Prairie Tap House

3.7
411 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • People Watching
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Business Meals
The Tap House specializes in Baltimore style pit beef sandwiches, 35 craft beers on tap and quality crafted cocktails.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Gastro Pub, Breakfast
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Mon–Thu, Sun 11:00 am–12:00 am
Fri 11:00 am–1:00 am
Sat 10:00 am–12:00 am
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(952) 217-4054
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ryan Pasiuk
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 411 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.7based on recent ratings
3.6
food
3.8
service
3.5
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
67% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 7 days ago

The Sunday brunch here is really good.There are lots of options and it is pretty reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 27, 2018

When we arrived there was no one at the hostess desk, the bar tender saw us but not once said someone was coming or acknowledged us. Stood there for a while with 2 small children. Not a what I would considering alot of options on the menu. I had a Tai pork sandwich recommened by waitress she did say it was spicy. I couldn't eat it, very apologetic she did ask if I would like something else and brought me a different barbecue sandwich (these are their specialities). I did not like this one either. The meat was just not good. Every one else seemed to enjoy their meal, salad. fish & chips, wrap sandwich. Just not my day. I will say the fries were amazing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

My first time here. We went for Mother's Day, just my wife, one daughter and me. I thought the food was very good, home-cooked feel about it and our waitress was great. We'll be back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 6, 2018

I am very upset by the whole experience at this place. We were sat and no one felt the need to get us taking care of In 15 min and there was no one even in restaurant side the bar was busy. Will not be coming back or recommending this place to people.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

My husband and I both had the apple, pecan, cranberry salad and liked it a lot. Our friends also enjoyed their food. Our server, Alisha, was very friendly and efficient.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Overall very good. Excellent Sunday Brunch options.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The server was awesome and very helpful. The meatloaf came out cold but they did run it back to microwave it longer.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 7, 2018

The smokehouse sandwiches are great, especially the pork.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 29, 2018

Great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Good variety of food options

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 19, 2018

On the evening of our visit the Prairie Tap House was not overly busy but service was poor and food was average.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Great beer selection, food portions are large

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 16, 2018

March Madness brought this visit's energy! Great place ... the bar is always fantastic!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 4, 2018

3 strikes and you’re out😕.
Used a coupon they gave us for the poor service and C- food we had our 2nd visit.
Menu change uninspiring- any fried food is overly greasy with what smelled and tasted like 2 day old fryer grease.

Will not be returning or suggesting.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 24, 2018

Quiet but food was just okay. Service was okay as well.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 14, 2018

The first sign was that there was availability the last minute on Valentines day evening...
I'm not much on reviews or caring to much, but this place is below average. We won't be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Great food. Good price and huge portions. Was a great date place or wood be good for a large group for a quick bite.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 11, 2018

My son was in town so the 8 of us had lunch before taking him to the airport. Food was great and a nice casual atmosphere

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 31, 2018

New menu today. Not sure why the change. I get that things may not go smoothly but staff should be even more on their game. Was not concerned at all with our displeasure of food quality. Have been a repeat customer many times but would be hesitant to return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 26, 2018

I made a reservation and had to wait 30 minutes on top of that reservation

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 13, 2018

Was a great place to meet family for a dinner on the West side of the metropolitan. Our server was very good. The Menu had several options for our group to select from - we enjoyed our evening!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Good was great and they honored our picky request to sit in a booth and not a table.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

We were in town for the Vikings game from SD. Wanted a place to eat and have a drink or 2. Prairie Tap House was close to the hotel and offered a good variety of food choices. Would recommend it to everyone.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 23, 2017

The food is always solid - and our server was the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 16, 2017

My pork sandwich was extremely chewy but other than that my boyfriends beef sandwich was good and our waitress was nice!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 4, 2017

Diligent waiter; good food and a relaxed lunch. Would definitely go back there another time.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 25, 2017

It had been a while since we had been here, and since then the sticky bun has changed. It is no longer huge and fluffy with the delicious cinnamon maple whipped frosting. It was smaller, dense and dry, and smothered in caramel to try to make up for it. It was very disppointing, we had talked it up to our friends who joined us, and we had to apologize that it wasn’t what it used to be.

