About Precinct Kitchen + Bar

154 Berkeley St
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Precinct Kitchen & Bar is now open in the Loews Boston hotel. Offering a menu of Boston favorites and classic cocktails, the restaurant is universally approachable to the neighborhood demographic. Dishes are traditionally-inspired, playing off of beloved New England classics, yet innovative and contemporary in their approach and presentation. The cocktail program, designed by Master Mixologist Eben Klemm, is a strong and reputable force behind the bar. The focus is on classic Boston & New England inspired concoctions and elixirs.The restaurant features a charcuterie station serving local, artisanal cheeses and cured meats from family-owned farms, plus a seafood-focused menu. A patio overlooking Berkeley Street opens at the end of April.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
RESTAURANT
Monday-Friday 7am -- 10pm
Saturday 7am-12pm, 5pm-10pm
Sunday 7am-12pm

LOUNGE
Sunday-Wednesday 11am-12am
Thursday-Saturday 11am-2am
Lunch and Dinner menus are also available

Cross Street:
Stuart and Berkeley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-3827

Website:
http://precinctkitchenandbar.com/

Precinct Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

great for outdoor dining (42)
good for groups (33)
fit for foodies (31)
See All
vibrant bar scene (30)
neighborhood gem (20)
great for brunch (18)
hot spot (17)
great for lunch (16)
romantic (14)
special occasion (12)
late-night find (6)
kid-friendly (2)
notable wine list (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
127 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Charcuterie board was outstanding, tuna ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Charcuterie board was outstanding, tuna crudo was not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very beautiful atmosphere. Food was deli ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very beautiful atmosphere. Food was delicious. I came for brunch but would like to check out dinner and the bar scene.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great outdoor summer dining spot--festiv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great outdoor summer dining spot--festive lights, delicious burgers, cold cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

One of my favorite instagrammers live in ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of my favorite instagrammers live in Boston and she recommended this place as one of the many restaurants to check out while there. The ambiance was very hipster, which I really enjoyed. Outside seating had live music when we went on a Saturday night but I really went there for the $1 oysters EVERYDAY 4-6PM! The oysters were great, the food was delicious and the ambiance was very hip. I would definitely go again if and when I'm in Boston.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a wonderful dinner on our first a ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner on our first anniversary. We are definitely coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They had a private function going on at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

They had a private function going on at the same time, which is fine, but it made the service in the main room pretty bad. We waited 30 min past our reservation. Had 4 children with us but they gave us normal menus. It wasn't until we were ordering that it became obvious there were child options and THEN she got us children's menus? Food was decent, but service was bad and unapologetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Had a great dinner here. We started with ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Had a great dinner here. We started with the local oysters which were all delicious and very fresh. The waiter was very attentive and recommended the special which was Lobster Risotto. It was one of the best Risottos we've tried. We also ordered the Braised beef short ribs which was equally delicious. Overall a great experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we arrived for dinner at 7:00 PM on ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

When we arrived for dinner at 7:00 PM on a warm Thursday, the bar was packed with young professionals and was very loud. There was no outdoor tables available so we moved from the crowded bar side to the nearly empty restaurant side and the noise level plummeted. We had a very nice light dinner. Our only complaint is that, with only two or three other tables occupied, we seated right next to the door from bar back area to the dining room and the was in constant use. We'd go back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

great find for an outdoor early dinner. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

great find for an outdoor early dinner. enjoyed the variety on the menu. creative, tasty, would definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The setting was very nice, but it was a ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

The setting was very nice, but it was a bit pricey. I suppose that is what you should expect at the Leow's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

The staff was very professional from the ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The staff was very professional from the time we entered until the time we departed. The food was remarkable and the atmosphere was great. A great,

great find!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Mediocre food, but awesome ambiance for ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Mediocre food, but awesome ambiance for drinks + apps after work. Would not return to have a meal, but would return for the $1 oysters!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2

$1 dollar happy hour for the win! 4-6pm ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

$1 dollar happy hour for the win! 4-6pm everyday :)

