Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Pranzo Italian Grill

Located in the Sanbusco Market Center on the Western edge of the Historic District, Pranzo has been a local favorite since 1988. We received the Wine Spectator 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011, 2012 and 2013 Awards of Excellence. Broadway vocalists and pianists are featured in the Geist Cabaret Fridays and Saturdays. From Pizza Margherita to Linguine Carbonara, to Prime Colorado Ribeye Steak, Pranzo boasts Santa Fe's favorite Italian American cuisine, most knowledgeable waitstaff, New Mexico's deepest list of great Italian wines and 20 wines by the glass served Normale (6.3 oz.) and Gigante (9 oz.). Chef Steven Lemon greets multiple Northern New Mexico farmers in his kitchen each week to buy the finest and freshest produce available.

540 Montezuma Ave
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Pranzo
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9pm, Sunday: 3pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 984-2645

Website:
http://www.pranzosantafe.com/

Entertainment:
David Geist is our Broadway pianist, veteran of 600 performances of CATS on Broadway, often with vocalists in the Geist Cabaret. We have brought Tony Award winners to the Cabaret for weekend gigs. Guest stars frequently perform.

Catering:
We offer private rooms for groups of 20-300. See the website for menu offerings. www.pranzosantafe.com/catering

Parking Details:
There is a 500 car parking lot that surrounds Pranzo.

Public Transit:
Santa Fe terminus of New Mexico Railrunner Express is only 200 yards from Pranzo.

Executive Chef:
Steven Lemon

Private Party Facilities:
4 choices of room for private dining. Groups as small as 25, large as 100. Meal plans from Italian to Mediteranean to Creative Modern American.

Private Party Contact:
Michael O'Reilly: (505) 984-2645

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday Every bottle of wine on our list of 120 is half priced!!!

Pranzo Italian Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.9

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (10)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (9)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Romantic (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Good for a Date (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Cozy (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Special Occasion (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Family Style (5)
Business Meals (5)
Happy Hour (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
People Watching (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Healthy (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Organic (1)
Historic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
163 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We arrived at our scheduled time - the inside was extremely "HOT" for the temperature - the first person to great us was VERY RUDE and informed us that someone would be right with us - continued to wait - we were finally seated and remember it was "HOT" inside - while I was looking at the wine list I decided there was NO way I was ordering a bottle of wine with sweat rolling down my forehead - as we were leaving I informed the front staff it was tooooo hot in their restaurant and he insulted me by telling me that I HAD NO IDEA WHAT I WAS TALKING ABOUT...the employee was a real horses a$$ - I took my money elsewhere to NEVER return to this restaurant again...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Worst server we ever had at Pranzo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great service and the food was outstanding, everyone enjoyed their dish.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Celebrating our wedding anniversary so we wanted someplace really good. Picked it right started with an artichoke and mushroom pizza. Meat balls were good but eggplant parm was exceptional. Entertainment was fantastic and kept us for after dinner drinks. David was tinkling the ivories with an array of show tunes and was joined by some amazing local talent who happened to be dining there as well. Definitely recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Excellent food, served hot and attractively, although a tad too heavy on garlic for my taste. Did not give overall "excellent" rating because of service. Both hostess and server were not particularly friendly nor welcoming. Rather abrupt in their manner. Food consistently tasty and creative.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, People Watching, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Disabled Access, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We love Pranzos and go as often as possible. We live in the neighborhood and live walking there. THe service, food and wine is always wonderful. We recommend it highly!
Linda king

Tags: Happy Hour, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Well, the last time I visited this restaurant was a few years ago and it was fabulous. I looked forward to the return visit with friends and was disappointed. The problem was mostly service related - it seemed as if our server had too many tables to stay on top of things as you might expect at a restaurant at this price point.

