About Pranzo Italian Grill

540 Montezuma Ave
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Located in the Sanbusco Market Center on the Western edge of the Historic District, Pranzo has been a local favorite since 1988. We received the Wine Spectator 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011, 2012 and 2013 Awards of Excellence. Broadway vocalists and pianists are featured in the Geist Cabaret Fridays and Saturdays. From Pizza Margherita to Linguine Carbonara, to Prime Colorado Ribeye Steak, Pranzo boasts Santa Fe's favorite Italian American cuisine, most knowledgeable waitstaff, New Mexico's deepest list of great Italian wines and 20 wines by the glass served Normale (6.3 oz.) and Gigante (9 oz.). Chef Steven Lemon greets multiple Northern New Mexico farmers in his kitchen each week to buy the finest and freshest produce available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Pranzo
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9pm, Sunday: 3pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 984-2645

Website:
http://www.pranzosantafe.com/

Entertainment:
David Geist is our Broadway pianist, veteran of 600 performances of CATS on Broadway, often with vocalists in the Geist Cabaret. We have brought Tony Award winners to the Cabaret for weekend gigs. Guest stars frequently perform.

Catering:
We offer private rooms for groups of 20-300. See the website for menu offerings. www.pranzosantafe.com/catering

Parking Details:
There is a 500 car parking lot that surrounds Pranzo.

Public Transit:
Santa Fe terminus of New Mexico Railrunner Express is only 200 yards from Pranzo.

Executive Chef:
Steven Lemon

Private Party Facilities:
4 choices of room for private dining. Groups as small as 25, large as 100. Meal plans from Italian to Mediteranean to Creative Modern American.

Private Party Contact:
Michael O'Reilly: 5059842645

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday Every bottle of wine on our list of 120 is half priced!!!

Restaurant Photos

  • Pumpkin Cheesecake
  • Tiramisu
Pumpkin Cheesecake
Tiramisu

Pranzo Italian Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

86% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
New Mexico
Best Value
Santa Fe / Mountains
Neighborhood Gem
Santa Fe / Mountains
Best Restaurants in Santa Fe ›

Neighborhood Gem (12)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
See All
Romantic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Special Occasion (5)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
123 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service was fine and the food was av ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The service was fine and the food was average. The zucchini appetizer sounded delicious with truffle oil; however it was greasy and couldn't taste truffle oil. I make cave y pepe at home and was thrilled to see it on the special menu. However the restaurants was dry, insufficient parmesan cheese, pepper nd cream. Would not recommend the food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

We received a warm and friendly welcome ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We received a warm and friendly welcome and were seated at a comfortable booth, where we shared a generous Caesar salad, an amazing pork loin special garnished with seasonal fresh peaches and blue cheese, and a creamy chicken fettucini dish; both entrees were prepared to perfection, and servings were generous. Our server was friendly and attentive without being overbearing, and was happy to answer our questions about the menu. Wine list is excellent, with varied by- the -glass selections, all offered with the option of a 6 oz. or 9 oz. serving; pasta selections are also offered at half or full size portions. We appreciate the quiet, relaxed atmosphere and have returned often to this restaurant for both lunch and dinner when we are in Santa Fe. Another plus is that there is plenty of free parking! I'm sure we'll return to Pranzo for a satisfying, unrushed, and quiet meal!

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been to Pranzo many times but my c ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I had been to Pranzo many times but my companion had not. Since she is Italian, she is very discerning about the food. She liked her entree (ravioli) very much though she felt it may have had a touch too much sauce. My entree (also a pasta dish) was excellent and had great flavor and presentation. The salads and the service were also very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Headline here is a pleasant discovery. W ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Headline here is a pleasant discovery. We went for lunch.

An extensive, very interesting Italian menu - surprising for Santa Fe - a bit heavy for the summer. Nice selection of daily specials plus an extensive menu. Didn't spend much time looking at the wine list but it seems to be well put together - I enjoyed the wine by the glass offering. Fit for foodies depending... It was hot so I was disappointed that they didn't offer a semifreddo or granita for dessert - the sorbets were good.

One other thing to consider is the location. Which in my opinion is a plus. It is just far enough from the Plaza that one avoids the madness and related parking problems. (They have off-street parking.)

We look forward to returning for either lunch or dinner. It's a nice spot when you have a little time, good company and aren't on a tight budget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

WOW - this was a fantastic find - excell ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

WOW - this was a fantastic find - excellent food, uniquely flavorful combinations of ingredients - excellent special beverages - well worth the time and $$ - this is a gem, and we will return many times!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We ordered a house salad and a mixed sal ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

We ordered a house salad and a mixed salad with additional salmon. The salmon were the side off cuts from Atlantic salmon fillets, and all we got was skin and fat , totally inedible and disgusting.