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice outdoor seating with $1 oysters eve ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Nice outdoor seating with $1 oysters every night of the week!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Precinct was a fantastic place for a fri ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Precinct was a fantastic place for a friend's birthday dinner. The cocktail list had something for everyone- I really enjoyed both the Bourbon Smash with apricot and the precinct punch. Our group shared a variety of appetizers, salads, and flatbreads. Everything was delicious. The tuna crudo was a big hit and the watermelon/feta salad was one of my favorites. Our server was attentive yet patient, giving us great recommendations and space to decide when needed. We were happy to take our time and enjoy the food, atmosphere and company. Will absolutely be back again.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very pleasant surprise

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

This has been coming up on my opentable search for a while, but I kept discounting it because it was a hotel restaurant. Shame on me. This place was hopping, the food was great, and the patio looked very enticing (should the weather permit). I tried the nachos, and they were crave worthy. I also recommend the Mimi Rose. I'll definitely be going back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent place for appetizers and desse ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent place for appetizers and dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Everything I tried was great - prosciutt ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Everything I tried was great - prosciutto wrapped dates and cheese, kale salad, scallops, my kid's Mac and cheese. Truffled fries could use more truffle oil. Attentive and sharp waiting staff, nice decor/space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. The server ca ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

The service was excellent. The server came to check on us just the right amount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Cool spot in Boston

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Had oysters, wine and a few apps, very tasty - service was great. Love the location and that this was the old police station. Outside seating is a must for a warm Boston eve!

Would go again!

Tags: great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Poor service distracted us from the great food

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We were a party of 2 with an 8:30 reservation, arrived on time, but waited 40 minutes before we were seated. The host said it was because of people sitting and lingering after paying their checks, but there were also 2 other groups waiting for their reservations; that's just poor management. Once we were finally seated, it took our server 15 minutes before coming to the table, then another 15 minutes for us to receive drinks (let alone order food). It just seemed like the dining room was understaffed because the manager was running around just as much as much as the servers. Overall, a negative experience, which is too bad because we were excited to try a new place and the menu was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

Last minute decision that turned out to ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Last minute decision that turned out to be a Home Run. Awesome service, great ambiance, delicious food and drinks. Loved it! Sit outside on patio!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server Greg was outstanding. Greg ha ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Our server Greg was outstanding. Greg has a deep knowledge of each of the menu choices (including details of preparation), and explains options in a most interesting manner. Greg also recalled us from prior visits and remembered our preferences.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Convenient but missing attention to detail

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Four colleagues and I met for dinner this past week in a very convenient downtown location beneath the Loews Hotel. Service was reasonably prompt and prices were at market rates for downtown. Unfortunately, I had an overcooked swordfish that was returned straight away. My colleagues seemed reasonably pleased with their fares - two had salmon and approved. To make matters worse, they brought out my replacement entree after we had paid the bill and were getting up from the table. YMMV.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

great spot for outdoor seating

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Absolutely loved Precinct. My boyfriend and I sat outside under the lights on a gorgeous Saturday night and were honestly in bliss. The outdoor area is sunken down so it is away from the hustle and bustle of the street and the couches are so comfy. We ordered oysters to start which were fresh and delicious. Then my boyfriend asked for a half portion of charcuterie to try because I dont eat meat, and they happily obliged. The night was great and low key just what we were looking for, i would highly recommend for groups, dates, and everyone looking for a solid bite and great atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Superb Dining Experience at an Affordable Price.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Two of us have dined here many times and have never been disappointed. I had the Lobster fra diavolo (not on the menu) and my friend had a delicious salmon with a very special sauce. The wine was good and service impeccable. They will accept non-menu requests. Summer time is great for out door dining. -Don Thacker, Palm Beach

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Took my Mom for Mother's Day brunch. Our waitress Dianna was awesome, super friendly and attentive. We ordered the steak and eggs and the Precinct burger and both were fantastic. I liked the look and feel of the restaurant. We had a nice time and will definitely go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My boyfriend and I went on a Saturday ni ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

