Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Pranzo Italian Grill

Located in the Sanbusco Market Center on the Western edge of the Historic District, Pranzo has been a local favorite since 1988. We received the Wine Spectator 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011, 2012 and 2013 Awards of Excellence. Broadway vocalists and pianists are featured in the Geist Cabaret Fridays and Saturdays. From Pizza Margherita to Linguine Carbonara, to Prime Colorado Ribeye Steak, Pranzo boasts Santa Fe's favorite Italian American cuisine, most knowledgeable waitstaff, New Mexico's deepest list of great Italian wines and 20 wines by the glass served Normale (6.3 oz.) and Gigante (9 oz.). Chef Steven Lemon greets multiple Northern New Mexico farmers in his kitchen each week to buy the finest and freshest produce available.

540 Montezuma Ave
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Pranzo
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9pm, Sunday: 3pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 984-2645

Website:
http://www.pranzosantafe.com/

Entertainment:
David Geist is our Broadway pianist, veteran of 600 performances of CATS on Broadway, often with vocalists in the Geist Cabaret. We have brought Tony Award winners to the Cabaret for weekend gigs. Guest stars frequently perform.

Catering:
We offer private rooms for groups of 20-300. See the website for menu offerings. www.pranzosantafe.com/catering

Parking Details:
There is a 500 car parking lot that surrounds Pranzo.

Public Transit:
Santa Fe terminus of New Mexico Railrunner Express is only 200 yards from Pranzo.

Executive Chef:
Steven Lemon

Private Party Facilities:
4 choices of room for private dining. Groups as small as 25, large as 100. Meal plans from Italian to Mediteranean to Creative Modern American.

Private Party Contact:
Michael O'Reilly: (505) 984-2645

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday Every bottle of wine on our list of 120 is half priced!!!

Pranzo Italian Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (12)
Authentic (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
See All
Romantic (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Business Meals (6)
Casual (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Live Music (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Cozy (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Fun (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Historic (1)
People Watching (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
199 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Casual and relaxed atmosphere. Wait staff were friendly. Food was very good with generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

A warm welcoming ambience, sophisticated food, friendly knowledgable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined 5 days ago

The food at Pranzo was delicious and plentiful enough to take some home for the next days lunch but they were clearly understaffed the night went. It was a special occasion for us and the waitress was very sweet, but she was taking care of so many tables that it took quite a while for us to just get some bread and drinks. We have been there many times in the past but this time it seems the prices have gone up quite substantially. The food was outstanding however.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined 6 days ago

I put on the Open Table reservation form that it was the day of our 40th wedding anniversary but it was not mentioned or acknowledged in any way.

There were definite service issues that evening: the wine, the salads, the appetizer, AND the entrees were all brought out at the same time.

We sent the entrees back for later because we had hoped to make this a more leisurely, special event.

It wasn't and we were sorry that we had chosen Pranzo for our anniversary.

It's still probably okay for every day meals but Open Table diners should plan special evenings elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We visited this restaurant during a trip to Santa Fe. It was convenient to our hotel and we wanted Italian food. The meals are very good, with half plates available. Even then we couldn't finish. This is a good choice and you won't be unhappy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Pranzo never disappoints. We requested an upstairs table, and were surprised and delighted to find pianist David Geist welcoming us with high quality playing and casual conversation. We ordered fish entrees from the specials menu, and both were generous servings, impeccably prepared and presented. My side salad was large enough for both of us to share. For dessert, we chose the amazing bread pudding - the serving was huge, and we ended up taking part of it home. Our waiter was pleasant and efficient without being intrusive. We definitely recommend Pranzo and will return whenever we are in Santa Fe.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 9, 2017

A very satisfactory Italian restaurant, with reasonable prices and good wine.

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This restaurant was recommended and did. It disappoint. Food was authentic and good! Service was friendly and very good. We were off to the opera and they had us out if there in plenty of time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Pranzo is ok but erratic. The last two times I've been, the food has been surprisingly good with about an 80% success rate and only a miss or two. I went this past Friday night and the service was terrible. They brought the wrong appetizer and when we questioned the food runner, he said we were mistaken. Luckily we were able to flag down our waitress, who confirmed that it was indeed NOT what we ordered and brought the correct appetizer (eventually). Unfortunately we spent most of the evening flagging her down, as she was consistently unavailable. They didn't seem to be understaffed - she just seemed new, unpolished, and over-her-head. That said, when we came a few months ago and were seated in a corner upstairs, we were afraid we'd be forgotten and the service was actually wonderful. My other complaint is that while they have a decent wine list, they are almost always out of things. This time it took two tries until we picked a bottle that was in stock; last time it took three tries. So considering the negatives and the steep prices, I definitely won't rush back for anything other than happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Pranzo is great. Reasonably priced, solid Italian restaurant suitable for a nice dinner out, business meeting, or casual lunch. Upscale atmosphere, but not stuffy. Works with either a suit or jeans. Bar is small, but usually quite busy. Only complaint is menu doesn't have extremely unique dishes...but the Italian fare offered is very good. It's a staple for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food had good flavor overall, and the staff was friendly. We loved the atmosphere and the pianist was what truly made the night memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Being a busy weekend in Santa Fe it was relatively easy to get reservations. I have eaten here many times, food is always good. Service was adequate but not exceptional. Great for family dining, date night or just going for great Italian food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was beautifully presented, an interesting variety of cuisines. We have been dining here off and on for years and the current offerings are the best ever. Excellent wine list, margaritas, designer cocktails.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 21, 2017