We would never recommend you to any body.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Nothing really stellar, but nothing horr ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Nothing really stellar, but nothing horrible. Quality of dishes was uneven. I am gluten free so options limited (I have tried their gluten free pasta in the past, and it is terrible: cold, sticky, obviously made up in a batch once a night (or once a week?) and expensive). We were there on a quiet night, had our small grandchildren who were fairly well behaved but never-the-less other patrons weren't delighted and weren't subtle about it. Similar quality and ambience Italian restaurants should be kid-friendly to well-behaved children.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

We have enjoyed several lunches at Pranz ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We have enjoyed several lunches at Pranzo's but we were seriously disappointed by the service, the food preparation and the incredibly slow service, attendance etc. If all of the regular staff was on holiday, you should have closed the restaurant for the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Had an excellent lunch before movie at J ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Had an excellent lunch before movie at Jean Cocteau. Service was delightful. Have always loved the ambiance at this place. A spinach dish, made from locally sourced produce, was outstanding and adequate for my meal. My friends had 1/2-order pasta with chicken and raved about it.

We'll be back!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steven Lemon always does a great job wit ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Steven Lemon always does a great job with his restaurant. Creative Italian food without being too spendy. 4 people can dine well including a couple bottles of good wine for $200-$250. Or go all out and still only spend $350 or so. The bar seems lively and good wine by glass offerings,though we haven't really spent many visits to bar/lounge .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, fair value, one service glitch.

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Pranzo is an old favorite of my wife and I. We are generally happy with the food, the ambience, and the service. The prices are much higher than they used to be under the previous ownership, though, so we're less inclined to visit very often.

On this occasion, a Friday night, it was extremely noisy in the room. That was unfortunate. We've never experienced that before.

Our service was fine until the end. After waiting for a time, we told a busboy we wanted a check. Our server arrived soon after with a dessert menu, which she repeated tried to push on us. I personally am not a fan of this little dance than some servers go through. If I ask for a check, it's because I'm ready to leave. I don't need a hard sell at the end of the meal to buy more food. It marred an otherwise OK meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Great casual dining

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Bar is excellent, wine list is good. Our server Greg was very good. Attentive, but not intrusive. We had a simple meal which was simply delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Delicious Meal

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Sarah was outstanding and very helpful with our wine selection. We had the Niçoise and tuna prepared perfectly and in nice portion to the salad. I had the wonderful lamb dish with polenta and Japanese eggplant and pipperade. Our wine w perfect with meal. The restaurant was not crowded when we arrived with reservations and we were seated promptly. The dining room quickly filled before our meal was finished. This is such a comfortable environment and great change of pace in Santa Fe. We eat here at least once whenever we visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

An old standby

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Whenever I want to have an uncomplicated dinner (with my own booth and a brass plaque with my name on it on the wall!) without any pressure to hurry up and make the spot available, I choose Pranzo. It's been there for a long time and they know me, which is a big deal for me.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

The Geist Caberet + fine food is a perfect evening

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The David Geist Caberet is the BEST secret in Santa Fe // The performance is outstanding and fun / / 3 hours of music!!! //

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent as always

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Homemade pasta is to die for, along with all toppings and sauces.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Lovely dining experience

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

We always go to Pranzo's when in Santa Fe. They surpass most other Italian restaurants for authenticity. As an older couple, we appreciate the many half orders of pasta dishes available. We had the Spaghettini con Gamberoni. Tons of shrimp and just enough pasta! The grilled lemon sorbet was the perfect way to end the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time visit

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on March 17, 2016

This was our first time to Pranzo, and we will definitely be back. Our waitress was attentive, but not overly so, and had helpful advice about the menu. My husband had the eggplant parmesan, which was good, but not the best he has ever had. I had the spinach ravioli which was creamy goodness. Our son had a pizza and was very happy with it. The bread had the right crunch on the outside soft and fresh in the middle with a selection of three oils for dipping. A nice evening out!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I have been coming to Pranzo ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

My wife and I have been coming to Pranzo for over 20 years and try to eat there on each visit to Santa Fe. This last visit did not disappoint. I have even brought my golf foursome to dinner at Pranzo and they still rave about it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Restaurant week gem

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Four of us visited during restaurant week and enjoyed a variety of dishes from several menus. The restaurant week menu was so reasonable. Two of us had this choice. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

good time

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on February 20, 2016

We went with friends and enjoyed our dinner very much. They offer half portions of the pasta which is perfect for seniors.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Below Expectations

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

This is an OK place for a regular dinner or lunch. It felt too much like a chain restaurant for us. That said, we would go back but not our first choice. The wine menu was pretty good. There's a lot more in Santa Fe than this.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Always a Favorite

