Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Pranzo Italian Grill

Located in the Sanbusco Market Center on the Western edge of the Historic District, Pranzo has been a local favorite since 1988. We received the Wine Spectator 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011, 2012 and 2013 Awards of Excellence. Broadway vocalists and pianists are featured in the Geist Cabaret Fridays and Saturdays. From Pizza Margherita to Linguine Carbonara, to Prime Colorado Ribeye Steak, Pranzo boasts Santa Fe's favorite Italian American cuisine, most knowledgeable waitstaff, New Mexico's deepest list of great Italian wines and 20 wines by the glass served Normale (6.3 oz.) and Gigante (9 oz.). Chef Steven Lemon greets multiple Northern New Mexico farmers in his kitchen each week to buy the finest and freshest produce available.

540 Montezuma Ave
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Pranzo
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9pm, Sunday: 3pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 984-2645

Website:
http://www.pranzosantafe.com/

Entertainment:
David Geist is our Broadway pianist, veteran of 600 performances of CATS on Broadway, often with vocalists in the Geist Cabaret. We have brought Tony Award winners to the Cabaret for weekend gigs. Guest stars frequently perform.

Catering:
We offer private rooms for groups of 20-300. See the website for menu offerings. www.pranzosantafe.com/catering

Parking Details:
There is a 500 car parking lot that surrounds Pranzo.

Public Transit:
Santa Fe terminus of New Mexico Railrunner Express is only 200 yards from Pranzo.

Executive Chef:
Steven Lemon

Private Party Facilities:
4 choices of room for private dining. Groups as small as 25, large as 100. Meal plans from Italian to Mediteranean to Creative Modern American.

Private Party Contact:
Michael O'Reilly: (505) 984-2645

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday Every bottle of wine on our list of 120 is half priced!!!

Pranzo Italian Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

HappyHour (8)
Romance (7)
SpecialOccasions (6)
See All
QuietConversation (6)
Anniversaries (5)
Authentic (5)
NotableWineList (5)
CreativeCuisine (5)
ComfortFood (4)
GoodForDates (4)
Birthdays (4)
Lunch (3)
LocalIngredients (3)
NeighborhoodGem (3)
Groups (3)
Casual (3)
BarSeating (3)
PrePostTheatre (3)
Cozy (2)
OutstandingValue (2)
Foodies (2)
PeopleWatching (1)
GlutenFree (1)
DisabledAccess (1)
Spicy (1)
WorthTheDrive (1)
VegetarianOptions (1)
Brunch (1)
Historic (1)
LateNightFind (1)
LiveMusic (1)
SundayLunch (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
VibrantBarScene (1)
BusinessMeals (0)
Sort By:
S
176 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful ambiance and food was delicious. One of my favorite Santa Fe restaurants

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Pleasant experience. We will definitely go to Pranza again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A nice place to eat good food attentive service. Upstairs has a piano player with a bit of a cabaret

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 30, 2017

The menu provided on open table did not in much of any way represent the menu at the restaurant. It was far less unique and current. It was mostly old standbys at the restaurant. The menu was tired. The restaurant itself was kinda tired and dirty. The service was fine. In a town with many great restaurants this one simply doesn't stand up. They do a heck of a business. Likely locals because it's a lot of food at a fare price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 29, 2017

We went on a Sunday which was half-price wine and I must say that we did get what was touted as an excellent bottle of wine but it was OK but not great. Our past experiences have been excellent however. The food is always wonderful and we always look forward to going there. Also, we did not have utensils for the first course or the second course and had to ask for them but the waitress was terrific. The busing service was not so good. This was the only time that we had any glitches and we have been there many times with absolutely terrific meals. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Enjoy the food and ambience. We believe they are back to being as good as they were years ago. We passed Pranzo's up for a few years, but are now thrilled, it like the good ole days.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Bit noisy even for late dinner (7PM) but good food, good service considering holiday next day

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 8, 2017

What a disappointment. Asked for the wine special and wait staff came back to say they were out. Selected a second option and wait staff came back and said they were out. Asked for a third option and the same thing happened. Asked for a taste of the fourth option (unfamiliar with the label) and wait staff came back to say they wouldn't open the bottle unless I agreed to purchase. Needless to say - no wine was had. Service was uneven. Some dishes came timely, others we had to wait for. Food seemed like it was possibly sitting under a heat lamp. Difficult to get wait staff attention. Dinning partner experienced stomach upset immediately after leaving restaurant. We used to really like this rplace - sadly, this is the second time we have had a negative experience. We wont be back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The Spaghetti Aglio y Olio was great, but the Schnitzel seemed greasy. Caesar Salad was good, but I'm not really fond of having to struggle to cut it up myself. But at least it was very fresh! :-)))

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Another perfect meal at Pranzo. Schnitzel was outstanding. Caesar salad thoroughly delicious and the half priced wines before 6pm daily makes this place irresistible

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dinner with friends. Great service and everyone enjoyed their meal. One of our favorites in Santa Fe.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Attentive service. Tasty calamari, pizza, pasta and beet salad. BTW their signature margarita is spicy with the taste of basil. We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We arrived at our scheduled time - the inside was extremely "HOT" for the temperature - the first person to great us was VERY RUDE and informed us that someone would be right with us - continued to wait - we were finally seated and remember it was "HOT" inside - while I was looking at the wine list I decided there was NO way I was ordering a bottle of wine with sweat rolling down my forehead - as we were leaving I informed the front staff it was tooooo hot in their restaurant and he insulted me by telling me that I HAD NO IDEA WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT...the employee was a real horses a$$ - I took my money elsewhere to NEVER return to this restaurant again...

