About Prasino - St. Charles, MO

Prasino is an eco-friendly restaurant in St. Louis, MO that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. The name of the restaurant is the Greek word for green which is at the heart of the restaurant's mission - to provide healthy food at an affordable price in a modern, environmentally conscious setting.

Prasino emphasizes seasonal, local, and organic food whenever possible. Its commitment to sustainability is incorporated in Prasino's eco-chic design.

1520 South Fifth St.
St. Charles, MO 63303
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Organic, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
mon - thurs 11 am – 10 pm
friday 11 am - 11:00 pm
saturday 8 am - 11 pm
sunday 8 am- 9 pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(636) 277-0202

Website:
http://www.prasinostcharles.com/

Catering:
Catering is available.

Parking Details:
lot and garage

Public Transit:
SCAT stop across the street

Executive Chef:
Tony Marchetto

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
www.prasinostcharles.com for details

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

At prasino, we believe dining well means living well. We have made it our mission to serve only the highest quality, farm-to-table ingredients for our guests to savor.Host your next private event at prasino and allow us to bring our unique touch to your celebration.

Prasino - St. Charles, MO Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (66)
Special Occasion (66)
Modern Decor (58)
See All
Creative Cuisine (58)
Fit for Foodies (57)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Good for Groups (51)
Great for Lunch (48)
Bar Seating (44)
Local Ingredients (44)
Fun (44)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Business Meals (41)
Hot Spot (39)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Casual (35)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Great for Brunch (34)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Worth the Drive (33)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Gluten Free Options (32)
Romantic (31)
Healthy (31)
Notable Wine List (31)
Happy Hour (28)
Private Room (27)
Organic (26)
Good Vegetarian Options (24)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Cozy (20)
People Watching (20)
Authentic (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Seasonal (15)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Vegan (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Great Beer (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Kid-friendly (9)
Spicy (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Tapas (6)
Wood Oven (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Scenic View (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Family Style (4)
Live Sports (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 2 days ago

Great service tonight, which often can make or break the experience. Brought out of town guests who reiterated the value of having a nice place with quality food that is near home! Appetizers were tasty, sushi was satisfying, main course was good. Knew we should have left room for their awesome desserts, but didn't manage! Next time.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

Shrimp appetizer was good, but the scallops were fabulous! Worth the drive, for sure.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is very good at Prasino, fresh, high quality and well prepared. It is pretty loud here and tonight it was exceptionally so. I don't know if it is the acoustics or the nearby tables, but it was difficult to hear the person next to you. It's a little pricey for the portions, but we do not mind that as we leave feeling good and not like we overate, but it is expensive for what you get.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 3 days ago

The food and drink are always amazing, and the servers are friendly and helpful. I'm never disappointed when we choose Prasino!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Vegan, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

We were looking for a place with great seafood and vegetarian options and Prasino fit the bill perfectly with an amazing array of choices. The seafood stew was outstanding, as was the sesame tuna. The service was excellent also. We are in the restaurant, but the bar looked like a fun place. I would definitely recommend Prasino.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Live Sports, Creative Cuisine, Vegan, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Terrible customer service. Too loud for a quiet date. Food was OK. Wasn't worth the drive. TONS more options in St. Louis and St. Charles.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

Succulent flavors and very tender meat. Best beef filet I've had in a long time. Unique menu with a nice variety. Very tall ceilings. Seating quite open, so maybe not the best romantic choice, but very nice, upscale atmosphere. Would definitely eat here again to explore the menu choices further.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

This place gets it right every time! It's one of my absolute favorites when visiting St. Louis on business! Perfect for a casual meal at the bar or a more formal meal in the restaurant! While the food is spectacular, no one nearby beats their service. Their servers are head and shoulders above anyone in the industry!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 6 days ago

Perfect for business lunch. Food is always great and you can get breakfast for lunch. Wait staff is a cut above.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had mixed feelings about this restaurant. Myself and my better half have eaten at many of the finer dining establishments in the area. While its food was good, it was over priced. In addition, literally everything was a la carte. It's the only restaurant we have eaten at that charged for bread. That's strike two, right off the bat. In addition, the entree DOESN'T come with soup or salad. We are over 60 and the crowd was lively, making it hard for us to hold a conversation. I don't hold that against the restaurant, but in light of the good, not great, food, the high charges, and the not so great value (i.e., having to buy bread/soup/and/or salad), we won't be going back there. I could name six restaurants right off the top of my head that serve just as good as food and at a lower price.

