Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.31mi

About Pranzo Italian Grill

Located in the Sanbusco Market Center on the Western edge of the Historic District, Pranzo has been a local favorite since 1988. We received the Wine Spectator 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011, 2012 and 2013 Awards of Excellence. Broadway vocalists and pianists are featured in the Geist Cabaret Fridays and Saturdays. From Pizza Margherita to Linguine Carbonara, to Prime Colorado Ribeye Steak, Pranzo boasts Santa Fe's favorite Italian American cuisine, most knowledgeable waitstaff, New Mexico's deepest list of great Italian wines and 20 wines by the glass served Normale (6.3 oz.) and Gigante (9 oz.). Chef Steven Lemon greets multiple Northern New Mexico farmers in his kitchen each week to buy the finest and freshest produce available.

540 Montezuma Ave
Santa Fe, NM 87501
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Pranzo
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9pm, Sunday: 3pm-9:00pm

Cross Street:
Guadalupe

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(505) 984-2645

Website:
http://www.pranzosantafe.com/

Entertainment:
David Geist is our Broadway pianist, veteran of 600 performances of CATS on Broadway, often with vocalists in the Geist Cabaret. We have brought Tony Award winners to the Cabaret for weekend gigs. Guest stars frequently perform.

Catering:
We offer private rooms for groups of 20-300. See the website for menu offerings. www.pranzosantafe.com/catering

Parking Details:
There is a 500 car parking lot that surrounds Pranzo.

Public Transit:
Santa Fe terminus of New Mexico Railrunner Express is only 200 yards from Pranzo.

Executive Chef:
Steven Lemon

Private Party Facilities:
4 choices of room for private dining. Groups as small as 25, large as 100. Meal plans from Italian to Mediteranean to Creative Modern American.

Private Party Contact:
Michael O'Reilly: (505) 984-2645

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Every Sunday Every bottle of wine on our list of 120 is half priced!!!

Pranzo Italian Grill Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Authentic (17)
Special Occasion (15)
Romantic (12)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Business Meals (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Casual (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Fun (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Cozy (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Live Music (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Spicy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
S
221 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 7 days ago

Pasta dishes are very good, and a half order is available. Not the usual chain Italian menu, much more creative.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Once a year we visit a couple of special places in Santa Fe and this is one of them.

It’s a 6 hour drive but worth every visit. Friendly staff and good food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 4, 2017

Very good Italian food. Nice location and ambiance. Waiter was new and not as attentive as I'd like. One strange thing was that we ordered drinks to start and wine with dinner. However, the drinks were slow in coming and we hadn't finished them before dinner arrived. But they wouldn't bring the wine until our drinks were finished. Something about not having two drink glasses per person on the table at the same time. My wife had to chug her drink so we could get our wine.

Tags: Spicy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

The staff at Pranzo couldnt have been more professional ! 5 star service and food from beginning to end! They truly made our birthday get together with friends one we will never forget and one of the best dining experiences we have ever had! We eagerly look forward to returning here next time we are in Santa Fe.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 1, 2017

My husband and I have been to Pranzo several times in our history together and always had good experiences. This time we went there with his parents to celebrate his birthday. We were there for 2.5 hours (!) because the service was soooo slow! It took at least 30 minutes just to get our salads, then another 30-45 minutes to get our entrees. The service was the worst I've ever experienced. Our water glasses were not refilled until almost the very end of dinner yet it seemed like there were several waiters and staff bustling around us. We ordered dessert and then THAT took another 15-25 minutes to come out! It was ridiculous. We won't be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We enjoy Pranzos and have for many years. It has a solid menu, reasonable pries, decent service and a nice ambiance. It is a "go-to" place for us. Thanks for continued good food and service. It was a reasonably busy Friday eve and we sat, ate, enjoyed, and talked for more than two hours without being pressured to turn over the table. Good stuff. BW

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Service was very very slow. Food was ok. If you can't find a table elsewhere, this will work, but you may have to be patient on service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Very slow service, out of wine we ordered. Nice waiter food was ok but won't go back anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Pranzo has been one of my favorite Santa Fe restaurants for many, many years. The food is fresh and authentic and I highly recommend this venue when dining out.