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Worst server we ever had at Pranzo

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great service and the food was outstanding, everyone enjoyed their dish.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Celebrating our wedding anniversary so we wanted someplace really good. Picked it right started with an artichoke and mushroom pizza. Meat balls were good but eggplant parm was exceptional. Entertainment was fantastic and kept us for after dinner drinks. David was tinkling the ivories with an array of show tunes and was joined by some amazing local talent who happened to be dining there as well. Definitely recommend

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food, served hot and attractively, although a tad too heavy on garlic for my taste. Did not give overall "excellent" rating because of service. Both hostess and server were not particularly friendly nor welcoming. Rather abrupt in their manner. Food consistently tasty and creative.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Disabled Access, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We love Pranzos and go as often as possible. We live in the neighborhood and live walking there. THe service, food and wine is always wonderful. We recommend it highly!
Linda king

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Well, the last time I visited this restaurant was a few years ago and it was fabulous. I looked forward to the return visit with friends and was disappointed. The problem was mostly service related - it seemed as if our server had too many tables to stay on top of things as you might expect at a restaurant at this price point.

The food was only average and that combined with the service will not have me rushing back.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised at the meal. Haven't been there is a few years. But we will be back! Do not pass up the buratta. It was fabulous.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We've dined at Pranzo off and on for years but on Friday night, the service was very slow and almost non existent. It took over 15 minutes for three basic drinks to be delivered; we would have been forgiving on this if someone would have at least visited our table to explain the delay and/or take our dinner order.... because we had to wait another half hour for that to happen... we would have enjoyed a 2nd round of wine but the opportunity never arose to order or enjoy that. The food was fine, not great, and the restaurant was noisy... not really Pranzo's fault... just a lot of loud dinner guests nearby. Maybe we'll try it again... but we were overall disappointed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great spot for lunch before a movie at Violet Crown. We love the half order pasta dishes available. Can't seem to get away from the fetticini spinaci with chicken. Their white sauce is perfect, and the fresh baked bread always pleases. We enjoy the variety of flavored oils on the table for dipping.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I love their pasta dishes and the wine. They have a great Happy Hour, and Sundays offer half priced wine by the bottle.
I've had a couple of great salads here as well.
The pear and gorgonzola pizza is yummy!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of our favorite Santa Fe spots - we tend to dine there once or twice a month - LOVE their 50% off wine deal, before 6pm, as we tend to like eating early anyway, and I also love that they let us choose between a 6 oz or 9 oz pour. Schnitzel was fantastic, as was my pasta. Just fancy enough, feels homey, but the cuisine is sophisticated and prepared with care, well thought out.
Nicely done.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The staff was great with the flowers that i order which came 6hrs early & they took care of them till i showed up.wish they would carry green chile since they have pizza,dinner was awsome will be back!!!!!!

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great Italian food and good service at reasonable prices. Variable portion size is a plus, too.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A bit noisy, food was fantastic, good prices, service was a bit slow but not too bad.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food, very consistent!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My significant other and I had a wonderful meal of pasta and caesar salad. The sauces were excellent as were their special additions, shrimp for me and sausage for my significant other. The service was very, very attentive. The wine selection was outstanding for its selection of Tuscan wine, e.g., Brunellos and Montepulciano. Wow, just like being in Italy!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

it was good enough for a quick dinner and a glass of wine before a movie but I wouldn't choose it if you want a really good meal

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Not bad, just stay away from the very average cioppino. Santa Fe, after all, so far away from the coast, cannot be known for it's seafood. Bread was good, try their red chili olive oil, very good.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Love this restaurant, been going for years. Great Italian food, nice atmosphere. Wine flights are good. Nice for vegetarian and meat eating when in mixed company. The 1/2 order main dish with a salad is a good option.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Family Style, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had zucchini for an appetizer, it was crispy but greasy. Both of our pasta dishes were sub par. My spaghetti resembled ramen, and the shrimp was tasteless. My husband's pasta pomodoro was bland. The salad was good. We have had good experiences in the past, hopefully this was just an off night. I must say, the cioppino was excellent at a past visit.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Our waiter, Tomas, was extremely helpful and very well informed about the wine list.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was fabulous as always.

My guests were coming from Alb. and the Interstate 25 was backup because of a major accident and diverted to an access road. Then there was an accident on the access road. The Restaurant was very understanding about some of my party being late for the reservation.

The service was friendly and helpful.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was very tasty with attentive waiter service. Menu had a good selection.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Never got our salad..had to ask for the bread..no seasonings for the olive oil..steak was a mediocre cut..pasta was, again, mediocre...so sorry..but was not impressed..used to be so great

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very disappointing New Year's eve dinner. Lovely ambience but that's where the pleasantness of the experience ended. We ordered the O salad which tasted like it had been sitting in a big vat in the back waiting to be dished out to whoever ordered it---drenched in dressing and wilted on delivery. Not good. Zucchini fritters and aioli had nice flavor but zucchini was also way too oily. Bucatini Bolognese was OK flavor but my husband described it as very monotonous and too way too salty.Spaghettini with shrimp and sun-dried tomatoes was absolutely awful, so overpowering with the flavor of garlic that it was barely edible (and I like garlic!) . Too bad because the dish had promise. All I can say that was positive was that pasta was cooked very well, perfect al dente and my seven-year-old enjoyed her pepperoni pizza.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 28, 2016

There were six of us including two teenagers. The service was very friendly without being intrusive. The salad was lovely, the bread divine, and the gluten free pasta was exceptionally good. Panzo's is consistently good.

It was a great lunch with friends.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Healthy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.