About Precinct Kitchen + Bar

154 Berkeley St
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Precinct Kitchen & Bar is now open in the Loews Boston hotel. Offering a menu of Boston favorites and classic cocktails, the restaurant is universally approachable to the neighborhood demographic. Dishes are traditionally-inspired, playing off of beloved New England classics, yet innovative and contemporary in their approach and presentation. The cocktail program, designed by Master Mixologist Eben Klemm, is a strong and reputable force behind the bar. The focus is on classic Boston & New England inspired concoctions and elixirs.The restaurant features a charcuterie station serving local, artisanal cheeses and cured meats from family-owned farms, plus a seafood-focused menu. A patio overlooking Berkeley Street opens at the end of April.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
RESTAURANT
Monday-Friday 7am -- 10pm
Saturday 7am-12pm, 5pm-10pm
Sunday 7am-12pm

LOUNGE
Sunday-Wednesday 11am-12am
Thursday-Saturday 11am-2am
Lunch and Dinner menus are also available

Cross Street:
Stuart and Berkeley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-3827

Website:
http://precinctkitchenandbar.com/

Precinct Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
See All
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Business Meals (5)
Fun (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Healthy (2)
Romantic (2)
Seasonal (2)
Authentic (2)
People Watching (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Historic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Family Style (1)
Tapas (1)
Quiet Conversation (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
171 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent servers and prompt service. I ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent servers and prompt service. I was very impressed with my first Brunch at Precinct. I will be back.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, our waiter was very knowl ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service, our waiter was very knowledgeable and the food was great. Casual but refined

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very clean, modern decor. Service was o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Very clean, modern decor. Service was outstanding. Shared a combo meat and cheese board and a flatbread that were delicious and very large. Can get noisy from a lively bar scene, but overall a very nice place.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Quick Bite, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The grilled cheese and tomato soup is a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 17, 2017

The grilled cheese and tomato soup is a must try. Appreciate the 45min Lunch Deals.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Good brunch

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Good brunch

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great experience when eating at ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Always a great experience when eating at Precinct. The food, ambiance, and service is always on point. Greg the server is always very friendly and knowledgeable of menu when asked for suggestions. The managers are always walking around to make sure things are running properly. A definite recommmedation!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Live Sports, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pleasant but unremarkable. Cocktail menu ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Pleasant but unremarkable. Cocktail menu is interesting. Small plates ( dates, deviled eggs and mushrooms w egg) were ok but not remarkable. We sat in the bar area after waiting for the hostess to show-- never did--at a table and it was cozy. Probably better as a bar destination.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was good and prompt, especially ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Service was good and prompt, especially on New Year's eve!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We spent our Christmas Day having breakf ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We spent our Christmas Day having breakfast here, staff were welcoming and friendly, and the food was gorgeous! So glad we found it on open table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A great place for those who eat gluten f ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

A great place for those who eat gluten free! All of the flour used in the kitchen is GF so any menu option can be tailored for those with celiac disease. And the food is delicious! Matt the manager was great and all the wait staff were friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a very nice meal at Precinct. The m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Had a very nice meal at Precinct. The menu is quite varied and suited all three of us. We enjoyed the lobster roll, lobster risotto and short ribs. The restaurant was pretty crowded on a Friday night and I was definitely glad that we had a reservation.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Our service was excellent. Valet and co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our service was excellent. Valet and coat check both made just going to have a nice dinner possible. Our server was the right amount of attentive.

Wine list was a little weak but they have a fine list of creative cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, Great service, Great ambianc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food, Great service, Great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stopped in to the Precint for brunch ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We stopped in to the Precint for brunch on a Saturday. The food was delicious and the setting is very comfortable and our server was very accommodating and pleasant. We will be back - Thank you!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here on thanksgiving. They had an e ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went here on thanksgiving. They had an excellent salad bar and raw bar. Entrees were delicious, and the desert station was one of the best around. Dry nice holiday option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had Thanksgiving dinner at Precinct l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving dinner at Precinct last year and enjoyed it so much we decided to return this year. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really accommodating to our high-chair r ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Really accommodating to our high-chair request - definitely family friendly! Great brunch, on the pricey side.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Really bad food. Much better options aro ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Really bad food. Much better options around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Food was mediocre, price high. Service g ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was mediocre, price high. Service good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

