. This time was not good. My friend and I each had the crab, shrimp and avocado appetizer. The avocado - the best part - was more of a guacamole. The crab was chopped up in a very wet sauce of mayonnaise. And the worst part - the shrimp: two prawns sliced in half, carefully placed on the crab --- and they were raw. No attempt at cooking them and worse - no mention of raw seafood on the menu. Our server made no attempt to rectify this. Neither of us wanted, or expected, raw seafood. So - beware!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Although pricey, it's worth it to assure ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Although pricey, it's worth it to assure you're ready for curtain. Traffic in McCaw Hall area is hideous at best so having an in-house restaurant is an additional incentive to getting there early. Also, you can return to your table during the interval for dessert/beverage. I have made this reservation before and am certain I'll continue to.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

very limited menu good wine list small s ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

very limited menu

good wine list

small servings for $$$$

best attribute: located at opera house

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

Noise level not as bad if dine early Foo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Noise level not as bad if dine early

Food variable; crab and shrimp dish Outstanding.

Chicken dry and flavors disappointing.

Service Outstanding

Great for getting to opera on time and early dinner helps avoid bad traffic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

While the dining is very convenient for ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 20, 2016

While the dining is very convenient for eating before the Seattle Opera and the food is fine, the prices are a bit over the top. $29 for ravioli is hard to justify borders on institutional for the pre-opera rush.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

We enjoyed a delicious a pre-opera dinne ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We enjoyed a delicious a pre-opera dinner. The food was innovative,fresh and beautifully presented. The service professional and unobtrusive. What a jewel we have at MCaw Hall.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great for an event but pricey

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great for an event but pricey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Food was a little bit slow coming out bu ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Food was a little bit slow coming out but still plenty of time to enjoy before the opera started.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was good. Service slightly slo ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 2, 2016

The food was good. Service slightly slow but otherwise good.

Tables are quite close together; I felt that I might bump elbows with the woman sitting at the table-for-two next to ours. Difficult not to overheard their conversation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Third course came out before the second. ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Third course came out before the second. I wish the servers would tell us what is on cheese plate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We had dinner at Prelude before a ballet ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We had dinner at Prelude before a ballet performance. Our reservations were for 6 pm and the ballet began at 7:30. We had plenty of time but note that the service is slow and opera- and ballet-goers should plan on at least an hour. We both had Caesar Salads--done Maytag style with a whole piece of dressed romaine garnished with a white anchovy--nice. And a chicken breast over a marvelous creamy polenta with perfectly executed slices of zucchini.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We needed to be served and get our check ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We needed to be served and get our check promptly so that we could attend the pre-performance talk for the Pacific Northwest Ballet. Our waiter gave us prompt service, so the timing worked perfectly.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have eaten at Prelude multiple times ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We have eaten at Prelude multiple times before Pacific Northwest Ballet performances. They are very uneven--some of the food is very good, some is really poor (e.g., a "poached" pear that was rock hard and very cold, for dessert). The service can be very slow, and tends to get slower yet towards performance time, when we are most anxious to leave!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Just a good place to grab a quick bite w ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Just a good place to grab a quick bite when you don't have much time before the performance but wants something more than bar counter.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.