About Prairie Tap House

The Prairie Tap House will bring residents of Eden Prairie and the surrounding areas, high quality food and drinks at a reasonable price. The Tap House specializes in Baltimore style pit beef, an extensive draft beer list and quality crafted cocktails.

8251 Flying Cloud Drive
Suite 3030
Eden Prairie, MN 55344
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:00am - 2:00am, Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 217-4054

Website:
http://theprairietaphouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Phil Dvorak

Prairie Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
See All
Special Occasion (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
People Watching (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Casual (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Authentic (1)
Fun (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Cozy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
372 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Lunch was delivered within a few minutes and was fresh and delicious. Our server was friendly and personable. Definitely love returning to this place on a regular basis!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Service was quick, friendly, and efficient. Our server was personable and good about refilling our water and soft drinks. Food was fresh and tasty, and delivered timely, which was great since we were in a rush. Love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We were in an unexpected rush and mentioned this to our server, who was very accommodating and took care of everything quickly and efficiently. This was greatly appreciated. The food was fresh and delicious as always and we'll definitely be back... it's a favorite spot for lunch!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent Brunch. We went for Mother's Day and everybody left stuffed and satisfied.

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Service was very quick and sandwiches were fresh and delicious as always. Great spot for a quick lunch in a fun, clean atmosphere!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Authentic, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Rachel Sandwich, fries, and salads are delicious. Our server was friendly and personable. This is definitely a favorite spot for lunch.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 4, 2017

This is one of our favorite places for lunch! Lunch specials are filling and a great value. Staff is always friendly and considerate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Great lunch specials, food was fresh and filling. We had a friendly and personable server.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Tried the pit sandwiches. The dragon had more flavor than the beef. French fries arw in abundance. Desserts need some work on that area since they had no flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Sandwiches and fries are delicious and service is top-notch. It's always a pleasure to come back to Prairie Tap for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our server was exceptionally friendly and personable! She made conversation and was so good about answering our questions it made us want to continue chatting with her! Salads and sandwiches were fresh and flavorful; it's always a pleasure to return to Prairie Tap House.

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Reading reviews, some people had trouble with a reservation with Open Table. We were welcomed and acknowledged right away and seated. We had very good service, all staff were helpful and our meals were generous in size and very good flavored. We found items on the menu for which we will have to go back and try.

Tags: Comfort Food, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Sandwiches and fries are always fresh and tasty. Our server remembered us from previous dines there and the service was very quick and efficient.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Food was fresh and delicious. Our server was very friendly and attentive. This is our one of our faves to visit for lunch!

Tags: People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Wife and I were looking for a good burger for lunch after running some errands and decided to try Prairie Tap House. The place wasn't very busy but it took a number of minutes before somebody (the bartender) greeted and seated us. There were maybe 3 or 4 tables already occupied and it took over 5 minutes to have a server acknowledge our presence. It took at least 20 minutes to get our food after ordering - reminder, it wasn't that busy. Wife asked for no lettuce and tomato on her burger and it came with both. Server convinced me to go with the pit burger which had pit beef added to the burger. It came out easily 6" tall - very soggy bottom bun - impossible to eat as it was built. Both were served with an extremely large portion of fries, way more than was needed. My wife asked for some bbq sauce on the side - no mention was made for the extra condiment charge - it was a spicy bbq sauce that was not appealing to either of us. I didn't think that my burger was anything to rave about for flavor or lack thereof. I doubt we will ever go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Really great food and awesome staff. Perfect for watching the Vikings game & plenty of delicious beer options to drown your sorrows when they lose or celebrate a win. Will be going there again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 1, 2016

