Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Pranzo Italian Grill

4.5
251 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Authentic
  • Good for a Date
Located in the Sanbusco Market Center on the Western edge of the Historic District, Pranzo has been a local favorite since 1988. We received the Wine Spectator 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011, 2012 and 2013 Awards of Excellence. Broadway vocalists and pianists are featured in the Geist Cabaret Fridays and Saturdays. From Pizza Margherita to Linguine Carbonara, to Prime Colorado Ribeye Steak, Pranzo boasts Santa Fe's favorite Italian American cuisine, most knowledgeable waitstaff, New Mexico's deepest list of great Italian wines and 20 wines by the glass served Normale (6.3 oz.) and Gigante (9 oz.). Chef Steven Lemon greets multiple Northern New Mexico farmers in his kitchen each week to buy the finest and freshest produce available.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Pranzo
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:30am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm - 9pm, Sunday: 3pm-9:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(505) 984-2645
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Steven Lemon
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
4 choices of room for private dining. Groups as small as 25, large as 100. Meal plans from Italian to Mediteranean to Creative Modern American.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Michael O'Reilly: (505) 984-2645
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We offer private rooms for groups of 20-300. See the website for menu offerings. www.pranzosantafe.com/catering
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Guadalupe
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is a 500 car parking lot that surrounds Pranzo.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Santa Fe terminus of New Mexico Railrunner Express is only 200 yards from Pranzo.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
David Geist is our Broadway pianist, veteran of 600 performances of CATS on Broadway, often with vocalists in the Geist Cabaret. We have brought Tony Award winners to the Cabaret for weekend gigs. Guest stars frequently perform.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Every Sunday Every bottle of wine on our list of 120 is half priced!!!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 251 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.1
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
100% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was a Mother's Day lunch. The food was delicious. The red chile oil was great. Not what I expected. Thought it was going to be spicy. It had a very distinct flavor. Next time I viist I will purchase some.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

In town for a couple of days and looking for a good meal at a reasonable price. Hit on all accounts.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Good idea to have reservations as this place is very popular. The food and service were great. We would definitely make a repeat visit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Pranzo staff are efficient, friendly, and very professional. A date night with my wife was made even more special with the ambience and great staff, especially Tomas our waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

We dined here for lunch and had a great meal and experience. The wait staff was very attentive but not over bearing. My husband had a pasta that was delicious and I had a panini. The portions were so good that we asked for take out boxes. We wanted to walk around a bit and asked if they would keep our food cool and we would come back. Greg was more than happy to accommodate, so I ordered the Tiramisu knowing I couldn’t finish it, but that could be boxed up as well! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Pranzo is a regular dining spot for us. The food is top drawer and service is great and caring. We also love the dining room’s warm ambiance and copious supply of booths.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 9, 2018

The calamari seafood appetizer was plentiful and delicious as was the cioppino, and eggplant parm. Great attentive waiter.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Service was great! Food was delicious! Nice place overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 6, 2018

GF pasta is just perfect and the bolgnese is great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Great place as always. Magnificent service from Tomasz.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

It was my first time here and came with friends. Great food!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 1, 2018

We arrived a few minutes prior to our reservation. We were seated out our table immediately but was at least 10 minutes before a server came to our table. After the delay the service was great as was the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 28, 2017

It was lovely,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 26, 2017

We always make reservations at Pranzo’s for our family over the Christmas holiday. The ambience is cozy, staff is attentive and the food is excellent. We love the excellent selection of wine and spirits.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 24, 2017

This place was awesome! One of our favorite places we ate at while visiting Santa Fe! Highly recommend as food was excellent & service outstanding!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 9, 2017

Wonderfull service
Great quality of food.
We especially like the full or half portions choice on the entrees

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 29, 2017

Reliably good and great service. Since it was my birthday, they gifted me with a free dessert! Thanks, Pranzo!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 26, 2017

Very cozy, traditional atmosphere
Very good service. Food is consistently good. Service makes you feel welcome. A reliable place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Pizza for some reason was terrible ..almost as if they are using a pre made crust ..everything else fantastic !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

Our first time to Pranzo , if I lived in Santa Fe area I would go back , I live in Maryland , Service and Food excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. Great food and wine

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Great seasonally inspired menu with local ingredients... Italian as it should be. Fresca Fresca! Celebrated my husband's birthday here with our 17 month old daughter. Staff was friendly, very gracious to our family and little one. Mushroom appetizer and burrata were very special with local/seasonal ingredients, and we enjoyed our more traditional entrees (meatballs and chicken Parmesan) as well. We will definitely be back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 9, 2017

Pranzo's food and service are great--a wide-ranging menu and excellent wine list. The decor could use some updating, though--some paint here and there would make a world of difference.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 3, 2017