Tags: Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Authentic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 10, 2017

This is an average good restauarant. It has awwaome David in piano upstairs if you wish a caberet setting. The food was OK: not a bad bite. The four of us failed to receive the Wow from the moment we entered to when we left. They need to look for better Customer Service training.
Recommend with reservation

Tags: Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on September 9, 2017

I love Pranzo's, go there often. However, something needs to be done about the smoke from the kitchen. Whether it's a dirty Ansel system or lack of ventilation in the pizza oven ( which I think may be wood burning) I had trouble breathing this last Friday night and my clothes reeked.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

Several years ago we visited Pranzo and had a bad experience with the service and food. I am glad to say on this occasion that was not the case. The wait staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the food was very good. It was very busy for a Sunday evening, possibly due to their 1/2 price wine special, which contributed to some delays but nothing very bad. The waitress steered us to a very pleasant bottle of Italian wine that we had not tried before and we found it to be very good and very reasonably priced. The only reason I marked down the ambiance score was due to a couple of very loud people in the bar area that detracted from the overall atmosphere, but I understand that is difficult for the restaurant to control. Overall a redemptive visit for Pranzo.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very nice restaurant. Delicious food and a great waiter.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 28, 2017

The early bird menu is an amazing value. For $15.95 you have a choice between three salads plus four pasta dishes and six flavors of ice cream. But you have to ask for the special menu. Only runs from 4:00 to 5:45. Good news is that you're also in happy hour so a glass of wine is half price. Best deal in town!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fun, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our entire dining experience was awful as we're the other two tables next to us. Bad service, ran out of food on menu, drinks watered down..no apology for bad service to any complaining table. Surly service and no management follow through

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Food was fantastic! Appreciate the extra care in working around my dietary restrictions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Service was bad! Not enough waiters! Presently, would not recommend. Food good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Another great dining experience at Pranzo! We requested seating for the upstairs Cabaret, and weren't disappointed by the friendly, relaxed atmosphere and the high quality performance of pianist David Geist and singer Julie Trujillo. Bravo! Oh, and we also enjoyed the gracious service, generous 'small plate' servings of pasta, the grilled calamari, and excellent wine choices. We'll return to Pranzo and the Geist Cabaret whenever we are in Santa Fe.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Absolutely fantastic experience. Quality and taste of the food heavenly. If you are around Santa Fe...this is a place to have wonderful dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 20, 2017

We like the half orders of pasta with a side salad. Dinner for less than $20. Plus the glass and a half on wine.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Casual and relaxed atmosphere. Wait staff were friendly. Food was very good with generous portions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 16, 2017

A warm welcoming ambience, sophisticated food, friendly knowledgable service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food at Pranzo was delicious and plentiful enough to take some home for the next days lunch but they were clearly understaffed the night went. It was a special occasion for us and the waitress was very sweet, but she was taking care of so many tables that it took quite a while for us to just get some bread and drinks. We have been there many times in the past but this time it seems the prices have gone up quite substantially. The food was outstanding however.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 14, 2017

I put on the Open Table reservation form that it was the day of our 40th wedding anniversary but it was not mentioned or acknowledged in any way.

There were definite service issues that evening: the wine, the salads, the appetizer, AND the entrees were all brought out at the same time.

We sent the entrees back for later because we had hoped to make this a more leisurely, special event.

It wasn't and we were sorry that we had chosen Pranzo for our anniversary.