One dish, lobster risotto, was terrific. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One dish, lobster risotto, was terrific. The other meal, scallops, was Ok, but very expensive for only 5 scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Service and food were excellent! Not ou ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Service and food were excellent! Not our first visit, won't be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining at Precin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first time dining at Precinct . There were three of us - my husband, our friend and me. We shared two orders of the prosciutto-wrapped, Manchego cheese/filled dates with a delicious balsamic reduction, which were great. My husband's chicken pot pie (topped with a large square of crisp, golden brown puff pastry rather than a traditional pie crust), our friend's lobster risotto with pumpkin, and my short ribs with mashed sweet potatoes were all delicious, and the service was excellent. We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for dinner, and our meal was gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went for dinner, and our meal was great, as were the service and ambiance. The cocktails are simple, but well-made. I recommend their French 75 and the Able Baker Charlie.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was surprisingly good. Usual ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The service was surprisingly good. Usually have to pay a lot more for that level of service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My boyfriend and I heard about Precinct ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My boyfriend and I heard about Precinct and tried it for our year anniversary so decided to try it. We made a reservation and were seated promptly. They also provided us with a free glass of champagne to toast our anniversary! Such a nice aesthetic and cozy atmosphere. The food was delicious. We will be recommending Precinct to any and everyone!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The drinks were VERY good. The food- Eh ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The drinks were VERY good. The food- Eh.... bread and meat board was more meat than cheese.

Raw tuna had a very particular flavor- almost like a taco seasoning- not what we were expecting. The nachos were decent. Buffalo tater tots came out all mushed together and were almost soggy. We were disappointed in the food, but not the drinks.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

The menu had an appealing array of optio ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The menu had an appealing array of options but we just shared a charcuterie board for 2 and the hummus mezza plate. The charcuterie portion was generous and the meats were not too fatty. Chili paste made the hummus much more lively and the olives were fragrantly seasoned (and pitted). The assortment of sides can make up a substantial vegetarian meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a nice place to get together wit ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 17, 2016

It was a nice place to get together with a couple of gal friends.

A lot of the menu was tempting but we all ordered flatbreads. They were not thin-crust...but heavy. Not what I expected or wanted.

The service was superb and I liked the casual menu. I would try it again for the same type of occasion because although the bar was quite noisy the restaurant was delightfully quiet. A good blend.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, great food and great s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great atmosphere, great food and great service. I would definitely go there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Hi, Went with my husband and a friend v ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Hi,

Went with my husband and a friend visiting from Europe for business who was staying in the area. Wanted a contemporary take on traditional regional food. Menu was too complicated - too much to choose from, and then for each appetizer you had to tell a quantity you want. I found wine overpriced - a wine I drink regularly at home and buy for $10 was $50/bottle. Husband ordered swordfish expecting it to be a light option, and was disappointed to find it covered in a heavy fettucine sauce. My salad and appetizer were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Perfect spot for a work breakfast or com ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Perfect spot for a work breakfast or comfortable weekend spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Omar was excellent! He was observant ab ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Omar was excellent! He was observant about our needs - one hearing impaired person ,good humor Ed about decision making and politely was back in 5 minutes , had knowledgable answers to our questions

dinners were delicious. Oysters were clean and briny --Fun early special price

The Open Table note about needing a quiet area was handled well l. We did sit in a relatively quiet area which was appropriate for us

Many younger people happily sat outside in lovely comfortable furniture on patios in beautiful night air

We will recommend and will return

We were late, but the maitre d was pleasant and friendly .Our theatre took longer than expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience last week ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a wonderful experience last week at The Precinct. Met with friends we haven't seen in years and had a lot to catch up on . The service was impeccable and our waiter was very attentive. The drinks and the food were wonderful and we didn't have to wait long to be served.

The only slight annoyance was that we were seated under the speaker outside and it was distracting.

Otherwise a lovely night. Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice location and the outside area is be ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Nice location and the outside area is below street level, so you are shielded a bit from the noise. The outside space is on 2 sides of the entrance to the hotel. One half is a VERY lively (on a Thursday evening) bar scene, the other half is much quieter.

Excellent service. We tried the broccoli an the brussels sprouts small plates, both excellent and more than enough for 2, then we shared a flatbread. With a cocktail, just enough to keep us from indulging in one of the very appealing desserts!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location. Service was great, the p ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great location. Service was great, the pace is perfect for a relaxed dinner with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was sat promptly and given a glass of ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I was sat promptly and given a glass of water however after that unfortunately for 25 minutes I was ignored. My other guest was running late and I would have loved to grab a cocktail and an app while I waited. Only when my guest arrived did I get service. Aside from that the night was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Lovely comfy outdoor setting with twinkl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Lovely comfy outdoor setting with twinkly lights and cushy couches - kale and quinoa salad and grilled asparagus were the perfect light fare. Service was excellent! Regret not ordering the Boston cream pie...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

came here for brunch. menu is probably a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

came here for brunch. menu is probably a little on the light side with options, but they do offer a breakfast buffet which i think balances out the menu. they give you a coffee carafe at your table which is nice.

wasn't very crowded for a sat. morning brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was outstanding, best food we have ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was outstanding, best food we have had so far in Boston. Ambiance was loud, but lively so it turned out to be a plus. Service was severely lacking though. Only drawback. Overall it's still a recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

I ordered a burger rare. The first one ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2016

I ordered a burger rare. The first one came out well done. I sent it back and the second one came out med well. They were nice enough to take the burger off our bill, but I don't know if I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.