About Pranzo Italian Grill

540 Montezuma Ave
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Located in the Sanbusco Market Center on the Western edge of the Historic District, Pranzo has been a local favorite since 1988. We received the Wine Spectator 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011, 2012 and 2013 Awards of Excellence. Broadway vocalists and pianists are featured in the Geist Cabaret Fridays and Saturdays. From Pizza Margherita to Linguine Carbonara, to Prime Colorado Ribeye Steak, Pranzo boasts Santa Fe's favorite Italian American cuisine, most knowledgeable waitstaff, New Mexico's deepest list of great Italian wines and 20 wines by the glass served Normale (6.3 oz.) and Gigante (9 oz.). Chef Steven Lemon greets multiple Northern New Mexico farmers in his kitchen each week to buy the finest and freshest produce available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Pranzo
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9pm, Sunday: 3pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 984-2645

Website:
http://www.pranzosantafe.com/

Entertainment:
David Geist is our Broadway pianist, veteran of 600 performances of CATS on Broadway, often with vocalists in the Geist Cabaret. We have brought Tony Award winners to the Cabaret for weekend gigs. Guest stars frequently perform.

Catering:
We offer private rooms for groups of 20-300. See the website for menu offerings. www.pranzosantafe.com/catering

Parking Details:
There is a 500 car parking lot that surrounds Pranzo.

Public Transit:
Santa Fe terminus of New Mexico Railrunner Express is only 200 yards from Pranzo.

Executive Chef:
Steven Lemon

Private Party Facilities:
4 choices of room for private dining. Groups as small as 25, large as 100. Meal plans from Italian to Mediteranean to Creative Modern American.

Private Party Contact:
Michael O'Reilly: 5059842645

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday Every bottle of wine on our list of 120 is half priced!!!

Restaurant Photos

Pranzo Italian Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
New Mexico
Notable Wine List
New Mexico
Italian
New Mexico
3 More
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Notable Wine List
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

neighborhood gem (21)
fit for foodies (18)
good for groups (17)
See All
notable wine list (16)
great for lunch (13)
special occasion (12)
romantic (9)
hot spot (6)
great for brunch (5)
kid-friendly (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
late-night find (3)
Sort By:
Newest
114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Steven Lemon always does a great job wit ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Steven Lemon always does a great job with his restaurant. Creative Italian food without being too spendy. 4 people can dine well including a couple bottles of good wine for $200-$250. Or go all out and still only spend $350 or so. The bar seems lively and good wine by glass offerings,though we haven't really spent many visits to bar/lounge .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Good food, fair value, one service glitch.

Dined on May 21, 2016

Pranzo is an old favorite of my wife and I. We are generally happy with the food, the ambience, and the service. The prices are much higher than they used to be under the previous ownership, though, so we're less inclined to visit very often. On this occasion, a Friday night, it was extremely noisy in the room. That was unfortunate. We've never experienced that before. Our service was fine until the end. After waiting for a time, we told a busboy we wanted a check. Our server arrived soon after with a dessert menu, which she repeated tried to push on us. I personally am not a fan of this little dance than some servers go through. If I ask for a check, it's because I'm ready to leave. I don't need a hard sell at the end of the meal to buy more food. It marred an otherwise OK meal.

food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great casual dining

Dined on May 14, 2016

Bar is excellent, wine list is good. Our server Greg was very good. Attentive, but not intrusive. We had a simple meal which was simply delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious Meal

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Sarah was outstanding and very helpful with our wine selection. We had the Niçoise and tuna prepared perfectly and in nice portion to the salad. I had the wonderful lamb dish with polenta and Japanese eggplant and pipperade. Our wine w perfect with meal. The restaurant was not crowded when we arrived with reservations and we were seated promptly. The dining room quickly filled before our meal was finished. This is such a comfortable environment and great change of pace in Santa Fe. We eat here at least once whenever we visit.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

An old standby

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Whenever I want to have an uncomplicated dinner (with my own booth and a brass plaque with my name on it on the wall!) without any pressure to hurry up and make the spot available, I choose Pranzo. It's been there for a long time and they know me, which is a big deal for me.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The Geist Caberet + fine food is a perfect evening

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

The David Geist Caberet is the BEST secret in Santa Fe // The performance is outstanding and fun / / 3 hours of music!!! //

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent as always

Dined on April 14, 2016

Homemade pasta is to die for, along with all toppings and sauces.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely dining experience

Dined on March 17, 2016

We always go to Pranzo's when in Santa Fe. They surpass most other Italian restaurants for authenticity. As an older couple, we appreciate the many half orders of pasta dishes available. We had the Spaghettini con Gamberoni. Tons of shrimp and just enough pasta! The grilled lemon sorbet was the perfect way to end the meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit

Dined on March 17, 2016

This was our first time to Pranzo, and we will definitely be back. Our waitress was attentive, but not overly so, and had helpful advice about the menu. My husband had the eggplant parmesan, which was good, but not the best he has ever had. I had the spinach ravioli which was creamy goodness. Our son had a pizza and was very happy with it. The bread had the right crunch on the outside soft and fresh in the middle with a selection of three oils for dipping. A nice evening out!