My boyfriend and I went on a Saturday night. It was relatively busy. We got there around 8:40 and had an 8:45 reservation. We sat at the bar until we were seated around 8:55. The host came and found us at the bar when our table was ready. We were sat and instantly we received water from our waitress. She was prompt and attentive but not overly attentive which was good. We started with the combo board which was delicious. It had a great selection of meats and two different types of cheeses. I had the bacon burger which I ordered medium rare and came out medium, which was fine, it was still delicious. My boyfriend had the steak frites. He ordered his medium rare and it came out on the rarer side, which was also fine with him as he prefers it on the rarer side. He said it was really good. The Parmesan truffle fries were delicious that came with his steak. We had the beignets for dessert which were served with three different dipping sauces. All delicious. I would recommend this place if you are looking to try somewhere new! We would go here again. It is inside a hotel but the restaurant doesn't have that hotel feel. It's very nicely decorated inside and I enjoyed watching them cut the meats and cheese for the boards while we were sitting at the bar waiting for our table!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Love your kale salad

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Love your kale salad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great twist on traditional food!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Went to celebrate after the Boston Marathon and were not disappointed! The food was excellent, service attentive and the atmosphere was festive. Better than I expected on all counts!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a table for four at brunch on a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We were a table for four at brunch on a Saturday morning. Service was slow, but otherwise friendly. The atmosphere was nice - tasteful, but relaxed. Despite being below ground level, it feels bright and open, and they had a great outdoor seating area.

The food was made with care, and was excellent. Good quality, and a menu focused on local and artisanal ingredients, but without seeming too pretentious about the whole thing.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Fantastic NE clam chowder! Best cappucc ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Fantastic NE clam chowder! Best cappuccino I've had and I've had many throughout Italy. Jaime was our patient and helpful waiter! Loved the former Boston Police Department precinct's vibe! Easy parking w/ valet for $16 on a Sat afternoon. Go here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great brunch spot

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was excellent and the menu original, a bit different than what we usually see in Boston. The portions were slightly on the smaller size, especially for the price, hence the 4-star rating instead of 5 stars.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Bar is very loud Friday night after work ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Bar is very loud Friday night after work but noise in dining room is "palatable". Oyster specials from 4-6 pm are a must.....flatbreads are good option for light eats!

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We enjoy going to Precinct for the food ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We enjoy going to Precinct for the food, the service by our favorite waiter, Greg and that you can usually have a conversation with whomever you're with. The distance between tables makes that possible when the room is full and somewhat noisy. Don't love the décor since the renovation and think the outfits on the wait staff are strange in a sophisticated hotel restaurant

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great for weekday lunch - in and out in ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Great for weekday lunch - in and out in 45 minutes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Perfect Business Breakfast Spot

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Precinct is the perfect spot for a business breakfast . Fantastic service, great food, perfect noise level, etc.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot for fun but casual meal!!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My husband took me to this restaurant for a Friday night date because he really enjoys lunches here during the week. The menu is simple and has something to satisfy pretty much anyone! We ordered the meatballs as an appetizer and they were delicious!! It would have been nicer if they came out a bit sooner before our meal - we ended up eating them along side our meal. I had the bacon and chicken flat bread and my husband had the house burger. Both were delicious and thoroughly enjoyed!

As for service, it was a busy Friday night and being in the heart of Back Bay, lots of people stopping for a drink after work with friends, but the location was able to accommodate everyone. There are plenty of tables and ledges to set your drink (and purse) down, even if you don't have a seat. . . plenty of standing room. We arrived 20 minutes early for our reservation and after they checked us in, we were offered a drink from one of the management staff so we didn't have to wait at the crowded bar. It was very kind and we were seated only minutes after receiving our drinks. Our server was lovely and during our meal, we witnessed the managers on staff bringing dishes to tables, filling water glasses at tables and checking on orders. It was really nice to see their involvement and making sure everyone was taken care of.

I will absolutely return to this restaurant and would recommend it to others!

Tags: great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

easter brunch

 
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

we enjoyed a very nice brunch meal for easter this year. the food was plentiful, attractively presented and the service was friendly and prompt. we would recommend it with the caveat that it was not inexpensive, but probably comparable to most easter brunch choices.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Good food, sub-par service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was very tasty, portions seemed generous for what we paid relative to Boston city standards. Good group seating. Everything was good to very good except for service. The waitress interrupted conversation multiple times to see if we were ready to order, then barely checked in while we were eating, and brought our check immediately after the plates had been cleared. It felt like she was rushing us along the whole time. Put a sour aftertaste on what was otherwise an enjoyable experience.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.