About Prasino - St. Charles, MO

Prasino is an eco-friendly restaurant in St. Louis, MO that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The name of the restaurant is the Greek word for green which is at the heart of the restaurant's mission - to provide healthy food at an affordable price in a modern, environmentally conscious setting.

Prasino emphasizes seasonal, local, and organic food whenever possible. Its commitment to sustainability is incorporated in Prasino's eco-chic design.

1520 South Fifth St.
St. Charles, MO 63303
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
mon - thurs 11 am – 10 pm
friday 11 am - 11:00 pm
saturday 8 am - 11 pm
sunday 8 am- 9 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(636) 277-0202

Website:
http://www.prasinostcharles.com/

Catering:
Catering is available.

Parking Details:
lot and garage

Public Transit:
SCAT stop across the street

Executive Chef:
Tony Marchetto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
www.prasinostcharles.com for details

Private Dining

At prasino, we believe dining well means living well. We have made it our mission to serve only the highest quality, farm-to-table ingredients for our guests to savor.Host your next private event at prasino and allow us to bring our unique touch to your celebration.

Prasino - St. Charles, MO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (70)
Special Occasion (65)
Creative Cuisine (60)
See All
Fit for Foodies (57)
Good for Birthdays (56)
Modern Decor (54)
Good for Groups (53)
Good for Anniversaries (50)
Great for Lunch (46)
Casual (44)
Bar Seating (43)
Hot Spot (43)
Fun (41)
Business Meals (40)
Great for Brunch (39)
Local Ingredients (39)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Worth the Drive (37)
Healthy (37)
Happy Hour (36)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Notable Wine List (33)
Gluten Free Options (31)
Romantic (31)
Handcrafted Cocktails (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Organic (26)
Private Room (25)
People Watching (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good Vegetarian Options (18)
Late-night Find (16)
Authentic (15)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Seasonal (11)
Vegan (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Great Beer (9)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (7)
Tapas (6)
Scenic View (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Spicy (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Family Style (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Live Sports (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Sort By:
S
1321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was great. From the hostess and waitress to the food, it was a great birthday surprise!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

It was little chilli inside , the lady offered me sweater, very thoughtful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Prasino was a great experience. To be honest, I wasn't expecting much when I made the reservations. But as soon as I walked in, it was phenomenal. The ambiance is gorgeous—dark wood, metallic, neutral tones. A large dining area. The food was great. My large group ordered lots of food, but a few stood out. I had the lobster avocado starter as well as the short ribs. Both were phenomenal. Though delicious, the prices are a little more expensive than my perceived worth. What's more impressive is their liquor selection. As an avid bourbon, Rye, Scotch, brown liquor enthusiast, I was impressed with their selection. I ended up having the Macallan Rare Cask for myself. (Tip: the scotches are a better deal per oz than most of the bourbons). Service was phenomenal. I can't seem to recall my server's name, but he was enthusiastic, personable, and funny! A stand up guy who did a great job with our large table.

Final conclusions: great for a dinner date, great for a dram of whiskey or two, but slightly expensive. Overall? I'd give this place 87/100.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is awesome. Never had a bad meal here. Sushi is amazing!! Service is top notch!!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food, great ambiance and fantastic service. I will definitely eat here again and recommend it to my friends and family.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Continues to serve excellent food with excellent service. The parking however is becoming more difficult as there is now over 10 restaurants, a theatre and hotel all in a small space. I hope this does not get any worse or it will hurt all the businesses.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were sitting under a vent blowing the coldest air. We complained but weee not offered another table or to have it turned down. It was busy and our food took forever then because of the vent our food was instantly cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food but very slow service tonight.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We love dinner there but breakfast is fantastic. Great weekend relaxing breakfast. This was for Mother's Day and it was perfect. The went above and beyond getting us in earlier than our reservation.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went for Mothers Day lunch. It's just too bad the service was so poor. It ruined the whole experience. We ordered hummus and never received the additional bread. When asked the server she replied she did not charge for it. Had nothing o dip the hummus in. When asked the Manager why it took so long to get our food. She replied will check on and never got back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