The food was only average and that combined with the service will not have me rushing back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised at the meal. Haven't been there is a few years. But we will be back! Do not pass up the buratta. It was fabulous.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We've dined at Pranzo off and on for years but on Friday night, the service was very slow and almost non existent. It took over 15 minutes for three basic drinks to be delivered; we would have been forgiving on this if someone would have at least visited our table to explain the delay and/or take our dinner order.... because we had to wait another half hour for that to happen... we would have enjoyed a 2nd round of wine but the opportunity never arose to order or enjoy that. The food was fine, not great, and the restaurant was noisy... not really Pranzo's fault... just a lot of loud dinner guests nearby. Maybe we'll try it again... but we were overall disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Great spot for lunch before a movie at Violet Crown. We love the half order pasta dishes available. Can't seem to get away from the fetticini spinaci with chicken. Their white sauce is perfect, and the fresh baked bread always pleases. We enjoy the variety of flavored oils on the table for dipping.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 20, 2017

I love their pasta dishes and the wine. They have a great Happy Hour, and Sundays offer half priced wine by the bottle.
I've had a couple of great salads here as well.
The pear and gorgonzola pizza is yummy!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

One of our favorite Santa Fe spots - we tend to dine there once or twice a month - LOVE their 50% off wine deal, before 6pm, as we tend to like eating early anyway, and I also love that they let us choose between a 6 oz or 9 oz pour. Schnitzel was fantastic, as was my pasta. Just fancy enough, feels homey, but the cuisine is sophisticated and prepared with care, well thought out.
Nicely done.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The staff was great with the flowers that i order which came 6hrs early & they took care of them till i showed up.wish they would carry green chile since they have pizza,dinner was awsome will be back!!!!!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Casual, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great Italian food and good service at reasonable prices. Variable portion size is a plus, too.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Wood Oven, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

A bit noisy, food was fantastic, good prices, service was a bit slow but not too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food, very consistent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 28, 2017

My significant other and I had a wonderful meal of pasta and caesar salad. The sauces were excellent as were their special additions, shrimp for me and sausage for my significant other. The service was very, very attentive. The wine selection was outstanding for its selection of Tuscan wine, e.g., Brunellos and Montepulciano. Wow, just like being in Italy!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 28, 2017

it was good enough for a quick dinner and a glass of wine before a movie but I wouldn't choose it if you want a really good meal

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Not bad, just stay away from the very average cioppino. Santa Fe, after all, so far away from the coast, cannot be known for it's seafood. Bread was good, try their red chili olive oil, very good.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Love this restaurant, been going for years. Great Italian food, nice atmosphere. Wine flights are good. Nice for vegetarian and meat eating when in mixed company. The 1/2 order main dish with a salad is a good option.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Family Style, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 19, 2017

We had zucchini for an appetizer, it was crispy but greasy. Both of our pasta dishes were sub par. My spaghetti resembled ramen, and the shrimp was tasteless. My husband's pasta pomodoro was bland. The salad was good. We have had good experiences in the past, hopefully this was just an off night. I must say, the cioppino was excellent at a past visit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Live Music, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Our waiter, Tomas, was extremely helpful and very well informed about the wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The food was fabulous as always.

My guests were coming from Alb. and the Interstate 25 was backup because of a major accident and diverted to an access road. Then there was an accident on the access road. The Restaurant was very understanding about some of my party being late for the reservation.

The service was friendly and helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Authentic, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Spicy, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Food was very tasty with attentive waiter service. Menu had a good selection.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Never got our salad..had to ask for the bread..no seasonings for the olive oil..steak was a mediocre cut..pasta was, again, mediocre...so sorry..but was not impressed..used to be so great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very disappointing New Year's eve dinner. Lovely ambience but that's where the pleasantness of the experience ended. We ordered the O salad which tasted like it had been sitting in a big vat in the back waiting to be dished out to whoever ordered it---drenched in dressing and wilted on delivery. Not good. Zucchini fritters and aioli had nice flavor but zucchini was also way too oily. Bucatini Bolognese was OK flavor but my husband described it as very monotonous and too way too salty.Spaghettini with shrimp and sun-dried tomatoes was absolutely awful, so overpowering with the flavor of garlic that it was barely edible (and I like garlic!) . Too bad because the dish had promise. All I can say that was positive was that pasta was cooked very well, perfect al dente and my seven-year-old enjoyed her pepperoni pizza.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 28, 2016

There were six of us including two teenagers. The service was very friendly without being intrusive. The salad was lovely, the bread divine, and the gluten free pasta was exceptionally good. Panzo's is consistently good.

