About Precinct Kitchen + Bar

154 Berkeley St
Boston, MA 02116
View Larger Map

Precinct Kitchen & Bar is now open in the Loews Boston hotel. Offering a menu of Boston favorites and classic cocktails, the restaurant is universally approachable to the neighborhood demographic. Dishes are traditionally-inspired, playing off of beloved New England classics, yet innovative and contemporary in their approach and presentation. The cocktail program, designed by Master Mixologist Eben Klemm, is a strong and reputable force behind the bar. The focus is on classic Boston & New England inspired concoctions and elixirs.The restaurant features a charcuterie station serving local, artisanal cheeses and cured meats from family-owned farms, plus a seafood-focused menu. A patio overlooking Berkeley Street opens at the end of April.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
RESTAURANT
Monday-Friday 7am -- 10pm
Saturday 7am-12pm, 5pm-10pm
Sunday 7am-12pm

LOUNGE
Sunday-Wednesday 11am-12am
Thursday-Saturday 11am-2am
Lunch and Dinner menus are also available

Cross Street:
Stuart and Berkeley

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(617) 532-3827

Website:
http://precinctkitchenandbar.com/

Precinct Kitchen + Bar Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Fun (7)
Special Occasion (6)
See All
Fit for Foodies (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Cozy (4)
People Watching (4)
Casual (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Romantic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Seasonal (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Healthy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Fireplace (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
160 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our service was excellent. Valet and co ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our service was excellent. Valet and coat check both made just going to have a nice dinner possible. Our server was the right amount of attentive.

Wine list was a little weak but they have a fine list of creative cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, Great service, Great ambianc ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Great food, Great service, Great ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stopped in to the Precint for brunch ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We stopped in to the Precint for brunch on a Saturday. The food was delicious and the setting is very comfortable and our server was very accommodating and pleasant. We will be back - Thank you!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here on thanksgiving. They had an e ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Went here on thanksgiving. They had an excellent salad bar and raw bar. Entrees were delicious, and the desert station was one of the best around. Dry nice holiday option.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had Thanksgiving dinner at Precinct l ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving dinner at Precinct last year and enjoyed it so much we decided to return this year. We were not disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really accommodating to our high-chair r ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Really accommodating to our high-chair request - definitely family friendly! Great brunch, on the pricey side.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Really bad food. Much better options aro ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Really bad food. Much better options around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2

Food was mediocre, price high. Service g ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Food was mediocre, price high. Service good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value2

One dish, lobster risotto, was terrific. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 16, 2016

One dish, lobster risotto, was terrific. The other meal, scallops, was Ok, but very expensive for only 5 scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Service and food were excellent! Not ou ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Service and food were excellent! Not our first visit, won't be our last.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first time dining at Precin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first time dining at Precinct . There were three of us - my husband, our friend and me. We shared two orders of the prosciutto-wrapped, Manchego cheese/filled dates with a delicious balsamic reduction, which were great. My husband's chicken pot pie (topped with a large square of crisp, golden brown puff pastry rather than a traditional pie crust), our friend's lobster risotto with pumpkin, and my short ribs with mashed sweet potatoes were all delicious, and the service was excellent. We look forward to our next visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for dinner, and our meal was gre ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We went for dinner, and our meal was great, as were the service and ambiance. The cocktails are simple, but well-made. I recommend their French 75 and the Able Baker Charlie.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was surprisingly good. Usual ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The service was surprisingly good. Usually have to pay a lot more for that level of service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My boyfriend and I heard about Precinct ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 22, 2016

My boyfriend and I heard about Precinct and tried it for our year anniversary so decided to try it. We made a reservation and were seated promptly. They also provided us with a free glass of champagne to toast our anniversary! Such a nice aesthetic and cozy atmosphere. The food was delicious. We will be recommending Precinct to any and everyone!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The drinks were VERY good. The food- Eh ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

The drinks were VERY good. The food- Eh.... bread and meat board was more meat than cheese.

Raw tuna had a very particular flavor- almost like a taco seasoning- not what we were expecting. The nachos were decent. Buffalo tater tots came out all mushed together and were almost soggy. We were disappointed in the food, but not the drinks.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

The menu had an appealing array of optio ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The menu had an appealing array of options but we just shared a charcuterie board for 2 and the hummus mezza plate. The charcuterie portion was generous and the meats were not too fatty. Chili paste made the hummus much more lively and the olives were fragrantly seasoned (and pitted). The assortment of sides can make up a substantial vegetarian meal.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was a nice place to get together wit ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 17, 2016

It was a nice place to get together with a couple of gal friends.

A lot of the menu was tempting but we all ordered flatbreads. They were not thin-crust...but heavy. Not what I expected or wanted.