We were hoping to really like it; it didn't meet our expectations.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Great meal - the special, corn beef ribeye was wonderful. George, our server was the best - personable, professional and fun.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The coffe was good, but the cups are one size over expresso. I wasn't a big fan of the hollandaise sauce. I had poached eggs on a half slice of pretzel bread. It would have been nice to have the other half slice. I couldn't figure out the seasoning on the breakfast potatoes, but they were sweet and orange; however, I think they were white potatoes. My dining partner had the same eggs on a multi-grain muffin. She was also unimpressed.

The seats in the booth had a hard brace that was uncomfortable if you couldn't sit between the supports.
The waiter was nice, but not a frequent observer of our table.
I guess I expected a better experience for all the hype about Prasino.

The noise level created by the ceiling design makes it hard to carry on a normal conversation.

It's not a place I would go again.

I also went to this establishment when it first opened for dinner. Both times I was disappointed by the food and service for the price and expectation of a higher-end establishment.

Tags: Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and craft beer selection. Will go back and recommend to others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food and service is consistently excellent! For someone who chooses the healthier items, I can always find something on the menu to enjoy, while those who tend to be more indulgent can be more than satisfied.

Tags: Casual, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Fun, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My wife and I came here for our wedding anniversary on the recommendation of a friend. The food was wonderful! The noise level was very high, not so much that we couldn't hold a conversation, however our server had to lean in close to be able to hear our order. We didn't care for the a la carté style of the menu, however the food and service was top notch and we were seated within a few minutes of our reservation time (in a busy restaurant on a Saturday night). Overall we left with a wonderful memory of our anniversary dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, service, & atmosphere. They have an awesome wine list, beer selection, & cocktails.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Everything I ate was full of flavor, and I particularly enjoyed the Detox cocktail. It was refreshing and delicious.

Tags: Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Paleo Friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 11, 2017

My wife has been here several times and raved about the food. I didn't doubt that it would be good, but it was beyond my expectations. As someone who likes what I like and rarely venture from my comfort zone I let go a bit and trusted that the pairings with my entree would be good. And they were. I had the StL style pork steak which was perfect, fell apart with my fork didn't have to use my knife to cut it and I was pleasantly surprised by the Apple Slaw.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Visit with grandson from Virginia

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 10, 2017

My wife and I had lunch here several months ago and thought it might be great for dinner with some friends. All of us had fantastic meals and the waitress was one of the best we've had.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 6, 2017

I felt like there wasn't enough to choose from.
Maybe add some shellfish to the menu.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

I feel they are overpriced. The food is terrific.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We came here to check out the Sunday Brunch at Prasino. I had the hippie omelet, my fiancee had a steak sandwich, and my friend had the crab cakes Benedict. Everything was good. I probably would not order the hippie omelet again - the tomato jam that came with it was a bit sweeter than what I typically put on my eggs. Mimosas were good. I would come back to try other menu items.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was average. My sushi tasted like it had been sitting under a warmer for 10 minutes. Our server was awesome and super friendly! It's a unique vibe for the St. Louis area. I wish there were more spots with this atmosphere.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food as great. Waiter was great. Atmosphere was noisier than I prefer. Not that the noise level was bad - just a bit difficult to talk/hear those at my table without raising our voices. The only negative I have is I made reservations and still had to wait 45 minutes to be seated. The manager had excellent customer service skills. He personally came over to our table to apologize and he also offered to pick up our cocktails that we had in the bar while waiting to be seated. I thought that was above and beyond. And of course - that's what I'm talking about. So maybe there was a hiccup in the wait, but the manager made it right. Thank you. I will be going back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We checked in on time at 7pm. At 7:30 I complained. Said I had made reservation on open table Different hostess said stand by and then seated Mgr came over to apologize and offered 2 appetizer. Very nice. Then the next day got email from opentable as to why I did not show and did not cancel. Obviously the other hostess did not check us in correctly. Handled very well by mgmt