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 1, 2016

I have dined at Pranzo dozens of time, with friends, family, and business groups. The food is fresh, inventive, and consistently good. Prices are very moderate for Santa Fe, and the wine list is outstanding. This is NOT a chain restaurant, people looking for an "Olive Garden" experience should definitely dine elsewhere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

San Antonio Jim

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

This is a great Italian restaurant in Santa Fe! Mature servers know their trade and their offerings, which make for a great experience. We tried mostly sea food items off of the menu, and all were beautifully presented and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Consistently good

vip
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We always enjoy a good meal and good service whenever we go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a nice evening. Dinner was very g ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We had a nice evening. Dinner was very good, service was a bit slow, but it was new years eve and very busy night. We would go back in our next trip to Santa Fe. Our girls, 10 and 9yrs old loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

ladies lunch

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on December 30, 2015

Friendly, helpful service and set up in a quiet area of the restaurant so we were able to visit and hear each other. My panini was OK as was the salad. Others had pasta that looked good. Bread is outstanding and was re-filled at our request. Recommend a reservation for a group so the staff can set up properly.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Awful service

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 29, 2015

We used to like pranzos but the service was abysmal and the food wasn't much better. They have lost customers here. It took 30 minutes to get iced tea 45 minutes to tell us they were out of the wine we ordered and an hour and a half to get our food. Our waitress would disappear for lengths of time with no explanation and had an attitude by the end. Not at all worth the money.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Buon Italiano

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on December 2, 2015

This is a very good Italian restaurant. They have a very good menu and the two main dishes we had were both cooked to perfection. They also had a list of specials and this night we chose an eggplant appetizer that was out of this world! I hope this becomes a regular item because I will definitely order it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Secind visit in 10 days. First was spot ...

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

Secind visit in 10 days. First was spot on, 5 stars across the board, second for my wife's birthday (her request) not as good. Chacuterie bioard was great, drinks very good, main courses disappinting. My wife's fish was a little dry my lamb shank was as tender as could be but had little flavor. Served in a broth it lacked the heartiness I enjoy with that dish. Polenta was very good but red pepper source (on the polenta) was bitter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Great find

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on October 9, 2015

We were in NM for Balloon Fiesta and took one day for a road trip up to Red River, Taos and Santa Fe. We stopped for dinner on our way back to Albuquerque and found this on Trip Advisor. The food and service were excellent. We would definitely recommend and would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Pranzo's Continued Excellence

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on October 3, 2015

We had not been to Pranzo Italian Grill for a long time, so was pleased to see it continues its great food and service. It is Italian with a New Mexico flair, so pleasing for the venue in many respects. Always busy but wait staff is attentive and helpful even while rushing to keep up. They also made an adjustment in one dish for a specific taste. It has food options for vegetarians as well as meat and seadfood lovers. And many wines by the glass as well as bottles so those trying to drink a rational amount are not forced to buy more than they want in order to have great wine. Dessert was fabulous - pistachio and banana gelato to die for - and the after dinner drink selection was also extensive with ports and other good selections. We will definitely not wait so long to go back again. One might not think of choosing Italian in the southwest, but this one is definitely worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Excellent as always

vip
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

We visit Pranzo on all our stays in Santa Fe. Wouldn't miss it for lunch or dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

My family has been eating at Pranzo for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 5, 2015

My family has been eating at Pranzo for 20 years and it never disappoints. Great bar area downstairs and piano bar upstairs. Only complaint is that the piano bar closes early, but then again, everything closes early in Santa Fe!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

1st time eating at this place . The waiter helped us pick out a great meal ! Love the area

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Pranzo USED to be good

 
 (El Paso)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

We've come to Pranzo several times over the years because we could always count on a competent-to-good level of service and food that was good to very good. On this visit, the food was a disappointment and the service was poor. The ribeye my wife had tasted like it was straight off the Sysco truck — tough and tasteless. The sausage linguine I had was memorable only for the paucity of sausage in it. We had to ask more than once to have first, an iced tea delivered and, later, a glass of wine. Bottom line: The evening may have been an aberration but it was unpleasant enough — especially considering the final tab — that we won't be back anytime soon and, in fact, will look for another Italian restaurant to patronize.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Best food AND piano man combo in Santa Fe

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

Perfect date night with fine Italian food, outstanding cocktails and wine PLUS the best piano man in town - David Geist!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Relaxing dinner

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

We have enjoyed lunches and leisurely dinners here, and we always appreciate the accommodating staff; our waitress was helpful and attentive but never intrusive. We also like the option of small plates, and the choice of a 6 or 9 oz. serving of wine by the glass. The specials are appealing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great place

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2015

I have always enjoyed coming here, and the special treatment I receive

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Worst meal ever

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on August 1, 2015

This was the worst meal we have ever had there.

Will not return.

Service was great.

Will not recommend going there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.