Great Crispy Zucchini Fingers. They were crispy on the outside but not mushy on the inside.
Very good Cavatelli. I like them a little chewy and saved with great Italian sausage.
We will Return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 28, 2017

Lovely fresh ingredients from local farmer's market. Exceptional cooking, presentation and service. Cozy atmosphere. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 27, 2017

A wonderful and good tasting Italian restaurant without the white tablecloth. Neighborhood (Santa Fe) vibe. Moderately priced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2017

We chanced on Pranzo while shopping at REI next door, and thought it a great discovery, but clearly this excellent Italian place is no secret. The menu is varied, we easily found something delicious for everyone, from ravioli to grilled ribeye to a kid's hamburger, and a Nicoise salad with perfectly seared tuna. A bottle of Super Tuscan complemented the food and made for a memorable evening, the first of many, I hope, at Pranzo.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 15, 2017

The lights over our table and in the restaurant were flickering the whole evening, which when reading a menu was very annoying...An old building we were told. Server took our orders, but came back as they had run out of salmon, so substituted shrimp, which was alright, but not grilled, just sauted with no flavor. Asked for a bottle of wine, and they had to chill it, so gave us a glass of the typed we wanted till the bottle chilled, but then could not have two bottles of wine on the table of four of us, we were told because of Santa Fe regulations. When I asked for a Baileys on the Rocks after dinner was told I could not have it because I had already had a martini and wine.........WOW........free dessert instead.........will not be recommending to friends going to Santa Fe.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 10, 2017

Pasta dishes are very good, and a half order is available. Not the usual chain Italian menu, much more creative.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 7, 2017

Once a year we visit a couple of special places in Santa Fe and this is one of them.

It’s a 6 hour drive but worth every visit. Friendly staff and good food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 3, 2017

Very good Italian food. Nice location and ambiance. Waiter was new and not as attentive as I'd like. One strange thing was that we ordered drinks to start and wine with dinner. However, the drinks were slow in coming and we hadn't finished them before dinner arrived. But they wouldn't bring the wine until our drinks were finished. Something about not having two drink glasses per person on the table at the same time. My wife had to chug her drink so we could get our wine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 3, 2017

The staff at Pranzo couldnt have been more professional ! 5 star service and food from beginning to end! They truly made our birthday get together with friends one we will never forget and one of the best dining experiences we have ever had! We eagerly look forward to returning here next time we are in Santa Fe.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 1, 2017

My husband and I have been to Pranzo several times in our history together and always had good experiences. This time we went there with his parents to celebrate his birthday. We were there for 2.5 hours (!) because the service was soooo slow! It took at least 30 minutes just to get our salads, then another 30-45 minutes to get our entrees. The service was the worst I've ever experienced. Our water glasses were not refilled until almost the very end of dinner yet it seemed like there were several waiters and staff bustling around us. We ordered dessert and then THAT took another 15-25 minutes to come out! It was ridiculous. We won't be returning anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2017

We enjoy Pranzos and have for many years. It has a solid menu, reasonable pries, decent service and a nice ambiance. It is a "go-to" place for us. Thanks for continued good food and service. It was a reasonably busy Friday eve and we sat, ate, enjoyed, and talked for more than two hours without being pressured to turn over the table. Good stuff. BW

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Service was very very slow. Food was ok. If you can't find a table elsewhere, this will work, but you may have to be patient on service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Very slow service, out of wine we ordered. Nice waiter food was ok but won't go back anytime soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 21, 2017

Pranzo has been one of my favorite Santa Fe restaurants for many, many years. The food is fresh and authentic and I highly recommend this venue when dining out.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2017

This is an average good restauarant. It has awwaome David in piano upstairs if you wish a caberet setting. The food was OK: not a bad bite. The four of us failed to receive the Wow from the moment we entered to when we left. They need to look for better Customer Service training.
Recommend with reservation

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 8, 2017

I love Pranzo's, go there often. However, something needs to be done about the smoke from the kitchen. Whether it's a dirty Ansel system or lack of ventilation in the pizza oven ( which I think may be wood burning) I had trouble breathing this last Friday night and my clothes reeked.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 3, 2017

Several years ago we visited Pranzo and had a bad experience with the service and food. I am glad to say on this occasion that was not the case. The wait staff was very pleasant and helpful, and the food was very good. It was very busy for a Sunday evening, possibly due to their 1/2 price wine special, which contributed to some delays but nothing very bad. The waitress steered us to a very pleasant bottle of Italian wine that we had not tried before and we found it to be very good and very reasonably priced. The only reason I marked down the ambiance score was due to a couple of very loud people in the bar area that detracted from the overall atmosphere, but I understand that is difficult for the restaurant to control. Overall a redemptive visit for Pranzo.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
7