About Prairie Tap House

8251 Flying Cloud Drive
Suite 3030
Eden Prairie, MN 55344
View Larger Map

The Prairie Tap House will bring residents of Eden Prairie and the surrounding areas, high quality food and drinks at a reasonable price. The Tap House specializes in Baltimore style pit beef, an extensive draft beer list and quality crafted cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:00am - 2:00am, Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 217-4054

Website:
http://theprairietaphouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Phil Dvorak

Prairie Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.9

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Twin Cities / Western Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Eden Prairie ›

good for groups (16)
great for lunch (12)
fit for foodies (9)
See All
neighborhood gem (8)
special occasion (7)
great for brunch (6)
hot spot (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
kid-friendly (4)
great for outdoor dining (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I had dinner there last night with 2 fri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

I had dinner there last night with 2 friends. Our server was friendly and they have a nice selection of beers to choose from. The menu had lots of options too, even for me as I don't eat meat. I had the southwest salad and the presentation was nice and portion enough for lunch today. I would say it is on the expensive side for this kind of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Our server totally made the experience f ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server totally made the experience for us. He was fun and engaging and hilarious. If I could request to sit in his section every single time I would.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location for a casual lunch busines ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice location for a casual lunch business lunch when short on time. Solid menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We made a reservation for two of us at P ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We made a reservation for two of us at Prairie Tap House to celebrate my birthday. We arrived and were seated at our reservation time. Our female server wasn't very friendly and didn't have good answers to our menu questions. We both ordered the same salad based on menu details. When our salads arrived, they both included toppings not listed on the menu. One salad was sent back with a request to remove the two toppings and a manager brought a replacement salad 15 minutes later (after my friend was done eating) indicating that the menus would be reprinted soon due to inaccuracies. Our server didn't get much kinder throughout the night so we left to enjoy drinks and desserts at another restaurant down the street. I would not recommend this restaurant based on this experience. If I give it another shot in the future, I'd be specific about asking exactly what's on the entree before ordering it and be on the lookout for that server and request not to sit in her section.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Our order for goofed up and our daughter ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our order for goofed up and our daughter got her food when they realized the rest of order did not go in. The manager was very gracious and did give us a $10 gift card. The food was good and plentiful.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was friendly and efficient. Our ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service was friendly and efficient. Our server had a trainee with her and they were both on top of things, our orders were perfect and they were great about providing soft drink refills without having to ask. Food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Always a good spot for lunch! It took a while, and a mention, for our server to show up, but once she did she was great about returning to check on us and getting drink refills. Food was fresh and flavorful.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid lunch time dining location. The sa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Solid lunch time dining location. The sandwiches are all worth coming out and enjoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall a good experience. Great tap bee ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Overall a good experience. Great tap beers and food was excellent. Only complaint was that they advertised specialty cocktails and they didn't have a cocktail menu.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome lunch spot

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 11, 2016

It's a bit overpriced but the food is always good and fresh. Service is friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lack luster.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Server lacked energy or even personality. Food had little to no flavor.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great Food, we will go back!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We loved the food and were surprised at how fast it was served. It is a little on the spendy side, however.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good spot for a casual (large) meal

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Overall very positive experience. Their sandwiches are excellent. I tried their meatloaf this time and it was out of this world. The ambiance is loud but service is good. I would recommend it for a great casual spot for lunch or dinner.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great burgers and sandwiches

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

I love the Lyn-Lake Burger. Food is always fresh and service is fast and friendly!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food not up to expectations

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

The Latin pig sandwich had a soggy bun and the meat was tough. Not good at all!!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Great brunch find

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have had dinner at Prairie Tap many times and it is always good. On a whim, we recently decided to try out their weekend brunch. What an amazing find! They have a special brunch menu filled with many of the usual brunch menu items, but prepared in ways that make them new and unique and really delicious! And, with each plate priced at $11.95, it's a great bargain too!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

First Time

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

Didn't really know what to expect. We asked for a table away from the bar so we could have some quiet. Since we were early we got our request. The waiter was prompt and couteous. We tired a starter at his suggestion but it was marginal in flavor and not good value. We tried three different sandwhiches. Two of them were fine and was was good. The dessert was ok but overpriced.

Nothing bad but nothing outstading about this place. The prices are high for what you get.

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Great lunch spot!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 3, 2016

We love this place, food is always fresh and service is friendly. Definitely a favorite for lunch in Eden Prairie!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good size portions for lunch. Food was f ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

Good size portions for lunch. Food was fresh and tasty. Lyn Lake burger is the best!

Service was very quick and our server was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place , food, service good but the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on March 1, 2016

great place , food, service good but they don't have the laptop up for us to register our open table reservations . no big I guess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Grilled cheese with beacon was fabulous! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 22, 2016

Grilled cheese with beacon was fabulous! My daughter really liked the thickness and cheesy of the bread.