David Geist is amazing. Great entertainer. Really made the evening special. Highly recommend sitting upstairs & enjoying his music.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I had mixed fried fish and it was not good at all, and very heavy. Myst have used very refried oil. I was sick for one day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I cleaned my plate and I could have eaten more, it was so delicious. Outstanding service by professional server. Quiet, upscale, and elegant.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great selection of delicious dishes - portions are large - maybe a little too large - Our group shared a few dishes and we were all pleased, and full!
Excellent service and good value.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I have been to Pranzo since it opened many years ago. The food is excellent; the service with a smile. Order the ice cream--a family recipe.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 15, 2017

In general, we have always liked this restaurant. The last couple of times, though, it's been extremely noisy (patrons' fault, not the restaurant), and for us older folks, that makes conversation difficult.
We were disappointed this time that the chef could not accommodate my husband's request to substitute spaghetti with bolognese sauce for the polenta. In order to have his wish, we had to order a whole order of spaghetti bolognese... In fairness, the server DID tell us about this in advance.

Live and learn. Restaurants just aren't as flexible as they used to be.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Very nice Italian In a 'hip' Santa Fe neighborhood. Delicious food and a lively Bar Scene!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Tomas was a wonderful server...knows menu very well. Venue not so quiet, though. Menu always delightful and yummy!!! Margarita trail "basil" one of the best!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Wonderful ambiance and food was delicious. One of my favorite Santa Fe restaurants

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Pleasant experience. We will definitely go to Pranza again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

You cannot beat their happy hour special 3 course meal. While half portions it was more than sufficient and tasty.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A nice place to eat good food attentive service. Upstairs has a piano player with a bit of a cabaret

Tags: Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 29, 2017

The menu provided on open table did not in much of any way represent the menu at the restaurant. It was far less unique and current. It was mostly old standbys at the restaurant. The menu was tired. The restaurant itself was kinda tired and dirty. The service was fine. In a town with many great restaurants this one simply doesn't stand up. They do a heck of a business. Likely locals because it's a lot of food at a fare price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value4

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We went on a Sunday which was half-price wine and I must say that we did get what was touted as an excellent bottle of wine but it was OK but not great. Our past experiences have been excellent however. The food is always wonderful and we always look forward to going there. Also, we did not have utensils for the first course or the second course and had to ask for them but the waitress was terrific. The busing service was not so good. This was the only time that we had any glitches and we have been there many times with absolutely terrific meals. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Enjoy the food and ambience. We believe they are back to being as good as they were years ago. We passed Pranzo's up for a few years, but are now thrilled, it like the good ole days.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Bit noisy even for late dinner (7PM) but good food, good service considering holiday next day

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

What a disappointment. Asked for the wine special and wait staff came back to say they were out. Selected a second option and wait staff came back and said they were out. Asked for a third option and the same thing happened. Asked for a taste of the fourth option (unfamiliar with the label) and wait staff came back to say they wouldn't open the bottle unless I agreed to purchase. Needless to say - no wine was had. Service was uneven. Some dishes came timely, others we had to wait for. Food seemed like it was possibly sitting under a heat lamp. Difficult to get wait staff attention. Dinning partner experienced stomach upset immediately after leaving restaurant. We used to really like this rplace - sadly, this is the second time we have had a negative experience. We wont be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 10, 2017

The Spaghetti Aglio y Olio was great, but the Schnitzel seemed greasy. Caesar Salad was good, but I'm not really fond of having to struggle to cut it up myself. But at least it was very fresh! :-)))

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Another perfect meal at Pranzo. Schnitzel was outstanding. Caesar salad thoroughly delicious and the half priced wines before 6pm daily makes this place irresistible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Dinner with friends. Great service and everyone enjoyed their meal. One of our favorites in Santa Fe.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Attentive service. Tasty calamari, pizza, pasta and beet salad. BTW their signature margarita is spicy with the taste of basil. We'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We arrived at our scheduled time - the inside was extremely "HOT" for the temperature - the first person to great us was VERY RUDE and informed us that someone would be right with us - continued to wait - we were finally seated and remember it was "HOT" inside - while I was looking at the wine list I decided there was NO way I was ordering a bottle of wine with sweat rolling down my forehead - as we were leaving I informed the front staff it was tooooo hot in their restaurant and he insulted me by telling me that I HAD NO IDEA WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT...the employee was a real horses a$$ - I took my money elsewhere to NEVER return to this restaurant again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Worst server we ever had at Pranzo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great service and the food was outstanding, everyone enjoyed their dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Celebrating our wedding anniversary so we wanted someplace really good. Picked it right started with an artichoke and mushroom pizza. Meat balls were good but eggplant parm was exceptional. Entertainment was fantastic and kept us for after dinner drinks. David was tinkling the ivories with an array of show tunes and was joined by some amazing local talent who happened to be dining there as well. Definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Excellent food, served hot and attractively, although a tad too heavy on garlic for my taste. Did not give overall "excellent" rating because of service. Both hostess and server were not particularly friendly nor welcoming. Rather abrupt in their manner. Food consistently tasty and creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Disabled Access, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 27, 2017

We love Pranzos and go as often as possible. We live in the neighborhood and live walking there. THe service, food and wine is always wonderful. We recommend it highly!
Linda king

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.