About Prairie Tap House

8251 Flying Cloud Drive
Suite 3030
Eden Prairie, MN 55344
View Larger Map

The Prairie Tap House will bring residents of Eden Prairie and the surrounding areas, high quality food and drinks at a reasonable price. The Tap House specializes in Baltimore style pit beef, an extensive draft beer list and quality crafted cocktails.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American

Hours of Operation:

Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00am, Saturday: 10:00am - 2:00am, Sunday: 10:00am - 12:00am

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(952) 217-4054

Website:
http://theprairietaphouse.com/

Executive Chef:
Phil Dvorak

Prairie Tap House Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.3

ambience

3.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Lunch (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Casual (5)
See All
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Fun (2)
Live Sports (2)
Authentic (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Family Style (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
352 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Love the Rachael Sandwich and fries. Ou ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Love the Rachael Sandwich and fries. Our server was friendly and attentive. This continues to be a regular lunch spot for us!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a nice time, the meal tasted good ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a nice time, the meal tasted good but was a very large amount of food. Most everything comes with fries and there is an extra charge for another selection. Very loud for talking but our server was very attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Sandwiches and salads are delicious; por ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Sandwiches and salads are delicious; portions for lunch for huge. Our server was friendly and great about providing drink refills.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was good, menu good if you like ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was good, menu good if you like pit meats. Otherwise, limited menu. I ordered the grilled cheese with bacon. Very cheesy with a nice tomato jam on it. Bacon was horrible. Paid extra for it, but couldn't eat it. Almost raw and very fatty. Had the Brussel sprouts on the side. I don't recommend them, a bit chewy under cooked. The French fries and coleslaw sides were very good.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Rachael sandwich and fries were fres ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 9, 2016

The Rachael sandwich and fries were fresh and flavorful. Service was quick and personable.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Portions were pretty huge and food was d ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Portions were pretty huge and food was delicious. Our server/s were friendly, but we were seated at a table near the front window, we didn't understand why since they normally seat us at a booth and there were plenty available. The window table was small and it was distracting every time someone walked by and looked in at us eating. It also seemed to be a bit out of the server's way so it wasn't very convenient for them to take care of us. Granted, we didn't bother to ask for anything else as we didn't have the time to fuss with it... had we done so I have confidence they would have accommodated the request.

Tags: Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was great, our waiter was very ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food was great, our waiter was very nice and attentive, had no problems eating a quiet family meal and both the waiter and the chef happily answered my questions about the food.

Will be going back :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Food was ok. I ordered a burger it was g ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Food was ok. I ordered a burger it was good but bread was soggy and not made properly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

They didn't have a table for us. Very r ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 14, 2016

They didn't have a table for us. Very rude, said it was open tables fault and we'd have a 30 minute wait. We left

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great place for lunch! Our server was f ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 11, 2016

Great place for lunch! Our server was friendly and attentive, he provided drink refills without having to ask. Burgers and sandwiches were fresh and flavorful. This is definite one of our favorite spots for casual, quick dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was quick and efficient; food wa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Service was quick and efficient; food was good. Fun and energetic atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't recommend making reservations for ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Don't recommend making reservations for the Prairie Tap House through Open Table - they very rudely told us that their iPad is broken and they can't see any of the reservations. The Hostess was terrible but the wait staff, once we finally got a table, were great. Food was good, basic. They were out of a good portion of the beer list early on a Saturday night...it's a tap house.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Went here for brunch today. Wow, I've ne ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Went here for brunch today. Wow, I've never seen a caramel roll so big! In a way it spoiled our brunch because we wanted to eat so much of it, but I'm not complaining because we have a lot of leftovers!

The portion sizes were huge for the entrees too. We had the breakfast burrito, the hard apple cider french toast and the breakfast sandwich. Our favorite was the breakfast sandwich but all were solid choices!.

They have a kids meal for breakfast and crayons available so your kids will be entertained.

Not sure why people are complaining about the wait staff. Our server, Josh, was really friendly and accommodating. We enjoyed our meal today!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and service is always great.... tod ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Food and service is always great.... today service was very quick; our server was friendly and attentive!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always fun to go to this place for lunch ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Always fun to go to this place for lunch. Food is great and service has always been friendly and fast.