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My wife and I have been coming to Pranzo ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to Pranzo for over 20 years and try to eat there on each visit to Santa Fe. This last visit did not disappoint. I have even brought my golf foursome to dinner at Pranzo and they still rave about it!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Restaurant week gem

Dined on February 27, 2016

Four of us visited during restaurant week and enjoyed a variety of dishes from several menus. The restaurant week menu was so reasonable. Two of us had this choice. Everything was delicious.

Tags: great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

good time

Dined on February 20, 2016

We went with friends and enjoyed our dinner very much. They offer half portions of the pasta which is perfect for seniors.

Tags: good for groups
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Below Expectations

Dined on February 14, 2016

This is an OK place for a regular dinner or lunch. It felt too much like a chain restaurant for us. That said, we would go back but not our first choice. The wine menu was pretty good. There's a lot more in Santa Fe than this.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Always a Favorite

Dined on February 1, 2016

I have dined at Pranzo dozens of time, with friends, family, and business groups. The food is fresh, inventive, and consistently good. Prices are very moderate for Santa Fe, and the wine list is outstanding. This is NOT a chain restaurant, people looking for an "Olive Garden" experience should definitely dine elsewhere.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

San Antonio Jim

Dined on January 9, 2016

This is a great Italian restaurant in Santa Fe! Mature servers know their trade and their offerings, which make for a great experience. We tried mostly sea food items off of the menu, and all were beautifully presented and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good

vip
Dined on January 3, 2016

We always enjoy a good meal and good service whenever we go.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

We had a nice evening. Dinner was very g ...

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a nice evening. Dinner was very good, service was a bit slow, but it was new years eve and very busy night. We would go back in our next trip to Santa Fe. Our girls, 10 and 9yrs old loved it!

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

ladies lunch

Dined on December 30, 2015

Friendly, helpful service and set up in a quiet area of the restaurant so we were able to visit and hear each other. My panini was OK as was the salad. Others had pasta that looked good. Bread is outstanding and was re-filled at our request. Recommend a reservation for a group so the staff can set up properly.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Awful service

Dined on December 29, 2015

We used to like pranzos but the service was abysmal and the food wasn't much better. They have lost customers here. It took 30 minutes to get iced tea 45 minutes to tell us they were out of the wine we ordered and an hour and a half to get our food. Our waitress would disappear for lengths of time with no explanation and had an attitude by the end. Not at all worth the money.

food5
ambience4
service4

Buon Italiano

Dined on December 2, 2015

This is a very good Italian restaurant. They have a very good menu and the two main dishes we had were both cooked to perfection. They also had a list of specials and this night we chose an eggplant appetizer that was out of this world! I hope this becomes a regular item because I will definitely order it again.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4

Secind visit in 10 days. First was spot ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

Secind visit in 10 days. First was spot on, 5 stars across the board, second for my wife's birthday (her request) not as good. Chacuterie bioard was great, drinks very good, main courses disappinting. My wife's fish was a little dry my lamb shank was as tender as could be but had little flavor. Served in a broth it lacked the heartiness I enjoy with that dish. Polenta was very good but red pepper source (on the polenta) was bitter.

food4
ambience3
service4

Great find

vip
Dined on October 9, 2015

We were in NM for Balloon Fiesta and took one day for a road trip up to Red River, Taos and Santa Fe. We stopped for dinner on our way back to Albuquerque and found this on Trip Advisor. The food and service were excellent. We would definitely recommend and would go back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Pranzo's Continued Excellence

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

We had not been to Pranzo Italian Grill for a long time, so was pleased to see it continues its great food and service. It is Italian with a New Mexico flair, so pleasing for the venue in many respects. Always busy but wait staff is attentive and helpful even while rushing to keep up. They also made an adjustment in one dish for a specific taste. It has food options for vegetarians as well as meat and seadfood lovers. And many wines by the glass as well as bottles so those trying to drink a rational amount are not forced to buy more than they want in order to have great wine. Dessert was fabulous - pistachio and banana gelato to die for - and the after dinner drink selection was also extensive with ports and other good selections. We will definitely not wait so long to go back again. One might not think of choosing Italian in the southwest, but this one is definitely worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Excellent as always