The service was superb and I liked the casual menu. I would try it again for the same type of occasion because although the bar was quite noisy the restaurant was delightfully quiet. A good blend.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere, great food and great s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great atmosphere, great food and great service. I would definitely go there again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Hi, Went with my husband and a friend v ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Hi,

Went with my husband and a friend visiting from Europe for business who was staying in the area. Wanted a contemporary take on traditional regional food. Menu was too complicated - too much to choose from, and then for each appetizer you had to tell a quantity you want. I found wine overpriced - a wine I drink regularly at home and buy for $10 was $50/bottle. Husband ordered swordfish expecting it to be a light option, and was disappointed to find it covered in a heavy fettucine sauce. My salad and appetizer were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Perfect spot for a work breakfast or com ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Perfect spot for a work breakfast or comfortable weekend spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Omar was excellent! He was observant ab ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Omar was excellent! He was observant about our needs - one hearing impaired person ,good humor Ed about decision making and politely was back in 5 minutes , had knowledgable answers to our questions

dinners were delicious. Oysters were clean and briny --Fun early special price

The Open Table note about needing a quiet area was handled well l. We did sit in a relatively quiet area which was appropriate for us

Many younger people happily sat outside in lovely comfortable furniture on patios in beautiful night air

We will recommend and will return

We were late, but the maitre d was pleasant and friendly .Our theatre took longer than expected

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful experience last week ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a wonderful experience last week at The Precinct. Met with friends we haven't seen in years and had a lot to catch up on . The service was impeccable and our waiter was very attentive. The drinks and the food were wonderful and we didn't have to wait long to be served.

The only slight annoyance was that we were seated under the speaker outside and it was distracting.

Otherwise a lovely night. Thank you.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice location and the outside area is be ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Nice location and the outside area is below street level, so you are shielded a bit from the noise. The outside space is on 2 sides of the entrance to the hotel. One half is a VERY lively (on a Thursday evening) bar scene, the other half is much quieter.

Excellent service. We tried the broccoli an the brussels sprouts small plates, both excellent and more than enough for 2, then we shared a flatbread. With a cocktail, just enough to keep us from indulging in one of the very appealing desserts!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location. Service was great, the p ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great location. Service was great, the pace is perfect for a relaxed dinner with friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was sat promptly and given a glass of ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I was sat promptly and given a glass of water however after that unfortunately for 25 minutes I was ignored. My other guest was running late and I would have loved to grab a cocktail and an app while I waited. Only when my guest arrived did I get service. Aside from that the night was average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Lovely comfy outdoor setting with twinkl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Lovely comfy outdoor setting with twinkly lights and cushy couches - kale and quinoa salad and grilled asparagus were the perfect light fare. Service was excellent! Regret not ordering the Boston cream pie...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

came here for brunch. menu is probably a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

came here for brunch. menu is probably a little on the light side with options, but they do offer a breakfast buffet which i think balances out the menu. they give you a coffee carafe at your table which is nice.

wasn't very crowded for a sat. morning brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was outstanding, best food we have ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was outstanding, best food we have had so far in Boston. Ambiance was loud, but lively so it turned out to be a plus. Service was severely lacking though. Only drawback. Overall it's still a recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2

I ordered a burger rare. The first one ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2016

I ordered a burger rare. The first one came out well done. I sent it back and the second one came out med well. They were nice enough to take the burger off our bill, but I don't know if I'd go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great place for a very good meal, either ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great place for a very good meal, either light or full course. Food is great, the menu is very flexible. Though the bar noisy the restaurant lends itself well to meeting friends for a meal in a beautiful relaxed environment. We have eaten here several times and look forward to doing so in the future.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a great experience at the Precinc ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 3, 2016

We had a great experience at the Precinct Kitchen & Bar. The service was terrific, with perfect timing and the right amount of "check-ins" The food was very good.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Sat on the patio so noise level was grea ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Sat on the patio so noise level was great. Food was good, I had the salmon and my guest had the short ribs, both were good. My salmon was a bit overcooked but the the flavor was tasty. The service was average. It was slow for us and I saw at least two couples sit down and get up and leave before a waiter attended to them. I can only assume they got tired of waiting to be greeted.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent food paired with knowledgeable ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Excellent food paired with knowledgeable and attentive service left us very pleased with our meal here. Precinct is definitely a cut above your typical hotel restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Charcuterie board was outstanding, tuna ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Charcuterie board was outstanding, tuna crudo was not so good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very beautiful atmosphere. Food was deli ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very beautiful atmosphere. Food was delicious. I came for brunch but would like to check out dinner and the bar scene.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Great outdoor summer dining spot--festiv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great outdoor summer dining spot--festive lights, delicious burgers, cold cocktails!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

One of my favorite instagrammers live in ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 16, 2016

One of my favorite instagrammers live in Boston and she recommended this place as one of the many restaurants to check out while there. The ambiance was very hipster, which I really enjoyed. Outside seating had live music when we went on a Saturday night but I really went there for the $1 oysters EVERYDAY 4-6PM! The oysters were great, the food was delicious and the ambiance was very hip. I would definitely go again if and when I'm in Boston.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We had a wonderful dinner on our first a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 12, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner on our first anniversary. We are definitely coming back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

They had a private function going on at ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 10, 2016

They had a private function going on at the same time, which is fine, but it made the service in the main room pretty bad. We waited 30 min past our reservation. Had 4 children with us but they gave us normal menus. It wasn't until we were ordering that it became obvious there were child options and THEN she got us children's menus? Food was decent, but service was bad and unapologetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Had a great dinner here. We started with ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Had a great dinner here. We started with the local oysters which were all delicious and very fresh. The waiter was very attentive and recommended the special which was Lobster Risotto. It was one of the best Risottos we've tried. We also ordered the Braised beef short ribs which was equally delicious. Overall a great experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.