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had dinner there last night with 2 fri ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 14, 2016

I had dinner there last night with 2 friends. Our server was friendly and they have a nice selection of beers to choose from. The menu had lots of options too, even for me as I don't eat meat. I had the southwest salad and the presentation was nice and portion enough for lunch today. I would say it is on the expensive side for this kind of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Our server totally made the experience f ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Our server totally made the experience for us. He was fun and engaging and hilarious. If I could request to sit in his section every single time I would.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice location for a casual lunch busines ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Nice location for a casual lunch business lunch when short on time. Solid menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

We made a reservation for two of us at P ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2016

We made a reservation for two of us at Prairie Tap House to celebrate my birthday. We arrived and were seated at our reservation time. Our female server wasn't very friendly and didn't have good answers to our menu questions. We both ordered the same salad based on menu details. When our salads arrived, they both included toppings not listed on the menu. One salad was sent back with a request to remove the two toppings and a manager brought a replacement salad 15 minutes later (after my friend was done eating) indicating that the menus would be reprinted soon due to inaccuracies. Our server didn't get much kinder throughout the night so we left to enjoy drinks and desserts at another restaurant down the street. I would not recommend this restaurant based on this experience. If I give it another shot in the future, I'd be specific about asking exactly what's on the entree before ordering it and be on the lookout for that server and request not to sit in her section.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Our order for goofed up and our daughter ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our order for goofed up and our daughter got her food when they realized the rest of order did not go in. The manager was very gracious and did give us a $10 gift card. The food was good and plentiful.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was friendly and efficient. Our ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 24, 2016

Service was friendly and efficient. Our server had a trainee with her and they were both on top of things, our orders were perfect and they were great about providing soft drink refills without having to ask. Food was fresh and delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 25, 2016

Always a good spot for lunch! It took a while, and a mention, for our server to show up, but once she did she was great about returning to check on us and getting drink refills. Food was fresh and flavorful.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Solid lunch time dining location. The sa ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 16, 2016

Solid lunch time dining location. The sandwiches are all worth coming out and enjoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Overall a good experience. Great tap bee ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Overall a good experience. Great tap beers and food was excellent. Only complaint was that they advertised specialty cocktails and they didn't have a cocktail menu.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Awesome lunch spot

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 11, 2016

It's a bit overpriced but the food is always good and fresh. Service is friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lack luster.

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2016

Server lacked energy or even personality. Food had little to no flavor.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Great Food, we will go back!

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2016

We loved the food and were surprised at how fast it was served. It is a little on the spendy side, however.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good spot for a casual (large) meal

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 22, 2016

Overall very positive experience. Their sandwiches are excellent. I tried their meatloaf this time and it was out of this world. The ambiance is loud but service is good. I would recommend it for a great casual spot for lunch or dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great burgers and sandwiches

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 19, 2016

I love the Lyn-Lake Burger. Food is always fresh and service is fast and friendly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food not up to expectations

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 7, 2016

The Latin pig sandwich had a soggy bun and the meat was tough. Not good at all!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

Great brunch find

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have had dinner at Prairie Tap many times and it is always good. On a whim, we recently decided to try out their weekend brunch. What an amazing find! They have a special brunch menu filled with many of the usual brunch menu items, but prepared in ways that make them new and unique and really delicious! And, with each plate priced at $11.95, it's a great bargain too!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

First Time

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2016

Didn't really know what to expect. We asked for a table away from the bar so we could have some quiet. Since we were early we got our request. The waiter was prompt and couteous. We tired a starter at his suggestion but it was marginal in flavor and not good value. We tried three different sandwhiches. Two of them were fine and was was good. The dessert was ok but overpriced.

Nothing bad but nothing outstading about this place. The prices are high for what you get.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Great lunch spot!

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 3, 2016

We love this place, food is always fresh and service is friendly. Definitely a favorite for lunch in Eden Prairie!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good size portions for lunch. Food was f ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 1, 2016

Good size portions for lunch. Food was fresh and tasty. Lyn Lake burger is the best!

Service was very quick and our server was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place , food, service good but the ...

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 1, 2016

great place , food, service good but they don't have the laptop up for us to register our open table reservations . no big I guess

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Grilled cheese with beacon was fabulous! ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 22, 2016

Grilled cheese with beacon was fabulous! My daughter really liked the thickness and cheesy of the bread.

Blistered hipster burger was on fire, it had just the right kick to it.

Service was a slow start being we hit the dinner rush hour.

Overall service & food was awesome...totally recommend to try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Server was checked out

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Our server was uninterested or friendly while tending our table. When we asked questions like what she would recommend, she had one word answers. She didn't seem to want to be there at all and made our experience a negative one. Didn't ask if we'd like anything else and just brought the check. Food arrived quickly and was tasty.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

1st time visit

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Enjoyed our 1st visit. Service was prompt and friendly and the food was very good. We will be back I'm sure.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We were seated really fast ahead of sche ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2016

We were seated really fast ahead of schedule that was nice but our appetizers took for ever to be served which was disappointing the salads that we had were very good overall an average experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Too many things went wrong.

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Skip....bad waitress needs to know what she can and can't do.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.