It's still probably okay for every day meals but Open Table diners should plan special evenings elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

vip
 (St. Louis)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We visited this restaurant during a trip to Santa Fe. It was convenient to our hotel and we wanted Italian food. The meals are very good, with half plates available. Even then we couldn't finish. This is a good choice and you won't be unhappy.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Pranzo never disappoints. We requested an upstairs table, and were surprised and delighted to find pianist David Geist welcoming us with high quality playing and casual conversation. We ordered fish entrees from the specials menu, and both were generous servings, impeccably prepared and presented. My side salad was large enough for both of us to share. For dessert, we chose the amazing bread pudding - the serving was huge, and we ended up taking part of it home. Our waiter was pleasant and efficient without being intrusive. We definitely recommend Pranzo and will return whenever we are in Santa Fe.

Tags: Healthy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 9, 2017

A very satisfactory Italian restaurant, with reasonable prices and good wine.

Tags: Spicy, Good Vegetarian Options, Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on August 9, 2017

This restaurant was recommended and did. It disappoint. Food was authentic and good! Service was friendly and very good. We were off to the opera and they had us out if there in plenty of time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Pranzo is ok but erratic. The last two times I've been, the food has been surprisingly good with about an 80% success rate and only a miss or two. I went this past Friday night and the service was terrible. They brought the wrong appetizer and when we questioned the food runner, he said we were mistaken. Luckily we were able to flag down our waitress, who confirmed that it was indeed NOT what we ordered and brought the correct appetizer (eventually). Unfortunately we spent most of the evening flagging her down, as she was consistently unavailable. They didn't seem to be understaffed - she just seemed new, unpolished, and over-her-head. That said, when we came a few months ago and were seated in a corner upstairs, we were afraid we'd be forgotten and the service was actually wonderful. My other complaint is that while they have a decent wine list, they are almost always out of things. This time it took two tries until we picked a bottle that was in stock; last time it took three tries. So considering the negatives and the steep prices, I definitely won't rush back for anything other than happy hour.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 1, 2017

Pranzo is great. Reasonably priced, solid Italian restaurant suitable for a nice dinner out, business meeting, or casual lunch. Upscale atmosphere, but not stuffy. Works with either a suit or jeans. Bar is small, but usually quite busy. Only complaint is menu doesn't have extremely unique dishes...but the Italian fare offered is very good. It's a staple for us.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food had good flavor overall, and the staff was friendly. We loved the atmosphere and the pianist was what truly made the night memorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Being a busy weekend in Santa Fe it was relatively easy to get reservations. I have eaten here many times, food is always good. Service was adequate but not exceptional. Great for family dining, date night or just going for great Italian food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 23, 2017

Food was beautifully presented, an interesting variety of cuisines. We have been dining here off and on for years and the current offerings are the best ever. Excellent wine list, margaritas, designer cocktails.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 21, 2017

David Geist is amazing. Great entertainer. Really made the evening special. Highly recommend sitting upstairs & enjoying his music.

Tags: Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Live Music, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I had mixed fried fish and it was not good at all, and very heavy. Myst have used very refried oil. I was sick for one day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 18, 2017

I cleaned my plate and I could have eaten more, it was so delicious. Outstanding service by professional server. Quiet, upscale, and elegant.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Great selection of delicious dishes - portions are large - maybe a little too large - Our group shared a few dishes and we were all pleased, and full!
Excellent service and good value.

Tags: Authentic, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 15, 2017

I have been to Pranzo since it opened many years ago. The food is excellent; the service with a smile. Order the ice cream--a family recipe.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on July 15, 2017

In general, we have always liked this restaurant. The last couple of times, though, it's been extremely noisy (patrons' fault, not the restaurant), and for us older folks, that makes conversation difficult.
We were disappointed this time that the chef could not accommodate my husband's request to substitute spaghetti with bolognese sauce for the polenta. In order to have his wish, we had to order a whole order of spaghetti bolognese... In fairness, the server DID tell us about this in advance.

Live and learn. Restaurants just aren't as flexible as they used to be.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Live Music, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Very nice Italian In a 'hip' Santa Fe neighborhood. Delicious food and a lively Bar Scene!

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Business Meals, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.