Love the Rachael Sandwich and fries. Our server was friendly and attentive. This continues to be a regular lunch spot for us!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We had a nice time, the meal tasted good but was a very large amount of food. Most everything comes with fries and there is an extra charge for another selection. Very loud for talking but our server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Sandwiches and salads are delicious; portions for lunch for huge. Our server was friendly and great about providing drink refills.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was good, menu good if you like pit meats. Otherwise, limited menu. I ordered the grilled cheese with bacon. Very cheesy with a nice tomato jam on it. Bacon was horrible. Paid extra for it, but couldn't eat it. Almost raw and very fatty. Had the Brussel sprouts on the side. I don't recommend them, a bit chewy under cooked. The French fries and coleslaw sides were very good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The Rachael sandwich and fries were fresh and flavorful. Service was quick and personable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Portions were pretty huge and food was delicious. Our server/s were friendly, but we were seated at a table near the front window, we didn't understand why since they normally seat us at a booth and there were plenty available. The window table was small and it was distracting every time someone walked by and looked in at us eating. It also seemed to be a bit out of the server's way so it wasn't very convenient for them to take care of us. Granted, we didn't bother to ask for anything else as we didn't have the time to fuss with it... had we done so I have confidence they would have accommodated the request.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was great, our waiter was very nice and attentive, had no problems eating a quiet family meal and both the waiter and the chef happily answered my questions about the food.
Will be going back :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was ok. I ordered a burger it was good but bread was soggy and not made properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

They didn't have a table for us. Very rude, said it was open tables fault and we'd have a 30 minute wait. We left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great place for lunch! Our server was friendly and attentive, he provided drink refills without having to ask. Burgers and sandwiches were fresh and flavorful. This is definite one of our favorite spots for casual, quick dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Service was quick and efficient; food was good. Fun and energetic atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Don't recommend making reservations for the Prairie Tap House through Open Table - they very rudely told us that their iPad is broken and they can't see any of the reservations. The Hostess was terrible but the wait staff, once we finally got a table, were great. Food was good, basic. They were out of a good portion of the beer list early on a Saturday night...it's a tap house.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went here for brunch today. Wow, I've never seen a caramel roll so big! In a way it spoiled our brunch because we wanted to eat so much of it, but I'm not complaining because we have a lot of leftovers!
The portion sizes were huge for the entrees too. We had the breakfast burrito, the hard apple cider french toast and the breakfast sandwich. Our favorite was the breakfast sandwich but all were solid choices!.
They have a kids meal for breakfast and crayons available so your kids will be entertained.
Not sure why people are complaining about the wait staff. Our server, Josh, was really friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our meal today!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food and service is always great.... today service was very quick; our server was friendly and attentive!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Always fun to go to this place for lunch. Food is great and service has always been friendly and fast.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2016

I had dinner there last night with 2 friends. Our server was friendly and they have a nice selection of beers to choose from. The menu had lots of options too, even for me as I don't eat meat. I had the southwest salad and the presentation was nice and portion enough for lunch today. I would say it is on the expensive side for this kind of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our server totally made the experience for us. He was fun and engaging and hilarious. If I could request to sit in his section every single time I would.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice location for a casual lunch business lunch when short on time. Solid menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our order for goofed up and our daughter got her food when they realized the rest of order did not go in. The manager was very gracious and did give us a $10 gift card. The food was good and plentiful.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2016

We made a reservation for two of us at Prairie Tap House to celebrate my birthday. We arrived and were seated at our reservation time. Our female server wasn't very friendly and didn't have good answers to our menu questions. We both ordered the same salad based on menu details. When our salads arrived, they both included toppings not listed on the menu. One salad was sent back with a request to remove the two toppings and a manager brought a replacement salad 15 minutes later (after my friend was done eating) indicating that the menus would be reprinted soon due to inaccuracies. Our server didn't get much kinder throughout the night so we left to enjoy drinks and desserts at another restaurant down the street. I would not recommend this restaurant based on this experience. If I give it another shot in the future, I'd be specific about asking exactly what's on the entree before ordering it and be on the lookout for that server and request not to sit in her section.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service was friendly and efficient. Our server had a trainee with her and they were both on top of things, our orders were perfect and they were great about providing soft drink refills without having to ask. Food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Always a good spot for lunch! It took a while, and a mention, for our server to show up, but once she did she was great about returning to check on us and getting drink refills. Food was fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Solid lunch time dining location. The sandwiches are all worth coming out and enjoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Overall a good experience. Great tap beers and food was excellent. Only complaint was that they advertised specialty cocktails and they didn't have a cocktail menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.