The breakfast sandwich was just okay, the bacon was the best part of it. The breakfast potatoes on the side were really good. The beer list is still great, I enjoyed my Surly Darkness. The server was really great, too.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 17, 2017

I want to like this place, but the truth is that every time I eat here (4+ times), I leave disappointed. The concept is far better than the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 7, 2017

Basic Tap House food. It was good but nothing so special that I'd tell someone "You have to try X there."

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 3, 2017

We had an employee going away celebration. The restaurant accommodated all of our requests. Great place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 31, 2017

We were pleasantly surprised to find some very nice Happy Hour Specials, some great beer to sample and enjoy, wonderfully varied appetizers and two very fun, capable and caring bartenders! This place may be a sports bar, but we enjoyed the chef's offerings and the staff. Happy Hour made it affordable, too! Thank you for a fun evening!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 23, 2017

Sandwiches we had for lunch for served very quickly. Server was friendly and checked on us often. It was a great experience, we definitely enjoy frequenting this place often for lunch.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on October 21, 2017

The server started by sharing that she was new and that she was just learning the ropes. It only went downhill from there. No side plates with the appetizer, served a beer in the van and even though we asked for a glass we had to retrieve it from the bar as the sever forgot. Our food was fair and the server never checked to see if we had everything.

Too bad this was a poor experience as it is close to our home and would be an easy place to go.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 16, 2017

Great place to celebrate birthdays in a casual atmosphere. Good cost for value and the service was pristine. I love having the movie theater so close to go after a delicious dinner!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 12, 2017

I have been to the Prairie Tap House several times. Food is always good tasting. The portions are large, so share, bring back leftovers, or go very hungry. The only issue I have is that the servers do not refil beverages. I am not talking just free water, but beer too. If they learn to ask when someone has only a 1/4 left, they'd increase their beverage sales. This has happened with several servers at this location, not just one.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 26, 2017

Overpriced but great food! Otbsurebwhy, but we're only offered the menu with the lunch specials about half the time we go. That daid, lunch was served quickly and was delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 20, 2017

Tried the ribeye steak. Little overcooked and grisly. Mashed potatoes were bland.
Server kept checking 30 to 60 seconds to get the order...not much time to look at the menu. Drinks not refilled and dessert not offered. Bathrooms were not stocked.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 21, 2017

Worst service ever. Food had issues. Cooking timing was off. This was clearly a noon business meeting--reservations for five, told that it would all go on one check, etc. The place was empty. It's a huge place, probably fun as a bar at night, but there was only one other table (with two people) there at noon on a weekday. One in our group frequents the place and said this was the worst service ever received. First of all, our server (her name starts with K and ends with Y), was very, very slow. We're talking waiting forever to have our order taken, to be checked upon (happened once), to get water that we had to ask for after tracking down our server, receive our check, etc. Secondly, three of the meals came and the other two did not arrive until the first three were almost done with their meals. Thirdly, we never got our beverages or water re-filled. We had to go find her to ask for water re-fills twice and each time we waited about ten minutes (again the place was empty). Fourthly, one person's southwest salad came with rock hard and weird tasting avocado slices. Two people tried to cut the slices with a steak knife even and couldn't do it. Fifthly, we were never offered desserts, which we wanted. But it took forever to see our server again (15-20 minutes) and when we did, she showed up with the bill. We knew it wouldn't be worth it to ask for a dessert menu, the bill had arrived, the service was slow, and the lunch had already gone way too long waiting and waiting for service. As host of the business event I was embarrassed and will never host a business meal there again. The poor service put a damper on the whole event, which was supposed to be celebratory. My workplace is 1-1/2 miles from the restaurant--very close, too bad.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 26, 2017

Lunch was delivered within a few minutes and was fresh and delicious. Our server was friendly and personable. Definitely love returning to this place on a regular basis!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 20, 2017

Service was quick, friendly, and efficient. Our server was personable and good about refilling our water and soft drinks. Food was fresh and tasty, and delivered timely, which was great since we were in a rush. Love this place!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11