It was a great lunch with friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Healthy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Spicy, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We shared our starter; Fritto misto and it was delicious. The main course we had was mediocre. The pizza con rapini had too much garlic on it and the special of the day which was a spaghettini wasn't special. Wouldn't recommend, because there are better options in Santa Fe!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 27, 2016

After waiting 40 minutes for a salad (the other never came) expectations were significantly lowered and subsequently met. An unimpressive crust supported a lackluster Margarita topping for my simple main course. My companion fared somewhat better with a heavily thickened and overly seasoned cioppino. The saving grace was a tart and succulent lemon sorbet on broiled lemon half rounds, graced with brined lemon. Perhaps Pranzo is best visited for pranzo - but given the options in Santa Fe, why eat mediocre Mediterranean when extraordinary Southwestern is available!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We had dinner here on Christmas Eve. I had a prime rib special that was beautifully prepared. My guests agreed that the food was very good and an excellent value. The wine was also a bargain. The staff was very pleasant, but perhaps a bit too busy to check that we had water, etc. The only other problem is that we were seated under a light fixture that was flickering. My problem for not raising the issue. We will continue to dine here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 24, 2016

A lovely lunch with my spouse and mother-in-law. Our waiter, Tomas, was very attentive. The good and service was excellent. The banana and pistachio gelato was a hit!

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 21, 2016

This was a family dinner get-together with one member from out-of-town. The ambiance was so cozy. The wait staff very attentive and helpful. We shared 3 delicious appetizers to start. Our separate entrees were wonderful as well. What a lovely evening for us all !

Tags: Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This is a great go to place. A local favorite and deserves to be. The food is always good and the staff works very hard.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The holiday show was way too loud to even carry on a conversation. Whether show or not, it should still be "in the background". Maybe when David Geist is playing by himself, it is better for dining. Other than that, the food and service was outstanding!!!

Tags: Historic, Seasonal, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 26, 2016

What a wonderful and flavorful menu! Our cheese board appetizer was outstanding! Then a great meal with a perfect Pinot Noir, what is not to enjoy!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Pranzo's is always good. Service is friendly, timely and not rushed. The food is excellent Italian fare, great Caesar, good pasta's and good wine. Enjoy.

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Have been to this restaurant several times over many visits to Santa Fe. We return here as the food and service are consistently excellent and this visit was no exception. Good value with lots of very good variety.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was fine and the food was average. The zucchini appetizer sounded delicious with truffle oil; however it was greasy and couldn't taste truffle oil. I make cave y pepe at home and was thrilled to see it on the special menu. However the restaurants was dry, insufficient parmesan cheese, pepper nd cream. Would not recommend the food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We received a warm and friendly welcome and were seated at a comfortable booth, where we shared a generous Caesar salad, an amazing pork loin special garnished with seasonal fresh peaches and blue cheese, and a creamy chicken fettucini dish; both entrees were prepared to perfection, and servings were generous. Our server was friendly and attentive without being overbearing, and was happy to answer our questions about the menu. Wine list is excellent, with varied by- the -glass selections, all offered with the option of a 6 oz. or 9 oz. serving; pasta selections are also offered at half or full size portions. We appreciate the quiet, relaxed atmosphere and have returned often to this restaurant for both lunch and dinner when we are in Santa Fe. Another plus is that there is plenty of free parking! I'm sure we'll return to Pranzo for a satisfying, unrushed, and quiet meal!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.