Dined on September 27, 2015

We visit Pranzo on all our stays in Santa Fe. Wouldn't miss it for lunch or dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My family has been eating at Pranzo for ...

vip
Dined on September 5, 2015

My family has been eating at Pranzo for 20 years and it never disappoints. Great bar area downstairs and piano bar upstairs. Only complaint is that the piano bar closes early, but then again, everything closes early in Santa Fe!

food4
ambience5
service5

Great place

Dined on August 29, 2015

1st time eating at this place . The waiter helped us pick out a great meal ! Love the area

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service1

Pranzo USED to be good

Dined on August 22, 2015

We've come to Pranzo several times over the years because we could always count on a competent-to-good level of service and food that was good to very good. On this visit, the food was a disappointment and the service was poor. The ribeye my wife had tasted like it was straight off the Sysco truck — tough and tasteless. The sausage linguine I had was memorable only for the paucity of sausage in it. We had to ask more than once to have first, an iced tea delivered and, later, a glass of wine. Bottom line: The evening may have been an aberration but it was unpleasant enough — especially considering the final tab — that we won't be back anytime soon and, in fact, will look for another Italian restaurant to patronize.

food4
ambience4
service5

Best food AND piano man combo in Santa Fe

vip
Dined on August 15, 2015

Perfect date night with fine Italian food, outstanding cocktails and wine PLUS the best piano man in town - David Geist!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Relaxing dinner

Dined on August 7, 2015

We have enjoyed lunches and leisurely dinners here, and we always appreciate the accommodating staff; our waitress was helpful and attentive but never intrusive. We also like the option of small plates, and the choice of a 6 or 9 oz. serving of wine by the glass. The specials are appealing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place

vip
Dined on August 4, 2015

I have always enjoyed coming here, and the special treatment I receive

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food1
ambience2
service4

Worst meal ever

Dined on August 1, 2015

This was the worst meal we have ever had there. Will not return. Service was great. Will not recommend going there.

food4
ambience5
service5

GREAT bread and circuses

vip
Dined on August 1, 2015

FOOD - great range of Italian choices - from upscale to pasta to pizza // All done well // MUSIC - David Geist is the BEST of the local entertainers and is worth the trip even if you are not hungry //

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

One of my favorites.

Dined on August 1, 2015

The Staff.....number of them, and especially their attitude is wonderful. Food's good too.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice pre-theater spot

Dined on August 1, 2015

We had a lovely meal, and the opportunity to order half portions is a great bonus. Satisfying portion sizes and no wasted food left behind. The ability to order small or large glasses of wine is fantastic, so everyone is happy. Service is efficient , friendly yet non-intrusive. Pranzo is my go to restaurant.

Tags: great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

Reliable food in a pleasant atmosphere

Dined on July 25, 2015

The food was good and our server attentive. I appreciate that two sizes of wine by the glass are available as well as smaller portions on some entrées.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice dinner spot

vip
Dined on July 7, 2015

Convenient place, free parking, in the Railyard shopping district. We had pizza, salad, wine/beer. It made for an end to a perfect day of exploring downtown Santa Fe.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good pizzas

Dined on July 6, 2015

All four of us found the food very good. The service was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service5

Birthday party group a bit over the top

Dined on June 28, 2015

The service and food as always were excellent. The only negative was a larger birthday group who were noisy and sang (not so well) many of the pianists theatrical selections. It was too loud and too much for a really enjoyable dining experience with out of town guests. Maybe in the future if such a situation arises, advise patrons of such a group being present and arrange alternate seating or have the pianist shut them off after a few songs. We liked the pianist and came expecting nice music rather than amateurs performing poorly.

Tags: scenic view
food3
ambience4
service4

reliable service, good food

vip
Dined on June 20, 2015

Loved my eggplant parmesan which had a creamy tomato sauce and was served in a cast iron skillet. My partner thought his bolognese sauce wasn't sweet enough. Our friends liked their eggplant and gorgonzola pasta (I have ordered that before and love it) and the chicken with spinach linguine. Ample portions and we all ordered the half orders. The bread and their infused oils are always delicious. Caesar salad is good, not great. Wine servings are generous. Good selection by the glass. A reliable choice, good, not great. Excellent service.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Another wonderful evening at Pranzo

Dined on June 16, 2015

We always enjoy our dinners at Pranzo. Wonderful food and people. Service was fantastic, as usual. Brought a new friend who has moved to Santa Fe and she can't wait to go back!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.