About Precinct Kitchen + Bar

154 Berkeley St
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Precinct Kitchen & Bar is now open in the Loews Boston hotel. Offering a menu of Boston favorites and classic cocktails, the restaurant is universally approachable to the neighborhood demographic. Dishes are traditionally-inspired, playing off of beloved New England classics, yet innovative and contemporary in their approach and presentation. The cocktail program, designed by Master Mixologist Eben Klemm, is a strong and reputable force behind the bar. The focus is on classic Boston & New England inspired concoctions and elixirs.The restaurant features a charcuterie station serving local, artisanal cheeses and cured meats from family-owned farms, plus a seafood-focused menu. A patio overlooking Berkeley Street opens at the end of April.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
RESTAURANT
Monday-Friday 7am -- 10pm
Saturday 7am-12pm, 5pm-10pm
Sunday 7am-12pm

LOUNGE
Sunday-Wednesday 11am-12am
Thursday-Saturday 11am-2am
Lunch and Dinner menus are also available

Cross Street:
Stuart and Berkeley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-3827

Website:
http://precinctkitchenandbar.com/

Precinct Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Outdoor Dining
Boston
Best Restaurants in Back Bay ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Good for Groups (18)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Special Occasion (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Romantic (10)
Modern Decor (4)
Fun (4)
People Watching (3)
Cozy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
140 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Omar was excellent! He was observant ab ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Omar was excellent! He was observant about our needs - one hearing impaired person ,good humor Ed about decision making and politely was back in 5 minutes , had knowledgable answers to our questions

dinners were delicious. Oysters were clean and briny --Fun early special price

The Open Table note about needing a quiet area was handled well l. We did sit in a relatively quiet area which was appropriate for us

Many younger people happily sat outside in lovely comfortable furniture on patios in beautiful night air

We will recommend and will return

We were late, but the maitre d was pleasant and friendly .Our theatre took longer than expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience last week ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a wonderful experience last week at The Precinct. Met with friends we haven't seen in years and had a lot to catch up on . The service was impeccable and our waiter was very attentive. The drinks and the food were wonderful and we didn't have to wait long to be served.

The only slight annoyance was that we were seated under the speaker outside and it was distracting.

Otherwise a lovely night. Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice location and the outside area is be ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Nice location and the outside area is below street level, so you are shielded a bit from the noise. The outside space is on 2 sides of the entrance to the hotel. One half is a VERY lively (on a Thursday evening) bar scene, the other half is much quieter.

Excellent service. We tried the broccoli an the brussels sprouts small plates, both excellent and more than enough for 2, then we shared a flatbread. With a cocktail, just enough to keep us from indulging in one of the very appealing desserts!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location. Service was great, the p ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great location. Service was great, the pace is perfect for a relaxed dinner with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was sat promptly and given a glass of ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I was sat promptly and given a glass of water however after that unfortunately for 25 minutes I was ignored. My other guest was running late and I would have loved to grab a cocktail and an app while I waited. Only when my guest arrived did I get service. Aside from that the night was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Lovely comfy outdoor setting with twinkl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Lovely comfy outdoor setting with twinkly lights and cushy couches - kale and quinoa salad and grilled asparagus were the perfect light fare. Service was excellent! Regret not ordering the Boston cream pie...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

came here for brunch. menu is probably a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

came here for brunch. menu is probably a little on the light side with options, but they do offer a breakfast buffet which i think balances out the menu. they give you a coffee carafe at your table which is nice.

wasn't very crowded for a sat. morning brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was outstanding, best food we have ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was outstanding, best food we have had so far in Boston. Ambiance was loud, but lively so it turned out to be a plus. Service was severely lacking though. Only drawback. Overall it's still a recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

I ordered a burger rare. The first one ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I ordered a burger rare. The first one came out well done. I sent it back and the second one came out med well. They were nice enough to take the burger off our bill, but I don't know if I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place for a very good meal, either ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great place for a very good meal, either light or full course. Food is great, the menu is very flexible. Though the bar noisy the restaurant lends itself well to meeting friends for a meal in a beautiful relaxed environment. We have eaten here several times and look forward to doing so in the future.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great experience at the Precinc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

We had a great experience at the Precinct Kitchen & Bar. The service was terrific, with perfect timing and the right amount of "check-ins" The food was very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sat on the patio so noise level was grea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Sat on the patio so noise level was great. Food was good, I had the salmon and my guest had the short ribs, both were good. My salmon was a bit overcooked but the the flavor was tasty. The service was average. It was slow for us and I saw at least two couples sit down and get up and leave before a waiter attended to them. I can only assume they got tired of waiting to be greeted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food paired with knowledgeable ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent food paired with knowledgeable and attentive service left us very pleased with our meal here. Precinct is definitely a cut above your typical hotel restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Charcuterie board was outstanding, tuna ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Charcuterie board was outstanding, tuna crudo was not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very beautiful atmosphere. Food was deli ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very beautiful atmosphere. Food was delicious. I came for brunch but would like to check out dinner and the bar scene.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great outdoor summer dining spot--festiv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great outdoor summer dining spot--festive lights, delicious burgers, cold cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

One of my favorite instagrammers live in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of my favorite instagrammers live in Boston and she recommended this place as one of the many restaurants to check out while there. The ambiance was very hipster, which I really enjoyed. Outside seating had live music when we went on a Saturday night but I really went there for the $1 oysters EVERYDAY 4-6PM! The oysters were great, the food was delicious and the ambiance was very hip. I would definitely go again if and when I'm in Boston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a wonderful dinner on our first a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner on our first anniversary. We are definitely coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They had a private function going on at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