One of my places to eat. Good is fresh and dishes are unique.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Casual, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent service with 2 page menu with a variety of meals. Our selections were incredibly prepared. The ambiance is nice but a little loud.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Vegan, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very tasty menu, the group of 6 of us all enjoyed what we ordered. Pleasant surroundings too.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Fun, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great restaurant with wonderful food! Also, the drinks were fabulous. Service wasn't bad either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Through OpenTable we had some limited times slots so we thought it would be packed. Upon arrival and afterwards the place was max 85% filled in the dining room so I am guessing they are limiting seating due to staff issues and this seemed to be true or left space for walk in's. We were seated promptly. A nice menu selection and the waiter was promt taking drink/coffee order. It took a while for the coffee. They do use Dubuque coffee which we really like. The order was taken pretty quick and we settled in. First observation was that it was very noisy. I noticed that the place was proud of their recycled green environment but they missed on noise pollution. There is really no excuse for restaurant architects to miss this point. It is always on the list to check or not on review sites, they must attend restaurants themselves and it is an important factor for a great experience. Sometime allowing a bar to be noisy can be a plus to get a "vibe" but in a restaurant, it is a demerit.
The place is attractive, the food was good size portions and a decent price. It all was very tasty and satisfying.
Refills for coffee were slow and we had to YELL to get someone attention as they could not hear us at a normal voice.
My Bellini was made with real peach juice but I think they may have added sugar, it was a little compared to Harry's in Venice.
They could also use some sun shades on the west side to filter the sun, I imagine in the summer it must get pretty hot. They had a lace type drape had little effect.
One other issue and this is a very common one. When pouring water or coffee from a pitcher or bottle, they would set the spout on the glass or cup, thereby transferring germs from one customer's glass to another. You would think this would be taught in restaurant 101, but we see this probably 40% of the time and always try to politely explain the health issue with this practice. Overall a very nice place with a courteous staff that we will try again. PS:Brkfst to 3pm

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Afternoon Coffee, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Graduation dinner. The staff was helpful in getting us in and out quickly. I would strongly suggest a reservation on the weekend. Dinner was good. The cauliflower side was not good at all. The pork was excellent! Parking was an issue. Overall it was a pleasant modern restaurant in St Charles, where I normally think of the Old Town style places. I would go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We enjoyed our meal at Prasino with friends. We live in the Webster area so it is a bit of a drive, but worth trying a newer hot spot. Delicious pork steak and all the fixings.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I thought the pork steak with root beer BBQ sauce to be outstanding, very meaty and little fat. The biscuit and slaw were great too. My wife enjoyed the salmon special. We did not have room for the desserts which sounded yummy.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Very much enjoyed our first trip to Prasino. The staff was great and helpful. All the details were very well taken care of.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great food, service, and atmosphere. Made the occasion very special.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Best server ever!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This was a great experience - came with my family for Sunday morning brunch, and the food and drinks were delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a fabulous time celebrating a friend getting married in a couple of weeks. The food was delicious, the wine was reasonable and the wait staff was very attentitive.

Tags: Healthy, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The charred chicken was delicious - my plate was completely empty in the end! The chocolate cake was divine, I was tempted to get a second! Keep up the great food experience!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Wood Oven, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had an outstanding experience, we were out for a date night for dinner and a movie, using Open Table for our dinner reservation and buying our movie tickets in advance at the AMC theater within walking distance with pre-reserved seats made the timing just perfect! We were seated right away and a charming young man was our server who had excellent recommendations. We loved the Prasino salad, the dressing is deliciously tart with the citrus of the oranges, strawberries and blueberries and pine nuts and the creamy goat cheese is just the icing on the top! We both had the Prasino salad and decided to share a sandwich ( the Pork Belly BLT) and the truffle potatoes! The Pork Belly BLT was good but was the least tasty, next time I would get a flatbread instead, the truffle potatoes are outstanding!!! Then we splurged ( calorically speaking) on the dessert. My husband got the Monkey Bread, which is a new dessert on the menu. I have to admit it sounds ordinary but was anything but! My husband LOVED it!!!! I had the mixed berry pie with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream! My oh my was it good! I had been watching my calories and carbs for months and this was quite a splurge but it was so worth it! You know it was good when you keep thinking about it😊. Our server was just extraordinarily personable! I had the regular house Bloody Mary and it was really really good too! Over all a fantastic time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