Blistered hipster burger was on fire, it had just the right kick to it.

Service was a slow start being we hit the dinner rush hour.

Overall service & food was awesome...totally recommend to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Server was checked out

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our server was uninterested or friendly while tending our table. When we asked questions like what she would recommend, she had one word answers. She didn't seem to want to be there at all and made our experience a negative one. Didn't ask if we'd like anything else and just brought the check. Food arrived quickly and was tasty.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

1st time visit

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Enjoyed our 1st visit. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was very good. We will be back I'm sure.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were seated really fast ahead of sche ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We were seated really fast ahead of schedule that was nice but our appetizers took for ever to be served which was disappointing the salads that we had were very good overall an average experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Too many things went wrong.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Skip....bad waitress needs to know what she can and can't do.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Food was outstanding.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Not going back

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Terrible experience. No lids for kids drinks. TV was playing the movie Collateral - which is Jamie Foxx driving Tom Cruise around in a cab so he can kill people. When I asked the waitress to change the channel to anything other than that she told me she was busy. They eventually changed it, but we did see 2 people get gunned down...TV was right in front of us - hard to avoid. We ordered one sandwich without mayo. It came with mayo - they swapped it out but charged us $.50.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

only recommend if you do not want a mixed drink.

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food was really quite good. I had a burger and thought it was excellent. My sister tried to order a drink and the waitress kept coming back saying that they were out of the liquor to make every drink she wanted on the menu. Finally, they were able to make her a margarita which was so strong it was undrinkable. She sent it back and decided to just have water. If they getting rid of mixed drinks , maybe they should just take them off the menus. It was super annoying and I felt bad for the server who had to come back to our table 3 or 4 times to let us know they couldn't make each drink.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

It was freezing in the dining room.

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

My husband had the meatloaf which didn't agree with him. It was busy in the bar and may have been a little cozier

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

Great place for lunch!

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Good size portions for lunch. Food was fresh and tasty. Service was very quick and our server was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An good experience with our exchange stu ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

An good experience with our exchange students.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Went there with two others for lunch; we ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 29, 2016

Went there with two others for lunch; we were greeted and seated promptly. Our server was attentive. Portions were very large.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Very good all around!

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Based on mediocre reviews on various sites--and the fact that it's located next to Panera in a mall--I wasn't expecting much from Prairie Tap House. But I took a chance because there was a table available at the right time for my needs.

Members of our group sat at the bar first, and service was very attentive and friendly despite the fact that it was crowded. There was a pretty good cocktail selection, and drinks were well executed and not overpriced. Our table was ready on time. Again, service was very good. Our server had a lot of tables but never kept us waiting long and was apologetic about minor delays. He was also very friendly and personable.

The food was quite good--more "gastropub" quality than "mall restaurant." I was happy with my beet salad, and my husband's burger was really good, too. (I ate half of it, so I know for a fact.)

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Booooo

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

If u like reminding your sever for every last thing ( three times alone for a beer, among other things) and having your order rung up wrong and have to spend even more time getting it sorted, then this is the restaurant for you! I'll pass!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

I always love going here! Great food, gr ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

I always love going here! Great food, great service, great location. I ordered a "spicy" burger and I got a "spicy" burger. Weird. I can't stand idiot reviewers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We liked how local it felt. Lots of variety. Nachos were amazing. Portions were good sized. We like the Valley Diner a bit more (atmosphere and menu) but this was a nice place as well. Staff was friendly and it was speedy.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Plain, dry food, nothing to go back for

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Food was flavorless and very plain. Did not enjoy any of it. Had to ask for extra sauce to choke down my sandwich. Husband tried the beef and I had pork and both were dry and lacked flavor. Server was friendly, but didn't know anything about the menu at all. She did go and ask someone else for everything we asked about, so a plus that she at least tried to learn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Dissapointed

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

I guess they recently changed their menu and the prices seemed to have increased compared to our past visits. My wife had a salad ($12.95) and thought about adding chicken but could not justify a $18.95 salad at Prairie Tap House. I don't think they charge this much at a four or five star restaurant. Could this be the reason they were not very busy prime time on a Saturday night???? The food in my opinion is fair and the décor is weird. Maybe the bar is better.

Overall disappointed!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

We needed a bigger table & our service w ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 22, 2015

We needed a bigger table & our service was awesome about it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Not impressed at all!!! Our entire order ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on December 12, 2015

Not impressed at all!!! Our entire order came out wrong. My poor 3 year old had to sit and watch everyone eat while she waited 30 min for her food since they got her order wrong!!! Food was not great either!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.