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent food but exceptionally noisy...Saturday night...hard to hear others.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and the service was outstanding, we had reservations and we were seated when we arrived. Overvall, great experience!

Tags: Cozy, Fun, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Tapas, Great for Lunch, Great Beer, Outstanding Value, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great service in a clean and modern decor restaurant. The Bricked Chicken is very tasty but the chicken was a little rubbery and the potatoes were a little mushy. The Short Ribs were very tasty and tender over a tasty risotto. The dish presentation was very nice and artful. Great service with knowledgeable and friendly staff. Decent wine selection. The menu is quite varied and we plan on returning to sample more of the entrees. Casual dining but a good date or special occasion restaurant. Be prepared to spend time looking for parking in the complex if you are visiting at peak hours; however, free valet parking is available. Reservations are recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was good but too high price for the amount received. Definitely a one time event. There's other restaurants in the immediate area with great food and at a reasonable cost.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This was my third time going and the food was wonderful. We took our family out for a birthday dinner and everything was perfect as well as a service. The only thing that I think they need to work on is there dessert. If you are going to have just that and some coffee not good place to go

Tags: Special Occasion, Vegan, Good for a Date, Casual, Private Room, Modern Decor, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Whenever I'm in St. Louis I make it a point to come here for lunch and or dinner. I was in town for business this week and this was the second time this week I chose to eat here. I love the creativity of the dishes on their menu, freshness of the food and how it is prepared. I took 8 of my colleagues here for lunch. They had our table for 8 set up and ready upon our arrival. I like the fact hat we can choose from the breakfast menu for lunch, all delectable selections. I had the green chili pork skillet which was delicious, hearty and generous. The taste was a perfect blend of seasoning with a large portion of very tender meat, as if it had been cooking all day to perfection. Everyone at the table enjoyed their meal so much so they decided to book their next dinner mtg at this restaurant. Also of note is that the waitstaff is consistently excellent! Our waitress Lisa M. was very friendly, attentive to each guests needs. Thanks you again for a great experience and wonderful food.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 28, 2017

A nice find that I'll come back to! Good service and great twists on menu items such as a kale Caesar salad! Service was great , too!!

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Delicious food as always and incredible service. One of my favorite go-to restaurants!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot, Organic, Good for Groups, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

The food was excellent, I got the portabella burger and hubby got horseradish steak burger. The fries were super good and the salad was plentiful and tasty. PROBLEM: The waiter. Totally inattentive and absent and we had to ask for Everything and got the "eye roll" every time. Sort of ruined it, but the food WAS really good...!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We went to celebrate our friends birthday. The waiter was absolutely fantastic and the food was out of this world.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Fun, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great menu options and food was excellent! Highly recommended for an upscale dinner with vibrant environment.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Wood Oven, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This restaurant is modern, open and as a result quite noisy. It didn't work well for a business dinner. The food itself was quite good (short ribs, the spicy shrimp as examples) but the service was a little odd. The waiter was a little self centered, talked a lot and didn't listen. We ordered one appetizer and he almost ordered three because he ran them by us and the sounded interesting but we made no gesture of taking them (at least he confirmed, but it was hard to get it out of him what we actually ordered). Then we ordered two ice cream servings for desert and only one showed up and I just let it roll and left.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The service was great. I just mentioned it was our anniversary for fun in the reservation, and they really tried to make it special. We both loved our dishes and dessert was amazing.

I do wish there was complimentary bread or something on the table while we waited, but the food was brought out relatively timely and was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Excellent food and even better service!

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.