They had a private function going on at the same time, which is fine, but it made the service in the main room pretty bad. We waited 30 min past our reservation. Had 4 children with us but they gave us normal menus. It wasn't until we were ordering that it became obvious there were child options and THEN she got us children's menus? Food was decent, but service was bad and unapologetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Had a great dinner here. We started with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Had a great dinner here. We started with the local oysters which were all delicious and very fresh. The waiter was very attentive and recommended the special which was Lobster Risotto. It was one of the best Risottos we've tried. We also ordered the Braised beef short ribs which was equally delicious. Overall a great experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we arrived for dinner at 7:00 PM on ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

When we arrived for dinner at 7:00 PM on a warm Thursday, the bar was packed with young professionals and was very loud. There was no outdoor tables available so we moved from the crowded bar side to the nearly empty restaurant side and the noise level plummeted. We had a very nice light dinner. Our only complaint is that, with only two or three other tables occupied, we seated right next to the door from bar back area to the dining room and the was in constant use. We'd go back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

great find for an outdoor early dinner. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

great find for an outdoor early dinner. enjoyed the variety on the menu. creative, tasty, would definitely go back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The setting was very nice, but it was a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The setting was very nice, but it was a bit pricey. I suppose that is what you should expect at the Leow's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The staff was very professional from the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The staff was very professional from the time we entered until the time we departed. The food was remarkable and the atmosphere was great. A great,

great find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Mediocre food, but awesome ambiance for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Mediocre food, but awesome ambiance for drinks + apps after work. Would not return to have a meal, but would return for the $1 oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

$1 dollar happy hour for the win! 4-6pm ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

$1 dollar happy hour for the win! 4-6pm everyday :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice outdoor seating with $1 oysters eve ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Nice outdoor seating with $1 oysters every night of the week!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Precinct was a fantastic place for a fri ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Precinct was a fantastic place for a friend's birthday dinner. The cocktail list had something for everyone- I really enjoyed both the Bourbon Smash with apricot and the precinct punch. Our group shared a variety of appetizers, salads, and flatbreads. Everything was delicious. The tuna crudo was a big hit and the watermelon/feta salad was one of my favorites. Our server was attentive yet patient, giving us great recommendations and space to decide when needed. We were happy to take our time and enjoy the food, atmosphere and company. Will absolutely be back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very pleasant surprise

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This has been coming up on my opentable search for a while, but I kept discounting it because it was a hotel restaurant. Shame on me. This place was hopping, the food was great, and the patio looked very enticing (should the weather permit). I tried the nachos, and they were crave worthy. I also recommend the Mimi Rose. I'll definitely be going back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for appetizers and desse ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent place for appetizers and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything I tried was great - prosciutt ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything I tried was great - prosciutto wrapped dates and cheese, kale salad, scallops, my kid's Mac and cheese. Truffled fries could use more truffle oil. Attentive and sharp waiting staff, nice decor/space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. The server ca ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The service was excellent. The server came to check on us just the right amount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Cool spot in Boston

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Had oysters, wine and a few apps, very tasty - service was great. Love the location and that this was the old police station. Outside seating is a must for a warm Boston eve!

Would go again!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Poor service distracted us from the great food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were a party of 2 with an 8:30 reservation, arrived on time, but waited 40 minutes before we were seated. The host said it was because of people sitting and lingering after paying their checks, but there were also 2 other groups waiting for their reservations; that's just poor management. Once we were finally seated, it took our server 15 minutes before coming to the table, then another 15 minutes for us to receive drinks (let alone order food). It just seemed like the dining room was understaffed because the manager was running around just as much as much as the servers. Overall, a negative experience, which is too bad because we were excited to try a new place and the menu was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Last minute decision that turned out to ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Last minute decision that turned out to be a Home Run. Awesome service, great ambiance, delicious food and drinks. Loved it! Sit outside on patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Greg was outstanding. Greg ha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Our server Greg was outstanding. Greg has a deep knowledge of each of the menu choices (including details of preparation), and explains options in a most interesting manner. Greg also recalled us from prior visits and remembered our preferences.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Convenient but missing attention to detail

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Four colleagues and I met for dinner this past week in a very convenient downtown location beneath the Loews Hotel. Service was reasonably prompt and prices were at market rates for downtown. Unfortunately, I had an overcooked swordfish that was returned straight away. My colleagues seemed reasonably pleased with their fares - two had salmon and approved. To make matters worse, they brought out my replacement entree after we had paid the bill and were getting up from the table. YMMV.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

great spot for outdoor seating

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely loved Precinct. My boyfriend and I sat outside under the lights on a gorgeous Saturday night and were honestly in bliss. The outdoor area is sunken down so it is away from the hustle and bustle of the street and the couches are so comfy. We ordered oysters to start which were fresh and delicious. Then my boyfriend asked for a half portion of charcuterie to try because I dont eat meat, and they happily obliged. The night was great and low key just what we were looking for, i would highly recommend for groups, dates, and everyone looking for a solid bite and great atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Superb Dining Experience at an Affordable Price.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Two of us have dined here many times and have never been disappointed. I had the Lobster fra diavolo (not on the menu) and my friend had a delicious salmon with a very special sauce. The wine was good and service impeccable. They will accept non-menu requests. Summer time is great for out door dining. -Don Thacker, Palm Beach

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my Mom for Mother's Day brunch. Our waitress Dianna was awesome, super friendly and attentive. We ordered the steak and eggs and the Precinct burger and both were fantastic. I liked the look and feel of the restaurant. We had a nice time and will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.