great brunch/lunch with a business associate. She had the salmon salad, I had the vegie omelet. Toast was a bit soft but everything else about our meals was excellent. Service was really good until the end when he got busy and we waited for our check, but no biggie. He was most accommodating for my need to have sweet tea and provided simple syrup from the bar - the Bloody Mary's looked amazing but we didn't indulge. Cleaned our plates!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Took my girlfriend from out of town here for dinner. She is a vegetarian where as I am not. She ordered the scallops which were good. We told the waiter she did not eat meat. The spinach came with ham in it. She could not eat them. I ordered the filet medium. It came out done. Both of us had problems with our dinner. With the 2 glasses of wine each the bill came to $132.00. Completely not worth the price. I would go as far as to say they should have not charged us at least for her dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The food at Prasino is always fabulous, I eat there regularly. The service is always good too!

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have been to Prasino many times and usually have a good experience. Today it wasn't quite the same. First of all they got rid of my favorite dish on the menu so I ordered something different (the Classic-omelet) and it was very tasteless, I have had way better omelets at IHOP and Dennys! The potatoes were good but some weren't even cooked all the way. Then I ordered my son the kids breakfast and you were supposed to get an egg, choice of meat, and pancake or toast. He brought the food out and it was only the egg and bacon, I then asked where the pancake was and he said he didn't hear me say it but he would put it in. It took forever to even come out and When he brought it out I said, the kids breakfast comes with a pancake right? And he said no it was a la carte, which I was pretty sure wasn't right. He then charged us extra for the pancakes. I was annoyed so I looked at the menu online and saw that I was right and t was supposed to be included. I called and talked to a manager and she fixed the bill but I was still annoyed that the server didn't bother to check to make sure if what I ordered came with it and then it took forever and he still charged us for it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I thought the overall service should have been a little faster but overall a very good restaurant and we will go back.

Tags: Happy Hour, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Sat in Bar area. Brandon was our server and as expected, service was outstanding. The salmon and the filet were prepared and served just the way they should always be. We always make an effort to include Prasino's in our dining out plans. Great food and great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This place is first class all the way from the food to the service!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
·Dined on April 9, 2017

Our first visit to Prasino: Convenient location, right off the highway. We were there following a show at the Touhilll at UMSL. We used the valet parking, as we heard parking can be an issue. The jewel of a very popular dining area. Large bar and dining areas. Waitstaff very attentive, despite a busy Saturday. Specialty cocktails were better than expected -- and we had high expectations! Great variety of choices on the menu. Steak, halibut and chicken were all top-notch. We will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were able to get an outside table on a beautiful night. Cocktails awesome. Salads & main courses delicious. Our waiter was outstanding. Fun night out!

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Great food, ambiance and service! I hadn't dined at Prasino in awhile and it did not disappoint!

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Organic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fun, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I really enjoy Prasino. They have a unique menu and everything is excellent. I enjoyed the lamb but not rhe baguette. I recommend this restaurant for all to try. Oh forgot the wings are awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I ordered fish tacos which I read in the reviews that they are the hot item on the menu. But they turned out tasteless. I would not recommend to anyone to order this dish in the future. The service was good and the server was attentive.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Our server George was wonderful and the food was delicious! Prasino is a place to enjoy your meal and your time there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Beautiful restaurant very spacious and open. Seemed to be good for every demographic. The food was good I loved my sushi I had the lava roll which our waitress suggested and it did not disappoint.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Food was very good but two in our group both ordered flat bread and said they were greasy. Waitress was excellent and an enjoyable lunch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.